About Cantina 1511 - Stonecrest

7708 Rea Rd.
Charlotte, NC 28277
View Larger Map

Ever since 2004, Cantina 1511 has been serving consistently excellent Mexican fare to the people of Charlotte. A philosophy of only the freshest ingredients cooked from scratch to traditional recipes; guarantees an Authentic Mexican Celebration every time.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Traditional Mexican, Mexican

Hours of Operation:
Saturday and Sunday Brunch: 11:00am - 3:00pm; Lunch: Everyday: 11:00am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm


Cross Street:
485 & Rea Rd.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(704) 752-9797

Website:
http://www.cantina15eleven.com/

Entertainment:
We feature Live Music on our Patio Friday through Sunday starting at 6pm. Join us for amazing margaritas and great music.

Catering:
Whether you’re planning a wedding, birthday party, a seminar, a luncheon, or a retirement party – we cater directly to your specific event. At Cantina 1511, we approach every event with absolute professionalism and passion.
Our clients have been raving over our authentic Mexican creations and Tex Mex- culinary dishes for years! Our event planners can transform a simple room into a delightful space that is detailed to perfection. We always create a unique experience for your guests and provide them with a lasting impression that leaves them wanting more.

Parking Details:
Valet and lot parking available

Executive Chef:
Vince Giancarlo

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Cantina 1511 - Stonecrest
Cantina 1511 - Stonecrest
Cantina 1511 - Stonecrest
Cantina 1511 - Stonecrest
Cantina 1511 - Stonecrest
Cantina 1511 - Stonecrest
Cantina 1511 - Stonecrest
Cantina 1511 - Stonecrest
Cantina 1511 - Stonecrest
Cantina 1511 - Stonecrest
Cantina 1511 - Stonecrest
Cantina 1511 - Stonecrest
Mexican Street Fare
Tacos Marco Polo
Bananas Foster Chimichanga

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Cantina 1511 offers private dining accommodations for up to 70 guests. There are several different rooms that can be configured into a variety of seating designs, based on your personal preference. We also have the capability of renting our entire restaurant for your venue space.

Cantina 1511 - Stonecrest Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.1

ambience

4.0

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Groups (29)
Great for Lunch (22)
Kid-friendly (20)
See All
Fit for Foodies (17)
Special Occasion (12)
Neighborhood Gem (12)
Hot Spot (7)
Great for Outdoor Dining (7)
Casual (5)
Fun (4)
Family Style (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Authentic (3)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Comfort Food (2)
Healthy (2)
Good for a Date (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Scenic View (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Tapas (1)
Private Room (1)
Seasonal (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Romantic (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
People Watching (1)
Business Meals (1)
Spicy (1)
Live Sports (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Sort By:
Newest
677 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Best blended margaritas in town! The ch ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined 6 days ago

Best blended margaritas in town! The chorizo Chilli was also fantastic! My new favorite Mexican Restaurant! We will definitely be going back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was tasteless. I ordered enchiladas ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Food was tasteless. I ordered enchiladas, they we frozen. I asked to omit cheese from the enchiladas, the waiter was rude, he said it's not possible to remove anything as it comes with it! Overall meal was tasteless.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value1

Our server was excellent. I wish I coul ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

Our server was excellent. I wish I could remember his name but he was so friendly and quick, remembered it was a birthday celebration, and seemed to genuinely enjoy his job.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Our service was outstanding and food was ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

Our service was outstanding and food was delicious. We were a large party of 10 and we received a mostly private room to hold our Farewell celebration and our guest of honor was surprised with a complimentary dessert. Well done, Cantina!

Tags: Healthy, Fun, Spicy, Comfort Food, Late-night Find, Tapas, Private Room, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Groups, Modern Decor, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Nice looking restaurant, healthful menu, ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Nice looking restaurant, healthful menu, average service, not terribly expensive. Waiters address customers as "you guys" instead of using more convential and more polite forms of address.

Tags: Business Meals, People Watching, Pre/post Theatre, Healthy, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Food was excellent and fresh! Never a ba ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Food was excellent and fresh! Never a bad meal!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Normally a great experience, but today w ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Normally a great experience, but today was a disappointment. I understand they were busy, but service suffered. Food was luke warm. Tacos got soggy. Clearly the food took too long to be run out to our table. Chips were never replenished.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

The food was absolutely delicious. My hu ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

The food was absolutely delicious. My husband and I both agreed that it was the best Mexican food either of us have ever had. We were seated as soon as we got in, and our server throughout dinner was very prompt, and attentive. I personally think the food is a tad overpriced for Mexican cuisine, but it was delicious. Definitely our new favorite spot for date night!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Cantina has really gone down hill. We'v ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Cantina has really gone down hill. We've been eating here less and less over the years. It used to be a place to get good food.

The table side Guac was one of the worst we've ever tasted. Just awful. The fajita was flavorless. We tried their new burger this time as well & while it was a nice try at a Latino spin to a classic, it was also lacking in the taste department.

The service was absolutely horrid. Drinks sat empty for way to long - multiple times. Waitress didn't come back to see how we were liking or not liking the meal.

It's a shame. We've had enough bad experiences there - that it was time to write the review and stop going. Enough is enough.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

Normally we have great service and food. ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Normally we have great service and food. Our waiter was terrible. He checked in on us 3 times the entire meal even after the food came out wrong. We had to ask others for refills on drinks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1

Cantinaisagreatrestaurantwithqualityands ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Cantinaisagreatrestaurantwithqualityandservice. Lovetheirvarietyontacos!.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ordered Enchiladas Tejanas, stuffed ench ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Ordered Enchiladas Tejanas, stuffed enchiladas with cheese (various types) and covered in cheese with chili braised beef. Ordered the large portion which came with three enchiladas. One of them had nothing in it. It was a empty rolled enchilada. The topping of chili braised beef consisted of 4 small cubes of beef. I mean the size of a sugar cube small. One of the cubes was mostly fat. Overall the skillet that the meal came in was an oily mess. Would not recommend this meal to anyone and not sure I would go back to Cantina 1511 for another try. I almost forgot. As an appetizer, we ordered the Antojitos Platter. The menu declared it was typical street food in Mexico. Sounded good! What we received was something that was put into a fryer to long. Looked like burnt bacon in some type of shell.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

I'm not a big fan of Mexican food. This ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

I'm not a big fan of Mexican food. This was someone else's choice.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Made reservations for 7:15 and by 7:30 s ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Made reservations for 7:15 and by 7:30 still had et

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Cantina 1511 is one of our top 3 most fa ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Cantina 1511 is one of our top 3 most favorite restaurants in the Pineville/Fort Mill area.

Our granddaughter always wants us to take here there when she visits. Great Food and Service!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great as usual ! My wife and I visited h ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Great as usual !

My wife and I visited here again. Its just perfect !

Reasonably priced menu and a wonderful selection of Tacos.

There is a list of about 12 different tacos that you can mix and match (2 or 3) and so reasonably priced. Everyone of the tacos is unique and tasty.

We'll be back !

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and equally great service ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Excellent food and equally great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Worst service I've ever had at this loca ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Worst service I've ever had at this location. Server walked off while we were ordering multiple times. Took 30 minutes to get our check, only to come out wrong twice. No thank you or apologies given.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1

They used to be good but they seem to ha ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

They used to be good but they seem to have had a large staff turnover with little training. Our appetizer order was never put in. Drinks came without ice. Check was delivered with entree. Wasn't asked if we wanted a cocktail Food used to be good but is now only subpar as menu keeps changing. Menu no longer labels gluten-free options and waiter did not know

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

I loved the table side guac! So fresh an ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

I loved the table side guac! So fresh and so good. You can't go wrong with anything on the menu. Great margaritas too!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our waitor Phil was excellent! He had s ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

Our waitor Phil was excellent! He had several other tables besides ours, but he was quite attentive and provided excellent service! The house margarita, cheese queso, and fajitas were delicious!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It is our every other week restaurant an ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

It is our every other week restaurant and we simply love the food!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I ordered the chicken enchiladas without ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

I ordered the chicken enchiladas without queso. The filling of the enchilada was more like a "goo" with chicken, spinach and cheese.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

We had El Pastore tacos (excellent), chi ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

We had El Pastore tacos (excellent), chips and salsa (very good warm chips), l vaquero quesadilla (excellent). The young waiter was amusing and informative.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Great Food

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

We enjoyed our visit because of great food. Unfortunately, the A/C wasn't working very well. None the less, we had dinner because the food is always excellent. We had the table side Guacamole and it was outstanding as usual. All three of us ordered from the extensive taco menu and were very pleased.

Service was not up to par. Our server was loaded up with a large group along with his regular tables so the evening ended on a sour note but that certainly will not keep us from visiting again soon.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Great lunch after middle school graduation.

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 2, 2016

Our waiter was excellent! He asked about the graduation and was attentive to our time limitations. It was the perfect experience after a lengthy ceremony!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Great food

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Great food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

Matt was fantastic. Very attentive. I no ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

Matt was fantastic. Very attentive. I noticed he did great service with all his tables.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent as expected.

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

We enjoyed dining here. The menu had changed ever slightly and the taco menu was now perfect.

It is so nice to have such a variety and able to select different tacos for the same entree. That is what the three of us did and enjoyed 6 different types or styles.

All of the staff were very attentive and great !

We will be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been going here a while. The fo ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

We have been going here a while. The food is always good, and the service has never been sub par. Their beer selection is ok, but they do have a good selection of cocktails. The mojito was awesome.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A great place for dinner and never had a ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

A great place for dinner and never had a bad dish. We are frequent customers and will continue to go back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Waiter was great. He was friendly and up ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Waiter was great. He was friendly and upbeat. We had a great time.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

last minute reservation

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

Everything about my experience was wonderful except the table itself. It was a very tiny 2 person table and up against a wall so it my elbow was fighting the wall everytime I took a bite. But good and service was great!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Good food. Chips and salsa outstanding. ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on May 12, 2016

Good food. Chips and salsa outstanding. Willing to accommodate substitutions.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great meal

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Dined here for the time Mother's Day all 4 of us ordered different items and they were all delicious

The pork shanks and the guacamole were stand outs apps

And the short rib and fajitas fabulous

Of the 7 different items we ordered none were losers.

We will be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

What happened?!?!

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

My family and I go here every year for Mother's Day lunch. I used to love this place because the chips, salsa, guacamole, and burritos were great! The first year we went, the mothers were given a card and a coupon for a free meal for the next visit. I never used the coupon but I loved that they were willing to do that. Every year since, I have seen a decline in the service, the food, and the wait time for our meals. I do not think I will be going back next year because this year we were so unhappy with the entire experience. The waiter was all over the place and could not even remember if we ordered water. The cheese dip (queso) looked like they dropped it in water and then immediately brought it to our table (not cheese more like white water) and it was so late we got our food before the dip. I do not like to pay almost ten dollars for a dip that my dog wouldn't even eat. For the amount of money that is charged for this food, I expect better service and MUCH better food.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

Great Brunch Spot

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

This was the perfect spot for Mother's Day Brunch. Our reservation was ready as soon as we arrived, wait staff was prompt and courteous, and the food was delicious!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Mothers Day Brunch

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Had a great brunch on Mothers Day! Awesome outdoor patio with umbrellas for shade. Great food, although the Bloody Mary was a little bland.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent meal ! They have a large varie ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

Excellent meal !

They have a large variety of tacos. We both ordered them and they were outstanding. Even the side salad was very tasty.

Ordered a vodka martini that was so good, I ordered another.

Very pleased with our visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

I ordered the chicken enchiladas. My ent ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

I ordered the chicken enchiladas. My entree came out cold but the waiter quickly remedied that. My husbands tacos were ok. My kid however devoured a bowl of queso and tortillas in no time. Not as good this visit so hoping it was a fluke.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.