About Cantina 1511 - Stonecrest

7708 Rea Rd.
Charlotte, NC 28277
View Larger Map

Ever since 2004, Cantina 1511 has been serving consistently excellent Mexican fare to the people of Charlotte. A philosophy of only the freshest ingredients cooked from scratch to traditional recipes; guarantees an Authentic Mexican Celebration every time.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Traditional Mexican, Mexican

Hours of Operation:
Saturday and Sunday Brunch: 11:00am - 3:00pm; Lunch: Everyday: 11:00am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm


Cross Street:
485 & Rea Rd.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(704) 752-9797

Website:
http://www.cantina15eleven.com/

Entertainment:
We feature Live Music on our Patio Friday through Sunday starting at 6pm. Join us for amazing margaritas and great music.

Catering:
Whether you’re planning a wedding, birthday party, a seminar, a luncheon, or a retirement party – we cater directly to your specific event. At Cantina 1511, we approach every event with absolute professionalism and passion.
Our clients have been raving over our authentic Mexican creations and Tex Mex- culinary dishes for years! Our event planners can transform a simple room into a delightful space that is detailed to perfection. We always create a unique experience for your guests and provide them with a lasting impression that leaves them wanting more.

Parking Details:
Valet and lot parking available

Executive Chef:
Vince Giancarlo

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Cantina 1511 offers private dining accommodations for up to 70 guests. There are several different rooms that can be configured into a variety of seating designs, based on your personal preference. We also have the capability of renting our entire restaurant for your venue space.

Cantina 1511 - Stonecrest Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.2

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

good for groups (52)
great for lunch (42)
special occasion (27)
See All
fit for foodies (24)
kid-friendly (24)
neighborhood gem (23)
great for outdoor dining (14)
great for brunch (11)
vibrant bar scene (10)
hot spot (9)
late-night find (5)
romantic (4)
notable wine list (3)
scenic view (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
Sort By:
Newest
647 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience4
service3

Great food

Dined a day ago

Great food

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been going here a while. The fo ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

We have been going here a while. The food is always good, and the service has never been sub par. Their beer selection is ok, but they do have a good selection of cocktails. The mojito was awesome.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service4

A great place for dinner and never had a ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

A great place for dinner and never had a bad dish. We are frequent customers and will continue to go back

food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Waiter was great. He was friendly and up ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Waiter was great. He was friendly and upbeat. We had a great time.

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

last minute reservation

Dined on May 13, 2016

Everything about my experience was wonderful except the table itself. It was a very tiny 2 person table and up against a wall so it my elbow was fighting the wall everytime I took a bite. But good and service was great!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food. Chips and salsa outstanding. ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

Good food. Chips and salsa outstanding. Willing to accommodate substitutions.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Great meal

Dined on May 8, 2016

Dined here for the time Mother's Day all 4 of us ordered different items and they were all delicious The pork shanks and the guacamole were stand outs apps And the short rib and fajitas fabulous Of the 7 different items we ordered none were losers. We will be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

What happened?!?!

Dined on May 8, 2016

My family and I go here every year for Mother's Day lunch. I used to love this place because the chips, salsa, guacamole, and burritos were great! The first year we went, the mothers were given a card and a coupon for a free meal for the next visit. I never used the coupon but I loved that they were willing to do that. Every year since, I have seen a decline in the service, the food, and the wait time for our meals. I do not think I will be going back next year because this year we were so unhappy with the entire experience. The waiter was all over the place and could not even remember if we ordered water. The cheese dip (queso) looked like they dropped it in water and then immediately brought it to our table (not cheese more like white water) and it was so late we got our food before the dip. I do not like to pay almost ten dollars for a dip that my dog wouldn't even eat. For the amount of money that is charged for this food, I expect better service and MUCH better food.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Brunch Spot

Dined on May 8, 2016

This was the perfect spot for Mother's Day Brunch. Our reservation was ready as soon as we arrived, wait staff was prompt and courteous, and the food was delicious!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Mothers Day Brunch

Dined on May 8, 2016

Had a great brunch on Mothers Day! Awesome outdoor patio with umbrellas for shade. Great food, although the Bloody Mary was a little bland.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service5

Excellent meal ! They have a large varie ...

vip
Dined on May 6, 2016

Excellent meal ! They have a large variety of tacos. We both ordered them and they were outstanding. Even the side salad was very tasty. Ordered a vodka martini that was so good, I ordered another. Very pleased with our visit.

food3
ambience3
service4

I ordered the chicken enchiladas. My ent ...

Dined on April 30, 2016

I ordered the chicken enchiladas. My entree came out cold but the waiter quickly remedied that. My husbands tacos were ok. My kid however devoured a bowl of queso and tortillas in no time. Not as good this visit so hoping it was a fluke.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great tasty Mexican fair in casual setting

Dined on April 22, 2016

Great tasty Mexican fair in casual setting with great guacamole and pozole. Busing neighborhood Mexican with people of all ages.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for lunch
food2
ambience2
service4

Very mediocre food. Have been coming he ...

Dined on April 17, 2016

Very mediocre food. Have been coming here for years and feel like the food has gotten appreciably worse over the last year or so.

food5
ambience5
service5

Went for my wife's birthday. They put us ...

Dined on April 9, 2016

Went for my wife's birthday. They put us in a semi-private room which kept the noise level down. The service and food were great.

food5
ambience4
service5

Our server was good & the food outstandi ...

Dined on April 3, 2016

Our server was good & the food outstanding!

food4
ambience4
service4
value2

Pre-movie dining

Dined on March 19, 2016

We went to Cantina 1511 before an early movie on Saturday and it did not disappoint. Get there early! We arrived at 6pm and had our choice of seats in the bar area. By the time we were finishing dinner at 6:45, we had people hovering over us trying to get a seat. We ordered several margarita drinks, the orange and the 1800 were really good. My girlfriend thought the skinny margarita was only average. The queso appetizer was very good, make sure you ask for extra pita and chips. We each had ordered taco's, the ancho pollo was delicious. The bar scene was lively with the steady stream of people arriving and the NCAA tournament on the TV's. Good food, great drinks and a lively atmosphere, it was a good place to start our date night.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

Waiter had attitude when learned of food allergies

Dined on March 18, 2016

Our waiter had an attitude when I told him of our food allergies! Then when I asked for cheese on the side of my salad instead of on top, he told me they forget to do it in the kitchen so they were remaking it. When he finally brought out my "remade" salad, he asked if that was an allergy request or a preference. I told him it was a preference to have the cheese on the side and he said, "Oh, whew! I just noticed there was still a little cheese on it so, thank goodness it wasn't an allergy." So, I ask you, although it was nice of him to ask, do you think they actually "remade" my salad or just picked the cheese out? Hmmmm. There were several more things that happened during our evening but, too much to type. Just know that not only would I not go back to this establishment but, I would not recommend anyone I know to go there either. I'm sad about that because i had heard such great things about it. That was not our experience at all. :/

food3
ambience4
service2
value3

Service was disappointing.

Dined on March 12, 2016

Service was disappointing. We kept having to remind our waiter for drinks for kids, for salsa, the bill etc. It was busy but it wasn't that busy to where he should have been so inattentive and absent minded. Food was too spicy and salty for my taste. We keep coming back because our kids like it and they have good drinks.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Better than last time!

Dined on March 11, 2016

Had a wonderful meal...the guacamole was great, the side salad was super fresh and the main entree was hot and delicious. Server was very attentive as well. A good experience on a busy Friday night.

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4

Had a great family dinner at Cantina 151 ...

Dined on March 1, 2016

Had a great family dinner at Cantina 1511. Great appetizers, great entrees, and great desert! Definitely will be back!

food4
ambience3
service3
value3

The wait for a table was 45 minutes or m ...

Dined on February 27, 2016

The wait for a table was 45 minutes or more when we arrived but with our open table spot we were seated in under 5 minutes !! With that much restaurant activity of course it was quite a loud place. I think larger bowls of salsa would help as we had quite a wait on our food.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

phenomenal!

Dined on February 21, 2016

I have been here several times before and never been disappointed. This was my first time here for dinner and I brought my family with me. I couldn't have asked for a more perfect meal. The server was wonderful -always there but not hovering, super friendly, very knowledgeable about the menu and very helpful with choosing our meals. The food was just divine, from the appetizer to the dessert. We left there extremely pleased and were still talking about how good it was the next day. We will be going here much more in the future.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Consistently great

Dined on February 19, 2016

We have visit Cantina 1511 several times since moving to the Charlotte area and have enjoyed all of the menu choices picked so far. Portions are large and this is real Mexican food.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service4

There was a small problem with who was s ...

Dined on February 19, 2016

There was a small problem with who was supposed to wait on our table, but it got sorted and the meal was still delicious! The mojitos we had were blended very well, and the Cuatros Leches cake was made well. There were a few times we ordered the cake and it came out burnt tasting. This time not at all!

food1
ambience2
service2

The food was no better then Taco-Bell; C ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

The food was no better then Taco-Bell; Cold and Uninventive. The service was fair but for a Valentines experience after a movie it was pointless; despite the effort to be something more than it really is • just another boring uneventful Mexican restaurant.

food4
ambience2
service5
value3

My husband and I went for Valentine's ce ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

My husband and I went for Valentine's celebration and we though the food was excellent, the service was excellent, but the margarita drinks where way over priced.

Tags: great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

First try and I'll be back.

Dined on February 13, 2016

I tried this location on a whim. Like Mexican / TexMex and thought is would be worth a visit. I was pleased with the table-side guacamole and the entrees where both very good. Fair price and I'll be back!

Tags: kid-friendly, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Great place to dine anytime for very good food.

vip
Dined on February 7, 2016

We always enjoy going to Cantina 1511. The food is very good. Our service was fantastic. They are generous with their chips/salsa. We especially like the Barbacoa. They offer "specials" on drinks. It is conveniently located at Stonecrest. We highly recommend Cantina 1511 for any occasion.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

Bad experience this time but willing to try again.

Dined on January 16, 2016

This wasn't my first time but it was my worst time. The food took a long time to come to the table. Fajitas were overdone so the chicken was dry. Waiter was friendly but hardly ever saw him. Margarita was good and I would've ordered another (but never saw the waiter). I have eaten at this restaurant several times and I'm hoping this was just a fluke. I will try it again to give them a chance to redeem themselves. I usually get the burrito which is always good and the queso is delicious.

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent service. Excellent food.

Dined on January 10, 2016

The staff is very friendly. I have dietary restrictions and the waiter came back to confirm my order before placing it. He wanted to ensure everything was correct. The food was amazing as always. I have eaten here multiple times and the food is always delicious!

Tags: good for groups
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Highly enjoyable

Dined on January 9, 2016

If you are looking for elevated Mexican cuisine that kicks it up a notch from your typical Tex-mex place, I highly recommend Cantina.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

good but rushed

Dined on January 8, 2016

Food is always very good. It was paced very fast from sitting down to paying the bill was less than 1/2 hour including appetizer and main course.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service1
value3

Service was a disappointment. Food great.

Dined on January 2, 2016

Barbecoa pork burrito was delicious! I ordered a typical margarita with agave, it was so tart both times we had to send it back. Server didnt refill our drinks unless we asked, had to wait way to long for him to come back to our table.

Tags: kid-friendly, great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service4

We showed up early for our reservation y ...

vip
Dined on January 1, 2016

We showed up early for our reservation yet the hostess was able to seat us early, which was really nice. Our server was on point and the enchiladas, guacamole, tacos and burrito we ordered were delicious!

food2
ambience2
service2
value2

Service was slow even though it wasn't b ...

Dined on January 1, 2016

Service was slow even though it wasn't busy. The food wasn't anything special. Will not return.

food5
ambience3
service2

Poor service... fajitas sat for nearly 1 ...

Dined on December 27, 2015

Poor service... fajitas sat for nearly 10 minutes while we waited for tortillas to be brought to table.

food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and service.

Dined on December 24, 2015

Great food and service.

food5
ambience4
service5

Great service and nice "birthday cake"!

Dined on December 10, 2015

Great restaurant for a birthday dinner for my wife and our grandchildren. We will certainly go back time and time again.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4

Authentic Mexican

Dined on November 30, 2015

My wife and have have dined at Cantina 1511 twice since moving to the Charlotte area. We were very impressed with the quality and presentation of the dishes we have chosen thusfar.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.