About Cantina 1511 - Stonecrest

7708 Rea Rd.
Charlotte, NC 28277
View Larger Map

Ever since 2004, Cantina 1511 has been serving consistently excellent Mexican fare to the people of Charlotte. A philosophy of only the freshest ingredients cooked from scratch to traditional recipes; guarantees an Authentic Mexican Celebration every time.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Traditional Mexican, Mexican

Hours of Operation:
Saturday and Sunday Brunch: 11:00am - 3:00pm; Lunch: Everyday: 11:00am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm


Cross Street:
485 & Rea Rd.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(704) 752-9797

Website:
http://www.cantina15eleven.com/

Entertainment:
We feature Live Music on our Patio Friday through Sunday starting at 6pm. Join us for amazing margaritas and great music.

Catering:
Whether you’re planning a wedding, birthday party, a seminar, a luncheon, or a retirement party – we cater directly to your specific event. At Cantina 1511, we approach every event with absolute professionalism and passion.
Our clients have been raving over our authentic Mexican creations and Tex Mex- culinary dishes for years! Our event planners can transform a simple room into a delightful space that is detailed to perfection. We always create a unique experience for your guests and provide them with a lasting impression that leaves them wanting more.

Parking Details:
Valet and lot parking available

Executive Chef:
Vince Giancarlo

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Cantina 1511 - Stonecrest, Charlotte, NC
Cantina 1511 - Stonecrest, Charlotte, NC
Cantina 1511 - Stonecrest, Charlotte, NC
Cantina 1511 - Stonecrest, Charlotte, NC
Cantina 1511 - Stonecrest, Charlotte, NC
Cantina 1511 - Stonecrest, Charlotte, NC
Cantina 1511 - Stonecrest, Charlotte, NC
Cantina 1511 - Stonecrest, Charlotte, NC
Cantina 1511 - Stonecrest, Charlotte, NC
Cantina 1511 - Stonecrest, Charlotte, NC
Cantina 1511 - Stonecrest, Charlotte, NC
Cantina 1511 - Stonecrest, Charlotte, NC
Mexican Street Fare - Cantina 1511 - Stonecrest, Charlotte, NC
Tacos Marco Polo - Cantina 1511 - Stonecrest, Charlotte, NC
Bananas Foster Chimichanga - Cantina 1511 - Stonecrest, Charlotte, NC

Specials

Christmas Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 24, 2016

Christmas Day Special Menus & Offers

Sunday, December 25, 2016

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 31, 2016

Specials

Christmas Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 24, 2016

Details

We will be open until 7PM on Christmas Eve.

Christmas Day Special Menus & Offers

Sunday, December 25, 2016

Details

We will be closed on Christmas Day but will reopen at 11am on December 26th.

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 31, 2016

Details

We will be open normal hours on New Year's Eve.

Private Dining

Cantina 1511 offers private dining accommodations for up to 70 guests. There are several different rooms that can be configured into a variety of seating designs, based on your personal preference. We also have the capability of renting our entire restaurant for your venue space.

Cantina 1511 - Stonecrest Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.1

ambience

4.1

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Groups (12)
Casual (11)
Good for a Date (11)
See All
Kid-friendly (9)
Special Occasion (9)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Authentic (8)
Great for Lunch (8)
Fun (8)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Bar Seating (6)
Comfort Food (6)
Business Meals (5)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Family Style (5)
Spicy (4)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Great for Brunch (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
People Watching (3)
Live Sports (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Private Room (2)
Healthy (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Great Beer (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Cozy (2)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Romantic (1)
Tapas (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Seasonal (1)
Sort By:
S
693 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The Queso was AMAZING

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 19, 2016

The Queso was AMAZING

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was decent, but not extraordina ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 19, 2016

The food was decent, but not extraordinary. We always receive good service, although this time our waiter seemed a little overburdened and therefore took awhile to get back to our table to refresh drinks and take entrée orders. We were seated in an annex section, and the temperature was uncomfortably cold when the AC was running.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Love the food- ours was a little cold fo ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Love the food- ours was a little cold for the most part. Our server could have been quite a bit better and more attentive/ amicable. Overall it was not as fantastic as in the past, but I would definitely try it again because I have had good experiences in the past.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

First time here, got the burrito and my ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 5, 2016

First time here, got the burrito and my friend got the quesadillas and we both left extremely satisfied. Large portions, good beer selection and service, too. It gets busy so a reservation is strongly recommended to avoid the 1hr+ plus wait that I heard the hostess tell others when I was checking in.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Food and service were both great Davis w ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 3, 2016

Food and service were both great Davis was an excellent server and took good care of our table.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food is excellent! Love the guac! Gr ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on October 23, 2016

The food is excellent! Love the guac! Great waiter!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Live Sports
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I went their for my birthday on Oct. 22 ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on October 22, 2016

I went their for my birthday on Oct. 22 and had reservations at 6:00. We were promptly seated and waited on. The food was excellent as always and we had a great time. They even brought out a free piece of cake and it was wonderful. Will be back again soon!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Outstanding Value, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was delicious, our server was e ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on October 17, 2016

The food was delicious, our server was excellent but it took nearly an hour to get the food after we ordered it

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Fun, Great Beer, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Quick Bite, Casual, Kid-friendly, Authentic, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Good food but my guacamole was overwhel ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Good food but my guacamole was overwhelmed by the lime juice.

Tags: Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service as well as the food. W ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on October 13, 2016

Excellent service as well as the food. We went for a birthday occasion and was very well taken care of.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Fun, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre, Live Sports, Great Beer, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Vibrant Bar Scene, Sunday Lunch, Family Style, Casual, Special Occasion, Authentic, Great for Brunch, People Watching, Comfort Food, Spicy, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had to change out my dish because it w ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 10, 2016

I had to change out my dish because it was dirty...and we had to find the waiter to pay. It has excellent food though, so I would return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Overall a very good experience. The food ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Overall a very good experience. The food was great as always and so were the drinks.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Large portions, good food. The only nega ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Large portions, good food. The only negative is that our drinks were way too strong. I'm it one to complain about a good stiff drink but these were almost undrinkable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

I reserved a table and it was ready; we ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on September 28, 2016

I reserved a table and it was ready; we had one of the little glass enclosed rooms which was nice. The waiter was okay but we were admonished not to swtich spots after ordering our food because it would be too confusing for them to know who ordered what, ummm that's your job. The food was terrible. It didn't taste good, more than one item. The burrito didn't have any meat that we could find in it. My husband had been there before and wasn't impressed but we went there based on someone else's choice. I will not go back. For what you get the food was too expension.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

Best blended margaritas in town! The ch ...

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on September 23, 2016

Best blended margaritas in town! The chorizo Chilli was also fantastic! My new favorite Mexican Restaurant! We will definitely be going back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was tasteless. I ordered enchiladas ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on August 26, 2016

Food was tasteless. I ordered enchiladas, they we frozen. I asked to omit cheese from the enchiladas, the waiter was rude, he said it's not possible to remove anything as it comes with it! Overall meal was tasteless.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value1

Our server was excellent. I wish I coul ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on August 23, 2016

Our server was excellent. I wish I could remember his name but he was so friendly and quick, remembered it was a birthday celebration, and seemed to genuinely enjoy his job.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Our service was outstanding and food was ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on August 23, 2016

Our service was outstanding and food was delicious. We were a large party of 10 and we received a mostly private room to hold our Farewell celebration and our guest of honor was surprised with a complimentary dessert. Well done, Cantina!

Tags: Healthy, Fun, Spicy, Comfort Food, Late-night Find, Tapas, Private Room, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Groups, Modern Decor, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Nice looking restaurant, healthful menu, ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on August 21, 2016

Nice looking restaurant, healthful menu, average service, not terribly expensive. Waiters address customers as "you guys" instead of using more convential and more polite forms of address.

Tags: Business Meals, People Watching, Pre/post Theatre, Healthy, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Food was excellent and fresh! Never a ba ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on August 19, 2016

Food was excellent and fresh! Never a bad meal!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Normally a great experience, but today w ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on August 10, 2016

Normally a great experience, but today was a disappointment. I understand they were busy, but service suffered. Food was luke warm. Tacos got soggy. Clearly the food took too long to be run out to our table. Chips were never replenished.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

The food was absolutely delicious. My hu ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on August 7, 2016

The food was absolutely delicious. My husband and I both agreed that it was the best Mexican food either of us have ever had. We were seated as soon as we got in, and our server throughout dinner was very prompt, and attentive. I personally think the food is a tad overpriced for Mexican cuisine, but it was delicious. Definitely our new favorite spot for date night!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Cantina has really gone down hill. We'v ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 30, 2016

Cantina has really gone down hill. We've been eating here less and less over the years. It used to be a place to get good food.

The table side Guac was one of the worst we've ever tasted. Just awful. The fajita was flavorless. We tried their new burger this time as well & while it was a nice try at a Latino spin to a classic, it was also lacking in the taste department.

The service was absolutely horrid. Drinks sat empty for way to long - multiple times. Waitress didn't come back to see how we were liking or not liking the meal.

It's a shame. We've had enough bad experiences there - that it was time to write the review and stop going. Enough is enough.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

Normally we have great service and food. ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 24, 2016

Normally we have great service and food. Our waiter was terrible. He checked in on us 3 times the entire meal even after the food came out wrong. We had to ask others for refills on drinks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1

Cantinaisagreatrestaurantwithqualityands ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 22, 2016

Cantinaisagreatrestaurantwithqualityandservice. Lovetheirvarietyontacos!.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ordered Enchiladas Tejanas, stuffed ench ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 22, 2016

Ordered Enchiladas Tejanas, stuffed enchiladas with cheese (various types) and covered in cheese with chili braised beef. Ordered the large portion which came with three enchiladas. One of them had nothing in it. It was a empty rolled enchilada. The topping of chili braised beef consisted of 4 small cubes of beef. I mean the size of a sugar cube small. One of the cubes was mostly fat. Overall the skillet that the meal came in was an oily mess. Would not recommend this meal to anyone and not sure I would go back to Cantina 1511 for another try. I almost forgot. As an appetizer, we ordered the Antojitos Platter. The menu declared it was typical street food in Mexico. Sounded good! What we received was something that was put into a fryer to long. Looked like burnt bacon in some type of shell.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

I'm not a big fan of Mexican food. This ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 21, 2016

I'm not a big fan of Mexican food. This was someone else's choice.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Best Mexican food in Charlotte.

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 10, 2016

Best Mexican food in Charlotte.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Made reservations for 7:15 and by 7:30 s ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 9, 2016

Made reservations for 7:15 and by 7:30 still had et

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Cantina 1511 is one of our top 3 most fa ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 7, 2016

Cantina 1511 is one of our top 3 most favorite restaurants in the Pineville/Fort Mill area.

Our granddaughter always wants us to take here there when she visits. Great Food and Service!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great as usual ! My wife and I visited h ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 7, 2016

Great as usual !

My wife and I visited here again. Its just perfect !

Reasonably priced menu and a wonderful selection of Tacos.

There is a list of about 12 different tacos that you can mix and match (2 or 3) and so reasonably priced. Everyone of the tacos is unique and tasty.

We'll be back !

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and equally great service ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on July 4, 2016

Excellent food and equally great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Worst service I've ever had at this loca ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 4, 2016

Worst service I've ever had at this location. Server walked off while we were ordering multiple times. Took 30 minutes to get our check, only to come out wrong twice. No thank you or apologies given.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1

They used to be good but they seem to ha ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on June 24, 2016

They used to be good but they seem to have had a large staff turnover with little training. Our appetizer order was never put in. Drinks came without ice. Check was delivered with entree. Wasn't asked if we wanted a cocktail Food used to be good but is now only subpar as menu keeps changing. Menu no longer labels gluten-free options and waiter did not know

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

I loved the table side guac! So fresh an ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on June 19, 2016

I loved the table side guac! So fresh and so good. You can't go wrong with anything on the menu. Great margaritas too!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our waitor Phil was excellent! He had s ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on June 16, 2016

Our waitor Phil was excellent! He had several other tables besides ours, but he was quite attentive and provided excellent service! The house margarita, cheese queso, and fajitas were delicious!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It is our every other week restaurant an ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on June 14, 2016

It is our every other week restaurant and we simply love the food!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I ordered the chicken enchiladas without ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on June 11, 2016

I ordered the chicken enchiladas without queso. The filling of the enchilada was more like a "goo" with chicken, spinach and cheese.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

We had El Pastore tacos (excellent), chi ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on June 11, 2016

We had El Pastore tacos (excellent), chips and salsa (very good warm chips), l vaquero quesadilla (excellent). The young waiter was amusing and informative.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Great Food

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on June 4, 2016

We enjoyed our visit because of great food. Unfortunately, the A/C wasn't working very well. None the less, we had dinner because the food is always excellent. We had the table side Guacamole and it was outstanding as usual. All three of us ordered from the extensive taco menu and were very pleased.

Service was not up to par. Our server was loaded up with a large group along with his regular tables so the evening ended on a sour note but that certainly will not keep us from visiting again soon.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.