About Cantina 1511 - Stonecrest

Ever since 2004, Cantina 1511 has been serving consistently excellent Mexican fare to the people of Charlotte. A philosophy of only the freshest ingredients cooked from scratch to traditional recipes; guarantees an Authentic Mexican Celebration every time.

7708 Rea Rd.
Charlotte, NC 28277
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Traditional Mexican, Mexican

Hours of Operation:
Saturday and Sunday Brunch: 11:00am - 3:00pm; Lunch: Everyday: 11:00am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm


Cross Street:
485 & Rea Rd.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(704) 752-9797

Website:
http://www.cantina15eleven.com/

Entertainment:
We feature Live Music on our Patio Friday through Sunday starting at 6pm. Join us for amazing margaritas and great music.

Catering:
Whether you’re planning a wedding, birthday party, a seminar, a luncheon, or a retirement party – we cater directly to your specific event. At Cantina 1511, we approach every event with absolute professionalism and passion.
Our clients have been raving over our authentic Mexican creations and Tex Mex- culinary dishes for years! Our event planners can transform a simple room into a delightful space that is detailed to perfection. We always create a unique experience for your guests and provide them with a lasting impression that leaves them wanting more.

Parking Details:
Valet and lot parking available

Executive Chef:
Vince Giancarlo

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Cantina 1511 - Stonecrest, Charlotte, NC
Mexican Street Fare - Cantina 1511 - Stonecrest, Charlotte, NC
Tacos Marco Polo - Cantina 1511 - Stonecrest, Charlotte, NC
Bananas Foster Chimichanga - Cantina 1511 - Stonecrest, Charlotte, NC

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Cantina 1511 offers private dining accommodations for up to 70 guests. There are several different rooms that can be configured into a variety of seating designs, based on your personal preference. We also have the capability of renting our entire restaurant for your venue space.

Cantina 1511 - Stonecrest Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.2

ambience

4.1

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (14)
Good for Birthdays (14)
Casual (12)
See All
Great for Lunch (12)
Good for Groups (11)
Special Occasion (11)
Fun (10)
Authentic (8)
Bar Seating (6)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Family Style (5)
Kid-friendly (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Good for Anniversaries (5)
Business Meals (5)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Spicy (4)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Quick Bite (4)
Great for Brunch (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Cozy (3)
People Watching (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Private Room (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Live Sports (2)
Great Beer (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Hot Spot (1)
Romantic (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Sort By:
S
769 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Delicious food and great service! Friend ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 4 days ago

Delicious food and great service! Friendly staff & atmosphere

Tags: Casual, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Attentive service, good food. Booth was ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Attentive service, good food. Booth was a little tight even for normal-sized people. But always enjoy this restaurant.

Tags: Quick Bite, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

delicious food, very attentive & friendl ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 3, 2017

delicious food, very attentive & friendly staff, and a pretty atmosphere.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Comfort Food, Late-night Find, Sunday Lunch, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Went for New Year's Eve. It was very goo ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Went for New Year's Eve. It was very good food, had noise level that you could talk and hear comfortably, service was great, guacamole and quest were superior-had great time with friends.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Family Style, Special Occasion, Spicy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Our dinner was very good. They were able ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Our dinner was very good. They were able to seat us early. Service was excellent! Highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We have been trying to find good Mexican ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 30, 2016

We have been trying to find good Mexican in this area and much to our chagrin this is one of two restaurants with good food. This is a must do if you are looking for Tex-mex.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

The food is always perfect and tonight t ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 28, 2016

The food is always perfect and tonight the staff was very busy but friendly. One of my favorites.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We have been to Cantina multiple times b ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 27, 2016

We have been to Cantina multiple times but this was by far our worst experience ever - the service was absolutely terrible, there was no silverware, food, (even appetizer) took forever to show up and waiter barely ever checked in - all this in spite of restaurant not even being full A couple we know was there earlier that evening and also said the service was terrible. While we have enjoyed Cantina in the past, we do not plan to return after this experience. Very disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

Was very disappointed when they sat us t ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Was very disappointed when they sat us the underneath of the table was filthy it had food, lemons, napkins, and silverware on the floor. I could not believe that didn't clean it before they sat us. The lemons made the floor very slipper. The server did tell me that a family with children where sitting there. Just disappointed they didn't clean it before they sat us

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Menus were dirty with dried food and my ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Menus were dirty with dried food and my knife had dried lettuce on it. Compared to Park Rd. Location, this was a sub-par experience at best. Disappointed for my friends I invited for a Christmas Eve celebration...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3

Food was incredible and service in parti ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Food was incredible and service in particular our server was amazing!!!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Fun, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had a reservation but still had to wa ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 21, 2016

We had a reservation but still had to wait a half hour. Our table was dirty. There was a party or something before us and there were lemons and trash all over the floor under our table. Our food was lackluster and extremely slow. I don't see us going back. It is pretty disappointing because we heard good things from friends, but didn't have the same experience we hoped for.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

Wait service was good, considering it wa ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Wait service was good, considering it was the waitress first week. A bit of a wait getting food from kitchen. Hot and as ordered with not oops when it did arrive. They were especially busy for a week night, however probably due to being December.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Overall a great experience. We arrived ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Overall a great experience. We arrived a little early for our reservation and were told we would be seated at our time. So, we waited 25 minutes until it seemed she remembered we were waiting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food!

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Great food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious food served at a good temperat ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Delicious food served at a good temperature. Friendly attentive staff too

Tags: Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quick Bite, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Went to Cantina 1511 to meet a friend fo ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 14, 2016

Went to Cantina 1511 to meet a friend for dinner. John, our server, was very informative and attentive. We tried the new margarita for 2 and it was great! They shake it table-side and serve. We also ordered the table -side guacamole and it was delicious - always a good choice. The Veggie Enchiladas were very flavorful and yummy. Would recommend all of our selections!

Tags: Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We always enjoy going to Cantina 1511. ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 11, 2016

We always enjoy going to Cantina 1511. We love the Mexican BBQ. The drinks are good too.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Made a reservation and still waited 40 m ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Made a reservation and still waited 40 minutes to be seated. I know it was a Saturday night, that's why we made a reservation. That will make me think twice about returning. The hostesses were not very friendly, nor helpful. It was an hour after our reservation before we got any food.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

We thoroughly enjoyed the evening! Howe ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 11, 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed the evening! However, we had to wait 45 minutes even though we had reservations. It was a tough situation as the guests in the table selected for our group did not leave as expected. Good thing we had the time to wait and were with good friends. The team should have selected another table much quicker....

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Reservations are needed, yet still had t ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Reservations are needed, yet still had to wait about 15 minutes for a table.

Tags: Casual, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Good food and good service. Great fajit ...

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Good food and good service. Great fajitas and guacamole

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

We have been going here for years, since ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 10, 2016

We have been going here for years, since it moved to Stonecrest. The last time were were there in the late summer (a saturday night) the service was HORRIBLE...had to ask for our meal, drink refills and the manager finally personally waited on us...TOTALLY UNDERSTAFFED!. This Saturday night was OK, not great, not horrible. However, it did appear VERY TIRED and certainly nothing special. The food was OK Tex Mex, Margarita were C+ to B, restaurant Margaritas. The only reason that we would go back is that the food is adequate and THEY TAKE RESERVATIONS. Otherwise, there are a lot of better options for this type of food, Cantina is just a bit more upscale.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Always good Mexican food.

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 9, 2016

Always good Mexican food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The Queso was AMAZING

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 19, 2016

The Queso was AMAZING

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was decent, but not extraordina ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 19, 2016

The food was decent, but not extraordinary. We always receive good service, although this time our waiter seemed a little overburdened and therefore took awhile to get back to our table to refresh drinks and take entrée orders. We were seated in an annex section, and the temperature was uncomfortably cold when the AC was running.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Love the food- ours was a little cold fo ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Love the food- ours was a little cold for the most part. Our server could have been quite a bit better and more attentive/ amicable. Overall it was not as fantastic as in the past, but I would definitely try it again because I have had good experiences in the past.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

First time here, got the burrito and my ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 5, 2016

First time here, got the burrito and my friend got the quesadillas and we both left extremely satisfied. Large portions, good beer selection and service, too. It gets busy so a reservation is strongly recommended to avoid the 1hr+ plus wait that I heard the hostess tell others when I was checking in.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Food and service were both great Davis w ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 3, 2016

Food and service were both great Davis was an excellent server and took good care of our table.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food is excellent! Love the guac! Gr ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on October 23, 2016

The food is excellent! Love the guac! Great waiter!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Live Sports
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I went their for my birthday on Oct. 22 ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on October 22, 2016

I went their for my birthday on Oct. 22 and had reservations at 6:00. We were promptly seated and waited on. The food was excellent as always and we had a great time. They even brought out a free piece of cake and it was wonderful. Will be back again soon!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Outstanding Value, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was delicious, our server was e ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on October 17, 2016

The food was delicious, our server was excellent but it took nearly an hour to get the food after we ordered it

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Fun, Great Beer, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Quick Bite, Casual, Kid-friendly, Authentic, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Good food but my guacamole was overwhel ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Good food but my guacamole was overwhelmed by the lime juice.

Tags: Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service as well as the food. W ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on October 13, 2016

Excellent service as well as the food. We went for a birthday occasion and was very well taken care of.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Fun, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre, Live Sports, Great Beer, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Vibrant Bar Scene, Sunday Lunch, Family Style, Casual, Special Occasion, Authentic, Great for Brunch, People Watching, Comfort Food, Spicy, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had to change out my dish because it w ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 10, 2016

I had to change out my dish because it was dirty...and we had to find the waiter to pay. It has excellent food though, so I would return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Overall a very good experience. The food ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Overall a very good experience. The food was great as always and so were the drinks.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Large portions, good food. The only nega ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Large portions, good food. The only negative is that our drinks were way too strong. I'm it one to complain about a good stiff drink but these were almost undrinkable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

I reserved a table and it was ready; we ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on September 28, 2016

I reserved a table and it was ready; we had one of the little glass enclosed rooms which was nice. The waiter was okay but we were admonished not to swtich spots after ordering our food because it would be too confusing for them to know who ordered what, ummm that's your job. The food was terrible. It didn't taste good, more than one item. The burrito didn't have any meat that we could find in it. My husband had been there before and wasn't impressed but we went there based on someone else's choice. I will not go back. For what you get the food was too expension.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

Best blended margaritas in town! The ch ...

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on September 23, 2016

Best blended margaritas in town! The chorizo Chilli was also fantastic! My new favorite Mexican Restaurant! We will definitely be going back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was tasteless. I ordered enchiladas ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on August 26, 2016

Food was tasteless. I ordered enchiladas, they we frozen. I asked to omit cheese from the enchiladas, the waiter was rude, he said it's not possible to remove anything as it comes with it! Overall meal was tasteless.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.