About Canoe

4199 Paces Ferry Road NW
Atlanta, GA 30339
View Larger Map

Canoe is located in Atlanta's historic Vinings area on the Chattahoochee River where Buckhead meets Vinings.
Canoe's beautiful historic riverside setting makes it the perfect spot for weddings, receptions and private celebrations.
Its original cuisine and distinctive design have already been featured in Bon Appetit, Food And Wine, Gourmet, The Wine Spectator and The New York Times. Canoe, recipient of the prestigious Mobil 4 Star Award, was also selected as one of the "Best New Restaurants" in the country by the James Beard Foundation.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American, Fusion / Eclectic

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm. Sunday Brunch: 10:30am - 2:30pm
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 5:30pm - 9:30pm.

Cross Street:
Chattahoochee River / Woodland Brook

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(770) 432-2663

Website:
http://www.canoeatl.com/

Parking Details:
Valet parking is complimentary.

Executive Chef:
Matthew Basford

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar/Lounge, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Area, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Smoking Area, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access

Restaurant Photos

  • Canoe
Canoe

Canoe Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.8

ambience

4.8

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Service
Atlanta / Georgia
Best Ambiance
Atlanta / Georgia
Scenic View
Atlanta / Georgia
10 More
American
Atlanta / Georgia
Most Booked
Atlanta / Georgia
Best Overall
Atlanta
Best Service
Atlanta
Best Ambiance
Atlanta
Outdoor Dining
Atlanta
Romantic
Atlanta
Scenic View
Atlanta
American
Atlanta
Most Booked
Atlanta
Best Restaurants in Vinings ›

scenic view (435)
special occasion (416)
romantic (357)
See All
great for outdoor dining (320)
fit for foodies (299)
neighborhood gem (197)
good for groups (181)
notable wine list (171)
great for brunch (162)
great for lunch (135)
hot spot (77)
vibrant bar scene (46)
late-night find (27)
kid-friendly (19)
Sort By:
Newest
5974 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Oysters were excellent... Have been many ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined 3 days ago

Oysters were excellent... Have been many times, but first time ordering those. Salmon is always a must have, and the rabbit was delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Alvin was the best server we have had th ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 5 days ago

Alvin was the best server we have had there yet. Love it!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This being our first time to Canoe, our ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined 5 days ago

This being our first time to Canoe, our expectations were high and they were all met with 5 stars!! We can't wait to go back. (This is not a restaurant we would frequent because of the cost but it is worth saving up and treating ourselves)!

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best grilled duck I've had. Chef is top ...

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined 5 days ago

Best grilled duck I've had. Chef is top notch. My server was very knowledgeable and helpful with selections.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A little loud but other than that a perf ...

vip
 (Nashville)
·Dined 5 days ago

A little loud but other than that a perfect evening with beautiful landscaping on the water!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

the grilled salmon was excellent. it was ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined 7 days ago

the grilled salmon was excellent. it was our anniversary I was disappointed they did not offer a gratis desert like most places do

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

Excellent service and food! Great place ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined 7 days ago

Excellent service and food! Great place for a business lunch meeting!

Tags: great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent experience (as always). Our w ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Excellent experience (as always). Our waiter Ian was knowledgeable, prompt, polite and attentive when needed (but didn't hover).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The appetizers, salads, and entrees for ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

The appetizers, salads, and entrees for all in our party were creative and satisfying combination of taste and textures. Excellent presentation .

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

While vacationing with my college bound ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

While vacationing with my college bound daughter, we enjoyed dinner at Canoe. It was my 3rd or 4th time dining here since 1997. It has never disappointed! A really fun dining experience. The menu was amazing as was the service! We tried kangaroo for the first time- it was delicious.

The desserts were also memorable- perfect in every way.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing!!! Start to finish. Best outdoo ...

vip
 (Calgary)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Amazing!!! Start to finish. Best outdoor dining.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Was very cold in the restaurant so we ha ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Was very cold in the restaurant so we had to move from our nice table in the corner to another table with no view. Service was great at the first table but the second waiter was not very friendly. Calamari was soggy and pretty spicy. Ordered the duck breast and it was seared on the outside and pretty rare on the inside. Chocolate dessert was the best part of the meal. Not sure I'd go back. Was expecting better food/service for the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2

Canoe has to top the list of best restau ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Canoe has to top the list of best restaurants in Atlanta. The elegant appointments of the dining room are complemented by immaculate service by highly trained waiters, who explain fully the details of the very creative menu. The quality of the food is superb. An evening to remember.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I took my girlfriend here for our 5 year ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

I took my girlfriend here for our 5 year anniversary, and we were blown away. I had read the reviews about this place but with a little doubt. All the reviews were right. This place was amazing. When I tasted my dinner, I was speechless. My lady enjoyed her meal immensely. The view of the gardens and river was amazing. I keep telling friends and couples we know about it, and we will definitely be going back again. It is incredibly amazing and you need to go.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have been to Canoe for lunch and dinne ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

I have been to Canoe for lunch and dinner. My lunch last Friday was terrible. The food was unacceptable. I was shocked. Service was fine but quality of the food has gone WAY downhill.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value3

This place never disappoints. Food was ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

This place never disappoints. Food was outstanding and service impeccable. My friend and I go there either together or separately often and we always come out totally satisfied.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Well done. Food was very nice and servic ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Well done. Food was very nice and service was excellent. Ate on the patio and the ambiance was tremendous!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Very knowledgable and attentive staff. ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Very knowledgable and attentive staff. They work together for you. Obviously part of there training. Had atleast 4 members of the staff go out of there way for us. My favorite Atlanta resturant.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Canoe was the perfect cap to our trip to ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Canoe was the perfect cap to our trip to Atlanta. The beautiful view of the river and trees make it a perfect spot for a romantic date night. Our server, Will E., could not have been nicer and was extremely knowledgeable about every item on the menu. He guided us through decision making and it paid off. We took an adventurous risk by having the kangaroo (yes, real kangaroo) appetizer and it was cooked to perfection and a pleasant surprise. Our main courses (lamb special and pasta dish) were also delicious. A must-have is the popcorn ice cream sundae - a wonderfully unique dessert that will make you smile.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Highly recommend for a gastronomic journ ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Highly recommend for a gastronomic journey. Try the kangaroo!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We went for a business celebration lunch ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

We went for a business celebration lunch. Brian was our server and he made on point recommendations. Brian took pictures of our group. His service was outstanding. We sat outside, it was over 90 degrees at lunch time, and yet we were very comfortable on the river's edge. The appetizers were delivered on separate plates (salmon) amazing. I had the turkey special, that I ate over two days and enjoyed every bite. Some of my colleagues had the salmon burger and salads, they all said delicious. We all shared also for appetizers the truffle fries... delectable.

I almost forgot the champagne toast, wonderful.

We thank Canoe and Brian for a memorable celebration.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful setting - excellent food- supp ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Beautiful setting - excellent food- supper waiter!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was amazing! He was one of t ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

The service was amazing! He was one of the best waiters I have ever had. They also had assistant waiters my glass was never less than half full and never had to wait for the table to be cleared. The food was great! The ambiance and view was wonderful also!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was boring, the shrimp & grits wher ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Food was boring, the shrimp & grits where to sweet, not savory, dessert was the best course

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Everything was absolutely fantastic. Our ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Everything was absolutely fantastic. Our server Sara was amazing, professional, prompt, and had amazing recommendations. My experience at Canoe was easily the best dining experience I've had in years. It was the absolute perfect spot for a date. I WILL be back again. Thank you!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was our first time at Canoe, and I ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

This was our first time at Canoe, and I regret waiting so long to try it! We were celebrating our anniversary, and will certainly be back. The views of the river are outstanding, the service was impeccable, and the food...beyond words. We had the arugula salad, which was light and fresh; the calimari, which sweet and smoky in a wonderful way; the NY Strip melted in my mouth, the swordfish which was a miss for my wife (a little too fatty); and 2 desserts! The caramel popcorn sundae was sweet and salty goodness, and the chocolate grotto...SAVE ROOM FOR THE CHOCOLATE GROTTO! The bitterness of flourless chocolate cake at the bottom is balanced perfectly by the chocolate mousse, caramel, and milk chocolate ganache that lovingly surrounds this beautiful piece of heaven. We'll be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was incredible and the ambiance ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

The food was incredible and the ambiance (outdoor seating with river view) can't be beat!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Great service but pricy and the food is ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Great service but pricy and the food is only mediocre.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Great presentation on all our courses. T ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Great presentation on all our courses. Tracy did a great job.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

What a wonderful meal the halibut was so ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

What a wonderful meal the halibut was some of the best I ever had! Great waiter Scott cannot wait to go back

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

I had high expectations, but it was hit ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

I had high expectations, but it was hit or miss. The best things we had were the yogurt & granola and the truffle fries. The worst was the French toast - dry and crumbly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Everything here is mediocre. From the oy ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Everything here is mediocre. From the oysters to the wine list to the service. Our server was wishy washy which made asking for recommendations difficult. Nothing special about the menu or the food. The restaurant is dark and dated. Other than a pretty river view, nothing here is memorable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

I loved everything about this place. Th ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

I loved everything about this place. The setting is lovely, right on the river. We had a drink at the outside bar before dinner and the bartenders were very friendly and informative. We talked about the history and the chef and the menu. We shared the kangaroo appetizer and I had the rabbit for my main course (both of these were a first for me) and they were both fantastic. I don't typically have dessert but I couldn't resist the Chocolate Grotto. They brought it on a plate that had "Happy Birthday" written in chocolate and a candle! Delicious dessert and wonderful presentation. The service was excellent! We will definitely be going back.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We've been here several times over the l ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

We've been here several times over the last 5 -6 years. This time was not as good as in the past. The food was just good, not outstanding as in the past. My husbands appetizer was not hot when it came out and my fish was "a little fishy". I'm not sure I'd go back there as opposed to some other "special occasion" restaurant in Atlanta.

Tags: notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

This is my second visit to Canoe. The fo ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

This is my second visit to Canoe. The food was exquisite and I will dine here again.

Tags: romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Was least enjoyable meal I've experience ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Was least enjoyable meal I've experienced at canoe... Ordered duck beef burger requested temp certain way and egg hard fried because pregnant. They brought out runny egg so sent back and yolk still not cooked solid and burger way too rare ... Server should have noticed burger not eaten and egg layed out on plate bc inedible....

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

the rabbit entree was one of the best me ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

the rabbit entree was one of the best meals I ever had.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food and service at Canoe are always ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

The food and service at Canoe are always wonderful. It is truly an Atlanta Gem! Comfortable and inviting, never stuffy or pretentious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This is our favorite restaurant for spe ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

This is our favorite restaurant for special occasions or just getting out for an excellent meal.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Canoe's brunch was marvelous. The view ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Canoe's brunch was marvelous. The view was so pretty and everyone treated us like old friends even though it was our first time there. I wish we lived closer because we would visit often. The food was delicious. We visited the area for a quick weekend get away and our experience at Canoe was the perfect ending to the trip! Thanks!

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.