Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.27mi
  2. Distance: 1.33mi
  3. Distance: 1.34mi
  4. Distance: 1.41mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.27mi
  2. Distance: 1.33mi
  3. Distance: 1.34mi
  4. Distance: 1.41mi

About Canoe

Canoe is located in Atlanta's historic Vinings area on the Chattahoochee River where Buckhead meets Vinings.
Canoe's beautiful historic riverside setting makes it the perfect spot for weddings, receptions and private celebrations.
Its original cuisine and distinctive design have already been featured in Bon Appetit, Food And Wine, Gourmet, The Wine Spectator and The New York Times. Canoe, recipient of the prestigious Mobil 4 Star Award, was also selected as one of the "Best New Restaurants" in the country by the James Beard Foundation.

4199 Paces Ferry Road SE
Atlanta, GA 30339
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American, Fusion / Eclectic

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm. Sunday Brunch: 10:30am - 2:30pm
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 5:30pm - 9:30pm.

Cross Street:
Chattahoochee River / Woodland Brook

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(770) 432-2663

Website:
http://www.canoeatl.com/

Parking Details:
Valet parking is complimentary.

Executive Chef:
Matthew Basford

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Full Bar, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access

Canoe Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.8

ambience

4.8

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

SpecialOccasions (234)
Waterfront (213)
ScenicView (213)
See All
GoodForDates (207)
Anniversaries (199)
Romance (183)
OutdoorDining (167)
CreativeCuisine (143)
WorthTheDrive (143)
Foodies (132)
Birthdays (129)
NeighborhoodGem (106)
BusinessMeals (100)
Cozy (86)
NotableWineList (85)
Lunch (72)
Brunch (72)
QuietConversation (68)
LocalIngredients (66)
Groups (66)
SundayLunch (60)
Authentic (56)
Fun (54)
HandcraftedCocktails (50)
BarSeating (45)
Healthy (42)
HotSpot (35)
Seasonal (33)
Casual (33)
ComfortFood (27)
HappyHour (27)
Historic (27)
PeopleWatching (21)
PrePostTheatre (21)
TastingMenu (19)
GlutenFree (18)
LateNightFind (17)
Organic (14)
OpenKitchen (14)
VibrantBarScene (13)
PrivateRoom (13)
ModernDecor (12)
VegetarianOptions (10)
AfternoonTea (9)
WoodOven (8)
GreatBeer (7)
ChildFriendly (7)
OutstandingValue (6)
Vegan (5)
DisabledAccess (5)
PaleoFriendly (5)
AfternoonCoffee (5)
FamilyStyle (4)
Fireplace (4)
MolecularGastronomy (4)
Spicy (4)
Tapas (3)
LiveMusic (2)
LiveSports (1)
Sort By:
S
7239 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 2 days ago

Excellent service! My kid knocked over one of our drinks and the drink and tablecloth were replaced within 5 mins. Food was outstanding at brunch!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 2 days ago

Another awesome meal at canoe. Everything was great. We have enjoyed dinner and brunch recently and love them both. The mixed bread basket is delicious.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 2 days ago

Awesome experience.!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 2 days ago

Kangaroo was amazing, as was the chicken and popcorn sundae. The cranberry bread and olive bread was the best. The atmosphere was lovely and the service was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 2 days ago

We had a great time. Our waiter, Austin, did a superb job making sure the service was excellent. The food was amazing!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Orange County)·Dined 3 days ago

The food was mediocre and expensive. We went to celebrate a birthday and they don't even comp a desert (A stupid business decision, as we would never celebrate there again). The deserts were terrible - just pure sugar in various forms. No flavor. The rabbit was stringy and tasteless and the salmon too salty to eat. It is a lovely setting, great breads and nice staff, but for $100+ a couple, it was really quite awful.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (Richmond)·Dined 3 days ago

Great experience! The food, service, and view was amazing!

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Notable Wine List, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Scenic View, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 3 days ago

My Mom and I come hear a few times of year for the great scenery, food and service. See you soon!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Great for Lunch, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Scenic View, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 4 days ago

It just doesn't get better than Canoe for a wonderful meal in a beautiful setting. I have never had anything but a great meal here.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Great for Brunch, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Gluten Free Options, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Healthy, Scenic View, Sunday Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Waterfront, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 5 days ago

Perfect. Our server was knowledgeable and friendly. The food was amazing!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 5 days ago

This was one of the best meals I've ever had! Everything was delicious. I was super impressed with the service, creativity of the dishes, and the overall ambiance. The view of the river was nice bonus. I will definitely be returning!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 6 days ago

Yet again, Canoe did not fail to impress. The salads were fresh and delightful. The duck was superb!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 20, 2017

Went to celebrate my girlfriend's birthday, and had an absolutely wonderful time. The food, while not necessarily the best in Atlanta, is all better than average. The service is fantastic, and the location, the atmosphere--that's what's truly amazing here. What a magical place!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 19, 2017

Had a wonderful anniversary dinner at Canoe. Always a treat, and never a disappointment. Will be back for another celebration soon.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 19, 2017

You'll spend the big buck, but you'll get a memorable experience!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on June 19, 2017

Great food and great service. The Kangaroo was memorable. Everything we had was delicious. Will eat here again!

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Great experience! We will definitely be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 17, 2017

It was my first time dining at Canoe. My husband had eaten there once before for business and really liked it. We were celebrating a birthday and anniversary and we were not disappointed! Evan, our server, did a fabulous job and even came outside to take our photo. On the way out we made a reservation for Christmas Eve! We will be back and hopefully before then!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Always love Canoe but our waitress this time was not up to what we have had. Pushy not meeting us dine, wouldn't bring appetizers til we ordered dinner. Late and wrong on one drink. No apologies. She needs training to be able to deliver the level of service one expects.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Waterfront, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Special trip to Canoe to celebrate my wife's birthday. The food was phenomenal with the kangaroo loin our favorite. The noise level was a little too loud for romantic conversation but that has to do more with inconsiderate gusts than the restaurant as a whole. I did ask for a nice table considering the occasion and we were promptly seated right next to the kitchen/cook area in the middle of everything-not acceptable! After a 10 minute wait, we were seated in an out of the way table for two in the corner with no view...oh well. That did not spoil the night, our waitress was great with awesome recommendations. The chili rubbed flatbread is addictive. We will be back, hopefully for a better table.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Waterfront, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Fun, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 16, 2017

I've lived in Atlanta for over 30 years, and this is the first time my wife and I visited Canoe. What a treat!! Everything was First Class from the reception to the valet. Food was top-notch, served by expert wait staff, and followed up by attentive managers. Everyone had a genuine interest in how our evening was going, and what we thought of each course.

We were captivated throughout the entire meal. Wonderful!! Afterwards, we made our way to the quiet riverfront for some romantic selfies and people watching. Lots of friendly guests excited to make our acquaintance.

We highly recommend Canoe for anyone, but especially for those of you who are in love. :)

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Organic, Romantic, Healthy, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Authentic, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Canoe is our favorite restaurant when we want a nice meal. It is the place I took my significant-other on our first date a couple years ago so we have made a lot of fond memories there.

Canoe is consistently outstanding. There was a glitch this time and the food took a while to come from the kitchen. However, it was o.k. because they recognized their problem and brought it to our attention rather than us complaining. We were not in a hurry and it was about 2:30 pm. It gave us more time to eat their excellent flat bread with butter and watch ducklings follow their mothers up and down the Chattahoochee River. They treated us like royalty; even better than their normal high standard.

Canoe recovered brilliantly from the delay in serving us our food. They brought us dessert and coffee at no charge. Our entrees were amazing. We both had the panko encrusted George's Bank cod with mashed potatoes and spinach. All-in-all, it was a memorable meal and a wonderful way to spend a few ours. As I have come to learn, a great restaurant is much more than just their food. Canoe's attention to detail is first-rate. Their service recovery in response to the delay by the kitchen was remarkable and the atmosphere and the setting all combined to make this dining experience memorable.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Waterfront, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 16, 2017

So so. Crab cake meal was okay. Not great. Waitress was nice

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Lovely birthday dessert.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Scenic View, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on June 16, 2017

We loved every aspect of our really special dinner at Canoe. The service was impeccable and food delicious. Best dessert: popcorn sundae.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Healthy, Seasonal, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Casual, Organic, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on June 15, 2017

We just love Canoe. The food is the best and wait staff are vert welcoming and professional. Great creative menu!!!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on June 15, 2017

Outstanding experience and excellent food. Faith was our server and the service was impeccable!

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Seasonal, Great for Outdoor Dining, Handcrafted Cocktails, Scenic View, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Gluten Free Options, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on June 15, 2017

I love the staff here who always come by to say hello and tell us what birds they have seen there lately-they are all top notch and know us by name and we live in FLorida and only get up here 2-3 times a year. The food -esp the vidalea onion soup is superb!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Waterfront, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on June 14, 2017

If there were 12 stars this place would get them all!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 14, 2017

I had asked for the evening to be memorable, and it was thanks to the gracious staff. Ebru was a wonderful server. Thank you.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Local Ingredients, Waterfront, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 14, 2017

Amazing experience. We were in town for a conference and needed a quiet break from our busy schedule. After a quick uber drive from our downtown hotel we felt like we had landed miles and miles away. The hostess, Amanda greeted us and helped us find just the right table, outside with a beautiful view of the river. Birds were chirping as we ordered a glass of wine. Our server Kristin was friendly and professional. As we ate our meals- duck/beef burger for me with truffle fries, and rabbit for my husband- the sun was setting and we were seranaded by crickets. At the end of the meal the sound track changed to frogs and the river view was replaced by lights in the trees. The menu is creative - game inspired. Delicious. Service outstanding - and setting breathtaking.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Waterfront, Cozy, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 13, 2017

The setting at Canoe is incomparable-especially this time of year! The food is innovative, without being too "out there," and one can always expect a good dining experience. The grilled octopus starter was amazing, as was the compressed watermelon and green strawberry salad. The golden and red beet salad was also amazing. The basil encrusted cod was delicious, and the ravioli and pea puree underneath was sublime! I would probably take a pass on the lamb bolognese-it was good, but not great. (Fortunately, that was not my dish-lol!) Also felt the cocktail offerings could be a bit more innovative to match the cuisine...Overall though, the setting and the food and service made for a very pleasant evening!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 13, 2017

Outstanding food and fantastic service. Hung around for an hour after an amazing dinner enjoying the outside area and then the inside bar. Hard to leave.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 13, 2017

Canoe has a beautiful setting on the river. The menu offers some different options. I had the rabbit and my wife had the rainbow trout. We had a very loud table near us so that was the only downside. Not the restaurants fault though. After dinner we walked to the bar down near the river. It was very peaceful.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 13, 2017

Wonderful meal ... Canoe never disappoints! Service was attentive (great job, Karsten!) and we sat on lower level in a booth that faced the river. Amazing views of the Chattahoochee!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on June 13, 2017

Great service and menu. Nice outside bar right on the Chattahoochee River.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Authentic, Disabled Access, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on June 13, 2017

We celebrated Mike's birthday , the food and the service was amazing. The view is phenomenal! I definitely recommend Canoe to everyone who wants to enjoy !

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Business Meals, Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Scenic View, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Afternoon Tea, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Afternoon Coffee, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 12, 2017

Food was good, ambiance was good, we had good reception and the table with good location was ready as per reservation request. The service was ok, needed to keep waiting for the server/attendant to come by for next round of drink and food orders.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Waterfront, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 12, 2017

Birthday dinner for my partner. Typically here, once you make a reservation and a special request, you don't have to think about it again. Everything is taken care of. Unfortunately that was not the case this time. We were seated next to the busy kitchen pass, so it was very loud. The waitress was not knowledgeable about the wine list, she listened to our preferences and went to ask the bartender. And when it came to dessert, we placed our order and she said, "are we celebrating anything tonight?" Apparently she didn't get the info from the reservation that this was a birthday dinner for Joe.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 12, 2017

Amazing as always! Brought brother and mother in laws here, they loved it!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.