About Canoe

4199 Paces Ferry Road NW
Atlanta, GA 30339
View Larger Map

Canoe is located in Atlanta's historic Vinings area on the Chattahoochee River where Buckhead meets Vinings.
Canoe's beautiful historic riverside setting makes it the perfect spot for weddings, receptions and private celebrations.
Its original cuisine and distinctive design have already been featured in Bon Appetit, Food And Wine, Gourmet, The Wine Spectator and The New York Times. Canoe, recipient of the prestigious Mobil 4 Star Award, was also selected as one of the "Best New Restaurants" in the country by the James Beard Foundation.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American, Fusion / Eclectic

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm. Sunday Brunch: 10:30am - 2:30pm
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 5:30pm - 9:30pm.

Cross Street:
Chattahoochee River / Woodland Brook

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(770) 432-2663

Website:
http://www.canoeatl.com/

Parking Details:
Valet parking is complimentary.

Executive Chef:
Matthew Basford

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar/Lounge, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Area, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Smoking Area, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access

Restaurant Photos

Canoe Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.8

ambience

4.8

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Service
Atlanta / Georgia
Best Ambiance
Atlanta / Georgia
Outdoor Dining
Atlanta / Georgia
11 More
Scenic View
Atlanta / Georgia
American
Atlanta / Georgia
Most Booked
Atlanta / Georgia
Best Overall
Atlanta
Best Service
Atlanta
Best Ambiance
Atlanta
Outdoor Dining
Atlanta
Scenic View
Atlanta
Special Occasion
Atlanta
American
Atlanta
Most Booked
Atlanta
Best Restaurants in Vinings ›

special occasion (426)
scenic view (419)
romantic (376)
See All
fit for foodies (305)
great for outdoor dining (283)
notable wine list (200)
neighborhood gem (193)
good for groups (182)
great for brunch (150)
great for lunch (130)
hot spot (79)
vibrant bar scene (44)
late-night find (36)
kid-friendly (22)
Sort By:
Newest
5828 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

GREAT Sunday Bruch

Dined 3 days ago

BEST SERVICE, view that takes you breath away, and great food! Be sure to tour their garden.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I chose Canoe for their menu and promise ...

Dined 3 days ago

I chose Canoe for their menu and promise of a nice ambiance. We were pleasantly surprised at the beautiful outdoor area, politeness and friendliness of staff, amazing food, and good value. A hidden gem.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife I went for anniversary. This has ...

Dined 3 days ago

My wife I went for anniversary. This has been a place I have wanted to try for a the past few years but never got around to going to when I traveled to Atlanta. Often times I left disappointed when I finally get to eat at place I have been dying to try, but Canoe lived up and surpassed every expectation. I normally don't go the same place twice when visiting Atlanta, but Canoe will be the exception. I can't wait to go back.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Awesome service !!!

vip
Dined 3 days ago

Awesome service !!!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

it was my husband's birthday dinner and ...

Dined 4 days ago

it was my husband's birthday dinner and we both LOVED it! amazing service, great food and outstanding views on the Chattahoochee great evening...expensive though but worth it !

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great evening

Dined 5 days ago

Excellent service, ambience, food; a thoroughly enjoyable evening

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Visiting this Atlanta 20+ year popular r ...

vip
Dined 5 days ago

Visiting this Atlanta 20+ year popular restaurant is always sheer joy! I forget in between visits how special it is. Wait staff is incredibly professional with intimate knowledge of wonderful menu and wine list, enthusiastic, and anxious to go above and beyond to please diners. With such delicious food, and great service, a private party is created at your table! Visit this incredible restaurant, and go home very sated and happy!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great experience beautiful day

Dined 6 days ago

Lunch at canoe is awesome! Abreau was great she did an awesome job making sure our experience was perfect

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Came here for our anniversary dinner. We ...

Dined 6 days ago

Came here for our anniversary dinner. We come here every year. The food was outstanding. The staff went above and beyond to make our night special. They remind us every year why we consider this to be our favorite restaurant in Atlanta.

food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful experience. We sat on back dec ...

Dined 6 days ago

Beautiful experience. We sat on back deck and the view of the gardens and river were very pretty. Very serene. The food was good too, and different. I had kangaroo for the first time, and it was delicious and very tender. The staff were very attentive . Inside was a bit noisier, but it was mostly groups of people. Anytime I return to the area, I will visit Canoe again.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

I took my friend to Canoe to celebrate h ...

Dined 7 days ago

I took my friend to Canoe to celebrate her birthday. Although my reservation confirmation through Open Table stated that the restaurant could not honor requests through this system (I'd simple made a note that it was my friend's birthday), the hostess greeted my friend with a "happy birthday". I knew the lunch would be an experience. Our server, Luke, was attentive yet discreet, answering and facilitating my rather picky dining companion's request. The ground salmon burger she order came on a sesame seed buns; however, no seeds were visible. The birthday girl deemed it delicious. The burger was accompanied by the Parmesan truffle fries. I enjoyed perfectly seasoned, grilled to perfection, salmon over Baby Spinach and Spaghetti Squash Salad, Citrus Pecan Vinaigrette. We ended the meal with the Popcorn Ice Cream Sundae, Canoe’s Cracker Jack and lemon poppy seed cake. We sat next to a group of lovely Red Hat ladies celebrating the 91st birthday of one of their own. Sitting with a friend, watching the river roll pass, listening to ladies who had lived long and was still enjoying life....it was a good time. We will definitely visit Canoe again.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I had heard about Canoe for quite a whil ...

Dined on May 16, 2016

I had heard about Canoe for quite a while but could never get a reservation when I wanted. This time I planned ahead and I am glad that I did. My wife and I celebrated our anniversary there and it was a real treat. The food was wonderful and the service terrific across the board. The entire staff went out of their way to make it a special evening for us and it was wonderful. We will definitely be going back and will tell our friends about it as well.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service4

Really wonderful setting! Leafy, green s ...

vip
Dined on May 15, 2016

Really wonderful setting! Leafy, green stylish yet very comfortable . Food was excellent and interesting- both for vegetarians and meat eaters. Salmon appetizer was fantastic. Just a perfect spring evening. When you see really good reviews you always wonder if your experience will live up to the hype.This is one restaurant that does. If I was having a party or wedding I would want to do it here!

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Very please with all aspects of the dini ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Very please with all aspects of the dining experience.h

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Best dining experience in Atlanta!

Dined on May 15, 2016

Best dining experience in Atlanta!

food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Food not at par with price

Dined on May 13, 2016

Overall, my wife and I enjoyed our diner, and undoubtedly would go again for a very special occasion. The service was superb and the staff was very friendly. We were seated in the outdoors section and had an spectacular view of the Chattahoochee. The food presentation was excellent; however, the flavor was not what I expected. At this price range, I expect the food to be rich in flavors, without the enhancement from salt.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic group spot even in May

Dined on May 13, 2016

I took my husband to Canoe for his birthday; and we were accompanied by a group of friends. His birthday falls in the week between Mother's Day and most of the local college and high school graduations, so getting reservations ANYWHERE can be a bit of a challenge. However, we had a group of seven and had no problem getting a reservation ahead of time. The food was top-notch for a group our size. You can't always guarantee that—inevitably, somebody's food comes out cold or "not exactly what they wanted"—but not at Canoe. We had impeccable service and a great time—and my husband had a fantastic birthday.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a great place to visit when in to ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

Always a great place to visit when in town with excellent food

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great Restaurant!

Dined on May 12, 2016

The food, service, and the view are absolutely AMAZING!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was unbelievably amazing! T ...

Dined on May 11, 2016

The service was unbelievably amazing! The details that were put in to the entire atmosphere was beyond fantastic

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

The scenery was beautiful! I love sittin ...

Dined on May 11, 2016

The scenery was beautiful! I love sitting on the patio. The rabbit and the halibut was awesome!

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Took my mom on an impromptu lunch on her ...

Dined on May 11, 2016

Took my mom on an impromptu lunch on her Birthday. I had been wanting to go for a while and finally made it happen! The service was amazing and the food was really good. The Chimichurri Taco's are really good if you like spicy food! The Grilled Atlantic Salmon was a light dish and flavorful, recommend but not a must. Otherwise, the service was outstanding. They worked hard to make the occasion special! Will return!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We decided to go to Canoe to celebrate o ...

Dined on May 10, 2016

We decided to go to Canoe to celebrate our wedding anniversary and that surly is the right decision. I am not going to repeat those awesome reviews in yelp but just want to confirm that those great reviews are real.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic experience overall

Dined on May 9, 2016

Our waiter was amazing, super helpful and knowledgeable about what was on the table. He kept our glasses full and our table clean and orderly, was conscious of our dinner pace, and a super cool dude all around. Everyone loved the food and drinks, but the garden and river was the best part. Compliments to the chef on the pork with honey and kumquat, that was a favorite of the table. Definitely 10/10 would go again, would recommend.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The ambiance is most spectacular. From ...

Dined on May 9, 2016

The ambiance is most spectacular. From start to finish , including valet parking the staff is exceptional. We especially noticed the spacing between the tables. You are close but not so close that you feel an intrusion. The food, dessert included was prepared to our expections, And the entire party enjoyed all food. Our server was most attentive, and very mindful of all our special need and wants.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect

Dined on May 8, 2016

Cocktails along the river, followed by dinner al fresco. Perfect for any night, but especially for a special occasion! Pleasant, beautiful, and delicious food.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

WOW!

Dined on May 7, 2016

We wanted to celebrate our son's graduation at Canoe, and that was the best place for it! From the moment we set foot in the restaurant, from the hostess to the bartender, and the wait staff, everybody was so welcoming and professional. The food was excellent! Thank you to everybody at Canoe for making this celebration so special!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Canoe never disappoints whether it is co ...

vip
Dined on May 7, 2016

Canoe never disappoints whether it is cocktails by the water or outside bar, the varied menu or scrumptious desserts. This is not a restaurant to be missed when you come to Atlanta.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Consistent Greatness for 20 years

Dined on May 7, 2016

I had dinner here 20 years ago right after they opened and then this week and it is as great as I remember. Food preparation is top notch prepared perfectly and the service is second to none. Wine prices are OK and around 2x retail which is and should be standard. I highly recommend this restuarant for a great top notch meal.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Exceeded Expectations

Dined on May 6, 2016

Beautiful, tranquil surroundings, atmosphere, outstanding service, and value. We look forward to another visit to Canoe when we return to Atlanta.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

College Grad Celebration Lunch

Dined on May 6, 2016

We celebrated my daughter's graduation from college for lunch on a Friday. We sat outside and enjoyed the wonderful view and weather. We shared an arugula salad and two appetizers and enjoyed all of it. Service was excellent and very attentive. The hostess and server both congratulated my daughter on her graduation which made it even more special.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Canoe...still a favorite.

Dined on May 5, 2016

Canoe is in a great location with gardens as well as the Chattahoochi River. The food is delicious with a variety of drink options. End the evening with a scrumptious dessert. Great atmosphere!

Tags: fit for foodies, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great experience

Dined on May 5, 2016

My wife and I celebrated our 25th wedding anniversary at Canoe. We had river view seating and had a wonderful experience. Our waiter Pablo, was terrific. My wife had the arugula salad appetizer - average, the Halibut as the entree (in a broth and reminiscent of sizzling rice soup in a way)- good- and the fabulous popcorn ice cream crackerjack sundae. I had the kangaroo loin appetizer which was good, the roasted rabbit entree which was fabulous and the lemon poppy seed cake with Kiwi sorbet (which was not good). The cake was very dry and had little flavor but the rest of the components were good in the dessert. Overall, my wife loved her dessert and I loved the kangaroo and rabbit. We enjoyed our experience and look forward to another night at Canoe in the future.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was top notch but the service was s ...

Dined on May 4, 2016

Food was top notch but the service was supreme. Great views as well. Patio was considerably more quiet than the indoor portion of the restaurant.

food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Awesome place...average food

Dined on May 4, 2016

Weak selections for non seafood eaters...the kangaroo was a kangaroo...tough and tasteless, the chicken was good and the sides were good...

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service4

Amazing as always! From the food to the ...

vip
Dined on May 3, 2016

Amazing as always! From the food to the location to the service, this place is not to be missed! Love how friendly the staff is and love how you feel like your on vacation when sitting outside!

food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Good Food, Wine List and Service

vip
Dined on May 2, 2016

Good food and serviceable wine list. Service good also. Noise can get a bit loud though.

food5
ambience5
service3

Service for this Sunday brunch did not m ...

vip
Dined on May 1, 2016

Service for this Sunday brunch did not measure up to Canoe's normal standards

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Breadless Brunch

Dined on May 1, 2016

Fantastic Brunch except that I miss the bread tray they used to pass around.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A wonderful experience

Dined on May 1, 2016

The restaurant was BEAUTIFUL and the service was top notch. They referred to me by name and recalled all of the details from my reservation (that it was my birthday and my parents were visiting from out of town). The food was delicious, the view unbeatable (we sat inside but right next to the windows). I can't wait to go back on evening when the outdoor bar is open!

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.