Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.27mi
  2. Distance: 1.33mi
  3. Distance: 1.34mi
  4. Distance: 1.41mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.27mi
  2. Distance: 1.33mi
  3. Distance: 1.34mi
  4. Distance: 1.41mi

About Canoe

Canoe is located in Atlanta's historic Vinings area on the Chattahoochee River where Buckhead meets Vinings.
Canoe's beautiful historic riverside setting makes it the perfect spot for weddings, receptions and private celebrations.
Its original cuisine and distinctive design have already been featured in Bon Appetit, Food And Wine, Gourmet, The Wine Spectator and The New York Times. Canoe, recipient of the prestigious Mobil 4 Star Award, was also selected as one of the "Best New Restaurants" in the country by the James Beard Foundation.

4199 Paces Ferry Road SE
Atlanta, GA 30339
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American, Fusion / Eclectic

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm. Sunday Brunch: 10:30am - 2:30pm
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 5:30pm - 9:30pm.

Cross Street:
Chattahoochee River / Woodland Brook

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(770) 432-2663

Website:
http://www.canoeatl.com/

Parking Details:
Valet parking is complimentary.

Executive Chef:
Matthew Basford

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Full Bar, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access

Canoe Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (156)
Good for a Date (154)
Romantic (153)
See All
Waterfront (149)
Scenic View (145)
Good for Anniversaries (145)
Creative Cuisine (117)
Worth the Drive (113)
Good for Birthdays (97)
Fit for Foodies (85)
Business Meals (75)
Notable Wine List (75)
Great for Outdoor Dining (66)
Cozy (64)
Quiet Conversation (58)
Neighborhood Gem (57)
Great for Brunch (52)
Authentic (45)
Sunday Lunch (45)
Great for Lunch (41)
Seasonal (40)
Good for Groups (39)
Local Ingredients (39)
Fun (37)
Casual (32)
Handcrafted Cocktails (32)
Outstanding Value (24)
Comfort Food (23)
Healthy (22)
Historic (22)
Bar Seating (20)
Open Kitchen (19)
Modern Decor (18)
Hot Spot (18)
Pre/post Theatre (18)
People Watching (17)
Private Room (16)
Tasting Menu (15)
Family Style (9)
Fireplace (9)
Great Beer (8)
Gluten Free Options (8)
Good Vegetarian Options (8)
Organic (7)
Wood Oven (7)
Late-night Find (7)
Happy Hour (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Molecular Gastronomy (6)
Afternoon Tea (5)
Tapas (5)
Vegan (4)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Quick Bite (2)
Spicy (2)
Live Sports (1)
Live Music (1)
Kid-friendly (0)
Sort By:
S
6954 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined 2 days ago

For the first time in 20 years of going to Canoe I'm only going to give it a 4 star (and that's being very harsh)...simply because my duck & beef burger (ordered medium well) came with a raw reddish pink interior...otherwise it was the usual perfect experience!

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Cozy, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined 3 days ago

We had dinner last Monday evening at Canoe for my husband's birthday and were seated in the River Room by a window. It was a warm first day of spring so we enjoyed the view and a walk outside to view the river after our meal. Our server, Carlos, was fantastic. He was knowledgeable as well as precise. When I mentioned to him after the meal that my monk fish was not hot when it was served, he apologized and explained that if I had told him, he would have had it replaced. When I explained that I did not wan to have my husband eat alone, he said that they would have returned both meals to the kitchen and served them together. The manager did comp my entree for us which was more than expected! We loved our beet salad and the chocolate bon bon dessert! We will return again!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined 3 days ago

The service was exceptional! The menu choices were second to none. I have never been to a restaurant quite like Canoe. I will definitely return and share my experience with friends!

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined 3 days ago

Delicious food, great setting

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 3 days ago

Canoe was the no. 2 rated fine dining restaurant on Yelp, and so I made reservations for my wife's birthday. Let's start with the positives. The view is wonderful. Right on the river. We had a booth facing the Chattahoochee. Can't beat the view anywhere in town. Our server was wonderful, and very attentive. We had the Kangaroo Loin appetizer which was just too unique to pass up. Unfortunately, it was nothing special. Cooked well, but the flavor of the meat was overwhelmed by the sauce. It was a confusing dish that left me wishing I had gotten something else. For dinner, I had the venison and my wife had the rabbit. Both were cooked well, but my meat was under seasoned. Apple compote and cranberry relish made for a decent bite, but it was underdeveloped flavor for $36.00. My wife's rabbit was made with goat cheese ravioli. Seems like the pasta was undercooked. The sauce was the highlight, but overall another underwhelming dish. All in all, for $125.00 after tip we could have gotten a much tastier meal elsewhere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 4 days ago

Sooo yummy!! Kangaroo appetizer is a must have! The ambiance is amazing being right next to the river. In between courses make sure you go out and explore!

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, People Watching, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Business Meals, Romantic, Fun, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 5 days ago

I live in Los Angeles and make it a point to come to Canoe for their Sunday Brunch. I can honestly say it's my favorite place for brunch in the entire country .

Tags: Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Authentic, Fun, Family Style, Sunday Lunch, Cozy, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Waterfront, Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 5 days ago

Beautiful restaurant with outdoor seating. Nice seats by the river to have a drink before dinner. The atmosphere was perfect and the food was spectacular. The rabbit was amazing! They threw in a nice little dessert for our anniversary. Will definitely be going back.

Tags: Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Waterfront, Neighborhood Gem, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Romantic, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined 5 days ago

We celebrated a 50th Birthday. There was no better choice in all of the ATL metro than Canoe. Fantastic service, food and setting. Absolutely Love Canoe.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Service and food was fantastic!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Perfect for our little birthday celebration. I wish I could give more than 5 stars, especially for service!
Perfect for us, attentive but not intrusive.
Thank you Canoe! You'll be seeing more of us!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Canoe remains my favorite restaurant in Atlanta. The food, atmosphere, and service are all always 5-star. The experience is worth every penny.

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Wonderful lunch! Enjoyed a birthday lunch with my girlfriends. We had a beautiful view of the river and superb service! My salmon was fabulous cooked over a wood grill and cooked to the perfect temperature. I also enjoyed the leek soup which was fantastic although not so good for a diet. My girlfriends enjoyed a delicious crab cake entree and another a cod sandwich. The tarter sauce was out of this world. Another girlfriend had the pastrami sandwich which was very messy and a little tough on the meat. We will be back and look forward to coming when the weather is warmer and we can sit in their beautiful garden.

Tags: Waterfront, Neighborhood Gem, Wood Oven, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 14, 2017

Good somewhat disappointing. The poached pear salad was so unappealing and NOT good. As for the entrees, too much layering of food to the point of being silly. This place is overpriced and over rated.

Tags: Romantic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 14, 2017

Fantastic. Only issue was it took so long to get wine from the bar that we were half way through our courses before it arrived, after mentioning it twice to the server.

Tags: Tapas, Molecular Gastronomy, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Great Beer, Romantic, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 14, 2017

Lunch was great. It was my first time having lunch at Canoe, they made sure to place me by the window so that I could take in the extraordinary view.

The spring rolls were not what I expected. I am use to Vietnamese rolls that are not fried. However, the Chinese rolls with the tiny salad on the side were delicious. Lunch entree, Panko crusted cod with spinach had the right amount of capers.

YUMMM!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 13, 2017

Our experience at Canoe was fantastic! Both the food and service were outstanding. I would highly recommend Canoe for any special occasion you may be planning.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 13, 2017

Excellent service and food! We could not have found a better place!

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 12, 2017

This was our first time to Canoe, and we were very impressed. Bartenders Ty and Simone were impressive and quite knowledgeable on wines. Both were very friendly and let us taste a few different types to find favorites. Our waiter was very informative and the staff were all quite friendly and always met us with a smile.

Canoe is a place to be a little more adventurous in food choices. We ordered the 1/2 portions of Salmon and Kangaroo as appetizers and were impressed . Entrees were both the duck and rabbit. Everything tasted great and different then the normal choices at typical steakhouses.

Thank you Canoe for treating us to a wonderful evening for our 1st Wedding Anniversary. We'll be back in the Spring!

Tags: Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Romantic, Happy Hour, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Cozy, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Never a disappointing meal at Canoe.....5 stars every time!!

Tags: Cozy, Waterfront, Wood Oven, Business Meals, Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 12, 2017

We loved the bustling ambience of Canoe - the atmosphere was comfortable and welcoming. Our server was excellent, and the food was delicious!

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Second time I've gone for brunch. The ambiance is really nice. The breakfast is ok - not bad, but just ok. The burger was really good. Given the comparable options (or even less expensive options) in the area, I can get better breakfast options.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Alvin, our server was awesome! He was really attentive, personable and very knowledgeable. We will definitely be back!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Great for Brunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 11, 2017

The service was amazing.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Disappointed, we had been to Canoe before and this time, it was not the same. We arrived for our reservation on time, but were told our table needed to be set up. The Hostess appeared annoyed because we had requested a booth overlooking the River. So after about 10 minutes we were taken to our table. The table was still set for 4 although we were a party of 2, so the additional time was not to reset the table. One of the most annoying issues is the various Hostess' walking around with a pad, checking on the progress of the various patrons and their Meals. I can understand once in awhile, however, this was about every 10 minutes. Maybe it was more noticeable to us since we were sitting in one of the raised booths and they were walking in front of us, stopping to write notes. The food was ok, nothing wonderful, I had the duck and it was warm but not hot. Once our Server took our order, she did not return to check on us or pour additional wine, etc. Others came to deliver the food, take the dishes, etc.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 11, 2017

It has been a long time since we have been to a higher end restaurant and had this great of an experience! We were late - botched Uber ride - I did call ahead but when we arrived (about 15 minutes after our early 5:30 reservation) the staff at the front was welcoming and fun - no worries about being late. We thought of a few places we have been lately where that would not have been the case and we were already thinking we would be sent to the bar instead of a table. We had a wonderful large booth - just the two of us - with a great view of the river. I am tired of nice restaurants cramming so many tables in and punishing couples by putting them at a tiny 2-top with tables on either side. None of that at Canoe. The wait staff - from our server, to the bread man, to the water person, to the sweet guy tidying up the crumbs were professional, unobtrusive, friendly. We both had fish meals - my husband red snapper from the menu and I had a special fish offered that night. Delicious. We shared the smoked salmon appetizer and it was presented beautifully on TWO plates, already divided for us to share. This was just the best restaurant experience we may have had after 10 years in ATL. Thank you, Canoe!!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on March 10, 2017

2nd visit with them and definitely were not disappointed! Great food and great service!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Canoe has always been a favorite. Beautiful ambiance, delicious food and a special way to experience an evening.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 9, 2017

The setting was beautiful. The food was terrible. I think the food was overpriced for the taste.

Tags: Waterfront, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service4
value1

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Beautiful views of the river, very romantic with delicious food

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Great all around experience. We had the Salmon sandwich special and a burger for lunch. Both were very well prepared. Our server was also awesome.

Tags: Romantic, Modern Decor, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 9, 2017

My girlfriend and I came to Canoe seeking a fine dining experience to top off our trip to Atlanta during spring break. I can honestly say my dinner was the best I've had in recent memory. From the appetizer crab cake, to the rabbit and ny strip entree and dessert, every thing was amazing. The service was impeccable and really made the evening special for us. I would recommend this place to any of my family or friends planning a trip to Atlanta. It was the highlight of our trip and we were both extremely satisfied with the whole dining experience at Canoe. We both have worked in the service industry so we can sometimes be a little critical when it comes to dining, but this place exceeded our expectations immensely.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Molecular Gastronomy, Good for Anniversaries, Great Beer, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 8, 2017

Great food and service! Wish there hasn't been a private party so we could have enjoyed the patio - next time!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 8, 2017

Nice evening celebrating 36 wedding anniversary, Attentive staff, excellent rabbit and fabulous desert. Great recommendation for wine.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 7, 2017

This was my first visit and everything was amazing. I will be back!

Tags: Historic, Great for Lunch, Waterfront, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Cozy, Healthy, Fun, Worth the Drive, Outstanding Value, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 7, 2017

My friends and I met at the Canoe for dinner and on my way out, I mistakenly gave the Valet guy, Ryan was his name, more money than I intended to...I handed him $143 and didn't realize it, fortunately, Ryan was honest and reached out to me. He went far and beyond to make sure that he gave the money back. I was impressed to know that people like him still are around. People that are honest are becoming rare these days and I just wanted to thank Ryan again for being my hero. So if you ever go to the Canoe and Ryan parks your car, please tip him well!!

Tags: Romantic, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 6, 2017

Good food and nice atmosphere. We chose Canoe because we'd heard about how wonderful the outdoor dining was, but when we arrived they had closed the outdoor dining area and would not allow us to eat there. It was a warm evening (low 70s), and we were told it was closed because no one else had requested to eat there. We were seated inside, and not even near a window. While the food was good, and our server was incredible, without the view, it wasn't worth the cost. If I go back, I'll call ahead and make sure I can dine outside.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 6, 2017

First time dining at Canoe. Anniversary celebration. Staff was outstanding as was overall feel of the restaurant. Lovely setting in back. A bit noisy inside so conversation is a little difficult, but I think there are quieter tables. Salmon appetizer was yummy as was fried chicken entree. Steak was the only disappointment--gristly and undercooked. For the price of the steak I should have sent it back. The atmosphere and staff were so nice, though, so we will try again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Dinner was great! Never had John Dory or rabbit before. Had it all in one night. It's by the Chattahoochee River, so little gnats might make its way in. One did and took a dive into my wine, but it was immediately replaced with a new glass. Popcorn ice cream was amazing! The plate had Happy Birthday written on it with a lite candle placed on the side. The view was nice too. Will go back for the next special occasion.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Organic, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Open Kitchen, Scenic View, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Wonderful to celebrate my birthday here with friends and family. Our server Tracy was fantastic. See you again soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.