About Canoe

4199 Paces Ferry Road NW
Atlanta, GA 30339
View Larger Map

Canoe is located in Atlanta's historic Vinings area on the Chattahoochee River where Buckhead meets Vinings.
Canoe's beautiful historic riverside setting makes it the perfect spot for weddings, receptions and private celebrations.
Its original cuisine and distinctive design have already been featured in Bon Appetit, Food And Wine, Gourmet, The Wine Spectator and The New York Times. Canoe, recipient of the prestigious Mobil 4 Star Award, was also selected as one of the "Best New Restaurants" in the country by the James Beard Foundation.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American, Fusion / Eclectic

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm. Sunday Brunch: 10:30am - 2:30pm
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 5:30pm - 9:30pm.

Cross Street:
Chattahoochee River / Woodland Brook

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(770) 432-2663

Website:
http://www.canoeatl.com/

Parking Details:
Valet parking is complimentary.

Executive Chef:
Matthew Basford

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Full Bar, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access

Restaurant Photos

  • Canoe
Canoe

Canoe Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.8

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Atlanta / Georgia
Outdoor Dining
Atlanta / Georgia
Scenic View
Atlanta / Georgia
9 More
American
Atlanta / Georgia
Most Booked
Atlanta / Georgia
Best Service
Atlanta
Best Ambiance
Atlanta
Outdoor Dining
Atlanta
Romantic
Atlanta
Scenic View
Atlanta
American
Atlanta
Most Booked
Atlanta
Best Restaurants in Vinings ›

Scenic View (377)
Special Occasion (329)
Romantic (304)
See All
Great for Outdoor Dining (265)
Fit for Foodies (220)
Neighborhood Gem (150)
Great for Brunch (133)
Notable Wine List (131)
Good for Groups (115)
Great for Lunch (112)
Waterfront (68)
Good for a Date (59)
Hot Spot (56)
Good for Anniversaries (50)
Good for Birthdays (40)
Worth the Drive (37)
Creative Cuisine (33)
Vibrant Bar Scene (28)
Local Ingredients (27)
Late-night Find (22)
Business Meals (21)
Cozy (20)
Authentic (19)
Fun (16)
Quiet Conversation (16)
Sunday Lunch (15)
Handcrafted Cocktails (15)
Bar Seating (15)
Kid-friendly (14)
Healthy (11)
Outstanding Value (10)
Casual (10)
Private Room (9)
People Watching (9)
Historic (8)
Seasonal (7)
Organic (7)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Afternoon Tea (5)
Modern Decor (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Comfort Food (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Great Beer (3)
Fireplace (3)
Live Music (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Tapas (1)
Dancing (1)
Family Style (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Sort By:
Newest
6139 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We arrived on a beautiful Sunday evening ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined 4 days ago

We arrived on a beautiful Sunday evening and were graciously greeted by the hostess staff who suggested that we walk the garden and enjoy a cocktail outside. When it was time to be seated a hostess found us and led us to our table. Hannah, our waitress, was very charismatic and full of energy and made wonderful suggestions. We started the evening with the kangaroo app and moved to the rainbow trout for my wife and duck for myself. We finished the evening with the crackerjack ice cream and the chocolate grotto. Although we were surrounded by other tables, we had a very intimate evening helped by the captivating nature of our server.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and great service

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined 4 days ago

Great food and great service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Had brunch .the duck burger was excellen ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined 4 days ago

Had brunch .the duck burger was excellent. Others had roasted chicken which they stated was great. Outside view was lovely.service was attententive andand friendly.

Tags: Casual, Cozy, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch, Afternoon Tea, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Outstanding restaurant.......all aspects ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined 5 days ago

Outstanding restaurant.......all aspects of your meal are spot on.

The staff , food, plating and atmosphere are top notch.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Waterfront, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

For the price portions were a bit small. ...

 
 (Naples)
·Dined 5 days ago

For the price portions were a bit small. Service outstanding and food delicious.

Tags: Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Patio in beautiful setting on river bend ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 7 days ago

Patio in beautiful setting on river bend. Great wine list. Outstanding service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Seasonal, Scenic View, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

One of the best restaurants anywhere, se ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 21, 2016

One of the best restaurants anywhere, service was impeccable and the food is always fabulous.

Tags: Romantic, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Molecular Gastronomy, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My friends had never before and we were ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 21, 2016

My friends had never before and we were placed at the best table in the house; rear corner with view of grounds and river. East to carry on a conversation. Awesome food wine and service by Terry.

It could not have been better.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I took my partner there for his birthday ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 20, 2016

I took my partner there for his birthday on the actual day for a nice dinner. It took the waitess close to 15 minutes to come and greet us and the night spiraled downward afterwards.

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

Canoe is always wonderful. The food and ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 20, 2016

Canoe is always wonderful. The food and wine are fabulous and the service terrific. We enjoy having Evans wait on us but this time we had Josh who was just as nice. We will be back soon.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Scenic View, Business Meals, Great for Brunch, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always the Canoe staff and food were ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 19, 2016

As always the Canoe staff and food were outstanding. It's become our anniversary tradition to stay in the city and eat at Canoe. The hostess wished us a happy anniversary and our server greeted us by name. My wife's steak was perfect and my lamb chops were fantastic. My only complaint was the seating, which we were sat back in the right corner. Normally that would've been nice with a lovely view but we were sat between two large groups and the noise made it difficult to hold a conversation. Considering they knew it was our anniversary they could've sat us on the other side which had openings and would have been a more intimate setting. Other than that the evening was perfect.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

My wife chose Canoe to celebrate her bir ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 19, 2016

My wife chose Canoe to celebrate her birthday dinner. It was an great choice. Everything was amazing. Our server was Thomas, his service was Outstanding. Christie was the manager on duty, she notice the diners next to us were loud, she offered a quieter seat with a wonderful window view of The Chattahochee River. Everything at Canoe was outstanding!!!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Late-night Find, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Groups, Authentic, Outstanding Value, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Waterfront, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Sunday Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I decided to celebrate ou ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on September 19, 2016

My husband and I decided to celebrate our 1st ANNIVERSARY here. I had the rabbit which was phenomenal. Braised to perfection. My husband had the duck. That was good as well, but the rabbit was better! Wine was good, and the popcorn ice cream sundae was YUM! They wrote HAPPY ANNIVERSARY on the dessert plate which was sooo sweet. Because of that we anticipated that the dessert would have been complimentary. It wasn't. Still...a great night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

First time here and loved it! Josh was o ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

First time here and loved it! Josh was our server and he was amazing! We felt relaxed, food was fabulous and Bloody Mary's were the best! It's beautiful to sit outside and watch the birds on feeders and looking at the Chattahoochee!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

While I wanted to love this place, the b ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

While I wanted to love this place, the brunch was mediocre. My husband had the Nashville Chicken and Biscuit and it was very, very dry. The sticky buns and French toast were just ok. Maybe it was an off day. Going to try it again for Dinner. View of the Chattahoochee was pretty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

I took my boyfriend here for his 21st bi ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

I took my boyfriend here for his 21st birthday and the staff at Canoe did an amazing job making him feel special the entire night. Everything was perfect! From the moment we pulled up, complimentary valet was there to park for us. As soon as we approached the host, I let her know my name for the reservation and she immediately responded by welcoming us and saying Happy Birthday to my guest. As you're walking to your table, everyone acknowledges your presence and says hello and smiles. Our waiter, Evan, was SO knowledgable about EVERYTHING! From the appetizers, to entrees, to desserts, to the wine and beer - he could recommend and explain anything and everything on the menu. His service was unparalleled to what me and my guest have ever experienced before. He was even kind enough to take a couple pictures of my boyfriend and I with my camera! After dinner, we were able to take our wine glasses outside with us to explore the nature trail along the river and see the vegetable garden. It was an absolutely unforgettable dinner and I would recommend this place to anyone!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Private Room, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Live Music, Fun, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu, Bar Seating, Great Beer, Comfort Food, Business Meals, Cozy, Fireplace, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Seasonal, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Casual, People Watching, Local Ingredients, Outstanding Value, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Although I

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Although I

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Canoe never disappoints! Excellent scen ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Canoe never disappoints! Excellent scenery, food and service.

Tags: Healthy, Waterfront, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My new favorite restaurant! Great food a ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

My new favorite restaurant! Great food and atmosphere!

Tags: Happy Hour, Fun, Waterfront, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was great besides the fact that we wa ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

It was great besides the fact that we waited for 30

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

It was a birthday celebration. The servi ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

It was a birthday celebration. The service and the manner in which my situation was handled could have been better. My boyfriend was going to take me again with my 12 friends, decline to go again. Perfection I was not expecting, but considering is suppose to be a fine dinning or high end restaurant, the ambiance and professionalism was not display as such. Especially when you are paying 20 + for food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

VERY NOISEY! Otherwise food & service Wa ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

VERY NOISEY! Otherwise food & service

Was great!! Canoe has been one of our

Favorite restaurants for years. First time noise level was such that one could not talk or hear others at table!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food! Service was a bit slow and o ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

Great food! Service was a bit slow and our waitress never told us the specials, but other than that great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Excellent. Great food. Great service. P ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

Excellent. Great food. Great service. Peach mint sorbet was fantastic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This restaurant is located amidst old st ...

 
 (Savannah)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

This restaurant is located amidst old style southern mansions on the banks of the Chattahoochee River. The outdoor space is dotted with bird feeders and flowers, along with a bar and some tables. There are also tables under a roof but open to the outdoors. Inside, there are tables and banquettes, both comfortable, but the extensive wine list and food are the real attraction. In addition to the types of food you would expect in a high end restaurant, Canoe has access to more exotic selections. They have the appropriate credentials to do this.

Each course was excellent, from the selections of bread, to calamari, rabbit, duck, lamb chops, and even barbequed ribs. Save room for the popcorn caramel parfait.

The wait staff is knowledgeable about both the food and the wines.

Perfection in every way, at a price to match. Plan on about $100 pp with wine, but well worth it.

Tags: Historic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive, Waterfront, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and excellent service. Beauti ...

 
·Dined on September 13, 2016

Great food and excellent service. Beautiful views . Shame the lake isn't lit up so u can see it at night but still gorgeous.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Scenic View, Great for Brunch, Late-night Find, Romantic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our most recent visit here was for my hu ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

Our most recent visit here was for my husband's birthday. I made a note on the reservation and all of the servers we interacted with wished him a happy birthday. It put a big smile on his face and made the dinner a little more special. Our server was a charming young woman with a good sense of humor. She had an answer for all of our questions and offered good suggestions on the apps and drink pairings. I order the duck and it melts in your mouth tasty. My husband ordered the New York Strip. It was cooked correctly, but unfortunately, the cut of that particular piece was a little tough. He still enjoyed it. The starter special that night was a pork belly slice with pureed butternut squash--oh my that was perfection. We ended the night with the sundae dessert, which was worth every calorie. They wrote Happy Birthday in chocolate on the plate which is a nice touch. Canoe is the perfect place to celebrate a special occasion and the staff makes sure you have a wonderful experience.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Good Vegetarian Options, Private Room, Historic, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Organic, Cozy, Great Beer, Sunday Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Healthy, Waterfront, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Great lunch at Canoe, the food, service ...

vip
 (Charleston)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

Great lunch at Canoe, the food, service and atmosphere are all outstanding !!!

Tags: Romantic, Casual, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food as always was amazing. Our ser ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

The food as always was amazing. Our server was very slow at first, apparently she knew or was very familiar with the couple dining in the booth behind our table as she spent a great deal of time there talking to them. She talked to them about 15 minutes before ever coming to our table. However the meal itself was wonderful. Though our server was a bit slow we will return as we love the food and ambiance. I would have tipped her better if she would have been more attentive but I assume that she felt her other guests were more important since she spent a good bit of time there socializing.

Tags: Good for a Date, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Had brunch last Sunday for a birthday ce ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Had brunch last Sunday for a birthday celebration. Service was very attentive and we were seated by the window looking out on a garden and river.

We wanted to split an appetizer and the kitchen split and plated it as if there were two orders.

Our brunch entrees were well prepared, nice to look at and tasted very good. The duck and beef burger was juicy and flavorful and the Nashville hot chicken biscuits were also very good.

Coffee was a bit on the weak side though. Overall a terrific place for brunch.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

An Atlanta gem! I celebrated my 60th bi ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

An Atlanta gem! I celebrated my 60th birthday with Sunday brunch. The food was amazing, and the service even better if that's possible.

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service and lake front is exceptiona ...

 
 (Savannah)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

The service and lake front is exceptional.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent evening with old friends on hi ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Excellent evening with old friends on his retirement. Great service; never felt rushed though got very busy. Food 'different' but excellent and had plainer things for those less adventuresome. Beautiful view. Noise level made it easy to have a conversation. Beautiful environment.

Tags: Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Hot Spot, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had an excellent dinner. Out of six ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

We had an excellent dinner. Out of six people, we got five different dishes, and they were all excellent. The view is amazing, and the outside bar is one-of-a-kind. We had a couple of issues, however. The first was that our first round of drinks (champagne and beer) were warm. The staff was very kind and replaced them immediately. The second issue was that we were presented a bill, we all put in credit cards/cash, then when the receipts were presented to us, the amount was higher. They had forgotten to put a round of drinks on the bill. That was fine if they had just admitted it, but they did not and argued that we had been presented the higher amount bill when we paid (even though the lesser amount bill was given with the receipts and had the lesser amount). When they finally presented the correct bill to us, it had been crumpled up--seeming to have been thrown away. We certainly did not mind paying for what we ordered, but the way they went about it was less than desirable. This would not change my mind about going back or recommending the restaurant, but it has taught me a lesson about checking the bill before and after I pay.

Tags: Happy Hour, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Canoe is consistently great, and we have ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Canoe is consistently great, and we have never been disappointed. The General manager, Kevin Cornish, is outstanding and constantly looking for ways to delight diners. Just a fabulous, terrific, memorable, add any number of additional superlatives here, restaurant to enjoy in the Atlanta area. Highly recommended.

Tags: Fun, Organic, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our favorite for occasions. First class ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Our favorite for occasions. First class all around.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great atmosphere, great food and above a ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

Great atmosphere, great food and above and beyond service!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Waterfront, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

First time here. Service excellent with ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

First time here. Service excellent with good surroundings.Good atmosphere . Will return in the future.

Tags: Waterfront, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The atmosphere was nice and the service ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

The atmosphere was nice and the service was primarily great; however, me and my date were a bit disappointed with our entrees. After hearing so many wonderful things about the food, it turned out to be the least impressive part of the evening. The presentation was fine and the food quality appeared to be good as well but the execution was not as expected. By the way I had the lamb chops and its proportion of fat I thought was a bit much. Collectively the experience was pretty good,

Tags: Good for a Date, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

While waiting for our reservation, we ha ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

While waiting for our reservation, we had a drink at the riverside bar, the bartender, who is usually a server, was amazing. Extremely detailed menu knowledge, down to the sourcing of the products, very impressive wine knowledge. He wanted us to try and dine with him, but we went ahead with our reservation inside, what a mistake! Inside, the service went down hill. I specifically called the maitre d well beforehand to tell them we had a special occasion and it was my girlfriend's favorite restaurant and her birthday, we were coming down from Alpharetta just for this. Upon arriving at the table our server asks if there is a special occasion and if its our first time dining with us. You would think using opentable's crm that that customer information would be in the system, I guess not. The actual team service was fine(serve from the left, clear from the right, crumb table after each course), however our server seemed to be rushing the meal along. The calamari was cold and rubbery, the charcuterie plate was exquisite. The scallop entree was amazing, and the striped bass special was lifeless; the skin wasn't even crispy as it was sold. Overall, this restaurant seems to be turning into a volume restaurant, turn and burn for maximum revenue. We went on a Tuesday, specifically to receive calm, well paced service. We may visit canoe again, but our expectations from the past experiences set below what they once were.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.