Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.27mi
  2. Distance: 1.33mi
  3. Distance: 1.34mi
  4. Distance: 1.41mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.27mi
  2. Distance: 1.33mi
  3. Distance: 1.34mi
  4. Distance: 1.41mi

About Canoe

Canoe is located in Atlanta's historic Vinings area on the Chattahoochee River where Buckhead meets Vinings.
Canoe's beautiful historic riverside setting makes it the perfect spot for weddings, receptions and private celebrations.
Its original cuisine and distinctive design have already been featured in Bon Appetit, Food And Wine, Gourmet, The Wine Spectator and The New York Times. Canoe, recipient of the prestigious Mobil 4 Star Award, was also selected as one of the "Best New Restaurants" in the country by the James Beard Foundation.

4199 Paces Ferry Road SE
Atlanta, GA 30339
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American, Fusion / Eclectic

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm. Sunday Brunch: 10:30am - 2:30pm
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 5:30pm - 9:30pm.

Cross Street:
Chattahoochee River / Woodland Brook

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(770) 432-2663

Website:
http://www.canoeatl.com/

Parking Details:
Valet parking is complimentary.

Executive Chef:
Matthew Basford

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Full Bar, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access

Canoe Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (161)
Special Occasion (160)
Waterfront (154)
See All
Romantic (153)
Good for Anniversaries (147)
Scenic View (147)
Creative Cuisine (120)
Worth the Drive (117)
Good for Birthdays (104)
Fit for Foodies (91)
Business Meals (77)
Notable Wine List (75)
Great for Outdoor Dining (70)
Cozy (68)
Neighborhood Gem (60)
Quiet Conversation (57)
Great for Brunch (56)
Sunday Lunch (48)
Authentic (46)
Great for Lunch (46)
Local Ingredients (41)
Seasonal (40)
Fun (39)
Good for Groups (39)
Handcrafted Cocktails (37)
Casual (35)
Healthy (26)
Outstanding Value (24)
Comfort Food (24)
Historic (23)
Hot Spot (22)
Bar Seating (22)
Open Kitchen (21)
People Watching (20)
Modern Decor (19)
Pre/post Theatre (18)
Tasting Menu (16)
Private Room (15)
Good Vegetarian Options (9)
Gluten Free Options (9)
Fireplace (9)
Family Style (9)
Happy Hour (8)
Great Beer (8)
Organic (8)
Wood Oven (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Late-night Find (7)
Afternoon Tea (6)
Molecular Gastronomy (6)
Tapas (5)
Vegan (4)
Disabled Access (3)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Spicy (2)
Live Sports (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Live Music (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
6972 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined 2 days ago

Restaurant has a great and beautiful location. Menu and food outstanding. Service poor. Felt rushed, no flexibility when to order our appetizer and or food. The waitress wanted to have a complete order at one time. Not at the pace we wanted to order. Felt like they were managing the table turn and not our enjoyment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 2 days ago

Canoe is a staple of fine dining in Atlanta. Over the years their quality has remained consistent and the service is impeccable. If you can manage a reservation, I highly recommend this place!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Bar Seating, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 2 days ago

Inexpressive.
It s an expensive restaurante so the expectation is high. The brunch menu was not very appealing. The good was ok but not impressive. I had grits with steak. The steak was bleeding on my grits and that was disgusting. And I am one of those people who is very adventurous and eats everything. But I didn't like to see meat blood on my grits. The dessert was hard to cut because it had a very hard and thick caramelized crust on top. Too sweet and no interesting flavors. We got a table in the middle of the room and I hated that. There was a very loud table of ladies by our side and that was annoying.
The service was great thou.
Anyway, there are better places in town for the same price or maybe a little cheaper.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service5
value1

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 3 days ago

Service was rushed. It was a family birthday. I called 2 and ordered a special dessert. Never happened. We are going elsewhere from now on. Very disappointed.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 3 days ago

The kangaroo was great, they were out of bison.
Rockefeller oysters were awesome.
Steak was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 3 days ago

We had a great time celebrating my best friends birthday! Host was accommodating for our guest that were late I wish the menu had more selections for those picky eaters, and slightly bigger portions (especially for the men) and more options for children however they were great with recommending chicken strips for my 4 yr old nephew. Canoe is always wonderful and overall we had a great time!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Scenic View, Cozy, Bar Seating, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining, Waterfront, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 3 days ago

The staff was wonderful! Thomas was our server and he was terrific with offering suggestions, but everyone with assisted us including the host staff was exceptional. The only non positive part was that they seated us in the very back of the restaurant so we were not able to enjoy the view. Over all, it was a wonderful way to celebrate our first anniversary.

Tags: Waterfront, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined 4 days ago

This is one of our favorite restaurants in Atlanta! It's a jewel in the Vinings area! Aesthetically it's beautiful with a nice view of the river. The food and wine are delightful and will satisfy everyone!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fun, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 4 days ago

Magical place, amazing food, unequalled ambiance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined 4 days ago

Anniversary

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined 4 days ago

Canoe is the place to go in northwest Atlanta. The river view is very nice, but does not surpass the food or the service.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined 5 days ago

From the valet guys.. who were great..helping get our b'day cake, presents out of car to the receptionist who was so polite and efficient, to the 2 bartenders(make best martini ever) to our table next to the window-having our flowers-wine on table - a huge surprise for our daughter- Hannah our server was superb.. food amazing.. definitely we will b back

Tags: Good for a Date, Healthy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic, Hot Spot, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Live Sports, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 5 days ago

Outstanding food, service, atmosphere and river view!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Waterfront, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 5 days ago

The attentive service, beautiful view and outstanding food made our recent lunch at Canoe a very special occasion with friends.

Tags: Casual, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Scenic View, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Good Vegetarian Options, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Waterfront, Historic, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Organic, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 6 days ago

We had an outstanding evening under the careful supervision of Patricia, the perfect waitress

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Outstanding Value, Handcrafted Cocktails, Open Kitchen, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 21, 2017

For the first time in 20 years of going to Canoe I'm only going to give it a 4 star (and that's being very harsh)...simply because my duck & beef burger (ordered medium well) came with a raw reddish pink interior...otherwise it was the usual perfect experience!

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Cozy, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 20, 2017

We had dinner last Monday evening at Canoe for my husband's birthday and were seated in the River Room by a window. It was a warm first day of spring so we enjoyed the view and a walk outside to view the river after our meal. Our server, Carlos, was fantastic. He was knowledgeable as well as precise. When I mentioned to him after the meal that my monk fish was not hot when it was served, he apologized and explained that if I had told him, he would have had it replaced. When I explained that I did not wan to have my husband eat alone, he said that they would have returned both meals to the kitchen and served them together. The manager did comp my entree for us which was more than expected! We loved our beet salad and the chocolate bon bon dessert! We will return again!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 20, 2017

The service was exceptional! The menu choices were second to none. I have never been to a restaurant quite like Canoe. I will definitely return and share my experience with friends!

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 20, 2017

Delicious food, great setting

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 20, 2017

Canoe was the no. 2 rated fine dining restaurant on Yelp, and so I made reservations for my wife's birthday. Let's start with the positives. The view is wonderful. Right on the river. We had a booth facing the Chattahoochee. Can't beat the view anywhere in town. Our server was wonderful, and very attentive. We had the Kangaroo Loin appetizer which was just too unique to pass up. Unfortunately, it was nothing special. Cooked well, but the flavor of the meat was overwhelmed by the sauce. It was a confusing dish that left me wishing I had gotten something else. For dinner, I had the venison and my wife had the rabbit. Both were cooked well, but my meat was under seasoned. Apple compote and cranberry relish made for a decent bite, but it was underdeveloped flavor for $36.00. My wife's rabbit was made with goat cheese ravioli. Seems like the pasta was undercooked. The sauce was the highlight, but overall another underwhelming dish. All in all, for $125.00 after tip we could have gotten a much tastier meal elsewhere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 20, 2017

Great service, food and scenery. We sat by the window and over looked the water on a nice sunny day. The food was very good and John, our server, was great. We shared the smoked salmon appetizer, truffled fries (to die for), lamb sandwich (that was a little disappointing for me in that it was rather "gravy-ish" and could not get a hint of the mint-apple mustard that was mentioned in the description-the lamb was still very good but I'm not much if a gravy person, would have preferred to have tasted the mint-apple mustard which was no where to be found) and then we finished our meal with the crackerjack ice cream sundae...OMG! Do I even have to say anything more about that? It was FAB! We'll g back again just for the appies and sundae.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Modern Decor, Great for Outdoor Dining, Waterfront, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Great for Lunch, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Good Vegetarian Options, People Watching, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Authentic, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Sooo yummy!! Kangaroo appetizer is a must have! The ambiance is amazing being right next to the river. In between courses make sure you go out and explore!

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, People Watching, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Business Meals, Romantic, Fun, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 19, 2017

I live in Los Angeles and make it a point to come to Canoe for their Sunday Brunch. I can honestly say it's my favorite place for brunch in the entire country .

Tags: Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Authentic, Fun, Family Style, Sunday Lunch, Cozy, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Waterfront, Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Beautiful restaurant with outdoor seating. Nice seats by the river to have a drink before dinner. The atmosphere was perfect and the food was spectacular. The rabbit was amazing! They threw in a nice little dessert for our anniversary. Will definitely be going back.

Tags: Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Waterfront, Neighborhood Gem, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Romantic, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on March 18, 2017

We celebrated a 50th Birthday. There was no better choice in all of the ATL metro than Canoe. Fantastic service, food and setting. Absolutely Love Canoe.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 18, 2017

The restaurant is beautiful! The food was heavenly. We had quite a variety of entrees and everything was delicious! Our food allergy restrictions were easily accomodated. The staff was very attentive. We had a lovely time!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Waterfront, Good for Birthdays, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Service and food was fantastic!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Perfect for our little birthday celebration. I wish I could give more than 5 stars, especially for service!
Perfect for us, attentive but not intrusive.
Thank you Canoe! You'll be seeing more of us!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Canoe remains my favorite restaurant in Atlanta. The food, atmosphere, and service are all always 5-star. The experience is worth every penny.

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Wonderful lunch! Enjoyed a birthday lunch with my girlfriends. We had a beautiful view of the river and superb service! My salmon was fabulous cooked over a wood grill and cooked to the perfect temperature. I also enjoyed the leek soup which was fantastic although not so good for a diet. My girlfriends enjoyed a delicious crab cake entree and another a cod sandwich. The tarter sauce was out of this world. Another girlfriend had the pastrami sandwich which was very messy and a little tough on the meat. We will be back and look forward to coming when the weather is warmer and we can sit in their beautiful garden.

Tags: Waterfront, Neighborhood Gem, Wood Oven, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 15, 2017

I dine at canoe all the time for business. First time I was displeased with the food taste. I had the corned beef. It was tough and had no flavor.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 14, 2017

Good somewhat disappointing. The poached pear salad was so unappealing and NOT good. As for the entrees, too much layering of food to the point of being silly. This place is overpriced and over rated.

Tags: Romantic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 14, 2017

Fantastic. Only issue was it took so long to get wine from the bar that we were half way through our courses before it arrived, after mentioning it twice to the server.

Tags: Tapas, Molecular Gastronomy, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Great Beer, Romantic, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 14, 2017

Lunch was great. It was my first time having lunch at Canoe, they made sure to place me by the window so that I could take in the extraordinary view.

The spring rolls were not what I expected. I am use to Vietnamese rolls that are not fried. However, the Chinese rolls with the tiny salad on the side were delicious. Lunch entree, Panko crusted cod with spinach had the right amount of capers.

YUMMM!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 13, 2017

Our experience at Canoe was fantastic! Both the food and service were outstanding. I would highly recommend Canoe for any special occasion you may be planning.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 13, 2017

Excellent service and food! We could not have found a better place!

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 12, 2017

This was our first time to Canoe, and we were very impressed. Bartenders Ty and Simone were impressive and quite knowledgeable on wines. Both were very friendly and let us taste a few different types to find favorites. Our waiter was very informative and the staff were all quite friendly and always met us with a smile.

Canoe is a place to be a little more adventurous in food choices. We ordered the 1/2 portions of Salmon and Kangaroo as appetizers and were impressed . Entrees were both the duck and rabbit. Everything tasted great and different then the normal choices at typical steakhouses.

Thank you Canoe for treating us to a wonderful evening for our 1st Wedding Anniversary. We'll be back in the Spring!

Tags: Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Romantic, Happy Hour, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Cozy, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Never a disappointing meal at Canoe.....5 stars every time!!

Tags: Cozy, Waterfront, Wood Oven, Business Meals, Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 12, 2017

We loved the bustling ambience of Canoe - the atmosphere was comfortable and welcoming. Our server was excellent, and the food was delicious!

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Second time I've gone for brunch. The ambiance is really nice. The breakfast is ok - not bad, but just ok. The burger was really good. Given the comparable options (or even less expensive options) in the area, I can get better breakfast options.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.