About Canoe

4199 Paces Ferry Road SE
Atlanta, GA 30339
View Larger Map

Canoe is located in Atlanta's historic Vinings area on the Chattahoochee River where Buckhead meets Vinings.
Canoe's beautiful historic riverside setting makes it the perfect spot for weddings, receptions and private celebrations.
Its original cuisine and distinctive design have already been featured in Bon Appetit, Food And Wine, Gourmet, The Wine Spectator and The New York Times. Canoe, recipient of the prestigious Mobil 4 Star Award, was also selected as one of the "Best New Restaurants" in the country by the James Beard Foundation.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American, Fusion / Eclectic

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm. Sunday Brunch: 10:30am - 2:30pm
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 5:30pm - 9:30pm.

Cross Street:
Chattahoochee River / Woodland Brook

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(770) 432-2663

Website:
http://www.canoeatl.com/

Parking Details:
Valet parking is complimentary.

Executive Chef:
Matthew Basford

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Full Bar, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access

Restaurant Photos

  • Canoe, Atlanta, GA
Canoe, Atlanta, GA

Canoe Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.8

ambience

4.8

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Atlanta / Georgia
Outdoor Dining
Atlanta / Georgia
Scenic View
Atlanta / Georgia
9 More
American
Atlanta / Georgia
Most Booked
Atlanta / Georgia
Best Overall
Atlanta
Best Service
Atlanta
Best Ambiance
Atlanta
Outdoor Dining
Atlanta
Romantic
Atlanta
American
Atlanta
Most Booked
Atlanta
Best Restaurants in Vinings ›

Scenic View (235)
Romantic (219)
Special Occasion (213)
See All
Great for Outdoor Dining (169)
Waterfront (149)
Good for Anniversaries (149)
Good for a Date (139)
Fit for Foodies (133)
Notable Wine List (105)
Worth the Drive (96)
Creative Cuisine (93)
Good for Birthdays (93)
Neighborhood Gem (83)
Great for Brunch (72)
Great for Lunch (61)
Good for Groups (58)
Local Ingredients (57)
Quiet Conversation (53)
Cozy (53)
Business Meals (50)
Bar Seating (43)
Fun (40)
Hot Spot (38)
Authentic (38)
Handcrafted Cocktails (33)
Sunday Lunch (31)
Casual (28)
Healthy (27)
Private Room (24)
Outstanding Value (23)
Seasonal (22)
Historic (20)
Late-night Find (20)
People Watching (19)
Tasting Menu (16)
Happy Hour (16)
Modern Decor (13)
Vibrant Bar Scene (13)
Organic (13)
Pre/post Theatre (12)
Comfort Food (12)
Kid-friendly (12)
Great Beer (12)
Open Kitchen (11)
Family Style (9)
Disabled Access (9)
Good Vegetarian Options (8)
Afternoon Tea (8)
Fireplace (8)
Gluten Free Options (8)
Wood Oven (5)
Afternoon Coffee (5)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Tapas (4)
Spicy (4)
Live Music (3)
Quick Bite (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Dancing (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
6303 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I love this restaurant! The food is amaz ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 3 days ago

I love this restaurant! The food is amazing, the ambiance is extraordinary, and the service is 2nd to none. Great for an anniversary of special occasion.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A beautiful restaurant with a lovely vie ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 5 days ago

A beautiful restaurant with a lovely view of the river. The salmon salad was featured in the AJC newspaper a couple of weeks ago and that is the reason we went to the restaurant. When our salad arrived at our table the fish was over cooked and cold plus the greens were limp. Not at all what I expected.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service4
value1

We were looking for a nice restaurant on ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined 5 days ago

We were looking for a nice restaurant on the way to the Atlanta airport from the mountains. Canoe knocked it out of the park! The cauliflower soup was the best I've tasted, and our server Will was pitch perfect. The lighting is very low and it is a shame you can't see more of the beautiful river view at night, but we will definitely be back.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was an beautiful restaurant with al ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 6 days ago

This was an beautiful restaurant with all fresh made foods handmade from their kitchen. Ice cream and all. Very exotic dishes with fair prices. A must in warmer weather for outdoor dining. Thanks to waiter Evan.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Waterfront, Neighborhood Gem, Private Room, Cozy, Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Went for a special family dinner and had ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Went for a special family dinner and had a lovely time. My husband said his steak was the best he'd ever had. The salmon appetizer was outstanding. Everyone loved their food. And the service was terrific.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Waterfront, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been to Canoe on several occasio ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 26, 2016

We have been to Canoe on several occasions and have always loved our experience. This time, we took the servers recommendation to try the pork vs our standard favorites. It was melt-off-the-bone good yet not nearly as wonderful as the duck or rabbit. Our other favorite appetizer of salmon and dessert of Carmel popcorn ice cream didn't fail!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

A little pricey so I would recommend it ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 24, 2016

A little pricey so I would recommend it for special occasions. We were not familiar with the area so we were taking a risk when we made reservations. We were very pleased and will return if the opportunity arises

Tags: Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Seasonal, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Best spot in Atlanta by far! Great for a ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Best spot in Atlanta by far!

Great for a date, family dinner and romantic evening.

Tags: Fireplace, Private Room, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic dinner with my husband and par ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Fantastic dinner with my husband and parents. The service was impeccable, and the food was perfect - understated flavors, and not too salty, like many restaurants these days.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best restaurant in ATL

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Best restaurant in ATL

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Been bringing out of town guests here fo ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 21, 2016

Been bringing out of town guests here for years, never dissapounts. We've tried pretty much everything on the menu, but i went for the chicken....I know I know, why try that? Well it was probably the best hicken I have ever had. Crispy skin, so moist snd juicy and flavored very well. Rest of table had salmon, Kung pow squid and kangaroo apetizers...great. dinners were rabbit (awsome) sole and the trout.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This trip to Canoe was good, not great. ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 21, 2016

This trip to Canoe was good, not great. Salmon appetizer was outstanding. Entrees, swordfish and quail were good. Service was slightly less than expected. My wife ordered a glass of wine WITH her dinner (ordered at the same time as her entree was ordered). It was brought half way through the entree. Dessert was very good, although coffee was lukewarm.

Canoe has been absolutely fantastic in the past. I guess everyone has an off night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3

Canoe has been our go to place for many ...

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Canoe has been our go to place for many years. We love the river view and the fabulous service. Our wait person, Deborah, was terrific, attentive and knowledgeable. Family favorites are the rabbit, the monkfish, Pheasant, and Chef's choice. This was our babies' 21st birthday and she insisted it be celebrated at Canoe. We are huge fans of that beautiful place.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Our server, Alvin, was phenomenal. We wi ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Our server, Alvin, was phenomenal. We will definitely recommend Canoe to others and we will return.

Tags: Late-night Find, Waterfront, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was excellent, food wasn't b ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 20, 2016

The service was excellent, food wasn't bad, just different which was a good thing. Prices were ridiculous, booth was not private, noise was too high. Also of note, at lesser restaurants, your birthday desert is comped, even though we were spending over $100 on the meal, I took my girlfriend for her birthday and while they said happy birthday to her, desert was not comped and nothing else was special about it. The gardens were beautiful. Would prefer the option to park myself as valet was the ONLY option. Overall, the experience was pleasant, but much too expansive for what you actually get, and not talking about the amount of food, which was fine, just would expect more from the experience at that level as I have been to many places where I have gotten more. I would revisit for a special occasion, but unlikely for any other reason.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value1

This place came so highly recommended th ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 20, 2016

This place came so highly recommended that I was expecting more. I truly did want to like it more, but I thought it was an okay restaurant. Maybe too much hype...

Tags: Notable Wine List, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

The restaurant remains very nice and the ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 19, 2016

The restaurant remains very nice and the food was as delicious as our previous visit.

This time around however, we didn't feel as well taken care of. Our server was not very knowledgeable about the nightly additions to the menu. We didn't really realize this until we heard another server describing these selections to a table behind us.

Unfortunately, our order was incorrect. Our appetizer was great, we had the smoked duck pastrami salad, which came out split into two portions, one for each of us. Nice touch. My wife ordered the pheasant, and I ordered the trout. When our food came out my wife was presented with pork shank. I heard my wife clearly order the pheasant and the server repeated it, however I suspect by the time she put it in she forgot and put in the wrong thing.

Upon being notified of the error, the server quickly took the pork shank and trout away. We then sat there for 15-20 minutes while the order was re cooked. The food came out and was delicious, but no accommodation was made for us during this unscheduled wait. No amuse bush, no trending cocktail shot... nothing. So detracting points for the mistake and for not really owning it. Sure we got the correct food and will return, but we hope for better service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value5

Sorry, Canoe just didn't live up to its ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Sorry, Canoe just didn't live up to its hype. It was okay, but nothing special. My husband's steak had gristle in it. The vegetables were just okay.

I guess restaurants think it is trendy to offer "weird" food (read: kangaroo, octopus); but I think a really good filet mignon or lobster will beat kangaroo any day of the week.

The service and ambience were great, especially the outside view; but it was too chilly to eat outside. It was somewhat noisy, and it felt crowded. We will go back in the spring so we can enjoy the view.

The only thing I can really rave about was the dessert. The Chocolate Grotto was absolutely wonderful, so at least we left on a happy note.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Very nice date-night experience. Valet, ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Very nice date-night experience. Valet, service was great, food was pretty good...on the expensive side, but good. I would put it in the same category as Rays On The River, just to give you a comparison. Try the kangaroo for you appetizer! Lol

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Our server Tracee was wonderful. Kevin, ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Our server Tracee was wonderful. Kevin, the Beverage Director, is a dear friend and made sure we were made to feel special. Truly a great night.

Tags: Waterfront, Scenic View, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Every moment from entering to exiting wa ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Every moment from entering to exiting was delightful. The food was delicious, and it was fun to have the opportunity to try kangaroo. The waitstaff were very professional and friendly. The wine list was extensive. I would absolutely eat there again.

Tags: Waterfront, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Consistently good food and great service ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 17, 2016

Consistently good food and great service. Canoe doesn't rest on its laurels, even though it could.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Ambience, service, view - unequalled. Fo ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Ambience, service, view - unequalled. Food? Oh my! Fried spring rolls, fried shrimp salad (can't describe, but trust me!!) & popcorn ice cream!!

Yes indeed!! Innovative perfection!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Molecular Gastronomy, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic, Waterfront, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Hot Spot, Scenic View, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The dishes at Canoe are very well though ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on November 16, 2016

The dishes at Canoe are very well thought out and executed. The seasonal fare is always satisfying and their pastry chef is very knowledgeable and creative.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

I had been wanting to come for years and ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 16, 2016

I had been wanting to come for years and finally got the chance to. Beautiful restaurant on the river. Service was excellent! Our server was very knowledgeable and attentive. Food was delicious. A must go!

Tags: Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The duck breast and croquet was deliciou ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 15, 2016

The duck breast and croquet was delicious! My wife had the salmon and it was great too!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic place to dine. Beautiful setti ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 15, 2016

Fantastic place to dine. Beautiful setting. Overlooks a small river. You can sit outside in the gardens on the river or just walk around out there. Very inventive menu. Service was friendly and prompt. Complimentary valet parking available. Classy without being stuffy. Would be wonderful for a small reception.

Tags: Late-night Find, Business Meals, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Fun, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Cozy, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Waterfront, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Scenically situated on the river...sprin ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 15, 2016

Scenically situated on the river...spring or fall brunch adjacent the verdant banks of old man chattahoochee would be ideal n spectacular...

I recommend it.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and superior service made my ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 15, 2016

Great food and superior service made my wife's birthday a HIT!!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Healthy, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Incredible first experience at Canoe. My ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on November 15, 2016

Incredible first experience at Canoe. My husband and I went for our first wedding anniversary and the food was outstanding. It was quite busy and a little loud, but the unique menu and experience made up for it. We will be back again.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

such a pretty view and a great location ...

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 14, 2016

such a pretty view and a great location to take out of town guests

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

The food was great and the service was a ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 14, 2016

The food was great and the service was absolutely amazing!

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Afternoon Tea, Good for a Date, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food & excellent customer service ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Great food & excellent customer service . Diverse dining options

Tags: Romantic, Authentic, Open Kitchen, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome place. I would highly recommen ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Awesome place. I would highly recommend to anyone looking for a great dining experience.

Tags: Quick Bite, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Waterfront, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We recently celebrated our anniversary a ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 13, 2016

We recently celebrated our anniversary at Canoe. The service was outstanding and food was wonderful as always. Canoe is consistently excellent.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

very disappointed in every point of view ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 13, 2016

very disappointed in every point of view tables too close to each other we could not hear each other on the table ... extremely expensive for nothing we had pasta soups and salads and the Bill was Humongous ... will not recommend for anyone an d would not go there again and if I hear of someone going there I will try to convince them not to .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service4
value1

This visit just did not seem up to par. ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 13, 2016

This visit just did not seem up to par. If anything our server was too efficient. She would clear something as soon as she thought we were through and even removed a menu from my hand while I was still reading it. We normally spend about 2+ hours having a meal including appetizer and desert and never feel rushed. We were definitely rushed and we were out in under 1.5 hours. We ordered 2 deserts and one of them never came, but at least it was not on the bill. As a side note to the food. My duck breast was just down right tough.

I will still recommend Canoe based on previous visits, but if my next visit is like this one I will not recommend them again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

We had a great experience and really enj ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 12, 2016

We had a great experience and really enjoy the food. Our waiter was excellent. I made our wedding anniversary one to remember.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Outstanding Value, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service (Thomas was wonderful!), a ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Great service (Thomas was wonderful!), ambience and food! What more can you ask for? :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Unbelievable food. Impeccable service. B ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Unbelievable food. Impeccable service. Beautiful dining room. Attention to detail. We will definitely be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Great Beer, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.