Is this your restaurant?Claim this listing.

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.27mi
  2. Distance: 1.33mi
  3. Distance: 1.34mi
  4. Distance: 1.41mi
Get Notified
We'll send you an email if this restaurant joins OpenTable.
Notify Me

Restaurants you may also like

Paces & VinePaces & Vine
(700)
$$$$
American | Vinings, Atlanta
Booked 20 times today
SOHO - AtlantaSOHO - Atlanta
(1352)
$$$$
Contemporary American | Vinings, Atlanta
Booked 11 times today
Crispina Ristorante & PizzeriaCrispina Ristorante & Pizzeria
(304)
$$$$
Italian | Vinings, Atlanta
Booked 14 times today
101 Steak101 Steak
(402)
$$$$
Steakhouse | Vinings, Atlanta
Booked 12 times today
Old Vinings InnOld Vinings Inn
(1164)
$$$$
Southern | Vinings, Atlanta
Booked 6 times today
Stockyard Burgers and BonesStockyard Burgers and Bones
(25)
$$$$
American | Vinings, Atlanta
Booked 1 time today
Guaco Joe'sGuaco Joe's
(33)
$$$$
Mexican | Vinings, Atlanta
Booked 1 time today
King + DukeKing + Duke
(1642)
$$$$
American | Buckhead, Atlanta
Booked 56 times today
UMIUMI
(959)
$$$$
Sushi | Buckhead, Atlanta
Booked 86 times today
Chops Lobster BarChops Lobster Bar
(2462)
$$$$
Steak | Buckhead, Atlanta
Booked 38 times today
ChopsChops
(3603)
$$$$
Steak | Buckhead, Atlanta
Booked 71 times today
Ray's on the RiverRay's on the River
(6965)
$$$$
Seafood | Sandy Springs, Atlanta
Booked 52 times today
Hal's - BuckheadHal's - Buckhead
(2342)
$$$$
Steak | Buckhead, Atlanta
Booked 50 times today
Le Bilboquet - AtlantaLe Bilboquet - Atlanta
(636)
$$$$
French | Buckhead, Atlanta
Booked 44 times today
Blue Ridge GrillBlue Ridge Grill
(2536)
$$$$
American | Buckhead, Atlanta
Booked 52 times today

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.27mi
  2. Distance: 1.33mi
  3. Distance: 1.34mi
  4. Distance: 1.41mi

About Canoe

Canoe is located in Atlanta's historic Vinings area on the Chattahoochee River where Buckhead meets Vinings.
Canoe's beautiful historic riverside setting makes it the perfect spot for weddings, receptions and private celebrations.
Its original cuisine and distinctive design have already been featured in Bon Appetit, Food And Wine, Gourmet, The Wine Spectator and The New York Times. Canoe, recipient of the prestigious Mobil 4 Star Award, was also selected as one of the "Best New Restaurants" in the country by the James Beard Foundation.

4199 Paces Ferry Road SE
Atlanta, GA 30339
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American, Fusion / Eclectic

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm. Sunday Brunch: 10:30am - 2:30pm
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 5:30pm - 9:30pm.

Cross Street:
Chattahoochee River / Woodland Brook

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(770) 432-2663

Website:
http://www.canoeatl.com/

Parking Details:
Valet parking is complimentary.

Executive Chef:
Matthew Basford

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Full Bar, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access

Canoe Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.8

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (80)
Waterfront (70)
Scenic View (63)
See All
Good for a Date (60)
Great for Outdoor Dining (56)
Good for Anniversaries (53)
Romantic (53)
Creative Cuisine (46)
Fit for Foodies (39)
Good for Birthdays (36)
Neighborhood Gem (35)
Worth the Drive (34)
Business Meals (28)
Notable Wine List (27)
Fun (26)
Quiet Conversation (25)
Local Ingredients (22)
Good for Groups (21)
Bar Seating (20)
Great for Brunch (20)
Casual (19)
Cozy (19)
Sunday Lunch (16)
Authentic (15)
Handcrafted Cocktails (15)
Comfort Food (12)
Great for Lunch (12)
Seasonal (11)
Hot Spot (11)
People Watching (9)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Happy Hour (7)
Gluten Free Options (6)
Late-night Find (6)
Organic (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Tapas (2)
Vegan (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Great Beer (1)
Live Music (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Spicy (1)
Sort By:
S
7268 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 1, 2017

A wonderful dining experience! Features we particularly enjoyed: kangaroo appetizer was a fun treat with a unique taste, drinks were very well prepared and filled to the glass brim, duck was as good as the server said it would be, and desserts were delicious (e.g., popcorn sundae). We went down to the river shore for an after-dinner drink, which capped a great evening. Sole disappointment: rabbit is a tradition at Canoe, but not as good as hoped.

Tags: Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 26, 2017

My boyfriend and I went here for our two year anniversary and it was picture perfect! We ate outside and the view is beautiful. Our waiter was awesome and the food was incredible. Great experience.

Tags: Waterfront, Bar Seating, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Absolutely amazing food and service. I celebrated my 50th birthday here and they made the occasion very special. The food was excellent, perfect portion size and was enjoyed by all.

Tags: Special Occasion, Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 18, 2017

OMG booked without ever having been there and only recommendations online....soooo great. It was a Tuesday and place was 'hopping' - the tables, the bar, the outside spaces - even with sporadic rain.
Just the best! Creative meals - and all desserts are only $9 so you can go crazy - and should. Everyone seemed to be having the best time. So scenic alongside a river. Highly recommend!

Tags: Comfort Food, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Canoe is one of a kind. We make sure we dine at Canoe when in Atlanta.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 9, 2017

The ambiance was outstanding. The brunch food was good, but limiting for vegans. I'd definitely go again.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Waterfront, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 6, 2017

not as good as on our previous visits. Disappointed in the food, and dessert was a tiny cookie. We have gone to Canoe for the past 14 yrs, especially for special occasions and entertaining guests. However, after this last experience, we are reluctant to choose Canoe.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Houston)·Dined on June 30, 2017

This restaurant was fantastic! Everything about it, the staff,the food and ambiance. If you can get there before it gets dark outside so you can enjoy more of the views,surroundings! I will definitely return during my next visit to Atlanta!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 29, 2017

food as always

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on June 28, 2017

Our waiter was exceptional ( Brian). The seafood was fresh and delicious.
Ask for a seat that faces outdoors. The view enhances the whole experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 27, 2017

As always, everything was excellent. Hannah snagged us a table on the patio and refused to take credit for the beautiful weather. We are bummed about the fact that we will no longer be able to reserve a table there through Open Table. Canoe is going with a different reservation system.

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 26, 2017

I absolutely love this place, staff are on point with absolutely everything,impecable service. Scenic views are breathtaking. Food is stunning and inventive with layers of flavor. Wine list is perfect for any budget. Perfect for all occasions. Love it Love it Love it!!!

Tags: Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Cozy, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Casual, Good for a Date, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Waterfront, Seasonal, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 26, 2017

I absolutely love this restaurant. The experience that my fiancé and I had the last time we visited was nothing short of amazing. The staff and manager fall all over themselves to provide the absolutely best service. The food is to die for and the view is breathtaking. I recommend this restaurant to everyone!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Waterfront, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on June 26, 2017

It was a lovely humidity-free Atlanta evening and I really looked forward to dinner at Canoe with my friend who was in town from Houston. Since my last visit, several years ago was memorable, I had expected the same on this occasion. Unfortunately, the overall dining experience (food and decor) seemed tired, dated and lack-luster. Enthusiastic servers were a positive note, however.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 26, 2017

Asked if we could be seated outside for the birthday girl, told sorry we can't accommodate 8 outside. Taken to wrong table and then asked to walk to the other side of the restaurant, never offered we could put you at two tables of four next to each other...that would have been nice. Food awesome as always! Always worth the trip.

Tags: Waterfront, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 25, 2017

The customer service was great. The server was very knowledgeable about the menu and drinks. They have a good wine selection. The view is amazing and atmosphere is quiet. The inside is very cozy and well set for a romantic date

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Tapas, Romantic, Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating, Cozy, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Tasting Menu, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 25, 2017

Excellent service! My kid knocked over one of our drinks and the drink and tablecloth were replaced within 5 mins. Food was outstanding at brunch!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 25, 2017

Another awesome meal at canoe. Everything was great. We have enjoyed dinner and brunch recently and love them both. The mixed bread basket is delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Awesome experience.!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Kangaroo was amazing, as was the chicken and popcorn sundae. The cranberry bread and olive bread was the best. The atmosphere was lovely and the service was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 24, 2017

We had a great time. Our waiter, Austin, did a superb job making sure the service was excellent. The food was amazing!

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on June 23, 2017

The food was mediocre and expensive. We went to celebrate a birthday and they don't even comp a desert (A stupid business decision, as we would never celebrate there again). The deserts were terrible - just pure sugar in various forms. No flavor. The rabbit was stringy and tasteless and the salmon too salty to eat. It is a lovely setting, great breads and nice staff, but for $100+ a couple, it was really quite awful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Great experience! The food, service, and view was amazing!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Scenic View, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 23, 2017

My Mom and I come hear a few times of year for the great scenery, food and service. See you soon!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Scenic View, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 23, 2017

We go to Canoe at least once a month and usually have a drink or two in the lounge and have some oysters. My lamb was good, but not memorable; the red snapper was very good; the trout was very good. We really enjoy dining at Canoe but the entrees seem to have a diminished quality.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Waterfront, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 22, 2017

Went here for the 1st and had a bday dinner. Service was great. And because I'm vegan chef created a dish that meet my expectations. Great place to eat in Vinings area.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 22, 2017

It just doesn't get better than Canoe for a wonderful meal in a beautiful setting. I have never had anything but a great meal here.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Gluten Free Options, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Healthy, Scenic View, Sunday Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Waterfront, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 21, 2017

Perfect. Our server was knowledgeable and friendly. The food was amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 21, 2017

This was one of the best meals I've ever had! Everything was delicious. I was super impressed with the service, creativity of the dishes, and the overall ambiance. The view of the river was nice bonus. I will definitely be returning!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 20, 2017

Yet again, Canoe did not fail to impress. The salads were fresh and delightful. The duck was superb!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 19, 2017

Went to celebrate my girlfriend's birthday, and had an absolutely wonderful time. The food, while not necessarily the best in Atlanta, is all better than average. The service is fantastic, and the location, the atmosphere--that's what's truly amazing here. What a magical place!

Tags: Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 19, 2017

Had a wonderful anniversary dinner at Canoe. Always a treat, and never a disappointment. Will be back for another celebration soon.

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 19, 2017

You'll spend the big buck, but you'll get a memorable experience!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on June 19, 2017

Great food and great service. The Kangaroo was memorable. Everything we had was delicious. Will eat here again!

Tags: Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Great experience! We will definitely be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 17, 2017

It was my first time dining at Canoe. My husband had eaten there once before for business and really liked it. We were celebrating a birthday and anniversary and we were not disappointed! Evan, our server, did a fabulous job and even came outside to take our photo. On the way out we made a reservation for Christmas Eve! We will be back and hopefully before then!

Tags: Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Special trip to Canoe to celebrate my wife's birthday. The food was phenomenal with the kangaroo loin our favorite. The noise level was a little too loud for romantic conversation but that has to do more with inconsiderate gusts than the restaurant as a whole. I did ask for a nice table considering the occasion and we were promptly seated right next to the kitchen/cook area in the middle of everything-not acceptable! After a 10 minute wait, we were seated in an out of the way table for two in the corner with no view...oh well. That did not spoil the night, our waitress was great with awesome recommendations. The chili rubbed flatbread is addictive. We will be back, hopefully for a better table.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Waterfront, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Fun, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Always love Canoe but our waitress this time was not up to what we have had. Pushy not meeting us dine, wouldn't bring appetizers til we ordered dinner. Late and wrong on one drink. No apologies. She needs training to be able to deliver the level of service one expects.

Tags: Waterfront, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 16, 2017

I've lived in Atlanta for over 30 years, and this is the first time my wife and I visited Canoe. What a treat!! Everything was First Class from the reception to the valet. Food was top-notch, served by expert wait staff, and followed up by attentive managers. Everyone had a genuine interest in how our evening was going, and what we thought of each course.

We were captivated throughout the entire meal. Wonderful!! Afterwards, we made our way to the quiet riverfront for some romantic selfies and people watching. Lots of friendly guests excited to make our acquaintance.

We highly recommend Canoe for anyone, but especially for those of you who are in love. :)

Tags: Organic, Romantic, Healthy, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Authentic, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Canoe is our favorite restaurant when we want a nice meal. It is the place I took my significant-other on our first date a couple years ago so we have made a lot of fond memories there.

Canoe is consistently outstanding. There was a glitch this time and the food took a while to come from the kitchen. However, it was o.k. because they recognized their problem and brought it to our attention rather than us complaining. We were not in a hurry and it was about 2:30 pm. It gave us more time to eat their excellent flat bread with butter and watch ducklings follow their mothers up and down the Chattahoochee River. They treated us like royalty; even better than their normal high standard.

Canoe recovered brilliantly from the delay in serving us our food. They brought us dessert and coffee at no charge. Our entrees were amazing. We both had the panko encrusted George's Bank cod with mashed potatoes and spinach. All-in-all, it was a memorable meal and a wonderful way to spend a few ours. As I have come to learn, a great restaurant is much more than just their food. Canoe's attention to detail is first-rate. Their service recovery in response to the delay by the kitchen was remarkable and the atmosphere and the setting all combined to make this dining experience memorable.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Waterfront, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.