About Canoe

4199 Paces Ferry Road SE
Atlanta, GA 30339
View Larger Map

Canoe is located in Atlanta's historic Vinings area on the Chattahoochee River where Buckhead meets Vinings.
Canoe's beautiful historic riverside setting makes it the perfect spot for weddings, receptions and private celebrations.
Its original cuisine and distinctive design have already been featured in Bon Appetit, Food And Wine, Gourmet, The Wine Spectator and The New York Times. Canoe, recipient of the prestigious Mobil 4 Star Award, was also selected as one of the "Best New Restaurants" in the country by the James Beard Foundation.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American, Fusion / Eclectic

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm. Sunday Brunch: 10:30am - 2:30pm
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 5:30pm - 9:30pm.

Cross Street:
Chattahoochee River / Woodland Brook

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(770) 432-2663

Website:
http://www.canoeatl.com/

Parking Details:
Valet parking is complimentary.

Executive Chef:
Matthew Basford

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Full Bar, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access

Canoe Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.8

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Romantic (161)
Special Occasion (154)
Good for Anniversaries (152)
See All
Good for a Date (146)
Waterfront (143)
Scenic View (136)
Creative Cuisine (111)
Worth the Drive (102)
Good for Birthdays (90)
Fit for Foodies (80)
Notable Wine List (74)
Great for Outdoor Dining (72)
Business Meals (65)
Cozy (64)
Quiet Conversation (56)
Neighborhood Gem (52)
Great for Brunch (46)
Sunday Lunch (43)
Fun (41)
Local Ingredients (40)
Great for Lunch (39)
Good for Groups (38)
Authentic (36)
Seasonal (35)
Casual (34)
Handcrafted Cocktails (32)
Bar Seating (24)
Outstanding Value (24)
Hot Spot (22)
Comfort Food (22)
Healthy (21)
Private Room (19)
Historic (19)
Pre/post Theatre (17)
Modern Decor (17)
Open Kitchen (17)
People Watching (16)
Tasting Menu (14)
Fireplace (11)
Great Beer (9)
Family Style (9)
Late-night Find (6)
Gluten Free Options (6)
Disabled Access (6)
Organic (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Afternoon Tea (5)
Afternoon Coffee (4)
Molecular Gastronomy (4)
Spicy (4)
Tapas (4)
Wood Oven (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Quick Bite (3)
Kid-friendly (2)
Live Music (2)
Vegan (2)
Live Sports (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
6885 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined a day ago

We had an amazing meal and experience. Very friendly staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 2 days ago

Our last experience at Canoe was incredible. The food is always outstanding but the level of customer service is unbeatable. My fiance and I went to celebrate a special occasion and they went above and beyond to make our evening memorable. We will absolutely be back after our last experience and highly recommend the restaurant to anyone who has not already tried it.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 2 days ago

Excellent service - delicious apps and entrees - great atmosphere.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fun, Good for a Date, Wood Oven, Great for Outdoor Dining, Comfort Food, Seasonal, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined 2 days ago

Good experience. Menu is somewhat limited for lunch though. Nice views in the room facing the river. Good service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
·Dined 3 days ago

Food was amazing. We especially loved the smoked salmon appetizer. Our service was also top-notch. We will certainly return!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined 6 days ago

Great food, professional service, excellent scene.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
·Dined 6 days ago

Awesome experience for Sunday Brunch! The server was exceptional.

Tags: Happy Hour, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, People Watching, Scenic View, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

 
·Dined 6 days ago

Canoe exceeded my expectations! Even though it's not quite spring the patio was open and still beautiful overlooking the waterfront. It must be gorgeous when it really starts to bloom. Enjoyed a tasty brunch, the "Riverside" dish was ordinary but good, I would try something more adventurous next time. My husband loved the duck and beef burger and the truffle fries were amazing. My favorite part was the view the attentive and warm service and our chocolate grotto dessert!!

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined 6 days ago

Great service! Great atmosphere! The food was good, definitely try the sticky buns for brunch. No complaints!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 7 days ago

The atmosphere was fantastic and the food was really good. They made an extra effort to wish my girlfriend a happy birthday, which they knew ahead of our experience.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 7 days ago

Outstanding food and service. Our first time at Canoe but definitely not the last. We really enjoyed the dinner and the service!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
·Dined 7 days ago

No special birthday dessert was given to the birthday person which is something most restaurants offer. Apparentely, there is no reason to tell the restaurant it is a special occasion. A disappointment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on February 18, 2017

Great food,great service. Overall, great experience. We ate here for our 10th Anniversary and the service was awesome. I would definitely recommend this restaurant for a cozy,romantic night out!

Tags: Casual, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on February 17, 2017

Fantastic experience from valet to bar .... appetizers and entree wonderful.... service excellent.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on February 17, 2017

Service was extraordinary.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on February 17, 2017

Great food & service. I will definitely recommend--for all occasions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on February 14, 2017

First time visiting and was absolutely, 100% satisfied with the whole experience! Everything was awesome and our waiter was incredible! Will definitely be back! Btw, the duck was OUTSTANDING!

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem, Quick Bite, Healthy, Fireplace, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Cozy, Outstanding Value, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Sunday Lunch, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Casual, Romantic, Good for Groups, Waterfront, Hot Spot, Quiet Conversation, Fun, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Live Music, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on February 14, 2017

Perfect Valentines dinner! Very attentive service and innovative menu

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on February 14, 2017

As usual, Canoe was amazing. My wife and daughter joined me for Valentine's Day and it was excellent. The venison, rabbit and Char Fish were delicious and the octopus and kangaroo appetizers were sensational. And our server, Alvin, was extremely knowledgeable, energetic and helpful. I can't wait to go back again! I highly recommended it!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Seasonal, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Waterfront, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on February 13, 2017

Great view. Beautiful place! Great for lunch and a romantic date

Tags: Waterfront, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
·Dined on February 13, 2017

Canoe is always my top choice when visiting Atlanta. It's got a great comfortable feel

The service is impeccable, the food is delicious & innovative. Our server Will E couldn't have been more gracious. When I complimented the chef for u an interesting spicy oil used on flatbread, Will brought out a little container for me to take home. Our meals were fabulous. Another perfect evening at Canoe.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on February 13, 2017

Fantastic apps and meal. Great duck dish. Arctic Char was delicious! Great desserts to finish a great meal.

Tags: People Watching, Open Kitchen, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on February 12, 2017

Great service, great food! Up until we were ready to leave. We asked for a coffee to go. Now keep in mind we spent over $300. The server came back with a 12 oz beer pint glass and said 'my manager said we aren't Dunkin' Donuts, you can keep the glassware' ....what? Why couldn't you just politely let us know you don't do that. Unbelievable. Will not be returning

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on February 12, 2017

Great food and excellent service. Definitely plan on making Canoe a regular stop for me and my wife.

Tags: Hot Spot, Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on February 12, 2017

Ended our meal sitting on the riverbank drinking champagne! As good as it gets!!!

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on February 12, 2017

Great food, service, atmosphere and date spot!! Wide variety of food options which are very fresh.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Romantic, Good for a Date, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on February 12, 2017

As usual, Canoe proved to be the perfect place for a romantic lunch with my wife! The service was good, the food was perfect, the setting wonderful! After lunch, we had a nice stroll along the river.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
·Dined on February 12, 2017

Great place very romantic! Beautiful view good for a nice weather day. Scrambled eggs in riverside entree are runny so would specify how you want it

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on February 12, 2017

Nice spot with great view of the river, we had a birthday brunch. A bit pricey but food was tasty. Grotto Dessert was DELICIOUS! Definitely great for a special occasion.

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Scenic View, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on February 12, 2017

I have been to Canoe many times and I have always had a great experience at this restaurant except for this last Sunday. We went for brunch to start the celebration of our valentine. We got great seats with a view of the garden. That was the high note of the day. After that we had to wait almost 20 minutes just to be able to order a cup of coffee and a basket of sweets. We rarely got any refills from our server. Our main course took ages because was left seating for a long time in the kitchen (the server explained to us that was the reason). We asked our server if she could take a picture of us when we got our drinks. She said she would in a moment. She never did. Not even when the folks seating next to us asked the same, she didn't remember we had made such request a few minutes ago. She offered excuses multiple times for what she could perceived was a lousy service. Her main excuse was the worst part of the whole story. It happened that we were seating across from a table where her boss/ or owner of the restaurant was seating with a party of 5. She said that was the reason she could not attend properly to our table. She had to make sure her boss was happy. In other words, the owner of the business is what really matters, not the customers who bring business to that owner. Good luck with that logic. After her boss left, she finally decided to "make it up for us" and without asking offered a couple of complimentary desserts. We had not ordered dessert not to save money, but because we were too full and had not been able to finish a full basket of sweets we had ordered as a starter. I know this was her attempt to do something nice. But by then our whole experience at Canoe and anniversary celebration had gone south and it was too little too late. We chug a couple of bites from each dessert not to be rude.

The button line from this experience (and fortunately many previous ones): go to Canoe, just try not to sit in front of someone more important (sarcasm intended)

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1
value3

vip
·Dined on February 12, 2017

Our food was cold. All else was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value3

 
·Dined on February 12, 2017

My lady and I decide to celebrate Valentine's day early and Canoe was a suggestion by some peers and co-workers. The food was great, and the ambiance was classy and appropriate for the occasion.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
·Dined on February 12, 2017

Very nice romantic place. Food was good. Scott our waiter was very friendly.

Tags: Cozy, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on February 11, 2017

Loved it. Amazing food. Great service. Beautiful restaurant.

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
·Dined on February 11, 2017

Really great place to have dinner for any type of special occasion. Always a fantastic meal.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on February 11, 2017

We've always enjoyed coming to Canoe. The staff is always friendly and knowledgeable about the menu and wine list. The wine list is extensive without being pretentious. This is our go-to date night spot.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Historic, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on February 11, 2017

Beautiful ambiance. Delicious food. The pop corn sundae was the best dessert I've ever had! Excellent customer service!!!

Tags: Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on February 11, 2017

Excellent supper and always consistent. A fantastic place with a quality staff. We will return

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Waterfront, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on February 10, 2017

Excellent food, atmosphere, and service. This is a must do in the ATL.

Tags: Seasonal, Cozy, Open Kitchen, Romantic, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Organic, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on February 10, 2017

Don't ever get beef. One would expect a 45 day aged steak to be good. My steak was slightly overcooked which would have been OK except the meat was very tough. I expected at least an adequate steak for $65.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4

 
·Dined on February 10, 2017

The reviews are correct. This place is amazing!! The crab cakes are savory. The food will satisfy your senses and pamper the soul.

Tags: Good for a Date, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on February 10, 2017

Staff was excellent. We had a late arrival who had us place her order, then when she arrived she wanted to change. Staff had no issues with change in order. They were very attentive without being overbearing. I had the Salmon salad. It was wonderful flavors and texture. The salmon had a bit of a crunch, that I liked, around the edges but the overall texture was Mmm... good.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Good for Groups, Waterfront, Great for Brunch, Tasting Menu, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on February 9, 2017

Wonderful birthday evening

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on February 9, 2017

Our waiter, Will was wonderful. Loved everything about our dining experience.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Open Kitchen, Live Sports, Worth the Drive, Waterfront, Casual, Romantic, Fun, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on February 9, 2017

OUr waiter , Will, was wonderful!! He's a keeper!

Tags: Seasonal, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Casual, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on February 8, 2017

Amazing service and food. Has smoked salmon, rabbit and caramel popcorn dessert. Five stars

Tags: Healthy, Spicy, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Wood Oven, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Historic, Good for a Date, Casual, Fireplace, Worth the Drive, Waterfront, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Scenic View, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on February 6, 2017

Any meal at Canoe is a special experience--great food, well prepared, wonderful ambiance with the river and grounds easily visible, and a knowledgeable and attentive wait staff. We've had Josh wait on us in the past and it's always a pleasure. His recommendations for wine and from the menu were spot on. Our friends and we had a wonderful time.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
·Dined on February 5, 2017

I love Canoe for dinner. We tried brunch this past weekend and were some what disappointed with the level of service and the noise level. The chef forgot to add onions to my friend's omelet and we waited a long time for our tea as well as to order. When we mentioned these to our server no apologies or changes were offered. The upside was that the chef went beyond expectations by creating an omelet which wasn't offered on the menu.

The noise level was loud due to a large party with a number of children. It wasn't the usual relaxing atmosphere we have come to enjoy. We will stick to dinners and weekday lunches in the future. It's still a favorite!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

 
·Dined on February 5, 2017

Beautiful setting, great food, great service! The Sunday brunch was amazing. The setting along the river is so peaceful and beautiful.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great Beer, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on February 4, 2017

Excellent Food & Service and very attentive !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.