About Canoe

4199 Paces Ferry Road SE
Atlanta, GA 30339
View Larger Map

Canoe is located in Atlanta's historic Vinings area on the Chattahoochee River where Buckhead meets Vinings.
Canoe's beautiful historic riverside setting makes it the perfect spot for weddings, receptions and private celebrations.
Its original cuisine and distinctive design have already been featured in Bon Appetit, Food And Wine, Gourmet, The Wine Spectator and The New York Times. Canoe, recipient of the prestigious Mobil 4 Star Award, was also selected as one of the "Best New Restaurants" in the country by the James Beard Foundation.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American, Fusion / Eclectic

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm. Sunday Brunch: 10:30am - 2:30pm
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 5:30pm - 9:30pm.

Cross Street:
Chattahoochee River / Woodland Brook

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(770) 432-2663

Website:
http://www.canoeatl.com/

Parking Details:
Valet parking is complimentary.

Executive Chef:
Matthew Basford

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Full Bar, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access

Restaurant Photos

  • Canoe, Atlanta, GA

Report a photo problem

Canoe Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.8

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (157)
Romantic (151)
Scenic View (146)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (145)
Waterfront (138)
Good for a Date (124)
Worth the Drive (102)
Creative Cuisine (100)
Great for Outdoor Dining (94)
Fit for Foodies (90)
Good for Birthdays (86)
Notable Wine List (75)
Business Meals (59)
Quiet Conversation (58)
Cozy (57)
Neighborhood Gem (52)
Great for Brunch (44)
Local Ingredients (41)
Great for Lunch (39)
Good for Groups (39)
Fun (37)
Bar Seating (33)
Authentic (33)
Sunday Lunch (32)
Handcrafted Cocktails (32)
Casual (31)
Seasonal (30)
Outstanding Value (25)
Healthy (24)
Comfort Food (23)
Private Room (23)
Hot Spot (21)
Historic (21)
Open Kitchen (18)
Tasting Menu (17)
Modern Decor (15)
People Watching (15)
Pre/post Theatre (14)
Family Style (13)
Great Beer (13)
Fireplace (11)
Late-night Find (10)
Organic (10)
Happy Hour (9)
Disabled Access (9)
Gluten Free Options (8)
Kid-friendly (7)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Afternoon Tea (6)
Wood Oven (5)
Afternoon Coffee (5)
Tapas (5)
Spicy (4)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Vegan (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Live Music (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
6787 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

It was a wonderful experience celebratin ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 3 days ago

It was a wonderful experience celebrating my wife's birthday here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I were very impress with the ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 4 days ago

My wife and I were very impress with the professionalism of the staff. We really enjoyed Tracy who served us. Tracy was very knowledgable and nice and made our time at Canoe wonderful. It was our anniversary and we really enjoyed the personal touch they gave us in acknowledging our anniversary. I would highly recommend this restaurant to everyone as a must go to place while you're in Atlanta.

Tags: , Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Seasonal, Great for Brunch, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Private Room, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Waterfront, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Canoe used to be one of our favorites bu ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

Canoe used to be one of our favorites but the last couple times we have been we have left disappointed. The only items on the brunch menu worth ordering are the scones and sticky buns. We had the she crab soup and it was awful (used to order it and loved it every time) The shrimp salad was drenched in dressing. Yucky. Won't be returning anytime too soon!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value1

I truly enjoyed this place! Hannah was t ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 4 days ago

I truly enjoyed this place! Hannah was the waitress and she was nothing but excellent!! I went for brunch which was delicious so I have to come back for dinner

Tags: Good for Groups, Scenic View, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Restaurant is a fun place to go, the dec ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined 4 days ago

Restaurant is a fun place to go, the decor is a little dated. Our server Debra was outstanding and knowlegable on menu. Ask for her when you go she makes your visit more enjoyable.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always the food was outstanding. We m ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 4 days ago

As always the food was outstanding. We made reservations for a later time than we usually do, and were placed inside the main building. It was much noisier than usual, and a little less enjoyable. In future we will go earlier if possible, and will always request the porch riverside seating.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Amazing service and good food - very aff ...

 
 (London)·Dined 4 days ago

Amazing service and good food - very affordable too. The pecan rolls were fantastic!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Scenic View, Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

We have always enjoyed dinning at Canoe ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 5 days ago

We have always enjoyed dinning at Canoe but we were not aware of the Sunday brunch. Excellent! Thanks to the performance we attended being at 1 versus the normal later in the afternoon, the timing was perfect for Brunch at Canoe. It is such a pleasant experience to be both fed well and so warmly taken care of. The staff makes things so much more wonderful! We will return!!!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was excellent and our waitress, ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 5 days ago

The food was excellent and our waitress, Deborah, was outstanding!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Made reservations a week in advance. Th ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 6 days ago

Made reservations a week in advance. They were running about 20 minutes behind but managed to accommodate all of my requests for our anniversary dinner. Service seemed to be running slow. Took a while to get things like water, or the preset bottle of wine opened and poured. Not typical of my experiences here, I think the kitchen/servers were behind or short handed. Nevertheless, will return for future special occasions because of the food quality, level of service, and friendly staff.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

The wait staff is exceptional ! Valet ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 6 days ago

The wait staff is exceptional ! Valet staff was very nice !

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding food and service! Great res ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Outstanding food and service! Great restaurant for a special occasion!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely enjoyed celebrating our 21 we ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Absolutely enjoyed celebrating our 21 wedding anniversary here . Meal was exceptional as was the service and ambiance. We will be back soon

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Business Meals, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We gathered with friends at Canoe for di ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 11, 2017

We gathered with friends at Canoe for dinner. For a midweek dinner, the place was quite crowded. This impacted the service a bit. However, the food was still very good. One of the highly recommended specials from the waiter was inevitably sold out - something he should have known. Duck breast, monkfish, and snapper were well-prepared.

Tags: Romantic, Historic, Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Open Kitchen, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Waterfront, Sunday Lunch, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Wonderful lunch, amazing service as alwa ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 10, 2017

Wonderful lunch, amazing service as always at Canoe.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Alexas was the waitress that served us a ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 10, 2017

Alexas was the waitress that served us and she was AMAZING she knows the menu and she has her way around with customers we LOVED her and going back soon

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Organic, Neighborhood Gem,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic food and the wait staff was so ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 10, 2017

Fantastic food and the wait staff was so attentive. Made spending the money well worth it.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Fun, Worth the Drive, Waterfront, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

disappointed with opentable, when i made ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 8, 2017

disappointed with opentable, when i made the reservation it said all tables were booked at 600pm and later so i booked 545pm. When we arrived at the restaurant we were just about the only people in the entire restaurant and at 600pm there might have been 10 tables occupied. Very disappointed with incorrect availability info.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Canoe is a fantastic restaurant. The foo ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Canoe is a fantastic restaurant. The food, service, atmosphere and views are all excellent. If you haven't been, you should go.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the best brunches in Atlanta!

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 8, 2017

One of the best brunches in Atlanta!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place on the river. The atmospher ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Great place on the river. The atmosphere was fantastic! I definitely can't wait to go back!

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is one of my husband's favorite res ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 7, 2017

This is one of my husband's favorite restaurants and we love coming here. Service was great, food was excellent and as usual we had a wonderful time.

Tags: Scenic View, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our first time to Canoe, and it ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on January 7, 2017

This was our first time to Canoe, and it definitely won't be the last. The service, ambiance, and the food was stellar. Even the old fashions from the bar were quite memorable. Our server (Scott) did a fantastic job, was well versed in the menu and the way our food would be prepared. It was our anniversary and we were just visiting the area. We plan to "visit" more often, and will make Canoe a regular stop!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Waterfront, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was delicious, the roasted rabbit w ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Food was delicious, the roasted rabbit was what I got and tasted great.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our Favorite restaurant in the Atlanta a ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Our Favorite restaurant in the Atlanta area! Never a bad experience.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great view in the lower dining area of t ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 4, 2017

Great view in the lower dining area of the Chattahoochee River and the outside grounds. Was also excellent view of the old bridge. Made for an enjoyable atmosphere for a business lunch. The salmon over fresh spinach was outstanding. Thanks for an enjoyable and delicious lunch!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Waterfront, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Deborah was amazing.

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Deborah was amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I enjoyed everything about c ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 3, 2017

My wife and I enjoyed everything about canoe restaurant. The Food is awesome.

The service was excellent. We will visit again.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, , Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We live this restaurant. Still do. Alwa ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We live this restaurant. Still do. Always a tradition to come here on New Years weekend while attending football game. Service as always was outstanding but out of six diners only three had outstanding entrees. The appetizers were excellent and included crab cakes, salmon, pear salad, and oysters. I ordered venison which was served medium rare but was like chewing leather literally. Jeff and Shannon ordered steaks medium rare but which were just not that great. Anne Campbell had rabbit which was excellent. Angel wanted snapper but they were out so she and Bramlett had salmon which they both said was excellent. The server offered to bring me another meal but we declined due to lateness of the evening. Canoe offered alternatives but we had lingered a long time enjoying appetizers and company. I was disappointed with last night's menu selection as compared to last year. But we still love this restaurant. It just did not live up to our usual visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

This is my favorite restaurant in Atlant ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 31, 2016

This is my favorite restaurant in Atlanta. Everything they serve is great. From generous cocktail pours to perfection in culinary artistry. Beautiful ambiance to great service, Canoe has it all.

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Super interesting menu with the Australi ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Super interesting menu with the Australian chef's flare. All of the appetizers are exceptional. Main courses are varied and we'll paired with sides. Service was spot on. Lighting & noise level need to be addressed by restaurant but overall a great experience in a beautiful setting

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We enjoyed dinner at Canoe... It was del ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 30, 2016

We enjoyed dinner at Canoe... It was delicious and service was great !

Tags: Fun, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Waterfront, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Seasonal, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Came for rabbit. Dish was served lukewar ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Came for rabbit. Dish was served lukewarm, and small portion. Server did not stop by table after order was taken. For a dinner tab of $160 I have eaten far better in other very fine restaurants for less money

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Amazing every time we come. Service is s ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Amazing every time we come. Service is spectacular, not overbearing but right there when needed. Have tried many things that I would normally not have eaten and loved the preparation of just about everything I have tried.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food and service are excellent. Can ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 28, 2016

The food and service are excellent. Canoe is great for a casual evening or a special occasion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Alvin was our server and he was nothing ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Alvin was our server and he was nothing less than spectacular!! Great place with a beautiful staff.

Tags: Disabled Access, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had the pasta and it was odd. Spicy b ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 28, 2016

I had the pasta and it was odd. Spicy but no sauce, which made it dry.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Great food! Cool location with good deco ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Great food! Cool location with good decor. Fantastic service. Highly recommended!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Our dinner was a very enjoyable time. ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Our dinner was a very enjoyable time. Service was great and friendly. Attentive service with all questions handled very well.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Fireplace, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We are always well taken care of at Cano ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 27, 2016

We are always well taken care of at Canoe! We love the food, the staff and the ambiance. We dine at Canoe as often as possible! Thank you for the wonderful experience, every time we're there.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Casual, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, , Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.