Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.27mi
  2. Distance: 1.33mi
  3. Distance: 1.34mi
  4. Distance: 1.41mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.27mi
  2. Distance: 1.33mi
  3. Distance: 1.34mi
  4. Distance: 1.41mi

About Canoe

Canoe is located in Atlanta's historic Vinings area on the Chattahoochee River where Buckhead meets Vinings.
Canoe's beautiful historic riverside setting makes it the perfect spot for weddings, receptions and private celebrations.
Its original cuisine and distinctive design have already been featured in Bon Appetit, Food And Wine, Gourmet, The Wine Spectator and The New York Times. Canoe, recipient of the prestigious Mobil 4 Star Award, was also selected as one of the "Best New Restaurants" in the country by the James Beard Foundation.

4199 Paces Ferry Road SE
Atlanta, GA 30339
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American, Fusion / Eclectic

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm. Sunday Brunch: 10:30am - 2:30pm
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 5:30pm - 9:30pm.

Cross Street:
Chattahoochee River / Woodland Brook

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(770) 432-2663

Website:
http://www.canoeatl.com/

Parking Details:
Valet parking is complimentary.

Executive Chef:
Matthew Basford

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Full Bar, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access

Canoe Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.8

ambience

4.7

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (185)
Special Occasion (184)
Scenic View (179)
See All
Waterfront (177)
Good for Anniversaries (175)
Romantic (171)
Worth the Drive (139)
Creative Cuisine (132)
Good for Birthdays (121)
Fit for Foodies (108)
Great for Outdoor Dining (105)
Business Meals (84)
Notable Wine List (81)
Great for Brunch (75)
Neighborhood Gem (72)
Cozy (70)
Sunday Lunch (65)
Quiet Conversation (63)
Great for Lunch (62)
Local Ingredients (51)
Authentic (47)
Handcrafted Cocktails (43)
Good for Groups (43)
Seasonal (41)
Fun (40)
Historic (33)
Casual (31)
Healthy (30)
Hot Spot (26)
Bar Seating (25)
Open Kitchen (24)
People Watching (22)
Pre/post Theatre (21)
Outstanding Value (20)
Modern Decor (19)
Comfort Food (19)
Private Room (18)
Happy Hour (15)
Tasting Menu (15)
Late-night Find (13)
Organic (11)
Wood Oven (11)
Vibrant Bar Scene (10)
Good Vegetarian Options (9)
Afternoon Tea (9)
Fireplace (8)
Gluten Free Options (8)
Great Beer (6)
Family Style (6)
Molecular Gastronomy (5)
Disabled Access (5)
Spicy (5)
Paleo Friendly (5)
Afternoon Coffee (4)
Tapas (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Vegan (3)
Quick Bite (2)
Live Sports (2)
Live Music (1)
Sort By:
S
7058 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 9 hours ago

Very good service. The red snapper and trout was very good. The strawberry shortcake was one of the best we ever had.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 2 days ago

It was our first time at Canoe. Everything was great! We will be back soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined 4 days ago

The ambiance and food was stellar; however, I felt like my server rushed me throughout the meal. I am not accustomed to this at Canoe.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

Canoe is fantastic. The waterfront bar and seating area on the banks of the river is an amazing spot to have a cocktail or glass of champagne before your meal. We arrived at the restaurant a full hour before our reservation and the time flew by. I'd definitely recommend sitting outside if the weather permits; the inside seemed a bit noisy.

Food is excellent: locally sourced, fairly traditional American cuisine. Not too full of itself or fussy but definitely refined. Smoked salmon appetizer and lamb Bolognese were two highlights. We each had a specialty cocktail as well, and while I'm blanking on the names of them, they were great. Service was attentive and extremely friendly.

Overall a great spot.

Tags: Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Great for Outdoor Dining, Waterfront, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Scenic View, Authentic, Organic, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined 4 days ago

My husband and I wanted to have a nice last date night before welcoming our second baby! The atmosphere was really why I chose it since it's such a beautiful time of year and I love looking out at the river!! Terry was our waiter and he couldn't have created a better experience! Everything was just perfect!

Tags: Romantic, Local Ingredients, Historic, Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 5 days ago

Great place with a nice atmosphere, the service is superb and the food is excellent!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 6 days ago

Canoe is one of our favorite restaurants in the area so we frequently observe special occasions with them. The idea of lunch is quite appealing to us time-wise and because they offer fresh oysters, interesting lunch entrees and special desserts we are likely to choose this option fairly regularly. They accommodate my food allergy which is a must for me.

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Lunch, Waterfront, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Savannah)·Dined 6 days ago

Great experience. I don't think I could have chosen a better location. Great atmosphere, friendly service, and great food.

Tags: Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 6 days ago

This place is very nice, but EXTREMELY expensive. Not for the faint of heart or those on a budget.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value1

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined 6 days ago

Very good food, excellent service, expensive wine list.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 6 days ago

I had always heard great things about Canoe!!! The food? Amazing!!! The service?? Outstanding!! The setting opened, warm & relaxing . Perfect for any occasion please leave room for desert. Well worth the expense down to every penny!!

From that damn Dawg.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 7 days ago

The view alone is worth the visit. Beautiful location and amazing service.

Tags: Authentic, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Good for a Date, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined 7 days ago

Food is wonderful! Service is wonderful! Request table on lower level or outside. Smoked Salmon app my favorite.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 7 days ago

Amazing food! The sticky buns were the best! Service was great and the view from the patio was beautiful.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined 7 days ago

Canoe is my favorite place to meet for Sunday brunch. The food, river views, and service are all wonderful. It is a great, unique place to take friends visiting Atlanta.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 23, 2017

This was our first visit to Canoe and the evening was very pleasant . Our server was very courteous and patient as we took a little time to order our meal. He continually asked if everything was OK with us. Great service!!!!!!!

Tags: Healthy, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 22, 2017

We go to Canoe at least once a month and have always completely enjoyed our meals and the ambience and the service which is professional and very friendly. We will continue

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 22, 2017

This was a great experience. Our server was excellent and the food was amazing. We will definitely return whenever we come back to Atlanta.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Canoe is always a great time. The food is amazing, the view is beautiful, and the service is great. I would recommend this place for visiting family, special events, dates, or business.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Wood Oven, Pre/post Theatre, Gluten Free Options, Disabled Access, Fireplace, Waterfront, Fun, Organic, Spicy, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Great Beer, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Cozy, Authentic, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 22, 2017

My wife & I were celebrating our wedding anniversary. Canoe was incredible. The food , service & ambiance was amazing. We were very impressed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Everything as far as experience was great. Beautiful views of the garden and the river from our table. Only negative was my dish was obviously plated before my steak was ready. Steak cake out piping hot but mashed potatoes and green beans were ice cold. Still had good flavor though.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Notable Wine List, People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Waterfront, Scenic View, Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 22, 2017

We made Reservations on open table and some how the dates got mixed up still not sure how but they worked out to accommodate all 6. Were very helpful and food was worth the wait and all great Thanks Canoe. Will return!!!! Great restaurant.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 21, 2017

This was an exemplary meal across the board. I have eaten at three Michelin star restaurants and Canoe managed to equal their service in every capacity. The food straddled the line between classic American fare and inventive, innovative cuisine in ways that will satisfy nearly everyone who comes through the door. The peanut butter and jelly dessert, for example, managed to infuse a classic taste and update in a way I found to be almost thrilling. The entrees, too, were each superb, and each one I tried made me wished I'd ordered it myself (even though I was just as happy with my own).

This is to say nothing of the ambiance, the beautiful setting before the Chattahoochee, and the wonderful service we received from the beginning to the end of our meal. Not to mention that this was a celebration for my friend graduating from Officer Candidate School in the Army, and the attention he received, and the congratulatory message with his dessert, put this night over the top.

It's not my manner of reviewing to leave an "outstanding" mark for each element of a dining experience, but a few restaurants deserve it. This is one of them.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 21, 2017

WE HAVE CELEBRATED SEVERAL BIG EVENTS IN OUR FAMILY AT CANOE. AND WE TRAVEL FROM NW ARKANSAS TO DO IT. ALWAYS GOOD FOOD AND SITS ON THE CHATAHOOTCHIE RIVER.
THE ONLY NEGATIVE IS THEY ARE GETTING TOO BUSY! MAKE RESERVATIONS DAYS EARLY IF YOU WANT A PRIME TIME TO DINE

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 21, 2017

The first bite of my lamb sandwich produced a mouth full of gristle that I could not swallow - very embarrassing. My guest had started eating and I waited while she ate alone. My burger was tasty but the tomato was cut from the stem end and tasteless. The view is beautiful so I particularly regretted that the food was so disappointing

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value2

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 20, 2017

I wish I had known of this little gem years ago. The food was creative and delicious and the service was attentive. Canoe has a lovely wine list and I truly appreciated the easy valet parking in a busy lot.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 20, 2017

First visited Canoe more than 20 years ago. It was wonderful then but has only gotten better. Top of the line and the best in Atlanta!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Fantastic experience! Setting extraordinary (Spring helps). Scott was fabulous.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 19, 2017

Delicious food, was wishing there was more rabbit in the dinner but otherwise amazing. Great service and love the outdoor seating!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 18, 2017

Such a nice and romantic place. Inside is kind of nosy. But outside the atmosphere is absolutlely amazing. The waitress are really nice and attentive many of them also speak spanish. We went on my engagement dinner and they even bring the desserts with congrats signs!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Scenic View, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 18, 2017

Fantastic! Had the rabbit and the monkfish special as entrees, the smoked salmon app, and the deconstructed s'more as dessert. Dinner was to celebrate my boyfriends bday and the staff made it feel very special. Recommend arriving early to have a cocktail by the river.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 18, 2017

We've been to Canoe several times and it never disappoints. The food, atmosphere and service is top notch. It will always be one of our favorites. I especially like the outdoor bar by the river.

Tags: Cozy, Local Ingredients, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Waterfront, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 18, 2017

Everything great except the noise level was almost unacceptable

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 17, 2017

Great vibe and ambience for a business dinner. The rainbow trout was excellent as was the truffle fries and the popcorn ice cream...while it doesn't sound great, it most certainly was. Customer service was friendly and overall top-notch. I'd return in a heartbeat.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Waterfront, Gluten Free Options, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We went to Canoe for our wedding anniversary and we were not disappointed. The ambiance was amazing. The decor and design of the restaurant had a sleek and cozy appeal and the lighting made it very romantic. I would definately recommend Canoe for a special date, birthay or any special occasion.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Fantastic experience every time. A must dine location in metro Atlanta.

Tags: Healthy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 15, 2017

The service, dinner, and ambiance where all really great as always!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Hannah in the bar really set the mood for our evening. She was so fun and vibrant! An absolute asset to this restaurant. The menu was new-the chef had just released it earlier that day. Scott, our server, was very helpful with suggestions for entrees and desserts (as was Hannah, too!)! The halibut, lamb chops, pork tenderloin and lamb Bolognese were fabulous; Kudos to the chef! This isn't a restaurant for a quick bite. It's a place to sit and leisurely ENJOY your food with friends. There were 6 people in our party. We enjoyed appetizers, cocktails, beer, dinner, many bottles of wine, dessert, and aperitifs over about 5 hours. Never once did we feel rushed to finish and leave. What a great evening. Hannah and Scott, you two really helped make our visit to Atlanta truly memorable!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Waterfront, Business Meals, Happy Hour, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Late-night Find, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Even though Canoe is in a lovely setting on the bank of the Chattahoochee River, it's still "in the middle of nowhere" - located in an upscale residential area. So to be in such high demand in such an out-of-the-way location (reservations are necessary), everything about Canoe has got to be good - and Canoe DELIVERS! The food is both unique and delicious - especially the rabbit and the kangaroo loin. The ambiance and the service are exceptional. The atmosphere lends itself to the viewing of nature and to gentle conversation. Canoe is so special that I frequently go there for special events - and the prices are quite in line with the quality of food & service.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Seasonal, Waterfront, Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 13, 2017

This was another wonderful meal with friends. We shared oysters and my wife had the crab cake salad while I had the salmon burger special. We shared a deconstructed smores desert. Food was well prepared, Excellent service sitting outside on the river on a beautiful day. Perfect lunch with friends.

Tags: Scenic View, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.