About Canoe

4199 Paces Ferry Road NW
Atlanta, GA 30339
View Larger Map

Canoe is located in Atlanta's historic Vinings area on the Chattahoochee River where Buckhead meets Vinings.
Canoe's beautiful historic riverside setting makes it the perfect spot for weddings, receptions and private celebrations.
Its original cuisine and distinctive design have already been featured in Bon Appetit, Food And Wine, Gourmet, The Wine Spectator and The New York Times. Canoe, recipient of the prestigious Mobil 4 Star Award, was also selected as one of the "Best New Restaurants" in the country by the James Beard Foundation.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American, Fusion / Eclectic

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm. Sunday Brunch: 10:30am - 2:30pm
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 5:30pm - 9:30pm.

Cross Street:
Chattahoochee River / Woodland Brook

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(770) 432-2663

Website:
http://www.canoeatl.com/

Parking Details:
Valet parking is complimentary.

Executive Chef:
Matthew Basford

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Full Bar, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access

Restaurant Photos

  • Canoe
Canoe

Canoe Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.8

ambience

4.8

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Atlanta / Georgia
Scenic View
Atlanta / Georgia
American
Atlanta / Georgia
8 More
Most Booked
Atlanta / Georgia
Best Overall
Atlanta
Best Service
Atlanta
Best Ambiance
Atlanta
Outdoor Dining
Atlanta
Romantic
Atlanta
American
Atlanta
Most Booked
Atlanta
Best Restaurants in Vinings ›

Scenic View (417)
Special Occasion (401)
Romantic (359)
See All
Great for Outdoor Dining (313)
Fit for Foodies (267)
Neighborhood Gem (181)
Notable Wine List (159)
Good for Groups (156)
Great for Brunch (155)
Great for Lunch (135)
Hot Spot (72)
Vibrant Bar Scene (41)
Late-night Find (29)
Kid-friendly (19)
Sort By:
Newest
6066 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Amazing food, service was top notch, and ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined 3 days ago

Amazing food, service was top notch, and you can never beat that view. It's stunning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our waiter, Alvin, was very attentive an ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined 3 days ago

Our waiter, Alvin, was very attentive and highly educated on his food/wine. With his service, great outdoor view, and wonderful wine & food -- we had a great night celebrating a great year! We especially enjoyed the Astra Chardonay and Pinot Noir, the heirloom tomato salad! and the monk fish over fava bean risotto.....cannot wait to visit again when back in town!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene, Happy Hour, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Sunday Lunch, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing service and food!! Another exce ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 3 days ago

Amazing service and food!! Another excellent dining experience!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our family always goes to Canoe for any ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined 4 days ago

Our family always goes to Canoe for any special occasion. The food and service are outstanding.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The atmosphere was excellent as we ate o ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined 4 days ago

The atmosphere was excellent as we ate outside and the weather was wonderful! The food was excellent although I would not pair the halibut with the bean accompaniment which over powered the delicacy of the fish which was delicious and cooked just right, not over done.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The service is always fantastic, as is t ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined 4 days ago

The service is always fantastic, as is the food. The duck was delightful!!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

An awesome experience - one of the nices ...

 
 (East Tennessee)
·Dined 4 days ago

An awesome experience - one of the nicest restaurant I've been to in a while. Would recommend wholeheartedly!!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was pushy...2:30 reservation ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined 5 days ago

The service was pushy...2:30 reservation – hurry up and get your order in... then hurry up and get out of our restaurant. The food has been much better previously.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

Horrible brunch experience. The service ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined 5 days ago

Horrible brunch experience. The service was lovely as always, but the food was just terrible. We've been for dinner many times and it's been incredible. Guess this just isn't a brunch place. Very disappointing!

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service5
value1

Totally exceeded our expectations from a ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined 6 days ago

Totally exceeded our expectations from ambiance to service to food/drinks.

Tags: Hot Spot, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful experience, great service. Had ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined 6 days ago

Wonderful experience, great service. Had rabbit and kangaroo for the first time based on recommendation. Excellent! We will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

First time to Canoe, and it was everythi ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 6 days ago

First time to Canoe, and it was everything it is cracked up to be. Terrific food, superb service, and terrific ambiance (not stuffy or snooty). The salmon appetizer is amazing - if you are going there for the first time, you simply have to get it. Our entrees, steak for me and duck breast for my wife, were sublime. And the prices are quite reasonable for a high-end city restaurant - we've paid twice this much in NYC for a meal that wasn't any better (and maybe not as good). Will definitely head back here next time we're in Atlanta.

Tags: Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My experience was a great one. The staff ...

 
·Dined 7 days ago

My experience was a great one. The staff are out of this world professional, attentive, dedicated, and great at what they do. The food was great. This was a top notch experience for me. The fois gras ravioli is so good it needs to be its own entree or appetizer. I will definitely be returning for a patio date.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I decided on Canoe for our a ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined 7 days ago

My wife and I decided on Canoe for our anniversary dinner since we try different, high end, restaurants each year. This was not our first visit but it has been some time since we last ate here. Overall, the experience was good but not as special as it has been in the past.

The server seemed rushed and it was very hard to hear her but she did do a good job of keeping up with our needs. The food was good but nothing outstanding. My wife had the halibut and it was very thin and did not have much flavor, even with the toppings. I had the steak and although the mole' sauce was very good, the steak itself did not have the rich, flame cooked flavor I am used to for NY strip. That said, our bill at Canoe was one of our lower bills for our anniversary dinner, so no complaints but I will think twice before going back. In summary, the service was very good, food was good but nothing memorable.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Notable Wine List
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Amazing food and excellent waiter

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined 7 days ago

Amazing food and excellent waiter

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing restaurant!!! scenic views, in ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Amazing restaurant!!! scenic views, incredible food.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Never Disappointing! I always order a fi ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Never Disappointing!

I always order a fish dish when dining at Canoe. This time, I ordered the halibut which was think and perfectly cooked. My wife ordered the salmon which was the best we've ever had. It has a smokey taste from the grill and was cooked a nice medium rare. Others at the table had the lamb chops (don't forget to eat the ribs, they are amazing), and the pork chop. All dishes were fantastic.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We never miss this gem when in Atlanta! ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

We never miss this gem when in Atlanta! Have never had anything but great experience!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great customer service and great scenery ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Great customer service and great scenery inside and outside, especially along the river!!

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Outstanding food and service, will certa ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Outstanding food and service, will certainly be back on my next Atlanta visit!!!!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Canoe is consistently wonderful from cul ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Canoe is consistently wonderful from culinary delights to service to ambiance. It is on my top 5 in Atlanta. I was sad to learn that Jessica W. is no longer with Canoe. She was my favorite and she always ensured an awesome experience from beginning to end. Best wishes to you JW you are missed!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Love Canoe! Get the beet salad. Thanks s ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Love Canoe! Get the beet salad. Thanks so much for dinner.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Outstanding in EVERY aspect! We have nev ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Outstanding in EVERY aspect! We have never been disappointed in anything!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very nice place. Had a party of 12 for ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Very nice place. Had a party of 12 for business. Unique menu and we all ate something different and everything was wonderful.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Delicious food, nice river view and frie ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Delicious food, nice river view and friendly people

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My boyfriend and I went to this restaura ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

My boyfriend and I went to this restaurant and loved all the elements of it. From the island outdoor bar right next to the river, to the romantic garden and great scenic view its precious. Also the back yard of the restaurant is dining seating where you have a direct opening of the Chattahoochee river. If you need a wedding venue they have two plots of paved areas in the backyard of the restaurant to dance and enjoy the view for your guest. Also they have a small wooden bench about a 12' long table (I design furniture) for large groups for your dinner guest. It reminds me of the awesome venues on pinterest. Loved this place.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Scenic View, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Canoe experience is wonderful. The a ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

The Canoe experience is wonderful. The ambiance is only surpassed by the amazing food and extensive wine list. The wait staff is personable, knowledgeable, and professional. I can't wait to go again!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We enjoyed our anniversary dinner at can ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

We enjoyed our anniversary dinner at canoe. Everything was awesome from our salmon appetizer, scallops & pork chop entrees, to the yummy chocolate dessert. We will definitely come back again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Found this place looking for a unique, t ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Found this place looking for a unique, treat-yourself dining experience on a first-time trip to Atlanta. Decided on lunch because I'm a college kid on a budget. The simple grilled chicken salad I ordered was seasoned well and delicious, dessert was beautifully plated and tasty, and the service was excellent. The view of the river was lovely and even though it was a little loud (lunch bunch, what do you expect?) the overall experience was one worth repeating.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch, Scenic View, Romantic, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding!!

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Outstanding!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The restaurant is beautiful. The service ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

The restaurant is beautiful. The service was dynamic. Will was my server and he was exceptional. He was able to convince me to try an off menu entrée which rarely happens when I dine out. It was a great recommendation. The halibut was divine. I would definitely be returning and would recommend this restaurant to others.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I always enjoy going to Canoe. The wait ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

I always enjoy going to Canoe. The wait staff is very knowledgeable about the food and kind. The food is sure to never disappoint and the drinks are excellent. I would recommend to anyone looking for a great experience.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was a family brunch with six adults, ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

It was a family brunch with six adults, a toddler, and small baby. However, we were made to feel very welcome, and staff did everything to accommodate our needs. Our waiter was Justin and he was great---attentive, helpful, and responsive. My guests commented on the food; my brother particularly like the halibut special he ate. Great time. Thanks!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

I have eaten at Canoe on many occassions ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

I have eaten at Canoe on many occassions. However, i will probably never return (especially on a weekend). The food was teriffic, however, there were far too many tables (at a 5:45pm reservation) that were loud, disrespectful of other diners, and outright rude. The table behind us had about 8 guests who filtered in over a period of over an hour, were sharing food, and talking loudly with no regard for other patrons. Apparently the ghetto found Canoe!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Canoe can always be trusted to deliver a ...

 
 (East Tennessee)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Canoe can always be trusted to deliver an exceptional dining experience. This was our anniversary and Canoe made it memorable.

Tags: Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Canoe certainly lived up to the reviews ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Canoe certainly lived up to the reviews it has received this far. Jessica, our waitress/server, was EXECELLENT! She was able to suggest some great food choices as well as drinks. The ambiance was very nice and although we were outside and close to other diners, I did not really hear their conversations and little to no bugs which is a plus.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The setting is fantastic. We sat on the ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

The setting is fantastic. We sat on the outdoor patio with a view of the river at sunset. Relaxing and romantic atmosphere. The service was also excellent -- very attentive to all of our needs, friendly, elegantly fast, and helpful. The food itself was underwhelming, especially after hearing and reading about how great this place is. Presentation was nice -- clean and elegant, but there was a wow factor missing in the flavor department. A restaurant with this reputation and price point should deliver exquisite flavor with every bite. I was looking for something interesting and exciting on my plate and just couldn't find it. It didn't have the depth that I was expecting, but even so, the food was still tasty. Just not five star quality. The best part of the meal was the dessert -- that delivered on expectations. Presentations were eye-catching, colorful, and had lots of texture (we ordered the lemon meringue pie and the vanilla pound cake). The flavor combinations were fun and unique, and blended perfectly together. The pound cake came with roasted apricots and pistachio ice cream. The lemon meringue pie was presented as more of an individual tart, which was different and charming. The meringue was perfectly toasted in a nice textured pattern and everything was on point taste-wise. It allowed us to end our otherwise middle-of-the-road meal on a very high note.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

We went to Canoe for my husbands birthda ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

We went to Canoe for my husbands birthday and had an enjoyable experience. The food was very good and the manager was very involved and made it a point to come over to everyone's table and ask if there was anything else we needed, how was our meal ect.. Very good experience and we will definitely go back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Canoe has been our favorite restaurant f ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Canoe has been our favorite restaurant for years, and food and service always outstanding until this visit. Service was spotty and food was good but not great. Dish did not match description and preparation was only ok. Fish had no side with it and scallops side didn't mesh well. Overall, disappointing, especially at this price point. Dessert excellent as always as it was a Canoe standard - the popcorn sundae. Hoping this was just a rare aberration from the perfection Canoe usually is. Ambiance outstanding as always

Tags: Notable Wine List, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

My daughter and I had a 5:30 reservation ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

My daughter and I had a 5:30 reservation and I was disappointed that we were not seated on the patio. There were many empty tables and we sat in the dark dining room. I thought the fish was over cooked, but the service was wonderful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.