About Canoe

4199 Paces Ferry Road NW
Atlanta, GA 30339
View Larger Map

Canoe is located in Atlanta's historic Vinings area on the Chattahoochee River where Buckhead meets Vinings.
Canoe's beautiful historic riverside setting makes it the perfect spot for weddings, receptions and private celebrations.
Its original cuisine and distinctive design have already been featured in Bon Appetit, Food And Wine, Gourmet, The Wine Spectator and The New York Times. Canoe, recipient of the prestigious Mobil 4 Star Award, was also selected as one of the "Best New Restaurants" in the country by the James Beard Foundation.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American, Fusion / Eclectic

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm. Sunday Brunch: 10:30am - 2:30pm
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 5:30pm - 9:30pm.

Cross Street:
Chattahoochee River / Woodland Brook

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(770) 432-2663

Website:
http://www.canoeatl.com/

Parking Details:
Valet parking is complimentary.

Executive Chef:
Matthew Basford

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar/Lounge, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Area, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Smoking Area, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access

Restaurant Photos

  • Canoe
Canoe

Canoe Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.8

ambience

4.8

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Service
Atlanta / Georgia
Best Ambiance
Atlanta / Georgia
Scenic View
Atlanta / Georgia
11 More
American
Atlanta / Georgia
Most Booked
Atlanta / Georgia
Best Overall
Atlanta
Best Service
Atlanta
Best Ambiance
Atlanta
Outdoor Dining
Atlanta
Romantic
Atlanta
Scenic View
Atlanta
Special Occasion
Atlanta
American
Atlanta
Most Booked
Atlanta
Best Restaurants in Vinings ›

scenic view (424)
special occasion (419)
romantic (357)
See All
great for outdoor dining (309)
fit for foodies (301)
neighborhood gem (191)
notable wine list (183)
good for groups (176)
great for brunch (154)
great for lunch (122)
hot spot (76)
vibrant bar scene (40)
late-night find (32)
kid-friendly (19)
Sort By:
Newest
5917 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful experience. The place is breat ...

Dined 3 days ago

Wonderful experience. The place is breathtaking: so beautiful and peaceful, the food is excellent and the service is even better. Definitely a must go.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved Canoe to celebrate our 39th Annive ...

Dined 3 days ago

Loved Canoe to celebrate our 39th Anniversary! The staff was so accommodating and changed our original table to one that had a great view. Sure appreciated that. The waitress was wonderful and meal was absolutely delicious!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food2
ambience5
service3
value2

We had been there before more than once, ...

vip
Dined 4 days ago

We had been there before more than once, and we were back because we had enjoyed it. It is a lovely location, and the service is reasonable, but this time the food was just bad, tepid, skimpy for the price, poor quality. Disappointed. Won't be back.

food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Canoe is great for the view and the food ...

Dined 4 days ago

Canoe is great for the view and the food. I love the scones and sweets basket. This was my second time for brunch and I do want to go for dinner. The brunch menu is not that extensive but it is great for conversation and the ambiance. The service is A+++ as always and sitting back enjoying the river is awesome. I had the Shrimp salad and by friend had the French toast and we were not disappointed.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The name of the game is service here. Be ...

Dined 4 days ago

The name of the game is service here. Beautiful settings. Great service and food is out of this world. Nothing out of the ordinary to worry about. Just close your eyes and pick....everything is on the menu is good. Very tight offering and fresh seafood is highly recommended. More of a wine and mix drink kinda place , but did had some craft beer offerings.

Tags: romantic
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

WE HAVE BEEN A FAN OF CANOE'S AND VISITE ...

Dined 4 days ago

WE HAVE BEEN A FAN OF CANOE'S AND VISITED THERE SEVERAL TIMES OVER THE PAST 6 MONTHS. THIS VISIT WAS VERY DISAPPOINTING. THE SERVICE WAS THE MAIN CONCERN. WE HAD GREAT SERVICE IN BAR AREA AND THEN WENT TO TABLE. TOOK A VERY LONG TIME TO GET DRINKS AT THE TABLE. I HAD TO ASK TO ORDER APPETIZERS. THESE TOOK VERY LONG TO GET THERE. THEY KNEW IT WAS 2 OF OUR BIRTHDAYS AND WAS BRIEFLY MENTIONED. THE DESSERTS CAME OUT AND WE WERE DONE BEFORE WE GOT THE COFFEE AND COCKTAILS. NOT SURE WE WILL RETURN.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience4
service2
value5

Service was not very good.I Was celebrat ...

Dined 4 days ago

Service was not very good.I Was celebrating engagement would have been nice to have a more accomodating server and manager. Feel that although the food was excellent due to the service I would not recommend resturant.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My first time at this Restaurent that I' ...

Dined 4 days ago

My first time at this Restaurent that I've heard only good reviews. The staff, service, atmosphere and food were excellent!!!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I throughly enjoyed the food, environmen ...

Dined 5 days ago

I throughly enjoyed the food, environment and professionalism of our waiter. He was very knowledgeable regarding the menu and wine pairings. I would highly recommend the salmon, it is phonominal. The ambiance is conducive to romance and relaxation. However, depending on the night, it may be a bit noisier than usual.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5

very clean and organized restaurant with ...

Dined 5 days ago

very clean and organized restaurant with outstanding service and respect . food was very fresh over all it was a great experience.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I celebrated his 30th at ...

Dined 5 days ago

My husband and I celebrated his 30th at Canoe. It was an amazing experience. Our waitress was wonderful: personable and knowledgable We both decided we will return! Our meal was superb! No complaints

Tags: special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Took my wife to Canoe for our anniversar ...

Dined 6 days ago

Took my wife to Canoe for our anniversary. The food was great. The service was excellent. The ambiance and scenery were perfect for the occasion. I would HIGHLY recommend Canoe to anyone who was looking for a special spot to celebrate a special occasion. It lived up to and/or exceeded my already high expectations. Thank you to all at Canoe for a wonderful anniversary meal!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

We were celebrating our 40th anniversary ...

vip
Dined 6 days ago

We were celebrating our 40th anniversary and the staff made us us welcome from the get-go. Had a great meal with exceptional staff. Only question was my lamb that was surprisingly lacking in taste.....but then I may not have the best taste buds. However, this will not keep us from coming back as this has definitely not been the norm in the 6 years we have eaten here.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

Canoe is still a beautiful restaurant an ...

Dined 6 days ago

Canoe is still a beautiful restaurant and much of the food is excellent but the kitchen seems to be slipping. My wife's lamb entree came out rare, too rare for her to eat. (The waiter hadn't asked about degree of oneness.) They took it back to the kitchen and rather than cook the meat some more, they appeared to just put the whole plate in the microwave for a short time. When it came back the meat looked the same but everything was very hot. At that point we just gave up and made the best of it. The seasoning in the accompanying risotto was also odd, a lot of tarragon. My steak was also more done than I had ordered (medium well vs medium rare) but still tasty and while they offered to cook a new one I didn't want to wait that long. Finally, when they wrapped the leftover lamb, they only wrapped one slice when there we several left on the plate. The moral of this experience is you can no longer just order and expect great food. Ask lots of questions, ask about seasonings and preparations, be proactive about the degree of doneness for any dish where it matters, and open the takeout boxes to make sure they have everything they're supposed to!

Tags: kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience3
service3

Canoe has always been one of our favorit ...

Dined 6 days ago

Canoe has always been one of our favorite restaurants. Service this time was a bit disappointing, the waiter forgot my coctail, we had to ask several times before we received any and we poured our own wine. We ordered bottled water for the table and the waiter kept hovering over our table to fill up our glasses, it ended up that we left the table with all our 5 water glasses filled to the brim, 3 bottles (for 5 people) on our bill....ridiculous. I have noticed this habit on previous occasions and stopped it. So pay attention!! Plain water for us next time (no, it is not about the money).

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food is always good. the service is ...

Dined 7 days ago

The food is always good. the service is always great.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Entertaining clients from Paris and Chic ...

vip
Dined on June 22, 2016

Entertaining clients from Paris and Chicago. After a wonderful dinner, the client ordered a $300 bottle of wine. We waited forever and finally requested status only to learn the server thought we were kidding! Kind of a disappointing experience at a place like Canoe.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful experience.................... ...

Dined on June 21, 2016

Wonderful experience....................makes you feel special

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

excellent all round-a wonderful occasion ...

Dined on June 21, 2016

excellent all round-a wonderful occasion with friends

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Great food and awesome ambience! Try the ...

Dined on June 21, 2016

Great food and awesome ambience! Try the salmon appetizer, and if you can, get a table outside if the weather permits!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Consistently incredible food and service ...

Dined on June 20, 2016

Consistently incredible food and service!!! This is my favorite restaurant!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our second time dining with the ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

This was our second time dining with them. The first time was for brunch, we enjoyed it so we had to come back to try their regular menu. The food was excellent and so was the service. I'm a paralyzed veteran and the accessibility is great.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The best restaurant in Atlanta. You may ...

vip
Dined on June 18, 2016

The best restaurant in Atlanta. You may find better food, depending on what you like, but you won't get better service and you definitely won't find a more beautiful setting. The setting on the river is stunning. The food is focused on game and fish, but there are plenty of options. After going to Canoe for years I finally tried the rabbit. Delicious.

food2
ambience3
service3

Disappointing food! Not the standard I ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Disappointing food! Not the standard I have experienced in past visits. Appetizer was overcooked and cold when it reached the table. Amateur presentation. Once we complained our server was also much less present for the remainder of the evening. Not sure I have a reason to return to Canoe.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Celebrated my 50th birthday! Beautiful s ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Celebrated my 50th birthday! Beautiful scenery, awesome ambiance, fabulous dining experience!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This restaurant was everything it was po ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

This restaurant was everything it was portrayed to be all the online coverage. The wait staff was extremely professional, and helpful as well. I would recommend Canoe's to all my friends interested in a romantic evening with their loved ones.

Tags: romantic, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Canoe is the best restaurant for special ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

Canoe is the best restaurant for special occasions. The professionalism of the staff and the food are exemplary.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great place and service was excellent. ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

Great place and service was excellent. Thought we were going for an early dinner, but landed in the lunch band so a little disappointed in the limited menu. What we had was good.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We very much enjoyed the atmosphere, and ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

We very much enjoyed the atmosphere, and service, Hanah was great

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Have eaten here many times and has alway ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

Have eaten here many times and has always been a great experience. Fantastic service and awesome food.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely spectacular! The location, th ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

Absolutely spectacular! The location, the ambiance, the service, the food and the company! I could not have chosen a better place to celebrate our 15th Anniversary. Definitely have the server explain your food selection, wether it's the appetizer,main course or dessert. Our server Cory, made everything sound so exquisite! And what was brought to us was just as good as described!!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food1
ambience5
service4
value1

It's a shame that a beautiful restaurant ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

It's a shame that a beautiful restaurant with a great location fails so badly on the main reason people go out to eat. The food was not only below average but came in tiny portions. The ceasar salad was very bland and my wife had only three scallops with almost no other foof on her plate. We go out to eat often and the visit to Canoe was very disappointing. We have told all of our friends not to go to this restaurant because of the poor quality of the food and the price you pay for it.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The view was incredible, the restaurant ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

The view was incredible, the restaurant was perfect, the food was good! our server, Luke, was amazing!! . Thoroughly enjoyed my 21st birthday!! I will be back! x

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5

Beautiful restaurant, romantic setting, ...

vip
Dined on June 15, 2016

Beautiful restaurant, romantic setting, good looking bars. Best service in town. Manager made sure everything was perfect and made us feel right at home . Oh! and the food was excellent as well.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Absolutely amazing! Excellent food, exce ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

Absolutely amazing! Excellent food, excellent service and beautiful atmosphere.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I really loved the restaurant. Everythin ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

I really loved the restaurant. Everything was great, employees provided an excelent customer services and the food was delightful and beautifully plated.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

There is a reason that Canoe has been ar ...

vip
Dined on June 14, 2016

There is a reason that Canoe has been around for as long as it has -it is an outstanding restaurant.It has wonderful and diverse food (kangaroo and rabbit ),a beautiful river setting,and impeccable service .

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

wanted salmon but their's was farm raise ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

wanted salmon but their's was farm raised...disappointed with that.

Tags: fit for foodies, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

WOW!!! Took some out of clients there a ...

vip
Dined on June 13, 2016

WOW!!! Took some out of clients there and YES THEY WERE VERY impressed!!! Food was AWESOME! A very nice variety to fit everyone’s likes and allergies!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

We had the chocolate Grotto for desert a ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

We had the chocolate Grotto for desert and it was pretty good. My wife got the rabbit and it was delicious. The salmon that I got for my entree and the smoked salmon we had for desert was just okay. Great outside setting beside the river.

Tags: special occasion

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.