Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 52 times today

Canoe Restaurant and Bar

4.6
3557 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
CAN$51 and over
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Continental
Top Tags:
  • Scenic View
  • Special Occasion
  • Good for Anniversaries
Critically acclaimed to be among Canada’s best restaurants, Canoe's unique location high atop the TD Bank Tower affords a breathtaking view of the city and Lake Ontario. The design, originally conceptualized by noted designers Yabu Pushelberg and most recently refreshed by Anacleto Design, is clean and simple, yet absolutely stylish - a brilliant reflection of Canada's rich raw environment. That same brilliance is captured through the flavours and textures of Chef John Horne's inspired regional Canadian cuisine. The menu showcases the freshest and finest Canadian fish, game and produce, as well as an outstanding selection of Canadian vintages. "All that is Canadian defines Canoe." Florence Fabricant, The New York Times
Dining Style
Fine Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Continental
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:45- 2:30pm
Dinner: Monday - Friday: 5:00pm - 10:30pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(416) 364-0054
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Business Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
John Horne
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private party facilities
Canoe offers two exclusive private dining rooms accommodating groups up to 60, featuring breathtaking lakeside views. Canoe is also available for full buy-outs on weekends, an exquisite choice for weddings and special gatherings.
icon/ic_contactCreated with Sketch.
Private party contact
Oliver & Bonacini Events and Private Dining: (888) 449-3959
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Bay and Wellington Streets
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Validated parking is available after 5:30pm. Parking is available in the Toronto Dominion Centre at 66 Wellington St. W. It is the TD Centre parking lot, situated on the North side of Wellington, before York St.
icon/ic_public_transitCreated with Sketch.
Public transit
King and Bay
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 3557 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.6based on recent ratings
4.5
food
4.6
service
4.6
ambience
4.1
value
Noise · Moderate
91% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined 3 days ago

Top notch food, outstanding view from floor 54, and an extremely friendly and professional staff. We had a great time! Paid $200 Canadian for two people which included dessert and a $60 bottle of wine.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 3 days ago

Wedding anniversary. They gave us a nice sweet gift to celebrate!

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined 3 days ago

Vacation dining. Came for the view which could be great. My back faced the ‘view’. ‘Window’ tables for 2 translates to one person looking at the view, which is gorgeous, & the 2nd person’s back facing the view.

The wait staff is great. Very attentive. They care about you having a great experience. We loved them!

Our food was lousy but expensive. Expensive is ok if the experience is ok...our food was cold...ribeye steak means 2 very small chunks of steak, maybe 3 ounces total. I haven’t a clue what the accompanying items were. My wife had lamb...cold. Have you tried cold lamb? Don’t! Did I say the view (for my wife) was great?

Our mistake may have been not telling management that the food was lousy. We figured this restaurant has great views for some of the tourist customers & most patrons come only once...so complaining accomplishes little. So why not eat & enjoy yourself?

WE WILL NEVER RETURN!!!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined 4 days ago

Canoe used to spectacular. Not what it use to be.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 16, 2018

Spectacular food and vista views. Go around dusk for a nice sunset and see the city lights as you leave. We sat at the chef's rail and had the tasting menus with wine pairing, both of which I'd highly recommend. We tasted some really great wines that I might not have heard of or tried otherwise.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on May 15, 2018

We arrived at Noon. We sat for 15 mins before being addressed. We then only received water and waited again for 15 mins before order taken. Waiter had serious attitude giving bad looks. Our food arrives at 1:20 with no apologies.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on May 14, 2018

The view is amazing. Food - looks amazing, taste so-so. Food is way overpriced. The portions are small. Would be ok if the food tastes as it looks. We had bad luck with the waiter. Why did I say bad luck? Because other waiters looked friendly, but not our guy. :(

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Definitely worth every penny. The service is superb, view is breathtaking, and food is always top notch!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Lamb was tasty and slow cooked to perfection. Flawless service.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 11, 2018

Exceptional food and amazing service. Thanks for a great evening.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on May 11, 2018

the o+b chain top choice and so disappointing, the seafood platter is extra salty, sauce is very bland for ingredients, no skills nor thought gone into such a high priced dish, having the toughest duck breast for main, almost got cheated for what part of breast the chef is using, also the rabbit is very tough, may be overcooked by reheating a prepared earlier meat. overall a very misleading name, people go there may be all paid for by someone else, and be seen way. if it's the last available, you can't make me went back. I can get very nice view from cn tower 360.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 11, 2018

views second to none, outstanding service and food. Worth spending the little bit extra for the ambiance and experience.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 11, 2018

Atmosphere was quite loud which made it hard to enjoy dinner conversation. Service was excellent as was the food. The decor is a little outdated for fine dining.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 10, 2018

Our server Steven was awesome. Very welcoming and informative. He even gave us some great tourist attractions to visit. The food was really good (salad, mushroom soup, sable fish, lamb chops, and sorbet). Would love to try the tasting menu if I'm ever in the area again.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 9, 2018

We had a great evening at Canoe. Lovely meal and friendly efficient staff. We would highly recommend Canoe to our friends for an evening of fine dining. We look forward to a return visit.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 9, 2018

Great lunch date with fantastic food and views to die for! A little noisy due to the lunch time business crowd but the food, views and service were amazing. Try the mushroom soup and the salmon starter!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 8, 2018

While the food itself was fine, Canoe seemed to be missing the point of some levels of customer service.

The entrance is sign-free, with no information on what to do or where to go. The tables - considering we're on the 54th floor, and going for the view - are edge-on, so half the diners get to look out, and the other half look in. There's been no thought for table lighting, so the diners with their backs to the view are also backlit, and you can't see their faces clearly.

A mishmash of servers (with no real introduction) also doesn't help with the customer experience. It's all about attention to detail, which wasn't quite right at Canoe.

The tasting menu itself was great - there are no problems with the food. It's just that the customer experience is lacking those certain finesse points that would take it from good to great, and potentially Michelin-starred.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 8, 2018

Amazing experience with delectable food. Canoe definitely looks to create a unique and amazing experience for its guests right from the point you enter. On top of that the food is simply so fresh that you can really taste the freshness of the ingredients.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 8, 2018

I went with the tasting & wine pairing. I am glad that I made that decision. Everything was perfect. The wines were explained to me thoroughly (and I was happy to try delicious Canadian wines!). Each dish was very rich but bursting with flavor. The tartar with onion broth & bison were my favorites. I would highly recommend this place and I’m glad I went on my visit to Toronto!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 8, 2018

Awesome view of Lake Ontario from the 54th floor. At lunch was an upscale conservative biz crowd. The portions were on the small side but very delicious and creative takes on Canadian cuisine.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 7, 2018

We had a truly outstanding meal on a Monday night. We arrived at 7:00 and were seated promptly. Our table was in the "upper tier" and they had set up our chairs "sweetheart style" so we were sitting next to each other, but also so we were able to take full advantage of the views facing west and south so that we had a wonderful view of the sunset. The staff were all extremely professional and attentive while remaining warm and friendly. Our server was fantastic - again extremely professional yet warm with a wonderful wry sense of humor and very willing to voice his opinions about wine and food, and his recommendations were all spot on. Having said all this, we would come back for the food alone - it was all perfectly prepared - inventive with lots of unusual tastes and c ombinations.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 6, 2018

I went to The Canoe on the recommendation by friend. The setting was quite nice, beautifully decorated, and it was a nice ambience about the place. The food menu was… “Interesting”. There was a selection of foods but I have never tried before, or at least season in ways I haven’t tried before. The food wasn’t spectacular, the but good enough. The view of the city was magnificent. I would highly recommend most people down here at least once for the dining experience. Finally, the service was excellent.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 5, 2018

Phenomenal food, view, service, and wine pairings.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 4, 2018

日本から来たゲストの夕食にご案内しましたが、食べられない食材が入ったお料理を交換して下さったり、トロントに詳しくないゲストの為にタクシーを拾うのを手伝って下さったり、サービスに大満足していました。
テイスティングメニューとワインペアリングがとても良かったそうです。
また利用したいと思います。

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 3, 2018

Giancarlo was great!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 2, 2018

Waited for waiter to order and for water long
Was very noisy that couldn’t hear each other’s voices
Burrata was flavoured with IGT Japanese taste, but very strong for a Japanese
Main dishes were very nice and my visitors loved the food

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 2, 2018

Summer pea salad was very fresh, perhaps slightly less arugula; sable fish was melt in the mouth delicious and the accompanying clams absolutely delicious.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 1, 2018

Our overall experience was "very good", due to the drinks, appetizers and view. Our seat was near the kitchen, so it was busy with staff coming and going. Our server was very nice, but always seemed to be in a hurry. Our cocktails and appetizers to start were creative and delicious. Our mains and desserts were too fancy ... the flavours on the plate for the lamb did not work, even though the lamb cooked beautifully. Similarly for the dessert - so much went into the presentation that the flavours didn't work. The meal was expensive, so there was not good value. If I were to come again, I'd come for drinks and appetizers and enjoy the views of the harbour and the city.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 30, 2018

Our food tasted delicious, presentation lovely... however, my food was warm at best. When we mentioned it to the waiter, he offered to take it back to the kitchen and warm it up! This would have resulted in overdone lamb. I just dont think it is acceptable at a restaurant of this quality serves barely warm entrees! No effort was made to give us any other compensation either. I did not order an appetizer, but my husband did, and when it came they brought me a nice amuse Bouche so he didn’t have to eat alone. Nice touch!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 30, 2018

Fabulous meal, great view, wonderful service and the mushroom soup and rhubarb cheesecake were outstanding. Highly recommend.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 27, 2018

WOW! factor evident. Request a west view table. Food is creative showcasing true Canadian ingredients. The burrata was unique and exceptional. Highly recommended!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 27, 2018

Beautiful view of Toronto watching daytime transition to night time. Food was tasty, unusual and special.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 27, 2018

9PM table for 2 on a Thursday: outstanding service, very good food though less impressive than previous visits. Oysters were a little disappointing. Entrees nice, drinks good. Noise level occasionally eclipsed conversation - nearby tables of 4 and 5 boisterous. Views still worth going for!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 26, 2018

Great experience, little noisy but excellent food and service. Ambiance was amazing! Jesus was a great server!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 26, 2018

The chicken dish was very beige. Beige sauce. Beige cauliflower. A spring of green. Needs more vegetables
And colour.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 25, 2018

Excellent service and foods. Our waiter and waitress were provided us an excellent opinion.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 24, 2018

Wonderful ambience, fantastic views, creative meals with wonderful presentation and top notch service. A must!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 24, 2018

Thank you for great service! That was my mother's birthday dinner and also last night dinner for them in Toronto. All of my family said that was great meals, friendly service, and great view!I really wanna come again.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 23, 2018

i have been using canoe whenever i am in toronto for longer than i care to remember. Have always had great service and great food.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 21, 2018

One of the rare times when the experience was just average at Canoe. Appetizers foie gras and mushroom soup were good, but the taste profile for the burrata left a lot to be desired. For the mains, the risotto and duck were average, but the bison was much better than expected. Desserts were generally a disappointment; the sugar tart wasn’t good at all and the chocolate torte was average, but the rhubarb cheesecake was generally good. There was also an issue with one of the cutleries that was taken care of immediately. The only saving grace was the service!

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
89

Tweets by Canoe Restaurant and Bar