About Canoe Restaurant and Bar

66 Wellington Street West
54th Floor TD Bank Tower
Toronto, ON M5K 1H6
View Larger Map

Critically acclaimed to be among Canada’s best restaurants, Canoe's unique location high atop the TD Bank Tower affords a breathtaking view of the city and Lake Ontario. The design, originally conceptualized by noted designers Yabu Pushelberg and most recently refreshed by Anacleto Design, is clean and simple, yet absolutely stylish - a brilliant reflection of Canada's rich raw environment. That same brilliance is captured through the flavours and textures of Chef John Horne's inspired regional Canadian cuisine. The menu showcases the freshest and finest Canadian fish, game and produce, as well as an outstanding selection of Canadian vintages. "All that is Canadian defines Canoe." Florence Fabricant, The New York Times

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Continental

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:45- 2:30pm
Dinner: Monday - Friday: 5:00pm - 10:30pm

Cross Street:
Bay and Wellington Streets

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
CAN$51 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(416) 364-0054

Website:
http://www.canoerestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Validated parking is available after 5:30pm. Parking is available in the Toronto Dominion Centre at 66 Wellington St. W. It is the TD Centre parking lot, situated on the North side of Wellington, before York St.

Public Transit:
King and Bay

Executive Chef:
John Horne

Private Party Facilities:
Canoe offers two exclusive private dining rooms accommodating groups up to 60, featuring breathtaking lakeside views. Canoe is also available for full buy-outs on weekends, an exquisite choice for weddings and special gatherings.

Private Party Contact:
Oliver & Bonacini Events and Private Dining: (888) 449-3959

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Canoe Restaurant and Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (155)
Special Occasion (126)
Good for a Date (111)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (104)
Romantic (90)
Fit for Foodies (82)
Business Meals (81)
Creative Cuisine (71)
Notable Wine List (64)
Local Ingredients (58)
Tasting Menu (56)
Good for Birthdays (53)
Modern Decor (51)
Great for Lunch (37)
Open Kitchen (33)
Worth the Drive (30)
Waterfront (29)
Quiet Conversation (27)
Hot Spot (23)
Fun (22)
Seasonal (19)
Handcrafted Cocktails (19)
Bar Seating (19)
Authentic (19)
Pre/post Theatre (18)
Healthy (18)
People Watching (17)
Cozy (16)
Good for Groups (14)
Neighborhood Gem (12)
Casual (10)
Outstanding Value (10)
Good Vegetarian Options (10)
Late-night Find (9)
Molecular Gastronomy (8)
Vibrant Bar Scene (8)
Gluten Free Options (7)
Private Room (7)
Comfort Food (5)
Disabled Access (5)
Historic (4)
Organic (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Great for Brunch (2)
Family Style (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Tapas (2)
Fireplace (2)
Great Beer (2)
Wood Oven (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Vegan (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
2905 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great view, great ambiance, had a hard t ...

vip
 (Montreal)·Dined 4 days ago

Great view, great ambiance, had a hard time finding a good upscale restaurant in Toronto, so Canoe made me happy. I ordered the artic char, rib eye short rib cannoli and the flourless chocolate cake with mint ice cream. I also ordered a latte and I was quickly reminded why I never order coffee in a restaurant, they can't make one!! So skip the coffee! Even the espresso wasn't good according to my boyfriend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

Excellent - we always enjoy the chef's t ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 5 days ago

Excellent - we always enjoy the chef's tasting menu with wine pairings. What a wonderful experience of trying new food combinations, beautifully prepared!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Amazing food, incredible view!

 
 (Columbus)·Dined 5 days ago

Amazing food, incredible view!

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Took my Assistant for her Anniversary an ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined 5 days ago

Took my Assistant for her Anniversary and she absolutely loved it.

I told the server that we were celebrating my assistant 's anniversary and at the end of the meal they brought her dessert with Congratulations written in chocolate. A very nice touch.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Waterfront, Scenic View, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Amazing breathtaking view in a cosy and ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 6 days ago

Amazing breathtaking view in a cosy and beautiful restaurant. True Canadian very tasty meal and perfect service.

A little bit too noisy for this kind of restaurant.

I highly recommend this place one of a Torontonian life ; )

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Whether you're with, friends, clients or ...

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined 6 days ago

Whether you're with, friends, clients or business contacts here is no better place for lunch in downtown Toronto.

Tags: Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Hot Spot, Waterfront, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The service was not attentive, when aske ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 6 days ago

The service was not attentive, when asked for bread - we had to ask another person, The advice about the starter being not big enough to share was not accurate; the dessert was barely edible and not worth finishing nor worth $12 with barely a hint of mint flavor and crushed cookies!

Tags: Waterfront, Fun, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

It was out first time there and our wait ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 6 days ago

It was out first time there and our waiter made us feel comfortable, he helped us out with our selection of wine that best fit our taste. The food was amazing, each course had a unique flair and presentation to them. Best food i ever tasted in my life 👌👌😍

Tags: Historic, Private Room, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Things like the food and the view were e ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Things like the food and the view were exceptional, as can be expected, but what blew me away was the service.

I've been to a fair number of high end restaurants in Toronto and I have not had service this good before. I notified the waiter of a dairy and gluten allergy and although it was a prix fixe menu, the waiter made every modification possible to ensure the allergies were accommodated to. Each time a meal was brought over, the server (usually somebody different from the waiter who took our order) confirmed that anything with dairy had been removed, and in some cases replaced with dairy/gluten-free alternatives.

At one point we asked a server for gluten free bread and very shortly after a different server came to the table and told us that the bread is prepared with butter, so although it's gluten free it won't be dairy free and he apologized, whereas I thanked him very much for being aware of all allergies, rather than simply bringing the bread as we had asked. It was clear that the entire staff had communicated well with each other and were doing everything they could to accommodate to our table's dietary needs. My girlfriend and I left very impressed. The cherry on top of an already amazing Valentine's Day dining experience!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Canoe was able to surprise us, yet again ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Canoe was able to surprise us, yet again ! The food was fabulous , setting very romantic and the staff very knowledgable . It was a perfect evening.

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Lunch was ok but desert was great. View ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Lunch was ok but desert was great. View was amazing. Service was very nice too.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

A wonderful choice for a special occasio ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 13, 2017

A wonderful choice for a special occasion. Beautiful food. Gorgeous view. Varied wine list with a very knowledgeable sommelier.

Tags: Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went there for valentines day, and it wa ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Went there for valentines day, and it was great for the atmosphere and the service. The food was good, but, for the price, I've experienced better. That said, the view, and the experience is what makes this place woth visiting.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Delicious food and great service! I can ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Delicious food and great service! I can always count on Canoe.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was at Canoe twice this past week and ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 10, 2017

I was at Canoe twice this past week and was truly disappointed with both experiences. From best to worst, for Lunch I had the salmon and fogo island crab appetizer and thought the presentation was excellent and flavor was very good and portion size was good for an appetizer. The worst was a poorly balanced pasta with bison ragu dish. Simply, there were too many capers giving a salt blast to your mouth, the chopped vegetables were undercooked, charred rapini had a fuel taste that made them inedible. Overall it was just a poorly executed dish with no harmony in the flavours.

Dinner was not any better the next day. For a $550 meal for 4, it was straight up a terrible value and many of the elements on the plate were poorly executed. The oysters from PEI were great, well cleaned and tasty although the sauces were slightly under-seasoned. The BC oysters were fishy and were not cleaned properly and included grit (sand). The venison dish was a $55 dish that was two small pieces of venison (slightly tough) a few beets (which were tasty) oversalted and over garlicy chard which blew your pallet out for the rest of the dish and a tiny rabbit stuffed pastry that was not balanced (had too little filling and too much dough).

I frequent a lot of the high end restaurants in Toronto and have little desire to return here. Nothing about the food was memorable and portions were too small, especially for dinner. For a very high-end meal you would expect nothing but perfection and Canoe did not perform.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

Really love this place. Always delicious ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Really love this place. Always delicious food and fantastic view.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Top ranking resturant in GTA, high quali ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Top ranking resturant in GTA, high quality food and environment. Highly recommended for date, birthday or anniversary!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

have no idea why this restaurant has suc ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 8, 2017

have no idea why this restaurant has such high rating. overall, overrated.

Tags: Late-night Find, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Loved the decor, the view, the service a ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 6, 2017

Loved the decor, the view, the service and the food was outstanding!!! We did the wine pairing as well, which is a must!! A total treat! Pricy but worth it.

Tags: Special Occasion, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went to Canoe for winterlicious 2017 and ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 6, 2017

Went to Canoe for winterlicious 2017 and loved the food! The service was great and it was definitely worth it. I had a great time catching up my friends with good food and wine!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

We came to Canoe for their Winterlicious ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 6, 2017

We came to Canoe for their Winterlicious menu and enjoyed it. Everything tasted excellent with great presentation too.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, , Special Occasion, Cozy, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Winterlicious - Everything was really de ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 6, 2017

Winterlicious - Everything was really delicious, especially the foie gras parfait, the pork main, and wow, the sticky toffee pudding! The service was really excellent, they even seated us at a window even though they said at first there was none available, and brought extra divine caramel sauce for the sticky toffee pudding. Thank you!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was amazing! Great food too.

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 5, 2017

The service was amazing! Great food too.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Terrific dining experience overall. I th ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Terrific dining experience overall. I think the waiters could have felt more solid in their understanding of the menu. A bit of knowledge on wines as well wouldn't hurt but was great to have a manager come out and comment on the wine. It was our first time and we enjoyed it. The bathroom feel a bit disconnected in their look and feel from the restaurant.

Tags: Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Fun, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

Anniversary

vip
 (Glasgow)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Anniversary

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The view is beautiful, food and service ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 4, 2017

The view is beautiful, food and service was excellent. We will be back for sure!

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic experience for Winterlicious

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Fantastic experience for Winterlicious

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was not good, too sweet, and th ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 3, 2017

The food was not good, too sweet, and the salad was awfully, the letus was bitter. Totally overpriced, but you have the view of the lake which is beautiful.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

My girlfriend and I went for winterlocio ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 3, 2017

My girlfriend and I went for winterlocious. I have been here before and loved the food but wasn't sure what to expect because it was so busy for winterlocious and the pre-fix menu was so affordable. I was very pleased with the quality of the food and service. It was a really nice night out. We opted for the wine pairings for each course and thoroughly enjoyed them.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Open Kitchen, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We came here for winterlicious and had a ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 3, 2017

We came here for winterlicious and had a great dining experience overall. Although the food was just decent, the service was great and ambiance was romantic. We were also seated by the window which was a bonus. We will definitely come back for another date night.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Food was tryly outstanding and the view ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Food was tryly outstanding and the view is incredible!

Tags: Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Because of winterlicious main course too ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Because of winterlicious main course took a long time, but the staff were extremely courteous and attentive, and the excellent food made up for it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Both my friend and I had a wonderful and ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Both my friend and I had a wonderful and surprising experience at lunch. My friend ordered a red wine, based on our server's recommendation, and enjoyed it immensely. We were impressed with how well and quickly our server handled our "thumbs down" main course pork schnitzel choice and replaced it with the beef shortribs w/veg meal which was terrific. Our server was grateful and appreciated that we were honest with our critique on the pork schnitzel dish. As a result, we were taken care of and were given some Ont. icewine and a sampling of a cheese plate with our dessert. Overall, we were very happy and impressed with everything. It is my hope and intention to experience Canoe again this time in the evenings with their a la carte dinner menu.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and service

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Great food and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

No surprise for food but wonderful view ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 31, 2017

No surprise for food but wonderful view of downtown. Server is not nice. He didn't even come to table to ask once if we are doing fine for prix fixes three course lunch. Very unpleasant dinning experience. Feel like being ignored.

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

After waiting years to get to Canoe, I f ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 31, 2017

After waiting years to get to Canoe, I finally popped in for a Winterlicious lunch. The food was great, I was very happy to see vegetarian options, and for $28, it was an incredible value. That said, they served me the wrong appetizer and delivered the dishes while my friend was not at the table, which we thought was unimpressive. We chalked to up to less attentive service due to Winterlicious. As a party of three, we all found the dishes to be amazing value, taste, and stunning presentation, and would go back in a heartbeat.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Gluten Free Options, Paleo Friendly, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Great ambiance and clean eats, tried out ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on January 30, 2017

Great ambiance and clean eats, tried out winterlicious menu and wasn't disappointed at all. Lucked out with a great window seat, it's a must.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Winterlicious lunch at Canoe - a no no ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 30, 2017

Winterlicious lunch at Canoe - a no no no! The schnitzel was terrible, greasy and with a bad smell! Desert so so, appetizer ok, nothing special - it's a pity because the location is great. This restaurant surely didn't do itself a favor by participating in Winterlicious with such a terrible lunch menu. We will not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value1

Average service, took around 10 minutes ...

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 30, 2017

Average service, took around 10 minutes for a waiter and he arrived just saying ready? Order pork a bit dry dessert was the best course

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3

Winterlicious diner @ Canoe-- I had ver ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 30, 2017

Winterlicious diner @ Canoe-- I had very high expectation before I went; however, I was very disappointed with my main course and the service. The waiters were very unprofessional. They could not fully introduce the ingredients for each course . There is no words I could find to describe my disappointment to the main courses. You can even make a better course by yourself instead of spending 48 dollars to taste this.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.