About Canoe Restaurant and Bar

66 Wellington Street West
54th Floor TD Bank Tower
Toronto, ON M5K 1H6
View Larger Map

Critically acclaimed to be among Canada’s best restaurants, Canoe's unique location high atop the TD Bank Tower affords a breathtaking view of the city and Lake Ontario. The design, originally conceptualized by noted designers Yabu Pushelberg and most recently refreshed by Anacleto Design, is clean and simple, yet absolutely stylish - a brilliant reflection of Canada's rich raw environment. That same brilliance is captured through the flavours and textures of Chef John Horne's inspired regional Canadian cuisine. The menu showcases the freshest and finest Canadian fish, game and produce, as well as an outstanding selection of Canadian vintages. "All that is Canadian defines Canoe." Florence Fabricant, The New York Times

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Continental

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:45- 2:30pm
Dinner: Monday - Friday: 5:00pm - 10:30pm

Cross Street:
Bay and Wellington Streets

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
CAN$51 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(416) 364-0054

Website:
http://www.canoerestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Validated parking is available after 5:30pm. Parking is available in the Toronto Dominion Centre at 66 Wellington St. W. It is the TD Centre parking lot, situated on the North side of Wellington, before York St.

Public Transit:
King and Bay

Executive Chef:
John Horne

Private Party Facilities:
Canoe offers two exclusive private dining rooms accommodating groups up to 60, featuring breathtaking lakeside views. Canoe is also available for full buy-outs on weekends, an exquisite choice for weddings and special gatherings.

Private Party Contact:
Oliver & Bonacini Events and Private Dining: 8884493959

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Smoking Area, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Canoe Restaurant and Bar
Canoe Restaurant and Bar
Canoe Restaurant and Bar
Canoe Restaurant and Bar
Canoe Restaurant and Bar
Canoe Restaurant and Bar
Canoe Restaurant and Bar
Amuse Bouche
Canoe Pecan Tart
Filet Mignon
Wine
Foie Gras
Bread
Bison Rib Eye
Kitchen
East & West Coast Selections
Restaurant
Wine No 1
Dessert Wine
Garnita
Wine No 2
Oysters
Bill
Mushroom soup
Chocolate Dessert
Forest Mushrooms
Tabasco (Fresh)
Great lakes walleye
Tree Syrup Rubbed Bison Short Rib
Charred Cauliflower, Ras El Hanout Cream & Pont Neuf Potatoes
Tree Syrup Rubbed Bison Short Rib
Canadian Bouillabaisse
Hewitt’s Dairy Buttermilk & Lemongrass Flan
Smoked Pan Seared Heritage Salmon Wilted Greens, Horseradish Slaw, Wild Rice & Swede Broth
Almond Cake Niagara Apple Compote & Salted Caramel Sauce
Roasted Squash & Parsnip Soup Birch Yoghurt & Spiced Croutons
Slow Cooked Ontario Brisket Steel Cut Oats, Red Wine Cabbage & Cedar Pickled Mustard Seeds
Lemonade
Pan Fried Great Lakes Walleye
Wellington County Flatiron Steak
Chilled Holland Marsh Leek & Potato Soup
Ontario Bufala Mozzarella
Champagne
Hummas
Apple
Ontario Bufala Mozzarela, Sweet Peas Celery, Honeyed Walnuts, King Crab
Bitter Sweet Chocolate Terrine
Bitter Sweet Chocolate Terrine With Vanilla Marshmallow, Barrie Hill Farm Strawberries & Basil Creme Anglaise
Roasted Alberta Lamb Sirloin, Marinated Summer Squash, Chickpeas And Caraway Yoghurt
Pecan Tart
Purdy's House Smoked Whitefish With Pickled Japanese Asparagus,  Double Smoked Bacon On Chilled Cookstown Potato
Campfire Hen's Egg With Smoked Bacon With Brioche Toast
Lobster club sandwich
Raspberry Frozen Yogurt
Mushroom & Smoked Chicken Tartlette
Maple Braised St. Canut Suckling Pig
Strawberry Panna Cotta With Lychee Ginger Consumme
Braised Short Ribs
mushroom risotto
raw oysters
Sticky Toffee Pudding With Passionfruit Ice Cream
Corn Nut And Chocolate Cake With Espresso Ice Cream And Chocolate Sugar  Crisp
Strawberry Panna Cotta
Salmon & Shrimp Crêpe
Dark Chocolate Torte
Habitant Tourtiere
Vineland Peach Trifle
Ale & Cheddar Chowder
Holiday Goose
Pavé De Richelieu
Enright Cattle Braised Beef Brisket
Comfort Cream
Torched Heritage Salmon
Pressed Maple Braised Willowgrove Pork
Wild Rice Pudding
Pain au Chocolat
Seared Fresh Atlantic Salmon
Panna Cotta
Buffalo Mozzarella
Beef tenderloin
Medallions of venison with honey cake sauce,Teltow turnips and bread dumplings
roast pork
Venison
Wellington County Beef
Local Tomato Buffalo Mozzarella Salad
Cod Mousse
Date Pudding with Passion Fruit Sorbet
Chocolate Extravaganza
Rack of Lamb
Asparugus Soup W/ Essence Of Elder Flower
Sea bass
Ginger Caipiroska
beef short ribs
Cherry Clafouti
Salmon
Raspberry Ice Tea
Summer Split Pea Soup With Dungeness Crab
Fresh Baked Bread With Hummus
Maple B.C. Salmon Gravlax
Honey Wheat Bread
alberta beef

Canoe Restaurant and Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Toronto / Ontario
Continental
Toronto / Ontario
Most Booked
Toronto / Ontario
5 More
Best Service
Toronto
Best Ambiance
Toronto
Scenic View
Toronto
Continental
Toronto
Most Booked
Toronto
Best Restaurants in Downtown/ Financial District ›

scenic view (232)
special occasion (206)
fit for foodies (164)
See All
romantic (150)
notable wine list (84)
great for lunch (67)
hot spot (51)
good for groups (46)
vibrant bar scene (19)
neighborhood gem (16)
late-night find (14)
great for brunch (7)
kid-friendly (3)
great for outdoor dining (3)
Sort By:
Newest
2358 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Our visit to Canoe was mildly disappoint ...

vip
Dined 5 days ago

Our visit to Canoe was mildly disappointing on this occasion. I did not enjoy the burrata appetizer as much as I have in Puglia, Italy, and in other restaurants in Canada or the U.S.; however my wife's appetizer, mushroom soup, was excellent as usual. We each ordered venison and it was served not remotely close to how we had ordered it cooked. There was an immediate apology and the dishes were re-prepared perfectly. We had planned on ordering dessert but found the menu to be slightly bizarre, so we had dessert at our hotel bar instead. We still plan to return to Canoe in future and I still highly recommend it: we were just a little disappointed this time.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food & presentation! Lovely vi ...

vip
Dined 5 days ago

Excellent food & presentation! Lovely view of the city & lake.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a lovely 5th anniversary there. T ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

We had a lovely 5th anniversary there. The food was delectable and just melted in our mouths. The ambiance was lovely and the staff were very personable.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service5

The only criticism is for the pork torti ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

The only criticism is for the pork tortierre. We found it somewhat lacking in flavour and the consistency of the meat was too 'mushy.' Otherwise we were very happy!

food5
ambience3
service3

If you are looking to have good and fres ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

If you are looking to have good and fresh food 100% recommend this place! ( keep in mind, small portions ) If you like a restaurant with good music to have a relax evening this is not the place, at least I didn't heard any music.... Overall everyone have to try this place.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The ambiance of the restaurant was great ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

The ambiance of the restaurant was great and the servers were all very nice.

Tags: scenic view
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service and friendly staff: as a E ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

Great service and friendly staff: as a European I was happy that the waiters could walk the extra mile without being over the top. Food was fresh and tasty AND surprising. Definitely a great place for people loving to be surprised.

Tags: romantic
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great night at Canoe celebrating U of T ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

Great night at Canoe celebrating U of T Convocation with family. Staff was attentive, but relaxed. The restaurant is spacious and the food delicious. Sweeping views across the southern part of Toronto, harbor, island, lake... enhanced the experience. Favorite starter was the venison tartare. Expensive, but worth it for a special occasion and not nearly as eye-popping if you skip the alcohol.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Extraordinary in every respect

vip
Dined on June 9, 2016

There are meals that will be remembered for days, weeks, months or years...this was one such meal. Whether it was my VIP Open Table status, or just wonderful luck, we had one of perhaps 6 tables on the western sunset side, with views from the 54th floor at this fabulous restaurant. Everything about the evening was superlative. The menu is very innovative; no matter how sophisticated your palate, you'd find something new to try here. If you are not a foodie, close your eyes & just choose - you will not be disappointed. Our server Jeremy was delightful, with just the right amount of attention & personal conversation. This is (justifiably) a very expensive restaurant, but if you are celebrating a personal accomplishment or a special life benchmark, or if you just want an unforgettable experience, we can't recommend highly enough.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
food3
ambience1
service5
value2

Is it worth it?

Dined on June 8, 2016

Fine food enjoyed against a background of intense noise. Why is music always imposed when one should be enjoying fine dining? Music forces people to talk loudly which forces others to talk more loudly, to the point where I had to move my chair close to my guest to even begin to hear him . This is just crazy. Back to the food --clearly excellent, but $45 for a piece of haddock seems to stretch the value one can get out of a piece of fish. I suggest if you want fine dining go elsewhere --if you get a thrill out of watching overpaid bankers overpay for a business schmooze , go to Canoe.

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Our most favorite restaurant in Toronto! ...

vip
Dined on June 8, 2016

Our most favorite restaurant in Toronto! Apart from the mindblowing view, the service is elite. Menu is beautifully created & the quality of food is fantastic. A must go for every one.

food2
ambience2
service2
value2

Disappointed

Dined on June 8, 2016

Went for lunch to celebrate retirement. Service just adequate. Lengthy wait for food. Waiter appeared bored. After food delivered, no follow up to see how everything was. I ordered the turkey; the sides were well cooked and tasty but the turkey was flavourless, very bland and very dry. Arctic char was just a small piece of fish, nothing special. Neither of us would order these dishes again and will very likely not return to Canoe. Very expensive for mediocre service and food. Overall, extremely disappointing. It is very apparent that the restaurant is geared towards high-end business clientele with expense accounts. Most unfortunate; all big business with no consideration whatsoever to those of us who work very hard to earn enough to eat here...huge mistake, lesson learned!

Tags: scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

We didn't fancy the tasting menu but the ...

Dined on June 6, 2016

We didn't fancy the tasting menu but the waiter helped us to match wines with all our courses. The views were amazing and the food tasted great, liked the ambience. We can highly recommend the fois gras starter and the beef main. The local cheese selection was also fantastic. Can highly recommend Canoe as a reasonably priced food treat.

food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Spectacular Light Show!

vip
Dined on June 6, 2016

To add to the view at the 54th floor of TD Tower was a lightning storm which came through while we ate. The lightening was at eye level and was brilliant! The service was excellent, not too much and very discreet. Presentation was wonderful. My friend had the mushroom soup which was presented in a "teapot" She said it was the best mushroom soup she has ever had. I will order the soup next time

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wow! Exceptional!

Dined on June 6, 2016

There are no words to describe our experience at Canoe. The view was incredible and that's what made us want to go, but we couldn't keep our eyes off the food! Everything was a work of art and every bite was an experience! Our server (Brandon, I think) was one of the most educated and considerate servers we've ever had. He went over and above to help us celebrate a special birthday. We are so thankful we chose Canoe and we will forever remember that amazing dinner. I can't wait to bring someone else for another special event or business dinner soon!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

What stood out was the ambiance and the ...

Dined on June 4, 2016

What stood out was the ambiance and the view. Open kitchen. .great.. the presentation of the plates was mouth watering .The service was very professional and at the same time everyone was smiling; you do not see that alot in many restaurants and it was good to see the servers were smiling. Smiling is always welcoming and pleasant.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Stunning view with beautiful food to match

Dined on June 4, 2016

Chose Canoe Restaurant for my husband's birthday dinner, we wanted something special and we were not disappointed. Great service, stunning view and beautiful food.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Canoe is Just Great

Dined on June 3, 2016

We went to Canoe on 6/3/2016. The service was outstanding, surpassed only by the food. From appetizers to dessert, the preparation was innovative and delicious. This is a spot you can't afford to miss. It is expensive, but well worth it.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food, amazing service, superb view ...

Dined on June 3, 2016

Everything (food, service, settings etc.) is in superlative state.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Canoe - Above the City and Above Par

Dined on June 2, 2016

As always, Canoe strives to set the highest of standards with excellent service, incredible food and beautiful views. My husband and I both had the buttery soft halibut. Our friends ate the tenderloin which they thoroughly enjoyed. I inquired about the Prosecco and the sommelier wrote down the supplier and brought it over and explained where it comes from. The night was topped off with excellent desserts: an incredible deconstructed brown sugar praline cream, smoked pecan nougatine with wild rye ice cream and our friends had a milk chocolate and peanut dessert which was adorned with a beautifully scripted birthday greeting for our friend. The crowning touch on an excellent evening.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
food3
ambience5
service3
value1

The great view may be worth the price...or not.

Dined on June 2, 2016

Quality food, though not particularly innovative nor memorable paired with an outrageously overpriced wine list. The view is extraordinary though....that may be why people pay those prices. There are far better lunches to be had in the downtown core where you don't have to pay $25 for a glass of wine...

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Spectacular Food, Service, atmosphere, and view.

Dined on June 1, 2016

I took my wife for her birthday. Everything we had was spectacular, in taste as well as presentation. The service was wonderful. Non-intrusive but always present to refill glasses or to adress questions or take orders. Since this was a birthday, I asked for a table by the window and this was accommodated with a short wait. Furthermore, the staff remembered at dessert time and wrote a beautiful script 'Happy Birthday' in sauce. I can highly recommend the lamb, the halibut, the mushroom soup and the fluke crudo, each of which had wonderful surprises to the taste buds.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing experience as always

Dined on June 1, 2016

Never disappoints, always my go to place for special occasions.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

tasting menu with wine pairing was fantastic

Dined on May 27, 2016

Strongly recommend. Great food, great service and great ambiance. Everything was perfect. Will return on next visit to Toronto and will recommend it to friends and business colleagues.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

it was ok. just ok. nothing really that ...

Dined on May 27, 2016

it was ok. just ok. nothing really that good or bad. but for its price, i wouldn't go again maybe.

Tags: scenic view
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

Food portions are small and overpriced. ...

Dined on May 27, 2016

Food portions are small and overpriced. The staff are attentive and nice. Atmosphere and views and exceptional.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

I loved the ambience and service. The fo ...

Dined on May 27, 2016

I loved the ambience and service. The food quantity is too small for amount you pay. I have dined in many higher priced restaurants and have never seen such a serving. I was quite dissapointed especially since had friends visiting out of town who paid a lot for very little food.

Tags: scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Awesome food, awesome view, awesome serv ...

vip
Dined on May 27, 2016

Awesome food, awesome view, awesome service. Great evening.

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Taste Haida Gawii Birthday dinner

Dined on May 27, 2016

The Tasting menu is all ingredients from the far and remote Haida Gwaii Islands on the West Coast often referred as the 'Galapagos of the North' ~200 islands are home to a bounty of unique & diverse marine life: from whales & seals to sockeye salmon, halibut, humpback prawns, sea urchin, mussels, octopus, clams... My husband, daughter & I had the multi-course Taste Haida Gawii menu with wine pairings It was delicious & soo fresh!! A feast for the eyes as well as the palate!! Most of all the service was excellent!!! The maître d' went of her way to grant my wishes of seating by a window with an amazing view! Thanks for making my Birthday dinner a night to remember!!! My daughter lives in NYC and this was her 1st time at Canoe.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Had been waiting to go to Canoe for a fe ...

Dined on May 26, 2016

Had been waiting to go to Canoe for a few years and since we had the opportunity to get away to Toronto, we decided to give it a try for our anniversary. The service was excellent but, as this was a anniversary celebration, we found it noisy and almost impossible to hold a conversation without shouting. As I said the service was excellent but we had the special of the day "Surf and Turf " and found the beef tough and at over $50 each for the main course, I expected better and was quite dissapointed. Probably will not go back.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service5

We sat at the bar. Great service. Great ...

vip
Dined on May 24, 2016

We sat at the bar. Great service. Great view. Cheese tray was very nice. Spring rolls were tasty. Poutine was lacking, don't bother.

food5
ambience4
service4

Great place, great view, must in toronto

Dined on May 21, 2016

Great place, great view, must in toronto

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Consistent high quality

Dined on May 21, 2016

Always enjoy our dinners at Canoe. Weren't disappointed.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent for family or friends get together.

Dined on May 20, 2016

My family went to Canoe for birthday party and it made us a great night.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing food and service,really good ope ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

Amazing food and service,really good open kitchen the see the chef's proformance. will come back for sure.

food5
ambience4
service4

Love the lamb and the soup

Dined on May 20, 2016

Love the lamb and the soup

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great Experience

Dined on May 18, 2016

Started poorly - no table by the window, even though we booked our reservation quite early and requested one. The service and food made up for it. Great mushroom soup and nice touch with the broth poured table side - the whole restaurant smells like the soup. Enjoyed the venison tartare, and different selections of bread. Both mains were amazing - beef tenderloin and the special, aged ribeye. Service was great - split the soup since we were sharing, brought an amuse bouche, and a nice brownie dessert with happy anniversary.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

Overall disappointed. Overpriced food. V ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

Overall disappointed. Overpriced food. Very bad decor. I felt like eating at my desk in dt Toronto.

Tags: scenic view
food5
ambience4
service4

Great Canadian food. We had the steak an ...

Dined on May 16, 2016

Great Canadian food. We had the steak and the lamb main dishes. The steak was absolutely outstanding. The lamb was good but doesn't need to be repeated. The chocolate brownie dessert with peanut butter mousse was amazing as well. Finally the coffee expresso was the grand finale. Outstanding views of the city and an almost party like noise level. Not particularly romantic but a great place to dine with friends.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

this is a classic business lunch spot th ...

Dined on May 16, 2016

this is a classic business lunch spot that can serve a number of different occassions. great food and decent value relative to the other downtown restaurants charging downtown rates. food is very good, borderline exceptional. service is consistent and very professional as many of these folks have been there for years.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.