Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.05mi
  3. Distance: 0.05mi
  4. Distance: 0.12mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.05mi
  3. Distance: 0.05mi
  4. Distance: 0.12mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.05mi
  3. Distance: 0.05mi
  4. Distance: 0.12mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.05mi
  3. Distance: 0.05mi
  4. Distance: 0.12mi

About Canoe Restaurant and Bar

Critically acclaimed to be among Canada’s best restaurants, Canoe's unique location high atop the TD Bank Tower affords a breathtaking view of the city and Lake Ontario. The design, originally conceptualized by noted designers Yabu Pushelberg and most recently refreshed by Anacleto Design, is clean and simple, yet absolutely stylish - a brilliant reflection of Canada's rich raw environment. That same brilliance is captured through the flavours and textures of Chef John Horne's inspired regional Canadian cuisine. The menu showcases the freshest and finest Canadian fish, game and produce, as well as an outstanding selection of Canadian vintages. "All that is Canadian defines Canoe." Florence Fabricant, The New York Times

66 Wellington Street West
54th Floor TD Bank Tower
Toronto, ON M5K 1H6
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Continental

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:45- 2:30pm
Dinner: Monday - Friday: 5:00pm - 10:30pm

Cross Street:
Bay and Wellington Streets

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
CAN$51 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(416) 364-0054

Website:
http://www.canoerestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Validated parking is available after 5:30pm. Parking is available in the Toronto Dominion Centre at 66 Wellington St. W. It is the TD Centre parking lot, situated on the North side of Wellington, before York St.

Public Transit:
King and Bay

Executive Chef:
John Horne

Private Party Facilities:
Canoe offers two exclusive private dining rooms accommodating groups up to 60, featuring breathtaking lakeside views. Canoe is also available for full buy-outs on weekends, an exquisite choice for weddings and special gatherings.

Private Party Contact:
Oliver & Bonacini Events and Private Dining: (888) 449-3959

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Canoe Restaurant and Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (136)
Special Occasion (109)
Good for a Date (103)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (97)
Romantic (90)
Fit for Foodies (73)
Creative Cuisine (65)
Business Meals (64)
Notable Wine List (60)
Good for Birthdays (51)
Tasting Menu (48)
Modern Decor (46)
Local Ingredients (44)
Great for Lunch (32)
Waterfront (31)
Open Kitchen (30)
Worth the Drive (28)
Quiet Conversation (24)
Hot Spot (21)
Fun (18)
Pre/post Theatre (17)
Seasonal (17)
People Watching (15)
Authentic (15)
Handcrafted Cocktails (14)
Cozy (14)
Bar Seating (13)
Healthy (12)
Good for Groups (12)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Late-night Find (9)
Good Vegetarian Options (9)
Molecular Gastronomy (8)
Vibrant Bar Scene (8)
Gluten Free Options (7)
Outstanding Value (6)
Private Room (6)
Casual (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Disabled Access (5)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Historic (4)
Organic (4)
Happy Hour (3)
Family Style (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Tapas (2)
Fireplace (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Great Beer (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
2928 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 2 days ago

This was our second time coming back to Canoe. It is our favorite place. The foie gras is to die for!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Outstanding Value, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 4 days ago

We went there for dinner to celebrate post engagement. Our server Shawn was amazing. He made the evening extremely fun and enjoyable. Will be going back forsure!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 4 days ago

We thoroughly enjoyed our dinner yesterday! Our servers were kind and attentive

Tags: Special Occasion, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (London)·Dined on March 12, 2017

We sat at the chef's grill. Nice to watch how much organisation it takes. Food lovely, and our waiter really friendly and knowledgeable.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 9, 2017

For a fine dinning place is not what i expected at all especially the restaurant has been in business for a long time and the group seems big in toronto. I went there for tasting menu and we were 2 people. I appreciate the fact that they charged us only for one meal and the server was a good listener. The first feeling i had is i am in a very casual restaurant, all the food came just warm not hot at all and eventhough i talked to the server since the first course, the rest came warm too i even realised that the plates were warmer that food itself. the way food was executed was not up to the reputation of one of the best places in toronto( pasta was very al dente). However, food came fast and taste was there but i did not like sour bread and black beans and neither the chocolate torte!!! The desert is so heavy. Let s say the place was not at its best that day or let s say the chef was off

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value2

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 7, 2017

The starters were all good. I had the venison but expect it to be a little more tender.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 6, 2017

Decent food in the heart of downtown. Good atmosphere, excellent view and pleasurable service.

For the price they charge, however, It is fair to compare this restaurant some of the better restaurants of New York and London. With this in mind, we found their dishes to be a bit pedestrian with very little to be excited about.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on March 6, 2017

Le service était impeccable et tous les plats étaient succulents et concoctés avec soin... Plus belle vue du centre-ville de Toronto! Un peu moins dispendieux en y allant pour dîner...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Brilliant view. Attentive and knowledgeable service. Excellent menu. My wife could live on the crab linguine

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Amazing, i got more than dessert last night

Tags: Good for a Date, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 4, 2017

great food and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 4, 2017

I went to Canoe by my as a treat-my-self birthday gift and the staff was incredible. I had great conversations with both my server and the house manager of the night. I highly recommend the tasting menu with the wine pairings. It was worth every penny. Also, I recommended going during the sunset as the view over the Toronto skyline was one of the best I have seen.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 4, 2017

The meal was great. Service was good, friendly and knowledgeable. Felt like we were treated well and at a higher level and with more care than a typical restaurant. Experience was great. Greeted well. Only down fall for this place is the noise level. Hard to hear your company. Open kitchen and tables close together. If it was a little more intimate it would have been a 5 star evening. Overall experience was good. 4 out of 5.

Tags: Disabled Access, Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 3, 2017

The starters there are quite terrible. The main is a little better. The desserts are my nightmare. Actually,it would only be a place for scene watching rather than a restaurant.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 2, 2017

Great sauces and flavors; excellent service; great views of Toronto at night; not inexpensive for sure but worth it.

Tags: Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 1, 2017

You must try the fois gras appetizer. We ordered a second one!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on February 28, 2017

Excellent restaurant with awesome view of Toronto by night. Meals was so delicious !

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 25, 2017

The food was great, but we had a late sitting and our waiter was strangely rude as it approached closing time, pointing to his watch at one point. Still a decent experience overall.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 24, 2017

IT was great and the view would have been awesome if it had not been foggy. It was very expensive though.

Tags: People Watching, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Beautiful spot. Foggy day so no view but the food is good- especially the appetizers and the service is fabulous.

Tags: Waterfront, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 18, 2017

From the stunning city views at night to the beautifully plated dishes, Canoe is true fine dining. Splurge on the tasting menu with wine pairings. The crab pasta with hand made noodles were probably one of the BEST pastas I've ever had. Very thoughtful menu. Well worth the expense.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Scenic View, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Montreal)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Great view, great ambiance, had a hard time finding a good upscale restaurant in Toronto, so Canoe made me happy. I ordered the artic char, rib eye short rib cannoli and the flourless chocolate cake with mint ice cream. I also ordered a latte and I was quickly reminded why I never order coffee in a restaurant, they can't make one!! So skip the coffee! Even the espresso wasn't good according to my boyfriend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Excellent - we always enjoy the chef's tasting menu with wine pairings. What a wonderful experience of trying new food combinations, beautifully prepared!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Amazing food, incredible view!

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Took my Assistant for her Anniversary and she absolutely loved it.
I told the server that we were celebrating my assistant 's anniversary and at the end of the meal they brought her dessert with Congratulations written in chocolate. A very nice touch.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Waterfront, Scenic View, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Amazing breathtaking view in a cosy and beautiful restaurant. True Canadian very tasty meal and perfect service.
A little bit too noisy for this kind of restaurant.
I highly recommend this place one of a Torontonian life ; )

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Whether you're with, friends, clients or business contacts here is no better place for lunch in downtown Toronto.

Tags: Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Hot Spot, Waterfront, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 16, 2017

The service was not attentive, when asked for bread - we had to ask another person, The advice about the starter being not big enough to share was not accurate; the dessert was barely edible and not worth finishing nor worth $12 with barely a hint of mint flavor and crushed cookies!

Tags: Waterfront, Fun, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 16, 2017

It was out first time there and our waiter made us feel comfortable, he helped us out with our selection of wine that best fit our taste. The food was amazing, each course had a unique flair and presentation to them. Best food i ever tasted in my life 👌👌😍

Tags: Historic, Private Room, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Things like the food and the view were exceptional, as can be expected, but what blew me away was the service.

I've been to a fair number of high end restaurants in Toronto and I have not had service this good before. I notified the waiter of a dairy and gluten allergy and although it was a prix fixe menu, the waiter made every modification possible to ensure the allergies were accommodated to. Each time a meal was brought over, the server (usually somebody different from the waiter who took our order) confirmed that anything with dairy had been removed, and in some cases replaced with dairy/gluten-free alternatives.

At one point we asked a server for gluten free bread and very shortly after a different server came to the table and told us that the bread is prepared with butter, so although it's gluten free it won't be dairy free and he apologized, whereas I thanked him very much for being aware of all allergies, rather than simply bringing the bread as we had asked. It was clear that the entire staff had communicated well with each other and were doing everything they could to accommodate to our table's dietary needs. My girlfriend and I left very impressed. The cherry on top of an already amazing Valentine's Day dining experience!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Canoe was able to surprise us, yet again ! The food was fabulous , setting very romantic and the staff very knowledgable . It was a perfect evening.

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Lunch was ok but desert was great. View was amazing. Service was very nice too.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 13, 2017

A wonderful choice for a special occasion. Beautiful food. Gorgeous view. Varied wine list with a very knowledgeable sommelier.

Tags: Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Went there for valentines day, and it was great for the atmosphere and the service. The food was good, but, for the price, I've experienced better. That said, the view, and the experience is what makes this place woth visiting.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Delicious food and great service! I can always count on Canoe.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 10, 2017

I was at Canoe twice this past week and was truly disappointed with both experiences. From best to worst, for Lunch I had the salmon and fogo island crab appetizer and thought the presentation was excellent and flavor was very good and portion size was good for an appetizer. The worst was a poorly balanced pasta with bison ragu dish. Simply, there were too many capers giving a salt blast to your mouth, the chopped vegetables were undercooked, charred rapini had a fuel taste that made them inedible. Overall it was just a poorly executed dish with no harmony in the flavours.

Dinner was not any better the next day. For a $550 meal for 4, it was straight up a terrible value and many of the elements on the plate were poorly executed. The oysters from PEI were great, well cleaned and tasty although the sauces were slightly under-seasoned. The BC oysters were fishy and were not cleaned properly and included grit (sand). The venison dish was a $55 dish that was two small pieces of venison (slightly tough) a few beets (which were tasty) oversalted and over garlicy chard which blew your pallet out for the rest of the dish and a tiny rabbit stuffed pastry that was not balanced (had too little filling and too much dough).

I frequent a lot of the high end restaurants in Toronto and have little desire to return here. Nothing about the food was memorable and portions were too small, especially for dinner. For a very high-end meal you would expect nothing but perfection and Canoe did not perform.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Really love this place. Always delicious food and fantastic view.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Top ranking resturant in GTA, high quality food and environment. Highly recommended for date, birthday or anniversary!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 8, 2017

have no idea why this restaurant has such high rating. overall, overrated.

Tags: Late-night Find, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 6, 2017

Loved the decor, the view, the service and the food was outstanding!!! We did the wine pairing as well, which is a must!! A total treat! Pricy but worth it.

Tags: Special Occasion, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.