Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.05mi
  3. Distance: 0.05mi
  4. Distance: 0.12mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.05mi
  3. Distance: 0.05mi
  4. Distance: 0.12mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.05mi
  3. Distance: 0.05mi
  4. Distance: 0.12mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.05mi
  3. Distance: 0.05mi
  4. Distance: 0.12mi

About Canoe Restaurant and Bar

Critically acclaimed to be among Canada’s best restaurants, Canoe's unique location high atop the TD Bank Tower affords a breathtaking view of the city and Lake Ontario. The design, originally conceptualized by noted designers Yabu Pushelberg and most recently refreshed by Anacleto Design, is clean and simple, yet absolutely stylish - a brilliant reflection of Canada's rich raw environment. That same brilliance is captured through the flavours and textures of Chef John Horne's inspired regional Canadian cuisine. The menu showcases the freshest and finest Canadian fish, game and produce, as well as an outstanding selection of Canadian vintages. "All that is Canadian defines Canoe." Florence Fabricant, The New York Times

66 Wellington Street West
54th Floor TD Bank Tower
Toronto, ON M5K 1H6
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Continental

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:45- 2:30pm
Dinner: Monday - Friday: 5:00pm - 10:30pm

Cross Street:
Bay and Wellington Streets

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
CAN$51 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(416) 364-0054

Website:
http://www.canoerestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Validated parking is available after 5:30pm. Parking is available in the Toronto Dominion Centre at 66 Wellington St. W. It is the TD Centre parking lot, situated on the North side of Wellington, before York St.

Public Transit:
King and Bay

Executive Chef:
John Horne

Private Party Facilities:
Canoe offers two exclusive private dining rooms accommodating groups up to 60, featuring breathtaking lakeside views. Canoe is also available for full buy-outs on weekends, an exquisite choice for weddings and special gatherings.

Private Party Contact:
Oliver & Bonacini Events and Private Dining: (888) 449-3959

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Canoe Restaurant and Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (107)
Good for a Date (83)
Special Occasion (82)
See All
Romantic (81)
Good for Anniversaries (74)
Business Meals (51)
Fit for Foodies (50)
Good for Birthdays (43)
Creative Cuisine (42)
Notable Wine List (41)
Tasting Menu (37)
Modern Decor (35)
Local Ingredients (27)
Waterfront (24)
Quiet Conversation (22)
Hot Spot (22)
Great for Lunch (21)
Open Kitchen (21)
Worth the Drive (20)
Pre/post Theatre (12)
Seasonal (12)
Fun (12)
Good for Groups (11)
Cozy (10)
Healthy (10)
People Watching (9)
Authentic (9)
Bar Seating (8)
Good Vegetarian Options (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Late-night Find (6)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Casual (6)
Private Room (5)
Molecular Gastronomy (5)
Happy Hour (4)
Organic (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Historic (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Family Style (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Great Beer (1)
Tapas (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Sort By:
S
2955 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined 7 days ago

Went for a birthday dinner. Haven't been been for a few years now but the views remain the best part of the experience. Had the raw bar for ~$80 to start which was priced at a premium but was a good mix of seafood, flavours and textures. I had the duck main which was extremely chewy and tough to down. My wife had the barley risotto which lacked in flavour and was underwhelming for a main. Service was not without flaws having forgotten to bring out our sides so they had to fire them up, arriving 10mins later.

Overall, I would suggest this restaurant for dates and special guests/events given amazing the views, but food-wise, there are dozens of other restaurants in the city that could provide a better fine dining food experience (e.g. Alo, Bosk, George, Scaramouche, Buck, etc).

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Wonderful service, amazing food, beautiful views. An all around awesome experience!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 20, 2017

We wanted to have a special lunch for my wife's birthday and wanted to try one of Toronto's​ best restaurant. The view of the 54th floor is wonderful and the ambiance of the restaurant is very nice. The service was fine, nothing memorable but the food lacked flavour and intensity. The main course chicken lacked in presentation. Was it really expensive? No. The wine selection was well balanced for all tastes and pockets. Glad we went but probably won't go back.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 19, 2017

The scenery was WONDERFUL. I didn't know what I was getting myself into when I made the reservation. It was a 40$ meal for an espresso & an appetizer. The appetizer was vastly undersized. I didn't even eat bread. and we drank water. Good thing I came for the catch up with the old friend, not the cuisine. The view almost makes it worth the caffeine rush & mild satiation.

Tags: Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Waterfront, Scenic View, Disabled Access, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 19, 2017

As always, a spectacular meal coupled with great service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on April 18, 2017

One of the best meals I have ever had with a fantastic view. I cannot overstate how much I enjoyed this restaruant - it is a MUST in Toronto.

Tags: Hot Spot, Open Kitchen, Notable Wine List, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 17, 2017

Phenomenal experience, food, service and overall ambience was EXCEPTIONAL!
Highly recommend for a special occasion.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Service was great. Food was superb. View was the best.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 11, 2017

Great view, excellent service, ok food for the price

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 11, 2017

Enjoyed another fine dining experience with clients, Canoe keeps doing a great job, outstanding and tasty food, atmosphere and the view is spectacular

Tags: Scenic View, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 11, 2017

Hands down best Salmon I have ever had. My favourite restaurant now.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 10, 2017

Wonderful food and views. Wanted to impress an important business associate who is also a foodie & mission accomplished. Definitely will go there again soon.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Scenic View, Open Kitchen, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Another fine experience at Canoe. One our "go-to" places in Toronto when you want a better than average meal. The menus change by season and always evidence creative pairings of tastes from the chefs. The decor could use a little upgrade as its been the same for many, many years....but the view more than makes up for the unchanging "business tower" decor.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on April 6, 2017

Delicious meal. Lovely view of CN Tower out the far West windows. Lovely for tourists and special visitors. Wonderful service overall though did find it entertaining that one of the servers scoffed at my husband for not recognizing the use of the "baked apple butter lentil puree with olive oil drizzle" that came with bread at the same time as our salad. He obviously recognized we don't go out very often... We had a good laugh about that one.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 3, 2017

A very pleasant experience, with great food and service...perfect for our annual Birthday get together with friends. We will be back

Tags: Romantic, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Awesome staff that helped make a special night perfect.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on March 31, 2017

The view is great, but the service is terrible. Server was either missing or being awkward.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Very disappointed after what I heard , my expectations were very high. The place was noisy ,food lacked the flavour. The bright side was our server was great ...

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service4
value1

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 30, 2017

My friend's birthday. I told them in advance and they gave us a great view table and write Happy Birthday on her dessert plate. A complimentary dessert would have been even nicer!

Tags: Open Kitchen, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (London)·Dined on March 28, 2017

Great location and buzz.
Innovative dishes snd superb service.

Tags: Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Waterfront, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Montreal)·Dined on March 23, 2017

Wow!! Beautiful restaurant, extraordinaire view, lots of creativity in the plates we tried. I recommend the taste menu for a first timer and wine pairing is great with an excellent selection of Canadian wines. Good luck to the chef's future.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 22, 2017

Lunch or dinner at Canoe with family or for business has always been a memorable experience. Yesterday's lunch with my wife and son was very enjoyable - great food, great service and great view.

Tags: Waterfront, Creative Cuisine, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 20, 2017

This was our second time coming back to Canoe. It is our favorite place. The foie gras is to die for!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Outstanding Value, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 19, 2017

We went there for dinner to celebrate post engagement. Our server Shawn was amazing. He made the evening extremely fun and enjoyable. Will be going back forsure!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 19, 2017

We thoroughly enjoyed our dinner yesterday! Our servers were kind and attentive

Tags: Special Occasion, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 14, 2017

One of the top restaurants in the country not much more to say. Shout out to the pastry chef Chloe Hong for a brilliant panna cotta - very clever and skillful, a must-have

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (London)·Dined on March 12, 2017

We sat at the chef's grill. Nice to watch how much organisation it takes. Food lovely, and our waiter really friendly and knowledgeable.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 9, 2017

For a fine dinning place is not what i expected at all especially the restaurant has been in business for a long time and the group seems big in toronto. I went there for tasting menu and we were 2 people. I appreciate the fact that they charged us only for one meal and the server was a good listener. The first feeling i had is i am in a very casual restaurant, all the food came just warm not hot at all and eventhough i talked to the server since the first course, the rest came warm too i even realised that the plates were warmer that food itself. the way food was executed was not up to the reputation of one of the best places in toronto( pasta was very al dente). However, food came fast and taste was there but i did not like sour bread and black beans and neither the chocolate torte!!! The desert is so heavy. Let s say the place was not at its best that day or let s say the chef was off

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value2

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on March 8, 2017

Best location in Toronto. The food never disappoints.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 7, 2017

The starters were all good. I had the venison but expect it to be a little more tender.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 6, 2017

Decent food in the heart of downtown. Good atmosphere, excellent view and pleasurable service.

For the price they charge, however, It is fair to compare this restaurant some of the better restaurants of New York and London. With this in mind, we found their dishes to be a bit pedestrian with very little to be excited about.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on March 6, 2017

Le service était impeccable et tous les plats étaient succulents et concoctés avec soin... Plus belle vue du centre-ville de Toronto! Un peu moins dispendieux en y allant pour dîner...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Brilliant view. Attentive and knowledgeable service. Excellent menu. My wife could live on the crab linguine

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Amazing, i got more than dessert last night

Tags: Good for a Date, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 4, 2017

great food and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 4, 2017

I went to Canoe by my as a treat-my-self birthday gift and the staff was incredible. I had great conversations with both my server and the house manager of the night. I highly recommend the tasting menu with the wine pairings. It was worth every penny. Also, I recommended going during the sunset as the view over the Toronto skyline was one of the best I have seen.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 4, 2017

The meal was great. Service was good, friendly and knowledgeable. Felt like we were treated well and at a higher level and with more care than a typical restaurant. Experience was great. Greeted well. Only down fall for this place is the noise level. Hard to hear your company. Open kitchen and tables close together. If it was a little more intimate it would have been a 5 star evening. Overall experience was good. 4 out of 5.

Tags: Disabled Access, Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 4, 2017

The food was good but nothing special, the decor needed a lot of improvement specially for fine dining, but the service was worse than everything. Our waiter was as snobbish as they come, it took him a good 5 mins to refill my wine glass, and then when the food came we asked for different knives because the ones we had couldn't cut through our steak, but the waiter responded "what do you want me to do? these are our sharpest knives"!!!! All and all the experience left a bitter taste in my mouth

Tags: Scenic View, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 3, 2017

The starters there are quite terrible. The main is a little better. The desserts are my nightmare. Actually,it would only be a place for scene watching rather than a restaurant.

Tags: Romantic
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 2, 2017

Great sauces and flavors; excellent service; great views of Toronto at night; not inexpensive for sure but worth it.

Tags: Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.