About Canoe Restaurant and Bar

66 Wellington Street West
54th Floor TD Bank Tower
Toronto, ON M5K 1H6
View Larger Map

Critically acclaimed to be among Canada’s best restaurants, Canoe's unique location high atop the TD Bank Tower affords a breathtaking view of the city and Lake Ontario. The design, originally conceptualized by noted designers Yabu Pushelberg and most recently refreshed by Anacleto Design, is clean and simple, yet absolutely stylish - a brilliant reflection of Canada's rich raw environment. That same brilliance is captured through the flavours and textures of Chef John Horne's inspired regional Canadian cuisine. The menu showcases the freshest and finest Canadian fish, game and produce, as well as an outstanding selection of Canadian vintages. "All that is Canadian defines Canoe." Florence Fabricant, The New York Times

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Continental

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:45- 2:30pm
Dinner: Monday - Friday: 5:00pm - 10:30pm

Cross Street:
Bay and Wellington Streets

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
CAN$51 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(416) 364-0054

Website:
http://www.canoerestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Validated parking is available after 5:30pm. Parking is available in the Toronto Dominion Centre at 66 Wellington St. W. It is the TD Centre parking lot, situated on the North side of Wellington, before York St.

Public Transit:
King and Bay

Executive Chef:
John Horne

Private Party Facilities:
Canoe offers two exclusive private dining rooms accommodating groups up to 60, featuring breathtaking lakeside views. Canoe is also available for full buy-outs on weekends, an exquisite choice for weddings and special gatherings.

Private Party Contact:
Oliver & Bonacini Events and Private Dining: 8884493959

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Smoking Area, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Canoe Restaurant and Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Service
Toronto / Ontario
Continental
Toronto / Ontario
Most Booked
Toronto / Ontario
6 More
Best Overall
Toronto
Best Service
Toronto
Best Ambiance
Toronto
Scenic View
Toronto
Continental
Toronto
Most Booked
Toronto
Best Restaurants in Downtown/ Financial District ›

scenic view (218)
special occasion (192)
fit for foodies (156)
See All
romantic (143)
notable wine list (83)
great for lunch (63)
hot spot (46)
good for groups (44)
vibrant bar scene (22)
neighborhood gem (20)
late-night find (14)
great for brunch (9)
great for outdoor dining (3)
kid-friendly (3)
Sort By:
Newest
2323 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience4
service4

Great place, great view, must in toronto

Dined 4 days ago

Great place, great view, must in toronto

food5
ambience4
service4

Love the lamb and the soup

Dined 5 days ago

Love the lamb and the soup

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great Experience

Dined 6 days ago

Started poorly - no table by the window, even though we booked our reservation quite early and requested one. The service and food made up for it. Great mushroom soup and nice touch with the broth poured table side - the whole restaurant smells like the soup. Enjoyed the venison tartare, and different selections of bread. Both mains were amazing - beef tenderloin and the special, aged ribeye. Service was great - split the soup since we were sharing, brought an amuse bouche, and a nice brownie dessert with happy anniversary.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

Overall disappointed. Overpriced food. V ...

Dined 6 days ago

Overall disappointed. Overpriced food. Very bad decor. I felt like eating at my desk in dt Toronto.

Tags: scenic view
food5
ambience4
service4

Great Canadian food. We had the steak an ...

Dined on May 16, 2016

Great Canadian food. We had the steak and the lamb main dishes. The steak was absolutely outstanding. The lamb was good but doesn't need to be repeated. The chocolate brownie dessert with peanut butter mousse was amazing as well. Finally the coffee expresso was the grand finale. Outstanding views of the city and an almost party like noise level. Not particularly romantic but a great place to dine with friends.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

this is a classic business lunch spot th ...

Dined on May 16, 2016

this is a classic business lunch spot that can serve a number of different occassions. great food and decent value relative to the other downtown restaurants charging downtown rates. food is very good, borderline exceptional. service is consistent and very professional as many of these folks have been there for years.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Great service...but have had better food

Dined on May 14, 2016

This was my first time at Canoe. I had been trying to go there for years for special occasions but was never successful at getting a reservations, so when the stars aligned this time, I was excited. The service was phenomenal. Our waitress was extremely pleasant, friendly and checked in on us at just the right frequency. The atmosphere was also pretty nice. It wasn't too quiet that it was awkward, but it wasn't noisy that people were having to yell across the table to hear each other. The food, I was a little disappointed with. I'm a foodie and go to 5-star or Michelin star restaurants enough to know when the price is worth, and in this case, I was a little disappointed. Don't get me wrong. The meals were tasty, but I was expecting more, given the price. I've had tastier dishes for a lower cost, so I couldn't understand/justify the price in this case.

Tags: fit for foodies
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely love dining at Canoe. I have ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

Absolutely love dining at Canoe. I have experienced lunch, dinner and just having a couple drinks at the bar - love it every time I come! The view from up there is always breathtaking, the staff are always friendly and attentive and the food is so so delicious! Will always recommend Canoe to friends + family

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great!

Dined on May 13, 2016

We absolutely loved every dish. The view is amazing, and the atmosphere is nice and relaxing, without being too formal. The staff is very professional and friendly (in a non-stuffy way). Overall, a great experience! We will be definitely eating there whenever we visit Toronto.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food3
ambience5
service3
value2

amazing view. gorgeous room and excellen ...

vip
Dined on May 12, 2016

amazing view. gorgeous room and excellent waitstaff. innovative focus on canadian food and flavours. food is somewhat pricy for what it is.

Tags: fit for foodies, scenic view, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Wedding Anniversary

Dined on May 11, 2016

My wife and I were married at Canoe in 2013 and returned for our 3rd anniversary. The food was excellent, the service very good (a little slow at first, but they did seem pretty busy) and they did recognize our special evening with special desserts. As long as you go to Canoe expecting it to be expensive and are prepared to spend $300 on dinner for two you will have a good experience.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Canoe is a great spot in downtown Toront ...

Dined on May 11, 2016

Canoe is a great spot in downtown Toronto. The food is exquisite and the environment is top notch. The view of downtown Toronto and Lake Erie are profound. Great spot!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Too expensive for what one gets...too mu ...

Dined on May 11, 2016

Too expensive for what one gets...too much high quality cooking elsewhere Living on past laurels Service is prepared to accommodate

Tags: scenic view
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

Service is one of the best. Food depends on people

Dined on May 8, 2016

Some people may not enjoy the food due to the uniqueness of the restaurant's food style. You might not want to take an adventure when you choose the menu.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

awesome room and culinary experience

Dined on May 6, 2016

We celebrated an anniversary with at Canoe with friends. The views are spectacular especially at the "golden hour" when they raise the blinds on the west side of the restaurant for the sunset afterglow. We tried the Haida Gwaii inspired tasting menu with pairings, and really enjoyed the food journey and explanations from our server. It is always a treat to eat at Canoe with its awesome views of Toronto. It is expensive though.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

What a view!

Dined on May 6, 2016

The highlight of this restaurant is the view! It’s located on top of the business building right in the middle of downtown. We sat by the window and could see CN Tower, lake, airplanes landing and taking off, and all other buildings. I always wanted to try this restaurant because of the good reviews, but I was a bit disappointed by the food. I don’t say it was bad but it wasn’t a top restaurant quality. 5 star view 3 star food.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Excellent

Dined on May 6, 2016

Amazing view, excellent food, good service, would recommend to friends and family; would definitely go back again.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I went there for lunch

vip
Dined on May 3, 2016

It was easily the best meal I had in Toronto on my trip. All the flavors were strong, clean, interesting, and perfectly balanced. Service was friendly and top-notch.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

We were told this was the best restauran ...

Dined on May 2, 2016

We were told this was the best restaurant in Toronto. Did not dissapoint. Well worth the price. Flavors were incredible as was the presentation. Service could not have been better.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic food and view

Dined on May 2, 2016

A great spot to celebrate a special occasion or bring a visitor to our city as along with the great food, offers a spectacular view of the city/waterfront.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Just go. There is really nothing to thin ...

Dined on April 30, 2016

Just go. There is really nothing to think about. It is absolutely amazing!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Gourmet food and amazing views

Dined on April 29, 2016

Canoe is expensive, but the food, service, and view are outstanding. We went with a gift card from our son, otherwise we would not have considered those prices, but it was a wonderful experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

AWESOME PLACE

Dined on April 28, 2016

Very impressed! We traveled to Toronto (from southern U.S.) to visit new places and try new foods and drinks. Canoe was a fantastic experience! The food was superb and the service was the best ever! Attention to detail was evident all around. We totally enjoyed every part of the experience. Reservations are a must.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Great Service and View. NOT the food.

Dined on April 26, 2016

The service, ambiance and view were great. I was really hoping I would like to food. Definitely rooting this would be a good dining experience. Unfortunately the fish "steak" I ordered was small , very dry and bland. I am sad to say, but one of the worst entrees I have ever eaten. The smores appetizer and dessert were better. Again great everything else...but when you come for the food it is hard to recommend this restaurant to others.

Tags: scenic view
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

A great place for special occasion

Dined on April 23, 2016

I went there for celebrating my boyfriend's birthday. The food were good, but the portion was small compared to other restaurant. I got a nice round table in the middle of the restaurant, but I wish I could be right next to the window. Then we can see the view better. Well, my boyfriend was quite happy with the overall experience.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Great views, great food and great servic ...

Dined on April 21, 2016

Great views, great food and great service what more can you ask for! Canoe hasn't disappointed yet.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place to have meals with friends

Dined on April 18, 2016

Great foods, nice views, and excellent services !

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Still great but in need of a face lift.

Dined on April 14, 2016

Food and service exceptional as always but the décor could use an update.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Love the service

vip
Dined on April 12, 2016

Our server was the best! I was interest in one dessert and he ask me to remember to remind him and he'll bring it out for me at the end. I totally forgot about it but he remembered!

Tags: romantic
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Birthday at Canoe

vip
Dined on April 12, 2016

Canoe went above and beyond to make this a truly amazing and outstanding evening that will be remembered for a very long time. The service was outstanding, the food was brilliant, the staff were superb ... I can not say anything better about Canoe! Worth every penny! Cory Tower is an amazing individual and my heartfelt thanks go to him and his team for making this special for both my guests. Thank you Thank you Thank you

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Really enjoyed this dining experience. Recommend!

Dined on April 11, 2016

Food was amazing, our server was excellent. The food was accompanied with an explanation of the ingredients which were extremely helpful in anticipating what we were having. Highly recommend this restaurant. If you are looking for a great view, fantastic food, and vibrant ambience you have picked the right place.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Impressionable

Dined on April 10, 2016

If you want to make a great impression, presentation, and over all image of classy but cool and elegant but stylish. Go here ASAP

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Canoe was a wonderful experience overall!

Dined on April 10, 2016

Great restaurant with knowledgable and personable staff! Highly recommend

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The best restaurant in Toronto. Hands down.

Dined on April 9, 2016

It's not the type of trendy restaurants that come and go. Canoe is one of those classy restaurants don't get caught up on the short-live restaurant trend in Toronto. It's my all time favorite, great view, fantastic service and amazing food.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

We had an awesome experience at Canoe! T ...

Dined on April 9, 2016

We had an awesome experience at Canoe! The waiter and chef were very accommodating to everyone's food requests.

food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Great Date Place

Dined on April 9, 2016

It was a great place with beautiful view. Service was bit slower. Pricey food but it was worth it. Me and my wife had an awesome time!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Another one of our favorites in Toronto.

Dined on April 8, 2016

We arrived before sunset on a sunny evening so we had a stunning view throughout the night. The service was excellent. We started with BC oysters and they were served with fresh horseradish, sauce to mix it with and mignonette, so we had various choices. Then we shared a lovely and interesting salad called baby gem lettuce. For dinner my husband had the venison and I opted for the mushroom soup. Both were delicious. I had the evergreens and berries for desert since I had saved room by eating the soup as my main course. It was light, an interesting mix of flavors and the perfect ending to a nice evening. As to our drink choices, we found that they had a much more interesting bar then the last time we were there. I had an aperol spritz. They also have a wine corvine so not only was my husband able to choose from a very nice selection of wines by the glass, (the Gaja was delicious) but after we got talking to the sommelier he offered us a taste of another wine they are going to get.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

Mushroom soup was awesome. Very fancy co ...

Dined on April 8, 2016

Mushroom soup was awesome. Very fancy complex eclectic entrees with great flavour matching and pairing. Service was very professional and responsive. Good opportunity for conversation. Staff did take pics for us.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent view next to the windows, great goods!

Dined on April 5, 2016

Canoe is always a great place to bring someone important or for family special occasion. It will never let you down.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Memorable

Dined on April 1, 2016

Canoe is a great spot for a special dinner. It is expensive but definitely worth the price. We started with the s'mores pate, sounds weird, but it was absolutely delicious. Husband had the lamb and I had the half raw bar which was gigantic for one person, but oh so good. We shared a dessert. Perfect evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.