About Canoe Restaurant and Bar

66 Wellington Street West
54th Floor TD Bank Tower
Toronto, ON M5K 1H6
View Larger Map

Critically acclaimed to be among Canada’s best restaurants, Canoe's unique location high atop the TD Bank Tower affords a breathtaking view of the city and Lake Ontario. The design, originally conceptualized by noted designers Yabu Pushelberg and most recently refreshed by Anacleto Design, is clean and simple, yet absolutely stylish - a brilliant reflection of Canada's rich raw environment. That same brilliance is captured through the flavours and textures of Chef John Horne's inspired regional Canadian cuisine. The menu showcases the freshest and finest Canadian fish, game and produce, as well as an outstanding selection of Canadian vintages. "All that is Canadian defines Canoe." Florence Fabricant, The New York Times

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Continental

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:45- 2:30pm
Dinner: Monday - Friday: 5:00pm - 10:30pm

Cross Street:
Bay and Wellington Streets

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
CAN$51 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(416) 364-0054

Website:
http://www.canoerestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Validated parking is available after 5:30pm. Parking is available in the Toronto Dominion Centre at 66 Wellington St. W. It is the TD Centre parking lot, situated on the North side of Wellington, before York St.

Public Transit:
King and Bay

Executive Chef:
John Horne

Private Party Facilities:
Canoe offers two exclusive private dining rooms accommodating groups up to 60, featuring breathtaking lakeside views. Canoe is also available for full buy-outs on weekends, an exquisite choice for weddings and special gatherings.

Private Party Contact:
Oliver & Bonacini Events and Private Dining: 8884493959

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Canoe - Canoe Restaurant and Bar, Toronto, ON
Canoe - Canoe Restaurant and Bar, Toronto, ON
Canoe - Canoe Restaurant and Bar, Toronto, ON
Canoe - Canoe Restaurant and Bar, Toronto, ON
Canoe - Canoe Restaurant and Bar, Toronto, ON
Canoe - Canoe Restaurant and Bar, Toronto, ON
Canoe - Canoe Restaurant and Bar, Toronto, ON
S'mores foie gras, waffles, graham cracker crumble, chocolate sauce, toasted marshmallow cream - Canoe Restaurant and Bar, Toronto, ON
Ice Cream And Berries - Canoe Restaurant and Bar, Toronto, ON
Wild + tame greens, foraged leaves, British Columbia cherries, sumac whipped feta, granola, Wagram Springs birch vinaigrette - Canoe Restaurant and Bar, Toronto, ON
Tamarack Farms raw radishes, aioli - Canoe Restaurant and Bar, Toronto, ON
Pumpkin seed spelt bread with black pepper hummus - Canoe Restaurant and Bar, Toronto, ON
Venison Tartare - Canoe Restaurant and Bar, Toronto, ON
Pan roasted Northern Woods mushrooms, butter, thyme - Canoe Restaurant and Bar, Toronto, ON
Kolapore Springs trout, charred rapini, sumac yoghurt, dashi foam, ramp and pease pudding agnolotti - Canoe Restaurant and Bar, Toronto, ON
Amuse Bouche - Canoe Restaurant and Bar, Toronto, ON
Alberta lamb saddle, fiddleheads, sea buckthorn, dandelion, capers, rosemary beluga lentils, anchovy - Canoe Restaurant and Bar, Toronto, ON
Cheese Plate - Canoe Restaurant and Bar, Toronto, ON
Canoe Pecan Tart  - Canoe Restaurant and Bar, Toronto, ON
Bison Rib Eye - Canoe Restaurant and Bar, Toronto, ON
Wine - Canoe Restaurant and Bar, Toronto, ON
Kitchen - Canoe Restaurant and Bar, Toronto, ON
Restaurant - Canoe Restaurant and Bar, Toronto, ON
East & West Coast Selections - Canoe Restaurant and Bar, Toronto, ON
Foie Gras - Canoe Restaurant and Bar, Toronto, ON
Dessert Wine - Canoe Restaurant and Bar, Toronto, ON
Wine No 1 - Canoe Restaurant and Bar, Toronto, ON
Garnita - Canoe Restaurant and Bar, Toronto, ON
Wine No 2 - Canoe Restaurant and Bar, Toronto, ON
Bread - Canoe Restaurant and Bar, Toronto, ON
Chocolate Dessert - Canoe Restaurant and Bar, Toronto, ON
Mushroom soup - Canoe Restaurant and Bar, Toronto, ON
Smoked Pan Seared Heritage Salmon Wilted Greens, Horseradish Slaw, Wild Rice & Swede Broth - Canoe Restaurant and Bar, Toronto, ON
Almond Cake Niagara Apple Compote & Salted Caramel Sauce - Canoe Restaurant and Bar, Toronto, ON
Roasted Squash & Parsnip Soup Birch Yoghurt & Spiced Croutons - Canoe Restaurant and Bar, Toronto, ON
Slow Cooked Ontario Brisket Steel Cut Oats, Red Wine Cabbage & Cedar Pickled Mustard Seeds - Canoe Restaurant and Bar, Toronto, ON
Lemonade - Canoe Restaurant and Bar, Toronto, ON
Filet Mignon - Canoe Restaurant and Bar, Toronto, ON
Forest Mushrooms - Canoe Restaurant and Bar, Toronto, ON
Wellington County Flatiron Steak  - Canoe Restaurant and Bar, Toronto, ON
Pan Fried Great Lakes Walleye  - Canoe Restaurant and Bar, Toronto, ON
Ontario Bufala Mozzarella  - Canoe Restaurant and Bar, Toronto, ON
Chilled Holland Marsh Leek & Potato Soup  - Canoe Restaurant and Bar, Toronto, ON
Oysters - Canoe Restaurant and Bar, Toronto, ON
Hummas - Canoe Restaurant and Bar, Toronto, ON
Champagne - Canoe Restaurant and Bar, Toronto, ON
Apple - Canoe Restaurant and Bar, Toronto, ON
Tabasco (Fresh) - Canoe Restaurant and Bar, Toronto, ON
Great lakes walleye - Canoe Restaurant and Bar, Toronto, ON
Ontario Bufala Mozzarela, Sweet Peas Celery, Honeyed Walnuts, King Crab - Canoe Restaurant and Bar, Toronto, ON
Tree Syrup Rubbed Bison Short Rib
Charred Cauliflower, Ras El Hanout Cream & Pont Neuf Potatoes - Canoe Restaurant and Bar, Toronto, ON
Bitter Sweet Chocolate Terrine - Canoe Restaurant and Bar, Toronto, ON
Bitter Sweet Chocolate Terrine With Vanilla Marshmallow, Barrie Hill Farm Strawberries & Basil Creme Anglaise - Canoe Restaurant and Bar, Toronto, ON
Roasted Alberta Lamb Sirloin, Marinated Summer Squash, Chickpeas And Caraway Yoghurt - Canoe Restaurant and Bar, Toronto, ON
Pecan Tart - Canoe Restaurant and Bar, Toronto, ON
Campfire Hen's Egg With Smoked Bacon With Brioche Toast - Canoe Restaurant and Bar, Toronto, ON
Purdy's House Smoked Whitefish With Pickled Japanese Asparagus,  Double Smoked Bacon On Chilled Cookstown Potato - Canoe Restaurant and Bar, Toronto, ON
Lobster club sandwich - Canoe Restaurant and Bar, Toronto, ON
Raspberry Frozen Yogurt - Canoe Restaurant and Bar, Toronto, ON
Mushroom & Smoked Chicken Tartlette  - Canoe Restaurant and Bar, Toronto, ON
Maple Braised St. Canut Suckling Pig - Canoe Restaurant and Bar, Toronto, ON
Strawberry Panna Cotta With Lychee Ginger Consumme - Canoe Restaurant and Bar, Toronto, ON
Braised Short Ribs - Canoe Restaurant and Bar, Toronto, ON
mushroom risotto - Canoe Restaurant and Bar, Toronto, ON
raw oysters - Canoe Restaurant and Bar, Toronto, ON
Sticky Toffee Pudding With Passionfruit Ice Cream - Canoe Restaurant and Bar, Toronto, ON
Corn Nut And Chocolate Cake With Espresso Ice Cream And Chocolate Sugar  Crisp - Canoe Restaurant and Bar, Toronto, ON
Strawberry Panna Cotta - Canoe Restaurant and Bar, Toronto, ON
Vineland Peach Trifle - Canoe Restaurant and Bar, Toronto, ON
Ale & Cheddar Chowder - Canoe Restaurant and Bar, Toronto, ON
Habitant Tourtiere - Canoe Restaurant and Bar, Toronto, ON
Dark Chocolate Torte - Canoe Restaurant and Bar, Toronto, ON
Salmon & Shrimp Crêpe - Canoe Restaurant and Bar, Toronto, ON
Comfort Cream - Canoe Restaurant and Bar, Toronto, ON
Holiday Goose - Canoe Restaurant and Bar, Toronto, ON
Pavé De Richelieu - Canoe Restaurant and Bar, Toronto, ON
Enright Cattle Braised Beef Brisket - Canoe Restaurant and Bar, Toronto, ON
Torched Heritage Salmon - Canoe Restaurant and Bar, Toronto, ON
Pressed Maple Braised Willowgrove Pork - Canoe Restaurant and Bar, Toronto, ON
Wild Rice Pudding - Canoe Restaurant and Bar, Toronto, ON
Pain au Chocolat - Canoe Restaurant and Bar, Toronto, ON
Seared Fresh Atlantic Salmon - Canoe Restaurant and Bar, Toronto, ON
Panna Cotta - Canoe Restaurant and Bar, Toronto, ON
Buffalo Mozzarella - Canoe Restaurant and Bar, Toronto, ON
Beef tenderloin - Canoe Restaurant and Bar, Toronto, ON
Medallions of venison with honey cake sauce,Teltow turnips and bread dumplings - Canoe Restaurant and Bar, Toronto, ON
roast pork - Canoe Restaurant and Bar, Toronto, ON
Venison - Canoe Restaurant and Bar, Toronto, ON
Local Tomato Buffalo Mozzarella Salad - Canoe Restaurant and Bar, Toronto, ON
Cod Mousse - Canoe Restaurant and Bar, Toronto, ON
Wellington County Beef - Canoe Restaurant and Bar, Toronto, ON
Rack of Lamb - Canoe Restaurant and Bar, Toronto, ON
Date Pudding with Passion Fruit Sorbet - Canoe Restaurant and Bar, Toronto, ON
Chocolate Extravaganza - Canoe Restaurant and Bar, Toronto, ON
Sea bass - Canoe Restaurant and Bar, Toronto, ON
Asparugus Soup W/ Essence Of Elder Flower - Canoe Restaurant and Bar, Toronto, ON
Ginger Caipiroska - Canoe Restaurant and Bar, Toronto, ON
Cherry Clafouti - Canoe Restaurant and Bar, Toronto, ON
beef short ribs - Canoe Restaurant and Bar, Toronto, ON
Fresh Baked Bread With Hummus - Canoe Restaurant and Bar, Toronto, ON

Canoe Restaurant and Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (134)
Special Occasion (110)
Good for a Date (84)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (82)
Creative Cuisine (72)
Romantic (72)
Business Meals (69)
Fit for Foodies (69)
Local Ingredients (58)
Notable Wine List (53)
Tasting Menu (43)
Good for Birthdays (43)
Modern Decor (39)
Open Kitchen (32)
Great for Lunch (31)
Worth the Drive (28)
Authentic (24)
Waterfront (22)
Seasonal (19)
Healthy (19)
Handcrafted Cocktails (19)
Quiet Conversation (17)
People Watching (16)
Hot Spot (16)
Bar Seating (15)
Pre/post Theatre (14)
Cozy (14)
Fun (11)
Good for Groups (11)
Casual (9)
Outstanding Value (9)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Molecular Gastronomy (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Late-night Find (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Disabled Access (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Private Room (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Historic (3)
Great Beer (2)
Fireplace (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Family Style (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Tapas (1)
Vegan (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
 (0)
Sort By:
S
2828 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Outstanding service Great food

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 18 hours ago

Outstanding service

Great food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Absolutely amazing food. Everything that ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 6 days ago

Absolutely amazing food. Everything that came out was delicious, a bit on the pricey side, but the taste makes up for the price. Will definitely go again.

Tags: Scenic View, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Really enjoyed our time at Canoe. Invent ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 6 days ago

Really enjoyed our time at Canoe. Inventive food choices, friendly staff, and impressive view......like the TD Centre a lot

Tags: Historic, Casual, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The whole experience is absolutely breat ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 10, 2017

The whole experience is absolutely breathtaking. Service is outstanding to match the phenomenal food, very inspiring, well thought out and presented. The wines that were paired with the meal were perfect and a couple of the best that I have tasted. It is worth every cent in every way, a must visit for any diner that is looking to be blown away. Well done everyone!

Tags: Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful views over the lake. Nice and ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 9, 2017

Beautiful views over the lake. Nice and bright for lunch dining, noise levels low enough that you can have a conversation without shouting at each other. Highly recommend the Lobster Club and the Fritatta.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food and service were exceptional. ...

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on January 6, 2017

The food and service were exceptional. Would recommend it to anyone.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Went for anniversary dinner. Couldn't ge ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Went for anniversary dinner. Couldn't get a window table, although got one once before and the view was spectacular. Food was ok, service was average at most (Sarah). Didn't ignore us or anything but clearly didn't make an effort to get to know us either. Was very attentive to the table with two businessmen beside us instead. Fav part of the food was wild rye ice cream in dessert, pp+g and the complementary bread and spread. Would go again for special occasions but this experience was average at most.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

Great food - loved the focus on Canadian ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Great food - loved the focus on Canadian ingredients! Service was responsive, attentive and friendly without being smothering. Pricey, but to be expected.The view? Spectacular!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Canoe is a beautiful restaurant with won ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Canoe is a beautiful restaurant with wonderful chefs. The food is always delicious and the view is spectacular. However, the waiter who served us was somewhat rude that night and I left feeling disappointed.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

The food was not at the level of what I ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 6, 2017

The food was not at the level of what I expect from this restaurant and the price was extremely high for the type of food received.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

Went for lunch. Beautiful venue. Great s ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Went for lunch. Beautiful venue. Great service. Mediocre food. We will never return for food. But if invited as a guest, we would come after eating.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5

The service was phenomenal, unfortunatel ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 6, 2017

The service was phenomenal, unfortunately I was disappointed in the menu, and quality of the food. Had heard lots about Canoe, took some friends from out of town, but was disappointed in the quality.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service5
value1

A wonderful view and delicious food. The ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 6, 2017

A wonderful view and delicious food. The service was phenomenal. Michael, our waiter, was very kind and welcomed us to Toronto. The chef graciously offered us two dishes to help us celebrate our first time in Toronto. Would love to return!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Canoe offers a great location, excellen ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Canoe offers a great location, excellent food with some innovative flavors, and the ambiance of a "happening" yet sophisticated place to dine and talk.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The Lamb was absolutely disgusting. It w ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 5, 2017

The Lamb was absolutely disgusting. It was a mixture of lean over cooked flesh and a weird muscle that winded through the length of the miniature portion. It was gelatinous. Ugh. The ribeye was cut into two thin slices that were ordered midrare and served well done. On a positive the wine was excellent. Overall this place has no business as a top Toronto restaurant and if it was not for its panoramic views of the beautiful cityit would be long out of business. Tip... save your money. To the chef, you should be embarrassed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

We had a delicious anniversary dinner he ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 4, 2017

We had a delicious anniversary dinner here and received top notch service and delicious food!!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A perfect dining experience. Hopefully n ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 1, 2017

A perfect dining experience. Hopefully not too many people read this because I'm always happy to get reservations there.

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Romantic, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went for nye. I felt for what I paid I d ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Went for nye. I felt for what I paid I did not get the corresponding service and value. I felt rushed to have our table flipped for the next guest. Would probably be way better if it wasn't nye

Tags: Scenic View, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value2

That cod was terrible, extremely salty. ...

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 31, 2016

That cod was terrible, extremely salty. Talked to the waiter but didn't get any response. Been here the second time, the first visit was great. But this time...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Went for a NYE dinner. View was nice fro ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Went for a NYE dinner. View was nice from the 54th floor, although we were put in a private dining room where view wasn't as great. Food was decent (for the price I would say it was just acceptable), but the service was awful. Irish dude barely paid any attention to us as soon as he found out we weren't ordering alcohol.

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value1

Amazing!! View, food, service, ambiance ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Amazing!! View, food, service, ambiance, service... it was all excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love the views and the ambience - very e ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Love the views and the ambience - very elegant and classy room. Butternut squash soup feature was outstanding. Main courses were good although perhaps not as memorable. Desserts really shined, everyone agreed they were the highlights. This is definitely a fancy spot for a memorable meal

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Overall it was an excellent experience! ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Overall it was an excellent experience! All courses are delicately crafted! The only thing is that my husband's striploin course was not hot enough. Otherwise it would be an A+ experience!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

It's too bad that Toronto doesn't have a ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 28, 2016

It's too bad that Toronto doesn't have a Michelin guide because this restaurant is deserving of at least 1 star. Well worth the trip to the city to eat here. Fantastic food with each dish inspired by a particular part of Canada.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food with a focus on Canadian cont ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Great food with a focus on Canadian content. Took the entire family. We have one picky eater and they whipped up a pasta dish in the kitchen - she told us it was the best pasta she had ever had. The view, as always, is very impressive.

Tags: Scenic View, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent tasting menu, more relaxed tha ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Excellent tasting menu, more relaxed than fins dining but just as good. It was my husbands birthday and they brought out dessert with a candle 😀

Tags: Tasting Menu, Romantic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Our 47th wedding anniversary dinner was ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Our 47th wedding anniversary dinner was exceptional. From the Happy Anniversary greeting from the hostess through the excellent service, wonderful food, attentativeness of all the staff, attention to detail and ending with Happy Anniversary greetings and cake on the oval plate brought to our table. It was a very memorable evening and well worth the price.

Tags: Modern Decor, Business Meals, Disabled Access, Romantic, Open Kitchen, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always a most enjoyable experience. G ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 27, 2016

As always a most enjoyable experience. Great food, unrushed service, quiet enough to chat.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Visited Canoe on my last trip home and i ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Visited Canoe on my last trip home and it didn't rise to the level of previous experiences in 2010/2011. Nice wines and beautiful room, excellent service and enjoyable desserts but mains (fish) and starters (a soup) were competent but not memorable. At this price point, and given other wonderful experiences at this Toronto institution. I expect a bit more. Still enjoyable.

Tags: Modern Decor, Tasting Menu, Vibrant Bar Scene, Seasonal, Disabled Access, Scenic View, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Amazing experience, service couldn't be ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Amazing experience, service couldn't be better. Highly recommend anyone to go there

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and service! We enjoyed our e ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Great food and service! We enjoyed our evening very much.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Canoe is simply outstanding. The best fo ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Canoe is simply outstanding. The best food I have had in Canada. The tasting menu with great local wine pairings is unmatched in this city.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Molecular Gastronomy, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, People Watching, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My gf and I truly enjoyed our year anniv ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 21, 2016

My gf and I truly enjoyed our year anniversary here. The staff were very welcoming and the food was delectable. We will certainly keep coming back. We hope that others enjoyed it as much as we did. We will also definitely recommend this restaurant to others.

Tags: Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Authentic, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Modern Decor, Open Kitchen, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Disabled Access, Business Meals, Cozy, Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had made a special request prior to bo ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 21, 2016

I had made a special request prior to booking and was told upon arrival that it wasn't going to be available

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Had the tasting menu with wine pairings ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Had the tasting menu with wine pairings and it was delicious. Service as always was exceptional.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overrated place! Food ok but they try to ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Overrated place! Food ok but they try too much. Hostesses all dressed the same (horrible print!). Too many tastes in one plate. Never understood bringing coffee BEFORE cheese and desserts WITH Armagnac.....?...place looks like a cafeteria....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

We had a very nice evening at Canoe. We ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 20, 2016

We had a very nice evening at Canoe. We had requested a window table but unfortunately we did not get one. We still had a reasonable view from our table.

The mushroom soup was a highlight and beautifully presented. I found my cod dish a bit too salty.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The food menu was very small , with only ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 20, 2016

The food menu was very small , with only 4-5 items under apetizers and mains. The choice was very difficult to make

Tags: Notable Wine List, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Our party of four went to this restauran ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 19, 2016

Our party of four went to this restaurant for a business meeting. We opted for the chef's prefix menu with wine pairing. It was excellent - my favorite and in general unanimous choice was second course three mother soup. I could had that as my only course albeit a lot more.

Wine pairings were mostly good with one (brut/Champaign) that I would have avoided for me personally.

We shared the main entree course - although I wished I didn't as I liked my pork choice a lot and the venison was too chewy for me. There was a small element on the venison dish, wild rabbit pot pie - which was really like one/two bites which was wonderful. They should consider changing that dish into just a larger pot pie and do away with venison IMHO.

Our server was really nice. But he lacked ability to converse about the meal. Luckily for him and the restaurant, the food more than made up for this as well as other staff stepped in with explanation of the food with nice stories.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

The food wasn't bad, but it wasn't the b ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 19, 2016

The food wasn't bad, but it wasn't the best thing I have ever had. I have definitely had better food at restaurants that were at a much lower price point. The view is nice, though. This is a place I would go to once, just to try, but I don't think I would be going back.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.