Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.05mi
  3. Distance: 0.05mi
  4. Distance: 0.12mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.05mi
  3. Distance: 0.05mi
  4. Distance: 0.12mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.05mi
  3. Distance: 0.05mi
  4. Distance: 0.12mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.05mi
  3. Distance: 0.05mi
  4. Distance: 0.12mi

About Canoe Restaurant and Bar

Critically acclaimed to be among Canada’s best restaurants, Canoe's unique location high atop the TD Bank Tower affords a breathtaking view of the city and Lake Ontario. The design, originally conceptualized by noted designers Yabu Pushelberg and most recently refreshed by Anacleto Design, is clean and simple, yet absolutely stylish - a brilliant reflection of Canada's rich raw environment. That same brilliance is captured through the flavours and textures of Chef John Horne's inspired regional Canadian cuisine. The menu showcases the freshest and finest Canadian fish, game and produce, as well as an outstanding selection of Canadian vintages. "All that is Canadian defines Canoe." Florence Fabricant, The New York Times

66 Wellington Street West
54th Floor TD Bank Tower
Toronto, ON M5K 1H6
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Continental

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:45- 2:30pm
Dinner: Monday - Friday: 5:00pm - 10:30pm

Cross Street:
Bay and Wellington Streets

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
CAN$51 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(416) 364-0054

Website:
http://www.canoerestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Validated parking is available after 5:30pm. Parking is available in the Toronto Dominion Centre at 66 Wellington St. W. It is the TD Centre parking lot, situated on the North side of Wellington, before York St.

Public Transit:
King and Bay

Executive Chef:
John Horne

Private Party Facilities:
Canoe offers two exclusive private dining rooms accommodating groups up to 60, featuring breathtaking lakeside views. Canoe is also available for full buy-outs on weekends, an exquisite choice for weddings and special gatherings.

Private Party Contact:
Oliver & Bonacini Events and Private Dining: (888) 449-3959

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Canoe Restaurant and Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.1

Noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (149)
Special Occasion (127)
Good for a Date (105)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (99)
Creative Cuisine (83)
Romantic (82)
Business Meals (74)
Fit for Foodies (70)
Good for Birthdays (67)
Tasting Menu (56)
Notable Wine List (54)
Local Ingredients (47)
Waterfront (45)
Great for Lunch (38)
Worth the Drive (31)
Hot Spot (30)
Good for Groups (26)
Authentic (24)
Bar Seating (24)
Handcrafted Cocktails (24)
Quiet Conversation (23)
Pre/post Theatre (21)
Cozy (19)
Healthy (18)
Seasonal (18)
People Watching (16)
Fun (15)
Casual (13)
Sunday Lunch (13)
Vibrant Bar Scene (13)
Neighborhood Gem (11)
Great for Brunch (8)
Disabled Access (7)
Comfort Food (6)
Happy Hour (6)
Late-night Find (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Kid-friendly (5)
Vegan (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Afternoon Tea (3)
Organic (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Great Beer (2)
Tapas (2)
Quick Bite (1)
Spicy (1)
Sort By:
S
3209 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 5 days ago

When I am in Toronto one of my favourite places to go is to Canoe. I was there with a long time friend and my niece. As usual the experience was excellent and I will be back.
Thank you

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Fun, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 5 days ago

Amazing view of sunset over the city. Service and our server were very good. Small portions. My meal (halibut) was good, but my wife had the duck which was very very disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 5 days ago

As much as I want to give this the best review because the service is amazing, the food was good and upscale, and the view was spectacular.... it honestly wasn't the tastiest food I've had. I really do love gourmet food as well which is why I picked this restaurant, but it was lacking in flavour.. the "oumph" was missing.

Loved the ambiance, loved the service, but only liked the food.. .nothing blatantly wrong, just nothing special, regardless of how much it cost. That being said, I don't think it was worth the price.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Scenic View, Waterfront, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Herefordshire)·Dined on October 11, 2017

An excellent Pre-theatre experience. Great food, knowledgeable staff. We were made to feel very wecome.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on October 5, 2017

I enjoyed my lunch there last week. Incomparable view.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Special Occasion, People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 5, 2017

Canoe offers superbly prepared and creative food in a restrained elegant space that allows the beautiful view over the city to star. I have eaten here for a number of special occasions and it never disappoints. The maple-cured salmon and fogo crab was an amazing combination of flavours to savour. The servers are professional, unobtrusive and knowledgeable about the food and wines. Can't recommend it strongly enough, if you are looking for a very special meal.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 4, 2017

The choice of food is quite limited. The portions are a little small. The food is very expensive for what you get. I have been there many times over the years. This was the last time - wont take guests there again. There are better places to eat in the city. Disappointed.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 4, 2017

Our experience at Canoe was nothing less than superb! I had not been in a while, but my wife and I decided to go for our anniversary this year. The wine selection is incredible, the view was amazing, and the ambiance and service were second to none. The food was incredible, creative, and delicious! We would recommend this restaurant highly for special occasions, an experience not to be missed.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Healthy, Good for a Date, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 3, 2017

This is one of my top 5 spots in Toronto but our latest visit was disappointing for the first time ever! Do not eat the burrata appy....under seasoned and confusing ingredient choices. Ribeye was outstanding. At one time it would be my "go to" choice for special dinner. Sadly, now I will have to consider other choices in the city.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Cozy, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 30, 2017

Prompt but well-timed service, fresh and flavourful starters (green bean salad and baby gem lettuce), exquisite mains (red stag and halibut), with super versatile wine (Rioja Olabarri), deliciously deconstructed desert (chocolate and Nancy's English mint, rhubarb cheesecake)...it was exactly (and perhaps more) what I expected when I expected it (it was a special occasion). You can count on them to deliver an utterly satisfying experience.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 29, 2017

Great waiter great view

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on September 29, 2017

Amazing view and the food, service was all really nice!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 29, 2017

We were early for reservation and ha ddrinks at bar- bartender excellent!

Our table was late for 8:30 reservation... they gave us another table - no problem - it was getting late.

My Fish was lukewarm and my husband’s Meat was cookedrare not medium rare.
We didn’t complain because we were hungry.

However- the Mushroom puree soup and Salad was excellent!

Not a great first impression but things happen- as a business owner we thought that you should know privately!

Thanks
Darlene and Joe.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on September 28, 2017

This was my first time in Toronto, outside of the airport, and Canoe was a great decision for my first meal in town. The tasting menu was excellent and service exceptional. The staff was very knowledgeable, personable and professional. I highly recommend this place.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Waterfront, Organic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Authentic, Hot Spot, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 28, 2017

You start the journey with amazing starters (good options for vegetarians), huge selection of wines. Unfortunately only one main side for vegetarians, they should add more to their menu. But then the desserts will swipe you off your feet. I do not mind going back to this place just for the view. Toronto can been see from a whole new perspective from the 54th floor ! Great experience all round.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Scenic View, Casual, Authentic, Business Meals, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 27, 2017

A second visit in less than a year.
Billy the sommelier is a joy to converse with and I highly recommend the argon gas wines.
Glad they tossed the old dishes, they sounded like plastic picnic plates and did not show off the food well.
Who chose the hostess dresses ? They are beyond ugly and do not fit well with the image of Canoe. The girls told me they were very comfortable though.
The raw fish east/west coast platter was good although the oysters could have been cleaned better. The saki mignonette was bland but the freshly grated horseradish rectified that. Loved the scallop with foam. I don't care if foam is passé, I think it is fun and beautiful. Who knew that popcorn is a perfect pallet cleanser ? Works mighty fine with champagne too.
I very much liked that the Quebec venison came with summer berries of currants and blackberries. Married well with the meat and baby turnips. Other establishments were serving winter veg in August.... how local is that ?
Cheese plate for dessert with honey from Collingwood area, and light flaky scones. I know it's hard to find but, an older than 20 year port would be wonderful.
The Whiskey Sour cocktail could have used more whiskey but the Irish Coffee was spot on.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, People Watching, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
·Dined on September 27, 2017

The food was good enough to match the price tag. The fish courses were exceptional and the view is great.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 26, 2017

Last night in Toronto for wife and me, had several great meals over five days. Canoe was great ambiance, view, service, food. Smaller portions and expensive but comes with the locale... Service professional, not over bearing but spot on. Drinks great. Beautiful space and fantastic view, good for a romantic dinner for sure

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on September 26, 2017

Enjoyed a lovely lunch here. The food was delicious. I had a wild mushroom soup and egg frittata. My husband had the lobster club sandwich. Perfect central location inside the TD tower. Our server was prompt and professional.

Tags: Hot Spot, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 23, 2017

the service was really good, Jesus the person who provided the service was amazing.

The food is good.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on September 22, 2017

We had a memorable dining experience. Beautiful view of the city, amazing service and an unforgettable culinary experience. A memorable night.

Tags: Seasonal, Notable Wine List, Fun, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 22, 2017

Was a really great experience and the food was perfectly done

Tags: Healthy, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 22, 2017

A must eat in toronto. Great views, exceptional food and service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 22, 2017

As always the smoked salmon and Fogo Island crab was amazing, as was the foie gras appetizer. The steak tartar was tasty and the char was nice. Dessert was delicious as usual, our annual visit was a pleasure again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 22, 2017

Every Thing was very good.
Best wish from two German guyes

Tags: Good for Groups, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Spicy, Kid-friendly, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Tapas, Scenic View, Late-night Find, Pre/post Theatre, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 20, 2017

I went here with my boyfriend on his birthday and we were seated by the window. I recommend this spot for scenery/romance/special occasion. Other than that however, the food is just okay. The mushroom soup is too thick, lack seasoning on entrees, and dessert portion is tiny. The only dish I would recommend would be the stag tartare. You could go else where for better food if you don't mind not having a scenic view to enjoy alongside your dinner.

Tags: Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 19, 2017

We went to Canoe for lunch to see Toronto from 54 stories up and to get our first tastes of Canadian wines and creative food. The waiter was spot on in his suggestions and opinions and gave us a couple of small tastes of both food and wine gratis. His enthusiasm was contagious. Interesting and mixed clients as well.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 18, 2017

I was entertaining a business associate from Munich for lunch. Canoe was the best example of Canadian cuisine and excellent service with a perfect view of Toronto. Excellent!

Tags: Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 14, 2017

Not Michelin star quality.. disappointing atmosphere, infants crying etc at a 8.30pm late sitting

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 13, 2017

We (party of 4) had the "mushroom soup" and the "baby gem lettuce" as appetizers and the "ash crusted beef rib eye" and the "heritage pork" as main courses.
- The Soup ($17) was very good, but the Lettuce ($19) was quite average (duck prosciutto was ridiculously minuscule!)
- The Rib Eye ($58) was OK, but the Pork ($42) was a disaster! The description of the latter in the menu does not mention that it was Pork Belly, so we did not enjoy having a really fat piece of very sweet pork for dinner. Perhaps you should describe this plate better?
Overall, only the Soup and Steak were worthwhile having, the rest is very average and certainly not worth the steep price charged.

The Service is as expected from the a high end restaurant as Canoe.

We requested a table near the windows and although the reservation was made 10 days in advance, you were not able to accommodate us. So what's the point of offering the option of "special request" under Reservations?

Rating: 2.5 out of 5.0

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 12, 2017

I have been dying to get to canoe cor so long.
Everything was spectacular.
I cant wait to return.
Special kudos to our a-1 server! I never learned his name. If possible, please tell him how great he was.
It was an 8:45 reservation on monday, september 11. Reserved under my name, joe rogliano.
Thank you!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Gluten Free Options, Creative Cuisine, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 12, 2017

For a fine dining restaurant and the price of the food, the food wasn't amazing. Service was great and the views spectacular. I guess that's what you pay for. Go for a special occasion. More of a one time thing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value1

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 11, 2017

Had a nice dinner (tasting menu) with friends. We waited quite a while after being seated to be asked for our cocktail orders. Tasting menu was very good. Wine expert was helpful to us. The biggest problem in the evening was the pacing of courses. The service was quite slow. When we pointed this out to our wait person they picked up the pace. It would have been great if our wait person had introduced himself. As it was, he was rather remote. Hoping for better results when we dine at Canoe in the future.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
·Dined on September 11, 2017

We had an amazing experience at Canoe!
All the waiters/waitresses were extremely patient with us, and took effort to adapt to my mother's special dietary restrictions.
Upon serving the wrong dessert, our waiter also swiftly reacted to their mistake and brought back an enjoyable plate of ice cream and berries for my mother.
We would 100% visit again to try out new courses on the menu!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
·Dined on September 9, 2017

Toronto week-end

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 8, 2017

One of our "go-to" places in Toronto. Dependable, high quality cooking with superb presentation and focus on detail. The decor could use an update but the views are always one of the main draws. Expensive, but worth consideration if you value consistent high quality cooking.

Tags: Romantic, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

 
·Dined on September 8, 2017

We had degustation with wine pairing for most guests at the table (all had degustation but only 3 had wine pairings). It was a good amount of food to keep you happy and the wine offerings were all delectable. The cuisine was modern, creative but not alienating. Very sumptuous meal. I understand that in absolute dollar amount it is expensive but compared to a few degustation we had at similar standard restaurants all around the world I think the price is reasonable especially with wine pairings. Highly recommended for that special occasion. We spent, on average, about 200 per person.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on September 8, 2017

Everything was perfect from beginning to end. Our waiter was very knowledgeable about the menu and Toronto, which was important since we were visiting from the USA. We started with a Screech Manhattan and a Sparkling Negroni, both perfect. The food was spectacular. Our starters were the Ontario Burrata and the Rabbit Parfait, both delicious, especially the Parfait which was a smooth, creamy pate. Our main coarses were the Quebec Red Stag (a perfectly prepared venison loin) and the Ash Crusted Beef Ribeye, medium rare and lucious. The rapini side dish complemented everything. We even found a wonderful Cabernet Sauvignon that complemented everything, and had my husbands name on the label! Can't wait to return!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 8, 2017

The service is good although the food is served a bit too quick. It would have been nice to enjoy our pre meal drinks before the entree arrived. The food was excellent. Great place to take clients although not frequently as it is expensive.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 7, 2017

From the attentive, friendly, conscientious and accommodating service provided by server extraordinaire Giancarlo, to the magnificent view of the lake, islands, and CN Tower, to the complimentary bread, cookies and tiny cakes, to the beautifully presented AND extraordinarily tasty dishes, my celebratory lunch with a friend was one of the best I've had in Toronto. I especially enjoyed the maple cured salmon + fogo island crab, while my lunch companion's pasta special with mushrooms and pickled rutabaga was deliciously rich. I can't wait to come back to taste other offerings on the menu! Bravo, Canoe!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.