Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.05mi
  3. Distance: 0.05mi
  4. Distance: 0.12mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.05mi
  3. Distance: 0.05mi
  4. Distance: 0.12mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.05mi
  3. Distance: 0.05mi
  4. Distance: 0.12mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.05mi
  3. Distance: 0.05mi
  4. Distance: 0.12mi

About Canoe Restaurant and Bar

Critically acclaimed to be among Canada’s best restaurants, Canoe's unique location high atop the TD Bank Tower affords a breathtaking view of the city and Lake Ontario. The design, originally conceptualized by noted designers Yabu Pushelberg and most recently refreshed by Anacleto Design, is clean and simple, yet absolutely stylish - a brilliant reflection of Canada's rich raw environment. That same brilliance is captured through the flavours and textures of Chef John Horne's inspired regional Canadian cuisine. The menu showcases the freshest and finest Canadian fish, game and produce, as well as an outstanding selection of Canadian vintages. "All that is Canadian defines Canoe." Florence Fabricant, The New York Times

66 Wellington Street West
54th Floor TD Bank Tower
Toronto, ON M5K 1H6
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Continental

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:45- 2:30pm
Dinner: Monday - Friday: 5:00pm - 10:30pm

Cross Street:
Bay and Wellington Streets

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
CAN$51 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(416) 364-0054

Website:
http://www.canoerestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Validated parking is available after 5:30pm. Parking is available in the Toronto Dominion Centre at 66 Wellington St. W. It is the TD Centre parking lot, situated on the North side of Wellington, before York St.

Public Transit:
King and Bay

Executive Chef:
John Horne

Private Party Facilities:
Canoe offers two exclusive private dining rooms accommodating groups up to 60, featuring breathtaking lakeside views. Canoe is also available for full buy-outs on weekends, an exquisite choice for weddings and special gatherings.

Private Party Contact:
Oliver & Bonacini Events and Private Dining: (888) 449-3959

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Canoe Restaurant and Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (159)
Special Occasion (134)
Good for a Date (106)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (101)
Romantic (90)
Business Meals (76)
Creative Cuisine (72)
Fit for Foodies (71)
Tasting Menu (64)
Good for Birthdays (64)
Notable Wine List (54)
Waterfront (46)
Local Ingredients (45)
Great for Lunch (41)
Worth the Drive (37)
Hot Spot (35)
Good for Groups (26)
Authentic (24)
Quiet Conversation (24)
Bar Seating (23)
Pre/post Theatre (22)
Handcrafted Cocktails (21)
Cozy (17)
People Watching (17)
Seasonal (17)
Fun (15)
Vibrant Bar Scene (13)
Casual (13)
Modern Decor (12)
Neighborhood Gem (12)
Sunday Lunch (10)
Open Kitchen (10)
Great for Brunch (8)
Late-night Find (7)
Disabled Access (6)
Happy Hour (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Afternoon Coffee (5)
Great Beer (5)
Organic (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Afternoon Tea (4)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Vegan (2)
Private Room (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Quick Bite (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Tapas (1)
Fireplace (1)
Sort By:
S
3146 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined a day ago

Enjoyed everything, the view, food, ambiance. I requested for a window seat. My family love it. Our Server is excellent, Knowledgeable, easy to approach. We were not rushed.

We will go back and will reserve facing the kitchen area. It looks fun and will be a different experience.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Quick Bite, Happy Hour, Scenic View, Good Vegetarian Options, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, Fun, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Hot Spot, Sunday Lunch, Authentic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 4 days ago

Fine dining at its best. Good food with a picture perfect view from the 54th floor of TD tower. A little on the pricey side but worth trying at least once.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined 4 days ago

I have been to Canoe several times and this is a truly great meal and experience. The staff are amazing, professional and knowledgeable. Just have the tasting menu which is regularly changing, and the wine pairings. You cannot go wrong. This is one of Toronto's more exceptional restaurants.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Canoe is a lot like the restaurant at the Prudential Center in Boston - decent food with high prices due to the incredible view. The food was good, don't get me wrong, but you are paying for the view. Sure go to Canoe, enjoy the sights, but then go check out Le Banane.

Tags: Good for a Date, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 4 days ago

Service and food were amazing! The waiter was fantastic. View was unbelievable. Reserve early because seating is assigned based on date of booking.
Excellent place for a special occasion. Make sure you list the event in the reservation notes!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Very nice ambiance. Delicious selection. Had the tasting menu with the wine pairing which was amazing. Very creative culinary experience. The servers were all very friendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 5 days ago

Food was amazing, expensive but worth every penny. Will for sure go back, next time may be for dinner. Service was also excellent. 5 stars, on 5.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 7 days ago

Outstanding food made with mostly Canadian ingredients. View from window seats spectacular. Service was excellent.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined 7 days ago

Amazing view
Great service
Excellent food and wine selection

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 14, 2017

Absolutely loved this place. We decided to order the tasting menu plus the wine pairing. The chef was so accommodating of my dietary requirements and ad-libbed an amazing meal for me. The wine pairings were spectacular. A very special meal in a comfortable atmosphere overlooking the beautiful lake. Could not have made for a more perfect night!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 14, 2017

Oysters were fresh. Rib eye was so black, too much charcoal, not good but it was tender and good doneness. Muskoka cream ale is a good beer. Good service and comfy.

Tags: Casual, Great Beer, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 14, 2017

The meal was great, the view was phenomenal and the service was top notch. Worth it. Definitely a treat to try if you are big on the Toronto dining scene.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 11, 2017

One of the dishes, the duck entree had some excellent flavours but was confusing. Some flavours did not seem to match.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 11, 2017

It's a great place to see the city and the food was mostly very good. The halibut was tasty as were the fresh oysters. Desserts were all incredible. The only thing that was not great was the fresh burrata with seaweed/something. The texture was off and the flavors just didn't go. The cocktails were also good. Very expensive for what it was... but maybe it's because they now do events on the weekends and that is taking away from the specialness of the food. Some of the service was great, yet wine came well after we got our dinner order. Service felt rushed and not that caring for as much as you spent

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
·Dined on August 11, 2017

Great view

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 10, 2017

We walked through valet parking to the bank building and rode to the 54th floor and Canoe Restaurant. We were seated near the window and the hostess took drink orders of a gin Martini for Lew and a Maker's Mark Manhattan for me. Our very personable server, Faiez, made suggestions. We opted out of the tasting menu, but learned that those selections were also available a-la-carte. The bread course was served with a "bean hummus" that was superb. Lew picked the mushroom soup (16) for her first course and I selected the veal sweetbreads (24) from the tasting menu. For her entree, Lew selected Ash Crusted Rib Eye (55) while I picked Great Lakes Pickerel (39). With dinner, Lew
had a glass of Tomera Malbec (25), with my Canoe Riesling (18). With dessert out of the
question, we called for the check. When we noted that the cocktails were missing from the bill, we were told they were complimentary for tired travelers.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 10, 2017

Excellent food, wine, ambiance, and staff. Pricey but reasonable portions. Good for small group special occasion or business dinner to fete your client.

Tags: Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 9, 2017

One of best dinners ever. And all the staff were wonderful.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 9, 2017

Amazing food and a great atmosphere! The view was spectacular and the servers were very kind.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 9, 2017

The food was amazing, views were spectacular, best view in the city, service was also great. Great dining experience, it was pretty busy and we didn't get a window seat like we would have liked (they don't guarantee it when you reserve).

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

The food was as amazing as the view! Quality service, worth every penny!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on August 4, 2017

This was a special occasion and we need we were ready to splurge.
It is service is fabulous and the view is unique.
The fish dishes were excellent ( halibut and pickerel) .
Desserts were very good but portions are small is you like to share.
The sommelier was very helpful to find us an excellent wine to match our choices .
Overall a wonderful evening but you pay a little extra for all of this.

So once in a while...

Tags: Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 3, 2017

The view was spectacular. Food and service are both amazing. Mushroom soup is a must try. It's always hard to book a table there.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 3, 2017

Great food and wonderful service. A real pleasure!

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
·Dined on August 2, 2017

Booked my 12:30 lunch reservation weeks in advance for August 2nd - I was looking forward to seeing an old university friend who would be in town. Of course I requested a window table, as I have often done. Follow up call on the morning of August 2nd from staff to confirm the reservation, and I reiterated my request for a window table. Show up ten minutes late (busy banker from London in meetings) at 12:40 only to be advised that a window table is not available. Perhaps the inability of Canoe to oblige a customer's request might stem from the Open Table reservation. Yet I had spoken with the restaurant that morning. Needless to say, I was fit to be portaged when we took our 2nd tier table. Despite the wondrous view, still excellent service, and sometimes brilliant cooking - I am now left with feelings of not wanting to take the trouble to reserve in the future, or to return - those thoughts had never crossed my mind until now.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 2, 2017

Great waitress and manager. Excellent food and atmosphere.

Tags: Waterfront, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 1, 2017

The mileau and the view are both very special. The chef is trying too hard. Each if the imaginative dishes we had would probably have been better and had more coherent flavors with fewer ingredients.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on August 1, 2017

We came to Toronto to discover the fine dinning scene. Canoe was on top of the list according to reviews. It lived to its reputation. Venison tartare and green beats salad to start and duck and risotto as principals, all with a Niagara cabernet franc to help. Very refined cuisine and serious service to look after you. Congratulations to all the team there, well done.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 1, 2017

Amazing! I was skeptical about going to Canoe because I really didn't know what to expect from the food from the TripAdvisor reviews. I knew the view was going to be amazing and it was. But my GOD the food here was orgasmic! I mean the attention to details and flavors created a indescribable feeling for your tastebuds. This was hands down one of the best meals of my life, even my wife thought so too for her dishes. We still were talking about it 3 days later.

I had the venison tartare ... perfect!

Heritage pork ... stunning!

Butter tart ... sensational!

My daughter had the shrimp cocktail from the bar menu and the shrimp were massive! Worth it for a kids meal or appetizer.

My wife had the duck which was ok, not my favorite!

There was nothing bad about our experience. We had a great view by the window, wonderful service, excellent food! They even brought out a small dessert with a candle because it was our anniversary!

Will be going to Canoe every time I'm in Toronto! Simply the best!!!

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 1, 2017

Great view, but quality of food just average and overprized.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value2

 
·Dined on July 31, 2017

Service and Food was flawless.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 31, 2017

Excellent for late lunch. Quiet and able to dine at our pace.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Waterfront, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 28, 2017

We had an amazing meal at Canoe enjoying the tasting menu. The views are spectacular and the food was exquisite. What made our experience exceptional was our waiter, Stephen. He was friendly, polite, knowledgeable, professional and fun.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 27, 2017

All the dishes were delicious. However the dessert is a little too sweet. I would come back 😬👍🏼

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 27, 2017

We were visiting Toronto for the first time and wanted to try some of the best food they have to offer. Canoe was well-reviewed, and we wanted a great view, so we went for lunch. We're from Berkeley CA so we've gotten to eat at some amazing places, and Canoe rated right up there with the best. Each dish used creative ingredients and combinations, without being overly busy, fussy or clever. Flavors were well-balanced and subtle. Our waiter was terrific - I only took off one star because the appetizer came out before our wine was served, and since a big part of what I enjoy with a meal is tasting the combination of the food with the wine, that was less than ideal. It's definitely pricey - I was glad for a good exchange rate - but sometimes you just spend the money for a great dining experience. We enjoyed it so much, we went back for late-night cocktails after the theater.

Tags: Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on July 26, 2017

Décoration riche, mais sobre; vue splendide sur la ville et le port; le site est superbe. Le service est courtois, parfait: nous hésitions entre deux vins au verre et on nous a fait gouter les deux. L'agneau braise était un peu trop gras mais l'ensemble était délicieux

Tags: Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 26, 2017

It was our first time at Canoe and we loved everything about it. Great food, service and ambience. The views are simply breathtaking.

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 26, 2017

The sunset on Toronto was incredible, the food delicious...thank you for this wonderful evening!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 25, 2017

Only restaurant that has welcomed me using my full first name - I appreciate that.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 25, 2017

The food is very good in general. However our seat is not very satisfactory. The quantity of main course is relatively tiny. The desert should have more choice

Tags: Scenic View, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.