About Canoe Restaurant and Bar

66 Wellington Street West
54th Floor TD Bank Tower
Toronto, ON M5K 1H6
View Larger Map

Critically acclaimed to be among Canada’s best restaurants, Canoe's unique location high atop the TD Bank Tower affords a breathtaking view of the city and Lake Ontario. The design, originally conceptualized by noted designers Yabu Pushelberg and most recently refreshed by Anacleto Design, is clean and simple, yet absolutely stylish - a brilliant reflection of Canada's rich raw environment. That same brilliance is captured through the flavours and textures of Chef John Horne's inspired regional Canadian cuisine. The menu showcases the freshest and finest Canadian fish, game and produce, as well as an outstanding selection of Canadian vintages. "All that is Canadian defines Canoe." Florence Fabricant, The New York Times

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Continental

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:45- 2:30pm
Dinner: Monday - Friday: 5:00pm - 10:30pm

Cross Street:
Bay and Wellington Streets

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
CAN$51 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(416) 364-0054

Website:
http://www.canoerestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Validated parking is available after 5:30pm. Parking is available in the Toronto Dominion Centre at 66 Wellington St. W. It is the TD Centre parking lot, situated on the North side of Wellington, before York St.

Public Transit:
King and Bay

Executive Chef:
John Horne

Private Party Facilities:
Canoe offers two exclusive private dining rooms accommodating groups up to 60, featuring breathtaking lakeside views. Canoe is also available for full buy-outs on weekends, an exquisite choice for weddings and special gatherings.

Private Party Contact:
Oliver & Bonacini Events and Private Dining: 8884493959

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Smoking Area, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Canoe Restaurant and Bar
Canoe Restaurant and Bar
Canoe Restaurant and Bar
Canoe Restaurant and Bar
Canoe Restaurant and Bar
Canoe Restaurant and Bar
Canoe Restaurant and Bar
Amuse Bouche
S'mores foie gras, waffles, graham cracker crumble, chocolate sauce, toasted marshmallow cream
Ice Cream And Berries
Wild + tame greens, foraged leaves, British Columbia cherries, sumac whipped feta, granola, Wagram Springs birch vinaigrette
Tamarack Farms raw radishes, aioli
Pumpkin seed spelt bread with black pepper hummus
Venison Tartare
Pan roasted Northern Woods mushrooms, butter, thyme
Kolapore Springs trout, charred rapini, sumac yoghurt, dashi foam, ramp and pease pudding agnolotti
Canoe Pecan Tart
Bison Rib Eye
Alberta lamb saddle, fiddleheads, sea buckthorn, dandelion, capers, rosemary beluga lentils, anchovy
Cheese Plate
Wine
Kitchen
Restaurant
East & West Coast Selections
Foie Gras
Dessert Wine
Wine No 1
Garnita
Wine No 2
Filet Mignon
Bread
Chocolate Dessert
Mushroom soup
Bill
Oysters
Forest Mushrooms
Tabasco (Fresh)
Great lakes walleye
Smoked Pan Seared Heritage Salmon Wilted Greens, Horseradish Slaw, Wild Rice & Swede Broth
Almond Cake Niagara Apple Compote & Salted Caramel Sauce
Roasted Squash & Parsnip Soup Birch Yoghurt & Spiced Croutons
Slow Cooked Ontario Brisket Steel Cut Oats, Red Wine Cabbage & Cedar Pickled Mustard Seeds
Lemonade
Wellington County Flatiron Steak
Pan Fried Great Lakes Walleye
Ontario Bufala Mozzarella
Chilled Holland Marsh Leek & Potato Soup
Hummas
Champagne
Apple
Ontario Bufala Mozzarela, Sweet Peas Celery, Honeyed Walnuts, King Crab
Tree Syrup Rubbed Bison Short Rib
Charred Cauliflower, Ras El Hanout Cream & Pont Neuf Potatoes
Bitter Sweet Chocolate Terrine
Bitter Sweet Chocolate Terrine With Vanilla Marshmallow, Barrie Hill Farm Strawberries & Basil Creme Anglaise
Roasted Alberta Lamb Sirloin, Marinated Summer Squash, Chickpeas And Caraway Yoghurt
Pecan Tart
Campfire Hen's Egg With Smoked Bacon With Brioche Toast
Purdy's House Smoked Whitefish With Pickled Japanese Asparagus,  Double Smoked Bacon On Chilled Cookstown Potato
Lobster club sandwich
Raspberry Frozen Yogurt
Mushroom & Smoked Chicken Tartlette
Maple Braised St. Canut Suckling Pig
Strawberry Panna Cotta With Lychee Ginger Consumme
Braised Short Ribs
mushroom risotto
raw oysters
Sticky Toffee Pudding With Passionfruit Ice Cream
Corn Nut And Chocolate Cake With Espresso Ice Cream And Chocolate Sugar  Crisp
Strawberry Panna Cotta
Vineland Peach Trifle
Ale & Cheddar Chowder
Habitant Tourtiere
Dark Chocolate Torte
Salmon & Shrimp Crêpe
Comfort Cream
Holiday Goose
Pavé De Richelieu
Enright Cattle Braised Beef Brisket
Torched Heritage Salmon
Pressed Maple Braised Willowgrove Pork
Wild Rice Pudding
Pain au Chocolat
Seared Fresh Atlantic Salmon
Panna Cotta
Buffalo Mozzarella
Beef tenderloin
Medallions of venison with honey cake sauce,Teltow turnips and bread dumplings
roast pork
Venison
Local Tomato Buffalo Mozzarella Salad
Cod Mousse
Wellington County Beef
Rack of Lamb
Date Pudding with Passion Fruit Sorbet
Chocolate Extravaganza
Sea bass
Asparugus Soup W/ Essence Of Elder Flower
Ginger Caipiroska
Cherry Clafouti
beef short ribs

Canoe Restaurant and Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Toronto / Ontario
Best Ambiance
Toronto
Scenic View
Toronto
2 More
Continental
Toronto
Most Booked
Toronto
Best Restaurants in Downtown/ Financial District ›

Scenic View (337)
Special Occasion (309)
Romantic (222)
See All
Fit for Foodies (186)
Notable Wine List (113)
Great for Lunch (99)
Hot Spot (77)
Good for Groups (70)
Neighborhood Gem (23)
Vibrant Bar Scene (23)
Great for Brunch (23)
Late-night Find (20)
Kid-friendly (8)
Great for Outdoor Dining (7)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Fun (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Good for a Date (1)
Sort By:
Newest
2490 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

An absolutely amazing dining experience ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined 6 days ago

An absolutely amazing dining experience with a stunning view of downtown Toronto. Five stars!

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic, Hot Spot, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Canoe was amazing! View, service, food a ...

vip
·Dined 6 days ago

Canoe was amazing! View, service, food and of course cocktails! Would eat there every day of the week if I could!

Tags: Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had an amazing dinner at Canoe. The s ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined 7 days ago

We had an amazing dinner at Canoe. The staff were fantastic and really added to the enjoyment of the evening. We will be back soon!

Tags: Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Scenic View, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great service, views, and food. Fantasti ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Great service, views, and food. Fantastic lunch!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Not bad. I was happy there, however, the ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Not bad. I was happy there, however, there is no great something.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Great view of the city. Best food we hav ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Great view of the city. Best food we have ever had!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Open Kitchen, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Menu was all Canadian. Great selection o ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Menu was all Canadian. Great selection of courses, and impeccably presented. Menu on line was two weeks behind actual menu. So, though they had no sturgeon( the reason I chose to come) everything else was tasty- sounding. That which I ordered was delicious. Pan seared woodland mushrooms were the best.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Great food, view, and ambiance.

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Great food, view, and ambiance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

first time experiencing a high end resta ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

first time experiencing a high end restaurant. our waiter terrance was a wonderful person who helped us decide what our menu was. would love to go again in the future

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Whenever I'm in TO, a special occasion o ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Whenever I'm in TO, a special occasion or a business dinner calls for Canoe. The best food, the best atmosphere in TO.

Tags: Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Everything was wonderful! Great view, sp ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Everything was wonderful! Great view, spectacular food and service. One of a kind experience.

Tags: Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was a wonderful experience. The occas ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

It was a wonderful experience. The occasion was my friend's birthday and she was very impressed. We got a window table as per request.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Late-night Find, Scenic View, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The entire evening was excellent.Right f ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

The entire evening was excellent.Right from the friendly hostess to the attentive waiter and the amazing kitchen staff. Food was excellent and a great wine list. A must for foodies!

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous, "hopping" spot with an amazing ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Fabulous, "hopping" spot with an amazing view (especially at dark & dusk!). Service was amazing (special shout out to Claude), and the food was unique and delicious!! Definitely has earned its great reputation!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Server who helped us was amazing. I was ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Server who helped us was amazing. I was with my family who came from oversea don't understand English well, but he still entertain them a lot.

Even 5 year old kid seems having fun chatting with him.

We had special course $100 per person and these dishes were so unique. We all enjoyed the course, but if you want standards, you should pick from regular menu.

View from the window was also amazing as is always.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great views, service, food and wine. A m ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Great views, service, food and wine. A most pleasant experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Great experience, stunning view and exce ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Great experience, stunning view and excellent food quality made this dinner a unique event.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Scenic View, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Fantastic! View was stellar, food was ex ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Fantastic! View was stellar, food was excellent, and staff went above and beyond to make our dining experience memorable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing view of the islands and the lake ...

vip
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Amazing view of the islands and the lake as well as the city looking South. You couldn't be more up close and personal with the CN Tower at about the same level as the main usable section of that structure.

The theme of the tasting menu was great and every dish was better than the next. The only thing I would say is that while this is a special, expensive experience and well worth it, it is way to crowded and loud to be a romantic spot. Much better for a group or if you want to see and be seen.

Tags: Hot Spot, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Perfect view, amazing food, friendly ser ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Perfect view, amazing food, friendly service = great value

Tags: Great for Brunch, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

An absolutely amazing meal with an amazi ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

An absolutely amazing meal with an amazing view

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Patrick again made our evening! Food and ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Patrick again made our evening! Food and wine was fantastic, thank you!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The risotto was an extremely small porti ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

The risotto was an extremely small portion. So much so that we ordered a second entree! Otherwise great food an service.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The view is amazing from almost every ta ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

The view is amazing from almost every table. The food was very high quality and the menu was unique in that it very much represents what Canada has to offer. For what I ordered I'd expect to pay more. That being said, its not exactly cheap either, you are paying for the view.

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dining at Canoe was one of the top Ten c ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Dining at Canoe was one of the top

Ten culinary experiences of my life...Enhanced by the stunning view of the harbor, and the knowledge and engagement of our waiter and the sommelier. The food was prepared perfectly... The mushroom soup and okroshka were revelatory, the daily special beef entree perfection, the deconstructed goat cheesecake with lavender glass astounding!

Bravo!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Had a great meal, chose the tasting menu ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Had a great meal, chose the tasting menu with wine pairing.

Every course was interesting and the wines and starter cocktail all fit perfectly.

The serving staff was very knowledgeable, professional and friendly.

Would definitely go back.

The view was amazing and the sunset beautiful.

Our main server Sylvio was excellent as were the rest.

Tags: Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As usual. GREAT

vip
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

As usual. GREAT

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Canoe offers one of those memorable dini ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

Canoe offers one of those memorable dining experience where everything is simply perfect. The food melts in your mouth, the service is impeccable and the view from the top floor is spectacular. It is pricey but worth every penny!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

excellent food and great service. Highly ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

excellent food and great service. Highly recommended while in Toronto.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Wished the tasting menu was available at ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

Wished the tasting menu was available at lunch since we weren't able to schedule a dinner during our time in Toronto, but everything we tried was wonderful. For the quality of food we were served, our bill was extremely reasonable. Portions were on the smaller side as is typical for lunch, but it was perfect since we also ordered some appetizers. A wonderfully Canadian take on French cooking and a great way for us to end our long weekend in Toronto.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

fantastic food, beautiful setting and th ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

fantastic food, beautiful setting and the service was fantastic. it is a little pricey.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We truly enjoy this restaurant. The food ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

We truly enjoy this restaurant. The food, service snd smbisnce is second to none. Plus, my wife loves Michael B so that makes more specisl.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lived up tp expectations perfectly. Re ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Lived up tp expectations perfectly. Really enjoyed the food and overall experience.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great city view and sea food and servic ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Great city view and sea food and service excellence

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Canoe is always one of our favorites her ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Canoe is always one of our favorites here in Toronto. Canoe should, however, automatically split shared salads in the kitchen. They did not do this on Thursday July 28th when my husband and I took out-of-town visitors there for dinner. Splitting our salad at the table was awkward for us. In fact, restaurants charging the prices of Canoe should never expect their dining patrons to do this kind of messy work themselves at the table. Rather, the kitchen is where this should happen each and every time.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This is a spectacular restaurant on the ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

This is a spectacular restaurant on the 54th floor of a high rise in Toronto. Specializing in 'Canadian' food, we chose the prix fixe meal which was composed of dishes meant to honor the European immigrants to the plains. Sounds pretentious but was tasty and intriguing, down to the mustard ice cream on the dessert. I would return next time I am in Toronto.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Summer Cocktails as we sat down. A Dande ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Summer Cocktails as we sat down. A Dandelion Smash and Stubborn Mule. We then started off with the Raw Bar and it was absolutely delicious! The Shrimp cocktail was a surprisingly amazing dish!

We had the B.C. Skate & Octopus and Ontario Beef Tenderloin with Pan Roasted Northern Woods Mushrooms as a side. We loved both plates.

A Red Beringer Quantum 2013 to drink....

Classic Canoe Butter Tart and Milk Chocolate + Kernal peanut for dessert... Tart was very good the Kernal peanut was equally as good.

It was a wonderful evening. We will definitely be returning.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

I don't usually write reviews but I want ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

I don't usually write reviews but I wanted to take the time for this one. I planned an important lunch with a colleague and this dos not disappoint. The food was great, the service was superb, and the views are amazing. Thank you for providing a great work lunch experience! P.S. Tip: when you make RSVP ask for a table next to a window!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The food met their pronouncement of feat ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

The food met their pronouncement of featuring Canadian cuisines of numerous provinces.

Novelty, presentation and good taste along with friendly, engaging staff made this a great night for us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My first visit to Canoe. I am a long ti ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

My first visit to Canoe. I am a long time resident of Toronto and ALWAYS wanted to go.

My neice tre ated me to this awesome experience. Just overwhelmingly lovely.

Service was truly outstanding.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.