About Canoe Restaurant and Bar

66 Wellington Street West
54th Floor TD Bank Tower
Toronto, ON M5K 1H6
View Larger Map

Critically acclaimed to be among Canada’s best restaurants, Canoe's unique location high atop the TD Bank Tower affords a breathtaking view of the city and Lake Ontario. The design, originally conceptualized by noted designers Yabu Pushelberg and most recently refreshed by Anacleto Design, is clean and simple, yet absolutely stylish - a brilliant reflection of Canada's rich raw environment. That same brilliance is captured through the flavours and textures of Chef John Horne's inspired regional Canadian cuisine. The menu showcases the freshest and finest Canadian fish, game and produce, as well as an outstanding selection of Canadian vintages. "All that is Canadian defines Canoe." Florence Fabricant, The New York Times

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Continental

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:45- 2:30pm
Dinner: Monday - Friday: 5:00pm - 10:30pm

Cross Street:
Bay and Wellington Streets

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
CAN$51 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(416) 364-0054

Website:
http://www.canoerestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Validated parking is available after 5:30pm. Parking is available in the Toronto Dominion Centre at 66 Wellington St. W. It is the TD Centre parking lot, situated on the North side of Wellington, before York St.

Public Transit:
King and Bay

Executive Chef:
John Horne

Private Party Facilities:
Canoe offers two exclusive private dining rooms accommodating groups up to 60, featuring breathtaking lakeside views. Canoe is also available for full buy-outs on weekends, an exquisite choice for weddings and special gatherings.

Private Party Contact:
Oliver & Bonacini Events and Private Dining: 8884493959

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Smoking Area, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Canoe Restaurant and Bar
Canoe Restaurant and Bar
Canoe Restaurant and Bar
Canoe Restaurant and Bar
Canoe Restaurant and Bar
Canoe Restaurant and Bar
Canoe Restaurant and Bar
Amuse Bouche
Canoe Pecan Tart
Wine
Foie Gras
Bread
Bison Rib Eye
Kitchen
East & West Coast Selections
Restaurant
Wine No 1
Dessert Wine
Garnita
Wine No 2
Filet Mignon
Bill
Mushroom soup
Chocolate Dessert
Oysters
Forest Mushrooms
Tabasco (Fresh)
Great lakes walleye
Smoked Pan Seared Heritage Salmon Wilted Greens, Horseradish Slaw, Wild Rice & Swede Broth
Almond Cake Niagara Apple Compote & Salted Caramel Sauce
Roasted Squash & Parsnip Soup Birch Yoghurt & Spiced Croutons
Slow Cooked Ontario Brisket Steel Cut Oats, Red Wine Cabbage & Cedar Pickled Mustard Seeds
Lemonade
Pan Fried Great Lakes Walleye
Wellington County Flatiron Steak
Chilled Holland Marsh Leek & Potato Soup
Ontario Bufala Mozzarella
Champagne
Hummas
Apple
Ontario Bufala Mozzarela, Sweet Peas Celery, Honeyed Walnuts, King Crab
Tree Syrup Rubbed Bison Short Rib
Charred Cauliflower, Ras El Hanout Cream & Pont Neuf Potatoes
Bitter Sweet Chocolate Terrine
Bitter Sweet Chocolate Terrine With Vanilla Marshmallow, Barrie Hill Farm Strawberries & Basil Creme Anglaise
Roasted Alberta Lamb Sirloin, Marinated Summer Squash, Chickpeas And Caraway Yoghurt
Pecan Tart
Purdy's House Smoked Whitefish With Pickled Japanese Asparagus,  Double Smoked Bacon On Chilled Cookstown Potato
Campfire Hen's Egg With Smoked Bacon With Brioche Toast
Lobster club sandwich
Raspberry Frozen Yogurt
Mushroom & Smoked Chicken Tartlette
Maple Braised St. Canut Suckling Pig
Strawberry Panna Cotta With Lychee Ginger Consumme
Braised Short Ribs
mushroom risotto
raw oysters
Sticky Toffee Pudding With Passionfruit Ice Cream
Corn Nut And Chocolate Cake With Espresso Ice Cream And Chocolate Sugar  Crisp
Strawberry Panna Cotta
Salmon & Shrimp Crêpe
Dark Chocolate Torte
Habitant Tourtiere
Vineland Peach Trifle
Ale & Cheddar Chowder
Holiday Goose
Pavé De Richelieu
Enright Cattle Braised Beef Brisket
Comfort Cream
Torched Heritage Salmon
Pressed Maple Braised Willowgrove Pork
Wild Rice Pudding
Pain au Chocolat
Seared Fresh Atlantic Salmon
Panna Cotta
Buffalo Mozzarella
Beef tenderloin
Medallions of venison with honey cake sauce,Teltow turnips and bread dumplings
roast pork
Venison
Wellington County Beef
Local Tomato Buffalo Mozzarella Salad
Cod Mousse
Date Pudding with Passion Fruit Sorbet
Chocolate Extravaganza
Rack of Lamb
Asparugus Soup W/ Essence Of Elder Flower
Sea bass
Ginger Caipiroska
beef short ribs
Cherry Clafouti
Salmon
Raspberry Ice Tea
Summer Split Pea Soup With Dungeness Crab
Fresh Baked Bread With Hummus
Maple B.C. Salmon Gravlax
Honey Wheat Bread
alberta beef
Sweet Peas Soup
Winterlicious (Lunch)
Porkloin

Canoe Restaurant and Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Continental
Toronto / Ontario
Most Booked
Toronto / Ontario
Best Ambiance
Toronto
3 More
Scenic View
Toronto
Continental
Toronto
Most Booked
Toronto
Best Restaurants in Downtown/ Financial District ›

scenic view (339)
special occasion (306)
romantic (215)
See All
fit for foodies (206)
notable wine list (113)
great for lunch (108)
hot spot (77)
good for groups (69)
vibrant bar scene (22)
late-night find (22)
great for brunch (20)
neighborhood gem (19)
great for outdoor dining (8)
kid-friendly (6)
Sort By:
Newest
2447 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I don't usually write reviews but I want ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 3 days ago

I don't usually write reviews but I wanted to take the time for this one. I planned an important lunch with a colleague and this dos not disappoint. The food was great, the service was superb, and the views are amazing. Thank you for providing a great work lunch experience! P.S. Tip: when you make RSVP ask for a table next to a window!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

My first visit to Canoe. I am a long ti ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined 4 days ago

My first visit to Canoe. I am a long time resident of Toronto and ALWAYS wanted to go.

My neice tre ated me to this awesome experience. Just overwhelmingly lovely.

Service was truly outstanding.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

We went summerlicious. The mains were ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined 5 days ago

We went summerlicious. The mains were delicious. The was amazing

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The food and presentation was amazing. ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined 5 days ago

The food and presentation was amazing. Plus unbelievable view. Every thing was first class

Any thing on the menu was good and tasteful

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is what the CN Tower Restaurant asp ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined 5 days ago

This is what the CN Tower Restaurant aspires to be. A top flight view that doesn't sacrifice high quality dining. I've been to maybe a hundred or so of the top restaurants in New York and Toronto and I'd say the dessert at Canoe ranks up there. Excellent service. They clearly hire for attractiveness but, unlike a lot of places, they must whip their pretty butts into place. Perfect for a date or a business lunch where you're looking to impress.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The portion of the meal is very small, e ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined 5 days ago

The portion of the meal is very small, even for the ladies. The quality was not I expect for such a high end restaurant.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Food was great, but not spectacular. Br ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined 5 days ago

Food was great, but not spectacular. Bread with pancetta bits and hummus was provided at the beginning was an odd pairing and excluded the vegetarian diner. Alternate jalapeno corn bread was provided, it should be provided regularly because it actually tasted so much better than the cold bread and hummus.

Service was decent. Perhaps because it was for Summerlicious event, really felt rushed by the waiter to push the table through. Upon reservation, reception agreed to the request for birthday celebratory note on the dessert. It was forgotten; which seems inappropriate for an upscale restaurant.

The restaurant boast and best known for their view, but really not impressive with all the condo constructions in the surrounding area (not their fault).

There are definitely much better restaurant options in terms of view, ambiance and value in the area.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value1

The service was good. But the main dish ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined 5 days ago

The service was good. But the main dish of the Hanover Beef Strip Loin was terrible it hard to eat (no taste like the rubber). Overall this meal I'm not enjoy. It was my second times visit Canoe in July Summerlicious event. Both meals the main dish of Beef was no good. Therefore, I don't go there again.

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

This was our first visit to Canoe and du ...

vip
 (Toronto)
·Dined 5 days ago

This was our first visit to Canoe and during summerlicious. We have always had great experiences with the Oliver & Bonacini restaurants, so was much anticipated.

It was a nice visit, but not really what we expected. The restaurant itself was easy to get to and on the 54th floor of the TD build. So you know the view will be nice. But, overall it seemed old and a bit dirty. Looks like they bank on the view first, status second, food third, and a very distant forth for decor.

Bit of an odd layout with the bar in the middle. Which we waiting for our table there. Old leather chairs, chipping paint walls, and a bar that had seen better days. Around us was a mix of properly dressed couples and others that looked like they stepped off the beach. Guess gone are the days when not wearing the proper attire would be turned away.

Our table was then ready, which was on the east side of the layout. This whole area feels like the kids table side of the restaurant. Easy to see dust on the old hanging artwork and dirty lighting. however, our table was fine and near the window, which of course had a great view of the lake, island, and airport.

The food is an interesting story. It was 50 / 50. Personally my selections were very good and enjoyed them. My wife's on the other hand, ouch. Both the appetizers and the main were a bit of a mess. Since these were summerlicious dishes, not sure its worth going into detail. So I will give one good and one bad. My smoked whitefish appetizer was amazing, very flavorful and well balanced. The Cornmeal Pickerel was just wrong. The batter did not seem to be mixed right and was over a very dry fish, with a dot of sauce. We both agree the dessert were very good.

In short, was really let down by the visit. Good place for drinks and dessert with a view. Also maybe go at night would help the looks. If you are thinking lunch or full on dinner, many many other much better choices in the city.

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Great value for Summerlicious. Good port ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined 5 days ago

Great value for Summerlicious. Good portion sizes and every bite was delicious! Each dish is a work of art.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Summerlicious menu was delicious and wor ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined 6 days ago

Summerlicious menu was delicious and worth every penny!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Usually, not impressed with upscale rest ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined 7 days ago

Usually, not impressed with upscale restaurants. .. they usually meet my expectations for the cost. But Canoe has delivered! ! Honesty, I will be back and have already referred people to try it. I went for summerlicious July2016.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Superb service, food, ambiance and exper ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined 7 days ago

Superb service, food, ambiance and experience. Will definitely recommend going for all the above reasons.

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Summerlicious 2016: Best Dishes: - Sal ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Summerlicious 2016:

Best Dishes:

- Salmon with Tzatziki and Zucchini Fritters

- S'mores Dessert

- Strawberry Semi-freddo Dessert

Steer Clear of:

- Ricotta Ravioli

Summerlicious is never amazing, but this is a great way to try Canoe for a reasonable price! Definitely one of the better licious meals I've had.

IG: @thechewreview

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

I had dinner with my daughter. As we hav ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

I had dinner with my daughter. As we have experienced dinning at its superlative in Europe, notably France, we set-up high expectations that were actually not met. Food was well presented on the plate but in terms of taste it was good but average not exceptional. The European quality to price ratio is well above Canoe.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Wonderful dishes, very professional serv ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Wonderful dishes, very professional service, and amazing view of the city. Will definitely come back.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful locally sourced food. Beautifu ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Wonderful locally sourced food. Beautifully presented, imaginative food.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

The view is awesome. We have tried Summe ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

The view is awesome. We have tried Summerlicious dinner menu,the starter and the dessert were better than the main course. The beverage was so fresh and very summer.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, scenic view, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have been looking forward to trying t ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

I have been looking forward to trying this restaurant and I was disappointed by the highly anticipated food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value2

We had a great summerlicious lunch at ca ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

We had a great summerlicious lunch at canoe. Food was wonderfully prepared, service was attentive but not as friendly as Auberge du Pommier. The view is awesome.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Excellent as always. We got the same att ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Excellent as always. We got the same attention at a late hour. Even the bread is wonderful. Pricy but very satisfying.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Love their Summerlicious 2016 menu! We h ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Love their Summerlicious 2016 menu! We had a blast!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Superb service, excellent food quality, ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Superb service, excellent food quality, and an unmatched view -- it's hard to top Canoe.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The service and views were impeccable, a ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

The service and views were impeccable, and so were the deserts and drinks. The appetizer (cheese boutique) could be better and the main course was enjoyable. Great place to be!

Tags: special occasion, late-night find, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

THE VIEW IS AMAZING THE SERVICE AND THE ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

THE VIEW IS AMAZING

THE SERVICE AND THE FOOD WAS IMPECCABLE

THIS SHOULD BE A MUST ON EVERYONE'S BUCKET-LIST.

I WILL DEFINITELY VISIT AGAIN OUTSIDE OF SUMMERLICIOUS.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Canoe was very accommodating despite hav ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Canoe was very accommodating despite having originally reserved for 6 people and we arrived with 7 people. The service and meal was great. Food was beautifully presented and tasted great. A drawback was that the crust on the fish for one of the main courses was very hard and I was unable to cut into it. Despite that, the fish inside the breading was moist and tasted great! Overall experience was great! (Please note that this meal was for summerlicious).

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

I had high expectations because of all t ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

I had high expectations because of all the rave reviews but I was unpleasantly surprised! This restaurant has the worst food I've ever had! The waiter was rude and spoke to us in a condescending tone of voice. He even got us our checks at the same time that he brought over our dessert . This was an hour into our dinner! it's not like we remained longer than we were supposed to!

I would NEVER recommend this restaurant to anyone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

Everything about this restaurant was goo ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Everything about this restaurant was good, it simply was not as memorable as other high end restaurants I've been to, and exceptionality is something I expect for a high price.

I was there for Summerlicious as budget permits, and the menu was hit and miss in terms of excellence. Everything from food and drinks ranged in quality from good to excellent and lovely, but consistency of the WOW factor was not there. Its a very expensive restaurant to go to for anything but an outstanding experience. That said, I would recommend anyone to go at least for the whole package that encompasses the quality service, good, beautiful view, and charming atmosphere.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

It is a very nice restaurant suitable fo ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

It is a very nice restaurant suitable for any occasion - casual lunch/dinner or special even dinner. The staff are professional, polite and friendly. The foods and its presentation are good.

I would recommend Canoe as a great place to bring family and friends.

Thank you.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

My friend and I went here as part of the ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

My friend and I went here as part of the Summerlicious promotion. Every item I ordered was well done, with distinctive flavour and good portion sizes. We both left feeling quite content. The view is excellent, and the some of their featured drinks are superb.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Great date spot. Food was excellent. Wai ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Great date spot. Food was excellent. Waiter was average, and not very enthusiastic. Service staff were actually the highlight.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value5

For a fine dinning resturant, this was a ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

For a fine dinning resturant, this was a disappointment. Seats and tables were

worn out, beaf/meat was tough. Had to get the chef to cook the pork again. Drove downtown for a celebration anticipating a great time and wondered why we did that given so many other restaurants to choose from. Remembering the days when it was called The 54th and that was fine dining.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2

My boyfriend and I went to Canoe for the ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

My boyfriend and I went to Canoe for the Summerlicious dinner. Service was very good, the servers were attentive and polite. However, we felt that we were a little rushed and the price was a little too high for the pre-done meal. We were both impressed with the appetizers, but we felt that the main was a little disappointing. The view from the 54th floor was incredible.

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

We tried it during Summerlicious event t ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

We tried it during Summerlicious event to see what it's all about. Spent some time in searching for the place. I guess it is a usual game (difficult navigation in downtown core) for suburbians like we are. In the restaurant per se, explanations of what we are about to eat was the most intriguing and welcomed act. We left filing filled and pleased.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The server was fantastic with the child ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

The server was fantastic with the children in our party. The hostess was able to accomodate an extra chair for our party as the little one also wanted her own seat. Thanks for the great service.

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Nice view, nice service. But, I was shoc ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Nice view, nice service. But, I was shocked by cold beef stake.

Tags: late-night find, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

It was great. Service was amazing. Would ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

It was great. Service was amazing. Would definitely go back

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The menu was a deconstructed failure. ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

The menu was a deconstructed failure. The s'mores on the summerlicious menu was about as far off from a cozy campfire experience as you could get. The food is taken too seriously and the flavour is sacrificed at the cost of the overdone presentation.

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

Pricey but worth every penny - excellent ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Pricey but worth every penny - excellent food quality and service. Not kid-friendly.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I went for summerlicious and was greeted ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

I went for summerlicious and was greeted with excellent and well trained staff. Food was good and the servers were really knowledgeable as they proceeded to describe the dish and its contents. I would like to come back to try the regular menu.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.