About Canoe Brewpub

450 Swift St
Victoria, BC V8W 1S3
View Larger Map

Welcome to CANOE BREWPUB, Restaurant and Marina. Located at the foot of downtown Victoria's historic Chinatown, CANOE features waterfront patios and the best western exposure along Victoria's Inner Harbour.
Come down to CANOE for great handcrafted beer, real food made with care and live music every Thursday, Friday and Saturday nights. With a pub, a lounge, a dining room, patios, knowledgeable staff and free parking, it’s a perfect place to share good times with friends and family of all ages!

The timeless waterfront location, soaring timber frame and rustic brick architecture at CANOE create a vibrant and versatile atmosphere for gatherings large or small.
Reservations and families are welcome in the restaurant area.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Canadian, Northwest, Brewery

Hours of Operation:

Brunch: Saturday & Sunday: 11:30am - 2:00pm

Daily:

Sun - Wed 11:30am to 11pm,

Thu 11:30am to 1am,

Fri & Sat 11:30am to 1am

Cross Street:
Store St

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(250) 361-1940

Website:
http://canoebrewpub.com/

Entertainment:
No Cover Live Music featuring local and international bands every Thursday, Friday and Saturday nights from 9-late.

Parking Details:
Canoe has a limited amount of free parking in its lot. Simply stop inside and grab a parking pass.

Additionally, there is plenty of street parking on Store St and a pay parking lot across Store St as well.

Public Transit:
James Bay to Canoe:
http://bit.ly/JBtoCanoe

Uptown to Canoe:
http://bit.ly/uptowntocanoe

Executive Chef:
Gabriel Milne

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Dancing, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, View, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Canoe is the perfect event venue for your social gatherings or corporate parties. With multiple atmosphere and group size options, our event planner can help curate an event that will impress and entertain your guests.

View our website to learn about our fantastic events and weekly no cover live music on Thursday, Friday and Saturday nights.

Canoe Brewpub Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.9

service

4.0

ambience

3.9

value

3.5

noise

Moderate

80% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Lunch
Vancouver / British Columbia
Best Restaurants in Victoria ›

Great for Lunch (7)
Casual (6)
Great for Outdoor Dining (6)
See All
Good for Groups (5)
Waterfront (5)
Great Beer (5)
Local Ingredients (5)
Fun (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Scenic View (4)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Good for a Date (4)
Live Music (3)
Cozy (3)
People Watching (3)
Business Meals (3)
Special Occasion (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Authentic (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Historic (2)
Dancing (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Healthy (1)
Seasonal (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Fit for Foodies (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Organic (1)
Sort By:
S
83 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The service was friendly and quick. My ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 13, 2016

The service was friendly and quick. My husband and I shared a fish and chips plate and an appetizer of mussels. The mussels were good--prepared with coconut milk and slightly spicy. The fish was good but not a great value--the large order came with two pieces.

Tags: Great for Lunch, People Watching, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Casual, Local Ingredients, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

Great service but food and beer was noth ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Great service but food and beer was nothing special. We chose Canoe because it was kid friendly. The patio looked great but other then sensonal patio I probably won't be back.

Tags: Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

Service was awesome for our group of 10. ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Service was awesome for our group of 10. Love the space upstairs for bigger groups! Food is always yummy.

Tags: Business Meals, Vibrant Bar Scene, Quiet Conversation, Kid-friendly, Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic, People Watching, Cozy, Great for Lunch, Live Music, Waterfront, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Fun, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent food and beverage choices.

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on October 31, 2016

Excellent food and beverage choices.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The online reservation system is mislead ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 28, 2016

The online reservation system is misleading. We were celebrating a birthday and wanted to be in the restaurant. The latest we could reserve on Friday was 4 PM so we adjusted our schedule to suit. When we got there, we were seated in the pub area and when we complained, we were told that the restaurant was not open at 4 PM. It was not the ambiance that we had been hoping for but simply a pub atmosphere with pub food.

Overpriced food for what you got. None of us were impressed. It was edible. It was pub food at restaurant prices.

Service was okay. We won't be going back there. If I want pub food, there are cheaper, more convenient places to eat in our own neighbourhood.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value1

Food and service was great. The hostes ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Food and service was great. The hostess was very cheerful and knowledgeable. Waiteress was attentive. Really enjoyed the craft beer.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Overall we had a most enjoyable evening. ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Overall we had a most enjoyable evening. It was difficult to have a conversation too noisy. Everyone enjoyed their meal with a couple of suggestions for the salads too much leafy product, for the beet salad the star of the plate was hidden. Cobb salad greens were too much and difficult to manage. Also no handicap parking was noted.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Local Ingredients, Historic, Casual, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Found it to be very comfortable and casu ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on September 22, 2016

Found it to be very comfortable and casual. Food was very good. Will definitely be back for more.

Tags: Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, People Watching, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Last bite of my burger had a ROCK in it, ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Last bite of my burger had a ROCK in it, no word of a lie, yet apparently that seemed like a lie. After that behaviour no point in coming back! Also does a burger get a rock in it, scratch that, don't want to know!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

Waitress totally disappeared after takin ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on September 7, 2016

Waitress totally disappeared after taking order. Not even sure she was there when food served. Only showed up to ask us about paying bill after we had paid with a different waitress. I won't be back.

When we arrived we were told there was a noisy birthday party in the area we had reserved so we were offered the bar section. I will come back to someone's birthday party because the area is nice, set apart and other diners will be told to avoid the area!

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

The server asked us if we were ready for ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on September 1, 2016

The server asked us if we were ready for food, we said yes, then he told us the special and left.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

We were seated upstairs which was great ...

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on August 19, 2016

We were seated upstairs which was great for our large group. However, the service was incredibly slow and the server did no visit often.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

Being from up island in Parksville, I fo ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on August 7, 2016

Being from up island in Parksville, I found the prices a little steep compared to here for similar food choices. But everything else was excellent. I was introduced to the Canoe Brew Pub about 11 years ago by a friend. My wife and I have been back a few times whenever we have been down in Victoria for the day.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Scenic View, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

A little disappointed on arrival as we h ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on July 24, 2016

A little disappointed on arrival as we had a reservation, but they would not honour it for the patio. I was told by two people the reservations were for inside dining only. That is just plain WRONG - I have never been told that before by a restaurant with a patio. If you have called ahead and reserved you should be able to get the best table available. Period. However, they accommodated us after a short wait. Not 10 minutes later two people walked in without stopping at the hostess station and grabbed a table for 4. And they were served. The food was okay. Nothing special. Nice to sit outside and enjoy the company of friends - but there must be better places around that let you reserve a table that really is on the patio.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

food was good, very accommodating! Kim ( ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on July 17, 2016

food was good, very accommodating! Kim (our server) was INCREDIBLE!!!!!!! There was a lot of us, and she handled everything like such a pro :) I could not have asked for a better server for my birthday :) :) :)

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Did not stay. Very very loud with at le ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 15, 2016

Did not stay. Very very loud with at least 6 parties of guests with 6+. Menu was pub food, which would have been fine but could not find a thing we wanted. Were seated under AC blowing on us. We just knew we would not enjoy it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4

We had a fun time at the Canoe Brewpub. ...

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on July 11, 2016

We had a fun time at the Canoe Brewpub. Service was good as was the food. We went for dinner and were lucky it was nice enough to sit outside. We enjoyed the great view. We will be back!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Spacious high-ceiling restaurant with lo ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 7, 2016

Spacious high-ceiling restaurant with lots of light and fresh air coming in the windows in the summer. Modern menu with flavorful choices for health-conscious customers. The dishes looked and tasted fresh. I enjoyed sockeye salmon and a beet/kale salad. I like that the restaurant cares about sourcing quality ingredients, especially local ingredients. I greatly appreciated the modestly dressed and intelligent waitstaff. This restaurant is good for all ages.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

So easy to book a table online for 8 peo ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on July 2, 2016

So easy to book a table online for 8 people with email follow up and option to email the invite to everyone. The hostess was kind and accommodating, letting us scope out the patio before deciding that our reserved table upstairs was perfect for our party. The waitress was friendly, prompt and efficient - she even asked other staff where the best place to view the Canada Day fireworks was for us. Really good experience and will come back for sure.

Tags: Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The four of us each shared two lunch ent ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on June 23, 2016

The four of us each shared two lunch entrees. I had a glass of wine for $8.00

and so did my cousin. We shared a chicken dish and both had salads instead

of fries. We each paid $22.00 for a glass of wine and one entree. Thats 44.00

how crazy is that! The other two guest shared a hamburger and fries and

one had a coffee. With equal billing minus the wine.!!!!

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

Great food and wonderful date night with ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on May 15, 2016

Great food and wonderful date night with my husband of 34 years.

Fun atmosphere with great music. Thanks for a memorable evening.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Family dinner

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on May 15, 2016

Enjoyed the mussels very much....excellent sauce with outstanding flavour. Rest of the meal somewhat mediocre for a high price. Gluten free menu given for celiac husband which was considerate. Service always good at Canoe Club.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

gem

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on May 7, 2016

No matter if you are a beer afficionado this place mixes Viktoria chime, historical building, amazing location, and a great ambience. Of all the places in Victoria it's my first stop each time

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value2

Not recommending

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on May 3, 2016

For a restaurant in one of the nicest cities which has the best fresh seafood the salmon ordered was overcooked - an extremely dry, hardly edible and most disappointing meal. The portion of salmon was very small given the price and not flavourful at all. Given the growing season and the vast array of vegetables to choose from, those served were scanty in variety and bland to the point of tasteless.

If you choose this restaurant - go for glass of ginger ale, expect it to be pricey though, and just enjoy what little view is appealing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

Perfect lunch sharing spinach salad with ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 1, 2016

Perfect lunch sharing spinach salad with goat cheese and fish tacos. Sat on roof terrace on a sunny spring afternoon. Service was prompt at knowledgable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

great food and great service!

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on April 30, 2016

This is my second visit to Canoe Brewpub and the customer experience was as great as the first. Extremely friendly service and very good food. My quests really enjoyed the place so I wouldn't hesitate bringing others to relax and enjoy a cool venue in Victoria!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Servers unserving

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on April 19, 2016

Hi,

We found the servers at Canoe Club extremely unserving. The bartender made us carry out our own drinks to the table and our server for the meal was SO inattentive that he didnt even refill our wine glasses when he came to the table. Empty appetizer dishes were left sitting for over an hour before being cleared, and the attitude of staff was all around NOT ACCOMMODATING.

Disappointing to say the least. We needed to bring our own servers with us given the little that we were waited on at Canoe Club.

Thanks for passing this along.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

Easter Sunday Disappointment

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on March 28, 2016

seafood starter was perfect, fish was ok, chips were awful - too salty to eat.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value2

The mussels were amazing!!

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on March 25, 2016

The mussels were amazing!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Gluten Free Goodness

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on March 17, 2016

We have a gulten and dairy free kid so its hard to find places that do this well. The staff and menu at Canoe were a wonderful exception - they were well informed and clear on options and issues.

In terms of service, the kitchen was a bit slow (but they had just opened for lunch service). The food and beer was fantastic, however, and our server was attentive and knowledgeable. I would totally eat here again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Good location

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 8, 2016

We had a farewell party here. We enjoyed variety kind of beer.

Staff are friendly enough but busser took our plates too quickly even working .

We couldn't finish some dishes, also felt busy and uncomfortable then.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Canoe Brewpub for 9

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 16, 2016

We went to Canoe brewpub for a birthday party with 9 ladies.

Had a great time. We were seated promptly, no waiting. Our server was excellent and a great communicator.

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

New favourite pub

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 15, 2016

My friend and I wanted some good ol' pub food and decided to head to Canoe Brewpub. It wasn't super busy when we arrived at 6:15pm on a Saturday but by the time we were leaving the tables were quite filled out. I like the high ceilings and the spacious-ness of the seating area. Makes the entire dining experience very comfortable. I had the panko-encrusted cod and chips and it was delicious! I was absolutely impressed with this rendition of fish and chips because panko was used and not the traditional battered fillets where you taste more batter than fish. This wasn't the case. The cod fillet was really good and I was really tasting the fish ( in a good way). I had their in-house winter ale to wash my meal down. Delicious.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Fun and Friendly

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on January 2, 2016

We went to Canoe Brewpub on New Year's Day for dinner. It was our first night in Victoria--we had just taken the ferry from Vancouver and arrived in town around 5:30. After settling in, we headed down the street for our 7:30 table. This was a great start to our visit. Our waiter (from Australia) was cordial, informative, and very helpful. We were impressed with the different types of crafted beers, brewed on site. The food was delicious. I had the seafood stew, which was perfect for warming me up on a cold night. The interior is open with high ceilings, lots of wood, cozy. It is right on the waterfront, so I can imagine how busy this place can be in summer.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Way too loud for a nice dinner out

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 22, 2015

The room is lovely as is the setting. But it is so loud...way too loud to offer a restaurant in combination with the pub. It was impossible to have a conversation. The food was ok and the Sangria was decent.

The best part of the evening was the service which was very good.

Tags: Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4

Worth the walk!

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on October 11, 2015

Our family was in town for Thanksgiving weekend to get together, enjoy each other's company and run in the GoodLife Victoria races on Sunday as a team. So there were 9 of us from ages 3 to 55! Canoe Brewpub was a great place for us! Something for everyone; great food and great beer! We liked it so much, we ate here twice. The flatbread was everyone's fav!! We were smarter the second day - ordered a third one! This was just our appetizer! Everything we tried was great but the House sausage and Mushroom Ragu may have just been the best meal of the weekend, by a long shot! Just wish we weren't running on the weekend so we could really have tasted the beer!! Next time!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

cool decor!

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 1, 2015

Great food and service. Beautiful location on the harbour and really great decor!

Tags: Good for Groups, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Special occassions.

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on September 26, 2015

Your restaurant has been consistently good over the years - thank you. In the past two weeks we have celebrated two special occasions and am glad to report that we all came away happy that we chose the Canoe Club as our venue.

When we discussed your lunch menu we all agreed that by adding grilled octopus, that would become our 'go-to' main dish.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Canoe Club

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on September 21, 2015

We visited Canoe club on a Sunday night, chose the location for a 4:30-5:00pm dinner. Comments from the group....The food average , we had the tuna salad rated at a 4/5. The pork chop 3.5/5...needed a fresh vegetable side , fish chips 2/5..fries cold -fish Cruncy batter but tasteless fish could be fresher. ..Basic pub food was comments from the party. The service was excellent our server friendly and attentive. Our experience was positive and no one complained .

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Canoe Review

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 20, 2015

The service was very good however the food was not not great. Also, when we ordered our food it came too quickly to our table. We were enjoying our drinks and thought we would have at least 10 minutes more before the food came. The food arrived 3 minutes after our order was placed. Very strange how they could have cooked it so quickly but it would explain how awful the food was. I would definitely not recommend Canoe if someone was looking for a good meal.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.