About Canoe Brewpub

450 Swift St
Victoria, BC V8W 1S3
View Larger Map

Welcome to CANOE BREWPUB, Restaurant and Marina. Located at the foot of downtown Victoria's historic Chinatown, CANOE features waterfront patios and the best western exposure along Victoria's Inner Harbour.
Come down to CANOE for great handcrafted beer, real food made with care and live music every Thursday, Friday and Saturday nights. With a pub, a lounge, a dining room, patios, knowledgeable staff and free parking, it’s a perfect place to share good times with friends and family of all ages!

The timeless waterfront location, soaring timber frame and rustic brick architecture at CANOE create a vibrant and versatile atmosphere for gatherings large or small.
Reservations and families are welcome in the restaurant area.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Canadian, Northwest, Brewery

Hours of Operation:

Brunch: Saturday & Sunday: 11:30am - 2:00pm

Daily:

Sun - Wed 11:30am to 11pm,

Thu 11:30am to 1am,

Fri & Sat 11:30am to 1am

Cross Street:
Store St

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(250) 361-1940

Website:
http://canoebrewpub.com/

Parking Details:
Canoe has a limited amount of parking in its lot. There is plenty of street parking on Store St. There is a pay parking lot across Store St as well.

Executive Chef:
Gabriel Milne

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Dancing, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), View, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Canoe Brewpub Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.0

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.9

service

4.1

ambience

4.1

value

3.4

noise

Moderate

80% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Hot Spot
Vancouver / British Columbia
Best Restaurants in Victoria ›

good for groups (14)
scenic view (12)
great for outdoor dining (10)
See All
vibrant bar scene (8)
great for lunch (7)
hot spot (7)
neighborhood gem (6)
late-night find (6)
kid-friendly (5)
fit for foodies (4)
special occasion (4)
romantic (2)
great for brunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
69 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

food was good, very accommodating! Kim ( ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined 6 days ago

food was good, very accommodating! Kim (our server) was INCREDIBLE!!!!!!! There was a lot of us, and she handled everything like such a pro :) I could not have asked for a better server for my birthday :) :) :)

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Did not stay. Very very loud with at le ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Did not stay. Very very loud with at least 6 parties of guests with 6+. Menu was pub food, which would have been fine but could not find a thing we wanted. Were seated under AC blowing on us. We just knew we would not enjoy it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4

We had a fun time at the Canoe Brewpub. ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

We had a fun time at the Canoe Brewpub. Service was good as was the food. We went for dinner and were lucky it was nice enough to sit outside. We enjoyed the great view. We will be back!

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Spacious high-ceiling restaurant with lo ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Spacious high-ceiling restaurant with lots of light and fresh air coming in the windows in the summer. Modern menu with flavorful choices for health-conscious customers. The dishes looked and tasted fresh. I enjoyed sockeye salmon and a beet/kale salad. I like that the restaurant cares about sourcing quality ingredients, especially local ingredients. I greatly appreciated the modestly dressed and intelligent waitstaff. This restaurant is good for all ages.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

So easy to book a table online for 8 peo ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

So easy to book a table online for 8 people with email follow up and option to email the invite to everyone. The hostess was kind and accommodating, letting us scope out the patio before deciding that our reserved table upstairs was perfect for our party. The waitress was friendly, prompt and efficient - she even asked other staff where the best place to view the Canada Day fireworks was for us. Really good experience and will come back for sure.

Tags: good for groups, late-night find, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The four of us each shared two lunch ent ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

The four of us each shared two lunch entrees. I had a glass of wine for $8.00

and so did my cousin. We shared a chicken dish and both had salads instead

of fries. We each paid $22.00 for a glass of wine and one entree. Thats 44.00

how crazy is that! The other two guest shared a hamburger and fries and

one had a coffee. With equal billing minus the wine.!!!!

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

Great food and wonderful date night with ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

Great food and wonderful date night with my husband of 34 years.

Fun atmosphere with great music. Thanks for a memorable evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Family dinner

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

Enjoyed the mussels very much....excellent sauce with outstanding flavour. Rest of the meal somewhat mediocre for a high price. Gluten free menu given for celiac husband which was considerate. Service always good at Canoe Club.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

gem

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

No matter if you are a beer afficionado this place mixes Viktoria chime, historical building, amazing location, and a great ambience. Of all the places in Victoria it's my first stop each time

Tags: kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value2

Not recommending

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on May 3, 2016

For a restaurant in one of the nicest cities which has the best fresh seafood the salmon ordered was overcooked - an extremely dry, hardly edible and most disappointing meal. The portion of salmon was very small given the price and not flavourful at all. Given the growing season and the vast array of vegetables to choose from, those served were scanty in variety and bland to the point of tasteless.

If you choose this restaurant - go for glass of ginger ale, expect it to be pricey though, and just enjoy what little view is appealing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

Perfect lunch sharing spinach salad with ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

Perfect lunch sharing spinach salad with goat cheese and fish tacos. Sat on roof terrace on a sunny spring afternoon. Service was prompt at knowledgable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

great food and great service!

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

This is my second visit to Canoe Brewpub and the customer experience was as great as the first. Extremely friendly service and very good food. My quests really enjoyed the place so I wouldn't hesitate bringing others to relax and enjoy a cool venue in Victoria!

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Servers unserving

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on April 19, 2016

Hi,

We found the servers at Canoe Club extremely unserving. The bartender made us carry out our own drinks to the table and our server for the meal was SO inattentive that he didnt even refill our wine glasses when he came to the table. Empty appetizer dishes were left sitting for over an hour before being cleared, and the attitude of staff was all around NOT ACCOMMODATING.

Disappointing to say the least. We needed to bring our own servers with us given the little that we were waited on at Canoe Club.

Thanks for passing this along.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

Easter Sunday Disappointment

 
 (Ottawa)
·Dined on March 28, 2016

seafood starter was perfect, fish was ok, chips were awful - too salty to eat.

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value2

The mussels were amazing!!

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on March 25, 2016

The mussels were amazing!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Gluten Free Goodness

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on March 17, 2016

We have a gulten and dairy free kid so its hard to find places that do this well. The staff and menu at Canoe were a wonderful exception - they were well informed and clear on options and issues.

In terms of service, the kitchen was a bit slow (but they had just opened for lunch service). The food and beer was fantastic, however, and our server was attentive and knowledgeable. I would totally eat here again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Good location

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on February 8, 2016

We had a farewell party here. We enjoyed variety kind of beer.

Staff are friendly enough but busser took our plates too quickly even working .

We couldn't finish some dishes, also felt busy and uncomfortable then.

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Canoe Brewpub for 9

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on January 16, 2016

We went to Canoe brewpub for a birthday party with 9 ladies.

Had a great time. We were seated promptly, no waiting. Our server was excellent and a great communicator.

Tags: good for groups, scenic view, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

New favourite pub

vip
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on January 15, 2016

My friend and I wanted some good ol' pub food and decided to head to Canoe Brewpub. It wasn't super busy when we arrived at 6:15pm on a Saturday but by the time we were leaving the tables were quite filled out. I like the high ceilings and the spacious-ness of the seating area. Makes the entire dining experience very comfortable. I had the panko-encrusted cod and chips and it was delicious! I was absolutely impressed with this rendition of fish and chips because panko was used and not the traditional battered fillets where you taste more batter than fish. This wasn't the case. The cod fillet was really good and I was really tasting the fish ( in a good way). I had their in-house winter ale to wash my meal down. Delicious.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Fun and Friendly

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on January 2, 2016

We went to Canoe Brewpub on New Year's Day for dinner. It was our first night in Victoria--we had just taken the ferry from Vancouver and arrived in town around 5:30. After settling in, we headed down the street for our 7:30 table. This was a great start to our visit. Our waiter (from Australia) was cordial, informative, and very helpful. We were impressed with the different types of crafted beers, brewed on site. The food was delicious. I had the seafood stew, which was perfect for warming me up on a cold night. The interior is open with high ceilings, lots of wood, cozy. It is right on the waterfront, so I can imagine how busy this place can be in summer.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Way too loud for a nice dinner out

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on November 22, 2015

The room is lovely as is the setting. But it is so loud...way too loud to offer a restaurant in combination with the pub. It was impossible to have a conversation. The food was ok and the Sangria was decent.

The best part of the evening was the service which was very good.

Tags: good for groups, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4

Worth the walk!

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on October 11, 2015

Our family was in town for Thanksgiving weekend to get together, enjoy each other's company and run in the GoodLife Victoria races on Sunday as a team. So there were 9 of us from ages 3 to 55! Canoe Brewpub was a great place for us! Something for everyone; great food and great beer! We liked it so much, we ate here twice. The flatbread was everyone's fav!! We were smarter the second day - ordered a third one! This was just our appetizer! Everything we tried was great but the House sausage and Mushroom Ragu may have just been the best meal of the weekend, by a long shot! Just wish we weren't running on the weekend so we could really have tasted the beer!! Next time!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

cool decor!

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on October 1, 2015

Great food and service. Beautiful location on the harbour and really great decor!

Tags: good for groups, late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Special occassions.

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on September 26, 2015

Your restaurant has been consistently good over the years - thank you. In the past two weeks we have celebrated two special occasions and am glad to report that we all came away happy that we chose the Canoe Club as our venue.

When we discussed your lunch menu we all agreed that by adding grilled octopus, that would become our 'go-to' main dish.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Canoe Club

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on September 21, 2015

We visited Canoe club on a Sunday night, chose the location for a 4:30-5:00pm dinner. Comments from the group....The food average , we had the tuna salad rated at a 4/5. The pork chop 3.5/5...needed a fresh vegetable side , fish chips 2/5..fries cold -fish Cruncy batter but tasteless fish could be fresher. ..Basic pub food was comments from the party. The service was excellent our server friendly and attentive. Our experience was positive and no one complained .

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Canoe Review

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on September 20, 2015

The service was very good however the food was not not great. Also, when we ordered our food it came too quickly to our table. We were enjoying our drinks and thought we would have at least 10 minutes more before the food came. The food arrived 3 minutes after our order was placed. Very strange how they could have cooked it so quickly but it would explain how awful the food was. I would definitely not recommend Canoe if someone was looking for a good meal.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4

Excellent spot to try beers and get a solid meal

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on September 6, 2015

Outstanding service - incredibly warm and inviting, much like the interior of the restaurant. The locally brewed beers were very tasty and poured generously, and the food was interesting - perhaps not the best gastropub food you'll ever have, but well above average. If you're into beer and looking for a fun spot to go with friends, family or your significant other, we'd recommend it!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

Great atmosphere, beer and eats

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on September 5, 2015

Visiting from the US and only had 4 hours in Victoria. 7 of us and our server was just ok. She was nice, but, didn't go out of her way to attend to us. we waited on drinks a long time, were not offered dessert or additional drinks and so we left right after paying the check. Although there was live music, she gave us no incentive to hang around and enjoy or spend more money. The food was very good as was the one beer we had. Beautiful building and décor.

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

It's a fun place and the servers were ve ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on September 2, 2015

It's a fun place and the servers were very friendly and prompt but the food is mediocre.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4

Nice restaurant but VERY overpriced

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 29, 2015

Not worth the cost and food was just ok for the expensive price. Very disappointed

as had been to restaurant before but seems prices increased dramatically and portions very small. I was in Whistler and the prices were cheaper and meals much better would not be

going back after the $12 dollar drink prices for singles .....

Tags: great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

We loved the atmosphere and food

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 23, 2015

We were in Victoria for three days and ate there twice due to the menu, quality of food and atmosphere. The patio area was comfortable for us to catch up with a great friend but have community and enjoy an inner harbor view.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

OK

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on August 3, 2015

I haven't eaten at the Canoe Brewpub for a while, and was somewhat disappointed in the quality of the food, and especially the presentation. I recall it used to be a little more imaginative.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

Amazing patio, delicious beer

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 30, 2015

This modern brewpub is in a repurposed historic building just minutes from the heart of downtown Victoria. Accessible by water taxi or a 10 minute walk, the restaurant with its large three-tiered patio is right next to the harbour providing a light breeze and lovely views. The delicious, refreshing tap beer was served cold and crisp, while the food was fresh and tasty.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Great location, good food, great service

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 9, 2015

We were able to get 10 people on the patio on a Wednesday night, the servers are great at accommodating everyone and letting all our guest know where we were sitting at.

My favorite part is the location: right downtown but not really in town, with lots of parking nearby.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Res for 10 and 2 more showed, no problem

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on June 30, 2015

Humboldt squid terrific, wine just right temp and what we ordered. Kids and adults all thought burgers salads and everything else good and enjoyed a great time.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

An exceptionally good find for out-of-towners!

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 24, 2015

As first-time tourists to Victoria, we came across the Canoe Brewpub by chance, but it's been the highlight of our trip. We like well-crafted brews and good wine, and Canoe's brews did not disappoint either of us. After walking past the open, inviting & busy outdoor deck seating, we were seated upstairs at a nice table where we had both a view and privacy.

Service was impeccable, knowledgeable & friendly. The menu was both interesting & Varied. I had the fish & chips with jicama slaw - fantastic! The panko breading & remoulade really took the dish up a few notches. My wife loved her seared salmon (not over-cooked!) with a delicious barley risotto and charred lemon viniagrette. Veges done just right. All of the ingredients just meshed perfectly, and since we love to create/cook new dishes ourselves, we were very pleased with our meals at the Canoe Brewpub!

Try it - you'll love it!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Upscale brew pub

vip
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on May 10, 2015

Well crafted beers and ales. Tasty burgers, fish, pizzas, soups and salads. All prepared and served by competent and helpful staff in pleasant surroundings

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

First timer

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on April 20, 2015

Went to Canoe for the first time - for lunch. Beautiful building, lovely view and good food. Two negatives - there were no spots available on the patio when we arrived and despite asking for them to move us when a table came available, they didn't seem too accommodating. It was only through our own efforts that we were able to move outside.

RECOMMENDATION TO MANAGEMENT: When people make reservations, give them the option of requesting a table on the patio.

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Great building and service and food to m ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 14, 2015

Great building and service and food to match.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Outstanding atmosphere, good food, good selection

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on April 13, 2015

Great spot for a night out or a fun brunch or even quick but tasty lunch. Canoe does not disappoint in terms of food and drink. Service has been pretty good, but could be better.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.