Not available on OpenTable

Unfortunately, this restaurant is not on the OpenTable reservation network.
If you like, we’ll notify you by email if this restaurant joins.
Is this your restaurant? Claim this listing

Canoe Brewpub

4.0
101 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
CAN$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Canadian
Top Tags:
  • Good for Groups
  • Scenic View
  • Great for Outdoor Dining

Similar Restaurants

About

Welcome to CANOE BREWPUB, Restaurant and Marina. Located at the foot of downtown Victoria's historic Chinatown, CANOE features waterfront patios and the best western exposure along Victoria's Inner Harbour.
Come down to CANOE for great handcrafted beer, real food made with care and live music every Thursday, Friday and Saturday nights. With a pub, a lounge, a dining room, patios, knowledgeable staff and free parking, it’s a perfect place to share good times with friends and family of all ages!

The timeless waterfront location, soaring timber frame and rustic brick architecture at CANOE create a vibrant and versatile atmosphere for gatherings large or small.
Reservations and families are welcome in the restaurant area.
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Canadian, Northwest, Brewery
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation

Brunch: Saturday & Sunday: 11:30am - 2:00pm

Daily:

Sun - Wed 11:30am to 11pm,

Thu 11:30am to 1am,

Fri & Sat 11:30am to 1am
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(250) 361-1940
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Gabriel Milne
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Store St
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Canoe has a limited amount of free parking in its lot. Simply stop inside and grab a parking pass.

Additionally, there is plenty of street parking on Store St and a pay parking lot across Store St as well.
icon/ic_public_transitCreated with Sketch.
Public transit
James Bay to Canoe:
http://bit.ly/JBtoCanoe

Uptown to Canoe:
http://bit.ly/uptowntocanoe
icon/ic_entertainmentCreated with Sketch.
Entertainment
No Cover Live Music featuring local and international bands every Thursday, Friday and Saturday nights from 9-late.
icon/ic_special_eventsCreated with Sketch.
Special events & promotions
Canoe is the perfect event venue for your social gatherings or corporate parties. With multiple atmosphere and group size options, our event planner can help curate an event that will impress and entertain your guests.

View our website to learn about our fantastic events and weekly no cover live music on Thursday, Friday and Saturday nights.
Additional
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Dancing, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, View, Weekend Brunch, Wine
What 101 People Are SayingWrite a review
Overall ratings and reviews
4.0based on all time ratings
3.9
food
4.1
service
4.2
ambience
3.6
value
Noise · Moderate
89% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
3.0Dined on April 8, 2017

The drink were great. The service and ambiance was good. The food was not great. Had the veggie burger which was very dry and tasteless. My hubby had a beef burger and it too fell flat on taste.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 25, 2017

We were celebrating our 44th wedding anniversary. It really was perfect - not a lot of noise, really good food and great service. It had been quite a while since we were there and we appreciated the free parking in front and the view of the water. My husband had the schnitzel and I had the veggie burger. We each had a beer too. We were both really full but satisfied with the flavour and local ingredients. Thanks for a great evening!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 17, 2017

There was a mixup with our reservation due to a computer glitch. We were supposed to have a table for 6, not 4, but on a very busy evening they worked to accommodate us after all.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 11, 2017

Food was OK. Was disappointed that there wasn't any vegatarian options for main course. Just a couple appies.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 10, 2017

I came to Victoria for the weekend to visit my kids who attend university there.. the food was good, a little pricey and it would be nice if they had wine specials. All in all it was a good experience.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 10, 2017

Great food, fabulous beer, friendly service. Hadn't been for a while, will move it back up the list.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on February 26, 2017

Overall, Canoe was a bit of a disappointment in terms of food. The drinks were good, as was the ambience, but the food detracted from the experience overall.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 17, 2017

Canoe is a great spot for casual dinning / night out with friends. Great beer, decent service, pub food is above average.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 14, 2017

Lovely flower arrrangements on table for Valentines Day. Music a little Euro pop crappy but meal was good, if not a little salty.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 27, 2017

we really appreciated the personal service given . I reserved on line so very convenient

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on January 26, 2017

Okay food. All a bit salty. Good selection of beer and great location.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 16, 2017

Good service and great food. Appreciate the free parking.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on January 6, 2017

Was there for Funk & Soul who were amazing! Food was alright, beers good, entertainment GREAT!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on December 30, 2016

Excellent atmosphere, service and what we did order was very good...however the menu was very limited...menu could use a revamp..need to add a broader selection of meals..

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 26, 2016

Canoe brew pub is an excellent downtown bar and restaurant, serving excellent craft beers and with a small but satisfactory wine selection. The dinner menu is also small but has a good variety. One thing to avoid - their Rosti. This Swiss German version of hash browns is nothing close to what it is supposed to be like. Otherwise the food was very good and the service was excellent.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 23, 2016

The food was absolutely amazing! All 8 people in our party were blown away with our meals. We will all go back anytime!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 20, 2016

Must check out those Tuesday drink specials!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on November 12, 2016

The service was friendly and quick. My husband and I shared a fish and chips plate and an appetizer of mussels. The mussels were good--prepared with coconut milk and slightly spicy. The fish was good but not a great value--the large order came with two pieces.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on November 10, 2016

Great service but food and beer was nothing special. We chose Canoe because it was kid friendly. The patio looked great but other then sensonal patio I probably won't be back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 4, 2016

Service was awesome for our group of 10. Love the space upstairs for bigger groups! Food is always yummy.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 30, 2016

Excellent food and beverage choices.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on October 28, 2016

The online reservation system is misleading. We were celebrating a birthday and wanted to be in the restaurant. The latest we could reserve on Friday was 4 PM so we adjusted our schedule to suit. When we got there, we were seated in the pub area and when we complained, we were told that the restaurant was not open at 4 PM. It was not the ambiance that we had been hoping for but simply a pub atmosphere with pub food.
Overpriced food for what you got. None of us were impressed. It was edible. It was pub food at restaurant prices.
Service was okay. We won't be going back there. If I want pub food, there are cheaper, more convenient places to eat in our own neighbourhood.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on October 20, 2016

Food and service was great. The hostess was very cheerful and knowledgeable. Waiteress was attentive. Really enjoyed the craft beer.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 14, 2016

Overall we had a most enjoyable evening. It was difficult to have a conversation too noisy. Everyone enjoyed their meal with a couple of suggestions for the salads too much leafy product, for the beet salad the star of the plate was hidden. Cobb salad greens were too much and difficult to manage. Also no handicap parking was noted.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on September 21, 2016

Found it to be very comfortable and casual. Food was very good. Will definitely be back for more.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on September 16, 2016

Last bite of my burger had a ROCK in it, no word of a lie, yet apparently that seemed like a lie. After that behaviour no point in coming back! Also does a burger get a rock in it, scratch that, don't want to know!

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on September 7, 2016

Waitress totally disappeared after taking order. Not even sure she was there when food served. Only showed up to ask us about paying bill after we had paid with a different waitress. I won't be back.
When we arrived we were told there was a noisy birthday party in the area we had reserved so we were offered the bar section. I will come back to someone's birthday party because the area is nice, set apart and other diners will be told to avoid the area!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on August 31, 2016

The server asked us if we were ready for food, we said yes, then he told us the special and left.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on August 18, 2016

We were seated upstairs which was great for our large group. However, the service was incredibly slow and the server did no visit often.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 7, 2016

Being from up island in Parksville, I found the prices a little steep compared to here for similar food choices. But everything else was excellent. I was introduced to the Canoe Brew Pub about 11 years ago by a friend. My wife and I have been back a few times whenever we have been down in Victoria for the day.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on July 24, 2016

A little disappointed on arrival as we had a reservation, but they would not honour it for the patio. I was told by two people the reservations were for inside dining only. That is just plain WRONG - I have never been told that before by a restaurant with a patio. If you have called ahead and reserved you should be able to get the best table available. Period. However, they accommodated us after a short wait. Not 10 minutes later two people walked in without stopping at the hostess station and grabbed a table for 4. And they were served. The food was okay. Nothing special. Nice to sit outside and enjoy the company of friends - but there must be better places around that let you reserve a table that really is on the patio.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on July 16, 2016

food was good, very accommodating! Kim (our server) was INCREDIBLE!!!!!!! There was a lot of us, and she handled everything like such a pro :) I could not have asked for a better server for my birthday :) :) :)

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on July 14, 2016

Did not stay. Very very loud with at least 6 parties of guests with 6+. Menu was pub food, which would have been fine but could not find a thing we wanted. Were seated under AC blowing on us. We just knew we would not enjoy it.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on July 10, 2016

We had a fun time at the Canoe Brewpub. Service was good as was the food. We went for dinner and were lucky it was nice enough to sit outside. We enjoyed the great view. We will be back!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on July 6, 2016

Spacious high-ceiling restaurant with lots of light and fresh air coming in the windows in the summer. Modern menu with flavorful choices for health-conscious customers. The dishes looked and tasted fresh. I enjoyed sockeye salmon and a beet/kale salad. I like that the restaurant cares about sourcing quality ingredients, especially local ingredients. I greatly appreciated the modestly dressed and intelligent waitstaff. This restaurant is good for all ages.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on July 1, 2016

So easy to book a table online for 8 people with email follow up and option to email the invite to everyone. The hostess was kind and accommodating, letting us scope out the patio before deciding that our reserved table upstairs was perfect for our party. The waitress was friendly, prompt and efficient - she even asked other staff where the best place to view the Canada Day fireworks was for us. Really good experience and will come back for sure.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on June 23, 2016

The four of us each shared two lunch entrees. I had a glass of wine for $8.00
and so did my cousin. We shared a chicken dish and both had salads instead
of fries. We each paid $22.00 for a glass of wine and one entree. Thats 44.00
how crazy is that! The other two guest shared a hamburger and fries and
one had a coffee. With equal billing minus the wine.!!!!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 14, 2016

Great food and wonderful date night with my husband of 34 years.
Fun atmosphere with great music. Thanks for a memorable evening.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 14, 2016

Enjoyed the mussels very much....excellent sauce with outstanding flavour. Rest of the meal somewhat mediocre for a high price. Gluten free menu given for celiac husband which was considerate. Service always good at Canoe Club.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on May 7, 2016

No matter if you are a beer afficionado this place mixes Viktoria chime, historical building, amazing location, and a great ambience. Of all the places in Victoria it's my first stop each time

Report
Helpful
1
2
3

Tweets by Canoe Brewpub