About Canoe

4199 Paces Ferry Road SE
Atlanta, GA 30339
View Larger Map

Canoe is located in Atlanta's historic Vinings area on the Chattahoochee River where Buckhead meets Vinings.
Canoe's beautiful historic riverside setting makes it the perfect spot for weddings, receptions and private celebrations.
Its original cuisine and distinctive design have already been featured in Bon Appetit, Food And Wine, Gourmet, The Wine Spectator and The New York Times. Canoe, recipient of the prestigious Mobil 4 Star Award, was also selected as one of the "Best New Restaurants" in the country by the James Beard Foundation.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American, Fusion / Eclectic

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm. Sunday Brunch: 10:30am - 2:30pm
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 5:30pm - 9:30pm.

Cross Street:
Chattahoochee River / Woodland Brook

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(770) 432-2663

Website:
http://www.canoeatl.com/

Parking Details:
Valet parking is complimentary.

Executive Chef:
Matthew Basford

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Full Bar, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access

Restaurant Photos

  • Canoe, Atlanta, GA
Canoe, Atlanta, GA

Canoe Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.8

ambience

4.8

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Atlanta / Georgia
Scenic View
Atlanta / Georgia
American
Atlanta / Georgia
7 More
Most Booked
Atlanta / Georgia
Best Overall
Atlanta
Best Service
Atlanta
Best Ambiance
Atlanta
Romantic
Atlanta
American
Atlanta
Most Booked
Atlanta
Best Restaurants in Vinings ›

Scenic View (204)
Romantic (194)
Special Occasion (188)
See All
Waterfront (157)
Good for Anniversaries (152)
Great for Outdoor Dining (143)
Good for a Date (142)
Fit for Foodies (119)
Worth the Drive (101)
Notable Wine List (96)
Creative Cuisine (95)
Good for Birthdays (95)
Neighborhood Gem (74)
Great for Brunch (62)
Local Ingredients (59)
Cozy (57)
Quiet Conversation (56)
Great for Lunch (54)
Business Meals (53)
Good for Groups (50)
Bar Seating (44)
Authentic (43)
Fun (41)
Handcrafted Cocktails (34)
Hot Spot (32)
Sunday Lunch (31)
Casual (30)
Healthy (29)
Private Room (24)
Outstanding Value (23)
Seasonal (23)
Historic (22)
People Watching (19)
Late-night Find (18)
Tasting Menu (16)
Happy Hour (16)
Organic (14)
Great Beer (14)
Modern Decor (13)
Pre/post Theatre (13)
Comfort Food (13)
Open Kitchen (12)
Vibrant Bar Scene (11)
Family Style (10)
Disabled Access (9)
Gluten Free Options (9)
Kid-friendly (8)
Fireplace (8)
Good Vegetarian Options (8)
Afternoon Tea (8)
Afternoon Coffee (5)
Wood Oven (5)
Spicy (4)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Tapas (4)
Live Music (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Vegan (2)
Dancing (1)
Sort By:
S
6321 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Amazing food and great ambiance! Rarely ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 2 days ago

Amazing food and great ambiance! Rarely do I find a restaurant where the menu was hard to decide on because I wanted it all. Tried kangaroo and rabbit for the first time and loved them both! Wife had salmon, and you could taste the wood flavors. Unbelievable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Somewhat limited menu but interesting an ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 4 days ago

Somewhat limited menu but interesting and good choices e.g. Kangaroo loin, salmon was slightly undercooked which surprised me at this place, overall very nice choice but pricey

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1
value4

My boss took myself and his 7 other dir ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 4 days ago

My boss took myself and his 7 other direct reports to Canoe for an annual holiday lunch outing. Everyone enjoyed the entire meal from appetizer to dessert and the service was second to none. I'm sure we'll be back next year..absolutely loved Canoe!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Canoe never disappoints. The food is alw ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined 6 days ago

Canoe never disappoints. The food is always wonderful. Our server, I believe her name was Sienna, was very sweet and knowledgeable! We enjoyed her as well as the meal.

We look forward to the next visit!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Hostess greeting was very good made you ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 6 days ago

Hostess greeting was very good made you feel welcome!!!

Food and service great , also the valet parking very prompt and courteous

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Continues to be my favorite restaurant i ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

Continues to be my favorite restaurant in Atlanta. Although the food descriptions are sometimes bewildering, everything is always perfectly prepared and tastes wonderful. Wait staff is very welcoming and extremely knowledgeable about the menu.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Cozy, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Service and food was top notch. Our fav ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 6 days ago

Service and food was top notch. Our favorite Sunday brunch place. If only the sticky buns were calorie free!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was my first time coming to Canoe. ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined 6 days ago

This was my first time coming to Canoe. My kids and I came here after church. The service was awesome and the food was amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Canoe never disappoints. Lovely brunch. ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined 6 days ago

Canoe never disappoints. Lovely brunch. Excellent service by Will.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Canoe had an amazing staff and service. ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 7 days ago

Canoe had an amazing staff and service. From the moment we walked in, to the moment we left, everything was done in detail. They were very attentive to my girlfriends gluten and grain allergy. We were celebrating our 6 month anniversary. Our server, Kaylee, did a phenomenal job taking care of us. In the end, the chef surprised us with a free caramel popcorn ice cream dessert with chocolate sauce that spelled out, "Happy Anniversary." The care and thoughtfulness of the staff is the reason why we will definitely be returning to Canoe.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Gluten Free Options, Fun, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Vegan, Family Style, Authentic, Healthy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service, food was fantastic w exce ...

vip
 (Tulsa)·Dined 7 days ago

Great service, food was fantastic w exception of my fish was very bland - would benefit greatly from seasoning. Only real complaint was valet parking - we were 2nd of 6 couples leaving around same time, yet we were last to get our car. And our car was closest to entrance. Canoe needs to figure out better valet process

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Love love love Canoe. Always make it a ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 7 days ago

Love love love Canoe. Always make it a point to stop here when in the Atlanta area.

Tags: Special Occasion, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My first time at Canoe and it did not di ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 7 days ago

My first time at Canoe and it did not disappoint. The food was great (try the kangaroo and octopus) and the service was even better, out waitress was attentive and knowledgeable and most importantly, not overbearing. It was my wife's birthday and by doing some research I found Canoe. I can see why it is among one of the best restaurants in ATL. Loved the experience and we will definitely be back.

Tags: Waterfront, Great Beer, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great experience, only negative was that ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Great experience, only negative was that waiter got our meal request messed up. Asked for salad dressing on side, it was not and asked to get salad first, then rest of meals, but salad came with my meal.

Tags: Casual, Comfort Food, Open Kitchen, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Excellent hostess at the entrances as we ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Excellent hostess at the entrances as we walked in she knew who we were and said happy anniversary. ..waiter was so very cool, reminded me of the waiters on the cruise ship. Food okay, were just not big on trying different things.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Outstanding! Our server was friendly but ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Outstanding! Our server was friendly but not intrusive and the food was delicious.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went there for our wedding anniversar ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 2, 2016

We went there for our wedding anniversary. This was also our first experience and we will be back. I will say this place had the best service I've ever experienced. The food was unique, locally sourced and full of flavor. I highly recommend you check it out.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Great Beer, Casual, Waterfront, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Romantic, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Historic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Healthy, Authentic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I love this restaurant! The food is amaz ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 29, 2016

I love this restaurant! The food is amazing, the ambiance is extraordinary, and the service is 2nd to none. Great for an anniversary of special occasion.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A beautiful restaurant with a lovely vie ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 28, 2016

A beautiful restaurant with a lovely view of the river. The salmon salad was featured in the AJC newspaper a couple of weeks ago and that is the reason we went to the restaurant. When our salad arrived at our table the fish was over cooked and cold plus the greens were limp. Not at all what I expected.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service4
value1

We were looking for a nice restaurant on ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on November 27, 2016

We were looking for a nice restaurant on the way to the Atlanta airport from the mountains. Canoe knocked it out of the park! The cauliflower soup was the best I've tasted, and our server Will was pitch perfect. The lighting is very low and it is a shame you can't see more of the beautiful river view at night, but we will definitely be back.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was an beautiful restaurant with al ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 27, 2016

This was an beautiful restaurant with all fresh made foods handmade from their kitchen. Ice cream and all. Very exotic dishes with fair prices. A must in warmer weather for outdoor dining. Thanks to waiter Evan.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Waterfront, Neighborhood Gem, Private Room, Cozy, Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Went for a special family dinner and had ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Went for a special family dinner and had a lovely time. My husband said his steak was the best he'd ever had. The salmon appetizer was outstanding. Everyone loved their food. And the service was terrific.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Waterfront, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been to Canoe on several occasio ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 26, 2016

We have been to Canoe on several occasions and have always loved our experience. This time, we took the servers recommendation to try the pork vs our standard favorites. It was melt-off-the-bone good yet not nearly as wonderful as the duck or rabbit. Our other favorite appetizer of salmon and dessert of Carmel popcorn ice cream didn't fail!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

A little pricey so I would recommend it ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 24, 2016

A little pricey so I would recommend it for special occasions. We were not familiar with the area so we were taking a risk when we made reservations. We were very pleased and will return if the opportunity arises

Tags: Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Seasonal, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Best spot in Atlanta by far! Great for a ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Best spot in Atlanta by far!

Great for a date, family dinner and romantic evening.

Tags: Fireplace, Private Room, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic dinner with my husband and par ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Fantastic dinner with my husband and parents. The service was impeccable, and the food was perfect - understated flavors, and not too salty, like many restaurants these days.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best restaurant in ATL

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Best restaurant in ATL

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Been bringing out of town guests here fo ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 21, 2016

Been bringing out of town guests here for years, never dissapounts. We've tried pretty much everything on the menu, but i went for the chicken....I know I know, why try that? Well it was probably the best hicken I have ever had. Crispy skin, so moist snd juicy and flavored very well. Rest of table had salmon, Kung pow squid and kangaroo apetizers...great. dinners were rabbit (awsome) sole and the trout.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This trip to Canoe was good, not great. ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 21, 2016

This trip to Canoe was good, not great. Salmon appetizer was outstanding. Entrees, swordfish and quail were good. Service was slightly less than expected. My wife ordered a glass of wine WITH her dinner (ordered at the same time as her entree was ordered). It was brought half way through the entree. Dessert was very good, although coffee was lukewarm.

Canoe has been absolutely fantastic in the past. I guess everyone has an off night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3

Canoe has been our go to place for many ...

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Canoe has been our go to place for many years. We love the river view and the fabulous service. Our wait person, Deborah, was terrific, attentive and knowledgeable. Family favorites are the rabbit, the monkfish, Pheasant, and Chef's choice. This was our babies' 21st birthday and she insisted it be celebrated at Canoe. We are huge fans of that beautiful place.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Our server, Alvin, was phenomenal. We wi ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Our server, Alvin, was phenomenal. We will definitely recommend Canoe to others and we will return.

Tags: Late-night Find, Waterfront, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was excellent, food wasn't b ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 20, 2016

The service was excellent, food wasn't bad, just different which was a good thing. Prices were ridiculous, booth was not private, noise was too high. Also of note, at lesser restaurants, your birthday desert is comped, even though we were spending over $100 on the meal, I took my girlfriend for her birthday and while they said happy birthday to her, desert was not comped and nothing else was special about it. The gardens were beautiful. Would prefer the option to park myself as valet was the ONLY option. Overall, the experience was pleasant, but much too expansive for what you actually get, and not talking about the amount of food, which was fine, just would expect more from the experience at that level as I have been to many places where I have gotten more. I would revisit for a special occasion, but unlikely for any other reason.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value1

This place came so highly recommended th ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 20, 2016

This place came so highly recommended that I was expecting more. I truly did want to like it more, but I thought it was an okay restaurant. Maybe too much hype...

Tags: Notable Wine List, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

The restaurant remains very nice and the ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 19, 2016

The restaurant remains very nice and the food was as delicious as our previous visit.

This time around however, we didn't feel as well taken care of. Our server was not very knowledgeable about the nightly additions to the menu. We didn't really realize this until we heard another server describing these selections to a table behind us.

Unfortunately, our order was incorrect. Our appetizer was great, we had the smoked duck pastrami salad, which came out split into two portions, one for each of us. Nice touch. My wife ordered the pheasant, and I ordered the trout. When our food came out my wife was presented with pork shank. I heard my wife clearly order the pheasant and the server repeated it, however I suspect by the time she put it in she forgot and put in the wrong thing.

Upon being notified of the error, the server quickly took the pork shank and trout away. We then sat there for 15-20 minutes while the order was re cooked. The food came out and was delicious, but no accommodation was made for us during this unscheduled wait. No amuse bush, no trending cocktail shot... nothing. So detracting points for the mistake and for not really owning it. Sure we got the correct food and will return, but we hope for better service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value5

Sorry, Canoe just didn't live up to its ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Sorry, Canoe just didn't live up to its hype. It was okay, but nothing special. My husband's steak had gristle in it. The vegetables were just okay.

I guess restaurants think it is trendy to offer "weird" food (read: kangaroo, octopus); but I think a really good filet mignon or lobster will beat kangaroo any day of the week.

The service and ambience were great, especially the outside view; but it was too chilly to eat outside. It was somewhat noisy, and it felt crowded. We will go back in the spring so we can enjoy the view.

The only thing I can really rave about was the dessert. The Chocolate Grotto was absolutely wonderful, so at least we left on a happy note.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Very nice date-night experience. Valet, ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Very nice date-night experience. Valet, service was great, food was pretty good...on the expensive side, but good. I would put it in the same category as Rays On The River, just to give you a comparison. Try the kangaroo for you appetizer! Lol

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Our server Tracee was wonderful. Kevin, ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Our server Tracee was wonderful. Kevin, the Beverage Director, is a dear friend and made sure we were made to feel special. Truly a great night.

Tags: Waterfront, Scenic View, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Every moment from entering to exiting wa ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Every moment from entering to exiting was delightful. The food was delicious, and it was fun to have the opportunity to try kangaroo. The waitstaff were very professional and friendly. The wine list was extensive. I would absolutely eat there again.

Tags: Waterfront, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Consistently good food and great service ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 17, 2016

Consistently good food and great service. Canoe doesn't rest on its laurels, even though it could.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Ambience, service, view - unequalled. Fo ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Ambience, service, view - unequalled. Food? Oh my! Fried spring rolls, fried shrimp salad (can't describe, but trust me!!) & popcorn ice cream!!

Yes indeed!! Innovative perfection!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Molecular Gastronomy, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic, Waterfront, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Hot Spot, Scenic View, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.