Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.27mi
  2. Distance: 1.33mi
  3. Distance: 1.34mi
  4. Distance: 1.41mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.27mi
  2. Distance: 1.33mi
  3. Distance: 1.34mi
  4. Distance: 1.41mi

About Canoe

Canoe is located in Atlanta's historic Vinings area on the Chattahoochee River where Buckhead meets Vinings.
Canoe's beautiful historic riverside setting makes it the perfect spot for weddings, receptions and private celebrations.
Its original cuisine and distinctive design have already been featured in Bon Appetit, Food And Wine, Gourmet, The Wine Spectator and The New York Times. Canoe, recipient of the prestigious Mobil 4 Star Award, was also selected as one of the "Best New Restaurants" in the country by the James Beard Foundation.

4199 Paces Ferry Road SE
Atlanta, GA 30339
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American, Fusion / Eclectic

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm. Sunday Brunch: 10:30am - 2:30pm
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 5:30pm - 9:30pm.

Cross Street:
Chattahoochee River / Woodland Brook

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(770) 432-2663

Website:
http://www.canoeatl.com/

Parking Details:
Valet parking is complimentary.

Executive Chef:
Matthew Basford

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Full Bar, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access

Canoe Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.8

ambience

4.8

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (214)
Special Occasion (204)
Scenic View (201)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (197)
Waterfront (197)
Romantic (188)
Worth the Drive (146)
Creative Cuisine (141)
Great for Outdoor Dining (139)
Good for Birthdays (129)
Fit for Foodies (119)
Business Meals (92)
Neighborhood Gem (90)
Cozy (90)
Notable Wine List (84)
Great for Brunch (78)
Great for Lunch (77)
Sunday Lunch (67)
Quiet Conversation (64)
Local Ingredients (62)
Good for Groups (60)
Authentic (53)
Handcrafted Cocktails (47)
Fun (45)
Healthy (41)
Seasonal (36)
Bar Seating (35)
Historic (33)
Casual (33)
Hot Spot (31)
Happy Hour (26)
People Watching (24)
Comfort Food (21)
Open Kitchen (21)
Pre/post Theatre (18)
Tasting Menu (18)
Modern Decor (18)
Private Room (15)
Late-night Find (14)
Outstanding Value (13)
Gluten Free Options (13)
Organic (12)
Vibrant Bar Scene (12)
Wood Oven (11)
Afternoon Tea (9)
Good Vegetarian Options (8)
Fireplace (7)
Great Beer (7)
Paleo Friendly (6)
Family Style (6)
Molecular Gastronomy (5)
Afternoon Coffee (5)
Disabled Access (5)
Kid-friendly (5)
Spicy (5)
Vegan (4)
Live Music (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Live Sports (2)
Tapas (2)
Sort By:
S
7146 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 2 days ago

It was the best dining experience I have ever had. The food was just wonderful and sitting on the patio was gorgeous. Can't wait to go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined 3 days ago

Everything was super delicious and our waitress, Sydney, was really great! Loved this place, will definitely be going back!

Tags: Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

Just fantastic - as always

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 3 days ago

Went there for a graduation a celebration. Lovely wait staff. Tasty menu and the desserts were both beautiful as well as delicious. Thankyou for making the occasion special. Will go back soon to try the lamb.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Waterfront, Healthy, Cozy, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 4 days ago

It was a nice place to eat and enjoy a night out, the food was great,service was good but hard to hear what they was saying because it was so loud. Nice view when you went out side .. I would go back again ...

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 5 days ago

Had a wonderful time, as always. Proper greeting by staff, selection of tables, timely service by all.

However - Was raining and no attendant/valet was available to provide shelter (umbrella?).

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Romantic, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 5 days ago

My wife and I had a great time at Canoe celebrating our wedding anniversary. The staff extremely pleasant from the time we walked in and the service team was very attentive. The food was so fresh and delicious and beautifully presented. They even gave us time to take our wine at the river before our dessert course...SPECIAL! A place to come back to.

Tags: Waterfront, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Casual, Healthy, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 5 days ago

I love Canoe! That's why I recommend it and go there frequently! Staff is great and atmosphere is classy and friendly!

Tags: Comfort Food, Authentic, Cozy, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Texas)·Dined 5 days ago

I have been wanting to eat at CANOE for several years. It did not disappoint. The food was amazing. I had the Halibut and also the popcorn sundae. I was skeptical about the sundae but it tastes similar to butter pecan and caramel ice cream and was delicious. They have the most amazing bread selection that is baked daily. Try the sourdough with Kalamata olives. It was amazing. I will go back to Canoe the next time I am in Atlanta. The service was excellent and so was the overall experience.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Business Meals, Waterfront, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined 6 days ago

Excellent hidden gem! Went for dinner and then back at lunch to see it in the daylight. Beitiful relaxing place with great food.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 6 days ago

Actually quite affordable for the surroundings, food, and service. That delicious bread basket couldn't come around too often for us. Fried shrimp salad was out of sight with loads of lightly battered morsels and crunchy, fresh slaw beneath. The chocolate dome dessert was very rich.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined 6 days ago

A great meal while in Atlanta for vacation. We were looking for a nice place for dinner prior to catching a Braves game, and stumbled upon Canoe. Set right on the Chattahoochee river, the restaurant offers an amazing view with manicured gardens, outdoor bar, their own local vegetable garden & outdoor reception areas. The food was a bit pricey, but worth it due to local & seasonal ingredients & everything being cooked fresh & made to order in house. Will definitely return on my next trip to ATL!

Tags: Authentic, Good for Groups, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Savannah)·Dined 7 days ago

Service was great - had a party of 11; food was awesome!

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Waterfront, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Ordinarily we love Canoe, but we definitely had an off night. We were seated on the patio while a wedding reception band was playing. Too loud! Not a great place to enjoy the serenity of the river and gardens. Seem to have an off night in the kitchen as well. Strped bass not flavored well and the popcorn on their famous popcorn Sunday was extremely hard. In general, the current menu is fish heavy. Would love to see more variety.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Canoe is always excellent - service, food and atmosphere. Make sure you take a stroll out back after you eat. The Chattahoochee River meanders by as you walk among the grass and trees. there was a wedding reception going strong in one of the outdoor tents. My 13-year old was accommodated with a smaller steak option.

Tags: Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Awesome dining experience!!!
Great service and spectacular menu options

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Nice everything! The view is amazing. The staff was super friendly. The food was good. Although, for the price I have had way better steaks. The kangaroo was awesome. The drinks..... now they are reason enough to pay a visit. The cocktails are amazing.

Tags: Business Meals, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Cozy, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Great brunch by the river. The outdoor patio seating is wonderful. The food is very good, and the service is solid. Really likes the salmon egg Benedict and the chicken

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 21, 2017

I visited Canoe for brunch on a Sunday afternoon and everything was fantastic from the service to the food, I ordered the Riverside (which was bacon, scrambled eggs, potatoes and french toast with fruit on top). I will definitely come back as it was a great experience.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 21, 2017

This was by far the best date night we have ever had!!! We will be going here again!!!

Tags: Authentic, Healthy, Good for Groups, Cozy, Waterfront, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 20, 2017

So darn good!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 20, 2017

By far, this is the best place in Atlanta. We have lived in Atlanta since 1986.

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Tasting Menu, Great Beer, Casual, Sunday Lunch, Scenic View, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Canoe continues to surprise me with innovative cuisine that always proves to be delicious. I ordered their goat special and it was amazing. Incredibly tender, juicy and no gaminess at all. I'd love to see it on their menu again. Make sure to enjoy the home made bread service. Super yummy. Service is consistently pleasant and professional.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Waterfront, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Have loved this place for years. It never disappoints.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Great service, food was very tasteful

Tags: Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Great food, great service, nice atmosphere, overall a great dining experience.

Tags: Happy Hour, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Fun, People Watching, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Excellent food with great service. Try the rabbit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Loved the outside area and live music. Beautiful scenery! I wasn't blown away by the food but it was good. I ordered the pasta and the portion was large so it was worth the value. It did come out a little cold and the service was a little slow for my liking. I would definitely come back though and would love to try brunch.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Canoe is the best restaurant in Atlanta. The food is outstanding, the service is fantastic, and they have the most unique setting/ambiance in the city. We went for a family birthday and it was a perfect evening from start to finish.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on May 17, 2017

As always the menu included a range of selections, with each of our meals expertly prepared. You can't beat the view over the river and the ambiance of the dining room. And particularly special was our server Josh who is knowledgeable about both the food and the wine, is friendly and helpful, and doesn't rush his diners. All in all a quality restaurant great for special occasions or a typical lunch or dinner.

Tags: Authentic, Worth the Drive, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 16, 2017

25th wedding anniversary-very delightful dining experience. Even brought a special dessert it was a nice touch. Lots of game on the menu and very different cuisine. Not for the faint of heart or very picky eaters. We've gone here a number of times over the decades and we still enjoy it very much. Very peaceful and serene setting outside along the river. Service was excellent

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 16, 2017

I always love going to Canoe. It's more than just dining. It's an adventure. We love to get new menu items--things we havent tried before. It's a lot of fun. My family members are foodies. We cook at home quite often, but when we want a special treat, we go to Canoe. Great service, great food, great wine and cocktails. They make the BEST Manhattan!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Casual, Happy Hour, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Gluten Free Options, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 16, 2017

This was one of my most incredible dining experiences EVER!

Tags: Open Kitchen, Sunday Lunch, Paleo Friendly, Fit for Foodies, Wood Oven, Family Style, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Afternoon Coffee, Vegan, Tasting Menu, Healthy, People Watching, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 16, 2017

Canoe was amazing!!! We sat at the bar and our bartender Thomas was very social and attentive.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Went for our wedding anniversary and Canoe did not disappoint!! The food, staff and drinks were all exceptional. Our waiter Alvin was very pleasant and informative on the menu. would absolutely go back again.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Romantic, Waterfront, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Our service was excellent and the food was delicious. The setting in a bend of the Chattahoochee River gives Canoe a river camp feel and ample space to be outdoors.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Waterfront, Private Room, Happy Hour, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Birthday! Brian took good care of us! Told us about the specials and was very attentive! Food was excellent!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Cozy, Gluten Free Options, Waterfront, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Great service, food, and view.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Today was my boyfriends 30th birthday! I love that our server very knowledgeable. He made great suggestions, and even got us to try the kangaroo! Overall it was a pleasant dining experience and we will definitely be back.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Ambiance was immaculate and the service was spectacular....So many different options offered for suddle things.....Simply Great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.