About CANNELLA'S Restaurant Lounge

Established in 1978, Cannella’s was built on the love of food, family and friends. Joe and Missy created a charming tiny space where all the amazing meals Joe enjoyed as a child became the menu. Cannella’s has always been a place of warmth, integrity and great food served generously at affordable prices, thanks to the vision of its founder, Joe Cannella. With the addition of the bar and lounge in 2007, Cannella’s added a new dimension, bringing a nightly eclectic bar scene together with the warmth of the family business to create the freshest supper club in the city. We rock the best playlist in town, mix strong specialty cocktails and inspire everyone to have a good time. Cozy, comfortable and familiar, Cannella’s is the kind of place where you meet friends for life. Our staff, customers and quality food make it a rare dining experience that makes you look forward to your next visit.

204 E. 500 S.
Salt Lake City, UT 84111
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 4:00pm, Sunday: 12:00pm - 4:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thurday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(801) 355-8518

Website:
http://cannellas.com/

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

CANNELLA'S Restaurant Lounge Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (11)
Special Occasion (11)
Romantic (10)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (10)
Pre/post Theatre (10)
Cozy (9)
Comfort Food (8)
Good for a Date (8)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Fun (7)
Outstanding Value (6)
Casual (6)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Worth the Drive (6)
Good for Groups (5)
Business Meals (5)
Authentic (5)
Bar Seating (5)
Notable Wine List (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Historic (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Great Beer (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
People Watching (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Private Room (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Family Style (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Vegan (1)
Healthy (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
172 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The food and service here are always exc ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 1, 2017

The food and service here are always excellent. Everything always tastes fresh, and the wine menu offers some good Italian options. We love the cozy atmosphere.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, , Notable Wine List, Cozy, Bar Seating, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful service, great food. Cannellas ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Wonderful service, great food. Cannellas always nails it.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Paleo Friendly, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The menu changed from the last time we w ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 23, 2016

The menu changed from the last time we were there and wish some of the old favorites were still there. Or the way they use to be made.

Tags: Comfort Food, Cozy, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value3

Love Canellas! Food service was a bit sl ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Love Canellas! Food service was a bit slow, but that's to be expected for a Friday night. Appetizers are great, dinner meal was amazing. Can't wait to come back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love this place. My wife go here all the ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Love this place. My wife go here all the time and the food is always great.

Tags: Disabled Access, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We had a Christmas dinner for 8, sat dow ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 10, 2016

We had a Christmas dinner for 8, sat downstairs, service was great, food was decent, all in all it was a good experience. No complaints.

Tags: Private Room, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great place, friendly staff. The soup wa ...

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Great place, friendly staff. The soup was amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food with great service. Good for ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Good food with great service. Good for vegetarian/carnivore mixed group.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The waiter was very nice! The hostess wa ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 1, 2016

The waiter was very nice! The hostess was friendly and funny as well. The food was delicious and I would definitely go back!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great service and a nice casual vibe. It ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Great service and a nice casual vibe. It's quiet enough to enjoy the company that you are dining with.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Quick Bite, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Had a party going on, noise level was un ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Had a party going on, noise level was unbelieveable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

We just love Cannella's and have for yea ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on November 12, 2016

We just love Cannella's and have for years. We can always count on good food and great owners.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was pretty good although the portio ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Food was pretty good although the portion of proteins in the pasta dishes was pretty low for my wifes dish - pork papparadlle - just ok on my chicken carbonara for portions. Server was super slow on getting our wine going, didn't know the menu in a deep way, would disappear and had a strange service style. Nice atmosphere - better once you are inside than it appears from the street.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

Mia was awesome! I was very impressed wi ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on November 8, 2016

Mia was awesome! I was very impressed with the service. The food was really good, and what I had, I want the recipe. I would recommend this place to others.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Cannella's is hands down my favorite res ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Cannella's is hands down my favorite restaurant in Salt Lake City. The food is delicious, the drinks are tasty, and the staff are very friendly.

Tags: Romantic, Fun, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Cannella's is consistently solid. You wi ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Cannella's is consistently solid. You will not disappointed. Great food. Excellent service. (Kat is on it!) Great bartenders.

Gets a little loud if you are looking for something more quiet or wait until after 8:30 on weekends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Fabulous as always! An easy choice when ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Fabulous as always! An easy choice when going downtown. I always know the food is going to be delicious. The prices are reasonable and the service is always friendly!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very great experience! The waitress and ...

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on October 20, 2016

Very great experience! The waitress and the chef were very accommodating to my vegan diet and made sure everything o ordered was vegan friendly. Great environment!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Being at a trade show in a city we had n ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on October 18, 2016

Being at a trade show in a city we had not been at I searched local restaurants in SLC. This one seemed a good spot on a Monday Night to have dinner after show set up. Delightful location, building, service and food/drink. We like to try places that are not chain establishments and this one was truly a delight. Not far from downtown, made reservation thru Open Table. Fortunate they had an opening. So happy when people invest their time and energy to good success!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, , Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Super casual Italian. The food was aver ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on October 17, 2016

Super casual Italian. The food was average

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

Canellas is a great restaurant if you're ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Canellas is a great restaurant if you're looking for a good price on great food. It's a small restaurant that should have more attention than it does.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

We went to Cannella's when when we were ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 25, 2016

We went to Cannella's when when we were in Salt Lake City to visit our son. We each had a great cocktail before dinner and then a wonderful meal with a nice bottle of wine. Since. It was a cold rainy night we all went for a different pasta entree (lasagne, veal, seafood) and split an order of mussels/clams for an appetizer. Everything was super delicious and when the bill came, we were pleasantly surprised at how reasonable the cost was. I would definitely recommend Cannella's - they have a great play list for background music too.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Hot Spot, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

All around, it was a great experience. W ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on September 25, 2016

All around, it was a great experience. We'll go back soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was delicious, the service was ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on September 23, 2016

The food was delicious, the service was a little bit slow. It wasn't a super busy night, but it did take quite a while to get food. Not a big deal and I didn't mind because I wasn't in a hurry, but it might be something to consider.

My friend ordered one of the Alcoholic Gelato desserts, and said it was to die for; if you're looking for something delicious try one of those.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Wonderful Italian food. Good ambiance fo ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on September 23, 2016

Wonderful Italian food. Good ambiance for low key dining

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Business Meals, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Comfortable dinning room. Good for excel ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on September 9, 2016

Comfortable dinning room. Good for excellent Italian food and conversation. The wait staff was helpful, and on hand when needed. A good place for either lunch or dinner. We will be returning.

Tags: , Business Meals, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

the restaurant had just been vandalized. ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on September 7, 2016

the restaurant had just been vandalized. all windows had been broken by an angry customer. everything was boarded up with sheet of plywood. if you think it's not fair to offer a review because "they had no control over the person who broke all the windows." then you need to consider this...they decided to stay open instead of closing for repairs. they provided the customers with an experience of dinning in what smelled like the lumber section of a home depot, not to mention the staff let the customers know that this is a place that gets vandalized. the take away from this review is basically how the management fells about their customers which is to the effect of "we are willing to let you know that someone hates us enough to destroy the place, and we are willing to let you dine in the aftermath."

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Food and atmosphere was fantastic. Servi ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on September 6, 2016

Food and atmosphere was fantastic. Service was very good

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and service at Cannella's is co ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on August 29, 2016

The food and service at Cannella's is consistently good and the food is always very flavorful. We will definitely go back.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Family Style, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is my go to restaurant!

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on August 28, 2016

This is my go to restaurant!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

I love to go to Cannella's before a conc ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on August 20, 2016

I love to go to Cannella's before a concert or event. They always have the most wonderful people working there who understand you need to get out of there at a certain time. They always recommend the right food for the event or your mood. I love the bruschetta, garlic bread with prosciutto, gnocchi (parmesan or pesto with sausage), the seafood marinara, the Italian or chopped salad, the cannoli's and the chocolate beet cake. We never go to Cannella's where we don't have the best time. HOWEVER, I'm pretty upset they've changed the menu so you cannot order the Italo Pietrantonj Montepulciano D'Abuzzo by glass.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Tapas, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, , Authentic, Good for a Date, Cozy, Romantic, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Mia is the best!!! Always fun, celebrate ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on August 11, 2016

Mia is the best!!! Always fun, celebrated a friends Birthday.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Joey and his staff were awesome people. ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on August 11, 2016

Joey and his staff were awesome people. They were all so the was really good and we cleared our plates 😃

We even went to their bar for a drink with Joey and his team.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food and fast waiters. It was a bi ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on July 31, 2016

Great food and fast waiters. It was a bit noisy with some larger groups inside but not too bad..

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

They had live music that was way too lou ...

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on July 10, 2016

They had live music that was way too loud! It was very distracting and took away from the conversation I was having with my partner. I will not go on Sundays in the future.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

Third time at Cannella's and I have trie ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 3, 2016

Third time at Cannella's and I have tried something different every time (Pizza this time) and everything is great. Went for the wife's Birthday and had a wonderful time.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The staff at Canellas was very friendly, ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on July 3, 2016

The staff at Canellas was very friendly, helpful with the menu and highly efficient. The food was excellent as well.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved little restaurant. Came here on a ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on July 2, 2016

Loved little restaurant. Came here on a date with the hubby and it set the romantic mood the entire night. The food and atmosphere were intoxicating. I recommend it and can't wait to go back for some more of their lasagna and chicken carbonara.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Was extremely please with Cannella's and ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on July 2, 2016

Was extremely please with Cannella's and the service that we received. Our waitress (forgot the name but she had pink in her hair) was wonderful and very helpful but not overbearing. I will definitely be returning and recommending this place to my friends and family.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great meal, great service as always!

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on July 2, 2016

Great meal, great service as always!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.