About CANNELLA'S Restaurant Lounge

Established in 1978, Cannella’s was built on the love of food, family and friends. Joe and Missy created a charming tiny space where all the amazing meals Joe enjoyed as a child became the menu. Cannella’s has always been a place of warmth, integrity and great food served generously at affordable prices, thanks to the vision of its founder, Joe Cannella. With the addition of the bar and lounge in 2007, Cannella’s added a new dimension, bringing a nightly eclectic bar scene together with the warmth of the family business to create the freshest supper club in the city. We rock the best playlist in town, mix strong specialty cocktails and inspire everyone to have a good time. Cozy, comfortable and familiar, Cannella’s is the kind of place where you meet friends for life. Our staff, customers and quality food make it a rare dining experience that makes you look forward to your next visit.

204 E. 500 S.
Salt Lake City, UT 84111
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 4:00pm, Sunday: 12:00pm - 4:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thurday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(801) 355-8518

Website:
http://cannellas.com/

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

CANNELLA'S Restaurant Lounge Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.3

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (14)
Casual (13)
Good for Groups (10)
See All
Authentic (10)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Local Ingredients (9)
Special Occasion (9)
Romantic (8)
Bar Seating (7)
Fun (7)
Comfort Food (6)
Good for Anniversaries (6)
People Watching (6)
Cozy (6)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Business Meals (5)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Notable Wine List (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Great Beer (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Scenic View (2)
Seasonal (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Vegan (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Live Music (1)
Live Sports (1)
Organic (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
232 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 18, 2017

Fantastic food and dining experience. Great setting and highly recommend.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 17, 2017

One of our favorite date night spots! Never disappoints.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Special Occasion, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on September 15, 2017

I was so impressed with this restaurant! The service was just great, the food was even better , the menu options were great. And it was a REALLY great price! Highly recommend this establishment for any reason you can think of to get there. Go , try it and love it as much as I did!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Casual, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Vegan, Authentic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on September 12, 2017

It was our anniversary :) food was delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 23, 2017

Been here so many times and the food, service and drinks are always great! Of course we will be back for another wonderful meal!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Great Beer, Disabled Access, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on August 20, 2017

My husband and I came here for a dinner before a play. We shared the antipasti plate, risotto cakes and the Marsala chicken. All three things were okay but nothing to go again for. The antipasti plate was the best thing we had. The chicken in the chicken Marsala was cooked perfectly but the mushrooms were almost absent and the sauce was almost inedible. It was disgusting! The service was fantastic though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
·Dined on August 20, 2017

Our favourite SLCoLibrary restaurant / fresh ingredients friendly service we love Cannellas!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Local Ingredients, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
·Dined on August 16, 2017

Wonderful Italian food and great service with beautiful smiles. We will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Always great food, authentic Italian, one of the few places to find braciole on a menu.

Tags: Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on August 12, 2017

We tried this place one night when our plans changed. Our server was great. He was friendly and attentive. Our soups and salads were good. Some of our entrees were nice, others were just okay. I didn't love my wine, but it was fine. The music was turned up part-way through our meal and we found ourselves needing to get very loud to continue talking. Fine experience, but wouldn't be my first choice in the future.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on July 23, 2017

We were seated in the downstairs area, smelled a little like moth balls but food was fantastic after a long day of travel

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Love it! Been coming here for over 20 years and hope to for another 20!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Was looking for a place for some Italian for dinner, but it was Sat. night and I hadn't made a reservation, so "good luck!" Found this place on Google, reviews looked good, Open Table said they had room so what the heck. Chicken parmigiana was very good with pasta, and the Barbera rounded it out nicely. I especially liked the fact that the chicken was moist but firm, not dry or greasy like in some places I've eaten. Makes me hungry just thinking about it! Staff was very friendly and service well played. Recommended for casual dining.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on July 9, 2017

Can't say enough about how much we love Cannella's ! I love the house salad and dressing and the Spaghetti and homemade gigantic meatball. My husband always gets the Alberto's Lasagna
yellow and red pepper puree with a balsamic drizzle on top. The chopped salad is amazing too. If you have any room left order the chocolate beet cake! YUMMY!!!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Disabled Access, Paleo Friendly, Authentic, Good for Groups, Vegan, Late-night Find, Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good Vegetarian Options, Happy Hour, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Great Beer, Comfort Food, Live Music, People Watching, Seasonal, Healthy, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Live Sports, Romantic, Organic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 30, 2017

The food is very bland

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 28, 2017

My moms birthday. It's was great

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Fun, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 28, 2017

I don't know the number of times my wife and I have come to Cannella's but the food and the service is so good. I think I have tried everything on the menu now and love it all.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Always a favorite. The perfect local environment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Service was horrible waited 15 min for drinks and waited another 30 min for waiter to come around to take our order we decided to just ask for the Check gave the waiter the card and he never brought it Back and just left the bill and card on the counter will never come back to this place and will not recommend to anyone unless you like microwaved food and waiting an hour for your food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Came here for dinner with friends and we sat in the private room downstairs which was very nice. Our server was spectacular and very attentive despite it being a busy friday night. The food was good the drinks were great but the standout was the service. Will definitely be back.

Tags: Romantic, Great Beer, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on June 15, 2017

Good food, well prepared. Prompt service. Nice ambience.

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 11, 2017

It was a Sunday evening, had gotten into Salt Lake City late and the hotel's said there would be nothing open. However a check of eating places and this one popped up. We called, made a reservation but when we got there found the traffic was extremely light there were only two other people in the restaurant. It was about 12 to 15 minutes away from our hotel and definitely worth the drive. Certainly not five-star Cuisine but definitely worth the effort.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Frequent Diner. Service and food are always consistently good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on June 9, 2017

We went to Cannella's in Friday and had a great meal. The highlight was the mussels and clams with garlic bread. My mouth is watering just thinking about it! I had the papardelle Bolognese which was rich but mildly flavored. My husband had a bbq chicken pizza...not Italian but he enjoyed it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 8, 2017

Great food

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on June 7, 2017

authentic NY-style Italian restaurant. Good food and good service

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on May 19, 2017

The service and food were fantastic!! Will definitely be back!!

Tags: Casual, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Great Italian food at Cannella's. We sat on the small outdoor patio. The Italian salad is always good either as an meal or can be ordered as your side dish. Pastas were unique and tasty. The service was very good as well.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, People Watching, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on May 6, 2017

First couple times the food was pretty good, however these last two times not as good and this last time had to send uncooked food back and still got charged.
Great atmosphere and drinks, friendly staff.
Hoping next time will b better.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Super friendly and helpful staff - good food for a good price.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on April 9, 2017

We have spent several occasions there and it's one of our favorites.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on April 6, 2017

Our food was great and loved the ambience. Will definitely be back to try more of the pasta dishes.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Disabled Access, Bar Seating, Kid-friendly, Vegan, Gluten Free Options, Local Ingredients, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on April 1, 2017

I have to tell that the place looks very cute, the staff, pretty decent, but the food was nothing special in my opinion. i was expecting something better.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Food was awesome, we enjoyed the antipasto immensely! The blueberry goat cheese was fabulous! Our dining experience was very nice. Easy to talk and relax. Loved the area downstairs as well. Am interested in it for a group event!! Oh and thank you so much for doing zoodles!!! That was the reason we came to Cannella's initially. They aren't offered anywhere else and I can't have pasta! Did the Seafood with the zoodles and OMG, amazing!! The lobster ravioli was very well executed as was the gnocchi! Thanks for a great food experience!!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Meat lasagna was fabulous.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Our server was amazing!!!!! And we love the food here. Very consistent.

Tags: Comfort Food, Cozy, Kid-friendly, Gluten Free Options, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Overall the food was good and the decor was very comfortable.

Tags: Cozy, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Great Beer, Good for Groups, Casual, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on March 4, 2017

It was our first time visiting this restaurant. It was great. We really enjoyed our server, Brooklyn and the food!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on March 4, 2017

I keep going back here because the food is amazing. But as much as I tell myself I'll try something new (I always get dish envy), I keep going back to the traditional lasagna. Simply delicious.

The food is also a good value for what you get.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 20, 2017

The last time I was at Cannela's I remember thoroughly enjoying my meal...that was about 3 years ago. This time unfortunately I felt the food was fair at best. I had the bolognese and the sauce was not flavorful and the noodles were just not tasty. Service was ok. Wine was good. I don't think I'll be running back with better Italian options out there.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.