About CANNELLA'S Restaurant Lounge

Established in 1978, Cannella’s was built on the love of food, family and friends. Joe and Missy created a charming tiny space where all the amazing meals Joe enjoyed as a child became the menu. Cannella’s has always been a place of warmth, integrity and great food served generously at affordable prices, thanks to the vision of its founder, Joe Cannella. With the addition of the bar and lounge in 2007, Cannella’s added a new dimension, bringing a nightly eclectic bar scene together with the warmth of the family business to create the freshest supper club in the city. We rock the best playlist in town, mix strong specialty cocktails and inspire everyone to have a good time. Cozy, comfortable and familiar, Cannella’s is the kind of place where you meet friends for life. Our staff, customers and quality food make it a rare dining experience that makes you look forward to your next visit.

204 E. 500 S.
Salt Lake City, UT 84111
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 4:00pm, Sunday: 12:00pm - 4:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thurday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(801) 355-8518

Website:
http://cannellas.com/

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

CANNELLA'S Restaurant Lounge Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.2

value

4.3

Noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (16)
Good for Anniversaries (10)
Bar Seating (10)
See All
Casual (10)
Comfort Food (10)
Cozy (10)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Authentic (10)
Good for Groups (6)
Fun (6)
Special Occasion (6)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Romantic (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Notable Wine List (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Tasting Menu (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
People Watching (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Business Meals (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Great Beer (1)
Live Sports (1)
Organic (1)
Spicy (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort by
S
268 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 11, 2018

Burnt food. There were 2 of us dining - both plates were burnt.
We had a reservation at 5 and upon arriving the doors were locked. People came after us when the door was unlocked and stood waiting to be seated although the place was empty. One waiter came to take my plate half way through my meal even though he asked if I was still working on it. Maybe trying to hard to be urban and neglecting good service. All eyes were upon their selves. A toddler must of said hi to the server fives times only to be ignored.
Last time we will visit there.
At a ticket of 60 dollars plus tip - the food was unapt.

Tags: Spicy, Happy Hour, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 10, 2018

Love this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 2, 2018

Because I had made reservations on line, we were immediately seated as we walked in. Service was wonderful as was the food.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 1, 2018

Always a small member of the family feel

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 19, 2018

Or only negative part of the experience was that our table was directly across from the bar and was in the middle of all of the traffic.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Casual, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 13, 2018

When we arrived for our reservation they told us the kitchen was closed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 13, 2018

Our most recent visit was among our best experiences ever at Cannella's, and re-affirmed our belief that they are our favorite Italian restaurant in Utah. Everything was wonderful, including the chocolate beet cake we took home to enjoy the following morning with coffee.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Authentic, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 12, 2018

menu items unavailable, waitstaff very casual, cocktail watery, food mediocre.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 12, 2018

Excellent neighborhood Italian

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 5, 2018

I hate to say anything negative about a restaurant; after all, tastes are subjective. And I noted that this restaurant--while by no means full on a Friday night--wasn't lacking customers, so please keep that in mind when considering this review. But, other than for the pleasant service, this just wasn't the place for me and my wife. To begin with, I had the minestrone soup, expecting rich flavors, but I felt the taste was weak. Then I had Alberto's Meat Lasagna and was looking forward to plenty of tomato sauce-based deliciousness, but it apparently was not tomato-based. I am aware that lasagna can be made without tomato sauce, but it didn't seem cream sauce-based or anything else that would add particular flavor to it, so, although it looked nice, I was left decidedly unsatisfied. My wife had the seafood marinara, which was better. However, Cannella's website also boasts of "great food served generously at affordable prices". While, again, "great" is subjective, portion sizes were quite average, and we paid $17 and $19 respectively. I can think of a number of restaurants that I don't consider bargains but have very good (and even exceptional) food at prices decidedly lower than those.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 5, 2018

Cannella’s was a very nice little restaurant on the corner with parking out back. The food was very good. We enjoyed the pasta, gnocchi, and soup. They do not give bread before the meal. We like bread at Italian restaurants. The metal chairs are cold and hard. The booth side is nice and comfortable. We would go again for the food and pleasant ambiance.

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 31, 2017

We've always loved the food and ambiance here and this time was no different. The only slight issue was the service was a bit lacking but it was New Year's Eve so perhaps they were a bit frantic.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 20, 2017

Fantastic! Lunch with a friend who now lives out of town. They allowed to just sit and chat well past their lunch hours! Appreciated thy so much!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 16, 2017

This was my second time to Cannella's and it was just as fabulous as the first time. We met a good friend for dinner and ate, drank and talked for 3 hours. The food was fantastic and the wait staff so attentive. Definitely will be going back again.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining, Business Meals, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 16, 2017

Indicated special occasion in advance. Seated by kitchen entrance. Antipasto board must have been in high demand - kept trying to take the board. Bolognese was like hamburger soup. Some other dishes were good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 15, 2017

Overall service was good. The hostess was very unfriendly and to the point of being very rude. I will not be back because of her.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 13, 2017

Fabulous food, everything I have ever tried has been so tasty. Especially the house salad and dressing, lasagna and the turkey tetrazzini. Highly recommend Canellas for great food, excellent service and a friendly, locals atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 2, 2017

This is our second time here and we love this place. We have sat in a booth in the bar both times and it has a totally different feel then other SLC restaurants. The staff is great, the food is great, and the atmosphere is very relaxed. It's just a couple of blocks from down town but a munched better value with most entres being about $15 and they come with a salad. We will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 1, 2017

Amazing food, great service. It was a bit noisy, but the table next to us was just a bit rowdy in general.

Tags: People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on November 25, 2017

CANNELLA’S is our go to place for family dinner. I can honestly say, I’ve never had a bad experience there. Food is always good, and service is always fantastic.

Tags: Fun, Great for Lunch, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on November 24, 2017

Great place to dine with friends!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on November 11, 2017

As always, the food and wine were outstanding, and reasonably priced. This is perhaps our favorite Italian restaurant. Reservations are highly recommended. There were three large groups dining while we were there, so the noise level was much higher than usual. For future visits, we plan on requesting a table on the bar side of the restaurant.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on November 11, 2017

Went here on a date with my boyfriend and loved the atmosphere! I got the tortellini dish and I think it was some of the best I've ever tried. Nice and cozy place to dine! Loved the fact that I could make a reservation to ensure a table

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Fun, Live Sports, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Organic, Casual, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on November 9, 2017

First time we tried Cannella's, came highly recommended by friends. Was not disappointed, very good food, great service, lovely wine. Looking forward to going again and trying other items on the menu!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 8, 2017

very good Italian food. A lot of choices including interesting pizzas.

Tags: Comfort Food, Authentic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on October 31, 2017

We always enjoy dining at Cannellas, the service is excellent, the food is extremely tasty and reasonably priced. It's a place we enjoy and have never been disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 19, 2017

This is not our first time here with family from out of town. For the first time the service was a little slow (big party down stairs), but the food was great like always. This is one we continue to come back to because of the price and the food.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Bar Seating, Gluten Free Options, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on October 12, 2017

First time here. Great Italian food. Loved the Eggplant Parmesan. Hard to find restaurants that have this. Had a party of 8 and service was wonderful. Pricing is very reasonable. I have spent over twice for a good Italian dinner and this was better. Will come again. Want to try lunch there some time.

Tags: Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 11, 2017

Great gnocchi and pizza. Good service. Nice ambiance. Good menus options. I’ll be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 6, 2017

Is it a fancy place for a business dinner? Definitely no. But was it a good place on a Friday night to get together with a couple of friends? No question. Food was solid, not standout but good. Service was quirky and pleasant. Will we go back? Probably so.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on October 3, 2017

Go with the gnocchi. Enjoy a Peroni. And follow them with a cup of their local coffee.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on September 30, 2017

Superb. The entire staff was great. Very much enjoyed it and will be going back. Thanks to Alexis for great service!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on September 27, 2017

First off, we were seated in the bar, which is not conducive to conversations as the tables are awkward and fixed to the floor. Its like we were talking sideways to one another.
Food was flat and service ok
When I asked why were were seated there, I was told it was the servers choice.
whatever, we won't go back...clients choice

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value2

 
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on September 26, 2017

We were disappointed that this was not a spectacular Italian restaurant. The decour and ambience is typical of what you would hope for, with the notable exception of no tablecloths. The food was only fair to not do fair. We've never been to an Italian restaurant where they didn't serve a loaf of amazing Italian bread. I had the meatloaf lasagna which was not nearly as good as Stouffers. My wife had seafood pasta which was also just ordinary. Don't get your hopes up - Tony soprano would have been tough to control.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Fantastic food and dining experience. Great setting and highly recommend.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 16, 2017

One of our favorite date night spots! Never disappoints.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Special Occasion, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on September 14, 2017

I was so impressed with this restaurant! The service was just great, the food was even better , the menu options were great. And it was a REALLY great price! Highly recommend this establishment for any reason you can think of to get there. Go , try it and love it as much as I did!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Casual, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Vegan, Authentic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on September 11, 2017

It was our anniversary :) food was delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 22, 2017

Been here so many times and the food, service and drinks are always great! Of course we will be back for another wonderful meal!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Great Beer, Disabled Access, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on August 19, 2017

My husband and I came here for a dinner before a play. We shared the antipasti plate, risotto cakes and the Marsala chicken. All three things were okay but nothing to go again for. The antipasti plate was the best thing we had. The chicken in the chicken Marsala was cooked perfectly but the mushrooms were almost absent and the sauce was almost inedible. It was disgusting! The service was fantastic though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.