CANNELLA'S Restaurant Lounge

4.4
271 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Italian
Top Tags:
  • Neighborhood Gem
  • Romantic
  • Special Occasion

Similar Restaurants

About

Established in 1978, Cannella’s was built on the love of food, family and friends. Joe and Missy created a charming tiny space where all the amazing meals Joe enjoyed as a child became the menu. Cannella’s has always been a place of warmth, integrity and great food served generously at affordable prices, thanks to the vision of its founder, Joe Cannella. With the addition of the bar and lounge in 2007, Cannella’s added a new dimension, bringing a nightly eclectic bar scene together with the warmth of the family business to create the freshest supper club in the city. We rock the best playlist in town, mix strong specialty cocktails and inspire everyone to have a good time. Cozy, comfortable and familiar, Cannella’s is the kind of place where you meet friends for life. Our staff, customers and quality food make it a rare dining experience that makes you look forward to your next visit.
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Italian
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 4:00pm, Sunday: 12:00pm - 4:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thurday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(801) 355-8518
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Business Casual
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wine
What 271 People Are SayingWrite a review
Overall ratings and reviews
4.4based on all time ratings
4.3
food
4.3
service
4.2
ambience
4.3
value
Noise · Moderate
92% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
3.0Dined on March 5, 2018

Menu options as advertised on open table were not available. Menu is much smaller than presented. Our food was cold when delivered but our waitress was great about having meal reheated to a level that was edible. Food was okay for the price. Nothing special. Went for husbands 50th birthday celebration and noted it on reservation request. It was not acknowledged and would probably look for a different experience for future special occasions.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 1, 2018

Checked the reviews for Italian restaurants close to our hotel downtown Salt Lake City. We prefer neighborhood and local establishments. This one looked the most authentic, cozy and within reason for a dinner out after a long day of driving. Loved the food, wine ambiance and relaxed setting. Our server was very interesting and engaging. I'm Italian American and am fussy about dining out for Italian food. Great spaghetti and meatballs (new sauce recipe we were told), wine and dessert! Loved it.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on February 25, 2018

Staff was very nice and good and drinks were very prompt. Parking is limited which can be frustrating. The loss of starts really comes from the food. Portions were small. We had the chicken Marsala and Alfredo pasta. Chicken was not bad but very small portioned. Alfredo pasta was very bland. It had more cream than cheese. I was really unimpressed with the food.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on February 11, 2018

Burnt food. There were 2 of us dining - both plates were burnt.
We had a reservation at 5 and upon arriving the doors were locked. People came after us when the door was unlocked and stood waiting to be seated although the place was empty. One waiter came to take my plate half way through my meal even though he asked if I was still working on it. Maybe trying to hard to be urban and neglecting good service. All eyes were upon their selves. A toddler must of said hi to the server fives times only to be ignored.
Last time we will visit there.
At a ticket of 60 dollars plus tip - the food was unapt.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 10, 2018

Love this place.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 2, 2018

Because I had made reservations on line, we were immediately seated as we walked in. Service was wonderful as was the food.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 1, 2018

Always a small member of the family feel

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 19, 2018

Or only negative part of the experience was that our table was directly across from the bar and was in the middle of all of the traffic.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on January 13, 2018

When we arrived for our reservation they told us the kitchen was closed.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 13, 2018

Our most recent visit was among our best experiences ever at Cannella's, and re-affirmed our belief that they are our favorite Italian restaurant in Utah. Everything was wonderful, including the chocolate beet cake we took home to enjoy the following morning with coffee.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on January 12, 2018

menu items unavailable, waitstaff very casual, cocktail watery, food mediocre.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 12, 2018

Excellent neighborhood Italian

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on January 5, 2018

I hate to say anything negative about a restaurant; after all, tastes are subjective. And I noted that this restaurant--while by no means full on a Friday night--wasn't lacking customers, so please keep that in mind when considering this review. But, other than for the pleasant service, this just wasn't the place for me and my wife. To begin with, I had the minestrone soup, expecting rich flavors, but I felt the taste was weak. Then I had Alberto's Meat Lasagna and was looking forward to plenty of tomato sauce-based deliciousness, but it apparently was not tomato-based. I am aware that lasagna can be made without tomato sauce, but it didn't seem cream sauce-based or anything else that would add particular flavor to it, so, although it looked nice, I was left decidedly unsatisfied. My wife had the seafood marinara, which was better. However, Cannella's website also boasts of "great food served generously at affordable prices". While, again, "great" is subjective, portion sizes were quite average, and we paid $17 and $19 respectively. I can think of a number of restaurants that I don't consider bargains but have very good (and even exceptional) food at prices decidedly lower than those.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 5, 2018

Cannella’s was a very nice little restaurant on the corner with parking out back. The food was very good. We enjoyed the pasta, gnocchi, and soup. They do not give bread before the meal. We like bread at Italian restaurants. The metal chairs are cold and hard. The booth side is nice and comfortable. We would go again for the food and pleasant ambiance.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 31, 2017

We've always loved the food and ambiance here and this time was no different. The only slight issue was the service was a bit lacking but it was New Year's Eve so perhaps they were a bit frantic.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 20, 2017

Fantastic! Lunch with a friend who now lives out of town. They allowed to just sit and chat well past their lunch hours! Appreciated thy so much!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 16, 2017

This was my second time to Cannella's and it was just as fabulous as the first time. We met a good friend for dinner and ate, drank and talked for 3 hours. The food was fantastic and the wait staff so attentive. Definitely will be going back again.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on December 16, 2017

Indicated special occasion in advance. Seated by kitchen entrance. Antipasto board must have been in high demand - kept trying to take the board. Bolognese was like hamburger soup. Some other dishes were good.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 15, 2017

Overall service was good. The hostess was very unfriendly and to the point of being very rude. I will not be back because of her.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 13, 2017

Fabulous food, everything I have ever tried has been so tasty. Especially the house salad and dressing, lasagna and the turkey tetrazzini. Highly recommend Canellas for great food, excellent service and a friendly, locals atmosphere.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 2, 2017

This is our second time here and we love this place. We have sat in a booth in the bar both times and it has a totally different feel then other SLC restaurants. The staff is great, the food is great, and the atmosphere is very relaxed. It's just a couple of blocks from down town but a munched better value with most entres being about $15 and they come with a salad. We will be back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 1, 2017

Amazing food, great service. It was a bit noisy, but the table next to us was just a bit rowdy in general.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 25, 2017

CANNELLA’S is our go to place for family dinner. I can honestly say, I’ve never had a bad experience there. Food is always good, and service is always fantastic.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 24, 2017

Great place to dine with friends!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on November 11, 2017

As always, the food and wine were outstanding, and reasonably priced. This is perhaps our favorite Italian restaurant. Reservations are highly recommended. There were three large groups dining while we were there, so the noise level was much higher than usual. For future visits, we plan on requesting a table on the bar side of the restaurant.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 11, 2017

Went here on a date with my boyfriend and loved the atmosphere! I got the tortellini dish and I think it was some of the best I've ever tried. Nice and cozy place to dine! Loved the fact that I could make a reservation to ensure a table

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 9, 2017

First time we tried Cannella's, came highly recommended by friends. Was not disappointed, very good food, great service, lovely wine. Looking forward to going again and trying other items on the menu!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on November 8, 2017

very good Italian food. A lot of choices including interesting pizzas.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 31, 2017

We always enjoy dining at Cannellas, the service is excellent, the food is extremely tasty and reasonably priced. It's a place we enjoy and have never been disappointed.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on October 19, 2017

This is not our first time here with family from out of town. For the first time the service was a little slow (big party down stairs), but the food was great like always. This is one we continue to come back to because of the price and the food.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 12, 2017

First time here. Great Italian food. Loved the Eggplant Parmesan. Hard to find restaurants that have this. Had a party of 8 and service was wonderful. Pricing is very reasonable. I have spent over twice for a good Italian dinner and this was better. Will come again. Want to try lunch there some time.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 11, 2017

Great gnocchi and pizza. Good service. Nice ambiance. Good menus options. I’ll be back.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on October 6, 2017

Is it a fancy place for a business dinner? Definitely no. But was it a good place on a Friday night to get together with a couple of friends? No question. Food was solid, not standout but good. Service was quirky and pleasant. Will we go back? Probably so.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 3, 2017

Go with the gnocchi. Enjoy a Peroni. And follow them with a cup of their local coffee.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 30, 2017

Superb. The entire staff was great. Very much enjoyed it and will be going back. Thanks to Alexis for great service!!

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on September 27, 2017

First off, we were seated in the bar, which is not conducive to conversations as the tables are awkward and fixed to the floor. Its like we were talking sideways to one another.
Food was flat and service ok
When I asked why were were seated there, I was told it was the servers choice.
whatever, we won't go back...clients choice

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on September 26, 2017

We were disappointed that this was not a spectacular Italian restaurant. The decour and ambience is typical of what you would hope for, with the notable exception of no tablecloths. The food was only fair to not do fair. We've never been to an Italian restaurant where they didn't serve a loaf of amazing Italian bread. I had the meatloaf lasagna which was not nearly as good as Stouffers. My wife had seafood pasta which was also just ordinary. Don't get your hopes up - Tony soprano would have been tough to control.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 17, 2017

Fantastic food and dining experience. Great setting and highly recommend.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 16, 2017

One of our favorite date night spots! Never disappoints.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 14, 2017

I was so impressed with this restaurant! The service was just great, the food was even better , the menu options were great. And it was a REALLY great price! Highly recommend this establishment for any reason you can think of to get there. Go , try it and love it as much as I did!

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
7