About CANNELLA'S Restaurant Lounge

204 E. 500 S.
Salt Lake City, UT 84111
View Larger Map

Established in 1978, Cannella’s was built on the love of food, family and friends. Joe and Missy created a charming tiny space where all the amazing meals Joe enjoyed as a child became the menu. Cannella’s has always been a place of warmth, integrity and great food served generously at affordable prices, thanks to the vision of its founder, Joe Cannella. With the addition of the bar and lounge in 2007, Cannella’s added a new dimension, bringing a nightly eclectic bar scene together with the warmth of the family business to create the freshest supper club in the city. We rock the best playlist in town, mix strong specialty cocktails and inspire everyone to have a good time. Cozy, comfortable and familiar, Cannella’s is the kind of place where you meet friends for life. Our staff, customers and quality food make it a rare dining experience that makes you look forward to your next visit.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 4:00pm, Sunday: 12:00pm - 4:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thurday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(801) 355-8518

Website:
http://cannellas.com/

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Private Room, Takeout, Wine, Wine Bar

CANNELLA'S Restaurant Lounge Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.2

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Italian
Utah
Italian
Salt Lake City
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

neighborhood gem (18)
special occasion (11)
great for lunch (9)
See All
good for groups (8)
fit for foodies (7)
romantic (7)
great for outdoor dining (7)
kid-friendly (5)
notable wine list (4)
great for brunch (3)
vibrant bar scene (3)
late-night find (2)
Sort By:
Newest
129 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience4
service4

Shrimp fettuccini is amazing!

Dined 7 days ago

Shrimp fettuccini is amazing!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I don't think I've had a bad meal here. ...

vip
Dined on June 16, 2016

I don't think I've had a bad meal here. Great food, great service.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

We sat in the lounge last night and had ...

vip
Dined on June 14, 2016

We sat in the lounge last night and had wonderful service. On Monday's they have a 3 course for $15.00 special that was an amazing deal. Also had the excellent $5 red sangria. They have a great cocktail menu as well. Had not been in quite a few years. Now can't wait to go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service4

The place is nice, the service was good, ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

The place is nice, the service was good, they were out of calamari and didn't tell us. Just served the dishes without it. When asked they said they were out. They did discount the bill for that though.

food5
ambience5
service5

Very classic, delicious Italian food whi ...

vip
Dined on June 12, 2016

Very classic, delicious Italian food which can be hard to find around here. Will definitely go back!

food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Great food

Dined on June 3, 2016

Been here many times and the food was great as usual!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

The same every time. Exceptional everyth ...

Dined on June 1, 2016

The same every time. Exceptional everything

food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Al fresco

Dined on May 31, 2016

Love the outdoor space. Great Aperol Spritz. Very good bruschetta, decent Caesar

Tags: great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent classic Italian

Dined on May 9, 2016

Great restaurant with a nice selection of classic and contemporary Italian food. The ambience was great, felt like a hopping place to be with live music and lots of families and small groups. Very good marinara and the chicken parm was traditional and very satisfying. Service was perfect. Will definitely be coming back several times.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Mather's Day dinner

Dined on May 8, 2016

Our Mother's Day dinner was extra special at Cannella's. The food was great !

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

I've been coming here for years and this ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

I've been coming here for years and this is hands down, some of the best, authentic Italian you are going to find in SLC. Service is great, ambiance is always chill. You will not go wrong here

food5
ambience4
service5

We shared a few different plates and eve ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

We shared a few different plates and everything was so good! Best Italian I've had (other than Valters) in SLC. And very affordable! Will definitely be going back.

food1
ambience2
service2
value1

Disappointing

vip
Dined on May 1, 2016

The food was very disappointing, it was very bland. We didn't enjoy the bruschetta. The fettucine alfredo had to be sent back, it wasn't even warm. The gnocchi in the vodka cream sauce had no flavor and was luke warm. It was overall a disappointment

food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Nice little place with really good food!

Dined on April 23, 2016

The atmosphere was good and the staff was attentive. The food was really good, but not amazing. The house salad was one of the best parts of the meal and I am not usually a salad person. Overall, this is a must try if you like Italian.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Excellent!

Dined on April 12, 2016

The food is delicious and the waitstaff was friendly and appropriate! :)

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

I was starting to lose faith in Cannella ...

vip
Dined on April 9, 2016

I was starting to lose faith in Cannella's. The service the last few times was awful!! The gal that served me was fantastic. Super helpful and so sweet! Thank you for restoring my faith in Cannella's!!! The food it fantastic!!!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Locally Owned Delicious Italian

vip
Dined on March 26, 2016

Always great pasta served with a lovely side salad and dense sourdough garlic bread. Great for non-meat eaters and meat lovers. Nice wine list. Great, professional, friendly servers. Private dining room in the basement by reservation.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service4

The food was great and the service was f ...

Dined on March 20, 2016

The food was great and the service was fast! General atmosphere was great as well. My only complaint was a crying child. That can't be avoided though. I would definitely go again and/or recommend Canellas to a friend!

food4
ambience5
service5

The family feeling is so welcoming. Afte ...

Dined on March 6, 2016

The family feeling is so welcoming. After living in Italy and then going here to eat, they make it feel like I'm back in Italy. The food is great and the staff is wonderful. They have a cute little patio that you can rest on right next to the street that makes it fun also.

food5
ambience4
service5

Great Italian bistro in downtown Salt La ...

Dined on February 27, 2016

Great Italian bistro in downtown Salt Lake. We loved the antipasto platter and mussels as appetizers. Our family favorite is the Italian salad--very hearty and delicious. Their filet is also excellent, but you can't go wrong with anything here--consistently great food with great service!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love it

Dined on February 15, 2016

We will definitely be going back again. Great food, great service

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Our first night in Salt Lake for a ski t ...

vip
Dined on February 13, 2016

Our first night in Salt Lake for a ski trip. Stayed at Grand America. We were craving some pizza and this was a short walk from the hotel. The food was fantastic! The meatballs were tasty and my 8 year old are two! We had some pizzas - the kids had pepperoni and adults had the Frank Loyd Wright - awesome! Mushrooms black truffle oil, arugala, and cheese. It was fantastic! The artisan bread crust was superb! Dinner was only to be outdone by the gelato! The Lemmon biscotti flavor was to die for! The chocolate cherry was a very close second! Service was great. Kid friendly. We will go back again! Highly recommended.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

First timers... Will return!

Dined on January 21, 2016

Met a friend for dinner. Service outstanding! Wine good at reasonable price. Food very good. 2 had the salmon, which was cooked perfectly. I had the eggplant Parmesean. Yummy! You must try the beet chocolate cake!! It's to die for! (I'm not a chocolate person, either.) we will be back for sure!

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service5
value5

Good food, good wine

Dined on January 16, 2016

Had never been here before but we enjoyed our food and wine. Only complaint I've got is that my food came out warm, and my wife's came out hot so I think mine had been sitting for a little while. If you are wanting a quiet place, this isn't it. We enjoyed the atmosphere but there are a lot of people fit into a small room so just know that going in.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service1
value4

Good food bad service

Dined on January 4, 2016

It may have been a fluke but dinner for me there the other night was subpar... The food, ambiance, drinks and even live music were exemplary! The service was lacking...after being seated water was brought out and then 3 other tables were seated...the waitress proceeded to get their drinks before ours. 2 out of the 3 tables ended up ordering their food before ours as well...food was well worth the wait but the service will make me look at other options...

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food2
ambience4
service1
value3

Disappointing

Dined on January 1, 2016

I was hoping for so much more from this restaurant. We had a Reservation and were seated promptly which was a sign to a great evening. Unfortunately, it went downhill from there. We waited over 5 minutes to be greeted by our server once seated; then had to wait another few minutes to even place an order for drinks or food. While we received our salad right away, and was delicious, it was quite a wait for our other food. We had ordered bruschetta as an appetizer - that never arrived. It was busy so I tried not to mind - until our food came out - lukewarm, and served on cold plates. To top it off my fettuccini noodles weren't fully cooked so my pasta was very chewy. By the time we were 1/3 way through our meal our food was cold. When my friend sent her food back to be heated it came back out warm on another cold plate. To top it off not once did our server stop by to check how our food was that came out, nor did she refill our empty water glasses, or ask if we wanted another glass of wine. When asked about our missing appetizer no apology was offered and she just mentioned she would go check on it. At this time we just cancelled the order for it. Not 5 minutes later the food runner showed up with the missing item. We informed him we had cancelled the order since it arrived when we were halfway done with our meal. He wanted to leave it still, but we would still be charged for it. So we had him take it back. It wasn't until we had to specifically ask for our water to be filled that it happened, and that wasn't until we were almost done with our meal - as we never saw our server going by until then. For some reason I decided to try their tiramisu--It was disappointing. It had no coffee flavor from the espresso, nor was it made it brandy, to give it its unique flavor. To pay almost $50 for this meal - an absolute waste of money. Maybe on a slower night the service and food would be better?? There were only 12 tables in the room we were in with 2 servers working.

Tags: romantic
food3
ambience4
service5
value5

More Italian Flair.

Dined on December 27, 2015

Great little neighborhood gem. Warm and cozy in the bar side. Been around for years. Prices are very good and the portions of the food are good. Someone needs to add a little more flair to the food. This is an Italian Place>>>when you come in the door you should smell the kitchen "Garlic" for one thing. If you where in N.Y. or LA, Chi, Boston and came across a place like this , you could smell your way to the door. Our food was good but lacked some good seasonings. The minestrone was diffidently not home made. If it was the master cook missed the rosemary, oregano, thyme. You can even take institutional food (Canned) and turn it into some else. It's done all the time. This is whats wrong with Utah and SLC. They lack real restaurants! It's slowly changing but the culture here is "Bland Food", salt and pepper is not a staple.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4

Made a reservation and got seated instan ...

Dined on December 20, 2015

Made a reservation and got seated instantly. Waters came out fast. Drink took a little long but we were waiting for another couple so it wasn't a big deal. Our host and server were amazing. Food was fantastic and the price was definitely reasonable. Loved the atmosphere. Amazing experience we will definitely be back.

food5
ambience4
service4

Classic Italian food

Dined on November 22, 2015

I have been to Canellas over a dozen times in the last year. I have never been disappointed. Food is consistently good. Staff is knowledgeable and friendly. Love the house dressing on the salads. Vodka sauce is pretty amazing. Pasta carbonara is my favorite.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service2

Late dinner

vip
Dined on November 19, 2015

The food was great but when we asked the server to recommend something she wouldn't. It was weird.

Tags: late-night find
food4
ambience5
service5

Enjoyable dinner and conversation.

Dined on November 15, 2015

With 5 people in our party, we were seated at a corner booth with ample space. Appetizers ordered were caprese salad and garlic cheese flat bread with prosciutto for our group. The salad was tasty with the balsamic reduction drizzled over it. However tasty, portions were small for the flat bread and a better option would have been to order a pizza cut in small pieces for sharing among the party. Our dinner experience was enhanced by an attentive server. The pasta dishes ordered (rigatoni and sausage; seafood linguini) were not drowning in sauce, cooked perfectly al dente. Portion size was enough without being overwhelming. The other party members ordered lasagne and chicken Parmesan and enjoyed their choices. We did not have dessert so can not comment on that course.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food4
ambience3
service3

A Good Family Style Italian Restaurant

Dined on November 12, 2015

This is my type of Italian restaurant; slightly quirky, good food, a moderate noise level and reasonably priced. The wine list is not extensive but had some nice surprises. Unlike a lot of Italian restaurants they actually have Bruschetta - my favorite Italian appetizer! Even the desserts felt authentic. You will not regret eating here.

Tags: great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience3
service4

A great find down town

Dined on October 31, 2015

I found this restaurant through the OpenTable search and was not disappointed. It had a fun, active vibe. The cocktail menu was good and the drinks were excellent - hard to find in SLC sometimes. All the dishes we ordered were excellent, including the special (flat-iron steak over pasta with gorgonzola sauce). A good place.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience2
service5

Reservations

Dined on October 8, 2015

Reservation made didn't seem to matter. Requested a smaller booth for 2 at noon. Upon arrival, sign said to seat yourself. No booth available nor did anyone ask about a reservation. Too loud for a nice quiet lunch. Food and service, however, was outstanding.

Tags: great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Cannella's is awesome

Dined on September 23, 2015

My wife and I love Cannella's! It's a great place to take a date. Very quiet relaxed atmosphere creating the perfect romantic ambiance. Great specials, delicious food, and friendly staff, can't beat it!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience3
service2

Service was slow

vip
Dined on September 17, 2015

Service was slow and intermittent. Food was very good, but served only tepid so we had to have them re-heat the dinners. Dessert was good, but they had to bring the correct order late. Restaurant needs to work on a system so that servers are more helpful.

food5
ambience3
service3

The hostess had no record of the reserva ...

Dined on September 17, 2015

The hostess had no record of the reservation. Why is that?

food4
ambience4
service2

Great food, notable wine list; not the b ...

Dined on September 13, 2015

Great food, notable wine list; not the best service.

food2
ambience2
service1

Not worth going , the service wasn't goo ...

Dined on September 11, 2015

Not worth going , the service wasn't good, food terrible (especially the stroganoff soup) and my drink tasted like water . Never again.

food2
ambience3
service4

Average

Dined on September 6, 2015

Uninspired Italian. Service was good, prices were OK, but you can get better Italian at Olive Garden.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.