About CANNELLA'S Restaurant Lounge

Established in 1978, Cannella’s was built on the love of food, family and friends. Joe and Missy created a charming tiny space where all the amazing meals Joe enjoyed as a child became the menu. Cannella’s has always been a place of warmth, integrity and great food served generously at affordable prices, thanks to the vision of its founder, Joe Cannella. With the addition of the bar and lounge in 2007, Cannella’s added a new dimension, bringing a nightly eclectic bar scene together with the warmth of the family business to create the freshest supper club in the city. We rock the best playlist in town, mix strong specialty cocktails and inspire everyone to have a good time. Cozy, comfortable and familiar, Cannella’s is the kind of place where you meet friends for life. Our staff, customers and quality food make it a rare dining experience that makes you look forward to your next visit.

204 E. 500 S.
Salt Lake City, UT 84111
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 4:00pm, Sunday: 12:00pm - 4:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thurday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(801) 355-8518

Website:
http://cannellas.com/

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

CANNELLA'S Restaurant Lounge Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (17)
Cozy (16)
Neighborhood Gem (14)
See All
Casual (11)
Authentic (10)
Comfort Food (10)
Fun (10)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Kid-friendly (7)
Fit for Foodies (7)
Good for Groups (7)
Romantic (7)
Special Occasion (6)
Outstanding Value (6)
Local Ingredients (6)
Good for Anniversaries (6)
Business Meals (5)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Bar Seating (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Historic (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Family Style (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Healthy (2)
Private Room (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Great Beer (2)
Quick Bite (2)
People Watching (2)
Vegan (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Hot Spot (1)
Tapas (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Live Music (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Sort By:
S
205 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined 6 days ago

The service and food were fantastic!! Will definitely be back!!

Tags: Casual, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Great Italian food at Cannella's. We sat on the small outdoor patio. The Italian salad is always good either as an meal or can be ordered as your side dish. Pastas were unique and tasty. The service was very good as well.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, People Watching, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on May 7, 2017

First couple times the food was pretty good, however these last two times not as good and this last time had to send uncooked food back and still got charged.
Great atmosphere and drinks, friendly staff.
Hoping next time will b better.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Super friendly and helpful staff - good food for a good price.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on April 9, 2017

We have spent several occasions there and it's one of our favorites.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Our food was great and loved the ambience. Will definitely be back to try more of the pasta dishes.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Disabled Access, Bar Seating, Family Style, Kid-friendly, Vegan, Gluten Free Options, Local Ingredients, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on April 2, 2017

I have to tell that the place looks very cute, the staff, pretty decent, but the food was nothing special in my opinion. i was expecting something better.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Food was awesome, we enjoyed the antipasto immensely! The blueberry goat cheese was fabulous! Our dining experience was very nice. Easy to talk and relax. Loved the area downstairs as well. Am interested in it for a group event!! Oh and thank you so much for doing zoodles!!! That was the reason we came to Cannella's initially. They aren't offered anywhere else and I can't have pasta! Did the Seafood with the zoodles and OMG, amazing!! The lobster ravioli was very well executed as was the gnocchi! Thanks for a great food experience!!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Private Room, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Meat lasagna was fabulous.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Our server was amazing!!!!! And we love the food here. Very consistent.

Tags: Comfort Food, Family Style, Historic, Cozy, Kid-friendly, Gluten Free Options, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Overall the food was good and the decor was very comfortable.

Tags: Cozy, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Great Beer, Good for Groups, Casual, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on March 5, 2017

It was our first time visiting this restaurant. It was great. We really enjoyed our server, Brooklyn and the food!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on March 5, 2017

I keep going back here because the food is amazing. But as much as I tell myself I'll try something new (I always get dish envy), I keep going back to the traditional lasagna. Simply delicious.

The food is also a good value for what you get.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 21, 2017

The last time I was at Cannela's I remember thoroughly enjoying my meal...that was about 3 years ago. This time unfortunately I felt the food was fair at best. I had the bolognese and the sauce was not flavorful and the noodles were just not tasty. Service was ok. Wine was good. I don't think I'll be running back with better Italian options out there.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 21, 2017

Enjoyed the evening. They are always very helpful and friendly.

Tags: Casual, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Food was great! The only small complaint is having to wait about 30 minutes to be seated.

Tags: Fun, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 15, 2017

My food was delayed because the manager wasn't happy with the quality. We were given free dessert. I was very impressed.

Tags: Good for a Date, Open Kitchen, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We went to Cannella's for Valentine's Day. What a wonderful evening! The service was outstanding and the food was delicious. I will absolutely be going back! Thank you for helping with a great evening!!

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Cannellas is one of my favorite places to eat. I have tried almost everything on the menu including the desserts and I have never been disappointed. Great service and intimate dining option for dates or small groups.

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Gluten Free Options, Historic, Creative Cuisine, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Live Music, Fun, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Great experience. Definitely would come back again.

Tags: Comfort Food, Outstanding Value, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Canella's is one of our all time favorite down town Italian restaurants. Everything is made in house and is so fresh! The gnocchi's are off the charts good and really we haven't had a thing on the menu we didn't love! We live on the south end of the valley and happily make the drive because it is so outstanding! You can also make reservations which we've done when dining with a group!

Tags: Good for Groups, Good Vegetarian Options, Cozy, Romantic, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Late-night Find, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Private Room, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Outstanding Value, Great for Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 11, 2017

What kind of Italian restaurant doesn't bring bread??? It's a staple! I asked for bread (would have paid for a nice basket) and I got two small slices on a plate. We had to laugh. C'mon guys--quit being cheap. Wife's dinner was lukewarm. Mine was tasty, but overall, very disappointing evening.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 11, 2017

We go to Canella's on a pretty regular basis for their Italian salad - their Italian food is good but the salad is exceptional...I don't do salad anywhere else but I'll happily drive the 15 or so miles downtown to get a salad here. Can't speak to their starters or desserts, unfortunately, as the salad is enormous :) FYI, we usually take our own bottle of red.

If you're a people watcher, try the high table by the bar...

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Outstanding Value, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Fun, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Classic and original dishes--all very good. Friendly and attentive service. Relaxed ambience. Have been back twice and will be returning!

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 30, 2017

After Opera dinner with friends.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Our server, Cat, was a lot of fun and the food was tasty while reasonably priced.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Tapas, Fun, Cozy, Good for a Date, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Cannella's is consistently good. You can't beat it for ambiance too. Great place for an occasion or a date you'd like to impress while keeping a little cash in the wallet. Reserve early and ask to be seated near the bar.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 28, 2017

My wife have been to this restraint a lot and it is always so good. I had the halibut and risotto pie the special of the night and it was so good I could not stop eating it. My wife has the same old thing sea food linguine (try something new!). She loves it and has leftovers for breakfast.

We will of course be back.

Tags: Good for Groups, Outstanding Value, Special Occasion, Fun, Family Style, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 26, 2017

The food is always great and Kat , our waitress , was very helpful and attentive.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Awesome and server Trevor was great with recommendations.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Authentic, Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 1, 2017

The food and service here are always excellent. Everything always tastes fresh, and the wine menu offers some good Italian options. We love the cozy atmosphere.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Outstanding Value, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Bar Seating, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Wonderful service, great food. Cannellas always nails it.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Paleo Friendly, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 23, 2016

The menu changed from the last time we were there and wish some of the old favorites were still there. Or the way they use to be made.

Tags: Comfort Food, Cozy, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Love Canellas! Food service was a bit slow, but that's to be expected for a Friday night. Appetizers are great, dinner meal was amazing. Can't wait to come back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Love this place. My wife go here all the time and the food is always great.

Tags: Disabled Access, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 10, 2016

We had a Christmas dinner for 8, sat downstairs, service was great, food was decent, all in all it was a good experience. No complaints.

Tags: Private Room, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Great place, friendly staff. The soup was amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Good food with great service. Good for vegetarian/carnivore mixed group.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 1, 2016

The waiter was very nice! The hostess was friendly and funny as well. The food was delicious and I would definitely go back!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Great service and a nice casual vibe. It's quiet enough to enjoy the company that you are dining with.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Quick Bite, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.