About CANNELLA'S Restaurant Lounge

Established in 1978, Cannella’s was built on the love of food, family and friends. Joe and Missy created a charming tiny space where all the amazing meals Joe enjoyed as a child became the menu. Cannella’s has always been a place of warmth, integrity and great food served generously at affordable prices, thanks to the vision of its founder, Joe Cannella. With the addition of the bar and lounge in 2007, Cannella’s added a new dimension, bringing a nightly eclectic bar scene together with the warmth of the family business to create the freshest supper club in the city. We rock the best playlist in town, mix strong specialty cocktails and inspire everyone to have a good time. Cozy, comfortable and familiar, Cannella’s is the kind of place where you meet friends for life. Our staff, customers and quality food make it a rare dining experience that makes you look forward to your next visit.

204 E. 500 S.
Salt Lake City, UT 84111
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 4:00pm, Sunday: 12:00pm - 4:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thurday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(801) 355-8518

Website:
http://cannellas.com/

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

CANNELLA'S Restaurant Lounge Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Cozy (20)
Good for a Date (19)
Fun (14)
See All
Romantic (13)
Pre/post Theatre (13)
Special Occasion (12)
Comfort Food (11)
Outstanding Value (11)
Neighborhood Gem (11)
Good for Anniversaries (11)
Fit for Foodies (10)
Authentic (10)
Casual (8)
Notable Wine List (7)
Worth the Drive (7)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Bar Seating (6)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Good for Groups (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Historic (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Business Meals (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Healthy (3)
Great Beer (3)
Tasting Menu (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Private Room (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Tapas (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
People Watching (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Family Style (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Live Music (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
192 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined 5 days ago

The last time I was at Cannela's I remember thoroughly enjoying my meal...that was about 3 years ago. This time unfortunately I felt the food was fair at best. I had the bolognese and the sauce was not flavorful and the noodles were just not tasty. Service was ok. Wine was good. I don't think I'll be running back with better Italian options out there.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined 5 days ago

Enjoyed the evening. They are always very helpful and friendly.

Tags: Casual, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined 7 days ago

Food was great! The only small complaint is having to wait about 30 minutes to be seated.

Tags: Fun, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 15, 2017

My food was delayed because the manager wasn't happy with the quality. We were given free dessert. I was very impressed.

Tags: Good for a Date, Open Kitchen, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We went to Cannella's for Valentine's Day. What a wonderful evening! The service was outstanding and the food was delicious. I will absolutely be going back! Thank you for helping with a great evening!!

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Cannellas is one of my favorite places to eat. I have tried almost everything on the menu including the desserts and I have never been disappointed. Great service and intimate dining option for dates or small groups.

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Gluten Free Options, Historic, Creative Cuisine, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Live Music, Fun, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Great experience. Definitely would come back again.

Tags: Comfort Food, Outstanding Value, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Canella's is one of our all time favorite down town Italian restaurants. Everything is made in house and is so fresh! The gnocchi's are off the charts good and really we haven't had a thing on the menu we didn't love! We live on the south end of the valley and happily make the drive because it is so outstanding! You can also make reservations which we've done when dining with a group!

Tags: Good for Groups, Good Vegetarian Options, Cozy, Romantic, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Late-night Find, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Private Room, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Outstanding Value, Great for Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 11, 2017

What kind of Italian restaurant doesn't bring bread??? It's a staple! I asked for bread (would have paid for a nice basket) and I got two small slices on a plate. We had to laugh. C'mon guys--quit being cheap. Wife's dinner was lukewarm. Mine was tasty, but overall, very disappointing evening.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 11, 2017

We go to Canella's on a pretty regular basis for their Italian salad - their Italian food is good but the salad is exceptional...I don't do salad anywhere else but I'll happily drive the 15 or so miles downtown to get a salad here. Can't speak to their starters or desserts, unfortunately, as the salad is enormous :) FYI, we usually take our own bottle of red.

If you're a people watcher, try the high table by the bar...

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Outstanding Value, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Fun, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Classic and original dishes--all very good. Friendly and attentive service. Relaxed ambience. Have been back twice and will be returning!

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 30, 2017

After Opera dinner with friends.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Our server, Cat, was a lot of fun and the food was tasty while reasonably priced.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Tapas, Fun, Cozy, Good for a Date, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Cannella's is consistently good. You can't beat it for ambiance too. Great place for an occasion or a date you'd like to impress while keeping a little cash in the wallet. Reserve early and ask to be seated near the bar.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 28, 2017

My wife have been to this restraint a lot and it is always so good. I had the halibut and risotto pie the special of the night and it was so good I could not stop eating it. My wife has the same old thing sea food linguine (try something new!). She loves it and has leftovers for breakfast.

We will of course be back.

Tags: Good for Groups, Outstanding Value, Special Occasion, Fun, Family Style, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 26, 2017

The food is always great and Kat , our waitress , was very helpful and attentive.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Awesome and server Trevor was great with recommendations.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Authentic, Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 1, 2017

The food and service here are always excellent. Everything always tastes fresh, and the wine menu offers some good Italian options. We love the cozy atmosphere.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Outstanding Value, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Bar Seating, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Wonderful service, great food. Cannellas always nails it.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Paleo Friendly, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 23, 2016

The menu changed from the last time we were there and wish some of the old favorites were still there. Or the way they use to be made.

Tags: Comfort Food, Cozy, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Love Canellas! Food service was a bit slow, but that's to be expected for a Friday night. Appetizers are great, dinner meal was amazing. Can't wait to come back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Love this place. My wife go here all the time and the food is always great.

Tags: Disabled Access, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 10, 2016

We had a Christmas dinner for 8, sat downstairs, service was great, food was decent, all in all it was a good experience. No complaints.

Tags: Private Room, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Great place, friendly staff. The soup was amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Good food with great service. Good for vegetarian/carnivore mixed group.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 1, 2016

The waiter was very nice! The hostess was friendly and funny as well. The food was delicious and I would definitely go back!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Great service and a nice casual vibe. It's quiet enough to enjoy the company that you are dining with.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Quick Bite, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Had a party going on, noise level was unbelieveable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on November 12, 2016

We just love Cannella's and have for years. We can always count on good food and great owners.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Food was pretty good although the portion of proteins in the pasta dishes was pretty low for my wifes dish - pork papparadlle - just ok on my chicken carbonara for portions. Server was super slow on getting our wine going, didn't know the menu in a deep way, would disappear and had a strange service style. Nice atmosphere - better once you are inside than it appears from the street.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on November 8, 2016

Mia was awesome! I was very impressed with the service. The food was really good, and what I had, I want the recipe. I would recommend this place to others.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on November 6, 2016

All around great experience which is the standard for this place.

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Cannella's is hands down my favorite restaurant in Salt Lake City. The food is delicious, the drinks are tasty, and the staff are very friendly.

Tags: Romantic, Fun, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Cannella's is consistently solid. You will not disappointed. Great food. Excellent service. (Kat is on it!) Great bartenders.

Gets a little loud if you are looking for something more quiet or wait until after 8:30 on weekends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Fabulous as always! An easy choice when going downtown. I always know the food is going to be delicious. The prices are reasonable and the service is always friendly!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on October 20, 2016

Very great experience! The waitress and the chef were very accommodating to my vegan diet and made sure everything o ordered was vegan friendly. Great environment!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on October 18, 2016

Being at a trade show in a city we had not been at I searched local restaurants in SLC. This one seemed a good spot on a Monday Night to have dinner after show set up. Delightful location, building, service and food/drink. We like to try places that are not chain establishments and this one was truly a delight. Not far from downtown, made reservation thru Open Table. Fortunate they had an opening. So happy when people invest their time and energy to good success!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Outstanding Value, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on October 17, 2016

Super casual Italian. The food was average

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Cannellas is hands down the best Italian food in Utah! I love this place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Canellas is a great restaurant if you're looking for a good price on great food. It's a small restaurant that should have more attention than it does.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 25, 2016

We went to Cannella's when when we were in Salt Lake City to visit our son. We each had a great cocktail before dinner and then a wonderful meal with a nice bottle of wine. Since. It was a cold rainy night we all went for a different pasta entree (lasagne, veal, seafood) and split an order of mussels/clams for an appetizer. Everything was super delicious and when the bill came, we were pleasantly surprised at how reasonable the cost was. I would definitely recommend Cannella's - they have a great play list for background music too.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Hot Spot, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on September 25, 2016

All around, it was a great experience. We'll go back soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on September 23, 2016

The food was delicious, the service was a little bit slow. It wasn't a super busy night, but it did take quite a while to get food. Not a big deal and I didn't mind because I wasn't in a hurry, but it might be something to consider.

My friend ordered one of the Alcoholic Gelato desserts, and said it was to die for; if you're looking for something delicious try one of those.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on September 23, 2016

Wonderful Italian food. Good ambiance for low key dining

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Business Meals, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on September 9, 2016

Comfortable dinning room. Good for excellent Italian food and conversation. The wait staff was helpful, and on hand when needed. A good place for either lunch or dinner. We will be returning.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Business Meals, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on September 7, 2016

the restaurant had just been vandalized. all windows had been broken by an angry customer. everything was boarded up with sheet of plywood. if you think it's not fair to offer a review because "they had no control over the person who broke all the windows." then you need to consider this...they decided to stay open instead of closing for repairs. they provided the customers with an experience of dinning in what smelled like the lumber section of a home depot, not to mention the staff let the customers know that this is a place that gets vandalized. the take away from this review is basically how the management fells about their customers which is to the effect of "we are willing to let you know that someone hates us enough to destroy the place, and we are willing to let you dine in the aftermath."

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on September 6, 2016

Food and atmosphere was fantastic. Service was very good

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on August 29, 2016

The food and service at Cannella's is consistently good and the food is always very flavorful. We will definitely go back.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Family Style, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on August 28, 2016

This is my go to restaurant!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on August 20, 2016

I love to go to Cannella's before a concert or event. They always have the most wonderful people working there who understand you need to get out of there at a certain time. They always recommend the right food for the event or your mood. I love the bruschetta, garlic bread with prosciutto, gnocchi (parmesan or pesto with sausage), the seafood marinara, the Italian or chopped salad, the cannoli's and the chocolate beet cake. We never go to Cannella's where we don't have the best time. HOWEVER, I'm pretty upset they've changed the menu so you cannot order the Italo Pietrantonj Montepulciano D'Abuzzo by glass.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Tapas, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Outstanding Value, Authentic, Good for a Date, Cozy, Romantic, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.