About Canlis

2576 Aurora Ave N
Seattle, WA 98109
View Larger Map

This is a place where you feel welcomed. Run by the Canlis family, Canlis is the Pacific Northwest's most celebrated restaurant, winner of twenty consecutive Wine Spectator Grand Awards and three time James Beard runner up for best service in the country. Voted Most Romantic, Best View, Best Service, Best Design, Top Wine List and Wine Service, Washington Family Business of the year, and Best Overall Restaurant. At Canlis we are learners, and after 66 years of serving Seattle, we believe we're just beginning to get things right. We look forward to meeting you.

LARGE PARTIES: For parties of 7-8 guests, we ask for 48 hours notice when ordering the tasting menu.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Northwest

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Friday: 5:30pm - close, Saturday: 5:00pm - close

Cross Street:
Haliday

Dress Code:
Jacket Preferred

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(206) 283-3313

Website:
http://www.canlis.com/

Entertainment:
Every evening is accompanied by live piano music from a 1920 Steinway Grand.

Parking Details:
Valet parking is included with the price of dinner.

Executive Chef:
Brady Williams

Private Party Facilities:
Canlis can accommodate up to 8 guests in the dining room. For larger parties, please call the restaurant directly to reserve one of our two private rooms. The Executive Room can seat 8-24 guests and The Penthouse can seat up to 80.

Private Party Contact:
Megan Brady: (877) 391-2113

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
SPECIAL REQUESTS: Please call the reservationist directly to place any special orders or floral arrangements.
LARGE PARTIES: For parties of 7-8 guests, we ask for 48 hours notice when ordering the tasting menu. Please call the restaurant directly to make a reservation.

Canlis Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.8

ambience

4.8

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (102)
Romantic (97)
Good for Anniversaries (81)
See All
Scenic View (80)
Notable Wine List (69)
Good for a Date (56)
Fit for Foodies (47)
Tasting Menu (46)
Quiet Conversation (44)
Historic (41)
Creative Cuisine (40)
Good for Birthdays (39)
Fireplace (36)
Handcrafted Cocktails (34)
Worth the Drive (32)
Business Meals (26)
Cozy (24)
Waterfront (22)
Live Music (21)
Local Ingredients (18)
Authentic (18)
Neighborhood Gem (18)
Modern Decor (15)
Private Room (14)
Good for Groups (12)
Bar Seating (11)
Pre/post Theatre (10)
Healthy (9)
Seasonal (8)
Gluten Free Options (8)
Outstanding Value (8)
Disabled Access (7)
Fun (7)
Molecular Gastronomy (6)
People Watching (6)
Late-night Find (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Comfort Food (3)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Organic (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Great Beer (1)
Spicy (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Family Style (1)
Dancing (1)
Sort By:
S
2975 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 2 days ago

We dined here for my moms birthday and had the best time! The food was amazing and the staff was wonderful.

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 5 days ago

Astonishing food, astonishing ambiance, astonishing service. The perfect restaurant.

Tags: Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 5 days ago

Overall 4.5 star - my party and I had and I had a great evening .

Tags: Late-night Find, Private Room, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Authentic, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Historic, Fit for Foodies, Fireplace, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined 5 days ago

SECOND TIME I HAVE EATEN THERE - FIRST WAS OVER 9 YEARS AGO AND IT STILL LIVES UP TO ITS OUTSTANDING REPUATION FOR FOOD AND QUALITY SERVICE.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined 7 days ago

Our whole dinning experience was fantastic. One of the finest restaurants we've ever visited and we can't wait to come back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Our experience for my birthday was absolutely amazing! We would love to go back!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Fantastic location and view. Food and ambience are great. On the expensive side, but service and food are always outstanding. A Seattle landmark, and worth the visit.

Tags: Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Disabled Access, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Each course was a treasure, served with knowledge, grace & warmth.

Oh, those "Spot Prawns"!

Filet done to perfection.

Will definitely return.

Tags: Historic, Live Music, Quiet Conversation, Good Vegetarian Options, Fireplace, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Good for Groups, Romantic, Good for a Date, Cozy, Private Room, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Staff very attentive, personable and friendly yet professional and efficient.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Perfect in every way. My husband asked me to marry him at Canlis. They never fail to impress me.

Tags: Business Meals, Historic, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Canlis is in a class by itself. You can always expect impeccable service, interesting and unique cuisine, and a high-end dining experience. Their wine list is one of the best in Seattle, especially their Northwest wines. Canlis is a dining experience, but the cuisine, while excellent, is not the reason to dine there; there are other restaurants with innovative chefs, but less ambiance and equally good, or better dishes. I tried a different dish this time - the pork - which was good, but not great - it was cold the first time and better the second, but still a little tougher than I expected. On the other hand, the scallops were beyond compare - perfectly cooked and seasoned.

To get this 5* quality of dining experience, you should expect to pay top dollar; our dinner was over $200 per person. For that special occasion, Canlis is one of the very best.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Impeccable service beginning the moment I pulled up in my car to the moment I left. Truly the finest dining experience in Seattle. Food was exquisite. Fantastic view of Lake Union. Tasteful decor within. Go!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Waterfront, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Great experience! The location is stunning and you feel pampered as soon as you walk in the door. Foie gras was excellent and the flow of the courses went very smoothly.

Tags: Historic, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Canlis never disappoints! We had a wonderful meal and the service was impeccable! Maggie was attentive and professional. Will be back again!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Fireplace, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Food was outstanding and service was impeccable! Every menu item we had was terrific. The staff were attentive and not a distraction to our romantic dinner. The orange moon rising up the horizon was a beautiful bonus!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Special Occasion, Historic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Canlis is the experince of a lifetime. The ambiance was stunning. The crackling of fire, a talented pianist, the exquisite decor, and the helpful staff all rolled into one of the most unique views of Seattle I have ever had the pleasure of seeing. We had four courses and the food was stunning. While I thought the filet Mignon was slightly salty and the Wagyu beef did not have the texture I had expected, the food overall was a delightful experience and something to not be forgotten soon. A single negative thing could not be said about the drinks, which were both tasty and creative. The valet service brought around my car at the time of leave without the use of those pesky tickets. I'll be back, Canlis.

Tags: Fireplace, Waterfront, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 11, 2017

This is our once a year special place. I don't write many reviews but couldn't let this go. Last year we had the tasting menu and somalier's wine pairing. It was totally unbelievable, it was magical. We did not look into the wines used last year but maybe should have. This year we had the same. The first course and last couple of courses were totally unbelievable just amazing. The other courses and even the historical salad were OK to good but not at the level we anticipate. That I can handle. But this year we looked into the wines used with the somalier's pairing because a couple pairings were off: only a couple I really liked and found that some of the wine bottles could be purchased for under $10 and most bottles were not that expensive. We dropped $145 x2 and we're really feeling cheated. It's not all about the price and we don't expect to get a glass from a $1000 bottle but this was not acceptable. We dropped around $800 but felt like we got not even half the value. Next time we will look for another option, we had a nice evening but it was overshadowed by the wine pairing. I can't imagine what the cheaper pairing is, leftovers from grocery outlet that could not sell?

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value1

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Summer was a wonderful waitress and we enjoyed our dinner immensely.

Tags: Romantic, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 8, 2017

crab was way to salty, very disappointed in the Wagyu beef, I had it m-rare, I think it needs to be cooked more to enjoy the flavor.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 8, 2017

What a beautiful view of the city lights and there was a lot of attention to detail.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 5, 2017

I loved the view and the food was great. Very romantic atmosphere for special occasions. Filet was fantastic.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Canlis is one of our favorite places in Seattle, but we were there on an off night. The service was spotty at best and my dinner was cold.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Great ambiance and service, average food and extremely overpriced. Do i regret going?no. Would I go back? no.

The main course (steak) very salty and salad dressing (which is supposed to be signature dish) was very ordinary. The wine list was also very limited (mostly US wine, limited French or Italian wines!)

Tags: Romantic, Tasting Menu, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Very disappointing. We have been coming to Canlis every time we visit Seattle for 30+ years. The atmosphere was beautiful as always. However it took 3 1/2 hours from the time we sat till our dessert was served. Not enough staff. My wife's steak was over cooked and the rest of the food was mediocre. We miss the a la carte menu of the past and the food does not justify the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value1

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Epic place for a first date.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Very disappointed with the food... Could name at least a half dozen restaurants where the food is much better. Sometimes, guess you actually don't get what you pay for......

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value1

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 2, 2017

An iconic restaurant., with fabulous food and service., but very expensive. Definitely a special occasion place.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 1, 2017

This was our second time at Canlis and we enjoyed it just as much as the first. It was creative and the food, spectacular. We did the tasting menu with cocktails and had so much fun with the unique presentations and thoughtful preparations. Well done, as always!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Fireplace, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Absolutely the best experience/meal I have ever had in my entire life! And I'm a regular of fine dinning experiences!

Tags: Dancing, Healthy, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fun, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Waterfront, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on January 31, 2017

The best restaurant in Seattle. Service, food, ambiance, view, tradition, professionalism--Canlis does it all to perfection. Canlis is our restaurant for the most important occasions, though I always wonder why we don't go there more often. Make your reservation early though, because it fills up.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 31, 2017

We always seem to end up at Canlis for the very special occasions and it never disappoints. from the moment we arrived until our car was waiting, the staff exceeded our expectations. the food was sublime and the service was spot-on.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Dinner was amazing. I was a bit disappointed with our server. She was nice but not very helpful when asking questions. The person who delivered it food and that we ordered coffee from went the extra mile with descriptions and his is what I was expecting for the entire meal. I wish we had him as our server.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 29, 2017

The food was delicious. The cocktails were creatively presented, but too sweet. I think if we had chosen to get wine pairings with dinner it would have been better than the cocktails. Our main server seemed uneasy that we wanted to chat with her, as we generally enjoy getting to know our servers at restaurants. The service overall was excellent, but I think the restaurant was a little too formal for our taste. Even at fancy restaurants, we like to let the servers know that we are real people too, and this seemed a bit out of sync with the people working there. By the end, it seemed like the servers were finally figuring out that we didn't need to be left alone in order to enjoy ourselves, so it ended up being an overall positive experience.

All in all, Canlis is lovely and clearly high class, but we probably won't go back due to the excessively formal feel to the place.

Tags: Fireplace, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 29, 2017

We had a wonderful meal at a great restaurant. It was our first time at this iconic Seattle restaurant and they surpassed our expectations. We had the four course dinner and everything was amazing. The service was top notch and the piano music added to a wonderful ambiance. If you want a special treat Canlis is the place to go.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 28, 2017

It was an amazing experience. Form the time you pull up to valet parking and the last sip of coffee after a beautifully served 4 course meal I felt like someone other than a retired military member and part of the working class of the King County area. Special thanks to every staff member who stopped at our table and served us. Summer thanks for the care and attention you provided us. Finally thank you Canlis family for the personal hospitality to 2 old Army veterans. We will definitely return and recommend your restaurant to all of our friends..

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Surpassed our expectations ! Everything and more !

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Romantic, Private Room, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Historic, Scenic View, Tasting Menu, Fireplace, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Incredible view, impeccable service, food 7 out of 10. It was all good, just nothing outstanding. Valet parking is required, but free, and your car is ready when you walk out the door, like magic.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Private Room, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Romantic, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 25, 2017

I'm new to Seattle and everyone seems to answer "Canlis" when I ask "what's the best foodie restaurant in Seattle". I reserved a table for two for my birthday and opted for the four course menu, rather than the 9 course tasting menu. I also chose the classic wine pairing.

Unfortunately, there wasn't much about the experience that met my expectations, and nothing that exceeded them.

The staff were friendly and accommodating, although our server seemed not to know the menu and wines well. Generally, we struggled to understand one another. I was hoping for more guidance with both food and wine choices, to maximize the experience.

I thought the food was what one might expect at a casual dining restaurant. There was nothing extraordinary about any of our courses - they were mostly good. I was disappointed by my main course, "pork with radicchio, apple, fennel, and a sauce of drippings and black garlic". Everything on the plate was beige - completely void of color - and the pork under-cooked. No exaggeration.

I enjoyed the Spot Prawns and Sweet Onions (presentation on the latter was lovely) but these were both very small tasting portions. I also had the Steak Tartare which was, in my opinion, heavy-handed. I am accustomed to this dish being delicate. The beef seemed as though it were ground rather than thin shaved. This dish was all red - garnish and all, no variation in color, save for a dollop of what I think was called an egg 'puree'.

The view from our table was great, looking out over Lake Union, but the restaurant itself was bland, also void of color. White table clothes all over adorned with nothing charming or visually appealing. It felt as though there were a 'no color' rule at Canlis.

All in all, I was expecting an extraordinary meal and experience but didn't receive either. The check came to $366 for two people, including the 20% mandatory tip.

I'm glad to have tried Canlis but am disappointed I didn't put nearly $400 to better use.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Business Meals, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 25, 2017

Every item on the Tasting Menu was amazing, along with perfectly paired wines. Service was impeccable and flawless! Truly a wonderful experience, and will definitely return.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 22, 2017

The staff has to be the best trained and accommodating in Seattle. Very welcoming and enjoyable ambiance.

Thank you,

Carl Larson

Tags: Local Ingredients, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 21, 2017

This restaurant has a reputation of being Seattle's finest dining experience, and it´s completely deserved, there is absolutely nothing bad I can say about Canlis, they even warmed up our coats by the fireplace before handing them to us when we left.

The food is exquisite, the cocktails are innovative and delicious, the staff is friendly and very knowledgeable, the wine pairing is perfect.

If you can afford it, you have to try it, Canlis is one of the best restaurants I´ve ever had the pleasure of dining at.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Outstanding Value, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 20, 2017

This is our favorite restaurant in Seattle for special occasions! We've celebrated birthdays, anniversaries and new jobs and got engaged here! From the moment you pull up outside until the moment you leave, you'll be well taken care of. Every bite of food is amazing from start to finish, including the amuse bouche to the macaroons and all 3-4 courses in between. Enjoy every minute!

Tags: Fireplace, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Historic, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 19, 2017

I ordered a rare Filet Mignon and my wife ordered a medium rare New York Strip. When it came to the table my Filet Mignon was dry, and my wife's New York Strip was bleeding on the plate. We in- formed our server that they had the order backward and she was apologetic and took our food back to the kitchen to be remade. Then about 20 minutes later our new steaks arrived and it was the same thing! We showed our server the plates and she said that she "took them back the first time and the cook told her that "they were perfectly fine" and im sorry." ...and she walked away! My wife and i literally had to switch plates to eat. So we were able to eat them how we liked them cooked but not the cut of meat we wanted. She tried to make up for it later in the meal but the experience was already ruined. This may not be a big deal at long horn, but when your bill is $232.00 for 2 people you want what you ordered.

Update: Upon reading this review, the very next day I was contacted by Amanda the dining room manager. She was genuinely concerned with my issues, and went out of her way to contact me not only through the phone but by email. I reached back out to her and she was very professional and genuinely cared about the fact that I did not have a good experience at the restaurant. After speaking with her I will give this place another chance.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 17, 2017

The food was great and the service was impeccable. The price is what you would expect, but the sticker shock quickly fades with the service, the food, and the occasion you are celebrating.

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Ambiance is incredible, service is top notch, but the food for the price was sadly disappointing.

Tags: Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 15, 2017

This is a top notch restaurant from the atmosphere to the staff we had a good experience.

Tags: Modern Decor, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Excellent service. Food needs some work. Very salty duck. Scallop dish was bland.

The cabbage, salad, and prawn dishes were excellent.

Bread is awful. No offense but seriously change the recipe. Its too hard. Actually hurt my teeth chewing the bread.

Wine by the bottle is over rated. Paid 90 dollars for a bottle I could purchase at Total wine for 23 dollars!

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 15, 2017

The service was amazing, from the moment we arrived we felt pampered, the hospitality and attention to detail couldn't have been better. If you want to feel like royalty, this is the place to go.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Outstanding service and the best food and experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 13, 2017

We have always loved the ambience and the impeccable service at Canlis. The appetizers were amazing, especially the Steak Tartare. And everyone enjoyed the entrees, the duck being declared the favorite. Our wait staff was exceptional, as always. However....we were seated in the same room as the piano. The piano player was so loud and heavy-handed, and insensitive to his role in that type of dinner setting, that we truly could not hear each other speak. By the end of our 3 hour dinner many in our group were quite grumpy from having to yell to be heard. Not sure why dinner was served in the bar, but from now on we know to ask for a table far, far away from the music.

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.