About Canlis

2576 Aurora Ave N
Seattle, WA 98109
View Larger Map

This is a place where you feel welcomed. Run by the Canlis family, Canlis is the Pacific Northwest's most celebrated restaurant, winner of fourteen consecutive Wine Spectator Grand Awards and three time James Beard runner up for best service in the country. Voted Most Romantic, Best View, Best Service, Best Design, Top Wine List and Wine Service, Washington Family Business of the year, and Best Overall Restaurant. At Canlis we are learners, and after 60 years of serving Seattle, we believe we're just beginning to get things right. We look forward to meeting you. For more information, we invite you to www.canlis.com

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Northwest

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Friday: 5:30pm - close, Saturday: 5:00pm - close

Cross Street:
Haliday

Dress Code:
Jacket Preferred

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(206) 283-3313

Website:
http://www.canlis.com/

Entertainment:
Every evening is accompanied by live piano music from a 1920 Steinway Grand.

Parking Details:
Over the years Canlis has become known for its valet service. Our team looks forward to serving you in this special way.

Executive Chef:
Brady Williams

Private Party Facilities:
Recently named by Saveur magazine as one of the “Top 12 Restaurants in America that Matter,” nominated four times by the James Beard foundation for “Best Service in the country,” and selected as one of Food and Wine Magazine’s “Top 10 Best New Chefs in America,” Canlis is the most award-winning rest

Private Party Contact:
Megan Brady: 8773912113

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
SPECIAL REQUESTS: Please call the reservationist directly to place any special orders or floral arrangements.

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Amuse Bouche - Canlis, Seattle, WA
Truffle Fries - Canlis, Seattle, WA
Macarons - Canlis, Seattle, WA
steak tartare - Canlis, Seattle, WA
Black Cod - Canlis, Seattle, WA
grand marnier souffle - Canlis, Seattle, WA
Halekulani Cocktail - Canlis, Seattle, WA
Canlis Prawn - Canlis, Seattle, WA
Wagyu & Muscovy Duck - Canlis, Seattle, WA
chocolate fondant - Canlis, Seattle, WA
Prawns - Canlis, Seattle, WA
Hen egg - Canlis, Seattle, WA
Squab - Canlis, Seattle, WA
Escarole, Olives & Anchovies - Canlis, Seattle, WA
Artichoke Salad - Canlis, Seattle, WA
Fluke  - Canlis, Seattle, WA
chocolate ganache - Canlis, Seattle, WA
Lobster - Canlis, Seattle, WA
Rhubarb - Canlis, Seattle, WA
Foie Gras - Canlis, Seattle, WA
Muscovy Duck Two Ways - Canlis, Seattle, WA
Hamachi - Canlis, Seattle, WA
Fennel Seed Roll - Canlis, Seattle, WA
"Peas and Carrots" - Canlis, Seattle, WA
Whole Roasted Muscovy Duck - Canlis, Seattle, WA
White Peach Amuse Bouche - Canlis, Seattle, WA
Poached Duck Egg with Uni - Canlis, Seattle, WA
Roasted Duck - Canlis, Seattle, WA
Lemon Chiboust - Canlis, Seattle, WA
Maximin Grunhaus Reisling - Canlis, Seattle, WA
Strawberry Rhubarb Tart - Canlis, Seattle, WA
Strawberries - Canlis, Seattle, WA
Asparagus, Goat Cheese, Smoked Steelhead Roe - Canlis, Seattle, WA
roast pork - Canlis, Seattle, WA
Amaretta - Canlis, Seattle, WA
Seared Diver Scallops - Canlis, Seattle, WA
Cheesecake, Grapes, Champagne, and spiced pear sorbet - Canlis, Seattle, WA
Pork, pork belly, Braised red cabbage, figs, and black trumpet mushrooms - Canlis, Seattle, WA
Escarole,anchovies and olives - Canlis, Seattle, WA
Figs, Chocolate, Maple pecan, XO Noble vinegar, and crêpe dentelle - Canlis, Seattle, WA
Fois Gras Torchon, Ash Rolled Rabbit Loin & Riellette, Pickled Mustard Seeds, Sautern Gelee & Brioche - Canlis, Seattle, WA
New York Strip - Canlis, Seattle, WA
Pork - Canlis, Seattle, WA
Lamb Loin - Canlis, Seattle, WA
Course #2 - Chef's Tasting Menu - Canlis, Seattle, WA
Course #3 - Chef's Tasting Menu - Canlis, Seattle, WA
Kampachi - Canlis, Seattle, WA
Copper River Salmon - Canlis, Seattle, WA
La Florida Rum Daisy - Canlis, Seattle, WA
Strawberry Fizz - Canlis, Seattle, WA
Mille-Feuille - Canlis, Seattle, WA
Pea Soup - Canlis, Seattle, WA
Chocolates - Canlis, Seattle, WA
Squid, Tapioca, fennel, and shrimp bisque - Canlis, Seattle, WA
Matsutake mushrooms, Chicken liver mousse, Sauternes, and purslane - Canlis, Seattle, WA
Maccaroons - Canlis, Seattle, WA
non-alcoholic strawberry puree drink - Canlis, Seattle, WA
Mushroom quiche - Canlis, Seattle, WA
Dorade - Canlis, Seattle, WA
Smoked Chicken Breast - Canlis, Seattle, WA
Heirloom Tomatoes - Canlis, Seattle, WA
Apple Tart Tatin - Canlis, Seattle, WA
Octopus - Canlis, Seattle, WA
Butternut Squash - Canlis, Seattle, WA
Broiled Halibut - Canlis, Seattle, WA
Smoked salmon - Canlis, Seattle, WA
Heirloom Tomatoe Bisque - Canlis, Seattle, WA
Canlis Salad - Canlis, Seattle, WA
Dessert Course - Chef's Tasting Menu - Canlis, Seattle, WA
Course #1 - Chef's Tasting Menu - Canlis, Seattle, WA
Artichoke Tortellini - Canlis, Seattle, WA
Asparagus - Canlis, Seattle, WA
Macrina Bakery Roll - Canlis, Seattle, WA
Purple Ambrosia - Canlis, Seattle, WA
White Peach Soup - Canlis, Seattle, WA
Soleil Royale - Canlis, Seattle, WA
Pork Belly - Canlis, Seattle, WA
Dessert Trio - Canlis, Seattle, WA
Asparagus Crostini - Canlis, Seattle, WA
beef short ribs - Canlis, Seattle, WA
Squash, Apple, And Curry - Canlis, Seattle, WA
Lemon Fennel Sourdough - Canlis, Seattle, WA
Cured And Aged Scallops - Canlis, Seattle, WA
Mushroom soup - Canlis, Seattle, WA
chocolate-covered chocolate - Canlis, Seattle, WA
Curry-cantaloupe soup - Canlis, Seattle, WA
smoked pork belly - Canlis, Seattle, WA
Chocolate Covered Chocolate - Canlis, Seattle, WA
Muscovy duck - Canlis, Seattle, WA
Figs & Chocolate - Canlis, Seattle, WA
Scallop - Canlis, Seattle, WA
Dungeness Crab Cake - Canlis, Seattle, WA
14-day Dry Aged Muscovy Duck - Canlis, Seattle, WA
strawberry rhubarb soup - Canlis, Seattle, WA
Chocolate On Chocolate - Canlis, Seattle, WA

Canlis Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.7

ambience

4.8

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

83% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (88)
Romantic (83)
Scenic View (81)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (70)
Notable Wine List (65)
Good for a Date (48)
Fit for Foodies (46)
Good for Birthdays (43)
Tasting Menu (41)
Historic (40)
Creative Cuisine (36)
Handcrafted Cocktails (33)
Quiet Conversation (32)
Worth the Drive (31)
Live Music (29)
Fireplace (28)
Local Ingredients (19)
Waterfront (19)
Authentic (18)
Cozy (17)
Business Meals (16)
Neighborhood Gem (15)
Modern Decor (13)
Private Room (11)
Good for Groups (9)
People Watching (9)
Gluten Free Options (8)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Seasonal (7)
Fun (6)
Outstanding Value (6)
Healthy (5)
Bar Seating (5)
Disabled Access (4)
Molecular Gastronomy (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Organic (3)
Happy Hour (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Family Style (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Tapas (1)
Vegan (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Great Beer (1)
Spicy (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
2923 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Outstanding service and the best food an ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined 3 days ago

Outstanding service and the best food and experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We have always loved the ambience and th ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined 4 days ago

We have always loved the ambience and the impeccable service at Canlis. The appetizers were amazing, especially the Steak Tartare. And everyone enjoyed the entrees, the duck being declared the favorite. Our wait staff was exceptional, as always. However....we were seated in the same room as the piano. The piano player was so loud and heavy-handed, and insensitive to his role in that type of dinner setting, that we truly could not hear each other speak. By the end of our 3 hour dinner many in our group were quite grumpy from having to yell to be heard. Not sure why dinner was served in the bar, but from now on we know to ask for a table far, far away from the music.

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

As always, an outstanding evening in eve ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined 6 days ago

As always, an outstanding evening in every way. Food, ambience,wine list,service. Ideal for a special occasion

Tags: Good for a Date, Waterfront, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Live Music, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We chose the seven course tasting menu w ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined 6 days ago

We chose the seven course tasting menu which I would say is the best value. Have not tried the 3 or 4 course - the 3 or 4 course menus are 1 appetizer and 1 main course and a desert - not sure if you could have 2 appetizers and skip desert? We are adding this into the regular mix - gorgeous view, perfect personal attention, all the food was delivered at the correct temperature - we did not have to wait for wine or water, etc. Very sophisticated dining room experience, most everyone in biz attire we went on a Monday. Fascinating family history and local icon. Newest generation of their family continue to create a perfect and lovely evening for their guests. Can't wait to go back. Would recommend early in the week as still fully booked but not overly packed.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Fireplace, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had an extremely disappointing exper ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 7 days ago

We had an extremely disappointing experience at Canlis celebrating both my wife's birthday and me becoming a proud new US Citizen!

First the good! Great views and a real nice traditional Northwest setting makes for a great night out that has class and coziness which gives one that relax feeling that most special occasion restaurants have.

Also the service was great from the nice gentleman at the valet to the doorman to the floor managers to our very kind and attentive waiter and the knowledgeable sommelier everyone had a great attitude and all seemed very happy and professional.

We chose the four course menu with me ordering the Dungeons crab and the Wagu steak Tatar.

The Tatar was so heavily seasoned that one could not taste the beef and the freshness of the crab left much to be desired! My wife ordered the cabbage dish and the spotted prawns and they were both excellent. As to our main entrees I ordered the black cod and my wife ordered the filet mignon. My wife does not like to complain and neither do I and since it was her birthday I didn't say anything in order not to ruin an special occasion. My fish was so fishy that I ate one bite and that was it, we have traveled extensively and eaten black cod in many occasions and this was utter disaster! My wife's steak didn't have that nice texture and taste that the proper aging process gives beef. I buy Choice steak at Costco that tastes so much better than what we had not to mention how salty it was.

I totally understand that things could go wrong in back of the house but this was a combination of a too many dishes that had something wrong and the freshness of the ingredients were questionable. Hate to say it but the bread and butter, the spotted prawns and the crème brûlée were the highlights of the evening.

Would we go back? Most likely not but the ambience and the excellent service left the door just open enough for another try down the road should we hear good things about the food.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service5
value2

I come here once or twice a year. I do ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 7, 2017

I come here once or twice a year. I do enjoy the place. But this time things were not as good as in the past. the Service was a little hurried, and our server seemed to forget about us selecting a wine, we had to ask for wine list just before our main course. Bread was also late, and the when asked if we wanted more and we said "yes" it never came. Not a big deal, but a big deal when you are paying this kind of money.

I had the duck which was good, my partner the Cod - which was not the greatest. I wanted it to be really outstanding, but I left feeling a little disappointed

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

We had a dinner here for work on a Thur ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 6, 2017

We had a dinner here for work on a Thursday evening. The service here is extremely great, they have a very smooth way of making your experience over the top like you have your own concierge throughout your meal. We all decided to do a 4 course meal, placed our orders with our waitress and let evening begin. The first round of food was a complimentary tasting which was some sort of beignet and apple cider, and a buckwheat crisp that was offered as a gluten free option. The crisp looked completely un-appetizing and tasted about as great as it looked, the taste resembled a burnt tortilla that has been dunked in day old coffee. After our first and second courses, our main course came to the table and I had ordered the filet cooked medium. My steak arrived completely over cooked (more like well done), so we had sent it back and the waiters were so great about accommodating. Second filet came out and the waitress stood over me while I cut open the steak to make sure it was cooked to my liking... however, it was overlooked yet again. That filet was sent back as well, and finally the THIRD filet came back cooked to medium. While after going through all of this mishap with the filet, you'd assume it would be the best thing you've ever had... wrong! So disappointing. Dessert came and it was great, but nothing over the top. Each course that was brought to us, was brought out by a different person... many which seemed very young and either forgot or stumbled over the items they had served us.

Weve dined here before and have been BLOWN away by the flavors and service here. This last time unfortunately will be our last for a while.... for the prices you pay, you expect the absolute best. The food however reminded me of something I could have gotten at an average restraurant. Needless to say, we all left feeling disappointed and annoyed.

I truly hope canlis was just having an "off" evening. I do love it here, but I can't say I would recommend after our experience Thursday.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

Truly an exceptional restaurant. The foo ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Truly an exceptional restaurant. The food is excellent; presentation, flavors, portion sizes, all executed flawlessly. The service was truly amazing. Normally, after such a wonderful dining experience, I would recommend the restaurant without hesitation. However, the bill was ridiculously high. We've eaten at most of Seattle's pricier restaurants, and will again, but I greatly doubt we'll ever eat at Canlis again. It's just too hard to justify dropping that many $100s on a single meal. No matter how good it is.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Best service I have ever experienced at ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Best service I have ever experienced at a restaurant!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always amazing and special. They make yo ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Always amazing and special. They make you feel like royalty.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Fireplace, Tasting Menu, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding, definitely lives up to its ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Outstanding, definitely lives up to its reputation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Another wonderful evening at Canlis. Ti ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Another wonderful evening at Canlis. Time and time again Canlis has provided impeccable service and outstanding food and wine and this evening was no different. I love the contemporary additions to the drink and food menu while staying true to their roots and highlighting some classic menu items from the past. Discussions with the sommelier were great and all staff were knowledgeable, approachable and informative.

Tags: , Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Fireplace, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our Server had a Unique Personality and ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Our Server had a Unique Personality and his Quirkiness served us well, since I'm a bit different myself. Saying this as a compliment. It was as if we had an Act performed in front of us. Amazing Service, beautiful building with an Awesome Story behind their success. Great place to celebrate a moment in time as my Lady and I are celebrating our next step in life.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Canlis was the most amazing dining exper ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Canlis was the most amazing dining experience I have ever had! From the moment we walked in, we were greeted by a super friendly staff and environment. The service was impeccable and food truly amazing with every bite. I highly recommend the wine pairings to go with the food as their sommeliers nailed it! They truly went the extra to make our dining experience one to remember!

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very limited menu. Only one non shellfis ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Very limited menu. Only one non shellfish fish option and was sold out of it. That should not happen. Nice atmosphere. Pretty restaurant staff was very friendly and professional.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4

Overall our experience here was great. W ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Overall our experience here was great. We chose to get the tasting menu, and the majority of items on it were unique and excellent. Our 4 star review is due to the main entree, which we were told beforehand was a waygu New York strip (and this swayed us to get the tasting). When we got the meat, it was clear is was not waygu (and it was not very good).

The wine pairing was excellent and definitely worth the money. The food seemed a tad overpriced.

Service was quite excellent - the somm was obviously knowledgeable about all of the wine selections, and the servers were all quite kind.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Scenic View, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We've been to Canlis several times and t ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 28, 2016

We've been to Canlis several times and this was the first time we've left disappointed. I'm not sure what happened but the portion and quality of the food has shrunk noticeably. My mother was looking forward to the amuse bouche which used to be a trio of small bites. They had replaced it this time with a beignet the size of a gumball and a cup of apple cider? It felt like we were eating dessert before the meal. The wagyu steak, which requires a $20 supplement is literally less than half the size it used to be. Truffle fries which used to come in a decent sized bowl came in a baby cup sized container. Beef tartare, again, half the size it used to be with "toast points" that were like wisps of air...and not in a good way. I could continue but I think you get the idea... We came here for birthdays...no candles with the dessert like before. I also realized afterward that we didn't even get the signature chocolate bar after! Not sure whether they forgot or they just aren't giving them out anymore.

The food was still overall solid and the service of course incredible but I no longer think it is worth the price tag. I will be looking elsewhere for my next special occasion restaurant.

Tags: Historic, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

I loved the place.

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 24, 2016

I loved the place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

I took my wife to the Canlis for a quiet ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 22, 2016

I took my wife to the Canlis for a quiet, romantic celebration. She and I always try to do something special on her birthday. The atmosphere and food was excellent! The service was extremely accommodating without being intrusive. We thoroughly enjoyed our evening out and would recommend Canlis to everyone looking for a bit of ambiance with the warmth that good service can provide and a varied menus exquisitely prepared.

Tags: Historic, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Private Room, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

THE Iconic Seattle dining landmark. Abso ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 20, 2016

THE Iconic Seattle dining landmark. Absolutely deserving of its reputation.

Stellar service, terrific wine selection and beautifully prepared food. Northwest modern, with a nod to its 1950's roots, unfussy, unhurried, elegant and beautiful.

Everyone should experience Canlis.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Best restaurant in Seattle!

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 19, 2016

Best restaurant in Seattle!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We were a party of three for drinks in t ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 19, 2016

We were a party of three for drinks in the bar followed by dinner. The hosts and wait staff were professional, friendly and truly made us feel welcomed. The cocktails were good but the noise behind the bar disrupted our conversation......blender and/or martini shakers were unusually loud. We had a very nice table with beautiful views of Seattle and the charming outside trees. However; the food missed on almost every level. The presentation of the caviar was simply odd and the "American" sturgeon not exceptional. The signature salad was good but not a stand out. The best dish of the evening was the steak tartare. I had the beef filet which was good but not close to the best I have had.....more in the average category. Didn't think the quality of meat was what it should be given the accolades Canlis receives. The desserts were again not excellent. And much to our surprise the signature soufflé lacked flavor. This is my second visit to Canlis and it is like my first.....had hoped for a different outcome. What is truly the most puzzling to me is why Canlis is rated number one in Seattle. Not even close in quality to several other restaurants in Seattle. The host and servers, ambiance and views are stellar. If only the food would come even close to that compliment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value1

Simply outstanding all around! Great ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 19, 2016

Simply outstanding all around! Great vintage/modern fused venue with top of line food, drink, service, view and full experience. While it will require top dollar, it's worth it, especially if one is seeking a special evening out. You will not be disappointed.

Tags: Business Meals, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Modern Decor, Scenic View, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Fireplace, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Historic, Live Music, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My first visit to Canlis, it was outstan ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 19, 2016

My first visit to Canlis, it was outstanding. Minimal wait time, excellent food and service. The service was attentive and very polite. Excellent overall experience.

Tags: Live Music, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Scenic View, Spicy, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is a superb place to celebrate a sp ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 18, 2016

This is a superb place to celebrate a special occasion and have magnificent food. Transcendent dining experience.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Waterfront, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Simply wonderful. Canlis is something ev ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Simply wonderful. Canlis is something everyone should experience at least once in their lives. Best foods to order: Prawns, Canlis salad, Filet Mignon, and the Creme Brulee. Already looking to plan my next visit.

Tags: Cozy, Waterfront, Live Music, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Fireplace, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was top notch. The food was ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 17, 2016

The service was top notch. The food was average. If you want a great experience this is the place for you. If you want great food then find another restaurant.

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

We lived in Seattle for 29 years, wanted ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 16, 2016

We lived in Seattle for 29 years, wanted to go there several times over the years, and finally made it for our 30th wedding anniversary. It was a wonderful dinner experience

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was the greatest disappointment of ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 16, 2016

This was the greatest disappointment of our recent trip to Seattle. We had not been to Canlis in 3 years, but we had always considered it one of our favorite restaurants. We had the tasting menu with the sommelier's flight. The food was nothing special, but very expensive at $145 per person. Some courses were almost inedible. In fairness after we complained Mark Canlis did not charge us for the food. The wine was also disappointing. Both food and wine had always before been special. We will not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

We have dined here many, many times over ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 15, 2016

We have dined here many, many times over the years. The ambience and service are impeccable. But the preparation of food has not been as we expected, perhaps due to a relatively new chef. This visit we were very disappointed in the wagyu beef which is usually as tender as butter and at a premium price. This steak was somewhat tough and comparable to an ordinary cut of meat. Some items tend to be overly salted. But the grand mariner soufflé is not to be missed. The entire staff is to be complimented for their unmatchable attention to detail and welcoming demeanor. Of course the legendary parking attendants never fail to amaze.

Tags: Fireplace, Private Room, Local Ingredients, Historic, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Romantic, Modern Decor, Live Music, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

We have enjoyed Canlis over the years as ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 15, 2016

We have enjoyed Canlis over the years as a special occasion dinner treat. In December, we were sorely disappointed. Our entrees arrived cold. We told our server and she said she'd tell the chef and that was it. We were left with our cold entrees and presented with our full $484 bill at the end of the meal. The other courses were nothing spectacular, as we had experienced in the past. In addition, while Canlils posts a dress code, it is not enforced. Either eliminate it or enforce it. Overall, it was a disappointing dining experience in a spectacular setting. However next time, I'm sorry to say we will skip Canlis and select another of Seattle's renowned restaurants.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value1

Seattle's finest. Great view. Luxuriou ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 14, 2016

Seattle's finest. Great view. Luxurious surroundings, and great service. Food was good, but the ambience is super!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Brought my fiance here for her birthday. ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 14, 2016

Brought my fiance here for her birthday. Some things were great - such as service with coat check, valet, and water refills - never went dry, had our coat and car without valet ticket ready to go and at the door as soon as our check was up without asking. The first 3 courses were excellent, however both of our mains were not served hot and I ordered the black cod which was slightly bland. Our waitress was nice, though less attentive than would have expected, waiting 10-15 minutes after finishing our drinks before having the opportunity to order additional drinks. The view and ambiance were exceptional. All in all, I'm glad to have tried it given its reputation, however would not recommend based on our experience.

Tags: Scenic View, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, People Watching, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

After arriving 30 minutes late, due to t ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 14, 2016

After arriving 30 minutes late, due to traffic, we were met and greeted very graciously. We were then seated at the best table in the house with a breath-taking view of the moon and the Seattle ship canal.

Our server, Stephanie, was very attentive and very well informed about the extensive wine list.

We ordered the 3-course meal. Every plate was beautifully presented and delicious. Our cheese and dessert plate was surprisingly decorated with a "Happy Anniversary" greeting.

Besides what we ordered, we were delighted by some other little extras like the beignet & cider and later the macaroons.

Service by all including the valets is world-class.

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We continued our long tradition of celeb ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 13, 2016

We continued our long tradition of celebrating my birthday at Canlis. The high level consistency of great food and drinks and impeccable service. The portions appear small but I never leave I unfilled or unhappy.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Disabled Access, Creative Cuisine, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was exceptional as always, with ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 12, 2016

The food was exceptional as always, with incredible wine selections. However, the service is a bit overdone. I appreciate the approach to have multiple people tending to you, but it isn't really positioned as a good thing. Rather, we had a head server who spoke in an ethereal tone vs. being more human and connected to us. Then we rarely saw him and instead had different servers for every course delivered. He returned at the end to provide the check. While Canlis is an incredible experience, the overall effect is tired and needs to be modernized with a more personal connection between a server and the customers.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value2

We went to Canlis to celebrate my husban ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 12, 2016

We went to Canlis to celebrate my husband's 70th birthday. Everything about the experience was sublime. I had the duck and it was perfect. Don't pass up the foie gras. The service was impeccable, as always. Looking forward to our next special occasion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing food and great service. Glad we ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 12, 2016

Amazing food and great service. Glad we finally made it!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Private Room, Good for Birthdays, Historic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was impeccable, and the foo ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 11, 2016

The service was impeccable, and the food was good but coming from wine county California we could have had slightly better food for less then half the price we paid. The view is stunning and the ambiance of the restaurant was quite wonderful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

Spectacular setting and ambience... wort ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Spectacular setting and ambience... worth the $$$$ (but I was treated!)

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Fireplace, Modern Decor, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.