Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.86mi
  2. Distance: 0.87mi
  3. Distance: 0.91mi
  4. Distance: 0.95mi
  1. Distance: 0.86mi
  2. Distance: 0.87mi
  3. Distance: 0.91mi
  4. Distance: 0.95mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.86mi
  2. Distance: 0.87mi
  3. Distance: 0.91mi
  4. Distance: 0.95mi
  1. Distance: 0.86mi
  2. Distance: 0.87mi
  3. Distance: 0.91mi
  4. Distance: 0.95mi

About Canlis

This is a place where you feel welcomed. Run by the Canlis family, Canlis is the Pacific Northwest's most celebrated restaurant, winner of twenty consecutive Wine Spectator Grand Awards and three time James Beard runner up for best service in the country. Voted Most Romantic, Best View, Best Service, Best Design, Top Wine List and Wine Service, Washington Family Business of the year, and Best Overall Restaurant. At Canlis we are learners, and after 66 years of serving Seattle, we believe we're just beginning to get things right. We look forward to meeting you.

LARGE PARTIES: For parties of 7-8 guests, we ask for 48 hours notice when ordering the tasting menu.

2576 Aurora Ave N
Seattle, WA 98109
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Northwest

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Friday: 5:30pm - close, Saturday: 5:00pm - close

Cross Street:
Haliday

Dress Code:
Jacket Preferred

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(206) 283-3313

Website:
http://www.canlis.com/

Entertainment:
Every evening is accompanied by live piano music from a 1920 Steinway Grand.

Parking Details:
Valet parking is included with the price of dinner.

Executive Chef:
Brady Williams

Private Party Facilities:
Canlis can accommodate up to 8 guests in the dining room. For larger parties, please call the restaurant directly to reserve one of our two private rooms. The Executive Room can seat 8-24 guests and The Penthouse can seat up to 80.

Private Party Contact:
Megan Brady: (877) 391-2113

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
SPECIAL REQUESTS: Please call the reservationist directly to place any special orders or floral arrangements.
LARGE PARTIES: For parties of 7-8 guests, we ask for 48 hours notice when ordering the tasting menu. Please call the restaurant directly to make a reservation.

Canlis Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.8

ambience

4.8

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (114)
Romantic (110)
Good for Anniversaries (95)
See All
Scenic View (91)
Notable Wine List (82)
Good for a Date (67)
Fit for Foodies (56)
Tasting Menu (54)
Creative Cuisine (50)
Quiet Conversation (50)
Historic (47)
Good for Birthdays (46)
Handcrafted Cocktails (40)
Fireplace (37)
Worth the Drive (35)
Business Meals (30)
Live Music (28)
Waterfront (27)
Local Ingredients (25)
Cozy (24)
Private Room (19)
Neighborhood Gem (19)
Authentic (18)
Modern Decor (16)
Good for Groups (13)
Bar Seating (13)
Fun (12)
Healthy (10)
People Watching (10)
Pre/post Theatre (10)
Molecular Gastronomy (9)
Seasonal (9)
Outstanding Value (8)
Disabled Access (8)
Hot Spot (6)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Organic (5)
Late-night Find (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Great Beer (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Comfort Food (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Spicy (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Dancing (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Casual (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Sort By:
S
3025 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 5 days ago

Still maintaining its reputation as a premier Seattle restaurant. Outstanding experience from arrival to departure.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 22, 2017

Fabulous dinner for a birthday celebration

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 21, 2017

Just awesome! We were told that we would be blown away by the service but might leave hungary. Not so. In addition to the four courses that we ordered, we were given a cheese puff appetizer, bread with the second course, and a macaroon after our dessert course. Perfect amount of time in between courses and awesome wine list. Not cheap, but if you like fine dining, this place is a must.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Healthy, Fireplace, Romantic, Historic, Tasting Menu, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 21, 2017

Fantastic restaurant, great food, great view and the service you expect at the best venues

Tags: Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 21, 2017

Canlis is spectacular... absolutely wonderful view, good food and impeccable service. BUT... the tasting menu and wine pairing for three people was almost $1100. The quantity of food was not sufficient... there were lots of courses, but each course generally was "one bite," with no actual "meal" involved.

I can't recommend. I've had great food before, and yes, this was great food... but the scanty portions and extremely high price makes this a "once, never repeated" kind of meal. And truthfully, while the food was very good, I've had as good or better, and I've never paid more than half this much for a meal.

So if you try Canlis, bring an empty credit card. All in all the experience was good, but I can't recommend, because no one I know could stomach the bill without becoming sick.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value1

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 21, 2017

Canlis is simply an outstanding restaurant. The food, the service, and the ambience simply could not be better.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Canlis is an experience that everyone should check off their bucket list. You don't win numerous James Beard awards for service for just being a normal night out... it's a dream!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Hands down the best overall dining experience available!

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (London)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Very disappointed in the food. I read they got the chef from 11 Madison Park (my fav restaurant in the world). Clearly he/she must have been fired from 11 Madison Park because the food is extremely disappointing. What happened to the "pop" and "wow" of the food? What happened to the fish melting in your mouth? There was none of that.

Service was fantastic.

Piano was extremely loud and we asked them to ask the pianist to play softer and it was still very loud. We couldn't hear each other speak.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 17, 2017

We have gone to Canlis every year for our Anniversary. My wife loves the restaurant, and we have always enjoyed the excellent food and overall experience. Unfortunately this year simply wasn't the same. While the service and overall ambiance was nice, it appears they are becoming a bit lacking in the food department as well as the previous dress code standards.

My dinner was actually cold and rather bland, which has never happened before. Also, in years past the service was impeccable, but this year it wasn't as prompt or attentive as I remember. I believe it may have been because there were several large tables, but unfortunately for us that left us with longer wait times, and cold food.

I didn't want to complain and put a damper on our annual celebration. As mentioned, it is my wife's favorite place and I didn't want her to feel bad even though it is a pretty expensive place to go.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Our Canlis experience was unforgettable. It is difficult to put in to words how much our meal meant to us. The food was incredible, but the staff is what solidified Canlis as an altogether transcendent experience. Communion with one another, respect for ingredients, and unselfish service are the mediums in which all at Canlis are truly artists.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fireplace, Disabled Access, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Live Music, Organic, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Historic, Romantic, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 16, 2017

So. After four years we returned to Canlis for our daughter's 18th birthday.
No reason for being away for so long - which makes me wonder why.
Great valet parking.
I called in advance to explain that we had minors in the party (see comments about waiting in the bar).
Also requested to be far from the piano (see comments) also honored.
Lovely attention to detail, service, food was delicious timing was perfect.
I just wish that there was not this four course compulsory menu. Is it the same every night? Our food was delicious but I just feel that there is no spark, no originality, no joy.
I am sure we will return. Just to too soon.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on March 15, 2017

The night was an experience that we will never forget.

Tags: Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Scenic View, Historic, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Impressive service and food presentation. Worth to make a trip for the dinner!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Excellent in every respect. Truly a fine dining experience that I would recommend highly.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Casual, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 15, 2017

The food and dining experience were exceptional in every way! It is worth the time and money to dine at Canlis. We will make this a regular stop on our Seattle visits.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Historic, Special Occasion, Romantic, Scenic View, Open Kitchen, Live Music, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 14, 2017

Great food, nice arrive. And the view is really stunning !!!!!!

Very suitable for anniversary or some special occasion❤️

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Amazing! This establishment is not cheap, however it is worth every cent. By far the best service I've ever had at a restaurant in my entire life. The food was so fantastic that my wife and I are still talking about it two days later.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Boise)·Dined on March 11, 2017

I have been an enthusiastic patron for years but was a little disappointed as three of our four dishes arrived at room temperature, apparently awaiting the preparation of the fourth. The server was gracious but somewhat unapologetic. Canlis salad not as good as usual. Everything else was spot on!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Our last visit was 30 years ago and we are so happy the place still retains the ambience and understated elegance.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fireplace, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Historic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 10, 2017

I have loved Canlis for a long time over 25 years, during all the ups and downs but I have to say it will be a very long time before I go back. I will say the service has gotten much, much better, it had really gone down hill but I feel they are really great again in this area. Unfortunately the food not so much. The menu was very difficult to choose from as there was nothing that really looked great from the descriptions. When we finally made our choices, both of us were incredibly underwhelmed. The flavors were just not there, there actually wasn't any flavor, there was food, cooked well but just no real taste to anything. We had the steak and it was fine, but for $80 you want it to be incredible melt in your mouth with great flavor unfortunately it sorely lacked. The potatoes that came with the steak was a small puddle of lackluster pureed potatoes, even just a touch of salt would have made them 50% better. As always the Canlis salad and twice baked potatoes were awesome, full of flavor. The desserts were quite good....we had the sesame souffle and the creme brulee.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Lived in Seattle almost 40 years... 1st time dining at Canlis. Yes it was pricey, $465 for 2 (we brought our own wine, $10 corkage pp/ includes 20% gratuity). Yes it was formal, (witnessed the staff provide a sport coat to a guest). Yes it was fantastic! Service was flawless from the moment you put your car in park until you drive away. I'm going to guess about a dozen staff people attended to our needs/wants/desires helping to guide us through a wonderful evening. From our outstanding mixologist/bartender, the many servers, our waiter, sommelier, to the valet. Food was crazy good. Steak tartare was best I ever had. Scampi to die for. My NY strip was cooked to perfection, a little more salty than I like (btw, no condiments on the table... unnecessary). Coffee Diablo (flambé) was a great tableside show and super tasty. A nightcap and accomplished pianist in the lounge, a perfect ending. We did it all and it all was great, a new reference in fine dining! My wife says... 'so this is how the rich people live'. If we each save $0.60 cents a day, we can eat there once a year. Works for me...

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic, Live Music, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Canlis is an OUTSTANDING customer experience. They truly think of everything.
- valet extremely attentive, car waiting when you leave, no ticket required
- hosts warming our coats by the fireplace as we left (wow!)
- all staff were extremely helpful and always stopped to check-in even chat, without ever being over-bearing

However, they recently changed their menu (January of this year) and you now have two options: 1) pay $105 for a four course meal (selection from each course-category of app, small plates, entrees, dessert) or do the tasting menu for about $145 I believe. We chose the ladder, 4-course menu. Our waitress, who was very sweet, let us know that if we wanted to order 2 from the app menu, 2 from the large menu, that was totally ok. She actually encourage that and NEVER made mention of the ridiculous amount of additional charges we would foresee. Of course I would expect an up-charge if we said, "sure, I'd like 4 filet mignon", but that wasn't the case. Between the two of us, we had a couple of apps, a few small plates and three large plates. Again, had she told us we were going to be charged $50 just for have the Cod, we would have reconsidered. The food was great, not life-changing. And the portion of crab was... 2 Tablespoons I would say.

Going to Canlis means you know you are paying for the experience, and you should expect to have a pretty expensive meal. By no means am I suggesting that our meal should have been a couple hundred dollars less, but the additional $50 for Cod should have been communicated clearly to us. We would have changed our entire selection accordingly. Whether a group of patrons is more or less price sensitive, it should always be clearly communicated if a drastic change in price is coming, especially when you (the staff) have actively encouraged the guests to make that selection, even saying "that's no problem".

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 9, 2017

The night at Canlis was one that I will never forget. The food was beautiful, well seasoned, creative and expressed the Pacific Northwest very well. The Sommeliers (I am one myself) were so informative without being condescending, and the wine selection was amazing! My guest and myself were so happy and thrilled. Shout out to Chris for taking such amazing care of us!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Tasting Menu, People Watching, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Worth the hype. The entire fine dining experience made the price worth it.

Tags: Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Molecular Gastronomy, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good Vegetarian Options, Live Music, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 7, 2017

We had a grand time, great food and superb service. Husband and I totally enjoyed everything

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Excellent in all aspects. They obviously respect their patrons who choose to come, enjoy and spend a good amount. So they deliver! Thanks

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Portion size was far less than visits to Canlis in the past. Service was not there as it has been. Only saving grace was the wine & spirits director, Nelson Daquip. We will not be returning to Canlis in the future and we will not recommend any friends or family to dine at the Canlis.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Always an amazing time at this Seattle classic. They continue to impresses year after year and decade after decade.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Private Room, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Historic, Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Live Music, Fireplace, Tasting Menu, Organic, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Molecular Gastronomy, Great Beer, Gluten Free Options, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, People Watching, Bar Seating, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Great experience and service. The staff went above and beyond with helping us with a gift card issue. The food was delicious, although we would prefer the old menu. The staff was very accommodating and did offer the old a'la cart menu though.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 4, 2017

We ordered the tasting menu, it was incredible. The staff is equally outstanding. Definitely a night to remember.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Waterfront, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Seasonal, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 4, 2017

This is a fabulous restaurant with first class service from all. The oysters and the crab were just a little too briney for my personal taste. The server recommended the prawns and I should have listened. The rest of the 4 course meal was absolutely delicious. Very romantic way to celebrate any special occasion. Would definitely recommend.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on March 4, 2017

I have been patronizing Canlis since the early 1970's. Brian and Mark have made this what their Grandfather would be so proud of in 2017. It is 100% class in food , service and fabulous view.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, People Watching, Romantic, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 4, 2017

The Canalis lived up to their reputation, we thoroughly enjoyed our dinner. The acoustics are wonderful, providing a quiet and romantic atmosphere.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Scenic View, Live Music, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 3, 2017

It was my wife's birthday and she wanted the experience of a five star resturaunt and she was pleased. The service was quality and the food was delicious. Overall, I would do it again on another special occasion.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on March 2, 2017

Amazing service and restaurant with a beautiful view.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 2, 2017

I had an amazing experience here for my friend's birthday. The staff was friendly, knowledgeable, and timely and helped make the night a great memory. The food exceeded expectations.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 2, 2017

One of the best restaurants I've been to in my life. Definitely very expensive but that was the expectation.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Historic, Organic, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 2, 2017

If you haven't tried it, You need to experience it. Truly a great experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 1, 2017

The service is impeccable from valet to host to server, maybe a little rehearsed/forced. Then again, that is a personal preference and I don't tend to be the most formal person in the first place.

The food was good, but I am not sure I would dine there again. Some of it was a bit over salted (dungeness crab, turnips in the scallops). The steak tartare was good, taste wise, but there were a few tough bits in it. Presentation was good. I did feel like I had enough to eat at the end, even though we opted out of dessert.

The cocktail we had was great (Red Griffin) and the wine we selected to go with dinner was awesome.

The seating arrangement was weird to me. We sat in the middle bit where the outer tables all face the inner ones and if you are a couple, sit on the same side. If I were to come back, I would probably ask for something seated across from my partner.

Overall, I would still recommend it to people experience. For myself, I am not sure that I would opt to do the full dining experience again.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, People Watching, Romantic, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Historic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.