About Canlis

2576 Aurora Ave N
Seattle, WA 98109
View Larger Map

This is a place where you feel welcomed. Run by the Canlis family, Canlis is the Pacific Northwest's most celebrated restaurant, winner of fourteen consecutive Wine Spectator Grand Awards and three time James Beard runner up for best service in the country. Voted Most Romantic, Best View, Best Service, Best Design, Top Wine List and Wine Service, Washington Family Business of the year, and Best Overall Restaurant. At Canlis we are learners, and after 60 years of serving Seattle, we believe we're just beginning to get things right. We look forward to meeting you. For more information, we invite you to www.canlis.com

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Northwest

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Friday: 5:30pm - close, Saturday: 5:00pm - close

Cross Street:
Haliday

Dress Code:
Jacket Preferred

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(206) 283-3313

Website:
http://www.canlis.com/

Entertainment:
Every evening is accompanied by live piano music from a 1920 Steinway Grand.

Parking Details:
Over the years Canlis has become known for its valet service. Our team looks forward to serving you in this special way.

Executive Chef:
Brady Williams

Private Party Facilities:
Recently named by Saveur magazine as one of the “Top 12 Restaurants in America that Matter,” nominated four times by the James Beard foundation for “Best Service in the country,” and selected as one of Food and Wine Magazine’s “Top 10 Best New Chefs in America,” Canlis is the most award-winning rest

Private Party Contact:
Megan Brady: 8773912113

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
SPECIAL REQUESTS: Please call the reservationist directly to place any special orders or floral arrangements.

Restaurant Photos

Canlis, Seattle, WA
Canlis, Seattle, WA
Canlis, Seattle, WA
Canlis, Seattle, WA
Canlis, Seattle, WA
Amuse Bouche - Canlis, Seattle, WA
Truffle Fries - Canlis, Seattle, WA
Macarons - Canlis, Seattle, WA
steak tartare - Canlis, Seattle, WA
Black Cod - Canlis, Seattle, WA
grand marnier souffle - Canlis, Seattle, WA
Halekulani Cocktail - Canlis, Seattle, WA
Canlis Prawn - Canlis, Seattle, WA
Wagyu & Muscovy Duck - Canlis, Seattle, WA
chocolate fondant - Canlis, Seattle, WA
Prawns - Canlis, Seattle, WA
Hen egg - Canlis, Seattle, WA
Broiled Halibut - Canlis, Seattle, WA
Squab - Canlis, Seattle, WA
Escarole, Olives & Anchovies - Canlis, Seattle, WA
Artichoke Salad - Canlis, Seattle, WA
Fluke  - Canlis, Seattle, WA
chocolate ganache - Canlis, Seattle, WA
Lobster - Canlis, Seattle, WA
Rhubarb - Canlis, Seattle, WA
Foie Gras - Canlis, Seattle, WA
Muscovy Duck Two Ways - Canlis, Seattle, WA
Hamachi - Canlis, Seattle, WA
Fennel Seed Roll - Canlis, Seattle, WA
"Peas and Carrots" - Canlis, Seattle, WA
Whole Roasted Muscovy Duck - Canlis, Seattle, WA
White Peach Amuse Bouche - Canlis, Seattle, WA
Poached Duck Egg with Uni - Canlis, Seattle, WA
Roasted Duck - Canlis, Seattle, WA
Lemon Chiboust - Canlis, Seattle, WA
Maximin Grunhaus Reisling - Canlis, Seattle, WA
Strawberry Rhubarb Tart - Canlis, Seattle, WA
Strawberries - Canlis, Seattle, WA
Asparagus, Goat Cheese, Smoked Steelhead Roe - Canlis, Seattle, WA
roast pork - Canlis, Seattle, WA
Amaretta - Canlis, Seattle, WA
Seared Diver Scallops - Canlis, Seattle, WA
Cheesecake, Grapes, Champagne, and spiced pear sorbet - Canlis, Seattle, WA
Pork, pork belly, Braised red cabbage, figs, and black trumpet mushrooms - Canlis, Seattle, WA
Escarole,anchovies and olives - Canlis, Seattle, WA
Figs, Chocolate, Maple pecan, XO Noble vinegar, and crêpe dentelle - Canlis, Seattle, WA
Fois Gras Torchon, Ash Rolled Rabbit Loin & Riellette, Pickled Mustard Seeds, Sautern Gelee & Brioche - Canlis, Seattle, WA
New York Strip - Canlis, Seattle, WA
Pork - Canlis, Seattle, WA
Lamb Loin - Canlis, Seattle, WA
Course #2 - Chef's Tasting Menu - Canlis, Seattle, WA
Course #3 - Chef's Tasting Menu - Canlis, Seattle, WA
Kampachi - Canlis, Seattle, WA
Copper River Salmon - Canlis, Seattle, WA
La Florida Rum Daisy - Canlis, Seattle, WA
Strawberry Fizz - Canlis, Seattle, WA
Mille-Feuille - Canlis, Seattle, WA
Pea Soup - Canlis, Seattle, WA
Chocolates - Canlis, Seattle, WA
Squid, Tapioca, fennel, and shrimp bisque - Canlis, Seattle, WA
Matsutake mushrooms, Chicken liver mousse, Sauternes, and purslane - Canlis, Seattle, WA
Maccaroons - Canlis, Seattle, WA
non-alcoholic strawberry puree drink - Canlis, Seattle, WA
Mushroom quiche - Canlis, Seattle, WA
Dorade - Canlis, Seattle, WA
Smoked Chicken Breast - Canlis, Seattle, WA
Heirloom Tomatoes - Canlis, Seattle, WA
Apple Tart Tatin - Canlis, Seattle, WA
Octopus - Canlis, Seattle, WA
Butternut Squash - Canlis, Seattle, WA
Smoked salmon - Canlis, Seattle, WA
Heirloom Tomatoe Bisque - Canlis, Seattle, WA
Canlis Salad - Canlis, Seattle, WA
Dessert Course - Chef's Tasting Menu - Canlis, Seattle, WA
Course #1 - Chef's Tasting Menu - Canlis, Seattle, WA
Artichoke Tortellini - Canlis, Seattle, WA
Asparagus - Canlis, Seattle, WA
Macrina Bakery Roll - Canlis, Seattle, WA
Purple Ambrosia - Canlis, Seattle, WA
White Peach Soup - Canlis, Seattle, WA
Soleil Royale - Canlis, Seattle, WA
Pork Belly - Canlis, Seattle, WA
Dessert Trio - Canlis, Seattle, WA
Asparagus Crostini - Canlis, Seattle, WA
beef short ribs - Canlis, Seattle, WA
Squash, Apple, And Curry - Canlis, Seattle, WA
Lemon Fennel Sourdough - Canlis, Seattle, WA
Cured And Aged Scallops - Canlis, Seattle, WA
Mushroom soup - Canlis, Seattle, WA
chocolate-covered chocolate - Canlis, Seattle, WA
Curry-cantaloupe soup - Canlis, Seattle, WA
smoked pork belly - Canlis, Seattle, WA
Chocolate Covered Chocolate - Canlis, Seattle, WA
Muscovy duck - Canlis, Seattle, WA
Figs & Chocolate - Canlis, Seattle, WA
Scallop - Canlis, Seattle, WA
Dungeness Crab Cake - Canlis, Seattle, WA
14-day Dry Aged Muscovy Duck - Canlis, Seattle, WA
strawberry rhubarb soup - Canlis, Seattle, WA
Chocolate On Chocolate - Canlis, Seattle, WA

Canlis Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.7

ambience

4.8

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Service
Seattle / Eastern Washington
Best Ambiance
Seattle / Eastern Washington
Notable Wine List
Seattle / Eastern Washington
4 More
Best Service
Seattle
Best Ambiance
Seattle
Romantic
Seattle
Northwest
Seattle
Best Restaurants in Queen Anne ›

Special Occasion (117)
Romantic (108)
Scenic View (106)
See All
Notable Wine List (82)
Good for Anniversaries (75)
Fit for Foodies (74)
Good for a Date (58)
Good for Birthdays (49)
Tasting Menu (41)
Historic (41)
Creative Cuisine (41)
Handcrafted Cocktails (39)
Quiet Conversation (39)
Worth the Drive (36)
Fireplace (30)
Live Music (29)
Authentic (23)
Local Ingredients (19)
Cozy (18)
Waterfront (18)
Neighborhood Gem (16)
Business Meals (14)
Good for Groups (13)
Private Room (13)
People Watching (11)
Modern Decor (10)
Hot Spot (9)
Gluten Free Options (9)
Bar Seating (8)
Fun (8)
Healthy (8)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Seasonal (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Outstanding Value (5)
Happy Hour (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Molecular Gastronomy (4)
Organic (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Great Beer (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Tapas (1)
Vegan (1)
Family Style (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Sort By:
S
2746 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Went here for an anniversary dinner. Upo ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 3 days ago

Went here for an anniversary dinner. Upon arrival we were greeted by the owner, and although our table was ready we were given the opportunity to sit in the lounge and have a pre-dinner drink. The wait staff was extremely friendly and genuine. The view wasn't half bad either.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Impeccable experience from beginning to ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 4 days ago

Impeccable experience from beginning to end. Their attention to detail and great service is wonderful!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Had our 42nd anniversary and were treate ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 5 days ago

Had our 42nd anniversary and were treated like royalty. Special champagne and a 2010 bottle of French delight. The staff is so attentive and knowledgeable it is a delight to be there. Same time next year and every year thereafter.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We took our Mom for her 90th birthday. ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 5 days ago

We took our Mom for her 90th birthday. We had a great time and she loved it. She commented how wonderful it all was. We will be back for sure!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Outstanding Value, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful......as good or better than Sa ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 5 days ago

Wonderful......as good or better than San Francisco's better restaurants

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Sublime food and service. Highly recomme ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 6 days ago

Sublime food and service. Highly recommend. Worth every penny.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Disabled Access, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Worthwhile experience, super service and ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 7 days ago

Worthwhile experience, super service and no regrets, but surprisingly non-world-class preparation. It's more about the event than the food. E.g. dishes over-salted and desserts are "pure-sugar quality" sweet. Still, we had fun and food still enjoyable if +++ salt/sugar not big issue, which it isn't for many.

Tags: Romantic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value1

Canlis is a special place, elegant, hist ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 7 days ago

Canlis is a special place, elegant, historic, great view along with outstanding service. And of course there is the food. We started out with a sparkling Italian wine and then had a very nice Washington white from their 90 plus page wine list. Of the several menu options we chose the three course meal. We each had the special salad prepared at out table. Then came the black cod which was prepared perfectly. Followed by desert. Since this was a birthday special event, one desert came with a candle.

And then there is the service. The ticketless valet parking is a legend and that continues. We were greeted as if we were long time friends when we entered. The table service was attentive, but not overly so which allowed for a leisurely time.

Expensive yes, but Canlis is a special place and a perfect selection for a special occasion.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Authentic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Canlis surpassed every expectation we ha ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Canlis surpassed every expectation we had. The lounge and live piano create an incredible ambiance, the cocktail and taster menus are esquisite. The four course dinner left us excited for each new course, while the wine list is expansive and comprehensive, and the staff and somalier outstandingly knowledgeable and qualified. This is a must eat, must see, must experience.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Live Music, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Outstanding Value, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Gluten Free Options, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful view and atmosphere. The food ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Beautiful view and atmosphere. The food was very ordinary (yet salty), and while the servers were extremely kind and attentive, they messed up our order (asked about food restrictions but brought something I couldn't have -- fortunately my husband noticed before I had some!) Also service was a bit too slow -- more than what's pleasant for a nice date.

Overall was worth going to cross off the bucket list, but think there are much better options in town, especially for that price

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

Very tasty and very upscale. Will impres ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Very tasty and very upscale. Will impress just about anyone I imagine.

Tags: Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Far too expensive for what you receive. ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Far too expensive for what you receive. The service was fantastic, but still not worth $200/person. We're both height/weight proportional and we're hungry enough to want a bit more food when we got home.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

Service was absolutely outstanding. As w ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Service was absolutely outstanding. As was the atmosphere, which had amazing views and a marvelous piano player. My only complaint is the automatic 20% service charge which was applied to my $2300.00 bottle of wine. My dinner was $210.00. So, my tip was $500.00 for two people. More than a little excessive.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Food and service were excellent. Main c ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 22, 2016

Food and service were excellent. Main course portions a little small so seemed a little over priced. Overall experience is one of best-known oldest in the city.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We went here for my 35th birthday dinner ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 20, 2016

We went here for my 35th birthday dinner over the weekend and we did the three course tasting. This was my first time at Canlis. We went because I kept hearing amazing things about the food and service. The service was excellent, but here's what I didn't enjoy about my experience: they were out of several beverages that we tried to order (a basic Hefeweizen beer and several red wine labels), the prawn appetizer was basically boiled in a butter broth with little to no flavor and later made my husband ill, I had to send my filet mignon steak back to the kitchen once because it was basically rare even though I asked for it to be cooked medium well, and even after sending it back, they still didn't cook it as requested, they didn't have any chocolate for dessert, the piano player kept playing sad pop songs, and after all was said and done, we spent $400 and that was just for the two of us. I failed to see the value after all of that and would probably choose Daniel's Broiler or even Ruth's Chris over Canlis again. It just wasn't the top notch experience that I was expecting.

Tags: Good for Groups, Live Music, Waterfront
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value1

Every time I visit Seattle, I also visit ...

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Every time I visit Seattle, I also visit Canlis. The service, ambience, and menu cannot be matched - a truly exceptional dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I went to canlis with my wife for our an ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 19, 2016

I went to canlis with my wife for our anniversary. Overall, our experience was great. I found the food to be good but not amazing. The ambience was what really got to me. It was nice and just comfortable. I would definitely recommend canlis to those who would like to spend an aniversary or celebrate something.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Great for Anniversaries!

 
 (Miami)·Dined on November 17, 2016

Great for Anniversaries!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very memorable for our 2nd Anniversary. ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Very memorable for our 2nd Anniversary. Incredible food, magnificent service....how do they manage to remember my name, what my wife's coat was and what vehicle I was driving? I am sure we will be back with guests....a wonderful experience!!

Tags: Historic, Outstanding Value, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Fireplace, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for a Date, Live Music, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The attention to detail and the friendli ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 16, 2016

The attention to detail and the friendliness of the staff made the evening very special! Thank you, my husband really enjoyed his birthday dinner!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

We had a spectacular time celebrating a ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 16, 2016

We had a spectacular time celebrating a very special event. It was a wonderful experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Canlis lived up to our highest expectati ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 15, 2016

Canlis lived up to our highest expectations. From the complimentary valet to the impeccable view to the authentic, dignified and not stuffy service to elegant food done well, my husband and I were able to celebrate his birthday in true style. Thank you so much for the wonderful experience!

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a great family meal at Canlis. Ce ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 12, 2016

We had a great family meal at Canlis. Celebrating several birthdays clustered together. The food was good, The service was amazing. They really anticipate your every need. The people were friendly and engaging

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Was disappointed especially when I becam ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Was disappointed especially when I became ill 12 hours later with food poisoning! We paid $600 for 2 meals and got more than we paid for...! Wish I had checked the WA DOH restaurant inspections before dining there. Otherwise it was a great view, nice live piano music, but even without the food poisoning the food was not worth it. They offered only one chardonnay by the glass which on one menu was $22, on another $11, and we were charged $24.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value2

The duck breast was best I have eaten. T ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 10, 2016

The duck breast was best I have eaten. The desserts were exceptional. The corkage fee with a starting price plus $10 per person is theft no matter how they defend it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

It was a nice experience but very pricy ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 9, 2016

It was a nice experience but very pricy for just a few bites of food. I left hungry

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value1

My wife and I enjoyed this place. WE too ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 8, 2016

My wife and I enjoyed this place. WE took the 7 course meal with the wine paired menu. The food truly matched the drinks and all were exquisite. The service was excellent I should however mention that it was very pricey.

Tags: Family Style, Historic, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Lovely evening start to finish. Upscale, ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 8, 2016

Lovely evening start to finish. Upscale, pampering service experience. The staff is amazing and the food delicious. Thank you Canlis for making my birthday dinner a very special evening!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Outstanding dining experience. I celebra ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Outstanding dining experience. I celebrated my 50th birthday at Canlis. Great atmosphere, super service, and fantastic food/drinks. Would highly recommend for a special occasion.

Tags: Fireplace, Live Music, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing as always! Such beautiful ambia ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Amazing as always! Such beautiful ambiance, special food, and outstanding service.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Amazing tasting menu! Everything was del ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Amazing tasting menu! Everything was delicious, beautiful and could not think of a better way to celebrate my 40th bday with friends. Spectacular view and def an iconic Seattle dining experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The restaurant is beautiful and the ambi ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 4, 2016

The restaurant is beautiful and the ambience is warm and welcoming. The hosts and hostesses are all very nice and attentive. Even the the valet guys are amazing. They know exactly when I was done with dinner and my car is ready to go as I stepped out of the restaurant. No ticket needed. They just know, now that's service!

The wine selection is superb. We got two bottles for the six of us. Our glasses were never empty. It's always at just the right amount. Again, service was incredible!

I loved the dessert. I got to tried out the creme brûlée, the cake, the Japanese cheese cake and my favorite, the soufflé . They were all so good. We even the complimentary macaroons in bite size. I wanted to take mine home for my daughter. I asked for a little container to put it in, to my pleasant surprise, the hostess brough out the container with four macaroon nicely packed. Again, the service was impeccable.

The big disappointment, the food was just too salty. Every bite was a big disappointment. The steak was dry. No wow element, just disappointment.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

The best dining experience you can have ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 2, 2016

The best dining experience you can have in Seattle. Well worth it. The food is incredible, beautifully presented, and the staff is extremely knowledgable and accommodating... Their response to every request is "of course".

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Molecular Gastronomy, Worth the Drive, Private Room, Seasonal, Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion, Historic, Cozy, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fireplace, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu, Good for Groups, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Exquisite food and our server was very f ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 2, 2016

Exquisite food and our server was very friendly and shared the history of the Canlis with us. She even seated us at Peter Canlis's table

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Late-night Find, Happy Hour, Fireplace, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Priced as 1-2 star Michelin restaurant, ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Priced as 1-2 star Michelin restaurant, quality not at par with price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

Excellent experience. Delicious food, gr ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Excellent experience. Delicious food, great service, lovely view. Pretty pricey but great for the occasional "super treat".

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I along with a friend din ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 28, 2016

My husband and I along with a friend dined at Canlis on October 27th, 2016. This was our first time there and what a disappointment. We arrived 10 minutes early and walked in to the foyer to find two hostesses standing at their station talking on phones. The station faces away from the entry which seems odd. It took some time for the maitre d to greet us. We gave him our name and he had to go find out when our reservation was—really? As elegant and high-end as The Canlis is touted to be, I would expect the maitre d to know the guest’s names and reservation times before they arrive.

We were lead to the bar area to wait for a table. There we sat for quite awhile without a wait person to bring menus or take our drink orders. The bar tender talked with another staff member while making drinks and did not acknowledge us. My husband went up to the bar and made a drink order for us.

I ordered the crab appetizer, “Grandma’s recipe” salad, and salon with seasonal vegetables. The crab was so salty I couldn’t taste it’s subtle flavors. The salad was too salty, over loaded with vinegar and oil, and too much bacon. The salmon was described as cooked “moist” but came raw and cold with a salty outer crust. The seasonal vegetables consisted of two bite-sized sweet potato squares and one radish. The potatoes were tasteless and cold as if they had been pre- made and warmrd under a light before serving. The food presentation was minimalist style. The vegetables were mere garnishes rather than an actual servings.

The steaks my husband and friend ordered were tasty but served cold.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value1

The staff was great. I was disappointed ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on October 26, 2016

The staff was great. I was disappointed there weren't any vegetarian options and the for was only so-so.

Tags: Live Music, Special Occasion, Fireplace, Waterfront, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

Everything was perfect!! The food couldn ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 26, 2016

Everything was perfect!! The food couldn't be more delicious!! The service was so kind.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

All I expected it was a four hour experi ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 26, 2016

All I expected it was a four hour experience that went to fast.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.