About Canlis

2576 Aurora Ave N
Seattle, WA 98109
View Larger Map

This is a place where you feel welcomed. Run by the Canlis family, Canlis is the Pacific Northwest's most celebrated restaurant, winner of fourteen consecutive Wine Spectator Grand Awards and three time James Beard runner up for best service in the country. Voted Most Romantic, Best View, Best Service, Best Design, Top Wine List and Wine Service, Washington Family Business of the year, and Best Overall Restaurant. At Canlis we are learners, and after 60 years of serving Seattle, we believe we're just beginning to get things right. We look forward to meeting you. For more information, we invite you to www.canlis.com

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Northwest

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Friday: 5:30pm - close, Saturday: 5:00pm - close

Cross Street:
Haliday

Dress Code:
Jacket Preferred

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(206) 283-3313

Website:
http://www.canlis.com/

Entertainment:
Every evening is accompanied by live piano music from a 1920 Steinway Grand.

Parking Details:
Over the years Canlis has become known for its valet service. Our team looks forward to serving you in this special way.

Executive Chef:
Brady Williams

Private Party Facilities:
Recently named by Saveur magazine as one of the “Top 12 Restaurants in America that Matter,” nominated four times by the James Beard foundation for “Best Service in the country,” and selected as one of Food and Wine Magazine’s “Top 10 Best New Chefs in America,” Canlis is the most award-winning rest

Private Party Contact:
Katie Coffman: 8773912113

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, View, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
SPECIAL REQUESTS: Please call the reservationist directly to place any special orders or floral arrangements.

Restaurant Photos

Canlis
Canlis
Canlis
Canlis
Canlis
Amuse Bouche
Truffle Fries
Macarons
steak tartare
grand marnier souffle
Black Cod
Halekulani Cocktail
Canlis Prawn
chocolate fondant
Prawns
Wagyu & Muscovy Duck
Broiled Halibut
Hen egg
Cheesecake, Grapes, Champagne, and spiced pear sorbet
Pork
Octopus
Butternut Squash
Scallop
Figs & Chocolate
Escarole,anchovies and olives
Pork, pork belly, Braised red cabbage, figs, and black trumpet mushrooms
Figs, Chocolate, Maple pecan, XO Noble vinegar, and crêpe dentelle
Squid, Tapioca, fennel, and shrimp bisque
Maccaroons
Matsutake mushrooms, Chicken liver mousse, Sauternes, and purslane
Seabass
Squab
Escarole, Olives & Anchovies
Artichoke Salad
Fluke
chocolate ganache
Lobster
Rhubarb
Hamachi
Muscovy Duck Two Ways
Foie Gras
Whole Roasted Muscovy Duck
Fennel Seed Roll
"Peas and Carrots"
White Peach Amuse Bouche
Poached Duck Egg with Uni
Roasted Duck
Maximin Grunhaus Reisling
Lemon Chiboust
Strawberry Rhubarb Tart
Strawberries
Asparagus, Goat Cheese, Smoked Steelhead Roe
roast pork
Amaretta
Seared Diver Scallops
Fois Gras Torchon, Ash Rolled Rabbit Loin & Riellette, Pickled Mustard Seeds, Sautern Gelee & Brioche
New York Strip
Course #3 - Chef's Tasting Menu
Kampachi
Lamb Loin
Course #2 - Chef's Tasting Menu
Copper River Salmon
Pea Soup
La Florida Rum Daisy
Strawberry Fizz
Chocolates
Mille-Feuille
Mushroom quiche
non-alcoholic strawberry puree drink
Dorade
Apple Tart Tatin
Heirloom Tomatoes
Smoked Chicken Breast
Smoked salmon
Heirloom Tomatoe Bisque
Canlis Salad
Course #1 - Chef's Tasting Menu
Asparagus
Dessert Course - Chef's Tasting Menu
Artichoke Tortellini
Purple Ambrosia
White Peach Soup
Soleil Royale
Macrina Bakery Roll
Pork Belly
Asparagus Crostini
Dessert Trio
beef short ribs
Lemon Fennel Sourdough
Squash, Apple, And Curry
Cured And Aged Scallops
Mushroom soup
smoked pork belly
Curry-cantaloupe soup
chocolate-covered chocolate
Muscovy duck
Chocolate Covered Chocolate
Dungeness Crab Cake
14-day Dry Aged Muscovy Duck
strawberry rhubarb soup

Canlis Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.8

ambience

4.8

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Service
Seattle / Eastern Washington
Best Ambiance
Seattle / Eastern Washington
Notable Wine List
Seattle / Eastern Washington
6 More
Best Service
Seattle
Best Ambiance
Seattle
Notable Wine List
Seattle
Romantic
Seattle
Special Occasion
Seattle
Northwest
Seattle
Best Restaurants in Queen Anne ›

special occasion (199)
scenic view (184)
romantic (155)
See All
notable wine list (138)
fit for foodies (126)
neighborhood gem (25)
good for groups (22)
hot spot (18)
vibrant bar scene (11)
late-night find (8)
great for brunch (2)
kid-friendly (1)
great for lunch (1)
great for outdoor dining (1)
Sort By:
Newest
2530 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5

Pure class! Best service in Seattle! G ...

Dined 7 days ago

Pure class! Best service in Seattle! Great food, great wine list and amazing piano bar.

food5
ambience3
service2
value2

Food was excellent, view spectacular, bu ...

vip
Dined 7 days ago

Food was excellent, view spectacular, but service lacking - late drinks, no follow-up by server after food delivered (and missing ingredient), dirty dishes allowed to linger on the table. Much better service at the Capitol Hill restaurant scene!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is my first time back since they in ...

vip
Dined 7 days ago

This is my first time back since they installed a new executive chef. I was not disappointed! I ordered a couple of the staples: the Canlis salad and the Canlis prawns. The salad was delicious, same as ever. but when the prawns arrived...it was different. I approached with hesitation, but oh. my. god. It was the best prawns I've ever tasted! Somehow, they improved the Canlis prawns, while retaining it's original feel. GET THE PRAWNS! I had the black cod as an entrée and it was also delicious. But I'm still dreaming about those prawns. Glad to see the new guys is holding up the high standard Canlis is known for.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Simply nothing better in Seattle! The m ...

Dined 7 days ago

Simply nothing better in Seattle! The menu constantly changes. I've never been to a restaurant with such amazing food and service.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

As always, the service is what makes the ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

As always, the service is what makes the meal. Every server and person interacted with is so keyed in on delivering a great experience.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The pianist was wonderful, we loved list ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

The pianist was wonderful, we loved listening to him play. The service was extraordinary. All the food was delicious. The view is breath taking. It was a very special evening.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

One of the finest dining experiences ava ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

One of the finest dining experiences available in Seattle. Were were served with elegance. The food was exquisite. The atmosphere and view incomparable. This is on our list of special occasion events we try and do every year.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect presentation and classic interio ...

vip
Dined on June 16, 2016

Perfect presentation and classic interiors with a spectacular view of lake Union and Gas Works Park. Special dining every time.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

My boyfriend and I went for his birthday ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

My boyfriend and I went for his birthday. From the start the service was great. Very friend and helpful. My favorite dish was the main course duck. Seriously, I would recommend this to everyone (and I already have). Everything we got was delicious. Although it is on the expensive side, Canlis lives up to their price point in many ways.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Canlis is an amazing experience. Madison ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

Canlis is an amazing experience. Madison was a delight, the tasting menu was phenomenal, and I find myself thinking about their cocktails days later.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

Canlis was far and away the best restaur ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

Canlis was far and away the best restaurant experience I've ever had and the perfect place to celebrate a special occasion. The prices are certainly prohibitive, but it was worth every penny. The food was terrific, and the service was even more impeccable. It was extremely fine dining without any semblance of pretentiousness that you might find at similarly exclusive establishments. Our waiter's knowledge of food and wine pairings and his ability to pace the meal (four courses for each of us over the course of about three hours) was spot on. I've never left a restaurant feeling as satisfied -- by both the food and the relaxing experience -- as I felt when leaving Canlis at the end of the night. Truly a meal to remember.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our dinner at Canlis was outstanding in ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

Our dinner at Canlis was outstanding in all ways. The food was interesting and delicious. The wait staff was professional and just the right amount of friendly. The view was superb. The noise level was quiet enough to allow good conversation. Canlis has been, and will continue to be, our "go to" spot for special dinners out.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Fabulous! Very special evening and meal ...

vip
Dined on June 14, 2016

Fabulous! Very special evening and meal. We loved our time there. Would go back again with pleasure.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Took my family to Canlis after my daught ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Took my family to Canlis after my daughter's college graduation. This was our first visit and Canlis delivered. What a wonderful evening to celebrate my daughter's college accomplishments!

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful welcoming ambience. Excellent ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

Wonderful welcoming ambience. Excellent service. Friendly and non intrusive. Everything you hope for in "event dining"

food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Very good - not great

vip
Dined on June 9, 2016

This was our second anniversary dinner here in the last two years. Last year it was outstanding. This year -- very good but not quite as sharp. We had to wait a long time for our first drink. Our Canlis salad had way too much lemon and my chicken was underdone. We did not have the same experience when everything was spot on and above expectations. It was still an elegant meal with outstanding surroundings, but it just was not as top of the mark as we had expected.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

While on vacation in Seattle we went to ...

Dined on June 9, 2016

While on vacation in Seattle we went to Canlis for dinner and were not disappointed!! Everything from the valet to the food was great! The staff was very friendly and knowledgeable about the food!! If I am ever in Seattle again, Canlis will definitely be a stop for sure!! 10/10

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dinner at Canlis

Dined on June 8, 2016

We had an extremely good meal with an excellent wine pairing. The service was perfect, as was the presentation of the courses. The only criticism I have is that the background music was a bit too loud. Really, in a place such as this no background music at all is necessary. I look forward to dining at Canlis the next time I am in Seattle.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Just a wonderful overall dining experience

Dined on June 8, 2016

This was a special occasion to celebrate our grandson's college graduation with immediate family members. The food, ambience, view and service were all just fantastic. It was a great way to introduce that next generation to what a truly spectacular dining experience should be. It couldn't have been better.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

We've been to Canlis a few times. The q ...

vip
Dined on June 8, 2016

We've been to Canlis a few times. The quality and taste of the food is impeccable. The service is fantastic. You will always leave having enjoyed a lovely evening. Their wine list is also notable.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Classic fit for almost any occasion

Dined on June 8, 2016

Canlis is a wonderful dinner for a romantic date, special occasion, or business dinner. The lounge was energetic too. A beautiful experience with superb food and service.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

One of the best meals of my life

Dined on June 7, 2016

Enjoyed every minute and every morsel of our meal. Service was beyond superb!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

I have been to dinner at Canlis many tim ...

Dined on June 7, 2016

I have been to dinner at Canlis many times. However, I had not been in the recent past and had heard there was a new chef. We went with another family to celebrate our sons graduation from 8th grade. My biggest issue was portion size. I ordered the salmon and others ordered the halibut. It was kind of ridiculous how small the portions were. We did order the Canlis salad as well and even that was not as good as I recall. It was just OK. Maybe you just need to order that to be made tableside. I forgot to mention that there were 3 one inch asparagus on my plate and another tiny little something. In any event, after spending $800, we left Canlis hungry. On my earlier trips to Canlis, I remember that the portions were very adequate. Maybe even twice what we were served this evening. For that price, Canlis should be able to put adequate food on the table for its guests. I love this restaurant for many reasons but may not be back anytime soon.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Mostly Amazing - but missing a little something

Dined on June 4, 2016

We did the 7 course tasting menu with sommelier wine pairing. The food flavor profile was nothing short of amazing. But, the size of the tastes were shockingly small. Didn't need much more, but definitely felt like the price was not justified with that serving size. The wine paired very well, but would have been great to have a more robust red at some point (mostly white/soft reds). Again they were good, but felt almost shorted with no big cab or bordeaux. Overall didn't find the meal experience justified the $300 per person price tag. Will definitely go back, but next time will opt for the 3 or 4 course and buy or bring a killer wine.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A Special Birthday Celebration.

Dined on June 3, 2016

My daughter was over the moon - it was the first time she'd been to Canlis, and from start to finish, it was a thoroughly delightful and delicious occasion. Thank you!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service3
value1

Still hungry

Dined on June 3, 2016

We are accustomed to eating at fine dining restaurants . We are also accustomed to the "smaller portions" at most of these places. My appetizer of one teaspoon of Dungeness crab,wrapped in one bok choy leaf was ridiculous.($25). I realize that "foam" is the thing to do, but both my appetizer and entrée were "foamed",(can you say spit?) Dinnerware is odd. Everything is presented in a large,wok style bowl,wth a rough texture. The roughnes makes it difficult to eat any sauce type food. My halibut was delicious,yet tiny. The Grand Marnier soufflé was very good,and adequate in size.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

From 1963 till now, our favorite.

Dined on June 2, 2016

5,10, 15, 20th anniversary, then I brought Boeing Customers for special dinners in the 80's. All your attributes were exceptional as they are today. My son had never been to the best restaurant in Seattle so we decided it was time, as usual you were all up to the mark. I still felt Peters influence even though he has been long gone. Obviously the training of the new staff is consistent with service and decorum of 50+ years ago. You are still 5 star +. Thank you!a

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5

Service is impeccable and very patient. ...

vip
Dined on June 1, 2016

Service is impeccable and very patient. Food was delicious but too salty and VERY expensive.

food5
ambience5
service5

I wish I could give the service 10 stars ...

Dined on May 29, 2016

I wish I could give the service 10 stars. It was some of the best service we've ever received. Enjoyed everything about this experience!

food4
ambience4
service5
value3

The service was absolutely the best part ...

Dined on May 29, 2016

The service was absolutely the best part of the dining experience. All the food was very good, but a bit too fussy for my taste. Good experience but won't be a regular on my "special occasion" list.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

The overall experience was very good, bu ...

Dined on May 28, 2016

The overall experience was very good, but a bit over priced. The food was perfectly prepared, and service was excellent. Compared to our past Canlis visits this is the first time that the valet didn't have the car at the door when we walked out. A very small thing, but one of those things I really enjoyed from past experiences. Regardless, I'd say the food was very good, but the local competition in the food arena has really made it tough to justify the price, which ultimately is all about the service and the atmosphere. Canlis to me is about quite refined delivery of world-class service, with quality food. Excellent foodie meals can be had at many locations in the Seattle area, but nothing comes to mind with comparable service and refined atmosphere.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

A Seattle Gem

Dined on May 28, 2016

Canlis still lives up to its reputation as the best restaurant in Seattle. Treat yourself for a special occasion. Six of us had mostly different menu items, and everything was tasty, beautifully prepared, cooked to perfection. Service was solicitous and prompt without unneeded hovering. The piano made the noise level a bit more than ideal for some of us, who are hard of hearing, but it was nice ambiance. Some nice "extras" on the set price menu: a savory palate cleanser to start with, and a coconut chocolate bar for each couple, at the end. A memorable meal.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Spectacular!

Dined on May 28, 2016

First time at Canlis with son and girlfriend, for son's birthday. Absolutely wonderful from start to finish. Cannot say enough about the seamless service, warm greeting and spectacular food! Highly recommend and we will all be back!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Truly one of the greatest dining experie ...

Dined on May 26, 2016

Truly one of the greatest dining experiences of my life! Perfect 10/10

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot
food3
ambience4
service4

The food was way overpriced considering ...

Dined on May 26, 2016

The food was way overpriced considering only 2 out of the 9 course meal were impressing us.

food5
ambience5
service5

Overall, excellent.

Dined on May 24, 2016

Overall, excellent.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Canlis was mind blowing.

Dined on May 21, 2016

The building is very interesting and the view is amazing. Worth checking out after dinner. The bartenders are extremely good. Jose took care of us and made some amazing customized cocktails. He went above and beyond with his explanations and quality of his service. For dinner we effectively made our own tasting menu which was expertly made and delivered with a level of service I have never experienced. The food was amazing.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

I can't say we were "wowed" by our exper ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

I can't say we were "wowed" by our experience. We had the wagyu steak and it was a bit tough. I asked the server if they had a steak knife so I could cut the meat more easily, and the answer was "no". A good steak should not require effort to cut. That being said, we did have a fun experience overall. The valet service was exceptional - how do they keep track of the cars and drivers is a question that we still have.

food3
ambience4
service5
value2

The food was very good, albeit small por ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

The food was very good, albeit small portions and "mainstream". The service was outstanding (as I had recalled from previous occasions). The menu selection is fine, but limited. I would say that the cost of Canlis has become high enough that the value (total experience divided by cost) is low now. I would not put Canlis at the top of my list of fine Seattle restaurants to frequent.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food1
ambience4
service5
value2

Disappointed

Dined on May 21, 2016

This was a special occasion to thank some special friends. We were all excited to go to Canlis. I ordered the fillet medium rare. The steak was at least medium well done with no pink in the center. The flavor was cooked out. I brought this to the attention of the waitress and she agreed it was not cooked to the order and offered to replace it. I did not want to make a scene and refused. The wait staff was great and it certainly was not the young ladies fault. Unfortunately my impression of Canlis was not good. I do hope my friends enjoyed their evening as this was more about them.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.