About Canlis

2576 Aurora Ave N
Seattle, WA 98109
View Larger Map

This is a place where you feel welcomed. Run by the Canlis family, Canlis is the Pacific Northwest's most celebrated restaurant, winner of fourteen consecutive Wine Spectator Grand Awards and three time James Beard runner up for best service in the country. Voted Most Romantic, Best View, Best Service, Best Design, Top Wine List and Wine Service, Washington Family Business of the year, and Best Overall Restaurant. At Canlis we are learners, and after 60 years of serving Seattle, we believe we're just beginning to get things right. We look forward to meeting you. For more information, we invite you to www.canlis.com

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Northwest

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Friday: 5:30pm - close, Saturday: 5:00pm - close

Cross Street:
Haliday

Dress Code:
Jacket Preferred

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(206) 283-3313

Website:
http://www.canlis.com/

Entertainment:
Every evening is accompanied by live piano music from a 1920 Steinway Grand.

Parking Details:
Over the years Canlis has become known for its valet service. Our team looks forward to serving you in this special way.

Executive Chef:
Brady Williams

Private Party Facilities:
Recently named by Saveur magazine as one of the “Top 12 Restaurants in America that Matter,” nominated four times by the James Beard foundation for “Best Service in the country,” and selected as one of Food and Wine Magazine’s “Top 10 Best New Chefs in America,” Canlis is the most award-winning rest

Private Party Contact:
Katie Coffman: 8773912113

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, View, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
SPECIAL REQUESTS: Please call the reservationist directly to place any special orders or floral arrangements.

Restaurant Photos

Canlis Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.8

ambience

4.8

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Service
Seattle / Eastern Washington
Best Ambiance
Seattle / Eastern Washington
Notable Wine List
Seattle / Eastern Washington
9 More
Northwest
Seattle / Eastern Washington
Best Overall
Seattle
Best Service
Seattle
Best Ambiance
Seattle
Notable Wine List
Seattle
Romantic
Seattle
Scenic View
Seattle
Special Occasion
Seattle
Northwest
Seattle
Best Restaurants in Queen Anne ›

special occasion (194)
scenic view (176)
romantic (153)
See All
notable wine list (137)
fit for foodies (123)
neighborhood gem (25)
good for groups (17)
hot spot (12)
vibrant bar scene (8)
late-night find (5)
great for outdoor dining (1)
great for brunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
2490 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5

Overall, excellent.

Dined 4 hours ago

Overall, excellent.

food3
ambience3
service3
value2

I can't say we were "wowed" by our exper ...

Dined 3 days ago

I can't say we were "wowed" by our experience. We had the wagyu steak and it was a bit tough. I asked the server if they had a steak knife so I could cut the meat more easily, and the answer was "no". A good steak should not require effort to cut. That being said, we did have a fun experience overall. The valet service was exceptional - how do they keep track of the cars and drivers is a question that we still have.

food4
ambience4
service5

Second visit in 2 years. Staff very welc ...

Dined 5 days ago

Second visit in 2 years. Staff very welcoming and accommodating. Small plates excellent with waghu steak tartare outstanding. Mains then no wow factor but what can one expect when it's not salmon season yet. Extensive wine list with good representation of local varieties. Had a Syrah (Shiraz) from Washington State - dry but not as complex as others if this grape variety. We would certainly go back for a third visit.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Just.... Wow!

Dined 6 days ago

My husband and I recently visited Canlis for our second wedding anniversary. We wanted to not just have a great meal, but a true experience. Canlis did not disappoint. We both ordered the seven course tasting menu along with wine pairings. Everything was outstanding. From the moment we arrived to the time we left, we were treated to five star service, out-of-this-world food and wine, and a spectacular view of the lake. Our dinner could not have been better.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I took my wife here to celebrate her rec ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

I took my wife here to celebrate her recent work promotion. We were greeted and seated by Brian Canlis, which I thought was a nice touch. The pianist playing pop songs brought a contemporary touch to the timeless elegance of the panoramic view of Lake Union. The service was impeccably timed and courteous. Nothing was left to be desired. The tasting menu was expressed and delivered well. While at the time I thought the sashimi style Amberjack and the Agnolotti were my favorite courses, it is the Halibut that I have thought of each day since. Canlis features a renowned wine list but don't forget to look at the Scotch menu-Impressive selection!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

The Changes at Canlis Disappoint

vip
Dined on May 12, 2016

I used to love this restaurant. It's got one of - if not THE - premier locations in the restaurant industry in Seattle. It has an iconic building. It has over 60 years of tradition. But in my view, it is modernizing in a way that is ... disappointing. They have gone away from a la carte to prix fixe pricing on the much more limited menu. You get a choice of 3, 4, or 7 items. Prices start at $85 and climb up to $145 per person. I don't fuss about the price. The labor to create the dishes must be incredible. The food is a visual work of art - the flavors are certainly well above average - but the food is not outstanding and certainly not sublime. It was also heavily salted. My big fuss was the corkage. There were 9 of us - but only 7 drank. We thought we had researched corkage on the Canlis website at $35 a bottle - which is high, but tolerable. However, when we got the bill, that wasn't the case. Apparently we were looking at the banquet menu. Canlis actually charged $10 per person, per bottle, for those who drank. The 1st bottles' corkage: $70 (7 people had an ~ 3.5 ounce portion. Second and third bottles were the exact same bottles of wine; 6 people drank, about 4 oz. each per bottle. Canlis charged $10 per person for the 6 people who had wine. Not $10 for 3 people per bottle, but a grand total of $60 per bottle for 2 bottles. So, grand total: $190 corkage + $38 tip + $22.80 tax. Total: $250.80. Corkage Cost @ person (avg of 6.33 people/bottle): $39.62. Just the corkage. We called to see if it was a mistake. Nope: it's a good deal for two people - but a tough nut for larger parties. Ouch. I do get they don't want you to bring your own wine, but then just don't allow people to bring wine. I've never had corkage that high in my life - and won't ever again, either. Diners at the table next to us also discussed their disappointment. My suggestion: Don't bring your own wine! :-) Have drinks and appetizers in the bar and soak in the view. It's outstanding.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Charm, Class & Excellence

Dined on May 8, 2016

While I've never been one to go out of my way for the ballet or the ballroom, I have found renewed appreciation for the performing arts in the form of Canlis. Simply put, the performance is a choreographed wonder. From the moment you walk through the doors, from entry to exit, everything falls into place as though it were a single effortless movement. The service is deliberate, methodical and planned down to the nth detail. In my 3 hour visit, I watched as table after table was cleared in an instant of a guest's departure. Linens exchanged, pressed and service set for the next verse. Quite remarkably, a large party of 12 was directly in front of our table. Each course, a flurry of wait staff appeared from the various corners to set plates in unison and ultimately clear them with the same precision. Maybe timed with the live pianist, maybe not, but it was orchestrated with elegance. Of particular note: the barley porridge with geoduck and green strawberry was a delightful surprise of sweet, sour and savory bliss. Not to be discounted either were the Canlis salad and the banana mousse. The salad is as classic as it gets, with herbaceous notes from the mint and tarragon and a wonderfully rich dressing of coddled egg, oil and vinegar. The banana mousse is something I'd never seen or tasted. Capped by a chocolate ganache and sitting atop a peanut & miso cookie, this dessert was inventive and fun. It's been expressed to me that Canlis is expensive and inaccessible to the masses. While I'd agree that a barista or student may find it difficult, $100 is something we've all managed to find or save when we've wanted or needed to. Whether that's for those symphony tickets or a 4 course experience you won't soon forget is up to you. I managed to make it to 30 before I found my drive and determination to get to this icon. In addition, once you've tried it, I think we'd all agree the price tag is justified for the value of the performance and the quality in the taste.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This Place is beyond your dreams Perfect.

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

Canlis might be our favorite restaurant any where. We found Canlis before heading to Seattle . All the reviews said it was Great. Yes, the price is above average, but its worth it. In reality what you get puts the price ahead of many. From the minute you valet the car you get the feeling you are in for a treat. The service is exceptional, The food even better. Spend the extra money and have a wonderful experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5

Given the ratings and buzz, we had high ...

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

Given the ratings and buzz, we had high expectations for Canlis. By and large, they delivered, however, their portions were consistently skimpy. My wife had a first plate of prawns. There were two. Best she has had, but just two?? My daughter and I both had salads, and mine might have been 3/4's of the size of my daughters. Maybe. Carrots and beets dishes were superb. I had a Wagyu tenderloin that was tiny. Tasty, but very small. Cooked perfectly. The Duck my wife and daughter had was undercooked. There are better options, and both my wife and daughter preferred the tenderloin. Fries helped fill us up. Desert all worked. I can't eat desert (sugar issues) but they had a cheese plate. Service was impeccable.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Canlis is Supreame

Dined on May 7, 2016

By far the greatest dinning experience ever had. Mark Canlis treated us like old friends. Wait staff was warm, friendly and efficient. My glass was never empty and the food was amazing. My complement so the chef and our server Stephanie who was remarkable. Each course was a treasure and so many wonderful surprises. Great music and view of the city. I high recommend Canlis and cannot wait to go back. Thank you all. I regret I didn't get the head chefs name but they are not a chef but a magician. Six stars.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

fixed price menu is a bummer. No longer fun.

Dined on May 7, 2016

The fixed price menu is a bummer. This restaurant is no longer fun. Save your money. Lots of better restaurants in Seattle.

food4
ambience5
service5
value3

unmatched service

vip
Dined on May 6, 2016

Everything from walking in and having the host know why we were there (anniversary) to having the valet retrieve our car without having to give a name or ticket spoke to the incredible service. The drinks from the bar were definitely in my top 5 list and the food and presentation was great.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a great time celebrating our anniversary!

Dined on May 5, 2016

We celebrated our 3rd wedding anniversary at Canlis. It was our first time at Canlis, and we are so glad we spent the evening there! Everything was a treat! The food, the wine the service was all impeccable. Definitely a night to remember! Thank you!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food2
ambience5
service4
value1

Overpriced

Dined on May 4, 2016

Very disappointed in the food. We had heard about the great Canlis salad and ended up sending it back it was so salty. For that price range I expected to be more dazzled.

Tags: romantic, scenic view
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Our first visit to Canlis

Dined on May 3, 2016

The view as well as the architecture are fantastic. We selected the "a la carte menu" which is not too expensive, and the wagyu NY strip was excellent.

Tags: scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

The Almost Perfect, was Perfect.

Dined on May 1, 2016

The Almost Perfect, was Perfect.

food4
ambience5
service5
value5

A True Gem

vip
Dined on May 1, 2016

Loved everything about this restaurant, and the service was fabulous. Wine list is great too.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Great service... food ... not so much

vip
Dined on May 1, 2016

How to start? well, let's say that Canlis doesn't live up to the hype. It is a nice place, beautiful view, great service, classy....but the food... hmm the food, let's say it was good but nothing to speak off, certainly not memorable. I have complained of very good restaurants about their huge rations, Canlis goes to the other extreme... too small... for a guy, like myself who doesn't eat a lot... it was not enough and not delicious... it was good but not great. One more thing, great wine list perhaps memorable but, way too expensive. I spotted 3 wines that I buy regularly, at Canlis, these 3 wines are 3 times more expensive. I don't think we will go back...

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Couldn't have been better!

Dined on April 30, 2016

From the moment you walk into Canlis, you're made to feel special. This is truly fine dining at it's best! Amazing ambience, delightful and very talented wait staff and floor crew and of course, amazing food. Every course was wonderful, particularly the beef tartare, prawns, duck and the outstanding Grand Marnier soufflé. These are meals that we speak about for months. We can't wait to come back!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

From the view to the amazing wait staff ...

Dined on April 30, 2016

From the view to the amazing wait staff Canlis was one of those Seattle bucket list checks that was well worth it. The ambiance of a request piano player that could play a wide variety of music helped elevate a special evening with that special someone.

food5
ambience5
service5

Service and dining experience was wonder ...

Dined on April 29, 2016

Service and dining experience was wonderful! Had a beautifu view!!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always A Treat

vip
Dined on April 29, 2016

Canlis has never disappointed. The new menu is an interesting direction.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

First time at Canlis

Dined on April 29, 2016

My wife and I had heard about Canlis, and came to celebrate her birthday. For us, the initial cocktail sets the tone for the rest of the evening. We were a little worried when both of our cocktails were very watered down, as though they were prepared in shakers with ice mostly melted in the bottom. Our fault for not saying something right then...luckily, everything after that was just great, however...the service, the food, the wonderful "Flaming Diablo" with dessert...redeeming the evening for us.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food2
ambience3
service5
value1

Wow! Way too expensive.

Dined on April 28, 2016

Luckily, we had been given a gift card because I was thoroughly unimpressed with the food. The piano player was wonderful. The service was attentive but the staff were so concerned that everything look perfect that it was a bit uncomfortable (finally, one server started to talk to us about real things which was a relief). The view was nice, although not a sunny evening. My husband enjoyed his meal but found the experience extremely pretentious. I did not like the beet salad because the beets were cold (I prefer warm or room temperature beets) and the duck main course was tough and honestly I could not bring myself to take a bite--I brought it home for my dog. The soufflé was yummy and different and the creme brulé was good but I did not care for the passionfruit or mixed tropical fruit sorbet. I enjoy all kinds of foods and going out but I will NEVER return to Canlis.

Tags: scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

Expectations Exceeded

vip
Dined on April 27, 2016

This restaurant has a reputation to live up to and I went to dinner with very high expectations. I was very surprised not only that they exceeded my expectations, but by how much they exceeded my expectations. The service was perfect and the food was unbelievable. They created flavors and did things with ingredients that I did not know where possible. I did not rate this a good value, but that's only because this is not a restaurant you go to looking for value. You go for an experience and you pay for that experience. You definitely get what you pay for.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service5

The experience was nice, we celebrated o ...

Dined on April 27, 2016

The experience was nice, we celebrated our anniversary. Ordered a 4 course menu.

food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Sublime

Dined on April 26, 2016

A wonderful evening at Canlis. We have been going here since the '50s. It was even more delightful than I had recalled. Lovely food, amazing service and such a gorgeous spot. Thank you for the wonderful evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service3

It was a nice experience and the staff w ...

vip
Dined on April 24, 2016

It was a nice experience and the staff were all nice. All of our items ordered were presented well and delicious except the side of truffle fries which were cold - quite a surprise since everything else was what you would expect for a $300 dinner.

food5
ambience5
service5

Great food. Excellent service

Dined on April 23, 2016

Great food. Excellent service

food5
ambience5
service5

Amazingly beautiful space, ridiculously ...

vip
Dined on April 21, 2016

Amazingly beautiful space, ridiculously good and inventive food. I go every time I am in Seattle. Geoduck barley porridge? Fabulous- enough said.

food2
ambience3
service3
value1

disappointing

Dined on April 20, 2016

Unfortunately, Canlis did not meet our expectations. We went for our anniversary but would not go again. The food was mediocre...the signature salad was not good nor were the oysters. Main was good but nothing outstanding. Very sad to spend $250 for dinner for two and be unhappy. We have better restaurants on our little island. So sad! Lost their edge!

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Request for window seats though the layo ...

Dined on April 19, 2016

Request for window seats though the layout of the restaurant does allow for a decent view from one of the more distant tables. The Wagyu tartare is exquisite. Every morsel was a hmmm for me. Except for this, portions are a little on the small side. The black cod does kind of melt in the mouth while the foie gras was more like a ... pate. The ambience exudes good vibes - but I couldn't help wishing the chairs and carpet could be better selected in sync with the beautiful architecture. Quite the first kind of wish cos it' s beautiful and thought with that perfect chair and carpet design - it would have been exquisite with a resonating 'OMG' vibe - for me, at least.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazingly amazing!

Dined on April 16, 2016

Amazingly amazing!

food1
ambience5
service5

Canlis was highly recommended by foodie ...

Dined on April 15, 2016

Canlis was highly recommended by foodie friends so we were very excited to eat there. The Gibson cocktail was delicious as was the steak tartare. However the pork entree was terrible - mostly pork fat with only a sliver of edible meat. The cheesecake was a tiny slab of cardboard - no flavor and the texture of yes, cardboard. The expresso tasted like old shoes had been boiled in water. And the price for this was absurdly high. The service was excellent, but ultimately I felt like I would have rather eaten at one of the many far less expensive fabulous casual restaurants for which Seattle is justly famous.

food3
ambience5
service5

I was pumped to return to Canlis after m ...

Dined on April 12, 2016

I was pumped to return to Canlis after my previous visits, but I have to say I'm disappointed in the new chef. The food is big on presentation while only good (not great) when it comes to flavor. Also portions are minuscule. For that price I want to be amazed, and we never were. Spot Prawns were TINY and looked nothing like the pictures posted on Open Table, and just tasted like prawns and butter. Foie Gras was very imaginative in that it was shaved on a microplane, otherwise not very memorable. Beef Tartare was good but heavy handed on the wasabi. Canlis Salad was as excellent as ever. Halibut and Cod were both good but nothing great about either one of them. They were also so small we were thankful we ordered potato sides. Desserts were super disappointing: an odd banana something, and a microscopic slice of a pseudo Japanese Cheesecake. What made the evening was the AMAZING service and view of the lake. Very romantic ambiance and excellent wine list. Very friendly and knowledgeable servers. Still... I won't hurry back until the food is as outstanding as it used to be. There's a lot of great food in Seattle so I can't justify Canlis based on what we experienced this time.

food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Lovely Occasional Treat

Dined on April 12, 2016

Food and service was outstanding. Servers were very informative and perceptive to our needs. But, it is very pricey, and I may not have gone had I not had a gift card (the cheapest option is $85/person, and that is without any drinks etc). Overall, it was a lovely and delicious outing.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Remarkable!

Dined on April 12, 2016

As always this is the most remarkable dining experience one can have. Attention to detail is not surpassed in any Seattle restaurant! Service is incredible as is the food and wine list.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love This Place

Dined on April 10, 2016

We celebrated our Wedding at canlis and returned to celebrate this year! The food, staff and ambiance are just amazing. We plan to enjoy Canlis more often! The view of Gas Works and bay are fantastic. You really won't find a better place to dine in Seattle!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food2
ambience4
service5
value1

Not so good time at the Canlis

Dined on April 10, 2016

Service great, food just so-so. Portions are extremely small so if you're hungry, this is not the place to go. When I was given the beer list the average price for a bottle of beer was $60, yikes. Definitely not going back. Finally, it was hard to build a rapport with the server. I don't think we had the same person check on us the entire night. Every entry was delivered by someone new.

Tags: special occasion
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

Customer Service at it's best but not the value

Dined on April 9, 2016

We recently went to Canlis for a 10-year anniversary and to celebrate some promotions. The staff is top-notch and they ALL saw to our every need. We were treated like royalty and the view was fantastic. But we were disappointed in the food. It was just fair. I have paid much less at Aureole in Las Vegas for a 5-course meal that was much better in quality. And while the wine steward was very helpful, we were surprised they did not have an aerator for the surprisingly tight wine we ordered. He came through with a decanter but that wine was not even remotely ready to drink until the end of the meal. Still, it was definitely fun to try.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.