About Canlis

2576 Aurora Ave N
Seattle, WA 98109
View Larger Map

This is a place where you feel welcomed. Run by the Canlis family, Canlis is the Pacific Northwest's most celebrated restaurant, winner of fourteen consecutive Wine Spectator Grand Awards and three time James Beard runner up for best service in the country. Voted Most Romantic, Best View, Best Service, Best Design, Top Wine List and Wine Service, Washington Family Business of the year, and Best Overall Restaurant. At Canlis we are learners, and after 60 years of serving Seattle, we believe we're just beginning to get things right. We look forward to meeting you. For more information, we invite you to www.canlis.com

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Northwest

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Friday: 5:30pm - close, Saturday: 5:00pm - close

Cross Street:
Haliday

Dress Code:
Jacket Preferred

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(206) 283-3313

Website:
http://www.canlis.com/

Entertainment:
Every evening is accompanied by live piano music from a 1920 Steinway Grand.

Parking Details:
Over the years Canlis has become known for its valet service. Our team looks forward to serving you in this special way.

Executive Chef:
Brady Williams

Private Party Facilities:
Recently named by Saveur magazine as one of the “Top 12 Restaurants in America that Matter,” nominated four times by the James Beard foundation for “Best Service in the country,” and selected as one of Food and Wine Magazine’s “Top 10 Best New Chefs in America,” Canlis is the most award-winning rest

Private Party Contact:
Katie Coffman: 8773912113

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, View, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
SPECIAL REQUESTS: Please call the reservationist directly to place any special orders or floral arrangements.

Restaurant Photos

Canlis
Canlis
Canlis
Canlis
Canlis
Amuse Bouche
Truffle Fries
Macarons
steak tartare
grand marnier souffle
Black Cod
Halekulani Cocktail
Canlis Prawn
Wagyu & Muscovy Duck
chocolate fondant
Prawns
Broiled Halibut
Hen egg
Cheesecake, Grapes, Champagne, and spiced pear sorbet
Pork
Octopus
Butternut Squash
Scallop
Figs & Chocolate
Escarole,anchovies and olives
Pork, pork belly, Braised red cabbage, figs, and black trumpet mushrooms
Figs, Chocolate, Maple pecan, XO Noble vinegar, and crêpe dentelle
Squid, Tapioca, fennel, and shrimp bisque
Maccaroons
Matsutake mushrooms, Chicken liver mousse, Sauternes, and purslane
Seabass
Squab
Escarole, Olives & Anchovies
Artichoke Salad
Fluke
chocolate ganache
Lobster
Rhubarb
Hamachi
Muscovy Duck Two Ways
Foie Gras
Whole Roasted Muscovy Duck
Fennel Seed Roll
"Peas and Carrots"
White Peach Amuse Bouche
Poached Duck Egg with Uni
Roasted Duck
Maximin Grunhaus Reisling
Lemon Chiboust
Strawberry Rhubarb Tart
Strawberries
Asparagus, Goat Cheese, Smoked Steelhead Roe
roast pork
Amaretta
Seared Diver Scallops
Fois Gras Torchon, Ash Rolled Rabbit Loin & Riellette, Pickled Mustard Seeds, Sautern Gelee & Brioche
New York Strip
Course #3 - Chef's Tasting Menu
Kampachi
Lamb Loin
Course #2 - Chef's Tasting Menu
Copper River Salmon
Pea Soup
La Florida Rum Daisy
Strawberry Fizz
Chocolates
Mille-Feuille
Mushroom quiche
non-alcoholic strawberry puree drink
Dorade
Apple Tart Tatin
Heirloom Tomatoes
Smoked Chicken Breast
Smoked salmon
Heirloom Tomatoe Bisque
Canlis Salad
Course #1 - Chef's Tasting Menu
Asparagus
Dessert Course - Chef's Tasting Menu
Artichoke Tortellini
Purple Ambrosia
White Peach Soup
Soleil Royale
Macrina Bakery Roll
Pork Belly
Asparagus Crostini
Dessert Trio
beef short ribs
Lemon Fennel Sourdough
Squash, Apple, And Curry
Cured And Aged Scallops
Mushroom soup
smoked pork belly
Curry-cantaloupe soup
chocolate-covered chocolate
Muscovy duck
Chocolate Covered Chocolate
Dungeness Crab Cake
14-day Dry Aged Muscovy Duck
strawberry rhubarb soup

Canlis Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.8

ambience

4.8

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Seattle / Eastern Washington
Notable Wine List
Seattle / Eastern Washington
Best Service
Seattle
5 More
Best Ambiance
Seattle
Notable Wine List
Seattle
Romantic
Seattle
Special Occasion
Seattle
Northwest
Seattle
Best Restaurants in Queen Anne ›

special occasion (183)
scenic view (175)
romantic (150)
See All
notable wine list (133)
fit for foodies (119)
neighborhood gem (24)
good for groups (22)
hot spot (14)
vibrant bar scene (11)
late-night find (7)
great for brunch (2)
great for lunch (1)
great for outdoor dining (1)
Sort By:
Newest
2569 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great service and place!

 
 (México)
·Dined 7 days ago

Great service and place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Everything was exceptional except my Way ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined 7 days ago

Everything was exceptional except my Waygu New York strip. It was flavorful, but not particularly tender and on the thin side. The dessert soufflé was amazing!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

I found Canlis pretentious with too many ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 7 days ago

I found Canlis pretentious with too many staff fawning over every aspect of the meal. Our waiter was very good as was the food, but the overall experience did not live up to they hype or price tag.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Although in an aging building and a rath ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Although in an aging building and a rather odd location, Canlis still sets the standard in Seattle. The menu is inspired and the the flavors complex, inviting and joy inducing. No restaurant can match Canlis' attention to detail, service and a memorable dining experience. I have been fortunate to have dined here over the past four decades, and am astonished at how they continue to astonish.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very accommodating. Excellent food and s ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Very accommodating. Excellent food and service. Where we sitting the piano was a bit distracting at times.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

We were out for a very special event. I ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

We were out for a very special event. I was very underwhelmed with the food quality for the price. The desserts almost made it worth the price, they were all amazing. Notes: Steak was ordered med. rare and served well-done. Foam was served over soft bland food. Sauces were just mildly ok, really no special spices or complex flavors built into the food. Several items were overly salted. I will recommend a really good steak house for special events over Canlis, just not worth the price.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

The foods are made towards a very salty ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

The foods are made towards a very salty flavor, so most of the foods you'll be eating are either going to be too salty or sour; or just right for you.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

First time at Canlis for our first weddi ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

First time at Canlis for our first wedding anniversary, and it was an amazing experience. Impeccable service, beautiful view, and the food was by and large spectacular. My only complaints would be that my halibut was not hot when it came out (just warm, and quickly cooled off to room temperature), and the espresso I ordered after dinner was also not hot at all, just room temperature. Other than that, everything was outstanding, and we had a perfect evening to celebrate our first year of marriage.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great view and great service. The food i ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Great view and great service. The food is very good but not really up to par for restaurant of this this caliber.

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

We wanted to celebrate our anniversary s ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

We wanted to celebrate our anniversary somewhere iconic, so naturally we chose Canlis. Given its reputation for service and the cost of our dinner, it fell short in several areas. The pacing of our meal seemed off. We were seated for nearly 1:45 minutes before our entrees arrived. It's as if our server was intent on us to ordering a second bottle of wine before the evening was finished. There were no vegetable sides on the menu. My entree came with three shavings of a small carrot. My husband's steak was medium well rather than medium rare. The server couldn't walk us through the cheese offered on the cheese plate or the sorbet offered that evening. "Something berry flavored." In fact, the expediters knew more about the food and were more helpful. Then, just when we're trying to salvage what we'd hoped would be a phenomenal dining experience, the bill came and we'd been significantly overcharged for the bottle of wine we'd ordered. It was brushed off as a computer error without apology. The valet service having our car ready and the late summer sun on a gorgeous Seattle evening saved the night. But given all the phenomenal restaurants in Seattle to choose from, we won't be dining at Canlis again in the near future.

Tags: notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

As expected Canlis was a special experie ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

As expected Canlis was a special experience with impeccable food, wine, service and atmosphere. I look forward to returning.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What excellent service...and food! Than ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

What excellent service...and food! Thanks for making our dining experience so special.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Was the best dining experience I have ev ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Was the best dining experience I have ever had. Great place to spend my 10 year wedding Anniversary.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing night. Amazing food, service, am ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Amazing night. Amazing food, service, ambiance

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Canis provides excellent service and fan ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Canis provides excellent service and fantastic food, in an elegant environment with terrific views. I have dined at Canlis several times now, and it always lives up to it's reputation as the finest restaurant in Seattle. This is hands-down the best place to celebrate a special occasion or have a romantic evening.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was very slow. The food was ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

The service was very slow. The food was good but not as good as Herb Farm or Cafe Juanita. The food was overpriced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

I found the staff to be very attentive. ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

I found the staff to be very attentive. I was amazed as to how quickly and discreetly the whole staff communicated with one an other. I was very pleased with the whole evening.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

While the view and service were amazing, ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

While the view and service were amazing, the overall experience did not live up to expectations. The food (except for the creme brûlée and souffle) wasn't memorable and in the case of the carrot first course (not good at all!) and twice baked potato (way too salty- 4 of us ordered it and agreed). The table next to us was so loud as to be annoying. Mostly it just felt a tad too pretentious for the actual quality, and cost.

Tags: scenic view
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Canlis has always been know for both it' ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Canlis has always been know for both it's great food and great service and this particular experience, our 10 year anniversary, didn't disappoint. The food selection was excellent but what truly made it special was the impeccable service, specifically, the attention to details and the ideal "cadence' for the meal. Too many time, we leave disappointed after an expensive meal to find out we were ushered out 60-90 minutes. This particular experienced was timed perfectly - not rushed yet it didn't feel like the evening was dragging. The service was very attentive but not fussy. For us, it's obviously not a place we can frequent every week but it's the ideal place for a special occasions.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This legendary restaurant continues to p ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

This legendary restaurant continues to please and amaze over the years. The view is serene, beautiful, in movement. The staff is impeccable, from the car valets to the entire team of servers. Dishes are no longer a la carte, but available as either a 3-course or 4-course menu, @ $90 and $110, respectively. The food is delicious and artfully presented. I did not detect Grand Marnier in the dessert souffle which was supposed to contain it, but enjoyed it nonetheless. My only suggestion would be to give elderly people some description besides what is on the menu; they may not understand modern preparations and that salmon is now usually served on the rare side. All in all, we felt the Canlis to be a very gracious and accommodating place. We were treated royally.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fabulous ...great food with exceptional ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Fabulous ...great food with exceptional service (friendly yet professional)

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A truly memorable meal, wonderful combin ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

A truly memorable meal, wonderful combinations of flavors, great service, knowledgeable wine pairings

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We all had the tasting menu. Everything ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

We all had the tasting menu. Everything was prepared well and tasted excellent. We all enjoyed the food and service very much.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We loved the whole experience. However w ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

We loved the whole experience. However we were seated directly behind the piano. The music was lovely but it was very loud. It made it difficult to talk. I am sure others were enjoying it more. It is a romantic touch.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We save Canlis for special occasions. ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

We save Canlis for special occasions. They bring service to a NEW level. The staff is very solicitous.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Outstanding as usual. An expensive trea ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Outstanding as usual. An expensive treat, but really worth it if you want to show someone special a wonderful time.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Best meal ever. Wonderful staff and awe ...

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

Best meal ever. Wonderful staff and awesome ambiance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First visit to Seattle Canlis stop made ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

First visit to Seattle Canlis stop made the trip. Been to many restaurants across the USA nothing has come close to Canlis experience

Tags: romantic, scenic view, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I will start by saying that I got sick 2 ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

I will start by saying that I got sick 2 hours after dinner.

I have had dinners in many part of the world. My rating is beyond the cost, not even being sick.

It is all about the experience and it was far, far below my expectations.

I think Canlis food is average considering the reputation.

The food refinement is certainly not up to the level of other establishments even within this city limits but certainly not worth being on the list of the select few of Relais et Chateaux.

Best regards

Franck Genson

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

I have dined all over the world at multi ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

I have dined all over the world at multiple Michelin star restaurants and Canlis was one of the best dining experiences of my life.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Canlis is a great special occasion rest ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Canlis is a great special occasion restaurant, with wonderful, attentive service. A little pricey to be your favorite 'go-to'

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

My fiance and I went here on a Friday ev ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

My fiance and I went here on a Friday evening for our anniversary. Everything was simply amazing from the drinks to the food to the service. There was also live piano music that just complemented the ambiance.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing food, atmosphere, service. Pret ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Amazing food, atmosphere, service. Pretty much LOVED everything about it. Can't wait til my next opportunity to go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Extraordinary in every regard

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Extraordinary in every regard

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great dining experience in Seattle We l ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Great dining experience in Seattle

We loved this restaurant. We spent a week in Seattle and Canlis was the experience we were looking for. From our greeting when we entered to the moment we left, the staff were gracious, welcoming, professional, knowledgeable (waiters), patient, and just all around delightful to converse with. Added to the drop dead view of the city and excellent food, Canlis is definitely a restaurant to experience in Seattle.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Canlis is a beautiful restaurant. Servi ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Canlis is a beautiful restaurant. Service was wonderful. Food was fresh but over salted. We were disappointed that the servers didn't seem that concerned that the tartar was too salty to eat but they were nice people.

Tags: romantic, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

We had an amazing time at canlis. I took ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

We had an amazing time at canlis. I took my girlfriend out for her birthday, everything was on point the service was amazing as well i would diffidently go back again.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Pure class! Best service in Seattle! G ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Pure class! Best service in Seattle! Great food, great wine list and amazing piano bar.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was excellent, view spectacular, bu ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Food was excellent, view spectacular, but service lacking - late drinks, no follow-up by server after food delivered (and missing ingredient), dirty dishes allowed to linger on the table. Much better service at the Capitol Hill restaurant scene!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value2

This is my first time back since they in ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

This is my first time back since they installed a new executive chef. I was not disappointed! I ordered a couple of the staples: the Canlis salad and the Canlis prawns. The salad was delicious, same as ever. but when the prawns arrived...it was different. I approached with hesitation, but oh. my. god. It was the best prawns I've ever tasted! Somehow, they improved the Canlis prawns, while retaining it's original feel. GET THE PRAWNS! I had the black cod as an entrée and it was also delicious. But I'm still dreaming about those prawns. Glad to see the new guys is holding up the high standard Canlis is known for.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.