Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.27mi
  3. Distance: 0.50mi
  4. Distance: 0.52mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.27mi
  3. Distance: 0.50mi
  4. Distance: 0.52mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.27mi
  3. Distance: 0.50mi
  4. Distance: 0.52mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.27mi
  3. Distance: 0.50mi
  4. Distance: 0.52mi

About Campobello Bistro

Cuisine Perfecto! Seafood Pasta & Grill Halibut Salmon Shellfish – Filet Mignon Veal & Duck

601 W 36th Ave Ste 10
Anchorage, AK 99503
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, French, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Tuesday -Friday: 11:00am - 2:00pm Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 5:00pm - closed Sunday and Monday

Cross Street:
Bering St

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(907) 563-2040

Website:
http://campobellobistro.com/

Campobello Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (19)
Good for Anniversaries (18)
Quiet Conversation (18)
See All
Good for a Date (16)
Cozy (13)
Neighborhood Gem (11)
Casual (11)
Creative Cuisine (10)
Fit for Foodies (10)
Romantic (10)
Business Meals (9)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Great for Lunch (8)
Outstanding Value (7)
Notable Wine List (7)
Authentic (6)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Comfort Food (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Healthy (3)
Fun (3)
Great Beer (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Seasonal (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Family Style (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Disabled Access (1)
People Watching (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Historic (1)
Sort By:
S
193 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on April 15, 2017

We both chose the Filet and it was amazing. Everything was cooked to perfection. I had the Tiramisu and he had the Crème Brule for dessert and it was magnificent. The staff was very cheery and helpful, and the service was great.
We will definitely be returning.

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Wonderful service, fantastic flavorful authentic Italian food in a quiet elegant atmosphere. Has an expansive varied Italian menu with fresh pasta. Finish with one of the delicious house made deserts.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Good food, perfectly cooked Halibut. Quiet. Reasonably priced and attentive service. Too few patrons for the high quality food.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on March 25, 2017

My husband and I love campobellos, it's our favorite date night restaurant:)

Tags: Local Ingredients, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Very nice Italian Bistro. Limited menu, but EVERYTHING is excellent. I would recommend this to anyone except young children. This is an adult restaurant.

Tags: Casual, Business Meals, Authentic, Outstanding Value, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Had the roasted chicken salad for dinner and it was delicious. Our server took the time to listen to what we wanted. Since this was a biz meeting, we were grateful for limited interruptions. Food's always good. When the king salmon is in season, get it here. (fried calamari - molto bene!)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Hidden in a retail strip center, this place is a real sleeper. From the outside you won't know what you will encounter on the inside. Great service, gourmet food, and an elegant atmosphere awaits.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Their chicken ceasar salad was great. A huge portion and the chicken was oh so tender and delightful. This restaurant never disappoints..

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on February 17, 2017

My first time here - great lunch! Wait staff is excellent, food was delightful, and very nice ambiance. I will be back.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Our server was most appreciated. He was prompt, helpful and friendly.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on February 15, 2017

My Family and myself decided to try someplace that we hadn't been for Valentines dinner and I have been to Campobello for lunch but never dinner, the restaurant was quite busy but they got us in very close to our reservation time and the meal was very good!
They do not have a full bar but the wine and beer list is quite good and we enjoyed the evening very much!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on February 15, 2017

I LOVE Campobello. The best thing to me was the service I received from the female waitress. Unfortunately she hasn't been waiting tables. The new younger male server is nice, but the past two times he's waited on us, we haven't had the best experience. We are constantly waiting long periods of time for him to get water, appetizers, soup, entrees, bill, all of it. Maybe he needs some more training or extra help in the evenings by having another waiter?

Tags: Special Occasion, Outstanding Value, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on February 15, 2017

One of our favorite places for a low key atmosphere and great food. The wine list is not extensive, but it is varied and so the selection works.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We love Campobello's. It's a cozy bistro with great food and atmosphere! The menu never disappoints and is well-priced.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Late-night Find, Outstanding Value, Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Great Beer, Good for a Date, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Authentic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Quiet dining spot with great value. One of our favorite places.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Outstanding Value, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Everything was lovely, we had a toddler with us and the staff was very helpful and gracious to our young guest. The food is always delicious and the staff extremely diligent in assuring our dinner experience was enjoyable.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Casual, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on February 3, 2017

My wife and I have been to Campobello Bistro before and enjoy the small restaurant atmosphere and the outstanding food. I highly recommend it as a great place to dine.

Tags: Casual, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Best calamari in town. Cordial service. Thoughtful cooking. You can taste a love. My compliments to the owners, chef , and servers.

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on January 19, 2017

Campbello Bistro is one of Anchorage's premier restaurants.

However using the Open Table App is an exercise. It leaves a lot to be desired. I plan to just call restaurants in the future because use of the App doesn't work most of the time. It's time for them to acquire a Web Master who understands the intuitive process of any web site. Because their current Web Nasted doesn't have a clue !!!

Tags: Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 19, 2017

Excellent food and service as usual. The veal saltimboca is very good, tender veal and tasty priscutto. The calamari scaloppini is some of the most tender and delicious calamari you'll ever have!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on January 18, 2017

Food is always wonderful and the atmosphere is like going to a friend's house.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on January 13, 2017

The food was ok. Should have been better for a $150 bill for 3 meals. Seafood Florentine for $29 had 3 shrimp & 3 scallops that was it. Not worth it, plain tasting and very hot (steaming). Cod special was explained as boring and nothing special for $29. Veal was good. Desserts, were OK but not worth what you pay. The kitchen was loud with customers talking with the cooks. I don't see going back again for a third time. I was very disappointed with their food. Unfortunately you can find better tasting tasting for $15 a plate around town. Not many places serve really good food at $30 a plate. Going try Southside Bistro tonight hope to have better luck. If it doesn't taste good I will start going to Denny's 😩 At least I walk in ready to be disappointed because I know what I am getting $100 cheaper. It just sad you can find a great sit down meal for $150. Save your money.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Most outstanding calamari in town. Amazing seafood . Great servers.

Tags: Healthy, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We came for an early-ish New Year's Eve dinner. Everything we had was delicious. King Crab Cakes appetizer with aioli. Delicious vinaigrette salad with toasted pecans. I had the seafood pasta fra diavlo with spicy marinara sauce. My husband had roasted king salmon, and loved it. And tiramisu, best I've had in a long time. Service was friendly and well paced. Very nice!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on January 1, 2017

The food was so delicious. Will come back for sure.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on December 30, 2016

I had never heard of this place before and was looking for a good place to eat for my sister's birthday. I came across this and decided to go for it. My sister had already been here before a long time ago and remembered loving it. She still does and I do too! Everything was fabulous. From the ambience to the staff to the food. Highly recommend!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Disabled Access, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Romantic, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on December 27, 2016

3 in our party ordered the gyro - all were disappointed. Judged in dry and with out the garnish they expected i.e.: cucumber / yogurt

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on December 25, 2016

I've eaten here many times over the last 20 years and always found it enjoyable. My only warning concerns sitting near the entry door. They have an arctic entry, but the inner door doesn't close automatically so if you're in the front row of tables, it can get too cold in the winter. Especially when people enter or leave and don't close the inner door behind them. Make sure you get a table in the side room or in the wing.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Wonderful meal. The duck and filet mignon were great, wine portion was above average. Looks can be deceiving since restaurant is in the middle of a row of businesses, but inside very warm and cozy. We were very impressed. Had it not been for a gift certificate, we may not have known about the place. Will visit again!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Very good food and value. Ample parking.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value4

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Campobello's is constantly excellent. The seafood crepe is the best.

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Great food and service. Had the king salmon special and it was some of the best prepared salmon that I have ever had.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Reservations are a must as this place fills up quickly. Went for a business lunch on 12-16. Service was prompt and courteous. Drinks were kept full. All of the entrees were very tasty. Each entree comes with your choice of Caesar or balsamic salad. Our table went with the Caesar. This one was very heavy on the garlic. All in attendance commented on it. It was the only flavor you could pick up. Not even a subtle hint of the anchovies or citrus. I would steer toward the other salad next visit. Overall a pretty decent dining experience.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 15, 2016

Excellent food. Wish I had discovered them sooner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on December 6, 2016

I've been a Campobello customer for many years. Service has always been friendly and efficient. The food is excellent. The acoustics of their dining rooms could use some improvement, as it's often hard to carry on a private conversation. Perhaps some acoustical tile would help. Otherwise, ambiance is excellent.

Tags: Casual, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on December 6, 2016

A real gem! Have been for lunch and dinner, always a great experience.

Tags: Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 4, 2016

off there game now; We have been going here for years, but have not been in the last 4; We were not happy with the food, which seemed hurried and sloppy; and the sauces were really not good; the servers were trying, but seemed very untrained. So its off the list for now.

Tags: Casual
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Great experience, fantastic dinning! I rate Campobello Bistro's food quality and dinning experience in the top five resturants in the Anchorage bowl. Of course it is up to you to bring great guests!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on November 11, 2016

The food was delicious. I had the seafood crape and it was filled with bite size recognizable seafood with distinct flavors, that were not overcooked, in perfect sauce. The dinner salads were fresh and tasty. Overall the food was a winner. We could see the other dishes being served and they look tempting.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Campobello's remains one of my all time favorite restaurants in Anchorage for the last 15 years.
They are consistently very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.