About Campobello Bistro

601 W 36th Ave Ste 10
Anchorage, AK 99503
View Larger Map

Cuisine Perfecto! Seafood Pasta & Grill Halibut Salmon Shellfish – Filet Mignon Veal & Duck

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, French, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Tuesday -Friday: 11:00am - 2:00pm Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 5:00pm - closed Sunday and Monday

Cross Street:
Bering St

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(907) 563-2040

Website:
http://campobellobistro.com/

Campobello Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.3

ambience

4.3

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Anchorage
Best Food
Anchorage
Best Service
Anchorage
5 More
Best Value
Anchorage
Best Overall
Anchorage
Best Food
Anchorage
Best Service
Anchorage
Best Value
Anchorage
Best Restaurants in Anchorage ›

special occasion (20)
neighborhood gem (19)
fit for foodies (15)
See All
romantic (13)
great for lunch (12)
good for groups (10)
notable wine list (3)
hot spot (2)
late-night find (1)
kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
136 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

One of my "go to" places for lunch. I'm ...

vip
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

One of my "go to" places for lunch. I'm never disappointed.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

I have never been disappointed ..... F ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

I have never been disappointed .....

Food was delicious, it's quiet, so you are able to have a conversation. The staff was professional;)

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is my all time favorite restaurant. ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

This is my all time favorite restaurant. I found it a few years ago with friends and is my go to celebration destination. I have never had a bad meal or even a so-so meal. Everything is delicious, even the vegetables!! LOVE, LOVE, LOVE!!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have eaten here for many years. Food i ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

I have eaten here for many years. Food is consistently good. Our group loved the calamari appetizer. My husband said that the italian sausage pasta dish was tasty. I had the chicken piccata - OK but really wish they had veal. Usually have friendly waitstaff but the waitress we had this time was somewhat rude and dismissive. Maybe she thought that she was funny but it did not work on my family who thought that she was saying that we were a bunch of hicks.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value4

We were visiting Anchorage. If we lived ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

We were visiting Anchorage. If we lived in Anchorage, I am sure we would regularly go to this restaurant. Great food and service. House made pasta was delicious. The salad and soup were great. Absolutely try the French chocolate pie.! Hidden gem!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice luncheon and quiet atmosphere.

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on May 19, 2016

Our experience was enjoyable with excellent food, great service, and being able to hear our companion during conversation.

Tags: great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

White King

vip
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

The food at Campobello is always good but the White King special was excellent!

Tags: great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Went for a birthday and they were great. ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Went for a birthday and they were great. Came with someone who has an allergy to gluten and they were very accommodating. Food was excellent can't wait to go back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I REALLY want to like this place- really ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

I REALLY want to like this place- really I do- but I have just not been "wowed." My husband and I met some friends for dinner here a few weeks ago and, while he had a good time with our friends, the food and service were just okay. I had reservations for our party, but our greeting at the door wasn't particularly inviting or friendly; we all ended up crowded in the doorway for several minutes as other diners were ushered in. We were eventually seated in a nice booth and greeted by a server, but (similar to the hostess) she seemed overwhelmed.

On to the food. Our group started with the "Ring of Fire" appetizer (a round of chevre surrounded by spicy marinara) and an order of calamari. The Ring of Fire was a hit- the cheese and toast points were excellent and the sauce was fairly good, although a little overdone with the pepper. The calamari was interesting (calamari steaks vs. rounds) and most of our party enjoyed it. For our main courses, I had the Seafood Fra Diavlo and my husband had the Veal Saltimbocca. While I was happy to see that Campobello has upgraded to locally made fresh pasta, I felt the texture of my pasta to be lacking and the sauce needed more flavor. That said, the seafood that came with my meal was perfectly cooked and was a generous portion. My husband's saltimbocca was different than the saltimbocca we've had in Italy (thicker breading) and I didn't particularly care for the prosciutto that was used...

For dessert, our table ordered a bread pudding to share- THAT was the best part of the meal and it disappeared quickly.

Overall, our group had a good time, but the service and food need some improvement. I will likely stick to making Italian food at home next time!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

Very good food.6

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on April 13, 2016

Very good food.6

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Wonderful classic and nouveau Italian fa ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on April 10, 2016

Wonderful classic and nouveau Italian fare with great seafood specials.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Wonderful place and great service! We we ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on April 8, 2016

Wonderful place and great service! We went during non peak hours I believe so hardly anyone was there which was good because we had little kids with us and they kept going crazy on us. But our waiter was very generous and nice. Even constructed some kids cups for us. The food was amazing as well. My husband loves filet mignon and Campobello Bistro did a fantastic job of preparing the meat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very pleasant eating experience. Great ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on April 3, 2016

Very pleasant eating experience. Great food and great ambiance.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Excellent as usual

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on March 22, 2016

The seafood crepe - it is to die for! One of these times I'm going to have to try something else, but it's just so good...

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The entire staff is very attentive and e ...

vip
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on March 17, 2016

The entire staff is very attentive and engaging. The food beyond anything else in Anchorage. Proud Campobello addicts here.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Best surprise night out of the year!

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on March 12, 2016

We decided to let OpenTable suggest a new location for date night, and we couldn't have been happier with its suggestion of Campobello! David was an extraordinary server and made our evening memorable. Highly recommend the calimari appetizer.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Excellent Service, great meal

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on March 12, 2016

Went with our new friends (frequent diners) and ordered the calamari which was excellent with the aoli. My DH cannot have wheat, so he had the bacon wrapped scallops. They were good, but not great. We ordered the white king salmon which this non-salmon eater enjoyed and I had the ravioli with sausage and another had the seafood crepe. I'll get that next time. Prices were a little over-priced but you pay for a full meal rather than a la carte. Appreciated the fresh bread, caesar salad and wonderful, attentive service. We'll be back.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Loved the seafood crepe!

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on February 28, 2016

Loved the seafood crepe!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Getting frantic at lunch

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on February 26, 2016

Food always outstanding but have noticed the wait staff are very stressed and the place has a hurry hurry vibe. Everyone friendly - it just loses the old relaxed European dining experience. The food's not fast food- but the service feels such.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

food is very good here, our 3rd visit

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on February 18, 2016

food is very good here, our 3rd visit

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

THE place for fine Northern Italian food

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on February 17, 2016

I've tried nearly everything on the menu and have never been disappointed but I find that unless I get the Calamari Fritti appetizer, I almost always end up with the Calamari Scaloppini entree. I've never had such tender, delicious squid in my life. Literally melts in your mouth. I'm drooling just thinking about it!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was incredible we had the Maple ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

The food was incredible we had the Maple Bacon Scallop appetizer that was absolutely delicious; not sweet like I was thinking it would be, the scallops were cooked to perfection when the bacon was crispy and smokey. For dinner we had the Calamari Scaloppini and Seafood Fra Diavolo. The calamari was sauteed gently, tender on the inside while having a slight crisp on the outside. The Diavolo incorporated halibut, shrimp, and bay scallops each item flawless prepared atop fresh house made pasta. Did I mention the dishes were under 30 bucks, a steal in my book. I will be going back sooner than later, writing this review makes me want it now. Haha

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

There is not another place you can alway ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on February 12, 2016

There is not another place you can always count on the food being perfect every time!

A+ in my book.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

An unappreciated gem

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on February 11, 2016

Campobello is one of the finer restaurants in Anchorage and greatly under-appreciated for both lunch and dinner. They are also very amenable to dietary requests and changes. It is fairly expensive but not so much as some of the more "trendy" spots. I highly recommend it.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

I always enjoy going to Campo Bello.

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on February 5, 2016

I always enjoy going to Campo Bello. The atmosphere is pleasing, the restaurant is quiet, the staff is knowledgeable and, of course, the food is excellent.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food!

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on February 4, 2016

Great food as always. I normally go here for lunch, and lunch is way better value than dinner. I was a bit surprised about the significantly increased cost for dinner (but it is the same all over Anchorage). Food was great, service was good and I enjoy the restaurant!

Tags: great for lunch
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Wonderful atmosphere and classic upscale ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on January 31, 2016

Wonderful atmosphere and classic upscale Italian food deliciously prepared. Tender veal, perfect risotto, and steak cooked to just the right temperature.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Met a friend here for dinner and ordered ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on January 31, 2016

Met a friend here for dinner and ordered the king salmon. Very good salad, salmon done to a turn, accompanying vegetable sides delicious. Service friendly and good. Parking ample. The only downside is the cold air that comes in with new diners, but then this is Anchorage.

Tags: great for lunch, neighborhood gem
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Amazingly friendly and fun service! Grea ...

vip
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on January 30, 2016

Amazingly friendly and fun service!

Great food.

The dessert menu could use more chocolate options.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Consistently good food

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on January 20, 2016

Great place to meet for lunch, especially with its convenient mid-town location and free parking. Great salads, crepes, fish and daily specials. Terrific service as well. Good for lunch meetings.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always reliable

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on January 14, 2016

This little restaurant continues to put out high quality food with good service time after time.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and service as always

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on December 25, 2015

Excellent Christmas Eve visit, like dining with family. Great service, excellent food and atmosphere. The Calamari steak, not deep fried rings, was excellent. The ravioli Tosca has a nice light alfredo type sauce, with tomatoes, prosciutto , & spinach. Our favorite Anchorage restaurant never disappoints.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and service

vip
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on December 24, 2015

My wife and I went to dinner to celebrate our anniversay. The food was excellent and the service was very responsive.

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

as usual the seafood was very good.

vip
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on December 18, 2015

As usual the seafood was very good. However the place was very bust and as a result the service was hectic and rushed. However Campobello is one of my favorite places and I will be back soon

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Fantastic experience

vip
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on December 17, 2015

Not only was the food excellent but the music, which at the holiday time can be kind of obnoxious, was amazing with a personalized playlist of unusual holiday songs mixed with just fantastic dining music.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always excellent food. Waitstaff is hel ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on December 9, 2015

Always excellent food. Waitstaff is helpful, friendly and efficient. You can easily carry on a conversation. The atmosphere is very soothing. They serve the best Chicken Piccatta in town. The filet is done to perfection.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Our table was ready as we arrived. Our s ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on December 8, 2015

Our table was ready as we arrived. Our server was great and didn't rush us and the food was terrific.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Great place for lunch

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on December 4, 2015

We are always looking for great group lunch places and Campobello is located in midtown with plenty of parking. You can make your reservation on line... we had extra people and were quickly accommodated.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The coffee came out cold. The food was n ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on November 15, 2015

The coffee came out cold. The food was not hot. There was one waited for the whole place I think and she was rather rude. When we got there only 3 other tables were occupied. Just not a great evening.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Awesome

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on November 11, 2015

I have eaten at most of the restaurants in Anchorage and Campobello is by and large one of the finest I would rate it in the top 5

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.