Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.27mi
  3. Distance: 0.50mi
  4. Distance: 0.52mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.27mi
  3. Distance: 0.50mi
  4. Distance: 0.52mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.27mi
  3. Distance: 0.50mi
  4. Distance: 0.52mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.27mi
  3. Distance: 0.50mi
  4. Distance: 0.52mi

About Campobello Bistro

Cuisine Perfecto! Seafood Pasta & Grill Halibut Salmon Shellfish – Filet Mignon Veal & Duck

601 W 36th Ave Ste 10
Anchorage, AK 99503
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, French, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Tuesday -Friday: 11:00am - 2:00pm Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 5:00pm - closed Sunday and Monday

Cross Street:
Bering St

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(907) 563-2040

Website:
http://campobellobistro.com/

Campobello Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.7

ambience

4.4

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Quiet Conversation (14)
Good for Anniversaries (12)
Neighborhood Gem (11)
See All
Good for a Date (10)
Special Occasion (10)
Business Meals (10)
Casual (10)
Great for Lunch (8)
Romantic (7)
Cozy (6)
Authentic (6)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Notable Wine List (5)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Fit for Foodies (4)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Worth the Drive (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Healthy (2)
Seasonal (2)
Fun (2)
Historic (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Spicy (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Disabled Access (1)
People Watching (1)
Sort By:
S
204 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined 5 days ago

Campobello's is always our go to place. Great food, great service, and always consistent quality and taste.
Jodi is a great waitress, and always brings a smile to our face!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on June 2, 2017

What a great place for a quiet dinner. The food was amazing and the service was also very good.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Casual, Cozy, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Campobello never disappoints for a great lunch meeting. The fish is always fresh and when its on the Caeser Salad its a huge meal. I eat here often.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Their pasta is amazing. The texture is tender, and I believe it's made in the premises.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Disabled Access, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Casual, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on May 19, 2017

For some reason every Italian restaurant in Anchorage has this 80's mafia ring vibe, super dated decor and ambiance. In that, Campbello doesn't disappoint. How all that doesn't matter becaus the food was fantastic. The calamari appetizer is lightly sautéed and served with wonderfully dressed greens and a spicy sauce on the side. Best I ever had. The halibut was cooked perfectly, juicy and covered in a rich seafood cream sauce. Nice wine list. The service was a little slow, we had to wait a bit for our check to come despite there only being a couple other tables. However since it was a special occasion meal, we didn't mind languishing a bit between courses, chatting and drinking wine. Overall, I had a great meal and a great time and will be going back to try the fresh pasta!

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Creative Cuisine, Casual, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 18, 2017

As always, great food in a comfortable atmosphere, with wonderful service. I've been a regular here for years and enjoy bringing business associates from the big cities in the lower 48. I've never had a visitor leave without saying it's one of their best experiences. One of the associates I brought was a return customer who demanded i bring him here before he left town. He had the fresh Halibut, which was very good. The veal saltimboca was excellent, as was the calamari steak. Everyone had a great time.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Don't judge on the appearance from the street, the food and service were excellent.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Salads were excellent. Italian sausage with red sauce was excellent. White sauce with shrimp and scallops could have used a bit more flavor but shrimp and scallops were very good. Service was excellent.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 27, 2017

Campobello is our go-to for all special occasions.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on April 26, 2017

The service was great, the food really fabulous and this group of friends who had a lot to talk about and had not seen each other in a while really appreciated not having to leave right after dinner was over.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on April 15, 2017

We both chose the Filet and it was amazing. Everything was cooked to perfection. I had the Tiramisu and he had the Crème Brule for dessert and it was magnificent. The staff was very cheery and helpful, and the service was great.
We will definitely be returning.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Casual, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Wonderful service, fantastic flavorful authentic Italian food in a quiet elegant atmosphere. Has an expansive varied Italian menu with fresh pasta. Finish with one of the delicious house made deserts.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Fit for Foodies, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Good food, perfectly cooked Halibut. Quiet. Reasonably priced and attentive service. Too few patrons for the high quality food.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on March 25, 2017

My husband and I love campobellos, it's our favorite date night restaurant:)

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Very nice Italian Bistro. Limited menu, but EVERYTHING is excellent. I would recommend this to anyone except young children. This is an adult restaurant.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Casual, Business Meals, Authentic, Outstanding Value, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Had the roasted chicken salad for dinner and it was delicious. Our server took the time to listen to what we wanted. Since this was a biz meeting, we were grateful for limited interruptions. Food's always good. When the king salmon is in season, get it here. (fried calamari - molto bene!)

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Hidden in a retail strip center, this place is a real sleeper. From the outside you won't know what you will encounter on the inside. Great service, gourmet food, and an elegant atmosphere awaits.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Their chicken ceasar salad was great. A huge portion and the chicken was oh so tender and delightful. This restaurant never disappoints..

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on February 17, 2017

My first time here - great lunch! Wait staff is excellent, food was delightful, and very nice ambiance. I will be back.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Our server was most appreciated. He was prompt, helpful and friendly.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on February 15, 2017

My Family and myself decided to try someplace that we hadn't been for Valentines dinner and I have been to Campobello for lunch but never dinner, the restaurant was quite busy but they got us in very close to our reservation time and the meal was very good!
They do not have a full bar but the wine and beer list is quite good and we enjoyed the evening very much!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on February 15, 2017

I LOVE Campobello. The best thing to me was the service I received from the female waitress. Unfortunately she hasn't been waiting tables. The new younger male server is nice, but the past two times he's waited on us, we haven't had the best experience. We are constantly waiting long periods of time for him to get water, appetizers, soup, entrees, bill, all of it. Maybe he needs some more training or extra help in the evenings by having another waiter?

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion, Outstanding Value, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on February 15, 2017

One of our favorite places for a low key atmosphere and great food. The wine list is not extensive, but it is varied and so the selection works.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We love Campobello's. It's a cozy bistro with great food and atmosphere! The menu never disappoints and is well-priced.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Notable Wine List, Late-night Find, Outstanding Value, Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Great Beer, Good for a Date, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Authentic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Quiet dining spot with great value. One of our favorite places.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Outstanding Value, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Everything was lovely, we had a toddler with us and the staff was very helpful and gracious to our young guest. The food is always delicious and the staff extremely diligent in assuring our dinner experience was enjoyable.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Great for Lunch, Casual, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on February 3, 2017

My wife and I have been to Campobello Bistro before and enjoy the small restaurant atmosphere and the outstanding food. I highly recommend it as a great place to dine.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Casual, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Best calamari in town. Cordial service. Thoughtful cooking. You can taste a love. My compliments to the owners, chef , and servers.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on January 19, 2017

Campbello Bistro is one of Anchorage's premier restaurants.

However using the Open Table App is an exercise. It leaves a lot to be desired. I plan to just call restaurants in the future because use of the App doesn't work most of the time. It's time for them to acquire a Web Master who understands the intuitive process of any web site. Because their current Web Nasted doesn't have a clue !!!

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 19, 2017

Excellent food and service as usual. The veal saltimboca is very good, tender veal and tasty priscutto. The calamari scaloppini is some of the most tender and delicious calamari you'll ever have!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on January 18, 2017

Food is always wonderful and the atmosphere is like going to a friend's house.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on January 13, 2017

The food was ok. Should have been better for a $150 bill for 3 meals. Seafood Florentine for $29 had 3 shrimp & 3 scallops that was it. Not worth it, plain tasting and very hot (steaming). Cod special was explained as boring and nothing special for $29. Veal was good. Desserts, were OK but not worth what you pay. The kitchen was loud with customers talking with the cooks. I don't see going back again for a third time. I was very disappointed with their food. Unfortunately you can find better tasting tasting for $15 a plate around town. Not many places serve really good food at $30 a plate. Going try Southside Bistro tonight hope to have better luck. If it doesn't taste good I will start going to Denny's 😩 At least I walk in ready to be disappointed because I know what I am getting $100 cheaper. It just sad you can find a great sit down meal for $150. Save your money.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Most outstanding calamari in town. Amazing seafood . Great servers.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Healthy, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We came for an early-ish New Year's Eve dinner. Everything we had was delicious. King Crab Cakes appetizer with aioli. Delicious vinaigrette salad with toasted pecans. I had the seafood pasta fra diavlo with spicy marinara sauce. My husband had roasted king salmon, and loved it. And tiramisu, best I've had in a long time. Service was friendly and well paced. Very nice!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on January 1, 2017

The food was so delicious. Will come back for sure.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on December 30, 2016

I had never heard of this place before and was looking for a good place to eat for my sister's birthday. I came across this and decided to go for it. My sister had already been here before a long time ago and remembered loving it. She still does and I do too! Everything was fabulous. From the ambience to the staff to the food. Highly recommend!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Disabled Access, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Romantic, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on December 27, 2016

3 in our party ordered the gyro - all were disappointed. Judged in dry and with out the garnish they expected i.e.: cucumber / yogurt

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on December 25, 2016

I've eaten here many times over the last 20 years and always found it enjoyable. My only warning concerns sitting near the entry door. They have an arctic entry, but the inner door doesn't close automatically so if you're in the front row of tables, it can get too cold in the winter. Especially when people enter or leave and don't close the inner door behind them. Make sure you get a table in the side room or in the wing.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Wonderful meal. The duck and filet mignon were great, wine portion was above average. Looks can be deceiving since restaurant is in the middle of a row of businesses, but inside very warm and cozy. We were very impressed. Had it not been for a gift certificate, we may not have known about the place. Will visit again!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Very good food and value. Ample parking.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.