About Campobello Bistro

Cuisine Perfecto! Seafood Pasta & Grill Halibut Salmon Shellfish – Filet Mignon Veal & Duck

601 W 36th Ave Ste 10
Anchorage, AK 99503
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, French, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Tuesday -Friday: 11:00am - 2:00pm Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 5:00pm - closed Sunday and Monday

Cross Street:
Bering St

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(907) 563-2040

Website:
http://campobellobistro.com/

Campobello Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (15)
Good for a Date (14)
Creative Cuisine (12)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (9)
Cozy (9)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Romantic (8)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Great for Lunch (7)
Casual (7)
Business Meals (7)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Authentic (6)
Good for Groups (6)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Outstanding Value (4)
Notable Wine List (3)
Healthy (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Private Room (3)
Seasonal (3)
Modern Decor (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Fun (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Great Beer (1)
People Watching (1)
Scenic View (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Organic (1)
Family Style (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Sort By:
S
172 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The food was ok. Should have been better ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined 5 days ago

The food was ok. Should have been better for a $150 bill for 3 meals. Seafood Florentine for $29 had 3 shrimp & 3 scallops that was it. Not worth it, plain tasting and very hot (steaming). Cod special was explained as boring and nothing special for $29. Veal was good. Desserts, were OK but not worth what you pay. The kitchen was loud with customers talking with the cooks. I don't see going back again for a third time. I was very disappointed with their food. Unfortunately you can find better tasting tasting for $15 a plate around town. Not many places serve really good food at $30 a plate. Going try Southside Bistro tonight hope to have better luck. If it doesn't taste good I will start going to Denny's 😩 At least I walk in ready to be disappointed because I know what I am getting $100 cheaper. It just sad you can find a great sit down meal for $150. Save your money.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

Most outstanding calamari in town. Amazi ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Most outstanding calamari in town. Amazing seafood . Great servers.

Tags: Healthy, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We came for an early-ish New Year's Eve ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We came for an early-ish New Year's Eve dinner. Everything we had was delicious. King Crab Cakes appetizer with aioli. Delicious vinaigrette salad with toasted pecans. I had the seafood pasta fra diavlo with spicy marinara sauce. My husband had roasted king salmon, and loved it. And tiramisu, best I've had in a long time. Service was friendly and well paced. Very nice!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was so delicious. Will come bac ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on January 1, 2017

The food was so delicious. Will come back for sure.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I had never heard of this place before a ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on December 30, 2016

I had never heard of this place before and was looking for a good place to eat for my sister's birthday. I came across this and decided to go for it. My sister had already been here before a long time ago and remembered loving it. She still does and I do too! Everything was fabulous. From the ambience to the staff to the food. Highly recommend!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Disabled Access, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Romantic, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

3 in our party ordered the gyro - all we ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on December 27, 2016

3 in our party ordered the gyro - all were disappointed. Judged in dry and with out the garnish they expected i.e.: cucumber / yogurt

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

I've eaten here many times over the last ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on December 25, 2016

I've eaten here many times over the last 20 years and always found it enjoyable. My only warning concerns sitting near the entry door. They have an arctic entry, but the inner door doesn't close automatically so if you're in the front row of tables, it can get too cold in the winter. Especially when people enter or leave and don't close the inner door behind them. Make sure you get a table in the side room or in the wing.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Wonderful meal. The duck and filet migno ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Wonderful meal. The duck and filet mignon were great, wine portion was above average. Looks can be deceiving since restaurant is in the middle of a row of businesses, but inside very warm and cozy. We were very impressed. Had it not been for a gift certificate, we may not have known about the place. Will visit again!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very good food and value. Ample parking.

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Very good food and value. Ample parking.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value4

Campobello's is constantly excellent. T ...

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Campobello's is constantly excellent. The seafood crepe is the best.

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great food and service. Had the king sa ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Great food and service. Had the king salmon special and it was some of the best prepared salmon that I have ever had.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Reservations are a must as this place fi ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Reservations are a must as this place fills up quickly. Went for a business lunch on 12-16. Service was prompt and courteous. Drinks were kept full. All of the entrees were very tasty. Each entree comes with your choice of Caesar or balsamic salad. Our table went with the Caesar. This one was very heavy on the garlic. All in attendance commented on it. It was the only flavor you could pick up. Not even a subtle hint of the anchovies or citrus. I would steer toward the other salad next visit. Overall a pretty decent dining experience.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

Excellent food. Wish I had discovered th ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 15, 2016

Excellent food. Wish I had discovered them sooner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I've been a Campobello customer for many ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on December 6, 2016

I've been a Campobello customer for many years. Service has always been friendly and efficient. The food is excellent. The acoustics of their dining rooms could use some improvement, as it's often hard to carry on a private conversation. Perhaps some acoustical tile would help. Otherwise, ambiance is excellent.

Tags: Casual, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

A real gem! Have been for lunch and din ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on December 6, 2016

A real gem! Have been for lunch and dinner, always a great experience.

Tags: Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

off there game now; We have been going ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 4, 2016

off there game now; We have been going here for years, but have not been in the last 4; We were not happy with the food, which seemed hurried and sloppy; and the sauces were really not good; the servers were trying, but seemed very untrained. So its off the list for now.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value3

Great experience, fantastic dinning! I r ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Great experience, fantastic dinning! I rate Campobello Bistro's food quality and dinning experience in the top five resturants in the Anchorage bowl. Of course it is up to you to bring great guests!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was delicious. I had the seafoo ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on November 11, 2016

The food was delicious. I had the seafood crape and it was filled with bite size recognizable seafood with distinct flavors, that were not overcooked, in perfect sauce. The dinner salads were fresh and tasty. Overall the food was a winner. We could see the other dishes being served and they look tempting.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Campobello's remains one of my all time ...

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Campobello's remains one of my all time favorite restaurants in Anchorage for the last 15 years.

They are consistently very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

The food was amazing and outstanding se ...

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on November 3, 2016

The food was amazing and outstanding service! I recommend it!

Tags: Good for Groups, Cozy, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Private Room, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our first visit, a birthday cel ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on October 19, 2016

This was our first visit, a birthday celebration for adult daughter. We loved the serene, peaceful and quiet atmosphere and professional, attentive waiter. The dining room was cozy and food sublime. Our party enjoyed wine by the glass and imported beer. I found the coffee very rich and flavorful. Everyone ordered different meals and all were pleased with the quality, taste and quantity of our meals. Prices were moderate considering the quality, service and ambience. We plan to return again to this fine restaurant.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Private Room, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Disabled Access, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the absolute best anchorage resta ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on October 15, 2016

One of the absolute best anchorage restaurants. The halibut and white king salmon specials and calamari appetizer were all fabulous.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I loved the food, service, and location. ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on October 12, 2016

I loved the food, service, and location. A great alternative to the same restaurants that we usually patron.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service and tasty food! The s ...

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Excellent service and tasty food! The sauces set the tone on the salads and entrees, which are typically excellent and were in this case as well. Food is fresh, cooked properly, and served in a timely manner.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

One of the nicest little gems of a resta ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on October 9, 2016

One of the nicest little gems of a restaurant in Anchorage. Don't get there often enough! Food is always prepared with love!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

consistently very good. I have been plea ...

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on October 6, 2016

consistently very good. I have been pleased with their food every time over the course of the past 15 years.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We were a party of 7 and all our food wa ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on September 8, 2016

We were a party of 7 and all our food was very good. Our server was friendly, funny, and helpful. We saw a number of people who appeared to be regulars. Everyone was greeted warmly and seated promptly.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food & service good variety desert ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 3, 2016

Great food & service good variety deserts were fantastic. Recommend this place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Campo Bello deserves mention for consist ...

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on September 1, 2016

Campo Bello deserves mention for consistency, value and taste--taste as in the food tastes good, and taste as in the decor is in good taste, the menu is in good taste, the service is in good taste and the clientele is in good taste. My from the menu seafood crepe was excellent as always and my guest's special of the day salmon on Caesar salad looked terrific Good place to take business guests. This has been our "go to" restaurant, specially for lunch for business entertainment for over 25 years.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The service was superb. The calamari was ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on August 31, 2016

The service was superb. The calamari was excellent - as usual. The halibut Caesar salad was dry: both the fish and the salad. The staff provided additional dressing for the salad; nothing could be done for the halibut. The lemon zest for dessert was heavenly.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

This was not my first visit to Campobell ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on August 27, 2016

This was not my first visit to Campobello. I like the fact that it is quieter that many other popular Anchorage restaurants. Food was excellent as always and I appreciate chief's pride in quality of his dishes. Young man who was our waiter was great, attentive yet not overbearing, just the right balance for great service. I always kept bragging to my friends about this great place. I like that is located in midtown, and I don't have to spend extra money for parking nor looking for one for 30 min like downtown location. Some comments in reviews mention a particular female working there, and I agree that she should lean to keep her comments under a lid during her occasional appearance. You would think that by now she would learn that her crude personality has no place in a dining area with restaurant's guests, nevertheless, I will not skip coming there and let that spoil my dinner experience, I just ignore her (lol).

Tags: Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love my server!

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on August 16, 2016

Love my server!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

never disappointed - always great food & ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on August 14, 2016

never disappointed - always great food & service !

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

3 stars for ambiance due to maitre'd att ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on August 10, 2016

3 stars for ambiance due to maitre'd attitude - every thing else was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

It had been awhile since I had eaten at ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 3, 2016

It had been awhile since I had eaten at Campobello. Before I retired I ate there frequently for lunch as it was near my office. It has not changed at all. Same outdated decor, same menu. However, the service was abysmal. Our drink order was not taken until we finally managed to get the attention of a (not our) waiter, who has worked there for decades. After we were finally served our food, he never came back. At all. We had to flag him down to get our bill.

The entire place needs an overhaul, in my opinion.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value3

One of my "go to" places for lunch. I'm ...

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on July 14, 2016

One of my "go to" places for lunch. I'm never disappointed.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

I have never been disappointed ..... F ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on July 12, 2016

I have never been disappointed .....

Food was delicious, it's quiet, so you are able to have a conversation. The staff was professional;)

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is my all time favorite restaurant. ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on July 3, 2016

This is my all time favorite restaurant. I found it a few years ago with friends and is my go to celebration destination. I have never had a bad meal or even a so-so meal. Everything is delicious, even the vegetables!! LOVE, LOVE, LOVE!!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have eaten here for many years. Food i ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on July 2, 2016

I have eaten here for many years. Food is consistently good. Our group loved the calamari appetizer. My husband said that the italian sausage pasta dish was tasty. I had the chicken piccata - OK but really wish they had veal. Usually have friendly waitstaff but the waitress we had this time was somewhat rude and dismissive. Maybe she thought that she was funny but it did not work on my family who thought that she was saying that we were a bunch of hicks.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value4

We were visiting Anchorage. If we lived ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 26, 2016

We were visiting Anchorage. If we lived in Anchorage, I am sure we would regularly go to this restaurant. Great food and service. House made pasta was delicious. The salad and soup were great. Absolutely try the French chocolate pie.! Hidden gem!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.