About Campobello Bistro

601 W 36th Ave Ste 10
Anchorage, AK 99503
View Larger Map

Cuisine Perfecto! Seafood Pasta & Grill Halibut Salmon Shellfish – Filet Mignon Veal & Duck

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, French, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Tuesday -Friday: 11:00am - 2:00pm Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 5:00pm - closed Sunday and Monday

Cross Street:
Bering St

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(907) 563-2040

Website:
http://campobellobistro.com/

Campobello Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.6

ambience

4.3

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Anchorage / Alaska
Best Food
Anchorage / Alaska
Best Value
Anchorage / Alaska
5 More
Special Occasion
Anchorage / Alaska
Best Overall
Anchorage
Best Food
Anchorage
Best Value
Anchorage
Special Occasion
Anchorage
Best Restaurants in Anchorage ›

Special Occasion (11)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Good for Anniversaries (6)
See All
Good for a Date (6)
Cozy (6)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Business Meals (5)
Romantic (5)
Good for Groups (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Fit for Foodies (4)
Private Room (3)
Authentic (3)
Casual (3)
Great for Lunch (2)
Healthy (2)
Fun (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Organic (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Scenic View (1)
Seasonal (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
People Watching (1)
Great Beer (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Sort By:
S
155 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great experience, fantastic dinning! I r ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Great experience, fantastic dinning! I rate Campobello Bistro's food quality and dinning experience in the top five resturants in the Anchorage bowl. Of course it is up to you to bring great guests!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was delicious. I had the seafoo ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on November 11, 2016

The food was delicious. I had the seafood crape and it was filled with bite size recognizable seafood with distinct flavors, that were not overcooked, in perfect sauce. The dinner salads were fresh and tasty. Overall the food was a winner. We could see the other dishes being served and they look tempting.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Campobello's remains one of my all time ...

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Campobello's remains one of my all time favorite restaurants in Anchorage for the last 15 years.

They are consistently very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

The food was amazing and outstanding se ...

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on November 3, 2016

The food was amazing and outstanding service! I recommend it!

Tags: Good for Groups, Cozy, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Private Room, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our first visit, a birthday cel ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on October 19, 2016

This was our first visit, a birthday celebration for adult daughter. We loved the serene, peaceful and quiet atmosphere and professional, attentive waiter. The dining room was cozy and food sublime. Our party enjoyed wine by the glass and imported beer. I found the coffee very rich and flavorful. Everyone ordered different meals and all were pleased with the quality, taste and quantity of our meals. Prices were moderate considering the quality, service and ambience. We plan to return again to this fine restaurant.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Private Room, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Disabled Access, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the absolute best anchorage resta ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on October 15, 2016

One of the absolute best anchorage restaurants. The halibut and white king salmon specials and calamari appetizer were all fabulous.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I loved the food, service, and location. ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on October 12, 2016

I loved the food, service, and location. A great alternative to the same restaurants that we usually patron.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service and tasty food! The s ...

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Excellent service and tasty food! The sauces set the tone on the salads and entrees, which are typically excellent and were in this case as well. Food is fresh, cooked properly, and served in a timely manner.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

One of the nicest little gems of a resta ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on October 9, 2016

One of the nicest little gems of a restaurant in Anchorage. Don't get there often enough! Food is always prepared with love!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

consistently very good. I have been plea ...

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on October 6, 2016

consistently very good. I have been pleased with their food every time over the course of the past 15 years.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We were a party of 7 and all our food wa ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on September 8, 2016

We were a party of 7 and all our food was very good. Our server was friendly, funny, and helpful. We saw a number of people who appeared to be regulars. Everyone was greeted warmly and seated promptly.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food & service good variety desert ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 3, 2016

Great food & service good variety deserts were fantastic. Recommend this place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Campo Bello deserves mention for consist ...

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on September 1, 2016

Campo Bello deserves mention for consistency, value and taste--taste as in the food tastes good, and taste as in the decor is in good taste, the menu is in good taste, the service is in good taste and the clientele is in good taste. My from the menu seafood crepe was excellent as always and my guest's special of the day salmon on Caesar salad looked terrific Good place to take business guests. This has been our "go to" restaurant, specially for lunch for business entertainment for over 25 years.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The service was superb. The calamari was ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on August 31, 2016

The service was superb. The calamari was excellent - as usual. The halibut Caesar salad was dry: both the fish and the salad. The staff provided additional dressing for the salad; nothing could be done for the halibut. The lemon zest for dessert was heavenly.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

This was not my first visit to Campobell ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on August 27, 2016

This was not my first visit to Campobello. I like the fact that it is quieter that many other popular Anchorage restaurants. Food was excellent as always and I appreciate chief's pride in quality of his dishes. Young man who was our waiter was great, attentive yet not overbearing, just the right balance for great service. I always kept bragging to my friends about this great place. I like that is located in midtown, and I don't have to spend extra money for parking nor looking for one for 30 min like downtown location. Some comments in reviews mention a particular female working there, and I agree that she should lean to keep her comments under a lid during her occasional appearance. You would think that by now she would learn that her crude personality has no place in a dining area with restaurant's guests, nevertheless, I will not skip coming there and let that spoil my dinner experience, I just ignore her (lol).

Tags: Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love my server!

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on August 16, 2016

Love my server!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

never disappointed - always great food & ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on August 14, 2016

never disappointed - always great food & service !

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

3 stars for ambiance due to maitre'd att ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on August 10, 2016

3 stars for ambiance due to maitre'd attitude - every thing else was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

It had been awhile since I had eaten at ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 3, 2016

It had been awhile since I had eaten at Campobello. Before I retired I ate there frequently for lunch as it was near my office. It has not changed at all. Same outdated decor, same menu. However, the service was abysmal. Our drink order was not taken until we finally managed to get the attention of a (not our) waiter, who has worked there for decades. After we were finally served our food, he never came back. At all. We had to flag him down to get our bill.

The entire place needs an overhaul, in my opinion.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value3

One of my "go to" places for lunch. I'm ...

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on July 14, 2016

One of my "go to" places for lunch. I'm never disappointed.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

I have never been disappointed ..... F ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on July 12, 2016

I have never been disappointed .....

Food was delicious, it's quiet, so you are able to have a conversation. The staff was professional;)

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is my all time favorite restaurant. ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on July 3, 2016

This is my all time favorite restaurant. I found it a few years ago with friends and is my go to celebration destination. I have never had a bad meal or even a so-so meal. Everything is delicious, even the vegetables!! LOVE, LOVE, LOVE!!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have eaten here for many years. Food i ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on July 2, 2016

I have eaten here for many years. Food is consistently good. Our group loved the calamari appetizer. My husband said that the italian sausage pasta dish was tasty. I had the chicken piccata - OK but really wish they had veal. Usually have friendly waitstaff but the waitress we had this time was somewhat rude and dismissive. Maybe she thought that she was funny but it did not work on my family who thought that she was saying that we were a bunch of hicks.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value4

We were visiting Anchorage. If we lived ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 26, 2016

We were visiting Anchorage. If we lived in Anchorage, I am sure we would regularly go to this restaurant. Great food and service. House made pasta was delicious. The salad and soup were great. Absolutely try the French chocolate pie.! Hidden gem!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice luncheon and quiet atmosphere.

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on May 19, 2016

Our experience was enjoyable with excellent food, great service, and being able to hear our companion during conversation.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

White King

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on May 13, 2016

The food at Campobello is always good but the White King special was excellent!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Went for a birthday and they were great. ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on May 7, 2016

Went for a birthday and they were great. Came with someone who has an allergy to gluten and they were very accommodating. Food was excellent can't wait to go back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I REALLY want to like this place- really ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on April 30, 2016

I REALLY want to like this place- really I do- but I have just not been "wowed." My husband and I met some friends for dinner here a few weeks ago and, while he had a good time with our friends, the food and service were just okay. I had reservations for our party, but our greeting at the door wasn't particularly inviting or friendly; we all ended up crowded in the doorway for several minutes as other diners were ushered in. We were eventually seated in a nice booth and greeted by a server, but (similar to the hostess) she seemed overwhelmed.

On to the food. Our group started with the "Ring of Fire" appetizer (a round of chevre surrounded by spicy marinara) and an order of calamari. The Ring of Fire was a hit- the cheese and toast points were excellent and the sauce was fairly good, although a little overdone with the pepper. The calamari was interesting (calamari steaks vs. rounds) and most of our party enjoyed it. For our main courses, I had the Seafood Fra Diavlo and my husband had the Veal Saltimbocca. While I was happy to see that Campobello has upgraded to locally made fresh pasta, I felt the texture of my pasta to be lacking and the sauce needed more flavor. That said, the seafood that came with my meal was perfectly cooked and was a generous portion. My husband's saltimbocca was different than the saltimbocca we've had in Italy (thicker breading) and I didn't particularly care for the prosciutto that was used...

For dessert, our table ordered a bread pudding to share- THAT was the best part of the meal and it disappeared quickly.

Overall, our group had a good time, but the service and food need some improvement. I will likely stick to making Italian food at home next time!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

Very good food.6

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on April 13, 2016

Very good food.6

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Wonderful classic and nouveau Italian fa ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on April 10, 2016

Wonderful classic and nouveau Italian fare with great seafood specials.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Wonderful place and great service! We we ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on April 8, 2016

Wonderful place and great service! We went during non peak hours I believe so hardly anyone was there which was good because we had little kids with us and they kept going crazy on us. But our waiter was very generous and nice. Even constructed some kids cups for us. The food was amazing as well. My husband loves filet mignon and Campobello Bistro did a fantastic job of preparing the meat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very pleasant eating experience. Great ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on April 3, 2016

Very pleasant eating experience. Great food and great ambiance.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Excellent as usual

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on March 22, 2016

The seafood crepe - it is to die for! One of these times I'm going to have to try something else, but it's just so good...

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The entire staff is very attentive and e ...

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on March 17, 2016

The entire staff is very attentive and engaging. The food beyond anything else in Anchorage. Proud Campobello addicts here.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Best surprise night out of the year!

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on March 12, 2016

We decided to let OpenTable suggest a new location for date night, and we couldn't have been happier with its suggestion of Campobello! David was an extraordinary server and made our evening memorable. Highly recommend the calimari appetizer.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Excellent Service, great meal

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 12, 2016

Went with our new friends (frequent diners) and ordered the calamari which was excellent with the aoli. My DH cannot have wheat, so he had the bacon wrapped scallops. They were good, but not great. We ordered the white king salmon which this non-salmon eater enjoyed and I had the ravioli with sausage and another had the seafood crepe. I'll get that next time. Prices were a little over-priced but you pay for a full meal rather than a la carte. Appreciated the fresh bread, caesar salad and wonderful, attentive service. We'll be back.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Loved the seafood crepe!

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on February 28, 2016

Loved the seafood crepe!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Getting frantic at lunch

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on February 26, 2016

Food always outstanding but have noticed the wait staff are very stressed and the place has a hurry hurry vibe. Everyone friendly - it just loses the old relaxed European dining experience. The food's not fast food- but the service feels such.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

food is very good here, our 3rd visit

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 18, 2016

food is very good here, our 3rd visit

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

THE place for fine Northern Italian food

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on February 17, 2016

I've tried nearly everything on the menu and have never been disappointed but I find that unless I get the Calamari Fritti appetizer, I almost always end up with the Calamari Scaloppini entree. I've never had such tender, delicious squid in my life. Literally melts in your mouth. I'm drooling just thinking about it!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.