Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.20mi
  4. Distance: 0.23mi
  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.20mi
  4. Distance: 0.23mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.20mi
  4. Distance: 0.23mi
  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.20mi
  4. Distance: 0.23mi

About Campo - Reno

Campo - Reno is a Rustic Italian Restaurant. We have relaxed but attentive service. We change the menu daily. We serve local and organic foods. We serve Naples style Pizza, we cure our own salami and make all our pasta in house. Our beverage program is as fresh and seasonal as our menu. We have a fun and affordable wine menu and by the glass program. Campo runs many promotions, so please check our website www.camporeno.com to see what may be going on right now. Our patio is right on the Truckee River in downtown Reno. We bake all our breads in the wood oven and the 2 open kitchens are the focal point of the restaurant. Loosely translated Campo means gathering place. we welcome you to come on down and make yourself comfortable.

50 North Sierra Street
Reno, NV 89501
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, American, Pizzeria

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Sat & Sun: 11:30 am - 3:00 pm / 11:00 am - 3:00 pm


Lunch: Mon-Fri: 11:30 am - 3:00pm


Happy Hour: Mon-Fri: 3:00 pm - 6:00 pm


Dinner: Daily: 3:00 pm - 10:00 pm

Cross Street:
First

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(775) 737-9555

Website:
http://www.camporeno.com/

Catering:
We offer Catered Office Lunches Monday- Friday. 11:00-12:30 Curbside Delivery is available. All serviceware is included. Please call the restaurant 775-737-9555 for the menu. Menus change weekly.

Parking Details:
There is street parking, pm free parking in courthouse lot and we also validate for the parking gallery on First Street.

Public Transit:
Campo is located at First and North Sierra in the Palladio in the Riverwalk area.

Executive Chef:
David Holman

Private Party Facilities:
Campo offers room for private dining that can seat up to 60 people. Our restaurant is great for hosting birthday parties, wedding rehearsals, holiday parties. Campo in Sparks boasts a Private Dining that can hold up to 75 people. Can host any kind of event or meeting.

Private Party Contact:
Jaime Coble,: (775) 544-1218

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Chef's Table, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Campo - Reno Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.1

ambience

4.2

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

77% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (20)
Great for Outdoor Dining (20)
Local Ingredients (19)
See All
Scenic View (18)
Waterfront (18)
Good for Anniversaries (17)
Creative Cuisine (16)
Neighborhood Gem (15)
Fit for Foodies (14)
Casual (14)
Fun (12)
Special Occasion (12)
Good for Birthdays (12)
Romantic (10)
Good for Groups (9)
Organic (9)
Hot Spot (8)
Authentic (6)
Bar Seating (6)
Great for Lunch (6)
People Watching (6)
Seasonal (6)
Tasting Menu (6)
Business Meals (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Cozy (4)
Great Beer (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Comfort Food (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Tapas (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Sort By:
S
1449 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 3 days ago

Great experience overall, I will definitley go back. Just a few things they can improve on - for a Saturday night they didn't seem prepared for the amount of people. They were out of a few things on the menu as well as would not serve us bread after asking several times because they had "messed up" the recipe that night. Bummer because we took friends there from out of town and had talked up the bread! My meal was the risotti, the flavor was good except the pepper was way overpowering.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 3 days ago

I live in Berkeley, CA - foodie ground zero - but I always look forward to a chance to eat at Campo. The food is always very high quality but unpretentious in its presentation. Service is friendly but professional. It's a great place to share dishes with friends.

Tags: Waterfront, Casual, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
·Dined 3 days ago

Saw great reviews for this place and it was walking distance from my hotel, so decided to give it a try. So glad we went. The food was wonderful and the service was great. My family had a really great time. We will definitely visit again.

Tags: Casual, Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Very good restaurant. Lots of food choices as we had a gluten free eater and a vegetarian. Service was impeccable. The ambiance was nice, and the food was delicious.

Tags: Healthy, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Paleo Friendly, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Gluten free pizza crust was thick and undercooked. It was gooey.
Carbonara was more of an alfredo with the heavy cream sauce. Pasta was too thick and with the cream was just too heavy of a dish. Traditional carbonara doesn't have cream sauce, just eggs, cheese and Olive oil.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Love the vibe and the good offering wss wonderful. Chef Dave is a master.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 8, 2017

Seasonal, local, farm to table spot with no attitude, just super solid amazing ingredient driven food! Everything was delicious, fresh and pefectly executed. I'll be back any time we find ourselves in Reno

Tags: Authentic, Fun, Organic, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating, Healthy, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Waterfront, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on September 4, 2017

We ordered several pizzas and appetizers and everything was just 'ok'.

Tags: Quick Bite, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Another amazing Chef's Tasting! It never disappoints and neither does Campo!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Mediocre at best. Reviews seemed good so we went for brunch. Food was bland, potatoes undercooked. Service seemed slow for a place less than half full.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Favorite place to go when I come to Reno. Started off with a delicious Negroni straight up and started with the kale salad (a must). The pork platter has never let me down so I again went with that ( and the oyster mushrooms as a side) and it did not disappoint. I have had this pork platter many different times and each time there have been different offerings but each one is unique and delicious in its own right. My favorite this time was the stewed pork chili. Delicious. Service was not as attentive as previous times but these things happen. Thank you for another delicious meal and experience.

Central Valley Californian.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Tasting Menu, People Watching, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on August 31, 2017

Great food. Little slow for service but very enjoyable. If you aren't in a rush their daily menu is a neat way to enjoy local foods

Tags: Late-night Find, Scenic View, Fun, Good for a Date, Casual, People Watching, Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 30, 2017

We had been to Campo maybe 3 years ago and it was very busy on a Friday night with lots of atmosphere. Going on a Tuesday night was a different experience. The crowd and ambiance was lacking but the food made up for that! Each of our entrees was fresh, well-prepared and delicious. Our waiter was professional and attentive and offered us great explanations of our choices, especially the nightly specials. I applaud Campo for sourcing local farms for food..it makes a difference in the food quality and freshness and is the right thing to do. But having this advantage is nothing if a chef can not perform in the kitchen. Campo's chef has no problem with turning the raw ingredients into plate licking deliciousness! Great addition to the mostly otherwise mediocre Reno dining choices.

Tags: Cozy, Notable Wine List, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
·Dined on August 26, 2017

The food was bland. Between the appetizers and the variety of entrees, it was just blasé. Nothing stood out, no exciting flavors. The service was great, but that was the only thing that really shined here. Too overpriced for such plain foods.

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Server was horrible. Got our meals mixed up, forgot to bring my Kale salad(that was the best thing) before my meal. Never offered another round of drinks. We had to ask for dessert. It also was a very long wait for our waiter to refill water/check the table/ etc. Super loud. Unfortunately not the best experience.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Husband and I thought we would do a stay vaca in Reno and be tourists for a night. Campos on the River great location. Although had a reservation had to wait 15min. Seated us by the bathroom in a booth. Heavy traffic area! Appetizers were ok nothing spectacular; calamari and olives. Entrees were good but table uneven and every time my husband cut his steak the plate would rock and bang on the table. The worst was the noise level it is like being at a concert. If you want ambiance this is not the place.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service4
value2

 
·Dined on August 26, 2017

Such a fun place. High energy, good food and wine selections. Located right along the Truckee.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Fun, Organic, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Healthy, Hot Spot, Waterfront, Good Vegetarian Options, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on August 25, 2017

From the local microbrew beer to the veggie pizza loaded with locally-grown produce, ending with a salted-caramel dessert that had been a local favorite for four years, Campo's is a favorite dining experience in Reno! Through in its locale in the river walk and you have the ideal evening out!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 20, 2017

very good food good wait staff however, was not happy with hostesses.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Good Vegetarian Options, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 20, 2017

I chose this restaurant for my birthday. None of us had ever been. We were all quite impressed. There were six of us and we ordered five different entrees. Every one of them was great but my mushroom risoto was by far the best. The service was great and friendly as well. At the end our waitress brought me this amazing little dessert - flourless chocolate cake with a scoop of vanilla gelato with salted caramel on top. It was one of the best desserts I've ever had. I reluctantly shared it with my friends and they all agreed. I can't wait to go back!

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Scenic View, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Taking our daughter to UNR tomorrow. Wanted to have a nice dinner. Sat outside overlooking the river. Their daily specials are truly special... Dropp salad and Kale salad were both very flavorful and truly taste tantalizing. Shared the daily pizza... oyster mushrooms, arugula and truffle oil... amazing! My husband had the 6ounce filet with honey glazed carrots and oyster mushrooms. Steak was cooked to perfection and carrots were delicious ( and he doesn't usually eat carrots) . We had Kentucky Mules to start which were good and then a bottle of Prisoner with dinner... great value on wine imo. Overall, very satisfied. Richard, our server was great too. Very attentive and great at his job. We will be back for sure.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Reservations with a note for outside and told outside was first come. We arrive and there is an open table. But they said that was for walk-ups. There were none so the "let" us sit outside. The food was not that great. Will not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on August 10, 2017

Went to Campo for the first time in a while. It's just not the same since it changed owners. Everything looks the same and the staff are nice, but the food isn't as good. It's good, just not AS good as it was before. Seems like they don't try as hard to create dishes with the seasonal local ingredients. The night we went, everything had lots of arugula on it. Guess that's what was available, so it was on every plate! I should have questioned the server more closely about what the "market greens" were.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on August 9, 2017

We enjoyed the outdoor seating area and initially the service was good. However our salads came prior to our appetizers and our drink order was delayed. We enjoyed our entrées as well. I think with a few tweaks this could be an excellent restaurant but we really did not want to eat our salads before we received appetizers.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Service was a bit on the slow side -this was disappointing, especially when it continued after we let the waiter know we had a show to catch. Food was very good, but definitely on the pricy side.

Tags: Tapas, Local Ingredients, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value2

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on July 27, 2017

I've been there many times and like sitting in the outdoor space right n the river. The service is great and the food delicious.

Tags: Hot Spot, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on July 23, 2017

This was our 3rd time at Campo Reno. We brought out-of-town guests because the food, up until this time, has been wonderful. The cauliflower, which generally is a crowd pleaser, was underseasoned. The d.r.o.p.p. salads that we ordered while fresh, were under-dressed, and the shared margherita pizza was bland and undercooked. The fritto misto and roasted chicken, on the other hand, were hits. All in all, kind of disappointing! I think we will be trying some of the other restaurants downtown next time we eat out.

Tags: Seasonal, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined on July 21, 2017

Came here for A special occasion; made reservations. The service here was absolutely horrible, took waitress forever to bring us bread and drinks. Once I ordered my food, the waitress was slow to bring it even though it was not busy. She brought my main course first before my salad and my main course was cold. Food was less than satisfactory which was quite disappointing because this used to be my favorite restaurant. Overall, my dining experience was not enjoyable. I am sad to say I will not be visiting Campo again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value1

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on July 19, 2017

Desert was burned, selected dish was no longer available at 7pm

Tags: Casual, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Afternoon Tea, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on July 17, 2017

I made a reservation well in advance for 12 people for a birthday celebration. They sat us 20 mins later than the reservation. The server was good, but the food was a bit bland. Risotto needed more salt at the least and was a bit dry. Also, prior to the change in management/ownership etc., the budino was something to die for. Unfortunately, that has changed too and was just ok. Lastly, I went to the bathroom (womens) and none of the stalls had toilet paper. Another patron and I changed the paper ourselves after insisting. I hope things change over time as I would still like to come back. It's a great place for Reno, but needs work.

Tags: Scenic View, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 15, 2017

This was one of many visits to Campo, which has become a hangout for us. The wood-fired pizza is wonderful with its homemade sauce and fresh mozarella. We enjoyed the frito misto too, as we are both calamari fans. Best calamari we've found in a long time. The river view is one of the things we come for, and this time we had a perfect table to river watch. Although our waitress, Carly, was lovely, accommodating, and attentive, we found other service workers to be less reliable. A young man on staff asked us if we would like our water refreshed, took our carafe, and never returned. The restaurant seemed understaffed. Campo does not provide salt and pepper on the tables, so at one point I got up to get our own from a service table because I didn't think anyone on the wait staff would be around any time soon. But it's Campo, and it is our favorite place, so there is much to forgive, and we roll with it.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Outdoor Dining, People Watching, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on July 14, 2017

We got the Chef tasting and it was boring and small portions and at the end of the four courses, my girlfriend and I were still hungry and had to go to another restaurant to feel full. We had done it a previous time and it was a get experience but it turns out they stick to the same dishes which was boring since I paid $45 per person.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Disabled Access, Gluten Free Options, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Girls night out dinner - 5 of us for a 5:30 pm early dinner on Thursday. We were seated at a bench seat table near the high-tops at the front of the restaurant. Nice table but it was unbelievable hot to the point where we all were dripping sweat. No joke. Nobody else was seated near us. After about 25 minutes, we finally had to ask to be relocated. They moved us to the back of the restaurant, which was about 20 degrees cooler. There was a female Manager that was clearly annoyed by this. A couple of us tried to thank her for moving us and she would not even reply or look at us. Our waiter was nice but horrible. Empty drinks sat on the table for 20 minutes and we had to ask another waitress to get our waiter so we could reorder. We had to do this TWICE. The food was the only redeaming thing about the experience, although it took EXTREMELY long. We are a pretty resilient bunch of ladies too, just really bad service and attitude. Disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on July 8, 2017

David the chef was wonderful and offered to accommodate my glove allergy restriction. He took pride in preparing our meal and making sure all of our needs were met. Accolades to David. We will be back.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on July 6, 2017

Food was horrible. Gnocchi was hard clumps of pizza or pasta dough. Worst ever. Rigatoni pitiful. DROPP salad was all stems. Won't waste $ in future

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 3, 2017

The food was good and our server was nice but it took about an hour and a half to get our food. We were there for 2 hours and all we got was one entree, a pizza, and 2 appetizers. Plus our server did not communicate enough with us (or check up on us enough) while we waited for our food. We also had to ask for our check multiple times and eventually went to the host and told her we just wanted to leave our money and go. The manager ended up getting our bill to us and after we told her about our experience she offered to take the most expensive thing off our bill. We declined because we wanted to give her feedback and we werent looking for a free meal. We just hope she took our feedback back to the kitchen and used it as a training opportunity (or a decision to hire more people).

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Food and view were great. Service was a little lack luster compared to other times. We had to ask for bread, even though every other table was offered bread. The server seemed preoccupied with the larger tables.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

vip
 (Tahoe)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Another great night out with friends. We enjoyed the chef's menu, and it was great. Chef Holman came to our table, described each course, answered questions, and helped us have a great night that won't soon be forgotten. Not only was the food great, but the service was spot on, and this really does matter. It was all great....

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Organic, Authentic, Seasonal, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Well done and good food every time. We keep company ng back to this place for one good reason, the friendly people.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on June 23, 2017

The food was quite good, although I did have an over cooked/crisp meatball. The service is always excellent, however. They even let us have a bottle of our own wine (to sample a wine for a wedding reception).

Tags: Fun, Authentic, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Waterfront, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.