About Campo - Reno

50 North Sierra Street
Reno, NV 89501
View Larger Map

Campo - Reno is a Rustic Italian Restaurant. We have relaxed but attentive service. We change the menu daily. We serve local and organic foods. We serve Naples style Pizza, we cure our own salami and make all our pasta in house. Our beverage program is as fresh and seasonal as our menu. We have a fun and affordable wine menu and by the glass program. Campo runs many promotions, so please check our website www.camporeno.com to see what may be going on right now. Our patio is right on the Truckee River in downtown Reno. We bake all our breads in the wood oven and the 2 open kitchens are the focal point of the restaurant. Loosely translated Campo means gathering place. we welcome you to come on down and make yourself comfortable.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, American, Pizzeria

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Sat & Sun: 11:30 am - 3:00 pm / 11:00 am - 3:00 pm


Lunch: Mon-Fri: 11:30 am - 3:00pm


Happy Hour: Mon-Fri: 3:00 pm - 6:00 pm


Dinner: Daily: 3:00 pm - 10:00 pm

Cross Street:
First

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(775) 737-9555

Website:
http://www.camporeno.com/

Catering:
We offer Catered Office Lunches Monday- Friday. 11:00-12:30 Curbside Delivery is available. All serviceware is included. Please call the restaurant 775-737-9555 for the menu. Menus change weekly.

Parking Details:
There is street parking, pm free parking in courthouse lot and we also validate for the parking gallery on First Street.

Public Transit:
Campo is located at First and North Sierra in the Palladio in the Riverwalk area.

Executive Chef:
David Holman

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Chef's Table, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

Campo offers room for private dining that can seat up to 60 people. Our restaurant is great for hosting birthday parties, wedding rehearsals, holiday parties and many other events.

Campo - Reno Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.0

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.8

service

3.9

ambience

3.8

value

3.3

noise

Moderate

67% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (14)
Local Ingredients (14)
Casual (11)
See All
Worth the Drive (9)
Great for Outdoor Dining (9)
Fit for Foodies (9)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Good for Groups (8)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Wood Oven (7)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Scenic View (7)
Fun (6)
Great for Lunch (6)
Happy Hour (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Notable Wine List (6)
Great Beer (6)
Good for Anniversaries (5)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Waterfront (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
People Watching (5)
Cozy (5)
Hot Spot (4)
Special Occasion (4)
Romantic (4)
Organic (4)
Bar Seating (3)
Family Style (3)
Seasonal (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Authentic (3)
Healthy (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Tapas (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Vegan (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Business Meals (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Live Sports (1)
Sort By:
S
1348 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The service was absolutely terrible. Slo ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined a day ago

The service was absolutely terrible. Slow, unprofessional and rude.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1
value3

Everytime we go to Reno to visit our dau ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined 2 days ago

Everytime we go to Reno to visit our daughter dinner at Campo is a must, they never disappoint. The food and the environment are terrific.

Tags: Fun, Sunday Lunch, Wood Oven, Casual, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Great Beer, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of my favorite restaurants, great fo ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined 6 days ago

One of my favorite restaurants, great for dates, Friendly staff.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Modern Decor, Romantic, Bar Seating, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The special salad was nothing special, a ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 6 days ago

The special salad was nothing special, and the oso bucco tasted like it was made 2 days prior and warmed up, and it still wasn't as tender as it should have been.

We should have stuck with pasta.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

The noise level was so loud it was hard ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined 6 days ago

The noise level was so loud it was hard to hear the conversation at our table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Our first time at this restaurant not qu ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined 6 days ago

Our first time at this restaurant not quite what we expected upon entering but turned out to be a very pleasant surprise. Service was great n food was excellent. It was a little noisy sitting at our table at end of the bar but over all a very great Valentines date.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Healthy, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Great Beer, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Interesting and combient scene, although ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined 6 days ago

Interesting and combient scene, although the vibe feels comfertable and the service is positive you have to wonder is it too loud. I didn't know which person was my server because three of which was very kind but not very informative with the menu. Not to mention neither of them noticed silverware on my table even after the food was out. Maybe consider the ambient temperature when serving cause if theirs too much of a breeze then like my food it will cool and dry fast too and you like I won't be able to enjoy your company or food. And if your a first timer and u see something you don't understand ask and ask again. Overall service was there and maybe their menu is too much but the food was exceptional and you'll have to be swift with your meal otherwise it cools too fast. I would go their again if I was stopping to get a drink before the movies.

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Scenic View, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, People Watching, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Well, it pains me to report a significan ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Well, it pains me to report a significant decline in the food quality at Campo. I had the Duck Yeah pizza. The bottom was completely burned. Not in the way a wood-fired pizza would normally have a couple of blackened bubbles, but completely black. Oddly enough, it was also completely soggy. There was not enough duck prosciutto on the pizza to taste. The complimentary focaccia of the day was also soggy, and tasted exactly like Thanksgiving stuffing.

On the plus side, the service was perfect. From the moment we entered until the moment we left, all members of the staff were friendly and welcoming. The waitress was completely on point.

I would have thought that this was a one-off, given how pleased I had been over the years, but this is now twice we have had such a problem with the food quality.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value2

Made reservations through open table and ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on January 30, 2017

Made reservations through open table and when arrived table was not available. Twenty minutes later sat at smaller table. Drinks alone took twenty minutes after ordering. Waitress seemed flustered even not overly busy. Drinks and food were good. Poor salad selection. I had a gift certificate otherwise wouldn't go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

It would have been a disappointing eveni ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on January 29, 2017

It would have been a disappointing evening except for our waiter John, who attended to us really well during the lengthy wait for our meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

The restaurant was very busy and a bit n ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on January 26, 2017

The restaurant was very busy and a bit noisy. Our drinks took a bit long to arrive but once we told our waiter that we had tickets to a show he made sure our dinner was delivered in time for us to get to the theater. He also made sure that my meal was prepared to accommodate my food allergies. At the end of our meal the executive chef came out and chatted with us. Overall a great meal and experience in spite of the slow start.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Happy Hour, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

They were willing to do a special sandwi ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 22, 2017

They were willing to do a special sandwich'

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value2

The last two times our service has been ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on January 21, 2017

The last two times our service has been unacceptably poor and then mediocre. This time, we got there early and one person happily let us in out of the cold, while the bartender was borderline rude about letting us in. We were happy to wait at a table with just water (bonus!) while the staff did what they needed to do. However, even well past 11am, everything was super slow, and they didn't seem ready. Our server was as friendly as could be, but she only focussed on one table at a time and didn't seem to be able to handle or want to get two tables their water around the same time, or even just check on a table while heading back to submit another table's order, etc. There would be longgggg periods of time when she wasn't seen. This was true even when there were only 3 tables (within close proxmimity). After our previous experience with the waitress who seriously never came back after like 30min (we had to ask a different server to cash us out and box our food), the only reason we tried it again was because we were craving the beesting pizza. Not sure we would recommend Campo's anymore...and avoid it if you are hoping for attentive service or have somewhere to be afterwards. The food is tasty and of quality, but is fairly pricey for what you get. Drinks are definitely over priced.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value2

The food was good and the service was ex ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 21, 2017

The food was good and the service was excellent!!!

Tags: Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food is good, but there are limited choi ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Food is good, but there are limited choices for entries.

Variety and quality of cocktails are good. They were out of some teas and bags to take the food out. Service is friendly. Good views on the street. Thank you.

Tags: Family Style, Scenic View, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Had a reservation and was seated quickly ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Had a reservation and was seated quickly but no one came to check on is or take our order for 20 plus minutes and we were basically the only table there. They apologiezed and the manager came over but then they forgot our appetizer as well and brought our dinner without the appetizer. The best they did was comp the appetizer but it was only 5 dollars for the warm olives. After that the service was still sub par. Food was decent but not good enough to justify the price particularly in Reno. Sushi would have been a better option, value, and more fun and I doubt a sushi place would forget about a table. That is the last time I will go to this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

Always good food and good service. It's ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Always good food and good service. It's nice to have consistency. Our server was very attentive and friendly .

Tags: Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Meh. Food just okay. Especially for the ...

vip
 (Tahoe)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Meh. Food just okay. Especially for the price. Weird that the waiter brought the check without checking to see if we would like dessert.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Nice ambiance, warm on a cold eve, serve ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Nice ambiance, warm on a cold eve, server Larissa was perfectly attentive and knowledgeable. Very g wine and draft beer list. Ribolita soup xlnt, risotto bland, burger very good.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great Beer, Casual, Live Sports, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value4

We did not have a great experience. Serv ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on January 7, 2017

We did not have a great experience. Service was terrible, food was subpar and pricey. Took forevvvvver to get drinks. Just kind of put a damper on girls night!! 😕

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Exceptionally mediocre food for inflated ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Exceptionally mediocre food for inflated prices. The bartender was slow and my old fashioned tasted like couch syrup. Service was polite and efficient, but that can't make up for undercooked pizza with a crust so chewy that it was a chore to eat. Dessert was good but tasted like the ingredients came from a can or box.

This place was fantastic when the original owner ran the show. Unfortunately, since he sold it off, it's just another mediocre pizza place. This is the second disappointing dinner I've had here. I wanted to give it another chance, but I won't be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service4
value1

Delicious meal with farm to table option ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Delicious meal with farm to table options beautifully prepared!! Great atmosphere and decor!! Highly recommend!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was as delicious as always

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on December 31, 2016

The food was as delicious as always

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This place is so inconsistent. My husban ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on December 30, 2016

This place is so inconsistent. My husband and son went a month ago and had a great experience. I was just there with my two kids and it was terrible. We had a 5:30 reservation and did not get out of there until 7:00 - and all we had was pizza. It started out with trying to order drinks from the menu that they were out of ingredients for. The pizza that we had was not what we ordered. We ordered the Duck Yeah pizza that was supposed to have arugula on it - no one told us there was no arugula, they just served it, I would have changed my order happily. My daughter had The Hunter pizza - with no truffle oil on it. The worst part of the whole evening was the two worthless managers - Joanna and Sabrina Hodell. Those were the names given to me. They were horrible. No one came to apologize for how long we had to wait, just a quick apology or reason would have gone a long way. The only interaction we had with them was one wordlessly taking the bill without so much as a smile or hope you enjoyed your meal. No - they ignored us. I will not be back. There are better restaurants in town.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1

We look forward to visiting Reno so that ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 27, 2016

We look forward to visiting Reno so that we eat at Campo. This year however was not as good as prior years. We heard they had a new chef. The famous cauliflower was very spicy and garlicy and we typically like both in our food but it was way too much! The pizza was doughy and not crispy. The meatball typically has been amazing but this time it was very light in flavor and pretty much in plain tomato sauce. The waitress was extremely busy. We ordered our appetizers and she did not take our dinner order for an hour later. We had very good wines that were brought in and no management seemed to be around to help her open our good wines and she broke the cork. She did apologize and tried to make it up to us. They needed more help and need management to support their wait staff!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value4

Campo is just not the same. Menu has be ...

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Campo is just not the same. Menu has been dumbed-down somewhat, not nearly as innovative as before. The last two times we've been here, the egg on the kale salad was more like hard-boiled than poached. No yolk to mix in with the kale.

Service has been very uneven. This most recent time we were seated at least five minutes before the table next to us, but our server brought their drinks first. We had to ask her and another person to check on ours before they finally arrived. Then another person brought us three pieces of bread for four people, promising to come back with more, but never returned. Dishes weren't cleared between courses so the servers were trying to put plates on the table, with no room for them! Just dumb stuff like that. Our impression was that Campo has cut back on staffing: not enough servers or bus staff for the level of tables being waited on.

It's still a good place if you're downtown and want to walk from theaters, bars, etc., and they still validate parking, which is nice. Oh, and BTW if you have a Campo Card, they will only honor what points you have: they are being done away with.

Tags: Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

We've been to Campo before and expect a ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on December 24, 2016

We've been to Campo before and expect a certain level of service and food quality. Unfortunately that did not happen this time. Food came out at different times for different plates and some food was missed altogether. Some food was piping hot and some cold. There was cork in wine that was poured and we had to ask repeatedly for water to be refilled.

While some of the food was good, some was either bland or cooked improperly. What was supposed to be a nice holiday dinner with family was instead focused on the service and food issues.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

This is my FAVORITE restaurant in Reno, ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on December 23, 2016

This is my FAVORITE restaurant in Reno, hands down. The kale salad is a must-have, but you really can't go wrong with anything on the menu!! The cocktails are delicious (although they add up quick) and the beer selection is usually heavy on the local beers. They tout themselves on being fresh, local, and supporting the Nevada and NorCal farming communities. Anyway, lots of shareable things, great pastas, and yummy appetizers.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We have really enjoyed this restaurant i ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 20, 2016

We have really enjoyed this restaurant in the past. But things have changed. The Campo pizza is no longer memorable. The radicchio salad was not remarkable. Decaf coffee at the end of the meal seemed to be watered down espresso. All in all, very disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value3

Great food, nice atmosphere, great servi ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Great food, nice atmosphere, great service. would definitely recommend campo.

Tags: Fun, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I always love Campos. This time I got th ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on December 16, 2016

I always love Campos. This time I got the gnocchi with braised rabbit and it was my favorite dish from them so far. It was lovely and my sister loved the experience too.

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Organic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Tapas, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I have enjoyed Campo for yea ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on November 20, 2016

My wife and I have enjoyed Campo for years! The best food and service until the chef left. The food now has no flavor and is priced way to high for what it is. Won't go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value2

I read other reviews about the service a ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on November 19, 2016

I read other reviews about the service and wait times for the food. I must disagree with those who stated the service was bad and it took too long to get their food. If anything the service was intent on getting our orders in before we were ready to start our main course. We started with an appetizer and before we even received it the waitress wanted to start our main course. I understand that some dishes take longer to prepare, but as this was a casual dinner we were not in a mood to be rushed.

The main course was excellent and the staff was very attentive.

The only negative was that as soon as I took the last bite, the check appeared. We still had drinks to finish. This is a pet peeve of mine and I understand the American restaurant model of get the customer in and out as soon as possible. But when eating at a nice restaurant you should not feel rushed.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value2

The food and service were great but the ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 13, 2016

The food and service were great but the ambiance could have been a bit better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

They sat the 2 of us at a table too smal ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on November 13, 2016

They sat the 2 of us at a table too small to fit the tombstone-sized menus. There was not even a "pasta" on the night's list of "specials". I ordered the "Bucatini-Carbonara". It boasted brussels sprouts of which there were a few leaves. I liked the texture of the noodles, but they were buried in a garlicky milk soup. Disgusting. Not carbonara at all. I will never return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

Our favorite place in Reno. Great cockta ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Our favorite place in Reno. Great cocktails and had a fantastic meal again. Kale salad is always delicious, and the pork platter is always great (4th different version I've had but still great). I wish I had Brussel sprouts lime that when I was little.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I doubt I will come back. I was on a bus ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on November 11, 2016

I doubt I will come back. I was on a business dinner and the amount of time to wait on our entre was too long. We ordered approximately 6:15 and received our food by 6:45. By the time our food arrived, we ate quickly and then ordered dessert at 7:20. By 7:30, the dessert hadn't arrived. The food itself was acceptable as far as taste but I was very unimpressed with the wait times...particularly due to the fact it was a business dinner. If it were a casual dining purpose, I might not have minded so much but by the end of two hours, I was not impressed. If we had stayed longer, that should have been our choice, not due to the fact that it took so long to get anything. I should have checked Yelp, which I did note afterward, unfavorable reviews regarding the wait times. To add to it, portion sizes per what they charged were not a value. The room where we were sat (7 of us) was nice until a larger party came in. The acoustics are awful for this. It became so loud that we were only able to really converse with the people closest to us. If I do decide to give Campo another chance, it will DEFNITELY not be for a business dinner. It will have to be when I have time to wait...a while.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value1

Great service and food! Good hard cider. ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on November 8, 2016

Great service and food! Good hard cider. Pizza was so yummy

Tags: Wood Oven, Paleo Friendly, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good Vegetarian Options, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The hostess was rude and condescending w ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 6, 2016

The hostess was rude and condescending when we were 15 minutes early. She refused to seat us until our reservation time even though there were many available tables and proceeded to seat another party without a reservation while we waited. We were then seated at a table next to the cooler and an open door on a 50 degree night. Our waiter was extremely slow. The food was a huge disappointment. Campo used to be one of our favorite restaurants but after this experience we will not be back. Campo's claim of being a neighborhood restaurant where they treat their patrons as they wish to be treated is a joke.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

The food is amazing. I love to order th ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on October 27, 2016

The food is amazing. I love to order the DROPP. Different and amazing every time.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Healthy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Pre/post Theatre, Vegan, Waterfront, Good for Birthdays, Great Beer, Scenic View, Organic, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Paleo Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.