Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.16mi
  2. Distance: 0.29mi
  3. Distance: 0.52mi
  4. Distance: 0.90mi
  1. Distance: 0.16mi
  2. Distance: 0.29mi
  3. Distance: 0.52mi
  4. Distance: 0.90mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.16mi
  2. Distance: 0.29mi
  3. Distance: 0.52mi
  4. Distance: 0.90mi
  1. Distance: 0.16mi
  2. Distance: 0.29mi
  3. Distance: 0.52mi
  4. Distance: 0.90mi

About Campo - Mammoth

Rustic Italian fare in the heart of The Village. The menu at Campo Mammoth features organic, local and seasonal ingredients and is known for its wood-fired Neapolitan pizzas, handmade pastas, handcrafted salumi, and perfect pairings of wine, beer and craft cocktails. A favorite locale for family dinner, date nights, drinks al fresco or a game of bocce ball on the terrace.

6201 Minaret Road
Ste. 240
Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
// Daily, 11:30am-Close

Cross Street:
Corner of Main Street and Minaret Road

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(760) 934-0669

Website:
http://www.campomammoth.com/

Executive Chef:
Michael Schrek

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Campo - Mammoth Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

4.0

ambience

4.0

value

3.4

noise

Moderate

80% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (14)
Fun (11)
Creative Cuisine (9)
See All
Happy Hour (9)
Good for a Date (9)
Good for Groups (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Bar Seating (8)
Hot Spot (7)
Wood Oven (7)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Great for Outdoor Dining (6)
Authentic (6)
Seasonal (5)
Modern Decor (4)
Comfort Food (4)
People Watching (3)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Great Beer (3)
Scenic View (3)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Live Sports (2)
Cozy (2)
Family Style (2)
Romantic (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Great for Lunch (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Special Occasion (1)
Organic (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Fireplace (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Business Meals (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sort By:
S
253 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (London)·Dined on July 21, 2017

Lots of problems ! Took about 15 min before we saw our waiter, then about another 15 for our drinks to show up. Pizza was initially served very underdone, sent it back to the overn and then was decent. Crust was mediocre, not much rise or chew. Toppings tasted nice and high quality. Green Salad with egg was poor, way too much vinegar in the dressing blitzed any other flavors. Polenta side was sort of OK, but fry oil had a hint of rancidness. Wine was good and fairly priced. Just a bit of a disappointment overall, cool decor, but thought we'd at least get decent food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Yosemite)·Dined on July 21, 2017

We enjoyed our experience at Campo so much we dined there two nights in a row! Fun atmosphere - especially on the patio. Food is fresh and high quality. Servers are friendly and on top of it! Great experience -- highly recommend. The General Manager stopped by our table to ensure we were enjoying our experience.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, People Watching, Fun, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 17, 2017

Ashley sat us and was so sweet and friendly. Marika was our server and was so nice and gave great recommendations. Portion sizes were huge. Drinks were delicious. And the patio was gorgeous. Will definitely be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on July 16, 2017

clueless waiter, messed up order, overcooked pasta.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on July 8, 2017

We sat outside on the patio in front of a concrete post that was used by servers to store dirty dishes, dirty dish towels, etc. Disgusting, really. Not a single person, save for the one bus boy in the entire restaurant, picked up dishes to carry them inside (oh, that's not true. Several people came by to pick up one or two carafes because apparently they were out . . . but they didn't bother taking anything extra with them!). The hostess was asked by a patron at the table behind us if she'd take his plate and her response was 'no, actually I don't do that'!. The waiter hadn't come for 20 minutes, so when a staff person asked how we were doing, she took our order.

The waiter finally came by and apologized - another 1/2 hour later he came by to announce to my husband 'your pizza is ready, we're just waiting on the burger' . . . really??? Should we be surprised that the pizza wasn't hot when it came out??? He'd also requested that the pizza be double cut, which it wasn't.

Overall a very disappointing experience. Expensive, poor service, mediocre food. My burger was okay, but the fries were cold and soggy.

We were given a 50% discount on the food and it was still more than we should have paid :-(

Stay away - far, far away!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 8, 2017

They have a real wood-fired pizza oven, which is nice. Personally, as someone who likes good, fresh food, I don't find that much on their menu to suit me. They roast cauliflower and Brussels sprouts in their pizza oven, which are good, except way too much seasoning - as if fresh vegetables are not tasty enough on their own.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 6, 2017

Good food, poor service. Ordered wine, it never came until we waved the server down. Had to do that for everything. A lot of work to get the server's attention.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 26, 2017

We found his place on open table and read some of the reviews about poor service - I figured i would book anyway to give the place the benefit of the doubt... I shouldn't have! The hostess had no idea what was going on, kept blaming them being short staffed. She asked me three times for my name and seemed puzzled that I had a reservation! She then seated other people before us, and when we did get a table it was the biggest one in the restaurant - there were two of us!! The waitress we had was ok actually, friendly and got the food out pretty quick. The water jug looked dirty so we didn't touch it, the wine was served in a tumbler which we thought was odd. My pizza was nice, I had the Campo, my friend had the pesto one which was a bit greasy- we didn't hang around for anything else! Disappointing really as it's in a nice location and had lots of potential to be a great place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on June 25, 2017

We had excellent food service from the bartender! He was so nice and helpful! The food was delicious! Great cozy indoor ambiance and fun patio with fire pits on the Village plaza.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Authentic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Crowded and filled with noisy families, tiny and uncomfortable waiting area. I left most of my overcooked pasta and my mixed drink, as both were mediocre at best. Staff was friendly, but it all had the feeling of a rushed, frantic turnover. It is emblematic of the decline of peacefulness in Mammoth Lakes, as businesses strive for volume over quality.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Very accommodating. They are willing to mix and match.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on June 16, 2017

We both had pasta dishes. They were good but the pasta served was very doughy and overcooked. Otherwise a decent dining experience.

Tags: Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 8, 2017

Enjoyed the meal, food and service, very much! Would certainly return and recommend.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Seasonal, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 31, 2017

We really liked this place.
Stayed at the Tamarack Lodge and wanted some light Italian that was casual and close-by.
I reserved the table via "Open Table" application on my phone,
Food was good, atmosphere was pretty cool, service was prompt, and the server was knowledgable regarding menu items and recommendations.

Tags: Live Sports, Bar Seating, Fun, Good for Groups, Great Beer, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 31, 2017

Enjoyed our overall dinner experience very much. Service and food were outstanding. A little noisy and expensive.

Tags: Casual, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Fun, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 31, 2017

Food was great, pizzas are large enough for couples to share and the kids pizza is large enough for 2 kids to share. Atmosphere inside and outside is nice. If you have kids or pets with you the patio is nice with heaters and fire pits. I would definitely recommend this restaurant if you are in Mammoth.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Happy Hour, Hot Spot, Casual, Comfort Food, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on May 29, 2017

We were there with another couple on Memorial Day. It was under staffed, therefore the service was very slow. Took forever to get bread and cocktails. I ordered a spinach salad, but they were out of spinach. The pesto pizza was extremely greasy. I had a much better experience previously sitting at the bar for happy hour. I'll stick to their happy hour from now on. A much better value and experience.

Tags: Happy Hour, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 27, 2017

The restaurant has no control of the AC, so make sure you bring a jacket!
The pizzas and apps/side dishes are all great.
Pasta is very hit or miss, won't bother ordering pasta again.
Our server was great and make good food and wine recommendations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Great food in a beautiful atmosphere, with spectacular views.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Definitely one of the best places to eat in Mammoth. Second time here in a month. Will be back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Fun, upbeat, and busy restaurant serving pasta, pizza, and limited meat entrees, as well as inventive and yummy cocktails. My husband loved his lamb shank with faro and garlicky mushrooms, and my prosciutto pizza with arugula completely satisfied my desire for a delicious salad!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (Yosemite)·Dined on May 13, 2017

One of the best pizzas I have ever had in my life. Pesto pizza was phenomenal, great and friendly staff. 10/10 would recommend and 100% will dine here again.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Casual, Happy Hour, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 12, 2017

We ordered the lamb shank and it was delicious. The soup of the day was one of the worse butternut squash soups I've had. The girl behind me sent 2 pastas back because she did not like them. However, our drinks were good and the lamb, meat platter, and warm olives made it a decent experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 6, 2017

I would have given the service and overall rating much higher except for one significant issue. We specifically came because we had a "resort credit", and wanted to celebrate a special occasion with our granddaughter. When we went to pay the bill, they said their computer was not working to accept the resort credit. They apologized, and I think it was a legitimate issue, but that is all they did. Outstanding service, would have been to either figure out a way to accommodate the resort credit, or given us some sort of discount.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Yosemite)·Dined on May 4, 2017

need better parking. need more moderately priced wine.

Tags: People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Authentic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Montreal)·Dined on May 3, 2017

Great and hearty meal at Campo. The pasta is both excellent and generous. We could easily have had one dish between us. The Bucatini was just great.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 1, 2017

Bee Sting Pizza = BEST PIZZA I HAVE EVER HAD IN MY LIFE...and I am almost 50 years old and have eaten a LOT of pizza. Polenta appetizer was light and crispy. Meatball appetizer was great also- the sauce tasted so fresh. Mustache Dave- our server - was a delight. The bendino (spelling?) dessert was amazing- never had anything like that before- and the blackberry tequila cocktail is to die for...I am still thinking about it and want to know how they made it! I wish there was a Campo in San Diego!!!!! Thanks Campo for one of the best meals of my life!!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Creative food, creative cocktails, great service, great night out!

Tags: Organic, Authentic, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 23, 2017

The food was ok. Not a big menu. Was hoping for more Italian dishes rather than pizza and a few pasta dishes. We ordered pizza, salad and app. Our Pizza was good but our crust was burnt a bit. We had calamari, different than what we are use to, it was soft batter and oily. Nice place to eat though.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (New England)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Specialist in pork as a main ingredient

Tags: Kid-friendly, Live Sports
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Great service by Matt good food large portions.

Tags: Comfort Food, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Fabulous! Third night here this week! Beautifully crafted delicious food!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 18, 2017

Great pastas and excellent cocktails!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 16, 2017

All the food - apps, salads and entrees - came out at the same time. Pizza was mediocre at best and soggy. We asked to not be seated by the door and the rude hostess told us there were no other tables available and seated us by the door. There were, however, a number of empty tables.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Yosemite)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Waitress recommended steak special. Probably the best I have ever had. The whole meal and service was excellent.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 13, 2017

The food is excellent. Really spot on. We were there Easter week so it was packed and loud, which is fine. Many hellions there with their parents, but that's to be expected that week. Pizza is great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 9, 2017

As always, Campo was great. Fantastic pizza & polenta. Kids eat free Sun nights! What more could you ask for in Mammoth? I'm from NY originally and can't believe we found excellent pizza in California.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 8, 2017

We have been here a few times and it is one of our Mammoth favorites!! Service is always wonderful and our waiter last night, Mustache Dave was great and had a great personality! Will definitely be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Pasta looked better than it tasted. Excellent service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 4, 2017

Campo is located in a prominent spot at the main steps of the Mammoth Village plaza, perhaps one of the most trafficked parts of town, so it would be easy to suspect that the scene there would overshadow any cuisine. But Campo is the real deal right now--- one of the most popular restaurants in town serving really good food in a nice setting. The food delivers--- good ingredients, inventive recipes, wide variety, and a fantastic pizza oven too.
We had a cauliflower appetizer served in a cast iron skillet with a little kick of chilis and garlic, drizzled with a warm bath of some nice olive oil. We stuck to pasta, pizza and salads, and all were very good. The carbonara pasta was just about perfect, as was the blistered crust of the thin crust on our pizza. Dessert was an interesting layered parfait that we all enjoyed.
Service was prompt--- we enjoyed three courses but still got in and out in 90 minutes, which is great when you have a family. Parking across the street costs $4 for dinner and can be a bit of a trek--- I'd consider this a ding on an otherwise wholly positive experience.

Tags: Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.