About Campo - Mammoth

6201 Minaret Road
Ste. 240
Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546
View Larger Map

Rustic Italian fare in the heart of The Village. The menu at Campo Mammoth features organic, local and seasonal ingredients and is known for its wood-fired Neapolitan pizzas, handmade pastas, handcrafted salumi, and perfect pairings of wine, beer and craft cocktails. A favorite locale for family dinner, date nights, drinks al fresco or a game of bocce ball on the terrace.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
// Daily, 11:30pm-Close
// Happy Hour 2-5pm

Cross Street:
Corner of Main Street and Minaret Road

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(760) 934-0669

Website:
http://www.campomammoth.com/

Executive Chef:
Michael Schrek

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Campo - Mammoth Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.9

service

4.1

ambience

4.0

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

76% would recommend it to a friend

Family Style (7)
Hot Spot (7)
Fun (6)
See All
Fit for Foodies (6)
Bar Seating (6)
Comfort Food (5)
Wood Oven (5)
Casual (5)
Kid-friendly (5)
Cozy (5)
Good for Groups (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Fireplace (4)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Good for a Date (3)
Authentic (3)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Business Meals (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Tapas (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Seasonal (2)
Notable Wine List (1)
Live Sports (1)
Scenic View (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Spicy (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
People Watching (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Healthy (1)
Organic (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Sort By:
S
190 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The food was amazing, the Chef's certain ...

 
 (Yosemite)·Dined 5 days ago

The food was amazing, the Chef's certainly know what they are doing especially when it comes to pasta and dessert. The service from Moustache Dave was second to none as he made the night even more enjoyable for us. With a little information from us he knew what food to recommend and he was spot on. A family of 3 happy Australians!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Campo surprised me. Went for Valentines ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined 5 days ago

Campo surprised me. Went for Valentines Dinner and the Prix Fixe menu was delicious and beautiful presentation. IMO Usually Val meals are tedious. Waiter was pleasant and interesting but also attentive. Corkage Fee very reasonable and no push back. Very happy with Campo especially for Mammoth.

Tags: Business Meals, Seasonal, Notable Wine List, Kid-friendly, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Delicious freshly made pasta! Amazing ca ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Delicious freshly made pasta! Amazing cauliflower!!

Tags: Wood Oven, Great for Outdoor Dining, Family Style, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

it was amazing i cant wait to come back! ...

 
 (Yosemite)·Dined on February 12, 2017

it was amazing i cant wait to come back!

the noodles were all handmade and the waiter was such a pleasure!

you also can bring your own bottle of wine and its just a $20 dollar corkage fee!

i love when restaurants give you that option!

Tags: Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Hot Spot, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I've been here 5 or 6 times in the past ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 2, 2017

I've been here 5 or 6 times in the past 3 years and the food is always great. We had to wait for our table, not a big deal but 25 mins past resie time. Drinks took 26 mins to get after order .... not great service there.

Food wait was even longer than that our waiter made good on the delay.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Another awesome meal! Was a little let ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 30, 2017

Another awesome meal! Was a little let down that their seasonal menu eliminated the pork chop that I was looking forward to for weeks.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Kid-friendly, People Watching, Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Wood Oven, Tapas, Vibrant Bar Scene, Seasonal, Casual, Authentic, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our waiter was terrific and the food was ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Our waiter was terrific and the food was excellent. The only things that we found lacking, was the service was slow to come out of the kitchen and it took a very long time to get our bill. We will go back because our servers were excellent and the food was delicious.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We love Campo! It is one of our favorit ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on January 25, 2017

We love Campo! It is one of our favorite restaurants in Mammoth. My husband and I sat at the bar and had a couple of cocktails (I had a lovely Negroni and my husband had a New York Sour which was so fun and yummy. The bartender nailed both!) We shared our favorite Kale salad with the poached egg, Beesting pizza (just the perfect mix of spicy, sweet, crust - YUM!). We ended with a salted caramel budino pudding. This place is just special! So special that it is almost impossible to get in lately without a reservation. Glad that the Mammoth restaurant business is doing so well. Buen Provecho!

Tags: Family Style, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Food was subpar. It was MLK weekend but ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 16, 2017

Food was subpar. It was MLK weekend but that shouldn't have mattered. Food was very average. Not worth the money really. Thank goodness we had reservations or we would not have gotten in. Even though we probably would have gotten to eat somewhere better if we didn't have the reservation. Food took a long time to come out.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value1

Overpriced place that nickel and dimes y ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 16, 2017

Overpriced place that nickel and dimes you. Host was arrogant and rude, waiter was cool. Environment in Sunday during "kids eat free" is full kids, obviously.. so it was loud but not that big of deal. The food, however, was a joke. $20 for a pizza and still hungry for more. Spaghetti with no sauce and then charged $2 for more marinara sauce. I highly recommend you DO NOT go here unless you are good with a dud host and way overpriced food that is mediocre at best.. except for the pizza crust, that was pretty great... but still not worth the outrageous price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

Service started out great. Waiter was v ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 10, 2017

Service started out great. Waiter was very cordial and orders were placed. After that, things went downhill. Follow up during the waiting-for-the-meal process and after meal was served was not that great. Had to ask for things like salt & pepper and cheese and red peppers or "how is your dinner".

Tags: Kid-friendly, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Outstanding service and friendly staff. ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 10, 2017

Outstanding service and friendly staff. Great ingredient and food is delicious

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Pizza was great, cooked to perfection. ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 9, 2017

Pizza was great, cooked to perfection. Pork belly salad had just the right amount of fennel, strawberries, arugula. Nice dressing, lite not heavy.

Tags: Happy Hour, Tapas, Fireplace, Handcrafted Cocktails, Live Sports, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Our server was excellent. Unfortunately, ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Our server was excellent. Unfortunately, we can not say the same for the food. Our pasta dishes arrived within 5 minutes of ordering them, which was a huge warming sign that the pasta had been pre-cooked and was sitting out, cold, gummy and starchy. The sauces were also very watery leaving much to be desired. Our two oldest and youngest children liked the pizza, but our 4 year old knew right away that his pizza was covered in something other than pepperoni. Really? Trying to get fancy on a kids menu with the meats? Kids want pepperoni. He called you out on your failure right away. Luckily, we had frozen pizzas in our condo - Celeste, $99! He loved it! Our kids usually devour the bread at restaurants but all four refused to eat it. After trying it ourselves, my husband and I understood why. Flavorless, dry and hard. We were looking forward to a great meal....unfortunately, we didn't find it here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service5

The boot seats are very dirty , messy fl ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 6, 2017

The boot seats are very dirty , messy floor.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

Pizza was thin and quite good. Cost was ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Pizza was thin and quite good. Cost was reasonable, but gets very crowded so get a reservation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

The food was horrible. We ordered steak ...

 
 (Yosemite)·Dined on December 31, 2016

The food was horrible. We ordered steaks they came out cold and so tough it was hard to eat. We ordered pasta and they undercooked it and the sauce was sour. Would not come back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

After reading a number of the recent neg ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 31, 2016

After reading a number of the recent negative reviews, my expectations were pretty low for this dinner. I was however pleasantly surprised that our experience was not consistent with some of the bad reviews I read from other diners.

We had an outstanding server. She made excellent suggestions and was very attentive even though the restaurant was packed. We ordered the cauliflower appetizer which was "ok", the daily special pizza and the warm spinach salad and really enjoyed both of them. Our friend ordered the fish entree and through it was delicious. We ordered the tiramisu and caramel budino for dessert. The tiramisu was "ok" but the budino was amazing!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Food was delicious. We had the meatballs ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Food was delicious. We had the meatballs, pizza, carbonara, swordfish, pasta and polenta. The service was quick. Pricing was high for a casual lunch but there was plenty of food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Pastas aren't well cooked. Seems like s ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Pastas aren't well cooked. Seems like same menu for years. Boring. Needs a refresh

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Food was good, service was great!

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Food was good, service was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Waiter was awful. Left us sitting fore ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Waiter was awful. Left us sitting forever- took 15 min when we were seated and then another 15 min to come back and get our order. Always had someone else deliver food or drinks. Never checked on us. Just left us sitting forever and when he would show up would try WAY too hard by being overly friendly because he knew he was messing up.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value3

I had read some disappointing reviews of ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 27, 2016

I had read some disappointing reviews of Campo so I was not expecting much but I was pleasantly surprised by our delicious meal. We sampled the polenta appetizer with Burrata cheese and truffles, roasted garlic cauliflower and the pork belly appetizer that was paired nicely with honey, fennel and strawberries. We also ordered pizza, lentil soup and a simple pasta dish. Everything was seasoned nicely and we left full and happy. Our server was great and the whole family left happy with full bellies.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Terrible. We sat at the table closest to ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Terrible. We sat at the table closest to the bathroom which had a steady cold breeze. It was so cold we needed to wear winter coats throughout dinner. The bolognese was awful, essentially kids meal pasta with ground beef sprinkled in top.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

I've tried a lot of places in Mammoth no ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on December 24, 2016

I've tried a lot of places in Mammoth none are really that great but I have to say this is the best in the city

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great staff, especially histess Sammi an ...

 
 (London)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Great staff, especially histess Sammi and server Kathlyn

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

We ordered multiple pasta dishes. They w ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 20, 2016

We ordered multiple pasta dishes. They were all over-cooked and under-seasoned. There is no excuse for an Italian restaurant not to make pasta right. On a positive note, the lentil soup was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Enjoyable evening. Very good food with ...

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on December 9, 2016

Enjoyable evening. Very good food with date night special. Wine list quite expensive.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Kale salad was delicious. Campo pizza ve ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 30, 2016

Kale salad was delicious. Campo pizza very good but crust could have been firmer. Annalee our server was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

My family and I enjoyed dinner at the Ma ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on November 24, 2016

My family and I enjoyed dinner at the Mammoth restaurant on Nov 23. We were greeted by a friendly waiter who was attentive and funny. I was happy they had gluten free options including pizza. The family enjoyed the pasta and pizza options and brocolini. I would recommend this cozy and fun restaurant to anyone coming to Mammoth.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Fun, Wood Oven, Fireplace, Good for Groups, Gluten Free Options, Open Kitchen, Comfort Food, Modern Decor, Cozy, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I cannot remember ever having a bad past ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 23, 2016

I cannot remember ever having a bad pasta...but now I have. Am shocked that this restaurant got good reviews on trip advisor...basically we just drink our wine and left the food .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

The food was very expensive and mediocre ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 9, 2016

The food was very expensive and mediocre. They brought our appetizer and meal at the same time. Not worth going back.

The manager at least did what she could to make up for the poor service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1

We had a burrata cheese and prosciutto a ...

 
·Dined on October 8, 2016

We had a burrata cheese and prosciutto appetizer and a pizza. It was excellent. Our server was friendly and efficient. The wine by the glass menu was very good. We enjoyed the ambience and the style of the restaurant. It was a fun experience.

Tags: Fun, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Fireplace, Great for Outdoor Dining, Wood Oven, Fit for Foodies, Family Style, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The risotto taste like high school puss. ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 2, 2016

The risotto taste like high school puss. 😉🎉😀👍🏻

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Won't go back. A couple of locals after ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Won't go back. A couple of locals after the fact said they were not surprised by our lousy dinning experience. In fact the Swiss dining next to us at Campo said they are in Italy quite often, and the food they are was not good true italian fare!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2

Great setting. Beautiful decor. Attentiv ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 10, 2016

Great setting. Beautiful decor. Attentive and courteous servers. Everything was great except our meals. The spaghetti was under cooked as was the rice in the risotto which made it watery. Disappointing as we didn't have time to send our meals back. Other comments being so positive, we may give it another try.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value3

Food was not as good as the other Campo' ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on August 28, 2016

Food was not as good as the other Campo's I have been to. The Rib eye was $45.00 which was fine except there was so much fat he had to really work at getting a good bite , my husband ended up eating 1/2 my new york. I dont mind paying $45.00 for a steak we pay that at Palmers here in Reno but it usually an outstanding steak. Not sure if I would go back to this restraunt in Mammonth

Tags: Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value1

The restaurant promotes original Italian ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 28, 2016

The restaurant promotes original Italian cuisine but there were only a very few Italian dishes available. The food was passable but not excellent. I had the risotto with hen & the meat was very tough. Others had pasta which was okay but the chicken was very tender.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

My wife and I had dinner at Campo while ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on August 24, 2016

My wife and I had dinner at Campo while staying at the Westin. We made a reservation which was not really necessary for a weekday night. It was a nice evening and they provide heaters so that outside seating was fine. We really did not like the indoor ambience. We asked the waiter for his drafts and he gave us a rundown. We ordered a double IPA each. When they arrived we were surprised how small the glasses were (about 1/2 pint). The waiter explained that they use the smaller glasses when you order a double IPA. It would have been nice to get that info before you order. We ordered the Brussels sprouts as an appetizer and they were good. My wife had a burger which she liked. They delivered it to a table next to ours first. I ordered one of their pizzas that the waiter explained as thin crust to me when I ordered it. When it came it did not look like thin crust. When I asked another waiter about it he told me that it depends who prepares the pizza.

The food is fine, nothing special. Being able to sit outside and observe what is going on in the Village was the best of the visit.

Tags: Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Well managed restaurant with awesome ser ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 23, 2016

Well managed restaurant with awesome service. Great setting

Tags: Wood Oven, Scenic View, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Family Style, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.