Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.16mi
  2. Distance: 0.29mi
  3. Distance: 0.52mi
  4. Distance: 0.90mi
  1. Distance: 0.16mi
  2. Distance: 0.29mi
  3. Distance: 0.52mi
  4. Distance: 0.90mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.16mi
  2. Distance: 0.29mi
  3. Distance: 0.52mi
  4. Distance: 0.90mi
  1. Distance: 0.16mi
  2. Distance: 0.29mi
  3. Distance: 0.52mi
  4. Distance: 0.90mi

About Campo - Mammoth

Rustic Italian fare in the heart of The Village. The menu at Campo Mammoth features organic, local and seasonal ingredients and is known for its wood-fired Neapolitan pizzas, handmade pastas, handcrafted salumi, and perfect pairings of wine, beer and craft cocktails. A favorite locale for family dinner, date nights, drinks al fresco or a game of bocce ball on the terrace.

6201 Minaret Road
Ste. 240
Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
// Daily, 4:30pm-Close

Cross Street:
Corner of Main Street and Minaret Road

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(760) 934-0669

Website:
http://www.campomammoth.com/

Executive Chef:
Michael Schrek

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Campo - Mammoth Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.2

ambience

4.1

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

81% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (15)
Wood Oven (15)
Kid-friendly (14)
See All
Good for Groups (13)
Fun (12)
Creative Cuisine (11)
Good for a Date (11)
Hot Spot (10)
Bar Seating (10)
Good for Birthdays (10)
Fit for Foodies (9)
Authentic (8)
Happy Hour (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Cozy (7)
Great for Outdoor Dining (6)
Comfort Food (6)
Family Style (6)
People Watching (5)
Romantic (4)
Organic (4)
Seasonal (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Open Kitchen (3)
Healthy (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Special Occasion (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Great Beer (2)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Spicy (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Business Meals (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Tapas (1)
Scenic View (1)
Live Sports (1)
Fireplace (1)
Sort By:
S
231 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 5 days ago

Definitely one of the best places to eat in Mammoth. Second time here in a month. Will be back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Fun, upbeat, and busy restaurant serving pasta, pizza, and limited meat entrees, as well as inventive and yummy cocktails. My husband loved his lamb shank with faro and garlicky mushrooms, and my prosciutto pizza with arugula completely satisfied my desire for a delicious salad!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 13, 2017

We ordered the lamb shank and it was delicious. The soup of the day was one of the worse butternut squash soups I've had. The girl behind me sent 2 pastas back because she did not like them. However, our drinks were good and the lamb, meat platter, and warm olives made it a decent experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 7, 2017

I would have given the service and overall rating much higher except for one significant issue. We specifically came because we had a "resort credit", and wanted to celebrate a special occasion with our granddaughter. When we went to pay the bill, they said their computer was not working to accept the resort credit. They apologized, and I think it was a legitimate issue, but that is all they did. Outstanding service, would have been to either figure out a way to accommodate the resort credit, or given us some sort of discount.

Tags: Good for a Date, Family Style, Good for Birthdays, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Yosemite)·Dined on May 5, 2017

need better parking. need more moderately priced wine.

Tags: People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Fun, Authentic, Romantic, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Montreal)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Great and hearty meal at Campo. The pasta is both excellent and generous. We could easily have had one dish between us. The Bucatini was just great.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 2, 2017

Bee Sting Pizza = BEST PIZZA I HAVE EVER HAD IN MY LIFE...and I am almost 50 years old and have eaten a LOT of pizza. Polenta appetizer was light and crispy. Meatball appetizer was great also- the sauce tasted so fresh. Mustache Dave- our server - was a delight. The bendino (spelling?) dessert was amazing- never had anything like that before- and the blackberry tequila cocktail is to die for...I am still thinking about it and want to know how they made it! I wish there was a Campo in San Diego!!!!! Thanks Campo for one of the best meals of my life!!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Creative food, creative cocktails, great service, great night out!

Tags: Organic, Authentic, Wood Oven, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Modern Decor, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 24, 2017

The food was ok. Not a big menu. Was hoping for more Italian dishes rather than pizza and a few pasta dishes. We ordered pizza, salad and app. Our Pizza was good but our crust was burnt a bit. We had calamari, different than what we are use to, it was soft batter and oily. Nice place to eat though.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (New England)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Specialist in pork as a main ingredient

Tags: Kid-friendly, Wood Oven, Live Sports
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Great service by Matt good food large portions.

Tags: Comfort Food, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Fabulous! Third night here this week! Beautifully crafted delicious food!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 18, 2017

Great pastas and excellent cocktails!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 17, 2017

All the food - apps, salads and entrees - came out at the same time. Pizza was mediocre at best and soggy. We asked to not be seated by the door and the rude hostess told us there were no other tables available and seated us by the door. There were, however, a number of empty tables.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Yosemite)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Waitress recommended steak special. Probably the best I have ever had. The whole meal and service was excellent.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 14, 2017

The food is excellent. Really spot on. We were there Easter week so it was packed and loud, which is fine. Many hellions there with their parents, but that's to be expected that week. Pizza is great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 10, 2017

As always, Campo was great. Fantastic pizza & polenta. Kids eat free Sun nights! What more could you ask for in Mammoth? I'm from NY originally and can't believe we found excellent pizza in California.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 9, 2017

We have been here a few times and it is one of our Mammoth favorites!! Service is always wonderful and our waiter last night, Mustache Dave was great and had a great personality! Will definitely be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Pasta looked better than it tasted. Excellent service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 5, 2017

Campo is located in a prominent spot at the main steps of the Mammoth Village plaza, perhaps one of the most trafficked parts of town, so it would be easy to suspect that the scene there would overshadow any cuisine. But Campo is the real deal right now--- one of the most popular restaurants in town serving really good food in a nice setting. The food delivers--- good ingredients, inventive recipes, wide variety, and a fantastic pizza oven too.
We had a cauliflower appetizer served in a cast iron skillet with a little kick of chilis and garlic, drizzled with a warm bath of some nice olive oil. We stuck to pasta, pizza and salads, and all were very good. The carbonara pasta was just about perfect, as was the blistered crust of the thin crust on our pizza. Dessert was an interesting layered parfait that we all enjoyed.
Service was prompt--- we enjoyed three courses but still got in and out in 90 minutes, which is great when you have a family. Parking across the street costs $4 for dinner and can be a bit of a trek--- I'd consider this a ding on an otherwise wholly positive experience.

Tags: Wood Oven, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 4, 2017

Great restaurant - the food was authentic Italian and surprisingly affordable. Not run-of-the-mill Italian, but unique and tasty items. The craft cocktails were outstanding with top notch ingredients. Our server (Mustache Dave) was fun, very well informed about the menu and really made the meal special for my wife and our 3 kids. Packed, definitely need reservations. Super convenient location right at the base of the Gondola. Large portions and fun atmosphere (boisterous, but not "sports bar" level). We'll be back for sure - disappointed we only discovered on our last night at Mammoth or we would have gone again!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Wood Oven, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Fun, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 4, 2017

Look, if you are eating anywhere in Mammoth, you can not expect a big city time. Things move a bit slower. Restaurant staff is seasonal, so your lucky if your server is a pro. Be ready for long waits.
We had fantastic pizza the first night we ate at Campo. But the second night, completely disappointed. Ordered the same pizza and it was made completely different the next night. Goog Luck!

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on March 31, 2017

For Mammoth Ski Area the food is pretty good. We ate there 2x. The first time we waited over an hour for our food. The manager said he would comp us for the food, and did we need anything else? We said yeah, our food. Another 25 min the food finally came. The second time we had reservations and an attentive waiter and the food came in timely fashion. We did notice a lot of people on a wait list and lots of empty tables. We sat next to 4 empty tables while we ate, and even upon leaving the tables were still empty and yet the line was long. It's a very inefficiently run place. Don't go without reservations.

Tags: Casual, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 29, 2017

"Um, yeah. Come back at your reservation time." That was how the hostess greeted us, instead of, "I'm sorry, but we're really busy right now and won't be able to seat you early." Rude. We did come back at 730 pm on the dot and she asked us to come back in 10 minutes! No apologies, no courtesy.

Eventually we were seated, and Mike our waiter was very attentive, service-oriented, and friendly. I made a poor choice and changed my mind after I made my order. He and the restaurant accommodated my change request without charge. I appreciate this and tipped generously.

Food: awful.

The Fritto Misto was mostly fried vegetables, not so much squid. They seemed to use old oil so everything was a brown color instead of being light in both color and flavor. They even fried the lemon garnish; that was an unpleasant surprise to bite into.

My son's kid pepperoni pizza came with salami instead. He could tell the difference immediately; honestly, I wasn't sure and gave them the benefit of the doubt. We didn't confirm it until we saw the additional charge for "SALAMI" on our bill. $13 for a plain cheese pizza with salami.

My daughter's bucatini carbonara came as a very large portion. Good value, I suppose. The pasta, with it's thin hollow tube texture, was a bit odd for carbonara, IMO. Otherwise ok in flavor, and unsurprisingly heavy.

My wife's fish special came with mashed potatoes and cassoulet. The fish was over salted, the potatoes had a heavy smoky flavor. The cassoulet was disgusting. We think they tasted (and looked) more like Boston baked beans with a large splash of apple cider vinegar.

Between the rude hostess and the accommodating waiter, we weren't sure how to respond to the food. We simply left a lot of it on the table. It was an unsatisfying $100 meal for 4 persons.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 29, 2017

Too busy. I think our waiter was overwhelmed!!! My son wanted to vgsnge his meal and it took as a while to get our water. Everybody was just super busy, nobody was giving you eye contact!!! Just in case we ask for assistance. Finally we got my kids pasta....now he needed ketchup....I told him that we'd rather just eat it at home because I know it would take them a while to get the ketchup, I feel bad, I think he's a good waiter, just too many tables to handle!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 29, 2017

Great food - they were busy so service made us feel rushed

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 29, 2017

Place is always busiest in mammoth. Sat right away on slower Wednesday night with a reservation. Waitress was very nice but not super organized. Had to remind her about a drink order after finishing appetizers. Also ordered ingredient on a pizza that never got communicated to the kitchen and had to remind a server of that as well. Food was pretty good but not great. Let down from my first visit 2 months prior.

Tags: Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 25, 2017

we had a great waiter. drinks and food came out quickly and tasted great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on March 24, 2017

There aren't many good choices in Mammoth Village. Campo is adequate. Some of the food (gluten-free bee sting pizza, in particular) is really good, but their spaghetti and other items we had were not worth eating. Drinks were just ok. Most of the wait staff (not the bartenders) were really nice with good service, which is why they get the "good" rating. The food and drinks are overpriced but average for the Village. The date night dinner isn't worth it except for the half price wine. Overall, it wasn't terrible, as long as you don't have high expectations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 21, 2017

Fantastic soups, great bread, delicious salads and authentic pizzas. Although the service can be spotty, the food is always great and we always eat here when we are in Mammoth.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 19, 2017

We liked the staff, look and feel of the restaurant but thats it. The food was 100% tasteless. I was baffled because I had 3 dishes in front of me that looked great but had zero flavor.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 18, 2017

One of my top 10 Italian restaurants! Great food and terrific service st a reasonable price

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Can't say much more than it's a fun place with good food and excellent service - especially Mustache Dave!!!

Tags: People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Healthy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Comfort Food, Wood Oven, Organic, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 16, 2017

The food was outstanding. We had the brussel sprout starter as well as the cauliflower starter. They were both mouth watering good. Then for the main we had the pesto pizza. The server let us taste a few wines before making our selection. The food was served fast and hot. Atmosphere was great. Would totally go back.

Tags: Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 15, 2017

In February, we loved the crispy salmon and in March it was the beet salad that was so delicious.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 14, 2017

We had dinner there on our last trip to Mammoth. It's in a great location in the Village and the decor speaks both Italian and rustic mountain. The food is very good but far from excellent. We were able to make reservations for 6pm the same day but the place was packed by 7pm and it wasn't over a holiday. Reservations are a must. Our waiter wasn't the friendliest but the hostess was great. Will definitely go back.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good Vegetarian Options, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 13, 2017

Best to have a reservation!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 7, 2017

While in Mammoth, we went to have dinner twice at Campo. Both time I was not impressed. Food just tasted average, not special. Service was very good. In our group we have a few people who are vegan, the waiter was very accommodating to our needs.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on March 6, 2017

Although we had reservation at 6:15p, we had to wait 20 mins. to be seated. The place was packed due to a snow storm. Several guest stayed at The Village Lodge & extended their stay because their flights were cancelled. We finally got seated & our waiter Tyler was very attentive. He took our order right away since we had young children with us. After skiing all day, our kids were exhausted & hungry. When our food came, my husband's pasta was salty & my risotto had cheese. I had asked for no cheese due to allergies. The manager Matt came by & asked us if everything was ok. My husband told him what happened, he offered to re-do our food but we declined cuz our kids wanted to go back to the room to sleep which is unheard of. Skiing from 8a-4p definitely took a lot out of them! Surprisingly Matt went ahead, place another pasta order for my husband & even comp both of our meals!!! He totally & completely shocked us for going out of his way to make it right. Now that is service!!! Because both Matt & Tyler went above & beyond with service, we'll always remember. When we come back to Mammoth for the 3rd time skiing we'll always go to Campo! Thank you for exceptional service!!!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 27, 2017

They keep us waiting and then sat us next to the front door opening to m10 degrees temp
Then they bring 2 bills for the same dinner and I paid one and then a simi waiter ,as I was walking out door wanted me to pay the bill again
What a mess

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.