Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.16mi
  2. Distance: 0.29mi
  3. Distance: 0.52mi
  4. Distance: 0.90mi
  1. Distance: 0.16mi
  2. Distance: 0.29mi
  3. Distance: 0.52mi
  4. Distance: 0.90mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.16mi
  2. Distance: 0.29mi
  3. Distance: 0.52mi
  4. Distance: 0.90mi
  1. Distance: 0.16mi
  2. Distance: 0.29mi
  3. Distance: 0.52mi
  4. Distance: 0.90mi

About Campo - Mammoth

Rustic Italian fare in the heart of The Village. The menu at Campo Mammoth features organic, local and seasonal ingredients and is known for its wood-fired Neapolitan pizzas, handmade pastas, handcrafted salumi, and perfect pairings of wine, beer and craft cocktails. A favorite locale for family dinner, date nights, drinks al fresco or a game of bocce ball on the terrace.

6201 Minaret Road
Ste. 240
Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
// Daily, 11:30am-Close

Cross Street:
Corner of Main Street and Minaret Road

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(760) 934-0669

Website:
http://www.campomammoth.com/

Executive Chef:
Michael Schrek

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Campo - Mammoth Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.0

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.8

service

3.8

ambience

3.9

value

3.2

noise

Moderate

76% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (11)
Fun (9)
Bar Seating (7)
See All
Great for Outdoor Dining (7)
Happy Hour (6)
Kid-friendly (6)
Good for a Date (6)
Comfort Food (5)
Seasonal (5)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Good for Groups (5)
Authentic (4)
Good for Birthdays (4)
People Watching (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Wood Oven (3)
Fit for Foodies (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Live Sports (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Scenic View (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Healthy (2)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Romantic (1)
Fireplace (1)
Cozy (1)
Business Meals (1)
Great Beer (1)
Organic (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Family Style (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Live Music (1)
Special Occasion (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Sort By:
S
263 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 5 days ago

We go to Campo every time we go to Mammoth. There are 4 things that are always consistent...2 are positive and 2 are negative.

Positive:
1. The food is always great.
2. The waiters/waitresses are always great.

Negative.
1. The women they hire to work the reception desk are ALWAYS HORRIBLE. Zero personality mixed with attitude mixed with complete lack of appreciation for the customers. These are the people who are responsible for forming the guest's first impression of the restaurant. As I stated above, we've always been happy with the food and waiters and waitresses. So we tolerate the unpleasant greeting that we've sadly become accustomed to. But a first time visitor might be turned off enough by the hostess to not bother giving the restaurant a try.
2.Although I appreciate them trying to offer a seasonal menu, they seem to constantly take dishes off the menu that we've come to enjoy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
·Dined 5 days ago

The pizza oven wasn't working!!! So bummed cause their pizza is my favorite! I had Fava Bean Pesto Rigatoni and it was okay.... It would have been nice to know about the pizza oven before we got there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined 6 days ago

We reserved a table. Upon arrival the hostess wants to seat us at a high table, we said no. We wanted a regular table or booth. She said those were reserved? So our reservation didn't count? The place was pretty empty at 6:15. So since we could not have any of the other tables or booths, we chose to dine somewhere else across the street. Friendly hostess and staff and had a great meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Portland)·Dined on August 10, 2017

Planned a trip to Mammoth with my boyfriend, for my birthday. We booked reservations at Campo a few days before the reservation. The night of our reservation we walk over to the restaurant, excited to celebrate and splurge, to find out the entire restaurant is closed down for the day.... We couldn't even get a phone call to let us know they wouldn't be able to accommodate us? Terrible terrible terrible...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on August 10, 2017

Total disconnect between OpenTable and the Restaurant. We made reservations went to the restaurant but it was closed due to a malfunction in their kitchen. Optimal would have been that the restaurant had let OpenTable know. And if they had let OpenTable know (assuming but guessing did not happen), then Open Table should have let me know. Both restaurants and OpenTable can be fairly pushy about no shows. Not sure how they are when the restaurant is a no show.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 9, 2017

Food was pretty good, but I would rate the service as only fair. We sat for a long time before anyone even came by the table. Once we ordered they just plopped everything on the table at one, appetizer, salads, and main dishes. Overall, they seemed completely indifferent and the place was not busy at all. Booked it on open table and they did not tell open table that we had come in for the reservation, so had to reply to open table to tell them we had. This was consistent with the rest of our experience here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 4, 2017

The restaurant is nicely decorated with seating inside and outside. Some of the tables face the open doors which is a nice alternative if it's too cold or hot outside. I had two appetizers rather than an entree and they both had generous portions. My husband had the spaghetti with ricotta cheese which he really loved. He was disappointed when unable to get pizza because they recently had a fire in their pizza oven.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 2, 2017

Campo is my go-to dining location in Mammoth Lakes! The food is terrific and the wine list is impressive. If it is cold, you can go inside. If it is nice, you can enjoy open outdoor space. The fire pits are a nice touch. Dining at Campo is a perfect end to a wonderful day of hiking and biking. Oh, and the sea salt caramel dessert is amazing! See you in the fall!

Tags: Happy Hour, Seasonal, Healthy, Kid-friendly, Fun, Notable Wine List, Live Music, Bar Seating, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on July 30, 2017

The food was overpriced for the quality. The drinks were great, but expensive. The server was kind and food arrived timely. The atmosphere was very noisy and open. The spaghetti has a lot to be desired. The wood fired pizza was good, as was the Cornish game hen, but pricey.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 27, 2017

We had great service and a prosciutto and arugula pizza. Big portions. Cosy environment. Will return when I go back to Mammoth. Tip: Right in the heart of town, so take the town trolley instead of your car.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (London)·Dined on July 21, 2017

Lots of problems ! Took about 15 min before we saw our waiter, then about another 15 for our drinks to show up. Pizza was initially served very underdone, sent it back to the overn and then was decent. Crust was mediocre, not much rise or chew. Toppings tasted nice and high quality. Green Salad with egg was poor, way too much vinegar in the dressing blitzed any other flavors. Polenta side was sort of OK, but fry oil had a hint of rancidness. Wine was good and fairly priced. Just a bit of a disappointment overall, cool decor, but thought we'd at least get decent food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Yosemite)·Dined on July 21, 2017

We enjoyed our experience at Campo so much we dined there two nights in a row! Fun atmosphere - especially on the patio. Food is fresh and high quality. Servers are friendly and on top of it! Great experience -- highly recommend. The General Manager stopped by our table to ensure we were enjoying our experience.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, People Watching, Fun, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 17, 2017

Ashley sat us and was so sweet and friendly. Marika was our server and was so nice and gave great recommendations. Portion sizes were huge. Drinks were delicious. And the patio was gorgeous. Will definitely be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on July 16, 2017

clueless waiter, messed up order, overcooked pasta.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on July 8, 2017

We sat outside on the patio in front of a concrete post that was used by servers to store dirty dishes, dirty dish towels, etc. Disgusting, really. Not a single person, save for the one bus boy in the entire restaurant, picked up dishes to carry them inside (oh, that's not true. Several people came by to pick up one or two carafes because apparently they were out . . . but they didn't bother taking anything extra with them!). The hostess was asked by a patron at the table behind us if she'd take his plate and her response was 'no, actually I don't do that'!. The waiter hadn't come for 20 minutes, so when a staff person asked how we were doing, she took our order.

The waiter finally came by and apologized - another 1/2 hour later he came by to announce to my husband 'your pizza is ready, we're just waiting on the burger' . . . really??? Should we be surprised that the pizza wasn't hot when it came out??? He'd also requested that the pizza be double cut, which it wasn't.

Overall a very disappointing experience. Expensive, poor service, mediocre food. My burger was okay, but the fries were cold and soggy.

We were given a 50% discount on the food and it was still more than we should have paid :-(

Stay away - far, far away!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 8, 2017

They have a real wood-fired pizza oven, which is nice. Personally, as someone who likes good, fresh food, I don't find that much on their menu to suit me. They roast cauliflower and Brussels sprouts in their pizza oven, which are good, except way too much seasoning - as if fresh vegetables are not tasty enough on their own.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 6, 2017

Good food, poor service. Ordered wine, it never came until we waved the server down. Had to do that for everything. A lot of work to get the server's attention.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 26, 2017

We found his place on open table and read some of the reviews about poor service - I figured i would book anyway to give the place the benefit of the doubt... I shouldn't have! The hostess had no idea what was going on, kept blaming them being short staffed. She asked me three times for my name and seemed puzzled that I had a reservation! She then seated other people before us, and when we did get a table it was the biggest one in the restaurant - there were two of us!! The waitress we had was ok actually, friendly and got the food out pretty quick. The water jug looked dirty so we didn't touch it, the wine was served in a tumbler which we thought was odd. My pizza was nice, I had the Campo, my friend had the pesto one which was a bit greasy- we didn't hang around for anything else! Disappointing really as it's in a nice location and had lots of potential to be a great place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on June 25, 2017

We had excellent food service from the bartender! He was so nice and helpful! The food was delicious! Great cozy indoor ambiance and fun patio with fire pits on the Village plaza.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Authentic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Crowded and filled with noisy families, tiny and uncomfortable waiting area. I left most of my overcooked pasta and my mixed drink, as both were mediocre at best. Staff was friendly, but it all had the feeling of a rushed, frantic turnover. It is emblematic of the decline of peacefulness in Mammoth Lakes, as businesses strive for volume over quality.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Very accommodating. They are willing to mix and match.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on June 16, 2017

We both had pasta dishes. They were good but the pasta served was very doughy and overcooked. Otherwise a decent dining experience.

Tags: Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 8, 2017

Enjoyed the meal, food and service, very much! Would certainly return and recommend.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Seasonal, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 31, 2017

We really liked this place.
Stayed at the Tamarack Lodge and wanted some light Italian that was casual and close-by.
I reserved the table via "Open Table" application on my phone,
Food was good, atmosphere was pretty cool, service was prompt, and the server was knowledgable regarding menu items and recommendations.

Tags: Live Sports, Bar Seating, Fun, Good for Groups, Great Beer, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 31, 2017

Enjoyed our overall dinner experience very much. Service and food were outstanding. A little noisy and expensive.

Tags: Casual, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Fun, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 31, 2017

Food was great, pizzas are large enough for couples to share and the kids pizza is large enough for 2 kids to share. Atmosphere inside and outside is nice. If you have kids or pets with you the patio is nice with heaters and fire pits. I would definitely recommend this restaurant if you are in Mammoth.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Happy Hour, Hot Spot, Casual, Comfort Food, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on May 29, 2017

We were there with another couple on Memorial Day. It was under staffed, therefore the service was very slow. Took forever to get bread and cocktails. I ordered a spinach salad, but they were out of spinach. The pesto pizza was extremely greasy. I had a much better experience previously sitting at the bar for happy hour. I'll stick to their happy hour from now on. A much better value and experience.

Tags: Happy Hour, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 27, 2017

The restaurant has no control of the AC, so make sure you bring a jacket!
The pizzas and apps/side dishes are all great.
Pasta is very hit or miss, won't bother ordering pasta again.
Our server was great and make good food and wine recommendations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Great food in a beautiful atmosphere, with spectacular views.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Definitely one of the best places to eat in Mammoth. Second time here in a month. Will be back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Fun, upbeat, and busy restaurant serving pasta, pizza, and limited meat entrees, as well as inventive and yummy cocktails. My husband loved his lamb shank with faro and garlicky mushrooms, and my prosciutto pizza with arugula completely satisfied my desire for a delicious salad!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (Yosemite)·Dined on May 13, 2017

One of the best pizzas I have ever had in my life. Pesto pizza was phenomenal, great and friendly staff. 10/10 would recommend and 100% will dine here again.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Casual, Happy Hour, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 12, 2017

We ordered the lamb shank and it was delicious. The soup of the day was one of the worse butternut squash soups I've had. The girl behind me sent 2 pastas back because she did not like them. However, our drinks were good and the lamb, meat platter, and warm olives made it a decent experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 6, 2017

I would have given the service and overall rating much higher except for one significant issue. We specifically came because we had a "resort credit", and wanted to celebrate a special occasion with our granddaughter. When we went to pay the bill, they said their computer was not working to accept the resort credit. They apologized, and I think it was a legitimate issue, but that is all they did. Outstanding service, would have been to either figure out a way to accommodate the resort credit, or given us some sort of discount.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Yosemite)·Dined on May 4, 2017

need better parking. need more moderately priced wine.

Tags: People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Authentic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Montreal)·Dined on May 3, 2017

Great and hearty meal at Campo. The pasta is both excellent and generous. We could easily have had one dish between us. The Bucatini was just great.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 1, 2017

Bee Sting Pizza = BEST PIZZA I HAVE EVER HAD IN MY LIFE...and I am almost 50 years old and have eaten a LOT of pizza. Polenta appetizer was light and crispy. Meatball appetizer was great also- the sauce tasted so fresh. Mustache Dave- our server - was a delight. The bendino (spelling?) dessert was amazing- never had anything like that before- and the blackberry tequila cocktail is to die for...I am still thinking about it and want to know how they made it! I wish there was a Campo in San Diego!!!!! Thanks Campo for one of the best meals of my life!!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Creative food, creative cocktails, great service, great night out!

Tags: Organic, Authentic, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 23, 2017

The food was ok. Not a big menu. Was hoping for more Italian dishes rather than pizza and a few pasta dishes. We ordered pizza, salad and app. Our Pizza was good but our crust was burnt a bit. We had calamari, different than what we are use to, it was soft batter and oily. Nice place to eat though.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (New England)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Specialist in pork as a main ingredient

Tags: Kid-friendly, Live Sports
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.