Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.16mi
  2. Distance: 0.29mi
  3. Distance: 0.52mi
  4. Distance: 0.90mi
  1. Distance: 0.16mi
  2. Distance: 0.29mi
  3. Distance: 0.52mi
  4. Distance: 0.90mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.16mi
  2. Distance: 0.29mi
  3. Distance: 0.52mi
  4. Distance: 0.90mi
  1. Distance: 0.16mi
  2. Distance: 0.29mi
  3. Distance: 0.52mi
  4. Distance: 0.90mi

About Campo - Mammoth

Rustic Italian fare in the heart of The Village. The menu at Campo Mammoth features organic, local and seasonal ingredients and is known for its wood-fired Neapolitan pizzas, handmade pastas, handcrafted salumi, and perfect pairings of wine, beer and craft cocktails. A favorite locale for family dinner, date nights, drinks al fresco or a game of bocce ball on the terrace.

6201 Minaret Road
Ste. 240
Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
// Daily, 11:30pm-Close
// Happy Hour 2-5pm

Cross Street:
Corner of Main Street and Minaret Road

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(760) 934-0669

Website:
http://www.campomammoth.com/

Executive Chef:
Michael Schrek

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Campo - Mammoth Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

4.1

ambience

4.1

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

78% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (11)
Fit for Foodies (10)
Good for Groups (10)
See All
Wood Oven (9)
Hot Spot (9)
Kid-friendly (8)
Fun (7)
Bar Seating (7)
Cozy (7)
Good for a Date (6)
Family Style (6)
Comfort Food (6)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Authentic (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Happy Hour (4)
People Watching (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Organic (3)
Healthy (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Quick Bite (2)
Spicy (2)
Tapas (2)
Business Meals (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Romantic (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Seasonal (2)
Late-night Find (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Fireplace (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Live Sports (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Scenic View (1)
Special Occasion (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Sort By:
S
205 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 2 days ago

Great food - they were busy so service made us feel rushed

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 6 days ago

we had a great waiter. drinks and food came out quickly and tasted great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined 7 days ago

There aren't many good choices in Mammoth Village. Campo is adequate. Some of the food (gluten-free bee sting pizza, in particular) is really good, but their spaghetti and other items we had were not worth eating. Drinks were just ok. Most of the wait staff (not the bartenders) were really nice with good service, which is why they get the "good" rating. The food and drinks are overpriced but average for the Village. The date night dinner isn't worth it except for the half price wine. Overall, it wasn't terrible, as long as you don't have high expectations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 21, 2017

Fantastic soups, great bread, delicious salads and authentic pizzas. Although the service can be spotty, the food is always great and we always eat here when we are in Mammoth.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 19, 2017

We liked the staff, look and feel of the restaurant but thats it. The food was 100% tasteless. I was baffled because I had 3 dishes in front of me that looked great but had zero flavor.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 18, 2017

One of my top 10 Italian restaurants! Great food and terrific service st a reasonable price

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Can't say much more than it's a fun place with good food and excellent service - especially Mustache Dave!!!

Tags: People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Healthy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Comfort Food, Wood Oven, Organic, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 16, 2017

The food was outstanding. We had the brussel sprout starter as well as the cauliflower starter. They were both mouth watering good. Then for the main we had the pesto pizza. The server let us taste a few wines before making our selection. The food was served fast and hot. Atmosphere was great. Would totally go back.

Tags: Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 15, 2017

In February, we loved the crispy salmon and in March it was the beet salad that was so delicious.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 14, 2017

We had dinner there on our last trip to Mammoth. It's in a great location in the Village and the decor speaks both Italian and rustic mountain. The food is very good but far from excellent. We were able to make reservations for 6pm the same day but the place was packed by 7pm and it wasn't over a holiday. Reservations are a must. Our waiter wasn't the friendliest but the hostess was great. Will definitely go back.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good Vegetarian Options, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 13, 2017

Best to have a reservation!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 7, 2017

While in Mammoth, we went to have dinner twice at Campo. Both time I was not impressed. Food just tasted average, not special. Service was very good. In our group we have a few people who are vegan, the waiter was very accommodating to our needs.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on March 6, 2017

Although we had reservation at 6:15p, we had to wait 20 mins. to be seated. The place was packed due to a snow storm. Several guest stayed at The Village Lodge & extended their stay because their flights were cancelled. We finally got seated & our waiter Tyler was very attentive. He took our order right away since we had young children with us. After skiing all day, our kids were exhausted & hungry. When our food came, my husband's pasta was salty & my risotto had cheese. I had asked for no cheese due to allergies. The manager Matt came by & asked us if everything was ok. My husband told him what happened, he offered to re-do our food but we declined cuz our kids wanted to go back to the room to sleep which is unheard of. Skiing from 8a-4p definitely took a lot out of them! Surprisingly Matt went ahead, place another pasta order for my husband & even comp both of our meals!!! He totally & completely shocked us for going out of his way to make it right. Now that is service!!! Because both Matt & Tyler went above & beyond with service, we'll always remember. When we come back to Mammoth for the 3rd time skiing we'll always go to Campo! Thank you for exceptional service!!!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 27, 2017

They keep us waiting and then sat us next to the front door opening to m10 degrees temp
Then they bring 2 bills for the same dinner and I paid one and then a simi waiter ,as I was walking out door wanted me to pay the bill again
What a mess

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value2

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 24, 2017

My husband and two children (8 & 5) went here for my birthday dinner. Our waiter, Tyler, was attentive, personable, and good with the kids. The food was wonderful! We both ordered the filet and side of mushrooms...and our children ordered the chicken and pizza with sides of fruit. What an enjoyable experience!

Tags: Casual, Wood Oven, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Yosemite)·Dined on February 15, 2017

The food was amazing, the Chef's certainly know what they are doing especially when it comes to pasta and dessert. The service from Moustache Dave was second to none as he made the night even more enjoyable for us. With a little information from us he knew what food to recommend and he was spot on. A family of 3 happy Australians!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Campo surprised me. Went for Valentines Dinner and the Prix Fixe menu was delicious and beautiful presentation. IMO Usually Val meals are tedious. Waiter was pleasant and interesting but also attentive. Corkage Fee very reasonable and no push back. Very happy with Campo especially for Mammoth.

Tags: Business Meals, Seasonal, Notable Wine List, Kid-friendly, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Delicious freshly made pasta! Amazing cauliflower!!

Tags: Wood Oven, Great for Outdoor Dining, Family Style, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Yosemite)·Dined on February 12, 2017

it was amazing i cant wait to come back!
the noodles were all handmade and the waiter was such a pleasure!
you also can bring your own bottle of wine and its just a $20 dollar corkage fee!

i love when restaurants give you that option!

Tags: Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Hot Spot, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 2, 2017

I've been here 5 or 6 times in the past 3 years and the food is always great. We had to wait for our table, not a big deal but 25 mins past resie time. Drinks took 26 mins to get after order .... not great service there.

Food wait was even longer than that our waiter made good on the delay.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 30, 2017

Another awesome meal! Was a little let down that their seasonal menu eliminated the pork chop that I was looking forward to for weeks.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Kid-friendly, People Watching, Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Wood Oven, Tapas, Vibrant Bar Scene, Seasonal, Casual, Authentic, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Our waiter was terrific and the food was excellent. The only things that we found lacking, was the service was slow to come out of the kitchen and it took a very long time to get our bill. We will go back because our servers were excellent and the food was delicious.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on January 25, 2017

We love Campo! It is one of our favorite restaurants in Mammoth. My husband and I sat at the bar and had a couple of cocktails (I had a lovely Negroni and my husband had a New York Sour which was so fun and yummy. The bartender nailed both!) We shared our favorite Kale salad with the poached egg, Beesting pizza (just the perfect mix of spicy, sweet, crust - YUM!). We ended with a salted caramel budino pudding. This place is just special! So special that it is almost impossible to get in lately without a reservation. Glad that the Mammoth restaurant business is doing so well. Buen Provecho!

Tags: Family Style, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 16, 2017

Food was subpar. It was MLK weekend but that shouldn't have mattered. Food was very average. Not worth the money really. Thank goodness we had reservations or we would not have gotten in. Even though we probably would have gotten to eat somewhere better if we didn't have the reservation. Food took a long time to come out.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 16, 2017

Overpriced place that nickel and dimes you. Host was arrogant and rude, waiter was cool. Environment in Sunday during "kids eat free" is full kids, obviously.. so it was loud but not that big of deal. The food, however, was a joke. $20 for a pizza and still hungry for more. Spaghetti with no sauce and then charged $2 for more marinara sauce. I highly recommend you DO NOT go here unless you are good with a dud host and way overpriced food that is mediocre at best.. except for the pizza crust, that was pretty great... but still not worth the outrageous price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 10, 2017

Service started out great. Waiter was very cordial and orders were placed. After that, things went downhill. Follow up during the waiting-for-the-meal process and after meal was served was not that great. Had to ask for things like salt & pepper and cheese and red peppers or "how is your dinner".

Tags: Kid-friendly, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 10, 2017

Outstanding service and friendly staff. Great ingredient and food is delicious

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 9, 2017

Pizza was great, cooked to perfection. Pork belly salad had just the right amount of fennel, strawberries, arugula. Nice dressing, lite not heavy.

Tags: Happy Hour, Tapas, Fireplace, Handcrafted Cocktails, Live Sports, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Our server was excellent. Unfortunately, we can not say the same for the food. Our pasta dishes arrived within 5 minutes of ordering them, which was a huge warming sign that the pasta had been pre-cooked and was sitting out, cold, gummy and starchy. The sauces were also very watery leaving much to be desired. Our two oldest and youngest children liked the pizza, but our 4 year old knew right away that his pizza was covered in something other than pepperoni. Really? Trying to get fancy on a kids menu with the meats? Kids want pepperoni. He called you out on your failure right away. Luckily, we had frozen pizzas in our condo - Celeste, $99! He loved it! Our kids usually devour the bread at restaurants but all four refused to eat it. After trying it ourselves, my husband and I understood why. Flavorless, dry and hard. We were looking forward to a great meal....unfortunately, we didn't find it here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 6, 2017

The boot seats are very dirty , messy floor.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Pizza was thin and quite good. Cost was reasonable, but gets very crowded so get a reservation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Yosemite)·Dined on December 31, 2016

The food was horrible. We ordered steaks they came out cold and so tough it was hard to eat. We ordered pasta and they undercooked it and the sauce was sour. Would not come back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 31, 2016

After reading a number of the recent negative reviews, my expectations were pretty low for this dinner. I was however pleasantly surprised that our experience was not consistent with some of the bad reviews I read from other diners.

We had an outstanding server. She made excellent suggestions and was very attentive even though the restaurant was packed. We ordered the cauliflower appetizer which was "ok", the daily special pizza and the warm spinach salad and really enjoyed both of them. Our friend ordered the fish entree and through it was delicious. We ordered the tiramisu and caramel budino for dessert. The tiramisu was "ok" but the budino was amazing!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Food was delicious. We had the meatballs, pizza, carbonara, swordfish, pasta and polenta. The service was quick. Pricing was high for a casual lunch but there was plenty of food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Pastas aren't well cooked. Seems like same menu for years. Boring. Needs a refresh

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Food was good, service was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Waiter was awful. Left us sitting forever- took 15 min when we were seated and then another 15 min to come back and get our order. Always had someone else deliver food or drinks. Never checked on us. Just left us sitting forever and when he would show up would try WAY too hard by being overly friendly because he knew he was messing up.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 27, 2016

I had read some disappointing reviews of Campo so I was not expecting much but I was pleasantly surprised by our delicious meal. We sampled the polenta appetizer with Burrata cheese and truffles, roasted garlic cauliflower and the pork belly appetizer that was paired nicely with honey, fennel and strawberries. We also ordered pizza, lentil soup and a simple pasta dish. Everything was seasoned nicely and we left full and happy. Our server was great and the whole family left happy with full bellies.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Terrible. We sat at the table closest to the bathroom which had a steady cold breeze. It was so cold we needed to wear winter coats throughout dinner. The bolognese was awful, essentially kids meal pasta with ground beef sprinkled in top.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on December 24, 2016

I've tried a lot of places in Mammoth none are really that great but I have to say this is the best in the city

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.