HelpiOS AppAndroid AppWindows Phone AppWindows 8 App

Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 10 times today

Campo - Mammoth

3.9
306 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Italian
Top Tags:
  • Casual (4)
  • Kid-friendly (4)
  • Authentic (3)
Rustic Italian fare in the heart of The Village. The menu at Campo Mammoth features organic, local and seasonal ingredients and is known for its wood-fired Neapolitan pizzas, handmade pastas, handcrafted salumi, and perfect pairings of wine, beer and craft cocktails. A favorite locale for family dinner, date nights, drinks al fresco or a game of bocce ball on the terrace.
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Italian, Comfort Food
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
​// Daily, 11:30–9PM
// Happy Hour, 2-4PM
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(760) 934-0669
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Michael Schrek
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Corner of Main Street and Minaret Road
Additional
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 306 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
3.9  based on recent ratings
3.8
food
3.8
service
3.9
ambience
3.4
value
Noise · Moderate
64% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
OpenTable Diner (Los Angeles)
2.0  Dined on February 14, 2018

Went here for Valentine’s Day. Food was mediocre and service was horrendous. So many other great options to choose from in the village. I wouldn’t go back.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Los Angeles)
5.0  Dined on February 10, 2018

Amazing daily specials... amazing wine

Report
Helpful
ccnJ (Washington DC)
5.0  Dined on February 7, 2018

I just like walking into Campo. The ambience is very inviting. The food is always tasty. The wait staff is exceptionally friendly.

Report
Helpful
vipLAeater (Los Angeles)
4.0  Dined on February 5, 2018

Loved the cauliflower appetizer and the caramel dessert!

Report
Helpful
CoolTim (Yosemite)
5.0  Dined on February 3, 2018

Campo is the hot ticket in Mammoth for your after ski meal. The ambiance is fun, the location is at the center of the Village and the food is great. We had craft beers, pizza, pasta , appetizers and salad, and all were fantastic. I recommend the Frito Misto appetizer, it was perfect. You can't do better for a dinner in Mammoth, but everyone else knows about it, so you need to book your reservation 2 weeks in advance. And the best part is....the price is very reasonable.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Los Angeles)
4.0  Dined on February 3, 2018

Accommodating hostess for nice table off to side for birthday. Waiter excellent for recommendations of food and wine. Amazing Cesar salad. Service became non existent later that evening when we had to ask busboy for coffee and others for check.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (San Francisco)
5.0  Dined on January 29, 2018

We go to Campo every time we visit Mammoth and always have a fabulous experience!

Report
Helpful
vipOpenTable Diner (Los Angeles)
5.0  Dined on January 20, 2018

As ever a surprisingly solid Bucatini Carbonara for a captive restaurant in a tourist trap. Definitely outperforms expectations. Great for a casual meal.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Los Angeles)
3.0  Dined on January 20, 2018

As with most places in the village, Campo is another overpriced restaurant with bad food. The service is mediocre, at best and you're lucky if you get a table. The only good thing is the location. Based on the food, we won't be going again.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Tahoe)
2.0  Dined on January 14, 2018

We sat for 15 minutes before anyone acknowledged us... we notified hostess of this and she did nothing..very disappointed..

Report
Helpful
vipOpenTable Diner (Los Angeles)
2.0  Dined on January 11, 2018

Everything we had was salty

Report
Helpful
vipOpenTable Diner (Phoenix)
2.0  Dined on January 9, 2018

Service has really gone downhill at Campo!

Report
Helpful
CarrieB (Los Angeles)
1.0  Dined on January 4, 2018

We had reservations thanks to Open Table, so we were seated pretty quickly. But they didn’t assign us a server for 30 minutes after I asked the bartenders if I could place my order with them. Unfortunately, the server still acted like we didn’t exist. Food was overly priced and greasy. Not a good experience.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (San Diego)
1.0  Dined on January 2, 2018

We ate here last year and loved it. We were looking forward to our 3 nights of reservations at Campo this week. We asked if they had new owners since it was much different than last time. This is a funny restaurant. Some of the staff act as if you are lucky to eat at Campo. A bit of a snootiness if you dare ask the host/hostess a question. Very unimpressed. Food was no longer available after we reviewed menu. They ran out of the chicken dish,” which no one bothered to tell us. main entrees came out before appetizers. Appetizers were cancelled because the cooks did not prepare, daughters pasta not fully cooked “noodles hard and chewy. “ Food came to table with no available silverware. Salad came out after entrees. We had to wait to eat food so they could clean silverware. Daughters beet salad was not prepared as last year and new version is awful. The $100.00 bill was not worth it. Had a much better pizza and salad at Z pizza for a fraction of the price. Cancelled reservations for the other two nights. Husband saw manager dismiss our waiter who told her that we did not like the beet salad. This was my daughters dinner as she waited patiently while everyone else received their dinner. Who is running this frat house? Maybe it was an off night but we are no longer interested in going back to Campo.

Report
Helpful
MaxH (Los Angeles)
1.0  Dined on January 2, 2018

I can honestly say this was the most poorly run restaurant or business I have ever been to. A total train wreck. Our waitress was great! We felt so sorry for her, it seemed like she was the only one taking orders for the whole restaurant. No one would help her, and there seemed to be plenty of servers and workers milling around. Every table around us was having issues. It was as if the whole staff wanted the waitress to fail. From the start, reservations were at 7:30 we weren’t seated until 8:15. We had to wait an additional 15 minutes at our table just for menus . Appetizers took forever to come out and when they did we told the server we needed utensils. He never returned. Our waitress came over to check on us maybe 15-20 minutes after our apps were served and noticed we hadn’t started eating because we didn’t have forks. She ran to get us some and as soon as we started to take a bite of our appetizers they brought out our entrees. My husband and I ordered the same pasta and mine was so dried out and terrible it was almost hard from sitting under the heat lamp for so long. It was totally different than my husbands. My son ordered a pizza that never came and when we told a server he said he would check but never came back, when our waitress checked on us again we told her. Sge said they hadn’t made one so they were making us a fresh one. Two seconds later a server came out with one? The first drink I ordered was delicious and spicy, when I ordered a second it came out totally different . I told the waitress and she asked bartender to make another but he poured the drink in a different glass and gave it to us? Literally from start to finish it never got better. We really liked some of the dishes but the experience was so bad it made everything bad. I know every person around us at every table was dissatisfied. I kept expecting management to come over to our table or any table but they never did. It was appalling, and felt unbelievable to be so bad!!!

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Los Angeles)
1.0  Dined on December 30, 2017

The restaurant did not have a reservation they gave us a seat next to the bathroom and the floors and seats were filthy
Service was poor the food was cold and greasy and they over charged me $47 and later fixed it .
Used to be good has gone downhill

Report
Helpful
vipJodyH (Orange County)
3.0  Dined on December 27, 2017

This is my 3rd experience at Campo, so I feel like I now have enough visits under my belt to properly review. Sadly, this is one of my least favorite restaurants in Mammoth. The food has generally been bland every time, even when I try to order something that looks like it might be flavorful. The kids spaghetti always has almost no Marinara sauce. The service is adequate, has been hit and miss. For this, the price is on the higher side. Nothing horrible, but I won’t be coming back as there has been nothing to draw me in either.

Report
Helpful
vipJenifer (Los Angeles)
5.0  Dined on December 27, 2017

Was pleasantly surprised. Pasta was delicious. They had vegan soup which was excellent.

Report
Helpful
vipOpenTable Diner (Los Angeles)
2.0  Dined on December 26, 2017

Our waiter was really bad. He was very inattentive. We placed our order including a bottle of wine that sat at the bar for twenty minutes. When our food was delivered to our table (by someone other than our waiter), we had to ask for the wine which was then delivered unopened. The waiter never came to check on us. He brought the check. After giving him our credit card, he disappeared for a while. When he returned, he brought us the original check without our credit card! The food was mostly average with the pasta dish being almost inedible.

Report
Helpful
vipOpenTable Diner (Orange County)
3.0  Dined on December 26, 2017

This was our favorite spot a couple of years ago. We come every year and make sure to eat here once or twice each trip. This year service was very bad. The Brussels and cauliflower apps were good but the risotto and pasta dishes were bland. It’s gone down hill. Next year we’ll rethink a visit here.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
16