About Campo - Mammoth

6201 Minaret Road
Ste. 240
Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546
View Larger Map

Rustic Italian fare in the heart of The Village. The menu at Campo Mammoth features organic, local and seasonal ingredients and is known for its wood-fired Neapolitan pizzas, handmade pastas, handcrafted salumi, and perfect pairings of wine, beer and craft cocktails. A favorite locale for family dinner, date nights, drinks al fresco or a game of bocce ball on the terrace.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
// Daily, 4:30pm-Close
// Happy Hour 5-6

Cross Street:
Corner of Main Street and Minaret Road

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(760) 934-0669

Website:
http://www.campomammoth.com/

Executive Chef:
Michael Schrek

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Campo - Mammoth Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.0

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.4

service

3.7

ambience

3.8

value

3.5

noise

Moderate

77% would recommend it to a friend

Fireplace (6)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Hot Spot (5)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Wood Oven (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Casual (4)
Fun (4)
Worth the Drive (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Good for a Date (3)
Family Style (3)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Special Occasion (2)
Authentic (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Romantic (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Scenic View (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Cozy (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Sort By:
S
160 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Kale salad was delicious. Campo pizza ve ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 30, 2016

Kale salad was delicious. Campo pizza very good but crust could have been firmer. Annalee our server was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

My family and I enjoyed dinner at the Ma ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on November 24, 2016

My family and I enjoyed dinner at the Mammoth restaurant on Nov 23. We were greeted by a friendly waiter who was attentive and funny. I was happy they had gluten free options including pizza. The family enjoyed the pasta and pizza options and brocolini. I would recommend this cozy and fun restaurant to anyone coming to Mammoth.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Fun, Wood Oven, Fireplace, Good for Groups, Gluten Free Options, Open Kitchen, Comfort Food, Modern Decor, Cozy, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I cannot remember ever having a bad past ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 23, 2016

I cannot remember ever having a bad pasta...but now I have. Am shocked that this restaurant got good reviews on trip advisor...basically we just drink our wine and left the food .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

The food was very expensive and mediocre ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 9, 2016

The food was very expensive and mediocre. They brought our appetizer and meal at the same time. Not worth going back.

The manager at least did what she could to make up for the poor service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1

We had a burrata cheese and prosciutto a ...

 
·Dined on October 8, 2016

We had a burrata cheese and prosciutto appetizer and a pizza. It was excellent. Our server was friendly and efficient. The wine by the glass menu was very good. We enjoyed the ambience and the style of the restaurant. It was a fun experience.

Tags: Fun, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Fireplace, Great for Outdoor Dining, Wood Oven, Fit for Foodies, Family Style, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The risotto taste like high school puss. ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 2, 2016

The risotto taste like high school puss. 😉🎉😀👍🏻

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Won't go back. A couple of locals after ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Won't go back. A couple of locals after the fact said they were not surprised by our lousy dinning experience. In fact the Swiss dining next to us at Campo said they are in Italy quite often, and the food they are was not good true italian fare!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2

Great setting. Beautiful decor. Attentiv ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 10, 2016

Great setting. Beautiful decor. Attentive and courteous servers. Everything was great except our meals. The spaghetti was under cooked as was the rice in the risotto which made it watery. Disappointing as we didn't have time to send our meals back. Other comments being so positive, we may give it another try.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value3

Food was not as good as the other Campo' ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on August 28, 2016

Food was not as good as the other Campo's I have been to. The Rib eye was $45.00 which was fine except there was so much fat he had to really work at getting a good bite , my husband ended up eating 1/2 my new york. I dont mind paying $45.00 for a steak we pay that at Palmers here in Reno but it usually an outstanding steak. Not sure if I would go back to this restraunt in Mammonth

Tags: Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value1

The restaurant promotes original Italian ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 28, 2016

The restaurant promotes original Italian cuisine but there were only a very few Italian dishes available. The food was passable but not excellent. I had the risotto with hen & the meat was very tough. Others had pasta which was okay but the chicken was very tender.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

My wife and I had dinner at Campo while ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on August 24, 2016

My wife and I had dinner at Campo while staying at the Westin. We made a reservation which was not really necessary for a weekday night. It was a nice evening and they provide heaters so that outside seating was fine. We really did not like the indoor ambience. We asked the waiter for his drafts and he gave us a rundown. We ordered a double IPA each. When they arrived we were surprised how small the glasses were (about 1/2 pint). The waiter explained that they use the smaller glasses when you order a double IPA. It would have been nice to get that info before you order. We ordered the Brussels sprouts as an appetizer and they were good. My wife had a burger which she liked. They delivered it to a table next to ours first. I ordered one of their pizzas that the waiter explained as thin crust to me when I ordered it. When it came it did not look like thin crust. When I asked another waiter about it he told me that it depends who prepares the pizza.

The food is fine, nothing special. Being able to sit outside and observe what is going on in the Village was the best of the visit.

Tags: Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Well managed restaurant with awesome ser ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 23, 2016

Well managed restaurant with awesome service. Great setting

Tags: Wood Oven, Scenic View, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Family Style, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

A wonderful outdoor dining experience. ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on August 19, 2016

A wonderful outdoor dining experience. Twinkling patio, friendly service, very good food. The margherita pizza was light and delicious. I would only prefer that the coursing is spaced out a little. Otherwise very nice experience!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place with excellent food. Reasona ...

 
 (Yosemite)·Dined on August 12, 2016

Great place with excellent food. Reasonable prices. Flexibility very much appreciated ( i asked for some changes to the menu which was no problem at all.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We were looking for a somewhat upscale, ...

 
 (Yosemite)·Dined on August 7, 2016

We were looking for a somewhat upscale, but casual restaurant with nice ambiance, but also dog-friendly, to celebrate our college-age daughter's birthday. We liked the idea of Italian food, but not typical spaghetti & meatballs or pepperoni pizza you can have anywhere. The menu seemed to offer items that are interesting to culinary fans, without being pretentious or outrageously expensive. Outdoor patio was really nice, with fire pits and sofas.

The service was great and the food we ordered was really good. Started with complimentary focaccia with olive oil and balsamic vinegar. Followed by Fritto Misto, Heirloom Tomato Salad and Kale Salad with Soft-Poached Egg and crunchy Grana Padano. Topped off with Bee Sting Pizza and Fuji Apple/Bacon/Gorgonzola Pizza. There was also complimentary creme brûlée type of dessert for the birthday girl. Everything was to our liking; nothing that blew our minds from a flavor or originality standpoint, but carefully prepared dishes that were presented well and didn't seem like it was made in an assembly line or in advance.

One reason for less than 5 stars is lack of seafood choices. Would be great to see local trout on the menu, or other items like salmon, ahi tuna, mahi mahi, shrimp, scallops. Other reason is that it's in an area that gets windy, so it would have been nice to have wind deflectors or something that keeps napkins from flying or making us shrivel up from the cold winds. We were able to drag our table closer to a nearby fire pit, but we shouldn't have had to do that.

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Bar was great. Service was quite good. F ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on August 6, 2016

Bar was great. Service was quite good. Food was a disappointment: pasta was tasteless.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4

Slow service, food so-so. Great location ...

 
 (Yosemite)·Dined on July 23, 2016

Slow service, food so-so. Great location in The Village.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

Magnific food and service, everything de ...

 
 (Yosemite)·Dined on July 14, 2016

Magnific food and service, everything delicious and on time!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

I wrote a review but the Open Table webs ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on July 1, 2016

I wrote a review but the Open Table website was unreachable. I will not dine again at Campo

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

Great experience, will get back for sure ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 19, 2016

Great experience, will get back for sure!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Been here many times before and never di ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 18, 2016

Been here many times before and never disappointed. This time, no bueno. Waiter forgot about us, forgot about our drinks, one of the two pastas was inedible (to his credit the waiter took it off the bill), the bread was stale... Will we go again, yes, but with trepidation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service1
value3

MUST GO!

 
 (Yosemite)·Dined on June 9, 2016

Everything from the food to the service was outstanding! Totally going to recommend to all my friends, family and social media!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The pastry chef is to die for. Outstandi ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 28, 2016

The pastry chef is to die for. Outstanding tiramisu.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Disappointed......

 
 (Yosemite)·Dined on May 27, 2016

For our last night of our weeks stay in Mammoth Lakes we selected Campo, anticipating it would be memorable and the grand finale to an amazing stay. Unfortunately, we didn't find that to be the case. The food was mediocre, at best, as well as the service. We had dined at other restaurants in the Village during the week and found each to be far superior to Campo. Needless to say, we were very disappointed......

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

One of our Mammoth faves!

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on April 24, 2016

Campo is always at the top of our list of dining whenever we are in Mammoth. The decor is modern, hip, yet cozy and comfortable.

We loooove the Bee Sting pizza. The mix of jalapeños, honey and cheese meld together for true bliss. And, the crust is uncredible!! The Kale salad with the poached egg and Boar pasta are other favorites. The service is always good. And sitting out on the patio around the fire is fun with a group. Happy mammoth has such a great place in the Village. Looking forward to my next visit to Campo!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Tasty vs. Bland

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 6, 2016

Some items were superb, others a little disappointing. Some very tasty, whereas others were just a little bland. Hit and miss on what you order, or perhaps which chef was cooking on which night.

Staff were delightful: friendly, efficient, and accommodating.

Wine list had some good selections that were reasonably priced. The specials (including cocktails) were interesting.

All in all, would definitely recommend Campo's to anyone visiting Mammoth.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Gluten free margarita pizza was excellen ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on April 2, 2016

Gluten free margarita pizza was excellent. My husbands meatballs on the other hand were so extremely salty that he could not eat them. We should have sent it back but we don't like to complain.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

We share the salami and cheese plate..YUMMY!

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 26, 2016

Their salmon is good, their brussel sprouts amazing, and their hamburger is a good go-to!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Enjoyable

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 23, 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed our wood-fired pizzas, pastas, Italian sodas & cocktails. The service was attentive, and our food arrived very quickly. They have a unique menu, and its location in the Mammoth Village is convenient.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Authentic Italian Food

 
 (Yosemite)·Dined on March 21, 2016

My Italian friends agree, the food is authentic and very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

good but loud early evening

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on March 21, 2016

All good except for the kids-eat-fee hours. I'm done with kids and would avoid those hours of horseplay and screaming.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We had had some poor experiences in the ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 14, 2016

We had had some poor experiences in the past due to poor service and had not been back in about a year. However things have really changed! The food was outstanding as always. We especially liked the spinach salad, the Brussel sprouts appetizer, the fresh fish, which was beautifully prepared, and the pizza. All were great. More importantly, the service was spot on right from walking in the door and being taken straight to our table, to the terrific server, Matt, who really went out of his way to treat us well. Kudos to him for really doing a great job, and to Campos in turning this all around.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always enjoy the quality food and select ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on March 12, 2016

Always enjoy the quality food and selection at Campo. Beat salad and Filet are among our favorites!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Campo

 
 (Yosemite)·Dined on March 11, 2016

Waiter was great and took good care of us.

Had the four course Thursday night special and found the food bland.

Order a bottle of wine (Pinot Noir) which was returned, flat and boring. Waiter change the bottle for a Cab/Sav which he said everyone liked. That bottle was better, but would not recommend ordering it.

Most likely would not return, this is my second time trying the food out and am not impressed. For the taste or the money spent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value3

Pub table was uncomfortable, drinks gros ...

 
 (Yosemite)·Dined on March 8, 2016

Pub table was uncomfortable, drinks grossly overpriced, food was ok but nothing special, waiter was knowledgeable and friendly

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Salty Balls

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 5, 2016

This was the third time I have been to Campo. If you want a good pizza, you cannot go wrong. However, many of the other entrees and sides are mediocre at best. They apparently pride themselves on their spaghetti and meatballs. There were two huge problems with it. The meatballs was unbelievably salty and the spaghetti had very little sauce. The kale salad was bland and the egg yolk is an unnecessary addition.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Good, but pricey.

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on February 18, 2016

Pizza and pasta was good. Steak, potatoes, and asparagus were unnecessarily over-spiced and very salty. Expensive because it's in The Village. Make a reservation because it was over an hour wait without reservations for Presidents' Week.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

I would only recommend Campo because it' ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 17, 2016

I would only recommend Campo because it's one of the few places in Mammoth. The food is only good and service ranges from fair to very good. Prices are expensive in my opinion for what you get.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Foodie paradise in the Village

 
 (Yosemite)·Dined on February 15, 2016

Nearly impossible to get a table without a reservation weeks ahead of time during peak season, Campo is worth the effort. Pizzas with perfect thin crusts and innovative toppings delight. My teenaged son had been talking about the Beesting pizza for a year. The special risotto with English peas, pancetta and truffle mascarpone was hands down the best I have ever experienced

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Hostesses ruin a decent restaurant

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 13, 2016

Missing the mark for unpretentious and friendly mammoth. Low IQ hostesses cop a big attitude and essentially ruin the vibe of an otherwise solid dinner spot in the village. Newly opened 53 is way better and is 10 steps away. Campo must be the Italian word for poor management and unchecked teenage attitude ruins sure fire money maker of serving slightly overpriced pizza and pasta to hordes of starving and tired skiers! General manager, do your job and train or fire those rude hostesses. You are asleep at the switch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.