About Campo - Mammoth

6201 Minaret Road
Ste. 240
Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546
View Larger Map

Rustic Italian fare in the heart of The Village. The menu at Campo Mammoth features organic, local and seasonal ingredients and is known for its wood-fired Neapolitan pizzas, handmade pastas, handcrafted salumi, and perfect pairings of wine, beer and craft cocktails. A favorite locale for family dinner, date nights, drinks al fresco or a game of bocce ball on the terrace.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Daily, 11:30am-Close

Cross Street:
Corner of Main Street and Minaret Road

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(760) 934-0669

Website:
http://www.campomammoth.com/

Executive Chef:
Michael Schrek

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Campo - Mammoth Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.9

service

3.9

ambience

4.0

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

74% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Yosemite / Mammoth Lakes
Most Booked
Mammoth
Best Restaurants in Mammoth ›

good for groups (15)
kid-friendly (12)
fit for foodies (10)
See All
great for outdoor dining (6)
neighborhood gem (6)
special occasion (5)
hot spot (5)
scenic view (4)
vibrant bar scene (3)
notable wine list (2)
great for lunch (1)
great for brunch (1)
romantic (1)
Sort By:
Newest
142 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Slow service, food so-so. Great location ...

 
 (Yosemite)
·Dined 6 days ago

Slow service, food so-so. Great location in The Village.

Tags: hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

Magnific food and service, everything de ...

 
 (Yosemite)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Magnific food and service, everything delicious and on time!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

I wrote a review but the Open Table webs ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

I wrote a review but the Open Table website was unreachable. I will not dine again at Campo

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

Been here many times before and never di ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Been here many times before and never disappointed. This time, no bueno. Waiter forgot about us, forgot about our drinks, one of the two pastas was inedible (to his credit the waiter took it off the bill), the bread was stale... Will we go again, yes, but with trepidation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service1
value3

MUST GO!

 
 (Yosemite)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

Everything from the food to the service was outstanding! Totally going to recommend to all my friends, family and social media!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The pastry chef is to die for. Outstandi ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

The pastry chef is to die for. Outstanding tiramisu.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Disappointed......

 
 (Yosemite)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

For our last night of our weeks stay in Mammoth Lakes we selected Campo, anticipating it would be memorable and the grand finale to an amazing stay. Unfortunately, we didn't find that to be the case. The food was mediocre, at best, as well as the service. We had dined at other restaurants in the Village during the week and found each to be far superior to Campo. Needless to say, we were very disappointed......

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

One of our Mammoth faves!

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

Campo is always at the top of our list of dining whenever we are in Mammoth. The decor is modern, hip, yet cozy and comfortable.

We loooove the Bee Sting pizza. The mix of jalapeños, honey and cheese meld together for true bliss. And, the crust is uncredible!! The Kale salad with the poached egg and Boar pasta are other favorites. The service is always good. And sitting out on the patio around the fire is fun with a group. Happy mammoth has such a great place in the Village. Looking forward to my next visit to Campo!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Tasty vs. Bland

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on April 6, 2016

Some items were superb, others a little disappointing. Some very tasty, whereas others were just a little bland. Hit and miss on what you order, or perhaps which chef was cooking on which night.

Staff were delightful: friendly, efficient, and accommodating.

Wine list had some good selections that were reasonably priced. The specials (including cocktails) were interesting.

All in all, would definitely recommend Campo's to anyone visiting Mammoth.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Gluten free margarita pizza was excellen ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on April 2, 2016

Gluten free margarita pizza was excellent. My husbands meatballs on the other hand were so extremely salty that he could not eat them. We should have sent it back but we don't like to complain.

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

We share the salami and cheese plate..YUMMY!

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on March 26, 2016

Their salmon is good, their brussel sprouts amazing, and their hamburger is a good go-to!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Enjoyable

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on March 23, 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed our wood-fired pizzas, pastas, Italian sodas & cocktails. The service was attentive, and our food arrived very quickly. They have a unique menu, and its location in the Mammoth Village is convenient.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Authentic Italian Food

 
 (Yosemite)
·Dined on March 21, 2016

My Italian friends agree, the food is authentic and very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

good but loud early evening

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on March 21, 2016

All good except for the kids-eat-fee hours. I'm done with kids and would avoid those hours of horseplay and screaming.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We had had some poor experiences in the ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on March 14, 2016

We had had some poor experiences in the past due to poor service and had not been back in about a year. However things have really changed! The food was outstanding as always. We especially liked the spinach salad, the Brussel sprouts appetizer, the fresh fish, which was beautifully prepared, and the pizza. All were great. More importantly, the service was spot on right from walking in the door and being taken straight to our table, to the terrific server, Matt, who really went out of his way to treat us well. Kudos to him for really doing a great job, and to Campos in turning this all around.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always enjoy the quality food and select ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on March 12, 2016

Always enjoy the quality food and selection at Campo. Beat salad and Filet are among our favorites!

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Campo

 
 (Yosemite)
·Dined on March 11, 2016

Waiter was great and took good care of us.

Had the four course Thursday night special and found the food bland.

Order a bottle of wine (Pinot Noir) which was returned, flat and boring. Waiter change the bottle for a Cab/Sav which he said everyone liked. That bottle was better, but would not recommend ordering it.

Most likely would not return, this is my second time trying the food out and am not impressed. For the taste or the money spent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value3

Pub table was uncomfortable, drinks gros ...

 
 (Yosemite)
·Dined on March 8, 2016

Pub table was uncomfortable, drinks grossly overpriced, food was ok but nothing special, waiter was knowledgeable and friendly

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Salty Balls

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on March 5, 2016

This was the third time I have been to Campo. If you want a good pizza, you cannot go wrong. However, many of the other entrees and sides are mediocre at best. They apparently pride themselves on their spaghetti and meatballs. There were two huge problems with it. The meatballs was unbelievably salty and the spaghetti had very little sauce. The kale salad was bland and the egg yolk is an unnecessary addition.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Good, but pricey.

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on February 18, 2016

Pizza and pasta was good. Steak, potatoes, and asparagus were unnecessarily over-spiced and very salty. Expensive because it's in The Village. Make a reservation because it was over an hour wait without reservations for Presidents' Week.

Tags: kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Foodie paradise in the Village

 
 (Yosemite)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

Nearly impossible to get a table without a reservation weeks ahead of time during peak season, Campo is worth the effort. Pizzas with perfect thin crusts and innovative toppings delight. My teenaged son had been talking about the Beesting pizza for a year. The special risotto with English peas, pancetta and truffle mascarpone was hands down the best I have ever experienced

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Hostesses ruin a decent restaurant

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

Missing the mark for unpretentious and friendly mammoth. Low IQ hostesses cop a big attitude and essentially ruin the vibe of an otherwise solid dinner spot in the village. Newly opened 53 is way better and is 10 steps away. Campo must be the Italian word for poor management and unchecked teenage attitude ruins sure fire money maker of serving slightly overpriced pizza and pasta to hordes of starving and tired skiers! General manager, do your job and train or fire those rude hostesses. You are asleep at the switch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

Fun Place Decent Food

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on February 5, 2016

Don't go here if you don't like loud, its a busy loud, fun place. Always packed, be sure to make a reservation or don't even try going here. The food is good, not great, but for a ski town not bad. They do have some interesting items on the menu, the Bee Sting Pizza is very good, and they do a iron pan roasted cauliflower that's amazing. Its loud, its fun, the service and could be better, but its just so crowded. Would definitely go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Memorable Experience

 
 (Yosemite)
·Dined on February 5, 2016

Fun environment to have dinner with friends. I coordinated the dinner for 6 and was concerned there would be options for everyone. Everyone ordered something different and all were happy with their selections. The service was great and although the restaurant was very busy we never felt rushed. I love their brussel sprout appetizer and bee sting pizza. My husband and I shared the caramel dessert -- I would go back just for the dessert!

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Mammoth Eats

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on January 31, 2016

We love Campo- always a wonderful meal and great service

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a wonderful time, the food was delicious!

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on January 31, 2016

We tried a variety of starters and main dishes and they were all excellent; the staff was wonderful and the atmosphere was wonderful.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Incredible Service!

 
 (Yosemite)
·Dined on January 25, 2016

Food was amazing. When we got there my 4 year old had a 'moment' and the waitress came directly over and offered to bring her over to see pizzas being made. It turned the whole night into fun - awesome!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Not quite sure about this place????

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on January 12, 2016

The hostess was pleasant. Pur server started strong & gave us some welcomed insite when we asked him questions. He offered a taster of the soup of the day. It was Cream of Zucchini which was one of the most delicious soups I have ever tasted. The restaurant is very pretty with a rustic/contemporary/industrial combined decor.I felt as if I could have sat in there for hours with a glass of wine. The food other than the soup was all just ok. I have been to some of the finest italian restaurants around the country.This was not definitely not the best. We started with the fried polenta app. The polenta was made well however the truffle mascarpone was slightly bitter. I know truffles can be earthy but the first taste was not too pleasant! After a while this dish did grow on us, but maybe we were just hungry!The Nikki which is a pizza that had cauliflower,very little cauliflower, bacon which in my opinion was pancetta sliced into lardons, no smokey flavor. An egg which was definitely not cooked on the pizza like the way an egg would traditionally be put on a pizza, it was just placed on it. When it came out it did not look too appetizing, although it tasted better than it looked, in my opinion the bacon could have been cooked much more. The worst part of the meal was the fusilli in a pumpkin sauce &fried sage&focaccia bread crumbs.Sounded amazing!But all we got was was overcooked pasta which barely kept it's shape, extremely under seasoned pumpkin sauce, and the bread crumbs were huge soggy croutons. We couldnt find our server as he disappeared once our food was dropped off, and we waited long for the much needed salt, we asked a server, but he did not bring it, we asked another server and 10 mins later it came. Finally our server returned only to drop a check without asking if we wanted dessert.We eventually got his attention again..we ordered the caramel pudding which was ok, nothing special. May return...may not..definitely so many other places in Mammoth to try!

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service1
value3

The food

 
 (Yosemite)
·Dined on January 9, 2016

The salmon was good but not exceptional. Very nice job on the Brussels sprouts. The house made gnocchi with lamb Sugo was exceptional. I wish your portions were a bit bigger. All in all a great dinner.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Campo Rocks!

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on January 8, 2016

Went to Campo for my birthday and was pleasantly surprised at the quality of the overall experience. Food was excellent! Must try the wood fired cauliflower or brussel sprouts. The wood fired pizza is outstanding too! We went back twice in our visit to Mammoth. The only drawback was having to pay for parking in the village, but only $2 for 2 hours. People are willing to give you parking tickets as they leave the village when there's left-over time - seems to be a cool pay-it-forward cultural thing in that lot - we did the same.

Anyway, super cool vibe and our waiters were so friendly, attentive, knowledgeable and really made you feel welcome and important. Best service I've ever experienced.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was fantastic~!

 
 (Yosemite)
·Dined on January 7, 2016

Loved the fire roasted cauliflower and the brussel sprouts. We also had the wild boar bolognese - one with the regular pasta and one gluten free. The GF crispy polenta was amazing with the bolognese. My kids loved the margarita pizza & spaghetti and meatballs too! The service was casual and okay. I actually wasn't too sure the server understood my GF needs (not choice). Will certainly return often while in Mammoth for the delicious food!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Great apres ski dining

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on January 2, 2016

I have eaten here many times. The food is dependably good. Can get a bit noisey. It's in a ski area so that's what you would expect. Off season, by the way, is very pleasant and quiet.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great Italian food and great service.

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on December 29, 2015

Great Italian food and friendly, fun service. We will definitely go back on our next trip to Mammoth!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Kind staff. Fresh pasta was great, as w ...

vip
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on December 28, 2015

Kind staff. Fresh pasta was great, as was the pizza. Reserve in advance if it's a busy part of the season. Solid option for Mammoth dining.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Disappointing Food

 
 (Yosemite)
·Dined on December 27, 2015

Food was terrible. We have been here 2x in the past and really enjoyed it. This time the risotto tasted like minute rice with some cream poured over it. Ahi was fishy. Butternut squash soup was bland and tasteless. Overall they are lucky to be in business with that poor quality food. Hopefully the chef was on vacation over the holidays and the food was bad because of that.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value1

We've been going for years, but the serv ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on December 25, 2015

We've been going for years, but the service seems to be in decline. Waited to be seated a long time even with a reservation, and as they seated walk ins before us. Drinks took forever (20 minutes after ordering), drinks and food came out incorrect. Hot chocolate was cold. It was pretty shocking, as we have had good experiences before.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2

Excellent!

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on November 29, 2015

Excellent food! The shaved brussels sprout salad was outstanding, and the cheese pizza we ordered for the kids was the best we ever tasted. I can't believe it took us this long to try it.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for lunch, late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great service. Fun ambiance. Tasty food.

 
·Dined on October 23, 2015

My girlfriend and I had dinner here last Thurs night during the off season in Mammoth. The woman who seated us I believe was the manager and she was AWESOME. So upbeat, fun, and attentive. Our server came by who happened to also be the bartender. We travel all over and places could use more servers like him. He gave us great suggestions and checked on us just often enough. He also made really yummy cocktails. My gf had some vodka ginger beer cucumber thing that was like a mule but not as heavy on the ginger. We loved it. And I had some strawberry drink with vodka and champagne and it was delicious. We started with roasted cauliflower that was SO delicious. The garlicky evoo dressing with focaccia croutons was really tasty. The only thing the roasted cauliflower was lacking was the roast. There was no char whatsoever and we were craving that. But I still loved it. We also got the calamari that also had squash and fried lemon rinds(yum) and loved that. Great light batter and aioli. Lastly we got the I believe Campo pizza. It came with salami and prosciutto. The flavors were just what we wanted them to be and the cheese was delicious. They are true Neapolitan pizzas because they use a special oven imported from Italy. I've had these multiple times and in my personal opinion the crust is always soft and soggy. It's not the restaurant usually but that stupid oven. I love a crunchy thin crust with a little bit of doughy. Crust that holds your ingreds without flopping over. So I kind of knew I wouldn't like the crust but the flavors were delicious. Overall, for a small town isolated from the rest of the world, the food and service were great for a couple from a big city that loves to eat. I'd return if I make it back to Mammoth someday. :)

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

The food was decent - we had tomato basi ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on September 18, 2015

The food was decent - we had tomato basil soup and pizza. The pizza was decent; the service was sub-standard.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1

Disappointing dinner

vip
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on August 8, 2015

We were very excited to try Campo. Place looks awesome, great atmosphere. Service started out excellent but ended up horrible. Think waitress had way too many tables to be able to handle. Pasta was cold, hard but shrimp was good, they took the meal off the bill which was nice. Enjoyed the steak salad but I love SUPER spicy food and if you don't like spicy beware. Overall not very happy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.