About Camp Verde General Store and Restaurant

285 Camp Verde Road East
Camp Verde, TX 78010
View Larger Map

Every once in a while, if you are lucky, you will come upon a place that is more than you expected. It is as if you have found a secret treasure – a feeling of discovering something very special you want to share with your friends…

For more than 150 years, Camp Verde General Store has occupied this little piece of Texas. Give yourself a moment to indulge in the rich history of this timeless gem. Come relax in the shade, enjoy an ice-cold Coca-Cola™, have a one-of-a-kind sandwich from our enticing lunch menu and try our wide variety of savory jams, jellies and sauces.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Sunday: 11:00am - 3:00pm

Cross Street:
Highways 173 & 480

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(830) 634-2485

Website:
http://www.campverdegeneralstore.com/

Parking Details:
Plenty of free parking available!

Additional:
Beer, Counter Seating, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Smoking Area, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access

Camp Verde General Store and Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.8

value

4.7

noise

Moderate

99% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
San Antonio
Best Food
San Antonio
Best Service
San Antonio
15 More
Best Ambiance
San Antonio
Best Value
San Antonio
Great for Lunch
San Antonio
Neighborhood Gem
San Antonio
Scenic View
San Antonio
American
San Antonio
Best Overall
San Antonio
Best Food
San Antonio
Best Service
San Antonio
Best Ambiance
San Antonio
Best Value
San Antonio
Great for Lunch
San Antonio
Neighborhood Gem
San Antonio
Scenic View
San Antonio
American
San Antonio
Best Restaurants in Camp Verde ›

Great for Lunch (103)
Scenic View (59)
Special Occasion (52)
See All
Good for Groups (45)
Neighborhood Gem (36)
Great for Brunch (34)
Fit for Foodies (23)
Romantic (13)
Great for Outdoor Dining (13)
Kid-friendly (11)
Hot Spot (7)
Notable Wine List (2)
Late-night Find (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sort By:
Newest
307 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

From the moment my friend & I entered th ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined 5 days ago

From the moment my friend & I entered the front door, we were met with amazing

friendliness! This was the first time for my friend, & she is already planning a return trip, and of course, so am I !!!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Waitress was friendly and helpful. Food ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined 7 days ago

Waitress was friendly and helpful. Food was good. Ambience was very nice. Great place to hang out with your girlfriends. Make a reservation!

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This has become our go to restaurant. Th ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

This has become our go to restaurant. There is definitely something for everyone, and I highly recommend you save room for dessert. The shopping is a real treat as well. Beautiful products.

Worth the drive!

JT

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First we tried going to Jim's Restaurant ...

vip
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

First we tried going to Jim's Restaurant in San Antonio for breakfast, but there was a 45 minute wait to get a table. So we decided to drive out to Camp Verde for lunch. It is such a peaceful country drive out Highways' 16 and 173 and thanks to Open Table, our table was already reserved and waiting for us when we arrived. Our food was delicious and the waiter was very prompt and courteous. It is always a fun and relaxing time at Camp Verde and one of our top places to go for lunch.

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Don't miss the burger or the house chips ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Don't miss the burger or the house chips. And order the apple dessert up front before they run out!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A Saturday lunch in TexasHill Country! T ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

A Saturday lunch in TexasHill Country! The grounds of Camp Verde lovely , the restaurant quiet and very clean. Service was fair, the table of 6 next to us had numerous issues with their meal causing constant traffic from the server, hostess and manager, very bothersome. Our sandwiches were very good but the fries, sweet potato fries, burger and grilled cheese were served lukewarm at most which we didn't complain about because my two young grandsons had endured a long wait for their food! Will try again later with family, maybe it will be a better experience. The General Store has anything and lots of character .

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value4

My friends and I really enjoy getting to ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

My friends and I really enjoy getting together for lunch at Camp Verde. The service is always good, the food is good, the atmosphere is and accommodations are great, and I would call it a perfect place for lunch and some gift shopping.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Place is really nice, people very friend ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Place is really nice, people very friendly. Food is very good at a reasonable price. Service is a little slow as far as receiving your food. But the quality makes up for it.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

They have great food, decent prices for ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

They have great food, decent prices for the amount of food. However, the time to get big groups (8) took a little longer than others even though some ordered the special of the day or a chef salad. The waitress was very good, but felt she was friendlier at the end of the meal; maybe for a better tip.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Lisa, our waitress, did a great job, as ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Lisa, our waitress, did a great job, as usual and food was delicious.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Maria was an exceptional waitress, very ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

Maria was an exceptional waitress, very knowledgeable to describe menu items in detail. The food was delicious!

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Camp Verde Restaurant is only open f ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

The Camp Verde Restaurant is only open for lunch. Although it is located between two towns (Kerrville and Bandera) and somewhat isolated, its well-deserved reputation for good food and relaxed dining means it is always busy. So make a reservation using OpenTable to be sure you can be seated. The menu is rather simple, heavier on sandwiches and burgers than on large main courses. But the food is prepared carefully and well, and the portion sizes are ample for the price. You will want to save room for dessert, so skip the appetizers and ask for a take-home box for part of your main course. Their fruit cobblers with ice cream are very rich and filling. Or just treat yourself to some of their delicious ice cream or pies. The service is relaxed, so you will have time to talk with your dining partners without feeling rushed. The restaurant is relatively quiet, too, so you never have to yell over the din of servers and diners or piped-in music. When you're finished, look through the eclectic items in the camp store. You're sure to find something interesting.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We travel over 1 and a half hour becaus ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

We travel over 1 and a half hour because we heard this was a great restaurant. Meal was okay.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Camp Verde was fantastic. The food was w ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Camp Verde was fantastic. The food was wonderful, portions were great, and dessert was out of this world. We made the drive to go back within a week. Looking forward to going back any time we get a chance.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were celebrating our Mom's 78th birth ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

We were celebrating our Mom's 78th birthday with family and friends. Our day couldn't have been better! Everyone is still talking about it and ready to go again! Thanks for making my Mom's birthday sooooo special!!!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

From the wait time, to the food, the hos ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

From the wait time, to the food, the hostess who sat us, the waitress, and the ambience everything was perfect.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very much enjoyed having lunch with visi ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Very much enjoyed having lunch with visiting family. Food was fresh, hot, and tasty, service was attentive and friendly. Loved checking out the general store after the meal.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fod was very good, and server was nice a ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Fod was very good, and server was nice and very helpful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

10 miles from the city of Bandera, what ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

10 miles from the city of Bandera, what a cute little place with a really nice outdoor area. Water fountains and nice garden area. Friendly staff. There is a "store" which is really a large gift shop where they sell things from Mud Pie and the like.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Camp Verde is a very unique and special ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

Camp Verde is a very unique and special place. I love taking friends there to eat a delicious lunch and don't forget dessert. Then it is fun to shop at the store which is a treat in itself. The grounds are beautiful too. This time I was taken there for my birthday.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Camp Verde was just short drive through ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Camp Verde was just short drive through the beautiful hill country from our home in Kerr County. The lunch menu left us with many choices, but decided on the grilled turkey, Swiss, grated onions with cranberry jalapeño compote on sourdough for my husband and the BBQ burger with cheddar topped with an onion ring. Our waiter suggested the onion rings as a side which he could do instead of the homemade chips or fries that are offered. The burger was cooked to a perfect medium rare and my husband gave up after just half a sandwich--great for lunch the following day. Ask for your beverage in a go-cup if you would like a refill for the road.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

we are regulars at Camp Verde restaurant ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

we are regulars at Camp Verde restaurant. They are always very busy, so this time I decided to reserve a table! the safe is always pleasant and outgoing ! we take our kids sometimes and they enjoy the desserts as well as the delicious menu!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is my fourth time to come and alway ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

This is my fourth time to come and always special. Love the shop. Everyone is helpful and friendly. Service staff is terrific. We love the food. My only suggestion would be for ladies, half sandwich with soup or salad would be terrific. But they were glad to let us share and gave us extra plates silver etc. They even knew it was a birthday and said, "Happy Birthday to whomever in this group is celebrating." Love it. Looking to go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Absolutely wonderful food, my girl and I ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Absolutely wonderful food, my girl and I love this place. The best part about it is the quality of the food, the cleanliness of the place and the smell when you first walk in, it just smells clean and well managed

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My favorite place for special lunches wi ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

My favorite place for special lunches with friends and family. Beautiful building, friendly & attentive wait staff and good food at very reasonable prices!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

This restaurant has it all-- Outstanding ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

This restaurant has it all-- Outstanding food and service and clean. Plenty of parking and a nice view of verde creek. Great outdoor area when weather permits. One of my favorite lunch places.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great food & service with a historic fla ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Great food & service with a historic flavor. This place may be off the beaten path, but it is worth the drive. I suggest making a reservation, because they tend to fill up any time they are open. Spend some time in adjoining store as well.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a good time at Camp Verde. Great ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Always a good time at Camp Verde. Great food, great service, beautiful surroundings. First class all the way.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful setting near the river, great ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Beautiful setting near the river, great food and excellent service. Beautiful drive in the Hill Country to get the restaurant. Well worth the trip!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Our Wednesday noon party of 4 enjoyed th ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Our Wednesday noon party of 4 enjoyed the hearty meatloaf & mashed potatoes, delicious Reuben sandwiches and the specialty hot ham & cheese sandwich. The Reubens are large (glad I asked for mustard on the side) and could be easily shared and the meatloaf entree was large enough to ask for a to-go. Potato chips and french fries are too heavy (ask for a different side). Coconut cream pie was yummy as expected. Uncertain why the buttermilk pie was served with a scoop of vanilla icecream. It was a little thick...average. Waiter was friendly, but not forthcoming to offer dessert (additional) forks so we could share desserts. Iced tea could be more refreshing. Glad we had made a reservation. Most tables were full.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Every visit to Camp Verde is wonderful. ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

Every visit to Camp Verde is wonderful. The food is delicious. The service is great.

We usually bring visitors to Camp Verde. I was there only two weeks before and the store had changed some of the displays. Never boring to go back to shop and dine!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of my favorite lunch places ....Open ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

One of my favorite lunch places ....Open from 11 am to 3 pm...with outstanding food including interesting sandwiches and full plate lunches. Desert menu to top off a lovely luncheon with family or and friends. Great value and outstanding service. Reservations a MUST

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We found it to be great. Good food,servi ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

We found it to be great. Good food,service,staff etc. No complaints what so ever. Really amazed

at reviews that complained about service, salty food etc. As I said, we really enjoyed the experience. Have told all our friends about it and intend to return for Christmas Pageant.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place! Beautiful facility & settin ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Great place! Beautiful facility & setting. Food was delicious. Waitress was friendly, outgoing & very good at her job. Will definitely be going back the next time we're in the area!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We took our daughter & son-in-law for lu ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

We took our daughter & son-in-law for lunch last week at Camp Verde for the first time & we couldn't have been more pleased. We've been going to Camp Verde for many years now, but this was our first time to dine & we couldn't have been happier. We all ordered different sandwiches & my wife had the meatloaf which she said was better than hers even & the sandwiches were all delicious. The ladies couldn't finish their meals so when it came time for dessert, we opted out, but got a sampling of various gelato & they all were so good that my wife & I know we'll be leaving room next time. This is definitely going to be a new favorite place of ours to go to & still, great shopping for the wife. I must add the kitchen shop is a great addition for men too. This is definitely a find & we highly recommend it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very nice atmosphere, and the food and s ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

Very nice atmosphere, and the food and service are good. It's a good place to have lunch with friends or by yourself. It's out of the city / town and so it's a different, more peaceful environment. I feel like I've been on vacation after having lunch here.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Consistently delicious food and relaxing ...

vip
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Consistently delicious food and relaxing atmosphere.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Took husband to Camp Verde Restaurant fo ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Took husband to Camp Verde Restaurant for Father's Day (his request). Of course, we were not disappointed. Food (meatloaf for the hubby and sandwich for me) was tasty and plentiful (took leftovers home). The following day we recommended Camp Verde to my husband's doctor....two days later when we saw him again, he said he had already looked up Camp Verde and glad to see Open Table...he and his family are planning a trip there soon.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Camp Verde is a feel-good spot with exce ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Camp Verde is a feel-good spot with excellent food served in a friendly atmosphere. I love it!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I am so thrilled that such a lovely plac ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

I am so thrilled that such a lovely place is so close to me ! I loved the different shops and the great selections and products !!

Thank you

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.