Camp Verde General Store and Restaurant

4.6
571 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
American
Top Tags:
  • Great for Lunch
  • Casual
  • Worth the Drive
Every once in a while, if you are lucky, you will come upon a place that is more than you expected. It is as if you have found a secret treasure – a feeling of discovering something very special you want to share with your friends…

For more than 150 years, Camp Verde General Store has occupied this little piece of Texas. Give yourself a moment to indulge in the rich history of this timeless gem. Come relax in the shade, enjoy an ice-cold Coca-Cola™, have a one-of-a-kind sandwich from our enticing lunch menu and try our wide variety of savory jams, jellies and sauces.
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
American, Comfort Food
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Lunch
Daily 11:00 am–3:00 pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(830) 634-2485
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Highways 173 & 480
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Plenty of free parking available!
Additional
Beer, Counter Seating, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access
What 571 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.6based on recent ratings
4.6
food
4.7
service
4.8
ambience
4.6
value
Noise · Moderate
93% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined 6 days ago

Excellent food, excellent service, great atmosphere. Perfect place to take out of town visitors for a taste of the Hill Country.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on June 17, 2018

I had a reservation for 11:15. We got there at 10:50. People who were walking in were being seated. At 11:05, I asked if we could be seated early because no one can use a reserved table for 15 minutes. I was given an excuse so we waited. There were lots of people waiting, it was getting crowded in the hallway. I asked again around 11:10 and got a bit of an “fine” and were seated. Not sure why such a stickler for 5-10 minutes. The earlier we sit and eat, the quicker that table is turned over. My mom and I are gluten free so we ordered the club sandwich, gluten free bread, no mustard, no tomatoes, mayo on side. Our waiter didn’t write it down and joked “hope I can remember it”. I was less than amused. Just write it down. When our food arrived, our waiter told us both that “the cook took out the middle piece of bread to make it easier for us”. We were both confused. What would that even mean?! We ordered a club sandwich but without 3 pieces of bread it’s just a regular sandwich and not as filling and not what we ordered. Also I got tomatoes, my mom didn’t get bacon. We didn’t want to make a fuss so we ate as is. As I was taking some of my last bites, I told my mom “I don’t think this is gluten free bread.” It wasn’t. We both got very sick. I really wish it was written down. It’s not ok to not take that seriously if someone asks for it. We are both gluten intolerant and cannot have it. We loved coming there to eat but probably won’t go back.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 16, 2018

Onion rings are the best! Especially with a side of Ranch dressing. The Texas Burger was very good. Meat tender and tasty and not too salty. Noise level was reduced from my last visit, which made the whole experience much more satisfying.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 15, 2018

My daughter and I drove to Camp Verde. I absolutely fell in love of this place. It is beautiful. We ate at the restaurant and was very impressed with the customer service and food. I would highly recommend anyone to drive down to the Camp Verde an enjoy the beautiful scenery.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 14, 2018

Enjoyed our lunch. Waitress was great. Food was delicious.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 9, 2018

Another great lunch with friends at Camp Verde. We love the freshness and quality of food. The servers are very friendly and attentive.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 8, 2018

As Is typical, this place was amazing. Great food and service.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 6, 2018

One of our favorite places for lunch and soin, for dinner.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 6, 2018

The atmosphere is very delightful, and the food was delicious. Relatively quiet, so conversation was easy. An all-around pleasant experience.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 29, 2018

The food was delicious! Portions were large, but definitely save room for dessert. The pecan cobbler was worth every calorie!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 24, 2018

This is one of many times we have been for lunch at Camp Verde. The food is always good and the drive is a pretty one. The wait staff is always pleasant and smiling. You feel as though they are glad you are there which makes us feel special. The surrounding are very nice and well kept. There isn’t anything you would want to change, even if you could. A real treat in the Hill Country.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 19, 2018

I love everything about this place! It’s a favorite for many reasons. Truly the best place for lunch in all of the Hill Country!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 18, 2018

Our reservation was for 1PM and were seated immediately. Our waiter was there promptly and within minutes our food was served. My wife ordered the Reuben and I had the Oh la la, both excellent. The French fries are exceptional! Definitely worth a return visit.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 14, 2018

I have visited Camp Verde several times. The service is friendly and the food is fresh and tasty. The shopping is fun.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 8, 2018

This is a hidden gem between Kerrville and Bandera. Since this was our first visit, we tried to taste as many items as we could. The onion rings were superb and I honestly have to say the meatloaf was a notch above my wife's recipe. Save room for dessert as the coconut cream pie was scrumptious.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 6, 2018

Very good in every way. Special recognition to “Shortie” . She made us feel very welcome and special

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 2, 2018

I love your restaurant and service. The food is excellent, but I feel your sandwiches are now overpriced, even taking into consideration the nice restaurant & service. I look forward to your new evening hours and seeing how the new menu works out, with only 3 dinners.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 29, 2018

The food and service has always been great. The country-side setting is very relaxing.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 28, 2018

We really enjoyed dining at Camp Verde. The food was excellent. Couldn’t ask for any better service. We had a wonderful time.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 24, 2018

We always enjoy Camp Verde. We love to take out of town friends there, especially with the fascinating camel connection! A lovely restaurant, delicious food, great service! The General Store is certainly an added plus, too!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 23, 2018

Trip was our waiter and he did a very good job. The food was not up to the fare usually encountered at Camp Verde. Examples include; coffee was luke warm; the Rueben sandwich had no dressing; the Chipotle sauce that comes with the onion rings tasted predominantly like bacon. Luckily for us, the onion rings were very good. And, on top of all that, the toilets were not receiving enough water to flush properly. I hope the management company gets things in hand soon. As you can see by reviewer name, this has been one of my favorite places.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 21, 2018

Fabulous homestyle food in a lovely setting. Amazing desserts too!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 21, 2018

Camp Verde is always the first place we think of to take guests. We have never been disappointed with the beauty, service or food at Camp Verde.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 20, 2018

Our favorite place for lunch. Great food and a very friendly staff!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 15, 2018

This is one of our favorite places to eat. Not only is the food very good but the staff is so friendly and welcoming. I had their mushroom burger and it was delicious. My husband had the hotsey totsey which is an outstanding sandwich. The coconut cream pie is to die for and well worth the 45 minute drive we have to take to get to the restaurant.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 14, 2018

Introduced friends to the restaurant. They wanted to come back the next day.
Everyone raved about their meal.
The wait staff was friendly and attentive
The restaurant is beautiful

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 14, 2018

We had a class reunion luncheon and thoroughly enjoyed the food, the ambiance and the scenery!! I would recommend to anyone for any occasion!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 8, 2018

Simply a very nice, clean restaurant with outstanding food and service and reasonable prices. Highly recommend for all occasions.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 4, 2018

Great place and the food was delicious. Although I don't recommend the Chips and Salsa. Salsa was rather bland and definitely needs more seasoning.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 30, 2018

We fell in love with it on our first visit! The food is excellent, the atmosphere is great, and the staff is fantastic. We have been back three times in two weeks. Highly recommend it for everyone.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on March 28, 2018

We visited Camp Verde several times, but it has been almost two years since our last journey out to this quaint storied location. In the past eight years we have visited hear about 8 times, but it has been awhile due to illness. However apparently we haven't missed anything. There were four in our party and it wasn't worth the drive!

The service was terrible. We waited 20 minutes for someone to take our drink orders and we had a reservation and were seated about 3 minutes earlier. We finally went to see what the matter was and it was another 4 minutes before anyone came. We promptly were served our drinks and we insisted on ordering at the same time as well! We had plenty of time to decide!!!

All four orders were different, no one was excited about their meal. No one finished meal either. Despite being served the food promptly, it was nothing to great. The croissant sandwich was soggy. One of the burgers was under cooked also soggy... we had been there so long by now and frustrated we didn't send anything back. A simple request for additional condiments was never fulfilled.

The couple who paid the bill were out of town family members. We were appalled! We skipped dessert. Thank goodness we had a tiny birthday cake we could share waiting at home, though we had hope to save it for later.

We traveled out to Camp Verde in the midst of cloud storms and questionable weather. Oh how I wished I had called and cancelled the reservation. We won't be returning any time to soon. This was a celebration for my wife's birthday. It was a was one of her favorite trips and spots to visits! She was so disappointed and I was too! We discovered it on our first date. Sadly, we will look to other special spots now and not here. So long Camp Verde. You were so reasonable in price in the past, so much fun, but this time you were terrible and there was nothing fun about our day and we are sad.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 22, 2018

We love taking out of town guests here as well as nice daytime dates with friends. Love the food and the waiter Trip is awesome!!!!!!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 22, 2018

I normally love the food but this time my sandwich was not up to par. I had the croissant with ham and cheese but never again. First time I have been disappointed, but will be back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 18, 2018

We are from Canada and every time we come to the area we make this a must go to stop for lunch. Service outstanding ,Sandy was our server, food is well seasoned and tasty. Very much enjoy our visit each and every time.Desserts especially the peach cobbler is a two thumbs up. Posted a pic of it on FB.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 17, 2018

Wonderful food in a lovely Hill Country setting...and fabulous shopping to boot! Who could ask for more?

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 16, 2018

Consistent food and great friendly service. Arthur's Delight was a Thanksgiving style treat of a sandwich. Turkey and Cranberry with a hint of jalapeno - will do again.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 16, 2018

Camp Verde is one of our favorite casual dining places to take out of town quests. Wonderful as always!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 16, 2018

Debbie was our wait person and she was attentive and discreet. Menu is nicely varied and the ambiance is outstanding. Gift shop has lovely items suited for kitchen afficianados and tourists. Grounds and landscaping beautiful and relaxing!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 15, 2018

We always love coming here. Usually with friends & they make the reservations. This time we came with family. The guys fished while we shopped.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 27, 2018

As "winter Texans" residing in the Kerrville area, we make sure we visit Camp Verde Restaurant a couple times a visit. This time, we introduced the facility to two other "newbie" couples. They enjoyed, as we continue to enjoy, the food, service and, of course, the store.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
15