About Camp Verde General Store and Restaurant

285 Camp Verde Road East
Camp Verde, TX 78010
View Larger Map

Every once in a while, if you are lucky, you will come upon a place that is more than you expected. It is as if you have found a secret treasure – a feeling of discovering something very special you want to share with your friends…

For more than 150 years, Camp Verde General Store has occupied this little piece of Texas. Give yourself a moment to indulge in the rich history of this timeless gem. Come relax in the shade, enjoy an ice-cold Coca-Cola™, have a one-of-a-kind sandwich from our enticing lunch menu and try our wide variety of savory jams, jellies and sauces.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Sunday: 11:00am - 3:00pm

Cross Street:
Highways 173 & 480

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(830) 634-2485

Website:
http://www.campverdegeneralstore.com/

Parking Details:
Plenty of free parking available!

Additional:
Beer, Counter Seating, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access

Camp Verde General Store and Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.8

value

4.7

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Lunch (34)
Worth the Drive (26)
Historic (23)
See All
Special Occasion (19)
Scenic View (18)
Casual (18)
Comfort Food (17)
Sunday Lunch (16)
Good for Birthdays (15)
Good for Groups (14)
Creative Cuisine (11)
Authentic (9)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Good for a Date (8)
Great for Brunch (7)
Good for Anniversaries (7)
Disabled Access (7)
Outstanding Value (7)
Fun (7)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Modern Decor (5)
Cozy (5)
Family Style (5)
Kid-friendly (5)
Afternoon Coffee (4)
Business Meals (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Afternoon Tea (3)
Healthy (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Quick Bite (2)
Romantic (2)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Waterfront (1)
Seasonal (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Organic (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
368 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great food and friendly service. It's o ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined 2 days ago

Great food and friendly service. It's our favorite place to eat!

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a wonderful time! Our waitress w ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined 3 days ago

We had a wonderful time! Our waitress was just the best and did a great job. The food was exceptional and all eight orders were exactly as requested. We are lucky enough to live close to Camp Verde and are able to wow visitors with a fabulous Texas Hill Country experience.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We meet friends at Camp Verde Store fair ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined 5 days ago

We meet friends at Camp Verde Store fairly often. The food is always good, and the service is exceptional. Our party of four had onion rings, soup, a BLT, and two different hamburgers between us. Everyone was happy with their food. I like their coleslaw, which has a mustard base rather than a mayo one. The onion rings have two different sauces and serve as a great starter course. Our waiter took the time to get every preference right...How do you want your burger?...the slaw isn't what you're used to, its based on course ground mustard...Was everything done to your liking....and so on. I've not heard a complaint about this eatery since I started going there. Save room for dessert for a final treat.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Casual, Historic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had reservations in place. We were a ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 11, 2017

I had reservations in place. We were a bit late in arriving but they held the table even though they were busy. We were taken immediately to our table and seated. One of my request was a quiet table away from the crowds. They put us in the back corner of the restaurant where it was reasonably quiet. We found the wait staff to be enjoyable and efficient. Our food was prepared nicely and again the wait staff was in helping everyone get what they wanted. With dining experience being good we took t he time to walk the grounds and they are wonderful. This combination of beautiful grounds, friendly and efficient wait staff, and good food made a business meal enjoyable. I would recommend this restaurant to my associates and friends.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful server...Carolyn! They did run ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Wonderful server...Carolyn!

They did run out of the special and i was disappointed!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Love this place. Make reservations so y ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on January 4, 2017

Love this place. Make reservations so you don't have to wait. Great place for girlfriends to spend a day shopping & dining!

Tags: Organic, Comfort Food, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Substituted a side salad for the homemad ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Substituted a side salad for the homemade chips/fries and was charged $1.50 for this. Was not informed this would occur.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

We dined here for lunch on a Thursday on ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 29, 2016

We dined here for lunch on a Thursday on our way to the wineries in Comfort. Fortunately a friend told us to make a reservation, as there were a lot of people waiting! We were seated right away. The decor is nice and the building charming and historic. Read about the history on their website before you go, as we did not see any historical markers or info during our visit even tho we wandered the grounds. Our lunch was delicious ( hubby had pork chops, I had veggie mushroom burger and coleslaw) and very reasonably priced. We did not indulge in dessert but it was apparent that dessert is a big draw and we saw many desserts being served. Maybe next time a stop for just coffee and dessert. On a nice weather day it would be good to visit as there are a lot of outdoor seating areas to just hang out.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Historic, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Now that we have discovered Camp Verde, ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Now that we have discovered Camp Verde, it will be a frequent stop for my family and friends. The restaurant is wonderful and the pies to die for. Gift shop is quite pricey but beautiful.

Tags: Casual, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Took a visiting relative to lunch at Cam ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Took a visiting relative to lunch at Camp Verde restaurant a couple of days after Christmas. The waitress was so helpful and charming, the food was plentiful and delicious. And the grounds were attractive. A special place to visit during the holidays!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Seasonal, Historic, Casual, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Camp Verde is one of my favorite places ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Camp Verde is one of my favorite places and I am happy to say that it continues to be so

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Brought my office staff from Llano Count ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Brought my office staff from Llano County Clerk's office for Christmas lunch. The 1 1/2 hour drive was well worth the trip. They found Camp Verde very exciting and fun. Enjoyed the shopping at store after lunch. Everything was wonderful and just love the surrounding grounds.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I always love going to Camp Verde store/ ...

 
 (Central Texas)·Dined on December 16, 2016

I always love going to Camp Verde store/restaurant,it's the most interesting place you've ever seen! The building is so historic & yet,such a comfortable place in their dining area & the views are gorgeous-you feel so out in the country & yet you're not too far from Kerrville or Bandera or Medina either.This is the heart of the Texas Hill Country,for sure! Worth the trip!

Tags: Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

excellent lunch, excellent service. We' ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 15, 2016

excellent lunch, excellent service. We'll be back.

Tags: Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Historic, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have always had great food and servic ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 7, 2016

We have always had great food and service here. This is our to-go to restaurant when company arrives because of the atmosphere and the unique shopping experience!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful with wonderful shopping & food ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Beautiful with wonderful shopping & food with lovely flavor combinations

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food, good prices with a great atm ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 1, 2016

Great food, good prices with a great atmosphere with excellent service. Making a reservation on-line is a snap and they call the day vefore to confirm. We will most certainly be eating there again. Thank You

Tags: Comfort Food, Worth the Drive,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had great service despite being Satur ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on November 26, 2016

We had great service despite being Saturday after Thanksgiving. We hope to be back soon.

Tags: Good for Groups, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our Daughter, son in law, and 10 year ol ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Our Daughter, son in law, and 10 year old twin grandsons were visiting for Thanksgiving, from out of state. We live in Frbg. Tx. so it is a long drive, but worth it. We took them here last year, they requested we eat lunch here again. The twins even remembered what they ordered last year, and wanted to order the same lunch. Paula our waitress was wonderful. Love this place!!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, , Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love to bring new friends here. Love the ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on November 21, 2016

Love to bring new friends here. Love the atmosphere, shopping, menu. Food is always good. Service is always good!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Family Style, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A delightful experience on the banks of ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on November 20, 2016

A delightful experience on the banks of a beautiful stream. The staff was warm, friendly and on their toes. Food was very good. Limited menu which is a good idea for quality. Beautiful environment.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic, Great for Lunch, Historic, Scenic View, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was my second visit and the restaur ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on November 20, 2016

This was my second visit and the restaurant was less busy and quieter which was nice. However, I wasn't thrilled with the food this time. There was too much pepper on the green beans. There was pepper on the chicken fingers and in the potatoes so it was just too much. I would much prefer tasting the green beans than a spice. There seemed to be a butter sauce which was fine or a little bacon fat would have worked.

The chicken tenders were very tasty except for the pepper. Since this is a personal preference, why not let people add their own when they are served.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value5

Love this place. Food and service is AL ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Love this place. Food and service is ALWAYS great.

Tags: Cozy, Modern Decor, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always good food. Great selection of san ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Always good food. Great selection of sandwiches. Exceptional service and ambiance.

Tags: Quick Bite, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love Camp Verde! Food and staff are exc ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on November 9, 2016

Love Camp Verde! Food and staff are excellent! It is one of our favorite places to visit!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Historic, Neighborhood Gem, , Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect spot to take pit of town guests. ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Perfect spot to take pit of town guests. Lunch and shopping all together. The dining room staff was "top notch". On my top favorite places in the Hill Country.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Historic, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Fun, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Afternoon Tea, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was a GREAT trip from where I live in ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on October 29, 2016

It was a GREAT trip from where I live in Boerne Texas. An acquaintance told me about Camp Verde.

I would definitely tell others about your great restaurant & general store.

I will be back at another time for lunch again.

Tags: Historic, Hot Spot, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We LOVE the ambiance and consistency of ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on October 22, 2016

We LOVE the ambiance and consistency of Camp Verde. The wait staff are always good , but our lady on this date was outstanding. We had family from Maine who enjoyed the time so very much.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Historic, Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food, great service, great setting ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Great food, great service, great setting! It's one of our favorite places.

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was delicious but too rich to eat f ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on October 19, 2016

Food was delicious but too rich to eat for everyday fare.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Comfort Food, Casual, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We always enjoy the food here, the ambia ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on October 18, 2016

We always enjoy the food here, the ambiance & our waitress, Maria is always a pleasure as she's knowledgeable, personable & efficient. On Tuesday we invited a dear friend to dine with us for her first time. Celeste, the hostess seated us & we had our reservation at 2:00 & it was far from being crowded. My husband walks with a walker due to major back surgery, our friend was toting her oxygen & I have MS & walk with a limp & use a cane. My husband asked if we could be seated closer to the front as we passed 3 empty tables for four, but were told they were full. They were not & upon leaving after 3:00, only one table had seated patrons. I wouldn't have minded had the tables been full or reserved, but they weren't & for 3 disabled individuals we found it quite unusual especially since we requested a closer table. We will return as my husband & I enjoy Camp Verde, but our friend said she didn't know if she would do the way Celeste spoke to us. It is quite unfortunate as she owns her own business & as you know, word of mouth can certainly help one's business. This is my first time to write something negative in a review as I normally like to point out the positives, but thought this should be brought to your attention. Thank-you.

Tags: Comfort Food, Historic, Quick Bite, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Once again Camp Verde provided a great e ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Once again Camp Verde provided a great experience......A beautiful comfortable Sunday drive, a table awaiting our arrival, and delicious food with the dessert to die for! What a treat! The wait-staff was very polite and efficient, even apologetic for the food being slightly late in the preparation (we were one of the last to arrive before closing). I think the secret is out-----the store and restaurant were crowded-----making reservations for the restaurant is a definite plus! We'll be back soon because we noticed something upstairs we should have purchased---hope it's still there when we get back to Camp Verde in a few days!!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Fun, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Kid-friendly, Worth the Drive, Disabled Access, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

JUST FANTASTIC!!! Could NOT have been ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on October 15, 2016

JUST FANTASTIC!!! Could NOT have been better! The food, service, and atmosphere is worth the trip, wherever you drive from to get there!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A wonderful restaurant in the hill count ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on October 9, 2016

A wonderful restaurant in the hill country. Delicious food, great service. We had the special which was petite steak with dill butter, garlic mashed potatoes and sautéed squash. Steak was cooked perfectly, very tender. Sandwiches are also amazing. Absolutely worth the drive.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Historic, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was great as usual! Always the ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on October 5, 2016

The food was great as usual! Always there's some special touch to the ingredients that surprises my tastebuds! I LOVE the Banana Cream Pie! Except for the pie (None left!), I always have enough to take home for another meal. Maria provided wonderful service. Thanks again for an always special time with friends or family.

Tags: Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Business Meals, Modern Decor, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Tasty food - prompt and friendly service ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on October 5, 2016

Tasty food - prompt and friendly service - dining area spotlessly clean.

Tags: Authentic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

An easy drive from Kerrville, it is alwa ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on October 3, 2016

An easy drive from Kerrville, it is always a pleasure to go to Camp Verde General Store and Restaurant for lunch and shopping. Food is great, the ambiance is delightful, and the restaurant staff and servers are friendly, courteous, knowledgeable and efficient. Shopping is fantastic, especially kitchen and fragrance items. Love their Mud Pie Collection and their florals, too. The Sales Associates are the best. They are anxious to please and go the extra mile to make the shopping experience a happy one. They always make me feel like they are glad I came. The architecture of the building is extremely well done and the beautiful grounds are impeccably maintained....a perfect venue for a private party. We are fortunate to have this gem in our area!

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Once again we dined at Camp Verde & neit ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on September 29, 2016

Once again we dined at Camp Verde & neither of us was disappointed. I truly love the atmosphere & the food & desserts are delicious. We both tried something different this time & know that we'd order again. You will not be disappointed in the food or the ambiance. We were fortunate to have the same waitress, Maria & she's exceptional. Highly recommend!

Tags: Historic, Family Style, Romantic, Disabled Access, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was my second visit for lunch at th ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on September 24, 2016

This was my second visit for lunch at this location in a week like everything will be back.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Historic, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Casual, Quick Bite, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful setting and fabulous food. Gr ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Wonderful setting and fabulous food. Great for a friends' gathering. Highly recommend.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Afternoon Coffee, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.