About Camp Verde General Store and Restaurant

285 Camp Verde Road East
Camp Verde, TX 78010
View Larger Map

Every once in a while, if you are lucky, you will come upon a place that is more than you expected. It is as if you have found a secret treasure – a feeling of discovering something very special you want to share with your friends…

For more than 150 years, Camp Verde General Store has occupied this little piece of Texas. Give yourself a moment to indulge in the rich history of this timeless gem. Come relax in the shade, enjoy an ice-cold Coca-Cola™, have a one-of-a-kind sandwich from our enticing lunch menu and try our wide variety of savory jams, jellies and sauces.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Sunday: 11:00am - 3:00pm

Cross Street:
Highways 173 & 480

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(830) 634-2485

Website:
http://www.campverdegeneralstore.com/

Parking Details:
Plenty of free parking available!

Additional:
Beer, Counter Seating, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access

Camp Verde General Store and Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.8

value

4.7

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
San Antonio
Best Food
San Antonio
Best Service
San Antonio
11 More
Best Ambiance
San Antonio
Best Value
San Antonio
Scenic View
San Antonio
American
San Antonio
Best Overall
San Antonio
Best Food
San Antonio
Best Service
San Antonio
Best Ambiance
San Antonio
Best Value
San Antonio
Scenic View
San Antonio
American
San Antonio
Best Restaurants in Camp Verde ›

Great for Lunch (58)
Scenic View (33)
Worth the Drive (32)
See All
Special Occasion (27)
Casual (25)
Comfort Food (25)
Historic (24)
Good for Groups (23)
Sunday Lunch (22)
Good for Birthdays (19)
Great for Brunch (15)
Authentic (15)
Outstanding Value (14)
Family Style (14)
Good for a Date (14)
Neighborhood Gem (13)
Creative Cuisine (13)
Quiet Conversation (12)
Fit for Foodies (11)
Good for Anniversaries (11)
Disabled Access (10)
Kid-friendly (8)
Afternoon Coffee (8)
Modern Decor (8)
Quick Bite (7)
Cozy (7)
Fun (7)
Romantic (6)
Tasting Menu (6)
Great for Outdoor Dining (6)
Local Ingredients (5)
Healthy (5)
Business Meals (5)
Afternoon Tea (4)
Hot Spot (3)
Waterfront (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Open Kitchen (3)
Seasonal (3)
People Watching (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Private Room (1)
Live Music (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Tapas (1)
Organic (1)
Sort By:
S
351 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great food, good prices with a great atm ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined 3 days ago

Great food, good prices with a great atmosphere with excellent service. Making a reservation on-line is a snap and they call the day vefore to confirm. We will most certainly be eating there again. Thank You

Tags: Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had great service despite being Satur ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on November 26, 2016

We had great service despite being Saturday after Thanksgiving. We hope to be back soon.

Tags: Good for Groups, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our Daughter, son in law, and 10 year ol ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Our Daughter, son in law, and 10 year old twin grandsons were visiting for Thanksgiving, from out of state. We live in Frbg. Tx. so it is a long drive, but worth it. We took them here last year, they requested we eat lunch here again. The twins even remembered what they ordered last year, and wanted to order the same lunch. Paula our waitress was wonderful. Love this place!!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Outstanding Value, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love to bring new friends here. Love the ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on November 21, 2016

Love to bring new friends here. Love the atmosphere, shopping, menu. Food is always good. Service is always good!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Family Style, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A delightful experience on the banks of ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on November 20, 2016

A delightful experience on the banks of a beautiful stream. The staff was warm, friendly and on their toes. Food was very good. Limited menu which is a good idea for quality. Beautiful environment.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic, Great for Lunch, Historic, Scenic View, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was my second visit and the restaur ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on November 20, 2016

This was my second visit and the restaurant was less busy and quieter which was nice. However, I wasn't thrilled with the food this time. There was too much pepper on the green beans. There was pepper on the chicken fingers and in the potatoes so it was just too much. I would much prefer tasting the green beans than a spice. There seemed to be a butter sauce which was fine or a little bacon fat would have worked.

The chicken tenders were very tasty except for the pepper. Since this is a personal preference, why not let people add their own when they are served.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value5

Love this place. Food and service is AL ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Love this place. Food and service is ALWAYS great.

Tags: Cozy, Modern Decor, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always good food. Great selection of san ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Always good food. Great selection of sandwiches. Exceptional service and ambiance.

Tags: Quick Bite, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love Camp Verde! Food and staff are exc ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on November 9, 2016

Love Camp Verde! Food and staff are excellent! It is one of our favorite places to visit!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Historic, Neighborhood Gem, Outstanding Value, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect spot to take pit of town guests. ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Perfect spot to take pit of town guests. Lunch and shopping all together. The dining room staff was "top notch". On my top favorite places in the Hill Country.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Historic, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Fun, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Afternoon Tea, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was a GREAT trip from where I live in ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on October 29, 2016

It was a GREAT trip from where I live in Boerne Texas. An acquaintance told me about Camp Verde.

I would definitely tell others about your great restaurant & general store.

I will be back at another time for lunch again.

Tags: Historic, Hot Spot, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We LOVE the ambiance and consistency of ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on October 22, 2016

We LOVE the ambiance and consistency of Camp Verde. The wait staff are always good , but our lady on this date was outstanding. We had family from Maine who enjoyed the time so very much.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Historic, Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food, great service, great setting ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Great food, great service, great setting! It's one of our favorite places.

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was delicious but too rich to eat f ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on October 19, 2016

Food was delicious but too rich to eat for everyday fare.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Comfort Food, Casual, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We always enjoy the food here, the ambia ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on October 18, 2016

We always enjoy the food here, the ambiance & our waitress, Maria is always a pleasure as she's knowledgeable, personable & efficient. On Tuesday we invited a dear friend to dine with us for her first time. Celeste, the hostess seated us & we had our reservation at 2:00 & it was far from being crowded. My husband walks with a walker due to major back surgery, our friend was toting her oxygen & I have MS & walk with a limp & use a cane. My husband asked if we could be seated closer to the front as we passed 3 empty tables for four, but were told they were full. They were not & upon leaving after 3:00, only one table had seated patrons. I wouldn't have minded had the tables been full or reserved, but they weren't & for 3 disabled individuals we found it quite unusual especially since we requested a closer table. We will return as my husband & I enjoy Camp Verde, but our friend said she didn't know if she would do the way Celeste spoke to us. It is quite unfortunate as she owns her own business & as you know, word of mouth can certainly help one's business. This is my first time to write something negative in a review as I normally like to point out the positives, but thought this should be brought to your attention. Thank-you.

Tags: Comfort Food, Historic, Quick Bite, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Once again Camp Verde provided a great e ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Once again Camp Verde provided a great experience......A beautiful comfortable Sunday drive, a table awaiting our arrival, and delicious food with the dessert to die for! What a treat! The wait-staff was very polite and efficient, even apologetic for the food being slightly late in the preparation (we were one of the last to arrive before closing). I think the secret is out-----the store and restaurant were crowded-----making reservations for the restaurant is a definite plus! We'll be back soon because we noticed something upstairs we should have purchased---hope it's still there when we get back to Camp Verde in a few days!!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Fun, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Kid-friendly, Worth the Drive, Disabled Access, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

JUST FANTASTIC!!! Could NOT have been ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on October 15, 2016

JUST FANTASTIC!!! Could NOT have been better! The food, service, and atmosphere is worth the trip, wherever you drive from to get there!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A wonderful restaurant in the hill count ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on October 9, 2016

A wonderful restaurant in the hill country. Delicious food, great service. We had the special which was petite steak with dill butter, garlic mashed potatoes and sautéed squash. Steak was cooked perfectly, very tender. Sandwiches are also amazing. Absolutely worth the drive.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Historic, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was great as usual! Always the ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on October 5, 2016

The food was great as usual! Always there's some special touch to the ingredients that surprises my tastebuds! I LOVE the Banana Cream Pie! Except for the pie (None left!), I always have enough to take home for another meal. Maria provided wonderful service. Thanks again for an always special time with friends or family.

Tags: Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Business Meals, Modern Decor, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Tasty food - prompt and friendly service ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on October 5, 2016

Tasty food - prompt and friendly service - dining area spotlessly clean.

Tags: Authentic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

An easy drive from Kerrville, it is alwa ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on October 3, 2016

An easy drive from Kerrville, it is always a pleasure to go to Camp Verde General Store and Restaurant for lunch and shopping. Food is great, the ambiance is delightful, and the restaurant staff and servers are friendly, courteous, knowledgeable and efficient. Shopping is fantastic, especially kitchen and fragrance items. Love their Mud Pie Collection and their florals, too. The Sales Associates are the best. They are anxious to please and go the extra mile to make the shopping experience a happy one. They always make me feel like they are glad I came. The architecture of the building is extremely well done and the beautiful grounds are impeccably maintained....a perfect venue for a private party. We are fortunate to have this gem in our area!

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Once again we dined at Camp Verde & neit ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on September 29, 2016

Once again we dined at Camp Verde & neither of us was disappointed. I truly love the atmosphere & the food & desserts are delicious. We both tried something different this time & know that we'd order again. You will not be disappointed in the food or the ambiance. We were fortunate to have the same waitress, Maria & she's exceptional. Highly recommend!

Tags: Historic, Family Style, Romantic, Disabled Access, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was my second visit for lunch at th ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on September 24, 2016

This was my second visit for lunch at this location in a week like everything will be back.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Historic, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Casual, Quick Bite, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful setting and fabulous food. Gr ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Wonderful setting and fabulous food. Great for a friends' gathering. Highly recommend.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Afternoon Coffee, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always Camp Verde is a great lunch ti ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on September 17, 2016

As always Camp Verde is a great lunch time place to meet friends. The wait staff is attentive without being overbearing. And the food is very good and plentiful for the money.

Tags: Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Good value Well worth the trip. We'lol ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Good value Well worth the trip. We'lol

be back soon.bi

Tags: Fun, Casual, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We have been dining at this location for ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on September 16, 2016

We have been dining at this location for over 2 years, for the most part it has been above average to very good. The last 3 visits to the restaurant have been disappointing to say the least. Our most recents visit resulted in warm french fries, warm burgers and sandwiches, to the point that the cheese on the meat patties had already congealed back to a solid.

The visit before the last one resulted in a 50 minute wait for two salads, while the rest of the restaurant was being served. The waitress said, "it's not my fault" which didn't set well and was a poor excuse for lack of service.

On the last visit the waiter stated they had new people in the kitchen, which again was a poor excuse, the manager did come to our table and offered free dessert in lieu of the poor service.

We will probably go back again, but it will be a few months before we do.......I am reluctant at this point to recommend the restaurant to anyone.

Tags: Scenic View, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value4

This is one of my Favorite places. Food ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on September 16, 2016

This is one of my Favorite places. Food is very good with daily specials. Dessert is outstanding! !! Serves from 11 to 3 pm only. Adjacent to great gift store with outside seating . Don't miss it BUT..be sure to call for reservations.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Outstanding Value, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding food, we were a party of 4 a ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on September 16, 2016

Outstanding food, we were a party of 4 and everyone greatly enjoyed lunch we will return again very soon.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Maria is a wonderful server. Food is ou ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on September 16, 2016

Maria is a wonderful server. Food is outstanding.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Outstanding Value, Great for Lunch, Modern Decor, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Camp Verde-is always a pleasure--wonderf ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on September 13, 2016

Camp Verde-is always a pleasure--wonderful shopping and good food, prices are great. Our daughter, son in law and their twin boys visit from No. Carolina once a year, either Thanksgiving or Christmas. And this place is the place we all vote to come back too spend an afternoon.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Family Style, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Outstanding Value, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Well worth the 50 minutes from our home. ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on September 13, 2016

Well worth the 50 minutes from our home. Scenic drive. Beautiful and walkable access to the river across the street. Clean. Thoughtful with spa soaps & lotions in the ladies room. Very nicely decorated. Well maintained. Huge variety of cooking utensils and such downstairs shop; huge selection of house decor and clothing/accessories upstairs. Local products. Last but not least, great food, great value, locally sourced as much as possible. Surprising how packed they are considering the isolated location compared to so many restaurants in so many nearby towns. They do stand alone. Unique history about Army camels. Still operative post office in the back room. Reservations are a MUST throughout their entire opening hours for the restaurant.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Paleo Friendly, Historic, Scenic View, Healthy, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Good for Birthdays, Good Vegetarian Options, Kid-friendly, Organic, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Gluten Free Options, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Casual, Outstanding Value, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Open Kitchen, Authentic, Afternoon Coffee, Great for Brunch, Business Meals, Fun, Romantic, Family Style, Afternoon Tea, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Third time we have visited. Have enjoye ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on September 9, 2016

Third time we have visited. Have enjoyed everything every time. From Kerrville the location is easy and the landscape is very nice. Of course, the history is interesting too. Don't change anything.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Good for Birthdays, Family Style, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

This is a beautiful facility open only f ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on September 7, 2016

This is a beautiful facility open only for lunch. Read the history of Camp Verde before going and you will enjoy it more. Large sandwiches are my favorite along with homemade chips. Reservations are a good idea as the place is sometimes crowded. Great grounds and picnic tables. Servers are always pleasant.

Tags: Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My Mom, my brother and I went there for ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on September 7, 2016

My Mom, my brother and I went there for the first time! The people were friendly! The atmosphere! We enjoyed the food, the people, the store, and the history! We would go again. We would recommend it to anybody! Thanks for a great time!

Tags: Open Kitchen, Seasonal, Scenic View, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Sunday Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Outstanding Value, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Historic, Private Room, Afternoon Coffee, Romantic, Good for a Date, Fun, Healthy, Afternoon Tea, Family Style, Great for Lunch, Disabled Access, Tasting Menu, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Live Music, Casual, Worth the Drive, Quick Bite, People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Cozy, Great for Brunch, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I enjoyed the Hotsy-Totsy Sandwich very ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on September 6, 2016

I enjoyed the Hotsy-Totsy Sandwich very much. It was very large but cooked to perfection. My wife had a spinach salad and we shared each other's food. Plenty of food to share and a good variety of flavors. The deserts are great also.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Casual, Comfort Food, Gluten Free Options, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Loved the food it was delicious! I find ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on September 4, 2016

Loved the food it was delicious! I find the neatest things when shopping there! Very good place to take friends and family for any occasion.

Tags: Special Occasion, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, great service, great price-- ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on September 2, 2016

Great food, great service, great price--great place!

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We are fortunate to live in Bandera so w ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on August 28, 2016

We are fortunate to live in Bandera so we visit your store and restaurant quite frequently as

a couple, with friends and family. The food is outstanding - a beautiful retreat!

Tags: Quick Bite, Good for Groups, Fun, Great for Brunch, Paleo Friendly, Tasting Menu, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great as always. My sister was in town ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on August 26, 2016

Great as always. My sister was in town from Florida and lunch at Camp Verde is a must. It just wouldn't be a visit if we did not lunch at Camp Verde. Lisa waited on us which made the lunch more perfect. She is friendly,efficient , and works to make sure everything is just right. She is by far my favorite waitress.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Comfort Food, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.