Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 4 times today

Camp Verde General Store and Restaurant

4.8
547 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
American
Top Tags:
  • Great for Lunch
  • Casual
  • Worth the Drive
Every once in a while, if you are lucky, you will come upon a place that is more than you expected. It is as if you have found a secret treasure – a feeling of discovering something very special you want to share with your friends…

For more than 150 years, Camp Verde General Store has occupied this little piece of Texas. Give yourself a moment to indulge in the rich history of this timeless gem. Come relax in the shade, enjoy an ice-cold Coca-Cola™, have a one-of-a-kind sandwich from our enticing lunch menu and try our wide variety of savory jams, jellies and sauces.
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
American, Comfort Food
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Monday - Sunday: 11:00am - 3:00pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(830) 634-2485
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Highways 173 & 480
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Plenty of free parking available!
Additional
Beer, Counter Seating, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access
What 547 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.8based on recent ratings
4.8
food
4.8
service
4.8
ambience
4.7
value
Noise · Moderate
97% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined 6 days ago

This is one of our favorite places to eat. Not only is the food very good but the staff is so friendly and welcoming. I had their mushroom burger and it was delicious. My husband had the hotsey totsey which is an outstanding sandwich. The coconut cream pie is to die for and well worth the 45 minute drive we have to take to get to the restaurant.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 7 days ago

We had a class reunion luncheon and thoroughly enjoyed the food, the ambiance and the scenery!! I would recommend to anyone for any occasion!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 7 days ago

Introduced friends to the restaurant. They wanted to come back the next day.
Everyone raved about their meal.
The wait staff was friendly and attentive
The restaurant is beautiful

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 8, 2018

Simply a very nice, clean restaurant with outstanding food and service and reasonable prices. Highly recommend for all occasions.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 4, 2018

Great place and the food was delicious. Although I don't recommend the Chips and Salsa. Salsa was rather bland and definitely needs more seasoning.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 30, 2018

We fell in love with it on our first visit! The food is excellent, the atmosphere is great, and the staff is fantastic. We have been back three times in two weeks. Highly recommend it for everyone.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on March 28, 2018

We visited Camp Verde several times, but it has been almost two years since our last journey out to this quaint storied location. In the past eight years we have visited hear about 8 times, but it has been awhile due to illness. However apparently we haven't missed anything. There were four in our party and it wasn't worth the drive!

The service was terrible. We waited 20 minutes for someone to take our drink orders and we had a reservation and were seated about 3 minutes earlier. We finally went to see what the matter was and it was another 4 minutes before anyone came. We promptly were served our drinks and we insisted on ordering at the same time as well! We had plenty of time to decide!!!

All four orders were different, no one was excited about their meal. No one finished meal either. Despite being served the food promptly, it was nothing to great. The croissant sandwich was soggy. One of the burgers was under cooked also soggy... we had been there so long by now and frustrated we didn't send anything back. A simple request for additional condiments was never fulfilled.

The couple who paid the bill were out of town family members. We were appalled! We skipped dessert. Thank goodness we had a tiny birthday cake we could share waiting at home, though we had hope to save it for later.

We traveled out to Camp Verde in the midst of cloud storms and questionable weather. Oh how I wished I had called and cancelled the reservation. We won't be returning any time to soon. This was a celebration for my wife's birthday. It was a was one of her favorite trips and spots to visits! She was so disappointed and I was too! We discovered it on our first date. Sadly, we will look to other special spots now and not here. So long Camp Verde. You were so reasonable in price in the past, so much fun, but this time you were terrible and there was nothing fun about our day and we are sad.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 22, 2018

We love taking out of town guests here as well as nice daytime dates with friends. Love the food and the waiter Trip is awesome!!!!!!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 22, 2018

I normally love the food but this time my sandwich was not up to par. I had the croissant with ham and cheese but never again. First time I have been disappointed, but will be back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 18, 2018

We are from Canada and every time we come to the area we make this a must go to stop for lunch. Service outstanding ,Sandy was our server, food is well seasoned and tasty. Very much enjoy our visit each and every time.Desserts especially the peach cobbler is a two thumbs up. Posted a pic of it on FB.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 17, 2018

Wonderful food in a lovely Hill Country setting...and fabulous shopping to boot! Who could ask for more?

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 16, 2018

Consistent food and great friendly service. Arthur's Delight was a Thanksgiving style treat of a sandwich. Turkey and Cranberry with a hint of jalapeno - will do again.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 16, 2018

Camp Verde is one of our favorite casual dining places to take out of town quests. Wonderful as always!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 16, 2018

Debbie was our wait person and she was attentive and discreet. Menu is nicely varied and the ambiance is outstanding. Gift shop has lovely items suited for kitchen afficianados and tourists. Grounds and landscaping beautiful and relaxing!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 15, 2018

We always love coming here. Usually with friends & they make the reservations. This time we came with family. The guys fished while we shopped.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 27, 2018

As "winter Texans" residing in the Kerrville area, we make sure we visit Camp Verde Restaurant a couple times a visit. This time, we introduced the facility to two other "newbie" couples. They enjoyed, as we continue to enjoy, the food, service and, of course, the store.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 25, 2018

Great food, service, price! Took a couple for lunch who had never been there. They loved it and will definitely be back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 21, 2018

Our waitress was excellent...overall service was as well.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 21, 2018

My aunt and cousins came to visit from Atlanta, Georgia and the best place to take them for a memorable lunch was Camp Verde. They enjoyed the food, the ambiance, the shopping, and views immensely. Our waitress Lisa Allerkamp was a gem.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 20, 2018

Outstanding food and service as always. Lisa is at the top of the game as a server.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 18, 2018

We can't say enough about how enjoyable our experience was at Camp Verde.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 16, 2018

Totally enjoyed our experience and ran into a "small world" acquaintance, to boot! Management came to the table to say hi and check on us, which was nice. The aus jus was rather salty that day, but overall the food was great! A little pricey for lunch but it's not an "every day" sort of place either. Nice ambiance and views, and a great little store connected to it with lots to look at and reminisce over.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 13, 2018

All in my party of four were extremely pleased with all aspects of our visit for lunch. We are
definitely looking forward to our next visit. Our waitress was better than any wait staff that I have encountered. She is a definite "KEEPER"!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 13, 2018

EXCELLENT AS USUAL. ONE OF THE REASONS WE GO IS ITS CONSISTENCY!

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on February 9, 2018

This is one of our favorite restaurants and never a problem until this visit. We waited over an hour for our food after being seated. I believe they were short of servers and we were told they had a "HUGE" take out order. (Doesn't make sense to neglect seated guests for take out ???
We will be back, but this was not a pleasant visit.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 9, 2018

Our group of friends get together every month for lunch. We used to go to a different place each month, but we have all agreed that Camp Verde is too good to miss on our get togethers. The food is delicious and the desserts are fantastic. Reservations are easy to make and we are always seated at our requested time every time. Thank you for making our special occasions very special.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 9, 2018

Love this place! Great time, delicious food, great atmosphere and service! Wish I could rate Camp Verde higher than a 5.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 7, 2018

Been coming to Camp Verde for over thirty years. It has been fun watching the changes take place and the restaurant has been a plus. Our children always loved making the trip from our weekend ranch in Utopia to visit the candy shop many years ago. Congratulations on your vision and look forward to many more visits. Debra

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 6, 2018

Great place for friendly get together or lunch that is not fastfood

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 4, 2018

As always the Camp Verde restaurant experience was great. Nice ambience and good service from Trip, our server.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 2, 2018

Always great food and exceptional personnel. No matter how much you eat, you must have desert. Will drive an hour to eat and shop there.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 2, 2018

Have been camping & motorcycle riding in the area for years. Finally made reservations for lunch. We were seated at exact time. Lunch was great and our waiter Trip was great.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 28, 2018

Great place to eat and a wonderful service.
Family was in from out of town they loved the place and the general store.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 28, 2018

My husband and I went for lunch. We drove up from Universal City which is about 1 1/2 hours away. This was a wonderful day trip. The place is a historical monument and the food was wonderful. We did not feel rushed in any way during our meal. The staff was so welcoming. The exterior decor is interesting. We had a great time looking exploring. The store is amazing. We plan on returning often. This is an awesome day trip for the San Antonio area.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 28, 2018

Delicious food ! Beautiful place ! Return customer for sure !!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 26, 2018

Variety of menu choices. Great food. Caring, efficient service. Fast but not rushed. Couldn’t have been better. General store is worth the trip even if you don’t go to the restaurant.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 22, 2018

Very pleasant staff and atmosphere. The food is very fresh and delicious every time.
I always love eating here.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 20, 2018

Good food and service. Desserts are to die for....especially the peach cobbler !! Best I have ever had.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 15, 2018

We love coming to Camp Verde. The food is always delicious and the atmosphere is very good. It’s definitely worth the drive for the food and for the shop.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 15, 2018

The food and service is always great and to add the charm of the general store for some retail shopping fun makes the drive so worth it. I appreciate the ability to make reservations to insure there is a table available. We will be back!

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
14