About Camp Verde General Store and Restaurant

285 Camp Verde Road East
Camp Verde, TX 78010
View Larger Map

Every once in a while, if you are lucky, you will come upon a place that is more than you expected. It is as if you have found a secret treasure – a feeling of discovering something very special you want to share with your friends…

For more than 150 years, Camp Verde General Store has occupied this little piece of Texas. Give yourself a moment to indulge in the rich history of this timeless gem. Come relax in the shade, enjoy an ice-cold Coca-Cola™, have a one-of-a-kind sandwich from our enticing lunch menu and try our wide variety of savory jams, jellies and sauces.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Sunday: 11:00am - 3:00pm

Cross Street:
Highways 173 & 480

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(830) 634-2485

Website:
http://www.campverdegeneralstore.com/

Parking Details:
Plenty of free parking available!

Additional:
Beer, Counter Seating, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Smoking Area, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access

Camp Verde General Store and Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.8

noise

Moderate

99% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
San Antonio
Best Food
San Antonio
Best Service
San Antonio
13 More
Best Ambiance
San Antonio
Best Value
San Antonio
Great for Lunch
San Antonio
Scenic View
San Antonio
American
San Antonio
Best Overall
San Antonio
Best Food
San Antonio
Best Service
San Antonio
Best Ambiance
San Antonio
Best Value
San Antonio
Great for Lunch
San Antonio
Scenic View
San Antonio
American
San Antonio
Best Restaurants in Camp Verde ›

great for lunch (84)
scenic view (50)
special occasion (43)
See All
good for groups (35)
great for brunch (29)
fit for foodies (25)
neighborhood gem (23)
great for outdoor dining (15)
romantic (12)
kid-friendly (9)
hot spot (5)
notable wine list (2)
vibrant bar scene (2)
late-night find (2)
Sort By:
Newest
276 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Our Wednesday noon party of 4 enjoyed th ...

Dined 2 days ago

Our Wednesday noon party of 4 enjoyed the hearty meatloaf & mashed potatoes, delicious Reuben sandwiches and the specialty hot ham & cheese sandwich. The Reubens are large (glad I asked for mustard on the side) and could be easily shared and the meatloaf entree was large enough to ask for a to-go. Potato chips and french fries are too heavy (ask for a different side). Coconut cream pie was yummy as expected. Uncertain why the buttermilk pie was served with a scoop of vanilla icecream. It was a little thick...average. Waiter was friendly, but not forthcoming to offer dessert (additional) forks so we could share desserts. Iced tea could be more refreshing. Glad we had made a reservation. Most tables were full.

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We found it to be great. Good food,servi ...

Dined 5 days ago

We found it to be great. Good food,service,staff etc. No complaints what so ever. Really amazed at reviews that complained about service, salty food etc. As I said, we really enjoyed the experience. Have told all our friends about it and intend to return for Christmas Pageant.

Tags: great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place! Beautiful facility & settin ...

Dined on June 24, 2016

Great place! Beautiful facility & setting. Food was delicious. Waitress was friendly, outgoing & very good at her job. Will definitely be going back the next time we're in the area!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We took our daughter & son-in-law for lu ...

Dined on June 23, 2016

We took our daughter & son-in-law for lunch last week at Camp Verde for the first time & we couldn't have been more pleased. We've been going to Camp Verde for many years now, but this was our first time to dine & we couldn't have been happier. We all ordered different sandwiches & my wife had the meatloaf which she said was better than hers even & the sandwiches were all delicious. The ladies couldn't finish their meals so when it came time for dessert, we opted out, but got a sampling of various gelato & they all were so good that my wife & I know we'll be leaving room next time. This is definitely going to be a new favorite place of ours to go to & still, great shopping for the wife. I must add the kitchen shop is a great addition for men too. This is definitely a find & we highly recommend it.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very nice atmosphere, and the food and s ...

Dined on June 20, 2016

Very nice atmosphere, and the food and service are good. It's a good place to have lunch with friends or by yourself. It's out of the city / town and so it's a different, more peaceful environment. I feel like I've been on vacation after having lunch here.

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Consistently delicious food and relaxing ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Consistently delicious food and relaxing atmosphere.

Tags: great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Took husband to Camp Verde Restaurant fo ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Took husband to Camp Verde Restaurant for Father's Day (his request). Of course, we were not disappointed. Food (meatloaf for the hubby and sandwich for me) was tasty and plentiful (took leftovers home). The following day we recommended Camp Verde to my husband's doctor....two days later when we saw him again, he said he had already looked up Camp Verde and glad to see Open Table...he and his family are planning a trip there soon.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Camp Verde is a feel-good spot with exce ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

Camp Verde is a feel-good spot with excellent food served in a friendly atmosphere. I love it!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I am so thrilled that such a lovely plac ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

I am so thrilled that such a lovely place is so close to me ! I loved the different shops and the great selections and products !! Thank you

Tags: great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience5
service3
value3

Your restaurant is a beautiful clean and ...

Dined on June 3, 2016

Your restaurant is a beautiful clean and extra special dining experience, but I was very disappointed in the chicken tenders order. The tenders were extremely thin, approximately 1/4 to 1/2 inch thick and slightly over cooked. I would much rather get a smaller serving or pay more and get thicker juicer pieces of chicken. My husband and I have been to your restaurant on many occasions and generally found it a delightful outing. We will continue to have you part of our dining experience.

Tags: great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Busing tables

Dined on May 28, 2016

So our meal was lovely we loved the small things .. Fresh flowers interesting napkins top notch. Only thing I could recommend from a health issue is how the tables are cleaned. The biggest thing is that employees where carrying all the glasses and plates to the back with their hands with fingers into the glasses. A small round tray would be an easy fix, again it's just the little things.

Tags: great for lunch
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Beautiful Location

Dined on May 28, 2016

The location and browsing the store are the high-lights of this restaurant. The food was not what we hoped for. Hubby got Donna's meatloaf which was okay. I got the chopped steak which was so salty (the gravy) I was unable to eat it. If we return, we will probably just get a sandwich. The location makes it worth the drive and I could spend hours looking at the store.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful place in scenic setting

Dined on May 28, 2016

We came here for our Anniversary lunch. We had a Reservation and glad we did because it was busy. The setting was very nice. Our server, Debbie, was awesome and thought of everything we could need or want. Our meals were outstanding and prepared just right - entrees of meatloaf and pork chop were very flavorful. The sides were just right - loved the garlic mashed potatoes. The banana cream pie was lovely to look at and better to eat! The General Store is a lot of fun! There are so many eclectic items and everyone was so friendly.

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place for lunch

Dined on May 24, 2016

Quality and variety of dishes is excellent. Very good value compared to basic burger and chicken sandwich joints in Bandera. (Chickin Coop, TJ's at the Forge, etc.)

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Good as always

vip
Dined on May 22, 2016

An enjoyable Sunday lunch with our choices of the standards of meat loaf and chicken tenders. Superb service as always.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Super visit as usual. This is one of ou ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

Super visit as usual. This is one of our favorite places to go for lunch. The food is always good and the waitstaff is very friendly. The restaurant goes out of their way to make you feel special from the seating to the leaving. It is such a refreshing change from so many other places that don't seem to notice that you are there. No so at Camp Verde, they are just delighted to see you and you feel that they are. Great place for great food and nice staff.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food and relaxing atmosphere.

Dined on May 14, 2016

Camp Verde Restaurant is located out in the country between Kerville and Bandera, TX. It is located in a beautiful setting with immaculately kept grounds and facilities. The food is consistently good. I had the special which was salmon with carrots. My wife had a BLT with hand made fries and both meals were delicious. For dessert, my wife had the apple pie with ice cream, and I had the banana split which was enormous. The server did a great job.

Tags: great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Fabulous place for lunch with friends. ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

Fabulous place for lunch with friends. Also a nice treat for anyone looking for a good meal. Either male or female will enjoy the variety of the menu and the excellent wait staff. Everyone is so friendly and make you feel very special.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a Delightfully Charming Place For Lunch

Dined on May 9, 2016

My wife and I hadn't been by Camp Verde since the new addition was added several years ago. Architecturally, the facility and surrounding grounds are spectacular. The ambiance in the dining area is very pleasing with good acoustics so that you can converse easily with your companion. Our server was very attentive. The food was delicious. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding!

Dined on May 8, 2016

From the moment we were greeted at the door the moment we left we were amazed at the outstanding service and the extra touches along the way.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Mother's Day Lunch

Dined on May 7, 2016

Great place. Service was quick and server was very friendly. Food was good and overall the experience was great. I will definitely recommend to friends.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful setting

Dined on May 4, 2016

This is a beautiful area of the Texas hill country. Dining room was added to the general store a couple years ago and is very nice with good food reasonably priced. The general store has all kinds of things but my favorite part is kitchen items. All kinds of things you didn't know you needed! A good place to take visitors or just for a drive and lunch in the country.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

No soup?

Dined on May 2, 2016

No review necessary. Everything is wonderful. Problem this day was no soup! Monday and food proveyers had not arrived yet.

Tags: great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved the entire experience...can't wait ...

Dined on April 30, 2016

Loved the entire experience...can't wait to return! Everyone should try the Incredable Dessert

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A Favorite Place

vip
Dined on April 30, 2016

Consistently excellent with no compromise from the kitchen. Tasty and served at the correct temperature.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Family visit first time in Texas Hill Country

Dined on April 23, 2016

our Son from Indianapolis IN was visiting us for the first time in our new home in the Hill Country. We treated him to one of favorite restaurant's lunch at Camp Verde.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Enjoyed our lunch

Dined on April 23, 2016

We had a delightful drive out from San Antonio and thoroughly enjoyed our lunch.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dturner

Dined on April 23, 2016

We were in the area with friends and knew of Camp Verde, but had never been. Besides the great food, the building and grounds are beautiful. It looks high end, but so causal and friendly. Can't wait to return!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Restaurant in the country

Dined on April 15, 2016

This is a neat restaurant in an historic building that serves great food. We've been here before and keep coming back especially when we have visitors in town. Their food is always tasty and a real treat. Their gelato is a wonderful way to finish off a meal. The adjoining general store is historic and has a wide selection of "treasures" to chose from. Most of the items you find in here you won't see elsewhere.

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Charming and beautiful

Dined on April 5, 2016

This is my favorite place for lunch with friends and family. Staff is awesome and the entire menu is great.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Consistent quality

Dined on April 4, 2016

My husband's fraternity brother was visiting Texas. He is an excellent cook and enjoys great food. As we tend to do with out of town guests, we took him to Camp Verde on a picture perfect day. It is hard to say which he raved over most, the fabulous lunch or the gorgeous grounds. Each of us had a different sandwich, and then gelato for dessert. He was amazed to find his favorite flavor available as he rarely finds it in his travels all over the country. He also loved the kitchen gadget area, and bought an item for his home in North Carolina. He will be in Texas next month as well, and has already asked for a return visit to Camp Verde.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

Not as expected

Dined on April 3, 2016

Beautiful day, beautiful drive, beautiful place. Shorter wait than told (seated in 15 minutes when told an hour), beautiful place, looks brand new. My wife had the three cheese burger and it was horrendously overcooked and dry. I had their version of a French Dip sandwich which was fair at best. Again the roast beef was overcooked and appeared to be a commercially prepared product. Overall a great place with food that seemed prepared elsewhere.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Eater.

Dined on March 21, 2016

We go often. It is consistantly good food and wonderful ambience.

Tags: great for lunch, scenic view, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic Find!

Dined on March 19, 2016

Awesome restaurant for lunch! Wait staff very friendly. Lots of little touches and attention to detail. The general store is quaint. Next time we plan to have lunch outside by the river. We will be back!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Out of towner

Dined on March 15, 2016

Since we are Kerrville residents who drop out to CV every few weeks for a short drive and nice lunch, we chose it for meeting with friends from New Mexico. They were thrilled by yet another fine experience in Kerrville.

Tags: great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome

Dined on March 4, 2016

This a favorite spot! The food is always delicious and consistent . Freindliest staff anywhere. Beautiful grounds and great ambience ....huge portions!!

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of our favorite places!

Dined on March 3, 2016

Great food, friendly staff, beautiful dining room with views

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Little gem in the Texas hillcountry

Dined on February 28, 2016

The Camp Verde General Store and Restaurant is a little hidden gem in the hill country. It is a great destination lunch place from San Antonio if you want to enjoy the scenic Texas hill country.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food3
ambience5
service2
value3

I don't feel the facility lived up the r ...

Dined on February 27, 2016

I don't feel the facility lived up the reviews that we heard. The food was good but not all that. Very disappointed with Host. Showed early for our reservation and no effort was made to try and seat us early. Many walk-ins were seated before us. The hostess also had no clue on how long it would take to get a table. Many customers were upset for the long wait.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellant!

Dined on February 26, 2016

Everything was excellent. From the hostess who sat us to the bill at the end. Great service from our server, Trip. Delicious food and plenty of it for a great price.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.