About Camp Verde General Store and Restaurant

285 Camp Verde Road East
Camp Verde, TX 78010
View Larger Map

Every once in a while, if you are lucky, you will come upon a place that is more than you expected. It is as if you have found a secret treasure – a feeling of discovering something very special you want to share with your friends…

For more than 150 years, Camp Verde General Store has occupied this little piece of Texas. Give yourself a moment to indulge in the rich history of this timeless gem. Come relax in the shade, enjoy an ice-cold Coca-Cola™, have a one-of-a-kind sandwich from our enticing lunch menu and try our wide variety of savory jams, jellies and sauces.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Sunday: 11:00am - 3:00pm

Cross Street:
Highways 173 & 480

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(830) 634-2485

Website:
http://www.campverdegeneralstore.com/

Parking Details:
Plenty of free parking available!

Additional:
Beer, Counter Seating, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access

Camp Verde General Store and Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.8

value

4.7

noise

Moderate

99% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
San Antonio
Best Food
San Antonio
Best Service
San Antonio
13 More
Best Ambiance
San Antonio
Best Value
San Antonio
Great for Lunch
San Antonio
Scenic View
San Antonio
American
San Antonio
Best Overall
San Antonio
Best Food
San Antonio
Best Service
San Antonio
Best Ambiance
San Antonio
Best Value
San Antonio
Great for Lunch
San Antonio
Scenic View
San Antonio
American
San Antonio
Best Restaurants in Camp Verde ›

Great for Lunch (91)
Scenic View (52)
Special Occasion (47)
See All
Good for Groups (38)
Great for Brunch (37)
Neighborhood Gem (30)
Fit for Foodies (20)
Worth the Drive (15)
Comfort Food (14)
Casual (14)
Romantic (12)
Sunday Lunch (11)
Great for Outdoor Dining (11)
Kid-friendly (11)
Family Style (9)
Good for a Date (9)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Outstanding Value (8)
Hot Spot (7)
Good for Anniversaries (7)
Historic (7)
Afternoon Coffee (6)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Disabled Access (5)
Authentic (5)
Open Kitchen (4)
Quick Bite (4)
Fun (4)
Business Meals (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Local Ingredients (3)
Healthy (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Seasonal (3)
People Watching (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Waterfront (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Cozy (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Private Room (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Live Music (1)
Tapas (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Organic (1)
Sort By:
Newest
328 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Wonderful setting and fabulous food. Gr ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Wonderful setting and fabulous food. Great for a friends' gathering. Highly recommend.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Afternoon Coffee, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always Camp Verde is a great lunch ti ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

As always Camp Verde is a great lunch time place to meet friends. The wait staff is attentive without being overbearing. And the food is very good and plentiful for the money.

Tags: Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Good value Well worth the trip. We'lol ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Good value Well worth the trip. We'lol

be back soon.bi

Tags: Fun, Casual, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We have been dining at this location for ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

We have been dining at this location for over 2 years, for the most part it has been above average to very good. The last 3 visits to the restaurant have been disappointing to say the least. Our most recents visit resulted in warm french fries, warm burgers and sandwiches, to the point that the cheese on the meat patties had already congealed back to a solid.

The visit before the last one resulted in a 50 minute wait for two salads, while the rest of the restaurant was being served. The waitress said, "it's not my fault" which didn't set well and was a poor excuse for lack of service.

On the last visit the waiter stated they had new people in the kitchen, which again was a poor excuse, the manager did come to our table and offered free dessert in lieu of the poor service.

We will probably go back again, but it will be a few months before we do.......I am reluctant at this point to recommend the restaurant to anyone.

Tags: Scenic View, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value4

This is one of my Favorite places. Food ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

This is one of my Favorite places. Food is very good with daily specials. Dessert is outstanding! !! Serves from 11 to 3 pm only. Adjacent to great gift store with outside seating . Don't miss it BUT..be sure to call for reservations.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Outstanding Value, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding food, we were a party of 4 a ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Outstanding food, we were a party of 4 and everyone greatly enjoyed lunch we will return again very soon.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Maria is a wonderful server. Food is ou ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Maria is a wonderful server. Food is outstanding.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Outstanding Value, Great for Lunch, Modern Decor, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Camp Verde-is always a pleasure--wonderf ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

Camp Verde-is always a pleasure--wonderful shopping and good food, prices are great. Our daughter, son in law and their twin boys visit from No. Carolina once a year, either Thanksgiving or Christmas. And this place is the place we all vote to come back too spend an afternoon.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Family Style, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Outstanding Value, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Well worth the 50 minutes from our home. ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

Well worth the 50 minutes from our home. Scenic drive. Beautiful and walkable access to the river across the street. Clean. Thoughtful with spa soaps & lotions in the ladies room. Very nicely decorated. Well maintained. Huge variety of cooking utensils and such downstairs shop; huge selection of house decor and clothing/accessories upstairs. Local products. Last but not least, great food, great value, locally sourced as much as possible. Surprising how packed they are considering the isolated location compared to so many restaurants in so many nearby towns. They do stand alone. Unique history about Army camels. Still operative post office in the back room. Reservations are a MUST throughout their entire opening hours for the restaurant.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Paleo Friendly, Historic, Scenic View, Healthy, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Good for Birthdays, Good Vegetarian Options, Kid-friendly, Organic, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Gluten Free Options, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Casual, Outstanding Value, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Open Kitchen, Authentic, Afternoon Coffee, Great for Brunch, Business Meals, Fun, Romantic, Family Style, Afternoon Tea, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Third time we have visited. Have enjoye ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Third time we have visited. Have enjoyed everything every time. From Kerrville the location is easy and the landscape is very nice. Of course, the history is interesting too. Don't change anything.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Good for Birthdays, Family Style, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

This is a beautiful facility open only f ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

This is a beautiful facility open only for lunch. Read the history of Camp Verde before going and you will enjoy it more. Large sandwiches are my favorite along with homemade chips. Reservations are a good idea as the place is sometimes crowded. Great grounds and picnic tables. Servers are always pleasant.

Tags: Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My Mom, my brother and I went there for ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

My Mom, my brother and I went there for the first time! The people were friendly! The atmosphere! We enjoyed the food, the people, the store, and the history! We would go again. We would recommend it to anybody! Thanks for a great time!

Tags: Open Kitchen, Seasonal, Scenic View, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Sunday Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Outstanding Value, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Historic, Private Room, Afternoon Coffee, Romantic, Good for a Date, Fun, Healthy, Afternoon Tea, Family Style, Great for Lunch, Disabled Access, Tasting Menu, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Live Music, Casual, Worth the Drive, Quick Bite, People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Cozy, Great for Brunch, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I enjoyed the Hotsy-Totsy Sandwich very ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on September 6, 2016

I enjoyed the Hotsy-Totsy Sandwich very much. It was very large but cooked to perfection. My wife had a spinach salad and we shared each other's food. Plenty of food to share and a good variety of flavors. The deserts are great also.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Casual, Comfort Food, Gluten Free Options, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Loved the food it was delicious! I find ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Loved the food it was delicious! I find the neatest things when shopping there! Very good place to take friends and family for any occasion.

Tags: Special Occasion, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, great service, great price-- ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

Great food, great service, great price--great place!

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We are fortunate to live in Bandera so w ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

We are fortunate to live in Bandera so we visit your store and restaurant quite frequently as

a couple, with friends and family. The food is outstanding - a beautiful retreat!

Tags: Quick Bite, Good for Groups, Fun, Great for Brunch, Paleo Friendly, Tasting Menu, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great as always. My sister was in town ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Great as always. My sister was in town from Florida and lunch at Camp Verde is a must. It just wouldn't be a visit if we did not lunch at Camp Verde. Lisa waited on us which made the lunch more perfect. She is friendly,efficient , and works to make sure everything is just right. She is by far my favorite waitress.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Comfort Food, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best service and food at a great price! ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Best service and food at a great price! I recommend this place anytime I have a chance!

Tags: Authentic, Great for Lunch, Historic, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Quick Bite, Waterfront, Family Style, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were celebrating our son-in-laws birt ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

We were celebrating our son-in-laws birthday. We had been promising them we would bring them to The Restaurant for some time, bragging about how when we had been there before how good the food was and what a nice location. We were not disappointed. The service and the food were both outstanding! Can't wait to go back.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Family Style, Disabled Access, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Good restaurant. Great food and service ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

Good restaurant. Great food and service. It was also a fun place to shop. A lot of very unique gifts. Would be a great place to go for a picnic sometime or order food for take out and sit under the trees by the river.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Quick Bite, Casual, Scenic View, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great spot to go and browse household de ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Great spot to go and browse household decor and kitchen ware, and enjoy a great lunch.

Tags: Comfort Food, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

From the moment my friend & I entered th ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

From the moment my friend & I entered the front door, we were met with amazing

friendliness! This was the first time for my friend, & she is already planning a return trip, and of course, so am I !!!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Waitress was friendly and helpful. Food ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Waitress was friendly and helpful. Food was good. Ambience was very nice. Great place to hang out with your girlfriends. Make a reservation!

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This has become our go to restaurant. Th ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

This has become our go to restaurant. There is definitely something for everyone, and I highly recommend you save room for dessert. The shopping is a real treat as well. Beautiful products.

Worth the drive!

JT

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First we tried going to Jim's Restaurant ...

vip
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

First we tried going to Jim's Restaurant in San Antonio for breakfast, but there was a 45 minute wait to get a table. So we decided to drive out to Camp Verde for lunch. It is such a peaceful country drive out Highways' 16 and 173 and thanks to Open Table, our table was already reserved and waiting for us when we arrived. Our food was delicious and the waiter was very prompt and courteous. It is always a fun and relaxing time at Camp Verde and one of our top places to go for lunch.

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Don't miss the burger or the house chips ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Don't miss the burger or the house chips. And order the apple dessert up front before they run out!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A Saturday lunch in TexasHill Country! T ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

A Saturday lunch in TexasHill Country! The grounds of Camp Verde lovely , the restaurant quiet and very clean. Service was fair, the table of 6 next to us had numerous issues with their meal causing constant traffic from the server, hostess and manager, very bothersome. Our sandwiches were very good but the fries, sweet potato fries, burger and grilled cheese were served lukewarm at most which we didn't complain about because my two young grandsons had endured a long wait for their food! Will try again later with family, maybe it will be a better experience. The General Store has anything and lots of character .

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value4

My friends and I really enjoy getting to ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

My friends and I really enjoy getting together for lunch at Camp Verde. The service is always good, the food is good, the atmosphere is and accommodations are great, and I would call it a perfect place for lunch and some gift shopping.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Place is really nice, people very friend ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Place is really nice, people very friendly. Food is very good at a reasonable price. Service is a little slow as far as receiving your food. But the quality makes up for it.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

They have great food, decent prices for ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

They have great food, decent prices for the amount of food. However, the time to get big groups (8) took a little longer than others even though some ordered the special of the day or a chef salad. The waitress was very good, but felt she was friendlier at the end of the meal; maybe for a better tip.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Lisa, our waitress, did a great job, as ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Lisa, our waitress, did a great job, as usual and food was delicious.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Maria was an exceptional waitress, very ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

Maria was an exceptional waitress, very knowledgeable to describe menu items in detail. The food was delicious!

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Camp Verde Restaurant is only open f ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

The Camp Verde Restaurant is only open for lunch. Although it is located between two towns (Kerrville and Bandera) and somewhat isolated, its well-deserved reputation for good food and relaxed dining means it is always busy. So make a reservation using OpenTable to be sure you can be seated. The menu is rather simple, heavier on sandwiches and burgers than on large main courses. But the food is prepared carefully and well, and the portion sizes are ample for the price. You will want to save room for dessert, so skip the appetizers and ask for a take-home box for part of your main course. Their fruit cobblers with ice cream are very rich and filling. Or just treat yourself to some of their delicious ice cream or pies. The service is relaxed, so you will have time to talk with your dining partners without feeling rushed. The restaurant is relatively quiet, too, so you never have to yell over the din of servers and diners or piped-in music. When you're finished, look through the eclectic items in the camp store. You're sure to find something interesting.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We travel over 1 and a half hour becaus ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

We travel over 1 and a half hour because we heard this was a great restaurant. Meal was okay.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Camp Verde was fantastic. The food was w ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Camp Verde was fantastic. The food was wonderful, portions were great, and dessert was out of this world. We made the drive to go back within a week. Looking forward to going back any time we get a chance.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were celebrating our Mom's 78th birth ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

We were celebrating our Mom's 78th birthday with family and friends. Our day couldn't have been better! Everyone is still talking about it and ready to go again! Thanks for making my Mom's birthday sooooo special!!!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

From the wait time, to the food, the hos ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

From the wait time, to the food, the hostess who sat us, the waitress, and the ambience everything was perfect.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very much enjoyed having lunch with visi ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Very much enjoyed having lunch with visiting family. Food was fresh, hot, and tasty, service was attentive and friendly. Loved checking out the general store after the meal.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fod was very good, and server was nice a ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Fod was very good, and server was nice and very helpful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

10 miles from the city of Bandera, what ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

10 miles from the city of Bandera, what a cute little place with a really nice outdoor area. Water fountains and nice garden area. Friendly staff. There is a "store" which is really a large gift shop where they sell things from Mud Pie and the like.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.