Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 11.58mi
  2. Distance: 12.46mi
  3. Distance: 13.01mi
  4. Distance: 15.12mi
  1. Distance: 11.58mi
  2. Distance: 12.46mi
  3. Distance: 13.01mi
  4. Distance: 15.12mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 11.58mi
  2. Distance: 12.46mi
  3. Distance: 13.01mi
  4. Distance: 15.12mi
  1. Distance: 11.58mi
  2. Distance: 12.46mi
  3. Distance: 13.01mi
  4. Distance: 15.12mi

About Camp Verde General Store and Restaurant

Every once in a while, if you are lucky, you will come upon a place that is more than you expected. It is as if you have found a secret treasure – a feeling of discovering something very special you want to share with your friends…

For more than 150 years, Camp Verde General Store has occupied this little piece of Texas. Give yourself a moment to indulge in the rich history of this timeless gem. Come relax in the shade, enjoy an ice-cold Coca-Cola™, have a one-of-a-kind sandwich from our enticing lunch menu and try our wide variety of savory jams, jellies and sauces.

285 Camp Verde Road East
Camp Verde, TX 78010
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Sunday: 11:00am - 3:00pm

Cross Street:
Highways 173 & 480

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(830) 634-2485

Website:
http://www.campverdegeneralstore.com/

Parking Details:
Plenty of free parking available!

Additional:
Beer, Counter Seating, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access

Camp Verde General Store and Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.9

service

4.8

ambience

4.8

value

4.8

Noise

Moderate

99% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Lunch (39)
Worth the Drive (30)
Casual (24)
See All
Sunday Lunch (21)
Scenic View (20)
Special Occasion (19)
Good for Birthdays (18)
Comfort Food (18)
Fun (17)
Quiet Conversation (17)
Good for Groups (16)
Creative Cuisine (14)
Good for Anniversaries (13)
Business Meals (13)
Good for a Date (13)
Great for Brunch (10)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Cozy (9)
Disabled Access (9)
Authentic (8)
Fit for Foodies (8)
Local Ingredients (8)
Healthy (7)
Romantic (7)
Afternoon Coffee (6)
Afternoon Tea (6)
Great for Outdoor Dining (6)
Quick Bite (5)
Kid-friendly (4)
Bar Seating (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Seasonal (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Organic (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Tapas (1)
Vegan (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Waterfront (1)
Sort by
S
485 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 4 days ago

We really love the Camp Verde Restaurant, dining there with friends or as a couple. The ambience, service, and food are always excellent. Great place for a lunch, and well worth the drive!

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined 4 days ago

Great food and service. Worth the drive for a great lunch

Tags: Casual, Business Meals, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined 5 days ago

As usual the food and service was outstanding. We really enjoy our visits and plan to bring along friends and family in the future.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Paleo Friendly, Tapas, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Disabled Access, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Romantic, Casual, Sunday Lunch, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Afternoon Tea, Bar Seating, Afternoon Coffee, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch, Scenic View, Authentic, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Vegan, Quick Bite, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on November 7, 2017

I love to take visitors here. The story of the camels, the shopping, the restaurant are all worth the trip. Unique place. It is a favorite for our family get together the week of thanksgiving. Neighborhood friends love this lunch spot when we get together! The employees are always helpful and professional.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Disabled Access, Fun, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 6, 2017

We had a lovely quiet table near a window and had a very pleasant lunch. The staff was especially friendly and attentive and refilled cups and glasses during the meal. There was an excellent variety of luncheon items and we contemplated ordering an entree to take home. It was well worth the drive.

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on November 5, 2017

Great Restaurant - Service and food were top of the line.
A little noisy as it is a somewhat large & "Hard" room.
Reservations are recommended.
Really great BLT's and homemade chips.
And the Ice Cream and desserts are the best around.

Tags: Authentic, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Great for Brunch, Disabled Access, Healthy, Casual, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on November 3, 2017

Always enjoy here. There was a change at the reception desk so greeting was not as friendly as previously. Would definitely prefer the previous friendly greeter.

Food was good, didn't seem quite spot on this day. One of our favorite places to go when out for
a drive in the country. Would recommend.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Quick Bite, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on November 3, 2017

Fun time at Camp Verde. If you haven't been, I highly recommend putting it on your list of places to go. Make a reservation.

Tags: Business Meals, Authentic, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Kid-friendly, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 2, 2017

The whole experience was very enjoyable. We arrived a half hour early and were seated immediately. Our waiter, Trip, was very personable. Our friends with us were very pleased with a waiter who could make you feel right at home. The meals were delicious and the wait time for the meals was no wait time at all. The quantities of the meals were very adequate. My wife and I split the peach cobbler and ice cream dessert. Delicious!! The price for the experience was an exceptional value. We will certainly come back. Keep up the good work.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 29, 2017

We always enjoy dining at Camp Verde. It is a great place to eat, we love the service and the upscale atmosphere. It beats everything in Kerrville or Bandera!

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Fun, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on October 28, 2017

We just love this place! One of our favorites too!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 28, 2017

We enjoyed our lunch, our waitress was great. My wife loves the gift shop, she always finds something
To bring home.
We'll be back.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on October 25, 2017

Camp Verde offers great food and service in a beautiful setting.

Tags: Comfort Food, Disabled Access, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 19, 2017

We were called to our table before our reservation time. Good thing we had reservations since the restaurant was near capacity. The waitress came right to our table and welcomed us and asked if this was our first time there. We had been eating there before there was a new main dining room. Food was great and tasted fresh. Our tea and water was being filled without us even asking. We were checked on several time to see how the food was and if we needed anything. After we ate all we could, we saw that there was a variety of milkshakes on the dessert menu. If you haven't tried their milkshakes you are missing out. Yummy! We shall return again and again. Very friendly and excellent food!

Tags: Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Quick Bite, Comfort Food, Fun, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 19, 2017

The lunch special was outstanding and very flavorful. Location of restaurant is unique with history. Service by wait staff excellaent.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Afternoon Tea, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on October 15, 2017

Great service & food. Had birthday for wife & Sandy & waitress helped presentation of birthday gift. Had a delightful experience. Sandy & Robin were super!! We’ll be back again!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 14, 2017

We had a fantastic family luch there. Everyone loved their food and desserts. Service was great.

Tags: Quick Bite, Good for a Date, Afternoon Coffee, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Casual, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 14, 2017

Wonderful food from sandwiches & burgers to comfort meals. Be sure to save room for home made deserts. Everything tastes wonderful each time we go.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on October 12, 2017

Food was great and our server Maria was awesome. Great place for lunch with a friend. We enjoyed it very much.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 8, 2017

Love, love this restaurant! Great food, service and atmosphere. In most cases, you will need to make a reservation but well worth it!

Tags: Comfort Food, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Sunday Lunch, Casual, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on October 6, 2017

Food & Service were both excellent. Save room for desert. (The banana split will feed at least 3 people)

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 5, 2017

We recently enjoyed Campe Verde for lunch. The fried dill pickles are a favorite appetizer for our family. The grounds surrounding the restaurant are lovely and the store always had unique items.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on October 3, 2017

We love this place ❤️👍🏻

Tags: Good for Groups, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on October 1, 2017

First, we waited over 30 minutes after our reservation time, 45 minutes after arriving, to be seated. Then, we were next to a table with a man wearing a tshirt with a photograph of two naked women. I spent most of the meal trying to keep my children looking in other directions. The restaurant should have made him change or refused to seat him. Patrons should not be subjected to pornography during dinner. The food was okay, but nothing special. The ambience is nice, but overall the experience did not make me want to come back.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
·Dined on September 30, 2017

This was my second time to Camp Verde. It's a great drive, beautiful grounds and fantastic restaurant. We went for my birthday this time and loved my ice cream with sprinkles. Perfect end to our meal.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on September 30, 2017

Our lunch with best friends was wonderful. We have been here "many" times and look forward to each visit. We also enjoy browsing in the General Store. Our waitress was outstanding - friendly, helpful, and courteous. We like that we don't feel rushed to finish our meal and leave.
Your restaurant and gift shop is a gem!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Cozy, Sunday Lunch, Organic, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Scenic View, Casual, Great for Lunch, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 28, 2017

Everything was excellent. We go as often as we can.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 21, 2017

Went to lunch with a friend, we had a great wait person, the food was wonderful and the table was set up very nicely. Will come back!

Tags: Waterfront, Bar Seating, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on September 19, 2017

Birthday party for with 12 people. Food was fantastic and a great value!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 17, 2017

We love Camp Verde! Our lunch was delicious and dessert was divine. Both were big enough to share. Our waiter, Trip, was exceptional!

Tags: Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Gluten Free Options, Sunday Lunch, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 15, 2017

Scheduled a birthday lunch for two co-workers... while I was please overall, I was disappointed that I requested a call to schedule the birthday "surprise" which I rec'd the day before the lunch only to find out I needed two days to order a whole pie for our table. It would have been nice to have had that call two days in advance since I notated in the request it was for the birthday lunch. Otherwise, pleasurable experience.

Tags: Casual, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on September 12, 2017

Great food, great presentation, great service, great atmosphere!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 10, 2017

Excellent food. Excellent service. Maria is an awesome waitress.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Lovely restaurant with delicious food. We made a reservation and we're glad we did as it is very popular.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Excellent service, and delicious food. The dining room was a little noisy, but it was Sunday and lunch time when we went. My grandmother is one of the pickiest eaters I know, but she thoroughly enjoyed the meal. Our waitress Maria, was super attentive and patient with the older folks, easily adapting to hearing difficulties. I only wish I had left room for dessert!:)

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Scenic View, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 24, 2017

Everything was outstanding. The waiter did an excellent job even though he was very busy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Great as usual.
Busy as usual. Always a lovely experience to dine there.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on August 9, 2017

Excellent choice once again. Excellent service, attention, food! Our reservation was at noon. I called to let them know we'd be a few minutes late because one of my friends wasn't ready. They accommodated us even though we were only 10 minutes late.

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Romantic, Quick Bite, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 4, 2017

12:45 reservation, was called out right on time. Waitress had all her tables full,but she was checking on us often. Services, building, and food was excellent.
I'll be Bach !

Tags: Kid-friendly, Comfort Food, Cozy, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 25, 2017

Excellent restaurant with great food and great service and the desserts are top notch.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Scenic View, Business Meals, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.