Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 11.58mi
  2. Distance: 12.46mi
  3. Distance: 13.01mi
  4. Distance: 15.12mi
  1. Distance: 11.58mi
  2. Distance: 12.46mi
  3. Distance: 13.01mi
  4. Distance: 15.12mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 11.58mi
  2. Distance: 12.46mi
  3. Distance: 13.01mi
  4. Distance: 15.12mi
  1. Distance: 11.58mi
  2. Distance: 12.46mi
  3. Distance: 13.01mi
  4. Distance: 15.12mi

About Camp Verde General Store and Restaurant

Every once in a while, if you are lucky, you will come upon a place that is more than you expected. It is as if you have found a secret treasure – a feeling of discovering something very special you want to share with your friends…

For more than 150 years, Camp Verde General Store has occupied this little piece of Texas. Give yourself a moment to indulge in the rich history of this timeless gem. Come relax in the shade, enjoy an ice-cold Coca-Cola™, have a one-of-a-kind sandwich from our enticing lunch menu and try our wide variety of savory jams, jellies and sauces.

285 Camp Verde Road East
Camp Verde, TX 78010
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Sunday: 11:00am - 3:00pm

Cross Street:
Highways 173 & 480

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(830) 634-2485

Website:
http://www.campverdegeneralstore.com/

Parking Details:
Plenty of free parking available!

Additional:
Beer, Counter Seating, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access

Camp Verde General Store and Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.8

value

4.8

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (33)
Great for Lunch (32)
Worth the Drive (32)
See All
Sunday Lunch (23)
Fun (21)
Scenic View (18)
Special Occasion (18)
Comfort Food (17)
Good for Groups (16)
Neighborhood Gem (13)
Great for Brunch (12)
Good for Anniversaries (10)
Good for Birthdays (10)
Local Ingredients (9)
Cozy (9)
Good for a Date (9)
Healthy (8)
Romantic (8)
Historic (7)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Afternoon Coffee (7)
Fit for Foodies (7)
Authentic (6)
Business Meals (5)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Modern Decor (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Family Style (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Afternoon Tea (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
People Watching (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Happy Hour (1)
Vegan (1)
Organic (1)
Seasonal (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Bar Seating (0)
Sort By:
S
444 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on July 16, 2017

The restaurant is very clean and roomy. The service was good but not great, and the meal was also good but not great. Some items on the menu were already sold out.

Tags: Casual, Disabled Access, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Camp Verde Restarant has been a favorite for a number of years. It is a "go to" place for out of town visitors. Food is always good and a great value as well. Desserts are to die for.

Tags: Business Meals, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Was not happy with the service we received with Lisa. The menu did not outline all ingredients in the chicken salad (raw onions need to be documented). Lisa was not happy when it was brought to her attention that the chicken salad would need to be traded for another item. She began to huff and explain "this is the way that grandmother made it and it's old fashioned". Well, I've had chicken salad many times in many places and raw onions was never included. She seemed very irritated when I began to give her my order for the replacement. I didn't have a menu in front of me and had to recall how to build a sandwich from memory. When I asked for american cheese, she stated very haughty "we don't have that" and didn't give any other choices, so I began listing others. The sandwich came out quickly and she set it down and walked away as fast as she could, not noticing that my husband had been without water for quite some time. After another 10 minutes of waiting to catch her and her waiting on other tables, my husband asked another server to help us. Lisa finally came over and filled his cup with quite the attitude. Lisa asked my husband if dessert was desired and he ordered the apple basket. Lisa never asked me if I wanted the rest of my food to-go. She just picked up the plate and ran with it. I would have liked to take the rest of my sandwich home. This is the second time we have had Lisa and we weren't impressed the first time. Please, please do something about her attitude. We will request to be seated elsewhere the next time we dine.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Awesome courteous service. Great food and great ambiance. A must stop for Hill Country visitors

Tags: Comfort Food, Romantic, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on July 15, 2017

What should have been a 30 to 45-minute lunch lasted about 2 hours because of the poor service. The drinks and appetizer were served immediately, and we were in no hurry; so, it worked out OK. We had ordered meatloaf plate and a sandwich. We followed up with desserts. It took about an hour to get our lunch items and another 20- 30 minutes for the desserts to arrive. The waitress told us that the delays were due to a slow kitchen. Some of the people at her tables left without waiting for their food. It looked to me like they couldn't wait any longer. I'm sure the restaurant lost a number of paying customers--some who may not have been seated because of the delays and some who had been seated but not served. I've never had this happen here before. Usually the service is very good. It cut into our shopping time, and the general store lost a little business because of it.

Tags: Cozy, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on July 15, 2017

One of my favorite places to eat and shop.You won't be disappointed.

Tags: Fun, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on July 11, 2017

I always enjoy lunch at Camp Verde. The food is good a bit different, in a good way. The staff is always pleasant and mostly do a great job. I make reservations ahead of time so if there is a wait it is short. A nice drive and a good lunch. My only complaint would be our waiter, Trip. We have had him take care of us other times and I am always disappointed when he is assigned our table. He does a good job taking care of his tables but is so very loud. It is as though he is trying out for a part in a stage play as he appears to be acting. I am not a deaf person and his being so loud makes me wonder if he is. Other than our server everything was very nice.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Casual, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Always a great time and the food is delicious. We enjoy the quiet country atmosphere and the beautiful facilities and grounds. Camp Verde is one of my favorite places to visit.

Tags: Fun, Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on July 6, 2017

Took my daughters for their birthdays. The service was wonderful and the food delicious. One daughter is a vegan and she had no problem finding items on the menu. Dessert was to die for - coconut cream pie!!!
Both daughters want to return soon.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Scenic View, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on July 5, 2017

Lovely spot. Great store and restaurant. Will definitely go back.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on July 2, 2017

This is a real special place in Hill Country. Nothing negative to say about it. Great food and the browsing through their unique selection of merchandise is fun. Nice way to spend an afternoon!

Tags: People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Sunday Lunch, Authentic, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Fun, Quiet Conversation, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on June 30, 2017

I usually would rate service as great but there was a large wedding group seated at the same time as our reservation and they overloaded the kitchen. We had an unusually long wait. Everyone working apologized for the delay. These things happen.

Tags: Scenic View, Casual, Great for Lunch, Fun, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on June 25, 2017

Usually pleased with all aspects of our dining experience here. We drive in from Fredericksburg and enjoy the experience . Last Sunday the food and service were slow. Perhaps due to the steady flow of customers or other reasons the dining was not as exceptional.

Tags: Casual, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on June 25, 2017

Been there several times. Great food, service, environment, location. Will return often.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Healthy, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on June 24, 2017

It's always a treat to have lunch at Camp Verde. Took a visiting niece shopping and to lunch. The corn chowder soup was excellent and I added a crisp side salad. She had beef dip sandwich with fries that was perfect. It got even better when we shared a slice of coconut cream pie. This restaurant always delivers. If you are in or coming to the Kerrville area, male a reservation here!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on June 24, 2017

We had a wonderful time at Camp Verde. The server was upbeat and very efficient. The food, as always, was delicious! We didn't have time for dessert this time but highly recommend the coconut pie!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on June 23, 2017

I have been here numerous times and previously had great service, food, etc. This time we waited nearly an hour for our food. Turns out that the restaurant had a new cook and the ranch hands all come in for lunch and the kitchen staff could not keep up with all the people. Maybe on Fridays they need to hire additional kitchen help.

Tags: Fun, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on June 22, 2017

Great time. Super waitress (Lisa). Never disappointed when I eat there....

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Comfort Food, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on June 22, 2017

Trip was a great server; friendly yet professional & competent. The food was delicious & great price! We will return!

Tags: Scenic View, Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch, Authentic, Fun, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on June 19, 2017

I've been to the Camp Verde restaurant several times and enjoy the food and ambiance. It is a nice drive from San Antonio and a great place to take friends. It is a good idea to make a reservation for quick seating. I also like shopping there.

Tags: Hot Spot, Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on June 17, 2017

The food is always excellent and the service is outstanding. Beautiful location.

Tags: Comfort Food, Casual, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on June 11, 2017

I enjoy taking the nice country drive from San Antonio to Camp Verde for lunch. The setting is very pretty and nicely maintained. The food is delicious and the meals are consistently prepared. Our server was very cordial and made us feel right at home. We topped off our meal with a nice dessert. Camp Verde is one of our favorite places to visit.

Tags: Romantic, Afternoon Coffee, Afternoon Tea, Authentic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on June 11, 2017

After reading reviews, I finally made it. GREAT SURPRISE and well worth the trip. Quiet, lovely, clean, cheerful, friendly, great service, good food and a HUGE banana split for only $7.00. All the food prices were reasonable for tastyfood and displayed beautifully on the plate.
Could I say more? Yes, don't delay, make a reservation and GO!
The gift shop has everything you will need for yourself, a baby shower, wedding present or just a gift for no reason at all. Allow LOTS of time, it is all well displayed and you will want to check out all the rooms.
Lastly, walk around the building, learn the history and take pictures of metal camels.
More?...plan your next trip and bring a friend who has never been there and share the adventure . Enjoy, I did. Laura C.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Gluten Free Options, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Our server was excellent as was the food. Really enjoy the pecan cobbler, it is excellent.

Tags: Fun, Authentic, Tasting Menu, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 6, 2017

Two in our group had the meatloaf and thought it had a sawdust texture & bland taste. My chicken salad sandwich tasted more like tuna salad than chicken and I didn't notice any jalapeño in the bread, but the friend who had the daily special of blackened chicken salad was pleased. We had gelato for dessert which was good, although the waitress didn't get the order quite right. We would try this place again and hope for a bit better results. The burgers we saw others eating looked good and BIG!

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Simply good food, served competently and patiently. A great number of the clientele are over 65, and the staff is very gracious and generous in accommodating all the shared plates and other deviations from the menu.
The gift shop is also fun to peruse. This is definitely a destination site.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on June 2, 2017

We love Camp Verde, to shop and to eat!! Food is always greAt and the service is friendly and courteous and attentive to our needs. The restaurant is casual, bright and fun place to eat. I have difficulty hearing conversations, in many restaurants. But at Camp Verde, I can hear my table companions quite well. We look forward to our next outing at Camp Verde. We do recommend reservations, especially for Saturday and Sunday. Enjoy!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food, Quick Bite, Casual, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on May 31, 2017

I treated a friend to lunch. She really enjoyed it, the atmosphere was very calming despite a
gloomy day driving up there. Has a nice selection of food items with big portions. Had to take my dessert home from eating too much. There's a nice gift shop to poke around to help walk off your lunch.

Tags: Casual, Afternoon Coffee, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on May 28, 2017

We drove 2 hours to check out Camp Verde General Store, and it was totally worth it. On the surface, it's very simple/straightforward fare, but executed to perfection. Wonderful flavor and excellent service.

Tags: Casual, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Fun, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on May 28, 2017

This was my 4th visit. I live 1 hr and 20 minutes away. But when a friend came to visit Texas from New Jersey and my niece came on her vacation from Georgia I brought them here for a special treat. Not only is the scenic drive lovely and relaxing the food is terrific and well worth the price which is extremely reasonable for what you get. Again, the food was consistent in flavor not like some places you go where it's good for a time or two then it turns terrible. I would always head this way for any special occasion. Love browsing the general store after dining as well.

Tags: Cozy, Great for Lunch, Quick Bite, Special Occasion, Afternoon Coffee, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Beautiful place to meet friends for a meal in the Hill Country.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 27, 2017

First trip to Camp Verde, it was every bit as good as reported by friends. Wonderful food and ambiance. The waitress was a natural, friendly and helpful with the menu selections. I would rate it as a Texas classic in casual dining.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on May 26, 2017

We drove from Round Rock, Texas to Camp Verde and arrived in a drizzling rain. We were met with very friendly ladies in the General store where we shopped for about an hour. We had reservations for lunch and were very pleased with the atmosphere in the room as well as the tea room feel. Our food was very good and served in a pleasing manner. Our waitress was very friendly and helpful. We have told our Round Rock friends about this place and highly recommended it to them.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on May 25, 2017

Celebrated my birthday there. Will definitely come back.

Tags: Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 24, 2017

Really enjoyed my meal but the coconut pie was super delicious!

Tags: Scenic View, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on May 23, 2017

The BLT was delicious as were the French fries. My friend had the club sandwich, and she loved it. She also placed a take-out order which the server placed after checking to see if the timing was good for her. We had a reservation and were seated early. The server was attentive dropping by often to refill our iced tea. The lovely dining room is welcoming and has a great view. You should give it a try!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Casual, Scenic View, Fun, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on May 19, 2017

There were seven women introducing one new neighbor to your restaurant. Everyone is so pleasant whether we are eating, shopping or relaxing and catching up. The wait staff is professiinal and efficient with humor thrown in for good measure. What a great place to bring newbies to the neighborhood or city, friends and family who visit or just to drop by when we want a plaeasant dining experience.

Tags: Casual, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Camp Verde is a hidden gem! The drive from San Antonio through Bandera is scenic, with lots of beautiful ranches. Arriving at the picturesque Camp Verde for a relaxing lunch in a beautiful setting was a true treat. The ambiance is wonderful, the service was excellent, and the food was very good. The setting is a "must see" as the grounds are absolutely lovely.AND don't miss the store! It is full of goodies. You can find something for everyone-- even the person who is hard to shop for.

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Scenic View, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Been here a few times....food is always good...and a very nice place (similar to what you would find in north dallas) i think the resturant would benefit from a reservation only policy....turn one of the back buildings into a wine tasting, music area....that also serves very light food for non reservation guests.

Expand the creek to include a walking trail...and nice areas to sit.

Younger people come to camp verde also....and look for these features

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Consistent top of the line food, service, cleanliness and ambience. The pecan cobbler is the best dessert in the world!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Tasting Menu, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Comfort Food, Healthy, Casual, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.