Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 11.58mi
  2. Distance: 12.46mi
  3. Distance: 13.01mi
  4. Distance: 15.12mi
  1. Distance: 11.58mi
  2. Distance: 12.46mi
  3. Distance: 13.01mi
  4. Distance: 15.12mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 11.58mi
  2. Distance: 12.46mi
  3. Distance: 13.01mi
  4. Distance: 15.12mi
  1. Distance: 11.58mi
  2. Distance: 12.46mi
  3. Distance: 13.01mi
  4. Distance: 15.12mi

About Camp Verde General Store and Restaurant

Every once in a while, if you are lucky, you will come upon a place that is more than you expected. It is as if you have found a secret treasure – a feeling of discovering something very special you want to share with your friends…

For more than 150 years, Camp Verde General Store has occupied this little piece of Texas. Give yourself a moment to indulge in the rich history of this timeless gem. Come relax in the shade, enjoy an ice-cold Coca-Cola™, have a one-of-a-kind sandwich from our enticing lunch menu and try our wide variety of savory jams, jellies and sauces.

285 Camp Verde Road East
Camp Verde, TX 78010
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Sunday: 11:00am - 3:00pm

Cross Street:
Highways 173 & 480

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(830) 634-2485

Website:
http://www.campverdegeneralstore.com/

Parking Details:
Plenty of free parking available!

Additional:
Beer, Counter Seating, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access

Camp Verde General Store and Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.8

value

4.8

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Lunch (33)
Worth the Drive (30)
Casual (28)
See All
Historic (24)
Scenic View (21)
Comfort Food (20)
Good for Birthdays (20)
Special Occasion (19)
Sunday Lunch (19)
Creative Cuisine (17)
Fun (15)
Outstanding Value (13)
Good for a Date (12)
Good for Groups (11)
Good for Anniversaries (11)
Family Style (11)
Great for Brunch (11)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Healthy (8)
Local Ingredients (7)
Business Meals (6)
Afternoon Tea (6)
Modern Decor (6)
Afternoon Coffee (6)
Seasonal (5)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Romantic (5)
Disabled Access (5)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Kid-friendly (5)
Cozy (5)
People Watching (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Waterfront (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Authentic (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Organic (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Open Kitchen (2)
Dancing (2)
Private Room (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Live Music (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
400 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined 3 days ago

Camp Verde has been a favorite of mine for several years. The food is always good as is the service.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Vegan, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Camp Verde restaurant always has wonderful meals and awesome desserts. They take pride in giving good service. It is always a treat to have lunch there. Wish they were open for dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on April 13, 2017

We have yet to be disapponted at the Camp Verde Restaurant or General Store. We love this place, and the drive from Boerne to Camp Verde is peaceful and beautiful. The buyer for the store stocks top-of-the-line products and the food is delicious.

Tags: Family Style, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on April 10, 2017

We've dined at Camp Verde many times over the past ten years and we've never been disappointed. About five years ago the present restaurant was built which vastly improved its ambience. The menu is varied and the servings are uniformly generous. Many diners come just to partake of their extensive dessert menu.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Seasonal, Good for Groups, Healthy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 6, 2017

We were a group of 10. Elizabeth was our server and was awesome. Friendly, efficient and a pleasure to be around. She automatically brought us separate checks, which we wanted but had not requested. It was a great experience. Thanks for your hospitality. Your hostess even took our picture, outside, after our meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 31, 2017

The food was good, but not exceptional--until the desserts, which were somewhere in the fantastic to great range. I had the pecan cobbler. My wife had the ice cream sundae with caramel sauce and whipped cream, and our friend had the buttermilk pie. Folks, it was worth every single calorie!
A really beautiful drive in the Texas hill country to get there on a pleasant early fall day.
Overall a fun lunch--very enjoyable.
Only open for lunch.
Reservations highly recommended.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Always enjoy this venue. It can ba a bit loud, the service and great food make up for it.

Tags: Comfort Food, Fun, Local Ingredients, Paleo Friendly, Historic, Good Vegetarian Options, Disabled Access, Modern Decor, Afternoon Coffee, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Have gone here for years and had a Sunday lunch to say goodby to friends before I moved away. We had a one o'clock reservation so the the room was not packed. We waited forever for our food. Never had this happen before even when the place was full. Food was great when it came but the wait was not.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Comfortable menu well-crafted sandwiches homemade soups and today's potato corn chowder was excellent. Well worth the drive from San Antonio.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on March 26, 2017

We took my daughter there for her 21st birthday lunch. The food and service were excellent!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Cozy, Casual, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Enoyed our trip to Camp Verde as always. Will certainly return and always treat our out of town guests to visits and lunch there.

Tags: Family Style, Great for Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Live Music, Special Occasion, Dancing, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Open Kitchen, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Had the lunch special. Shrimp Tacos. Out of this world! Especially for the price.

Tags: Historic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on March 23, 2017

Excellent fare in a beautiful location rich in history.

Tags: Scenic View, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Our waitress was absolutely wonderful. She was always there when we needed her. She made great recommendations and was very pleased to help us. She was patient with my father, as he had a couple of strokes and cannot talk very well. Food was superb and we plan to return again.

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Seasonal, Outstanding Value, Scenic View, Family Style, Casual, Special Occasion, Afternoon Tea, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Outstanding place for lunch. Great food with wonderful service. Then you can shop the General Store. Love this place.

Tags: Casual, Historic, Disabled Access, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on March 15, 2017

We had a wonderful time yesterday. Thank you Lisa Allerkamp for the awesome service. My sister,cousin and I took our mother out for lunch and we were blessed to have Lisa as our waitress. We went to school with her and had not seen her in over 30 years. The reunion made the day extra special. The place was beautiful and food was delicious. Thanks for a special time!!

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on March 13, 2017

This was our 4th time we've dined here. Debbie our server is fabulous. Unfortunately, unlike our previous visits the grilled pork chop was very dry and tough as a boot. I would highly recommend the buttermilk pie.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on March 13, 2017

I have been here a few times and have enjoyed it every time. I would recommend getting a reservation as it gets crowded sometimes.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Scenic View, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Great place with great food.
Wonderful attention to details.
Many thanks.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on March 6, 2017

My husband and friends come here on a regular basis. We love everything about it: good food, very reasonable prices, beautiful views and wonderfully friendly service. We recommend it to our close friends and other friends all the time. We also bring out of town relatives.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Outstanding Value, Good for Birthdays, Family Style, Historic, Good for Groups, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Disabled Access, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Waterfront, Comfort Food, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 27, 2017

Camp Verde has NEVER failed to deliver on the quality of their food and the wonderful service. We love the store and always find something we can't live without. Thank you for being the best!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Historic, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on February 25, 2017

We enjoyed our meal and appetizer and most of all, dessert! Our server was friendly and funny and accommodating. We will return soon.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Afternoon Tea, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 23, 2017

As always, Camp Verde Restaurant was great. From the lady who seats you, our waitress, and the food. You never go wrong eating here.

Tags: Scenic View, Waterfront, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Absolutely perfect in every way! This restaurant/gift store is a well kept secret!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Sunday Lunch
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 14, 2017

We had a delightful late lunch. Our server was wonderful!

Tags: Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 13, 2017

The food was excellent. The atmosphere was great. The location is superb. Most importantly our server was on the ball. Very kind and wanted to make our experience good. Sorry I do not remember her name. The experience was good and she kept our water glasses full.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 11, 2017

I had been to Camp Verde several times with girlfriends, but I wanted to take my husband. It was a beautiful drive from San Antonio, and he loved the delicious food and the beautiful setting! My only problem is he will probably want to go everytime he hears the "girls" plan to go! Our server, Elizabeth, was fantastic! Camp Verde is quite the hidden gem!

Tags: Outstanding Value, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Wonderful food, super friendly and attentive wait staff. Can't go wrong with any item on the menu. A great place to take visiting out of towners. A short drive from San Antonio through scenic country side.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fun, Outstanding Value, Comfort Food, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Casual, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 31, 2017

My husband and I came to your restaurant on the suggestion of a friend and we are so glad we made the drive from Fredericksburg!!We were visiting from Frierson, La. ----what a lovely oasis in the middle of Hill Country!! The food, service and our waitress were top notch !! We will definitely recommend your restaurant to friends who will be visiting the area in a month!! Thank you so much for an enjoyable afternoon!!Dianne Roper❤️❤️❤️❤️

Tags: Casual, Modern Decor, Afternoon Tea, Afternoon Coffee, Scenic View, Business Meals, Cozy, Historic, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Quick Bite, Good for a Date, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Family Style, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Outstanding Value, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 29, 2017

This was our first visit which was recommended to us by a friend. It was a pleasant drive from San Antonio and took only 1 hour. The food was homemade delicious. The store and the grounds were very nice.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 25, 2017

Enjoy the food and Paula took good care of us.
Would recommend this restaurant and general store to anyone. Worth the drive out!

Tags: Casual, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Scenic View, Cozy, Fun, People Watching, Great for Lunch, Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 23, 2017

Trip was a fun and upbeat waiter; the food was incredibly good; the service was Great!

Tags: Scenic View, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Great food and friendly service. It's our favorite place to eat!

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 21, 2017

We had a wonderful time! Our waitress was just the best and did a great job. The food was exceptional and all eight orders were exactly as requested. We are lucky enough to live close to Camp Verde and are able to wow visitors with a fabulous Texas Hill Country experience.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 19, 2017

We meet friends at Camp Verde Store fairly often. The food is always good, and the service is exceptional. Our party of four had onion rings, soup, a BLT, and two different hamburgers between us. Everyone was happy with their food. I like their coleslaw, which has a mustard base rather than a mayo one. The onion rings have two different sauces and serve as a great starter course. Our waiter took the time to get every preference right...How do you want your burger?...the slaw isn't what you're used to, its based on course ground mustard...Was everything done to your liking....and so on. I've not heard a complaint about this eatery since I started going there. Save room for dessert for a final treat.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Casual, Historic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 11, 2017

I had reservations in place. We were a bit late in arriving but they held the table even though they were busy. We were taken immediately to our table and seated. One of my request was a quiet table away from the crowds. They put us in the back corner of the restaurant where it was reasonably quiet. We found the wait staff to be enjoyable and efficient. Our food was prepared nicely and again the wait staff was in helping everyone get what they wanted. With dining experience being good we took t he time to walk the grounds and they are wonderful. This combination of beautiful grounds, friendly and efficient wait staff, and good food made a business meal enjoyable. I would recommend this restaurant to my associates and friends.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Wonderful server...Carolyn!
They did run out of the special and i was disappointed!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on January 4, 2017

Love this place. Make reservations so you don't have to wait. Great place for girlfriends to spend a day shopping & dining!

Tags: Organic, Comfort Food, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Substituted a side salad for the homemade chips/fries and was charged $1.50 for this. Was not informed this would occur.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 29, 2016

We dined here for lunch on a Thursday on our way to the wineries in Comfort. Fortunately a friend told us to make a reservation, as there were a lot of people waiting! We were seated right away. The decor is nice and the building charming and historic. Read about the history on their website before you go, as we did not see any historical markers or info during our visit even tho we wandered the grounds. Our lunch was delicious ( hubby had pork chops, I had veggie mushroom burger and coleslaw) and very reasonably priced. We did not indulge in dessert but it was apparent that dessert is a big draw and we saw many desserts being served. Maybe next time a stop for just coffee and dessert. On a nice weather day it would be good to visit as there are a lot of outdoor seating areas to just hang out.

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Historic, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.