Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 11.58mi
  2. Distance: 12.46mi
  3. Distance: 13.01mi
  4. Distance: 15.12mi
  1. Distance: 11.58mi
  2. Distance: 12.46mi
  3. Distance: 13.01mi
  4. Distance: 15.12mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 11.58mi
  2. Distance: 12.46mi
  3. Distance: 13.01mi
  4. Distance: 15.12mi
  1. Distance: 11.58mi
  2. Distance: 12.46mi
  3. Distance: 13.01mi
  4. Distance: 15.12mi

About Camp Verde General Store and Restaurant

Every once in a while, if you are lucky, you will come upon a place that is more than you expected. It is as if you have found a secret treasure – a feeling of discovering something very special you want to share with your friends…

For more than 150 years, Camp Verde General Store has occupied this little piece of Texas. Give yourself a moment to indulge in the rich history of this timeless gem. Come relax in the shade, enjoy an ice-cold Coca-Cola™, have a one-of-a-kind sandwich from our enticing lunch menu and try our wide variety of savory jams, jellies and sauces.

285 Camp Verde Road East
Camp Verde, TX 78010
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Sunday: 11:00am - 3:00pm

Cross Street:
Highways 173 & 480

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(830) 634-2485

Website:
http://www.campverdegeneralstore.com/

Parking Details:
Plenty of free parking available!

Additional:
Beer, Counter Seating, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access

Camp Verde General Store and Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.8

value

4.8

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Lunch (32)
Casual (27)
Worth the Drive (26)
See All
Scenic View (23)
Historic (21)
Sunday Lunch (19)
Comfort Food (18)
Special Occasion (17)
Good for Birthdays (16)
Creative Cuisine (15)
Fun (13)
Great for Brunch (12)
Outstanding Value (11)
Family Style (10)
Good for a Date (10)
Good for Anniversaries (9)
Good for Groups (9)
Local Ingredients (8)
Healthy (7)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Romantic (6)
Modern Decor (6)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Business Meals (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Waterfront (4)
Afternoon Tea (4)
Afternoon Coffee (4)
Disabled Access (4)
Authentic (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Seasonal (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
People Watching (2)
Cozy (2)
Organic (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Open Kitchen (1)
Dancing (1)
Live Music (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Private Room (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
411 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined 2 days ago

Celebrated my birthday there. Will definitely come back.

Tags: Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 3 days ago

Really enjoyed my meal but the coconut pie was super delicious!

Tags: Scenic View, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined 4 days ago

The BLT was delicious as were the French fries. My friend had the club sandwich, and she loved it. She also placed a take-out order which the server placed after checking to see if the timing was good for her. We had a reservation and were seated early. The server was attentive dropping by often to refill our iced tea. The lovely dining room is welcoming and has a great view. You should give it a try!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Casual, Scenic View, Fun, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on May 19, 2017

There were seven women introducing one new neighbor to your restaurant. Everyone is so pleasant whether we are eating, shopping or relaxing and catching up. The wait staff is professiinal and efficient with humor thrown in for good measure. What a great place to bring newbies to the neighborhood or city, friends and family who visit or just to drop by when we want a plaeasant dining experience.

Tags: Casual, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Camp Verde is a hidden gem! The drive from San Antonio through Bandera is scenic, with lots of beautiful ranches. Arriving at the picturesque Camp Verde for a relaxing lunch in a beautiful setting was a true treat. The ambiance is wonderful, the service was excellent, and the food was very good. The setting is a "must see" as the grounds are absolutely lovely.AND don't miss the store! It is full of goodies. You can find something for everyone-- even the person who is hard to shop for.

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Scenic View, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Been here a few times....food is always good...and a very nice place (similar to what you would find in north dallas) i think the resturant would benefit from a reservation only policy....turn one of the back buildings into a wine tasting, music area....that also serves very light food for non reservation guests.

Expand the creek to include a walking trail...and nice areas to sit.

Younger people come to camp verde also....and look for these features

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Consistent top of the line food, service, cleanliness and ambience. The pecan cobbler is the best dessert in the world!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Tasting Menu, Historic, Pre/post Theatre, Modern Decor, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Comfort Food, Healthy, Casual, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on May 6, 2017

My friends had never been to Camp Verde General Store. I had been before and enjoyed my lunch. My friends were very happy with the ambiance, food, but most of all our server, Debra. She was very accommodating and right on with our orders. We had one handicapped friend with us and they were so patient waiting for us to get her to the table. I hope we can return many times to the Store.

Tags: Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on May 2, 2017

Our waitress was very gracious! She was well informed what is on the menu. I believe her name was Paula. The meal was delicious! I had the Donna's Meat Loaf again (2nd time) and my wife had the Chopped Steak. I think I will get the Chopped Steak next time. Don't get me wrong....they are both very delicious but, I just needed a change. The dining area was beautiful and clean. Next time I'm going to bring my adult kids! Thank you!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Historic, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Great place for lunch with friends. Awesome food. Love shopping afterwards in the General Store.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Always enjoy eating at Camp Verde, we had company from out of the state, and wanted them to see your beautiful place and the grounds, shop in your store and have a great lunch. We live in Fredericksburg, but do not mind driving there for a great time. Everything was perfect

Tags: Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Camp Verde has been a favorite of mine for several years. The food is always good as is the service.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Vegan, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Camp Verde restaurant always has wonderful meals and awesome desserts. They take pride in giving good service. It is always a treat to have lunch there. Wish they were open for dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on April 13, 2017

We have yet to be disapponted at the Camp Verde Restaurant or General Store. We love this place, and the drive from Boerne to Camp Verde is peaceful and beautiful. The buyer for the store stocks top-of-the-line products and the food is delicious.

Tags: Family Style, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on April 10, 2017

We've dined at Camp Verde many times over the past ten years and we've never been disappointed. About five years ago the present restaurant was built which vastly improved its ambience. The menu is varied and the servings are uniformly generous. Many diners come just to partake of their extensive dessert menu.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Seasonal, Good for Groups, Healthy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 6, 2017

We were a group of 10. Elizabeth was our server and was awesome. Friendly, efficient and a pleasure to be around. She automatically brought us separate checks, which we wanted but had not requested. It was a great experience. Thanks for your hospitality. Your hostess even took our picture, outside, after our meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 31, 2017

The food was good, but not exceptional--until the desserts, which were somewhere in the fantastic to great range. I had the pecan cobbler. My wife had the ice cream sundae with caramel sauce and whipped cream, and our friend had the buttermilk pie. Folks, it was worth every single calorie!
A really beautiful drive in the Texas hill country to get there on a pleasant early fall day.
Overall a fun lunch--very enjoyable.
Only open for lunch.
Reservations highly recommended.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Always enjoy this venue. It can ba a bit loud, the service and great food make up for it.

Tags: Comfort Food, Fun, Local Ingredients, Paleo Friendly, Historic, Good Vegetarian Options, Disabled Access, Modern Decor, Afternoon Coffee, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Have gone here for years and had a Sunday lunch to say goodby to friends before I moved away. We had a one o'clock reservation so the the room was not packed. We waited forever for our food. Never had this happen before even when the place was full. Food was great when it came but the wait was not.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Comfortable menu well-crafted sandwiches homemade soups and today's potato corn chowder was excellent. Well worth the drive from San Antonio.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on March 26, 2017

We took my daughter there for her 21st birthday lunch. The food and service were excellent!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Cozy, Casual, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Enoyed our trip to Camp Verde as always. Will certainly return and always treat our out of town guests to visits and lunch there.

Tags: Family Style, Great for Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Live Music, Special Occasion, Dancing, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Open Kitchen, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Had the lunch special. Shrimp Tacos. Out of this world! Especially for the price.

Tags: Historic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on March 23, 2017

Excellent fare in a beautiful location rich in history.

Tags: Scenic View, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Our waitress was absolutely wonderful. She was always there when we needed her. She made great recommendations and was very pleased to help us. She was patient with my father, as he had a couple of strokes and cannot talk very well. Food was superb and we plan to return again.

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Seasonal, Outstanding Value, Scenic View, Family Style, Casual, Special Occasion, Afternoon Tea, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Outstanding place for lunch. Great food with wonderful service. Then you can shop the General Store. Love this place.

Tags: Casual, Historic, Disabled Access, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on March 15, 2017

We had a wonderful time yesterday. Thank you Lisa Allerkamp for the awesome service. My sister,cousin and I took our mother out for lunch and we were blessed to have Lisa as our waitress. We went to school with her and had not seen her in over 30 years. The reunion made the day extra special. The place was beautiful and food was delicious. Thanks for a special time!!

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on March 13, 2017

This was our 4th time we've dined here. Debbie our server is fabulous. Unfortunately, unlike our previous visits the grilled pork chop was very dry and tough as a boot. I would highly recommend the buttermilk pie.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on March 13, 2017

I have been here a few times and have enjoyed it every time. I would recommend getting a reservation as it gets crowded sometimes.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Scenic View, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Great place with great food.
Wonderful attention to details.
Many thanks.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on March 6, 2017

My husband and friends come here on a regular basis. We love everything about it: good food, very reasonable prices, beautiful views and wonderfully friendly service. We recommend it to our close friends and other friends all the time. We also bring out of town relatives.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Outstanding Value, Good for Birthdays, Family Style, Historic, Good for Groups, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Disabled Access, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Waterfront, Comfort Food, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 27, 2017

Camp Verde has NEVER failed to deliver on the quality of their food and the wonderful service. We love the store and always find something we can't live without. Thank you for being the best!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Historic, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on February 25, 2017

We enjoyed our meal and appetizer and most of all, dessert! Our server was friendly and funny and accommodating. We will return soon.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Afternoon Tea, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 23, 2017

As always, Camp Verde Restaurant was great. From the lady who seats you, our waitress, and the food. You never go wrong eating here.

Tags: Scenic View, Waterfront, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Absolutely perfect in every way! This restaurant/gift store is a well kept secret!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Sunday Lunch
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 14, 2017

We had a delightful late lunch. Our server was wonderful!

Tags: Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 13, 2017

The food was excellent. The atmosphere was great. The location is superb. Most importantly our server was on the ball. Very kind and wanted to make our experience good. Sorry I do not remember her name. The experience was good and she kept our water glasses full.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 11, 2017

I had been to Camp Verde several times with girlfriends, but I wanted to take my husband. It was a beautiful drive from San Antonio, and he loved the delicious food and the beautiful setting! My only problem is he will probably want to go everytime he hears the "girls" plan to go! Our server, Elizabeth, was fantastic! Camp Verde is quite the hidden gem!

Tags: Outstanding Value, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Wonderful food, super friendly and attentive wait staff. Can't go wrong with any item on the menu. A great place to take visiting out of towners. A short drive from San Antonio through scenic country side.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fun, Outstanding Value, Comfort Food, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Casual, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 31, 2017

My husband and I came to your restaurant on the suggestion of a friend and we are so glad we made the drive from Fredericksburg!!We were visiting from Frierson, La. ----what a lovely oasis in the middle of Hill Country!! The food, service and our waitress were top notch !! We will definitely recommend your restaurant to friends who will be visiting the area in a month!! Thank you so much for an enjoyable afternoon!!Dianne Roper❤️❤️❤️❤️

Tags: Casual, Modern Decor, Afternoon Tea, Afternoon Coffee, Scenic View, Business Meals, Cozy, Historic, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Quick Bite, Good for a Date, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Family Style, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Outstanding Value, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.