Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 11.58mi
  2. Distance: 12.46mi
  3. Distance: 13.01mi
  4. Distance: 15.12mi
  1. Distance: 11.58mi
  2. Distance: 12.46mi
  3. Distance: 13.01mi
  4. Distance: 15.12mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 11.58mi
  2. Distance: 12.46mi
  3. Distance: 13.01mi
  4. Distance: 15.12mi
  1. Distance: 11.58mi
  2. Distance: 12.46mi
  3. Distance: 13.01mi
  4. Distance: 15.12mi

About Camp Verde General Store and Restaurant

Every once in a while, if you are lucky, you will come upon a place that is more than you expected. It is as if you have found a secret treasure – a feeling of discovering something very special you want to share with your friends…

For more than 150 years, Camp Verde General Store has occupied this little piece of Texas. Give yourself a moment to indulge in the rich history of this timeless gem. Come relax in the shade, enjoy an ice-cold Coca-Cola™, have a one-of-a-kind sandwich from our enticing lunch menu and try our wide variety of savory jams, jellies and sauces.

285 Camp Verde Road East
Camp Verde, TX 78010
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Sunday: 11:00am - 3:00pm

Cross Street:
Highways 173 & 480

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(830) 634-2485

Website:
http://www.campverdegeneralstore.com/

Parking Details:
Plenty of free parking available!

Additional:
Beer, Counter Seating, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access

Camp Verde General Store and Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.8

value

4.7

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Lunch (30)
Worth the Drive (30)
Casual (26)
See All
Historic (23)
Comfort Food (22)
Scenic View (22)
Special Occasion (21)
Good for Birthdays (19)
Creative Cuisine (17)
Sunday Lunch (16)
Outstanding Value (14)
Fun (13)
Good for Anniversaries (12)
Good for Groups (10)
Good for a Date (10)
Family Style (9)
Great for Brunch (9)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Business Meals (7)
Disabled Access (6)
Local Ingredients (6)
Great for Outdoor Dining (6)
Healthy (6)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Afternoon Tea (6)
Cozy (5)
Modern Decor (5)
Afternoon Coffee (5)
Romantic (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Seasonal (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
People Watching (4)
Waterfront (4)
Tasting Menu (3)
Open Kitchen (2)
Authentic (2)
Organic (2)
Private Room (2)
Dancing (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Live Music (1)
Sort By:
S
391 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined a day ago

Comfortable menu well-crafted sandwiches homemade soups and today's potato corn chowder was excellent. Well worth the drive from San Antonio.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (Houston)·Dined 3 days ago

Enoyed our trip to Camp Verde as always. Will certainly return and always treat our out of town guests to visits and lunch there.

Tags: Family Style, Great for Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Live Music, Special Occasion, Dancing, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Open Kitchen, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined 3 days ago

Had the lunch special. Shrimp Tacos. Out of this world! Especially for the price.

Tags: Historic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined 4 days ago

Excellent fare in a beautiful location rich in history.

Tags: Scenic View, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Our waitress was absolutely wonderful. She was always there when we needed her. She made great recommendations and was very pleased to help us. She was patient with my father, as he had a couple of strokes and cannot talk very well. Food was superb and we plan to return again.

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Seasonal, Outstanding Value, Scenic View, Family Style, Casual, Special Occasion, Afternoon Tea, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Outstanding place for lunch. Great food with wonderful service. Then you can shop the General Store. Love this place.

Tags: Casual, Historic, Disabled Access, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on March 15, 2017

We had a wonderful time yesterday. Thank you Lisa Allerkamp for the awesome service. My sister,cousin and I took our mother out for lunch and we were blessed to have Lisa as our waitress. We went to school with her and had not seen her in over 30 years. The reunion made the day extra special. The place was beautiful and food was delicious. Thanks for a special time!!

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on March 13, 2017

This was our 4th time we've dined here. Debbie our server is fabulous. Unfortunately, unlike our previous visits the grilled pork chop was very dry and tough as a boot. I would highly recommend the buttermilk pie.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on March 13, 2017

I have been here a few times and have enjoyed it every time. I would recommend getting a reservation as it gets crowded sometimes.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Scenic View, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Great place with great food.
Wonderful attention to details.
Many thanks.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on March 6, 2017

My husband and friends come here on a regular basis. We love everything about it: good food, very reasonable prices, beautiful views and wonderfully friendly service. We recommend it to our close friends and other friends all the time. We also bring out of town relatives.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Outstanding Value, Good for Birthdays, Family Style, Historic, Good for Groups, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Disabled Access, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Waterfront, Comfort Food, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 27, 2017

Camp Verde has NEVER failed to deliver on the quality of their food and the wonderful service. We love the store and always find something we can't live without. Thank you for being the best!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Historic, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on February 25, 2017

We enjoyed our meal and appetizer and most of all, dessert! Our server was friendly and funny and accommodating. We will return soon.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Afternoon Tea, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 23, 2017

As always, Camp Verde Restaurant was great. From the lady who seats you, our waitress, and the food. You never go wrong eating here.

Tags: Scenic View, Waterfront, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Absolutely perfect in every way! This restaurant/gift store is a well kept secret!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Sunday Lunch
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 14, 2017

We had a delightful late lunch. Our server was wonderful!

Tags: Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 13, 2017

The food was excellent. The atmosphere was great. The location is superb. Most importantly our server was on the ball. Very kind and wanted to make our experience good. Sorry I do not remember her name. The experience was good and she kept our water glasses full.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 11, 2017

I had been to Camp Verde several times with girlfriends, but I wanted to take my husband. It was a beautiful drive from San Antonio, and he loved the delicious food and the beautiful setting! My only problem is he will probably want to go everytime he hears the "girls" plan to go! Our server, Elizabeth, was fantastic! Camp Verde is quite the hidden gem!

Tags: Outstanding Value, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Wonderful food, super friendly and attentive wait staff. Can't go wrong with any item on the menu. A great place to take visiting out of towners. A short drive from San Antonio through scenic country side.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fun, Outstanding Value, Comfort Food, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Casual, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 31, 2017

My husband and I came to your restaurant on the suggestion of a friend and we are so glad we made the drive from Fredericksburg!!We were visiting from Frierson, La. ----what a lovely oasis in the middle of Hill Country!! The food, service and our waitress were top notch !! We will definitely recommend your restaurant to friends who will be visiting the area in a month!! Thank you so much for an enjoyable afternoon!!Dianne Roper❤️❤️❤️❤️

Tags: Casual, Modern Decor, Afternoon Tea, Afternoon Coffee, Scenic View, Business Meals, Cozy, Historic, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Quick Bite, Good for a Date, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Family Style, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Outstanding Value, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 29, 2017

This was our first visit which was recommended to us by a friend. It was a pleasant drive from San Antonio and took only 1 hour. The food was homemade delicious. The store and the grounds were very nice.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 25, 2017

Enjoy the food and Paula took good care of us.
Would recommend this restaurant and general store to anyone. Worth the drive out!

Tags: Casual, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Scenic View, Cozy, Fun, People Watching, Great for Lunch, Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 23, 2017

Trip was a fun and upbeat waiter; the food was incredibly good; the service was Great!

Tags: Scenic View, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Great food and friendly service. It's our favorite place to eat!

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 21, 2017

We had a wonderful time! Our waitress was just the best and did a great job. The food was exceptional and all eight orders were exactly as requested. We are lucky enough to live close to Camp Verde and are able to wow visitors with a fabulous Texas Hill Country experience.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 19, 2017

We meet friends at Camp Verde Store fairly often. The food is always good, and the service is exceptional. Our party of four had onion rings, soup, a BLT, and two different hamburgers between us. Everyone was happy with their food. I like their coleslaw, which has a mustard base rather than a mayo one. The onion rings have two different sauces and serve as a great starter course. Our waiter took the time to get every preference right...How do you want your burger?...the slaw isn't what you're used to, its based on course ground mustard...Was everything done to your liking....and so on. I've not heard a complaint about this eatery since I started going there. Save room for dessert for a final treat.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Casual, Historic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 11, 2017

I had reservations in place. We were a bit late in arriving but they held the table even though they were busy. We were taken immediately to our table and seated. One of my request was a quiet table away from the crowds. They put us in the back corner of the restaurant where it was reasonably quiet. We found the wait staff to be enjoyable and efficient. Our food was prepared nicely and again the wait staff was in helping everyone get what they wanted. With dining experience being good we took t he time to walk the grounds and they are wonderful. This combination of beautiful grounds, friendly and efficient wait staff, and good food made a business meal enjoyable. I would recommend this restaurant to my associates and friends.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Wonderful server...Carolyn!
They did run out of the special and i was disappointed!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on January 4, 2017

Love this place. Make reservations so you don't have to wait. Great place for girlfriends to spend a day shopping & dining!

Tags: Organic, Comfort Food, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Substituted a side salad for the homemade chips/fries and was charged $1.50 for this. Was not informed this would occur.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 29, 2016

We dined here for lunch on a Thursday on our way to the wineries in Comfort. Fortunately a friend told us to make a reservation, as there were a lot of people waiting! We were seated right away. The decor is nice and the building charming and historic. Read about the history on their website before you go, as we did not see any historical markers or info during our visit even tho we wandered the grounds. Our lunch was delicious ( hubby had pork chops, I had veggie mushroom burger and coleslaw) and very reasonably priced. We did not indulge in dessert but it was apparent that dessert is a big draw and we saw many desserts being served. Maybe next time a stop for just coffee and dessert. On a nice weather day it would be good to visit as there are a lot of outdoor seating areas to just hang out.

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Historic, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Now that we have discovered Camp Verde, it will be a frequent stop for my family and friends. The restaurant is wonderful and the pies to die for. Gift shop is quite pricey but beautiful.

Tags: Casual, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Took a visiting relative to lunch at Camp Verde restaurant a couple of days after Christmas. The waitress was so helpful and charming, the food was plentiful and delicious. And the grounds were attractive. A special place to visit during the holidays!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Seasonal, Historic, Casual, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Camp Verde is one of my favorite places and I am happy to say that it continues to be so

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Brought my office staff from Llano County Clerk's office for Christmas lunch. The 1 1/2 hour drive was well worth the trip. They found Camp Verde very exciting and fun. Enjoyed the shopping at store after lunch. Everything was wonderful and just love the surrounding grounds.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Texas)·Dined on December 16, 2016

I always love going to Camp Verde store/restaurant,it's the most interesting place you've ever seen! The building is so historic & yet,such a comfortable place in their dining area & the views are gorgeous-you feel so out in the country & yet you're not too far from Kerrville or Bandera or Medina either.This is the heart of the Texas Hill Country,for sure! Worth the trip!

Tags: Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 15, 2016

excellent lunch, excellent service. We'll be back.

Tags: Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Historic, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 7, 2016

We have always had great food and service here. This is our to-go to restaurant when company arrives because of the atmosphere and the unique shopping experience!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Beautiful with wonderful shopping & food with lovely flavor combinations

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 1, 2016

Great food, good prices with a great atmosphere with excellent service. Making a reservation on-line is a snap and they call the day vefore to confirm. We will most certainly be eating there again. Thank You

Tags: Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.