About Camp Verde General Store and Restaurant

285 Camp Verde Road East
Camp Verde, TX 78010
View Larger Map

Every once in a while, if you are lucky, you will come upon a place that is more than you expected. It is as if you have found a secret treasure – a feeling of discovering something very special you want to share with your friends…

For more than 150 years, Camp Verde General Store has occupied this little piece of Texas. Give yourself a moment to indulge in the rich history of this timeless gem. Come relax in the shade, enjoy an ice-cold Coca-Cola™, have a one-of-a-kind sandwich from our enticing lunch menu and try our wide variety of savory jams, jellies and sauces.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Sunday: 11:00am - 3:00pm

Cross Street:
Highways 173 & 480

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(830) 634-2485

Website:
http://www.campverdegeneralstore.com/

Parking Details:
Plenty of free parking available!

Additional:
Beer, Counter Seating, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Smoking Area, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access

Camp Verde General Store and Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.8

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
San Antonio
Best Food
San Antonio
Best Service
San Antonio
13 More
Best Ambiance
San Antonio
Best Value
San Antonio
Great for Lunch
San Antonio
Scenic View
San Antonio
American
San Antonio
Best Overall
San Antonio
Best Food
San Antonio
Best Service
San Antonio
Best Ambiance
San Antonio
Best Value
San Antonio
Great for Lunch
San Antonio
Scenic View
San Antonio
American
San Antonio
Best Restaurants in Camp Verde ›

great for lunch (88)
scenic view (56)
special occasion (43)
See All
good for groups (38)
fit for foodies (26)
neighborhood gem (25)
great for brunch (21)
great for outdoor dining (15)
romantic (14)
kid-friendly (11)
hot spot (4)
late-night find (2)
notable wine list (2)
vibrant bar scene (1)
Sort By:
Newest
262 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Good as always

vip
Dined 3 days ago

An enjoyable Sunday lunch with our choices of the standards of meat loaf and chicken tenders. Superb service as always.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Super visit as usual. This is one of ou ...

Dined 5 days ago

Super visit as usual. This is one of our favorite places to go for lunch. The food is always good and the waitstaff is very friendly. The restaurant goes out of their way to make you feel special from the seating to the leaving. It is such a refreshing change from so many other places that don't seem to notice that you are there. No so at Camp Verde, they are just delighted to see you and you feel that they are. Great place for great food and nice staff.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food and relaxing atmosphere.

Dined on May 14, 2016

Camp Verde Restaurant is located out in the country between Kerville and Bandera, TX. It is located in a beautiful setting with immaculately kept grounds and facilities. The food is consistently good. I had the special which was salmon with carrots. My wife had a BLT with hand made fries and both meals were delicious. For dessert, my wife had the apple pie with ice cream, and I had the banana split which was enormous. The server did a great job.

Tags: great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Fabulous place for lunch with friends. ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

Fabulous place for lunch with friends. Also a nice treat for anyone looking for a good meal. Either male or female will enjoy the variety of the menu and the excellent wait staff. Everyone is so friendly and make you feel very special.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a Delightfully Charming Place For Lunch

Dined on May 9, 2016

My wife and I hadn't been by Camp Verde since the new addition was added several years ago. Architecturally, the facility and surrounding grounds are spectacular. The ambiance in the dining area is very pleasing with good acoustics so that you can converse easily with your companion. Our server was very attentive. The food was delicious. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding!

Dined on May 8, 2016

From the moment we were greeted at the door the moment we left we were amazed at the outstanding service and the extra touches along the way.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Mother's Day Lunch

Dined on May 7, 2016

Great place. Service was quick and server was very friendly. Food was good and overall the experience was great. I will definitely recommend to friends.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful setting

Dined on May 4, 2016

This is a beautiful area of the Texas hill country. Dining room was added to the general store a couple years ago and is very nice with good food reasonably priced. The general store has all kinds of things but my favorite part is kitchen items. All kinds of things you didn't know you needed! A good place to take visitors or just for a drive and lunch in the country.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

No soup?

Dined on May 2, 2016

No review necessary. Everything is wonderful. Problem this day was no soup! Monday and food proveyers had not arrived yet.

Tags: great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved the entire experience...can't wait ...

Dined on April 30, 2016

Loved the entire experience...can't wait to return! Everyone should try the Incredable Dessert

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A Favorite Place

vip
Dined on April 30, 2016

Consistently excellent with no compromise from the kitchen. Tasty and served at the correct temperature.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Family visit first time in Texas Hill Country

Dined on April 23, 2016

our Son from Indianapolis IN was visiting us for the first time in our new home in the Hill Country. We treated him to one of favorite restaurant's lunch at Camp Verde.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Enjoyed our lunch

Dined on April 23, 2016

We had a delightful drive out from San Antonio and thoroughly enjoyed our lunch.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dturner

Dined on April 23, 2016

We were in the area with friends and knew of Camp Verde, but had never been. Besides the great food, the building and grounds are beautiful. It looks high end, but so causal and friendly. Can't wait to return!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Restaurant in the country

Dined on April 15, 2016

This is a neat restaurant in an historic building that serves great food. We've been here before and keep coming back especially when we have visitors in town. Their food is always tasty and a real treat. Their gelato is a wonderful way to finish off a meal. The adjoining general store is historic and has a wide selection of "treasures" to chose from. Most of the items you find in here you won't see elsewhere.

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Charming and beautiful

Dined on April 5, 2016

This is my favorite place for lunch with friends and family. Staff is awesome and the entire menu is great.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Consistent quality

Dined on April 4, 2016

My husband's fraternity brother was visiting Texas. He is an excellent cook and enjoys great food. As we tend to do with out of town guests, we took him to Camp Verde on a picture perfect day. It is hard to say which he raved over most, the fabulous lunch or the gorgeous grounds. Each of us had a different sandwich, and then gelato for dessert. He was amazed to find his favorite flavor available as he rarely finds it in his travels all over the country. He also loved the kitchen gadget area, and bought an item for his home in North Carolina. He will be in Texas next month as well, and has already asked for a return visit to Camp Verde.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

Not as expected

Dined on April 3, 2016

Beautiful day, beautiful drive, beautiful place. Shorter wait than told (seated in 15 minutes when told an hour), beautiful place, looks brand new. My wife had the three cheese burger and it was horrendously overcooked and dry. I had their version of a French Dip sandwich which was fair at best. Again the roast beef was overcooked and appeared to be a commercially prepared product. Overall a great place with food that seemed prepared elsewhere.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Eater.

Dined on March 21, 2016

We go often. It is consistantly good food and wonderful ambience.

Tags: great for lunch, scenic view, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic Find!

Dined on March 19, 2016

Awesome restaurant for lunch! Wait staff very friendly. Lots of little touches and attention to detail. The general store is quaint. Next time we plan to have lunch outside by the river. We will be back!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Out of towner

Dined on March 15, 2016

Since we are Kerrville residents who drop out to CV every few weeks for a short drive and nice lunch, we chose it for meeting with friends from New Mexico. They were thrilled by yet another fine experience in Kerrville.

Tags: great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome

Dined on March 4, 2016

This a favorite spot! The food is always delicious and consistent . Freindliest staff anywhere. Beautiful grounds and great ambience ....huge portions!!

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of our favorite places!

Dined on March 3, 2016

Great food, friendly staff, beautiful dining room with views

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Little gem in the Texas hillcountry

Dined on February 28, 2016

The Camp Verde General Store and Restaurant is a little hidden gem in the hill country. It is a great destination lunch place from San Antonio if you want to enjoy the scenic Texas hill country.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food3
ambience5
service2
value3

I don't feel the facility lived up the r ...

Dined on February 27, 2016

I don't feel the facility lived up the reviews that we heard. The food was good but not all that. Very disappointed with Host. Showed early for our reservation and no effort was made to try and seat us early. Many walk-ins were seated before us. The hostess also had no clue on how long it would take to get a table. Many customers were upset for the long wait.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellant!

Dined on February 26, 2016

Everything was excellent. From the hostess who sat us to the bill at the end. Great service from our server, Trip. Delicious food and plenty of it for a great price.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Scrumptious foods!!

Dined on February 22, 2016

We motorcycle and have enjoyed your foods, dining spaces,inside and out for many years. The service is fantastic and always completed with a smile and appreciation. Your o la la sandwich ranks #1. John and Shirley from Emmetsburg IA.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect Lunch Time Getaway

Dined on February 21, 2016

The Camp Verde restaurant is one of our favorites. The food is very well prepared and the desserts are delicious.

Tags: kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

Take a nice ride in the country.

Dined on February 18, 2016

This is a restaurant that has no less than the best of it all. It is delightful to take a nice ride through the country side and be rewarded with a beautiful restaurant with good food. Normally the service is top but, on Thurs. Maria seemed to be overwhelmed by her tables. She was a bit slow but still a good waitress. If you haven't eaten here give it a try. You will not be disappointed.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Gem of a find in a remote location

Dined on February 18, 2016

It was worth the one hour drive from San Antonio to eat at this hidden gem. The menu is simple but the food delicious and service from Trip was enthusiastic. The meat loaf was exceptional and my BLT was perfect. We had fun in the gift shop too!

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Every visit is outstanding

Dined on February 16, 2016

Food great, shopping excellent and personnel always helpful and pleasant. They go out of their way to make newcomers welcome and wanting to return.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Never disappointed

Dined on February 16, 2016

Everytine we stop here for lunch (only open for lunch)' we are never disappointed. The food is great and so is the service. Reservations are not necessary, but they are recommended. The staff is friendly and helpful. It us an hour and one half from our home, the drive is scenic and well worth the drive.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful Place for Lunch

Dined on February 15, 2016

Camp Verde has a very relaxing atmosphere in a quiet country setting. The food is delicious and well prepared. I had the special which was lobster withe penne pasta in an Alfredo sauce along with a filet mignon and a side of asparagus. The meal only cost $18 which was a tremendous value. I am never disappointed. We had a great time.

Tags: great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

had a wonderful afternoon valentines lun ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

had a wonderful afternoon valentines lunch. scenic country drive. great atmosphere. enjoyable. will return.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Great experience

Dined on February 8, 2016

This was my first trip to Camp Verde but won't be my last. The food was excellent and the service was exceptional. It is in my opinion a hidden gem to be be experienced over and over. Oh, and the drive is more than pleasant.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

We love going to camp Verde. It's a gem. Y

Dined on January 30, 2016

You're online reservation needs updating. Otherwise everything else was great. Good food, great waitstaff and really good dessert.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great find

Dined on January 29, 2016

We would not have known about this restaurant if it weren't for OpenTable.com. What a great time we had at the General Store and having a delicious lunch! The day we went, we saw Tanji Patton filming one of her segments, so you know it has to be a place to go!!

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Hidden treasure

Dined on January 18, 2016

Camp Verde is a wonderful restaurant located in a fully restored historic site. The food is on point and is so masterfully prepared. The meatloaf with mashed potatoes and carrots was so delicious. My wife had a triple cheeseburger with homemade potato chips that she thoroughly enjoyed. The ambiance, decor, and service is terrific. This is one of our favorite restautants and we can't wait to return.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our Favorite

Dined on January 18, 2016

Anytime we have guest, this is our number one spot to eat. The beauty of the Hill Country, the ambiance, the outstanding food, and the service make this our favorite place to eat.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome day trip!

Dined on December 31, 2015

Camp Verde General Store and Restaurant was a wonderful day trip from San Antonio! The staff was friendly and fun, and the food was excellent. Shopping in the General Store after lunch was a great way to work off lunch. Lots of unusual items to look at and purchase. Truly an enjoyable afternoon!

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.