About Cambridge Mill

130 Water Street North
Cambridge, ON N1R 1P1
View Larger Map

We are deeply rooted in tradition, honouring the past in the style of today. This is evident in our restoration of the mill, but also in our menu. Our chefs take familiar classic dishes and turn them into something innovative, timeless and always deliciously satisfying.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Continental

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Saturday: 11:30am - 9:00pm
Sunday Brunch: 9:30am - 2:30pm
Sunday Dinner 5:00pm-9:00pm

Cross Street:
Main Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(519) 624-1828

Website:
http://www.cambridgemill.ca/

Cambridge Mill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.6

ambience

4.7

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (100)
Special Occasion (98)
Good for a Date (96)
See All
Waterfront (87)
Romantic (81)
Good for Anniversaries (69)
Fireplace (50)
Good for Birthdays (49)
Historic (48)
Worth the Drive (46)
Good for Groups (45)
Creative Cuisine (43)
Great for Brunch (40)
Local Ingredients (40)
Quiet Conversation (39)
Sunday Lunch (36)
Neighborhood Gem (36)
Fit for Foodies (35)
Cozy (34)
Great for Lunch (32)
Business Meals (30)
Pre/post Theatre (28)
Notable Wine List (27)
Modern Decor (21)
Comfort Food (20)
Authentic (19)
Seasonal (19)
Family Style (19)
Casual (14)
Healthy (14)
Private Room (14)
Wood Oven (13)
Fun (12)
Tasting Menu (12)
Gluten Free Options (11)
Good Vegetarian Options (11)
Outstanding Value (11)
Hot Spot (10)
Disabled Access (10)
Bar Seating (10)
Handcrafted Cocktails (10)
Vibrant Bar Scene (9)
Organic (8)
Kid-friendly (7)
Late-night Find (7)
Afternoon Coffee (6)
Afternoon Tea (6)
Open Kitchen (4)
Great Beer (4)
People Watching (3)
Vegan (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Tapas (1)
Spicy (1)
Sort By:
S
1838 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The Mill treated us like royalty tonight ...

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined 2 days ago

The Mill treated us like royalty tonight. They made my wife's birthday celebration a very special occasion. Thank you!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have dined here for Brunch & Dinner a ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 4 days ago

We have dined here for Brunch & Dinner and are always pleased with the Service & Food. One of our favourite restaurants! Would recommend Cambridge Mill to all!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Family Style, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Sunday Lunch, , Casual, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went for Valentine's Day dinner. Excell ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 5 days ago

Went for Valentine's Day dinner. Excellent food, excellent service. Only complaint is that they were out of the one type of steak I wanted.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Great place to eat and a even better vie ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 5 days ago

Great place to eat and a even better view!! We were late arriving due to heavy traffic and the staff still took care of getting us a table. Thanm You! We will be back!

Tags: Scenic View, Private Room, Business Meals, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Cambridge Mill never disappoints!! We ha ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

Cambridge Mill never disappoints!! We had another great meal here last night. Caesar salad was perfectly dressed, steaks were perfectly cooked - but the real winner was dessert - the pear fritters were amazing. Thanks for another great meal!

Tags: Family Style, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Very friendly staff who went out of thei ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 6 days ago

Very friendly staff who went out of their way to explain food choices and are always very patient.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options, Scenic View, , Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was unbelievable that The Mill, reser ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 12, 2017

It was unbelievable that The Mill, reserved an amazing seat for us and had actually got a bouquet of tulips that I requested for my girlfriend. I will definitely be back for seconds sometime.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Fireplace, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent overall. Parking great, atmosp ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Excellent overall. Parking great, atmosphere great, location perfect, food very good and a fair price. Waiters were also very good. It was a big step up from other restaurants yet the price was quite acceptable. No complaints at all. This was our second time here. This time our 45 th wedding anniversary. We have already booked for another meal next month. We will no doubt be back several times. It was a pleasure all round. Thank you.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Not nearly as good as I was told. The f ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Not nearly as good as I was told. The food was tasteless unfortunately and very expensive.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

Excellent service. Great ambiance. Excep ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Excellent service. Great ambiance. Exceptional food.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lovely meal and lovely ambience - as alw ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Lovely meal and lovely ambience - as always! We enjoyed the new menu.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Delicious food and a great view overlook ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 6, 2017

Delicious food and a great view overlooking the water!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always satisfied coming here with food a ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 6, 2017

Always satisfied coming here with food and service.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Waterfront, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Historic, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server was attentive and always avai ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Our server was attentive and always available despite busy setting with all tables taken. The food was great as always and the variety left no tastes disappointed. We have come back for three years now and would recommend to all as a great. Meal, terrific view and great experience.

Thank you again for the great brunch!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Scenic View, Waterfront, Sunday Lunch, Family Style, Casual, Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I requested waterfront seating because m ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 5, 2017

I requested waterfront seating because most of our guests were dining there for the first time, and I am very appreciative that they followed through! Our server was very kind and gracious, always following up to see if we needed our water refilled or our cutlery replaced.

Tags: Healthy, Waterfront, Fun, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Family Style, Casual, Great for Brunch, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We have visited the Cambridge Mill on a ...

 
 (London)·Dined on February 5, 2017

We have visited the Cambridge Mill on a number of occasions and have never been disappointed in the food quality, presentation or customer service.

Tags: Special Occasion, Waterfront, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great staff and service. Sat by the fall ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Great staff and service. Sat by the falls sonwas great. Food and wine were delicious.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server was amazing. Unfortunately, w ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Our server was amazing. Unfortunately, we were served our main course at 8:20pm and we had arrived at 6pm. I think no matter the day even if it is a Saturday waiting for over 2 hours is ridiculous. Our service was really good though, the gentleman serving us was very nice and professional.

To top off the waiting, 3 out of 6 people got food poisoning. They all had the "han" entree, which obviously only added one more negative to the experience overall.

This is not the first time we have come to Cambridge Mill, but it doesn't seem like we would be coming back.

Tags: Historic, Good for Birthdays, Family Style, Romantic, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value2

This place has everything I ever wanted ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 4, 2017

This place has everything I ever wanted in a fine dining restaurant! I went there with my fiancé for a special night out, and booked about a week in advance to make sure I would have a good table. We ended up sitting in one of the best sections that was overhanging the Grand River. We had a beautiful view and the atmosphere was very cozy. The server was extremely kind and helpful without being probing or pushy. There was an issue with our food being about 45 minutes late due to a large party before us, but when the food got to our table it was well worth the wait! We both had steaks and they were cooked to perfection with a great overall presentation! The oysters and stuffed portobello mushroom we had were also stunning once they came out. Initially we were told that the mushroom would be free due to the long wait, but once dessert came around we were also treated to anything we wanted from the dessert menu. We had the Crème brûlée which again was absolutely delicious. Then when the bill came we found that they had only charged us for the main dishes and nothing else. Their level of service and customer satisfaction is top notch, and the manager even came out to apologize for the delay. If you are looking for a place that cares about their patrons and will make sure your night and meal are perfect, then this is the place! Although the meals are pricey, I would go back there time and time again just because of the initial experience. Thank you to everyone who made the night so special and delicious!

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Waterfront, Seasonal, Historic, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Cozy, Fun, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a delicious dinner. Kevin, our w ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 4, 2017

We had a delicious dinner. Kevin, our waiter was very friendly and answered all our questions. Our hostess came over and wished us a happy anniversary, so did Kevin. We didn't have room for dessert, however, they gave us 2 to take home. I was quiet impressed. My husband proposed to me at the old mill 24 years ago. We try to go back as often as we can. Thank you for making our anniversary special. Great job everyone. Cheers. Anita & Joe.

Tags: Modern Decor, Historic, Quick Bite, Romantic, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Disabled Access, Fireplace, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Great for Brunch, Cozy, Scenic View, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing food, great view, historic charm ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Amazing food, great view, historic charm and fair prices.

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Historic, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was a most pleasant evening, our par ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 1, 2017

It was a most pleasant evening, our party of five enjoyed the get together. The service was prompt and proffessional. We all thought the food was well presented and tasted as good as it looked. The price was as expected for fine dining. Over all a fun time for us

Tags: Local Ingredients, Modern Decor, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We went for Sunday brunch for my 30th bi ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 29, 2017

We went for Sunday brunch for my 30th birthday! Food and service were wonderful, fantastic selection and good quality. Definitely recommend!

Tags: Hot Spot, Waterfront, Romantic, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

great tasting and select of food on bruc ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 29, 2017

great tasting and select of food on bruch buffet, excellent service and a great view.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Exceptional brunch selection as well as ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Exceptional brunch selection as well as service. One of our party had a dietary concern, and was taken by the chef on a tour of the serving tables to discuss the ingredient lists of the dishes. The selection and displays and of dishes was outstanding, as was the quality of the food. As picturesque a location as you will find anywhere.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Cozy, Gluten Free Options, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

My wife and I were attempting to enjoy b ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 29, 2017

My wife and I were attempting to enjoy brunch for our 40th anniversary and the quality of the food wasn't as good as on previous visits.

Tags: Waterfront, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service5
value2

Great fresh food. Service is excellent. ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Great fresh food. Service is excellent. Pricey brunch but if you like seafood this is the place to go.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had the Sunday brunch it was was my w ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 29, 2017

We had the Sunday brunch it was was my wife's birthday. It was amazing friendly staff and our waiter was exceptional. I would recommend it to any one

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have a lovely meal. Our server was o ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 26, 2017

We have a lovely meal. Our server was outstanding and gave us the space we needed to have time to talk and leisurely make our way through dinner. We were given complimentary sparking wine with out dessert to celebrate our special occasion. It was a delightful treat. Everything was cooked to perfection and we are looking forward to returning again soon.

Tags: Private Room, Special Occasion, Historic, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We came here for a date night/birthday c ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 24, 2017

We came here for a date night/birthday celebration and the ambiance was perfect! Sat near the windows looking out to the water and the wait staff was delightful. They checked up on us frequently but gave us enough space that it was annoying.

We ordered:

  • Chicken Wings to start and it was delicious; crispy and not over cooked

  • Ordered the daily special salad; kale and arugula salad with sweet vinaigrette topped with sunflower seeds and cranberries- tasted better than it looked

  • 10oz sirloin steak which was delicious; not the best cut of steak but still really good

  • Mac and Cheese pasta; which was very rich and cheesy with a hint of lime; delicious but did not finish

We ended up ordering the crème brulee for dessert and they gave it to us on the house because we were celebrating a birthday!

All in all it was a great dining experience and we would definitely return for another meal.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fireplace, Private Room, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Top night. The steak and wine deal is am ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 23, 2017

Top night. The steak and wine deal is amazing value for money. Our waitress Sara was such a delight

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is one of our favourite places. We ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 23, 2017

This is one of our favourite places. We also enjoy Spencer's, Ancaster Mill and Food to Table. We can always count on a delicious meal, excellent service, nice scenery and a good time.

This time, was here with friends to celebrate a birthday. @nd time we have visited as our Bridge group and will not be the last! Thanks

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Sunday Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quick Bite, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Cozy, Scenic View, Fun, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

seveal meal choices to meet the needs of ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 22, 2017

seveal meal choices to meet the needs of any diner. Hands down the best brunch in the tri-city

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Historic, Good for a Date, Fireplace, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Staff were amazing, food was wonderful. ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Staff were amazing, food was wonderful. Portions were larger than they needed to be but it was perfect. The oysters are the best anywhere. Love it here, the fireplace was roaring and the river view is gorgeous.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, service and ambience. Was a ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Great food, service and ambience. Was a bit loud, but the restaurant is quite busy/big

Tags: Fireplace, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was 'OK'. Very loud place to eat. K ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Food was 'OK'. Very loud place to eat. Kinda kills the vibe of elegant dining. Service was OK- but waiter seemed to forget about us and needed to be called more then once to wait on us. Overall had better at other places.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

Excellent meal and attentive service. Wi ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Excellent meal and attentive service. Will be back!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

We went to Cambridge Mill after reading ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 20, 2017

We went to Cambridge Mill after reading reviews on TripAdvisor. Was an anniversary dinner.

The atmosphere was exceptional - great view over the water. Very modern and roomy feel to the decor.

The food was great - so much so that we went for both lunch and dinner. Not inexpensive but enjoyed it none-the-less.

The service was excellent. They gave us complimentary Proseco and desserts as it was a special anniversary. And we did not tell them it was anniversary - they inquired which impressed us.

I would highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent food and service. This is also ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Excellent food and service. This is also a very beautiful venue. There is a great deal of variety in the buffet, so that many things for everyone's taste. Overall, a great experience.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Visited for the Sunday brunch buffet and ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Visited for the Sunday brunch buffet and was not disappointed! Everything is displayed beautifully and there is so much variety of wonderful, flavourful food both hot and cold. The seafood station is particularly delicious and the prime rib wasn't too bad either! Definitely will be back and will recommend!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Gluten Free Options, Seasonal, Family Style, Afternoon Tea, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Waterfront, Good for Groups, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.