About Cambridge Mill

130 Water Street North
Cambridge, ON N1R 1P1
View Larger Map

We are deeply rooted in tradition, honouring the past in the style of today. This is evident in our restoration of the mill, but also in our menu. Our chefs take familiar classic dishes and turn them into something innovative, timeless and always deliciously satisfying.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Continental

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Saturday: 11:30am - 9:00pm
Sunday Brunch: 9:30am - 2:30pm
Sunday Dinner 5:00pm-9:00pm

Cross Street:
Main Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(519) 624-1828

Website:
http://www.cambridgemill.ca/

Cambridge Mill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Scenic View
Toronto / Ontario
Best Ambiance
Southern Ontario
Romantic
Southern Ontario
2 More
Special Occasion
Southern Ontario
Most Booked
Southern Ontario
Best Restaurants in Cambridge ›

scenic view (237)
special occasion (236)
romantic (157)
See All
great for brunch (136)
good for groups (131)
fit for foodies (126)
great for lunch (90)
neighborhood gem (61)
notable wine list (43)
hot spot (23)
kid-friendly (23)
great for outdoor dining (16)
late-night find (15)
vibrant bar scene (9)
Sort By:
Newest
1457 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Food was well prepared , presentation wa ...

Dined 5 days ago

Food was well prepared , presentation was very good. The view was spectacular . Our server was knowledgeable and friendly. We will go back for sure.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Loved my server i believe his name was R ...

Dined 7 days ago

Loved my server i believe his name was Roland, have been served by him in the past, and specifically asked for his service on this past sunday. he was amazing as usual

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a fantastic brunch on Father's da ...

Dined 7 days ago

We had a fantastic brunch on Father's day which was also our 30th Wedding anniversary. The food was exceptional and the service was fantastic. The Cambridge Mill is a wonderful setting for all celebrations!

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The occasion was a Father's Day brunch. ...

Dined 7 days ago

The occasion was a Father's Day brunch. Generally I do not go for buffets but this one was exceptional! The price seems high until you figure in that it includes bar drinks - mimosas, Caesers etc. - and a fantastic selection of seafoods and meats as well as made-to -order omelettes, crepes and stir fry. We were given a table with a fantastic view of the river. The service was excellent as well.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

You have everything needed fr a Michelin ...

Dined 7 days ago

You have everything needed fr a Michelin star but could use a better deal fr family with young kids cheers Barry

Tags: scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Beautiful restaurant in a great location ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Beautiful restaurant in a great location with the best service we've had in quite some time.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was the first time I went to you re ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

This was the first time I went to you restaurant. It was for a special occasion. I'm not from Cambridge but I promised myself to go back soon It's worth the trip Good job all Claude

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

never disappoints! great service, great ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

never disappoints! great service, great food, and what a view !

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

We were on a tight schedule, and our ser ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

We were on a tight schedule, and our server respected that, got us served and on our way in good time, without any obvious rush. The food and service were first rate.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

An absolutely beautiful location for a r ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

An absolutely beautiful location for a restaurant. The service and food were both exceptional. Well worth the drive!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

One of the best restaurants I have eaten ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

One of the best restaurants I have eaten at in the Kitchener - Waterloo - Cambridge area. If you have not eaten at the Mill make sure you do so. What a beautiful location and the food was spectacular! Its a must visit for anyone coming to Cambridge.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

I had the lamb and unfortunatley it was ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

I had the lamb and unfortunatley it was very salty. In hindsight I wish I had said something but I am not usually one to complain. The only other meal I have had at the Mill was the best salmon I ever had, over a roasted fennel and apple risotto. My husband had the pork and enjoyed it. Service was very good. A dress code would be nice as there were a couple of patrons wearing worn out jeans, tshirts and baseball caps...reduces the sense of fine dining for sure. Despite being a little disappointed in my meal and some of the other patrons I will give the Mill another shot.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We had a beautiful lunch over looking th ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

We had a beautiful lunch over looking the river...so excited to go back for a drink or late night snack

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We wanted a nice place to go for dinner ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

We wanted a nice place to go for dinner for my Birthday. Cambridge Mill did not disappoint! We lucked out with it being a Monday as they had their Date Night Special. Although the menu was a little pricey, it made it much more affirdable to order the special. Our server was incredibly knowledgeable and attentive, which helped to make it a truly enjoyable experience. We lucked out and had a table by the window overlooking the river. Definitely a great option for date night or a special occasion.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had not been to the Mill for a while. ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

We had not been to the Mill for a while. Won't let time pass again. Great meal view and service

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, scenic view
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

2nd time having brunch and found that th ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

2nd time having brunch and found that the food that should be hot wasn't which was disappointing when you pay such a high price.

Tags: scenic view
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

The food was not great. the choice was s ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

The food was not great. the choice was so limited. The crepe area was very smoke filled. For 66 dollars with a 20 percent tip,for me was not a great experience. I drove there from Grimsby to enjoy this...sorry

food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Great location. Got together with friend ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Great location. Got together with friends for brunch. Amazing views - fantastic fresh shucked oysters - great selection of foods for all tastes and styles.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

My family and I arrived to celebrate my ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

My family and I arrived to celebrate my birthday and we were all stunned that we had never come across this gem of a restaurant. We were perfectly seated by the window overlooking the cascading water. It was stunning and the food, the steaks especially, were delicious. Thank you!

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food, great service!

Dined on June 10, 2016

Great food, great service!

food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Beautiful View! Great Service!

Dined on June 10, 2016

Driving up to the Cambridge Mill you'd never imagine the view that awaits you when you walk in the dining room. Sweeping views of the rushing river complete with rapids and a few brave fisherman welcome you through the large, almost industrial windows. This is an amazing contrast to the stone walls and windows of the old section of the building. The Mill has done an excellent job in combining the two eras in a modern, classy restaurant. Each room we saw had its own feel and decor, equally as nice. We were there for a birthday lunch and had a sunny seat right by the window overlooking the river. The service was excellent with two waitstaff anticipating our every need without being pushy. We began with Oysters and a beer & cheese dip - delicious! Each of us had an entree, a Turkey BLT with Caesar salad and an asparagus salad that combined warm steamed asparagus with a cold salad of shaved asparagus, arugula, radishes and a vinaigrette. There was a poached egg costed in breadcrumbs that I was excited to have over my salad, unfortunately it was way to overcooked and I had no runny yolk on my salad. I also "made it an entree" for an extra $9 with a side of trout which was a generous size and cooked perfectly. It was a birthday celebration so we packed up half our savouries and headed on to dessert. Bombolinis, little warm donuts, freshly made and filled with lemon curd served over a tart strawberry rhubarb compote. They were highly dusted in white sugar and I would have ordered them without that sugary crust if I had known how thick it would be, but someone else might find that heavenly! My friend's plate came out with a candle and Happy Birthday written in chocolate syrup. She had a chocolate pate with bananas and banana ice cream and caramel. Too rich to finish but super yummy too. Overall, it was a great visit and a place we would try again. It was pretty price with the three courses so I would say it is a splurge and good for a special occasion.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

99th Birthday

Dined on June 8, 2016

We had a very special evening at the Cambridge Mill for my mother on her 99th birthday. The food was excellent, the surroundings and views are magnificent. In particular, the service was outstanding. Very attentive, very funny, we had a great time. And the cake that you provided for Mom was magnificent. She is still talking about our visit. Thank you all. A very fine restaurant that I would recommend to anyone.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent

Dined on June 7, 2016

Cambridge Mill is an excellent place to have lunch. We had the best view of the water fall and grand river. Food was excellent and the server was amazing. He was friendly, attentive, talkative, and a great communicator. Would come back again if we are in town.

Tags: great for lunch
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We had a birthday dinner for our daughte ...

Dined on June 6, 2016

We had a birthday dinner for our daughters on Monday June 6th and it was fantastic. The service was great as was the food. My husband steak wasn't 100% how he liked it and without hesitation or even being asked they brought him a new one. They gave my girls a wonderful birthday experience. We will be back and we will recommend to friends!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

A neighbour gem

Dined on June 6, 2016

Love that we can walk to such an amazing restaurant. Always a delicious meal.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Brunch

Dined on June 5, 2016

We visit the Cambridge Mill every June for their spectacular Brunch!! Always a pleaser😀👌

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful! 10 out of 10

Dined on June 4, 2016

Wonderful food, Amazing Service and overall a great experience. Will be back :D

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Cambridge Mill never disappoints.

Dined on June 4, 2016

Fabulous food, stellar service and a matchless view of the Grand River. Worth a visit in every season.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

The Cambridge Mill delivers every time!

Dined on June 3, 2016

This Cambridge landmark has it all! Fresh modern atmosphere with extraordinary view of the Grand River (we spent the time between courses watching a heron catching fish in the river!) , a relaxed and welcoming team at reception and knowledgeable wait staff; and best of all - outstanding food. I nearly always order fish because it is always perfectly cooked but the menu offers other options that are sure to please. Prices are on par with other higher-end local restaurants but they can't compete with the spectacular view or the quality of the food.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing experience

Dined on June 1, 2016

This restaurant is fabulous from the second that you enter it to the time you leave. They pay attention to the smallest touches such as window blind height to the pouring of the water in flasks. The menu is diverse and well priced for the options. The food was amazing and if you are sharing with someone they will split your plate for you. This was the best dining experience ever.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A delightful anniversary outing

Dined on May 28, 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed our meal. It was unseasonably warm (open air) but it was a pleasure to enjoy our evening in the historic waterfront.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

What a find! In town for an event we luc ...

Dined on May 27, 2016

What a find! In town for an event we lucked into this find and would highly recommend Cambridge Mill to anyone looking for a fine dining experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food1
ambience4
service2
value1

We love Cambridge Mill for Sunday Brunch ...

Dined on May 26, 2016

We love Cambridge Mill for Sunday Brunch but this second experience for dinner was disappointing. Atmosphere is always nice. Mashed potatoes are now like glue. Steak size and preparation was mediocre at best. Steelhead trout technically salmon was good. My cocktail was poor. Wine choices mediocre. It was a disappointing night and sad because we were on holiday and looking for a nice relaxing meal. Buck a shuck oysters were also way too small and it's not our first time for those. When this small they should at least do a baker's dozen. There are numerous other places to go that way surpass this meal we had. Sorry. Brunch only for a long time.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We've been to the Cambridge Mill a numbe ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

We've been to the Cambridge Mill a number of times and have never been disappointed. Excellent service and food with an amazing view. One of our favourite places to visit.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely perfect experience from start ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

Absolutely perfect experience from start to finish! Attentive service, great menu choices, superb food! Highly recommended!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Our waiter Quinn honestly made our exper ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

Our waiter Quinn honestly made our experience amazing. The food was great. The view was amazing and we had such a fun evening.

food5
ambience5
service5

The view of the Grand River (and the two ...

Dined on May 17, 2016

The view of the Grand River (and the two bridges that span it) from the vantage point of our corner table was as picturesque as could be. It was the perfect complement to the delectable spread in which we indulged.

food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Brunch was fantastic except for the crep ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Brunch was fantastic except for the crepes which tasted burnt and had somewhat of an iron flavour from the pan

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4

Food was amazing as always

Dined on May 15, 2016

Food was amazing as always

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Good location near the river and the ho ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Good location near the river and the hotel is next door for guests staying over night for weddings. Fabulous restaurant great food. With exceptional service from the staff.

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.