About Cambridge Mill

130 Water Street North
Cambridge, ON N1R 1P1
View Larger Map

We are deeply rooted in tradition, honouring the past in the style of today. This is evident in our restoration of the mill, but also in our menu. Our chefs take familiar classic dishes and turn them into something innovative, timeless and always deliciously satisfying.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Continental

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Saturday: 11:30am - 9:00pm
Sunday Brunch: 9:30am - 2:30pm
Sunday Dinner 5:00pm-9:00pm

Cross Street:
Main Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(519) 624-1828

Website:
http://www.cambridgemill.ca/

Cambridge Mill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.7

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Toronto / Ontario
Great for Brunch
Toronto / Ontario
Scenic View
Toronto / Ontario
8 More
Continental
Toronto / Ontario
Best Overall
Southern Ontario
Best Service
Southern Ontario
Best Ambiance
Southern Ontario
Best Value
Southern Ontario
Romantic
Southern Ontario
Special Occasion
Southern Ontario
Most Booked
Southern Ontario
Best Restaurants in Cambridge ›

Scenic View (245)
Special Occasion (241)
Romantic (164)
See All
Good for Groups (131)
Fit for Foodies (129)
Great for Brunch (120)
Great for Lunch (87)
Neighborhood Gem (77)
Notable Wine List (56)
Great for Outdoor Dining (25)
Hot Spot (23)
Kid-friendly (21)
Late-night Find (8)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Authentic (1)
Fun (1)
Casual (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Waterfront (1)
Historic (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1538 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Beautiful spot, great service and delici ...

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Beautiful spot, great service and delicious food overall!

Tags: Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing place, came here for a dinner da ...

 
·Dined 5 days ago

Amazing place, came here for a dinner date. Didn't get a table with a view of the river but I asked the server to move us, he kept us updated and offered us different tables. Unfortunately it was a cloudy day so we didn't get to see the sunset. I'd definitely come here again, the food was amazing. We split the appetizer, goat cheese and fig flatbread, both got the pan fried duck, and had separate desserts. Just amazing, the waiter gave us a very detailed description of every dessert because we couldn't decide. We settled on the Dark Chocolate Pate with banana ice cream and the honeycomb crème brulee.

Tags: Authentic, Fun, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Historic, Modern Decor, Wood Oven, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were lucky enough to be seated at the ...

 
·Dined 5 days ago

We were lucky enough to be seated at the window, so the view was beautiful. Our waiter was the perfect balance of attentiveness without being bothersome. My meal was excellent - a tasting dish with a nice variety of items, and perfect quantities to ensure I was sufficiently filled without being stuffed. My husband's steak was slightly overdone, but not enough to take away from the meal. It was all capped off with 2 complimentary glasses of champagne since the waiter overheard us wishing each other a happy anniversary (very classy touch). One small item to note was that it was a very warm day, and the room we dined in had the windows all open. Not too hot for us, but perhaps for some. There is another room available that is fully air conditioned for those that wanted it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Perfect restaurant to have a nice conver ...

 
·Dined 5 days ago

Perfect restaurant to have a nice conversation. Server was courteous and sincere. Place was a bit pricey but all worth it as the food was excellent. Ambiance and setup of the restaurant by the river complemented everything.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

excellent caesar salad; great apple pie; ...

 
·Dined 5 days ago

excellent caesar salad; great apple pie; all attractively presented. Minor quibbles: need noise buffers; the sauce on the salmon was too strong & obliterated the taste of salmon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Another lovely meal with friends. Excel ...

 
·Dined 5 days ago

Another lovely meal with friends. Excellent food. Amazing waiter. Bravo !!!!!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and service. Everything w ...

 
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Excellent food and service. Everything we expected and more.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Unfortunately, we were seated right besi ...

 
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Unfortunately, we were seated right beside the fireplace and the one side had a hard time getting in an out. I had requested a window table since our friends were from the USA......that was pretty disappointing for us.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Lovely spot for dining and ambiance with ...

 
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Lovely spot for dining and ambiance with excellent service.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Mill offers a lovely setting, with r ...

 
·Dined on August 12, 2016

The Mill offers a lovely setting, with rustic stonework and a view of the river.

The menu includes some unique offerings ....pickle soup, pea fritters....a selection of steak, etc

We were there for a special birthday and we're pleased to receive a specially decorated plate for dessert that included chocolate pate, banana ice cream and a birthday candle to make a wish.

Our server was knowledgeable and attentive(but very busy the night we were there) My cutlery was removed with my appetizer plate and another server brought my main and quickly disappeared without checking to see if we had everything. I was left sitting with a lovely steak for a few minutes...before I was able to get the attention of our server.

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Been there 3 times now and food and drin ...

 
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Been there 3 times now and food and drinks were awesome look forward to returning

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2

My husband and I celebrated our recent a ...

 
·Dined on August 11, 2016

My husband and I celebrated our recent anniversary at Cambridge Mill, after learning our son and his fiancé have chosen it for their wedding venue next spring. We had a great table overlooking the river and our waiter was attentive and friendly. The building itself is charming and well maintained, however it was rather warm in some areas. We had the ribeye which was flavorful but a bit over done. The restaurant was quite busy at the time, especially in the bar area where oysters were being shucked and served. Overall I would describe the food experience as good but not great.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Great place to dine with beautiful atmos ...

 
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Great place to dine with beautiful atmosphere. The food is expensive, but you definitely get what you pay for. Delicious dining, and perfect ambiance. A must-go for any date night.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Thanks to a special summer promotion I w ...

 
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Thanks to a special summer promotion I was enticed to dine at The Mill on a Monday night. I was obviously not the only one in town to do so as it was packed. The Mill did not disappoint, our server was excellent, attentive throughout the meal and the food as expected was fantastic. What wasn't expected was the great Monday night offer wine and steak for two. Looking forward to our next dinner at the Mill.

Tags: Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and atmosphere were fantastic. ...

 
·Dined on August 8, 2016

The food and atmosphere were fantastic. My only wish is that we were closer to the window for a better view of the river.

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We came in with our friends to try the s ...

 
·Dined on August 8, 2016

We came in with our friends to try the special $60 Monday night dinner. The food was good, however, we felt that the steaks were very, very "chewy" , and not as tender as expected. We all ordered our steaks to be cooked "medium". Service was excellent, the fries and rest of the meal was good as was our dessert - warm brownie with ice cream (huge portion that all 4 of us shared and enjoyed).

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value3

Great food, beautiful views, and good pr ...

 
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Great food, beautiful views, and good prices! On Monday there have an unbelievable deal of steak and fries for two with a bottle of wine for $60. It's our favorite night to go!!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been to the Cambridge Mill on se ...

 
·Dined on August 7, 2016

We have been to the Cambridge Mill on several special occasions. This happens to be our son's favourite restaurant where he wanted to go for his 40th birthday. Food, service and attention to this special occasion were outstanding. Of course the view, WOW!!

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Our server .Paul, was very amicable and ...

 
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Our server .Paul, was very amicable and has a great sense of humour.I ordered Lamb but was very disappointed that there was no mint sauce.{Being English its is usual}I had company over from England and they loved the experience.Thankyou. Dawn

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent food, great service-very atten ...

 
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Excellent food, great service-very attentive but not overbearing. Our second visit here and we will be back.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

First time coming here after the massive ...

 
·Dined on August 6, 2016

First time coming here after the massive renovation. Can quickly become our new favourite restaurant.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Romantic, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Outstanding venue - Great food, great se ...

 
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Outstanding venue - Great food, great service, great view

Tags: Great for Brunch, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My absolute favourite place around! Ever ...

 
·Dined on August 5, 2016

My absolute favourite place around! Everytime I go I am always extremely impressed and I will always return!

My number 1 choice!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We reserved a table for our 10th anniver ...

 
·Dined on August 5, 2016

We reserved a table for our 10th anniversary celebration and seated overlooking the dam. The staff were all welcoming and curious about our 3 month old we brought along!

The waiter and chef courteously catered to vegan requests and the food was absolutely delicious! Honestly, we were expecting it to be more costly, because we were so impressed with the level of quality all-round!

Lovely gem in Cambridge. We have never experienced a restaurant here that we would recommend so highly.

Tags: Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Scenic View, Romantic, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service provided by Michael and Rile ...

 
·Dined on August 2, 2016

The service provided by Michael and Riley was A+! I have eaten at a lot of high end restaurants yet still receive service that equates to that of a low-end dining experience. They were observant when we needed something but not annoying like some restaurants where you can't even put a spoon in your mouth without them asking how "everything is". It was my Girlfriend's 30th Birthday dinner and they went above and beyond offering a complementary glass of champagne for both of us as our main course did take some time to come out (well worth it! The food was amazing!) and presented us with a beautiful dessert platter of fresh fruits, crème Brule, and lemon pastries. I will be coming back to the Mill in the future!

Cheers,

Jeff

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

for our 8th wedding anniversary and my b ...

 
·Dined on August 1, 2016

for our 8th wedding anniversary and my birthday we tried out your famous location for the first time... it was nothing but epic, the ambiance set from just walking in the door was romantic and luckily wasn't busy so the night remained intimate. the service was outstanding and went up and above expectations when greeted with some anniversary bubbly. at the end of the night they brought out a slice of cake with a candle for my birthday and words cant describe how appreciative i am of that experience. thank you you'll see us again.

ps. food was fantastic too

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Tomato salad was excellent! So was the g ...

 
·Dined on August 1, 2016

Tomato salad was excellent! So was the gluten-free bread offering... hard to find good gf bread so much I often just avoid it. Cornish hen was good. Rhubarb sour was delicious although I expected egg white in the drink. I should have known better given my dining partner's classic cocktail request wasn't fully understood. Good cocktail list otherwise, wine list good as well for local and new world, would love to see more reasonable French options -- I am biased in that regard.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Our meal at the Cambridge Mill and dinin ...

 
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Our meal at the Cambridge Mill and dining experience was fantastic!

The service was fantastic. From arrival - to server - to manager coming by our table to ensure we were pleased.

I would recommend this restaurant to others!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Superb food, great atmosphere. Service ...

 
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Superb food, great atmosphere. Service was attentive and thoughtful.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We were disappointed in the food availab ...

 
·Dined on July 31, 2016

We were disappointed in the food available for brunch, in particular the Eggs Benedict. That dish was cold and the english muffin was rock hard. In general, the rest of the food in the hot trays was cold by the time we sat at our table again. The only warm food was the omelet and the crepe and they were made especially for us. This restaurant was very highly recommended to us, but I doubt we'll go back again.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value3

Delicious food, as always. The seafood, ...

 
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Delicious food, as always. The seafood, salad, and charcuterie area was not set up as well as it has been in the past (everything was in one row, rather than spaced out in stations around the bar area). There was a lot of bottlenecking happening around the oysters and crab. We were seated at a table that was probably meant for fewer seats than the number in our party. It was very difficult to get out of the table since the chairs were so close together. Our server was very friendly, although she was a little slow with the drinks. It's clearly a good place to work, as the staff all seem very happy to be there. We'll definitely be back!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Had a wonderful time with my daughter an ...

 
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Had a wonderful time with my daughter and mother in law. Our waiter was amazing! Unfortunately I am not good with remembering names but he was outstanding! The complimentary butter tart that we received was amazing! Best tart I have ever tasted Thank you

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Cambridge Mill has the feel of an older ...

 
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Cambridge Mill has the feel of an older building used for a clean, modern, dining experience. Cozy seating nooks are contrasted with floor-to-ceiling windows looking out over the water, creating either a more muted lighting experience nearer the fire, or a light and airy one with the view of the water; whichever fits your occasion.

I am sensitive to gluten and to cow dairy, and the Mill catered to my needs very sensitively. Their gluten-free bread should be asked for and experienced - the chef worked on different recipe variations for 6 months to get the best bread! I had a green salad with walnuts with oil and vinaigrette dressing to start, followed by the pickerel. Such beautiful, moist fish I have never tasted, perfectly partnered with grilled vegetables!

We were seated, and then requested a change of seating to be nearer the window. Even though those seats did fill up our request was accommodated with good grace. Throughout our time at the Mill, the staff were attentive but not overly so, checking on us until we had ordered, making suggestions from the menu when needed, and then returning when it was obvious we had finished our courses.

In a town such as Cambridge with many fast food diners, historic buildings and the preservation of them as re-purposed working experiences is key to its authentic feel. Cambridge Mill is one such cultural experience, and should be experienced regularly. It is a gem on the river, employing talented chefs and wait staff. Let them make you feel special and make your tummy feel satisfied - its what they do best.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I went to The Mill for ou ...

 
·Dined on July 27, 2016

My husband and I went to The Mill for our anniversary dinner and have never been before. Beautiful setting overlooking the river. The atmosphere was wonderful, our waitress was amazing, always on top of things by clearing plates or topping up drinks. Will definitely be back!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great steaks. Monday night special was s ...

 
·Dined on July 25, 2016

Great steaks. Monday night special was superb. He pickle soup is a favourite.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had the Monday night Steak & Wine spe ...

 
·Dined on July 25, 2016

We had the Monday night Steak & Wine special for 2 and highly recommend it! The Bavette Steak was delicious and perfectly prepared, accompanied by a generous amount of frites, asparagus spears, and the softest focaccia bread ever. From a choice of 6 wines (3 red and 3 white), we had a bottle of Italian red blend that was superb for the price. Also offered was a choice of 3 appetizers for 2 for an extra $15. We chose the Caesar salad which was very tasty and ample for 2 people. Besides the great food, the service was top-notch and the surroundings and view of the river were perfect. Overall, an exceptional experience at an exceptional value.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We travel an hour to go to your restaura ...

 
·Dined on July 24, 2016

We travel an hour to go to your restaurant because the location and view is complemented by excellent food and service.

Unfortunately we arrived and the duck dish was sold out, it was not a good night for my wife but it does say a great deal about the chef and his/her ability to prepare this meal. Next time we are going to call ahead.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Superb service considering it was a buff ...

 
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Superb service considering it was a buffet brunch- very attentive wait staff (they will get you what you want if you don't want to get up and go yourself). Unlimited Mimosas and Caesars and excellent coffee/espresso type coffees also unlimited. Excellent food, lovely spot.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food is always amazing for brunch - exce ...

 
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Food is always amazing for brunch - excellent service, delicious and tons of choice for all food types, wonderful desserts

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have lived in Cambridge for 19 years ...

 
·Dined on July 22, 2016

We have lived in Cambridge for 19 years and this was our first visit to this restaurant and what a great experience. We will be back !!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.