About Cambridge Mill

130 Water Street North
Cambridge, ON N1R 1P1
View Larger Map

We are deeply rooted in tradition, honouring the past in the style of today. This is evident in our restoration of the mill, but also in our menu. Our chefs take familiar classic dishes and turn them into something innovative, timeless and always deliciously satisfying.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Continental

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Saturday: 11:30am - 9:00pm
Sunday Brunch: 9:30am - 2:30pm
Sunday Dinner 5:00pm-9:00pm

Cross Street:
Main Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(519) 624-1828

Website:
http://www.cambridgemill.ca/

Restaurant Photos

  • Cambridge Mill, Cambridge, ON
  • Cambridge Mill, Cambridge, ON
  • Cambridge Mill, Cambridge, ON
  • Cambridge Mill, Cambridge, ON
  • Cambridge Mill, Cambridge, ON

Report a photo problem

Cambridge Mill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (109)
Scenic View (102)
Waterfront (99)
See All
Good for a Date (95)
Romantic (82)
Good for Anniversaries (78)
Good for Birthdays (65)
Historic (53)
Good for Groups (51)
Fireplace (50)
Worth the Drive (50)
Local Ingredients (43)
Creative Cuisine (42)
Quiet Conversation (40)
Sunday Lunch (39)
Great for Brunch (38)
Great for Lunch (36)
Business Meals (35)
Fit for Foodies (35)
Neighborhood Gem (34)
Cozy (33)
Pre/post Theatre (26)
Notable Wine List (25)
Modern Decor (23)
Comfort Food (19)
Authentic (19)
Casual (19)
Seasonal (18)
Outstanding Value (17)
Healthy (17)
Private Room (16)
Family Style (14)
Gluten Free Options (13)
Wood Oven (13)
Handcrafted Cocktails (12)
Fun (12)
Good Vegetarian Options (12)
Disabled Access (12)
Tasting Menu (11)
Bar Seating (9)
Vibrant Bar Scene (8)
Late-night Find (7)
Afternoon Tea (7)
Organic (7)
Hot Spot (7)
Great Beer (6)
Afternoon Coffee (6)
Kid-friendly (6)
Open Kitchen (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Vegan (3)
People Watching (3)
Tapas (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Spicy (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
1803 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

seveal meal choices to meet the needs of ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined a day ago

seveal meal choices to meet the needs of any diner. Hands down the best brunch in the tri-city

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Historic, Good for a Date, Fireplace, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Staff were amazing, food was wonderful. ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 2 days ago

Staff were amazing, food was wonderful. Portions were larger than they needed to be but it was perfect. The oysters are the best anywhere. Love it here, the fireplace was roaring and the river view is gorgeous.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, service and ambience. Was a ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 2 days ago

Great food, service and ambience. Was a bit loud, but the restaurant is quite busy/big

Tags: Fireplace, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was 'OK'. Very loud place to eat. K ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 2 days ago

Food was 'OK'. Very loud place to eat. Kinda kills the vibe of elegant dining. Service was OK- but waiter seemed to forget about us and needed to be called more then once to wait on us. Overall had better at other places.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

Excellent food and service. This is also ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Excellent food and service. This is also a very beautiful venue. There is a great deal of variety in the buffet, so that many things for everyone's taste. Overall, a great experience.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Visited for the Sunday brunch buffet and ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Visited for the Sunday brunch buffet and was not disappointed! Everything is displayed beautifully and there is so much variety of wonderful, flavourful food both hot and cold. The seafood station is particularly delicious and the prime rib wasn't too bad either! Definitely will be back and will recommend!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Gluten Free Options, Seasonal, Family Style, Afternoon Tea, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Waterfront, Good for Groups, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Sunday Bruch buffet was beautiful!

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 15, 2017

The Sunday Bruch buffet was beautiful!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Cambridge Mill was a great restaurant th ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Cambridge Mill was a great restaurant that offered a wonderful view of the grand river, great food and service, as well as a chill atmosphere. Would totally recommend.

Tags: Romantic, Waterfront, Business Meals, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Had a great experience! Came out too fu ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Had a great experience! Came out too full. Lovely setting and overall a 10.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Not as good as the last time we were the ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Not as good as the last time we were there. They were out of most of the specials despite our reservation being fairly early. I wanted a well done steak but was told to order the prime rib which apparently is a better cut for well done, although I had a fantastic steak the last time we were there. Not really a fan of roast beef, so I was somewhat disappointed.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Having been to the Mill multiple times I ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Having been to the Mill multiple times I have to say our most recent visit was the worst service I've ever received. Upon arriving we waited over 10 min for our waiter to come to our table. They Told us specials and didnt bother asking for our drink order. A few minutes later came back and asked us if we decided on our meal choices. I asked if we could order drinks first... when we received our drinks and throughout the evening we constantly had to ask for refills on our water and our waiter not once asked us if we wanted our alcoholic beverages refilled. We had to ask. Considering we ordered the $110.00 entree special and our meal totalled over $200 for 2 of us, I was very disappointed. Not to mention I felt like I was yelling across the table as it was very loud in the restaurant considering it was not overly crowded.

Needless to say I love this restaurant and usually always have good service. This time around, if I was a first time customer I wouldn't bother returning. I'm just hoping this isn't a sign of service to come.

Being married here in 2015 I'm very disappointed at my latest experience.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

This was my fourth visit to the Mill, bu ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 14, 2017

This was my fourth visit to the Mill, but may be my last. I'm not sure what was going on in kitchen but the whole evening was off. I had artic char....no sauce, spinach was so salty, slow roasted pork was presented like a meat loaf....only highlight was dessert! $150 for a dinner that was less than average. Waiter was not very savvy on food.....I am a Chef and having been to the Mill 3 other times, I know either the Chef or Menu changes affected our experience. Too bad...with so little in the food industry going on in Cambridge, I would hate to see yet another establishment start to get bad reviews. I think the amill needs an overhaul in their menu....desperately...

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value1

If you like a great visual experience to ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 13, 2017

If you like a great visual experience to accompany your dining, then this is definitely a good place to go. Make sure you get a table on the window side out over the river and you'll be more than happy you did. Unless, of course, the sight of rushing water bothers you. If so, then stay away from the windows!

The menu is eclectic and there's something here for everyone, so expect a rewarding experience. It's not a cheap menu, though, so be prepared for that reality. It was a busy night and the service was more than a little slow, so be warned if you are in a hurry. The food presentation was good, though I must say that the portion sizes were remarkably uneven: too much on some plates and not enough on others. The dessert pie for two is an awesome idea but the implementation is a little bit over the top. Seriously: if you can eat much more than half after an appetizer and main course, then it's time to go on a diet. Yes, it's nice to have a "doggy bag" to take home, but smaller would be better in this case. The noise levels were borderline acceptable, partly because the tables seem almost too close together. Who really wants to hear the people at the table beside you?

Overall, I would call this a good experience. High marks for ambience; some room for improvement in other areas. If you haven't been, it's worth a try.

Tags: Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

The food was very good and we love the a ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 13, 2017

The food was very good and we love the atmosphere. In terms of the service: We were not seen by our waitress for the first 10-15 minutes after we sat down. It was frustrating not to even been given water. I am pregnant so I was pretty hungry and thirsty. Thankfully a manager or someone saw us and took our appetizer order and brought us bread.

I will definitely go back and give t another try. It must have been an off night as normally the service is exceptional.

Tags: Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

Best Sunday brunch in Ontario. Food is a ...

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Best Sunday brunch in Ontario. Food is always fresh, lots to choose from. Staff are nice

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our family really enjoyed Brunch, Janua ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Our family really enjoyed Brunch, January the 8th. The 9:30 early bird saving makes it even more enjoyable. The service was impeccable. With the rearranging of the set-up, a little less options but still beautifully made and presented. I missed your dessert chefs gateaus, cheescakes, and pies.

My family picks this brunch as #1 and prove it by happily coming from Uxbridge for 9:30.

Thanks.

Tags: Historic, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Fireplace, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Disabled Access, Family Style, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and service, sitting by the r ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Great food and service, sitting by the river makes for a romantic view, only downside was where we sat it was incredibly loud with chatter but I can't hold that against the restaurant.

Tags: Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries, Fireplace, Creative Cuisine, Spicy, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The service was friendly and our server ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 7, 2017

The service was friendly and our server promptly accommodated all our needs. We did not like the taste of one of our appetizers and it was removed from the bill. Very nice touch. The food was delicious and the portion size was perfect! We travelled from out of town and this was our first visit to Cambridge Mill but definitely not our last! We will return and bring family and friends!

Tags: Scenic View, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Fireplace, Good for a Date, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

First time going to the mill and I must ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 7, 2017

First time going to the mill and I must say everything was excellent!Our waitor was very helpful, knew what he was talking about and felt no pressure at all when it came to ordering our drinks and food. The food was very good and definitely will be returning customers.

Tags: Healthy, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Authentic, Cozy, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Historic, , Fireplace, Family Style, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had an incredible lunch and thoroughl ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 6, 2017

We had an incredible lunch and thoroughly enjoyed the view of the lovely Grand River. Service was top notch. We will definitely be back.

Tags: , Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We enjoyed the excellent quality of the ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 4, 2017

We enjoyed the excellent quality of the food and service. The noise level was fine. I always have recommended your restaurant to friends and family and will continue to do so. Thank you!

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Fireplace, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Really great service and amazing food .A ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 4, 2017

Really great service and amazing food .Always a great evening out.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went here for our anniversary dinner ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 2, 2017

We went here for our anniversary dinner and having not been there for a year we weren't sure how the menu may have changed. When we arrived we were seated near the fireplace which was quite nice with the extra warmth on a winter night. The smell of a real wood fire cannot be beat. While the menus offer a good selection the Monday night dinner special just can't be beat. Two steak dinners and a bottle of wine for $60, your salads and dessert are extra but still a great deal. Portion size was perfect and the heirloom carrots were delicious. We will NOT be waiting another year before we go back

Tags: Good for a Date, Healthy, Scenic View, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Waiter was stiff, slightly snobbish alth ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Waiter was stiff, slightly snobbish although courteous. The burger was very good, flattened chicken on the dry side, meat balls not so good.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

Celebrated a special night, which is dif ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Celebrated a special night, which is difficult when you have food allergies, but all the staff and chef were kind and professional in accommodating our needs. Thanks for a memorial dinner. Will def come back again

Tags: Good for a Date, Waterfront, Cozy, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options, Worth the Drive, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was very dissapointed with my meal. I ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 29, 2016

I was very dissapointed with my meal. I had the bison short ribs, a meal I have had in other restaurants and enjoyed but the meat was tough, not succulent, not very tasty and had a lot of fat.

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service4
value2

Buck a shuck is my favorite! Such a good ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Buck a shuck is my favorite! Such a good way to bring people in

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Good food, good atmosphere and friendly ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Good food, good atmosphere and friendly service. Will be going back to experience in different seasons to see the great environment and view.

Tags: Fireplace, Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

we have been to this restaurant many tim ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 27, 2016

we have been to this restaurant many times, but as of recently they have changed the menu and we were really disappointed with it .

There were no options and for the price was very disappointed , the service was great, the atmosphere is wonderful . Dont think we will be going back .

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

I had dinner on Christmas evening at the ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 24, 2016

I had dinner on Christmas evening at the Mill. I have to say that it was one of the best restaurant dinners I have ever experienced. The

ambiance of this place is wonderful. the food and service was beyond my expectations. Even though it was Christmas eve, we were not rushed to eat and leave. I highly recommend this fantastic

restaurant to everyone. You will not be dissapointed.

Tags: Waterfront, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have eaten at the Mill many times and ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 24, 2016

We have eaten at the Mill many times and this was hands down our worst experience. It was Christmas Eve and we were taking my Mom out for what we hoped would be a special lunch, as part of her Christmas gift. Our expectation was that there would be some sort of festive menu and holiday music playing. The menu was not festive at all, there were no specials and minimal gluten free options for one person in our party. My Mom is hard of hearing so ironically it was us complaining about the noise level in the restaurant as WE were the ones reading lips and saying"I can't hear you". Our server did turn down the music (which was not festive) at our request. The tuna melt was very unappetizing looking, the Shepherds pie was very overwhelmed by the sweet potato topping, had very little meat filling therefore lacked flavor, and the best part of the burger was the accompanying fries. The location and view of the river still make this a desirable destination, and we were fortunate to be seated by the fireplace. We would consider other options for celebrating a special occasion before returning.

Tags: Waterfront, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Disabled Access, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Cozy, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

I really appreciated the waitress asking ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 24, 2016

I really appreciated the waitress asking if there were any food allergies. I am gluten sensitive and she offered me gluten free bread for the bread basket.

Tags: Organic, Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch, Paleo Friendly, Creative Cuisine, Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Waterfront, Disabled Access, Vegan, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We had a lovely evening at the Cambridge ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 23, 2016

We had a lovely evening at the Cambridge Mill celebrating our daughter's birthday. We were seated in the room surrounded with windows and the roaring fireplace, it was beautiful. Our server, David was excellent and very accommodating. Everyone enjoyed their meals! :)

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

My fiance and I were there for our anniv ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 23, 2016

My fiance and I were there for our anniversary. Our server was absolutely fantastic and attentive and the waterfront view was perfect. But, the food was mediocre at best. My fiance had the mac n' cheese; it was too lemony, very off-putting. I had the brick chicken; it was tasteless and chewy, not seasoned. The accompanying fries were oil-laden and mushy.

Tags: Fireplace, Historic, Romantic, Cozy, Waterfront, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

I've had some great experiences at the M ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 23, 2016

I've had some great experiences at the Mill but this one was surprisingly poor. While the service was absolutely top-notch, the menu was extremely limited and unappealing - something I was not expecting. The quality was also poor....not in the preparation, but in the choices of ingredients and the flavours. I love the setting of this place - but I won't return any time soon for fear of a similar experience. Three of us all had different menu options, and all three were very disappointed. Sorry to leave such disappointing words but hopefully you folks can 'have a think' about it and perhaps consider improving. Thanks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value1

We lucked out and Thursday night was buc ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 23, 2016

We lucked out and Thursday night was buck-a-shuck oysters, on top of the stellar regular menu. The food was wonderful - I had cornish game hen; partner had pasta with clams.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a lovely table overlooking the ri ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 22, 2016

We had a lovely table overlooking the river and dam - and with it being dark out, the lights shining up the river were lovely! Our waiter was very nice and attentive and our food really good! We met up with friends, one of whom was celebrating a 'milestone' birthday and received a personal dessert! We will go back again in the future and will recommend this restaurant to our other friends.

Tags: Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

We have been to the mill before but the ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 21, 2016

We have been to the mill before but the menu has improved and the service was outstanding.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Historic, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

After a great theatre experience at the ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 21, 2016

After a great theatre experience at the Denfield, we ate a lovely dinner at The Mill overlooking the river. Great ambiance, wonderful food, reasonable prices. Super place for friends to gather.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I invited two friends to sha ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 21, 2016

My wife and I invited two friends to share a meal with us and celebrate our 60th wedding anniversary. We chose the Cambridge Mill because of past associations with the Mill.

We were very impressed with the physical changes to the facility. The reception by the Mill Staff was welcoming and friendly, Aaron (i believe) our server was first class , The meal was well presented and delicious. We looked forward to a special moment with dear friends and the Cambridge Mill provided the ambiance and a memory to keep. Thank you to the staff of the Mill

Henry and Jean Wood Tillsonburg Ont.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Waterfront, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.