About Cambridge Mill

130 Water Street North
Cambridge, ON N1R 1P1
View Larger Map

We are deeply rooted in tradition, honouring the past in the style of today. This is evident in our restoration of the mill, but also in our menu. Our chefs take familiar classic dishes and turn them into something innovative, timeless and always deliciously satisfying.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Continental

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Saturday: 11:30am - 9:00pm
Sunday Brunch: 9:30am - 2:30pm
Sunday Dinner 5:00pm-9:00pm

Cross Street:
Main Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(519) 624-1828

Website:
http://www.cambridgemill.ca/

Cambridge Mill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Toronto / Ontario
Scenic View
Toronto / Ontario
Best Overall
Southern Ontario
5 More
Best Service
Southern Ontario
Best Ambiance
Southern Ontario
Romantic
Southern Ontario
Special Occasion
Southern Ontario
Most Booked
Southern Ontario
Best Restaurants in Cambridge ›

Scenic View (130)
Special Occasion (126)
Waterfront (116)
See All
Good for a Date (105)
Romantic (100)
Good for Anniversaries (97)
Good for Birthdays (75)
Worth the Drive (71)
Good for Groups (65)
Historic (57)
Great for Brunch (56)
Quiet Conversation (51)
Local Ingredients (51)
Great for Lunch (49)
Sunday Lunch (48)
Creative Cuisine (47)
Cozy (41)
Fit for Foodies (41)
Fireplace (39)
Business Meals (38)
Neighborhood Gem (35)
Modern Decor (33)
Notable Wine List (33)
Pre/post Theatre (31)
Casual (31)
Authentic (24)
Outstanding Value (23)
Private Room (22)
Healthy (20)
Seasonal (19)
Family Style (17)
Comfort Food (17)
Wood Oven (15)
Good Vegetarian Options (15)
Handcrafted Cocktails (14)
Fun (14)
Disabled Access (13)
Gluten Free Options (12)
Bar Seating (11)
Tasting Menu (11)
Late-night Find (11)
Kid-friendly (11)
Organic (8)
Open Kitchen (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Hot Spot (6)
Vegan (6)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Great Beer (5)
Happy Hour (4)
People Watching (4)
Afternoon Coffee (4)
Afternoon Tea (3)
Tapas (3)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Spicy (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Sort By:
S
1695 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

It's a perfect spot for anyone who wants ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 3 days ago

It's a perfect spot for anyone who wants great food with their great friends and meetings of all kinds

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

went for Monday night Steak and Fries sp ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 5 days ago

went for Monday night Steak and Fries special - food excellent and really good value with the wine included. Would highly recommend.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

My husband an I enjoyed a wonderful even ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 5 days ago

My husband an I enjoyed a wonderful evening together.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Another enjoyable meal at the Cambridge ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 6 days ago

Another enjoyable meal at the Cambridge Mill. Our server was very caring ~ offered me a pashmina as the dining area was a bit chilly by the windows. The view was too nice to give up so the pashmina was a great offer! Our soups to start were very good, not run of the mill (pardon my play on words). We enjoyed prime rib which was cooked perfectly to taste and the Yorkshire Pudding was soooo good!! We heard a little bit about the Elora Mill's progress - that sounds exciting and another spot to visit when it's completed (2018?) We will return again!

Tags: Authentic, Waterfront, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Not worth the money! Very expensive and ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 6 days ago

Not worth the money! Very expensive and the selection of breakfast items available was very poor.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3

I love it. Great memories! Special peopl ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 6 days ago

I love it. Great memories! Special people gathering.

Tags: Happy Hour, Romantic, Special Occasion, Family Style, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This is a lovely venue for a late lunch ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 3, 2016

This is a lovely venue for a late lunch as it is quiet and the service is excellent and not rushed. Our waiter was excellent and the view is outstanding. I have recommended the Cambridge Mill to our friends, this was the second time dining there and will not be the last.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Service was fantastic - attentive withou ...

 
 (Key West)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Service was fantastic - attentive without being intrusive. A true professional!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Sunday Lunch, Comfort Food, Disabled Access, Private Room, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Been going to the Mill for years and it ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Been going to the Mill for years and it has always been a good consistent experience. Wen

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Wonderful location on the water overlook ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Wonderful location on the water overlooking the river & falls. Great window seats with impressive views. Friendly attentive staff. Great locally sourced ingredients.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Unfortunately our afternoon office Chris ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Unfortunately our afternoon office Christmas lunch was not what we expected. The room we were seated in was lovely and we had a wonderful table situated at the window beside the fireplace.

Reservation was not until 1:30, room quiet. 9 people in our party.

Waited over two hours for lunch to arrive, and one lunch another 5 minutes to come out because they had burned the sweet potato on the Shepard's pie and had to start over. My lunch was brick chicken, should have been labeled, rubber chicken. Dessert was comped which was very kind but I have to say the dessert arrived on wooden cutting boards that appeared to be old, dirty and slivers of wood breaking away on the edges.

Not impressed and doubt very much that I would try again.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value2

Thank you for a great lunch. The service ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Thank you for a great lunch. The service was particularly great. When two of my friends decided to share a soup, the server got the kitchen to create two half servings. We went to a different restaurant for dinner and the food was not good and the service was lacklustre and chilly (but it cost more -- bad deal!). We were pining for the great food and service we had gotten earlier that day.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Afternoon Coffee, Authentic, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Comfort Food, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service. Delicious vegan dish ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 30, 2016

Excellent service. Delicious vegan dish. Friendly staff. Clean. Great place for dinner before going to Dunfield Theatre.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Quick dinner in town. Vincent our server ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 28, 2016

Quick dinner in town. Vincent our server was excellent! good and attentive service. The only negative tonight was the food. We came for the Steak and Wine, Monday night special... The steak was tough and the fries half soggy and cool... A disappointment!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value3

Food was good and service was excellent. ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Food was good and service was excellent. However the food was not hot enough and one of our entrees had to be sent back. They server was good about it and we were offered free dessert.

Tags: Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

Outstanding prime rib dinner. Best prime ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Outstanding prime rib dinner. Best prime rib my wife and I ever had. Service was excellent.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Modern Decor, Waterfront, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Beautiful surroundings, fantastic food a ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Beautiful surroundings, fantastic food and service

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was our first time at the Mill and ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 26, 2016

This was our first time at the Mill and we will be sure to return. The setting featured natural stone walls, wood floors, floor to glass windows overlooking the river and a huge stone wood-burning fireplace. That set the stage for a wonderful meal. We started with oysters that were fresh and meaty served with grated horesradish and tobasco and another sauce that seemed uninspired. We followed that with salads - mine was a Cesaer that was first rate and my wife's was grilled beat with goat cheese that she quite liked. We were in the mood for steaks so we both ordered the striploin. Each was prepared as ordered and were quite good. They came served on green beans and with whipped mashed potatoes. The potatoes were excellent. We also ordered a side of mushrooms - the portion was quite large and the shitakes were wonderful. We passed on desert.

Service was professional and courteous.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Went to Cambridge mill to celebrate a mi ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Went to Cambridge mill to celebrate a milestone birthday. Food was wonderful. Wine list was good for my limited knowledge - the Cabernet merlot went very well with dinner. Waiter was attentive, pleasant and unassuming. He answered and questions we had about the menu and wine list quickly and knowledgeably. Paul easily determined it was my birthday and added a few touches to make it special. My friends and I all enjoyed our evening. Only drawback I noticed was noise level wad higher than I expected ut it did not detract from our evening.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Waterfront, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Really enjoyed lunch, incredible views o ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Really enjoyed lunch, incredible views of the majestic Grand River. Waitress very friendly and food was presented beautifully and lots of flavour.

Tags: Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch, Organic, Wood Oven, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

the burgers were amazing! The staff wer ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 23, 2016

the burgers were amazing! The staff were so fantastic and allowed us to run the evening at our pace. He also went the extra mile and was attentive to keep our needs met. Thanks again for a wonderful evening to catch up with great friends!

Tags: Seasonal, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Casual, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Modern Decor, Fun, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

When you need to step up your regular ca ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 22, 2016

When you need to step up your regular casual dining experience but not be intimidated to wear a 3 piece suit, the Mill is our choice everytime. Creative and quality menu combined with romantic ambience and river views...this is all we ever ask for on our special evenings out.

Tags: Business Meals, Fireplace, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had a fantastic time at the Mill the o ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 22, 2016

I had a fantastic time at the Mill the other day. With it being my first time I did go in with some expectations, and I thought they were all exceeded! Amazing job to everyone!

Tags: Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic creme brule. Great wine select ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 21, 2016

Fantastic creme brule. Great wine selection. Attentive service without being annoying. Only disappointment was the single choice of oysters.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing service and fantastic food. We ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 21, 2016

Amazing service and fantastic food. We had our wedding with one of their sister locations and came back for our anniversary...I have to say I was looking forward to the food from the moment I made the reservation...and it did not disappoint. We will be returning in the future for sure. One thing I would suggest is maybe a special treat for special occasions....our server asked if we were celebrating anything, which we replied with yes but nothing came of it.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We cannot say enough about our server on ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 20, 2016

We cannot say enough about our server on Sunday. Being in the restaurant business ourselves, we have high expectations. Every single one was not only met, but exceeded.

Our gentleman server was friendly, attentive, and more than efficient.

One person in our party had a severe chocolate allergy and the Chef personal came to the table to accompany him around the bufeet tables. We haven't experienced this since Disney World.

Well done.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, great view! The brunch buffe ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Great food, great view! The brunch buffet had an amazing selection of excellent quality food to cater to all tastes.

Tags: Seasonal, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Modern Decor, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Waterfront, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Fireplace, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I must say I love your Sunday brunch, I' ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 20, 2016

I must say I love your Sunday brunch, I've been for it a few times!

But Sunday I was there with friends and I will say I'm not a fan of new set up...

It was much easier the way it was in the past, jumping in and out where I wanted as apposed to waiting to get my food like an army mess hall..

Wish I stayed the same. Other then that I love the experience!!

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Great place to have dinner or lunch. Ver ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Great place to have dinner or lunch. Very good ambience and delicious food

Staff is very decent and professional at the same time friendly

This was my first visit but definitely will go there again and would recommend to others too

Tags: Family Style, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Went with family and friends. Very good ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Went with family and friends. Very good food from starters to deserts. Good wine as well. Great service, not over present like in most restaurant and still very careful and considerate to our needs.

we'll come back

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Gluten Free Options, Tasting Menu, Healthy, Family Style, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

First time going to the Cambridge Mill - ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 16, 2016

First time going to the Cambridge Mill - great experience and will definitely be back :)

Tags: Great for Lunch, Romantic, Modern Decor, Historic, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great atmosphere, great service. The ten ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Great atmosphere, great service. The tenderloin is to die for!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

My friend and I had a very enjoyable lun ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 15, 2016

My friend and I had a very enjoyable lunch at the Mill. Our table had a beautiful view of the river as well as a view of downtown Cambridge. The waiter was knowledgeable about my food allergies and they were accommodated to my satisfaction. My friend chose the chicken sandwich that she found very tasty but because of it size found it hard to eat. She felt it was a larger portion than she would expect for lunch. However, overall we were happy with our lunch and hope to return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and service was excellent as us ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 14, 2016

The food and service was excellent as usual. we will recommend it to family and friends.

Tags: Fireplace, Comfort Food, Scenic View, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Was there with three guests on a Sunday ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Was there with three guests on a Sunday for a business dinner. Our food was warm at best. The vegetable was Brussel Sprouts; not a good choice by the Chef. I happen to like them, but most people do not. I ordered the Lamb and it was cold and barely cooked, I ordered medium. There was so much spicing on the meat you had to scrape it off. I had two bites and left the rest. I would have sent it back but I was with people I invited to a business dinner. Our server was excellent.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value2

Loved the new setup for the buffet. And ...

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Loved the new setup for the buffet. And the new items at the buffet. Didn't think you could improve it and you did!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

I can't imagine celebrating my birthday ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 13, 2016

I can't imagine celebrating my birthday anywhere but the Cambridge Mill with my family. I LOVE the food and the mimosas :)

Tags: Scenic View, Sunday Lunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A small group of us went for Sunday brun ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 13, 2016

A small group of us went for Sunday brunch. It was a first time visit for all of us, and not one of us was disappointed. The food was exceptional and there was something for everyone. Our servers took good care of us and were very attentive. It's a bit pricey, but worth every dollar. We'll definitely go again for our next special event.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Authentic, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Quinn was an outstanding server! Except ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Quinn was an outstanding server! Exceptional! The staff is great; but Quinn really stands out!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The Mill never fails to surpass the mark ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 12, 2016

The Mill never fails to surpass the mark on great food and ambiance. The service is very good. Tanya was our server. In addition to being very professional she has a great sense of humour. The setting overlooking the river is wonderful and the place is quite romantic. The one complaint is the fireplace ... while it adds to the ambiance the room is, at times, overheated and uncomfortable ... I would suggest the fire not be built up so high.

The prices are quite steep so be prepared to pay. The food is great and if just on special occasions the price is worth it.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.