About Cambridge Mill

130 Water Street North
Cambridge, ON N1R 1P1
View Larger Map

We are deeply rooted in tradition, honouring the past in the style of today. This is evident in our restoration of the mill, but also in our menu. Our chefs take familiar classic dishes and turn them into something innovative, timeless and always deliciously satisfying.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Continental

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Saturday: 11:30am - 9:00pm
Sunday Brunch: 9:30am - 2:30pm
Sunday Dinner 5:00pm-9:00pm

Cross Street:
Main Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(519) 624-1828

Website:
http://www.cambridgemill.ca/

Promotions

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 19, 2016

Promotions

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 19, 2016

Details
Please come and celebrate Dad with Cambridge Mill. We look forward to hosting you and making a memorable day for the family!

Cambridge Mill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Toronto / Ontario
Scenic View
Toronto / Ontario
Best Ambiance
Southern Ontario
3 More
Romantic
Southern Ontario
Special Occasion
Southern Ontario
Most Booked
Southern Ontario
Best Restaurants in Cambridge ›

scenic view (233)
special occasion (229)
romantic (157)
See All
fit for foodies (129)
good for groups (125)
great for brunch (123)
great for lunch (73)
neighborhood gem (63)
notable wine list (53)
hot spot (26)
kid-friendly (23)
late-night find (19)
great for outdoor dining (11)
vibrant bar scene (7)
Sort By:
Newest
1423 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We've been to the Cambridge Mill a numbe ...

Dined 6 days ago

We've been to the Cambridge Mill a number of times and have never been disappointed. Excellent service and food with an amazing view. One of our favourite places to visit.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely perfect experience from start ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

Absolutely perfect experience from start to finish! Attentive service, great menu choices, superb food! Highly recommended!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Our waiter Quinn honestly made our exper ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

Our waiter Quinn honestly made our experience amazing. The food was great. The view was amazing and we had such a fun evening.

food5
ambience5
service5

The view of the Grand River (and the two ...

Dined on May 17, 2016

The view of the Grand River (and the two bridges that span it) from the vantage point of our corner table was as picturesque as could be. It was the perfect complement to the delectable spread in which we indulged.

food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Brunch was fantastic except for the crep ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Brunch was fantastic except for the crepes which tasted burnt and had somewhat of an iron flavour from the pan

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4

Food was amazing as always

Dined on May 15, 2016

Food was amazing as always

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Good location near the river and the ho ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Good location near the river and the hotel is next door for guests staying over night for weddings. Fabulous restaurant great food. With exceptional service from the staff.

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

After living in Cambridge for over 25 ye ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

After living in Cambridge for over 25 years, this was the first time we have visited the Mill. We always thought that it would be way over priced. But to our surprise not only were the prices very reasonable but for the ambiance and the quality of the service and the food, we were very pleasantly surprised. We would go again and are sorry it took us so long to experience the Mill. The food was incredible. Thank you.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, hot spot
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Nice for a special occassion

Dined on May 12, 2016

We went here for Mother's day supper. It is a little pricey, so I think for most it would a place to go to for a special occasion. The quality, taste of the food and the view as long as you have a window seat, more than compensate the price you pay. It is not a place to go if you are in a hurry, it is meant to sit back relax and enjoy each course as they come. The flavouring of the food was spot on, I had the seared duck breast. The waiter was attentive, but not invasive. Well done.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent find

Dined on May 11, 2016

The romantic atmosphere was perfect to celebrate our anniversary and the great food and service made the experience very memorable. The hostess seating us at the window gave us the best view of the river and our server was very helpful in helping us with the menu and extremely attentive.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Happy and delicious Mother's Day celebration!

Dined on May 8, 2016

Wow! What a truly wonderful treat to spend Mother's Day at the Cambridge mill. The brunch was absolutely delicious. Each offering fresh and flavourful! Although there were many guests, the service was impeccable and extremely friendly! A bonus was that the entire brunch was so well organized that there was virtually no wait for the made to order omelette station and fresh flambéd crepes! We will definitely make this a new tradition!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, scenic view
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

food was less than fantastic which was w ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

food was less than fantastic which was what we were expecting given the price for the brunch

Tags: scenic view
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

Mother's Day Brunch

Dined on May 8, 2016

We have been to the Cambridge Mill several times for dinner as well as for weddings and have always enjoyed it. We decided to get in on the Mother's Day event and book a large table for brunch. It was very yummy but I have to say way over priced. I understand it was a special day but to have it be $15.00 more is not worth it. I understand that you have face painting and magicians for the children but if you come without children then you aren't taking advantage of that offer. We would attend again for brunch but not on Mother's Day.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing food like always. Excellent serv ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Amazing food like always. Excellent service. Went for Mother's Day brunch and the selection of food was fantastic

food5
ambience5
service5
value2

We went for a Mother's Day brunch.

Dined on May 8, 2016

While the food and service was fantastic I would have to say the value was lacking. We were booked in for a 9:00am seating. I feel as though the price should be adjusted based on the fact there was no alcohol service at this time and dramatically changes the value or the brunch itself. Had we be able to book a seating for 11 we could have partake in a few alcoholic beverages. The 11:00am seating was booked when I had called 6 weeks prior. perhaps adjusting for time of seating and price would be better.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service2

While the great view and food made the e ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

While the great view and food made the experience typically good the long wait for a table (we had a reservation) and the fact the restaurant was not busy (half the tables were empty) made the overly long wait for food perplexing. A surprisingly disappointing experience from a usually great restaurant. Worst service we've had in 7 or 8 visits.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Service and a smile. Not easy to come by anymore.

Dined on May 6, 2016

Food and staff were equally as good. We very much enjoyed the atmosphere and the view from our table. Will not take a lot to have us back there with friends.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience3
service3

We were dining with our elderly parent a ...

Dined on May 6, 2016

We were dining with our elderly parent and they found it too noisy

food5
ambience5
service5

The delightful meal and fab view were to ...

vip
Dined on May 5, 2016

The delightful meal and fab view were topped off by complementary desserts when the waiter discovered we were celebrating our birthdays. I'm looking forward to going again soon.

food4
ambience1
service5
value4

Food was fabulous and our waiter was ver ...

Dined on May 1, 2016

Food was fabulous and our waiter was very courteous and helpful. This was our first visit and I wish I had known there were 2 dining areas, one much quieter than the other, when I made the reservation. We were in the large room with the hot buffet. The noise level was crazy as there were larger groups in this room so the 6 of us had trouble hearing each other. Also, we were seated near the crepes table and the fumes/smoke were affecting me near the end of our visit.

Tags: kid-friendly, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

The brunch is fabulous !

Dined on May 1, 2016

The brunch is fabulous !

food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Not sure

Dined on May 1, 2016

I was disappointed with the Cambridge Mill with this visit. The last time I went to the brunch - they had fresh salmon. I had checked the web site and they stated salmon - however it was only smoked salmon that was available this time. lack of muffins and banana bread , etc was also disappointing. Not as many hot veggie choices as well - and the price was up. The buffet selection seemed a lot smaller and more line ups. I am not sure it would be my first choice of a buffet anymore.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Brunch

Dined on May 1, 2016

Brunch was expensive, $50, but was completely worth it. We had a great view of the river, and the service was fantastic.

Tags: great for brunch
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

Friday Night Dinner 50th Birthday

Dined on April 29, 2016

Venue is beautiful and service was good. Fish tacos and salmon was excellent! But medium well steak was very dry and disappointing. I did not want to complain or cause problems because it was my 50th birthday dinner. I also had 2 'buy one entree get one free $29' with expiry of April 30th but upon presenting them discovered they are not valid on Fridays or Saturdays (April 29th and 30th). I got these at the Ancaster Mill for my staff Christmas dinner and drove from Hamilton to see the Cambridge Mill.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Cambridge Mill excellent as ever.

Dined on April 29, 2016

My husband and I were very lucky to have been married at the Mill in December of 2013 and since then we have always returned for major milestones and special events. This time it was for an early Mother's Day dinner. Food and service were spectacular as always and the view is second to none in the KW area. We always have an amazing time and the price tag is well worth the quality and service. Thank you, once again, for a memorable experience.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Cambridge Gem

Dined on April 29, 2016

Hidden gem in Cambridge. Great view and good food. Service is prompt and attentive.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

Table was in a perfect spot by windows w ...

Dined on April 29, 2016

Table was in a perfect spot by windows with beautiful view of river. Service was good-but slow with drinks/refills-pickle soup was amazing-Elk bolognese was + salty and not what I expected-seemed "cheap". Overall the atmosphere was wonderful and A great place for a group celebration

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I loved this place, we are from Ottawa s ...

Dined on April 25, 2016

I loved this place, we are from Ottawa so we came for a conference. It was a wonderful experience and I am so happy to have found this place.

Tags: romantic, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent meal and very attentive server ...

Dined on April 25, 2016

Excellent meal and very attentive server would recommend this restaurant.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Steak and Wine Night

Dined on April 25, 2016

An awesome deal with excellent food, service and ambiance. Beautiful view of the river

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious food, great venue and fantastic service!

Dined on April 24, 2016

We can't say enough about our most recent visit! Unfortunately we had experience a difficult weekend and our Sunday night meal at Cambridge Mill helped take our minds and souls back to a very happy place! A seamless experience with deliciously prepared fresh offerings served by very helpful and friendly wait team. This allowed our family to reconnect together in a very peaceful and beautiful setting. Exactly what we needed. Thanks!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Anniversary Dinner

Dined on April 24, 2016

My wife and I were married at the mill last year, and decided to have our anniversary dinner there. It was not the first time we've been there for dinner, and it certainly won't be the last. The food was delicious, and the service was excellent. Our server (I believe his name was Quinten) was very friendly, and helpful. We felt very welcome there and although it was a little bit busy, the employees all seemed very calm, organized, and efficient. Overall, we had a great experience, and recommend it highly to people looking for a nice night out.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

Very expensive and not worth the money. ...

Dined on April 24, 2016

Very expensive and not worth the money. The food was ok, but not outstanding. The service was mediocre - we had to ask for more coffee & the table was not cleaned from a spill . This was a wedding anniversary meal and was incredibly disappointing, we will not be returning to this venue

food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Kate the server was awesome.

Dined on April 23, 2016

Kate was fantastic. She met all of our needs even before we asked. It was a 65th birthday dinner for my father, and she ensured everything went off without a hitch (even when I was having issues with my debit card.) The food was good, and I feel a good value for the atmosphere. Portions were slightly on the small side of things, but besides that, I'd dine here again, no question. Thanks again Kate. Much appreciated. Step dad loved the night!!!

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding food and service with a lovely view

Dined on April 23, 2016

This was the first time there at the mill and we are sure to go back. The dinner was amazing, the service was great! We were cebrating our 28 anniversary. The price was reasonable and we discovered a hidden gem. I look forward to going again.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

River View Food

Dined on April 22, 2016

Great Food. Great View. Good Service. Reasonable Price.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We were looking for a special experience ...

Dined on April 17, 2016

We were looking for a special experience in order to properly celebrate my sister's 20th birthday and we were not disappointed! We were intrigued by the luxurious and varied Sunday brunch buffet menu (fresh oysters, crab, prime rib and Yorkshire pudding, custom crêpe and omelette bars, etc.) that went beyond your typical brunch basics and we were sold when we saw that drinks--mimosas, Bloody Marys, Caesars, lattes and cappuccinos--were included in the price. The location itself is breathtaking. It's located in the quaint town of Galt and is settled on the banks of the Grand River. The heritage building (a converted mill) is charming and the interiors are modern but let the Victorian bones of the mill shine through. It's easy to see why Cambridge Mill is such a popular venue for weddings! Since one member of our party has mobility issues, our only gripe is with the awkward accessible entrance. It is hidden and relatively far from the accessible parking spots which meant that our mother had to choose between a long, painful walk to the elevator or a long, painful walk up the stairs. While I'm sure some disabled patrons could take advantage of the drop-off location by the elevator, our mother was driving and could not access the drop off. The food did not disappoint. After hearing otherwise, we were pleasantly surprised to see that the oysters were plentiful and readily available. The smoked salmon and crab were equally lovely, as were the salads. The prime rib was good although we've had better. We adored the flambé crêpes especially the banana-spiced rum crêpes. The desserts were okay; the standouts were the moist, decadent chocolate Bundt cake and the chocolate-almond bark. We wish we had been able to grab a lemon tart! Our server was fantastic and was very quick to clear our plates and keep our drinks coming. We had thought that Cambridge Mill may be stingy on the complementary cocktails but we were well-stocked throughout our brunch.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

We love CM Brunch!

Dined on April 17, 2016

We love the Cambridge Mill, specifically for the spectacular brunch. This is where we usually bring out of town guests to really "wow" them. It seems, though, from the first time I have ever been to the Cambridge Mill to now (my 6th brunch), the service seems a bit inconsistent. But over-all fantastic food, and a real treat!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, scenic view
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

Not as good as before

Dined on April 16, 2016

A friend had recently mentioned to me that they thought the Mill had gone down hill somewhat...I do have to agree. The other couple also thought it had. Something is missing...the food was not as good as previously.

Tags: great for brunch
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Great Pizza

Dined on April 12, 2016

I had lunch with a friend here and it was great as usual. We both ordered the pizza, and both found it to be delicious. We had a hard time deciding whether it should be eaten with a fork and knife, or by hand. The crust was a bit too hard to cut through with the knife provided, but the middle was a bit to floppy to eat by hand, so we did both and had a laugh over it. Service was excellent as always. looking forward to our next visit.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, scenic view

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.