About Calistoga KITCHEN

1107 Cedar Street
Calistoga, CA 94515
View Larger Map

Calistoga KITCHEN offers casual dining with exceptional food, wine, and company. Find us in downtown Calistoga on the corner of Cedar Street and Lincoln Avenue. We are an ingredient driven restaurant that produces delicious dishes, simple and clean. We work with local farms, ranches, and orchards to bring you the highest quality, and freshest ingredients. Our retail-priced wine list features small producers from the Valley, mostly Calistoga AVA with some exceptional finds from outside our area. Open for Lunch, Dinner, and Sunday Brunch. Reservations are recommended.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Californian, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: F-Sa 11:30am-3:00pm
Dinner: Th-Sa 5:30pm-9:00pm
Brunch: Su 9:30am-3:00pm

Cross Street:
Lincoln Ave

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(707) 942-6500

Website:
http://www.calistogakitchen.com/

Catering:
Calistoga KITCHEN Catering has been creating memorable custom menus since 1996. Our list of clients include wine producers like Joseph Phelps, Fisher Vineyards and Schramsberg to small residential gatherings, and local charitable events. Our catering crew are asked to return year after year to annual family events as well as once in a lifetime weddings, anniversaries, and milestones. Chef Rick’s signature dishes are created from the finest ingredients and always seasonal. Fully licensed and insured, we customize your menu to your taste, budget, and style.

Parking Details:
The private lot is located behind the restaurant.

Public Transit:
Napa Valley's The Vine transit bus stop is located just half a block from the KITCHEN. Calistoga Shuttle, a local public van stops right at our front.

Executive Chef:
Richard Warkel

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Calistoga KITCHEN Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
San Francisco Bay Area
Californian
San Francisco Bay Area
Best Overall
Wine Country
4 More
Best Food
Wine Country
Best Value
Wine Country
Fit for Foodies
Wine Country
Californian
Wine Country
Best Restaurants in Calistoga ›

Fit for Foodies (17)
Neighborhood Gem (16)
Good for a Date (14)
See All
Great for Outdoor Dining (10)
Special Occasion (10)
Romantic (9)
Creative Cuisine (9)
Local Ingredients (9)
Casual (8)
Great for Lunch (7)
Cozy (7)
Great for Brunch (7)
Worth the Drive (6)
Notable Wine List (5)
Fun (5)
Healthy (5)
Seasonal (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Good for Anniversaries (4)
Authentic (4)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
People Watching (3)
Family Style (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Historic (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Scenic View (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Vegan (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Organic (1)
Private Room (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Sort By:
S
165 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We had 9 for the Tractor Parade includin ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 3 days ago

We had 9 for the Tractor Parade including three children which could have been overwhelming for a dining establishment given the reservations that night. We were seated in a private room that suited us perfectly. Even through the room was narrow the servers adeptly sent plates to where they belonged. The food was very good. The portions might have been small for some, but perfect for most. When we asked for additional food for the children it was ordered and delivered promptly. We will be back again!

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We had another wonderful meal at Calisto ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 4 days ago

We had another wonderful meal at Calistoga Kitchen. The service was great and as always we enjoy chatting with the owner Rick.

Calistoga Kitchen is a real gem!

Tags: Outstanding Value, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great experience meeting the chef!

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Great experience meeting the chef!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

excellent food and experience we went ba ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 26, 2016

excellent food and experience we went back for a second evening!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Visiting Calistoga and came across this ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Visiting Calistoga and came across this restaurant for brunch. Small and charming. Good mimosa and everyone loved their food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This place is great. We had wonderful ch ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 18, 2016

This place is great. We had wonderful choices and they were all delicious. A place in Calistoga not to be missed.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Casual, Modern Decor, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Outstanding Value, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A wonderful meal. Food & Service were ju ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 13, 2016

A wonderful meal. Food & Service were just great. Duck Soup, Duck Lettuce Wraps, Lamb Shanks, Caesar Salad were all wonderful. Small but very nice wine list, and reasonable. 3 desserts were all just right. Husband / Wife owners were checking in to insure everything we going well. Dining as it should be ** 10 out of 10 in my book.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Calistoga Kitchen was absolutely wonderf ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Calistoga Kitchen was absolutely wonderful. We were in town for a weekend get-a-way and this was the perfect date night location. The food was superb and the service was fantastic. If you're in Calistoga and want a classy and quiet dinner this is the place. The patio is also a great place if the weather agrees.

Tags: Historic, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Cozy, Authentic, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We go here a lot since we live in Calist ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 5, 2016

We go here a lot since we live in Calistoga. Ric always has something original he thought up that is wonderful!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We were in Calistoga for a long weekend ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 23, 2016

We were in Calistoga for a long weekend and went for dinner on Saturday night. The food was solid. We chose the restaurant as it seemed to meet the dietary needs of everyone in our party and they didn't disappoint. Wine selection was fair, but good enough. Ambiance was ok.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Our party of three wasn't expecting too ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Our party of three wasn't expecting too much from this restaurant and we were more than pleasantly surprised. Nice ambience, interesting (and delicious) menu. Very nice wine options. Excellent service. Prices were in line with what we received. I would recommend and I would go back again next time I'm in the area.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

I highly recommend Calistoga Kitchen for ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 16, 2016

I highly recommend Calistoga Kitchen for dinner if you are visiting the Napa region. We recently had dinner there on a Saturday night. Someone has done a great job of training this front of house staff. From greeting us, seating us promptly as soon as our entire party arrived, to prompt friendly attention to our ordering -- all were professionally done. The wait staff knew the specials and the wine list. Dishes arrived within a very reasonable amount of time. Used utensils and plates were cleared quickly. We sat inside (there is outside seating) and it boasts a cozy yet modern decor. Food was excellent. Try the squash soup. Also recommend the duck breast.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our first trip to Calistoga Kitchen for ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Our first trip to Calistoga Kitchen for our wedding anniversary. Very nice place, small and cozy. Food was outstanding and wait staff were helpful and attentive. Definitely recommend dining at Calistoga Kitchen.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Awesome food - great service - incredibl ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Awesome food - great service - incredible night!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We thoroughly enjoyed dinner at Calistog ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 15, 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed dinner at Calistoga kitchen. Service was terrific, and the wait staff and kitchen were response to food sensitivities/allergies. We both had a grilled chicken breast. It was done to perfection - cooked through, yet still moist and juicy. As more people arrived, the noise level, as expected, started to increase.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Very nice meal with fantastic service on ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Very nice meal with fantastic service on the patio. Will be back!

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My 3dr time dining at Calistoga kitchen ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 9, 2016

My 3dr time dining at Calistoga kitchen and this was wonderful. Duck soup was delicious; rich broth and lots of duck meat. Arugula salad was properly dressed, light tasting and refreshing. Duck lettuce cups had a very nice balance of mint, cilantro and dressing. Duck Breast was cooked perfectly. Service was just right, personable and attentive. Only disappointing item was the strawberry short cake: Dry day old biscuit and sauce that needed additional sweetness, a real down note to finish off a nice evening, would have been better of not ordering dessert. Bottom line: Chef / kitchen knows how to cook. Understands seasoning and balance. Unfortunately, they don't know desserts. Staff is all great, from hostess to server to runners, they are all spot on. One more note; small but good wine list. Lots of local wines and not over priced. 4 1/2 stars...........

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Everything was fresh. The salads were e ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on October 7, 2016

Everything was fresh. The salads were exceptionally fresh and the lettuce was so good. The lamp shank was fall off the bone tender and delious. I loved every bite of everything. The service was great. It was a Thursday night and very quiet. I honestly don't understand why every table was not filled

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We have a business in town and when tour ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 2, 2016

We have a business in town and when tourist ask for a recommendation for dining, Calistoga Kitchen is high on the list. We dine there after the store closes sometimes to unwind. The food is excellently prepared. Service is outstanding. Check it out.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

We ate outside. There lamb chop salad is ...

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on September 30, 2016

We ate outside. There lamb chop salad is awesome!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The place is very un assuming right in t ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 30, 2016

The place is very un assuming right in the corned of the main drag (Lincoln Ave) in Calistoga. I hesitated for a while, but we gave it a try and we were pleasantly surprised. The food and the service were excellent, Annie our server was very attentive and courteous and the patio sitting a real treat for us. Will be back again when in the area. Highly recommended. Good for the money too.

Tags: People Watching, Worth the Drive, Outstanding Value, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great breakfast place. Make a reservati ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Great breakfast place. Make a reservation and sit outside. Lovely.

Tags: Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Historic, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We made an appointment for 7:30pm, but t ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 24, 2016

We made an appointment for 7:30pm, but then called to se

If 7pm was Possible. It wasn't, but then the hostess called us back to say there had been a cancellation, which was very thoughtful and appreciated. Food was excellent. Took almost an hour to get our entrees though, but at least when we did they were worth it. Also, the portions were very generous. Not sure why others complained about that.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

The chef at Calistoga Kitchen came out t ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 18, 2016

The chef at Calistoga Kitchen came out to ask how our evening was which was a nice touch! The food was great - everything from salad to entree to dessert. Loved the wine by glass selections as well. Also, the intimate patio was perfect for our 10th anniversary dinner. We will definitely return!

Tags: Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Casual, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Just might be the best food in the Napa ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 10, 2016

Just might be the best food in the Napa Valley.

This chef has the talent. There is no reason for me

to write more. Writing more will not improve

communication nor change my opinion.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and great out door seatin ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on September 9, 2016

Excellent food and great out door seating. Vacation in the area and Calistoga Kitchen was a perfect end to a great week

Tags: Local Ingredients, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was good, the staff was friendl ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 4, 2016

The food was good, the staff was friendly and welcoming, I just thought prices were a bit high

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Thank you for the two beautiful vegan gf ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 4, 2016

Thank you for the two beautiful vegan gf SOS-free entrees!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food is always fresh and delicious.

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 3, 2016

Food is always fresh and delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

My friend and I spent the weekend in Cal ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 28, 2016

My friend and I spent the weekend in Calistoga. I made a reservation for Sunday brunch at Calistoga Kitchen since it had good reviews on Open Table. We happened to walk by the evening before and were looking at the menu when the Chef/Owner asked if we were going to let him feed us. We told him we had reservations for brunch the next day, and he said we wouldn't be disappointed. And we weren't! Our eggs were delicious as was the fruit plate, and the service was excellent. We also enjoyed the organic coffee.

Tags: Comfort Food, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

outstanding Calistoga restaurant - anyon ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 27, 2016

outstanding Calistoga restaurant - anyone visiting Calistoga should make a point to stop there. Brunch is good too.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This restaurant in Calistoga is a jewel! ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 26, 2016

This restaurant in Calistoga is a jewel! Fabulous food. Stylish and comfortable indoor and patio dining. Close supervision by maitred Attention to detail. Only open 4 days per week so run to make your reservation. And check out their vintage sign!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

we had lunch and dinner on same day, fan ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 20, 2016

we had lunch and dinner on same day, fantastic food, ate here one year ago and returned this month and will return. excellent quality and care.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Wonderful place. We went there for an A ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on August 13, 2016

Wonderful place. We went there for an After wedding rehearsal lunch. My brother and I had the Rabbit Gumbo and it was delicious! Everyone liked the food they got too. Service was very efficient.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We spent an enjoyable weekend in Calisto ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 7, 2016

We spent an enjoyable weekend in Calistoga with our son, daughter-in-law, and grandchildren. The breakfast at Calistoga Kitchens was wonderful, and the conversation with the owner and waitress very pleasant and informative. A real find!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was fresh but lacked some herbs. Th ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 5, 2016

Food was fresh but lacked some herbs. They charged for bread which I feel should be included. Wait staff was attentive & efficient. Overall, it was a good meal.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was delicious, if hearty. The g ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 31, 2016

The food was delicious, if hearty. The greek salad was wonderful, so fresh.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

The food was so good... order the padron ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 23, 2016

The food was so good... order the padron peppers! I had the breakfast sandwich (not on the menu) and it was delicious!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent food, very well prepared. Sooo ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 23, 2016

Excellent food, very well prepared. Soooo tasty.

And very accommodating

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Great place! Nice indoor or patio seatin ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 17, 2016

Great place! Nice indoor or patio seating. Loved the Rose recommended by the hostess. Risotto was so fresh - crunchy veggies, a lot of basil, and the perfect amount of Parmesan; the best vegetable risotto I've ever had!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.