Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi

About Calistoga KITCHEN

Calistoga KITCHEN offers casual dining with exceptional food, wine, and company. Find us in downtown Calistoga on the corner of Cedar Street and Lincoln Avenue. We are an ingredient driven restaurant that produces delicious dishes, simple and clean. We work with local farms, ranches, and orchards to bring you the highest quality, and freshest ingredients. Our wine list features small producers from the Valley, mostly Calistoga AVA with some exceptional finds from outside our area. No Corkage Thursdays, for both brunch and dinner! Hours expanding soon, so check back please!

1107 Cedar Street
Calistoga, CA 94515
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Californian, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:


Brunch: Thursday-Sunday 9:30am-2:30pm

Dinner: Thursday-Sunday 5:30pm-9:30pm

Cross Street:
Lincoln Ave

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(707) 942-6500

Website:
http://www.calistogakitchen.com/

Parking Details:
The private lot is located behind the restaurant.

Public Transit:
Napa Valley's The Vine transit bus stop is located just half a block from the KITCHEN. Calistoga Shuttle, a local public van stops right at our front.

Executive Chef:
Jenna Hodges and Shaun McGrath

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Calistoga KITCHEN Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.5

ambience

4.2

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Creative Cuisine (13)
Neighborhood Gem (12)
Great for Outdoor Dining (12)
See All
Local Ingredients (11)
Fit for Foodies (11)
Casual (10)
Good for a Date (10)
Great for Lunch (8)
Special Occasion (7)
Seasonal (6)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Great for Brunch (5)
Comfort Food (4)
Cozy (4)
Organic (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Romantic (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Scenic View (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Authentic (3)
Business Meals (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Live Music (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Sort By:
S
225 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 3 days ago

Went to Calistoga Kitchen two years ago amazing rib eye steak .
Friday we left after appetizers due to poor menu selections.

Tags: Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 4 days ago

Amazing food, great service the outdoor area is gorgeous! Would 100% recommend!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 17, 2017

The food is very good and the service is excellent. We sat outside so the Ambiance is even better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Quaint restaurant with good food, I had the Opah and it was fabulous. Plus we could bring my friends dog!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 15, 2017

Nice brunch. Surprisingly large portions (mushroom toast was a meal, though listed as an appetizer), and good variety. I would/will return.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Seasonal, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Casual, Good for a Date, Cozy, Sunday Lunch, Organic, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 10, 2017

New owner seems to re-organizing. Very short menu, shorter wine list. Food was just ok.
Service was excellent. Room was extremely loud. Hopefully things will improve with time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 8, 2017

Amazing!!! The food was amazing from the appetizer to the dessert and everything in between.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Had a delicious brunch! The outside seating was quant, and really quiet despite all the tables being occupied. Recommend the breakfast sandwich and potatoes.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Cozy, Comfort Food, Kid-friendly, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Healthy, Organic, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Guadalajara)·Dined on September 2, 2017

The food was creative and good.
Good spot
Friendly personnel

Tags: Casual, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 1, 2017

Had a great dinner. The peppers and everything ricotta crostini were delicious. The bolognese and chicken yum yum also great! Lonnie was excellent serverband Kaitlyn showed us how they make their rootbeer!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Food was good but we had better food at less expensive restaurants in calistoga. Service was wonderful.

Tags: Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 19, 2017

I thought the menu could have been more interesting. Limited menue and not very many heathy options besides one scramble egg dish and salads.
The breakfast sandwich was heavy and greasy. The bread was soaked in butter.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 19, 2017

We are locals, this was our first time with the new ownership. It was hands down the best meal I have had in Calistoga in a while. The chefs are knocking it out of the park. Loved the ambiance, service and the local feel. We will be back soon! The menu is interesting with nice variety but not too many items which I like. Wine selection was spot on with the local producers. Calistoga at its best! Thank you!!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on August 13, 2017

This was a great find! I visit Napa fairly regularly and this was my first time to Calistoga Kitchen and it was my best dinner of the week! The service was fantastic and the food was just incredible! The duck soup was quite hearty and had deep robust flavors and then the Risotto was prepared perfectly! it's hard to find perfectly prepared risotto but they nailed it and there were layers of flavor that did not disappoint! I will definitely be back the next time I get to Napa!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Kid-friendly, Good Vegetarian Options, Seasonal, Business Meals, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Organic, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Worst dining experience! Made reservation for birthday dinner with family of four. Was seated next to party of 5 girls that had too much to drink, were loud and had inappropriate discussion about sex in a small dinning room. Many other table parties were bothered by the excessive noise and conversations they were having. My husband finally went outside and complained to the hostess. The hostess unfortunately went over the the table indiscreetly so the girls knew we complained. The loud girls giggled and laughed and made fun of us. We finally left after expressing our frustration.

The hostess should have moved the loud girls or should have put a stop to the unbearable situation before it got so bad.

Will never return!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 30, 2017

We have been to Calistoga Kitchen in May this year and enjoyed our dinner. We had friends visiting from Tennessee and want to have them dine here. The room was great, staff was friendly, food was great BUT... the air conditioning was not working (even though they said it was on full force) We were sweating during dinner. They need to get it fixed and at least get fans.
I hate to focus on the heat... but it gets in the 90s during the summer and they really need better A/C.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Excellent service great food. The Rabbit gumbo was amazing! I highly recommend this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 23, 2017

It was another great meal, THANK YOU.
Sorry to see you go, big shoes to fill......................

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Casual, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 23, 2017

In an area where there are more Michelin star restaurants than you can shake a stick at this is still one of my go to favorite places chef owner Rick Werkel and his staff do a fabulous job every time

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good Vegetarian Options, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Dreadful! I was so surprised that both our entrees were so far off the mark that they were inedible. The risotto was a blob of mush and the carbonara had sat so long in the kitchen it tasted burnt. Told the waitress, she was 'sorry' talked to the chef, just a bad night! Really?
Stay clear as not only was the food poor but the staff reaction was abysmal!!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 13, 2017

we come to calistoga once a year and this is one off our favorites good food, good service will be back next year

Tags: Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Healthy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 7, 2017

This is the best Calistoga restaurant. The patio is great on most evenings. In fact, went back again for lunch today.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Authentic, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Is a converted house so was cozy. Portions were generous for food as well as the serving size for a glass of wine.
Small parking lot adjacent is not indicated for restaurant use - one driveway has on out arrow and from the other driveway there are predominant private property signs at the parking spaces. They need some sign saying Calisotga Kitchen parking only.

Tags: Organic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on July 1, 2017

We were staying in Calistoga and wanted restaurants we could walk to. Calistoga Kitchen does not disappoint. The service is excellent, great wine selection and fantastic food. The risotto is delicious. We will definitely be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Wonderful neighborhood place that provided some quiet time and a great lunch after some Napa Valley wine tasting. The place was very clean and the wait staff attentive. The food was fresh take on old favorites such as the BLT. We liked it so much that we went there two different times while we were in the area wine tasting.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 17, 2017

The meal was good, had been looking at a sample menu fro the visitor center, was hoping for the boar stew.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on June 10, 2017

the food was excellent and the place is very cool. It's in a little house with a very nice outdoor dining area. We had steamed clams in a tomato saffron broth. Very very tasty! The place is a little pricey, but you are in wine country so everything is.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 10, 2017

My first time visiting and it was great. Service was prompt and food was tasty. I went with a group of 6 for lunch and we all enjoyed it. I ordered the burger and it was juicy and flavorful. I will be back. 😁

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 1, 2017

Another reliable venue for us locals... comfortable and cozy. Without being over the top,
Rick offers a wonderful vied menu well bewared and visually inviting...

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Lovely small, intimate, restaurant serving limited menu of delicious, innovative dishes using fresh, seasonal ingredients. Similarly small wine list though not all wines are local. The lovely patio is unfortunately streetside so there is some traffic noise. Prices are high though par for the course in the Napa valley. Overall, our dining experience was excellent and we can see why this is one of the top rated restaurants in Calistoga.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Really cute setting with very friendly service. We will definitely return.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 6, 2017

We ended up waiting about 5 minutes in the entry way for someone to help us. Finally a waitress let us know a hostess will be right with us. We sat outside which is what we asked for as the Calistoga nights are absolutely perfect. The waitress finally came over and we ordered our appetizers and cocktails and we thought we were off to a good start. We get our app prior to the drinks which is not ideal but ok. We then proceed to order and the waitress lets us know that they are out of bolognese and salmon, which was our first two choices. Bummer. So we took another minute and ordered the duck and rabbits which both were good just would not order again. Disappointing due to all the good reviews, I definetely expected more.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Great food! Our server Ingrid was attentive and pleasant. We had the special fish, halibut, which was outstanding. We are headed back to Napa in July and will return to Calistoga Kitchen!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Excellent food, service and ambience. Selection of fresh ingredients prepared to perfection.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 4, 2017

One of our very favorites in the area! We go there when we have a special occasion.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on April 30, 2017

We had Sunday brunch here. Cute little place in Calistoga and was perfect weather! Love the little sign out front. We had huevos rancheros and hash. Both were really good. We cleaned our plates. The server was friendly and attentive as well. This is probably about normal price for this area but 50 bucks for breakfast without mimosas is kinda crazy. But it was still good and I'm sure you're spending that everywhere in the napa area. We sat inside and the kitchen can be loud. Apparently some huevos went missing and everyone was looking for the huevos...the chef thought I had the huevos and even came to check but apparently I had the correct huevos...they found the huevos they were looking for soon after. We thought it was funny...I'm sure some people would find it annoying.

Tags: Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on April 13, 2017

We are never disappointed with the food. The food is absolutely amazing!!

Tags: Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 1, 2017

This beautiful restaurant lived up to our expectations. Our dishes were presented lovely, tasted so good, and service was also excellent! My salad was the special dish and was delicious. My husband had the duck soup, which had perfect seasoning! He also had the risotto, which was the best we've every had!! We ate in the outside patio, as the weather was fantastic. I can't tell you enough how much, we also enjoyed that atmosphere. Thank you so much for helping to make our anniversary a most beautiful memory.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Vegan, Romantic, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Thank you California Kitchen for the wonderful food and service. We brought our 95 year old great aunt for lunch today and the whole staff were extremely accommodating and helpful. Although she is partially blind she really enjoyed the ambiance and food and waitstaff. Thank you again!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on March 30, 2017

Everything was great, the service the food , it fact we booked it again.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.