Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi

About Calistoga KITCHEN

Calistoga KITCHEN offers casual dining with exceptional food, wine, and company. Find us in downtown Calistoga on the corner of Cedar Street and Lincoln Avenue. We are an ingredient driven restaurant that produces delicious dishes, simple and clean. We work with local farms, ranches, and orchards to bring you the highest quality, and freshest ingredients. Our retail-priced wine list features small producers from the Valley, mostly Calistoga AVA with some exceptional finds from outside our area. Open for Lunch, Dinner, and Sunday Brunch. Reservations are recommended.

1107 Cedar Street
Calistoga, CA 94515
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Californian, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: F-Sa 11:30am-3:00pm
Dinner: Th-Sa 5:30pm-9:00pm
Brunch: Su 9:30am-3:00pm

Cross Street:
Lincoln Ave

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(707) 942-6500

Website:
http://www.calistogakitchen.com/

Catering:
Calistoga KITCHEN Catering has been creating memorable custom menus since 1996. Our list of clients include wine producers like Joseph Phelps, Fisher Vineyards and Schramsberg to small residential gatherings, and local charitable events. Our catering crew are asked to return year after year to annual family events as well as once in a lifetime weddings, anniversaries, and milestones. Chef Rick’s signature dishes are created from the finest ingredients and always seasonal. Fully licensed and insured, we customize your menu to your taste, budget, and style.

Parking Details:
The private lot is located behind the restaurant.

Public Transit:
Napa Valley's The Vine transit bus stop is located just half a block from the KITCHEN. Calistoga Shuttle, a local public van stops right at our front.

Executive Chef:
Richard Warkel

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Calistoga KITCHEN Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.5

value

4.6

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (15)
Neighborhood Gem (13)
Special Occasion (11)
See All
Good for a Date (10)
Cozy (9)
Creative Cuisine (9)
Local Ingredients (9)
Authentic (8)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Casual (7)
Worth the Drive (7)
Great for Brunch (6)
Great for Lunch (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Romantic (5)
Good for Anniversaries (5)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Outstanding Value (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Seasonal (3)
Family Style (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Fun (3)
Healthy (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Scenic View (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Private Room (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Organic (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Tapas (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Sort By:
S
182 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 19, 2017

The Calistoga Kitchen blended flavors about as well as I have ever tasted. The dishes that we had were wonderful. The people next to us raved about theirs as well. The wild boar stew was superb as was the ceasar salad. Try it. You will not be sorry.

Tags: Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Before sharing everything that was great about this restaurant I want to address the one critique I have about their service which seems to be all too common anymore and right off the bat can send patrons into a negative state. It is also something if addressed can have the opposite effect. We had made dinner reservations through Open Table and when we arrived on time, most of the two tops were still empty, however the hostess led us to one of the worst tables close to the kitchen. When I asked whether we could sit at one of the other more desirable tables she told us that they were trying to turn over tables fast that night and could not accommodate that request. I was not really sure how that explained her decision but we went ahead and had dinner at the assigned table. We noticed throughout our 1.5hr dinner that those other tables did not fill up but she had also declined other patrons request for a certain table and even sat a couple outside rather than give them an available table inside. By the time we left there was still the same table available we had requested earlier. We clearly felt that we were not considered as valued as guests as others. The easiest thing for hosts is to seat guests at the best available table at the time. This way everyone feels welcome and later guests understand that the best tables might be gone by then.
Our dinner otherwise was lovely. I had the duck breast which was cooked to a perfect medium temperature and was accompanied by the best snap peas and sweet potato purée. The cherry glaze topped it off for perfection. My husband had the crab filled tortellini special in a saffron fish stock, which reminded us of a Boullabaise and was delicious. Service, aside from the hostess', was impeccable. The timing of the courses was done perfectly and our lovely server was knowledgeable and attentive.
I would have given this experience 5 stars had the hostess been more welcoming.

Tags: Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Absolutely delicious food, great wine and a fabulous waitress. Will definitely go back!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Good Food - good service- always
When in Calistoga a must.

Tags: Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Delicious dinner in a quaint atmosphere. Everything was yummy, from the wine to the rabbit pate, venison stew to gingerbread cake. I really liked on the menu the "buy a round of beers for the kitchen staff" for just $15. Very nice, helpful staff and owner/chef. Great ambiance and recommended for sure!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Another great meal. Consistently great food and service. Hats of the entire team.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 15, 2017

A total gem a 10 on all accounts we are very lucky to have this do close

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 11, 2017

I have eaten here quite a few time and am never disappointed; Quaint, delicious and excellent service!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 5, 2017

What a meal. The Duck breast, the cowboy steak, and the sirloin strip were fantastic. The salad of chickories and the Caesar were perfect. Our server Marley did a great job and helped pick perfect wines to accompany our dinner. Chef Rick, the awesomely talented man behind the curtain, came out to see us and make sure dinner was perfect. Dessert was a freshly made treat. The ginger bread cake was warm, perfectly moist and accompanied by a delicious scoop of homemade ice cream. Had a lovely meal with my family, will definitely be back. Over and over.

Tags: Cozy, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Private Room, Good for a Date, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Authentic, Fun, Organic, Family Style, Open Kitchen, Good Vegetarian Options, Seasonal, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 4, 2017

I've been to this restaurant several times and have enjoyed it every time. I have to say that I enjoyed it even more this time! The ambiance was lovely, the food nicely presented and delicious, and the chef accommodated my gluten-free low dairy needs. The waiter who served us was outstanding, professional, attentive, and personable. This place has become one of my favorite restaurants in the Napa Valley. If you haven't tried this local gem, I urge you to do so. You won't regret it.

Tags: Disabled Access, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Gluten Free Options, Family Style, Scenic View, Good Vegetarian Options, Authentic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 15, 2017

We've eaten here a number of times, and just when you think it can't get better, it does. Our meals of Asian Lettuce Cups with duck, Roasted Duck Soup, Spinach Salad, Pheasant Pot Pie, Dungeness Crab Tortellini, Caramel pot de creme, and ginger cake was perfect. Great service, great meal, we love to eat here and have taken and sent many folks.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Phenomenal food, lovely service - attentive but not annoying/intrusive. Only negative a loud group who were unnecessarily boisterous, not the restaurant's fault but we were not inclined to linger. Chef came outside to ask about the meal and we will certainly return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 1, 2017

New Year's Eve - we were so happy for the vegetarian option available. Food was great! Delicious and fresh. Service was good. We will be back happily!

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 31, 2016

It's like great home cooking a little more refined than a great home cook might make in a relaxed atmosphere. The best meal we had in Calistoga for sure. One big boisterous birthday group amped up the level when we were there -- I imagine it's typically a bit more subdued. Highly recommended if you are staying in the vicinity.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 25, 2016

We have been trying to get a reservation at Calistoga Kitchen for some time. We live in Hidden Valley Lake and have a little drive but it was worth it. The menu was outstanding, not your usual 2-3 pages of different food offerings. The flavor and presentation was outstanding. We had the wild boar with polenta and the rabbit and rice dishes. Salad at the end (Italian style) and a glass of Brian Arden's Sangiovese. Our waitress was very well versed on the different dishes and the warmth of the restaurant was perfect.

Thank you Rick for presenting an outstanding menu and for your warm staff. We had a wonderful evening. We will visit you again.

Happy Holidays to all!
Sandy Testa

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 4, 2016

We had 9 for the Tractor Parade including three children which could have been overwhelming for a dining establishment given the reservations that night. We were seated in a private room that suited us perfectly. Even through the room was narrow the servers adeptly sent plates to where they belonged. The food was very good. The portions might have been small for some, but perfect for most. When we asked for additional food for the children it was ordered and delivered promptly. We will be back again!

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 3, 2016

We had another wonderful meal at Calistoga Kitchen. The service was great and as always we enjoy chatting with the owner Rick.
Calistoga Kitchen is a real gem!

Tags: Outstanding Value, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Great experience meeting the chef!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 26, 2016

excellent food and experience we went back for a second evening!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Visiting Calistoga and came across this restaurant for brunch. Small and charming. Good mimosa and everyone loved their food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 18, 2016

This place is great. We had wonderful choices and they were all delicious. A place in Calistoga not to be missed.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Casual, Modern Decor, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Outstanding Value, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 13, 2016

A wonderful meal. Food & Service were just great. Duck Soup, Duck Lettuce Wraps, Lamb Shanks, Caesar Salad were all wonderful. Small but very nice wine list, and reasonable. 3 desserts were all just right. Husband / Wife owners were checking in to insure everything we going well. Dining as it should be ** 10 out of 10 in my book.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Calistoga Kitchen was absolutely wonderful. We were in town for a weekend get-a-way and this was the perfect date night location. The food was superb and the service was fantastic. If you're in Calistoga and want a classy and quiet dinner this is the place. The patio is also a great place if the weather agrees.

Tags: Historic, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Cozy, Authentic, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 5, 2016

We go here a lot since we live in Calistoga. Ric always has something original he thought up that is wonderful!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 23, 2016

We were in Calistoga for a long weekend and went for dinner on Saturday night. The food was solid. We chose the restaurant as it seemed to meet the dietary needs of everyone in our party and they didn't disappoint. Wine selection was fair, but good enough. Ambiance was ok.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Our party of three wasn't expecting too much from this restaurant and we were more than pleasantly surprised. Nice ambience, interesting (and delicious) menu. Very nice wine options. Excellent service. Prices were in line with what we received. I would recommend and I would go back again next time I'm in the area.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 16, 2016

I highly recommend Calistoga Kitchen for dinner if you are visiting the Napa region. We recently had dinner there on a Saturday night. Someone has done a great job of training this front of house staff. From greeting us, seating us promptly as soon as our entire party arrived, to prompt friendly attention to our ordering -- all were professionally done. The wait staff knew the specials and the wine list. Dishes arrived within a very reasonable amount of time. Used utensils and plates were cleared quickly. We sat inside (there is outside seating) and it boasts a cozy yet modern decor. Food was excellent. Try the squash soup. Also recommend the duck breast.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Awesome food - great service - incredible night!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Our first trip to Calistoga Kitchen for our wedding anniversary. Very nice place, small and cozy. Food was outstanding and wait staff were helpful and attentive. Definitely recommend dining at Calistoga Kitchen.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 15, 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed dinner at Calistoga kitchen. Service was terrific, and the wait staff and kitchen were response to food sensitivities/allergies. We both had a grilled chicken breast. It was done to perfection - cooked through, yet still moist and juicy. As more people arrived, the noise level, as expected, started to increase.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Very nice meal with fantastic service on the patio. Will be back!

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 9, 2016

My 3dr time dining at Calistoga kitchen and this was wonderful. Duck soup was delicious; rich broth and lots of duck meat. Arugula salad was properly dressed, light tasting and refreshing. Duck lettuce cups had a very nice balance of mint, cilantro and dressing. Duck Breast was cooked perfectly. Service was just right, personable and attentive. Only disappointing item was the strawberry short cake: Dry day old biscuit and sauce that needed additional sweetness, a real down note to finish off a nice evening, would have been better of not ordering dessert. Bottom line: Chef / kitchen knows how to cook. Understands seasoning and balance. Unfortunately, they don't know desserts. Staff is all great, from hostess to server to runners, they are all spot on. One more note; small but good wine list. Lots of local wines and not over priced. 4 1/2 stars...........

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on October 7, 2016

Everything was fresh. The salads were exceptionally fresh and the lettuce was so good. The lamp shank was fall off the bone tender and delious. I loved every bite of everything. The service was great. It was a Thursday night and very quiet. I honestly don't understand why every table was not filled

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 2, 2016

We have a business in town and when tourist ask for a recommendation for dining, Calistoga Kitchen is high on the list. We dine there after the store closes sometimes to unwind. The food is excellently prepared. Service is outstanding. Check it out.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on September 30, 2016

We ate outside. There lamb chop salad is awesome!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 30, 2016

The place is very un assuming right in the corned of the main drag (Lincoln Ave) in Calistoga. I hesitated for a while, but we gave it a try and we were pleasantly surprised. The food and the service were excellent, Annie our server was very attentive and courteous and the patio sitting a real treat for us. Will be back again when in the area. Highly recommended. Good for the money too.

Tags: People Watching, Worth the Drive, Outstanding Value, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Great breakfast place. Make a reservation and sit outside. Lovely.

Tags: Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Historic, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 24, 2016

We made an appointment for 7:30pm, but then called to se
If 7pm was Possible. It wasn't, but then the hostess called us back to say there had been a cancellation, which was very thoughtful and appreciated. Food was excellent. Took almost an hour to get our entrees though, but at least when we did they were worth it. Also, the portions were very generous. Not sure why others complained about that.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 18, 2016

The chef at Calistoga Kitchen came out to ask how our evening was which was a nice touch! The food was great - everything from salad to entree to dessert. Loved the wine by glass selections as well. Also, the intimate patio was perfect for our 10th anniversary dinner. We will definitely return!

Tags: Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Casual, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 10, 2016

Just might be the best food in the Napa Valley.
This chef has the talent. There is no reason for me
to write more. Writing more will not improve
communication nor change my opinion.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.