About Calistoga KITCHEN

1107 Cedar Street
Calistoga, CA 94515
View Larger Map

Calistoga KITCHEN offers casual dining with exceptional food, wine, and company. Find us in downtown Calistoga on the corner of Cedar Street and Lincoln Avenue. We are an ingredient driven restaurant that produces delicious dishes, simple and clean. We work with local farms, ranches, and orchards to bring you the highest quality, and freshest ingredients. Our retail-priced wine list features small producers from the Valley, mostly Calistoga AVA with some exceptional finds from outside our area. Open for Lunch, Dinner, and Sunday Brunch. Reservations are recommended.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Californian, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: F-Sa 11:30am-3:00pm
Dinner: Th-Sa 5:30pm-9:00pm
Brunch: Su 9:30am-3:00pm

Cross Street:
Lincoln Ave

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(707) 942-6500

Website:
http://www.calistogakitchen.com/

Catering:
Calistoga KITCHEN Catering has been creating memorable custom menus since 1996. Our list of clients include wine producers like Joseph Phelps, Fisher Vineyards and Schramsberg to small residential gatherings, and local charitable events. Our catering crew are asked to return year after year to annual family events as well as once in a lifetime weddings, anniversaries, and milestones. Chef Rick’s signature dishes are created from the finest ingredients and always seasonal. Fully licensed and insured, we customize your menu to your taste, budget, and style.

Parking Details:
The private lot is located behind the restaurant.

Public Transit:
Napa Valley's The Vine transit bus stop is located just half a block from the KITCHEN. Calistoga Shuttle, a local public van stops right at our front.

Executive Chef:
Richard Warkel

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Calistoga KITCHEN Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Value
Wine Country
Californian
Wine Country
Best Restaurants in Calistoga ›

Great for Outdoor Dining (24)
Neighborhood Gem (22)
Fit for Foodies (20)
See All
Great for Lunch (16)
Great for Brunch (15)
Special Occasion (12)
Romantic (7)
Kid-friendly (6)
Good for Groups (5)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Good for a Date (5)
Casual (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Scenic View (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Fun (3)
Worth the Drive (2)
Authentic (2)
Seasonal (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Healthy (1)
Family Style (1)
Comfort Food (1)
People Watching (1)
Cozy (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Vegan (1)
Historic (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
144 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great breakfast place. Make a reservati ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined 5 days ago

Great breakfast place. Make a reservation and sit outside. Lovely.

Tags: Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Historic, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We made an appointment for 7:30pm, but t ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined 6 days ago

We made an appointment for 7:30pm, but then called to se

If 7pm was Possible. It wasn't, but then the hostess called us back to say there had been a cancellation, which was very thoughtful and appreciated. Food was excellent. Took almost an hour to get our entrees though, but at least when we did they were worth it. Also, the portions were very generous. Not sure why others complained about that.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

The chef at Calistoga Kitchen came out t ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

The chef at Calistoga Kitchen came out to ask how our evening was which was a nice touch! The food was great - everything from salad to entree to dessert. Loved the wine by glass selections as well. Also, the intimate patio was perfect for our 10th anniversary dinner. We will definitely return!

Tags: Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Casual, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Just might be the best food in the Napa ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Just might be the best food in the Napa Valley.

This chef has the talent. There is no reason for me

to write more. Writing more will not improve

communication nor change my opinion.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and great out door seatin ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Excellent food and great out door seating. Vacation in the area and Calistoga Kitchen was a perfect end to a great week

Tags: Local Ingredients, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was good, the staff was friendl ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

The food was good, the staff was friendly and welcoming, I just thought prices were a bit high

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Thank you for the two beautiful vegan gf ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Thank you for the two beautiful vegan gf SOS-free entrees!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food is always fresh and delicious.

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Food is always fresh and delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

My friend and I spent the weekend in Cal ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

My friend and I spent the weekend in Calistoga. I made a reservation for Sunday brunch at Calistoga Kitchen since it had good reviews on Open Table. We happened to walk by the evening before and were looking at the menu when the Chef/Owner asked if we were going to let him feed us. We told him we had reservations for brunch the next day, and he said we wouldn't be disappointed. And we weren't! Our eggs were delicious as was the fruit plate, and the service was excellent. We also enjoyed the organic coffee.

Tags: Comfort Food, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

outstanding Calistoga restaurant - anyon ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

outstanding Calistoga restaurant - anyone visiting Calistoga should make a point to stop there. Brunch is good too.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This restaurant in Calistoga is a jewel! ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

This restaurant in Calistoga is a jewel! Fabulous food. Stylish and comfortable indoor and patio dining. Close supervision by maitred Attention to detail. Only open 4 days per week so run to make your reservation. And check out their vintage sign!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

we had lunch and dinner on same day, fan ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

we had lunch and dinner on same day, fantastic food, ate here one year ago and returned this month and will return. excellent quality and care.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Wonderful place. We went there for an A ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Wonderful place. We went there for an After wedding rehearsal lunch. My brother and I had the Rabbit Gumbo and it was delicious! Everyone liked the food they got too. Service was very efficient.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We spent an enjoyable weekend in Calisto ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

We spent an enjoyable weekend in Calistoga with our son, daughter-in-law, and grandchildren. The breakfast at Calistoga Kitchens was wonderful, and the conversation with the owner and waitress very pleasant and informative. A real find!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was fresh but lacked some herbs. Th ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Food was fresh but lacked some herbs. They charged for bread which I feel should be included. Wait staff was attentive & efficient. Overall, it was a good meal.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was delicious, if hearty. The g ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

The food was delicious, if hearty. The greek salad was wonderful, so fresh.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

The food was so good... order the padron ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

The food was so good... order the padron peppers! I had the breakfast sandwich (not on the menu) and it was delicious!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent food, very well prepared. Sooo ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Excellent food, very well prepared. Soooo tasty.

And very accommodating

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Great place! Nice indoor or patio seatin ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Great place! Nice indoor or patio seating. Loved the Rose recommended by the hostess. Risotto was so fresh - crunchy veggies, a lot of basil, and the perfect amount of Parmesan; the best vegetable risotto I've ever had!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Wonderful brunch. Ingredients are king h ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Wonderful brunch. Ingredients are king here. They pay great attention to where they source everything and make much of it in house. The house-cured gravlax were out of this world! delightful texture!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Delicious food, good service (if a bit s ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Delicious food, good service (if a bit slow/tentative), great fresh ingredients, and a lovely patio setting.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

We read all the great reviews and were s ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

We read all the great reviews and were slightly underwhelmed. There are better choices in Calistoga and far better ones in St. Helena (Market, Cook). The choices are a little limited. Our food was good, but the overall experience wasn't one to write home about.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

The Huevos Rancheros were great! You get ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

The Huevos Rancheros were great! You get to choose how you want your eggs cooked. Delicious guacamole and red sauce. But sour cream on the side just to balance the dish out to your taste. Very good. Tortillas could have been slightly better but that's pretty much my only critique. The coffee is great too!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

Unexpected surprise

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

The food was wonderful and our waiter (Scott) was amazing. It was very noisy.

My husband had rack of lamb and I had Halibut. Both were delicious and the portions were generous. We would go back and have already recommended this place.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We had a great holiday weekend brunch at ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

We had a great holiday weekend brunch at this cute little restaurant! I'd made reservations, but they probably weren't necessary. The food was good and fresh with plenty of lunch as well as breakfast choices available. The cafe is on the Main Street in Calistoga and had a lot of visual appeal with a very quaint, lush patio space. All-in-all, it was a very fitting, satisfying dining experience! We would go back if in the area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Great Mother's day brunch

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Open, friendly, great food, reasonable prices. This is all you can ask of a restaurant. Located on a quiet corner in Calistoga, you can eat indoors or on the patio when the weather is good. I look forward to returning.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We go for the duck burger. Fabulous .

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

We go for the duck burger. Fabulous .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

Wonderful Food, Staff, and Dessert!

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

We made reservations, were seated immediately. Very friendly, helpful staff helped us order. After dinner we talked with the owner for a little bit. The food was fabulous and this dining experience made my wife's birthday a very special occasion. My wife and I ordered a Cesar Salad - which we split, rabbit gumbo and rack of lamb, and we split those entrees with each other. Wonderful! We will be going back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food, Horrible Service

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

The food was amazing, but our server was terrible. Very argumentative, slow, passive aggressive, it just seemed as if we were bothering her every time she had to serve us. Right off the bat we got menus and she said she'd be right back to tell us the specials. But we didn't see anyone for a while - she eventually came over and exasperated "So, are you ready to order?" She hadn't even told us the specials yet. When one member of the group got steak not cooked to her order we had it sent back and the server brought it back out saying "does this work for you?" All with a very negative tone. What really frustrated the group was at the very end when she brought our receipt over after paying the tab and said "Just so you know, I took .39 out of MY OWN POCKET to cover your tab, and I didn't add the tip so that wasn't on there". We had 2 different people count the money twice before we gave it to her (for a total of 4 times). We should have been about .61 over, not short. Also, we had also assumed that the gratuity was included since we were a party of 6. I have no problem adding on the tip, I have no problem throwing in more money if we were actually short. But the approach, and subsequent arguing that occurred was absurd. "I wouldn't lie to you" "It's just 39 cents, it's not a big deal". We as the customers were saying it was a big deal, because we don't go around out to dinner to try and take money out of server's pockets. It would've been better to bring us back the money for us to recount ourselves to help clear up whatever confusion she had.

The whole thing was so confrontational and made us all so uncomfortable that everybody couldn't stop talking about it long after our dinner was over. Truly ruined what could've been a lovely, carefree evening with awesome food and wine in Calistoga.

The chef kept coming out to pick up her slack, and he was lovely-but it's unfortunate he had to take time away from the kitchen to do wait staff duties.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value3

Very Tasty

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 15, 2016

As there is no kid menu we ordered an entrée to share. Unfortunately the portion Was Really small but very good.

As per the other entrées it Was just perfect.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Excellent Neighborhood Restaurant

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 9, 2016

This was our first dining experience at Calistoga Kitchen and it was wonderful from start to finish. The food was amazing and beautifully presented--appetizer of salmon gravlax, spinach salad with warm bacon vinaigrette, rack of lamb and halibut in mushroom broth--we couldn't decide what was our favorite. Make a reservation and see for yourself!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

A great place!

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

Calistoga Kitchen is a staple in Calistoga, its quaint, small and just has a great patio with beautiful blooming red flowers. You can sit on the patio and people watch while sipping fantastic wine and eating a delicious BLT - the best BLT I've ever had - its all about the bacon and its just not regular bacon. I highly recommend this place if you are in this part of Napa.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A great restaurant for a special occasion

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on March 26, 2016

Calistoga Kitchen exceeded our expectations for a special occasion dinner. The atmosphere was extremely warm and friendly, from the wait staff to the chef, who kept making the rounds and greeting the guests. When my daughter mentioned her disappointment that an item she'd seen on the website didn't appear on the menu that night, he assured her (and the 2 others that ordered the same thing) that it was absolutely no problem to make it for her/them. The food was delicious--from the risotto to the pan-fried chicken--and was a highlight of our vacation in Calistoga.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always great food and service.

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on March 19, 2016

Always great food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on March 18, 2016

Yet another great meal at The Calistoga Kitchen. The food, wine, and desserts were perfection. I always look forward to dinner here.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Another perfect dinner at Calistoga Kitchen

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Returned here for Valentine's Day after a wonderful experience for our anniversary. The food was somehow even better the second time. The service was attentive, friendly, and overall impeccable. We cannot recommend this restaurant highly enough. It is easy to walk by and miss it, but nothing in the area remotely compares. Do not miss this gem.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing service, Fresh high quality dining

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on February 12, 2016

Food was amazing. Fresh, high quality, flavorful. Service was outstanding. We will eat here more than once on our trip to Calistoga.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always superb!

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on January 30, 2016

Just like a great party, we love hanging out in the Kitchen. It's our go-to spot for a romantic night out or dinner with friends. Consistently excellent food with surprising, inventive seasonal ingredients that Chef Rick transforms into art, warm friendly service, fab desserts and lively atmosphere with a mix of locals & visitors. Great patio in nice weather. Sunday brunch is also not to be missed (the BLT is unreal; I dream about it). I wish they were open 7 days a week!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Kitchen delivers again and again. One o ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on January 3, 2016

Kitchen delivers again and again. One of the top "go-to" restaurants in the area. Personable staff, management and Chef add a special touch to a special restaurant

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Waiter Was Obviously Hung Over

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on January 2, 2016

They mixed up my order. Did not bring bread when we asked them to. The waiter was obviously hung over. When we were leaving, we left our dogie box on the table. Nobody noticed it. by the time we came back, they threw it away.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.