About Calistoga KITCHEN

1107 Cedar Street
Calistoga, CA 94515
View Larger Map

Calistoga KITCHEN offers casual dining with exceptional food, wine, and company. Find us in downtown Calistoga on the corner of Cedar Street and Lincoln Avenue. We are an ingredient driven restaurant that produces delicious dishes, simple and clean. We work with local farms, ranches, and orchards to bring you the highest quality, and freshest ingredients. Our retail-priced wine list features small producers from the Valley, mostly Calistoga AVA with some exceptional finds from outside our area. Open for Lunch, Dinner, and Sunday Brunch. Reservations are recommended.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Californian, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: F-Sa 11:30am-3:00pm
Dinner: Th-Sa 5:30pm-9:00pm
Brunch: Su 9:30am-3:00pm

Cross Street:
Lincoln Ave

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(707) 942-6500

Website:
http://www.calistogakitchen.com/

Catering:
Calistoga KITCHEN Catering has been creating memorable custom menus since 1996. Our list of clients include wine producers like Joseph Phelps, Fisher Vineyards and Schramsberg to small residential gatherings, and local charitable events. Our catering crew are asked to return year after year to annual family events as well as once in a lifetime weddings, anniversaries, and milestones. Chef Rick’s signature dishes are created from the finest ingredients and always seasonal. Fully licensed and insured, we customize your menu to your taste, budget, and style.

Parking Details:
The private lot is located behind the restaurant.

Public Transit:
Napa Valley's The Vine transit bus stop is located just half a block from the KITCHEN. Calistoga Shuttle, a local public van stops right at our front.

Executive Chef:
Richard Warkel

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Cafe, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Calistoga KITCHEN Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.2

ambience

4.2

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Neighborhood Gem
Wine Country
Californian
Wine Country
Best Restaurants in Calistoga ›

fit for foodies (26)
great for outdoor dining (26)
neighborhood gem (23)
See All
great for brunch (16)
special occasion (15)
great for lunch (13)
romantic (13)
good for groups (8)
hot spot (5)
notable wine list (5)
kid-friendly (5)
scenic view (3)
late-night find (2)
vibrant bar scene (1)
Sort By:
Newest
125 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Wonderful brunch. Ingredients are king h ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Wonderful brunch. Ingredients are king here. They pay great attention to where they source everything and make much of it in house. The house-cured gravlax were out of this world! delightful texture!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Delicious food, good service (if a bit s ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Delicious food, good service (if a bit slow/tentative), great fresh ingredients, and a lovely patio setting.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

We read all the great reviews and were s ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

We read all the great reviews and were slightly underwhelmed. There are better choices in Calistoga and far better ones in St. Helena (Market, Cook). The choices are a little limited. Our food was good, but the overall experience wasn't one to write home about.

food4
ambience3
service3

The Huevos Rancheros were great! You get ...

Dined on June 5, 2016

The Huevos Rancheros were great! You get to choose how you want your eggs cooked. Delicious guacamole and red sauce. But sour cream on the side just to balance the dish out to your taste. Very good. Tortillas could have been slightly better but that's pretty much my only critique. The coffee is great too!

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Unexpected surprise

Dined on June 5, 2016

The food was wonderful and our waiter (Scott) was amazing. It was very noisy. My husband had rack of lamb and I had Halibut. Both were delicious and the portions were generous. We would go back and have already recommended this place.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service3

We had a great holiday weekend brunch at ...

Dined on May 29, 2016

We had a great holiday weekend brunch at this cute little restaurant! I'd made reservations, but they probably weren't necessary. The food was good and fresh with plenty of lunch as well as breakfast choices available. The cafe is on the Main Street in Calistoga and had a lot of visual appeal with a very quaint, lush patio space. All-in-all, it was a very fitting, satisfying dining experience! We would go back if in the area.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great Mother's day brunch

Dined on May 8, 2016

Open, friendly, great food, reasonable prices. This is all you can ask of a restaurant. Located on a quiet corner in Calistoga, you can eat indoors or on the patio when the weather is good. I look forward to returning.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service2

We go for the duck burger. Fabulous .

vip
Dined on May 6, 2016

We go for the duck burger. Fabulous .

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful Food, Staff, and Dessert!

Dined on May 6, 2016

We made reservations, were seated immediately. Very friendly, helpful staff helped us order. After dinner we talked with the owner for a little bit. The food was fabulous and this dining experience made my wife's birthday a very special occasion. My wife and I ordered a Cesar Salad - which we split, rabbit gumbo and rack of lamb, and we split those entrees with each other. Wonderful! We will be going back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience3
service1
value3

Great food, Horrible Service

Dined on April 17, 2016

The food was amazing, but our server was terrible. Very argumentative, slow, passive aggressive, it just seemed as if we were bothering her every time she had to serve us. Right off the bat we got menus and she said she'd be right back to tell us the specials. But we didn't see anyone for a while - she eventually came over and exasperated "So, are you ready to order?" She hadn't even told us the specials yet. When one member of the group got steak not cooked to her order we had it sent back and the server brought it back out saying "does this work for you?" All with a very negative tone. What really frustrated the group was at the very end when she brought our receipt over after paying the tab and said "Just so you know, I took .39 out of MY OWN POCKET to cover your tab, and I didn't add the tip so that wasn't on there". We had 2 different people count the money twice before we gave it to her (for a total of 4 times). We should have been about .61 over, not short. Also, we had also assumed that the gratuity was included since we were a party of 6. I have no problem adding on the tip, I have no problem throwing in more money if we were actually short. But the approach, and subsequent arguing that occurred was absurd. "I wouldn't lie to you" "It's just 39 cents, it's not a big deal". We as the customers were saying it was a big deal, because we don't go around out to dinner to try and take money out of server's pockets. It would've been better to bring us back the money for us to recount ourselves to help clear up whatever confusion she had. The whole thing was so confrontational and made us all so uncomfortable that everybody couldn't stop talking about it long after our dinner was over. Truly ruined what could've been a lovely, carefree evening with awesome food and wine in Calistoga. The chef kept coming out to pick up her slack, and he was lovely-but it's unfortunate he had to take time away from the kitchen to do wait staff duties.

Tags: fit for foodies
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Very Tasty

Dined on April 15, 2016

As there is no kid menu we ordered an entrée to share. Unfortunately the portion Was Really small but very good. As per the other entrées it Was just perfect.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Excellent Neighborhood Restaurant

vip
Dined on April 9, 2016

This was our first dining experience at Calistoga Kitchen and it was wonderful from start to finish. The food was amazing and beautifully presented--appetizer of salmon gravlax, spinach salad with warm bacon vinaigrette, rack of lamb and halibut in mushroom broth--we couldn't decide what was our favorite. Make a reservation and see for yourself!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A great place!

vip
Dined on March 27, 2016

Calistoga Kitchen is a staple in Calistoga, its quaint, small and just has a great patio with beautiful blooming red flowers. You can sit on the patio and people watch while sipping fantastic wine and eating a delicious BLT - the best BLT I've ever had - its all about the bacon and its just not regular bacon. I highly recommend this place if you are in this part of Napa.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A great restaurant for a special occasion

Dined on March 26, 2016

Calistoga Kitchen exceeded our expectations for a special occasion dinner. The atmosphere was extremely warm and friendly, from the wait staff to the chef, who kept making the rounds and greeting the guests. When my daughter mentioned her disappointment that an item she'd seen on the website didn't appear on the menu that night, he assured her (and the 2 others that ordered the same thing) that it was absolutely no problem to make it for her/them. The food was delicious--from the risotto to the pan-fried chicken--and was a highlight of our vacation in Calistoga.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Always great food and service.

Dined on March 19, 2016

Always great food and service.

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Delicious

Dined on March 18, 2016

Yet another great meal at The Calistoga Kitchen. The food, wine, and desserts were perfection. I always look forward to dinner here.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Another perfect dinner at Calistoga Kitchen

Dined on February 14, 2016

Returned here for Valentine's Day after a wonderful experience for our anniversary. The food was somehow even better the second time. The service was attentive, friendly, and overall impeccable. We cannot recommend this restaurant highly enough. It is easy to walk by and miss it, but nothing in the area remotely compares. Do not miss this gem.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing service, Fresh high quality dining

Dined on February 12, 2016

Food was amazing. Fresh, high quality, flavorful. Service was outstanding. We will eat here more than once on our trip to Calistoga.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always superb!

Dined on January 30, 2016

Just like a great party, we love hanging out in the Kitchen. It's our go-to spot for a romantic night out or dinner with friends. Consistently excellent food with surprising, inventive seasonal ingredients that Chef Rick transforms into art, warm friendly service, fab desserts and lively atmosphere with a mix of locals & visitors. Great patio in nice weather. Sunday brunch is also not to be missed (the BLT is unreal; I dream about it). I wish they were open 7 days a week!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Kitchen delivers again and again. One o ...

vip
Dined on January 3, 2016

Kitchen delivers again and again. One of the top "go-to" restaurants in the area. Personable staff, management and Chef add a special touch to a special restaurant

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience1
service1
value2

Waiter Was Obviously Hung Over

Dined on January 2, 2016

They mixed up my order. Did not bring bread when we asked them to. The waiter was obviously hung over. When we were leaving, we left our dogie box on the table. Nobody noticed it. by the time we came back, they threw it away.

food3
ambience3
service4

Supurb quality, great service, adorable atmosphere

Dined on December 6, 2015

Tiny Calistoga is a gem and this establishment is a solid dining choice for more unique dishes. Although I had some reservation hiccups and lack of call-back/communication (booked well in advance for a holiday event weekend), the restaurant did their best to accommodate my seating request once finally connecting. Compelling meat / fish / hearty entree choices. Establishment is homey - Kat our server was personable and knowledgeable for wine pairings and we met the chef Rick.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing meal, every dish was perfectly c ...

vip
Dined on November 15, 2015

Amazing meal, every dish was perfectly cooked

food5
ambience5
service5

Great new restaurant in Calistoga

vip
Dined on November 13, 2015

Calistoga Kitchen is recommended for good food, casual atmosphere and wonderful menu.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

this is a great spot for both locals and ...

Dined on November 1, 2015

this is a great spot for both locals and tourists...we have had several different servers and all have been good...especially fun to sit outside on the patio in good weather...try it!!

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service4

We have many favorite breakfast spots wh ...

Dined on October 25, 2015

We have many favorite breakfast spots when we visit Napa valley, but calistoga kitchen is special. The food is so spectacular! I love everything about this place. Outside seating is nice if the weather cooperates. You won't be disappointed.

food5
ambience5
service5

A beautiful night for dinner at Calistoga Kitchen

Dined on October 25, 2015

We recently enjoyed a wonderful dinner at Calistoga Kitchen. Dinner was tasty and beautifully presented. The restaurant is welcoming with enjoyable indoor and outdoor space. Our server was top notch. Our only disappointment was that we were not able to be seated outdoors due to the busy evening. I would be sure to add that request to our reservation in the future. We highly recommend Calistoga Kitchen as a dinner destination. Don't pass it by!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience4
service4

Warmth of Calistoga

Dined on October 4, 2015

Nice seating in downtown area. Warm outdoors with small candle on table to illuminate food. Service great. Food very good but some comments. Bread costs extra as it is considered and appetizer. Plain sliced bread, not warm served with olive oil without any seasoning I still enjoyed meal though

Tags: great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience5
service5

Gem of a Restaurant

Dined on October 4, 2015

This place feels like home to us. Fantastic changing seasonal menu, many of the items locally procured. Varied and extremely reasonably priced wine list. Rick, the chef and owner, is on the floor at each meal to personally make certain his patrons are having a good time. Every food item is prepared with precision, and always very flavorful. I can't say enough about the place; if you're anywhere near it, go. Oh yeah, if the Roast Duck Soup is on the menu, get it. It's the best soup I've ever had. And I'm not real young.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food2
ambience2
service2

The patio was very inviting but we sat i ...

Dined on September 27, 2015

The patio was very inviting but we sat indoors and that was kind of weird (Bright lighting, bizarre loud music). Service was ok - the waitress got one of our entrees wrong but overall she was nice. The food was ok, nothing to write home about, especially not for $50+ per person.

food5
ambience5
service4

Food was great. Dessert was delicious. W ...

Dined on September 19, 2015

Food was great. Dessert was delicious. Weather was perfect for outdoor seating.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service4

Very Good Dinner

Dined on September 18, 2015

My wife and I recently had dinner at Calistoga Kitchen. The setting is very "homey" with both indoor seating and an outdoor patio. We had reservations, so, we were able to get seated immediately upon arrival. We both selected the beef short ribs, and they were outstanding: beautifully cooked, marbled, smoky, and tender. They came with sides of mac-n-cheese and cole slaw. The portions were huge so there was no room for dessert. Actually, we sliced the remaining ribs for sandwiches the next day. Service was also good. This was a tasty meal, at a fine restaurant in a cool town!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Beautiful yet unassuming

Dined on September 13, 2015

Knockout menu, updated daily. Very friendly and helpful waitstaff. The chef came out at the end of the night to ask how our experience had been, and all we could do was smile big and bask in our food comas. This is Californian cuisine at its finest, in a charming quintessential Calistoga setting.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Terrific!

vip
Dined on August 30, 2015

Terrific! Food was served nice and warm which was amazing!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food2
ambience3
service2

Not what I expected

vip
Dined on August 22, 2015

My duck was terrible, my wife's chicken was decent. Trip Advisor has this place at number one in Calistoga, don't waste your time. There are much better places to dine at in Calistoga

food4
ambience2
service1

Inconsistent food, service

vip
Dined on August 22, 2015

We went here twice. The first night, the food was superb; they had very fresh ingredients, and the Caprese salad was the best I have ever had. The tomatoes in the salad were unreal. The service was good but not noteworthy. The second visit, the next night, was a rude contrast. Service was almost non-existent, and the food was average at best. You might get lucky and have a great meal. Or not.

food5
ambience5
service5

Great food. The smoke salmon salad (par ...

Dined on August 16, 2015

Great food. The smoke salmon salad (particularly the salmon) was incredible.

food4
ambience3
service2

Could of been better

Dined on August 15, 2015

Interesting food, friendly service, poor pacing. We found other places in town that are more deserving of return. Love Calistoga!

food5
ambience4
service5

Worth It

Dined on August 14, 2015

Found on Tripadvisr. The food was wonderful and the service even better. I mentioned it was our 16th wedding anniversary when I made our reservation through Open Table. They did not disappoint. Would definitely return.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Like eating in a secret garden , a dream come true

Dined on August 14, 2015

Overall, this small restaurant gets a 10. It was perfect from start to finish, with great service and a warm , responsive chef. The outdoor seating is in a lovely garden like setting that transports you from the hustle and bustle. I was treated like family and received exceptional, knowledgeable service. Foods are truly crafted from fresh local ingredients. Everyone seems to love working here and eating here. I overheard couples talking about coming back again next week since they are only open a few nights a week. Don't miss this hidden treasure in a magical setting.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.