About California Market at Carmel Highlands

120 Highlands Drive
Carmel, CA 93923
View Larger Map

Dine al fresco overlooking the magnificent Yankee Point, or indoors surrounded by the rustic décor of the California Market restaurant, where something for every taste is served in a casual, bistro setting. Select from a menu that features a delightful breakfast array, Carmel’s freshest seafood and fresh local produce, along with gourmet sandwiches and daily specials. Take in the spectacular views from the large redwood deck or the warmth of our restaurant’s pot-bellied stove and enjoy our friendly and attentive service.

Reservations are highly recommended.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Californian, Seafood, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:


Breakfast: M-F 7:00am-11:00am; Sa-Su 7:00am-11:30am

Lunch: M-F 11:30am-3:30pm; Sa-Su 12:30pm-3:30pm

Cross Street:
Highway 1

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(831) 622-5450

Website:
http://pacificsedge.com/

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking for all of our guests dining in the California Market restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Chad Minton

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Happy hour drinks - California Market at Carmel Highlands, Carmel, CA
Dungeness Crab Cakes - California Market at Carmel Highlands, Carmel, CA
Grilled Quail - California Market at Carmel Highlands, Carmel, CA
Manhattan - California Market at Carmel Highlands, Carmel, CA
Peanut Butter Crunch Bar - California Market at Carmel Highlands, Carmel, CA
Caesar Salad - California Market at Carmel Highlands, Carmel, CA
Arancini - California Market at Carmel Highlands, Carmel, CA
Quail - California Market at Carmel Highlands, Carmel, CA
Island Creek oysters - California Market at Carmel Highlands, Carmel, CA
Cheese Frittata - California Market at Carmel Highlands, Carmel, CA
Corned Beef Hash - California Market at Carmel Highlands, Carmel, CA

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Mon - Fri 11:00AM - 11:45AM 12:00PM - 1:00PM 2:30PM - 3:30PM

Sat 11:00AM - 12:00PM

California Market at Carmel Highlands Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.8

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
California Central Coast
Californian
California Central Coast
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
California Central Coast
6 More
Best Overall
Monterey / Carmel
Best Food
Monterey / Carmel
Best Ambiance
Monterey / Carmel
Best Value
Monterey / Carmel
Scenic View
Monterey / Carmel
Californian
Monterey / Carmel
Best Restaurants in Carmel ›

Great for Lunch (11)
Scenic View (10)
Special Occasion (5)
See All
Great for Brunch (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Romantic (4)
Good for a Date (4)
Worth the Drive (3)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Casual (3)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Waterfront (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Seasonal (1)
Business Meals (1)
Fit for Foodies (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Healthy (1)
Cozy (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Fireplace (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Historic (1)
Authentic (1)
Sort By:
S
184 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

fish taco is good but expensive ($21) fo ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined 5 days ago

fish taco is good but expensive ($21) for two tacos. clams were very chewy for the clam chowder. Chocolate cake was good. Server was very nice.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

We have been the California Market many, ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 25, 2016

We have been the California Market many, many times and the last visit (before this one) was in September 2016. What a surprise to see the restaurant in demolition with a sign that said breakfast and lunch were being served in Pacific's Edge. We learned that the Pacific's Edge added a patio and the Market was being converted into a sales center. We saw many of the same waiters/waitresses and decided to eat on the patio. The view is more spectacular then from the Market being higher up and surrounded by thick glass. Menu was same and we had the grilled chicken sandwich was as good as always. Only difference on the Patio (compared to the Market) was the service was not as efficient or attentive. Hopefully that will change, we love to eat lunch here and enjoy the spectacular view.

Tags: Scenic View, Casual, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

Food was awesome and view was spectacula ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Food was awesome and view was spectacular!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The new deck is spectacular! What a vie ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on November 7, 2016

The new deck is spectacular! What a view! Food was delicious as always!

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfection. Not a word I use lightly. Fi ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Perfection. Not a word I use lightly. First rate. Best ever, in all categories; food, setting and service. It was a special birthday breakfast and at the risk of being overly effusive, we could not have asked for a more wonderful experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The menu was limited and the bottle of w ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 29, 2016

The menu was limited and the bottle of wine I ordered was not available and we were not offered a substitute but had to select a more expensive wine. You can't beat the view though.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

The view was outstanding, the service wa ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 23, 2016

The view was outstanding, the service was friendly, the food was delivered very promptly, and everything was delicious!

I would absolutely recommend this restaurant to friends and family and plan on returning in the near future.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Fireplace, Afternoon Coffee, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great view from the patio or inside the ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 17, 2016

Great view from the patio or inside the restaurant.

Food is average only !

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

They took amazing care of us for a wonde ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 10, 2016

They took amazing care of us for a wonderful 70th Birthday celebration. Would recommend this to all our friends!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Consistently terrific, year after year a ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 2, 2016

Consistently terrific, year after year after year!

Tags: Seasonal, Notable Wine List, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Scenic View, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent restaurant, service, and fabul ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on August 30, 2016

Excellent restaurant, service, and fabulous view. Wonderful waiter, wonderful seat overlooking the view of the sea, food O.K. for me but great clam chowder soup for my husband.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food, service, and ambience were all ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 20, 2016

The food, service, and ambience were all fantastic. I highly recomend this restaurant

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food and service was amazing. View was ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 18, 2016

Food and service was amazing. View was even better!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great views of Pacific Ocean from cliff ...

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on July 19, 2016

Great views of Pacific Ocean from cliff side setting.

Artichoke soup was the best.

Excellent waiter (Tony) made good suggestions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Beautiful view from high above the bay n ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on July 18, 2016

Beautiful view from high above the bay not far from Pt. Lobos and on the way to Big Sur. Food was great and the spot is very quaint. There are not a lot of outdoor tables on the deck so you may want reservations. There is inside dining as well but without the view.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Market is great for breakfast during ...

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on July 12, 2016

The Market is great for breakfast during the week, brunch on the weekend and lunch on the weekend. The views of the coast and Pacific Ocean from the California Market are simply outstanding. The restaurant is located high on the hill, so you get a spectacular view of the coast line. There are heaters on the outdoor patio in case the weather is overcast and there are umbrella's for those sunny days to keep you from frying in the sun. The food selection is good. There are also tables inside if you prefer. This is part of the Hyatt Highlands Inn complex which is located in the Carmel Highlands area (about four miles from Carmel by the Sea. The service is excellent. They also serve Illy coffee (Italian) that is so smooth! The coffee is refreshed constantly by either the bus person or waiter/waitress. The food is served hot to your table. We had the Eggs Benedict, Omelet (you select your own fillings), pancakes, waffel and Frittata during our stay. They were all very tasty and well prepared. If you are staying in the Highlands Inn area, you should try the California Market. You will not be disappointed and their is something for everyone, including families.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

My wife and I drove straight to Californ ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on July 6, 2016

My wife and I drove straight to California Market from the airport for our weekend in Monterrey. We arrived for lunch and they sat us at the best table on the balcony. The views are as good as they get. Food was quite good and the service excellent. A great start to a fun weekend.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

California Market at Carmel Highlands wa ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on July 5, 2016

California Market at Carmel Highlands was as relaxing and beautiful as we remembered it to be. For my 92-year old father this visit was a lovely nostalgic return to a beloved spot and we weren't disappointed! Thanks very much for creating a wonderful ambience, serving delicious fare and wrapping the whole experience up with great service.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Spectacular view and great food. Servic ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 2, 2016

Spectacular view and great food. Service was awesome. No complaints with this place!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were satisfied with the food and serv ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on June 23, 2016

We were satisfied with the food and service but I was disappointed in that I had told you staff that we were celebrating our 55 wedding anniversary-and we had spent our honeymoon at the Highlands Inn 55 years ago. I was not expecting a sing-a-long or even a little cake-but most restaurants would have at the very least put a candle in a cup-cake in front of us. Someone in the office missed my notice.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Great food, great service, incomparable ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 22, 2016

Great food, great service, incomparable view. We love this place.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Favorite "go to" place for visitors

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on May 31, 2016

I love to take friends who've lived in the area and are returning for a brief stay, or out of the area guests. But, whatever the occasion, even a simple lunch with a local friend, we always LOVE the view, the service, and the ability to have a quiet conversation!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Private oasis

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on May 15, 2016

This location always takes our breath away. The food is always excellent along with the service. Love how it is small and feels private.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous view!

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on May 8, 2016

Had mother's day brunch here, ask for an outside table, the view is stunning. Eggs benedict were perfect! Make sure you wander around the hotel, go up to Pacific's Edge restaurant and adjacent lounge. For a more formal meal, choose Pacific's Edge, the Market is more casual.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

What a view!

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 6, 2016

Outstanding view and ambiance. Very good service and fresh food.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

We loved the atmosphere and the food was ...

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on March 21, 2016

We loved the atmosphere and the food was delicious. Service was OK. Never had a refill on my water, a little slow, but overall a great place to eat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3

An Oasis on the CA Coast

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on March 15, 2016

The location overlooking the Pacific from up above cannot be beat. It's peaceful & quiet, the food is superb & the service professional, friendly & prompt. The fish sandwiches are the best! We live in WNC & always come for lunch at this lovely place whenever we visit

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

View of Heaven

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 27, 2016

Did not know what to expect until we were seated on the patio with the expansive view of the Pacific Ocean. It was a beautiful setting made even more enjoyable with good service and good food. The only thing that would have made this experience any better is a whale sighting. Luck was not in the cards that day but Tony, our gracious and knowledgeable waiter educated us on whale species and most favorable times to catch a glimpse of them. We will be back again soon, that is for sure.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always Perfection

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on February 19, 2016

We've dined at CA Market many times & it's always a stellar experience. They have THE best fresh halibut sandwiches; so nice that it's not fried like most other places. The view from the cliffs looking down on the ocean below cannot be beat. Shama (sp?) was our server & exceeded our expectations.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, superb view!

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on February 16, 2016

We had lunch just the other day and found a lovely table with a spectacular view. An extremely charming gentlemen looked after us and the food was fantastic. They had turned the usually ubiquitous quesadilla into a thing of beauty, filling it with delicious ingredients including an avocado of exactly the right consistency. The crispy calamari was the best I've ever had, so light and crunchy. But the piece de resistance was our cocktails; a perfect martini and such an excellent Merlot that I'll remember it for a long time and now will have to up my game at home as all else will fall short. And I cannot end without mentioning the parking attendants who were so thoughtful and nice. A wonderful day! Thank you Highlands Inn. You never disappointed in the past and are carrying on beautifully.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We were looking for a view without a big ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 15, 2016

We were looking for a view without a big price tag and California Market seemed like a good option for a relaxing weekday lunch. The service was friendly and attentive. The lunch faire was adequate but unexciting. The view is exceptional. This is obviously the Highlands attempt to find a lower end market compared to their high end restaurant. It works pretty well. The access is confusing. No signage about the restaurant, just about the high end hotel and restaurant. I also balk at valet parking for a simple lunch. I guess that's just Carmel Highlands.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3

I was with my daughter celebrating her b ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on February 15, 2016

I was with my daughter celebrating her birthday. We have dined here before many times.

We enjoy the view, even saw gray whales migrating south to Mexico. We both had salads,

as it was a very warm day. They were delicious and the service was top notch.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

amazing views from your seat, excellent breakfast

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 14, 2016

amazing views from your seat - excellent breakfast - service is a little slow.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

One of the best views on the west coast. ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 14, 2016

One of the best views on the west coast. Breakfast was fabulous with generous portions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A fantastic find - don't miss it!

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 10, 2016

We traveled a bit further than we intended primarily because of previous view and diamond rating. It was a stunning, warm sunny day in the middle of February and I could not imagine a more exquisite place to break for lunch and enjoy the beauty of the California Coast.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The view is excellent.

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 3, 2016

The view is excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

One of our favorite spots as the view is ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 18, 2016

One of our favorite spots as the view is unparalleled. Great service and the food is always well prepared and thoughtfully presented. Wonderful spot!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food is price but your view is Worth it. ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 28, 2015

Food is price but your view is

Worth it. I had a $16 mushroom sandwich and my fiancée had a $17 club sandwich . I thought my gods was great . He didn't think his meal was worth the price. I was able to swap out my sides for the soup of the day- mushroom bisque : amazing. And, he was able to get 1/2 salad and 1/2 Fries bc he couldn't decided. I was always brought a fresh cup of coffee instead of refill. I would come back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
service4

Food has really gone down. Crab cakes we ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 25, 2015

Food has really gone down. Crab cakes were cold and soggy. The spring roll was mostly fried won ton wrappers - you couldn't taste the lobster or crab. The dipping sauce was cloyingly sweet. Beautiful setting, lovely service, disappointing food. We've been coming here for Christmas lunch for 4 years and prior to this lunch the meals have been stellar. Plus after asking the hostess if she had checked us in since I didn't see her do it- I get an email from open table saying they were sorry we missed our reservation!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

The brunch and the views here are amazin ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 13, 2015

The brunch and the views here are amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.