About California Market at Carmel Highlands

120 Highlands Drive
Carmel, CA 93923
View Larger Map

Dine al fresco overlooking the magnificent Yankee Point, or indoors surrounded by the rustic décor of the California Market restaurant, where something for every taste is served in a casual, bistro setting. Select from a menu that features a delightful breakfast array, Carmel’s freshest seafood and fresh local produce, along with gourmet sandwiches and daily specials. Take in the spectacular views from the large redwood deck or the warmth of our restaurant’s pot-bellied stove and enjoy our friendly and attentive service.

Reservations are highly recommended.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Californian, Seafood, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:


Breakfast: M-F 7:00am-11:00am; Sa-Su 7:00am-11:30am

Lunch: M-F 11:30am-3:30pm; Sa-Su 12:30pm-3:30pm

Cross Street:
Highway 1

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(831) 622-5450

Website:
http://pacificsedge.com/

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking for all of our guests dining in the California Market restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Chad Minton

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Happy hour drinks
Dungeness Crab Cakes
Grilled Quail
Peanut Butter Crunch Bar
Manhattan
Caesar Salad
Arancini
Island Creek oysters
Quail
Cheese Frittata
Corned Beef Hash

California Market at Carmel Highlands Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Brunch
California Central Coast
Great for Lunch
California Central Coast
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
California Central Coast
3 More
Best Ambiance
Monterey / Carmel
Scenic View
Monterey / Carmel
Californian
Monterey / Carmel
Best Restaurants in Carmel ›

scenic view (28)
great for lunch (25)
great for outdoor dining (25)
See All
romantic (17)
special occasion (16)
great for brunch (13)
neighborhood gem (6)
fit for foodies (4)
good for groups (3)
kid-friendly (3)
notable wine list (2)
late-night find (1)
vibrant bar scene (1)
Sort By:
Newest
169 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great views of Pacific Ocean from cliff ...

vip
 (Austin)
·Dined 6 days ago

Great views of Pacific Ocean from cliff side setting.

Artichoke soup was the best.

Excellent waiter (Tony) made good suggestions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Beautiful view from high above the bay n ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined 7 days ago

Beautiful view from high above the bay not far from Pt. Lobos and on the way to Big Sur. Food was great and the spot is very quaint. There are not a lot of outdoor tables on the deck so you may want reservations. There is inside dining as well but without the view.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Market is great for breakfast during ...

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

The Market is great for breakfast during the week, brunch on the weekend and lunch on the weekend. The views of the coast and Pacific Ocean from the California Market are simply outstanding. The restaurant is located high on the hill, so you get a spectacular view of the coast line. There are heaters on the outdoor patio in case the weather is overcast and there are umbrella's for those sunny days to keep you from frying in the sun. The food selection is good. There are also tables inside if you prefer. This is part of the Hyatt Highlands Inn complex which is located in the Carmel Highlands area (about four miles from Carmel by the Sea. The service is excellent. They also serve Illy coffee (Italian) that is so smooth! The coffee is refreshed constantly by either the bus person or waiter/waitress. The food is served hot to your table. We had the Eggs Benedict, Omelet (you select your own fillings), pancakes, waffel and Frittata during our stay. They were all very tasty and well prepared. If you are staying in the Highlands Inn area, you should try the California Market. You will not be disappointed and their is something for everyone, including families.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

My wife and I drove straight to Californ ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

My wife and I drove straight to California Market from the airport for our weekend in Monterrey. We arrived for lunch and they sat us at the best table on the balcony. The views are as good as they get. Food was quite good and the service excellent. A great start to a fun weekend.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

California Market at Carmel Highlands wa ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

California Market at Carmel Highlands was as relaxing and beautiful as we remembered it to be. For my 92-year old father this visit was a lovely nostalgic return to a beloved spot and we weren't disappointed! Thanks very much for creating a wonderful ambience, serving delicious fare and wrapping the whole experience up with great service.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We were satisfied with the food and serv ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

We were satisfied with the food and service but I was disappointed in that I had told you staff that we were celebrating our 55 wedding anniversary-and we had spent our honeymoon at the Highlands Inn 55 years ago. I was not expecting a sing-a-long or even a little cake-but most restaurants would have at the very least put a candle in a cup-cake in front of us. Someone in the office missed my notice.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Great food, great service, incomparable ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

Great food, great service, incomparable view. We love this place.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Favorite "go to" place for visitors

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on May 31, 2016

I love to take friends who've lived in the area and are returning for a brief stay, or out of the area guests. But, whatever the occasion, even a simple lunch with a local friend, we always LOVE the view, the service, and the ability to have a quiet conversation!

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Private oasis

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

This location always takes our breath away. The food is always excellent along with the service. Love how it is small and feels private.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous view!

vip
 (Southwest FL)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Had mother's day brunch here, ask for an outside table, the view is stunning. Eggs benedict were perfect! Make sure you wander around the hotel, go up to Pacific's Edge restaurant and adjacent lounge. For a more formal meal, choose Pacific's Edge, the Market is more casual.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

What a view!

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 6, 2016

Outstanding view and ambiance. Very good service and fresh food.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

We loved the atmosphere and the food was ...

 
 (San Joaquin)
·Dined on March 21, 2016

We loved the atmosphere and the food was delicious. Service was OK. Never had a refill on my water, a little slow, but overall a great place to eat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3

An Oasis on the CA Coast

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on March 15, 2016

The location overlooking the Pacific from up above cannot be beat. It's peaceful & quiet, the food is superb & the service professional, friendly & prompt. The fish sandwiches are the best! We live in WNC & always come for lunch at this lovely place whenever we visit

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

View of Heaven

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on February 27, 2016

Did not know what to expect until we were seated on the patio with the expansive view of the Pacific Ocean. It was a beautiful setting made even more enjoyable with good service and good food. The only thing that would have made this experience any better is a whale sighting. Luck was not in the cards that day but Tony, our gracious and knowledgeable waiter educated us on whale species and most favorable times to catch a glimpse of them. We will be back again soon, that is for sure.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always Perfection

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on February 19, 2016

We've dined at CA Market many times & it's always a stellar experience. They have THE best fresh halibut sandwiches; so nice that it's not fried like most other places. The view from the cliffs looking down on the ocean below cannot be beat. Shama (sp?) was our server & exceeded our expectations.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, superb view!

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on February 16, 2016

We had lunch just the other day and found a lovely table with a spectacular view. An extremely charming gentlemen looked after us and the food was fantastic. They had turned the usually ubiquitous quesadilla into a thing of beauty, filling it with delicious ingredients including an avocado of exactly the right consistency. The crispy calamari was the best I've ever had, so light and crunchy. But the piece de resistance was our cocktails; a perfect martini and such an excellent Merlot that I'll remember it for a long time and now will have to up my game at home as all else will fall short. And I cannot end without mentioning the parking attendants who were so thoughtful and nice. A wonderful day! Thank you Highlands Inn. You never disappointed in the past and are carrying on beautifully.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We were looking for a view without a big ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

We were looking for a view without a big price tag and California Market seemed like a good option for a relaxing weekday lunch. The service was friendly and attentive. The lunch faire was adequate but unexciting. The view is exceptional. This is obviously the Highlands attempt to find a lower end market compared to their high end restaurant. It works pretty well. The access is confusing. No signage about the restaurant, just about the high end hotel and restaurant. I also balk at valet parking for a simple lunch. I guess that's just Carmel Highlands.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3

I was with my daughter celebrating her b ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

I was with my daughter celebrating her birthday. We have dined here before many times.

We enjoy the view, even saw gray whales migrating south to Mexico. We both had salads,

as it was a very warm day. They were delicious and the service was top notch.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

amazing views from your seat, excellent breakfast

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

amazing views from your seat - excellent breakfast - service is a little slow.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

One of the best views on the west coast. ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

One of the best views on the west coast. Breakfast was fabulous with generous portions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A fantastic find - don't miss it!

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on February 10, 2016

We traveled a bit further than we intended primarily because of previous view and diamond rating. It was a stunning, warm sunny day in the middle of February and I could not imagine a more exquisite place to break for lunch and enjoy the beauty of the California Coast.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The view is excellent.

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on February 3, 2016

The view is excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

One of our favorite spots as the view is ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on January 18, 2016

One of our favorite spots as the view is unparalleled. Great service and the food is always well prepared and thoughtfully presented. Wonderful spot!

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food is price but your view is Worth it. ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on December 28, 2015

Food is price but your view is

Worth it. I had a $16 mushroom sandwich and my fiancée had a $17 club sandwich . I thought my gods was great . He didn't think his meal was worth the price. I was able to swap out my sides for the soup of the day- mushroom bisque : amazing. And, he was able to get 1/2 salad and 1/2 Fries bc he couldn't decided. I was always brought a fresh cup of coffee instead of refill. I would come back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
service4

Food has really gone down. Crab cakes we ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on December 25, 2015

Food has really gone down. Crab cakes were cold and soggy. The spring roll was mostly fried won ton wrappers - you couldn't taste the lobster or crab. The dipping sauce was cloyingly sweet. Beautiful setting, lovely service, disappointing food. We've been coming here for Christmas lunch for 4 years and prior to this lunch the meals have been stellar. Plus after asking the hostess if she had checked us in since I didn't see her do it- I get an email from open table saying they were sorry we missed our reservation!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

The brunch and the views here are amazin ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on December 13, 2015

The brunch and the views here are amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

What a View

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on November 23, 2015

One of my favorite lunch spots in the Carmel-Carmel Highlands area. Outdoor dining is always great and the view is one of a kind. Food and Drink are always fresh and very tasty. Wait staff is about a 3 on scale of 10, mostly attitude is poor.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Breathtaking Breakfast at Highlands Inn

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on November 14, 2015

The food was great and the views were superb. The service was a tad lacking. Servers were prompt taking an opening beverage order (coffee) but had to request someone take our full order. We had the chicken hash which we both liked. We would definitely eat there again.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3

Love this Place!

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on October 27, 2015

Best views of the ocean while having great food here. The service is also top notch; while the restaurant is quiet and peaceful. It doesn't get any better than this!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Perfect Setting

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on October 24, 2015

A beautiful spot with unbeatable views. Our salads were nice, but a bit skimpy on toppings. Bread was very good. Great service.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Not a bad seat in the house.

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on September 28, 2015

This restaurant is easy to miss if you're in Monterey but it's worth the 15 drive. The eggs benedict with crab was amazing. The views of the rocks and the ocean waves crashing was wonderful. My husband never likes to linger after eating but this time asked if we could just sit after breakfast. I will visit this restaurant on every visit.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

High views and super cioppino.

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 31, 2015

View to savor. Overall ambience super. Cioppino among the best.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3

Scenic lunch

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on August 31, 2015

A perfect place for lunch, especially on wonderful sunny day when my friends and I can sit, enjoy the view and talk while we eat. I recommend the ahi salad and the fish tacos. Also the portabella mushroom sandwich is delicious. Also recommend the eggs benedict for brunch.

Biggest recommendation is my friends come from San Francisco and San Jose to have lunch there every couple months.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Worth the sunburn

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 29, 2015

Had a great experience here. We had reservations (highly recommended) and the hostess sat us with a fantastic view of the coast. She did mention that it was hot on that particular day, but the view was worth it -- as was the sunburn I got after. I'd do it again. Food was great, service was pretty good, but it's all about the view here.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Best benedict ever

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 22, 2015

My friend and I had brunch on the deck here. I had the best breakfast I'd ever had - the crab eggs benedict. The view of the ocean is spectacular. Then, yo top it off, there were dozens of whales swimming just offshore that we watched as we ate. Pure magic!

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and location but service was the worst.

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on July 18, 2015

We were there for ur anniversary. It was our first time to dine in the restaurant so we were very excited and had very high expections. We arrived early for our reservation so they were in transition between breakfast and lunch so we understood that we couldn't order any lunch yet.we were seated by the hostess though.we thought that somebody would come up to us to ask for our drink order while we were waiting but NO. Nobody came up to us at all. We felt like that they purposely ignored us because we were there very early for lunch. We were there waiting for almost 20 mins actually 18 mins to be exact. I felt so bad because I made the reservation and it wasn't turning up to be a good experience for my husband. We were almost ready to walk out. The restaurant wasn't really busy during that time they just chose to ignore us. We ended up staying and ordered food.the server didn't even offer my daughter a kids menu.when we were done it took us 10 mins to find our server to get our bill we had to ask a busboy to get our server for us. We decided that we loved the food but will never go back there again it was just BAD.

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1

CASUAL LADIES LUNCH

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on July 6, 2015

First, though there's not a separate rating for this ---- the valet parking is superb; these valets are the best around the Peninsula. I've a stick-shift, and the young man parking cars was not fully knowledgeable about driving a stick, so he got someone else. A joy because I always ask and don't always receive an honest answer. Also, he was polite and friendly - something else not always found when valet parking.

The day was as perfect as it gets on the coast - clear, warm but comfortable and a slight breeze. Service was quite good and attentive. Food servings are enormous; fine if you're really, really hungry but not so much is you want a normal size lunch. I had the seared Ahi salad and again, though tasty it was huge and I think that the slices should not be so large so that more pieces could be spread over the entire salad attractively, not in 4 big pieces. Wine list for lunch is small but very select. All-in-all a good lunch!

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

Beautiful Views....but you can't eat the view!

vip
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on July 5, 2015

The location for this restaurant is simply divine, high above Highway 1, in the Carmel Highlands Inn just south of Carmel . With a small outdoor patio and a lovely rustic vibe, this could be one of those " must experience for yourself dining experiences" with panoramic views of the Pacific Ocean. Yet the menu is uninspired, below average, with exorbitant prices for the quality. I read reviews that said the fish tacos were delicious so decided to try those for myself. They were pretty awful and accompanied with a green salad that consisted of lots of prepackaged greens with dressing---nothing else on the salad. The halibut sandwich was edible, but very average, and the french fries were pre-frozen type. Hot rolls were brought to the table and served to each guest individually---a nice touch I thought. I wondered why the table adjacent to ours did not eat theirs until I tasted mine---completely tasteless---how did they do that? We brought our own wine and there was a $25 corkage fee, which was acceptable of course. Our specialty coffees were good and our waiter was very pleasant. Would I go again? Never, unless the food quality and presentation improved tremendously.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3

Old Favorite of Locals!

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on July 4, 2015

I can always count on the food, service and view! I've taken lots of friends, but 4th of July 2013 was when my husband and I first met. I chose the location, and it continues to be a favorite. However, we always make a reservation for July 4th to celebrate that first lunch together!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful lunch

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on June 26, 2015

Very good food and attentive staff. The outside seating is spectacular. On our visit It was too windy to stay outside and the staff didn't hesitate to relocate us to another wonderful table inside. We were very happy and will return. The menus posted on OpenTable as of our visit are a little out of date, with reasonable pricing increases given the location and quality of the experience.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.