About California Market at Carmel Highlands

120 Highlands Drive
Carmel, CA 93923
View Larger Map

Dine al fresco overlooking the magnificent Yankee Point, or indoors surrounded by the rustic décor of the California Market restaurant, where something for every taste is served in a casual, bistro setting. Select from a menu that features a delightful breakfast array, Carmel’s freshest seafood and fresh local produce, along with gourmet sandwiches and daily specials. Take in the spectacular views from the large redwood deck or the warmth of our restaurant’s pot-bellied stove and enjoy our friendly and attentive service.

Reservations are highly recommended.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Californian, Seafood, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:


Breakfast: M-F 7:00am-11:00am; Sa-Su 7:00am-11:30am

Lunch: M-F 11:30am-3:30pm; Sa-Su 12:30pm-3:30pm

Cross Street:
Highway 1

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(831) 622-5450

Website:
http://pacificsedge.com/

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking for all of our guests dining in the California Market restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Chad Minton

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Happy hour drinks
Dungeness Crab Cakes
Grilled Quail
Peanut Butter Crunch Bar
Manhattan
Caesar Salad
Arancini
Island Creek oysters
Quail
Cheese Frittata
Corned Beef Hash

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Mon - Fri 11:00AM - 11:45AM 12:00PM - 1:00PM 2:30PM - 3:30PM

Sat 11:00AM - 12:00PM

California Market at Carmel Highlands Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Lunch
California Central Coast
Outdoor Dining
California Central Coast
Scenic View
California Central Coast
6 More
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
California Central Coast
Best Ambiance
Monterey / Carmel
Best Value
Monterey / Carmel
Great for Lunch
Monterey / Carmel
Scenic View
Monterey / Carmel
Californian
Monterey / Carmel
Best Restaurants in Carmel ›

scenic view (31)
great for lunch (26)
great for outdoor dining (25)
See All
romantic (17)
special occasion (15)
great for brunch (13)
neighborhood gem (7)
fit for foodies (6)
good for groups (3)
kid-friendly (3)
notable wine list (2)
late-night find (1)
vibrant bar scene (1)
Sort By:
Newest
164 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

We were satisfied with the food and serv ...

Dined on June 23, 2016

We were satisfied with the food and service but I was disappointed in that I had told you staff that we were celebrating our 55 wedding anniversary-and we had spent our honeymoon at the Highlands Inn 55 years ago. I was not expecting a sing-a-long or even a little cake-but most restaurants would have at the very least put a candle in a cup-cake in front of us. Someone in the office missed my notice.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food, great service, incomparable ...

Dined on June 22, 2016

Great food, great service, incomparable view. We love this place.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Favorite "go to" place for visitors

Dined on May 31, 2016

I love to take friends who've lived in the area and are returning for a brief stay, or out of the area guests. But, whatever the occasion, even a simple lunch with a local friend, we always LOVE the view, the service, and the ability to have a quiet conversation!

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Private oasis

Dined on May 15, 2016

This location always takes our breath away. The food is always excellent along with the service. Love how it is small and feels private.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Fabulous view!

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

Had mother's day brunch here, ask for an outside table, the view is stunning. Eggs benedict were perfect! Make sure you wander around the hotel, go up to Pacific's Edge restaurant and adjacent lounge. For a more formal meal, choose Pacific's Edge, the Market is more casual.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

What a view!

Dined on April 6, 2016

Outstanding view and ambiance. Very good service and fresh food.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service3

We loved the atmosphere and the food was ...

Dined on March 21, 2016

We loved the atmosphere and the food was delicious. Service was OK. Never had a refill on my water, a little slow, but overall a great place to eat.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

An Oasis on the CA Coast

Dined on March 15, 2016

The location overlooking the Pacific from up above cannot be beat. It's peaceful & quiet, the food is superb & the service professional, friendly & prompt. The fish sandwiches are the best! We live in WNC & always come for lunch at this lovely place whenever we visit

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

View of Heaven

Dined on February 27, 2016

Did not know what to expect until we were seated on the patio with the expansive view of the Pacific Ocean. It was a beautiful setting made even more enjoyable with good service and good food. The only thing that would have made this experience any better is a whale sighting. Luck was not in the cards that day but Tony, our gracious and knowledgeable waiter educated us on whale species and most favorable times to catch a glimpse of them. We will be back again soon, that is for sure.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always Perfection

Dined on February 19, 2016

We've dined at CA Market many times & it's always a stellar experience. They have THE best fresh halibut sandwiches; so nice that it's not fried like most other places. The view from the cliffs looking down on the ocean below cannot be beat. Shama (sp?) was our server & exceeded our expectations.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food, superb view!

Dined on February 16, 2016

We had lunch just the other day and found a lovely table with a spectacular view. An extremely charming gentlemen looked after us and the food was fantastic. They had turned the usually ubiquitous quesadilla into a thing of beauty, filling it with delicious ingredients including an avocado of exactly the right consistency. The crispy calamari was the best I've ever had, so light and crunchy. But the piece de resistance was our cocktails; a perfect martini and such an excellent Merlot that I'll remember it for a long time and now will have to up my game at home as all else will fall short. And I cannot end without mentioning the parking attendants who were so thoughtful and nice. A wonderful day! Thank you Highlands Inn. You never disappointed in the past and are carrying on beautifully.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food3
ambience5
service3

We were looking for a view without a big ...

Dined on February 15, 2016

We were looking for a view without a big price tag and California Market seemed like a good option for a relaxing weekday lunch. The service was friendly and attentive. The lunch faire was adequate but unexciting. The view is exceptional. This is obviously the Highlands attempt to find a lower end market compared to their high end restaurant. It works pretty well. The access is confusing. No signage about the restaurant, just about the high end hotel and restaurant. I also balk at valet parking for a simple lunch. I guess that's just Carmel Highlands.

food5
ambience5
service5
value3

I was with my daughter celebrating her b ...

Dined on February 15, 2016

I was with my daughter celebrating her birthday. We have dined here before many times. We enjoy the view, even saw gray whales migrating south to Mexico. We both had salads, as it was a very warm day. They were delicious and the service was top notch.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

amazing views from your seat, excellent breakfast

Dined on February 14, 2016

amazing views from your seat - excellent breakfast - service is a little slow.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

One of the best views on the west coast. ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

One of the best views on the west coast. Breakfast was fabulous with generous portions.

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

A fantastic find - don't miss it!

Dined on February 10, 2016

We traveled a bit further than we intended primarily because of previous view and diamond rating. It was a stunning, warm sunny day in the middle of February and I could not imagine a more exquisite place to break for lunch and enjoy the beauty of the California Coast.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience4
service3

The view is excellent.

vip
Dined on February 3, 2016

The view is excellent.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of our favorite spots as the view is ...

Dined on January 18, 2016

One of our favorite spots as the view is unparalleled. Great service and the food is always well prepared and thoughtfully presented. Wonderful spot!

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic, great for lunch, scenic view
food4
ambience
service4

Food is price but your view is Worth it. ...

vip
Dined on December 28, 2015

Food is price but your view is Worth it. I had a $16 mushroom sandwich and my fiancée had a $17 club sandwich . I thought my gods was great . He didn't think his meal was worth the price. I was able to swap out my sides for the soup of the day- mushroom bisque : amazing. And, he was able to get 1/2 salad and 1/2 Fries bc he couldn't decided. I was always brought a fresh cup of coffee instead of refill. I would come back!

food3
ambience5
service4

Food has really gone down. Crab cakes we ...

vip
Dined on December 25, 2015

Food has really gone down. Crab cakes were cold and soggy. The spring roll was mostly fried won ton wrappers - you couldn't taste the lobster or crab. The dipping sauce was cloyingly sweet. Beautiful setting, lovely service, disappointing food. We've been coming here for Christmas lunch for 4 years and prior to this lunch the meals have been stellar. Plus after asking the hostess if she had checked us in since I didn't see her do it- I get an email from open table saying they were sorry we missed our reservation!

food5
ambience5
service5

The brunch and the views here are amazin ...

Dined on December 13, 2015

The brunch and the views here are amazing!

food4
ambience4
service3

What a View

vip
Dined on November 23, 2015

One of my favorite lunch spots in the Carmel-Carmel Highlands area. Outdoor dining is always great and the view is one of a kind. Food and Drink are always fresh and very tasty. Wait staff is about a 3 on scale of 10, mostly attitude is poor.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service3

Breathtaking Breakfast at Highlands Inn

Dined on November 14, 2015

The food was great and the views were superb. The service was a tad lacking. Servers were prompt taking an opening beverage order (coffee) but had to request someone take our full order. We had the chicken hash which we both liked. We would definitely eat there again.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Love this Place!

Dined on October 27, 2015

Best views of the ocean while having great food here. The service is also top notch; while the restaurant is quiet and peaceful. It doesn't get any better than this!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service5

Perfect Setting

Dined on October 24, 2015

A beautiful spot with unbeatable views. Our salads were nice, but a bit skimpy on toppings. Bread was very good. Great service.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Not a bad seat in the house.

Dined on September 28, 2015

This restaurant is easy to miss if you're in Monterey but it's worth the 15 drive. The eggs benedict with crab was amazing. The views of the rocks and the ocean waves crashing was wonderful. My husband never likes to linger after eating but this time asked if we could just sit after breakfast. I will visit this restaurant on every visit.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service3

High views and super cioppino.

Dined on August 31, 2015

View to savor. Overall ambience super. Cioppino among the best.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
food4
ambience5
service5

Scenic lunch

Dined on August 31, 2015

A perfect place for lunch, especially on wonderful sunny day when my friends and I can sit, enjoy the view and talk while we eat. I recommend the ahi salad and the fish tacos. Also the portabella mushroom sandwich is delicious. Also recommend the eggs benedict for brunch. Biggest recommendation is my friends come from San Francisco and San Jose to have lunch there every couple months.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service4

Worth the sunburn

Dined on August 29, 2015

Had a great experience here. We had reservations (highly recommended) and the hostess sat us with a fantastic view of the coast. She did mention that it was hot on that particular day, but the view was worth it -- as was the sunburn I got after. I'd do it again. Food was great, service was pretty good, but it's all about the view here.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Best benedict ever

Dined on August 22, 2015

My friend and I had brunch on the deck here. I had the best breakfast I'd ever had - the crab eggs benedict. The view of the ocean is spectacular. Then, yo top it off, there were dozens of whales swimming just offshore that we watched as we ate. Pure magic!

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food4
ambience4
service1

Great food and location but service was the worst.

Dined on July 18, 2015

We were there for ur anniversary. It was our first time to dine in the restaurant so we were very excited and had very high expections. We arrived early for our reservation so they were in transition between breakfast and lunch so we understood that we couldn't order any lunch yet.we were seated by the hostess though.we thought that somebody would come up to us to ask for our drink order while we were waiting but NO. Nobody came up to us at all. We felt like that they purposely ignored us because we were there very early for lunch. We were there waiting for almost 20 mins actually 18 mins to be exact. I felt so bad because I made the reservation and it wasn't turning up to be a good experience for my husband. We were almost ready to walk out. The restaurant wasn't really busy during that time they just chose to ignore us. We ended up staying and ordered food.the server didn't even offer my daughter a kids menu.when we were done it took us 10 mins to find our server to get our bill we had to ask a busboy to get our server for us. We decided that we loved the food but will never go back there again it was just BAD.

Tags: scenic view
food3
ambience5
service4

CASUAL LADIES LUNCH

Dined on July 6, 2015

First, though there's not a separate rating for this ---- the valet parking is superb; these valets are the best around the Peninsula. I've a stick-shift, and the young man parking cars was not fully knowledgeable about driving a stick, so he got someone else. A joy because I always ask and don't always receive an honest answer. Also, he was polite and friendly - something else not always found when valet parking. The day was as perfect as it gets on the coast - clear, warm but comfortable and a slight breeze. Service was quite good and attentive. Food servings are enormous; fine if you're really, really hungry but not so much is you want a normal size lunch. I had the seared Ahi salad and again, though tasty it was huge and I think that the slices should not be so large so that more pieces could be spread over the entire salad attractively, not in 4 big pieces. Wine list for lunch is small but very select. All-in-all a good lunch!

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view
food1
ambience4
service3

Beautiful Views....but you can't eat the view!

vip
Dined on July 5, 2015

The location for this restaurant is simply divine, high above Highway 1, in the Carmel Highlands Inn just south of Carmel . With a small outdoor patio and a lovely rustic vibe, this could be one of those " must experience for yourself dining experiences" with panoramic views of the Pacific Ocean. Yet the menu is uninspired, below average, with exorbitant prices for the quality. I read reviews that said the fish tacos were delicious so decided to try those for myself. They were pretty awful and accompanied with a green salad that consisted of lots of prepackaged greens with dressing---nothing else on the salad. The halibut sandwich was edible, but very average, and the french fries were pre-frozen type. Hot rolls were brought to the table and served to each guest individually---a nice touch I thought. I wondered why the table adjacent to ours did not eat theirs until I tasted mine---completely tasteless---how did they do that? We brought our own wine and there was a $25 corkage fee, which was acceptable of course. Our specialty coffees were good and our waiter was very pleasant. Would I go again? Never, unless the food quality and presentation improved tremendously.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Old Favorite of Locals!

Dined on July 4, 2015

I can always count on the food, service and view! I've taken lots of friends, but 4th of July 2013 was when my husband and I first met. I chose the location, and it continues to be a favorite. However, we always make a reservation for July 4th to celebrate that first lunch together!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience5
service4

Wonderful lunch

Dined on June 26, 2015

Very good food and attentive staff. The outside seating is spectacular. On our visit It was too windy to stay outside and the staff didn't hesitate to relocate us to another wonderful table inside. We were very happy and will return. The menus posted on OpenTable as of our visit are a little out of date, with reasonable pricing increases given the location and quality of the experience.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service4

Dinner42

vip
Dined on June 25, 2015

Sharma was our server again. She has been there over 20 years. She always remembers us. This is a great place for fabulous views. We always enjoy this spot.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding!!!! This is the place to enj ...

Dined on June 21, 2015

Outstanding!!!! This is the place to enjoy a fabulous menu great service, great food and staff. The views are wonderful as well as the staff. We have been going to this restaurant for years and it continuously exceeds out expectations.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
food3
ambience5
service5

Food was average, but, oh that VIEW

vip
Dined on June 20, 2015

Food was great to average. (We were a party of 4) Pricing was not like the restaurant's own website menu stated. But the service and the view were spectacular, so all agreed it was the perfect choice for a birthday lunch.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

What a View!

Dined on June 12, 2015

The food was surpassed only by the unbelievably breathtaking view. The service was excellent. We both had the burger, which was fantastic.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Great, cozy breakfast/lunch restaurant.

vip
Dined on June 9, 2015

Enjoyable. Good food and service. Loved the granola and strawberries; had them for breakfast two days in a row. Fantastic view from patio

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, great for lunch, scenic view

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.