About Cagneys

128 Queen St. S.
Mississauga, ON L5M 1K8
View Larger Map

Welcome to Cagneys Restaurant located in the heart of Streetsville since 1974! Cagneys Restaurant is a Fine Dining Steak & Seafood restaurant featuring an innovative menu and engaging service in a high energy atmosphere. Whatever your need is we have it. Whether it be an intimate dining experience, special occasion, corporate event or just a night out! We have it covered. Our main focus is fantastic selection of wines and delicious food.

Cagneys is dedicated to the art of presenting exceptional cuisine in our own stylish and unique setting. For us Cagneys is more than a restaurant, it is a place to be welcomed, remembered and indulged, with a standard for service and food that will leave you feeling exceptional and satisfied every time. We are open Monday to Sunday for lunch and dinner. So come down, we would love for you to join us!

Cheers and as always thank you for choosing Cagneys.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:



Lunch & Dinner:

Monday - Thursday: 11:00am - 12:00am

Friday & Saturday: 11:00am - 1:00am

Sunday: 11:00am - 10:00pm

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(905) 826-2311

Website:
http://www.cagneys.ca/

Entertainment:


Parking Details:
Complimentary PARKING!
Large public lot to park In front of restaurant.

Executive Chef:
VICTOR ARTURO

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
OYSTER MONDAYS FEATURING 1/2 PRICE OYSTERS

WINE DOWN TUESDAYS 1/2 price on selected bottles of wine


LADIES NIGHT WEDNESDAYS FEATURING DRINK & FOOD SPECIALS FROT THE LADIES ALL NIGHT!

Restaurant Photos

Private Dining

Cagney’s provides superb food and service in an upscale yet cozy atmosphere in Streetsville, Mississauga. Let us help you plan your function so that you can relax and enjoy your event, certain that you are in good hands.

Cagneys Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.2

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Peel Region
Best Food
Peel Region
Best Ambiance
Peel Region
1 More
Romantic
Peel Region
Best Restaurants in Mississauga ›

special occasion (14)
romantic (9)
good for groups (8)
See All
neighborhood gem (7)
fit for foodies (4)
notable wine list (4)
vibrant bar scene (4)
hot spot (3)
great for lunch (2)
great for brunch (2)
late-night find (1)
Sort By:
Newest
45 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

fantastic meal warm olive app lobster d ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

fantastic meal warm olive app lobster dinner peppercorn chicken dinner

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Enjoyed our dinner!

vip
Dined on May 13, 2016

We both had the beet salad with grilled chicken. My friend found the beets a bit too firm and too light on the dressing, but I actually prefer it this way--depends on your preference! Service by Jamie was excellent--prompt and friendly.

food4
ambience4
service2

Service was incredibly slow. Clearing of ...

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

Service was incredibly slow. Clearing of table took multiple trip that were 5 minutes apart. Seemed disorganized. Food was good.

food5
ambience5
service5

Me & my date really liked the decor. The ...

Dined on April 28, 2016

Me & my date really liked the decor. The food was delicious.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Service!

Dined on April 24, 2016

The hostess and our server made us feel welcomed. Good food too. They did a great job with the interior.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were one of 7 birthday parties so it was a fun.

Dined on March 26, 2016

The place was packed with designer birthday cakes, it was a great fun time.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food2
ambience1
service1

After being seated it took over 30 minut ...

Dined on March 16, 2016

After being seated it took over 30 minutes for the served to even acknowledge we were there. We were starving.

food5
ambience5
service5

Only issue was we requested a table for ...

vip
Dined on February 28, 2016

Only issue was we requested a table for 5 which was not for six people. we moved to the bar area which was far more comfortable and from there the evening was excellent start to finish. Service, drinks, appetizers, cuts of meat, quality of fish, warm bread, delightful butter and a special birthday cheese cake. We highly recommended and will go back eventhough no where near home.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Exceeded expectations

Dined on February 24, 2016

This was a real surprise. We had never been to this restaurant before and decided to try it for a birthday celebration. There were 4 of us dining. From the time we arrived until we paid our bill and left everything was excellent......the food, the ambience, the service (excellent waiter) and acknowledgement and appreciation upon our departure from the manager. Definitely will go back and would highly recommend.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

RESTAURANT DID NOT RECEIVE OPEN TABLE BOOKING

Dined on February 22, 2016

This was our third visit - we took some friends along. I had notified about a friend's dietary restrictions on the Open Table online reservation. However, when we arrived, we were told that they did not receive any notification from Open Table about our reservation. Luckily, it was not a busy night and we did not have to wait. But the server did mention that if it were busy, we would not have got a table since they did not receive the notification. He also mentioned that ours was the second case that day where they had not received the notifcation. Our friend (with restricted diet) ended up eating Cesare Salad with Chicken. I had the Chicken Supreme (the mashed potato served was more than the entree itself and wasn't that good). Another friend had Bacon-wrapped Filet Mignion( was a bit dry). Only my hubby was happy with his Rack of Lamb. Desserts were OK. For a Sunday evening, it was very quiet - only 4-5 tables were occupied, which was surprising. Not sure if the clientelle have dropped because of the "not-so-positive" reviews on Open Table. The restaurant does need to spruce up its act, if it wants to maintain its glory - There are two other family-run restaurants (Si Andi amo and Mondello) right across the street, which serve great food (although they are small in size and are a bit cramped). So Cagney's are you listening???

Tags: special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience4
service2
value1

Over priced

Dined on January 24, 2016

Not what it used to be. The keg is a far better value.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Enjoyable meal.

vip
Dined on January 24, 2016

Halibut was delicious, but slightly overcooked. My husband enjoyed his Alaskan King crab. Service was friendly and efficient.

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Special Night

Dined on January 22, 2016

It was my boyfriends 50th birthday and I wanted somewhere special with great food. Cagneys has both plus the added bonus of fantastic service

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

My 35 year affair with Cagney's

Dined on January 14, 2016

I have been going to Cagneys since I was 15 years old. Moving from Montreal back in the late 70's there was rarely a restaurant you truly enjoyed. The culinary expertise was not quite up to the standards I was use to at that time. I use to drive from Burlington to Mississauga on a regular basis and was never once disappointed in the food. I recently went back to celebrate my daughters engagement. I had not been there for a couple of years and was blown away by the new renovations. Honestly, the place is gorgeous. Kudo's to the decorator. The ambiance was stellar and the food of course was delicious. I can't wait to go back...

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic

vip
Dined on January 8, 2016

Food was excellent, wines were unique, service unparalleled, will go back again.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Group outting

Dined on December 30, 2015

First impression can be deceiving of the location in the plaza. But the restaurant looks amazing and very modern. Foods are well prepared and very good from this place. Will come back again for sure.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A hidden gem in Streetsville

Dined on December 29, 2015

The owner is very visible and engages with diners ensuring satisfaction with food, wine and service. There is an extensive wine list with varying price points so something for everyone. Food and service are very good. Be sure to try Cagney's Ceasar salad. The best!

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

we went for lunch and the place was near ...

Dined on December 23, 2015

we went for lunch and the place was nearly empty. we should have taken that as an omen. the menu is very limited and the food is ok, but nothing special. the service was hit and miss. and for a while we were the only the place so there is no excuse for lack of service. overall, there are better places, which is too bad, as i used to go to cagneys on a regular basis and loved it. but not anymore.

food5
ambience5
service5

Went to Cagney's on Nov 3, 2015 to celeb ...

Dined on November 3, 2015

Went to Cagney's on Nov 3, 2015 to celebrate my Dad's 70th Birthday. Restaurant was not busy, understandable as it was a Tuesday. We were supposed to go downtown but after reading the reviews,we opted to stay local and try Cagney's for the first time. WOW! The ambience is gorgeous, staff were superb and went above and beyond to make this day memorable. From appetizers to dessert, the food was fantastic and well presented. I cannot say one bad thing about Cagney's. We have been looking for a new local restaurant and I think this is it!

food5
ambience4
service4

A great Venue; that needs more Staff !

vip
Dined on October 6, 2015

This Venue has so much potential. Chic, on so many levels. Being understaffed is very evident; from the minute you walk in. Not being able to order anything off the Main Menu..........ANNOYING ! It would be a lot easier if the Waitreess just tells you what is avaulable?

Tags: great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service3

Not so good

Dined on October 3, 2015

I included in my request that a guest will be celebrating her birthday but nobody seemed to know about it. When we informed them they brought in a cheese cake with a candle but the staff runaway as fast as he can. Also the drinks are not drinkable too bitter too much alcohol. Our table was in the very corner and tight. We even hesitate to go to washrooms because of too limited space

food3
ambience5
service4

Great atmosphere!!

Dined on October 2, 2015

This is a downtown chic restaurant in the heart of Streetsville. Very beautifully decorated and attentive staff. The food was great. The only thing that tilted me as a customer was the 30 dollar appetizer cheese and meat plate. The amount of cheese and meat that was on the board was about half of what I would normally get at any other restaurant. Other than that, it's an excellent spot!!

Tags: special occasion
food3
ambience4
service4

Nice place for meeting up with friends

Dined on August 11, 2015

We went for a girlfriends lunch. We had salads that were very good nice & fresh. The decor is very modern, a surprise in an older plaza. A newly remodled restaurant. Lots of free parking. Service was good

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, great for lunch
food3
ambience1
service3

Food was good, fire alarm - not so good

Dined on May 1, 2015

The food was enjoyed by all, but they were testing the fire alarm, it started going off as soon as we sat down for lunch, it went off at least every 2 minutes and didn't stop until just after we paid the bill. Not sure if we'll be back there for a corporate lunch as the waiter didn't even seem too concerned about it, no apology from management, not even the offer of a free dessert of cappuccino for the disturbed lunch.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food4
ambience3
service4

Boutique Style Restaurant

vip
Dined on April 27, 2015

A nice restaurant at Streetville thatt will surprise you when you walk right in from the 'small' entrance but finding the place is bigger than it look from outside. Service and food are good but choices are average- at least they don't have my favourite prime rib from mon to thur. The appetiser Flatbread ... is better than expected and very good as a sharing plate from 4 to 6. Give it a try but noise level might changed on different day. For a real nice quiet dinner, go mon to wed may be.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience2
service2

Lost its charm - new renovations have ch ...

Dined on April 14, 2015

Lost its charm - new renovations have cheapened the look and made it cookie cutter. Feels like an expensive moxies with waiters that could care less about your experience once they have determined you will not be having another drink. Caesar salad is still unique and special to Cagneys

food4
ambience3
service3

Limited choices but food quality was goo ...

Dined on March 29, 2015

Limited choices but food quality was good.

food3
ambience3
service4

Dissapointing Fixed Menu

Dined on February 15, 2015

We didn't know the Valentines menu was fixed until we sat down. Not very exciting choices although the food was good. Steak was done perfect. Biggest gripe was the price. With a $50 bottle of wine our meal for two was $245 (tip is added by restaurant). I've often spent $100 a person but this was no way even close to being worth that price. The dishes were very mediocre with no special effort to create anything original. Doesn't help that we were just in the US where a great restaurant meal with drinks, tip and all rarely exceeded $100 total for two.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food2
ambience4
service2

Second Time was not a charm....

Dined on February 8, 2015

This was our second visit. We had enjoyed everything on our first visit. However, this time, we were totally disappointed with food\service. The attendant brought the butter but no bread for almost 25 minutes-she came by three times saying it is coming and then finally said that there was too much demand for bread that day and they had run out !!! What an excuse. Then she brought the soup that I had ordered without any bread. To pacify us they gave us some Proseco (on the house). Within next 5 mins she brought hot bread. Even before I had finished the soup, the food was brought to the table - and guess what, the chicken that I had ordered was cold. I had no patience by the then to resend the food back for warming. My husband had ordered the Rack of Lamb which was OK - not as good as on our last visit. By then, we both had lost our appetities and mood and swore we would never return to this place again. For the price you pay, you expect better food and service!!! We are wondering what happened the second time around !!!! Hope it was just a one off!!!!Chef's day off and a not so good attendant!!!

food4
ambience4
service4

Nice meal.

vip
Dined on December 20, 2014

There was a bit of confusion with the service. Our waiter thought we were waiting for another couple as we we were seated in a booth for four. Once this was cleared up, the service was prompt and efficient. My husband and I both enjoyed the sea bass which was perfectly prepared.

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service4

Amazing Upgrade

vip
Dined on December 9, 2014

I had not been to Cagney's since the restaurant was renovated and upgraded. What an amazing change. I started with the short rib and goat cheese stuffed Arancini which my wife and I shared - very rich and delicious. We I shared with my son an order of Sea Bass, and an order of Rack of Lamb - both cooked to perfection. Among the 5 of us at diner, everyone had a great experience. Highly recommended!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience5
service2

Good but over priced

vip
Dined on December 7, 2014

I've been going to Cagneys since before I was a teen. After the reopening I've been four times with family or friends. I've had two good experiences and two bad. I went with co workers for our Christmas get together. Even the atmosphere is great and decor is beautiful, for the food we got, Cagneys is WAY OVERPRICED. My meal cost $82 for a cocktail, pop, salad and a steak. My steak came to me much under cooked then I asked and then it took a while for me to get my meal after the waiter took my steak back to be cooked to how I asked. My friend who had the same meal as me, wasn't finished eating and while she turned to talk to someone at our table, the waiter took her half eaten meal away. She kept calling after him saying she wasn't done eating but the waiter kept on walking away. When he returned my friend told him what happened and the waiter said sorry and kept insisting he bring another steak. She kept saying at this point she didn't want another one, it was too late now but he did't listen and brought her a whole other meal. When the cheques came, the waiter let us pay our bills, didn't ask if we needed anything else, didn't talk to us, thank us, or acknowledge us and just walked away. Both bad experiences have been when I have been in a group of 6-8 people. It's as if they can't handle serving over a party of three at a table.

Tags: good for groups, hot spot
food1
ambience4
service4

Big disappointment :-(

vip
Dined on December 6, 2014

We're foodies and don't mind spending over $100pp for good food and overall experience, but I have a problem when the bill comes to $450 and it was less than mediocre, at best. To be fair, about 50% of that was on 2 bottles of overpriced wine and 5 or 6 overpriced cocktails. The steaks that we ordered were tasteless and the biggest disappointment of the night. My husband ordered a bone-in ribeye. It was NOT a ribeye. They passed off some other cut that we can't even figure out as a $50 ribeye. I had a NY strip. It too was tasteless and almost watery. The other couple with us has salmon and lamb chops. They said theirs was "ok". On a good note, the Arancini we ordered as an appetizer was outstanding! As was the peanut butter creme brule...2 standouts that I would recommend. I won't however, be returning here. The quality of the food to the prices charged is shameful.

food5
ambience4
service4

A birthday at Cagney's

Dined on December 4, 2014

I took my wife to Cagney's for a birthday dinner. Service was relatively prompt (they had a large party), very friendly and attentive. The apps - Aranccini and the mussels were great. The sauces in both dishes were very flavourful. My bowl of mussels was almost clean enough to reuse after wiping up the sauce with the bread. The mains were lamb and steak with shrimp. Both wee generous servings and tasty. The server mentioned that the chef was Argentinian so I think that's why you could taste the meet. We had a great evening and we will be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Great restaurant in Streetsville!

Dined on November 8, 2014

Amazing menu and great tasting food. We will definitely come back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food5
ambience5
service4

Absolutely Fabulous

Dined on November 1, 2014

My husband and I went for dinner on Friday night (Halloween) to celebrate our anniversary. We had a 7:00 reservation and were seated right away. Our waiter was attentive, although his menu knowledge seemed to be lacking a little (we suspect he may have been new) service was quick, food was perfectly cooked, well seasoned and absolutely delicious. We both had steak (I had the filet and my husband the new york strip) and both were fantastic - I would rank them above several of the large steakhouse chains out there. We will definitely be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5

Another enjoyable dinner

Dined on October 31, 2014

The service is always amazing, the Caesar Salad was fresh, cold, crisp and outstanding, the appetizers were great, the entrée's very good. Something about the ambiance and the comfort of a quiet booth and a good meal is why we come back.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5

Great ideas from the chef, just a few th ...

Dined on September 25, 2014

Great ideas from the chef, just a few things I would do to bump up to the next level. I would also suggest frosting the front windows so people walking by aren't peering in and helps the ambience.

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Great service!

Dined on September 14, 2014

Made reservations for Saturday night at 8:30. Arrived on time and manager apologized that a large party had slowed them down and our table wouldn't be ready for awhile. He brought us to the bar, got another bar stool because there was only one and said the wait shouldn't be long. A short while later he asked if we wanted an appetizer on the house. We ordered the meat and cheese platter which was just perfect. After finishing it, our table was ready. I ordered a filet and lobster tail. The meal was excellent. I can't recall what my wife ordered but I do remember her liking it very much. The service here is outstanding. Everyone was so friendly and helpful. The manager goes out of his way to make sure everyone is happy.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service4

We were looking for a central location b ...

Dined on September 7, 2014

We were looking for a central location between Toronto and Oakville and had found your restaurant when we googled venues for Brunch-we were delighted with everything-service was great, ambience was wonderful and the food was excellent-loved the lamb spuducci as well!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, neighborhood gem

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.