About Caffe Sport - San Francisco

574 Green St
San Francisco, CA 94133
View Larger Map

Caffe Sport, by Antonio La Tona is one-of-a-kind among restaurants. While North Beach is full of Italian Restaurants, not many actually embody the spirit or the food of their homeland. Antonio La Tona’s homeland is Sicily, and Sicilian food is the best there is in Italy.

Every square inch of the interior is adorned with elaborately painted furniture and woodcarvings. Come in once and you’ll never forget, and you’ll see why Caffe Sport is so famous.

Come and read the autographed photos and letters from celebrities throughout the world who are all Caffe Sport fanatics.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, European

Hours of Operation:


we are no longer serving lunch.
Dinner: T-Sa 5:00pm-10:30pm

Dinner: Sun 4:00pm-9:30pm

Cross Street:
Columbus Ave

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(415) 981-1251

Website:
http://www.caffesportsf.com/home

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, BYO Liquor, Cafe, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

Caffe Sport - San Francisco Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.1

ambience

4.1

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

78% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (6)
Fun (6)
Family Style (5)
See All
Comfort Food (5)
Good for Groups (5)
Romantic (4)
Good for a Date (4)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Historic (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Casual (2)
Authentic (2)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Cozy (2)
Special Occasion (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Worth the Drive (1)
Business Meals (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Healthy (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
People Watching (1)
Sort By:
S
151 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The eclectic décor and fun servers made ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 25, 2016

The eclectic décor and fun servers made for a great evening. This place was recommended by 3 random strangers when asked where to go for Italian... it did not disappoint.

Tags: Family Style, Fun, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Even tho we had a long standing reservat ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Even tho we had a long standing reservation

for 3 people, we were offered a table opposite a party of 24. We tried it but the noise was unbearable- had to cajole Mgr to give us a quiet table up front.

Unless you have a large party-6 or more, I would not go for dinner again. Food was great but way too crazy at dinner.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service2
value3

Horrible service- even though we had res ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Horrible service- even though we had reservations it took 20 min to be seated

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value2

Terrible service

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Terrible service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value4

Great place. New owner who has been the ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Great place. New owner who has been the cook for 10 years has not changed anything and its still one of the best Italian places to eat. Family style, large plates, order several and share. Have been eating here since 1971.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Authentic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lovely, venerated San Francisco restaura ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Lovely, venerated San Francisco restaurant, serving some of the best Italian food in the city. My date and I loved it.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a reservation for 7:30 for 3 peop ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 23, 2016

We had a reservation for 7:30 for 3 people and weren't seated until 40-50 minutes later. It was such chaos and there was nowhere to stand, so we were in everyone's way for that period of time. The food is definitely good though.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

NO SICILIAN IN THE KITCHEN! It tastes li ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 18, 2016

NO SICILIAN IN THE KITCHEN! It tastes like Sicilian fare with an eclectic combination of Salvadoran, Northern Italian creme sauces and remnants of Sicilian cuisine. I will return but with specific instructions for the chef

Tags: Historic, Cozy, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

We enjoyed our return visit to Caffe Spo ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 10, 2016

We enjoyed our return visit to Caffe Sport, it's always entertaining and delicious.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Basic Italian food. Good but nothing spe ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 30, 2016

Basic Italian food. Good but nothing special. Waiter was lovely and helpful.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

This is one of the best spots in North B ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 24, 2016

This is one of the best spots in North Beach, with great food, family style, and a fun atmosphere. It's also OLD SF, and there are too few of these classic restaurants left. Family-run...great salads...pasta, seafood, etc.

Tags: Fun, Family Style, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fun place with delicious food & we impre ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 22, 2016

Fun place with delicious food & we impressed our foodie friends from Tokyo. Yum!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

In my opinion, they need more waiters. ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 5, 2016

In my opinion, they need more waiters. We order, got our food and then became invisible. Called for service four different times vs. "anything I can bring you?" Instead I got. "We're busy! It's coming" I responded "Christmas is coming too!" paid the bill and left. Long line outside by that time. We all wondered when they were ever going to eat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value4

This was my first time back in 25 years. ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 4, 2016

This was my first time back in 25 years. Jose took great care of us. The service is family style which makes it somewhat unique. We were a party of six, booked on Open Table, and we were fortunate to get a a table by ourselves . They were busy so we were ready with our menu choices promptly. To save a lot of time, we ordered double drinks for those who thought they would have a second one.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Have been coming to this restaurant for ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 3, 2016

Have been coming to this restaurant for 30+ years. First when Antonio La Tona, then with his son. A new family has taken over the rstaurant just a few months ago and so far they have maintained not only the same wonderful cuisine, but also the spirit of the place, fun and genuine. I am looking forward to coming here for the next 30 years.

Tags: Authentic, Fun, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

the waiter /owner was very nice and atte ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 28, 2016

the waiter /owner was very nice and attentive. the food was outstanding. most of all, we were not rushed. we were able to enjoy our meal, drinks and conversation. i would definitely go back -especially since there are so many other items on the menu that i saw passing by my table that i want to try!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I, have been to Cafe Sport s ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 27, 2016

My wife and I, have been to Cafe Sport several times and have never been disappointed. The portions are generous (fit for a King), the food excellent and the service outstanding.

Tags: Romantic, Family Style, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Ciopino was divine!!

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 13, 2016

Ciopino was divine!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

New owners are doing everything they can ...

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on August 13, 2016

New owners are doing everything they can to please. Using original recipes and getting it right.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

A classic North Beach institution that i ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 7, 2016

A classic North Beach institution that is now under new ownership. The new owner is highly energetic and very involved with the operation and he actually waited on our table and made some great wine recommendations. While the food was excellent, a couple of dings on pacing - there were 6 of us, and three of us ordered the same thing. But for some reason, one of those entrees cam almost 10 minutes following the others. And it was just spaghetti and meat balls -so nothing too complicated. Also, cheese was never brought to our table, though offered. I suspect these kinks will get worked out.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Such a pressure to had diner at this res ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 6, 2016

Such a pressure to had diner at this restaurant. Lovely evening. Thanks guys.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

After coming to Caffe Sport for over 30 ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 1, 2016

After coming to Caffe Sport for over 30 years we were disappointed for the first time, both in service and food- The young woman who seated and then served us was not at all welcoming She rushed us to order and when we were not ready left abruptly in a huff. When our food arrived, (and we order the same dishes regularly so we really noticed the difference) there was little taste to the food. The seafood pasta has little taste to the sauce with a very pungent, not fresh taste and smell coming from the shrimp and scallops. The beef and mushroom sauce as well had very little flavor to it- we did not finish our meals

When we asked the young man who was clearing our table if we could please order some sauce to take home, very willing to pay extra for it- he said that there were no containers for it. I asked about the soup/cup containers we usually take it home in and he said there were none and that it would leak from the regular to go boxes. My experience of these to go boxes is that they do not leak so I asked him to put it in one for me. He abruptly said, "I've told you THREE TIMES that it will leak but if you want it ok." Very rude.

We had to flag the server down to get our bill as we had a performance to attend. She did not return with the credit card and after almost 20 minutes my son went to ask her for it- she then gave him a receipt to give to me and I had to tell him that I never signed, nor got my credit card back. My son then, not the server, brought it to me. She never thanked us or acknowledged us.

I understand the original owner has passed and the restaurant is under new ownership. I think it is important for the new owners to maintain the quality of the food as well as service. I emailed the restaurant about this but they have not replied.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

This is a great classic Italian restaura ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on July 29, 2016

This is a great classic Italian restaurant in North Beach. Really liked the eclectic atmosphere and friendly waitstaff. The food is topnotch! Fun time with family and friends. The arugula salad with burrata was a stand out, as well as the spinach ricotta ravioli and the house specialty spaghetti and meatballs. An excellent Chianti accompanied our meal. Everything was delicious and made a perfect last dinner for our visit to the city!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Luis is excellent !!😜😜😜

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 25, 2016

Luis is excellent !!😜😜😜

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

MY favorite resturaunt! I've been going ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on July 22, 2016

MY favorite resturaunt! I've been going there since 1977.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Haven't been there for 20 years. Used to ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 15, 2016

Haven't been there for 20 years. Used to be one of my favorites spots. New ownership and a huge lack of energy in the place. I guess things change.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Thank you so much for the friendly atten ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 10, 2016

Thank you so much for the friendly attentive service and incredible food. You made a special evening with my boyfriend come to life!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Very interesting environment, super frie ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 10, 2016

Very interesting environment, super friendly staff, and good food

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I've been going to Caffe Sport for decad ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 26, 2016

I've been going to Caffe Sport for decades. The new owners who are to be married next month have continued the tradition you know, expect and love and are very sweet and enthusiastic. The prices are great. Portions are immense. Wine just what you're looking for. And now they even take credit cards!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Seefood was fresh and the quality of ing ...

 
 (London)·Dined on June 26, 2016

Seefood was fresh and the quality of ingredients are good but the cooking style is not Italian at all. Pasta was overcooked and wasn't cooked with the sauce. So white pasta with lobster on the top. Prawns covered with a lot of mayonnaise garlic sauce not great either. Expensive for what it is. Great service and charming place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5

We love it there. The seafood is fresh ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on June 22, 2016

We love it there. The seafood is fresh and they serve family style

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I've been coming to this place for over ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on June 13, 2016

I've been coming to this place for over 30 years and they still have excellent food and service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Waiter behaved as though we were an inco ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 30, 2016

Waiter behaved as though we were an inconvenience . Ignoring us, very flat and unwelcoming. Really ruined an evening that was supposed to be special. When I shared our experience with the manager he was equally dismissive. Food was very good not amazing. Will not be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1

Great. Really good dinner at this good r ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 23, 2016

Great.

Really good dinner at this good restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Bad Food

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 20, 2016

The food here is not Italian ... it is something not even fit for a school cafeteria. I don't know why a good waiter is wasting his time in a place like this. this place should have given it up years ago. And I got food poisoning ...

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service4
value1

We loved Cafe Sport. It had been almost ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 16, 2016

We loved Cafe Sport. It had been almost 25 years since we'd dined here. We caught an early dinner after playing Escape SF that afternoon. We will definitely be back soon. The pasta with garlic and olive oil was delicious, as was the shrimp in the white garlic sauce. The Ciopinno was tasty too!

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great dinner Food was really good. Ser ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 12, 2016

Great dinner

Food was really good. Service was amazing. We enjoyed our dinner at Caffe Sport. I must place Togo when you are in SFO.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

No reason to Come Back

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 24, 2016

our party of eight left Beach Blanket Babylon and had reservations for Caffe Sport. Even though our table was ready we were made to wait on the sidewalk until the time of our reservation. The food was family style, but each serving was so small that there wasn't enough to complete a full serving. Example, with the antipasta there were four small slices of salami, a couple of slices of prosciutto etc. One would think the antipasta would of had eight slices salami and so on. The ravioli dish came with eight ravioli, that's one ravioli pillow apiece. The wait staff didn't have command of the English language and had to find someone to help translate.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

Dinner at Caffe Sport

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 16, 2016

Service and food were great! Staff was very accommodating and helpful when ordering for those with dietary restrictions. Food was fresh and delicious. We had a very large party and did not feel rushed at all. Will return!

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Cafe Sport still lots of fun with fine food

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 11, 2016

Hadn't be here for over 10 years and it was much the same with lots of food at moderate prices. It's a visual delight with neat things all over the place. Southern Italian food and plenty of it, so we will go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.