About Caffe Sport - San Francisco

574 Green St
San Francisco, CA 94133
View Larger Map

Caffe Sport, by Antonio La Tona is one-of-a-kind among restaurants. While North Beach is full of Italian Restaurants, not many actually embody the spirit or the food of their homeland. Antonio La Tona’s homeland is Sicily, and Sicilian food is the best there is in Italy.

Every square inch of the interior is adorned with elaborately painted furniture and woodcarvings. Come in once and you’ll never forget, and you’ll see why Caffe Sport is so famous.

Come and read the autographed photos and letters from celebrities throughout the world who are all Caffe Sport fanatics.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, European

Hours of Operation:


we are no longer serving lunch.
Dinner: T-Sa 5:00pm-10:30pm

Dinner: Sun 4:00pm-9:30pm

Cross Street:
Columbus Ave

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(415) 981-1251

Website:
http://www.caffesportsf.com/home

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Beer, BYO Liquor, Cafe, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, Wine

Caffe Sport - San Francisco Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.1

ambience

4.2

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

75% would recommend it to a friend

neighborhood gem (17)
good for groups (16)
special occasion (11)
See All
fit for foodies (10)
kid-friendly (4)
great for lunch (3)
romantic (3)
hot spot (2)
late-night find (1)
great for brunch (1)
notable wine list (1)
vibrant bar scene (1)
Sort By:
Newest
127 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

MY favorite resturaunt! I've been going ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined 5 days ago

MY favorite resturaunt! I've been going there since 1977.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Haven't been there for 20 years. Used to ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Haven't been there for 20 years. Used to be one of my favorites spots. New ownership and a huge lack of energy in the place. I guess things change.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Thank you so much for the friendly atten ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Thank you so much for the friendly attentive service and incredible food. You made a special evening with my boyfriend come to life!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Very interesting environment, super frie ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Very interesting environment, super friendly staff, and good food

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I've been going to Caffe Sport for decad ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

I've been going to Caffe Sport for decades. The new owners who are to be married next month have continued the tradition you know, expect and love and are very sweet and enthusiastic. The prices are great. Portions are immense. Wine just what you're looking for. And now they even take credit cards!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Seefood was fresh and the quality of ing ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Seefood was fresh and the quality of ingredients are good but the cooking style is not Italian at all. Pasta was overcooked and wasn't cooked with the sauce. So white pasta with lobster on the top. Prawns covered with a lot of mayonnaise garlic sauce not great either. Expensive for what it is. Great service and charming place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5

We love it there. The seafood is fresh ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

We love it there. The seafood is fresh and they serve family style

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I've been coming to this place for over ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

I've been coming to this place for over 30 years and they still have excellent food and service.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Waiter behaved as though we were an inco ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on May 30, 2016

Waiter behaved as though we were an inconvenience . Ignoring us, very flat and unwelcoming. Really ruined an evening that was supposed to be special. When I shared our experience with the manager he was equally dismissive. Food was very good not amazing. Will not be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1

Great. Really good dinner at this good r ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 23, 2016

Great.

Really good dinner at this good restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Bad Food

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

The food here is not Italian ... it is something not even fit for a school cafeteria. I don't know why a good waiter is wasting his time in a place like this. this place should have given it up years ago. And I got food poisoning ...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service4
value1

We loved Cafe Sport. It had been almost ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 16, 2016

We loved Cafe Sport. It had been almost 25 years since we'd dined here. We caught an early dinner after playing Escape SF that afternoon. We will definitely be back soon. The pasta with garlic and olive oil was delicious, as was the shrimp in the white garlic sauce. The Ciopinno was tasty too!

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great dinner Food was really good. Ser ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 12, 2016

Great dinner

Food was really good. Service was amazing. We enjoyed our dinner at Caffe Sport. I must place Togo when you are in SFO.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

No reason to Come Back

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

our party of eight left Beach Blanket Babylon and had reservations for Caffe Sport. Even though our table was ready we were made to wait on the sidewalk until the time of our reservation. The food was family style, but each serving was so small that there wasn't enough to complete a full serving. Example, with the antipasta there were four small slices of salami, a couple of slices of prosciutto etc. One would think the antipasta would of had eight slices salami and so on. The ravioli dish came with eight ravioli, that's one ravioli pillow apiece. The wait staff didn't have command of the English language and had to find someone to help translate.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

Dinner at Caffe Sport

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

Service and food were great! Staff was very accommodating and helpful when ordering for those with dietary restrictions. Food was fresh and delicious. We had a very large party and did not feel rushed at all. Will return!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Cafe Sport still lots of fun with fine food

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 11, 2016

Hadn't be here for over 10 years and it was much the same with lots of food at moderate prices. It's a visual delight with neat things all over the place. Southern Italian food and plenty of it, so we will go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Great atmosphere

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on March 30, 2016

A friend recommended we come here and we really enjoyed it. Good to share a plate. Wonderful art!

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Pesto, pesto. Good ambiance, good servic ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on March 23, 2016

Pesto, pesto.

Good ambiance, good service, Chianti, and yummy Pesto.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The BEST . We had a really delicious din ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on March 21, 2016

The BEST .

We had a really delicious dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Not As Expected

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on March 17, 2016

Sauce over prawns was like a bottle of ranch dressing. Cioppino was tasteless sea food with insipid tomato sauce. Bread could have come from Safeway. What else can be said. Never again and sorry this time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value2

Lovely dinner. I don't consider CAFFE SP ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on March 2, 2016

Lovely dinner. I don't consider CAFFE SPORT, as a restaurant, it is more like a "San Francisco institution". We really enjoyed our diner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Plenty of food but could use a good over ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on February 21, 2016

Plenty of food but could use a good overhaul. Looks like change of ownership in the works. No plans to go back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

Wow. Amazing. There is not words to say ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on February 18, 2016

Wow. Amazing. There is not words to say how much we enjoyed of meals. We love you. Service, the fucking best. And I meant that.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Couldn't have been happier

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

Had a great experience at Cafe Sport, every staff member we met was very friendly and genuine. Every bit of food was delicious from the bread to the tiramisu! My new favorite place in North Beach!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good but not fantastic

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

We remembered this place from grad student days in the late 1970's, and perhaps we're more picky now, but it just was not the totally outstanding place of our recollection. The service was a little spotty, sometimes perfect and sometimes difficult to find a waiter. It was extremely crowded. We tried a wide variety of pasta dishes and gnocchi, which were good but not amazing. I did have an excellent piece of fish, which I devoured - it was beautifully seasoned, not too salty, with a lovely, light but creamy sauce.

Tags: kid-friendly, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

Great food but...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

The food and ambiance were awesome but the service was not really great. We reserved a table for 7:30pm and when we got there at exactly 7:30, there was no one to help us. There just weren't enough wait staff to help. And they seemed surprised that we had a reservation. We were only able to sit around 9 pm, I guess it making a reservation didn't really make any difference. There were other groups of people who were in a similar situation and just like us, they didn't seem happy. Some had left and went somewhere else instead. Very disappointing.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value3

So sad!

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

We use to love this place. It was fun and vibrant. We are sad to see how low it has sunk.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Authentic Sicilian seafood preparations

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

I've been going to this little side street restaurant in North Beach for about 30 years. Food this time was great as usual, but I'm concerned for the future because i noticed that an ownership change is pending. I sure hope the place doesn't change too much, because it's always been special as a real Sicilian reataurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Best Italian food in SF!

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on January 30, 2016

We've been coming to Cafe Sport for many years now. You can't find better or more authentic Italian food anywhere.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My reservation was for 6:15, but my enti ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on January 30, 2016

My reservation was for 6:15, but my entire party (besides me) was stuck in horrible traffic and was an hour late. The waiters were so nice and understanding (even though I was taking up this big table...I think the best one in the house). They'd come by and chat with me and keep me company while I waited. The ambiance of the restaurant is kitschy and fun. The food is pretty good (the portions are family style) too. I would return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Good food!

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on January 16, 2016

I took my wife for her birthday. While the ambiance is quite funky, we were both surprised by the quality of the food.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Great food

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on January 16, 2016

The food continues to be very tasty after I have returned from my last visit 10 years ago. Granddaughter indicated the pasta was the best ever. I still enjoy the food and the colorful ambiance. Very enjoyable.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A Great Find with excellent food

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on December 24, 2015

We went to Caffe Sport on the recommendation of a friend many years ago and make a point of going there ever since that recommendation every time we are in San Francisco. We, in turn, have recommended this place to friends, all with rave reviews. Outstanding Sicilian Italian food owned and run by an authentic Sicilian family for years. Eclectic, lively, outstanding food at reasonable prices and great service. Really, who could ask for more? We had reservations but the wait there on the night we were there was at least an hour--and people waited. It is that good.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Decent Neighborhood Restaurant

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on December 19, 2015

My wife and I had a pleasant dinner at Caffe Sport. The food was fine and the space, while tight, has a fun neighborhood feel. Not a bad choice if you're looking for a relatively inexpensive, family style Italian restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value4

Tried and Oh-so-true!

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on December 19, 2015

We've been going to Caffe Sport since the 70's, when we lived in SF. It was our favorite restaurant then. Although we no longer live in SF, we make reservations there whenever we visit. The kitschy ambience, the experienced waiters and, above all, the wonderful food. How great that some things never change!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Caffe Sport is my favorite SF restaurant

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on December 17, 2015

The seafood and pasta is the best in the City. The scampi sauce is to die for. The pesto is really unique. Every dish is amazing. It's a family owned business. The owners and the staff are all really nice and very helpful.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

North beach + Caffe Sport = fun. What a ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on December 3, 2015

North beach + Caffe Sport = fun.

What a great evening . fun, great service. Delicious tiramisu. We'll be back soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Pretty good..

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on November 20, 2015

Everything was fine, nothing was outstanding. The restaurant appears to be losing the neighborhood battle for diners - several places on the same street within two blocks were far more crowded. Caffe Sport was low energy which was a first for me.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Cafe Sport Best Italian Seafood/Pasta

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on November 11, 2015

Have been coming here for over 35 years and the food, service, prices and location are the best. They always treat us like family. You will never go wrong here.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Old Stand-By

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on November 11, 2015

Been eating at Caffe Sport for over 25 years, back when Tony stood at the kitchen door with his cat draped across his shoulders. Food is very good, not great, not trendy, not nouveau, just great old Sicilian food. Family style so order different dishes for each entrée. If you're a party of 6, order 3 appetizers and 4 mains and you'll be just fine.

Great wine prices, but don't be looking for the latest Sassicaia, AND the waiters won't be trying to up sell you, they'll be offering good value selections.

It's a must every time I'm in SF.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.