About Caffe Sport - San Francisco

574 Green St
San Francisco, CA 94133
View Larger Map

Caffe Sport, by Antonio La Tona is one-of-a-kind among restaurants. While North Beach is full of Italian Restaurants, not many actually embody the spirit or the food of their homeland. Antonio La Tona’s homeland is Sicily, and Sicilian food is the best there is in Italy.

Every square inch of the interior is adorned with elaborately painted furniture and woodcarvings. Come in once and you’ll never forget, and you’ll see why Caffe Sport is so famous.

Come and read the autographed photos and letters from celebrities throughout the world who are all Caffe Sport fanatics.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, European

Hours of Operation:


we are no longer serving lunch.
Dinner: T-Sa 5:00pm-10:30pm

Dinner: Sun 4:00pm-9:30pm

Cross Street:
Columbus Ave

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(415) 981-1251

Website:
http://www.caffesportsf.com/home

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, BYO Liquor, Cafe, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

Caffe Sport - San Francisco Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.1

ambience

4.3

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Family Style (10)
Authentic (8)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
See All
Fit for Foodies (6)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Good for a Date (6)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Fun (5)
Good for Groups (5)
Historic (4)
Romantic (4)
Casual (4)
Cozy (4)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Special Occasion (3)
Worth the Drive (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Business Meals (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Great Beer (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Spicy (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Healthy (1)
People Watching (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Sort By:
S
168 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Service was excellent. We were able to take our time. We were not rushed. True Italian dining. Quiet and atmosphere was true Italian. Can't wait to go back again. Food was delicious,reasonably priced and felt like I was in Italy. We live here in the city and can't believe we haven't been here before that.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Still great as ever. Really like the family style dining.

Tags: Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Love the waiters!! It's a great place and they treat you right! ❤❤❤

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Caffe Sport is one of the best Italian restaurants in the city. The Pesto is amazing.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Historic, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Caffe Sport was my most favorite restaurant when I lived in the Bay Area in the 70s and 80s!! I was almost scared to check it out while back for a visit, in case it had changed, but luckily the food, decor and service are still fun and delicious. And nowadays, they take credit cards and reservations which are two welcome changes. We were a group of 5 with a 6:00 reservation and were able to enjoy a fabulous meal (and two bottles of wine) before going to see Beach Blanket Babylon. We ordered a variety of entrees which we shared family style. The restaurant is gaudily painted and decorated, with many booths and other dining nooks. The service was

Tags: People Watching, Good for Groups, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Caffe Sport is my very favorite restaurant for Italian food. A great feature is the family style, where selections of dishes are shared with everyone. My favorite continues to be the spinach ravioli. Great ambience and a delightful dining experience. Top notch!

Tags: Casual, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Good food and great atmosphere - family style salad and good entrees

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Good friendly service but the food was better before. Pastas were overcooked and no longer served in family style portions like it was many years ago.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Great food and great service. It is at the upper end of pricing for Italian.

Tags: Spicy, Casual, Comfort Food, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 29, 2016

A very busy Holiday week, they were so busy. We had reservations but had to wait 30 minutes.

Food was ok, some better than others. Mine was not hot. Wait person was very nice but service

was slow. I know this sounds like a bad review, but I would try it again on a "regular" evening because I imagine it's good when not so busy.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 29, 2016

our new family spot...great service ...excellent food...we loved it...and we are a family of 8. best sunday dinner out!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Recent ownership change has not resulted in much staff turnover from what I can tell, and the place has been cleaned and dusted to bring some sparkle back to one of our favorite places in SF. The waitstaff is outstanding and the food is fresh and flavorful.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Family Style, Worth the Drive, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Food was wonderful but they seemed to horribly understaffed. Our food came out at all different times and we had to ask multiple times for a missing meal, bread, and the check.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 27, 2016

The food tasted great and was very authentic Italian. Unfortunately, there was two large groups 10 and 18 people that was dining at the same time as our group of four, which caused kitchen delays. It took over45 minutes to get our appetizers and another 45 minutes to get our dinner. We're willing to give it another try because the food was so good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 27, 2016

The day after Christmas is probably not a good time to eat out, especially for a large party: although our appetizers were served pretty quickly and were tasty (house salad, buratta salad, arugula salad, salumi e formaggio), the entrees took exceptionally long to be served. Over an hour after we ordered, the waiter told our last diner that they ran out of sole, and would she like salmon instead. We didn't want to wait any longer, so she ate from our other diners' plates. My eggplant appetizer was overlooked, and extremely salty -- couldn't finish it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Love this place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Delicious, but it used to be better. We have been coming here since 1980. The most authentic Sicilian food outside of Sicily.

Tags: Authentic, Historic, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Used to go to Caffe Sport 30 years ago. It's still a great experience with excellent food and service, in a kooky environment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 25, 2016

The eclectic décor and fun servers made for a great evening. This place was recommended by 3 random strangers when asked where to go for Italian... it did not disappoint.

Tags: Family Style, Fun, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Even tho we had a long standing reservation

for 3 people, we were offered a table opposite a party of 24. We tried it but the noise was unbearable- had to cajole Mgr to give us a quiet table up front.

Unless you have a large party-6 or more, I would not go for dinner again. Food was great but way too crazy at dinner.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service2
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Horrible service- even though we had reservations it took 20 min to be seated

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value2

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Terrible service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Great place. New owner who has been the cook for 10 years has not changed anything and its still one of the best Italian places to eat. Family style, large plates, order several and share. Have been eating here since 1971.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Authentic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Lovely, venerated San Francisco restaurant, serving some of the best Italian food in the city. My date and I loved it.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 23, 2016

We had a reservation for 7:30 for 3 people and weren't seated until 40-50 minutes later. It was such chaos and there was nowhere to stand, so we were in everyone's way for that period of time. The food is definitely good though.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 18, 2016

NO SICILIAN IN THE KITCHEN! It tastes like Sicilian fare with an eclectic combination of Salvadoran, Northern Italian creme sauces and remnants of Sicilian cuisine. I will return but with specific instructions for the chef

Tags: Historic, Cozy, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 10, 2016

We enjoyed our return visit to Caffe Sport, it's always entertaining and delicious.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 30, 2016

Basic Italian food. Good but nothing special. Waiter was lovely and helpful.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 24, 2016

This is one of the best spots in North Beach, with great food, family style, and a fun atmosphere. It's also OLD SF, and there are too few of these classic restaurants left. Family-run...great salads...pasta, seafood, etc.

Tags: Fun, Family Style, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 22, 2016

Fun place with delicious food & we impressed our foodie friends from Tokyo. Yum!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 5, 2016

In my opinion, they need more waiters. We order, got our food and then became invisible. Called for service four different times vs. "anything I can bring you?" Instead I got. "We're busy! It's coming" I responded "Christmas is coming too!" paid the bill and left. Long line outside by that time. We all wondered when they were ever going to eat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 4, 2016

This was my first time back in 25 years. Jose took great care of us. The service is family style which makes it somewhat unique. We were a party of six, booked on Open Table, and we were fortunate to get a a table by ourselves . They were busy so we were ready with our menu choices promptly. To save a lot of time, we ordered double drinks for those who thought they would have a second one.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 3, 2016

Have been coming to this restaurant for 30+ years. First when Antonio La Tona, then with his son. A new family has taken over the rstaurant just a few months ago and so far they have maintained not only the same wonderful cuisine, but also the spirit of the place, fun and genuine. I am looking forward to coming here for the next 30 years.

Tags: Authentic, Fun, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 28, 2016

the waiter /owner was very nice and attentive. the food was outstanding. most of all, we were not rushed. we were able to enjoy our meal, drinks and conversation. i would definitely go back -especially since there are so many other items on the menu that i saw passing by my table that i want to try!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 27, 2016

My wife and I, have been to Cafe Sport several times and have never been disappointed. The portions are generous (fit for a King), the food excellent and the service outstanding.

Tags: Romantic, Family Style, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 13, 2016

Ciopino was divine!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on August 13, 2016

New owners are doing everything they can to please. Using original recipes and getting it right.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 7, 2016

A classic North Beach institution that is now under new ownership. The new owner is highly energetic and very involved with the operation and he actually waited on our table and made some great wine recommendations. While the food was excellent, a couple of dings on pacing - there were 6 of us, and three of us ordered the same thing. But for some reason, one of those entrees cam almost 10 minutes following the others. And it was just spaghetti and meat balls -so nothing too complicated. Also, cheese was never brought to our table, though offered. I suspect these kinks will get worked out.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 6, 2016

Such a pressure to had diner at this restaurant. Lovely evening. Thanks guys.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 1, 2016

After coming to Caffe Sport for over 30 years we were disappointed for the first time, both in service and food- The young woman who seated and then served us was not at all welcoming She rushed us to order and when we were not ready left abruptly in a huff. When our food arrived, (and we order the same dishes regularly so we really noticed the difference) there was little taste to the food. The seafood pasta has little taste to the sauce with a very pungent, not fresh taste and smell coming from the shrimp and scallops. The beef and mushroom sauce as well had very little flavor to it- we did not finish our meals

When we asked the young man who was clearing our table if we could please order some sauce to take home, very willing to pay extra for it- he said that there were no containers for it. I asked about the soup/cup containers we usually take it home in and he said there were none and that it would leak from the regular to go boxes. My experience of these to go boxes is that they do not leak so I asked him to put it in one for me. He abruptly said, "I've told you THREE TIMES that it will leak but if you want it ok." Very rude.

We had to flag the server down to get our bill as we had a performance to attend. She did not return with the credit card and after almost 20 minutes my son went to ask her for it- she then gave him a receipt to give to me and I had to tell him that I never signed, nor got my credit card back. My son then, not the server, brought it to me. She never thanked us or acknowledged us.

I understand the original owner has passed and the restaurant is under new ownership. I think it is important for the new owners to maintain the quality of the food as well as service. I emailed the restaurant about this but they have not replied.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on July 29, 2016

This is a great classic Italian restaurant in North Beach. Really liked the eclectic atmosphere and friendly waitstaff. The food is topnotch! Fun time with family and friends. The arugula salad with burrata was a stand out, as well as the spinach ricotta ravioli and the house specialty spaghetti and meatballs. An excellent Chianti accompanied our meal. Everything was delicious and made a perfect last dinner for our visit to the city!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 25, 2016

Luis is excellent !!😜😜😜

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on July 22, 2016

MY favorite resturaunt! I've been going there since 1977.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 15, 2016

Haven't been there for 20 years. Used to be one of my favorites spots. New ownership and a huge lack of energy in the place. I guess things change.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 10, 2016

Thank you so much for the friendly attentive service and incredible food. You made a special evening with my boyfriend come to life!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 10, 2016

Very interesting environment, super friendly staff, and good food

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 26, 2016

I've been going to Caffe Sport for decades. The new owners who are to be married next month have continued the tradition you know, expect and love and are very sweet and enthusiastic. The prices are great. Portions are immense. Wine just what you're looking for. And now they even take credit cards!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (London)·Dined on June 26, 2016

Seefood was fresh and the quality of ingredients are good but the cooking style is not Italian at all. Pasta was overcooked and wasn't cooked with the sauce. So white pasta with lobster on the top. Prawns covered with a lot of mayonnaise garlic sauce not great either. Expensive for what it is. Great service and charming place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on June 22, 2016

We love it there. The seafood is fresh and they serve family style

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on June 13, 2016

I've been coming to this place for over 30 years and they still have excellent food and service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.