Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi
  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi
  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi

About Caffe Sport - San Francisco

Caffe Sport, by Antonio La Tona is one-of-a-kind among restaurants. While North Beach is full of Italian Restaurants, not many actually embody the spirit or the food of their homeland. Antonio La Tona’s homeland is Sicily, and Sicilian food is the best there is in Italy.

Every square inch of the interior is adorned with elaborately painted furniture and woodcarvings. Come in once and you’ll never forget, and you’ll see why Caffe Sport is so famous.

Come and read the autographed photos and letters from celebrities throughout the world who are all Caffe Sport fanatics.

574 Green St
San Francisco, CA 94133
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, European

Hours of Operation:


Lunch: Thur thru Sun 11:00 am - 5:00 pm.
Dinner: Mon thru Sun 5:00 pm-10:30 pm

Cross Street:
Columbus Ave

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(415) 981-1251

Website:
http://www.caffesportsf.com/home

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, BYO Liquor, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wine

Caffe Sport - San Francisco Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.2

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (14)
Authentic (12)
Neighborhood Gem (12)
See All
Good for a Date (10)
Fun (10)
Fit for Foodies (9)
Comfort Food (7)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Family Style (7)
Special Occasion (6)
Cozy (6)
Local Ingredients (5)
Good for Groups (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Romantic (4)
Notable Wine List (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
People Watching (2)
Historic (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Bar Seating (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Private Room (1)
Spicy (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Sort By:
S
189 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 20 hours ago

Amazing! Manager was awesome, and service was amazing! Food 2ad incredible!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 7 days ago

I had only been there once before, that would've been in the early '80s, when Toni Lovano owned it. It was very popular back then, which is probably why I never went back, I didn't like the wait and being rushed out the door once our meal was finished, but the food was great.
I still remember smelling the garlic a block away.
The food is still great, they now take reservations and even though it was busy, they didn't rush us out the door. I am happy to have discovered this place all over again.
The wait staff was terrific, which was also an improvement. Back in the day, they were very rude but I think that was part of the attraction and the charm.

I'll be back

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Delicious dinner. Cooked to perfection. As good as grandmas.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Authentic, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 9, 2017

This used to be one if our very favorite restaurants in San Francisco. We even got engaged here! However, the past two times we've been there, the food has been terrible, much to our dismay.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value2

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 29, 2017

While the food was good, the wait was over 30 minutes to be seated and an hour before we were served. They seemed very disorganized in the way they seated you and I never knew who was in charge. A hostess would be nice, although it is small . The ambiance is nice as it's a quaint restaurant that is not expensive and the food is good. It's a fun place to dine if you love good Italian food and have lots of time.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 27, 2017

I first went to caffe sport many years ago and I'm happy to say it's still the same. It's loud, crowded and funky inside. The food is so good. Lots of good seafood pastas. I especially enjoyed the linguini with clams. So much fun!!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Authentic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Could not fault the food, staff or the price - had a lovely evening

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Excellent Italian/Sicilian cuisine. Good variety, generous but not huge portions. Excellent pasta, must be made fresh. Very creative Italian decor, lots to look at. Small restaurant so very good service. Bring $$ since it's cash only.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on May 15, 2017

The service was excellent and our meals were excellent. They go the extra mile to accommodate all special requests

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Comfort Food, Authentic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 14, 2017

8:15 dinner on busy Saturday night and although it took a little extra time to get seated, Jose and crew were so accommodating and nice it made the wait more than OK. Food was excellent, service spot on and a one of a kind atmosphere. We highly recommend this lovely place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Food was very good. However, I don't like creamy white sauce and I ordered something with it. Menu wasn't clear that's what I was getting. I'd definitely go back, but be more careful in ordering.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 7, 2017

I've been dining at Cafe Sport since the 70's. It is still a favorite restaurant, for a reliably good meal, in a great neighborhood.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Excellent Italian food! Get the rustica, scampi al Antonio and clams. You will not be disappointed! This place is like nowhere else you have ever been. Hole in the wall feel, but very traditional and almost historic feeling. Great for get togethers wih friends. Meals are family style.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 25, 2017

35 Wedding Anniversary

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Fun, Authentic, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Private Room, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Casual, Family Style, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 3, 2017

It was as good as I remember all those years ago!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 31, 2017

This place has been around a long time, at least since late 80s, but I had not tried it before. We went in early so it was not very crowded. Food was decent but not "great." I had lasagna which was very salty. Another person had the pesto which was fresh and homemade tasting.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Fun, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Excellent authentic Italian/Sicilian food in an eclectic restaurant with excellent service. Would eat here again - highhly recommended!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Family Style, Bar Seating, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 14, 2017

This was an eclectic Italian restaurant. Fun decor, awesome food, awesome staff and good prices. Will definitely dine here again.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Fun, Casual, Authentic, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Fantastic specials and excellent wine selections - we will come again soon

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Comfort Food, Casual, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Excellent old World Italian food. Eclectic atmosphere. Servers were efficient and personable and we had a large party to serve. Dishes can be shared although portions may have shrunk a bit over the years. Not overly pricy. Definitely recommend. Can't wait to come back.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Family Style, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Kid-friendly, Pre/post Theatre, People Watching, Historic, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Service was excellent. We were able to take our time. We were not rushed. True Italian dining. Quiet and atmosphere was true Italian. Can't wait to go back again. Food was delicious,reasonably priced and felt like I was in Italy. We live here in the city and can't believe we haven't been here before that.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Caffe Sport is one of our "go to" restaurants in SF. Anytime we find ourselves in SF, Sport is at the top of our list of places we always find time to have a meal. The service is always friendly and never rushed. The food is predictably tasty. Sport is good enough to fly into SF for no other reason except the excellent service and tasty food.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Still great as ever. Really like the family style dining.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Love the waiters!! It's a great place and they treat you right! ❤❤❤

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Caffe Sport is one of the best Italian restaurants in the city. The Pesto is amazing.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Historic, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Caffe Sport was my most favorite restaurant when I lived in the Bay Area in the 70s and 80s!! I was almost scared to check it out while back for a visit, in case it had changed, but luckily the food, decor and service are still fun and delicious. And nowadays, they take credit cards and reservations which are two welcome changes. We were a group of 5 with a 6:00 reservation and were able to enjoy a fabulous meal (and two bottles of wine) before going to see Beach Blanket Babylon. We ordered a variety of entrees which we shared family style. The restaurant is gaudily painted and decorated, with many booths and other dining nooks. The service was

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: People Watching, Good for Groups, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Caffe Sport is my very favorite restaurant for Italian food. A great feature is the family style, where selections of dishes are shared with everyone. My favorite continues to be the spinach ravioli. Great ambience and a delightful dining experience. Top notch!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Casual, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Good food and great atmosphere - family style salad and good entrees

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Good friendly service but the food was better before. Pastas were overcooked and no longer served in family style portions like it was many years ago.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Great food and great service. It is at the upper end of pricing for Italian.

Tags: Spicy, Casual, Comfort Food, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 29, 2016

A very busy Holiday week, they were so busy. We had reservations but had to wait 30 minutes.
Food was ok, some better than others. Mine was not hot. Wait person was very nice but service
was slow. I know this sounds like a bad review, but I would try it again on a "regular" evening because I imagine it's good when not so busy.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 29, 2016

our new family spot...great service ...excellent food...we loved it...and we are a family of 8. best sunday dinner out!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Recent ownership change has not resulted in much staff turnover from what I can tell, and the place has been cleaned and dusted to bring some sparkle back to one of our favorite places in SF. The waitstaff is outstanding and the food is fresh and flavorful.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Outstanding Value, Family Style, Worth the Drive, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Food was wonderful but they seemed to horribly understaffed. Our food came out at all different times and we had to ask multiple times for a missing meal, bread, and the check.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 27, 2016

The food tasted great and was very authentic Italian. Unfortunately, there was two large groups 10 and 18 people that was dining at the same time as our group of four, which caused kitchen delays. It took over45 minutes to get our appetizers and another 45 minutes to get our dinner. We're willing to give it another try because the food was so good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 27, 2016

The day after Christmas is probably not a good time to eat out, especially for a large party: although our appetizers were served pretty quickly and were tasty (house salad, buratta salad, arugula salad, salumi e formaggio), the entrees took exceptionally long to be served. Over an hour after we ordered, the waiter told our last diner that they ran out of sole, and would she like salmon instead. We didn't want to wait any longer, so she ate from our other diners' plates. My eggplant appetizer was overlooked, and extremely salty -- couldn't finish it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Love this place!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Delicious, but it used to be better. We have been coming here since 1980. The most authentic Sicilian food outside of Sicily.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Authentic, Historic, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Used to go to Caffe Sport 30 years ago. It's still a great experience with excellent food and service, in a kooky environment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 25, 2016

The eclectic décor and fun servers made for a great evening. This place was recommended by 3 random strangers when asked where to go for Italian... it did not disappoint.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Family Style, Fun, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.