Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi
  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi
  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi

About Caffe Sport - San Francisco

Caffe Sport, by Antonio La Tona is one-of-a-kind among restaurants. While North Beach is full of Italian Restaurants, not many actually embody the spirit or the food of their homeland. Antonio La Tona’s homeland is Sicily, and Sicilian food is the best there is in Italy.

Every square inch of the interior is adorned with elaborately painted furniture and woodcarvings. Come in once and you’ll never forget, and you’ll see why Caffe Sport is so famous.

Come and read the autographed photos and letters from celebrities throughout the world who are all Caffe Sport fanatics.

574 Green St
San Francisco, CA 94133
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, European

Hours of Operation:


we are no longer serving lunch.
Dinner: T-Sa 5:00pm-10:30pm

Dinner: Sun 4:00pm-9:30pm

Cross Street:
Columbus Ave

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(415) 981-1251

Website:
http://www.caffesportsf.com/home

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, BYO Liquor, Cafe, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

Caffe Sport - San Francisco Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.2

ambience

4.4

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Family Style (12)
Authentic (10)
Casual (8)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Good for a Date (6)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Good for Groups (5)
Historic (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Special Occasion (4)
Cozy (4)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Fun (4)
Romantic (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
People Watching (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Hot Spot (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Spicy (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Great Beer (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Seasonal (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Sort By:
S
173 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Excellent authentic Italian/Sicilian food in an eclectic restaurant with excellent service. Would eat here again - highhly recommended!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Family Style, Bar Seating, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 14, 2017

This was an eclectic Italian restaurant. Fun decor, awesome food, awesome staff and good prices. Will definitely dine here again.

Tags: Fun, Casual, Authentic, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Fantastic specials and excellent wine selections - we will come again soon

Tags: Comfort Food, Casual, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Excellent old World Italian food. Eclectic atmosphere. Servers were efficient and personable and we had a large party to serve. Dishes can be shared although portions may have shrunk a bit over the years. Not overly pricy. Definitely recommend. Can't wait to come back.

Tags: Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Family Style, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Kid-friendly, Pre/post Theatre, People Watching, Historic, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Service was excellent. We were able to take our time. We were not rushed. True Italian dining. Quiet and atmosphere was true Italian. Can't wait to go back again. Food was delicious,reasonably priced and felt like I was in Italy. We live here in the city and can't believe we haven't been here before that.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Caffe Sport is one of our "go to" restaurants in SF. Anytime we find ourselves in SF, Sport is at the top of our list of places we always find time to have a meal. The service is always friendly and never rushed. The food is predictably tasty. Sport is good enough to fly into SF for no other reason except the excellent service and tasty food.

Tags: Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Still great as ever. Really like the family style dining.

Tags: Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Love the waiters!! It's a great place and they treat you right! ❤❤❤

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Caffe Sport is one of the best Italian restaurants in the city. The Pesto is amazing.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Historic, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Caffe Sport was my most favorite restaurant when I lived in the Bay Area in the 70s and 80s!! I was almost scared to check it out while back for a visit, in case it had changed, but luckily the food, decor and service are still fun and delicious. And nowadays, they take credit cards and reservations which are two welcome changes. We were a group of 5 with a 6:00 reservation and were able to enjoy a fabulous meal (and two bottles of wine) before going to see Beach Blanket Babylon. We ordered a variety of entrees which we shared family style. The restaurant is gaudily painted and decorated, with many booths and other dining nooks. The service was

Tags: People Watching, Good for Groups, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Caffe Sport is my very favorite restaurant for Italian food. A great feature is the family style, where selections of dishes are shared with everyone. My favorite continues to be the spinach ravioli. Great ambience and a delightful dining experience. Top notch!

Tags: Casual, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Good food and great atmosphere - family style salad and good entrees

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Good friendly service but the food was better before. Pastas were overcooked and no longer served in family style portions like it was many years ago.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Great food and great service. It is at the upper end of pricing for Italian.

Tags: Spicy, Casual, Comfort Food, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 29, 2016

A very busy Holiday week, they were so busy. We had reservations but had to wait 30 minutes.
Food was ok, some better than others. Mine was not hot. Wait person was very nice but service
was slow. I know this sounds like a bad review, but I would try it again on a "regular" evening because I imagine it's good when not so busy.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 29, 2016

our new family spot...great service ...excellent food...we loved it...and we are a family of 8. best sunday dinner out!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Recent ownership change has not resulted in much staff turnover from what I can tell, and the place has been cleaned and dusted to bring some sparkle back to one of our favorite places in SF. The waitstaff is outstanding and the food is fresh and flavorful.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Family Style, Worth the Drive, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Food was wonderful but they seemed to horribly understaffed. Our food came out at all different times and we had to ask multiple times for a missing meal, bread, and the check.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 27, 2016

The food tasted great and was very authentic Italian. Unfortunately, there was two large groups 10 and 18 people that was dining at the same time as our group of four, which caused kitchen delays. It took over45 minutes to get our appetizers and another 45 minutes to get our dinner. We're willing to give it another try because the food was so good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 27, 2016

The day after Christmas is probably not a good time to eat out, especially for a large party: although our appetizers were served pretty quickly and were tasty (house salad, buratta salad, arugula salad, salumi e formaggio), the entrees took exceptionally long to be served. Over an hour after we ordered, the waiter told our last diner that they ran out of sole, and would she like salmon instead. We didn't want to wait any longer, so she ate from our other diners' plates. My eggplant appetizer was overlooked, and extremely salty -- couldn't finish it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Love this place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Delicious, but it used to be better. We have been coming here since 1980. The most authentic Sicilian food outside of Sicily.

Tags: Authentic, Historic, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Used to go to Caffe Sport 30 years ago. It's still a great experience with excellent food and service, in a kooky environment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 25, 2016

The eclectic décor and fun servers made for a great evening. This place was recommended by 3 random strangers when asked where to go for Italian... it did not disappoint.

Tags: Family Style, Fun, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Even tho we had a long standing reservation
for 3 people, we were offered a table opposite a party of 24. We tried it but the noise was unbearable- had to cajole Mgr to give us a quiet table up front.

Unless you have a large party-6 or more, I would not go for dinner again. Food was great but way too crazy at dinner.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service2
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Horrible service- even though we had reservations it took 20 min to be seated

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value2

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Terrible service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Great place. New owner who has been the cook for 10 years has not changed anything and its still one of the best Italian places to eat. Family style, large plates, order several and share. Have been eating here since 1971.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Authentic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Lovely, venerated San Francisco restaurant, serving some of the best Italian food in the city. My date and I loved it.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 23, 2016

We had a reservation for 7:30 for 3 people and weren't seated until 40-50 minutes later. It was such chaos and there was nowhere to stand, so we were in everyone's way for that period of time. The food is definitely good though.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 18, 2016

NO SICILIAN IN THE KITCHEN! It tastes like Sicilian fare with an eclectic combination of Salvadoran, Northern Italian creme sauces and remnants of Sicilian cuisine. I will return but with specific instructions for the chef

Tags: Historic, Cozy, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 10, 2016

We enjoyed our return visit to Caffe Sport, it's always entertaining and delicious.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 30, 2016

Basic Italian food. Good but nothing special. Waiter was lovely and helpful.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 24, 2016

This is one of the best spots in North Beach, with great food, family style, and a fun atmosphere. It's also OLD SF, and there are too few of these classic restaurants left. Family-run...great salads...pasta, seafood, etc.

Tags: Fun, Family Style, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 22, 2016

Fun place with delicious food & we impressed our foodie friends from Tokyo. Yum!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 5, 2016

In my opinion, they need more waiters. We order, got our food and then became invisible. Called for service four different times vs. "anything I can bring you?" Instead I got. "We're busy! It's coming" I responded "Christmas is coming too!" paid the bill and left. Long line outside by that time. We all wondered when they were ever going to eat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 4, 2016

This was my first time back in 25 years. Jose took great care of us. The service is family style which makes it somewhat unique. We were a party of six, booked on Open Table, and we were fortunate to get a a table by ourselves . They were busy so we were ready with our menu choices promptly. To save a lot of time, we ordered double drinks for those who thought they would have a second one.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 3, 2016

Have been coming to this restaurant for 30+ years. First when Antonio La Tona, then with his son. A new family has taken over the rstaurant just a few months ago and so far they have maintained not only the same wonderful cuisine, but also the spirit of the place, fun and genuine. I am looking forward to coming here for the next 30 years.

Tags: Authentic, Fun, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 28, 2016

the waiter /owner was very nice and attentive. the food was outstanding. most of all, we were not rushed. we were able to enjoy our meal, drinks and conversation. i would definitely go back -especially since there are so many other items on the menu that i saw passing by my table that i want to try!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 27, 2016

My wife and I, have been to Cafe Sport several times and have never been disappointed. The portions are generous (fit for a King), the food excellent and the service outstanding.

Tags: Romantic, Family Style, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.