Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi
  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi
  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi

About Caffe Sport - San Francisco

Caffe Sport, by Antonio La Tona is one-of-a-kind among restaurants. While North Beach is full of Italian Restaurants, not many actually embody the spirit or the food of their homeland. Antonio La Tona’s homeland is Sicily, and Sicilian food is the best there is in Italy.

Every square inch of the interior is adorned with elaborately painted furniture and woodcarvings. Come in once and you’ll never forget, and you’ll see why Caffe Sport is so famous.

Come and read the autographed photos and letters from celebrities throughout the world who are all Caffe Sport fanatics.

574 Green St
San Francisco, CA 94133
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, European

Hours of Operation:


Lunch: Thur thru Sun 11:00 am - 5:00 pm.
Dinner: Mon thru Sun 5:00 pm-10:30 pm

Cross Street:
Columbus Ave

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(415) 981-1251

Website:
http://www.caffesportsf.com/home

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, BYO Liquor, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wine

Caffe Sport - San Francisco Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

4.1

ambience

4.1

value

3.9

Noise

Moderate

80% would recommend it to a friend

Authentic (8)
Casual (8)
Fun (7)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Good for a Date (4)
Comfort Food (3)
Cozy (3)
Special Occasion (3)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Fit for Foodies (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Romantic (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort By:
S
211 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 5 days ago

The decor is very fun to look at, a feast for the eyes and the food is amazing! We highly recommend!

Tags: Casual, Fun, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 1, 2017

Solid Italian eats, mainly pastas, with a slant toward seafood. No pizza on the menu so avoid CS if that's your thing.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 24, 2017

Delicious food based on Sicilian / Southern Italian recipes. Attentive service.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 24, 2017

Great food. Great Service. I would absolutely recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 14, 2017

Great Italian comfort food. Sizable portions at a reasonable price. They also have a great wine list with reasonable prices. I've been back 3 times and will continue to make this a regular stop.

Tags: Fun, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 10, 2017

Friends in town

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 4, 2017

New owners definitely have changed the recipes. Dishes were average, no longer the special ones we have known from years prior. Big disappointment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

 
·Dined on September 1, 2017

The Siciliano Restaurant has a very friendly stuff. Good food and the interior is one of a kind. Overloaded but in its style very good. I'm sure it has seen greater times.

Tags: Fun, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 28, 2017

My table had pasta, clams, and chicken parm. My pasta with olive oil was undercooked and the olive oil was low quality and bitter. The others' pastas were tasteless because of the sauce. The chicken parm was tough. This was a total waste of time and money and I will never return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Very attentive staff and great food! Great options

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Casual, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on August 13, 2017

What a wonderful experience. The food was delicious!
We had a group of 15 celebrating my birthday and they took impeccable care of the entire group.

Really made us feel special.

The food is legit Italian food. Delicious. Generous portions. Highly recommended.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 4, 2017

A great neighborhood place in North Beach! Good food and service. Will definitely go again!

Tags: Authentic, Casual, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 24, 2017

Great rustic southern Italian food...lots of garlic and fresh pasta...wonderful flavors. Fun atmosphere, small, cozy rooms filled with hand-made artifacts. Good friendly service and reasonable prices. Scampi with Garlic White cream sauce is outstanding.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 20, 2017

Food was good but not as good as I remembered. Lasagna special was advertised as having bechamel sauce but came with red sauce. Other dish was tortellini and mushrooms. Dishes were under seasoned. Tomato-y bread dip was delicious as was side of zucchini with Alfredo sauce. Wines were all good.

The staff were very friendly. When they found out I wasn't happy with my entree, they served us extra wine and a house special strawberry aperitif Coffee meh. Tira misu fabulous; coffee gelato was grainy and not too flavorful. Sad that the food is not as good as it once was. Atmosphere fun and kitschy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 18, 2017

This was our fourth visit to Caffe Sport. Every time we are in San Fran we make time to go. And, it never disappoints! We love it more each time. The food is fantastic! The ambiance is like no other.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 15, 2017

We were looking for really good Italian - and this was it! We started with the charcuterie. I had the special lasagna which was a very large portion.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 14, 2017

We have loved this place for years and even in new hands the food is wonderful, the place is colorful, and our hostess/ server was a delight!

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 9, 2017

Enjoyed a wonderful dinner for our group of 10. Service was outstanding, food delicious, and décor interesting and fun. Instead of going with family style we ordered off the menu separately. Interestingly we had no duplications, everyone ordered something different. All dinners were great and the portions quite generous. Highly recommend for anyone looking for Italian in North Beach.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 28, 2017

Way over priced food
$24 for Chicken Parm
Suppose to be family style but not even close
Had to order 4 chicken parm entrees to feed 5 people

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value1

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Amazing! Manager was awesome, and service was amazing! Food 2ad incredible!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Best Sicilian restaurant in the Bay Area bar none. The zucchinis in garlic sauce are excellent for an appetizer as is the calamari. Good size portions of spaghetti as well. Try the pesto, the pasta with olive oil or the Alfredo sauce. All are highly recommended. Now if I can get him to put some arincini's on the menu, I would feel like I was in Sicily!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 18, 2017

I had only been there once before, that would've been in the early '80s, when Toni Lovano owned it. It was very popular back then, which is probably why I never went back, I didn't like the wait and being rushed out the door once our meal was finished, but the food was great.
I still remember smelling the garlic a block away.
The food is still great, they now take reservations and even though it was busy, they didn't rush us out the door. I am happy to have discovered this place all over again.
The wait staff was terrific, which was also an improvement. Back in the day, they were very rude but I think that was part of the attraction and the charm.

I'll be back

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 15, 2017

Delicious dinner. Cooked to perfection. As good as grandmas.

Tags: Authentic, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 10, 2017

We have been going to Caffe Sport for years! The food is the best in North Beach and the wait staff and atmosphere is equally as good. The pesto is beyond words...simply delicious! We always, always leave looking forward to our next dinner at Caffe Sport. Such a great place to visit whether you are a vistor to the City or a local. Bon Appetit!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly, Hot Spot, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Went with an old friend that I had not seen in a couple years. Food was good, as was service and atmosphere.

Tags: Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 8, 2017

This used to be one if our very favorite restaurants in San Francisco. We even got engaged here! However, the past two times we've been there, the food has been terrible, much to our dismay.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value2

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 28, 2017

While the food was good, the wait was over 30 minutes to be seated and an hour before we were served. They seemed very disorganized in the way they seated you and I never knew who was in charge. A hostess would be nice, although it is small . The ambiance is nice as it's a quaint restaurant that is not expensive and the food is good. It's a fun place to dine if you love good Italian food and have lots of time.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 26, 2017

I first went to caffe sport many years ago and I'm happy to say it's still the same. It's loud, crowded and funky inside. The food is so good. Lots of good seafood pastas. I especially enjoyed the linguini with clams. So much fun!!

Tags: Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Authentic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Could not fault the food, staff or the price - had a lovely evening

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Excellent Italian/Sicilian cuisine. Good variety, generous but not huge portions. Excellent pasta, must be made fresh. Very creative Italian decor, lots to look at. Small restaurant so very good service. Bring $$ since it's cash only.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on May 14, 2017

The service was excellent and our meals were excellent. They go the extra mile to accommodate all special requests

Tags: Comfort Food, Authentic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 13, 2017

8:15 dinner on busy Saturday night and although it took a little extra time to get seated, Jose and crew were so accommodating and nice it made the wait more than OK. Food was excellent, service spot on and a one of a kind atmosphere. We highly recommend this lovely place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 9, 2017

Food was very good. However, I don't like creamy white sauce and I ordered something with it. Menu wasn't clear that's what I was getting. I'd definitely go back, but be more careful in ordering.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 6, 2017

I've been dining at Cafe Sport since the 70's. It is still a favorite restaurant, for a reliably good meal, in a great neighborhood.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Excellent Italian food! Get the rustica, scampi al Antonio and clams. You will not be disappointed! This place is like nowhere else you have ever been. Hole in the wall feel, but very traditional and almost historic feeling. Great for get togethers wih friends. Meals are family style.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 24, 2017

35 Wedding Anniversary

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Fun, Authentic, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Casual, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 2, 2017

It was as good as I remember all those years ago!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 30, 2017

This place has been around a long time, at least since late 80s, but I had not tried it before. We went in early so it was not very crowded. Food was decent but not "great." I had lasagna which was very salty. Another person had the pesto which was fresh and homemade tasting.

Tags: Fun, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Excellent authentic Italian/Sicilian food in an eclectic restaurant with excellent service. Would eat here again - highhly recommended!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 13, 2017

This was an eclectic Italian restaurant. Fun decor, awesome food, awesome staff and good prices. Will definitely dine here again.

Tags: Fun, Casual, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.