About Caffe Molise

55 West 100 South
Salt Lake City, UT 84101
View Larger Map

Caffe Molise is a full service restaurant featuring fresh Italian cuisine inspired by the Molise region of Italy. Enjoy dinner surrounded by local art in our dining room or choose a table on our delightful garden patio. Friday evenings feature live jazz with the John Flander's Trio. Caffe Molise is the perfect pre-theatre, opera, symphony, concert, or sporting event dining location and is conveniently located downtown at 55 West 100 South, directly across from Crossroads Mall. Caffe Molise is a DABC liquor licensee and offers wine, beer, and cocktails.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Sunday - Monday: 11:30am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm; Sunday Brunch: 10:00am - 2:00pm

Cross Street:
On 100 South between West Temple and Main Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(801) 364-8833

Website:
http://www.caffemolise.com/

Entertainment:
Live Jazz every Friday night with the John Flander's Jazz Trio.

Catering:
Fresh fish, grilled meats, pasta, salads, and decadent desserts. Catering for all events and budgets from weddings and Holiday parties to box lunches for corporate and pharmaceutical trainings.

Parking Details:
On street parking in front of the restaurant. Pay parking at the City Creek Center (across the street) and a pay lot to the East of the restaurant.

Public Transit:
Get off on the TRAX City Center stop and walk 1/2 block West on 100 South Street.

Executive Chef:
Fred Moesinger

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Mango Blueberry Breadpudding - Caffe Molise, Salt Lake City, UT
  • Tiramisu - Caffe Molise, Salt Lake City, UT
  • Polenta Con Funghi - Caffe Molise, Salt Lake City, UT
  • Polpette Di Melanzane - Caffe Molise, Salt Lake City, UT
  • bruschetta misto - Caffe Molise, Salt Lake City, UT
  • Involtini Di Pollo - Caffe Molise, Salt Lake City, UT
  • Cheese Board For Private Event - Caffe Molise, Salt Lake City, UT
  • Anacardi Tostata - Caffe Molise, Salt Lake City, UT
  • Mussel Appetizer - Caffe Molise, Salt Lake City, UT
Mango Blueberry Breadpudding - Caffe Molise, Salt Lake City, UT
Tiramisu - Caffe Molise, Salt Lake City, UT
Polenta Con Funghi - Caffe Molise, Salt Lake City, UT
Polpette Di Melanzane - Caffe Molise, Salt Lake City, UT
bruschetta misto - Caffe Molise, Salt Lake City, UT
Involtini Di Pollo - Caffe Molise, Salt Lake City, UT
Cheese Board For Private Event - Caffe Molise, Salt Lake City, UT
Anacardi Tostata - Caffe Molise, Salt Lake City, UT
Mussel Appetizer - Caffe Molise, Salt Lake City, UT

Private Dining

The spacious 6500 Square Foot Garden Patio is the perfect location for weddings, rehearsal dinners, birthday parties and other private events. For diners who prefer to sit inside, the restaurant features a semi-private dining room. A minimum food and beverage purchase is required.

Caffe Molise Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.2

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Outdoor Dining
Utah
Italian
Utah
Most Booked
Utah
3 More
Outdoor Dining
Salt Lake City
Italian
Salt Lake City
Most Booked
Salt Lake City
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

Great for Outdoor Dining (46)
Good for a Date (43)
Special Occasion (38)
See All
Romantic (33)
Notable Wine List (25)
Good for Groups (24)
Fit for Foodies (23)
Pre/post Theatre (22)
Casual (21)
Good for Anniversaries (20)
Authentic (20)
Good for Birthdays (17)
Neighborhood Gem (17)
Quiet Conversation (17)
Cozy (16)
Worth the Drive (16)
Creative Cuisine (15)
Business Meals (14)
Great for Lunch (11)
Comfort Food (10)
Outstanding Value (10)
Fun (10)
Modern Decor (8)
Hot Spot (7)
People Watching (7)
Live Music (7)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Kid-friendly (5)
Scenic View (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Healthy (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Historic (3)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Seasonal (2)
Family Style (2)
Quick Bite (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Spicy (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Fireplace (1)
Great Beer (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Sort By:
S
848 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great variety in the menu for a group t ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined 5 days ago

Great variety in the menu for a group that has vegan to paleo needs!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Caffe Molise never disappoints. As usua ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined 5 days ago

Caffe Molise never disappoints. As usual, the food and service was great. I always run into someone I know when I eat there. My only complaint is it tends to get chilly in the restaurant when the door opens on cold nights.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

First time and the food, service and pr ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on November 20, 2016

First time and the food, service and price were awesome. Great location for downtown events.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was ok. I had not been there si ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on November 19, 2016

The food was ok. I had not been there since they remodeled and it was just tiny and cozy. They still had some of the same food from them and I decided to get sometime had had in the past and it could have been the end of the night but the sauce was minimal and the chicken was dry. I do however will go back and try it again before I give up completely.

Tags: Historic, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Live Music, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

My wife and I dined at cafe Molise befor ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on November 19, 2016

My wife and I dined at cafe Molise before going to the theatre at Eccles. The location was perfect, food was very flavorful and reasonably priced. Service was friendly, but the restaurant was busy and it seemed there were more patrons for the amount of servers. I would recommend this restaurant to anyone, and everyone. Food is simply amazing.

Tags: Hot Spot, Live Music, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Good food, good service. A bit pricey. G ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Good food, good service. A bit pricey. Good location for pre-theatre.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Wanted to have a couple drinks before di ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Wanted to have a couple drinks before dinner was told fine by hostess, but waitress questioned our intent to eat when we ordered #2, citing Utah law, which we are well versed. Had to ask for wine we ordered with dinner after the entrees had been served. Ordered coffee with dessert (which was terrible) and never received. Overall very disappointing!

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

Went before a performance at the new Ecc ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on November 17, 2016

Went before a performance at the new Eccles theater. The service was solid and responsive, the food was excellent and overall a welcoming yet slightly sophisticated ambiance. Will certainly be returning to Caffe Molise!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The food, wine, and atmosphere were all ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on November 13, 2016

The food, wine, and atmosphere were all wonderful! We have eaten here many times and have never had a less than wonderful meal. Great spot to hit before heading to the Eccles Theater.

Tags: Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Modern Decor, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

I recently moved to Utah from the East c ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on November 13, 2016

I recently moved to Utah from the East coast and was thrilled to find a place that mirrors many of the Boston and New York City restaurants. The ambience here was amazing! The wine list, was great, but a bit too costly for a bottle of wine. My friends all chose to eat the Pappardelle with Sugo and Meatballs - great choice. The pasta tasted like it was actually homemade and the sauce was a good Bolognese sauce with a hint of nutmeg. I had the spiced-rubbed roasted pork dish called Arista - great choice. The pork was very moist and the mission fig sauce was just the right touch to complete this dish. I cannot wait to eat here again.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great restaurant with emphasis on rich f ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Great restaurant with emphasis on rich flavors rather than fussy presentation. Very reasonably priced for the complex sauces, homemade pastas and perfectly cooked meats. You will not be disappointed....unless you like your meals to be stacked 8 inches high and topped with a single chive or something....then you might be disappointed.

Tags: Authentic, Comfort Food, Live Music, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

My date found worms in his wine. SO gros ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on November 12, 2016

My date found worms in his wine. SO gross. The server just brought a new glass of the exact same wine, no sorry, no comp, nothing. Otherwise, food was mediocre, as was the atmosphere. The service was poor.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value2

Took a group of 20 to this wonderful res ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Took a group of 20 to this wonderful restaurant. The food was OUTSTANDING. Everyone absolutely gushed about the delicious food. Great wine selection and wonderful service. I had the house-made spicy sausage with small shell pasta and it was simply incredible.

This is an excellent restaurant.

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This restaurant provides excellent quali ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on November 12, 2016

This restaurant provides excellent quality and portion size for the money -- the best pre-theatre value in the downtown area. The decor is tasteful, warm, and upscale enough to qualify for a "date" dinner.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Waiter talked us into adding unnecessary ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Waiter talked us into adding unnecessary meat balls to an already meaty pasta dish so he could boost the tab and his tip. We never ate them. Food was okay but nothing to write home about. Décor was minimalist. mostly bare walls, ceiling and floors with blond tables and chairs pretty close together and no table cloths or decoration on tables. No plants. Lighting slightly too bright. They need to drop a few tables and put in some type of dividers, plants, etc. to improve the ambiance. Only good thing about it was that it was convenient to the concert hall.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

Excellent service and unique menu. Pasta ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Excellent service and unique menu. Pasta dishes were very tasty and portions were just right. Tiramisu is a superb dessert. Blaine, our waiter, was personable and knowledgeable about the menu without being obtrusive. Overall an excellent dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I enjoyed the food especially and the se ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on November 11, 2016

I enjoyed the food especially and the service was attentive without being overbearing.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent wait staff. Our server provid ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Excellent wait staff. Our server provided recommendations that were welcomed & did not disappoint. We Caffe Molise for our anniversary dinner prior to seeing Madame Butterfly at the Capitol Theatre. The entrees, desserts, wine & coffee were very well-prepared & presented.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Casual, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Happy Hour, Fun, Hot Spot, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, People Watching, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

This is a restaurant for grown-ups offer ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on November 7, 2016

This is a restaurant for grown-ups offering solid, if not breathtaking Italian fare. I've never had a bad meal here. That said, the place could benefit from minor sprucing up. There haven't been new offerings on the menu in what seems like ages, and I really could do without those insipid salads that accompany every entrée. The complimentary bread is a nice touch, but I'd prefer something more rustic to the dinner rolls that look like they've been sourced from Costco. The desserts are fantastic, and the servers are always efficient and wonderful.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Can't tell you how nice they were, you j ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Can't tell you how nice they were, you just have to experience the service. They were great

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

We enjoyed a very good dinner. The food ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 4, 2016

We enjoyed a very good dinner. The food was excellent and the service attentive. The ambiance was warm and welcoming. We'll be back.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

I don't get to come here as often as I w ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on November 3, 2016

I don't get to come here as often as I wish, but I am never ever disappointed when I do! The food is amazing and the atmosphere is great!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Outstanding Value, Authentic, Romantic, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always have a good experience when at Ca ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on November 2, 2016

Always have a good experience when at Caffe Molise, this business lunch was no exception.

Tags: Comfort Food, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food, wine, and ambience. Bes ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Excellent food, wine, and ambience. Best wait staff I've had in years. Very prompt, yet not overbearing. Delicious, yet small menu. Glad to see it had a small menu, because they make those dishes the right way. 9.9/10

Tags: Comfort Food, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Cafe Molise is a wonderful little gem do ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Cafe Molise is a wonderful little gem downtown. We come here before we go to the Utah Symphony at Abravanel Hall. The location in perfect - only a block away. Small intimate setting and wonderful Italian food - we always find something tasty and delicious to eat. Will return..

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

This was my first time coming here and t ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on October 26, 2016

This was my first time coming here and the food was great. The service was pretty good also. They were very busy at the time and food came in good time.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Randomly found this little gem while bro ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 26, 2016

Randomly found this little gem while browsing Italian restaurants on open table app and we are sure glad we did. Food was wonderful and service was friendly. I am sure we will be back again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

We had a great waitress.The food was ama ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on October 21, 2016

We had a great waitress.The food was amazing and the prices were reasonable.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great service and the food was delicious ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Great service and the food was delicious. We have been many times and are never disappointed.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Cozy, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, People Watching, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Afternoon Coffee, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

As always when I have dinner at Caffe Mo ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on October 19, 2016

As always when I have dinner at Caffe Molise the food is very good and service is excellent. I must say that this past Tuesday they ran out of whipped butter. Still being from Wisconsin I had to have butter which they brought to the table. I would recommend this restaurant to anyone.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

we were seated in front but found the ro ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on October 16, 2016

we were seated in front but found the room comfortable and also noticed the sound level was keyed down due to acoustic panels on the walls and ceiling. Conversation was very easy despite a full room.

We ordered the Halibut and the Pepperedelle w meat sauce. The fish was cooked perfectly with the sauce having a well rounded flavor. The pepperedelle was cooked very nicely ,the sauce being of a consistency that it stayed with the pasta while the well cooked and shredded pork was dispersed evenly. The sauce flavor was a bit flat and could have been layered a bit better with a more prominent herb and a touch of red wine.

The waiter and staff were friendly , helpful and always available

The fish was overpriced for the portion size but the pasta dish was a very good value.

It would be an easy decision to return here for another dinner.

Tags: Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Nice Salt Lake restaurant with excellent ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Nice Salt Lake restaurant with excellent service and prompt seating. Great location and fairly priced for the market. Food was very good. Wanted to give this review a 4.5 but that was not possible!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Cafe Molise features authentic Italian c ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Cafe Molise features authentic Italian cuisine. I had pappardelle, which was good, but the overall dining experience is less than satisfactory. When you walk in the restaurant, I was met by hostessing frowning at computer screens one of whom looked up long enough to ask "do you have a reservation?" When I gave my name, she stared at the computer quite some time, brow furrowed, before actually acknowledging I was in the system. I was then brusquely escorted into another room, with stripped down, minimalist decor, where I was left waiting for too long before a harried waitress could find the time to take my order. The waitress checked back with me quite often after I got the food but with little personal warmth. I was left with the feeling that, while the chef had real ability, the people that comprise the restaurant staff had little interest in making their patrons feel welcome or comfortable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

Favorite place to go in Downtown Salt la ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Favorite place to go in Downtown Salt lake. Perfect date night

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Good for a Date, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Pasta was just right. Marinara sauce no ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 13, 2016

Pasta was just right. Marinara sauce not too tomatoey. Meatballs seasoned nicely. Serving size appropriate. Dinner rolls were delicious. All just like I like it.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

The service was absolutely great! Our se ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on October 10, 2016

The service was absolutely great! Our server provided fantastic recommendations and was very kind and personable. Checked in with our table frequent enough to keep us in mind without being rushed or hassled. It was my friend's birthday and they were so kind to celebrate it with dessert even upon closing, though we were not expecting it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Been here many times and the food and at ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Been here many times and the food and atmosphere are always consistent. We always enjoy our meal.

Tags: Cozy, Great for Lunch, Authentic, Historic, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

This restaurant came highly recommended, ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on October 7, 2016

This restaurant came highly recommended, and I'm so glad that we went with it! I started out with reservations for 15 conference goers, but it soon blossomed into 20. The restaurant was VERY accommodating, and there were no issues, and the restaurant accommodated all of us with our need for individual receipts (business reimbursements). The food was excellent, the service superb. Everyone commented on how excellent the food was, and the bread was amazing! Go. You won't be disappointed.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Caffe Molise is consistently great. We o ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on October 6, 2016

Caffe Molise is consistently great. We often stop in there for dinner after flying in to Salt Lake City as they are open on Sundays. In the Summer the outdoor patio is very nice--a couple friends from out-of-state commented once that it felt like they were dining in Italy! The food is always fresh, great fish, a solid wine list and usually good service.

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

I was there with a group of 12 high scho ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on October 1, 2016

I was there with a group of 12 high school students for a dance and it was the best night we every had. The dinner was increadible and the people were awesome. And it wasn't too expensive. Definitely a great place for a date or just a nice night out for dinner.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Hot Spot, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Family Style, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Outstanding Value, People Watching, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.