Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.13mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.13mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi

About Caffe Molise

Caffe Molise is a full service restaurant featuring fresh Italian cuisine inspired by the Molise region of Italy. Enjoy dinner surrounded by local art in our dining room or choose a table on our delightful garden patio. Friday evenings feature live jazz with the John Flander's Trio. Caffe Molise is the perfect pre-theatre, opera, symphony, concert, or sporting event dining location and is conveniently located downtown at 55 West 100 South, directly across from Crossroads Mall. Caffe Molise is a DABC liquor licensee and offers wine, beer, and cocktails.

55 West 100 South
Salt Lake City, UT 84101
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Sunday - Monday: 11:30am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm;

Cross Street:
On 100 South between West Temple and Main Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(801) 364-8833

Website:
http://www.caffemolise.com/

Entertainment:
Live Jazz every Friday night with the John Flander's Jazz Trio.

Catering:
Fresh fish, grilled meats, pasta, salads, and decadent desserts. Catering for all events and budgets from weddings and Holiday parties to box lunches for corporate and pharmaceutical trainings.

Parking Details:
On street parking in front of the restaurant. Pay parking at the City Creek Center (across the street) and a pay lot to the East of the restaurant.

Public Transit:
Get off on the TRAX City Center stop and walk 1/2 block West on 100 South Street.

Executive Chef:
Fred Moesinger

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

The spacious 6500 Square Foot Garden Patio is the perfect location for weddings, rehearsal dinners, birthday parties and other private events. For diners who prefer to sit inside, the restaurant features a semi-private dining room. A minimum food and beverage purchase is required.

Caffe Molise Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Outdoor Dining (69)
Good for a Date (63)
Special Occasion (45)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (45)
Pre/post Theatre (42)
Fit for Foodies (34)
Casual (33)
Good for Birthdays (32)
Good for Groups (32)
Romantic (32)
Neighborhood Gem (31)
Business Meals (30)
Creative Cuisine (30)
Great for Lunch (27)
Notable Wine List (23)
Cozy (22)
Quiet Conversation (22)
Worth the Drive (20)
Authentic (19)
Good Vegetarian Options (13)
Comfort Food (12)
Fun (12)
Local Ingredients (11)
Sunday Lunch (10)
Live Music (10)
Hot Spot (9)
Disabled Access (7)
Tasting Menu (7)
Great Beer (6)
Afternoon Coffee (5)
Gluten Free Options (5)
People Watching (5)
Scenic View (5)
Great for Brunch (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Seasonal (4)
Late-night Find (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Tapas (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
1138 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined on September 13, 2017

Food in atmosphere excellent server lack personality

Tags: Late-night Find, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
·Dined on September 12, 2017

Food was excellent as well as service. I enjoyed the Gnocci. Loved it!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 11, 2017

I came to Salt Lake for my 30th birthday and wanted to treat myself to a nice meal. Loved the atmosphere; the patio is surrounded by Ivy and the tables are lit by cafe lights. The food was incredible. The ambience and the menu were top notch, I would definitely come back ! Would make a great place for a special occasion, date, wedding, birthday, etc. Will definitely return the next time I'm in SLC !

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Fantastic evening dinner on the patio with great service, delicious food and tasty vino reasonably priced.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Food is so delicious and great ambiance. We came here after the dōTERRA convention. Highly recommend!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, People Watching, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Took a little long to get initial drink order. Server was friendly but just didn't seem happy to be at work as was the overall feeling I got there. No one was really rude but no one was really friendly either. We weren't welcomed by the hostess or by the server. The hostess did thank us and wish us a good evening as we left. My business just didn't overall feel appreciated.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 30, 2017

We were 8! SLC for one night and decided to try Caffe Molise because it was close to our hotel. I had scampi diavolo which was good but not hot. My wife was pleased with her salmon. We ate on the patio.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on August 29, 2017

Caffe Molise continues to be a consistently good restaurant year after year with a very nice patio and outdoor eating in the heart of downtown Salt lake City. It's also open Sundays--a perfect reentry place to eat after flying back into Utah on a Sunday afternoon. The menu is creative and the ambience welcoming. I overheard people the other night saying that they felt like they could have been in San Francisco--sitting out on the patio, with its ample pool and understated yet melodic waterfalls, a glass of wine and great food...we agreed!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on August 29, 2017

Nice, quaint little place. Loved the food and atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on August 27, 2017

The food is fabulous and the staff is always pleasant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 26, 2017

For such a renown restaurant, I had high expectations, where were not met. I ordered the involtini di pollo, which arrived cold, looked like it had set out for a while and contained bones. I was very disappointed. On the up side, the staff handled the situation very well, and the manager came over right away. She offered to comp my meal and asked what else they could get me. The rest of the meal was just average. I'll try them again, because I want to like this place. The ambiance outside was quite lovely.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Friday night was crowded. A very large party was being served which added to noise factor. The fact that we had to ask 4 different waitstaff to replenish one Diet Coke put a damper on our dinner and this evaluation. The food was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

 
·Dined on August 26, 2017

We just happened along to it but what caught our eye was the patio. We went back to the hotel and made reservations for that evening. I've already recommended it to others! Waiter was fantastic!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 19, 2017

Mozzarella and tomato appetizer was delicious. The chicken tasted burnt.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value3

 
·Dined on August 19, 2017

Beautiful outside setting, very nice & attentive staff!! Looking forward to going back!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 18, 2017

Excellent food, reasonable priced

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
·Dined on August 15, 2017

Love this place ! Food was delicious , outside seating amazing. One of my favorites !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on August 14, 2017

We have had this particular server a few times. No personality! Not very attentive! It was 2:30 on a Monday, so not very busy. Wrong dish was brought out. I was going to keep it and eat it anyway but discovered a hair. I had them make me the dish that I originally ordered. It was delicious as usual. No one really seemed to care or apologize for the problem. Not really the best experience for our anniversary.

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 14, 2017

We were in Salt Lake City for one night and we were looking for a place to celebrate my daughter's birthday. The place looked nice so we tried it. The waiter was very stoic, but did his job. I indicated that we were coming to celebrate a birthday, but until I asked them to go and check the note on my reservation, they made no mention of the birthday.
Portions were a bit small for the price, and the desserts were a bit disappointing.
It was a nice night and we sat outside, which made up for the other shortcomings.
Not a bad place for dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
·Dined on August 13, 2017

Food is excellent. Server and other staff are friendly and still professional. Service was a little slow and the staff seemed overwhelmed.

I'm grateful that you take reservations.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Tasting Menu, Disabled Access, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Loved sitting on the patio on a summer's night! The service was excellent, food was delicious and great vibe for getting together with friends.

Tags: Cozy, Comfort Food, Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Cafe Molise is in the perfect location if you're heading to the theater. We really enjoyed the outdoor patio. The service was very good but the food was sub par. It was very basic Italian food, nothing to set it apart from other mainstream Italian restaurants. That was very disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
·Dined on August 12, 2017

We enjoyed our meal at Caffé Molise immensely. We were in town for a show at the Eccles Theater and we were looking for a nice, unique place to have dinner. Caffé Molise was a perfect choice. We sat out on the patio and enjoyed the summer evening while listening to a jazz trio that was playing. Our server, Dillion, was attentive without being pushy. We were able to relax & enjoy our meal. The food was excellent. Well prepared, well seasoned & the price was reasonable. We had a smooth, sweet Moscato to drink. We had the Bruschetta appetizer which is almost a meal by itself. My husband had the Penné do Caprino & I had the Polpetta do Melanzane (eggplant "meatballs"). We barely managed to squeeze in dessert but I had read several reviews that said the Tiramisu was not to be missed & they were right. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend Caffé Molise for a date night or special occasion!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Food was good for the caliber of resturaunt. Service was slow, especially for the amount of bustle.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
·Dined on August 11, 2017

Loved this place, which combined a quiet and peaceful atmosphere with some of the best Italian food I have ever had. I'll definitely be back.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 11, 2017

Eight of us enjoyed a great dinner there. Our server, Alyssa, was great! The menu options and specials suited everyone in our party. We got both of the appetizer specials and they were really good. Everyone cleaned their plates so that was a good sign.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Great Beer, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on August 10, 2017

Has to be the best patio dining downtown! Very convenient for dinner before a show at the Eccles.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 10, 2017

Enjoyed everything....food, service and no waiting!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 8, 2017

Salmon, pasta and asparagus overcooked. Lots of flies outside. My wife's eggplant meatballs were good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on August 8, 2017

If you like to be rushed through your meal you will probably like this restaurant. We weren't close to finishing our salad when the entree was placed in front of us. We had a 5:45 PM reservation on a Tuesday. The dessert, Creme Brulee was just ok. The Gnocchi was just ok.
The salad was good. Ate outside which was very nice. Probably never return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on August 8, 2017

Great food. Solid service, and a easy downtown location - made my business lunch a winner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Great find! This was our first time eating here. We searched for something near the Eccles Theater and chose Caffe Molise based on their location and menus on Open Table - we couldn't have been happier with the selection. The food was very good and the service was outstanding! Our waitress, Mollie, was quick and attentive. She asked us if we were going to the theater then insured that we could enjoy our drinks, appetizers, salads and main course and still leave with plenty of time to walk to the theater. We noticed the entire wait staff was working hard. They were quick to spot and handle a need anywhere in the restaurant. We will dine at Caffe Molise again and recommend it to our friends.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Caffe Molise consistently provides great food and great service. The food is delicious and not overly expensive for what you get. The servers are attentive and friendly , and the patio dining is nice (as long as it's not too hot outside : ))
We will definitely go back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 6, 2017

We loved the food! Our waiter wasn't really attentitive though which was a bummer since we were there to celebrate our 8 year anniversary. I know it was very busy but there were few times I felt like he was purposely avoiding our table! 🙁 But the delicious lasagne made up for it! My hubby loved the spicy itallian sausage. I wanted to try their dessert but since our server was being a stinker. I didn't want to deal with trying to catch his attention. I still plan on coming here again just hoping we don't get the same waiter.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
·Dined on August 6, 2017

The food and the atmosphere was great. The service needs to be a little more attentive maybe start off with bringing the rolls out in the very beginning when the server first comes over.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Seasonal, Romantic, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Everything was great and I would definitely come back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Excellent food, helpful wait staff, convenient location, and great Friday evening live jazz.

Tags: Live Music, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on August 5, 2017

My dish was good with housemade pasta and bolagnese type sauce. My husband's pasta was swimming in a watery sauce. The salad was acceptable as was the roll. However charging an additional $.95 per roll is crazy. The wait staff was attentive. And the addition of al fresco live music was enjoyable. There were more pluses than minuses but it wasn't a home run.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on August 4, 2017

Had dinner before going to theatre. Our waitress asked if we were going somewhere and we told her the theater. She was great to get our food in a timely manner so we could enjoy our food before leaving for play. Food was good.

Tags: Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 4, 2017

This was the second time here and the first time blew my socks off! I had a chefs special which was some kind of dumpling dish which melted in my mouth and never got old. This time I ended up getting the pasta which was good, but didn't leave me with the same satisfaction.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.