About Caffe Molise

55 West 100 South
Salt Lake City, UT 84101
View Larger Map

Caffe Molise is a full service restaurant featuring fresh Italian cuisine inspired by the Molise region of Italy. Enjoy dinner surrounded by local art in our dining room or choose a table on our delightful garden patio. Friday evenings feature live jazz with the John Flander's Trio. Caffe Molise is the perfect pre-theatre, opera, symphony, concert, or sporting event dining location and is conveniently located downtown at 55 West 100 South, directly across from Crossroads Mall. Caffe Molise is a DABC liquor licensee and offers wine, beer, and cocktails.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Sunday - Monday: 11:30am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm; Sunday Brunch: 10:00am - 2:00pm

Cross Street:
On 100 South between West Temple and Main Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(801) 364-8833

Website:
http://www.caffemolise.com/

Entertainment:
Live Jazz every Friday night with the John Flander's Jazz Trio.

Catering:
Fresh fish, grilled meats, pasta, salads, and decadent desserts. Catering for all events and budgets from weddings and Holiday parties to box lunches for corporate and pharmaceutical trainings.

Parking Details:
On street parking in front of the restaurant. Pay parking at the City Creek Center (across the street) and a pay lot to the East of the restaurant.

Public Transit:
Get off on the TRAX City Center stop and walk 1/2 block West on 100 South Street.

Executive Chef:
Fred Moesinger

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Mango Blueberry Breadpudding
  • Involtini Di Pollo
  • Polenta Con Funghi
  • bruschetta misto
  • Tiramisu
  • Polpette Di Melanzane
  • Cheese Board For Private Event
  • Anacardi Tostata
  • Mussel Appetizer
Mango Blueberry Breadpudding
Involtini Di Pollo
Polenta Con Funghi
bruschetta misto
Tiramisu
Polpette Di Melanzane
Cheese Board For Private Event
Anacardi Tostata
Mussel Appetizer

Private Dining

The spacious 6500 Square Foot Garden Patio is the perfect location for weddings, rehearsal dinners, birthday parties and other private events. For diners who prefer to sit inside, the restaurant features a semi-private dining room. A minimum food and beverage purchase is required.

Caffe Molise Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Value
Utah
Italian
Utah
Most Booked
Utah
3 More
Best Value
Salt Lake City
Italian
Salt Lake City
Most Booked
Salt Lake City
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

fit for foodies (56)
great for outdoor dining (56)
special occasion (50)
See All
neighborhood gem (43)
good for groups (37)
romantic (34)
notable wine list (27)
great for lunch (27)
hot spot (13)
great for brunch (11)
late-night find (8)
scenic view (7)
kid-friendly (6)
vibrant bar scene (3)
Sort By:
Newest
746 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ashley our server was fantastic and on t ...

Dined 5 days ago

Ashley our server was fantastic and on top of everything, and the ancillary wait staff were all very accommodating filling waters and clearing plates etc., right away. The timing for everything was excellent, it was very relaxing out on the patio and I appreciated having reservations. The outside patio is just gorgeous and is spaced out well so as to enjoy conversations and not feel crowded, nor was it too loud. It was a very elegant meal, my friends and I went all-out and tried each others' dishes, desserts, and the wine was fabulous and paired well. We were never rushed and stayed as long as we were comfortable to enjoy the scene, and it was just perfect on a warm summer night. I look forward to returning and will tell everyone about it; especially anyone who enjoys food as much as I do! Definitely a foodies' paradise.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was excellent and the service s ...

Dined 5 days ago

The food was excellent and the service superb! We had a party of 12 and everyone enjoyed the evening!

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We hold our annual team dinner here ever ...

Dined 6 days ago

We hold our annual team dinner here every year! Wouldn't think of switching when we have the best!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience2
service5
value3

Overall the experience was great. I just ...

Dined on June 21, 2016

Overall the experience was great. I just have two complaints, I ordered the fish of the day which was the salmon. It had excellent flavor but was over cooked, and I felt for $30 it should have been just the right texture and flavor. In general though the plate all together was delicious. Second the amount of flys in the place was horrendous, when im paying $124 for my fine dining experience I don't like consistently brushing away flys or looking up and seeing flys (and this was inside not out) . Something definitely needs to be done to get the bug situation under control. I don't care if there are fly papers placed somewhere or the door to the outside needs to be kept shut but it definitely doesn't enhance my dining experience at a place like this. Maybe at a place where I'm not paying $15 or more a plate it wouldn't be as much of a complaint.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

First time visiting Caffe Molise. It wa ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

First time visiting Caffe Molise. It was a recommendation from my son. My wife and I were having dinner with the president of the company I work for. Ate outside. Atmosphere was great, weather was great. All parties enjoyed their food. Service was outstanding. Will definitely go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent atmosphere, great food, attent ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Excellent atmosphere, great food, attentive server. Can't wait to return and try something new from the menu.

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience3
service3

Something different and healthier than ...

Dined on June 10, 2016

Something different and healthier than the ordinary food. Great tea chooses.

food5
ambience4
service1
value3

delicious food, laid-back outdoor setting

Dined on June 9, 2016

This was my third time at Caffe Molise -- the first two times both food and service were fantastic. On this night they were really understaffed and it took a long time for just about everything -- to get seated (despite reservations), for the server to take our orders and check in on us, for us to get the check . . . the food was still outstanding, and I look forward to giving this place another chance and eating here again next time I am in town.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Al Fresco

Dined on May 31, 2016

What a gem of a location! Ate outdoors at 72 degrees. No bugs. Good wine list.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food on a beautiful patio! Waiter ...

vip
Dined on May 28, 2016

Great food on a beautiful patio! Waiter was excellent and very attentive!

food2
ambience3
service4
value1

Very limited, unimaginative menu. Rolls ...

Dined on May 28, 2016

Very limited, unimaginative menu. Rolls were not fully baked, doughy. Location is the best part, walking distance to symphony.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is my daughter's favorite restauran ...

Dined on May 26, 2016

This is my daughter's favorite restaurant in Salt Lake City!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great Food Great Waitress Great Atmosphere

Dined on May 23, 2016

We were in town for work and it happened to be our 35th Wedding Anniversary so we wanted to eat at a nice place. This was just what we were looking for the Ravioli Con Zucca was awesome and our Pollo Marsala and Beef Shoulder Special were Great. I would recommend anyone to try this place.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great Waiter!

Dined on May 21, 2016

Paul was the best and recommended an excellent wine to go with my dinner.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The food and the service were great, ver ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

The food and the service were great, very high class. In fact, I've never experienced a salad that melts together in my mouth like Molise has done. The indoor walls are brick with several paintings, and so sounds are amplified. My wife and I were there for our 10th anniversary, and we had a good time. It was very loud however, and I could only hear a portion of what my wife was saying in conversation, so that was a bit frustrating. All in all, this Cafe deserves a good review. Great for a friend's night with a group, but I'd not recommend it for a romantic dinner, unless you are in the deaf population, (I'm not joking, my ASL friends and family would LOVE it here), as communication can be challenging.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

I travel to Salt Lake 6 or 7 times a yea ...

vip
Dined on May 13, 2016

I travel to Salt Lake 6 or 7 times a year and always try to eat here. Very reasonable and great food.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

First time here

Dined on May 13, 2016

We had the butternut squash ravioli, scampi pasta, steak and creme brûlée. Thought it was all great our server was great and happy, we will go back again.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food, good atmosphere

Dined on May 8, 2016

Took my mother here for Mother's Day. Great Italian food, comparable to Canella's but at a lower price point. I had the Parpadelle al Sugo and my mother had the chicken artichoke dish, the name is escaping me, both of which were outstanding. Service was the most attentive I've experienced other than the most high end dining.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect date night

Dined on May 8, 2016

We had amazing food and a fantastic experience! Our server was friendly and efficient, and each course was delivered in great timing.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing Italian food. Enjoyed gnocchi wi ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Amazing Italian food. Enjoyed gnocchi with sausage and the pork medallions with fig compote. Great location in Salt Lake City across from City Creek. Will be visiting again. Looking forward to trying the dessert menu.

food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Great Atmosphere

Dined on May 8, 2016

Good Food, Moderately priced . Service staff was very friendly and interactive. Walking distance from City Creek. I would definitely recommend

Tags: great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Lovely and Delicious

Dined on May 4, 2016

Dinner for twelve on a Tuesday night during a conference. Location was very convenient to the convention center. Almost everyone had the scallops as an appetizer, they were perfectly done and the sauce was delicious. I had the gnocchi which was delicious,?all the other dishes looked great! The tables were small and we were all able to converse. It was a nice atmosphere, the food was great and the waitstaff was attentive. Thanks! If I'm ever back in salt lake I will be there again.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Excellent

vip
Dined on May 1, 2016

Great meal for our group of 15. Service was efficient and friendly but not rushed. I had the gnocchi which was great, but no one had anything but raves for their meals overall.

Tags: good for groups, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

So Good!

Dined on April 30, 2016

Great Food! Great Wine List! The most awesome desserts! A must go place to eat a great authentic Italian dining experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was great! Wine selections were fa ...

Dined on April 17, 2016

Food was great! Wine selections were fantastic! Service was even better! Thank you!

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service5

A very nice bistro located near the Marr ...

Dined on April 17, 2016

A very nice bistro located near the Marriott City Creek. Wonderful food, great service. I have a convention I attend here each year and a dinner at Cafe Molise is a "must do".

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My favorite fine food restaurant in Salt Lake City

Dined on April 16, 2016

I absolutely love this restaurant and have to go there when in Salt Lake City. I always tend to order the butternut squash ravioli and would love to branch and order something new. It is so great though I have to order it every time I go. I take special business guests here when at any business event. It is perfect for that. I highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food2
ambience1
service1

The upcharges for something as simple as ...

Dined on April 15, 2016

The upcharges for something as simple as a dinner is lame. Include it in the price of the entree, something less tacky. I prefer the appropriate wine glass to accompany the wine, not Libby from the restaurant supply store. The decor is so grandma 1990, dusty fake plants, artwork from thrift stores, and creaky seating. The noise, was simply annoying. We sat around the median wall of the swinging doors to the kitchen and the whomp is so loud we thought there were movers upstairs. I had not been here before and was expecting an upscale Italian eatery, but I was disappointed. The food was fine. I won't be back. The staff are friendly, but I'll keep looking for the new Fresco.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding

vip
Dined on April 8, 2016

First time date night here. Saw some negative reviews, but tried it anyway. It was the best dining choice in a long time. Great value for the money. Beef and chicken entrees were some of the best food that we have found anywhere. We will definitely return and recommend the place to friends.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Love at first sight

Dined on April 2, 2016

Small, local, intimate, and romantic. Cafe Molise was perfect for our weekend away. It was slightly noisy due to the traveling crowds for LDS general Conference but it was perfect either way. The food was fresh and our servers knowledge of the wine list was fantastic. My wife and I both found new wines to love. The pace was very good but if you skip the starter you may wait just a moment. I recommend the Pollo Marsala. We loved it and my wife raves to all of her friends. The review I read said there was vallet parking but the vallet said he was working for the Japanese bistro next door. He still helped us out though. City creek parking is right there so parking isn't an issue anyway.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

It was ok

Dined on April 2, 2016

The food was oveover priced for what you get.$35 for sea bass with bones in it is unacceptable

Tags: good for groups
food4
ambience5
service5

Delicious food, wonderful service and lo ...

Dined on March 30, 2016

Delicious food, wonderful service and lovely art.

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

A Personal Favorite

Dined on March 26, 2016

I love this restaurant, the food is great and the 10$ corking fee is worth it to bring in your own bottle of wine. Food is great, to some it's a little over priced, but overall worth it because it's a nicer dining experience.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Very good food

Dined on March 22, 2016

I have been a patron of Caffe Molise within a year or so of their opening. The food is always consistently very good. They should expand their bar offerings. I am a single malt scotch fan, specifically, Glenlivet. Unfortunately, they only carry McCallan, which I do not drink. I doubt that it would be prohibitively expensive for them to expand their offerings by a bit.

Tags: fit for foodies
food4
ambience5
service5

Delicious wine and food. Great service. ...

Dined on March 21, 2016

Delicious wine and food. Great service. Not inspiring, but very good.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Years of excellence

Dined on March 20, 2016

We have been going to Cafe Molise since they opened...still in our top 5!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

We absolutely loved this place. Great lo ...

Dined on March 20, 2016

We absolutely loved this place. Great location, reasonable price for exceptional food and a great ambiance. I will be coming back here again for sure.

food5
ambience5
service5

This is the second time we have dined he ...

vip
Dined on March 20, 2016

This is the second time we have dined here. The service was great and our server very patient with us. We asked her to delay bringing out apps and entrees so we could dine at a slower pace, keeping in mind the need for her to turn the table. (We were there early, so this was not a problem) The pastas we ordered were great as usual, and also the pork tenderloin was fantastic! Good portion sizes too. I noticed that all the servers helped each other clear tables, bring food out, take away plates, fill water glasses, etc. Makes things flow smoothly. Dine here, you won't be disappointed.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our first time

Dined on March 20, 2016

We love good quality, different food and Caffe Molise fit the bill! Delicious Italian food with great flavor profiles. We will definitely go again.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5

Food, as always, was amazing. Courteous ...

Dined on March 19, 2016

Food, as always, was amazing. Courteous staff. Gnocchi was great, though a bit soft this time. Probably just an off night... Definitely try it.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.