Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.13mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.13mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi

About Caffe Molise

Caffe Molise is a full service restaurant featuring fresh Italian cuisine inspired by the Molise region of Italy. Enjoy dinner surrounded by local art in our dining room or choose a table on our delightful garden patio. Friday evenings feature live jazz with the John Flander's Trio. Caffe Molise is the perfect pre-theatre, opera, symphony, concert, or sporting event dining location and is conveniently located downtown at 55 West 100 South, directly across from Crossroads Mall. Caffe Molise is a DABC liquor licensee and offers wine, beer, and cocktails.

55 West 100 South
Salt Lake City, UT 84101
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Sunday - Monday: 11:30am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm;

Cross Street:
On 100 South between West Temple and Main Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(801) 364-8833

Website:
http://www.caffemolise.com/

Entertainment:
Live Jazz every Friday night with the John Flander's Jazz Trio.

Catering:
Fresh fish, grilled meats, pasta, salads, and decadent desserts. Catering for all events and budgets from weddings and Holiday parties to box lunches for corporate and pharmaceutical trainings.

Parking Details:
On street parking in front of the restaurant. Pay parking at the City Creek Center (across the street) and a pay lot to the East of the restaurant.

Public Transit:
Get off on the TRAX City Center stop and walk 1/2 block West on 100 South Street.

Executive Chef:
Fred Moesinger

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

The spacious 6500 Square Foot Garden Patio is the perfect location for weddings, rehearsal dinners, birthday parties and other private events. For diners who prefer to sit inside, the restaurant features a semi-private dining room. A minimum food and beverage purchase is required.

Caffe Molise Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.3

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Outdoor Dining (68)
Good for a Date (64)
Special Occasion (51)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (45)
Pre/post Theatre (42)
Casual (38)
Romantic (37)
Business Meals (37)
Fit for Foodies (36)
Neighborhood Gem (35)
Good for Birthdays (35)
Creative Cuisine (33)
Good for Groups (32)
Great for Lunch (24)
Quiet Conversation (22)
Authentic (22)
Notable Wine List (21)
Worth the Drive (20)
Cozy (18)
Fun (15)
Comfort Food (14)
Sunday Lunch (13)
Live Music (13)
Healthy (12)
Local Ingredients (10)
Hot Spot (9)
Disabled Access (7)
Good Vegetarian Options (7)
Tasting Menu (7)
Scenic View (6)
Great for Brunch (6)
Happy Hour (5)
Family Style (5)
Kid-friendly (5)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Modern Decor (4)
People Watching (4)
Great Beer (4)
Historic (3)
Seasonal (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Vegan (2)
Private Room (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Tapas (1)
Organic (1)
Fireplace (1)
Sort By:
S
1086 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined 4 days ago

My Niece loves this place and she cries when she drinks the Italian Soda because "It is the best she has ever tasted!" Our service was excellent.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

 
·Dined 7 days ago

My wife and I knew Caffe Molise had great reviews and our actual experience exceeded our expectations! It instantly became one of our favorite restaurants and we will certainly be going back in the near future.

Tags: Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Fun, Casual, Good for a Date, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Delicious food and good service-- our plates were delivered in two rounds (large group) because of a mixup in the kitchen, but the waiter handled it very professionally. The patio is gorgeous and a can't-miss. We had a change to our reservation and they were kind enough to accommodate us rather quickly. Will definitely be coming back for a romantic date night.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 15, 2017

If the weather permits, definitely do outdoor seating. Very nice ambience coupled with great food.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on July 12, 2017

Came here with some work friends after a conference. Loved the patio outside. The sweet potato ravioli was delicious. The servers must have beed a bit busy because I had to ask for a box 3 times, but otherwise it was awesome.

Tags: Romantic, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on July 12, 2017

We went to Caffe Molise for our monthly Red Hat Dinner. The service was amazing, we all felt like queens! The food was amazing and the waiter helped us pick a delicious wine or cocktail to enhance our meal. The atmosphere was so delightful on the back porch. Love love loved it. Will definitely come back.

Tags: Cozy, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Disabled Access, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Kid-friendly, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on July 12, 2017

Wow! Excellent from beginning to end. If possible make reservations unless you arrive during a slow business hour.

We started with the Polenta Con Funghi. Wonderfully delightful dish. The goat chese was my favorite part.

We moved from that to Polpette Di Melanzane. The zucchini meatballs were "on steroid" fabulous! I don't know how they can make a squash so palatable; it's more than magical.

Dessert was sinfully rich, sensuous, and daring; chocolate hazelnut mousse cake. Yikes-o-licious!

Wait dtaff very competent, attentive, and professional. Restroom was very clean, floors were spotless.

This is a true Salt Lake jewel.

Tags: Disabled Access, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Authentic, Healthy, Fun, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 11, 2017

Food and service was great. Outdoor seating is nice and enjoyable.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on July 11, 2017

Café Molise never disappoints, consistently great and always delicious! I love the patio in the evening.

Tags: Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (El Paso)·Dined on July 10, 2017

Service was great but Food was only mediocre. Italian restaurant that happened to be "out of Parmesan cheese" at 7pm on a Monday night! Asiago cheese was substituted for Parmesan and the server told me "it is the same". Pasta was firm and only warm. Glass was broken immediately next to me and glass hit my leg and some glass landed on our table. There was no visit by a manager to see if everything was ok although a waiter walking by apologized. No injuries but it would have been appropriate for our table to have been cleared and remains food and drink been replaced.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on July 8, 2017

My boyfriend and I went for a romantic birthday dinner. The food was AMAZING! Had the salmon and beef specials. The gorgonzola cream and fig compote with the beef was to die for! The tiramisu was excellent as well! Paul, our server, was very professional, attentive and friendly to new SLC residents. We sat outside in the garden area, but unfortunately there was a large, loud party next to us, and a storm whipped up, so we moved inside. But Paul was very gracious at our request to move inside before the rain even started. This will definitely be a return spot for future special occasions!

Tags: Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on July 3, 2017

Met friends.... very nice patio, service and great food

Tags: Good for Groups, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 2, 2017

We found the restaurant to be good to very good, but perhaps not to our expectations as stated by the TripAdvisor reviews. Perhaps this could be attributed to our choices as we were very focused/interested to enjoy pasta versus other menu and "special" items which looked and smelled terrific. We would go back, but perhaps would try the other Italian options in the city prior.

Tags: Business Meals, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 2, 2017

My boyfriend and I went on a date here before the movies and had a great meal! We ordered a salad right away to split because we were hungry and it was very good and fresh. Before looking at the entrees we ate the salad and then realized salads came with our entrees so make sure you read the entire menu before looking. They had the BEST lasagna I have ever had with homemade Italian sausage and our white wines were both great and reasonably priced per glass. Also, their bread was warm and soft; however, if you want more of it they charge you because it is so great!

Tags: Good for a Date, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 1, 2017

A perfectly adequate restaurant in every way. Better than average for SLC.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Fantastic food. We had several people other than our initial servier bring us food and refill water glasses (the latter is customary) so it was a bit hard to judge the wait -person situation. All in all a lovely time.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 30, 2017

They were so gracious when I had to change the reservations 3 times. When we arrived early they allowed us to sit at our table in the lovely courtyard until the restaurant opened.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on June 29, 2017

Several of my friends and I were attending Close to my Heart's annual convention and chose to dine at Caffe Molise one evening. I arranged/set up the reservation, and I am so glad that I did. The food, service, atmosphere, etc. were AWESOME! We sat out on the patio; and for us Texas girls (& 1 Florida girl), the weather was PERFECT!! We had a great time discussing the events of the first day of our convention at the Salt Palace. I highly recommend Caffe Molise to anyone looking for a wonderful Italian meal while visiting Salt Lake City.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on June 29, 2017

A favorite Salt Lake restaurant. Great food, nice outdoor patio and friendly staff.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Fun, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on June 26, 2017

I have had the pollo alla gratella before and really liked it, but, the last couple times I have dined here, they have overcooked the chicken...which is a shame because I really liked this entree when I went there the first time. I also asked for the sauce to be on the side, and it came with it on anyway. Their special (shoulder) was also overcooked and very different from the way the server described it. Also, maybe check the oil that is on the tables...ours tasted a little rancid. The service was okay--nothing too bad; but we did have to wait on refills, which is a pet peeve of mine. It was too hot to dine outdoors, but, it wasn't that much cooler inside the restaurant--likely because the door to the outside was open... I'd like to see them step up their game...especially since they raised their prices to that of a finer dining establishment. When you do that, people generally expect better food and service. I used to tell people to go try it out, but, I don't feel comfortable doing that right now. I'd like to see some marked improvement before I would recommend it to my friends/associates/clients, etc. again. Background music would also be lovely. If they were playing some, it was so low, we couldn't hear it.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on June 25, 2017

We went to celebrate just getting married. The food was great as always. Our waiter seemed a little shy compared to the last waiter we had. We love sitting on the patio. My only complaint (not about the restaurant) was this table that was seated next us as we were finishing. They were highly obnoxious and loud.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Love this place! The patio with live music friday nights is my favorite. We were seated immediately upon our arrival with reservation which was nice. Service and food is always amazing. It's my favorite restaurant in SLC.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Tasting Menu, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Beautiful patio but equally lovely inside dining as well. Very friendly staff and the food was really good. No, really!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Good for a Date, Live Music, Handcrafted Cocktails, Disabled Access, Romantic, Special Occasion, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Gluten Free Options, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 22, 2017

I used to love this restaurant. The patio is especially nice. Went for my 28th wedding anniversary. Patio was nice, weather was perfect. Service was perfect. Food was terrible. Ordered caprese salad to start. Heirloom tomatoes were good and tasted like they were grown in local garden. Mozzerella was okay, but olive oil and low quality balsamic was poured everywhere. It was hanging off the plate and person who brought didn't even notice that it dropped off the side of the plate and onto my shoe. Ordered shrimp scampi and pasta. Pasta and scampi were over cooked and shrimp tasted off. Sauce for scampi was extremely oily and very tomato-y. Menu said butter, garlic, and white wine sauce. Sauce was completely red. Husband ordered the fish special. Most items on the menu were 18.00. Would expect the fish to be more, but was surprised when the big came and it was 34.00. Fish was not good. Also overcooked and rubbery. Also tasted old. But the angel hair pasta underneath was not good either. Server very attentive and noticed I did not like my dish. Promptly took away and offered something else. I declined after tasting my husbands meal and finding it no better. Mentioned that the shrimp tasted off. Server came to table and was very nice, but wanted to correct me for some reason. She said that three chefs tasted the shrimp and all three said the shrimp was fine, was "only rubbery and overcooked" not "off". Um... okay. Felt like I should apologize for suggesting the shrimp was old when three experts concluded that it was only overcooked and rubbery. Offered us free dessert. We had cheesecake. It was still cold from being frozen and had canned blueberry sauce. Dinner with one appetizer and one entree, no drinks was for some reason $80.00. It looked like they took my entree off the bill and gave us free dessert, but somehow the total didn't seem like it. I was sorry I had suggested it for our anniversary. Lovely setting, good service. Food is one step down from Olive Garden.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on June 21, 2017

Very surprised for a storefront strip mall place between a gym and a grocery store. From our first course to our last course, everything tasted great. I would go back again and again!

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 20, 2017

The hostess was one of the most unprofessional and uncourteous people I've ever experienced. We arrived for our reservation - on which we had requested patio seating and noted that we were celebrating a special occasion - and were told that it may rain so the patio (which is fully covered) would be closing. We asked two more times to be seated outdoors, explaining that it would mean a lot because we were celebrating a special occasion. We mentioned we would gladly accept the risk of an interrupted dinner if rain ensued. We were told no again and again, because it might rain. So, we were seated at the table by the door to the patio - where we watched the hostess immediately seat more than a dozen groups ON THE PATIO. When I stopped her to ask why we were told the patio was closing when it clearly was not, she responded curtly "If you really still want to sit outside, talk to your server." The rest of the experience (food, atmosphere) was fine, but if you're looking for a restaurant with consistently good, friendly customer service, I would suggest another venue.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on June 20, 2017

It was a good evening! Too hot outside, but once the restaurant filled up inside, it was way too noisy. The food is always good, especially the pastas. The lasagna was only OK. The service was very good. Great place before going to the theater. Parking next door and the Eccles is 1/2 block.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Disabled Access, Casual, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on June 19, 2017

I took my wife here for our anniversary, and couldn' be more pleased. The food was amazing, and our waitress was polite and knowledgeable of the menu and drink options.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 17, 2017

I reserved a table for Caffe Molise for my 30th birthday dinner and it did not disappoint! Absolutely gorgeous garden patio, especially at night with the string lights. The food was authentic, upscale, and delicious. We wanted to go to a few bars afterwards and the location was within perfect walking distance. I will definitely be back!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Great Beer, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Afternoon Coffee, Good for a Date, Romantic, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 17, 2017

The Chicken Marsala was superb, the ambiance on the patio was delightful and our server was very attentive.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on June 16, 2017

The food is so yummy! But I love the live jazz. Do any restaurants have live jazz?

Tags: Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Fun, Authentic, Live Music, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Romantic, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on June 15, 2017

Great food. They don't handle crowds well. Hostess and staff seemed overwhelmed

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on June 15, 2017

Nice l9ved the outdoor dining.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 12, 2017

Love the food! I go every time I to Salt Lake

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Cozy, Great for Lunch, Casual, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 12, 2017

Food was good overall, but not great. Got the sea bass special - delicious, but I should have asked the price before ordering it. It ended up being double in price to most things on the menu. Pretty much the first thing our server said was that no outside beverages are allowed-one of the people in our party brought in her stainless steel water bottle. That was kind of annoying.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 6, 2017

We eat there when ever we are in Salt Lake City. It is a real treat. The food is always exceptional and the service is great. It has an extremely different menu. It is an Italian restaurant and as good as any I have eaten in Italy.

Tags: Fun, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 6, 2017

Great meal! Great service. Our waiter Scott was enormously helpful and patient. He deserves a raise!

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 5, 2017

Lovely space, good service, fine food, delicious cocktails. What more could we ask for?

Tags: Fun, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 3, 2017

We enjoyed sitting out on the lovely patio. The service was excellent, the food quite good, though it had cooled off some before being served to us. The portions are generous. Overall, a good meal before the play at Eccles Theater, just down the street.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on June 2, 2017

Always excellent. This restaurant provides tremendous food options and tremendous service . I can't recommend it highly enoug. Enjoy outdoor dining in the summer months

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Casual, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Pre/post Theatre, Scenic View, Live Music, Romantic, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.