About Caffe Molise

55 West 100 South
Salt Lake City, UT 84101
View Larger Map

Caffe Molise is a full service restaurant featuring fresh Italian cuisine inspired by the Molise region of Italy. Enjoy dinner surrounded by local art in our dining room or choose a table on our delightful garden patio. Friday evenings feature live jazz with the John Flander's Trio. Caffe Molise is the perfect pre-theatre, opera, symphony, concert, or sporting event dining location and is conveniently located downtown at 55 West 100 South, directly across from Crossroads Mall. Caffe Molise is a DABC liquor licensee and offers wine, beer, and cocktails.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Sunday - Monday: 11:30am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm; Sunday Brunch: 10:00am - 2:00pm

Cross Street:
On 100 South between West Temple and Main Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(801) 364-8833

Website:
http://www.caffemolise.com/

Entertainment:
Live Jazz every Friday night with the John Flander's Jazz Trio.

Catering:
Fresh fish, grilled meats, pasta, salads, and decadent desserts. Catering for all events and budgets from weddings and Holiday parties to box lunches for corporate and pharmaceutical trainings.

Parking Details:
On street parking in front of the restaurant. Pay parking at the City Creek Center (across the street) and a pay lot to the East of the restaurant.

Public Transit:
Get off on the TRAX City Center stop and walk 1/2 block West on 100 South Street.

Executive Chef:
Fred Moesinger

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Report a photo problem

Caffe Molise, Salt Lake City, UT
Caffe Molise, Salt Lake City, UT
Caffe Molise, Salt Lake City, UT
Caffe Molise, Salt Lake City, UT
Caffe Molise, Salt Lake City, UT
Caffe Molise, Salt Lake City, UT
Caffe Molise, Salt Lake City, UT
Caffe Molise, Salt Lake City, UT
Caffe Molise, Salt Lake City, UT
Caffe Molise, Salt Lake City, UT
Caffe Molise, Salt Lake City, UT
Caffe Molise, Salt Lake City, UT
Caffe Molise, Salt Lake City, UT
Caffe Molise, Salt Lake City, UT
Mango Blueberry Breadpudding - Caffe Molise, Salt Lake City, UT
Tiramisu - Caffe Molise, Salt Lake City, UT
Polenta Con Funghi - Caffe Molise, Salt Lake City, UT
Polpette Di Melanzane - Caffe Molise, Salt Lake City, UT
bruschetta misto - Caffe Molise, Salt Lake City, UT
Involtini Di Pollo - Caffe Molise, Salt Lake City, UT
Cheese Board For Private Event - Caffe Molise, Salt Lake City, UT
Anacardi Tostata - Caffe Molise, Salt Lake City, UT
Mussel Appetizer - Caffe Molise, Salt Lake City, UT

Private Dining

The spacious 6500 Square Foot Garden Patio is the perfect location for weddings, rehearsal dinners, birthday parties and other private events. For diners who prefer to sit inside, the restaurant features a semi-private dining room. A minimum food and beverage purchase is required.

Caffe Molise Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.2

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (45)
Special Occasion (39)
Pre/post Theatre (31)
See All
Romantic (29)
Casual (28)
Great for Outdoor Dining (26)
Fit for Foodies (26)
Creative Cuisine (24)
Worth the Drive (24)
Cozy (24)
Good for Birthdays (23)
Neighborhood Gem (22)
Authentic (22)
Notable Wine List (19)
Good for Groups (18)
Quiet Conversation (18)
Business Meals (18)
Good for Anniversaries (18)
Comfort Food (16)
Outstanding Value (13)
Fun (12)
Great for Lunch (12)
Modern Decor (10)
Healthy (9)
Live Music (8)
Local Ingredients (8)
Good Vegetarian Options (8)
Tasting Menu (6)
Historic (6)
Hot Spot (6)
People Watching (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Family Style (5)
Late-night Find (4)
Afternoon Coffee (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Scenic View (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Great for Brunch (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Great Beer (2)
Fireplace (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Seasonal (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Organic (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Private Room (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
911 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Very good service. Knolagable waiter. Gr ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined 3 days ago

Very good service. Knolagable waiter. Great bread and service

Tags: Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

For the past 9 Outdoor Retailer Shows he ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined 4 days ago

For the past 9 Outdoor Retailer Shows held in Salt Lake City, Caffe Molise is our last dinner night together as a group. Great food and ambiance, and it has become our favorite tradition.

Tags: Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This is our 5th time using Caffe Molise ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined 7 days ago

This is our 5th time using Caffe Molise for our OR main gathering, and it has been wonderful each time. I love this place, especially in the summer on the patio.

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Late-night Find, Tasting Menu, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food and service is always epic.

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 9, 2017

The food and service is always epic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I took my fiancé to Caffe Molise for a s ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 8, 2017

I took my fiancé to Caffe Molise for a special date and couldn't be more pleased with how perfect it all was, the food, while decently pricey, is outstanding, the salmon being the best I ever tasted. Wonderful ambiance and service, prompt service and food. Incredible evening spent at Caffe Molise

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We've been looking for a non-chain Itali ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 7, 2017

We've been looking for a non-chain Italian restaurant that we like, and it looks like we found one! We all enjoyed our yummy entrees, the rolls, and desserts.

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Live Music, Good Vegetarian Options, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We have been to Cafe Molise several time ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 5, 2017

We have been to Cafe Molise several times and they never disappoint. We love the ambiance, attentive and knowledgeable servers like Angel, and the food is always wonderful. This restaurant is a treasure for Salt Lake City.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Found you online to combine with a visit ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Found you online to combine with a visit to SLC. This was a lunch at 2 p.m. We were so very delighted with the menu, and the entree's were the best Italian we've had outside our home cooking and our Rome experience while we were living there. Honestly. The music and Orvieto just topped us over. We have been back for dinner and bought two gift certificates for family and friends to experience what we know will be a lovely evening. We are regulars now and cant wait til it warms up so we can experience the outdoor dining, so very much like our Rome dining.

Tags: Fun, Casual, Tasting Menu, Organic, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good Vegetarian Options, Worth the Drive, Live Music, , Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options, Cozy, Authentic, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We had a wonderful experience here! Yheu ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We had a wonderful experience here! Yheubseated us right away and they were quick with our food whihbis a huge plus!! The flavors in every dish was to die for!! Definitely worth it!!

Tags: Casual, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Cozy, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Cute little place a block from the Eccle ...

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Cute little place a block from the Eccles Theatre. We were pleasantly surprised by a moderately priced menu, excellent service, and excellent food. We are definitely going back.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

The house made papperdelle is incredible ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 30, 2016

The house made papperdelle is incredible. The mixed green salad is boring, it's just lettuce with a lot of oil and vinegar. It could be improved with salad veggies, fruit and/or croutons. My husband's chicken was dry and overcooked. We would definitely come back but we would both get the papperdelle pasta.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We all enjoyed our meal very much. Our s ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 30, 2016

We all enjoyed our meal very much. Our server was quite attentive. And the manager was instrumental in helping us to solve a ticketing problem for an event after dinner. This is the perfect place to go for dinner before the show at the new Eccles Theatre.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We live out of town but frequently come ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 29, 2016

We live out of town but frequently come to Salt Lake City to visit family. Caffe Molise is one of our favorites. We like the relaxed environment and the staff are always friendly. Highly recommend the butternut squash ravioli for an appetizer and the Aristo pork dish is phenomenal!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A friend recommended Cafe Molise as a gr ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 29, 2016

A friend recommended Cafe Molise as a great place to eat. He was spot on! We thoroughly enjoyed the evening there and the food was wonderful. Would highly recommend...

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

We have ate at café Molise on multiple o ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 24, 2016

We have ate at café Molise on multiple occasions. We have generally had a very good experience and love the location! The last two times that we have went there however, have been very disappointing. The food just isn't as good as it used to be. The gnocchi used to be sap good, now it tastes store bought and the sauce is runny. The Chicken Masala was very dry and lacking of any flavor. The lasagna was just ok. All of these things are such a bummer and I hate giving it a bad review but two times bad= never again. On this last visit, they put us at a table right next to the kitchen and in the main traffic area, even though there were multiple tables open. It was loud, people were bumping us all night and it was so loud and not in a good way. Disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value2

Great food. Friendly staff.

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Great food. Friendly staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A little disappointed this visit. Servic ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 22, 2016

A little disappointed this visit. Service was excellent as always but the kitchen, not so much. Had the house 'favorite' and it was overcooked with beyond lumpy mashed potatoes. Others had pasta dishes which were nothing special but still good. We really like Café Molise and will chalk this time up to an off night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Nice, cosy, family-friendly restaurant. ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Nice, cosy, family-friendly restaurant. Service was amazing. Food was good; portions were on the large side compared to most downtown restaurants - so good value for money if you're hungry.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Fantastic. Normally, a group of 6 people ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 19, 2016

Fantastic. Normally, a group of 6 people don't ALL have a great experience, but we all did. Thank you

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Healthy, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Gluten Free Options, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Great place to go for a special occasion ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 19, 2016

Great place to go for a special occasion. I asked for a special order of the special and the chef did a great job. Loved the food and wine. Will go again and again.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food and service were both exception ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on December 19, 2016

The food and service were both exceptional! Thank you for a lovely evening! We will be back!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Italian food! We will absolutely ...

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Great Italian food! We will absolutely be back! We loved the daily special and the chicken.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We reserved a table for 2 well in advanc ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 18, 2016

We reserved a table for 2 well in advance for a Saturday night. We were seated at a terrible table and the service was just awful. The hostess seated us without a word of welcome and then a guy came and filled our water glasses again without a word. We waited 15 minutes then the manager came to take our order instead of our server. The manager was difficult to understand. A man put a plate with two rolls on the table without butter, again not speaking. Different persons served the salads and then the main course. My wife had to stop someone to ask for a refill of her tea and we were actually charged for the refill (waitress refused to take the refill off the bill). I was not asked if I wanted another drink after it was empty but, towards the end, the waitress asked if I wanted more water (da, just fill up the water glass when it's empty).

Nobody should be seated where we were since all the traffic walks right by the table and some rude people were actually congregating with their backsides touching the table while we were eating. We felt like an afterthought, the service was the worst we've experienced in a long time.

The food was pretty good but not worth the high prices.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

The food was great, the building/decor w ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 18, 2016

The food was great, the building/decor was great....however, it was absolutely freezing in there! We all had to have our coats draped over our legs and we were still so cold. Every time that front door opened, which it did a lot, the frigid outside air would rush in. It made it difficult to really enjoy our meal. I would recommend this restaurant, but not when it's cold outside...because it'll be cold inside, too!

Other than they, service was great and the food was delicious.

Tags: Historic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value4

Paul was so very good to us! The soup wa ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Paul was so very good to us! The soup was so incredible, we ordered some to go! This was the perfect place to be on a cold December Saturday, after the symphony!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I have been here a number of times and i ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 17, 2016

I have been here a number of times and it never disappoints. The pasta is always perfectly cooked, the flavors are outstanding, wine selection is top notch and there is a great ambiance.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun, Family Style, Casual, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Caffe Molise was very accommodating for ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Caffe Molise was very accommodating for my girlfriend's birthday--they let me set up some flowers and champagne before hand. The food was delicious as always. The service was great and our server even brought out the gift I had left at the restaurant (for my girlfriend) as a surprise. I love this place!

Tags: Modern Decor, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

When we arrived at Caffe Molise and saw ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 14, 2016

When we arrived at Caffe Molise and saw that we were seated next to a very large table, obviously for an office Christmas party, we were concerned. However, our servers handled our table and the big group efficiently. We thought the food nicely prepared and presented, the lasagna was really excellent, and the service good. We lucked out and got a good parking space, but I can envision times when parking could be an issue. I would definitely recommend reservations here, as they were booked solid when we were there on a Tuesday night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Excellent Italian trattoria feel. Food w ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 13, 2016

Excellent Italian trattoria feel. Food was great for me, good for my colleague. Service was professional and spot on.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Our server was very nice, but didn't com ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 12, 2016

Our server was very nice, but didn't come around often. In fact I had to leave my friend with the bill because we couldn't see our server and I had to leave for an appointment. I had a polenta dish that was really not very good at all, but my friend enjoyed the daily special he got.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

A special evening with friends was great ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 11, 2016

A special evening with friends was greatly enhanced by our dinner at Caffe Molise. We enjoyed the food and the recommendations and dinner specials were excellent. It can be a little bit noise on a Saturday night, but that is also what lets you know how good the food and the fun is at Caffe Molise. We will go back many times with other friends and family and it is one of our favorites just a couple going out for an evening meal. Can't go wrong booking an appointment for a wonderful meal at Caffe Molise.

Tags: Special Occasion, Family Style, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Whenever I m in Salt Lake City I make t ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Whenever I m in Salt Lake City I make time for at least one meal at Cafe Molise, more if possible. It is my favorite place to eat. The food is excellent, usually a relative quite noise level and the service is great, with reasonable prices, and a good wine selection.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Afternoon Coffee, , Special Occasion, Afternoon Tea, Business Meals, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I love this restaurant! They are so acco ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 9, 2016

I love this restaurant! They are so accommodating and the service is excellent and they are so kind. I received this kind of treatment every time I go there!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was delicious! Mediterranean Salad ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Food was delicious! Mediterranean Salad and the butternut squash ravioli was absolutely divine!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great variety in the menu for a group t ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on November 30, 2016

Great variety in the menu for a group that has vegan to paleo needs!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Caffe Molise never disappoints. As usua ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on November 30, 2016

Caffe Molise never disappoints. As usual, the food and service was great. I always run into someone I know when I eat there. My only complaint is it tends to get chilly in the restaurant when the door opens on cold nights.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

The restaurant was super cold! Please tu ...

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on November 29, 2016

The restaurant was super cold! Please turn up the heat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

This is one of our favorite restaurants. ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on November 29, 2016

This is one of our favorite restaurants. The food is consistently great. We have been to Caffe Molisse for birthdays and graduation celebrations. Their staff are very accommodating.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

First time and the food, service and pr ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on November 20, 2016

First time and the food, service and price were awesome. Great location for downtown events.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was ok. I had not been there si ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on November 19, 2016

The food was ok. I had not been there since they remodeled and it was just tiny and cozy. They still had some of the same food from them and I decided to get sometime had had in the past and it could have been the end of the night but the sauce was minimal and the chicken was dry. I do however will go back and try it again before I give up completely.

Tags: Historic, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Live Music, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.