Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.13mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.13mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi

About Caffe Molise

Caffe Molise is a full service restaurant featuring fresh Italian cuisine inspired by the Molise region of Italy. Enjoy dinner surrounded by local art in our dining room or choose a table on our delightful garden patio. Friday evenings feature live jazz with the John Flander's Trio. Caffe Molise is the perfect pre-theatre, opera, symphony, concert, or sporting event dining location and is conveniently located downtown at 55 West 100 South, directly across from City Creek Center Mall. Caffe Molise is a DABC liquor licensee and offers wine, beer, and cocktails.

55 West 100 South
Salt Lake City, UT 84101
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Sunday - Monday: 11:30am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm;

Cross Street:
On 100 South between West Temple and Main Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(801) 364-8833

Website:
http://www.caffemolise.com/

Entertainment:
Live Jazz every Friday night with the John Flander's Jazz Trio.

Catering:
Fresh fish, grilled meats, pasta, salads, and decadent desserts. Catering for all events and budgets from weddings and Holiday parties to box lunches for corporate and pharmaceutical trainings.

Parking Details:
On street parking in front of the restaurant. Pay parking at the City Creek Center (across the street) and a pay lot to the East of the restaurant.

Public Transit:
Get off on the TRAX City Center stop and walk 1/2 block West on 100 South Street.

Executive Chef:
Fred Moesinger

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

The spacious 6500 Square Foot Garden Patio is the perfect location for weddings, rehearsal dinners, birthday parties and other private events. For diners who prefer to sit inside, the restaurant features a semi-private dining room. A minimum food and beverage purchase is required.

Caffe Molise Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.3

value

4.3

Noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (57)
Pre/post Theatre (40)
Special Occasion (38)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (32)
Good for Anniversaries (30)
Romantic (28)
Authentic (27)
Fit for Foodies (27)
Creative Cuisine (26)
Great for Outdoor Dining (24)
Quiet Conversation (23)
Good for Birthdays (23)
Worth the Drive (22)
Business Meals (21)
Cozy (21)
Good for Groups (19)
Notable Wine List (19)
Casual (18)
Great for Lunch (17)
Healthy (11)
Comfort Food (9)
Fun (9)
Good Vegetarian Options (9)
Live Music (6)
Seasonal (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Local Ingredients (5)
Kid-friendly (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Great for Brunch (3)
Disabled Access (3)
People Watching (3)
Scenic View (3)
Organic (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Vegan (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Great Beer (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Sort by
S
1230 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined 6 days ago

Service was fast and friendly. Prices were reasonable and food was delicious. A good selection on the menu.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Sunday Lunch, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on January 12, 2018

There was nothing glaringly bad, but the experience could have been better. The server and workers were polite and cordial. The bread was very good. However, I didn't enjoy the chicken Marsala very much. It could have been my palate, but it just didn't suit my taste.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 12, 2018

WE love this restaurant and come in at least once a week due to events downtown that we can walk to from the restaurant.
Julie Lenoch

Tags: Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 12, 2018

The food is only so so. Limited vegetarian options. Service is good. Only restaurant close to sympanynHall that serves alcohol.

Tags: Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 9, 2018

Good food but a little pricey.
Park at City Creek...free parking for two hours...pay for parking on street

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 1, 2018

It was nice to have very good service. We never had to wait or think we needed something our waiter was on top of it, but he wasn't hovering around and asking if needed anything too much. It is definitely a fine balance and he had it down. Food was excellent as usual.

Tags: Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 1, 2018

Our first time. Great food, great service. Made my birthday a great day! Thanks to all for a wonderful evening!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Casual, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on January 1, 2018

We had a great experience and our server Maggie added to the wonderful outcome. This was an inspired choice for an early New Year’s celebration.

Tags: Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 31, 2017

Fantastic. From our perfectly done scallop appetizer to my salmon special, I will absolutely be back. Service was quick and friendly

Tags: Casual, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 30, 2017

I found Caffe Molise through a recommendation from a friend. I wanted somewhere unique but quaint to throw a wedding shower for my soon to be sister-in-law. It was wonderful. The food was delicious. I wanted to sample everyone's dish. We had great service. And just had a very enjoyable, relaxing evening in this beautiful restaurant. The only negative to the whole night was there was a live band that night and I love live bands & they were great, but our party was seated right next to it and it made it really hard to hear each other being in such a large group (+10 people). Next time I'd request to seat in another part of the restaurant if I were to have a party like that there again.

Now I want to go back with my husband for a date because its just super romantic.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 29, 2017

Convenient downtown location. Nice ambiance. Food is light and fresh. Service fantastic. Want to return in warmer weather for outdoor dining

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on December 27, 2017

Appetizers were fine but main course was very average. Maybe we caught them on a bad day but not very impressed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 27, 2017

Excellent pork tenderloin, and scallops special

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on December 26, 2017

We loved the Pollo Alla Gratella! What a lovely place to meet family and have a wonderful lunch!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 24, 2017

Food was reasonable, relatively poor attention with having to ask for water to be refilled, for butter, etc... overall was reasonable just not particularly special.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 22, 2017

We come to SLC to ski and eat. We always (always!) include a meal here. The dishes are consistent in flavour and quality. As a native Trevisana I am very particular about Italian food.
My daughter is still raving about the special beef shoulder medallions which she says were perfect and wouldn’t share with us. I love anything with polenta. The black fig sauce was as good this time as it was three years ago. Though your servings are large, we eat only the entire and dream of the rest of the menu.
We originally discovered this place late one evening and the staff kindly accommodated us. We have brought guests along and now they text us to say they are having dinner there.
Your establishment is a treasure and we (selfishly) wish you and your staff continued success.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Seasonal, Cozy, Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options, Business Meals, Authentic, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 21, 2017

I love this charming restaurant. Although the decor is plain and raw, the food is the opposite. I recommend ordering one of their specials, they have never failed me. The first special I tried was a jambalaya pasta, the best I had ever had, until I tried the burrata ravioli in a mushroom sauce. Decisions....!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 20, 2017

If you want great Italian food then this is the place to come! Our server was amazing! Incredibly polite and gave great recommendations. The food was beautiful and well worth it. Can’t wait to go back and try more!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on December 18, 2017

The others in my group enjoyed their food but the soup was too salty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on December 18, 2017

We were unimpressed by this restaurant. While the service was attentive and friendly, the food was mediocre. The dishes were lukewarm, and I had to have mine warmed up. Would not recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service4
value1

 
·Dined on December 17, 2017

Nice dinner before a performance at the ballet.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on December 16, 2017

Food, service, and overall experience was great! Was offered many different options and very friendly wait staff.

Tags: Live Music, Notable Wine List, Fun, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 13, 2017

A good place to grab dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 12, 2017

I’ve always loved Caffe Molise. Not many Italian restaurants have gnocchi on the menu, and those that do often prepare it poorly. Molise makes a great gnocchi, and I get it every time. Other nice items on the menu as well.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 11, 2017

The food is always great here, and I love the ambiance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 11, 2017

Great service, amazing atmosphere, and fantastic food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 11, 2017

The place was cold, and I'm not usually cold. We had the brushetta, which was plentiful but tasted off. Our pasta dishes were okay but not inspired. The green salad had no other veggies other than leaves.

All on all, the place was decorated nice but I think we'll stick with Cannellas.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 10, 2017

Food and service were very good. So close to Eccles Theatre, open on Sunday, and accept reservations.

Tags: Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 10, 2017

I have loved Caffe Molise for years. Its longevity speaks to its success. Attentive service, kind and accommodating to kids. Quality never waivers. Dependably tempting.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Fun, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 9, 2017

The food was amazing with excellent service. It is perfect for special occasions with a group, including children or a quiet dinner for two!

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 9, 2017

Friendly staff and great food at a reasonable price. Definitely a favorite.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Live Music, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 9, 2017

Friendly, quiet, convenient, and good food. What more could you ask for?

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on December 8, 2017

The food was great but the service and ambiance was lacking. The first time we even saw our waitress she asked if we were ready to order and didn't introduce herself or tell us about the specials.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service2

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 7, 2017

Excellent dinner. Great atmosphere and very friendly staff. A must go to when the Salt Lake City.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on December 6, 2017

We just moved to Utah and have been eating out for the past 6 months during the relocation process. This was the best restaurant we have eaten at in Utah! The food was amazing, the service was almost too fast. The people are so nice and welcoming. Great atmosphere. The best part is the food though, absolutely incredible!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Great Beer, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 5, 2017

Excellent Italian bistro!! We were a party of 6 and each of us raved about our entrees.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 3, 2017

Salmon special was chewy not flaky, all else okay

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
·Dined on December 3, 2017

My wife and I love this place. Great price for a good amount of food. They have the best cream of mushroom soup ever!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 3, 2017

One of our favorite restaurants for everyday and special occasion.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 2, 2017

The food was delicious. We were here with a large party and they were very great with service even with our slight delay. :) We all had a great time!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.