Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.13mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.13mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi

About Caffe Molise

Caffe Molise is a full service restaurant featuring fresh Italian cuisine inspired by the Molise region of Italy. Enjoy dinner surrounded by local art in our dining room or choose a table on our delightful garden patio. Friday evenings feature live jazz with the John Flander's Trio. Caffe Molise is the perfect pre-theatre, opera, symphony, concert, or sporting event dining location and is conveniently located downtown at 55 West 100 South, directly across from Crossroads Mall. Caffe Molise is a DABC liquor licensee and offers wine, beer, and cocktails.

55 West 100 South
Salt Lake City, UT 84101
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Sunday - Monday: 11:30am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm; Sunday Brunch: 10:00am - 2:00pm

Cross Street:
On 100 South between West Temple and Main Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(801) 364-8833

Website:
http://www.caffemolise.com/

Entertainment:
Live Jazz every Friday night with the John Flander's Jazz Trio.

Catering:
Fresh fish, grilled meats, pasta, salads, and decadent desserts. Catering for all events and budgets from weddings and Holiday parties to box lunches for corporate and pharmaceutical trainings.

Parking Details:
On street parking in front of the restaurant. Pay parking at the City Creek Center (across the street) and a pay lot to the East of the restaurant.

Public Transit:
Get off on the TRAX City Center stop and walk 1/2 block West on 100 South Street.

Executive Chef:
Fred Moesinger

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

The spacious 6500 Square Foot Garden Patio is the perfect location for weddings, rehearsal dinners, birthday parties and other private events. For diners who prefer to sit inside, the restaurant features a semi-private dining room. A minimum food and beverage purchase is required.

Caffe Molise Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.2

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (47)
Special Occasion (42)
Great for Outdoor Dining (37)
See All
Pre/post Theatre (37)
Casual (36)
Neighborhood Gem (35)
Authentic (27)
Creative Cuisine (26)
Good for Birthdays (24)
Good for Anniversaries (24)
Good for Groups (24)
Business Meals (23)
Romantic (23)
Comfort Food (21)
Fit for Foodies (18)
Cozy (18)
Quiet Conversation (16)
Great for Lunch (16)
Notable Wine List (14)
Fun (14)
Worth the Drive (12)
Sunday Lunch (9)
Live Music (9)
Family Style (9)
Healthy (8)
Modern Decor (7)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Hot Spot (6)
Great for Brunch (6)
Outstanding Value (6)
Tasting Menu (5)
Historic (5)
Scenic View (4)
Private Room (4)
Seasonal (4)
People Watching (3)
Great Beer (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Organic (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Vegan (2)
Tapas (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Fireplace (1)
Sort By:
S
1034 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined a day ago

The food was very tasty and prepared to our liking.

The polenta con salsiccia was delicious. The polenta was creamy and the sausage was nice and spicy.

My pappardelle was served al sugo, essentially a bolognese sauce. My wife's eggplant ravioli was served with a tomato coulis.

There were a few lovely reds to accompany your meal.

All in all, it was a very good example of Italian food far above the typical neighborhood restaurant.

Tags: Cozy, Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined 2 days ago

Loved the food. It is my new favorite place to eat

Tags: Live Music, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 6 days ago

Nice place tout be by a warm evening in Salt Lake City.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on May 22, 2017

The service was amazing and the food delicious. I didn't feel that the portions were too large like so many Italian places.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on May 22, 2017

Food was fabulous. All 6 of us were very happy with our choices

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on May 22, 2017

I loved this place and ate twice when I was attending a conference in salt lake. If you can get a patio table- do. Bon appetit

Tags: Cozy, Scenic View, Casual, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on May 21, 2017

We would go here all the time but it's downtown. We really love it though so we make the trip 1 to 2 times a year. This year we went for our 11 year wedding anniversary and it did not dissapoint. (In fact it never has) Everything is fresh and well seasoned. And they have the absolute best patio for outside dining when weather permits. We will be back, that's for sure..

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Food was the best Italian I have had in Utah. We will be back to try more of the menu. Very impressed with the taste...service could have been slightly better (but not waitress fault when they slam new arrivals all in the same section all at the same time).

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Comfort Food, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on May 20, 2017

The food was amazing! Everything we ate was delicious and perfect! The gnocchi is amazing and some of the best I have ever had. The service was excellent. We sat on the patio, which is beautiful. The experience as a whole was great and we can't wait to go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Love the eggplant meatballs. I am a vegetarian and it is hard to find good vegetarian entres. The place is quaint, but too noisy. It is best to sit outside weather permitting.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Good Vegetarian Options, Healthy, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on May 14, 2017

I am now retired, had many business and casual lunches while I worked downtown. We continue to take friends and family, everyone enjoys the food, atmosphere, and cautious staff.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Bonn & Umgebung)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Mother's Day!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 14, 2017

The food was excellent.
The staff were very prompt and friendly.
My only complaint was it was VERY noisy.
The background noise made it so my wife and I had a hard time hearing each other.

Next time I will choose to eat in their outside dining area...it looked really cozy.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on May 14, 2017

The Bruschetta Misto, Lasagne, Arista, and Bistecca were all cooked to perfection. It is one of the few places we have dined that knows how to correctly cook a "rare" steak. The service was prompt, professional, and knowledgeable. Good wine selection too. There is always plenty of interesting wall art to look at.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Authentic, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 13, 2017

I love the food, it is a little pricier than many places. The ambience can be a little noisy. It's wonderful to sit outside when they have a live band.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 13, 2017

The atmosphere was great, the small band was relaxing. Food was good. The service was good, almost European in nature. It doesn't seem to be a place for a quick bite, at least in the evening. That was my reference to European, slow and relaxing. We enjoyed everything about it.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on May 11, 2017

My daughter and I had a wonderful dinner on the patio before we attended the performance of Wait, Wait Don't Tell Me at Abravanel Hall. The outside seating was very comfortable and the food and wine were amazing. Our server was attentive without being intrusive. I would suggest making a reservation as the restaurant was quite busy.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on May 10, 2017

We started out sitting outside, but it got chilly, so we asked to be reseated inside. They accommodated with no complaints. They moved all of our settings and drinks to a nice place inside. It was very nice of them. The food and service were both great. I would definitely take another business group there again.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on May 9, 2017

I went with my friends end after a walk in downtown

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on May 8, 2017

Food was good, portion size small. Service was slow even though patio was not busy. Salads came just before entree.

Tags: Disabled Access, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 8, 2017

Great food, sat outside. Service was very good but slow.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on May 7, 2017

This was our first time dining at Caffe Molise and I have to say it was an absolutely magnificent experience. The food was delicious and the service was first-rate. Thanks for making my wife's birthday dinner very memorable!

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Paleo Friendly, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Caffe Molise is always a great spot to dine before an event in the vicinity. Now that the outside patio has reopened it's even better as the noise level drops. However, for people who are short, the chairs are awful! We need pillows!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Never disappointed here. Excellent service and wonderful food.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 4, 2017

The outside patio was lovely to sit at during lunch. The inside has amazing art from local artists.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Happy Hour, Family Style, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Great food, wait staff, reasonable prices. Will definitely go back.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 1, 2017

Good food with decent service. The only complaint was the tables were to small for a party of 4. I would recommend it

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on April 30, 2017

We've eaten at CAffe Molise for years, and absolutely love the food and location, particularly as a great meal prior to downtown events. We love the outside ambience, but when the patio isn't open the interior ambience is quite blah (helped to some extent by original art on the walls. The wait staff is first rate, attentive with great recommendations. This restaurant is a SLC gem, but I'd love to see some improvement in comfort and "warmth" in the interior!

Tags: Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Historic, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Second visit to Salt Lake City. Wanted to try a different restaurant in the Temple Square area.
Chose Caffe Molise based upon reviews from other diners. Service was very good, with wait staff and managers checking with our table upon multiple occasions. Wine selection recommended by server was excellent. The chicken entre was good, the parpadelle entre was excellent(wonderful fresh pasta) and the gnochi was a major disappointment. The manager quicly reordered the gnochi, but the second serving was no less satisfying than the first. The restaurant comped the gnochi meal and a dessert which was very customer friendly. Based upon our experience we would be hesitant to repeat our visit to this restaurant, in spite of the great customer service.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on April 26, 2017

We met some business colleagues for lunch on a Wednesday. The food was great and the restaurant was quite and the server was very attentive (but not overbearing).

This was our first time visiting this restaurant and we are already talking about going back.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 25, 2017

Excellent lunch, Christina was being trained and her lead was super! Give them both raises!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on April 25, 2017

Great Food

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on April 23, 2017

The food was very good and the wine selections were reasonable, the entire service staff was very pleasent and attentive. The noise level was a bit louder than I would perfer but tollerable. I know they very nice outdoor seating in the warmer weather that I would recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on April 22, 2017

We loved the atmosphere and downtown location. There were several tempting items on the menu. We thought the food was great and served in the perfect portions. The service was exceptional and we enjoyed the live entertainment.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on April 21, 2017

We enjoyed this restaurant. Only 1 of our group had eaten there previously, so it was new for the rest of us.
The service was wonderful, the food was good, and all orders came very quickly.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on April 21, 2017

The food was good, portions were decent, but I felt like the meal itself was kind of overpriced. We had 2 appetizers, 2 meals and a San Pellegrino and with tip, the total came to just under $100. I feel like if I spend $100, I should leave thinking "that was amazing!" but I didn't. It was good, but not amazing. It was a bit loud - i think I would have preferred it in the summer when we could have dined on the patio.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 15, 2017

The restaurant is very convenient for dinner prior to attending the symphony, opera, theatre or dance performances. Also, convenient to City Creek shopping. An interesting menu with something for everyone.

Tags: Business Meals, Healthy, Family Style, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Caffe Molise is my favorite restaurant. Slightly disappointment in my last visit because it took nearly 35 minutes to receive our food, resulting in my husband and I having to skip dessert (my favorite) because our show at Eccles Theatre was about to start.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Needs to back off on the garlic, it's a spice not a condiment

Tags: Comfort Food, Authentic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on April 9, 2017

It was delicious and the waiter was awesome! "Ben"

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.