About Caffe Molise

55 West 100 South
Salt Lake City, UT 84101
View Larger Map

Caffe Molise is a full service restaurant featuring fresh Italian cuisine inspired by the Molise region of Italy. Enjoy dinner surrounded by local art in our dining room or choose a table on our delightful garden patio. Friday evenings feature live jazz with the John Flander's Trio. Caffe Molise is the perfect pre-theatre, opera, symphony, concert, or sporting event dining location and is conveniently located downtown at 55 West 100 South, directly across from Crossroads Mall. Caffe Molise is a DABC liquor licensee and offers wine, beer, and cocktails.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Sunday - Monday: 11:30am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm; Sunday Brunch: 10:00am - 2:00pm

Cross Street:
On 100 South between West Temple and Main Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(801) 364-8833

Website:
http://www.caffemolise.com/

Entertainment:
Live Jazz every Friday night with the John Flander's Jazz Trio.

Catering:
Fresh fish, grilled meats, pasta, salads, and decadent desserts. Catering for all events and budgets from weddings and Holiday parties to box lunches for corporate and pharmaceutical trainings.

Parking Details:
On street parking in front of the restaurant. Pay parking at the City Creek Center (across the street) and a pay lot to the East of the restaurant.

Public Transit:
Get off on the TRAX City Center stop and walk 1/2 block West on 100 South Street.

Executive Chef:
Fred Moesinger

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Private Dining

The spacious 6500 Square Foot Garden Patio is the perfect location for weddings, rehearsal dinners, birthday parties and other private events. For diners who prefer to sit inside, the restaurant features a semi-private dining room. A minimum food and beverage purchase is required.

Caffe Molise Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Italian
Utah
Most Booked
Utah
Best Value
Salt Lake City
2 More
Italian
Salt Lake City
Most Booked
Salt Lake City
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

fit for foodies (71)
special occasion (56)
romantic (46)
See All
great for outdoor dining (45)
neighborhood gem (44)
good for groups (41)
notable wine list (30)
great for lunch (29)
hot spot (14)
great for brunch (12)
late-night find (8)
kid-friendly (5)
scenic view (5)
vibrant bar scene (3)
Sort By:
Newest
733 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great Waiter!

Dined on May 21, 2016

Paul was the best and recommended an excellent wine to go with my dinner.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The food and the service were great, ver ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

The food and the service were great, very high class. In fact, I've never experienced a salad that melts together in my mouth like Molise has done. The indoor walls are brick with several paintings, and so sounds are amplified. My wife and I were there for our 10th anniversary, and we had a good time. It was very loud however, and I could only hear a portion of what my wife was saying in conversation, so that was a bit frustrating. All in all, this Cafe deserves a good review. Great for a friend's night with a group, but I'd not recommend it for a romantic dinner, unless you are in the deaf population, (I'm not joking, my ASL friends and family would LOVE it here), as communication can be challenging.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

I travel to Salt Lake 6 or 7 times a yea ...

vip
Dined on May 13, 2016

I travel to Salt Lake 6 or 7 times a year and always try to eat here. Very reasonable and great food.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

First time here

Dined on May 13, 2016

We had the butternut squash ravioli, scampi pasta, steak and creme brûlée. Thought it was all great our server was great and happy, we will go back again.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food, good atmosphere

Dined on May 8, 2016

Took my mother here for Mother's Day. Great Italian food, comparable to Canella's but at a lower price point. I had the Parpadelle al Sugo and my mother had the chicken artichoke dish, the name is escaping me, both of which were outstanding. Service was the most attentive I've experienced other than the most high end dining.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect date night

Dined on May 8, 2016

We had amazing food and a fantastic experience! Our server was friendly and efficient, and each course was delivered in great timing.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing Italian food. Enjoyed gnocchi wi ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Amazing Italian food. Enjoyed gnocchi with sausage and the pork medallions with fig compote. Great location in Salt Lake City across from City Creek. Will be visiting again. Looking forward to trying the dessert menu.

food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Great Atmosphere

Dined on May 8, 2016

Good Food, Moderately priced . Service staff was very friendly and interactive. Walking distance from City Creek. I would definitely recommend

Tags: great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Lovely and Delicious

Dined on May 4, 2016

Dinner for twelve on a Tuesday night during a conference. Location was very convenient to the convention center. Almost everyone had the scallops as an appetizer, they were perfectly done and the sauce was delicious. I had the gnocchi which was delicious,?all the other dishes looked great! The tables were small and we were all able to converse. It was a nice atmosphere, the food was great and the waitstaff was attentive. Thanks! If I'm ever back in salt lake I will be there again.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Excellent

vip
Dined on May 1, 2016

Great meal for our group of 15. Service was efficient and friendly but not rushed. I had the gnocchi which was great, but no one had anything but raves for their meals overall.

Tags: good for groups, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

So Good!

Dined on April 30, 2016

Great Food! Great Wine List! The most awesome desserts! A must go place to eat a great authentic Italian dining experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was great! Wine selections were fa ...

Dined on April 17, 2016

Food was great! Wine selections were fantastic! Service was even better! Thank you!

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service5

A very nice bistro located near the Marr ...

Dined on April 17, 2016

A very nice bistro located near the Marriott City Creek. Wonderful food, great service. I have a convention I attend here each year and a dinner at Cafe Molise is a "must do".

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My favorite fine food restaurant in Salt Lake City

Dined on April 16, 2016

I absolutely love this restaurant and have to go there when in Salt Lake City. I always tend to order the butternut squash ravioli and would love to branch and order something new. It is so great though I have to order it every time I go. I take special business guests here when at any business event. It is perfect for that. I highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food2
ambience1
service1

The upcharges for something as simple as ...

Dined on April 15, 2016

The upcharges for something as simple as a dinner is lame. Include it in the price of the entree, something less tacky. I prefer the appropriate wine glass to accompany the wine, not Libby from the restaurant supply store. The decor is so grandma 1990, dusty fake plants, artwork from thrift stores, and creaky seating. The noise, was simply annoying. We sat around the median wall of the swinging doors to the kitchen and the whomp is so loud we thought there were movers upstairs. I had not been here before and was expecting an upscale Italian eatery, but I was disappointed. The food was fine. I won't be back. The staff are friendly, but I'll keep looking for the new Fresco.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding

vip
Dined on April 8, 2016

First time date night here. Saw some negative reviews, but tried it anyway. It was the best dining choice in a long time. Great value for the money. Beef and chicken entrees were some of the best food that we have found anywhere. We will definitely return and recommend the place to friends.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Love at first sight

Dined on April 2, 2016

Small, local, intimate, and romantic. Cafe Molise was perfect for our weekend away. It was slightly noisy due to the traveling crowds for LDS general Conference but it was perfect either way. The food was fresh and our servers knowledge of the wine list was fantastic. My wife and I both found new wines to love. The pace was very good but if you skip the starter you may wait just a moment. I recommend the Pollo Marsala. We loved it and my wife raves to all of her friends. The review I read said there was vallet parking but the vallet said he was working for the Japanese bistro next door. He still helped us out though. City creek parking is right there so parking isn't an issue anyway.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

It was ok

Dined on April 2, 2016

The food was oveover priced for what you get.$35 for sea bass with bones in it is unacceptable

Tags: good for groups
food4
ambience5
service5

Delicious food, wonderful service and lo ...

Dined on March 30, 2016

Delicious food, wonderful service and lovely art.

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

A Personal Favorite

Dined on March 26, 2016

I love this restaurant, the food is great and the 10$ corking fee is worth it to bring in your own bottle of wine. Food is great, to some it's a little over priced, but overall worth it because it's a nicer dining experience.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Very good food

Dined on March 22, 2016

I have been a patron of Caffe Molise within a year or so of their opening. The food is always consistently very good. They should expand their bar offerings. I am a single malt scotch fan, specifically, Glenlivet. Unfortunately, they only carry McCallan, which I do not drink. I doubt that it would be prohibitively expensive for them to expand their offerings by a bit.

Tags: fit for foodies
food4
ambience5
service5

Delicious wine and food. Great service. ...

Dined on March 21, 2016

Delicious wine and food. Great service. Not inspiring, but very good.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Years of excellence

Dined on March 20, 2016

We have been going to Cafe Molise since they opened...still in our top 5!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

We absolutely loved this place. Great lo ...

Dined on March 20, 2016

We absolutely loved this place. Great location, reasonable price for exceptional food and a great ambiance. I will be coming back here again for sure.

food5
ambience5
service5

This is the second time we have dined he ...

vip
Dined on March 20, 2016

This is the second time we have dined here. The service was great and our server very patient with us. We asked her to delay bringing out apps and entrees so we could dine at a slower pace, keeping in mind the need for her to turn the table. (We were there early, so this was not a problem) The pastas we ordered were great as usual, and also the pork tenderloin was fantastic! Good portion sizes too. I noticed that all the servers helped each other clear tables, bring food out, take away plates, fill water glasses, etc. Makes things flow smoothly. Dine here, you won't be disappointed.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our first time

Dined on March 20, 2016

We love good quality, different food and Caffe Molise fit the bill! Delicious Italian food with great flavor profiles. We will definitely go again.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5

Food, as always, was amazing. Courteous ...

Dined on March 19, 2016

Food, as always, was amazing. Courteous staff. Gnocchi was great, though a bit soft this time. Probably just an off night... Definitely try it.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great destination before going to Capitol Theatre

Dined on March 18, 2016

We were able to get a perfect reservation time prior to the opera and enjoyed ourselves immensely! Delicious food just a short walk to the theatre.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent Italian Downtown SLC

Dined on March 18, 2016

We are from Boston a city with fabulous Italian restaurants. We come out to Ski at Snowbird every year and were lucky to find this restaurant. Excellent food. The eggplant "meat balls" are to die for.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Good Food

Dined on March 14, 2016

The food was good and servers were polite. Our server was really nice, but brought out dessert menus before I was finished eating (the other two in my party were finished) and asked if I wanted dessert before I was done with my meal. I told her I hadn't looked at the dessert menu yet, so I would let her know. She was very nice, just needed a bit of training on etiquette with regard to serving. Other than that, we had a nice dinner. I would go back.

Tags: fit for foodies
food4
ambience5
service5

Staff was very accommodating with our la ...

Dined on March 14, 2016

Staff was very accommodating with our large group and timing of our reservation. Came to the restaurant twice in three days.

food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Good find

Dined on March 12, 2016

I'm a Salt Lake City local and someone who is always trying to find somewhere different to try with my wife for a local dining experience. Caffé Molise was a great find! The restaurant is relatively small and with it being located in downtown Salt Lake City, the parking isn't the best, but the food and the service made it all worth while. My wife and I shared a menu special of the night which was Beat Salad. Nice earthy salad with Arugala and Gorganzola and a house-made Balsamic Vinegrette dressing. The next course that was part of our meal was another salad. We didn't realize we had a salad coming with our meal too, otherwise we would have selected a different appetizer or a soup with our meals rather than a salad. Regardless, it was tasty. We then had two different chicken dishes. Both were fabulous. We shared a Gelato dessert and both had soft drinks with our meal. Total was $80.00 with our tip. Bottom line, the location is very accessible, parking not the greatest but not poor enough to complain about, reservations were easy to make on OpenTable, food was a 10 out of 10, ambiance was a 6 out of 10 but they seem to be doing what they can in the space they have, and the service was great. Our waitress was knowledgeable of the menu and very friendly. We will definitely be going to Caffe Molise again.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great spot

Dined on March 3, 2016

Nice, casual local spot. Not too expensive. Good value.

food5
ambience4
service3

Great selection of dishes, variety was k ...

vip
Dined on February 26, 2016

Great selection of dishes, variety was key. Ordered a cheese/ meat appetizer. Was not informed what we were eating, a bit confusing. Wine was decanted in the back of house, not at the table. Poured every glass throughout dinner ourselves, even the first glass. Table was cleared timely, even if we were still eating off of it. Even with temperatures of the food a little off, the flavors were spectacular. Ambience was very nice, the server did allow us to take our time with dinner. Overall satisfied with dinner, few bumps.

food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Nice place, good people, good food.

Dined on February 26, 2016

This is a nice place to go when you want to be casual and appreciate service that is also casual and wants to please. They do. The prices are reasonable for some nice food and when the climate is right, a great outdoor patio. Put this place on your list.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience5
service5

The butternut squash ravioli is awesome! ...

Dined on February 21, 2016

The butternut squash ravioli is awesome! I ordered it as my entree and it was the perfect amount of food.

food4
ambience3
service1
value3

Whelmed

Dined on February 19, 2016

I was very excited to try this restaurant on my birthday. Half my party arrived early and asked to be seated until the others had arrived. We were not offered drinks for about 20 minutes and completely ignored by busters and servers. Our waitress had a "higher than thou" attitude which added a damper to our dinning experience. While the food was good it was nothing extraordinary. The shrimp in our appetizers was over cooked and rubbery and the pasta was bland. I would recommend this place for lunch with friends but not for a special occasion dining experience.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very delicious food and courteous hosts.

Dined on February 17, 2016

My family and I fell in love with Caffe Molise. The food was delicious and the hosts were very kind!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Lovely experience

Dined on February 15, 2016

I made a reservation for 2 on Valentines day. The place was very quiet, there were candles and flowers on the table and service was excellent and perfectly on time. I would definitely recommend this place to anyone looking for a fun date.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great Valentines Day Spot

Dined on February 15, 2016

We decided to try Cafe Molisse for Valentines dinner. A couple of times a year we like to really go out somewhere nice (nicer than Olive Garden ha!). The menu looked very "fancy" and everything we ate tasted great! Our server was wonderful, very polite and spent just the right amount of time with us. They refilled drinks almost immediately and were very prompt with our food. We had a great experience at Cafe Molisse and would definitely recommend it to our friends.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.