Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.13mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.13mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi

About Caffe Molise

Caffe Molise is a full service restaurant featuring fresh Italian cuisine inspired by the Molise region of Italy. Enjoy dinner surrounded by local art in our dining room or choose a table on our delightful garden patio. Friday evenings feature live jazz with the John Flander's Trio. Caffe Molise is the perfect pre-theatre, opera, symphony, concert, or sporting event dining location and is conveniently located downtown at 55 West 100 South, directly across from Crossroads Mall. Caffe Molise is a DABC liquor licensee and offers wine, beer, and cocktails.

55 West 100 South
Salt Lake City, UT 84101
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Sunday - Monday: 11:30am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm; Sunday Brunch: 10:00am - 2:00pm

Cross Street:
On 100 South between West Temple and Main Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(801) 364-8833

Website:
http://www.caffemolise.com/

Entertainment:
Live Jazz every Friday night with the John Flander's Jazz Trio.

Catering:
Fresh fish, grilled meats, pasta, salads, and decadent desserts. Catering for all events and budgets from weddings and Holiday parties to box lunches for corporate and pharmaceutical trainings.

Parking Details:
On street parking in front of the restaurant. Pay parking at the City Creek Center (across the street) and a pay lot to the East of the restaurant.

Public Transit:
Get off on the TRAX City Center stop and walk 1/2 block West on 100 South Street.

Executive Chef:
Fred Moesinger

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

The spacious 6500 Square Foot Garden Patio is the perfect location for weddings, rehearsal dinners, birthday parties and other private events. For diners who prefer to sit inside, the restaurant features a semi-private dining room. A minimum food and beverage purchase is required.

Caffe Molise Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.2

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (46)
Special Occasion (46)
Pre/post Theatre (44)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (34)
Casual (33)
Authentic (29)
Good for Groups (28)
Creative Cuisine (28)
Cozy (27)
Good for Birthdays (26)
Great for Outdoor Dining (25)
Romantic (25)
Business Meals (25)
Comfort Food (23)
Fit for Foodies (21)
Good for Anniversaries (20)
Worth the Drive (20)
Fun (20)
Great for Lunch (17)
Notable Wine List (16)
Quiet Conversation (14)
Good Vegetarian Options (12)
Healthy (12)
Modern Decor (11)
Outstanding Value (11)
Family Style (10)
Live Music (8)
Tasting Menu (8)
Historic (6)
Local Ingredients (6)
Seasonal (5)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Private Room (5)
Kid-friendly (4)
Disabled Access (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Afternoon Coffee (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Scenic View (3)
People Watching (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Great Beer (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Organic (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Tapas (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
977 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined 3 days ago

Very enjoyable creative Italian dishes, Gourmet Specials were Superb, the Manila Clams were exquisite, my guests celebrating their first wedding anniversary enjoyed their meal and they will come back.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Modern Decor, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined 3 days ago

We've been here before and Caffe Molise never disappoints. Unfortunately, we were seated in a room with a large table of high school kids on their prom night dinner. Way to loud. Don't know why staff didn't seat us at other tables in a quieter area. As we left, I saw empty two person tables.

Tags: Family Style, Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined 4 days ago

We all had a great experience here before the symphony. We had a tight timeline and our server was totally on top of it and great about the whole thing. The food was excellent and I'll be back to try more dishes.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 5 days ago

my husband and I went here before going to a show at the Eccels theater (3 minute walk). All of the food that we had was really tasty. The service was great and quick. We were in a hurry to get to our show and they made sure we got our food and check quick.

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion, Casual, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Disabled Access, Pre/post Theatre, Private Room, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined 6 days ago

Excellent dinner in very nice outside patio area.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 7 days ago

Service was bad. Waitress was inattentive and forgetful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value1

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined 7 days ago

I highly recommend this restaurant. The special dishes for the day are well worth considering as well as old favorites that make the menu complete. Don't hesitate to ask your server for recommendations.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined 7 days ago

I'm a lover of Caffe Molise but this time seemed to miss the mark. The food was pretty bland, I kept having to put salt and pepper in my pasta to get some flavor. I was going to ask for more parm cheese but our waiter disappeared once the dishes were delivered until it was time for the check. Our waters went unfilled. I think they were having an off night.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined 7 days ago

We visited prior to a Utah Symphony concert. It is within an easy walk and there are multiple parking options surrounding both the restaurant and hall. The food was top quality and provided several unique options with a full wine/beer list.
Thanks for a great evening!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 7 days ago

Pleasant atmosphere. Good food. Good service. Some unique and tasty food options.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined 7 days ago

It was the first time for all of us and we loved every dish! The lasagne was really good, home style, delicious. The other dishes enjoyed were the chicken pannini, blackened shrimp over pasta and fresh spinach with a cream and cheese sauce. The hazelnut chocolate cake, creme Brule and tirimisu were all a hit. Service was excellent as well.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Good Vegetarian Options, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 20, 2017

After a long day of ski racing this was a welcome dining spot in downtown SLC.Food was excellent and kid friendly without a kids menu.Adults enjoyed good pasta and special items.My only complaint is that nobody in SLC knows how to pour a decent drink(ie martini)due to archaic laws.

Tags: Comfort Food, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 19, 2017

I really like Caffe Molise - the food is predictably very good. On this Saturday night, the service was really poor. Our server took way too long to get to our table after we were seated because he was chatting up a group at another table, even spending time looking at their photos. By the time he showed up, we were ready to place our full order and we hadn't even heard the specials. It also took him too long to bring out the wine (again chatting up the other table). After we got our check, he left us hanging again and we had to track him down to pay for our meal. We've never had such poor service here in the past.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Cafe Molise is a solid choice for Italian dining in the heart of downtown. Great food, reasonable price nice atmosphere. Give it a shot!

Tags: Cozy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Yummy yummy food. The live band was outstanding. Shelley is the MVP of the staff.

Tags: Live Music, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Ate at Cafe Moliise last night. I had the polenta con salsiccia as an appetizer. The polenta was delicate and the sausage was very tasty. The sauce could have used a little more salt. I had the bistecca as an entree and really enjoyed it...lots of great flavor. My husband had the involitini de pollo which he enjoyed as well. The house zinfandel was nice. Service was eager and attentive. Overall a great dinner. I'd definitely eat there again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on March 17, 2017

We love this restaurant! We were on a ski vacation 4 years ago staying at the Marriott SLC and we're thrilled to walk across the street and have a delicious meal. We just returned to SLC and came back to the same great food, service and outdoor patio. We went 3 nights during our stay. You won't be disappointed!

Tags: Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on March 15, 2017

The food was great, the staff were helpful and personable and the atmosphere was enjoyable. By dividing the space into four smaller spaces separated by walls the noise level was cut way down which made it easy to converse even though the restaurant was busy.
The food was delicious and just the right portion to be able to finish it without feeling stuffed.
PLUS, reasonably priced.
We will definitely be going back again and again.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 14, 2017

The food was the star of the evening. We went for a casual family get together, some in town some out of town guests. Staff accomodated a last minute change in the number of guests without a flinch. Service was attentive but not imposing. The wine list delivered well. Overall great experience. Would recommend to anyone because of quality of food and level of service.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Tapas, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 14, 2017

It is always a treat to bring clients and colleagues to Caffe Molise.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Had a very good experience with Caffe Molise. We came up as a group of 10, found the restaurant quickly, and we were seated even quicker. The service that we had was astounding. They did not treat us like High School Teenagers (which we were) but valuable paying customers. The food was super good!

Tags: Cozy, Great for Lunch, Family Style, Organic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Amazing food, as always.

Tags: Casual, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Great place to have great food. You never feel rushed when you eat here. Wait staff is great and knowledgeable.

Tags: Fun, Historic, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Live Music, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Our service was excellent as was the food. We will definitely eat here again.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Went to dinner before the play and thoroughly enjoyed it. Service was excellent and food was prompt and tasty. Looking forward to trying it again.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 26, 2017

This was a wonderful surprise. Having never been to Caffe Molise before I didn't know what to expect. The food was wonderful and the atmosphere was relaxing.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Great for Lunch, Family Style, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Gods one and only true pork loin. One of us order it at every meal to share tidbits. Like feeding seals, it that's good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 25, 2017

The service the past couple of times I've been here has been pretty bad. This time our waitress had quite the attitude problem. Oh, and she actually picked up & tried taking away my friends glass of wine that wasn't finished yet. Big no-no. Caffe Molise used to be one of my favorite restaurants, but don't think I'll be going back anytime soon...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Expensive but outstanding food and service. Salmon was absolutely perfect and the chicken and artichoke worth every cheesy calorie.

Tags: Fun, Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 22, 2017

Always terrific food. The staff are friendly and helpful. It's a gem not to be missed!

Tags: Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Vegan, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 21, 2017

I had high hopes for this restaurant but was ultimately let down. The meal started off well with great bread and a delicious salad, but fell flat when my beer was served warm, my chicken marsala had all of three mushrooms on it and not the traditional marsala sauce, and the chicken was luke warm. I would not return here.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 20, 2017

It was a friend's birthday and the staff brought our dessert with a candle and we sang. Of course, the food was delicious.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Very pleasant all around. Our meal was outstanding, as was the service. Wine list could be improved to compliment the experience. Nice find and will recommend.

Tags: Authentic, Cozy, Comfort Food, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Café Molise never fails me. It's a great little spot for a delicious bite.

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Food was great and service was great also. I had a fish stew that was loaded with fish. The stock was amazing. My wife had a chicken dish that was also great. A good wine was suggested. Chocolate mousse desert was suggested and it was tremendous. Good bread also. We did not have pasta. Next time. This was our first visit.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 16, 2017

great value restaurant - here in the winter is great, can only imagine how great garden area is - this is real italian, for almost too good a price, and entree comes with great salad as well.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Just great! Simple, elegant, delicious Italian dishes, live jazz, superb service. Looks like we've found the great Italian food we've been searching for in SLC!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 15, 2017

I don't like rating a restaurant based on Valentine's Day but that is when I was there. Our server explained one of the specials incorrectly. I was a little surprised when my dish arrived and had a completely different sauce. My salmon was ordered medium rare and came out very well done. They did bring me another piece of salmon which was much better.My husband ordered the pork and thought it was good. I don't get to SLC very often so I'd probably try somewhere else. Bread is very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Cafe Molise was a pleasant surprise in downtown SLC. The food was very good and reasonably priced. What stood out however was the excellent service. Mollie and her team are professionals and the dinner was a treat as a result.

Tags: Authentic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Large portion at reasonable price. Our server was friendly and helpful with food selection.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.