About Caffe Molise

55 West 100 South
Salt Lake City, UT 84101
View Larger Map

Caffe Molise is a full service restaurant featuring fresh Italian cuisine inspired by the Molise region of Italy. Enjoy dinner surrounded by local art in our dining room or choose a table on our delightful garden patio. Friday evenings feature live jazz with the John Flander's Trio. Caffe Molise is the perfect pre-theatre, opera, symphony, concert, or sporting event dining location and is conveniently located downtown at 55 West 100 South, directly across from Crossroads Mall. Caffe Molise is a DABC liquor licensee and offers wine, beer, and cocktails.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Sunday - Monday: 11:30am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm; Sunday Brunch: 10:00am - 2:00pm

Cross Street:
On 100 South between West Temple and Main Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(801) 364-8833

Website:
http://www.caffemolise.com/

Entertainment:
Live Jazz every Friday night with the John Flander's Jazz Trio.

Catering:
Fresh fish, grilled meats, pasta, salads, and decadent desserts. Catering for all events and budgets from weddings and Holiday parties to box lunches for corporate and pharmaceutical trainings.

Parking Details:
On street parking in front of the restaurant. Pay parking at the City Creek Center (across the street) and a pay lot to the East of the restaurant.

Public Transit:
Get off on the TRAX City Center stop and walk 1/2 block West on 100 South Street.

Executive Chef:
Fred Moesinger

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Mango Blueberry Breadpudding
  • Tiramisu
  • Polenta Con Funghi
  • Polpette Di Melanzane
  • bruschetta misto
  • Involtini Di Pollo
  • Cheese Board For Private Event
  • Anacardi Tostata
  • Mussel Appetizer
Mango Blueberry Breadpudding
Tiramisu
Polenta Con Funghi
Polpette Di Melanzane
bruschetta misto
Involtini Di Pollo
Cheese Board For Private Event
Anacardi Tostata
Mussel Appetizer

Private Dining

The spacious 6500 Square Foot Garden Patio is the perfect location for weddings, rehearsal dinners, birthday parties and other private events. For diners who prefer to sit inside, the restaurant features a semi-private dining room. A minimum food and beverage purchase is required.

Caffe Molise Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Outdoor Dining
Utah
Italian
Utah
Most Booked
Utah
3 More
Outdoor Dining
Salt Lake City
Italian
Salt Lake City
Most Booked
Salt Lake City
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

Great for Outdoor Dining (89)
Special Occasion (60)
Romantic (50)
See All
Fit for Foodies (39)
Good for Groups (37)
Neighborhood Gem (34)
Notable Wine List (26)
Great for Lunch (24)
Good for a Date (15)
Hot Spot (12)
Late-night Find (11)
Great for Brunch (11)
Scenic View (9)
Good for Anniversaries (9)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Kid-friendly (7)
Business Meals (7)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Fun (5)
Casual (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Authentic (5)
Cozy (4)
People Watching (3)
Live Music (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Healthy (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Seasonal (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Spicy (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sort By:
Newest
804 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Italian restaurant with a great patio se ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined 4 days ago

Italian restaurant with a great patio setting outside or you can choose inside with a casual flair. Menu was not extensive but adequate. Portions were ample but not overwhelming. They only had one pasta that was made in house. Wine list was limited but adequate, if not a bit overpriced. Service was fast and friendly. We would go again at some point. Ask for a seat outside near the reflecting pool.

Tags: People Watching, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

The food and patio ambiance combined tog ...

vip
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

The food and patio ambiance combined together to set the stage in a beautiful way for an experience at the Symphony and Emanuel Ax.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I took team members there twice during c ...

vip
 (Orange County)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

I took team members there twice during convention and it was a great experience both times. Service and good were both great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

The food was good. Service appropriately ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

The food was good. Service appropriately attentive enough. Wine by the glass was young.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

We always have a good experience at Caff ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

We always have a good experience at Caffe Molise and this time did not disappoint! Great place for a business lunch and although we did not take advantage of the Dine-O-Round menu, the meal was well prepared, quick and tasty! Will definitely be back for future meals!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My dish was great, my friends was over c ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

My dish was great, my friends was over cooked but waiter didn't return to ask till we were 3/4 done. I would go again and recommend it but it wasn't as good as the first time I went to it. Good days/not as good days but overall a yes.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Great food, excellent service staff. Fa ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

Great food, excellent service staff. Fast service with great attention to detail, everything tasted great, was well prepared and served promptly.

Will be going back again and again.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Fun, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Always love the atmosphere, service by c ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Always love the atmosphere, service by courteous people and seeing Shelley!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Caffe Molise has a wonderful courtyard a ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

Caffe Molise has a wonderful courtyard and the service is excellent. Unfortunately the food is not whatever hoped for, and was rather heavy on the sauces.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5

Excellent food. Everything that we order ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

Excellent food. Everything that we ordered tasted deliciouuso . All of the food that came out of the kitchen and served to the other patrons looked and smelled wonderful. Our waitress was very friendly, helpful and made sure that our dining experience was one to remember. We also loved the outdoor patio. I want to come back at night and eat under the lights. The only suggestion that I have is to possibly offer some type of soup instead of salad for a pre main course.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Authentic, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Spicy, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious food and a great atmosphere. T ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

Delicious food and a great atmosphere. The food is on the expensive side, but well worth the price. Our server was phenomenal. He was super friendly and very knowledgeable. Great place for date night.

Tags: Good for a Date, Seasonal, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Cozy, People Watching, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food is great, good service. Good wine s ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

Food is great, good service. Good wine selection. We will definitely go again.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Live Music, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

I found this location on yelp and ate th ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on August 30, 2016

I found this location on yelp and ate their 1.5 years ago. The dinner was great. Food was great, service was better, there was a jazz band playing out side, it was well worth the higher end pricing. We visited again with a friend and had just as good experience so for New Years I took my family there and the wow factor was not there, but being busy that's acceptable. The only true issue I had other than our server going outside to smoke and coming back in smelling like a ashtray, is that night I got hit with a champagne cork that missed my head and bounced off the wall behind me and hit me in the back. Nothing was done and I was not going to make a scene. Fast forward to the most recent visit where my sister and her husband joining us in celebrating their move to GA. We ended up with the same server from new years and she was less than pleasant to say the less. She could of had a bad day but we felt rushed, not welcomed, and a nuisance. The service was a 2 star due to the busser and helper waiters being very nice, they got us bread and a box that we had to ask for 3 times. The food was subpar and paying 33 dollars for the bisteca (I've had before and it was great) that was bland and the plate looked like a goulash, was very displeasing. My wife's gnocchi was good, she got it with shrimp and alfredo sauce.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

Went to caffe molise for a friends birth ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Went to caffe molise for a friends birthday and it was really fun!! Great food. Not too crazy expensive. The only thing is their wine glasses aren't super nice...which is always a weird pairing when it's a nice dish with weird wine glass. I'm somewhat of a wino and think upscale restaurants should have real wine glasses.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

My family and I were in Salt Lake City f ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

My family and I were in Salt Lake City for a few days after traveling through Yellowstone. Great little neighborhood gem and food!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Casual, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great waited and great recommendations.

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Great waited and great recommendations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

There was a miscommunication on our rese ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

There was a miscommunication on our reserve seating, she couldn't find our name & was going to seat us inside. The other lady found our name & took us immediately, but she was so fast, I didn't know where she went. Our waiter was excellent, the ambiance was great! It was worth it!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great restaurant. The garden patio is a ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Great restaurant. The garden patio is amazing!! Their dishes are delicious. I can't remember which one I had but it was chicken with pasta and this yummy sauce.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Classy/casual spot. Went here for a ladi ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Classy/casual spot. Went here for a ladies night dinner. The service was great, awesome wine list, food was exquisite, very relaxed atmosphere! We went on a Friday evening and there was live jazz music outside. <3 The patio is lovely, with a small pond, water fall, string lights all about, and bugs were not an issue on a warm summer evening! It's a great place for romantic dates, small groups, and larger gatherings. Be sure to make a reservation! This place gets pretty busy on the weekends.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Healthy, Casual, Live Music, Notable Wine List, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

We had vert pleasant outside dining with ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

We had vert pleasant outside dining with exceptional but unobtrusive service. The menu is unique, and everyone in our party of 4 liked their food.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Ambiance on the patio was pleasant and l ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Ambiance on the patio was pleasant and lively, but not noisy. Even though the daytime temp was 93, the shady patio was quite comfortable at 7:15. Menu selections were ample and food was quite nice. Our server was one of the best in recent memory.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Caffe Molise was wonderful! Joshua was t ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Caffe Molise was wonderful! Joshua was the best waiter! Entrees were great! Chocolate cake was mouth watering. Dessert for me was a glass of vin santo, yum! We will definitely go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a group of 13 sitting outside in ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

We had a group of 13 sitting outside in an idyllic courtyard. The server was very nice and attentive most of the time, but it was sometimes a little slow. The food was mostly really good, although my salmon was over-cooked but it tasted good so I didn't send it back. The prices were very fair. The ambiance in the outside area was awesome. We had a great time and would recommend.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Nothing special here even though others ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Nothing special here even though others have given more positive reviews. A long wait for our server and for each course. Meal was very good as in salmon, pasta and caprese salad. Forget cocktails in Utah. The state regulates the allowed amount of alcohol in each pour, yet you may order an entire bottle of wine without issue. Go for the wine or beer. This was a nice outside dining venue on a lovely evening. After awhile, your backside has had enough of the wire mesh chairs, and it's time to go. On the whole, enjoyable.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

I loved the ambiance & the food! My only ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

I loved the ambiance & the food! My only complaint is the server did not bring my box back with my food in it. I'm assuming it was thrown out instead. My new fave spot! ❤️

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

We had a really nice time; however, our ...

vip
 (Caribbean)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

We had a really nice time; however, our service was not very good. Also, tons of flies on the outdoor patio area.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value4

Be sure to ask for an outside table. Por ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Be sure to ask for an outside table. Portions are big. Food was good though a bit heavy.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Great evening courtyard dining environme ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Great evening courtyard dining environment. Lasagna was classic

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Pasta and lamb were excellent. The charc ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Pasta and lamb were excellent. The charcuterie appetizer was disappointing--not really appealing presentation, cheeses were boring and cut in unappealing chunks and the meat potions were skimpy. Service was good.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

This was a dinner in honor of my birthda ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

This was a dinner in honor of my birthday. We were seated on the patio on a very hot day and we were bothered by large numbers of flies the entire time. The food was very disappointing considering the prices. My husband, mom, and children had meat that was very over-cooked and dry. Our waiter was very kind and provided very good service. We would not return to this restaurant again and I would not recommend it. It was very disappointing after reading such great reviews online.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

My wife and I decided to grab some Itali ...

 
 (Idaho)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

My wife and I decided to grab some Italian on our weekend trip to Salt Lake. When searching cafe molise on tripadvisor we saw they had outdoor seating and immediately decided we wanted to sit outside. The food was amazing and the hung lights outdoors really set the mood for a romantic dinner.

Tags: Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

I really love this place and we eat thei ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

I really love this place and we eat their (take-out) for lunch all the time, when we attend the Outdoor Retailer Show as it is literally 50 yards from the show. The Panini sandwiches are the best.

Dinner is tough, because the layout of the restaurant is somewhat awkward with the rooms. I find that the service is rather slow and if you are not in the main dining room, then good luck.

The acoustics with the hard floors and low ceilings make it very loud and hard to relax and have an enjoyable conversation.

The food is always good/great!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

Love this place for a healthy lunch. Gre ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Love this place for a healthy lunch. Great outdoor seating.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Waitress was great. Some of the guys ser ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

Waitress was great. Some of the guys serving water and clearing the table were a bit brash.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

We made reservations at Café Molise for ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

We made reservations at Café Molise for our anniversary and to try something different in Salt Lake. I read all the reviews and everyone said it was authentic Italian. We were seated promptly and were given a corner table as requested in the reservation. We were handed the wine list and menu and were then shortly attended to by our waiter. We were given the specials of the night and asked if we would like anything besides water to drink. We could not read the menu because the lighting was so poor and the menu was difficult to read. After deciding on a bottle of wine I had the waiter pour me a glass to try. I was extremely dissatisfied with the taste and he just stood there. I told him I did not like it and he didn't know what to do. He really did just stand there. Finally I said "never mind, just leave the bottle."

Besides not being able to read the menu or having a bottle of wine that we both enjoyed we decided the food was very good and that we would give the restaurant another chance and maybe try the outdoor dining area for better lighting next time.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

We went for our Anniversary Dinner on th ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

We went for our Anniversary Dinner on the recommendation of someone who lives out of state but always eats at Caffe Molise when she visits Salt Lake City. We enjoyed our meal very much and plan to return. :)

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Delicious dishes, specifically the brusc ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Delicious dishes, specifically the bruschetta

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It's a restaurant we always enjoy dining ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

It's a restaurant we always enjoy dining at when in Salt Lake City - especially when we can dine on the patio.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

The service and food were excellent! My ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

The service and food were excellent! My fiance and I had the dinner and atmosphere we were looking for not to mention delicious food. Perfect for taking her out for her birthday.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Joshua was amazing and super sweet with ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Joshua was amazing and super sweet with his service. He was funny & made us feel comfortable and welcomed. I will definitely return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.