About Caffe Molise

55 West 100 South
Salt Lake City, UT 84101
View Larger Map

Caffe Molise is a full service restaurant featuring fresh Italian cuisine inspired by the Molise region of Italy. Enjoy dinner surrounded by local art in our dining room or choose a table on our delightful garden patio. Friday evenings feature live jazz with the John Flander's Trio. Caffe Molise is the perfect pre-theatre, opera, symphony, concert, or sporting event dining location and is conveniently located downtown at 55 West 100 South, directly across from Crossroads Mall. Caffe Molise is a DABC liquor licensee and offers wine, beer, and cocktails.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Sunday - Monday: 11:30am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm; Sunday Brunch: 10:00am - 2:00pm

Cross Street:
On 100 South between West Temple and Main Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(801) 364-8833

Website:
http://www.caffemolise.com/

Entertainment:
Live Jazz every Friday night with the John Flander's Jazz Trio.

Catering:
Fresh fish, grilled meats, pasta, salads, and decadent desserts. Catering for all events and budgets from weddings and Holiday parties to box lunches for corporate and pharmaceutical trainings.

Parking Details:
On street parking in front of the restaurant. Pay parking at the City Creek Center (across the street) and a pay lot to the East of the restaurant.

Public Transit:
Get off on the TRAX City Center stop and walk 1/2 block West on 100 South Street.

Executive Chef:
Fred Moesinger

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

The spacious 6500 Square Foot Garden Patio is the perfect location for weddings, rehearsal dinners, birthday parties and other private events. For diners who prefer to sit inside, the restaurant features a semi-private dining room. A minimum food and beverage purchase is required.

Caffe Molise Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.2

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (42)
Special Occasion (41)
Pre/post Theatre (36)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (29)
Creative Cuisine (28)
Authentic (27)
Casual (26)
Good for Birthdays (26)
Romantic (25)
Cozy (23)
Worth the Drive (23)
Business Meals (22)
Comfort Food (22)
Good for Groups (22)
Fit for Foodies (21)
Notable Wine List (20)
Good for Anniversaries (20)
Great for Outdoor Dining (19)
Quiet Conversation (16)
Fun (16)
Outstanding Value (13)
Healthy (12)
Live Music (10)
Modern Decor (10)
Good Vegetarian Options (10)
Great for Lunch (10)
Tasting Menu (7)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Historic (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Family Style (5)
Local Ingredients (5)
Afternoon Coffee (4)
People Watching (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Disabled Access (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Great Beer (3)
Private Room (3)
Seasonal (3)
Scenic View (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Organic (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Fireplace (1)
Tapas (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Sort By:
S
942 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Food was great and service was great als ...

vip
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined 4 days ago

Food was great and service was great also. I had a fish stew that was loaded with fish. The stock was amazing. My wife had a chicken dish that was also great. A good wine was suggested. Chocolate mousse desert was suggested and it was tremendous. Good bread also. We did not have pasta. Next time. This was our first visit.

Tags: , Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

great value restaurant - here in the win ...

 
 (New England)·Dined 4 days ago

great value restaurant - here in the winter is great, can only imagine how great garden area is - this is real italian, for almost too good a price, and entree comes with great salad as well.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Just great! Simple, elegant, delicious I ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined 5 days ago

Just great! Simple, elegant, delicious Italian dishes, live jazz, superb service. Looks like we've found the great Italian food we've been searching for in SLC!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I don't like rating a restaurant based o ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined 5 days ago

I don't like rating a restaurant based on Valentine's Day but that is when I was there. Our server explained one of the specials incorrectly. I was a little surprised when my dish arrived and had a completely different sauce. My salmon was ordered medium rare and came out very well done. They did bring me another piece of salmon which was much better.My husband ordered the pork and thought it was good. I don't get to SLC very often so I'd probably try somewhere else. Bread is very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value5

Cafe Molise was a pleasant surprise in d ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined 6 days ago

Cafe Molise was a pleasant surprise in downtown SLC. The food was very good and reasonably priced. What stood out however was the excellent service. Mollie and her team are professionals and the dinner was a treat as a result.

Tags: Authentic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Large portion at reasonable price. Our s ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Large portion at reasonable price. Our server was friendly and helpful with food selection.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Overall Caffe Molise was very good. The ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Overall Caffe Molise was very good. The staff was friendly and helpful, and the food was slightly above expectations for the price point.

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was great but the best part of the ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Food was great but the best part of the evening was the service. Paul was outstanding, thank you for your attentiveness and overall charm.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Overall a pleasant experience. We were s ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Overall a pleasant experience. We were seated quickly and the food arrived promptly. The waiter wasn't overly friendly but we really enjoyed that. The food was good and the price was very reasonable. Loved the restaurant itself and the setting, also very easy to carry a conversation without yelling.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor, , Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Caffe Molise had a lovely ambiance, and ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Caffe Molise had a lovely ambiance, and very friendly staff. They kindly accommodated the additional people that joined our part last minute. The food was delicious and the price reasonable.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Casual, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

This was my first dinner experience in S ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 9, 2017

This was my first dinner experience in SLC. Came here with a colleague while in town on business. Wonderful penne dish with goat cheese. The polenta with sausage was very, very good. Excellent service, wonderful food. We made a reservation, and it was a good thing - the restaurant was nice and busy!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Comfort Food, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food is always good. The service is plea ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Food is always good. The service is pleasant and the price is great. Thanks.

Tags: People Watching, Business Meals, Afternoon Coffee, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best authentic Italian food is Salt Lake ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Best authentic Italian food is Salt Lake City. Great flavors, perfectly prepared and presented. First time to this restaurant; will go back soon.

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Family Style, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Everything about Caffè Molise is wonderf ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Everything about Caffè Molise is wonderful. Great service, fantastic food, and a top-notch wine list. The papardelle al sugo was out of this world.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our experience overall was just ok. My b ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Our experience overall was just ok. My biggest challenge was our server - he was a hard pusher on the upsells. When we inquired about a bottle of wine, instead of providing any information on the one we wanted, he suggested two others at a significantly higher price. When we persisted on our question for the original bottle, again, he pushed the more expensive item. We noticed the same when it came to recommending entrees - he mentioned only the two most expensive menu items. I don't mind paying for good (or great) food or wine but it was his approach that was such a turn off.

As for the experience, we were seated relatively near the door (even with a reservation and other open tables) and found ourselves graced with a very cold breeze every time the door opened. The food was good, nothing really exceptional. The wine was also good - although we still have no idea about the bottle we inquired about (we opted for one of his recommendations because of the lack of information about the others).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

We had a awesome experience. The waiter ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 29, 2017

We had a awesome experience. The waiter was really nice and the food was on point. Would recommend any day!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I have done here several tim ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 27, 2017

My wife and I have done here several times, and the food is always exquisite, With friendly service and a relaxing environment.

Tags: Special Occasion, , Pre/post Theatre, Disabled Access, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Stumbled upon this restaurant while vis ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Stumbled upon this restaurant while visiting Salt Lake City and was very satisified. I had the antipasti and lasagna and they were delicious! Great atmosphere and our waitress did a fantastic job delivering the food quickly when we informed her that we were in a hurry. Definitely recommend!

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Since my husband's family is from the pr ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Since my husband's family is from the province of Molise in Italy, we decided to give Caffe Molise a try. When we mentioned my husband is Italian, the chef came to our table and talked with us about the restaurant's history and the menu.

All seven of us were delighted with our selections! The gnocchi was delicious by itself, but some of us added toppings. Our toppings included shrimp, meatballs, and eggplant meatballs. Two members in our party had the special, salmon over pasta. They both said it was delicious. The spinach salad was perfect and when one person in our party asked for several ingredients to be left off her salad, the server quickly obliged. By the way, our server was Chris. He efficiently and expertly took care of us.

We enjoyed cocktails, wine, sparkling water, and coffee. We really didn't need dessert, but decided to order it anyway! We weren't disappointed with creme brulee, tiaramisu, and chocolate cake.

For the quality of food and service, the price was very affordable.

Both food and service were exceptional; we'd love to return if we ever get back to Salt Lake City.

My Italian family highly recommends this Italian restaurant!

Tags: Good for a Date, Fun, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Extraordinary service, a great atmospher ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Extraordinary service, a great atmosphere and delicious pasta. Our server was so nice and went above and beyond expectations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Caffe Molise is a gem. Excellent food, ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Caffe Molise is a gem. Excellent food, excellent wait staff, and pleasant atmosphere. The location is perfect for mall shopping or theater going.

Tags: Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great meal, fantastic service. This was ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on January 19, 2017

Great meal, fantastic service. This was my first time here won't be the last!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a very good meal at fair price. Y ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on January 19, 2017

We had a very good meal at fair price. You could get a decent glass of wine for $7.

Tags: Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great service and food was spectacular

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 18, 2017

Great service and food was spectacular

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Five adults had five different entrées a ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on January 16, 2017

Five adults had five different entrées and each loved our own selection. Menu suggested "desserts not to miss" and they were right! In town visiting family for four days, Molisse provided the finest meals we had. Superb.

Tags: Disabled Access, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options, Authentic, Kid-friendly, Healthy, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The food was good, I really enjoyed that ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 14, 2017

The food was good, I really enjoyed that. I had never been there before so I was a little underdressed but they were polite still. But the chairs seemed awfully flimsy, the first chair I was using the screws fell out, the second one was really wobbly and I'm not a heavy guy. So it was a little unusual. But other than that, I enjoyed the experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Healthy, Cozy, Modern Decor, Romantic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

Very good service. Knolagable waiter. Gr ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Very good service. Knolagable waiter. Great bread and service

Tags: Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

For the past 9 Outdoor Retailer Shows he ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 13, 2017

For the past 9 Outdoor Retailer Shows held in Salt Lake City, Caffe Molise is our last dinner night together as a group. Great food and ambiance, and it has become our favorite tradition.

Tags: Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This is our 5th time using Caffe Molise ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 10, 2017

This is our 5th time using Caffe Molise for our OR main gathering, and it has been wonderful each time. I love this place, especially in the summer on the patio.

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Late-night Find, Tasting Menu, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food and service is always epic.

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 9, 2017

The food and service is always epic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I took my fiancé to Caffe Molise for a s ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 8, 2017

I took my fiancé to Caffe Molise for a special date and couldn't be more pleased with how perfect it all was, the food, while decently pricey, is outstanding, the salmon being the best I ever tasted. Wonderful ambiance and service, prompt service and food. Incredible evening spent at Caffe Molise

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We've been looking for a non-chain Itali ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 7, 2017

We've been looking for a non-chain Italian restaurant that we like, and it looks like we found one! We all enjoyed our yummy entrees, the rolls, and desserts.

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Live Music, Good Vegetarian Options, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We have been to Cafe Molise several time ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 5, 2017

We have been to Cafe Molise several times and they never disappoint. We love the ambiance, attentive and knowledgeable servers like Angel, and the food is always wonderful. This restaurant is a treasure for Salt Lake City.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Found you online to combine with a visit ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Found you online to combine with a visit to SLC. This was a lunch at 2 p.m. We were so very delighted with the menu, and the entree's were the best Italian we've had outside our home cooking and our Rome experience while we were living there. Honestly. The music and Orvieto just topped us over. We have been back for dinner and bought two gift certificates for family and friends to experience what we know will be a lovely evening. We are regulars now and cant wait til it warms up so we can experience the outdoor dining, so very much like our Rome dining.

Tags: Fun, Casual, Tasting Menu, Organic, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good Vegetarian Options, Worth the Drive, Live Music, , Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options, Cozy, Authentic, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We had a wonderful experience here! Yheu ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We had a wonderful experience here! Yheubseated us right away and they were quick with our food whihbis a huge plus!! The flavors in every dish was to die for!! Definitely worth it!!

Tags: Casual, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Cozy, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Cute little place a block from the Eccle ...

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Cute little place a block from the Eccles Theatre. We were pleasantly surprised by a moderately priced menu, excellent service, and excellent food. We are definitely going back.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

The house made papperdelle is incredible ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 30, 2016

The house made papperdelle is incredible. The mixed green salad is boring, it's just lettuce with a lot of oil and vinegar. It could be improved with salad veggies, fruit and/or croutons. My husband's chicken was dry and overcooked. We would definitely come back but we would both get the papperdelle pasta.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We all enjoyed our meal very much. Our s ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 30, 2016

We all enjoyed our meal very much. Our server was quite attentive. And the manager was instrumental in helping us to solve a ticketing problem for an event after dinner. This is the perfect place to go for dinner before the show at the new Eccles Theatre.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We live out of town but frequently come ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 29, 2016

We live out of town but frequently come to Salt Lake City to visit family. Caffe Molise is one of our favorites. We like the relaxed environment and the staff are always friendly. Highly recommend the butternut squash ravioli for an appetizer and the Aristo pork dish is phenomenal!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A friend recommended Cafe Molise as a gr ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 29, 2016

A friend recommended Cafe Molise as a great place to eat. He was spot on! We thoroughly enjoyed the evening there and the food was wonderful. Would highly recommend...

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.