About Caffe Molise

55 West 100 South
Salt Lake City, UT 84101
View Larger Map

Caffe Molise is a full service restaurant featuring fresh Italian cuisine inspired by the Molise region of Italy. Enjoy dinner surrounded by local art in our dining room or choose a table on our delightful garden patio. Friday evenings feature live jazz with the John Flander's Trio. Caffe Molise is the perfect pre-theatre, opera, symphony, concert, or sporting event dining location and is conveniently located downtown at 55 West 100 South, directly across from Crossroads Mall. Caffe Molise is a DABC liquor licensee and offers wine, beer, and cocktails.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Sunday - Monday: 11:30am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm; Sunday Brunch: 10:00am - 2:00pm

Cross Street:
On 100 South between West Temple and Main Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(801) 364-8833

Website:
http://www.caffemolise.com/

Entertainment:
Live Jazz every Friday night with the John Flander's Jazz Trio.

Catering:
Fresh fish, grilled meats, pasta, salads, and decadent desserts. Catering for all events and budgets from weddings and Holiday parties to box lunches for corporate and pharmaceutical trainings.

Parking Details:
On street parking in front of the restaurant. Pay parking at the City Creek Center (across the street) and a pay lot to the East of the restaurant.

Public Transit:
Get off on the TRAX City Center stop and walk 1/2 block West on 100 South Street.

Executive Chef:
Fred Moesinger

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Mango Blueberry Breadpudding
  • Polenta Con Funghi
  • bruschetta misto
  • Tiramisu
  • Polpette Di Melanzane
  • Involtini Di Pollo
  • Cheese Board For Private Event
  • Anacardi Tostata
  • Mussel Appetizer
Mango Blueberry Breadpudding
Polenta Con Funghi
bruschetta misto
Tiramisu
Polpette Di Melanzane
Involtini Di Pollo
Cheese Board For Private Event
Anacardi Tostata
Mussel Appetizer

Private Dining

The spacious 6500 Square Foot Garden Patio is the perfect location for weddings, rehearsal dinners, birthday parties and other private events. For diners who prefer to sit inside, the restaurant features a semi-private dining room. A minimum food and beverage purchase is required.

Caffe Molise Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Outdoor Dining
Utah
Italian
Utah
Most Booked
Utah
4 More
Best Value
Salt Lake City
Outdoor Dining
Salt Lake City
Italian
Salt Lake City
Most Booked
Salt Lake City
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

great for outdoor dining (83)
fit for foodies (64)
special occasion (64)
See All
good for groups (47)
neighborhood gem (47)
romantic (46)
great for lunch (36)
notable wine list (34)
hot spot (17)
great for brunch (15)
late-night find (14)
scenic view (10)
kid-friendly (7)
vibrant bar scene (4)
Sort By:
Newest
767 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Delicious dishes, specifically the brusc ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined 3 days ago

Delicious dishes, specifically the bruschetta

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It's a restaurant we always enjoy dining ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined 6 days ago

It's a restaurant we always enjoy dining at when in Salt Lake City - especially when we can dine on the patio.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

The service and food were excellent! My ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined 6 days ago

The service and food were excellent! My fiance and I had the dinner and atmosphere we were looking for not to mention delicious food. Perfect for taking her out for her birthday.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Joshua was amazing and super sweet with ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined 6 days ago

Joshua was amazing and super sweet with his service. He was funny & made us feel comfortable and welcomed. I will definitely return.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful patio, wonderful menu of delic ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined 6 days ago

Beautiful patio, wonderful menu of delicious sounding Italian dishes. Had a wonderful dinner before the concert.

Tags: romantic, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The restaurant has a very cool patio and ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

The restaurant has a very cool patio and the food is excellent. Try the Arista. It is to die for.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had a great time. Our second time fo ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

We had a great time. Our second time for dinner. We are from Nebraska and will make this our spot whenever we are in town.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I've been here before and had a great ex ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

I've been here before and had a great experience. This was a Monday night and things appeared to be a bit off. Our waiter completely forgot about our group of 7. We had to go find him in order to get the check. Disappointing way to end the start to a great business dinner.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1
value3

Had my anniversary dinner here, it was a ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Had my anniversary dinner here, it was absolutely wonderful with no complaints.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is one of our favorite SLC spots du ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

This is one of our favorite SLC spots due to the location and lovely outdoor patio. The food is typically outstanding. On our most recent visit - the food arrived at our table lukewarm and wasn't what we had come to expect. I will certainly go back and give them another try when we are in town again.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Really enjoyed the outdoor setting. Foo ...

vip
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Really enjoyed the outdoor setting. Food was delicious! Service was wonderful.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

In town to meet a cousin who had flown i ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

In town to meet a cousin who had flown in. Always a pleasure to show off this restaurant. The fact that there are many vegetarian items on the menu was a real plus for our guest.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a lovely dining experience at Caf ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

We had a lovely dining experience at Cafe Molise. The patio with live jazz provides great ambience for a summer evening. The service was very attentive, even down to the waitress asking if we wanted to pause between courses. This was appreciated. The pasta dishes were very good (shrimp fra diavolo and the goatcheese penne with sundried tomatoes and artichokes). Definitely a good value for the money spent and the food was delicious.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

I loved listening to the fountain and th ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

I loved listening to the fountain and the twinkling lights on the patio! Great food and dessert! I've already booked a birthday dinner to go back again!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I made a reservation on Open Table for C ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

I made a reservation on Open Table for Cafe Molise for our 36th anniversary. The outdoor dining area was nice with the water feature and we were given a great table. Service and food were great! Thanks for making our anniversary special!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Sit outside. If you dont like the place ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Sit outside. If you dont like the place they put you, ask for a different seat.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Overall had a great experience. It was ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Overall had a great experience. It was a little hotter outside than expected. Recommend sitting indoors if temperature is hot outside. Not much ventilation outdoors. Otherwise, GREAT.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Good food but could have had a little mo ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Good food but could have had a little more flavor. Everything else was great.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We always enjoy Cafe Molese. Nice Italia ...

vip
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

We always enjoy Cafe Molese. Nice Italian restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

The setting is a gem for great summer di ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

The setting is a gem for great summer dining. It is unfortunate the dining experience is so hit-an-miss; really bad service (had to ask for menus, water, the check, etc.) and spent over an hour waiting for mediocre food (ravioli is not made in-house).

Tags: great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value4

Really great restaurant. We sat outside ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Really great restaurant. We sat outside in the courtyard and they had a brilliant jazz band playing. The food was delicious, and the ambiance was buzzy but relaxed.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ashley our server was fantastic and on t ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Ashley our server was fantastic and on top of everything, and the ancillary wait staff were all very accommodating filling waters and clearing plates etc., right away. The timing for everything was excellent, it was very relaxing out on the patio and I appreciated having reservations. The outside patio is just gorgeous and is spaced out well so as to enjoy conversations and not feel crowded, nor was it too loud. It was a very elegant meal, my friends and I went all-out and tried each others' dishes, desserts, and the wine was fabulous and paired well. We were never rushed and stayed as long as we were comfortable to enjoy the scene, and it was just perfect on a warm summer night. I look forward to returning and will tell everyone about it; especially anyone who enjoys food as much as I do! Definitely a foodies' paradise.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was excellent and the service s ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

The food was excellent and the service superb! We had a party of 12 and everyone enjoyed the evening!

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We hold our annual team dinner here ever ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

We hold our annual team dinner here every year! Wouldn't think of switching when we have the best!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall the experience was great. I just ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

Overall the experience was great. I just have two complaints, I ordered the fish of the day which was the salmon. It had excellent flavor but was over cooked, and I felt for $30 it should have been just the right texture and flavor. In general though the plate all together was delicious. Second the amount of flys in the place was horrendous, when im paying $124 for my fine dining experience I don't like consistently brushing away flys or looking up and seeing flys (and this was inside not out) . Something definitely needs to be done to get the bug situation under control. I don't care if there are fly papers placed somewhere or the door to the outside needs to be kept shut but it definitely doesn't enhance my dining experience at a place like this. Maybe at a place where I'm not paying $15 or more a plate it wouldn't be as much of a complaint.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value3

First time visiting Caffe Molise. It wa ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

First time visiting Caffe Molise. It was a recommendation from my son. My wife and I were having dinner with the president of the company I work for. Ate outside. Atmosphere was great, weather was great. All parties enjoyed their food. Service was outstanding. Will definitely go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent atmosphere, great food, attent ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Excellent atmosphere, great food, attentive server. Can't wait to return and try something new from the menu.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Something different and healthier than ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

Something different and healthier than the ordinary food. Great tea chooses.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

delicious food, laid-back outdoor setting

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

This was my third time at Caffe Molise -- the first two times both food and service were fantastic. On this night they were really understaffed and it took a long time for just about everything -- to get seated (despite reservations), for the server to take our orders and check in on us, for us to get the check . . . the food was still outstanding, and I look forward to giving this place another chance and eating here again next time I am in town.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value3

Al Fresco

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on May 31, 2016

What a gem of a location!

Ate outdoors at 72 degrees.

No bugs.

Good wine list.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Great food on a beautiful patio! Waiter ...

vip
 (Montana)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Great food on a beautiful patio! Waiter was excellent and very attentive!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very limited, unimaginative menu. Rolls ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Very limited, unimaginative menu. Rolls were not fully baked, doughy. Location is the best part, walking distance to symphony.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

This is my daughter's favorite restauran ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

This is my daughter's favorite restaurant in Salt Lake City!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Food Great Waitress Great Atmosphere

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on May 23, 2016

We were in town for work and it happened to be our 35th Wedding Anniversary so we wanted to eat at a nice place. This was just what we were looking for the Ravioli Con Zucca was awesome and our Pollo Marsala and Beef Shoulder Special were Great. I would recommend anyone to try this place.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great Waiter!

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Paul was the best and recommended an excellent wine to go with my dinner.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The food and the service were great, ver ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

The food and the service were great, very high class. In fact, I've never experienced a salad that melts together in my mouth like Molise has done. The indoor walls are brick with several paintings, and so sounds are amplified. My wife and I were there for our 10th anniversary, and we had a good time. It was very loud however, and I could only hear a portion of what my wife was saying in conversation, so that was a bit frustrating. All in all, this Cafe deserves a good review. Great for a friend's night with a group, but I'd not recommend it for a romantic dinner, unless you are in the deaf population, (I'm not joking, my ASL friends and family would LOVE it here), as communication can be challenging.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

I travel to Salt Lake 6 or 7 times a yea ...

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

I travel to Salt Lake 6 or 7 times a year and always try to eat here. Very reasonable and great food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

First time here

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

We had the butternut squash ravioli, scampi pasta, steak and creme brûlée. Thought it was all great our server was great and happy, we will go back again.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food, good atmosphere

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Took my mother here for Mother's Day. Great Italian food, comparable to Canella's but at a lower price point. I had the Parpadelle al Sugo and my mother had the chicken artichoke dish, the name is escaping me, both of which were outstanding. Service was the most attentive I've experienced other than the most high end dining.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Perfect date night

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

We had amazing food and a fantastic experience! Our server was friendly and efficient, and each course was delivered in great timing.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.