About Caffe Dolce

500 Brooks Street
Missoula, MT 59801
View Larger Map

Caffè Dolce at 500 Brooks Street, Missoula.

Caffè Dolce features fine dining with informal flare. In the heart of a historic Missoula neighborhood, Caffè Dolce features seasonal contemporary Italian menus with a focus on quality ingredients.

Dolce’s wine bar features a potent old-world-wine list, showcasing a stunning collection of artisanal wine makers from Italy, France, and Spain. The beer menu features local and regional, and worldly craft beers.
Think of us before dinner as well. Fresh baked goods, light breakfast offerings and an Italian coffee bar are served in the morning. Lunch is served from the counter throughout the afternoon. House-made gelato rounds out the offering. Brunch served all day Sunday. Kids welcome. Seasonal patio.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Contemporary European

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday - Friday: 7:00 AM - 10:45 AM, Saturday 8:00 AM - 10:45AM, Sunday: 9:00 AM - 2:00 PM
Sunday Brunch: 9:00 AM - 2:00 PM
Lunch: Monday- Saturday: 11:30 AM - 4:00 PM
Dinner: Monday - Thursday, Saturday: 5:00 PM - 9:00 PM, Friday: 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Cross Street:
Beckwith

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(406) 830-3055 ext. 3

Website:
http://caffedolcemissoula.com/

Parking Details:
Parking lot to the South of the building off of Brooks Street.
Street parking around the block of the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Andrew Martin

Private Party Facilities:
Our semi-private dining room seats up to sixteen.
We can also section off part of our primary dining room for larger parties.

Dining room buyout can accommodate up to 100. Readily available Sunday evenings.

Private Party Contact:
Selya Avila: 4068303055x3

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Beer, Cafe, Counter Seating, Gluten-free Menu, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

  • Cheddar, Tomato, And Bacon On House Made Baguette
  • squid ink spaghetti
  • Red Wine Lentil Soup
  • Minestrone
  • Rabbit Ragu with Pappardelle
  • Cafe Mocha
  • Wild Mushroom Scramble
Cheddar, Tomato, And Bacon On House Made Baguette
squid ink spaghetti
Red Wine Lentil Soup
Minestrone
Rabbit Ragu with Pappardelle
Cafe Mocha
Wild Mushroom Scramble

Caffe Dolce Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.2

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Montana
Best Food
Montana
Best Service
Montana
7 More
Best Value
Montana
Fit for Foodies
Montana
Neighborhood Gem
Montana
Romantic
Montana
Special Occasion
Montana
Most Booked
Montana
Most Booked
Missoula
Best Restaurants in Missoula ›

neighborhood gem (36)
fit for foodies (36)
special occasion (28)
See All
great for outdoor dining (26)
notable wine list (25)
romantic (22)
great for lunch (18)
good for groups (16)
kid-friendly (15)
great for brunch (12)
hot spot (10)
late-night find (3)
scenic view (1)
vibrant bar scene (1)
Sort By:
Newest
204 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Eclectic menu. Huge wine list. Noisy wit ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

Eclectic menu. Huge wine list. Noisy with gorgeous ceilings.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food1
ambience1
service1
value2

Major let-down

Dined on June 3, 2016

Unpleasant from beginning to end. Staff refused to seat us at a table thst sat vacant. No specials. Pasta sitting in pool of oil. Surly server. Etc.

food4
ambience4
service5

It was a nice layout of the restaurant a ...

Dined on May 31, 2016

It was a nice layout of the restaurant and I'm glad I sat outside with the nice weather and where was a little less crowded...based on the prior reviews. Don't go by the menu on open table as they change it up weekly and was dramatically different but they do small plate that falls under Italian or Mediterranean. The server was very helpful and timely.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Been there many times; always good food. ...

Dined on May 26, 2016

Been there many times; always good food. Can be noisy because of high ceilings but when doors are open to outside it mitigates it. Great spot for dinner and we can walk from our home.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Another amazing meal at this great favor ...

Dined on May 24, 2016

Another amazing meal at this great favorite of ours. The only thing I can say is the noise level Is bad....but the food is so good we will always come back. Our waitress Juliet was very attentive

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Delightful Restaurant in Missoula

Dined on May 21, 2016

Great Italian Food with delicious gluten free options!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love the new menu

Dined on May 21, 2016

Our dinner Friday was wonderful. They have a new menu and so many great choices.. My hubby had steak with morels (yum!) and I had the lamb chop - outrageous! Service was flawless as always! Thanks cafe dolce

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Very fun! Been here several times and br ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

Very fun! Been here several times and brought out-of-town family members for this one. All were impressed by the huge wine list and loved our meals. The chef's choice vegetables were delicious and we loved that the portions weren't too big or too small. Great meal!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious lamb ragu

Dined on May 10, 2016

My daughters paperadelle lamb ragu was plentiful and delicious!! Great comfort food. My pizza was good but a bit lacking on ingredients, and I prefer a thinner, crispier crust on a thin crust pizza. Always love going there but pizza wouldn't be my go to order.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My daughter recommended

Dined on May 3, 2016

Beautiful but not pretentious. Friendly and helpful staff. Amazing food. Excellent prices. Will undoubtedly go again.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5

Fiddlehead fern, small plate halibut, se ...

Dined on April 28, 2016

Fiddlehead fern, small plate halibut, seared ahi, all excellent. Service just right. Appropriate but not all chummy-hovery.

food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Great for a business dinner

Dined on April 28, 2016

We had a very good corner table for our business dinner. The service was great, and the wine was very good. I didn't know that the menu had changed, and I was disappointed not to have the short ribs ragu, and the lamb ragu was a bit greasy. However, I am looking forward to trying more of the farm to table offerings next time in.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lovely!

Dined on April 22, 2016

Perfect dining experience. Great shared plate options and presentation. Outdoor patio seating is hard to find in Missoula and Dolce nails the ambiance.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Since moving to Missoula, Cafe Dolce has ...

Dined on April 19, 2016

Since moving to Missoula, Cafe Dolce has become our go to for special occasions. By night it is a Mediterranean restaurant. It has a lovely, romantic ambience, in spite of being a large space. Even when full the lighting etc, allows you to feel in your own little zone. The wine list is wonderful and all the waitstaff we have had so far have been knowledgeable, or, if not sure on one or the other, open and willing to ask and bring tasters if by the glass. I love that you can get quarter carafes when there is just the two of us. By day it has cafe vibe, with lots of families, gelato and coffees. Now it is Spring, everyone is out on the patio again. I ride past everyday to and from work, and it is always popular. The Gelato is delicious. I love their house green salad with cherve and candied pecans - especially great as my partner can't eat the salad commons of raw tomato, raw cucumber and raw onion. We are vegetarian and feel well catered for, even though the menu is not huge. The only time a server misheard an order, the meal was quickly replaced, and we weren't charged for either. So generous - and after I just felt bad for being mumbly! The service is always lovely. I recommend booking at peak times, evenings around 7pm and any evening time on Friday and Saturday, but even when we have just shown up the wait was not lengthy. I have never been for lunch/brunch etc so I cannot comment on those aspects.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

Beautiful building!.....

Dined on March 27, 2016

The noise level was very high with many kids. It looks like they couldn't decide between a gelato parlour or ristorante theme? Food was not worth revisiting. Ciao Mambo is a better choice.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Caffe Dolce is a Missoula gem!

Dined on March 23, 2016

Caffe Dolce service and entrees are top notch. This is a favorite dinner spot for us, and the house wines are excellent. As well, morning coffee is tasty with a quick breakfast during weekdays. We will be trying brunch soon!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Once again, a great meal!

Dined on March 20, 2016

Once again, had a wonderful meal. I had the butternut squash ravioli, and Loren had the clams capellini, which he said were wonderful. I know the squash ravioli are just heavenly and I hate when summer comes and they are no longer available. I don't "hate" when summer comes, but then I can't get the ravioli again until fall. Everything was great--the service, the food, the wine, everything was without fault.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

Crazy good food, Service disappointing!

Dined on March 19, 2016

My son & I went for dinner. The Caesar salad was great. One of the best we ever had. He had the shrimp dish and it was delicious! I had the potato Parmesan soup-it needs some spices. The server forgot my son's beer. I didn't get my wine until 1/2 through dinner. Asked my son if he wanted another beer and forgot it until he was done w/dinner. He couldn't remember what we ordered and just acted like he planned his service to be like that. Came across lame. We ate in the pottery room. Very nice, the noise level wasn't deafening. The high ceiling in the main room is so high that you couldn't hear the other person yelling at you. Food is good, I'm sure other servers are excellent.

Tags: romantic
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A Missoula Gem!

Dined on March 17, 2016

Our meal and the service was excellent in all respects. I had a very nice Double Rainbow IPA and the perfect Fall Lettuce Salad and my picky teenage daughters each had the penne marinara a gelato and loved it.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Good Food!

Dined on March 12, 2016

I absolutely adore the lamb burger for dinner or lunch!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Chef was On Top of His Game

Dined on March 5, 2016

Sometimes Dolce is a little off. Not this time. Everything was delicious and properly prepared.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great neighborhood spot.

Dined on February 21, 2016

My wife and I went here for a weekend dinner, it is a short walk from our home. The food was excellent and the service was great. I had a pasta dish which was very good and wife ordered one of their small specialty pizzas. Both were great. We had an excellent bottle of Spanish wine off the extensive wine list. They also have a list of great beers which I did not have a change to try on this trip. They seem to usually have several excellent Belgian style beers which can be hard to find in this region. This place is a real gem.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Order the side of mushrooms.

Dined on February 16, 2016

We ordered the side of mushrooms for an appetizer... I don't think we will be able to not order that now. So very delicious, excellent selection of mushrooms, delectable and tender.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Very Good

Dined on February 14, 2016

The food was great. Wine was great. Good place for a date if you don't mind spending a little bit more for some pretty great food.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Exceptional Service!

Dined on January 31, 2016

Cafe Dolce has always been one of our favorite date night spots. The food and wine menu always have old favorites yet still offer something new and exciting each season. We had a fantastic server at our last visit! She was polite and efficient and went out of her way to make sure we had a great time! When we asked about different wines she was quick to bring us a sample and was super helpful in offering suggestions. I wish I could remember her name because she deserves the positive recognition!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food2
ambience3
service2

My $39 steak was tough and full of inedi ...

vip
Dined on January 30, 2016

My $39 steak was tough and full of inedible fat; quite a disappointment. The service can often be indifferent, but this time our waitress was truly quite poor.

food4
ambience2
service4
value1

Noisey environment distracted from our enjoyment.

Dined on January 24, 2016

The restaurant was finished with ceramic tile and furnished with metal tables and chairs. So the sound reverberated throughout, and it was LOUD. It was difficult to have a conversation at a normal volume. The menu features a variety of unusual items--lamb, quail, and buffalo entrees--in addition to pizza. We thought the selection of traditional Italian meals was limited. The quality of the food and service were very good.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

lrs

Dined on January 20, 2016

Café dolce is always very good, it was fun to see young families enjoying a very good dinner and the children didn't bother anyone. Just a great place for a nice dinner.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Really yummy food

Dined on January 17, 2016

My husband and I love the food and the service. The short rib ragu is a favorite. The server is really good about letting us taste wines before we commit. My only complaint is that the servers don't seem to recognize us and we go there a lot. Tip: make a reservation. They fill up fast, even on a Tuesday night. The small high tables and stools aren't comfortable, and that's where you'll end up on a busy night without a reservation.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Less Than Expected

Dined on January 16, 2016

Ordered an entree special but what arrived was the size of an appetizer. One chicken thigh and a couple of mushrooms?

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My favorite restaurant in Missoula, hands down.

Dined on January 10, 2016

The food is delicious, and made of whole foods, from scratch. I have a few food allergies and they are happy to accommodate. The wait staff is attentive, well trained, and work as a team.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

we hungry

Dined on January 5, 2016

me hungry she-wife hungry go to dolce. eat food no moore hungry i rate 10 deer hides

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A special dining experience out of downtown

Dined on December 31, 2015

My partner and I went there for our anniversary on a weeknight. It was very busy and a reservation would be recommended. We had one, and were seated promptly. Our server was extremely attentive, but not at all pushy. Thee food was delicious and well paced. We are vegetarian, and were very happy with the choices available, although expanding the range to include something in the section with fish and meat offerings for the main, rather than only pizza and pasta would impress. A haloumi stack or similar perhaps? The house salad is pleasantly not cucumber, onions and tomato! The portions are good - not skimpy, but not wasteful. We were very pleased with the wine list, and the wine we chose. The range of gelati is mentioned in almost all reviews and I agree it is a wonderful end to the evening. We chose Tirimisu and Maple Pecan to share and they are well balanced and flavourful. I love that this restaurant is amongst the neighborhood, and thus walking distance. Its nice to not have to go downtown or to the hipstrip for everything, especially as we are not car owners. This is definitely an upmarket dining experience, not a cheap eat, but the fantastic service and quality offering make it great value for special occasions. I highly recommend Cafe Dolce.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Outstanding!

Dined on December 29, 2015

We went to Caffe Dolce to enjoy dinner for our anniversary. We both had the butternut squash ravioli--the last two orders at that. Our dinner was just outstanding. Truly deserving of the phrase "to die for." I feel sorry for the diners who did not get the butternut squash ravioli, but I am really glad we got there in time to get the last ones. Service was excellent, as usual. Caffe Dolce was very, very busy for a Monday night, and very, very noisy.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Epic

Dined on December 19, 2015

This experience was absolutely amazing. We went out with another couple and so enjoyed ourselves. We are still talking about the experience. We all ordered something different so we were able to try a multitude of items. Not one thing was less than stellar in appearance, flavor, portion size, etc. We were able to have a nice appetizer, bottle of wine, dessert, and dinner for under $200.00. I enjoyed the fact that this establishment was not a sit down "romantic" (as in quiet and softer) but rather a fun, and dynamic place to enjoy a conversation without offense to anyone. I will visit again for there is food left not tried. Thank you for a most wonderful experience. I've never felt more welcome.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Our table was ready when we arrived and ...

Dined on December 9, 2015

Our table was ready when we arrived and service was very prompt. Started with the pork belly, which was a great dish, my wife really like the lintels that were part of the dish. The by the glass wine menu featured wines all from France so it was a nice opportunity to try different varietals. Our main dishes were cooked to our liking with very good flavor. Caffe Dolce is a great place for a casual night or a date night.

food4
ambience2
service1

Service needs to improve and be more consistent

Dined on November 22, 2015

Although Caffe Dolce normally has excellent food, it service is incredibly variable. Sometimes it is good and at others it is poor. It makes it hard to want to go there as you never know what you will get and bad service can ruin an evening even if the food is good.

food5
ambience4
service4

Great food, not as great for conversation.

Dined on November 10, 2015

I love Caffe Dolce. I only wish they could figure out how to make it less noisy. If you're young with great hearing it's probably not a big deal but if anyone as even a slight problem it's an issue. I do like their food and the fact we can walk there.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5

Wonderful food and drink!

Dined on November 8, 2015

We celebrated a special birthday with friends. Our waitress was attentive and the food and drinks were excellent!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Terrific Evening

Dined on November 7, 2015

Don't get to dine out all that often, but wanted a fun and different place for an anniversary dinner. Was seated immediately even though we arrived early and the staff could not have been more pleasant. We shared a half-dozen oysters and a Caesar salad with anchovies as an appetizer and had a delicious pasta and burger, respectively, for dinner. Our server went out of her way to make sure we could enjoy an extended evening out and even offered to take pictures for us (knowing full-well it would be appreciated). I can't say enough good things about the restaurant and its staff. Would highly recommend to anyone looking for something other than the typical cuisine, or just a fun excuse to try something new.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.