About Caffe Dolce

500 Brooks Street
Missoula, MT 59801
View Larger Map

Caffè Dolce at 500 Brooks Street, Missoula.

Caffè Dolce features fine dining with informal flare. In the heart of a historic Missoula neighborhood, Caffè Dolce features seasonal contemporary Italian menus with a focus on quality ingredients.

Dolce’s wine bar features a potent old-world-wine list, showcasing a stunning collection of artisanal wine makers from Italy, France, and Spain. The beer menu features local and regional, and worldly craft beers.
Think of us before dinner as well. Fresh baked goods, light breakfast offerings and an Italian coffee bar are served in the morning. Lunch is served from the counter throughout the afternoon. House-made gelato rounds out the offering. Brunch served all day Sunday. Kids welcome. Seasonal patio.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Contemporary European

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday - Friday: 7:00 AM - 10:45 AM, Saturday 8:00 AM - 10:45AM, Sunday: 9:00 AM - 2:00 PM
Sunday Brunch: 9:00 AM - 2:00 PM
Lunch: Monday- Saturday: 11:30 AM - 4:00 PM
Dinner: Monday - Thursday, Saturday: 5:00 PM - 9:00 PM, Friday: 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Cross Street:
Beckwith

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(406) 830-3055 ext. 3

Website:
http://caffedolcemissoula.com/

Parking Details:
Parking lot to the South of the building off of Brooks Street.
Street parking around the block of the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Andrew Martin

Private Party Facilities:
Our semi-private dining room seats up to sixteen.
We can also section off part of our primary dining room for larger parties.

Dining room buyout can accommodate up to 100. Readily available Sunday evenings.

Private Party Contact:
Selya Avila: 4068303055x3

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, Cafe, Counter Seating, Gluten-free Menu, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Cheddar, Tomato, And Bacon On House Made Baguette
  • squid ink spaghetti
  • Red Wine Lentil Soup
  • Minestrone
  • Rabbit Ragu with Pappardelle
  • Cafe Mocha
  • Wild Mushroom Scramble
Cheddar, Tomato, And Bacon On House Made Baguette
squid ink spaghetti
Red Wine Lentil Soup
Minestrone
Rabbit Ragu with Pappardelle
Cafe Mocha
Wild Mushroom Scramble

Caffe Dolce Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Montana
Best Food
Montana
Best Service
Montana
6 More
Best Value
Montana
Fit for Foodies
Montana
Neighborhood Gem
Montana
Notable Wine List
Montana
Most Booked
Montana
Most Booked
Missoula
Best Restaurants in Missoula ›

Fit for Foodies (35)
Neighborhood Gem (34)
Great for Outdoor Dining (30)
See All
Notable Wine List (23)
Special Occasion (21)
Great for Lunch (18)
Great for Brunch (14)
Good for Groups (14)
Romantic (14)
Kid-friendly (12)
Hot Spot (7)
Late-night Find (4)
Scenic View (2)
Comfort Food (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Seasonal (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sort By:
Newest
221 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Our waitress are amazing! So happy, chee ...

 
 (Montana)
·Dined 3 days ago

Our waitress are amazing! So happy, cheerful and helpful! Made our dinner an enjoyable one!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Seasonal, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our last dinner in Montana befo ...

 
 (Montana)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

This was our last dinner in Montana before we headed home to St. Louis. We were celebrating our 45th wedding anniversary on this trip. It was A Friday night but we were still accommodated to sit outside on a beautiful night. The food was amazing and our waitress couldn't have been more delightful. When she found out we were celebrating our anniversary, she offered us a gelato dessert. It was the perfect end to a wonderful Montana week. If we ever get back to Missoula, Caffe Dolce will be our first stop.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First rate. Best we found in Missoula. D ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

First rate. Best we found in Missoula. Dining room opens to the outside which makes it very nice. Make a reservation to make sure you get in.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Once again another amazing meal at Caffe ...

vip
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Once again another amazing meal at Caffe Dolce. My pasta was perfect, the favors blended so nicely and the wine was very tasty.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

It appears that great effort was made t ...

 
 (Montana)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

It appears that great effort was made to create a high-quality Italian environment, from the elegant ceiling down. The menu displays a wide choice of chef-prepared foods, and the staff are enthusiastic and pleasant. A treasure in Missoula!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Cute place. Desserts were delicious. Sal ...

 
 (Montana)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

Cute place. Desserts were delicious. Salad was on the small side for the price . Our server was wonderful!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Another amazing evening at Caffe Dolce. ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Another amazing evening at Caffe Dolce. The prosciutto/strawberry/hazelnut pizza was delicious. Save room for the gelato!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our waitress was outstanding!!!

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Our waitress was outstanding!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was excellent and the ambiance ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

The food was excellent and the ambiance fine, but the steady drone of background music was bothersome.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Had a wonderful dinner at Cafe Dolce to ...

 
 (Montana)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Had a wonderful dinner at Cafe Dolce to celebrate Friday night! our server had great suggestions on the wine to perfectly compliment our meal. Hubby had the lamb burger and it was awesome! I had the morel and asparagus tagliatelle and loved it. This is always a solid choice in Missoula.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This is a very lovely place to eat in Mi ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

This is a very lovely place to eat in Missoula. We were all from Seattle and wished it was here! If you're in Missoula, don't miss it! (I think they have a place in Bozeman as well.)

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A little noisy but the food and service ...

vip
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

A little noisy but the food and service were perfect.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everyone was thrilled with their meal (a ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Everyone was thrilled with their meal (and we had diverse and fussy diets and palettes). Very nice beer and wine selection. The gelato at the end of the meal was the icing on the cake.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Interior layout is stunning. You feel li ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Interior layout is stunning. You feel like you are in Italy. The food was very good. We had two of the pastas dishes -- both of which were outstanding.

Server was very attentive and knowledgable on the menu and wine list.

The wine list was nice, but I thought it was a bit overpriced. A couple of less expensive options would have been nice, especially those offered by the glass.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We enjoyed a nice double date one evenin ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

We enjoyed a nice double date one evening last week (July 2, 2016). The service was excellent---attentive and with smiles. We loved our lamb burgers as well as the charcuterie board. Thank you so much, Caffe Dolce!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Missoula dining venue for family a ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Great Missoula dining venue for family and friends!

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Typically I love Caffe Dolce, but their ...

 
 (Montana)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

Typically I love Caffe Dolce, but their current summer menu is trying way too hard. They need some real appetizers that are accessible to a wide audience. I am an adventurous eater, but when you have a group of people, it would be nice to have at least a couple of items on the appetizer list that are more straightforward. The food I had was excellent, but I was not as impressed with the choices as I have been in the past.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

Eclectic menu. Huge wine list. Noisy wit ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Eclectic menu. Huge wine list. Noisy with gorgeous ceilings.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Major let-down

 
 (Montana)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

Unpleasant from beginning to end. Staff refused to seat us at a table thst sat vacant. No specials. Pasta sitting in pool of oil. Surly server. Etc.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value2

It was a nice layout of the restaurant a ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 31, 2016

It was a nice layout of the restaurant and I'm glad I sat outside with the nice weather and where was a little less crowded...based on the prior reviews.

Don't go by the menu on open table as they change it up weekly and was dramatically different but they do small plate that falls under Italian or Mediterranean. The server was very helpful and timely.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Been there many times; always good food. ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

Been there many times; always good food. Can be noisy because of high ceilings but when doors are open to outside it mitigates it. Great spot for dinner and we can walk from our home.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Another amazing meal at this great favor ...

vip
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on May 24, 2016

Another amazing meal at this great favorite of ours. The only thing I can say is the noise level

Is bad....but the food is so good we will always come back. Our waitress Juliet was very attentive

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Delightful Restaurant in Missoula

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Great Italian Food with delicious gluten free options!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Love the new menu

 
 (Montana)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Our dinner Friday was wonderful. They have a new menu and so many great choices.. My hubby had steak with morels (yum!) and I had the lamb chop - outrageous!

Service was flawless as always! Thanks cafe dolce

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very fun! Been here several times and br ...

 
 (Montana)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

Very fun! Been here several times and brought out-of-town family members for this one. All were impressed by the huge wine list and loved our meals. The chef's choice vegetables were delicious and we loved that the portions weren't too big or too small. Great meal!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Delicious lamb ragu

 
 (Montana)
·Dined on May 10, 2016

My daughters paperadelle lamb ragu was plentiful and delicious!! Great comfort food. My pizza was good but a bit lacking on ingredients, and I prefer a thinner, crispier crust on a thin crust pizza. Always love going there but pizza wouldn't be my go to order.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

My daughter recommended

 
 (Montana)
·Dined on May 3, 2016

Beautiful but not pretentious. Friendly and helpful staff. Amazing food. Excellent prices. Will undoubtedly go again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fiddlehead fern, small plate halibut, se ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on April 28, 2016

Fiddlehead fern, small plate halibut, seared ahi, all excellent. Service just right. Appropriate but not all chummy-hovery.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Great for a business dinner

 
 (Montana)
·Dined on April 28, 2016

We had a very good corner table for our business dinner. The service was great, and the wine was very good. I didn't know that the menu had changed, and I was disappointed not to have the short ribs ragu, and the lamb ragu was a bit greasy. However, I am looking forward to trying more of the farm to table offerings next time in.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Lovely!

 
 (Montana)
·Dined on April 22, 2016

Perfect dining experience. Great shared plate options and presentation. Outdoor patio seating is hard to find in Missoula and Dolce nails the ambiance.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Since moving to Missoula, Cafe Dolce has ...

 
 (Montana)
·Dined on April 19, 2016

Since moving to Missoula, Cafe Dolce has become our go to for special occasions.

By night it is a Mediterranean restaurant. It has a lovely, romantic ambience, in spite of being a large space. Even when full the lighting etc, allows you to feel in your own little zone. The wine list is wonderful and all the waitstaff we have had so far have been knowledgeable, or, if not sure on one or the other, open and willing to ask and bring tasters if by the glass. I love that you can get quarter carafes when there is just the two of us.

By day it has cafe vibe, with lots of families, gelato and coffees. Now it is Spring, everyone is out on the patio again. I ride past everyday to and from work, and it is always popular.

The Gelato is delicious. I love their house green salad with cherve and candied pecans - especially great as my partner can't eat the salad commons of raw tomato, raw cucumber and raw onion. We are vegetarian and feel well catered for, even though the menu is not huge.

The only time a server misheard an order, the meal was quickly replaced, and we weren't charged for either. So generous - and after I just felt bad for being mumbly! The service is always lovely.

I recommend booking at peak times, evenings around 7pm and any evening time on Friday and Saturday, but even when we have just shown up the wait was not lengthy.

I have never been for lunch/brunch etc so I cannot comment on those aspects.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Beautiful building!.....

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

The noise level was very high with many kids. It looks like they couldn't decide between a gelato parlour or ristorante theme? Food was not worth revisiting. Ciao Mambo is a better choice.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

Caffe Dolce is a Missoula gem!

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on March 23, 2016

Caffe Dolce service and entrees are top notch. This is a favorite dinner spot for us, and the house wines are excellent. As well, morning coffee is tasty with a quick breakfast during weekdays. We will be trying brunch soon!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Once again, a great meal!

 
 (Montana)
·Dined on March 20, 2016

Once again, had a wonderful meal. I had the butternut squash ravioli, and Loren had the clams capellini, which he said were wonderful. I know the squash ravioli are just heavenly and I hate when summer comes and they are no longer available. I don't "hate" when summer comes, but then I can't get the ravioli again until fall. Everything was great--the service, the food, the wine, everything was without fault.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Crazy good food, Service disappointing!

 
 (Montana)
·Dined on March 19, 2016

My son & I went for dinner. The Caesar salad was great. One of the best we ever had. He had the shrimp dish and it was delicious! I had the potato Parmesan soup-it needs some spices. The server forgot my son's beer. I didn't get my wine until 1/2 through dinner. Asked my son if he wanted another beer and forgot it until he was done w/dinner. He couldn't remember what we ordered and just acted like he planned his service to be like that. Came across lame. We ate in the pottery room. Very nice, the noise level wasn't deafening. The high ceiling in the main room is so high that you couldn't hear the other person yelling at you. Food is good, I'm sure other servers are excellent.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

A Missoula Gem!

 
 (Montana)
·Dined on March 17, 2016

Our meal and the service was excellent in all respects. I had a very nice Double Rainbow IPA and the perfect Fall Lettuce Salad and my picky teenage daughters each had the penne marinara a gelato and loved it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good Food!

 
 (Montana)
·Dined on March 12, 2016

I absolutely adore the lamb burger for dinner or lunch!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Chef was On Top of His Game

 
 (Montana)
·Dined on March 5, 2016

Sometimes Dolce is a little off. Not this time. Everything was delicious and properly prepared.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Great neighborhood spot.

 
 (Montana)
·Dined on February 21, 2016

My wife and I went here for a weekend dinner, it is a short walk from our home. The food was excellent and the service was great. I had a pasta dish which was very good and wife ordered one of their small specialty pizzas. Both were great. We had an excellent bottle of Spanish wine off the extensive wine list. They also have a list of great beers which I did not have a change to try on this trip. They seem to usually have several excellent Belgian style beers which can be hard to find in this region. This place is a real gem.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Order the side of mushrooms.

 
 (Montana)
·Dined on February 16, 2016

We ordered the side of mushrooms for an appetizer... I don't think we will be able to not order that now. So very delicious, excellent selection of mushrooms, delectable and tender.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.