About Cafeteria 15L

1116 15th St
Sacramento, CA 95814
View Larger Map

Cafeteria 15L is Sacramento's premier comfort and eclectic urban restaurant offering American comfort cuisine with a classic flair. Designed by the designers of The Park and Mix Downtown, Cafeteria 15L features 2 outdoor patios. The use of reclaimed woods, industrial light fixtures, and an array of mixed and matched chairs create and atmosphere both whimsical and cozy.

Traditional dishes are created with a twist to evoke the nostalgia and comfort of a home-cooked meal. Open for lunches, dinners, and late night weekend dining. Cafeteria 15L’s menu items feature farm to table fresh homespun creations.

Join us for our Happy Hour every Monday through Friday, 4pm to 7pm. Cocktail specials and discounts on small plates. Available in the bar, lounge and patio only.

Every Monday is MONDAY's UNCORKED. All bottles of wine 1/2 off or free corkage.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Comfort Food, Contemporary American, Californian

Hours of Operation:
Sat/Sun Brunch 9:00am - 3:00pm, Lunch M-F 11:30am - 2pm, Dinner M-Thur 5-9:30pm, Fri/Sat 4-11pm, Sun 4-8p

Cross Street:
15th St & L Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(916) 492-1960

Website:
http://www.cafeteria15l.com/

Entertainment:
Cafeteria 15L is located in The Park Complex - Featuring The Park Ultra Lounge - Sacramento's premier nightclub and lounge. Top DJs from around the country spin at this Sacramento hot spot. Diners may enter the nightclub free of cover by spending $15 in food (beverages not included). Ask your server for details.

Parking Details:
Valet is available and located on 15th between K and L Street. Owned and operated by Neumann Enterprises. $5 plus tip.

Executive Chef:
Christian Palmos

Private Party Facilities:
Cafeteria 15L's Private Dining Room is the ideal setting for business meetings, cocktail receptions, rehearsal dinners and any other occasion requiring a warm intimate environment and memorable cuisine. The facility comfortably accommodates 35-40 seated guests. The Ultra Lounge, a more magnificent space accommodates up to 100-seated guests and as many as 300+ for cocktail parties. The Private Dining Room flows with the chic urban design of the restaurant but has the ability to become a private and exclusive space.

Private Party Contact:
Diane Lally: (916) 442-8855x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Dancing, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Cafeteria 15L Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.2

ambience

4.3

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Sacramento / Sacramento Valley
Most Booked
Sacramento
Best Restaurants in Sacramento ›

Good for Groups (104)
Great for Outdoor Dining (97)
Great for Brunch (81)
See All
Great for Lunch (75)
Fit for Foodies (69)
Neighborhood Gem (51)
Hot Spot (49)
Special Occasion (46)
Vibrant Bar Scene (39)
Kid-friendly (34)
Late-night Find (27)
Casual (20)
Fun (18)
Modern Decor (18)
Comfort Food (16)
Good for a Date (14)
Romantic (14)
Good for Birthdays (13)
Pre/post Theatre (11)
Handcrafted Cocktails (10)
People Watching (8)
Bar Seating (8)
Notable Wine List (8)
Sunday Lunch (8)
Good for Anniversaries (8)
Open Kitchen (7)
Scenic View (6)
Business Meals (6)
Happy Hour (6)
Family Style (5)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Private Room (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Outstanding Value (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Afternoon Tea (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Quick Bite (2)
Authentic (2)
Healthy (2)
Cozy (2)
Dancing (1)
Tapas (1)
Organic (1)
Live Music (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Great Beer (1)
Seasonal (1)
Live Sports (1)
Disabled Access (1)
 (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1431 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Loved our server, very friendly and know ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined 6 days ago

Loved our server, very friendly and knowledgeable. Product knowledge is one of the most important things to me when dining. I appreciated the professionalism of our server. Thank you.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Our large group of friends was attending ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Our large group of friends was attending an event at the Sacramento Convention Center and needed a lunch venue within walking distance on a Saturday that we could get in and out of within 80 minutes for our lunch break. We found Cafeteria 15L online and loved that we could make a reservation which gave us peace given our timeline.

We appreciated the call to confirm the day before (and that really came in handy having their number when at the event even more friends decided to join us for lunch so I called that morning and enlarged our reservation for the lunch hour visit). Personnel were accommodating and helpful on the phone and told us they had a spot for us on the patio that day.

The only hiccup we ran into was that when we arrived 5 min before our reservation the greeter realized she had mistakenly given our table for 9 on the patio to a group who had arrived just prior to us. Fortunately, she had a table ready for 8 (that easily fit 9) inside and we could be immediately seated and meet our tight timeline during the crazy-busy lunch hour. We were disappointed in their lack of follow-through but didn't let it overshadow the day. Service was attentive and quite quick considering they were packed. Food was as we had expected (pretty good--only one friend was disappointed with their 'low quality salad') and ambiance was eclectic and fun.

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

The food was great except for our desert ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

The food was great except for our desert that we ordered a chocolate sundae and it came without chocolate. Sent it back and then it was so hard and stuck to glass never did get to enjoy the chocolate. Other than that the food was great. We eat there every year when we attend Time Out For Women at the convention Center. The waiter was very nice.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food and Great Service. We went t ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Great food and Great Service. We went to Saturday Brunch and the food was delivered quickly and looked beautiful as well as tasting wonderful.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very good food, huge portions. One had w ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Very good food, huge portions. One had waffle and gravy, the other Cafeteria Skillet. Tater tots on the Skillet were very oily. Apart from that, very yummy! Pleased we came here for brunch.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

The music was screechy and unnerving. I ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

The music was screechy and unnerving. It was distracting. The waitress was tending bar and tables.....took a while for us to order our lunch.

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We thoroughly enjoyed our dinner experie ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed our dinner experience at Cafeteria 15L! The music playing in the background was great - a mix of 60's & 70's with some 50's & 80's thrown in. Since it was a Monday, we took advantage of their half-off deal on a bottle of wine. The wine selection is good & they offered us a taste of the two types we were trying to decide between. We shared small plates which were all delicious. The smores skillet for dessert was yummy! Monday night football was playing at the bar- we could see it but not hear it, which was perfect for us. We would go back!

Tags: Open Kitchen, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Live Sports, People Watching, Good for a Date, Cozy, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Fun, Casual, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

I had a date for 11:30 and tried to make ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

I had a date for 11:30 and tried to make a reservation through Open Table but the only slot that worked was 12:15. I made the ressie and put in the notes that we'd prefer an outdoor table and would probably be there at 11:30 I'd there was an available table. I checked in at 11:40 and they had an outdoor table for us. Lucky timing and awesome foresight by the staff.

The food and service was excellent, despite how busy they were!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food and restaurant was great but it is ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Food and restaurant was great but it is a coin toss on the service. This time around was the worst I'm service to where the server just seemed like he did not want to be there or to serve us. Great value for the price and great quality on the meals

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value4

Disappointed in staff who seated us. Our ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Disappointed in staff who seated us. Our reservation information was clearly disregarded because there was no wait time when we arrived. I requested patio seating, away from prep station, and quiet. Upon arrival we were told all patio seats were full and were led to the corner booth indoors adjacent to the kitchen. Fairly sure there was no consideration for our needs.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Came here for breakfast with a couple of ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Came here for breakfast with a couple of friends. The server kept my bottomless mimosa glass filled without even asking. Obviously, I was very pleased with that!

Tags: Modern Decor, Great for Brunch, Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This restaurant is one of my top 3 place ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

This restaurant is one of my top 3 places to go for brunch.but they are also a great place for happy hour. They have a fantastic food and drink menu, great ambience, and tentative staff. I've always had a great experience.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Great for Brunch, Modern Decor, People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Happy Hour, Open Kitchen, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had made the reservation so we could b ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on August 29, 2016

I had made the reservation so we could be sure to be seated on the patio (which was why we chose this restaurant). When we arrived, the hostess promptly took us to an indoor table, without saying a word. When I questioned it, she took us to an outdoor table after saying they didn't have any available. The food and cocktails were delicious, but the service was subpar, at best. She was unfriendly and seemed irritated to be helping us. We were pretty easy with very few demands (other than to sit outside), so I suspect the hostess told her we were difficult after I insisted the seating situation. Anyway, this used to be a go-to for us, but we will think twice before coming next time.

Tags: Casual, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

Comfort food made for a gourmet palate. ...

 
 (San Joaquin)
·Dined on August 29, 2016

Comfort food made for a gourmet palate. Well I guess I can't really claim a gourmet palate. But, Mac & Cheese was fabulous Shoestring potato stack with shrimps and yummy sauce. I would probably know the name of the sauce if I was a gourmet. Will try the grilled cheese and ham and the meatloaf on future visits.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Came here for a night out with a few fri ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Came here for a night out with a few friends. Easily was the best part of the night. It isn't cheap but it IS delicious.

Tags: Hot Spot, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Dancing, Special Occasion, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Great food! Great service! Perfect place ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Great food! Great service! Perfect place to eat before Music Circus or a show at convention center.

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Open Kitchen, Bar Seating, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Another fun evening at Cafeteria 15L aft ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Another fun evening at Cafeteria 15L after the Hunchback of Notre Dame at the Music Circus. Easy reservations through 'open table'. The food never disappoints. Delicious, tender pulled pork sliders, crispy chicken tenders with a spicy, flavorful chili sauce and of course the Cafeteria burger with thick cut bacon, fresh produce and a house made (?) spread. We did get seated in what felt like an overflow area by the bar. When brought to the manager's attention she quickly moved our party to a much quieter area where we enjoyed not only a wonderful meal but great conversation. Already looking forward to coming back 👍.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

The prime rib special, spinach salad and ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

The prime rib special, spinach salad and desserts (chocolate bomb & mud pie) were delicious and the special was reasonably priced.

Suggestions: coffee could be hotter. The separate seating areas for happy hour vs dining is not clear (if you sit at a dining table you can not order off the happy hour menu). Perhaps, prior to seating customers, the hosts/hostesses can ask customers whether they are here for happy hour or dining.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

Always good with great service .

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

Always good with great service .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Sunday brunch, half the order was cold t ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Sunday brunch, half the order was cold the other was very good. Sent the first order back and it came back cold as well. A waffle should be pretty simple...

Tags: Modern Decor, Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

The service we received was outstanding ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

The service we received was outstanding and the food was delicious. Out for two birthdays with family and everyone found something to enjoy.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Terrific lunch every visit to Sacramento ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Terrific lunch every visit to Sacramento... this was another great one! Cool place!

Tags: Hot Spot, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

I took my 18 year old and her best frien ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

I took my 18 year old and her best friend to Sacramento for a show. We stopped at Cafeteria 15L before the show since it was close by. We loved the place. Food was great, service was perfect, the place is really cool. We enjoyed our visit!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

The chef has an interesting take on seve ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

The chef has an interesting take on several American classics. The spareribs were excellent. The chicken and waffles were good, although the syrup provided tasted like artificially flavored corn syrup instead of real maple syrup--using real maple syrup would have improved this dish.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

The food was great, fresh, ample proport ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

The food was great, fresh, ample proportions, and as ordered. The service was a little slow we sat for over 8 minutes before our waitress got to us, seems like she was the only one handling all the credit card transactions despite what looked like plenty of other staff available. Sirena was very polite and apologized for the delay and was very attentive for the remainder of our visit, we would request to be seated with her again. Nice setting, not crowded seating, looking forward to visiting again soon. Thanks

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

We love Cafeteria 15L! My wife and I li ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

We love Cafeteria 15L! My wife and I live in midtown and Cafeteria is less than 10 blocks from us! Love having such a wonderful restaurant so close. We have always had great service and amazing food every time we dine here. This is our go to place to take anyone visiting us from out of town. Could not recommend more!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place to go with a large group or ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Great place to go with a large group or family. Easy to make a reservation and the service was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Aside from the noise in our room from an ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Aside from the noise in our room from an energetic group of 20, the meal was enjoyable and the service was very good.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

I had a wonderful time at this establish ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

I had a wonderful time at this establishment dining with my friends for my birthday. The food was delicious and the service was good but it could've been better. I had a hard time looking for the waitress when we were actually done since it was like I couldn't find her at all. I enjoyed the selection of drinks and essentially I had a very good time. I would definitely recommend this place to friends and family who are looking to have a good time.

Tags: Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Love Cafeteria 15L. Food is always grea ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Love Cafeteria 15L. Food is always great. We told the server when she approached that we had a short window to get to the theater. She took our order right away and got our food and drinks to us quickly. We made it to the theater on time! I wish we had had more time as I would have loved to indulge in the smores desert! Next time!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value5

Great food, drink & local. Staff very ac ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Great food, drink & local. Staff very accommodating since we arrived early for our reservation. My only complaint is we should have received a 10% discount, since we were wearing our Convention name badges according to a pamphlet we received @ the Sacramento Convention Center....All in all it was a very enjoyable experience.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Made reservations and got right in on ti ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Made reservations and got right in on time. Overheard that it was a 40 minute wait if no reservations. My wife ordered fish and chips. Fish was good but batter was a little too thick for her taste. I had the special, prime rib and a side of sautéed spinach. The prime rib melted in your mouth. Service was excellent. They also offer a 10% discount for Music Circus goers.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value4

Good food good drinks

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Good food good drinks

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great service and great people !

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Great service and great people !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The restaurant has a very hipster vibe, ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

The restaurant has a very hipster vibe, lots of cool decor, sort of rustic-industrial and mismatched furniture which I kind of dig. We had made a reservation, so we were seated promptly at a great table. Our drink order was taken immediately and in just a few minutes we got our drinks and appetizer (truffle-oil tater tots). We got a salad (watermelon and tomato) and two mains, and they all came out shortly after the drinks, too. Our server was also very friendly and helpful accommodating a substitution. The food was wonderful - each plate had a lot going on with different flavor mixtures and little finishing touches, like the short rib had this delicious herb and breadcrumb mixture on top and the steak had fried onion with it, in addition to the side dishes. Both of the sauces were really on point too, and each paired well with the garlicky potatoes. All in all an excellent meal, and our total before tip was something like $85. My husband even made the comment that he couldn't remember the last time we had great food + service without being overcharged.

... And the park across the street is a great place to play Pokemon Go.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A lot to say. I'll try to keep it focuse ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

A lot to say. I'll try to keep it focused.Love the venue. It's very cozy fun attractive and lively. Hostess' were very attentive. Party of 7.When seated we sat there for 10 full minutes. Server apologized. Took our drink order. My Bloody Mary and my husbands mimosa were room temp.i added ice from my water to mine. She replaced my husbands with another room temp mimosa. Originally asked for bottomless and said time was too late.if she came out promptly we would've made the time cut. My daughter ordered the country Benedict. It looked like most definitely the biscuit burned and they cut off the top and bottom,gave her the middle of it and it was about not even a half inch high. Moving on..The 2 orders of chicken and waffles. This situation looked like they heated the chicken in the oven because there were burn spots sporadically. Some of the chicken didn't have breading and was extremely dry. Interesting none of our food looked like the Yelp pics. My poached eggs on my country skillet looked like quail eggs which I love but I don't remember reading that if it stated. originally they made a mistake with my order and our server gave it to the 2 guests in our party that ran late( they didn't get to order due to kitchen closure at 3. )Loved that she did that. She was pleasant and engaging. Sorry forgot her name. Not like me. unfortunately I did not complain on site. We were celebrating my daughters bday and I wanted to keep things pleasant and flowing. Please tell me there is some redemption in this. I am swamped with work and haven't had time to speak to the manger. I can be a real food detective when I see a problem. Sorry for that. I pick and choose my battles wisely. This is a battle I'm choosing. Would love a redemption but more importantly a response. Thank you kindly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value3

Overpriced, trendy and average quality. ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Overpriced, trendy and average quality. Good for people wanting to be seen.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value1

The service was fantastic. Very warm sta ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

The service was fantastic. Very warm staff, the food was plenty and quick. The ambiance made the night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food and staff were extremely good. ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

The food and staff were extremely good. The ambiance was fun and entertaining. Everything would have been great except we could not hear each other talk.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

I've been to this restaurant a few times ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

I've been to this restaurant a few times for dinner and thought it was just ok. I've been there for some parties, which were always nice. The food for brunch was the best I've had there, but it was not outstanding, but very good. It was a little loud for conversation.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.