Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.28mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.28mi

About Cafeteria 15L

Cafeteria 15L is Sacramento's premier comfort and eclectic urban restaurant offering American comfort cuisine with a classic flair. Designed by the designers of The Park and Mix Downtown, Cafeteria 15L features 2 outdoor patios. The use of reclaimed woods, industrial light fixtures, and an array of mixed and matched chairs create and atmosphere both whimsical and cozy.

Traditional dishes are created with a twist to evoke the nostalgia and comfort of a home-cooked meal. Open for lunches, dinners, and late night weekend dining. Cafeteria 15L’s menu items feature farm to table fresh homespun creations.

Join us for our Happy Hour every Monday through Friday, 4pm to 7pm. Cocktail specials and discounts on small plates. Available in the bar, lounge and patio only.

Every Monday is MONDAY's UNCORKED. All bottles of wine 1/2 off or free corkage.

1116 15th St
Sacramento, CA 95814
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Comfort Food, Contemporary American, Californian

Hours of Operation:
Sat/Sun Brunch 9:00am - 3:00pm, Lunch M-F 11:30am - 2pm, Dinner M-Thur 5-9:30pm, Fri/Sat 4-11pm, Sun 4-8p

Cross Street:
15th St & L Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(916) 492-1960

Website:
http://www.cafeteria15l.com/

Entertainment:
Cafeteria 15L is located in The Park Complex - Featuring The Park Ultra Lounge - Sacramento's premier nightclub and lounge. Top DJs from around the country spin at this Sacramento hot spot. Diners may enter the nightclub free of cover by spending $15 in food (beverages not included). Ask your server for details.

Parking Details:
Valet is available and located on 15th between K and L Street. Owned and operated by Neumann Enterprises. $5 plus tip.

Executive Chef:
Christian Palmos

Private Party Facilities:
Cafeteria 15L's Private Dining Room is the ideal setting for business meetings, cocktail receptions, rehearsal dinners and any other occasion requiring a warm intimate environment and memorable cuisine. The facility comfortably accommodates 35-40 seated guests. The Ultra Lounge, a more magnificent space accommodates up to 100-seated guests and as many as 300+ for cocktail parties. The Private Dining Room flows with the chic urban design of the restaurant but has the ability to become a private and exclusive space.

Private Party Contact:
Diane Lally: (916) 442-8855

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Dancing, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Cafeteria 15L Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (93)
Good for Groups (82)
Fun (80)
See All
Comfort Food (77)
Great for Brunch (76)
Sunday Lunch (69)
Great for Outdoor Dining (69)
Fit for Foodies (68)
Good for Birthdays (68)
Great for Lunch (67)
Good for a Date (65)
Special Occasion (62)
Modern Decor (60)
Pre/post Theatre (57)
Happy Hour (49)
Hot Spot (49)
Creative Cuisine (48)
Bar Seating (41)
Neighborhood Gem (41)
Vibrant Bar Scene (39)
Handcrafted Cocktails (34)
People Watching (32)
Business Meals (29)
Worth the Drive (28)
Good for Anniversaries (26)
Family Style (24)
Cozy (24)
Kid-friendly (24)
Open Kitchen (23)
Local Ingredients (23)
Quick Bite (22)
Late-night Find (20)
Healthy (17)
Authentic (16)
Good Vegetarian Options (14)
Seasonal (11)
Romantic (11)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Disabled Access (10)
Tasting Menu (9)
Outstanding Value (7)
Paleo Friendly (6)
Scenic View (5)
Tapas (5)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Organic (4)
Notable Wine List (4)
Live Music (4)
Afternoon Tea (4)
Private Room (4)
Live Sports (4)
Fireplace (3)
Great Beer (3)
Dancing (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Spicy (1)
Historic (1)
Sort By:
S
1825 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined 2 days ago

Really like the brunch here and it is really convenient to the Sac Community Center. Service was a little spotty this visit but it is a very busy place. We were seated for our reservation right away and never rushed in spite of the long wait for walk-ins.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined 2 days ago

This place was really great for brunch. We enjoyed our food and we're comfortable here.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined 2 days ago

Very good and comfortable place to dine. We went there before the theater and it was well worth it. I will definitely dine here whenever I am in the area and I might go to Sac just for this place. It was that good!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, People Watching, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Quick Bite, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined 2 days ago

Food is always great. Very accommodating for special requests! Service staff always friendly and efficient. We return here often and have recommended to friends.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Worth the Drive, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined 3 days ago

We celebrated a graduation and really enjoyed the time spent on the patio! Definitely would recommend to anyone!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Casual, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 3 days ago

Great place for brunch! Nice ambience and awesome food! Love this place for day or night!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Disabled Access, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Late-night Find, Gluten Free Options, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Casual, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined 3 days ago

The food was incredible! But the service was lacking!!!!

Tags: Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined 3 days ago

Server was nice, however, the service over all was not not favorable. We waited half an hr just to get waters. Wasn't asked if we wanted drinks or appetizers and it wasn't to busy.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined 4 days ago

Always delicious. Nice and close to community center.

Tags: Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined 4 days ago

Unfortunately this was my first and last time at Cafe 15L. We sat at our table for 15 minutes waiting for anyone to acknowledge us....it took another 5min to bring us sodas. We ordered the prime rib French dip sandwich and it was awful. The meat was 50% gristle and uncooked fat, what meat there was was either overcooked or raw. Completely inedible. When the server finally came to check on us she was really nice and brought me macaroni and cheese which was good but it took her a while. I won't be going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined 5 days ago

Great meal before play. Be sure to try their short rib. Delicious!

Tags: Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 5 days ago

It was just ok. Hubby had chicken and waffles. Chicken was overcooked and dry. I had the French dip which was flavorful but really fatty. Thw mac n cheese was delicious and the hubby like the shrimp haystack. Otherwise it was just ok. Made a reservation which you would think would be inside but nope it was outside and they did t give us the option of inside or out. It was a little chilly and windy that night so sorta uncomfortable outside. Our server was super nice but only checked on us twice. We ran out of drinks before we were done eating. Probably wont go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined 5 days ago

There was a private event going on and the noise level from the music was almost unbearable. We were getting music from both the private event room and the regular music in the dining room. This meant everyone was talking loud to be heard. Very annoying.

Tags: People Watching, Comfort Food, Casual, Happy Hour, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 6 days ago

Once again Cafeteria 15L comes through with excellent food and service for a work lunch. Valet parking makes it convenient to go downtown. Such a festive energetic atmosphere without being too noisy or out of control. We ordered some comfort food small plates as appetizers to share then everyone followed that with a healthy salad. Really reasonable pricing for such a highly satisfying experience. Will definitely continue to be a regular customer. They never disappoint.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Hot Spot, Tapas, People Watching, Business Meals, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 6 days ago

As spectacular find on our overnite trip to Sacramento. Great location to the center of the area near the Capitol. Delicious selections-had the best tuna melt ever made with luchious bread grilled to perfection. Even surprised my usual " meat & potatoes" hubby with their chicken club. Short menu but delivers!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Comfort Food, Organic, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Tapas, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 22, 2017

really too loud for an easy conversation and it wasn't that busy on a Monday for lunch. The food was good and the service was very good. If I went back I would try to sit outside as it was more relaxing there.

Tags: Disabled Access, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 22, 2017

This was the best French dip I've ever had! (And I've had a lot)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Drove by Cafeteria 15L many times but never stopped by. Finally, I decided to take my daughter there for Brunch. We loved the atmosphere and the food. I ordered the Bacon Jam Eggs Benedict and my daughter ordered the Classic Hamburger. Our waitress Lisa was very sweet and brought our food out promptly. She always had a smile on her face. The portions were just right and the food was so savory. My daughter was super impressed with the see through window bathroom as any 9 year old would be. I'm glad we came and will be back again.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Happy Hour, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 20, 2017

I had this restaurant on my list of places to go and decided to take some friends here before the theater. Fairly disapointed for this first visit. Food was generally good, but the table was not served all at the same time. Four of the six got their meal first and then the other two meals, egg dishes, arrived over 5 minutes later and the eggs were stone cold. Service was very slow and sloppy. Even though we were seated in the restaurant area, it appeared that our servers were the bartenders taking turns at our table. We never seemed to get the same server twice and it was impossible to flag someone down when we needed something. Also, when we ordered more water and sodas, they would bring them in new glasses but not take the old ones away. The center of our table was a graveyard of dirty glassware! I may give this restaurant another chance in the future because there were multiple grad days in town + Phantom of the Opera was at the Community Center Theater so every place was packed... but why can't restaurants staff appropriately when they know they will be extremely busy??

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 20, 2017

This was about my fourth trip to 15L. I live about 30 mins away and I have a friend who lives about 30 mins the opposite direction - we pick places near downtown to meet. She had never eaten at 15L before so we met there. The service was kind of crappy (as it was on my last visit). If you see the server and ask for something you may or may not get it. I asked for butter and never got any. We had to ask for more coffee. We never got asked if we wanted dessert -just given a bill. If I didn't like the food and the patio I wouldn't go back - it'll be a while though.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Disabled Access, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Great for Brunch, Casual, People Watching, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Food took way to long. Mac and cheese was just noodles and crumbs there was no cheese. Pork sliders were the last to arrive at the table and were burnt. Server was good but we hardly saw her. Food came out before drinks. I was really dissatisfied with the whole dining experience. For a Friday night there is absolutely no reason why you shouldn't be so disorganized. I recommend that more staff be scheduled to ensure a smooth dining experience.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Great food at a great value. Had a problem getting in for my reservation due to a very small entrance and several people exiting at once. Although the rest of my party was seated security would not let me in. I had to wait for ten minutes to get through the doorway and then some party goers almost pushed me over.

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Great as usual. Perfect place for dinner before a show.

Tags: Happy Hour, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Cafeteria never disappoints the food was great and the service was excellent could not ask for more. Such a vibrant restaurant which is great for many occasions. Highly recommended.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Casual, Afternoon Tea, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 18, 2017

The food was delicious and we were well attended. The noise level is not conducive to a good conversation.

Tags: Fun, Happy Hour, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Very good food and quick service. Waitress was attentive but gave us space. Nice vibe - definitely not a quiet, romantic spot.

Tags: Hot Spot, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Good pick for an evening out nice drinks good food nicely priced

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 13, 2017

When we arrived at the restaurant, it was somewhat busy but not too busy where staff were up to their neck in customers.

We had an inattentive waitress who took 20 minutes to take our order. She may have checked on us once during the whole meal time.Then it proceeded to get worse to where we waited for 20 minutes to get our check. When we used the restroom, we saw her in the back hanging out with other co-workers. This experience was not good at all for our first visit. I spoke to the manager about her terrible experience for Mother's day.

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Not as expected. Maybe it was the anticipation of going out for my birthday and seeing my daughter but this place as a huge let down. Food was ok but the service was horrible. No refills on our water, coffee or even attention to check if we wanted another adult beverage. The best part was the potato side luckily someone had ordered at our table that we all shared, the rest was just boring. When I go out I hope to have an experience this was lack luster at best.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 13, 2017

I went to Cafeteria 15L for an early Mother's Day brunch with my in laws. Reservations were easy to make and so convenient. I loved that we didn't have to wait. Food was delicious. I ordered the Mexican skillet, which arrived quickly and hot. The bottomless mimosas were a hit with exceptional customer service that kept them filled to the brim our entire stay. I never had to ask for anything because our waitress anticipated our every need.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Family Style, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Great food, it just took a little long to come out. Waited 30-40 mins before food came out.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Comfort Food, Late-night Find, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 10, 2017

The food was amazing. However, our server didn't really pay much attention to our table! This was my first time there, and it was my birthday! I made a note in the reservation section that it was also life grandparents first time and as well as my parents. It would've been nice to have a little more personal touch from the server , At the same time my steak was amazing and I did like the atmosphere, it was difficult for my grandparents to be able to hear discussions made at the table because of the environment. However they really like their food so overall it was a pleasant experience!

Tags: Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Good comfort food albeit not too cheap. Decent wine and beer selection. Great location.

Tags: People Watching, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 7, 2017

This is my second visit to Cafeteria L, both times for brunch. The food is perfectly prepared, the portions are huge, the service is outstanding and the prices are very reasonable. Reservations are a must for the weekend brunch. Looking forward to my next visit, hopefully for dinner.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 7, 2017

It was an easy brunch stop. Making reservations through Open Table allowed us to walk in and get a table 10 minutes after deciding to find a place in downtown. Service was a little slow, however it was a very busy sunlit Sunday, so all the happy staff were moving as fast as possible. Breakfast was good (I would not order my dish again). With that said, I would give the place another go as other menu items looked interesting. Good selection of background music and seating is not stacked so that you can have a conversation with those you have chosen to share a meal with and not adjacent tables.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Great outdoor seating however the servers all seemed really distracted. It was hard to flag people down and even get our items ordered. Still love it and will def be back

Tags: Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Hot Spot, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 7, 2017

This place is awesome! The lunch was great but the brunch was awesome!!!! No line , made reservations tho!!! Check it out

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Great for Lunch, Paleo Friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Cafeteria 15L is one of our local favorites. The food and service are great for a casual get-together; and the ambiance is fun.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Open Kitchen, Local Ingredients, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 7, 2017

We dine at 15l before the SCSO performances at the community theater. We always order for our spouses before their rehearsal and your servers always make sure there dinners are hot and ready when they arrive. It is greatly aporeciated. :)

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Lauren was great! We had a hard time parking and I w and the receptionist said she would hold.my reservation. That was amazing..considering parking isn't the best. But the restaurant, the food, and atmosphere were amazing.

Tags: Happy Hour, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, People Watching, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.