About Cafeteria 15L

Cafeteria 15L is Sacramento's premier comfort and eclectic urban restaurant offering American comfort cuisine with a classic flair. Designed by the designers of The Park and Mix Downtown, Cafeteria 15L features 2 outdoor patios. The use of reclaimed woods, industrial light fixtures, and an array of mixed and matched chairs create and atmosphere both whimsical and cozy.

Traditional dishes are created with a twist to evoke the nostalgia and comfort of a home-cooked meal. Open for lunches, dinners, and late night weekend dining. Cafeteria 15L’s menu items feature farm to table fresh homespun creations.

Join us for our Happy Hour every Monday through Friday, 4pm to 7pm. Cocktail specials and discounts on small plates. Available in the bar, lounge and patio only.

Every Monday is MONDAY's UNCORKED. All bottles of wine 1/2 off or free corkage.

1116 15th St
Sacramento, CA 95814
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Comfort Food, Contemporary American, Californian

Hours of Operation:
Sat/Sun Brunch 9:00am - 3:00pm, Lunch M-F 11:30am - 2pm, Dinner M-Thur 5-9:30pm, Fri/Sat 4-11pm, Sun 4-8p

Cross Street:
15th St & L Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(916) 492-1960

Website:
http://www.cafeteria15l.com/

Entertainment:
Cafeteria 15L is located in The Park Complex - Featuring The Park Ultra Lounge - Sacramento's premier nightclub and lounge. Top DJs from around the country spin at this Sacramento hot spot. Diners may enter the nightclub free of cover by spending $15 in food (beverages not included). Ask your server for details.

Parking Details:
Valet is available and located on 15th between K and L Street. Owned and operated by Neumann Enterprises. $5 plus tip.

Executive Chef:
Christian Palmos

Private Party Facilities:
Cafeteria 15L's Private Dining Room is the ideal setting for business meetings, cocktail receptions, rehearsal dinners and any other occasion requiring a warm intimate environment and memorable cuisine. The facility comfortably accommodates 35-40 seated guests. The Ultra Lounge, a more magnificent space accommodates up to 100-seated guests and as many as 300+ for cocktail parties. The Private Dining Room flows with the chic urban design of the restaurant but has the ability to become a private and exclusive space.

Private Party Contact:
Diane Lally: (916) 442-8855

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Dancing, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Cafeteria 15L Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.3

Noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Comfort Food (75)
Casual (70)
Fun (59)
See All
Good for Birthdays (58)
Good for a Date (58)
Great for Brunch (55)
Great for Outdoor Dining (55)
Good for Groups (52)
Pre/post Theatre (48)
Great for Lunch (46)
Special Occasion (46)
Neighborhood Gem (36)
Sunday Lunch (36)
Happy Hour (36)
Hot Spot (33)
Fit for Foodies (32)
Creative Cuisine (30)
Bar Seating (30)
Good for Anniversaries (29)
People Watching (29)
Vibrant Bar Scene (29)
Worth the Drive (26)
Handcrafted Cocktails (25)
Kid-friendly (20)
Cozy (18)
Business Meals (16)
Quick Bite (15)
Romantic (14)
Seasonal (14)
Local Ingredients (13)
Authentic (13)
Great Beer (11)
Tasting Menu (10)
Disabled Access (10)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Healthy (8)
Late-night Find (8)
Notable Wine List (7)
Good Vegetarian Options (7)
Afternoon Coffee (6)
Organic (5)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Tapas (4)
Afternoon Tea (3)
Live Sports (3)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Scenic View (2)
Spicy (2)
Vegan (2)
Live Music (1)
Sort by
S
2070 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined 2 days ago

Great bottomless mimosas and loves the cafeteria 15L scramble. So good!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined 2 days ago

This was our first experience at this restaurant and really enjoyed it. We will be back for sure.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 3 days ago

Food and service was great but hostess needs additional customer service training. She was rude and dismissive. No need to be this way. Another host came to help and he was much more friendly and communicated the same policy. It’s all how you say it not what you say.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined 3 days ago

This is a young people's place but I and my friend, two senior citizens, were treated very well (which does not always happen in young people places) and enjoyed the food. It is the MOST convenient restaurant to the community theatre (concert venue). We'll go back..

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, People Watching, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
·Dined 3 days ago

Everyone ordered something different and everyone enjoyed their entree. My mother in law said the prime rib that was on special that night was excellent.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Great Beer, Authentic, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined 3 days ago

I came here with a group of girlfriends for a bachelorette party weekend. We stopped here for brunch and really enjoyed it. It is a really fun atmosphere and the staff was really nice. Not to mention the bloody mary and breakfast food was delicious! I would definitely come back again.

Tags: Comfort Food, Casual, Fun, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined 4 days ago

Main problem was the noise level. We could hardly talk because of the background noise

Tags: Good for Groups, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined 4 days ago

Very friendly service by all and the food was very good.

Tags: Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined 5 days ago

Nice Staff And Great Food. Will definitely return.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined 6 days ago

Great restaurant! We enjoy the drinks and the food

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Happy Hour, Cozy, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 13, 2017

The decor was nice and modern, but the food and drinks tasted quite mediocre compared to how they were described on the menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (東京)·Dined on November 12, 2017

Very nice place for breakfast. The potatoes with our eggs benedict were absolutely delicious. We enjoyed our meal and our time there. Huge place, but we were in the main part of the restaurant and were happy with our table. Be warned the plates are copious and you really need to bring an appetite.
Don't forget to make reservations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on November 12, 2017

Overall poor service. Probably will never go back nor recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 12, 2017

Very nice, will definitely come back when in Sacramento again.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fun, Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on November 12, 2017

Absolutely the best thing about dining at 15 L is the freshness of the food. Both my guest and I had excellent dinners accompanied with a delicious specialty cocktail. It is a little loud in the restaurant, but that doesn't matter much because the dining is so good and the ambience is friendly.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 11, 2017

We had a group of 12 on a Friday night and our server was so attentive. I don't remember her name, but the restaurant was packed and she still came around often enough to refill our drinks and answer any questions we had. Overall the ambiance and food was great! Just what I expected for a Friday night. Will be back again!

Tags: Late-night Find, Fun, Healthy, Casual, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Great Beer, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on November 11, 2017

The food and service was excellent. The only downside was that it was a little noisy so having as conversation was difficult. We went pre theater and the location was perfect.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Gluten Free Options, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 10, 2017

Just fabulous!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 9, 2017

The Salmon Salad was delicious and we both would order it again. The macaroni and cheese was very good but we called it butter and macaroni because we could taste more butter than cheese. It was served very hot which was really nice. Our waiter may have forgotten that we were going to the theater as we waited a little too long for our check. We have eaten there many times and overall like the food quite well and the service is typically very good.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, People Watching, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 9, 2017

Great place to go before Sacramento Community Center performances — afternoon or evening. Food was delicious. Great wine selections too.

Tags: Authentic, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on November 9, 2017

5 Stars for everything. The Chicken Cobb salad was the best ever. The desserts were so yummy.

Tags: Fun, Comfort Food, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on November 9, 2017

Four of us enjoyed dinner before seeing the play "Beautiful" on a Wednesday night. The place was very busy and very noisy, however the vibe was friendly and fun. Limited selections for Vegtarians, which my husband I are. We both ordered the French onion soup and a salad and we shared an order of their Truffle Oil Tater Tots which were excellent. Service was good and staff were pleasantly friendly.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on November 9, 2017

Another wonderful meal. Thank you, Cafeteria15L and staff.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Casual, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on November 8, 2017

Enjoyed our visit as we had the burgers which were prepared to our taste. The side salad was good but the dressings a bit tart - would prefer a cream type dressing (i.e. ranch or thousand island or bleu cheese). Would order the burgers again.

Tags: Comfort Food, Seasonal, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 6, 2017

The menu is limited but, everything they make is excellent. The special drink menu is also fun. We have eaten here several times and have always enjoyed ourselves. It is also super close to the Community Center Theater. Another plus.

Tags: Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on November 6, 2017

Service for 5:15 reservation felt neglectful and was disappointing.

Tags: Seasonal, Good Vegetarian Options, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Quick Bite, Spicy, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on November 5, 2017

A little too noisy for me, but service and food, fast and efficient and tasty.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on November 5, 2017

My daughter and I had lunch for her birthday and it was my first time. The food was very good and it was a fun atmosphere without being too noisy. I would like to bring my husband.

Tags: Seasonal, Fun, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on November 5, 2017

We had dinner after our matinee showing of Beautiful.
We started with a "trio of fries", then moved on to dinner. The table favorite was the Salmon Salad, with salmon grilled.
As usual, the food and service were excellent! We'll be back!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on November 5, 2017

Been there several times. Can get noisy, but has not disappointed on food or service.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on November 4, 2017

Expected more after all the great reviews. Went for brunch, nothing special.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
·Dined on November 4, 2017

Met friends for Saturday brunch. Had the Bacon-Jam eggs benedict. Food temperature was tepid. Eggs were extremely under cooked. Bottomless mimosas were somewhat flat and room temperature. Server had zero personality. Acted like she didn't want to be there. Never came to check on us after the food was served. She was good about keeping the drinks coming however. Fun, Lively atmosphere, but gets pretty loud. I would try this place again, but not for brunch.

Tags: Fun, Casual, Good for Groups, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value1

 
·Dined on November 4, 2017

A bit overpriced but good food and tumblr looking atmosphere so ideal for dates

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on November 4, 2017

There were four of us and we had a pleasant before-show light dinner. Three of us ordered meals they enjoyed. I ordered from the "small plate" part of the menu. I got shrimp haystacks, or something like that. Anyway, the fried potatoes were drenched in butter and garlic and just too greasy for my taste. The shrimp was dandy. Next time I will order something different. This place has a great atmosphere and attentive service. It is not strong on vegan options. My husband loved his burger and fries and my friends liked the mac and cheese and tomato soup.

Tags: Comfort Food, Vibrant Bar Scene, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on November 4, 2017

Our second visit to this restaurant and I wouldn't recommend as experience was same both times.
Food - OK but nothing special.

Table Service - Good, our server was attentive.

Host Service - Hostess was rude! I asked if we could be seated further away from the kitchen, she said she would check. She didn't return. Walking away from customers seems to be their way of handling any requests. The table was about 6' from the kitchen with the wait staff congregating behind our table around a monitor tracking orders.

Ambiance - Attractive decor, but very noisy, as all hard surfaces. Between kitchen noise, wait staff noise and customer noise, it was very difficult to carry on a conversation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

 
·Dined on November 3, 2017

We were sat next to kitchen opening where staff comes in and out. We asked to move near window but was told that was held for the owners. Then asked to move to the table next to us, after a wait for the hostess to go ask the front, we did get to move. I was disappointed with salmon salad. Cold poached shredded salmon was not what I was expecting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
·Dined on November 3, 2017

The menu choice was amazing, had a hard time narrowing it down to order! The food was tasty in good proportions. The atmosphere allowed us to hear each other talk while still feeling part of the atmosphere of the restaurant. A wonderful experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good Vegetarian Options, Healthy, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 2, 2017

I liked the trendy vibe and the people watching here. It was loud but not too loud to have conversations with friends. It gets an A for service and ambiance.

Tags: Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Cozy, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Sunday Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Business Meals, People Watching, Good for a Date, Fun, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on November 2, 2017

We love coming here before a show. The menu features something for everyone and we like the lively atmosphere.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Authentic, Comfort Food, Local Ingredients, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on October 29, 2017

I've eaten here quite a few times. This time it was just not up to par. I'm chalking it up to just a bad day. I'll be back!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.