Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.28mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.28mi

About Cafeteria 15L

Cafeteria 15L is Sacramento's premier comfort and eclectic urban restaurant offering American comfort cuisine with a classic flair. Designed by the designers of The Park and Mix Downtown, Cafeteria 15L features 2 outdoor patios. The use of reclaimed woods, industrial light fixtures, and an array of mixed and matched chairs create and atmosphere both whimsical and cozy.

Traditional dishes are created with a twist to evoke the nostalgia and comfort of a home-cooked meal. Open for lunches, dinners, and late night weekend dining. Cafeteria 15L’s menu items feature farm to table fresh homespun creations.

Join us for our Happy Hour every Monday through Friday, 4pm to 7pm. Cocktail specials and discounts on small plates. Available in the bar, lounge and patio only.

Every Monday is MONDAY's UNCORKED. All bottles of wine 1/2 off or free corkage.

1116 15th St
Sacramento, CA 95814
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Comfort Food, Contemporary American, Californian

Hours of Operation:
Sat/Sun Brunch 9:00am - 3:00pm, Lunch M-F 11:30am - 2pm, Dinner M-Thur 5-9:30pm, Fri/Sat 4-11pm, Sun 4-8p

Cross Street:
15th St & L Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(916) 492-1960

Website:
http://www.cafeteria15l.com/

Entertainment:
Cafeteria 15L is located in The Park Complex - Featuring The Park Ultra Lounge - Sacramento's premier nightclub and lounge. Top DJs from around the country spin at this Sacramento hot spot. Diners may enter the nightclub free of cover by spending $15 in food (beverages not included). Ask your server for details.

Parking Details:
Valet is available and located on 15th between K and L Street. Owned and operated by Neumann Enterprises. $5 plus tip.

Executive Chef:
Christian Palmos

Private Party Facilities:
Cafeteria 15L's Private Dining Room is the ideal setting for business meetings, cocktail receptions, rehearsal dinners and any other occasion requiring a warm intimate environment and memorable cuisine. The facility comfortably accommodates 35-40 seated guests. The Ultra Lounge, a more magnificent space accommodates up to 100-seated guests and as many as 300+ for cocktail parties. The Private Dining Room flows with the chic urban design of the restaurant but has the ability to become a private and exclusive space.

Private Party Contact:
Diane Lally: (916) 442-8855

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Dancing, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Cafeteria 15L Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (89)
Good for Groups (89)
Great for Brunch (85)
See All
Great for Outdoor Dining (79)
Great for Lunch (77)
Comfort Food (72)
Fun (71)
Sunday Lunch (68)
Special Occasion (66)
Good for Birthdays (61)
Fit for Foodies (59)
Pre/post Theatre (55)
Good for a Date (54)
Neighborhood Gem (47)
Happy Hour (46)
Hot Spot (42)
Creative Cuisine (40)
Bar Seating (38)
People Watching (37)
Good for Anniversaries (33)
Worth the Drive (33)
Business Meals (31)
Handcrafted Cocktails (31)
Vibrant Bar Scene (26)
Modern Decor (25)
Late-night Find (23)
Kid-friendly (22)
Cozy (21)
Local Ingredients (18)
Quick Bite (18)
Authentic (17)
Healthy (16)
Seasonal (14)
Good Vegetarian Options (13)
Family Style (12)
Romantic (12)
Tasting Menu (11)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Open Kitchen (11)
Disabled Access (10)
Live Sports (6)
Scenic View (6)
Great Beer (6)
Afternoon Tea (5)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Afternoon Coffee (5)
Paleo Friendly (5)
Organic (4)
Notable Wine List (4)
Tapas (4)
Spicy (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Private Room (2)
Fireplace (2)
Historic (1)
Dancing (1)
Live Music (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Waterfront (1)
Sort By:
S
1912 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined 6 days ago

Good food, variety for all major diets, we certainly beat the weekday lunch rush by arriving at 11:30am.

Tags: Great for Brunch, People Watching, Comfort Food, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Good food and nice atmosphere. Our service was good. Very popular place. Left just as 3 huge groups were seated.

Tags: Happy Hour, Casual, Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Great spot--a busy, popular place right downtown by the Capitol. Tater tots with truffle oil....Comfort Food with a spin. Nice scrambles and omelettes for breakfast, bottomless mimosas available at brunch for those who want to imbibe. Will be back--nice patio seating, too.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Casual, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Had a reservation and was sat promptly with my group of 8. Great service and everyone loved their meals. Will definitely be back. Thank you!

Tags: Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Casual, Fun, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Drove from Napa to meet daughter and son-in-law who are moving out of state and had a wonderful evening of craft cocktails, great food and attentive service. It was well worth the drive and I will recommend it to friends.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Seven of us went for my son's 29th birthday dinner. The staff were friendly and professional. The fish & chips entree was excellent and the best I've had in any restaurant in Sacramento. I'm excited to return for their brunch.

Tags: Worth the Drive, People Watching, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Our server was amazing!! He was patient with us while our entire party arrived and made sure we were all taken care of. He was friendly and made great food suggestions. Will definitely be back! Not just for the food, which was phenomenal but for the great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Always the perfect choice before a Music Circus production...Great service...great food

Tags: Authentic, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Very fast service here early on a Friday night. Salmon salad was excellent, ditto fish and chips and burger. We were pleased. Too bad we didn't know about the Music Circus 10% discount.

Tags: Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on July 12, 2017

I had the Mahi Mahi which special. It was served with a wonderful mango glaze, rice and grilled asparagus. Delicious!!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Gluten Free Options, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 12, 2017

Great wait staff and a tasty meal. I had the French onion soup and wedge blue cheese salad.

Tags: Business Meals, Great for Brunch, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on July 12, 2017

Took my friend for a birthday lunch. Was not impressed with the Chicken Fried Sandwich. The sandwich was on a slice of French bread and the chicken was not freshly fried that day. Had to ask for water refill since nobody came around to offer. The French fries were good. It was just okay. Probably would not go bad.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on July 11, 2017

Cafeteria 15L is my go to restaurant, I am never disappointed. I took two friends who had never been here and they loved the atmosphere and the food.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Hot Spot, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on July 11, 2017

Love the vibe at Cafeteria 15l; young, hip, vibrant. Excellent service! Food is exciting, there is something for everyone. Open to accommodating substitutions. Would definitely make this my Friday night destination or a my business meeting lunch destination. Modern, great energy, and the food is amazing!!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Fun, Special Occasion, People Watching, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on July 10, 2017

We made a reservation for 12:15. They were crowded due to a conference. We weren't seated until about 12:25. We waited 50 minutes for our food! The waiter NEVER approached us to explain the delay. When I expressed concern to the waiter ("We've been waiting a long time") he said, "what do you want us to do? 200 people came in here all at once."

I want you to seat us and serves more quickly. If you can't do that, I want you to comp us drinks or meals or something.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on July 10, 2017

Not thrilled with the meal. Salmon was undercooked. Turkey sandwich option was changed to chicken. Friends complained their turkey sandwiches (bread) was very dry. No refills on drinks were given unless asked despite both my tea glass and water glass were both empty. Took forever to collect our payments, we all wound up paying cash because they were too slow getting our credit cards to process. When I come back next year for the conference, I will not make this restaurant one of my three lunch spots.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on July 9, 2017

The food was just okay. I had the meatloaf which was dry and the gravy on the mash potatoes seemed to be from a can or something. My friend had the pasta and shrimp which seemed to be a little better. It was a pretty quiet time there in terms of busyness and we were thinking we would have a couple of drinks after dinner and our server just wanted to turn the table and be done with us. His loss, we went down the street and drank at another establishment.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on July 9, 2017

Best brunch in town. Sunday Funday. I will be coming again. And I cannot wait too. Thank you so much

Tags: People Watching, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on July 9, 2017

Food was cold. Disappointed. Other than that the place was nice. Great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 8, 2017

We stopped in for dinner but only stayed for a drink and appetizers. Seating was uncomfortable. The service was pleasant but overall the rest of our experience was just hitting average.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on July 8, 2017

My table of 9 came in with 4 children, 2 elderly and 3 in our 30s to celebrate my graduation from Le Cordon Bleu. I made reservations a few days before- everything was ready when we got there.

I can easily say they accommodated every age group and taste. As an avid foodie- I loved the flavor, ambiance and service.

We stayed for brunch- some took advantage of bottomless mimosas, some the Bellini, for a pregnant me- blackberry mint! We were not disappointed. The food was great. Lots of options for different diets and preferences.

The noise level was comfortable enough for a conversation across a wide table yet loud enough that our kids didn't bug anyone.

I did see fully handicapped able to be seated and served with ease of transport and accessibility.
I would visit again any time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 8, 2017

I love this place! I would go once a week or more if it worked with my schedule. The staff is so nice and fun and the variations on their seating make each trip a different experience... The food is good and the portions are generous - great for splitting. The meu has great options, something for everyone. It is spacious but not too loud. For special occasions check out the back room. Super easy to make a reservation online, no reason not to to ensure you have a seat. Have a great time!

Tags: Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Sunday Lunch, Quick Bite, Business Meals, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Afternoon Coffee, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, People Watching, Local Ingredients, Disabled Access, Casual, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on July 7, 2017

We were greeted and seated right away, we had a reservation. It was cool inside when it was 100 outside. Everyone at the table ordered something different and everyone thought their food was great. The only complaint I have is that it took a little to long to get drinks from the bar, the food came out right after that.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Food was great, service was impersonal. However, overall a great place to go to lunch.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on July 4, 2017

Always one of my favorite places in Sacramento. Love the food and wait staff is just great!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Casual, Quick Bite, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Hot Spot, People Watching, Great for Brunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Disabled Access, Late-night Find, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Went for a birthday. Fast service and food well presented and tasty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 1, 2017

We had a wonderful brunch! The service, food and ambience were perfect!

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Service was fantastic. Amber was our waitress and she was amazing. Very polite and friendly. She always had a smile on her face.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on June 29, 2017

Our reservation was for 6:00 pm, but we arrived 20 minutes early. The hostess sat us promptly. The waitress greeted us quickly and took our drink order and promptly returned. The waitress was helpful in deciding between two entrees. The food was good and we had a leisurely dinner and had ample time to see Besuty and the Beast at Music Circus. I would highly recommend Cafeteria 15 L if you are attending a show and they offer a discount.

Tags: Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 29, 2017

This was my first time eating here. We came for lunch. We were greeted by a friendly hostess. We had a reservation and were seated right away. I like the design and decor of the resturant. I was very pleased and surprised at how low the noise level was for such a large place. Even when it was full at peak lunch time. Our server was very friendly and helped us with menu suggestions. I had fish & chips, but minus the chips as I substituted them with a green salad. The fish was lightly battered and not greasy and tasted great. I was served a nice sized green salad with blue cheese dressing. I will definitely would go back. Since it is downtown parking can be difficult, specially at lunch. But the offer $5 Valet parking, which complements the dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on June 28, 2017

This was my first time at this restaurant and it was phenomenal! Great food, great customer service, the patio is gorgeous and parking wasn't as bad as I thought it was going to be. Definitely recommending.

Tags: Fun, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on June 28, 2017

When I arrived to check in for the reservation they admitted to missing the note about my request to be sat on the patio, which was the only reason we chose this restaurant because it was nice out and the patio is fun. It is also why I made the reservation over a week in advance. The only table that could have accommodated my large party on the patio was taken and wasn't available for another 45 minutes. Then the server we had on the patio while waiting for our large table was extremely rude. I was celebrating my birthday and all of my guests chimed in about the initial server's attitude, which was embarrassing.

I love the convenience of Open Table but if the restaurant doesn't actually read the reservation and it's notes then it defeats the purpose of me using Open Table and not just calling and confirming a reservation with an employee at the facility.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on June 27, 2017

I like the various seating options. Love the ambiance I like the lunch menu better than the dinner menu. I looked online at the menu ahead of time but when I got to the restaurant the two items weren't on the menu. The food was good. Not a lot of options for a gluten-free dairy free diet. There was a nice amount of room between tables. The service was good other than the waiter never came back to fill water glasses. The noise level was louder than I like but not unbearable. Love the big tables for a group. Want to go back for brunch. Made a reservation for a birthday but they do nothing for birthdays except provide a candle.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on June 25, 2017

We love Cafeteria, however the last few times we have eaten here the service has been subpar. Waiters/waitresses have rarely checked up on us (no drink refills, we needed silverware, etc). Hoping this starts to improve, really like this place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on June 25, 2017

Excellent food and great service. Always consistently great.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Fun, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Terrible service and food was mediocre but great ambience. Shame...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Fun times! Visiting my kids in Sac from Healdsburg- easy access and we were accommodated al fresco. Great food, wine, and ambiance,. Valet was kind and informative. There's a nightclub behind the restaurant called "The Park". Great patio location for warm summer nights!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on June 24, 2017

Went for brunch before a show and it was excellent. The food was fresh and great! Got the unlimited mimosas which was a good deal. The waiter made sure to top off the drinks when low! Customer service was very good, very friendly and attentive.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on June 24, 2017

This is the second time we have chosen this place for brunch. We had a 9:30 reservation which I was notified by text that our table was ready before we even arrived. The food was excellent, asked for a side of fruit (great mix) instead of breakfast potatoes with no problem. It was so nice to see families on a Saturday morning dining with their newborns, toddlers and young children. Our son who lives in San Francisco is always impressed when we bring him here.

Tags: Casual, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Came here for a friends birthday. We brought in cupcakes to celebrate and were told there would be a $1 charge per cupcake we brought in because outside desserts are not allowed. We never had this problem at other restaurants, to name a few: Oz, Chicago Fire, Mikunis. The hostess and service was average, they didn't seem to pay much attention to us but did not forget to remind us about the extra fee for outside dessert. The restaurant itself was great, we opted for outdoor seating in the patio area which was gorgeous and the food was excellent. Warning to those wanting to celebrate a Birthday at Cafeteria, do not bring cupcakes or your own bday cake.

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Vibrant Bar Scene, Late-night Find, Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service2
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.