About Cafeteria 15L

1116 15th St
Sacramento, CA 95814
View Larger Map

Cafeteria 15L is Sacramento's premier comfort and eclectic urban restaurant offering American comfort cuisine with a classic flair. Designed by the designers of The Park and Mix Downtown, Cafeteria 15L features 2 outdoor patios. The use of reclaimed woods, industrial light fixtures, and an array of mixed and matched chairs create and atmosphere both whimsical and cozy.

Traditional dishes are created with a twist to evoke the nostalgia and comfort of a home-cooked meal. Open for lunches, dinners, and late night weekend dining. Cafeteria 15L’s menu items feature farm to table fresh homespun creations.

Join us for our Happy Hour every Monday through Friday, 4pm to 7pm. Cocktail specials and discounts on small plates. Available in the bar, lounge and patio only.

Every Monday is MONDAY's UNCORKED. All bottles of wine 1/2 off or free corkage.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Comfort Food, Contemporary American, Californian

Hours of Operation:
Sat/Sun Brunch 9:00am - 3:00pm, Lunch M-F 11:30am - 2pm, Dinner M-Thur 5-9:30pm, Fri/Sat 4-11pm, Sun 4-8p

Cross Street:
15th St & L Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(916) 492-1960

Website:
http://www.cafeteria15l.com/

Entertainment:
Cafeteria 15L is located in The Park Complex - Featuring The Park Ultra Lounge - Sacramento's premier nightclub and lounge. Top DJs from around the country spin at this Sacramento hot spot. Diners may enter the nightclub free of cover by spending $15 in food (beverages not included). Ask your server for details.

Parking Details:
Valet is available and located on 15th between K and L Street. Owned and operated by Neumann Enterprises. $5 plus tip.

Executive Chef:
Christian Palmos

Private Party Facilities:
Cafeteria 15L's Private Dining Room is the ideal setting for business meetings, cocktail receptions, rehearsal dinners and any other occasion requiring a warm intimate environment and memorable cuisine. The facility comfortably accommodates 35-40 seated guests. The Ultra Lounge, a more magnificent space accommodates up to 100-seated guests and as many as 300+ for cocktail parties. The Private Dining Room flows with the chic urban design of the restaurant but has the ability to become a private and exclusive space.

Private Party Contact:
Diane Lally: (916) 442-8855x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Dancing, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Area, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Cafeteria 15L Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.2

ambience

4.3

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Sacramento / Sacramento Valley
Outdoor Dining
Sacramento
Most Booked
Sacramento
Best Restaurants in Sacramento ›

good for groups (156)
great for brunch (130)
great for outdoor dining (125)
See All
great for lunch (113)
fit for foodies (95)
special occasion (80)
hot spot (74)
vibrant bar scene (59)
neighborhood gem (58)
kid-friendly (48)
romantic (24)
late-night find (21)
notable wine list (10)
scenic view (8)
 (3)
 (2)
 (2)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1315 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5

Our server Natalia was great. She was pr ...

Dined 3 days ago

Our server Natalia was great. She was present despite it being a busy Friday evening. We both had the nightly specials. My husband had the pasta special with braised short rib and I had a sea bass with cilantro rice. Both were well prepared. For dessert we shared the blondie sundae which was a nice size for sharing without being way too much dessert.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was my second visit and I was not d ...

Dined 4 days ago

This was my second visit and I was not disappointed either time. . .the food and service was excellent and the fact that it is so close to the theater with convenient parking makes it a perfect choice.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

food was very good, but the noise level ...

Dined 5 days ago

food was very good, but the noise level is really high

Tags: good for groups, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

A large group of us went to grab a bite ...

Dined 7 days ago

A large group of us went to grab a bite after my son's HS graduation. We were seated immediately and service was very attentive. Atmosphere is fun, cocktails are a tad pricey, but good, and the food delicious. Be sure to check out the bruschetta!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was great. Nice atmosphere. ...

Dined on May 23, 2016

The service was great. Nice atmosphere. Our food was absolutely delicious.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

It was a wild day agreat crowd and the ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

It was a wild day agreat crowd and the Amgen race outside Staff managed it very ly. Food was very good and the service prompt. We will be back.

Tags: great for brunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

So easy to book reservations and service ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

So easy to book reservations and service was great. Loved it

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food and service but a bit too noi ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

Great food and service but a bit too noisy for friends trying to catch up! Outside looked inviting but a bit too chilly that night.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience4
service4

I ordered the Malt Waffles and was under ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

I ordered the Malt Waffles and was underwhelmed; texture was soft and spongy, fruit was minimal, presentation poor. Other guests ordered Egg Benedicts and enjoyed it. Not sure if the side of potatoes were cooked fresh, looked great, but under seasoned. Service and atmosphere was great!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always love this place! The food is grea ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Always love this place! The food is great, especially the chicken and waffles. The ambiance is dressy casual and hip. It's located next to The Park Ultra Lounge.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, great for lunch, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Tater Tots & dinner spinach salad was h ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

Tater Tots & dinner spinach salad was huge!

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great overall dining experience: consis ...

Dined on May 19, 2016

Great overall dining experience: consistently good comfort food and service. Menu offerings varied enough to please a wide variety of palates. Several large tables easily accommodate groups (there were eight of us), both inside or in the courtyard. It does get quite noisy when busy, but we managed to still have discussions. Try the chicken & waffle, French dip, or scampi pasta--all of which garnered rave review from our group.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went to Cafeteria 15L for my wife's birt ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Went to Cafeteria 15L for my wife's birthday. Made the reservation beforehand. That was a big help as we were immediately seated. Our server was great, the ambience was terrific and the food was outstanding. Can't ask for much more.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a wonderful restaurant! Ate there f ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

What a wonderful restaurant! Ate there for the first time on a Friday, and had a friend eat there on Sunday per my recco and photos on FB. Really nice staff, delicious food and very reasonably priced. Great portion sizes too! We will make this a regular stop when in Sacramento.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

Great food. So-so service. Difficult parking.

Dined on May 9, 2016

If you are not familiar with this area of Sacramento, be prepared for a parking challenge. Food was great. Price was fair. We had an amazing slice of prime-rib at our table as well as a very tasty short-rib pot-roast. Ahi Poke and tuffle tater tots were also good. The disappointment was the service ... some examples ... overall slow. Extended delays to get the next glass of wine. We were 1/2 way through eating our entrees before appetizer plates were picked up. Entree delivery was staggered by several minutes. Many minutes after 3 other desserts were delivered, the server came to appologize that they didn't have the banana creme pie because 'they had no bananas in the house'. In any other restaurant of our experience, we would have been told about the lack of banana creme pie before ANY deserts were delivered. We were there for Mother's Day so the associated night-club wasn't active, but there is some concern that the night-club noise would disturb diners.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Definitely will be returning , loved it ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Definitely will be returning , loved it from the ambiance to the food. Even loved the uniqueness of the restrooms

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
food3
ambience2
service1

Over crowed. Unattentive staff. Food dem ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Over crowed. Unattentive staff. Food demonstration was done poorly, almost felt like they just slapped the food on the plate. Host was non verbal and left drinks and food without saying anything. Will not be going back during special events.

food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Lively and Abundant

Dined on May 8, 2016

Went for Mother's Day. Patrons were abundant but place not overly crowded. Seemed to be a bit disorganized at the desk and late to greet but were seated promptly after that. Food was quick to come out which was a plus and very tasty. Only issue was overall too much grease--omelette and bacon swimming in it--should drain first. Not a whole lot of healthy breakfast -type choices for brunch unless you go with salads. How about an egg white omelette with some greens and mushrooms, seasonal veggies? Could be a hit! Overall: very tasty and pleasant

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Mother's Day Brunch

Dined on May 8, 2016

I found this place to have brunch with my boyfriend and his mom for Mother's Day. The food was SOOOO good and actually really well priced for the portion and taste. I definitely want to come back with my boyfriend for dinner and check out how the place changes for the dinner and drinks crowd. Great experience with OpenTable, too!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

the food was average. for the price poin ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

the food was average. for the price point, Magpie is a much better option.

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

travelswithlinda

Dined on May 7, 2016

the only complaint was the wine "Pinot Gringo" was not drinkable as least by me. The wait person took it back and told us their Pinot was not very good. Why serve a bad wine? I drink it and like most brands, so am not that picky. The food was great as was the service. A bit too noisy for those of us that wear hearing aids - outside is best. We usually go to Cafeteria 15 L when we are in Sacramento.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great outdoor seating

Dined on May 2, 2016

It was a lovely day and great setting for an outdoor lunch. It was busy enough to make you feel like you were a part of something but quiet enough for good conversation. The shrimp po'boy was just spicy enough to be interesting and the shrimp were cooked perfectly.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Suggest web site make weekend brunch hou ...

Dined on May 1, 2016

Suggest web site make weekend brunch hours, menu, more clear.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience5
service5

Went for their brunch on Saturday. Our t ...

Dined on April 30, 2016

Went for their brunch on Saturday. Our table had chicken & waffles, spinach omelette with a side of bacon, truffle tator tots, hot Bloody Mary, bottomless mimosas. Everything was very good, especially their smoked thick cut bacon. Chicken was flavored perfect with an awesome crunch. Service was great. Will go back for sure.

food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Brunch

Dined on April 30, 2016

We were a party of 12 and everyone enjoyed their food. The bottomless mimosas were definitely worth the price.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Environment

Dined on April 30, 2016

Love everything about this place. For friends and a group or just a quite dinner alone. Love it.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

New spot for a local!

Dined on April 29, 2016

I live in Yuba City and was interested in this place after reading a Sac Bee review. Had brunch here in March and then suggested it to a Sacramento friend. Enjoyed a nice lunch there on Friday (although they did not have the roasted turkey sandwich🙁). Very good service by a super nice waitress! Will be back again!

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service3

Mixed berry pancakes were huge!!! Defini ...

vip
Dined on April 23, 2016

Mixed berry pancakes were huge!!! Definitely a 2 person or more meal! Great bloody Mary's!!

food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Great food as usual

Dined on April 23, 2016

Frequent Cafeteria 15L customer. Great food as always, good service. Great ambience downtown.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, hot spot
food3
ambience2
service2

Different servers brought us our food. I ...

Dined on April 18, 2016

Different servers brought us our food. It took over 20 minutes and from four different servers before we all received our orders. Very loud and food ranged from great to lousy.

food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Went to the Broadway Series on Sunday, g ...

Dined on April 17, 2016

Went to the Broadway Series on Sunday, great for brunch especially enjoyed the unlimited Mimosas.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience5
service1
value3

Too busy to pay attention on a Sunday morning.

Dined on April 17, 2016

Cafeteria 15L was outstanding several months ago -- the morning after my daughter's wedding. The staff went above and beyond to serve 24 people. The food was good, the table location was fantastic, and the wait staff was outstanding. When the family decided to get together for brunch for my daughter's birthday, I pushed for Cafeteria 15L because I could make a reservation AND we had a great experience months age. This time with a party of eight, the service was lousy. We got a table outside (the weather was nice) but slow service, no silverware (waited too long after our food was served) slow to no refills on coffee and drinks. We asked for separate checks, for one couple, which the waiter had no problem with. When we got home, I scanned the receipt which my husband had taken care of, and realized that we paid for all the meals! The other couple paid their check as well! I'll give Cafeteria one more chance because of the reservation system and the menu.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great beginning

Dined on April 15, 2016

Went before the show at the sac community center and it set just the right mood. We ate on the patio which was a little less noisy and the waiter was just the right degree between efficient and relaxed so that we didn't feel rushed but weren't worried about getting to the show on time. Food was great as always and abundant.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

One of our favorite restaurants.

Dined on April 15, 2016

Tried the chicken and waffles for the first time. Tasty combination! I've never been disappointed with Cafeteria 15L no matter what meal I select. Servers are attentive and knowledgeable. Will be back.

Tags: good for groups
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Never Disappoints

Dined on April 15, 2016

Cafeteria 15L is our 'go-to' restaurant downtown when we attend the Broadway Shows. It is located right next to the Sacramento Community Theater. So you only park once. The food is always wonderful. I enjoyed the shrimp pasta. A light sauce, and just the right amount. Although I do wish some of the restaurants in Downtown had more 'Vegetarian or Fish' options. Not vegetarian by choice, but for health, and usually you are lucky to find one or maybe two options to choose from, unless you want salad, again.

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

AFTER THE PLAY

Dined on April 15, 2016

We go there after seeing a play at the Community Center because it usually makes it easier to find parking (valet), we can count on good food and a 10% discount on our meals if we present our play tickets.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

We've been to C-16 many times, without ...

Dined on April 14, 2016

We've been to C-16 many times, without any issues. However, this occasion, we were not quite as lucky. Two of us ordered the Chicken and Waffles. While the waffle was very good, the chicken was way over cooked and dried out. I have a very hard time swallowing dry food, and the chicken was sticking in my throat. Even the crust was dark, hard, and tasteless. Another one of our party had the steak, which she said was very tough. The forth person in our group had a beautiful salad, that was both aesthetically pleasing and tasteful. I guess we all will have to order salads our next visit!!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, notable wine list
food4
ambience1
service4
value3

Food good....but the seating was AWFUL!

Dined on April 14, 2016

Have eaten here on several occasions...have always liked the food. No different on this trip. Made reservations several days in advance for 4 people. Originally needed a table for 6 people...but online they said there was no availability. So I made a reservation for 4 and another reservation for 2, under different names. Unfortunately one couple couldn't make it so I cancelled the reservation for 2. When the four of us arrived on time, we were seated at a table that had bench and banquette (against the wall with pillows for our backs). Unfortunately the one person that took the bench had nothing for his back. We were not asked if this was okay....we aren't young hipsters, who like this type of seating....but being good sports didn;t say anything. That was a BIG mistake! While the food was good, they need to reevaluate their seating! On a side note...the table was big enough for all 6 of us, had the other couple been able to join ....so why did they say there was no availability...when clearly there was room and I was even able to make 2 reservations totaling 6??? Doesn't make sense to me.

food4
ambience3
service5

This was our second time to visit for br ...

Dined on April 10, 2016

This was our second time to visit for brunch. I really like the atmosphere,food and service that is why I drive from Vacaville. Our server this time was outstanding he kept our bottomless mimosas constantly filled. I had the Southern Benedict which was very good. I love Cafeteria 15L's biscuits. They give you a lot of potatoes. The only thing I did not like about my dish was the homemade sausage was too spicy for me but my husband loves their sausage. There were 4 of us dining and we all enjoyed our food. We will always come here when we are in the mood for brunch

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Cafeteria 15L - great food, very fast service.

Dined on April 6, 2016

Had a wonderful experience at the Cafeteria 15L to celebrate a couple birthdays. The restaurant staff were very accommodating, extremely courteous and we were amazed at how fast our food came out from the kitchen. Everybody loved the food they ordered which ranged from the Salmon Salad to the Cafeteria Burger with Bleu Cheese.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.