About Cafeteria 15L

1116 15th St
Sacramento, CA 95814
View Larger Map

Cafeteria 15L is Sacramento's premier comfort and eclectic urban restaurant offering American comfort cuisine with a classic flair. Designed by the designers of The Park and Mix Downtown, Cafeteria 15L features 2 outdoor patios. The use of reclaimed woods, industrial light fixtures, and an array of mixed and matched chairs create and atmosphere both whimsical and cozy.

Traditional dishes are created with a twist to evoke the nostalgia and comfort of a home-cooked meal. Open for lunches, dinners, and late night weekend dining. Cafeteria 15L’s menu items feature farm to table fresh homespun creations.

Join us for our Happy Hour every Monday through Friday, 4pm to 7pm. Cocktail specials and discounts on small plates. Available in the bar, lounge and patio only.

Every Monday is MONDAY's UNCORKED. All bottles of wine 1/2 off or free corkage.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Comfort Food, Contemporary American, Californian

Hours of Operation:
Sat/Sun Brunch 9:00am - 3:00pm, Lunch M-F 11:30am - 2pm, Dinner M-Thur 5-9:30pm, Fri/Sat 4-11pm, Sun 4-8p

Cross Street:
15th St & L Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(916) 492-1960

Website:
http://www.cafeteria15l.com/

Entertainment:
Cafeteria 15L is located in The Park Complex - Featuring The Park Ultra Lounge - Sacramento's premier nightclub and lounge. Top DJs from around the country spin at this Sacramento hot spot. Diners may enter the nightclub free of cover by spending $15 in food (beverages not included). Ask your server for details.

Parking Details:
Valet is available and located on 15th between K and L Street. Owned and operated by Neumann Enterprises. $5 plus tip.

Executive Chef:
Christian Palmos

Private Party Facilities:
Cafeteria 15L's Private Dining Room is the ideal setting for business meetings, cocktail receptions, rehearsal dinners and any other occasion requiring a warm intimate environment and memorable cuisine. The facility comfortably accommodates 35-40 seated guests. The Ultra Lounge, a more magnificent space accommodates up to 100-seated guests and as many as 300+ for cocktail parties. The Private Dining Room flows with the chic urban design of the restaurant but has the ability to become a private and exclusive space.

Private Party Contact:
Diane Lally: (916) 442-8855

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Dancing, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Cafeteria 15L Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (70)
Great for Brunch (63)
Comfort Food (63)
See All
Fun (55)
Good for Groups (53)
Great for Lunch (51)
Modern Decor (51)
Good for Birthdays (50)
Good for a Date (48)
Special Occasion (44)
Pre/post Theatre (39)
Sunday Lunch (39)
Happy Hour (37)
Vibrant Bar Scene (32)
Fit for Foodies (31)
Creative Cuisine (31)
Hot Spot (30)
Worth the Drive (30)
Great for Outdoor Dining (28)
Bar Seating (25)
Business Meals (23)
Handcrafted Cocktails (22)
Quick Bite (20)
Neighborhood Gem (20)
People Watching (19)
Outstanding Value (18)
Kid-friendly (18)
Cozy (18)
Good for Anniversaries (18)
Family Style (16)
Open Kitchen (15)
Local Ingredients (14)
Healthy (13)
Romantic (13)
Late-night Find (12)
Authentic (11)
Good Vegetarian Options (8)
Seasonal (6)
Tasting Menu (6)
Great Beer (6)
Disabled Access (5)
Organic (4)
Tapas (4)
Afternoon Tea (4)
Fireplace (4)
Notable Wine List (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Private Room (4)
Dancing (4)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Scenic View (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Spicy (2)
Live Sports (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Live Music (2)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
1682 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined 3 days ago

Table was ready when we arrived. I've visited 15L as a couple, small group and with larger theater groups. Always a great menu selection of food and prices. The busy bar makes good drinks and the wait staff is quick, attentive but unobtrusive. We've never been disappointed.

Tags: Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined 3 days ago

Great food and great atmosphere -- will definitely dine there again in the future!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined 5 days ago

I would recommend more for the ambiance and the mixed drinks. My drink was superb - a blood orange martini. Dinners were mediocre. The brussel sprouts that accompanied the chicken dinner were not fully cooked. The breaded pork loin was dry, with too little gravy. The decor was clever and interesting, but our table was wobbly.

Tags: Comfort Food, Casual, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 6 days ago

This was a fun place to have Sunday brunch. The mimosas were perfectly mixed and glasses very well tended to. A couple of friends in my group ordered different benedicts. Both had a difficult time cutting through the extremely tough english muffins which created quite a mess. I ordered a skillet and the totts were way to greasy for my particular taste. I did get to sample the chicken and waffles and the brioche french toast, both of which were delicious. Our server was very polite and attentive. I will definitely be back to see what else this light and trending spot has to offer.

Tags: Casual, Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined 6 days ago

Although our food was prepared with great timing, I felt that it took way too long to get our drink and food orders in. I've been to this restaurant for brunch before but it hasn't been this busy. I also think it had to do with where we were seated that the service wasn't as great as I'd hoped it would be. We were seated on a fold out table in the back of the restaurant where the service wasn't ideal.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined 6 days ago

The food and service were very good, the parking however is lacking, $20.00 for downtown parking is a little crazy, this isn't San Francisco.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined 6 days ago

Good food, but we still waited for 50 minutes even though we had a reservation.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined 6 days ago

Yay! A place that is open beyond 10pm for a meal on a Saturday night. Food was very good, and the service was excellent.

Tags: Casual, Comfort Food, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined 6 days ago

We were celebrating a belated Valentines day with two other couples.

Everything was awesome, loved everything we ordered, cooked to perfection and very flavorful.

Excellent service and the wine choices were numerous for every taste and budget.

I cant wait to goback!!!

Tags: Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Live Music, Dancing
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 18, 2017

It was overall an alright experience, however the server brought out the food and only came back to give us the check. She never came back to check on us or see how the food was tasting. We wanted more drinks and a dessert but she didn't offer before/after giving us the check. Needless to say, I left wanting dessert :( P.S. It was lightly busy for a Friday due to the rainy weather.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 15, 2017

The menu was totally different and they had very few options

Tags: Modern Decor, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Waitress was very attentive and the prime rib was juicy and flavorful. Overall, very passive environment for conversations and a delicious dinner.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Tasting Menu, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Happy Hour, Casual, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Quick Bite, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Very nice place for happy hour, great happy hour menu of small bits and drinks, especially half price wine bottles on Monday.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene, Handcrafted Cocktails, Open Kitchen, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Good food had chicken and waffles.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 12, 2017

These people have gotten very unfriendly. Even the female manager that greeted us didn't even take time to smile. She set out menus down before we got to the table and with her back to us simply said "enjoy". The rest of the staff was the same. Food was not great. Truly a subpar experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Great restaurant that we always stop at when we're in town. Their weekend brunch is amazing! Awesome spot for farm to fork eats right next to the convention center and rose garden!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Modern Decor, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 12, 2017

The food was fabulous but our waitress was not good and sort of ruined our pre Valentines dinner.

Tags: Fun, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 11, 2017

We arrived 40 minutes early to our reservation and the hostess recommended that we grab a drink at the bar while she tries to find us an earlier table. The bartender was very efficient and courteous to us and was very polite when he double checked our foreign ID's. Hostess texts me that there is an earlier table and then we are seated quickly and offered recommendations and popular dishes. The poached salmon salad was very delicious and refreshing while the trio of fries were crispy and well seasoned, we took home leftovers.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Fun, Bar Seating, Casual, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Love this place. Very consistent.

Picked our daughter up at Amtrak and had a great late dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Food was great. We were seated at our reservation time and waitress checked if we were okay every few minutes. The environment was great. It was pretty busy but the atmosphere was very relaxing. The cocktails were pretty good also.

Tags: Modern Decor, Tasting Menu, Healthy, Happy Hour, Family Style, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Late-night Find, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Another great pre-show dinner at 15L! Our server was friendly, helpful, and fast! Our meals were great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Cafeteria 15L offers excellent comfort food: burgers, sandwiches, salads as well as entrees such as salmon and short ribs. Clever starters, the best of which is a trio of french fries with dipping sauces. Desserts run to sundaes and chocolate. prices are very reasonable for a core downtown restaurant. Our check for four was $165, including tax, tip and $45 bar tab (about $20 per person for food).

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene, Casual, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 6, 2017

Amazing service! Great food! And enjoyed my experience for the 2nd time here.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Family Style, Fun, Outstanding Value, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 5, 2017

This was my second time visiting Cafeteria 15L; no disappontment at this place! Food is magnificent and the service off the chart. Took both of my daughters for their first visit; they loved it.

The only con is parking -- the lot next door is $20.00 even on Saturday and Sunday.

Tags: People Watching, Great for Lunch, Family Style, Private Room, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Quick Bite, Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene, Modern Decor, Tapas, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Fun, Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Comfort Food, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 5, 2017

We had the most incredible waiter, Bill! He was on top of it and super efficient! We had a large group and did not ask for separate checks. He did it on his own and it was much appreciated!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 5, 2017

The night we had dinner was really loud, in large part because the Kings v. Warriors game was on. Our server was fine, she did check our ID cards for the second time when we ordered drinks (our ID cards were checked upon entry). And finally our ID cards were checked each time we visited the restroom, it felt pretty policed.

The food was good and the serving size were big enough for all of us to share all our orders.

Tags: Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Good food, a bit loud but fun. The service was quick and there was adequate parking in surrounding areas.

Tags: Comfort Food, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Enjoyable as always - the service can be a bit slow when busy, and burger was well instead of medium medium, but all very tasty!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Although I've had good experiences here before, this time we were seated at a reserved table in the bar area. Noise level was very high and service was lacking. Food was great as always. If/when I return, I definitely will request a table away from the bar.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 4, 2017

They only serve brunch on the weekends. The Brunch was just OK. Trying to be different doesn't always work. I've had dinner here before and enjoyed their dinners. I wouldn't recommend this place for Brunch. I would recommend it for dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Great food and excellent service from Megan. Bottonless mimosas were actually bottomless.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Always good food and great service.We had Miguel and he was terrific.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Quick Bite, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Great. Always ce. Always great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Excellent as always. Wait staff is attentive but not intrusive. Menu is short but well-rounded. Be sure to have a reservation or be prepared to wait to be seated.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 31, 2017

Decent menu with several palette options. Restroom window/mirror is a freakout initially, but then fun. Memorable.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Casual, Fun, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 30, 2017

We had a large party and service was excellent. Everyone seemed to enjoy their meals, though I don't have specifics. We would definitely go back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 29, 2017

The folks at Cafeteria 15L (management, receptionists, waiters and other helpers) were very pleasant and accommodating. We arrived a few minutes late but they gave us the next available table for our birthday brunch. And what a treat we had...the food was delicious and the place was vibrant with happy customers. I ordered the chicken and waffles. I never had them country style (with gravy) before but the combination was fabulous. My daughter loved the pancakes with berries. We'll definitely visit again!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Casual, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Had brunch for my 60th birthday celebration w/6 friends. Made reservations online & everything was perfect. We were able to attend an event at the Golden 1 Cntr on time, since we didn't have to wait! The Service, drinks (bloody Mary's & mimosa) we fabulous & of course the food was delicious. Thank you for a wonderful time! We will be back!!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Outstanding Value, Fun, Sunday Lunch, Hot Spot, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 29, 2017

The staff was wonderful, the food was delicious and we had a great time. Highly recommend this place

Tags: Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 28, 2017

We wanted a restaurant near to a show we were going to afterwards.

Our table was ok, but seemed a bit crowded.

Service was good and food fair. Prices are competition with other restaurants of a similar venue.

I have eaten at 15L in the past.

Tags: Happy Hour, Business Meals, Late-night Find, Comfort Food, People Watching, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 22, 2017

My birthday

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Delicious food with beautiful presentation. Best beet salad ever. Very satisfying experience.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Outstanding Value, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 22, 2017

The food is ok. It's a fun hip place to meet and have drinks. Wouldn't really do dinner here again though. Had to exchange my plate for something else. I never have to do that.

Tags: Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Dancing
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Loves every second!! The food was wonderful and the service was fantastic. Can't wait to go back.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 22, 2017

The Cafeteria was one of the best restaurants my wife and I have been to. We enjoyed the ribeye and the pork chops. My wife has declared Cafeteria 15L as her favorite.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on January 22, 2017

We arrived early on a Saturday evening. We had a great table/booth and our food was delicious. We will come again.

Tags: Comfort Food, Local Ingredients, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 22, 2017

The experience would be much better if they would turn down the sound. I like to carry on a conversation without shouting when I dine out.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 22, 2017

The noise level was well beyond "energetic." In the breaks between music, it was delightful. Food was great, service superb. Food was served quickly. Waiter plus all of the other wait staff could not have been been better. We have had past visits where things seem to have been far less organized. Thanks for a great evening.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Went here for brunch on a Saturday with a group of 7 and it was amazing! Would recommend making reservations because it gets busy, but the food and drinks are great! Lots of local ingredients!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Loved the quick service and refills on on mimosas. Food was really good and came out fast. Danny our server was very nice and pleasant. Hostess was also very nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.