Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.28mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.28mi

About Cafeteria 15L

Cafeteria 15L is Sacramento's premier comfort and eclectic urban restaurant offering American comfort cuisine with a classic flair. Designed by the designers of The Park and Mix Downtown, Cafeteria 15L features 2 outdoor patios. The use of reclaimed woods, industrial light fixtures, and an array of mixed and matched chairs create and atmosphere both whimsical and cozy.

Traditional dishes are created with a twist to evoke the nostalgia and comfort of a home-cooked meal. Open for lunches, dinners, and late night weekend dining. Cafeteria 15L’s menu items feature farm to table fresh homespun creations.

Join us for our Happy Hour every Monday through Friday, 4pm to 7pm. Cocktail specials and discounts on small plates. Available in the bar, lounge and patio only.

Every Monday is MONDAY's UNCORKED. All bottles of wine 1/2 off or free corkage.

1116 15th St
Sacramento, CA 95814
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Comfort Food, Contemporary American, Californian

Hours of Operation:
Sat/Sun Brunch 9:00am - 3:00pm, Lunch M-F 11:30am - 2pm, Dinner M-Thur 5-9:30pm, Fri/Sat 4-11pm, Sun 4-8p

Cross Street:
15th St & L Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(916) 492-1960

Website:
http://www.cafeteria15l.com/

Entertainment:
Cafeteria 15L is located in The Park Complex - Featuring The Park Ultra Lounge - Sacramento's premier nightclub and lounge. Top DJs from around the country spin at this Sacramento hot spot. Diners may enter the nightclub free of cover by spending $15 in food (beverages not included). Ask your server for details.

Parking Details:
Valet is available and located on 15th between K and L Street. Owned and operated by Neumann Enterprises. $5 plus tip.

Executive Chef:
Christian Palmos

Private Party Facilities:
Cafeteria 15L's Private Dining Room is the ideal setting for business meetings, cocktail receptions, rehearsal dinners and any other occasion requiring a warm intimate environment and memorable cuisine. The facility comfortably accommodates 35-40 seated guests. The Ultra Lounge, a more magnificent space accommodates up to 100-seated guests and as many as 300+ for cocktail parties. The Private Dining Room flows with the chic urban design of the restaurant but has the ability to become a private and exclusive space.

Private Party Contact:
Diane Lally: (916) 442-8855

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Dancing, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Cafeteria 15L Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (76)
Fun (63)
Great for Brunch (63)
See All
Comfort Food (63)
Good for Groups (61)
Good for a Date (58)
Modern Decor (52)
Good for Birthdays (51)
Great for Lunch (50)
Pre/post Theatre (46)
Special Occasion (44)
Sunday Lunch (44)
Fit for Foodies (41)
Hot Spot (40)
Happy Hour (40)
Creative Cuisine (39)
Vibrant Bar Scene (36)
Great for Outdoor Dining (33)
Bar Seating (30)
Worth the Drive (30)
Handcrafted Cocktails (27)
Business Meals (24)
Neighborhood Gem (22)
Quick Bite (22)
People Watching (22)
Good for Anniversaries (21)
Kid-friendly (21)
Local Ingredients (21)
Open Kitchen (20)
Family Style (18)
Cozy (18)
Outstanding Value (16)
Authentic (14)
Healthy (13)
Late-night Find (13)
Romantic (12)
Good Vegetarian Options (8)
Tasting Menu (7)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Seasonal (6)
Disabled Access (6)
Private Room (5)
Dancing (5)
Great Beer (4)
Scenic View (4)
Live Music (4)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Tapas (3)
Fireplace (3)
Organic (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Live Sports (2)
Spicy (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Sort By:
S
1717 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 4 days ago

Unusually good brunch! Great meal. Can't wait to be back in Sacramento to get back there!

Tags: Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined 4 days ago

We had a brunch reservation and arrived about 10 minutes early but were still seated right away. Our server was very attentive and kept coming to check up on us despite the fact that they were pretty busy. Our food was tasty and brought out pretty quickly too-overall, an awesome experience!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Good for a Date, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined 4 days ago

Open Table was the key...had late lunch before NCAA Tournament...service was great, food was the best, good wine list, we will be back, Danny was the best server!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined 4 days ago

Had brunch! It was fun and food came out very quickly. My husband had the chicken fried steak, he said it was excellent. If I go back I will order the chicken and waffles or French toast. Excellent coffee with a shot of cream on the side. Make a reservation no matter what time you go. Great decor, ambiance and music.

Tags: Modern Decor, People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined 5 days ago

Our waiter Jeremy was very attentive, very friendly, best service ever!
My shrimp scampi was phenomenal! Thick and creamy like how I wanted. Shrimp was nothing I expected though. Cheap and small. I was expecting tiger or jumbo, but like I said, the sauce was great!
Thank you Jeremy!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined 5 days ago

Always a great time!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined 7 days ago

Love the food. Awesome service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Great food, the mushroom starter was super good, as was the beet salad.

If I get a gin & tonic next time, I'll get a gin no ice and tonic on the side, I think the bartend has arthritis in his wrist when he pours.

Its a poor show that happy hour is dependent on where you sit,

Ashley the server is super, thank you.

Tags: Fun, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on March 13, 2017

I was looking for to a nice lunch with my young friend. She's a struggling college student and I thought I would treat her to a special lunch. The hostess was very nice, but our server ingnored my friend when adking what we wanted to drink. We had to ask for silverware and when it came both our forks had foid on them and we had to return them. The salads we ordered could have just as well come from McDonald's, nothing special. I was so dissatisfied I grudgingly left a 10 0/0 tip and felt that was too much. Not only will I not recommend it. I will tell people about the bad service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 13, 2017

We expected a better restaurant given the ownership. Salads had lots of extra dressing. My French dip was not on par with other local places. Disappointing

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on March 12, 2017

We went to brunch before the theater, it was very good food and service.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on March 12, 2017

We had the best waitress. Very efficient and quick. Kept the bottomless mimosas flowing!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Best spinach salad that I've ever had at a restaurant!!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining, Pre/post Theatre, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Server was very accommodating when we added 5 people to our table. Friendly and bottomless mimosas were awesome!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Great for Lunch, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Even though I made reservations several days ago, the hostess sat our party of two at a table for 10. It was a terrible spot and we could barely talk across the huge table. I asked if we could have a regular table and was told, "only people with reservations got tables." I told her we had reservations and the server went and talked to the hostess. She came out and sat us at a table, with no apologies.

While the food was great, it is noisy and we didn't feel like we were treated with respect.

Don't know if I will go back. There're so many other good spots.

Tags: Quick Bite, Pre/post Theatre, Seasonal, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on March 11, 2017

What an amazing place. I've eaten there numerous times before my Broadway Series show. I love that they have valet parking, and the food is outstanding. I have never had a bad meal there, and our food servers are very attentive, but not annoying. The food portions are very generous, and the prices are very competitive.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Dinner with my teenage son before the theater. Great eats! My son loved the chicken and waffles, I had the mahi salad, fresh and perfectly done. Started with the tater tots, YUM! Finished with a dessert and great cup of coffee - perfect! Service was outstanding. Fun atmosphere.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Pre/post Theatre, Hot Spot, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Arrived 20 min early, but got seated right away in spite of line. Nice, since we were pre-theatre dining, so meal was leisurely.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Fun, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on March 10, 2017

We always have enjoyed our experience at Cafeteria 15L. The food has been great, except for this time I had a salmon salad and it was lacking on the salmon, just a few pieces. The taste was very good, just needed more salmon or a whole piece.

Tags: Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Happy Hour, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 9, 2017

The food was very good. The menu offers good choices. Had the beef dip sandwich and the greens side that came with it. I recommend the beef dip

Tags: People Watching, Comfort Food, Great for Outdoor Dining, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Great food and service as always. The hostess is just the best. Friendly and always remembers our seating preference. Makes us feel welcome and special. Service is excellent -always- and never obtrusive. Tried several small plates this time (the plates are generous) and were not disappointed. Loved the beet salad and Brussels sprouts.
If you plan to go, make a reservation.

Tags: Good for a Date, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on March 8, 2017

Our services was good and food came out quick. Nice and quiet even though the place was pretty full.

Tags: People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Casual, Live Sports, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Cozy, Comfort Food, Happy Hour, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 6, 2017

I want to say this is the second time I've been to Cafeteria 15L and even though this trip wasn't perfect I would still go back.

I reserved a table for 7:15 pm and my group was seated around 7:40 pm. We were able to get drinks at the bar while we waited, but by this time we were all pretty hungry. The waitress for my table was lovely and did an amazing job of taking care of us.

For the majority of the people in my party, they loved their meals and were very pleased. However, a co-worker worker and I both ordered the meatloaf, which unfortunately was cold. My co-worker sent his back and ordered something else, while I decided to just eat the warm parts of my meatloaf.

Overall I would definitely come back because I truly believe this was an accident on the kitchens part.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Everything was great! The food is really delicious, drinks were good, only thing I could not handle was that you put caraway seeds into breakfast sausage. My entire amazing Southern Benedict only tasted like the seeds, I couldn't taste anything else. Luckily my husband shared because the chicken and waffles were sooo good.

Tags: People Watching, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Didn't get seated until 30 min after the reservation time

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Went here for the first time Saturday morning for my birthday breakfast and I am so happy I did it was beyond good

Tags: Local Ingredients, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on March 4, 2017

We love Alex! Reservations were on time and experience was perfect :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on March 1, 2017

My wife and I really enjoyed dinner before a concert at Golden 1. We had the truffle tater tots as an app which were great. My wife had a salad and sliders and I had the bacon wrapped meatloaf, which was fantastic. Overall a great place with a lot of different options.

Tags: Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Late-night Find, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Though the food sounded and looked delicious it was lacking in flavor. Both my friend and I thought the food was flavorless. I had the beet salad and she had the ahi salad.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Fireplace, Great for Outdoor Dining, Family Style, Modern Decor, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 25, 2017

What a great place with great food! Excellent out door dining area. Love the food, lots of options. Great service!

Tags: Family Style, Happy Hour, Disabled Access, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Thoroughly enjoyable, with unusual flavour combinations that really worked. Quite noisy, but quite spacious, with the tables not feeling too close to other guests.
A really fun place to try some new dishes.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Casual, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Fantastic food. We had the meatloaf, the salmon salad and the greens with goat cheese and dates. Will be returning soon!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on February 24, 2017

After appetizers, wine, main dish, and dessert, we were shocked to leave Cafeteria 15L as a party of six for $200 even. Absolute best value around and would have paid double for the taste. We will definitely recommend and return!

Tags: Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 22, 2017

Table was ready when we arrived. I've visited 15L as a couple, small group and with larger theater groups. Always a great menu selection of food and prices. The busy bar makes good drinks and the wait staff is quick, attentive but unobtrusive. We've never been disappointed.

Tags: Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 22, 2017

Great food and great atmosphere -- will definitely dine there again in the future!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 20, 2017

I would recommend more for the ambiance and the mixed drinks. My drink was superb - a blood orange martini. Dinners were mediocre. The brussel sprouts that accompanied the chicken dinner were not fully cooked. The breaded pork loin was dry, with too little gravy. The decor was clever and interesting, but our table was wobbly.

Tags: Comfort Food, Casual, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 19, 2017

This was a fun place to have Sunday brunch. The mimosas were perfectly mixed and glasses very well tended to. A couple of friends in my group ordered different benedicts. Both had a difficult time cutting through the extremely tough english muffins which created quite a mess. I ordered a skillet and the totts were way to greasy for my particular taste. I did get to sample the chicken and waffles and the brioche french toast, both of which were delicious. Our server was very polite and attentive. I will definitely be back to see what else this light and trending spot has to offer.

Tags: Casual, Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Although our food was prepared with great timing, I felt that it took way too long to get our drink and food orders in. I've been to this restaurant for brunch before but it hasn't been this busy. I also think it had to do with where we were seated that the service wasn't as great as I'd hoped it would be. We were seated on a fold out table in the back of the restaurant where the service wasn't ideal.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 19, 2017

The food and service were very good, the parking however is lacking, $20.00 for downtown parking is a little crazy, this isn't San Francisco.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Good food, but we still waited for 50 minutes even though we had a reservation.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.