About Cafeteria Boston

279a Newbury Street
Boston, MA 02115
View Larger Map

Cafeteria is a cool, casual, contemporary atmosphere where the comfort food of "yesterday" gets schooled by the flavors of "today" to create a dining experience that is "tray chic."

Our new cafeteria-themed menu is a modern interpretation of classic soul-satisfying American dishes prepared with organic grass-fed beef and lamb, free-range chicken, the freshest seafood and organic, local produce. These properly raised ingredients
behave perfectly with a new world of herbs, spices and culinary techniques to create deeply satisfying comfort food for the new millennium.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
FOOD: Monday - Friday 11:00am - 11:00pm
Saturday and Sunday 9:00am - 11:00pm

Bar open until 1:00am
Brunch served Saturday and Sunday 9:00am-2:00pm

Cross Street:
Gloucester St.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(617) 536-2233

Website:
http://www.cafeteriaboston.com/

Catering:
Catering is available. Please call 617.536.2233 for more information.

Parking Details:
Valet parking is available and recommended

Public Transit:
Hynes Convention Green Line; Copley Green line

Executive Chef:
Antonio Perez

Private Party Facilities:
Our private room on the second floor comfortably accommodates cocktail parties for 100 or a seated dinner for 50 people. The large windows on two sides of the room provide expansive views over Newbury Street and the perfect atmosphere for private lunches, brunch, dinner parties or cocktail receptions. Cafeteria is also available for buyouts as well as private and semi-private functions.
Clients can choose from a wide array of appetizers, entrees, desserts, beverages and wines, to create the right formula for their function. From passed hors d’oeuvres with drinks, to an intimate dinner party to a gala event, we can customize a menu that’s exactly right for your event.
We look forward to working with you and planning your upcoming event.

Private Party Contact:
Demetri Tsolakis : (617) 536-2233

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Delivery, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We kept the straightforward, select what you like, style of a cafeteria, but, at this cafeteria the food comes to you with dining on three levels - outdoors, downstairs and upstairs for special events. Call 617.536.2233 or email info@cafeteriaboston.com

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Mon - Wed 5:00PM - 5:00PM

Cafeteria Boston Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.1

ambience

4.0

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (11)
Great for Lunch (10)
Sunday Lunch (9)
See All
Healthy (9)
Cozy (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Great for Brunch (7)
Comfort Food (7)
Fun (6)
Modern Decor (6)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Good for a Date (6)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Good for Groups (5)
Special Occasion (5)
Bar Seating (4)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Quick Bite (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Local Ingredients (3)
Family Style (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Hot Spot (2)
Authentic (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Great Beer (2)
Scenic View (1)
Romantic (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Business Meals (1)
Organic (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Fireplace (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Tapas (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Seasonal (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
894 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New England)·Dined 5 days ago

Really awesome! The service was amazing and very friendly.

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Handcrafted Cocktails, Sunday Lunch, Healthy, Fun, Kid-friendly, Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Afternoon Tea, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined 6 days ago

Service was poor. Ordered a drink which had to be sent back because it tasted like saltwater. Not as good as it used to be.

Tags: Healthy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 18, 2017

This was great for a 19th birthday celebration with college friends.. lots of fun food ! The girls loved it!

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Kid-friendly, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Cafeteria used to be one of our favorite neighborhood grab dinner and relax places but this week after years of dining, they lost us

From the moment we sat down our waiter couldn't wait to get rid of us- and we're nice and tip well. Our food came out quickly but my Tuna burger was overdone. Before I finished the waiter had grabbed my plate. When we asked for coffee - 1 regular and 1 decaf, he said " we dont have decaf". Seriously ? But he did have our check handy. From entering to exiting we spent 35 minutes in the place.

I felt like I'd had fast food from the quality to the service. So disappointed

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Positives : Food, Service, Drinks - a decent brunch spot by Boston standards.

Negatives: We were seated in the lower level, and there was a odd smell permeating the entire room, smelled moldy in nature, and it was pretty clear the management knew about it, as they had room fresheners and candles burning. One member of my party used the rest rooms and said the smell was even worse in there. It took away from the experience, and I would be reluctant to eat there again unless I could be seated on the main floor (upstairs).

Tags: Great for Brunch, Bar Seating, Sunday Lunch, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service5
value3

vip
 (New England)·Dined on February 11, 2017

I went for brunch on a Saturday with my girlfriend. It was a good meal amd a great experience. She ended up getting the breakfast sandwich and I got the 3 eggs with sausage. It was really good just that for the price point it was a bit of a downer. Either way I'd still recommend it if you're ok with the brunch prices!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Went there on a Friday night with my GF and it didn't disappoint. The waiter was awesome, the food was great, and the cocktails were really good. Definitely one of our favorite places on Newbury

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 31, 2017

an incredible meal with 8 people. EVERYONE loved their food. service great too. only bad thing was the music- it was so cringworthy!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Wood Oven, Hot Spot, Good Vegetarian Options, Healthy, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Pricey, but nice atmosphere. Service was good, breakfast menu could use a few more options.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 22, 2017

The restaurant was very pleasant. We were seated promptly. Our waitress was very nice and very efficient. We were a party of six and our drinks arrived shortly after we ordered them. They were interesting/tasty but several of us felt they were a bit light on the alcohol. Our dinners also arrived just on time -- not too early and not too late. Everyone seemed to enjoy their food except for one person who ordered a salad of some kind which seemed to be significantly "heavy" with beets. We were all surprised by that. It was definitely overkill - even to her. Apart from that and the drinks, it was a very nice experience, and I would certainly go there again.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene, Happy Hour, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Stopped by for a quick bite on a Saturday afternoon. The food is always delicious and service is quick and this visit was no different. This is my favorite casual restaurant in Boston.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 16, 2017

The atmosphere and food are definitely great here. They have a good variety of options that is not too expensive. Their drinks are amazing.

Tags: Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 8, 2017

My daughter and I had Brunch here on a Sunday, food was very good and our waitress was nice enough, not overly friendly though.

We sat a table near to front door and it was very cold, we dined with our jackets around us which was not the best way to enjoy our food.

We will go back again when it's warmer and hopefully enjoy our food outside and people watch.

Tags: Modern Decor, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Enjoyed the food here. I had the turkey burger with the Parmesan fries which were outstanding. I also had the calamari which was well just right. My fiance and I have been to numerous places where it wasn't fried right or seasoned but here it was great. It had the perfect crunch but wasn't hard or burnt. My fiance had the macaroni and cheese with shrimp and crab meat which was pretty good as well. The macaroni and cheese could easily be served between two people which supplements the cost of it. The staff was welcoming and even called me before my arrival since the weather was bad and wanted to know if I was still coming. When I'm back in Boston, I will definitely be eating here.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 30, 2016

A great place for lunch on Newbury Street. Bright, cheery, and delicious food.

Tags: Modern Decor, Healthy, Outstanding Value, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Don't give me the butt of the bread please

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 18, 2016

I chose this place to bring my teen granddaughter before seeing a performance at Berklee. I thought a cafeteria-themed restaurant that touts itself as "tray" chic would be novel and I was interested to see how they would pull this off, however, there was nothing cafeteria themed about this place. Just a regular-looking city dining experience. The food was good, the view of Newbury Street was beautiful, everything else was average and priced quite high.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 12, 2016

The Burger was AWESOME and their Greek Salad is really good too! This was my second time here and I would definitely prefer to sit upstairs. I'm not sure if they were having a problem with one of the bathrooms but their was this strange septic smell that was wafting on the first floor. . . .

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Sat outside which was pleasant. Lamb burger was fine, greens okay. Mexican salad was also fine. Overall expensive and food unremarkable.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 5, 2016

We had a reservation for Saturday brunch. We were seated right away although beside a large party on a long table. There was no other available seat in the restaurant and there was a small plant on the table separating us from the large party. This was not ideal, but was also not the end of the world. The waitress was quick to take our drink order tea and an Americano, no spoons, coffee was horrible, but still not having a bad experience. We ordered eggs that come with toast as well as an additional side pancake. Order comes, toast for one of use (we shared) and no pancake. Waited for both toast and pancake, they came after we were done with our eggs and shared toast. Overall food was good, not great. Service could be more attentive.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

vip
 (New England)·Dined on October 26, 2016

While my past outdoor dining experience here was fine, this indoor experience was poor. There were flies everywhere and a bad smell.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Ate there for weekend breakfast. 2 breakfasts were served perfect Served sausage to 2 people that was completely spoiled. Very apologetic. One member of our party's order came out 15 minutes after everyone else and the pancakes were ice cold. Staff was nice but the entire place seemed disorganized. Not awful but can't really recommend as there are too many other good places to eat on Newbury/Boylston streets and I think this one is hit or miss

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Great casual spot with a solid menu or brunch classics with a classy twist

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Poor service(not our server's fault...he was very nice but trying to wait on our table of 7 and be the bartender), food that was fine but not outstanding. Place was kind of worn...chairs ripping. Would not go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 16, 2016

So, our server was a lovely person BUT if I ask for a spoon for my 4 year old's ice cream, a 15 minute TAT on getting that spoon is crazy. We were a party of 5 and we had to prompt her at every turn to clear our table of empty plates, glasses. For what we paid for drinks and dinner the service should have been better. Also, with the low ceilings, turn your music down - I could barely hear the person next to me speak.

Tags: People Watching, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Amazing food, great waiter, overall awesome experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 15, 2016

The staff was unaccomodating of our preferences. They gave a vegetarian a serving of bacon, didn't know how to make an omelette, and we sat waiting for a waiter for most of the meal to ask for hot sauce.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

vip
 (New England)·Dined on October 14, 2016

My wine was bad. My glass and knife were dirty. Our server was serving inside. It wasn't as busy as outside yet we could never find him. The food was terrible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 12, 2016

Had a double birthday party there on a week night. The service, food and rinks were all stellar!

Tags: Comfort Food, Casual, Sunday Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 10, 2016

The food was great and the service was good but the ease for the guests can be improved. The pizza was not cut, the sandwich was messy and overfilled. This creates an overall uncomfortable experience for the customers while eating.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 9, 2016

The breakfast pizza has practically raw eggs on top covered by arugula and salty cheese. I asked to have the eggs cooked more and the pizza was brought back with a more solid egg and a blackened hard crust. Very unappealing.

The manager did try to replace my meal after defending the strange combination of uncooked egg (I have never had a breakfast pizza I didn't like) but by then everyone else was almost don't eating so I picked around and ate some of it and paid for the meal as they did not take it off the bill.

If I were to go back, I would ask for a full description of anything I ordered. My friend to my right ordered Huevos Rancheros and it smelled terrible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

vip
 (New England)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Although it was a busy Saturday night, the noise level was not bad. The service was fantastic, as was the food. This is easily one of the best restaurants to go out with friends in all of Boston!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 7, 2016

This place absolutely never disappoints - see you soon Cafeteria! :)

Tags: People Watching, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Great Beer, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Outstanding Value, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 1, 2016

We have been here for dinner and Sunday brunch and were always impressed by the food and service. Everything has always been fresh, local, and well prepared. For dinner we had the salmon with black lentils and asparagus and the whole wheat penne. The salmon was perfectly prepared and served with a large serving of black lentils on a delicious mushroom sauce. It was the highlight of the dish. And the asparagus was perfectly crisp tender. The penne pasta was also delicious. The Parmesan fries are excellent.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Healthy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on September 30, 2016

Waitress not very friendly, completely forgot our appetizer and bartenders weren't very friendly either

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 29, 2016

The first thing I noticed was the restaurant smelled like mold or water damage. It was dingy and not attractive. The word "Restroom" was scrawled on the wall with an arrow. It's pretty expensive for what you get.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 27, 2016

Love this place so much! The food is great and the atmosphere is great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 23, 2016

Great spot with indoor and outdoor seating, reasonably priced, and a diverse (and delicious) menu!

Tags: Business Meals, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Groups, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Quick Bite, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on September 20, 2016

Always like Cafeteria for lunch after a spa day with friends or casual get together. Only consistent problem (more chronic now than consistent) is their disgusting bathrooms. Not sure if it's from a lack of attention or some issue with the building's plumbing. But it causes me to rethink just how sanitary the restaurant is overall

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 18, 2016

Hello

Our evening started okay until was time to order , every entree we wanted to order was not available. The server was not aware about the meals available . We were celebrating a birthday, I called in advance to request a simple candle. The server brought us the check did not acknowledge the fact that I called and asked him directly to bring us a slice to cake with a candle . About 20 minutes later I found myself looking for the server to remind him again , he was not around , I reached out to his colleague and no luck . We were about to leave the restaurant and someone came with a slice of cake . So sorry to say that I'm disappointed about your service.

Thank you for the opportunity to express my feedback .

Tags: Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 21, 2016

We had a wonderful time at Cafeteria Boston! Our food was yummy and the fries are to die for! Our server was very friendly and the White Sangria was also delicious! Highly reccomend having a bite to eat here if you are in the Newbury Street area!

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 21, 2016

The food was good-not outstanding. Sat outside which was nice- just look out for birds in the trees-my food and my credit card got pooped on! Service was good. Nice to be able to make a reservation for brunch.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Liverpool)·Dined on August 18, 2016

Waitress was incredibly rude, not accommodating at all, food was ok.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 18, 2016

Excellent artichoke dip as an appetizer. Probably the best I've had

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on August 14, 2016

Restaurant was very hot and food was only mediocre.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 13, 2016

Great service and great food me and my friends had a really good time. Very glad we picked cafeteria

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 13, 2016

Went for brunch on a Saturday they gave us the option to sit outside which was great :) the food was amazing and the waitress gave us a great recommendation. Also loved the champagne drink options

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on August 13, 2016

Great meal

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on August 9, 2016

Horrible service. Beet salad bad. Fish tacos great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 8, 2016

Great wait staff and food came out fairly quickly. Asked for salad before entree and it came with entree.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.