About Cafeteria Boston

279a Newbury Street
Boston, MA 02115
View Larger Map

Cafeteria is a cool, casual, contemporary atmosphere where the comfort food of "yesterday" gets schooled by the flavors of "today" to create a dining experience that is "tray chic."

Our new cafeteria-themed menu is a modern interpretation of classic soul-satisfying American dishes prepared with organic grass-fed beef and lamb, free-range chicken, the freshest seafood and organic, local produce. These properly raised ingredients
behave perfectly with a new world of herbs, spices and culinary techniques to create deeply satisfying comfort food for the new millennium.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
FOOD: Monday - Friday 11:00am - 11:00pm
Saturday and Sunday 9:00am - 11:00pm

Bar open until 1:00am
Brunch served Saturday and Sunday 9:00am-2:00pm

Cross Street:
Gloucester St.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(617) 536-2233

Website:
http://www.cafeteriaboston.com/

Catering:
Catering is available. Please call 617.536.2233 for more information.

Parking Details:
Valet parking is available and recommended

Public Transit:
Hynes Convention Green Line; Copley Green line

Executive Chef:
Antonio Perez

Private Party Facilities:
Our private room on the second floor comfortably accommodates cocktail parties for 100 or a seated dinner for 50 people. The large windows on two sides of the room provide expansive views over Newbury Street and the perfect atmosphere for private lunches, brunch, dinner parties or cocktail receptions. Cafeteria is also available for buyouts as well as private and semi-private functions.
Clients can choose from a wide array of appetizers, entrees, desserts, beverages and wines, to create the right formula for their function. From passed hors d’oeuvres with drinks, to an intimate dinner party to a gala event, we can customize a menu that’s exactly right for your event.
We look forward to working with you and planning your upcoming event.

Private Party Contact:
Demetri Tsolakis : 6175362233x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Delivery, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We kept the straightforward, select what you like, style of a cafeteria, but, at this cafeteria the food comes to you with dining on three levels - outdoors, downstairs and upstairs for special events. Call 617.536.2233 or email info@cafeteriaboston.com

Restaurant Photos

Tacos - Cafeteria Boston, Boston, MA
Pastrami Sandwich - Cafeteria Boston, Boston, MA
Chicken BLT - Cafeteria Boston, Boston, MA
Turkey Burger - Cafeteria Boston, Boston, MA
P.E.I. Mussels - Cafeteria Boston, Boston, MA
Parmesan Fries - Cafeteria Boston, Boston, MA
Grilled Cheese Sandwich - Cafeteria Boston, Boston, MA
Meatloaf Sandwich - Cafeteria Boston, Boston, MA
Tomato Soup - Cafeteria Boston, Boston, MA
Fried Calamari - Cafeteria Boston, Boston, MA
Detention - Cafeteria Boston, Boston, MA
Hummus Sandwich - Cafeteria Boston, Boston, MA
Sparkling Sangria - Cafeteria Boston, Boston, MA
Eggs And Sausage - Cafeteria Boston, Boston, MA
Cubano Sandwich - Cafeteria Boston, Boston, MA
Beet Sal - Cafeteria Boston, Boston, MA
Greek Salad Sandwich - Cafeteria Boston, Boston, MA
Chef Salad - Cafeteria Boston, Boston, MA
BLT - Cafeteria Boston, Boston, MA
Red Sangria - Cafeteria Boston, Boston, MA
Wachusett Blueberry - Cafeteria Boston, Boston, MA
Huevos rancheros - Cafeteria Boston, Boston, MA
bruschetta with scrambled egg, arugula and truffle oil - Cafeteria Boston, Boston, MA
Lobster Ravioli - Cafeteria Boston, Boston, MA
Beet and Goat Cheese Salad - Cafeteria Boston, Boston, MA
Scallops - Cafeteria Boston, Boston, MA
Calimari - Cafeteria Boston, Boston, MA
Carrot Cake - Cafeteria Boston, Boston, MA
Margarhita Pizza - Cafeteria Boston, Boston, MA
fish tacos - Cafeteria Boston, Boston, MA
Pastrami - Cafeteria Boston, Boston, MA
Spinach And Artichoke Dip - Cafeteria Boston, Boston, MA
Mussels - Cafeteria Boston, Boston, MA
Ultimate Sundae - Cafeteria Boston, Boston, MA
Macaroni - Cafeteria Boston, Boston, MA
Grilled Hanger Steak - Cafeteria Boston, Boston, MA
BBQ Bacon Burger - Cafeteria Boston, Boston, MA
house-made meatballs - Cafeteria Boston, Boston, MA
Breakfast Sandwich - Cafeteria Boston, Boston, MA
Veggie Burger - Cafeteria Boston, Boston, MA
shrimp salad - Cafeteria Boston, Boston, MA

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Mon - Wed 5:00PM - 5:00PM

Cafeteria Boston Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

3.9

ambience

4.0

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

80% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Outdoor Dining (17)
Casual (16)
Great for Lunch (12)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (11)
Sunday Lunch (11)
Great for Brunch (11)
Fun (10)
People Watching (10)
Good for Groups (9)
Special Occasion (7)
Hot Spot (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Romantic (5)
Scenic View (5)
Healthy (5)
Happy Hour (4)
Fit for Foodies (4)
Good for a Date (4)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Cozy (3)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Modern Decor (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Tapas (1)
Live Sports (1)
Seasonal (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Business Meals (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Great Beer (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Sort By:
S
837 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Don't give me the butt of the bread plea ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Don't give me the butt of the bread please

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

I chose this place to bring my teen gran ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 18, 2016

I chose this place to bring my teen granddaughter before seeing a performance at Berklee. I thought a cafeteria-themed restaurant that touts itself as "tray" chic would be novel and I was interested to see how they would pull this off, however, there was nothing cafeteria themed about this place. Just a regular-looking city dining experience. The food was good, the view of Newbury Street was beautiful, everything else was average and priced quite high.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

The Burger was AWESOME and their Greek S ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 12, 2016

The Burger was AWESOME and their Greek Salad is really good too! This was my second time here and I would definitely prefer to sit upstairs. I'm not sure if they were having a problem with one of the bathrooms but their was this strange septic smell that was wafting on the first floor. . . .

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Sat outside which was pleasant. Lamb bur ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Sat outside which was pleasant. Lamb burger was fine, greens okay. Mexican salad was also fine. Overall expensive and food unremarkable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

We had a reservation for Saturday brunch ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 5, 2016

We had a reservation for Saturday brunch. We were seated right away although beside a large party on a long table. There was no other available seat in the restaurant and there was a small plant on the table separating us from the large party. This was not ideal, but was also not the end of the world. The waitress was quick to take our drink order tea and an Americano, no spoons, coffee was horrible, but still not having a bad experience. We ordered eggs that come with toast as well as an additional side pancake. Order comes, toast for one of use (we shared) and no pancake. Waited for both toast and pancake, they came after we were done with our eggs and shared toast. Overall food was good, not great. Service could be more attentive.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

While my past outdoor dining experience ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on October 26, 2016

While my past outdoor dining experience here was fine, this indoor experience was poor. There were flies everywhere and a bad smell.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3

Great casual spot with a solid menu or b ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Great casual spot with a solid menu or brunch classics with a classy twist

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Ate there for weekend breakfast. 2 break ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Ate there for weekend breakfast. 2 breakfasts were served perfect Served sausage to 2 people that was completely spoiled. Very apologetic. One member of our party's order came out 15 minutes after everyone else and the pancakes were ice cold. Staff was nice but the entire place seemed disorganized. Not awful but can't really recommend as there are too many other good places to eat on Newbury/Boylston streets and I think this one is hit or miss

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Poor service(not our server's fault...he ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Poor service(not our server's fault...he was very nice but trying to wait on our table of 7 and be the bartender), food that was fine but not outstanding. Place was kind of worn...chairs ripping. Would not go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value3

So, our server was a lovely person BUT i ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 16, 2016

So, our server was a lovely person BUT if I ask for a spoon for my 4 year old's ice cream, a 15 minute TAT on getting that spoon is crazy. We were a party of 5 and we had to prompt her at every turn to clear our table of empty plates, glasses. For what we paid for drinks and dinner the service should have been better. Also, with the low ceilings, turn your music down - I could barely hear the person next to me speak.

Tags: People Watching, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Amazing food, great waiter, overall awes ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Amazing food, great waiter, overall awesome experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The staff was unaccomodating of our pref ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 15, 2016

The staff was unaccomodating of our preferences. They gave a vegetarian a serving of bacon, didn't know how to make an omelette, and we sat waiting for a waiter for most of the meal to ask for hot sauce.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

My wine was bad. My glass and knife were ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on October 14, 2016

My wine was bad. My glass and knife were dirty. Our server was serving inside. It wasn't as busy as outside yet we could never find him. The food was terrible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1

Had a double birthday party there on a w ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 12, 2016

Had a double birthday party there on a week night. The service, food and rinks were all stellar!

Tags: Comfort Food, Casual, Sunday Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was great and the service was g ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 10, 2016

The food was great and the service was good but the ease for the guests can be improved. The pizza was not cut, the sandwich was messy and overfilled. This creates an overall uncomfortable experience for the customers while eating.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The breakfast pizza has practically raw ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 9, 2016

The breakfast pizza has practically raw eggs on top covered by arugula and salty cheese. I asked to have the eggs cooked more and the pizza was brought back with a more solid egg and a blackened hard crust. Very unappealing.

The manager did try to replace my meal after defending the strange combination of uncooked egg (I have never had a breakfast pizza I didn't like) but by then everyone else was almost don't eating so I picked around and ate some of it and paid for the meal as they did not take it off the bill.

If I were to go back, I would ask for a full description of anything I ordered. My friend to my right ordered Huevos Rancheros and it smelled terrible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Although it was a busy Saturday night, t ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Although it was a busy Saturday night, the noise level was not bad. The service was fantastic, as was the food. This is easily one of the best restaurants to go out with friends in all of Boston!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This place absolutely never disappoints ...

 
 (London)·Dined on October 7, 2016

This place absolutely never disappoints - see you soon Cafeteria! :)

Tags: People Watching, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Great Beer, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Outstanding Value, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been here for dinner and Sunday ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 1, 2016

We have been here for dinner and Sunday brunch and were always impressed by the food and service. Everything has always been fresh, local, and well prepared. For dinner we had the salmon with black lentils and asparagus and the whole wheat penne. The salmon was perfectly prepared and served with a large serving of black lentils on a delicious mushroom sauce. It was the highlight of the dish. And the asparagus was perfectly crisp tender. The penne pasta was also delicious. The Parmesan fries are excellent.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Healthy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Waitress not very friendly, completely f ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on September 30, 2016

Waitress not very friendly, completely forgot our appetizer and bartenders weren't very friendly either

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

The first thing I noticed was the restau ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 29, 2016

The first thing I noticed was the restaurant smelled like mold or water damage. It was dingy and not attractive. The word "Restroom" was scrawled on the wall with an arrow. It's pretty expensive for what you get.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value1

Love this place so much! The food is gre ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 27, 2016

Love this place so much! The food is great and the atmosphere is great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great spot with indoor and outdoor seati ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 23, 2016

Great spot with indoor and outdoor seating, reasonably priced, and a diverse (and delicious) menu!

Tags: Business Meals, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Groups, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Quick Bite, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Always like Cafeteria for lunch after a ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on September 20, 2016

Always like Cafeteria for lunch after a spa day with friends or casual get together. Only consistent problem (more chronic now than consistent) is their disgusting bathrooms. Not sure if it's from a lack of attention or some issue with the building's plumbing. But it causes me to rethink just how sanitary the restaurant is overall

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Hello Our evening started okay until wa ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 18, 2016

Hello

Our evening started okay until was time to order , every entree we wanted to order was not available. The server was not aware about the meals available . We were celebrating a birthday, I called in advance to request a simple candle. The server brought us the check did not acknowledge the fact that I called and asked him directly to bring us a slice to cake with a candle . About 20 minutes later I found myself looking for the server to remind him again , he was not around , I reached out to his colleague and no luck . We were about to leave the restaurant and someone came with a slice of cake . So sorry to say that I'm disappointed about your service.

Thank you for the opportunity to express my feedback .

Tags: Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

We had a wonderful time at Cafeteria Bos ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 21, 2016

We had a wonderful time at Cafeteria Boston! Our food was yummy and the fries are to die for! Our server was very friendly and the White Sangria was also delicious! Highly reccomend having a bite to eat here if you are in the Newbury Street area!

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was good-not outstanding. Sat ...

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 21, 2016

The food was good-not outstanding. Sat outside which was nice- just look out for birds in the trees-my food and my credit card got pooped on! Service was good. Nice to be able to make a reservation for brunch.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Waitress was incredibly rude, not accomm ...

 
 (Liverpool)·Dined on August 18, 2016

Waitress was incredibly rude, not accommodating at all, food was ok.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value2

Excellent artichoke dip as an appetizer. ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 18, 2016

Excellent artichoke dip as an appetizer. Probably the best I've had

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Restaurant was very hot and food was onl ...

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on August 14, 2016

Restaurant was very hot and food was only mediocre.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Great service and great food me and my f ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 13, 2016

Great service and great food me and my friends had a really good time. Very glad we picked cafeteria

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went for brunch on a Saturday they gave ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 13, 2016

Went for brunch on a Saturday they gave us the option to sit outside which was great :) the food was amazing and the waitress gave us a great recommendation. Also loved the champagne drink options

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Great meal

vip
 (New England)·Dined on August 13, 2016

Great meal

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Horrible service. Beet salad bad. Fish ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on August 9, 2016

Horrible service. Beet salad bad. Fish tacos great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1

Great wait staff and food came out fairl ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 8, 2016

Great wait staff and food came out fairly quickly. Asked for salad before entree and it came with entree.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It wasn't my first time here, but it was ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 6, 2016

It wasn't my first time here, but it was great like usual. I will keep going back!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was very good. Wait staff was lost ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 5, 2016

Food was very good. Wait staff was lost most of the time--hard to fine. Took our drinks when they were 3/4 empty. Hostess were rude....they alone about made us leave tonight.

Obviously the kitchen carries this place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Our family met at Cafeteria for an early ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 3, 2016

Our family met at Cafeteria for an early dinner before a concert at Fenway. We sat outside and thoroughly enjoyed the food, the service, the weather and the vibrant atmosphere. We look forward to a return.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lovely location on Newburyport St. Nice ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on August 3, 2016

Lovely location on Newburyport St. Nice trees for shade. Server Nick was knowledgeable and friendly. But tables for two are too small to reasonably hold drinks and dinner for two. All food - shared appetizer, salad, and pizza - were delivered at once. One of us had to use the pizza tray for a plate. Pizza was cool by the time we got around to eating it. Will go back - food was very good; service was excellent - but will order one course at a time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Food here was pretty good and service wa ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 30, 2016

Food here was pretty good and service was pretty good as well. Nothing amazing but still very good and would recommend to others

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.