Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.08mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.08mi

About Cafeteria Boston

Cafeteria is a cool, casual, contemporary atmosphere where the comfort food of "yesterday" gets schooled by the flavors of "today" to create a dining experience that is "tray chic."

Our new cafeteria-themed menu is a modern interpretation of classic soul-satisfying American dishes prepared with organic grass-fed beef and lamb, free-range chicken, the freshest seafood and organic, local produce. These properly raised ingredients
behave perfectly with a new world of herbs, spices and culinary techniques to create deeply satisfying comfort food for the new millennium.

279a Newbury Street
Boston, MA 02115
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
FOOD: Monday - Friday 11:00am - 11:00pm
Saturday and Sunday 9:00am - 11:00pm

Bar open until 1:00am
Brunch served Saturday and Sunday 9:00am-2:00pm

Cross Street:
Gloucester St.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(617) 536-2233

Website:
http://www.cafeteriaboston.com/

Catering:
Catering is available. Please call 617.536.2233 for more information.

Parking Details:
Valet parking is available and recommended

Public Transit:
Hynes Convention Green Line; Copley Green line

Executive Chef:
Antonio Perez

Private Party Facilities:
Our private room on the second floor comfortably accommodates cocktail parties for 100 or a seated dinner for 50 people. The large windows on two sides of the room provide expansive views over Newbury Street and the perfect atmosphere for private lunches, brunch, dinner parties or cocktail receptions. Cafeteria is also available for buyouts as well as private and semi-private functions.
Clients can choose from a wide array of appetizers, entrees, desserts, beverages and wines, to create the right formula for their function. From passed hors d’oeuvres with drinks, to an intimate dinner party to a gala event, we can customize a menu that’s exactly right for your event.
We look forward to working with you and planning your upcoming event.

Private Party Contact:
Demetri Tsolakis : (617) 536-2233

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Delivery, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We kept the straightforward, select what you like, style of a cafeteria, but, at this cafeteria the food comes to you with dining on three levels - outdoors, downstairs and upstairs for special events. Call 617.536.2233 or email info@cafeteriaboston.com

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Mon - Wed 5:00PM - 5:00PM

Cafeteria Boston Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.0

ambience

4.1

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

83% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (19)
Great for Brunch (17)
Great for Lunch (16)
See All
Good for Groups (15)
Comfort Food (14)
Fun (12)
Good for a Date (12)
Sunday Lunch (11)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Great for Outdoor Dining (9)
Cozy (9)
People Watching (9)
Modern Decor (8)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Bar Seating (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Hot Spot (6)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Healthy (6)
Happy Hour (6)
Special Occasion (5)
Scenic View (5)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Kid-friendly (4)
Romantic (4)
Authentic (4)
Outstanding Value (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Seasonal (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Tasting Menu (2)
Great Beer (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Organic (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Family Style (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Live Sports (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Tapas (1)
Fireplace (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Sort By:
S
923 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Love Cafeteria - but they just shortened their menu a ton and got rid of some of their best items! Their new menu is a single small page, with half as many sandwiches including my favorite the curried chicken salad. Used to love coming into the city to come here, looks like we will be trying new options this summer. Very disappointing.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Have gone here many times and enjoyed our visit again. The only notes I have was that it was pretty loud and the chef wouldn't make any changes to the meal we wanted to order and the waitress provided no real suggestions other than changing what we ordered. I would add a note to the menu (which I didn't re-check) if this is the case. We just wanted to switch out the sides. Overall, we had a nice time.

Tags: Organic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Happy Hour, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Food was good. Service was very good. Air conditioning was not working which made the evening very tough since it was 94 degrees in Boston that night. Chairs uncomfortable too.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Smelled like a bathroom, waiter was rude, couldn't provide a gluten free menu because another table had it, food was average and not worth the price

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 8, 2017

Nice economical place to meet friends for dinner and drinks. The menu was focused with enough variety for everyone. Too chilly for outside when we were there but the outside looked appealing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 7, 2017

I've been to cafeteria many times before and the food is always fantastic. The service was extremely slow this time, as it took about 20 minutes to get drinks after ordering them and then took a long time to put food orders in. The table was ready when we got there which was nice and the drinks and food were delicious. Patio seating is perfect for when it's nice outside and great for people watching!

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Our waitress was awesome!! She was no nice and hard-working. The food was also amazing! I loved the breakfast pizza. My sister got the pancakes and bacon and loved that too! Overall, I would 100% go back and loved the experience. Also side note-- the music was great and we were jamming the whole time.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Casual, Worth the Drive, Afternoon Coffee, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Loved the outdoor seating area along iconic Newbury street in Boston. My friend and I went here for brunch and made a reservation prior to going. The service was average, there were some waiters in training so a few minor mess ups with knowing the menu but nothing that would deter me from recommending the place. I got the French toast which was good but could have been cooked a little longer to make it more crisp, as the middle part was a tab softer than I'd prefer. Overall enjoyed the meal and mimosa. Prices are a tad more than I'd like to pay for breakfast/brunch but the location is what you're paying for!

Tags: Casual, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Service and ambiance of the restaurant is very nice. I recommend sitting on the second floor for wonderful lighting of the place! The food was mediocre, and it did have a variety of different food.

Tags: Cozy, Modern Decor, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Having an OpenTable reservation didn't matter as I waited with others crammed around the entry. Two hostesses were clueless about seating us efficiently as they helped people with non-seating concerns even though several people left but we all still had no seating. The only benefit from all this confusion was seeing passing trays of food that convinced me the food choices were mediocre after all, so my steamy exit was a no-brainer. I ended up at nearby Bar Boulud (French fare) where I was treated to a serene, first-class brunch and, most importantly, attention. You get what you pay for ($10-11 more but worth it). Cafeteria Boston thinks a Newbury St address will get them customers regardless. Not this customer, ever.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (New England)·Dined on April 29, 2017

The chicken milanes was terrible, it was undercooked and flavorless. The calamari was also flavorless...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 23, 2017

I recently went here to celebrate my engagement with my parents and fiance's parents. It was the first time our parents were meeting as well. My only two "complaints" is that we were sat at a high top, which was a little less than ideal for older people, and that the music was very loud which made conversation kind of tough. Other than that, the experience was great. The menu is vast and fit all needs. Our server Clint was friendly and helpful. He/the restaurant even treated us to a round of champagne and a dessert for our celebration, which was obviously above & beyond and well appreciated. Definitely would recommend!

Tags: Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Food wasn't great. My tuna burger was dry and I ordered side salad but got fries instead. We ordered red sangria and is was very sweet - I'm guessing too much peach. Only reason to rate it higher was that we were able to sit outside.

Tags: Seasonal, Quick Bite, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 1, 2017

We had a large party(11) for brunch. Our waiter was awesome. He was friendly and attentive. The staff at the restaurant was able to modify our initial party of 10 to 11 without issue. The food was outstanding. I would recommend this place.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Great food and super service especially for a Friday night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 27, 2017

Very much enjoyed our meal at Cafeteria . Casual dinning right on Newburry st. We had a tasty mushroom pizza and a very creative Greek salad on a sandwich which arrived with Parmesan fries . If you looking for a casual meal in a comfortable setting stop in .

Tags: Casual, Late-night Find, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Love the drinks the food everyone is welcoming great spot to grab lunch and awesome for brunch.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Cozy, People Watching, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 19, 2017

It was for my friends birthday and she loved it so much. I had the pizza and it was amazing and a great price for the quality!

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 18, 2017

The cafeteria was excellent. I read the previous reviews and booked my table. The food was excellent and great service and very reasonable for the outstanding food.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 18, 2017

We went there for breakfast, very nice food and drinks, if you like burgers for brunch this is the place

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 12, 2017

The food is delicious and the atmosphere is great. Our waiter was very nice however not very attentive. A different person brought our food. He's was great as one on the girl spilled coffee on her sweater and he brought her some soda water. He also showed her the proper way to remove the stain. The waiter did not come check on us after our food was delivered. We needed a refill in our coffee and salt. We did ask for someone to send him over.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Modern Decor, Great for Brunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Great food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 3, 2017

I'm not that old, but I felt way too old for that scene. If you are 18-22 maybe this is the place for you, if you are a crazy hipster also might be the place for you. If you are a typical late 20's early 30's person probably a bit too much of a scene. The food was good, a bit overpriced for such simple fare but I can look past that. I cannot look past the level of work all the servers and patrons seem to put into everything they do. I was exhausted just looking at them all.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service2
value2

vip
 (New England)·Dined on February 26, 2017

We popped into Cafeteria for lunch and it was good but not great. Our waitress was really nice and the service was good but our bill was $65 ($78 with tip) for two sandwiches, two apps and one beer, which I thought was a little expensive. Maybe I'm just cheap but I thought it was too much to pay for lunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 26, 2017

My first time here was great!! The brunch menu was a perfect length; not too few options but not so many that you would get overwhelmed. The food was very good, maybe a little pricey for breakfast food but nothing I wouldn't pay for again! The decor is very comfortable but classy and staff was very friendly. Overall, would definitely recommend.

Tags: Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Cozy, Great for Lunch, Casual, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Cafeteria was so nice! the service was great, although the server did mistakenly describe the spaghetti bolognese dish. The server should've also explained that the shrimp sandwich was spicy, because my friend was unable to finish it due to the spiciness. The ambience was great, it was loud, but not so loud that I was unable to carry a conversation. The food was delicious and the portion sizes were hefty, so say the least (the lamb burger, could've used more flavor, though). The fries were a 10/10, absolutely delicious! They do offer salads, although with all the other options on the menu, hardly anyone would order a salad. Overall, the experience was great, and I would definitely return!

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Fun, Casual, People Watching, Family Style, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Authentic, Great for Brunch, Great Beer, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Overall a good experience but it was very busy and service was very slow.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Really awesome! The service was amazing and very friendly.

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Handcrafted Cocktails, Sunday Lunch, Healthy, Fun, Kid-friendly, Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Afternoon Tea, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Service was poor. Ordered a drink which had to be sent back because it tasted like saltwater. Not as good as it used to be.

Tags: Healthy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 18, 2017

This was great for a 19th birthday celebration with college friends.. lots of fun food ! The girls loved it!

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Kid-friendly, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Cafeteria used to be one of our favorite neighborhood grab dinner and relax places but this week after years of dining, they lost us

From the moment we sat down our waiter couldn't wait to get rid of us- and we're nice and tip well. Our food came out quickly but my Tuna burger was overdone. Before I finished the waiter had grabbed my plate. When we asked for coffee - 1 regular and 1 decaf, he said " we dont have decaf". Seriously ? But he did have our check handy. From entering to exiting we spent 35 minutes in the place.

I felt like I'd had fast food from the quality to the service. So disappointed

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Good food but too loud to have an easy conversation for a group of ten during dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Positives : Food, Service, Drinks - a decent brunch spot by Boston standards.

Negatives: We were seated in the lower level, and there was a odd smell permeating the entire room, smelled moldy in nature, and it was pretty clear the management knew about it, as they had room fresheners and candles burning. One member of my party used the rest rooms and said the smell was even worse in there. It took away from the experience, and I would be reluctant to eat there again unless I could be seated on the main floor (upstairs).

Tags: Great for Brunch, Bar Seating, Sunday Lunch, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service5
value3

vip
 (New England)·Dined on February 11, 2017

I went for brunch on a Saturday with my girlfriend. It was a good meal amd a great experience. She ended up getting the breakfast sandwich and I got the 3 eggs with sausage. It was really good just that for the price point it was a bit of a downer. Either way I'd still recommend it if you're ok with the brunch prices!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Went there on a Friday night with my GF and it didn't disappoint. The waiter was awesome, the food was great, and the cocktails were really good. Definitely one of our favorite places on Newbury

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 31, 2017

an incredible meal with 8 people. EVERYONE loved their food. service great too. only bad thing was the music- it was so cringworthy!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Wood Oven, Hot Spot, Good Vegetarian Options, Healthy, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Pricey, but nice atmosphere. Service was good, breakfast menu could use a few more options.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 22, 2017

The restaurant was very pleasant. We were seated promptly. Our waitress was very nice and very efficient. We were a party of six and our drinks arrived shortly after we ordered them. They were interesting/tasty but several of us felt they were a bit light on the alcohol. Our dinners also arrived just on time -- not too early and not too late. Everyone seemed to enjoy their food except for one person who ordered a salad of some kind which seemed to be significantly "heavy" with beets. We were all surprised by that. It was definitely overkill - even to her. Apart from that and the drinks, it was a very nice experience, and I would certainly go there again.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene, Happy Hour, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Stopped by for a quick bite on a Saturday afternoon. The food is always delicious and service is quick and this visit was no different. This is my favorite casual restaurant in Boston.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 16, 2017

The atmosphere and food are definitely great here. They have a good variety of options that is not too expensive. Their drinks are amazing.

Tags: Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.