Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.08mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.08mi

About Cafeteria Boston

Cafeteria is a cool, casual, contemporary atmosphere where the comfort food of "yesterday" gets schooled by the flavors of "today" to create a dining experience that is "tray chic."

Our new cafeteria-themed menu is a modern interpretation of classic soul-satisfying American dishes prepared with organic grass-fed beef and lamb, free-range chicken, the freshest seafood and organic, local produce. These properly raised ingredients
behave perfectly with a new world of herbs, spices and culinary techniques to create deeply satisfying comfort food for the new millennium.

279a Newbury Street
Boston, MA 02115
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
FOOD: Monday - Friday 11:00am - 11:00pm
Saturday and Sunday 9:00am - 11:00pm

Bar open until 1:00am
Brunch served Saturday and Sunday 9:00am-2:00pm

Cross Street:
Gloucester St.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(617) 536-2233

Website:
http://www.cafeteriaboston.com/

Catering:
Catering is available. Please call 617.536.2233 for more information.

Parking Details:
Valet parking is available and recommended

Public Transit:
Hynes Convention Green Line; Copley Green line

Executive Chef:
Antonio Perez

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Delivery, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We kept the straightforward, select what you like, style of a cafeteria, but, at this cafeteria the food comes to you with dining on three levels - outdoors, downstairs and upstairs for special events. Call 617.536.2233 or email info@cafeteriaboston.com

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Mon - Wed 5:00PM - 5:00PM

Cafeteria Boston Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

3.9

ambience

4.1

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

85% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (24)
Great for Outdoor Dining (22)
People Watching (18)
See All
Great for Lunch (18)
Great for Brunch (17)
Good for a Date (15)
Good for Groups (13)
Neighborhood Gem (12)
Sunday Lunch (8)
Fun (8)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Happy Hour (6)
Hot Spot (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Comfort Food (6)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Special Occasion (5)
Afternoon Coffee (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Cozy (4)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Quick Bite (4)
Scenic View (4)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Seasonal (3)
Authentic (2)
Business Meals (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Great Beer (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Organic (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Sort By:
S
960 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Outstanding food but service was just so-so. Our coffee took far too long to show up (our waiter pulled a disappearing act later handwaved by a manager as "he's at the brew station"). The kids ordered the pancakes (1 order was enough for them to split), but even though we had two orders of pancakes at the table we had to ask repeatedly for syrup, as none came with the food. On the other hand, the pancakes, the huevos rancheros, and the French toast were all excellent (the coffee wasn't worth the wait). Go for the food for sure, but don't be surprised if the wait staff needs a bit of prodding.

Tags: Casual, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
·Dined on September 2, 2017

We had so much fun. We were tired from moving into college apartment, and this was a perfect fix. Josh is so charming and fun and knowledgeable. The food was really good, and it hit every mark for a nice family evening out.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on August 25, 2017

spent a few days in boston for my son's graduation and found this gem - great patio, delicious food - NOT your grandmother's cafeteria!

Tags: People Watching, Neighborhood Gem, Gluten Free Options, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 18, 2017

Lobster rolls were very tasty; perfect amount of dressing just to hold the lobster together.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 13, 2017

I had a good experience, the food was very good, and the drinks where great. The chairs are very old and unstable. Overall a good experience

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Bar Seating, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Great date spot. The food was awesome. Loved the drinks

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 11, 2017

We had a reservation for inside, but there was a table on the patio so we ended up eating there, which was fantastic! Only one beer on draft. We got the spinach artichoke dip to start, which was more pureed than we expected but very tasty. My group got the fish and chips (well cooked, but needed a little salt, which wasn't on the table), the gazpacho (delicious), burger (slightly overcooked - med well instead of medium - but tasty), and taco salad (a little lacking on dressing, but otherwise good). Service was impeccable, waters were filled regularly, and our food was delivered in a timely manner. Great experience, and a perfect dinner before heading to Fenway!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 11, 2017

I've been to Cafeteria on numerous occasions and I always love my visit! The food is always fantastic & their red sangria is my go-to beverage. Fun & consistent, Cafeteria has a solid choice for dining.

Tags: Healthy, Gluten Free Options, Fun, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 8, 2017

The service was awful, customers who came after us were served before us. We waited almost 45 min for salad, grilled cheese, and a fish entree. The server seemed as if he didn't care we waited so long even after we complained. The food was mediocre, they forgot my chicken on my salad and the chicken came out asap after I complained, which makes me question the quality and freshness of it. Even the spinach artichoke appetizer took 20 min to come out. The restaurant wasn't even that full, which means there's no reason why it should have took so long. The only thing that i appreciated was when the server took my card after my friends fought me over the bill lmao. The service has gone so downhill, and I will not be returning after being a loyal customer.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

 
·Dined on August 6, 2017

The truffle fries were absolutely amazing and the specialty margarita was very strong and tasty

Tags: Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

Nice place without being pretentious. Consistently good food. Generous portions. Overall great experience.

Tags: Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 4, 2017

Our waiter kept disappearing for an eternity, and several times we needed to ask the hostess or another server to track him down. The noise was out of control (not helped by a screaming baby, but even besides that conversation echoed off the basement walls and concrete floor). The food was OK and reasonably priced, but uninspired. I was told the dish I really wanted, the chicken, would have a wait time 25 minutes longer than the other meals (why?!) so I substituted with the cod--which was paired with ice-cold asparagus, which seemed to be intentional but was unappetizing. On top of that, the booth was apparently made for very twiggy people - my average-sized dinner companions were not at all comfortable. Overall, not a pleasant experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value3

vip
 (New England)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Great outdoor dining spot!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on July 29, 2017

Bathrooms were disgusting
Everything was Dirty
Bathrooms were Un attended the entire hours I was dining there. Made me feel sick.

Tags: Casual, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 27, 2017

Great Thursday night dinner. Delicious burgers, salads and sangria. We sat in the basement bar area and it was a bit loud. Fast and friendly service.

Tags: Hot Spot, People Watching, Great Beer, Good for a Date, Quick Bite, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Fun, Casual, Great for Lunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on July 26, 2017

The food and service was very good and attentive. The noise level started out comfortable and easy to have a conversation but later the noise became uncomfortably loud. Difficult to have a conversation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Great food and nice service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 19, 2017

Good place for a burger and very casual eating - very loud - red wine was "hot"

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 16, 2017

I've been to Cafeteria a few times and each time it's pretty tasty. I'd say the brunch is above average for Newbury and well priced. The portions are also very large, so you could share dishes as well.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 11, 2017

Truffle fries were unbelievable. Great service and the outdoor seating makes for great people watching.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Very impressed. Really enjoyed the place, atmosphere, music, food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 8, 2017

I've been to Cafeteria many times now and the food never ceases to be great! They always have fresh fruit and brunch on the weekend is an absolute must to do! Their lunch options are also very great! Although the vegetarian options are few, they're so tasty that I keep revisiting. The Spinach dip is a must-have!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Authentic, Afternoon Coffee, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 6, 2017

Great prickly pear margaritas!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (London)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Great meal and great location with fab outdoor seating.

Tags: Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 28, 2017

very unimpressive food. We had appetizers and entrees and none of them were something I'd order again. It's a nice location, but the food is really not worth the $$

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 27, 2017

Less than attentive service staff. Food was fine, not stellar.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Food was good but the place was too hot

Tags: Organic, Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Dinner was ok. Waiter charged us $1.50 for a small amount of cocktail sauce for our fish and chips. I can't believe this. Never have I ever been charged for cocktail sauce. What's next ketchup? So disappointed I probably will not return. :(

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 19, 2017

After a below average food and service, the waiter went to our table asking for more tip.
Disgusting!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

vip
 (New England)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Loved sitting outside and watching the people walk by. Food was good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 7, 2017

Outside is nice in good weather but the inside is not great, food was mediocre, and we were seated next to a giant indoor air conditioner that made a lot of noise. Not impressed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on June 5, 2017

Great food, accomodating waitstaff- will come again for sure !

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (New England)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Servers only stood on one side of the table so I had to repeatedly YELL over all the noise just so they could hear the order, rather than just coming to the other side of the table to take my order. The server that was training literally flung food and crumbs all over myself & my belongings while trying to remove our plates- again reaching across the table rather than just coming to the other side. Ridiculous. Won't return

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 3, 2017

The service was really bad, had to call the waiter again and again and still wouldn't listen. Didn't even fill up my water again. If you want to pay for nothing go

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 31, 2017

I had the club sandwich and that chipotle mayo was everything! The fries were really good too!

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 29, 2017

while it still def caters to a grad student/1st year associate crowd, Cafeteria's service has improved and their menu has gotten a bit less college.
kudos to you guys for getting past the "only go there for brunch" mindset that I used to have.
keep it up!

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Love Cafeteria - but they just shortened their menu a ton and got rid of some of their best items! Their new menu is a single small page, with half as many sandwiches including my favorite the curried chicken salad. Used to love coming into the city to come here, looks like we will be trying new options this summer. Very disappointing.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Have gone here many times and enjoyed our visit again. The only notes I have was that it was pretty loud and the chef wouldn't make any changes to the meal we wanted to order and the waitress provided no real suggestions other than changing what we ordered. I would add a note to the menu (which I didn't re-check) if this is the case. We just wanted to switch out the sides. Overall, we had a nice time.

Tags: Organic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Happy Hour, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Food was good. Service was very good. Air conditioning was not working which made the evening very tough since it was 94 degrees in Boston that night. Chairs uncomfortable too.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Smelled like a bathroom, waiter was rude, couldn't provide a gluten free menu because another table had it, food was average and not worth the price

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.