About Cafeteria Boston

279a Newbury Street
Boston, MA 02115
View Larger Map

Cafeteria is a cool, casual, contemporary atmosphere where the comfort food of "yesterday" gets schooled by the flavors of "today" to create a dining experience that is "tray chic."

Our new cafeteria-themed menu is a modern interpretation of classic soul-satisfying American dishes prepared with organic grass-fed beef and lamb, free-range chicken, the freshest seafood and organic, local produce. These properly raised ingredients
behave perfectly with a new world of herbs, spices and culinary techniques to create deeply satisfying comfort food for the new millennium.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
FOOD: Monday - Friday 11:00am - 11:00pm
Saturday and Sunday 9:00am - 11:00pm

Bar open until 1:00am
Brunch served Saturday and Sunday 9:00am-2:00pm

Cross Street:
Gloucester St.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(617) 536-2233

Website:
http://www.cafeteriaboston.com/

Catering:
Catering is available. Please call 617.536.2233 for more information.

Parking Details:
Valet parking is available and recommended

Public Transit:
Hynes Convention Green Line; Copley Green line

Executive Chef:
Antonio Perez

Private Party Facilities:
Our private room on the second floor comfortably accommodates cocktail parties for 100 or a seated dinner for 50 people. The large windows on two sides of the room provide expansive views over Newbury Street and the perfect atmosphere for private lunches, brunch, dinner parties or cocktail receptions. Cafeteria is also available for buyouts as well as private and semi-private functions.
Clients can choose from a wide array of appetizers, entrees, desserts, beverages and wines, to create the right formula for their function. From passed hors d’oeuvres with drinks, to an intimate dinner party to a gala event, we can customize a menu that’s exactly right for your event.
We look forward to working with you and planning your upcoming event.

Private Party Contact:
Demetri Tsolakis : 6175362233x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Delivery, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We kept the straightforward, select what you like, style of a cafeteria, but, at this cafeteria the food comes to you with dining on three levels - outdoors, downstairs and upstairs for special events. Call 617.536.2233 or email info@cafeteriaboston.com

Restaurant Photos

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Mon - Wed 5:00PM - 5:00PM

Cafeteria Boston Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.2

ambience

4

noise

Moderate

99% would recommend it to a friend

great for brunch (36)
neighborhood gem (31)
great for lunch (30)
See All
good for groups (28)
great for outdoor dining (26)
fit for foodies (21)
hot spot (20)
scenic view (12)
vibrant bar scene (10)
special occasion (10)
late-night find (7)
romantic (7)
kid-friendly (5)
notable wine list (3)
Sort By:
Newest
776 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Not very accomodating

Dined on May 15, 2016

We went to Cafeteria for brunch before my daughter's graduation. It was very nice and as usual the food was good. But we made a few simple requests that they didn't have - English breakfast tea and sugar free syrup. My sister requested her eggs on top of her breakfast potatoes and we were told they couldn't do that. I've never had any issues before so maybe it was just a bad day.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Breakfast pizza amazing craving it alrea ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Breakfast pizza amazing craving it already! I live out of state will try to recreate recipe at home.

Tags: great for brunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Get for lunch or dinner. The prickly pea ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Get for lunch or dinner. The prickly pear margarita is delicious. The Greek salad is great. There is something on the menu for everyone. The outside seating is the best.

food5
ambience3
service4

Great food! Been here many Times and ne ...

vip
Dined on May 11, 2016

Great food! Been here many Times and never had a bad meal! Outdoor dining On busy Newberry Street was fun.

food4
ambience3
service4

I love Cafeteria for their spinach artic ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

I love Cafeteria for their spinach artichoke dip! But the noise level is too loud and I had to remind the hostess of the special request I had asked for in opentable. Overall the service is good and the food is great! Will definitely keep coming!

food4
ambience4
service3
value3

go to brunch place on newbury

vip
Dined on April 30, 2016

fun and cute place, great for brunch and meeting with friends; food is good, although can be a bit pricey. service is slow (especially on weekends when its crowded; we waited 10 minutes just to get water / coffee). but the outside tables are so nice in the spring/summer and the drink menu is great.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view
food2
ambience3
service4
value4

cute place, really nice and friendly relaxed staff

Dined on April 24, 2016

food was eh...nice experience in a pretty place...not really for foodies but food was fresh and friendly atmosphere

Tags: hot spot
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Came here with a few friends from out of ...

vip
Dined on April 21, 2016

Came here with a few friends from out of town who used to live in Boston years ago! It was great eating outside and enjoying Newbury street. We all really enjoyed our food. Looking forward to those parmesan fries again!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service3

The food was good but it took over 30 mi ...

Dined on April 17, 2016

The food was good but it took over 30 minutes for our order to come out.

food5
ambience5
service4
value4

trendy spot

Dined on April 17, 2016

very trendy little spot with up stairs and downstairs seating. menu was well versed amd the meatballs appetizer was perfect to start with

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Good for friends, but LOUD

Dined on April 17, 2016

I've been to Cafeteria many times. It's always a fun place to go with a group of friends. I wouldn't recommend it for small groups because it is so loud. There was a group of LOUD 23 year olds at the table next to us, and there was no effort made at all by the waiters to keep them quiet. Their waiter was friends with them so he just made things worse. It was very loud, and I could hardly hear myself think. Otherwise, the food is pretty good.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Ambience all Around!

Dined on April 17, 2016

Great customer service! I made reservations but found out that reservations are not valid for Patio seating (first come first serve). However, the wait was well worth it. Great accommodating staff!

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

Best to avoid prime times.

Dined on April 16, 2016

The food was average to better than average. The service was outstanding. The noise level was excruciating and you had to shout to be heard. Was there at lunch on Saturday. Will try again off prime time on a weekday.

Tags: good for groups, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience3
service3

Overall great food, but tattered menus, ...

Dined on March 27, 2016

Overall great food, but tattered menus, my menu was literally falling a part. If I wanted to have a "nice" experience or good first date, I would not take someone here. The place was dead and I felt like wait staff was nowhere to be found to re-fill water

food5
ambience5
service4
value5

great breakfast pizza

vip
Dined on March 27, 2016

AMAZING breakfast pizza, such a fun location for brunch - brought my friends from out of town and they loved it so much, they went back for lunch the next day!! the breakfast pizza is so amazing - definitely try it :)

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Good prices!

Dined on March 26, 2016

My friends and I loved the spinach dip! I would suggest this if you are looking for somewhere to eat on Newbury that won't break your bank account! Casual, with unique drinks as well!

Tags: great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

A bit pricey for the food but it's a gre ...

Dined on March 20, 2016

A bit pricey for the food but it's a great location & always an enjoyable low-key meal with a small group or large group.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch, late-night find
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious BLT and an even better playlis ...

Dined on March 8, 2016

Delicious BLT and an even better playlist. I would recommend this place for a weekday lunch.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Brunch

Dined on March 6, 2016

Cafeteria is most known for its outdoor patio that's open during the summer months - however, it is absolutely still a great brunch spot during those colder months too. Ask to be seated upstairs and you'll be greeted with massive windows that fill the room with light and a picturesque view of Newbury Street.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

Sunday at the Cafeteria

Dined on February 28, 2016

It was very loud for a Sunday afternoon and the music was definitely more appropriate for a Friday or Saturday night. We sat downstairs and the place is a little run down. I went and checked out the upstairs and think we would have been more comfortable there. The food was decent, big menu, lots of choices. My son had a burger and fries and he said it tasted good. My husband had the Cubano, but didn't think the interpretation was great. I had the greek salad with chicken, the chicken was moist and flavorful, and the salad had a lot of flavor.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I went in for brunch with my friends thi ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

I went in for brunch with my friends this past sunday and it was incredible! The food was amazing, it's an awesome spot and overall has a really cool vibe. The waitstaff is awesome and I definitely want to come back to check out the bar!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Cafeteria - Night before Valentine's Day

Dined on February 14, 2016

Went out to dinner the night before Valentine's day (Feb. 2016) and had a lovely dinner. Although it was freezing cold outside, and the door swung open a few times, it was a warm environment with a great energy. My date and I ordered: New England Clam Chowder, Parmesan Fries, Cod Tacos, and the Meatloaf Entree. All were delicious and great portion sizes. The prices were very reasonable. Our waiter was attentive and wonderfully polite; never hovering too much, but also not impossible to find. Really great experience, my date and I were very happy with our dinner.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience3
service3

The smoked salmon platter was only so-so ...

Dined on February 6, 2016

The smoked salmon platter was only so-so. The "creme fraiche" drizzled on it seemed partially frozen. It looked like someone had drizzled cinnamon bun icing over the whole plate. The salmon was good and was an ample portion. I suggest asking the server to omit the "creme fraiche".

food3
ambience2
service2

Young crowd. Very loud. Too crowded for ...

Dined on January 31, 2016

Young crowd. Very loud. Too crowded for small space Service could be much better.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Yummy!

Dined on January 30, 2016

Excellent attentive staff and very good food and drinks. Would recommend and return!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5

Food was good but very heavy

vip
Dined on January 29, 2016

Food was good but very heavy

food2
ambience3
service3

Not living up to expectation...

Dined on January 23, 2016

Not living up to expectation...

food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Really nice food and ambiance.

Dined on January 23, 2016

Great options for lunch, dinner and brunch. Great atmosphere for groups and modern romantic dinners.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Used to be a huge fan, but not anymore.

Dined on January 1, 2016

I got overcharged on my drinks and when I called the manager over he argued with me and didn't fix my bill. I used to eat here all the time and bring new friends over to introduce them to this restaurant; I will no longer be returning.

food5
ambience5
service5

consistant!

Dined on December 13, 2015

Came for Sunday Brunch. Nice variations and good portions. will definately go back

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience1
service1

The chefs children were crying, running ...

vip
Dined on December 8, 2015

The chefs children were crying, running around the restaurant, and falling off chairs. We waited 40 minutes for our food while the chef kept coming out and playing with her baby and children. My cod was barely cooked.

food5
ambience4
service4

Awesome for our ladies night

Dined on December 5, 2015

Our group of 8 had tickets to a show and needed to do a quick dinner before. Quick dinners aren't always easy with a large group, but our table was ready when we arrived, the food came out quickly and it was delicious. We split a but of appetizers and some pizza, everything was wonderful. Definitely plan to come back, thank you for making it a great night!!

Tags: fit for foodies, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service3

Nice Find

Dined on December 5, 2015

Great find. Good solid food, at reasonable prices in an expensive area.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience3
service2

Food was eh

Dined on November 28, 2015

Came to Cafeteria for Brunch and it was just OK. The mimosas were the only item our group of four enjoyed. The food was not good and very bland. The service was okay, not very friendly. Restaurant looks inviting from the outside but would not come back for brunch.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
food4
ambience4
service5

Great spot for lunch

Dined on November 18, 2015

Have eaten here with 4, 5 others several times and have recommended it to others. If you're lucky and can get a table upstairs, it's really nice. Downstairs, a different story -- sun hits directly on you if you sit under the window and there are no shades to cover; strange configuration of chairs. They're quite high and difficult to get on. It is more difficult because of a long, cushioned (maybe suede?) couch, making it even more difficult to maneuver to make room for more people. The food was delicious, but strangely, there was no bread delivery that morning (it was nice day), nor regular coffee. The wait staff couldn't have been nicer nor more apologetic, though. I know I speak for my friends also, when I say we'll surely eat there again, since we still enjoyed what we ordered, and hope everything will improve.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
food3
ambience3
service4

Very crowded, lots of movement is a tiny ...

Dined on November 15, 2015

Very crowded, lots of movement is a tiny space, food was ok, average burger and the brunch options were ok, mimosas were ok also, was expecting more for a Newbury st location

food5
ambience5
service5

This place continues to be one of my fav ...

Dined on November 8, 2015

This place continues to be one of my favorites on Newbury St.! Great selection, wonderful food and a prime location!

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience4
service3

Brunch is a pretty special meal. Cafeter ...

Dined on November 7, 2015

Brunch is a pretty special meal. Cafeteria needs to step it up with their breakfast options. My mind was not blown!

food4
ambience4
service5

The Patio is a Plus

vip
Dined on November 3, 2015

It as a rare 70 degree November day when my friend and I popped into Cafeteria. The weather was so glorious that we jumped at the chance to enjoy the Newbury Street scene and sunshine out on the spacious sidewalk patio. We were greeted promptly by our server and as this lunch was a chance for old friends to catch up, we were not hurried to order; but when we did, she ordered the hummus sandwich and a pot of fantastic mint tea. I ordered the Greek salad sandwich and iced tea. Our food arrived promptly, deliciously and with a quick inquiry if we needed anything else. We enjoyed the meal, the day, and the service, just what two friends needed to reconnect and refresh an old friendship. Cheers to the folks at Cafeteria!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4

It was an amazing lunch in a cool atmosp ...

Dined on October 17, 2015

It was an amazing lunch in a cool atmosphere. Would recommend it!

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.