About Cafeteria Boston

279a Newbury Street
Boston, MA 02115
View Larger Map

Cafeteria is a cool, casual, contemporary atmosphere where the comfort food of "yesterday" gets schooled by the flavors of "today" to create a dining experience that is "tray chic."

Our new cafeteria-themed menu is a modern interpretation of classic soul-satisfying American dishes prepared with organic grass-fed beef and lamb, free-range chicken, the freshest seafood and organic, local produce. These properly raised ingredients
behave perfectly with a new world of herbs, spices and culinary techniques to create deeply satisfying comfort food for the new millennium.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
FOOD: Monday - Friday 11:00am - 11:00pm
Saturday and Sunday 9:00am - 11:00pm

Bar open until 1:00am
Brunch served Saturday and Sunday 9:00am-2:00pm

Cross Street:
Gloucester St.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(617) 536-2233

Website:
http://www.cafeteriaboston.com/

Catering:
Catering is available. Please call 617.536.2233 for more information.

Parking Details:
Valet parking is available and recommended

Public Transit:
Hynes Convention Green Line; Copley Green line

Executive Chef:
Antonio Perez

Private Party Facilities:
Our private room on the second floor comfortably accommodates cocktail parties for 100 or a seated dinner for 50 people. The large windows on two sides of the room provide expansive views over Newbury Street and the perfect atmosphere for private lunches, brunch, dinner parties or cocktail receptions. Cafeteria is also available for buyouts as well as private and semi-private functions.
Clients can choose from a wide array of appetizers, entrees, desserts, beverages and wines, to create the right formula for their function. From passed hors d’oeuvres with drinks, to an intimate dinner party to a gala event, we can customize a menu that’s exactly right for your event.
We look forward to working with you and planning your upcoming event.

Private Party Contact:
Demetri Tsolakis : 6175362233x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Delivery, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We kept the straightforward, select what you like, style of a cafeteria, but, at this cafeteria the food comes to you with dining on three levels - outdoors, downstairs and upstairs for special events. Call 617.536.2233 or email info@cafeteriaboston.com

Restaurant Photos

Turkey Burger
Chicken BLT
Pastrami Sandwich
P.E.I. Mussels
Parmesan Fries
Grilled Cheese Sandwich
Meatloaf Sandwich
Tomato Soup
Detention
Fried Calamari
Hummus Sandwich
Sparkling Sangria
Eggs And Sausage
Cubano Sandwich
Beet Sal
Greek Salad Sandwich
Chef Salad
BLT
Wachusett Blueberry
Huevos rancheros
Red Sangria
bruschetta with scrambled egg, arugula and truffle oil
Lobster Ravioli
Beet and Goat Cheese Salad
Scallops
Margarhita Pizza
Calimari
Ultimate Sundae
Mussels
Carrot Cake
fish tacos
Spinach And Artichoke Dip
Pastrami
Macaroni
Grilled Hanger Steak
Breakfast Sandwich
Veggie Burger
shrimp salad
house-made meatballs
BBQ Bacon Burger

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Mon - Wed 5:00PM - 5:00PM

Cafeteria Boston Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.1

ambience

4.2

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

great for outdoor dining (36)
great for lunch (29)
good for groups (28)
See All
great for brunch (25)
neighborhood gem (21)
hot spot (20)
fit for foodies (17)
scenic view (13)
special occasion (11)
romantic (8)
late-night find (4)
vibrant bar scene (4)
kid-friendly (4)
notable wine list (2)
Sort By:
Newest
793 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Food was fabulous; service was great! Th ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Food was fabulous; service was great! This was a perfect venue to meet relatives for a birthday brunch!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service, great food!

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Great service, great food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Loved the vibe here! Met with friends an ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Loved the vibe here! Met with friends and we ate outside. My chicken Caesar salad was great and I'd love to come back with my husband for a date night!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

The service here is impeccable. Very wa ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

The service here is impeccable. Very warm and friendly, the most I've experienced in all of Back Bay. Waitresses are attentive, polite, and spot on with their warm and welcoming demeanor. The food complements the staff with great tasting fresh cuisine. Indoors is a little quiet on a nice day but can seat outside without reservation; its a popular choice on a sunny Boston summer day (rare).

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and service was ok, but we found a ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Food and service was ok, but we found a fly in one dish. Manager and staff were apologetic and took of dish and one beer.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

Food is great but it's too loud! It's ha ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Food is great but it's too loud! It's hard to listen and converse. The service is spotty, you'll get a good waiter/waitress but other times you have to wait a while to be greeted or for a water refill. I keep coming back for the spinach artichoke dip.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service2

I had the macaroni and it was not good a ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

I had the macaroni and it was not good at all. It tasted like something you could make out of a box from the grocery store. Regretted going to Cafeteria because there are so many other great food options around like MET Back Bay.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service4
value2

Our food came very quickly, but it took ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Our food came very quickly, but it took en exceedingly long time to get our check. The food was good, but nothing outstanding. The outdoor seating was very nice and is great for people watching!

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

Great for groups. Fun drinks and appetiz ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Great for groups. Fun drinks and appetizers- definitely try the cheeseburger spring rolls!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My daughter took her friend here for the ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

My daughter took her friend here for the friend's 16th birthday. Perhaps, because they were kids, the waiter did not notice that one dish was garnished, the other was not. He brought the check, without asking if they'd like dessert (they did want dessert and went elsewhere.) BUT, all in all, they were both happy with the food, especially the salads, and the atmosphere.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

I had skipped Cafeteria many times becau ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

I had skipped Cafeteria many times because of the "meh" reviews, and I should have continued to do so. It really is a fun atmosphere, very lively and busy. I would say that is the best reason to go. I ordered the lobster roll ($22), and it was okay. The bun was too big (bread:lobster ratio was off), and I asked if I could have half fries/half greens (the options for the side). Most places will gladly accommodate this request, but our server nicely shared that they don't do that anymore. So I went with the "parmesan frites". These are really just those twice-cooked fries you see everywhere, and are truly nothing special. My plate arrived, and it looked so sad and sparse. Maybe I got a half side of fries and no greens? Our server was nice, but seemed eager to move us along. We'd had the menu for about 60 seconds, and he came by saying, you look ready! I get it, but no, not ready at all.

Basically it seems like a fun place to drink on the patio.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Lobster roll with Parmesan fries were go ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Lobster roll with Parmesan fries were good but can be a bit too much roll. They don't skimp on the lobster but for market price, I don't expect anything less.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Great brunch spot

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

This is a terrific causal restaurant at the upper end of the Back Bay neighborhood. We had prompt service and generous sized portions of food for our brunch gathering. The French toast was tasty and the huevos rancheros was large and flavorful. The eggs with two pancakes was terrific. Not romantic but a great choice for our group of six.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

a disappointment

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

We heard this was a great place and were unpleasantly surprised. The food was quite expensive and not particularly good. The music was very loud and the service was inattentive. Other than that, a fine place to dine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

We were frustrated by be passed over for ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

We were frustrated by be passed over for outdoor seating since the names around us were crossed out. We were estimated 30 minutes and after about 50 minutes I checked and we were able to be seated after some convincing I had put my name down. Luckily the bartender (female) made fantastic drinks so we were able to catch up at the bar. The food was fantastic and it was a beautiful night to eat outside.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Not very accomodating

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

We went to Cafeteria for brunch before my daughter's graduation. It was very nice and as usual the food was good. But we made a few simple requests that they didn't have - English breakfast tea and sugar free syrup. My sister requested her eggs on top of her breakfast potatoes and we were told they couldn't do that. I've never had any issues before so maybe it was just a bad day.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Breakfast pizza amazing craving it alrea ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

Breakfast pizza amazing craving it already! I live out of state will try to recreate recipe at home.

Tags: great for brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Get for lunch or dinner. The prickly pea ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Get for lunch or dinner. The prickly pear margarita is delicious. The Greek salad is great. There is something on the menu for everyone. The outside seating is the best.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food! Been here many Times and ne ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on May 11, 2016

Great food! Been here many Times and never had a bad meal! Outdoor dining On busy Newberry Street was fun.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

LOVE this place, but it's definitely not ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

LOVE this place, but it's definitely not for a family event. Come with friends who can tolerate how loud it is.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

I love Cafeteria for their spinach artic ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

I love Cafeteria for their spinach artichoke dip! But the noise level is too loud and I had to remind the hostess of the special request I had asked for in opentable. Overall the service is good and the food is great! Will definitely keep coming!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

go to brunch place on newbury

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

fun and cute place, great for brunch and meeting with friends; food is good, although can be a bit pricey. service is slow (especially on weekends when its crowded; we waited 10 minutes just to get water / coffee). but the outside tables are so nice in the spring/summer and the drink menu is great.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

cute place, really nice and friendly relaxed staff

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

food was eh...nice experience in a pretty place...not really for foodies but food was fresh and friendly atmosphere

Tags: hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value4

Came here with a few friends from out of ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on April 21, 2016

Came here with a few friends from out of town who used to live in Boston years ago! It was great eating outside and enjoying Newbury street. We all really enjoyed our food. Looking forward to those parmesan fries again!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The food was good but it took over 30 mi ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

The food was good but it took over 30 minutes for our order to come out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

trendy spot

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

very trendy little spot with up stairs and downstairs seating. menu was well versed amd the meatballs appetizer was perfect to start with

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Good for friends, but LOUD

 
 (New England)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

I've been to Cafeteria many times. It's always a fun place to go with a group of friends. I wouldn't recommend it for small groups because it is so loud. There was a group of LOUD 23 year olds at the table next to us, and there was no effort made at all by the waiters to keep them quiet. Their waiter was friends with them so he just made things worse. It was very loud, and I could hardly hear myself think. Otherwise, the food is pretty good.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Great Ambience all Around!

 
 (New England)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

Great customer service! I made reservations but found out that reservations are not valid for Patio seating (first come first serve). However, the wait was well worth it. Great accommodating staff!

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best to avoid prime times.

 
 (New England)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

The food was average to better than average. The service was outstanding. The noise level was excruciating and you had to shout to be heard. Was there at lunch on Saturday.

Will try again off prime time on a weekday.

Tags: good for groups, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

Overall great food, but tattered menus, ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

Overall great food, but tattered menus, my menu was literally falling a part. If I wanted to have a "nice" experience or good first date, I would not take someone here.

The place was dead and I felt like wait staff was nowhere to be found to re-fill water

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3

great breakfast pizza

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

AMAZING breakfast pizza, such a fun location for brunch - brought my friends from out of town and they loved it so much, they went back for lunch the next day!! the breakfast pizza is so amazing - definitely try it :)

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Good prices!

 
 (New England)
·Dined on March 26, 2016

My friends and I loved the spinach dip! I would suggest this if you are looking for somewhere to eat on Newbury that won't break your bank account! Casual, with unique drinks as well!

Tags: great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

A bit pricey for the food but it's a gre ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on March 20, 2016

A bit pricey for the food but it's a great location & always an enjoyable low-key meal with a small group or large group.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch, late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Delicious BLT and an even better playlis ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on March 8, 2016

Delicious BLT and an even better playlist. I would recommend this place for a weekday lunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Brunch

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 6, 2016

Cafeteria is most known for its outdoor patio that's open during the summer months - however, it is absolutely still a great brunch spot during those colder months too. Ask to be seated upstairs and you'll be greeted with massive windows that fill the room with light and a picturesque view of Newbury Street.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Sunday at the Cafeteria

 
 (New England)
·Dined on February 28, 2016

It was very loud for a Sunday afternoon and the music was definitely more appropriate for a Friday or Saturday night. We sat downstairs and the place is a little run down. I went and checked out the upstairs and think we would have been more comfortable there. The food was decent, big menu, lots of choices. My son had a burger and fries and he said it tasted good. My husband had the Cubano, but didn't think the interpretation was great. I had the greek salad with chicken, the chicken was moist and flavorful, and the salad had a lot of flavor.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

I went in for brunch with my friends thi ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

I went in for brunch with my friends this past sunday and it was incredible! The food was amazing, it's an awesome spot and overall has a really cool vibe. The waitstaff is awesome and I definitely want to come back to check out the bar!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Cafeteria - Night before Valentine's Day

 
 (New England)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Went out to dinner the night before Valentine's day (Feb. 2016) and had a lovely dinner. Although it was freezing cold outside, and the door swung open a few times, it was a warm environment with a great energy. My date and I ordered: New England Clam Chowder, Parmesan Fries, Cod Tacos, and the Meatloaf Entree. All were delicious and great portion sizes. The prices were very reasonable. Our waiter was attentive and wonderfully polite; never hovering too much, but also not impossible to find. Really great experience, my date and I were very happy with our dinner.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The smoked salmon platter was only so-so ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on February 6, 2016

The smoked salmon platter was only so-so. The "creme fraiche" drizzled on it seemed partially frozen. It looked like someone had drizzled cinnamon bun icing over the whole plate. The salmon was good and was an ample portion. I suggest asking the server to omit the "creme fraiche".

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Young crowd. Very loud. Too crowded for ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on January 31, 2016

Young crowd. Very loud. Too crowded for small space Service could be much better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.