Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.08mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.08mi

About Cafeteria Boston

Cafeteria is a cool, casual, contemporary atmosphere where the comfort food of "yesterday" gets schooled by the flavors of "today" to create a dining experience that is "tray chic."

Our new cafeteria-themed menu is a modern interpretation of classic soul-satisfying American dishes prepared with organic grass-fed beef and lamb, free-range chicken, the freshest seafood and organic, local produce. These properly raised ingredients
behave perfectly with a new world of herbs, spices and culinary techniques to create deeply satisfying comfort food for the new millennium.

279a Newbury Street
Boston, MA 02115
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
FOOD: Monday - Friday 11:00am - 11:00pm
Saturday and Sunday 9:00am - 11:00pm

Bar open until 1:00am
Brunch served Saturday and Sunday 9:00am-2:00pm

Cross Street:
Gloucester St.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(617) 536-2233

Website:
http://www.cafeteriaboston.com/

Catering:
Catering is available. Please call 617.536.2233 for more information.

Parking Details:
Valet parking is available and recommended

Public Transit:
Hynes Convention Green Line; Copley Green line

Executive Chef:
Antonio Perez

Private Party Facilities:
Our private room on the second floor comfortably accommodates cocktail parties for 100 or a seated dinner for 50 people. The large windows on two sides of the room provide expansive views over Newbury Street and the perfect atmosphere for private lunches, brunch, dinner parties or cocktail receptions. Cafeteria is also available for buyouts as well as private and semi-private functions.
Clients can choose from a wide array of appetizers, entrees, desserts, beverages and wines, to create the right formula for their function. From passed hors d’oeuvres with drinks, to an intimate dinner party to a gala event, we can customize a menu that’s exactly right for your event.
We look forward to working with you and planning your upcoming event.

Private Party Contact:
Demetri Tsolakis : (617) 536-2233

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Delivery, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We kept the straightforward, select what you like, style of a cafeteria, but, at this cafeteria the food comes to you with dining on three levels - outdoors, downstairs and upstairs for special events. Call 617.536.2233 or email info@cafeteriaboston.com

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Mon - Wed 5:00PM - 5:00PM

Cafeteria Boston Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

3.8

ambience

4.0

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

79% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (19)
Great for Lunch (17)
Great for Outdoor Dining (16)
See All
Great for Brunch (16)
People Watching (14)
Good for a Date (14)
Good for Groups (14)
Comfort Food (11)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Fun (10)
Sunday Lunch (9)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Hot Spot (8)
Modern Decor (7)
Scenic View (7)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Cozy (6)
Authentic (5)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Bar Seating (5)
Special Occasion (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Afternoon Coffee (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Seasonal (4)
Happy Hour (3)
Organic (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Tasting Menu (2)
Romantic (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Live Sports (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Family Style (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Business Meals (1)
Sort By:
S
945 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined 11 hours ago

The food and service was very good and attentive. The noise level started out comfortable and easy to have a conversation but later the noise became uncomfortably loud. Difficult to have a conversation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined 4 days ago

Great food and nice service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 19, 2017

Good place for a burger and very casual eating - very loud - red wine was "hot"

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 16, 2017

I've been to Cafeteria a few times and each time it's pretty tasty. I'd say the brunch is above average for Newbury and well priced. The portions are also very large, so you could share dishes as well.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 11, 2017

Truffle fries were unbelievable. Great service and the outdoor seating makes for great people watching.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Very impressed. Really enjoyed the place, atmosphere, music, food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 8, 2017

I've been to Cafeteria many times now and the food never ceases to be great! They always have fresh fruit and brunch on the weekend is an absolute must to do! Their lunch options are also very great! Although the vegetarian options are few, they're so tasty that I keep revisiting. The Spinach dip is a must-have!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Authentic, Afternoon Coffee, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 6, 2017

Great prickly pear margaritas!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (London)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Great meal and great location with fab outdoor seating.

Tags: Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 28, 2017

very unimpressive food. We had appetizers and entrees and none of them were something I'd order again. It's a nice location, but the food is really not worth the $$

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 27, 2017

Less than attentive service staff. Food was fine, not stellar.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Food was good but the place was too hot

Tags: Organic, Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Dinner was ok. Waiter charged us $1.50 for a small amount of cocktail sauce for our fish and chips. I can't believe this. Never have I ever been charged for cocktail sauce. What's next ketchup? So disappointed I probably will not return. :(

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 19, 2017

After a below average food and service, the waiter went to our table asking for more tip.
Disgusting!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

vip
 (New England)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Loved sitting outside and watching the people walk by. Food was good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 7, 2017

Outside is nice in good weather but the inside is not great, food was mediocre, and we were seated next to a giant indoor air conditioner that made a lot of noise. Not impressed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on June 5, 2017

Great food, accomodating waitstaff- will come again for sure !

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (New England)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Servers only stood on one side of the table so I had to repeatedly YELL over all the noise just so they could hear the order, rather than just coming to the other side of the table to take my order. The server that was training literally flung food and crumbs all over myself & my belongings while trying to remove our plates- again reaching across the table rather than just coming to the other side. Ridiculous. Won't return

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 3, 2017

The service was really bad, had to call the waiter again and again and still wouldn't listen. Didn't even fill up my water again. If you want to pay for nothing go

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 31, 2017

I had the club sandwich and that chipotle mayo was everything! The fries were really good too!

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 29, 2017

while it still def caters to a grad student/1st year associate crowd, Cafeteria's service has improved and their menu has gotten a bit less college.
kudos to you guys for getting past the "only go there for brunch" mindset that I used to have.
keep it up!

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Love Cafeteria - but they just shortened their menu a ton and got rid of some of their best items! Their new menu is a single small page, with half as many sandwiches including my favorite the curried chicken salad. Used to love coming into the city to come here, looks like we will be trying new options this summer. Very disappointing.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Have gone here many times and enjoyed our visit again. The only notes I have was that it was pretty loud and the chef wouldn't make any changes to the meal we wanted to order and the waitress provided no real suggestions other than changing what we ordered. I would add a note to the menu (which I didn't re-check) if this is the case. We just wanted to switch out the sides. Overall, we had a nice time.

Tags: Organic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Happy Hour, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Food was good. Service was very good. Air conditioning was not working which made the evening very tough since it was 94 degrees in Boston that night. Chairs uncomfortable too.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Smelled like a bathroom, waiter was rude, couldn't provide a gluten free menu because another table had it, food was average and not worth the price

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 8, 2017

Nice economical place to meet friends for dinner and drinks. The menu was focused with enough variety for everyone. Too chilly for outside when we were there but the outside looked appealing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 7, 2017

I've been to cafeteria many times before and the food is always fantastic. The service was extremely slow this time, as it took about 20 minutes to get drinks after ordering them and then took a long time to put food orders in. The table was ready when we got there which was nice and the drinks and food were delicious. Patio seating is perfect for when it's nice outside and great for people watching!

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Our waitress was awesome!! She was no nice and hard-working. The food was also amazing! I loved the breakfast pizza. My sister got the pancakes and bacon and loved that too! Overall, I would 100% go back and loved the experience. Also side note-- the music was great and we were jamming the whole time.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Casual, Worth the Drive, Afternoon Coffee, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Loved the outdoor seating area along iconic Newbury street in Boston. My friend and I went here for brunch and made a reservation prior to going. The service was average, there were some waiters in training so a few minor mess ups with knowing the menu but nothing that would deter me from recommending the place. I got the French toast which was good but could have been cooked a little longer to make it more crisp, as the middle part was a tab softer than I'd prefer. Overall enjoyed the meal and mimosa. Prices are a tad more than I'd like to pay for breakfast/brunch but the location is what you're paying for!

Tags: Casual, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Service and ambiance of the restaurant is very nice. I recommend sitting on the second floor for wonderful lighting of the place! The food was mediocre, and it did have a variety of different food.

Tags: Cozy, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Having an OpenTable reservation didn't matter as I waited with others crammed around the entry. Two hostesses were clueless about seating us efficiently as they helped people with non-seating concerns even though several people left but we all still had no seating. The only benefit from all this confusion was seeing passing trays of food that convinced me the food choices were mediocre after all, so my steamy exit was a no-brainer. I ended up at nearby Bar Boulud (French fare) where I was treated to a serene, first-class brunch and, most importantly, attention. You get what you pay for ($10-11 more but worth it). Cafeteria Boston thinks a Newbury St address will get them customers regardless. Not this customer, ever.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (New England)·Dined on April 29, 2017

The chicken milanes was terrible, it was undercooked and flavorless. The calamari was also flavorless...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 23, 2017

I recently went here to celebrate my engagement with my parents and fiance's parents. It was the first time our parents were meeting as well. My only two "complaints" is that we were sat at a high top, which was a little less than ideal for older people, and that the music was very loud which made conversation kind of tough. Other than that, the experience was great. The menu is vast and fit all needs. Our server Clint was friendly and helpful. He/the restaurant even treated us to a round of champagne and a dessert for our celebration, which was obviously above & beyond and well appreciated. Definitely would recommend!

Tags: Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Food wasn't great. My tuna burger was dry and I ordered side salad but got fries instead. We ordered red sangria and is was very sweet - I'm guessing too much peach. Only reason to rate it higher was that we were able to sit outside.

Tags: Seasonal, Quick Bite, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 1, 2017

We had a large party(11) for brunch. Our waiter was awesome. He was friendly and attentive. The staff at the restaurant was able to modify our initial party of 10 to 11 without issue. The food was outstanding. I would recommend this place.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Great food and super service especially for a Friday night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 27, 2017

Very much enjoyed our meal at Cafeteria . Casual dinning right on Newburry st. We had a tasty mushroom pizza and a very creative Greek salad on a sandwich which arrived with Parmesan fries . If you looking for a casual meal in a comfortable setting stop in .

Tags: Casual, Late-night Find, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Love the drinks the food everyone is welcoming great spot to grab lunch and awesome for brunch.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Cozy, People Watching, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 19, 2017

It was for my friends birthday and she loved it so much. I had the pizza and it was amazing and a great price for the quality!

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 18, 2017

The cafeteria was excellent. I read the previous reviews and booked my table. The food was excellent and great service and very reasonable for the outstanding food.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.