About Cafeteria Boston

279a Newbury Street
Boston, MA 02115
View Larger Map

Cafeteria is a cool, casual, contemporary atmosphere where the comfort food of "yesterday" gets schooled by the flavors of "today" to create a dining experience that is "tray chic."

Our new cafeteria-themed menu is a modern interpretation of classic soul-satisfying American dishes prepared with organic grass-fed beef and lamb, free-range chicken, the freshest seafood and organic, local produce. These properly raised ingredients
behave perfectly with a new world of herbs, spices and culinary techniques to create deeply satisfying comfort food for the new millennium.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
FOOD: Monday - Friday 11:00am - 11:00pm
Saturday and Sunday 9:00am - 11:00pm

Bar open until 1:00am
Brunch served Saturday and Sunday 9:00am-2:00pm

Cross Street:
Gloucester St.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(617) 536-2233

Website:
http://www.cafeteriaboston.com/

Catering:
Catering is available. Please call 617.536.2233 for more information.

Parking Details:
Valet parking is available and recommended

Public Transit:
Hynes Convention Green Line; Copley Green line

Executive Chef:
Antonio Perez

Private Party Facilities:
Our private room on the second floor comfortably accommodates cocktail parties for 100 or a seated dinner for 50 people. The large windows on two sides of the room provide expansive views over Newbury Street and the perfect atmosphere for private lunches, brunch, dinner parties or cocktail receptions. Cafeteria is also available for buyouts as well as private and semi-private functions.
Clients can choose from a wide array of appetizers, entrees, desserts, beverages and wines, to create the right formula for their function. From passed hors d’oeuvres with drinks, to an intimate dinner party to a gala event, we can customize a menu that’s exactly right for your event.
We look forward to working with you and planning your upcoming event.

Private Party Contact:
Demetri Tsolakis : 6175362233x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Delivery, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We kept the straightforward, select what you like, style of a cafeteria, but, at this cafeteria the food comes to you with dining on three levels - outdoors, downstairs and upstairs for special events. Call 617.536.2233 or email info@cafeteriaboston.com

Restaurant Photos

Tacos
Pastrami Sandwich
Chicken BLT
Turkey Burger
P.E.I. Mussels
Parmesan Fries
Grilled Cheese Sandwich
Meatloaf Sandwich
Tomato Soup
Fried Calamari
Detention
Hummus Sandwich
Sparkling Sangria
Eggs And Sausage
Cubano Sandwich
Beet Sal
Greek Salad Sandwich
Chef Salad
BLT
Red Sangria
Wachusett Blueberry
Huevos rancheros
bruschetta with scrambled egg, arugula and truffle oil
Lobster Ravioli
Beet and Goat Cheese Salad
Scallops
Calimari
Carrot Cake
Margarhita Pizza
fish tacos
Pastrami
Spinach And Artichoke Dip
Mussels
Ultimate Sundae
Macaroni
Grilled Hanger Steak
BBQ Bacon Burger
house-made meatballs
Breakfast Sandwich
Veggie Burger
shrimp salad

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Mon - Wed 5:00PM - 5:00PM

Cafeteria Boston Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.0

ambience

4.1

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Outdoor Dining (33)
Great for Lunch (24)
Good for Groups (23)
See All
Great for Brunch (20)
Neighborhood Gem (16)
Hot Spot (16)
Fit for Foodies (13)
Scenic View (10)
Special Occasion (9)
Romantic (6)
Kid-friendly (3)
Late-night Find (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Sort By:
Newest
811 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We had a wonderful time at Cafeteria Bos ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

We had a wonderful time at Cafeteria Boston! Our food was yummy and the fries are to die for! Our server was very friendly and the White Sangria was also delicious! Highly reccomend having a bite to eat here if you are in the Newbury Street area!

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was good-not outstanding. Sat ...

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

The food was good-not outstanding. Sat outside which was nice- just look out for birds in the trees-my food and my credit card got pooped on! Service was good. Nice to be able to make a reservation for brunch.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Waitress was incredibly rude, not accomm ...

 
 (Liverpool)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Waitress was incredibly rude, not accommodating at all, food was ok.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value2

Excellent artichoke dip as an appetizer. ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Excellent artichoke dip as an appetizer. Probably the best I've had

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Restaurant was very hot and food was onl ...

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Restaurant was very hot and food was only mediocre.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Great service and great food me and my f ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Great service and great food me and my friends had a really good time. Very glad we picked cafeteria

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went for brunch on a Saturday they gave ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Went for brunch on a Saturday they gave us the option to sit outside which was great :) the food was amazing and the waitress gave us a great recommendation. Also loved the champagne drink options

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Great meal

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Great meal

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Horrible service. Beet salad bad. Fish ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Horrible service. Beet salad bad. Fish tacos great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1

Great wait staff and food came out fairl ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Great wait staff and food came out fairly quickly. Asked for salad before entree and it came with entree.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It wasn't my first time here, but it was ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

It wasn't my first time here, but it was great like usual. I will keep going back!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was very good. Wait staff was lost ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Food was very good. Wait staff was lost most of the time--hard to fine. Took our drinks when they were 3/4 empty. Hostess were rude....they alone about made us leave tonight.

Obviously the kitchen carries this place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Our family met at Cafeteria for an early ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Our family met at Cafeteria for an early dinner before a concert at Fenway. We sat outside and thoroughly enjoyed the food, the service, the weather and the vibrant atmosphere. We look forward to a return.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lovely location on Newburyport St. Nice ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Lovely location on Newburyport St. Nice trees for shade. Server Nick was knowledgeable and friendly. But tables for two are too small to reasonably hold drinks and dinner for two. All food - shared appetizer, salad, and pizza - were delivered at once. One of us had to use the pizza tray for a plate. Pizza was cool by the time we got around to eating it. Will go back - food was very good; service was excellent - but will order one course at a time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Food here was pretty good and service wa ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Food here was pretty good and service was pretty good as well. Nothing amazing but still very good and would recommend to others

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Cafeteria has an amazing menu! I always ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Cafeteria has an amazing menu! I always love whatever I order, service was great!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

Overall it was a very nice meal and a re ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Overall it was a very nice meal and a relaxing experience. My beets were a bit too bland but really that isn't why you go here. The lamb burger my niece had was delicious. We sat outside on a very hot day and it was quite nice.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

Food was fabulous; service was great! Th ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Food was fabulous; service was great! This was a perfect venue to meet relatives for a birthday brunch!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service, great food!

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Great service, great food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Loved the vibe here! Met with friends an ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Loved the vibe here! Met with friends and we ate outside. My chicken Caesar salad was great and I'd love to come back with my husband for a date night!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

The service here is impeccable. Very wa ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

The service here is impeccable. Very warm and friendly, the most I've experienced in all of Back Bay. Waitresses are attentive, polite, and spot on with their warm and welcoming demeanor. The food complements the staff with great tasting fresh cuisine. Indoors is a little quiet on a nice day but can seat outside without reservation; its a popular choice on a sunny Boston summer day (rare).

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and service was ok, but we found a ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Food and service was ok, but we found a fly in one dish. Manager and staff were apologetic and took of dish and one beer.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

Food is great but it's too loud! It's ha ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Food is great but it's too loud! It's hard to listen and converse. The service is spotty, you'll get a good waiter/waitress but other times you have to wait a while to be greeted or for a water refill. I keep coming back for the spinach artichoke dip.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service2

I had the macaroni and it was not good a ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

I had the macaroni and it was not good at all. It tasted like something you could make out of a box from the grocery store. Regretted going to Cafeteria because there are so many other great food options around like MET Back Bay.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service4
value2

Our food came very quickly, but it took ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Our food came very quickly, but it took en exceedingly long time to get our check. The food was good, but nothing outstanding. The outdoor seating was very nice and is great for people watching!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

Great for groups. Fun drinks and appetiz ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Great for groups. Fun drinks and appetizers- definitely try the cheeseburger spring rolls!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My daughter took her friend here for the ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

My daughter took her friend here for the friend's 16th birthday. Perhaps, because they were kids, the waiter did not notice that one dish was garnished, the other was not. He brought the check, without asking if they'd like dessert (they did want dessert and went elsewhere.) BUT, all in all, they were both happy with the food, especially the salads, and the atmosphere.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

I had skipped Cafeteria many times becau ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

I had skipped Cafeteria many times because of the "meh" reviews, and I should have continued to do so. It really is a fun atmosphere, very lively and busy. I would say that is the best reason to go. I ordered the lobster roll ($22), and it was okay. The bun was too big (bread:lobster ratio was off), and I asked if I could have half fries/half greens (the options for the side). Most places will gladly accommodate this request, but our server nicely shared that they don't do that anymore. So I went with the "parmesan frites". These are really just those twice-cooked fries you see everywhere, and are truly nothing special. My plate arrived, and it looked so sad and sparse. Maybe I got a half side of fries and no greens? Our server was nice, but seemed eager to move us along. We'd had the menu for about 60 seconds, and he came by saying, you look ready! I get it, but no, not ready at all.

Basically it seems like a fun place to drink on the patio.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Lobster roll with Parmesan fries were go ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Lobster roll with Parmesan fries were good but can be a bit too much roll. They don't skimp on the lobster but for market price, I don't expect anything less.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Great brunch spot

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

This is a terrific causal restaurant at the upper end of the Back Bay neighborhood. We had prompt service and generous sized portions of food for our brunch gathering. The French toast was tasty and the huevos rancheros was large and flavorful. The eggs with two pancakes was terrific. Not romantic but a great choice for our group of six.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

a disappointment

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

We heard this was a great place and were unpleasantly surprised. The food was quite expensive and not particularly good. The music was very loud and the service was inattentive. Other than that, a fine place to dine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

We were frustrated by be passed over for ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

We were frustrated by be passed over for outdoor seating since the names around us were crossed out. We were estimated 30 minutes and after about 50 minutes I checked and we were able to be seated after some convincing I had put my name down. Luckily the bartender (female) made fantastic drinks so we were able to catch up at the bar. The food was fantastic and it was a beautiful night to eat outside.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Disappointed they took off my favorite d ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on May 18, 2016

Disappointed they took off my favorite dish (meatloaf) from the menu, however it was delicious

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Not very accomodating

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

We went to Cafeteria for brunch before my daughter's graduation. It was very nice and as usual the food was good. But we made a few simple requests that they didn't have - English breakfast tea and sugar free syrup. My sister requested her eggs on top of her breakfast potatoes and we were told they couldn't do that. I've never had any issues before so maybe it was just a bad day.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Breakfast pizza amazing craving it alrea ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

Breakfast pizza amazing craving it already! I live out of state will try to recreate recipe at home.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Get for lunch or dinner. The prickly pea ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Get for lunch or dinner. The prickly pear margarita is delicious. The Greek salad is great. There is something on the menu for everyone. The outside seating is the best.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food! Been here many Times and ne ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on May 11, 2016

Great food! Been here many Times and never had a bad meal! Outdoor dining On busy Newberry Street was fun.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

LOVE this place, but it's definitely not ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

LOVE this place, but it's definitely not for a family event. Come with friends who can tolerate how loud it is.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

I love Cafeteria for their spinach artic ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

I love Cafeteria for their spinach artichoke dip! But the noise level is too loud and I had to remind the hostess of the special request I had asked for in opentable. Overall the service is good and the food is great! Will definitely keep coming!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

go to brunch place on newbury

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

fun and cute place, great for brunch and meeting with friends; food is good, although can be a bit pricey. service is slow (especially on weekends when its crowded; we waited 10 minutes just to get water / coffee). but the outside tables are so nice in the spring/summer and the drink menu is great.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.