Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.08mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.08mi

About Cafeteria Boston

Cafeteria is a cool, casual, contemporary atmosphere where the comfort food of "yesterday" gets schooled by the flavors of "today" to create a dining experience that is "tray chic."

Our new cafeteria-themed menu is a modern interpretation of classic soul-satisfying American dishes prepared with organic grass-fed beef and lamb, free-range chicken, the freshest seafood and organic, local produce. These properly raised ingredients
behave perfectly with a new world of herbs, spices and culinary techniques to create deeply satisfying comfort food for the new millennium.

279a Newbury Street
Boston, MA 02115
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
FOOD: Monday - Friday 11:00am - 11:00pm
Saturday and Sunday 9:00am - 11:00pm

Bar open until 1:00am
Brunch served Saturday and Sunday 9:00am-2:00pm

Cross Street:
Gloucester St.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(617) 536-2233

Website:
http://www.cafeteriaboston.com/

Catering:
Catering is available. Please call 617.536.2233 for more information.

Parking Details:
Valet parking is available and recommended

Public Transit:
Hynes Convention Green Line; Copley Green line

Executive Chef:
Antonio Perez

Private Party Facilities:
Our private room on the second floor comfortably accommodates cocktail parties for 100 or a seated dinner for 50 people. The large windows on two sides of the room provide expansive views over Newbury Street and the perfect atmosphere for private lunches, brunch, dinner parties or cocktail receptions. Cafeteria is also available for buyouts as well as private and semi-private functions.
Clients can choose from a wide array of appetizers, entrees, desserts, beverages and wines, to create the right formula for their function. From passed hors d’oeuvres with drinks, to an intimate dinner party to a gala event, we can customize a menu that’s exactly right for your event.
We look forward to working with you and planning your upcoming event.

Private Party Contact:
Demetri Tsolakis : (617) 536-2233

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Delivery, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We kept the straightforward, select what you like, style of a cafeteria, but, at this cafeteria the food comes to you with dining on three levels - outdoors, downstairs and upstairs for special events. Call 617.536.2233 or email info@cafeteriaboston.com

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Mon - Wed 5:00PM - 5:00PM

Cafeteria Boston Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.1

ambience

4.1

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

85% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (15)
Cozy (12)
Great for Brunch (11)
See All
Good for a Date (11)
Sunday Lunch (10)
Great for Lunch (10)
Comfort Food (9)
Fun (8)
Good for Groups (8)
Healthy (8)
Modern Decor (6)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Outstanding Value (5)
Special Occasion (5)
Happy Hour (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Family Style (4)
Quick Bite (4)
Romantic (3)
People Watching (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Authentic (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Great Beer (3)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Business Meals (1)
Organic (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Fireplace (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Tapas (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Seasonal (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Sort By:
S
907 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 4 hours ago

Love the drinks the food everyone is welcoming great spot to grab lunch and awesome for brunch.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Cozy, People Watching, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 19, 2017

It was for my friends birthday and she loved it so much. I had the pizza and it was amazing and a great price for the quality!

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 18, 2017

The cafeteria was excellent. I read the previous reviews and booked my table. The food was excellent and great service and very reasonable for the outstanding food.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 18, 2017

We went there for breakfast, very nice food and drinks, if you like burgers for brunch this is the place

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 12, 2017

The food is delicious and the atmosphere is great. Our waiter was very nice however not very attentive. A different person brought our food. He's was great as one on the girl spilled coffee on her sweater and he brought her some soda water. He also showed her the proper way to remove the stain. The waiter did not come check on us after our food was delivered. We needed a refill in our coffee and salt. We did ask for someone to send him over.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Modern Decor, Great for Brunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Great food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 3, 2017

I'm not that old, but I felt way too old for that scene. If you are 18-22 maybe this is the place for you, if you are a crazy hipster also might be the place for you. If you are a typical late 20's early 30's person probably a bit too much of a scene. The food was good, a bit overpriced for such simple fare but I can look past that. I cannot look past the level of work all the servers and patrons seem to put into everything they do. I was exhausted just looking at them all.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service2
value2

vip
 (New England)·Dined on February 26, 2017

We popped into Cafeteria for lunch and it was good but not great. Our waitress was really nice and the service was good but our bill was $65 ($78 with tip) for two sandwiches, two apps and one beer, which I thought was a little expensive. Maybe I'm just cheap but I thought it was too much to pay for lunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 26, 2017

My first time here was great!! The brunch menu was a perfect length; not too few options but not so many that you would get overwhelmed. The food was very good, maybe a little pricey for breakfast food but nothing I wouldn't pay for again! The decor is very comfortable but classy and staff was very friendly. Overall, would definitely recommend.

Tags: Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Cozy, Great for Lunch, Casual, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Cafeteria was so nice! the service was great, although the server did mistakenly describe the spaghetti bolognese dish. The server should've also explained that the shrimp sandwich was spicy, because my friend was unable to finish it due to the spiciness. The ambience was great, it was loud, but not so loud that I was unable to carry a conversation. The food was delicious and the portion sizes were hefty, so say the least (the lamb burger, could've used more flavor, though). The fries were a 10/10, absolutely delicious! They do offer salads, although with all the other options on the menu, hardly anyone would order a salad. Overall, the experience was great, and I would definitely return!

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Fun, Casual, People Watching, Family Style, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Authentic, Great for Brunch, Great Beer, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Overall a good experience but it was very busy and service was very slow.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Really awesome! The service was amazing and very friendly.

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Handcrafted Cocktails, Sunday Lunch, Healthy, Fun, Kid-friendly, Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Afternoon Tea, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Service was poor. Ordered a drink which had to be sent back because it tasted like saltwater. Not as good as it used to be.

Tags: Healthy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 18, 2017

This was great for a 19th birthday celebration with college friends.. lots of fun food ! The girls loved it!

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Kid-friendly, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Cafeteria used to be one of our favorite neighborhood grab dinner and relax places but this week after years of dining, they lost us

From the moment we sat down our waiter couldn't wait to get rid of us- and we're nice and tip well. Our food came out quickly but my Tuna burger was overdone. Before I finished the waiter had grabbed my plate. When we asked for coffee - 1 regular and 1 decaf, he said " we dont have decaf". Seriously ? But he did have our check handy. From entering to exiting we spent 35 minutes in the place.

I felt like I'd had fast food from the quality to the service. So disappointed

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Good food but too loud to have an easy conversation for a group of ten during dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Positives : Food, Service, Drinks - a decent brunch spot by Boston standards.

Negatives: We were seated in the lower level, and there was a odd smell permeating the entire room, smelled moldy in nature, and it was pretty clear the management knew about it, as they had room fresheners and candles burning. One member of my party used the rest rooms and said the smell was even worse in there. It took away from the experience, and I would be reluctant to eat there again unless I could be seated on the main floor (upstairs).

Tags: Great for Brunch, Bar Seating, Sunday Lunch, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service5
value3

vip
 (New England)·Dined on February 11, 2017

I went for brunch on a Saturday with my girlfriend. It was a good meal amd a great experience. She ended up getting the breakfast sandwich and I got the 3 eggs with sausage. It was really good just that for the price point it was a bit of a downer. Either way I'd still recommend it if you're ok with the brunch prices!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Went there on a Friday night with my GF and it didn't disappoint. The waiter was awesome, the food was great, and the cocktails were really good. Definitely one of our favorite places on Newbury

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 31, 2017

an incredible meal with 8 people. EVERYONE loved their food. service great too. only bad thing was the music- it was so cringworthy!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Wood Oven, Hot Spot, Good Vegetarian Options, Healthy, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Pricey, but nice atmosphere. Service was good, breakfast menu could use a few more options.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 22, 2017

The restaurant was very pleasant. We were seated promptly. Our waitress was very nice and very efficient. We were a party of six and our drinks arrived shortly after we ordered them. They were interesting/tasty but several of us felt they were a bit light on the alcohol. Our dinners also arrived just on time -- not too early and not too late. Everyone seemed to enjoy their food except for one person who ordered a salad of some kind which seemed to be significantly "heavy" with beets. We were all surprised by that. It was definitely overkill - even to her. Apart from that and the drinks, it was a very nice experience, and I would certainly go there again.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene, Happy Hour, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Stopped by for a quick bite on a Saturday afternoon. The food is always delicious and service is quick and this visit was no different. This is my favorite casual restaurant in Boston.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 16, 2017

The atmosphere and food are definitely great here. They have a good variety of options that is not too expensive. Their drinks are amazing.

Tags: Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 8, 2017

My daughter and I had Brunch here on a Sunday, food was very good and our waitress was nice enough, not overly friendly though.

We sat a table near to front door and it was very cold, we dined with our jackets around us which was not the best way to enjoy our food.

We will go back again when it's warmer and hopefully enjoy our food outside and people watch.

Tags: Modern Decor, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Enjoyed the food here. I had the turkey burger with the Parmesan fries which were outstanding. I also had the calamari which was well just right. My fiance and I have been to numerous places where it wasn't fried right or seasoned but here it was great. It had the perfect crunch but wasn't hard or burnt. My fiance had the macaroni and cheese with shrimp and crab meat which was pretty good as well. The macaroni and cheese could easily be served between two people which supplements the cost of it. The staff was welcoming and even called me before my arrival since the weather was bad and wanted to know if I was still coming. When I'm back in Boston, I will definitely be eating here.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 30, 2016

A great place for lunch on Newbury Street. Bright, cheery, and delicious food.

Tags: Modern Decor, Healthy, Outstanding Value, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Don't give me the butt of the bread please

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 18, 2016

I chose this place to bring my teen granddaughter before seeing a performance at Berklee. I thought a cafeteria-themed restaurant that touts itself as "tray" chic would be novel and I was interested to see how they would pull this off, however, there was nothing cafeteria themed about this place. Just a regular-looking city dining experience. The food was good, the view of Newbury Street was beautiful, everything else was average and priced quite high.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 12, 2016

The Burger was AWESOME and their Greek Salad is really good too! This was my second time here and I would definitely prefer to sit upstairs. I'm not sure if they were having a problem with one of the bathrooms but their was this strange septic smell that was wafting on the first floor. . . .

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Sat outside which was pleasant. Lamb burger was fine, greens okay. Mexican salad was also fine. Overall expensive and food unremarkable.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 5, 2016

We had a reservation for Saturday brunch. We were seated right away although beside a large party on a long table. There was no other available seat in the restaurant and there was a small plant on the table separating us from the large party. This was not ideal, but was also not the end of the world. The waitress was quick to take our drink order tea and an Americano, no spoons, coffee was horrible, but still not having a bad experience. We ordered eggs that come with toast as well as an additional side pancake. Order comes, toast for one of use (we shared) and no pancake. Waited for both toast and pancake, they came after we were done with our eggs and shared toast. Overall food was good, not great. Service could be more attentive.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

vip
 (New England)·Dined on October 26, 2016

While my past outdoor dining experience here was fine, this indoor experience was poor. There were flies everywhere and a bad smell.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Ate there for weekend breakfast. 2 breakfasts were served perfect Served sausage to 2 people that was completely spoiled. Very apologetic. One member of our party's order came out 15 minutes after everyone else and the pancakes were ice cold. Staff was nice but the entire place seemed disorganized. Not awful but can't really recommend as there are too many other good places to eat on Newbury/Boylston streets and I think this one is hit or miss

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Great casual spot with a solid menu or brunch classics with a classy twist

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Poor service(not our server's fault...he was very nice but trying to wait on our table of 7 and be the bartender), food that was fine but not outstanding. Place was kind of worn...chairs ripping. Would not go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 16, 2016

So, our server was a lovely person BUT if I ask for a spoon for my 4 year old's ice cream, a 15 minute TAT on getting that spoon is crazy. We were a party of 5 and we had to prompt her at every turn to clear our table of empty plates, glasses. For what we paid for drinks and dinner the service should have been better. Also, with the low ceilings, turn your music down - I could barely hear the person next to me speak.

Tags: People Watching, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Amazing food, great waiter, overall awesome experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 15, 2016

The staff was unaccomodating of our preferences. They gave a vegetarian a serving of bacon, didn't know how to make an omelette, and we sat waiting for a waiter for most of the meal to ask for hot sauce.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

vip
 (New England)·Dined on October 14, 2016

My wine was bad. My glass and knife were dirty. Our server was serving inside. It wasn't as busy as outside yet we could never find him. The food was terrible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.