About Cafe Zola

112 W Washington St
Ann Arbor, MI 48104-1325
View Larger Map

Café Zola is an independently owned and operated restaurant serving breakfast, lunch, and dinner in downtown Ann Arbor. Our menus are inspired by flavors and recipes borrowed from European and Mediterranean cultures and cuisine, including some Turkish recipes. We are committed to sourcing the freshest and highest quality ingredients available and supporting local businesses, farms, and suppliers. Café Zola’s seasonal menus emphasize organic and local produce, dairy, eggs, poultry, meat and seafood. Our full service bar features artisanal cocktails, happy hour specials, and a rotating wine selection chosen from various small production vineyards throughout the world. We accept reservations for parties of six or more for brunch on Saturday and Sunday. We accept reservations for groups of two or more for dinner and weekday brunch. We are also glad to accommodate large groups and special occasions. If you need a reservation for a large group or special event, please contact us directly.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Mediterranean, International

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Daily: 7:00am-4:00pm, egg service ends at 3:00pm
Dinner: Sunday-Thursday: 5:00pm-10:00pm, Friday-Saturday: 5:00pm-11:00pm
Happy Hour: Monday-Friday: 5:00pm-6:30pm, bar area only

Cross Street:
Main Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(734) 769-2020

Website:
http://www.cafezola.com/

Parking Details:
There are many locations to park nearby. Metered parking is available on the streets surrounding Cafe Zola. Parking is free on Sundays. The closest public lots are on West Washington between 4th Street and Main Street and on the corner of Ashley and West Washington.

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Cafe Zola Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.2

ambience

4.2

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Value
Ann Arbor
Best Restaurants in Ann Arbor ›

fit for foodies (27)
special occasion (18)
neighborhood gem (12)
See All
great for brunch (10)
romantic (9)
good for groups (8)
great for outdoor dining (8)
great for lunch (7)
hot spot (4)
notable wine list (2)
vibrant bar scene (2)
late-night find (1)
kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
140 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Service was very slow.

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined 3 days ago

Service was very slow.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1

Café Zola is a wonderful little place th ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined 7 days ago

Café Zola is a wonderful little place that provides a consistent level of food and service. Nothing over the top, but really solid food at a relatively reasonable price. Service is always very good, friendly, and courteous.

Tags: great for brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Food is very tasty and priced well

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

Food is very tasty and priced well

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food and drink were phenomenal as al ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

The food and drink were phenomenal as always. But the service leaves something to be desired

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

Delicious well prepared octopus and crab ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Delicious well prepared octopus and crab cakes followed our fresh oysters. Liked the Chardonnay as well. Lovely summer light meal on a very hot evening. Friendly good service. Only disappointment was they were out of tuna tartare, my first choice, but didn't mention it until I tried to order it. Managed to console myself with the lovely items they did have. One of our favorite downtown venues.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was a last minute find that was out ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

This was a last minute find that was outstanding. We did the fixed menu and were blown away by the flavors and only wished the portions were a little larger. Great staff who took excellent care of us.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Delicious food. Great service. Wonderful ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

Delicious food. Great service. Wonderful dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Went for Restaurant Week and everything ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

Went for Restaurant Week and everything was delicious. The drink menu was overpriced.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Moscow mule was good. Server got mis ord ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

Moscow mule was good. Server got mis order. She didnt know she got wrong order. And charged me the wrong order price. Ordered medium-rare but medium came out and when I sent it back, the same dish came out and cook said it is medium-rare. (I know the difference of two as cook lover) Server made me waiting such a long time for everything.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1

Never Disappoints

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on May 30, 2016

I've had great food and service every time I go to Cafe Zola.

Tags: great for brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Second Trip Even Better Than the First

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

We were very pleased with our first trip to Café Zola and the were even better this time. Can't wait to get back to see if they can top the first two trips.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value4

Always happy here

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

Always go here for good service and food. Hot tea is the best in town.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The filet with red wine and port glaze i ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on April 15, 2016

The filet with red wine and port glaze is excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food, fun place

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on April 14, 2016

Delicious food in downtown Ann Arbor. From the bread, compound butter and olives you receive at first, to cocktails, salads, entrees and tasty deserts, its a safe bet that you will have an enjoyable meal. Mediterranean inspired.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I very much enjoyed our f ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on April 14, 2016

My husband and I very much enjoyed our first visit to Cafe Zola for dinner. We shared one of the pear-arugula salads, which was nicely plated, simple, and delicious, then he had the Kobe burger and I had the salmon burger. Both fantastic. Wait service was friendly and attentive. Enjoyed the ambience/decor of the space, my sole complaint is that as we sat there the music seemed to get turned up several times, and conversations in the room got increasingly louder as people spoke over the music. It was unnecessarily loud and detracted from the otherwise lovely ambience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Pre-concert dinner

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on March 26, 2016

We started our meal with cocktails - I always like a place that serves the shaker with the drink. Our first courses were tasty (salads). We both really enjoyed our entrees (lamb and steak, both cooked properly) and came back after the concert to have dessert at the bar. Seems like a really reliable place - lots of "regulars". I'll definitely want to go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

First timers during lunch. Food was exce ...

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined on March 15, 2016

First timers during lunch. Food was excellent and our waitresses were pleasant. I give this a 4 star only because I had left my daughters baby bottle on the table and realized after I left. When I called 4 times so that I could pick it up nobody really knew where it was until the hostesses that was working the day I went hid it for me. Would have been efficient for them to leave it at the lost and found instead of getting the runaround a few times. Nonetheless, I will return to the restaurant and I'll try not to forget anything!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Last min. dinner on a weeknight. Pleasan ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on February 23, 2016

Last min. dinner on a weeknight. Pleasantly uncrowded with a nice wine list and a good vibe. Will keep it in mind when on that side of town.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Normally a very good experience at Cafe ...

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined on February 21, 2016

Normally a very good experience at Cafe Zola, but this Sat night was very busy and chaotic, likely understaffed that night so waitress was often delayed, and hostess seemed confused and overwhelmed. Food still very good. Chalk this up to a rough night but still one of our favorite places.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Great food! Great service!

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on February 18, 2016

I was celebrating my birthday with friends and had a splendid time. Not only was the food impeccable, the service was outstanding. I requested my favorite waitress and she of course treated us like royalty. If you want consistently great food and great service, I highly recommend Cafe Zola!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall food was very good for entrees. ...

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

Overall food was very good for entrees. Appetizers were small, sword fish and tuna were excellent. Only drawback was not having anyone even give us water for almost 30 minutes. After 20 minutes we finally got the staff's attention but it still took another 10 minutes for anyone to actually take a drink order and bring us water. We seemed to be lost in the mix as others who were seated after us were given much faster service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

DONT DO IT

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

cute place on the inside but by far the worst restaurant I've ever eaten at

Tags: notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Good food, slow service

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

We came on the Friday before Valentine's Day so very busy - we were seated, then asked to move so they could accommodate a 4 person party, then waited another 15 minutes before anyone stopped at our table. Our server was very nice and helpful after that, and perhaps they were short staffed? Food was good, the arugula/pear salad was very heavy vinegar , but the flat iron steak was delicious!! We will try again......

Tags: great for lunch, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Nice experiene

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

The only challenge we had with our evening was that although I booked our reservation through Open Table, when we arrived at the restaurant, they had NO record of it. They were able to seat us, even though it was a busy night, however, I don't understand what happened.

I had an email confirmation but it was not in their books. Service, dinner and experience were all good, we would go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice surprise

vip
 (Toronto)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

First time visiting in Ann Arbor. Great meal and wonderful service (thank you Heather).

Would definitely return when we pass thru again.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Unpleasant

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on February 6, 2016

My friends and I had an awful experience at Cafe Zola unfortunately. It was my friend's birthday and our rude waitress pointed out she gets a free crepe because it was her birthday. When it came time to pay she told my friend that it was not free because she did not order an entree. This was not made aware to us until after ordering this crepe. Our waitress did not applogize and made my friend pay full price. This was over all an unpleasant experience at Cafe Zola. So we left and went across the street to a restaurant called Mongolian Barbaque where we had a much better experience. I hope you talk my review into consideration when hiring/training your employees.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Normally great, but not this time.

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on February 6, 2016

I am a regular at Zola and love coming here for all meals. I am usually pretty happy with the service and the food is normally delicious. This visit for a late dinner was different. It look forever to have any one come to talk to us or bring water after being seated. We also had plates removed from the table before we were finished eating and the experience felt scattered and haphazard. It was not relaxing. It was not particularly busy at the time that we were eating 830-845p. It was a strange and disappointing experience for one of my favorite places.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

Extraordinary

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on January 22, 2016

Excellent for breakfast, lunch or dinner. And not just the typical menu either.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

They would not honor our open table rese ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on January 22, 2016

They would not honor our open table reservation and did not seat us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·

Great food, unique offferings

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on January 21, 2016

We haven't been to Cafe Zola's for years and went during Restaurant Week. The food was outstanding, our server was attentive but not intrusive and quite patient and good tempered given the place was over the top busy due to the RW specials. The acoustics aren't great and it was quite lively--for this reason I didn't mark it outstanding. If you want a quiet , intimate place or if people in your group do not hear well this would not be the place on a weekend night. Other than that the food was excellent and we will definitely put it on our list of places to revisit. Note: they do offer GF pasta but for someone who is vegan, gluten free and avoiding refined carbs there would be fewer offerings.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

We booked Cafe Zola for our group of 8 p ...

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined on January 20, 2016

We booked Cafe Zola for our group of 8 people and had a wonderful time. Great service and Great food.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

a change of opinion

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on January 19, 2016

Tried Café Zola's during restaurant week and was impressed with the selections . An interesting menu and very nice wine list. I experienced a brunch at this restaurant previously and was unimpressed but dinner won me over and I plan to return.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Saturday night dinner

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined on January 3, 2016

I need to start this review by stating that Cafe Zola is one of my favorite restaurants in Ann Arbor. Four of us headed out to dinner on Saturday. For the second couple it was their first time at Zola's. We had a reservation and arrived on time and were seated promptly. Although our waitress was fairly new and had a few stumbles she did an excellent job. We had no complaints with the food. All four of us cleared our plates. I had the duck confit and it was amazing. All the flavors and textures came together beautifully. Others enjoyed the hanger steak with equal enthusiasm.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Smile - its New Year's Eve

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on January 1, 2016

Cafe Zola's special NYE menu was different, and delicious. We loved the food, as we always do. The service, however, was so lack luster. Unfortunately, under-whelming, negative service is too often the case at Zola's, and totally unacceptable on a festive evening , like NYE. Better training for wait staff is clearly needed at Zola's, and we will be looking at other dining options for special occasions; its a drag to deal with negativity during a special meal.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

There were too many tables crammed in so ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on December 31, 2015

There were too many tables crammed in so it was very tight. We waited an hour for our food. Both meals arrived cold with a "sorry for your wait". Mine tasted okay but my wife's swordfish was undercooked and had a fishy taste. We were offered a free dessert.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

Creative and perfectly spiced dishes. Be ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on December 6, 2015

Creative and perfectly spiced dishes. Best calamari ever and great drinks

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

Parent Weekend Dinner

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on November 8, 2015

We were visiting our child for University of Michigan's parent weekend. I had made the reservation a few weeks prior to our visit and was only able to get a 9PM reservation. I was skeptical about eating so late as I thought we may have to wait for our table, but much to my delight we were seating within 10 minutes of our reservation. The service was excellent as was the food. We will be back

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Great food, too bad you feel like a sardine!

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on October 24, 2015

Our table for 5 was placed in such a way that we could not access the back of it without having the patrons of the table next to us stand up and move out of the way to let us sit down. This non-sense not only affected us, but also others. So rude!

Once settled, our waitress could not access the back seats. We had to reach for our plates and grab them out of her hands. Once again, this is completely unacceptable.

When we mentioned all this to her, she said the restaurant was not even that busy, and that it feels even more crammed during important weekends, such as Homecoming, etc.

Again, the food was great, but the layout and noise level completely ruined our dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service3

a true happy meal

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on October 17, 2015

We celebrated my husband's birthday at Zola's this past Saturday. As usual, the food was excellent. We sat in the quietest spot, so was not disturbed by the conversation of other diners. The soundproofing that seemed recent probably helps with the noise. While the chef has always been accommodating to my dietary restrictions (no dairy and vegetarian), I would appreciate other non-dairy vegetarian offerings on the menu than currently exist. Just a thought.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Hostess attitude and service an opportunity

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined on October 16, 2015

We arrived early for a 6:30 dinner reservation, about 5:30 to enjoy happy hour drinks and oysters. The hostess had written our name on a small table at the door, as they get busy this becomes cold and congested with customers waiting to be seated. The hostess had written our name on a vinyl sheet with a table assigned and was not going to budge on where we could sit. We finally decided we would just set at the bar for happy hour and wait to be seated. There were only four tables being used at the time, so it would appear to have lots of seating options.

The hostess glared at us several times and never smiled or tried to make it work out for us.

There are lots of great dining options in Ann Arbor. Cafe Zola has always been a favorite because of the great food, but we may or may not go back. Eve's is opening this month giving us another great option.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.