Cafe Zola

4.5
337 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Contemporary American
Top Tags:
  • Creative Cuisine
  • Great for Brunch
  • Fit for Foodies
Café Zola is an independently owned and operated restaurant serving breakfast, lunch, and dinner in downtown Ann Arbor. Our menus are inspired by flavors and recipes borrowed from European and Mediterranean cultures and cuisine, including some Turkish recipes. We are committed to sourcing the freshest and highest quality ingredients available and supporting local businesses, farms, and suppliers. Café Zola’s seasonal menus emphasize organic and local produce, dairy, eggs, poultry, meat and seafood. Our full service bar features artisanal cocktails, happy hour specials, and a rotating wine selection chosen from various small production vineyards throughout the world. We accept reservations for parties of six or more for brunch on Saturday and Sunday. We accept reservations for groups of two or more for dinner and weekday brunch. We are also glad to accommodate large groups and special occasions. If you need a reservation for a large group or special event, please contact us directly.
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Contemporary American, Mediterranean, International
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Brunch
Daily 7:00 am–4:00 pm
Happy Hour
Daily 4:00 pm–6:00 pm
Dinner
Daily 5:00 pm–10:00 pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(734) 769-2020
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Main Street
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
There are many locations to park nearby. Metered parking is available on the streets surrounding Cafe Zola. Parking is free on Sundays. The closest public lots are on West Washington between 4th Street and Main Street and on the corner of Ashley and West Washington.
Additional
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 337 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.5based on recent ratings
4.5
food
4.3
service
4.4
ambience
4.0
value
Noise · Moderate
86% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
4.0Dined 5 days ago

Cafe Zola was great - we really enjoyed the food and the server was super nice to our two little kids. Thanks!

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined 6 days ago

Having eaten at and greatly enjoyed Cafe Zola a number of times over the years, my group was quite disappointed in the menu choices when we patronized the restaurant on June 16, 2018.
We walked in with a reservation for 4 at 6:00pm on a Saturday. The majority of empty tables sent up the first red flag. After being seated and looking over the menu - none of the four of us could actually say that anything sounded good enough to order - which was quite surprising, considering that we've always had fabulous meals in the past.
Our wait person was lovely and understanding when we decided not to stay. Sorry Cafe Zola - with an abundance of other great restaurants in Ann Arbor - we won't be coming back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 16, 2018

Food was very good, great special for shareable plates.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on June 15, 2018

My espresso beverage was delicious. Had whipped cream and orange zest.

However, I got the shakshuka and it was just some sautéed red and yellow peppers with two poached eggs placed on top. It was nontraditional and not what I was expecting. Quite pricey for what it was and bland as it was just peppers with minimal seasoning.

Other food I have gotten here has been great. Just don’t get the shakshuka.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on June 13, 2018

My friends and I went for their restaurant week special. I admit the special was of great value (two appetizers and an entree item for $28!) but all the food was just good. I got the half chicken. It was pretty tasty but the chicken was laying on the mashed potatoes. I thought that was odd. We basically had to yell to hear each other across the table. The service was pretty good considering how busy it was. Overall it was a good experience, but it was just “good”. The regular menu certainly seems a bit pricey for what you get and the taste, but the inside decor is fun and creates a fun and new atmosphere. If you are looking for fine dining with exceptional dinner, this is not the place. If you are looking for a nice date night location with a variety of food options, this is the place if you are feeling adventurous.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 9, 2018

Had a very enjoyable meal and great service. Love the Jalapeño martinis!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 8, 2018

I had boycotted Cafe Zola for too many years, and what a mistake. The food was fabulous!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 8, 2018

Wonderful place for breakfast. Lots of great choices and excellent service. A place to “see and be seen.”

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 5, 2018

Usually go to Zola for brunch or lunch, not dinner. But they do an amazing job at dinner, also. Love the cozy atmosphere, great service and creative food choices. Zola really knows how to marry flavors well

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 25, 2018

Great place. But cramped and loud

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 25, 2018

Always fun and upbeat. The food has a mediteranian twist that keeps the entrees fresh and different.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 20, 2018

We celebrated my Birthday here and had a wonderful meal. It was my first choice of where to go.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 16, 2018

We have always had excellent, creative food and service at Cafe Zola. It is one of our "go to" places when we want to go out or bring friends when they come into town. The owners are wonderful and often there. We have never had a bad experience.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Cafe Zola has a diverse menu so there is something for just about everyone. While popular for brunch it also makes a good evening venue. The food is consistently good as are the cocktails. Beer is bottled only but the wine list is good. It's close to the Ashley parking lot which is convenient.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Cafe Zola is always a sure thing for good food and drinks. My only caution can be the noise level and seating on busy holidays can be way to tight.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Fabulous! Great server and food

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Mother’s Day

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 11, 2018

The service is always excellent and the food never disappoints. The seafood is very good and the lamb chops are excellent.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 10, 2018

Zola's was my pic for my birthday dinner and the food was delicious, the server was pleasant and tuned in, and it was quiet enough to talk.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 1, 2018

The food was great but the server seemed to be over scheduled because we ran out of water several times and I ordered a glass of wine before my main arrived but I didn’t get it until I was almost finished eating. And the place was pretty empty because it was early on a Tuesday night so I expected service to be better. But overall Zola’s is always good and one of our main go-to restaurants.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 26, 2018

Graduahion

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 23, 2018

Cafe Zola in downtown Ann Arbor is one of my favorite restaurants. The staff is lovely, the environment beautiful, and they are happy to make any of their pasta dishes with gluten free pasta. I especially like the spicy chianti sauce. I admit the menu is somewhat limited and the price tag can be high, but this is high quality, tasty dining in Ann Arbor, and so, worth it.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 22, 2018

Food and drink are always fantastic here; we weren't able to make it in for Sunday Brunch (if you haven't been, you must go!), so we had a great dinner instead. I'm not really a Vegetarian, but can eat that way, so I had one of their dinner specials of tofu, chile sauce, etc. It was great. Briana was our server, whom we've had before--she's an awesome person! She takes great care of you--friendly, attentive, and great menu advice! Will return again, soon!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 22, 2018

I loved the expanded menu and the fact that this place is now on Open Table, as they did not used to accept reservations except for large parties.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 21, 2018

Can’t say enough good things about this Ann Arbor gem. We had not been here in a couple years and it is better than ever. Start to finish the food and service was awesome. We had 4 people and it’s not often that we all agree!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 13, 2018

Great place, cozy yet vibrant atmosphere, great food. Make sure to get there early as it’s always packed, even with a res. Also great for a Sunday brunch

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 7, 2018

Unfortunately, I have a mixed review about Cafe Zola. In our party of 4, one diner was unable to eat her pasta because of the overbearing and off-putting lemon taste. I mentioned this to the waitress who then brought it to the attention of the chef. His response was curious, he said it is intended to be that way. So my response is that I will not eat there again nor will I recommend the restaurant. I love Ann Arbor and it’s eclectic restaurants. I also love trying new food. However, when a chef refuses to put his customers first, he loses my business.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 1, 2018

I went with my five best friends at school for Easter brunch. It was a great experience everybody enjoyed their meals.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 30, 2018

Loved this restaurant. Our server was amazing. We all had a great dinner and drinks.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 24, 2018

Very good!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 24, 2018

Best in town

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 18, 2018

Our waiter was fantastic and the food was great but even with a reservation we had to wait 30 minutes and the hostess was rude and unhelpful.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on March 17, 2018

The mixed drinks were horrible. Very watered down.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 15, 2018

Amazing food! It delivers every time!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 15, 2018

The menu at Café Zola is a delight. Unfortunately, we were there during the March Madness basketball tournament which resulted in a very crowded, noisy restaurant with slower than usual service.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 11, 2018

Seats too close together

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 4, 2018

We have dined here many times over the years. The food is always tasty. The service has improved. One risk is that things can be more done than you asked for. You really need to be explicit about what rare, medium etc means to the kitchen. That goes for eggs at breakfast & lunch as well as meat and fish.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 24, 2018

We had a wonderful meal. The service was mediocre. We will definitely be dining there again in the near future.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 23, 2018

Very quiet for a Friday night. They didn't have the scotch or the wine my husband ordered which seemed a bit odd. The food was good, waitstaff very attentive without being overbearing.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on February 18, 2018

Not a great idea to go for Sunday Brunch. Even though we had a table booked people were filling the sidewalk outside and it was impossible to get inside the door. Eventually we did and after 20mins of waiting we decided to leave. So we never did get to have brunch. Its great that its popular but if you have a booking you expect to be able to get a table. Not watch other people take table after table.

I do like this place but this experience was poor. It was also noticeable that the tables seem far more packed together than they used to be. Also the hostess was anything but urgent or reassuring that there was some kind of system to manage the popularity.

I will go back for lunch and dinner as I have done before. Probably not Sunday brunch though.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
9