Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.09mi
  4. Distance: 0.26mi
  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.09mi
  4. Distance: 0.26mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.09mi
  4. Distance: 0.26mi
  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.09mi
  4. Distance: 0.26mi

About Cafe Zola

Café Zola is an independently owned and operated restaurant serving breakfast, lunch, and dinner in downtown Ann Arbor. Our menus are inspired by flavors and recipes borrowed from European and Mediterranean cultures and cuisine, including some Turkish recipes. We are committed to sourcing the freshest and highest quality ingredients available and supporting local businesses, farms, and suppliers. Café Zola’s seasonal menus emphasize organic and local produce, dairy, eggs, poultry, meat and seafood. Our full service bar features artisanal cocktails, happy hour specials, and a rotating wine selection chosen from various small production vineyards throughout the world. We accept reservations for parties of six or more for brunch on Saturday and Sunday. We accept reservations for groups of two or more for dinner and weekday brunch. We are also glad to accommodate large groups and special occasions. If you need a reservation for a large group or special event, please contact us directly.

112 W Washington St
Ann Arbor, MI 48104-1325
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Mediterranean, International

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Daily: 7:00am-4:00pm, egg service ends at 3:00pm
Dinner: Sunday-Thursday: 5:00pm-10:00pm, Friday-Saturday: 5:00pm-11:00pm
Happy Hour: Monday-Friday: 5:00pm-6:30pm, bar area only

Cross Street:
Main Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(734) 769-2020

Website:
http://www.cafezola.com/

Parking Details:
There are many locations to park nearby. Metered parking is available on the streets surrounding Cafe Zola. Parking is free on Sundays. The closest public lots are on West Washington between 4th Street and Main Street and on the corner of Ashley and West Washington.

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Cafe Zola Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.2

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (11)
Creative Cuisine (10)
Special Occasion (10)
See All
Casual (8)
Local Ingredients (7)
Good for Anniversaries (7)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Notable Wine List (4)
Great for Lunch (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Business Meals (3)
Seasonal (3)
Authentic (3)
Hot Spot (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Tapas (2)
Romantic (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
People Watching (2)
Fun (2)
Cozy (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Scenic View (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Vegan (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Sort By:
S
235 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined on August 11, 2017

Came to Zola Cafe after attending a gallery show opening. It was perfect. We all made dinner of several wonderful small plates--plenty of great food and all enjoyed the variety of tastes.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 10, 2017

We enjoyed our dinner at Cafe Zola, which we selected tonight specifically to support the management's principled stance in refusing to allow ICE to search the premises without a warrant. Thank you for being a welcoming and courageous presence in our community.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Tapas, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Server was fantastic. Attentive, but unobtrusive. The food was excellent as always, and the bartender knew what he was doing. Overall, I can't recommend Cafe Zola enough.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 4, 2017

Still feel this is best restaurant in Ann Arbor. We recently had great brunch and an excellent dinner.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Authentic, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 4, 2017

Our server was professional and friendly. We had specialty cocktails of the day, both good. Order the fried chickpeas, they are delicious. The grilled pear arugula salad was also great.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on August 3, 2017

My wife and I really enjoyed our dinner at Cafe Zola. Service was excellent . Hope to come back soon

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 30, 2017

Great dinner, tasty hot herbal tea pot served with hot cups, great service.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 29, 2017

After having many excellent meals here, we wound up with a real clunker. Two of us ordered the special Moroccan short ribs. They were all things short ribs shouldn't be: dry, tough, cold and tasteless. Kindly, they took them off the bill. On the other hand, the swordfish and smoked salmon were quite good. The espresso was terrible. And they have added a table that's way too close to the door which must violate the fire code. Hopefully management will pay more attention next time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service5
value2

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on July 21, 2017

Great food. Our Art Fair guests really liked it. We ordered a bottle of Pinot Grigio for the table. Very nice recommendation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 28, 2017

We love this place. Everything here is absolutely amazing.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 25, 2017

I brought 7 people with me who have not been to Café Zola and they all were impressed and enjoyed the food. The waiter was very good, brought olives and bread to the table to hold us over until our food came. a little slow getting our entree's but were able to make theatre in time!

Tags: Vegan, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Love Zola for Breakfast. Dinner was not outstanding just OK Saturday night. We'll be back

Tags: Authentic, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 21, 2017

A great night sitting outside in Ann Arbor. Food was fun and service was outstanding. A must dine experience.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 19, 2017

Beautiful restaurant and food was very creative and tasty. Would highly recommend to everyone.

Tags: Quick Bite, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Afternoon Tea, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 16, 2017

The restaurant week menu was outstanding for this foursome. 2 appetizers (so eight total) and main dishes were gourmet tasty with a variety to pick from for both those in our group who prefer meat and those who prefer vegetables/items from the sea. In particular the lamb kofte and chops were perfect. The goat cheese with figs and spread and shakshukka (spelling?) were highlights. Very good service for this crowded busy night, too.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good Vegetarian Options, People Watching, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 16, 2017

The appetizers were amazing : the calamari and the corn with coconut and chili. But the steak dinner was over done. The medium rare was medium well. I sent it back, but even the second time the flavor wasn't very good.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 14, 2017

Best Father's day meal in a long time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 14, 2017

We had an excellent, creative dinner with attentive staff. Wine was pricey but good.

Tags: Tapas, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Great variety, Great food, Great Wine! We had a fabulous dinner (party of 6 for a birthday)

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on June 10, 2017

The food was good however the server was perhaps new. The second we sat down she asked us already what we wanted to eat, however we hadn't even received our waters or picked up our menus. After bringing us the water she asked us right away again. We told her we needed more time, I felt rushed. When we did decide and ordered, even though we were two people and the restaurant was empty, we were there over an hour. Our meals were easy, 20 min for goat cheese starter albeit tasty, is a long time when they're dead quiet. Would go back again for food, perhaps not for service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 25, 2017

A burger ordered medium, should come medium. We all ordered medium burgers, we all got burgers well done. In a bit of a rush and didn't want to wait for reorder. Disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 16, 2017

As always the cocktails and the food were excellent. Love their Penne and the green salad with pear. Also love that they will split dishes for you! Not inexpensive but definitely excellent!

Tags: Afternoon Tea, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 1, 2017

While the food was good, as always...service was slower than usual. But what surprised me the most was I made a point of mentioning the fact we were celebrating my daughter's 13th birthday when I made the reservation. She picked the restaurant. No one, not the hostess or the server, took the time to wish her a happy birthday. I didn't need anyone to make a big deal about it, but a kind comment would have gone a long way.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Great food esp the chicken and pasta / meatballs. Calamari appetizers was just right - lightly battered and the sauce was terrific

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 27, 2017

Graduation
Server was wonderful! Great smile

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 27, 2017

Only real complaint was that we had to wait ONE HOUR past our reservation time to be seated.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Not really any positives. With a reservation still a 20 minute wait for a table. Then after
seating the staff rushed the meal. Food was all spicey, indicative of cooks who don't know
how to cook except to throw hot spices on everything. Worst was the din; the noise just
reverberates around the room such that conversation is very difficult. Best part was
leaving, putting a bad experience behind us, never to return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value2

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 22, 2017

We always thoroughly enjoy Cafe Zola! It has become one of our new favorite places to eat in Ann Arbor. We took our son & daughter-in-law with us this time and they both totally enjoyed everything they ate as well and will return.

Tags: People Watching, Fun, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 19, 2017

We enjoy this restaurant. Good Service, good food.

I always book my boss a reservation here.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Consistently have great meals at Zola's and enjoy it every time.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Wonderful experience. The food was great and the service was simply superb. We felt welcome and we're well taken care of.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 10, 2017

Kim, the bartender, was fantastic and interesting. Everyone loved the food, wine and ambiance. Highly recommend for dinner

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Our reservation was half an hour late to start. Then we were sat through a back door because too many people crowded around the front. Once sat it took over 20 minutes to get the attention of someone, which ended up being going to the hostess stand and stating that we had been seated for over 15 minutes and no one had come to take our drink order or bring us water. My friend broke her martini glass, while still full, and no one came to help clean up the glass or the liquid that was about to pour on her dress. We had to flag the manager down for help and still, all they did was replace the martini, not clean up the wet mess or glass that was spreading on our table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Busy Saturday night during the Film Festival but we had reservations and managed to get seated in a mostly timely manner. The cocktails are excellent (did the special berry martini and last time in had their special persimmon martini that was amazing!). Everyone loved the oysters and calamari. The wedge salad was delicious and so creamy!! Pasta is always an excellent choice (spaghetti and meatballs for my kiddo and penne with sausage for me) but they do a great job with the seafood too (Think a type of whole Bass cooked in parchment, which takes longer to cook (as we were warned) looked lovely). Husband had the special Korean beef which was wonderful as well. Wish we had room for dessert! Will definitely be back again

Tags: Seasonal, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Had a reservation and were seated immediately, although in the bar area, which turned out to be quieter than in the main dining room, which quickly filled up by 6:30. Food was really good with good-sized portions. One thing I've always loved about Zola--both Cafe and Bistro--is that when you order a cocktail, the shaker is left on the table. It's like having 2 drinks for the price of one.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 19, 2017

We visited Cafe Zola to celebrate our son's birthday. Dinner was delicious and relaxing. Usually we eat here for brunch or lunch and really enjoy it. For dinner, the restaurant adds candlelight and relaxing music with a great menu.

Tags: Healthy, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 18, 2017

I took friends who enjoy sharing small plates and that is how we ordered. One of my pet peeves with restaurants that do small plates (or if we tell the wait staff that we are sharing) is when they do not bring utensils for the dishes that we are sharing. Also, we specifically mentioned we wanted our items to come out staggered but instead everything arrived at once and the table was crowded and some items that should have been hot were cold. Everything tasted great but it lessons the dining experience when you get rushed through a meal or have to keep asking for things.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 9, 2017

The bread is fantastic but they were out of it that night, BOO! Love the Miro sea bass, they were out of it! BOO! The cocktails are fantastic, took forever to get them, BOO!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Very good menu. Great for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Also, good wine selection.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 22, 2017

We had dinner with our team here and had a wonderful dining experience.

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.