Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.09mi
  4. Distance: 0.26mi
  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.09mi
  4. Distance: 0.26mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.09mi
  4. Distance: 0.26mi
  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.09mi
  4. Distance: 0.26mi

About Cafe Zola

Café Zola is an independently owned and operated restaurant serving breakfast, lunch, and dinner in downtown Ann Arbor. Our menus are inspired by flavors and recipes borrowed from European and Mediterranean cultures and cuisine, including some Turkish recipes. We are committed to sourcing the freshest and highest quality ingredients available and supporting local businesses, farms, and suppliers. Café Zola’s seasonal menus emphasize organic and local produce, dairy, eggs, poultry, meat and seafood. Our full service bar features artisanal cocktails, happy hour specials, and a rotating wine selection chosen from various small production vineyards throughout the world. We accept reservations for parties of six or more for brunch on Saturday and Sunday. We accept reservations for groups of two or more for dinner and weekday brunch. We are also glad to accommodate large groups and special occasions. If you need a reservation for a large group or special event, please contact us directly.

112 W Washington St
Ann Arbor, MI 48104-1325
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Mediterranean, International

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Daily: 7:00am-4:00pm, egg service ends at 3:00pm
Dinner: Sunday-Thursday: 5:00pm-10:00pm, Friday-Saturday: 5:00pm-11:00pm
Happy Hour: Monday-Friday: 5:00pm-6:30pm, bar area only

Cross Street:
Main Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(734) 769-2020

Website:
http://www.cafezola.com/

Parking Details:
There are many locations to park nearby. Metered parking is available on the streets surrounding Cafe Zola. Parking is free on Sundays. The closest public lots are on West Washington between 4th Street and Main Street and on the corner of Ashley and West Washington.

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Cafe Zola Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.2

ambience

4.2

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (12)
Fit for Foodies (11)
Creative Cuisine (8)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Worth the Drive (8)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Special Occasion (6)
Cozy (5)
Casual (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Great for Brunch (5)
Bar Seating (4)
People Watching (4)
Fun (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Notable Wine List (4)
Good for Anniversaries (4)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Late-night Find (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Authentic (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Romantic (2)
Business Meals (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Healthy (1)
Seasonal (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Tapas (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Scenic View (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Sort By:
S
214 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 16, 2017

As always the cocktails and the food were excellent. Love their Penne and the green salad with pear. Also love that they will split dishes for you! Not inexpensive but definitely excellent!

Tags: Afternoon Tea, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 1, 2017

While the food was good, as always...service was slower than usual. But what surprised me the most was I made a point of mentioning the fact we were celebrating my daughter's 13th birthday when I made the reservation. She picked the restaurant. No one, not the hostess or the server, took the time to wish her a happy birthday. I didn't need anyone to make a big deal about it, but a kind comment would have gone a long way.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Great food esp the chicken and pasta / meatballs. Calamari appetizers was just right - lightly battered and the sauce was terrific

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Graduation
Server was wonderful! Great smile

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Only real complaint was that we had to wait ONE HOUR past our reservation time to be seated.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Not really any positives. With a reservation still a 20 minute wait for a table. Then after
seating the staff rushed the meal. Food was all spicey, indicative of cooks who don't know
how to cook except to throw hot spices on everything. Worst was the din; the noise just
reverberates around the room such that conversation is very difficult. Best part was
leaving, putting a bad experience behind us, never to return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value2

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 22, 2017

We always thoroughly enjoy Cafe Zola! It has become one of our new favorite places to eat in Ann Arbor. We took our son & daughter-in-law with us this time and they both totally enjoyed everything they ate as well and will return.

Tags: People Watching, Fun, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 19, 2017

We enjoy this restaurant. Good Service, good food.

I always book my boss a reservation here.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Consistently have great meals at Zola's and enjoy it every time.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Wonderful experience. The food was great and the service was simply superb. We felt welcome and we're well taken care of.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 11, 2017

Kim, the bartender, was fantastic and interesting. Everyone loved the food, wine and ambiance. Highly recommend for dinner

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Our reservation was half an hour late to start. Then we were sat through a back door because too many people crowded around the front. Once sat it took over 20 minutes to get the attention of someone, which ended up being going to the hostess stand and stating that we had been seated for over 15 minutes and no one had come to take our drink order or bring us water. My friend broke her martini glass, while still full, and no one came to help clean up the glass or the liquid that was about to pour on her dress. We had to flag the manager down for help and still, all they did was replace the martini, not clean up the wet mess or glass that was spreading on our table.

Tags: Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Busy Saturday night during the Film Festival but we had reservations and managed to get seated in a mostly timely manner. The cocktails are excellent (did the special berry martini and last time in had their special persimmon martini that was amazing!). Everyone loved the oysters and calamari. The wedge salad was delicious and so creamy!! Pasta is always an excellent choice (spaghetti and meatballs for my kiddo and penne with sausage for me) but they do a great job with the seafood too (Think a type of whole Bass cooked in parchment, which takes longer to cook (as we were warned) looked lovely). Husband had the special Korean beef which was wonderful as well. Wish we had room for dessert! Will definitely be back again

Tags: Seasonal, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Had a reservation and were seated immediately, although in the bar area, which turned out to be quieter than in the main dining room, which quickly filled up by 6:30. Food was really good with good-sized portions. One thing I've always loved about Zola--both Cafe and Bistro--is that when you order a cocktail, the shaker is left on the table. It's like having 2 drinks for the price of one.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 19, 2017

We visited Cafe Zola to celebrate our son's birthday. Dinner was delicious and relaxing. Usually we eat here for brunch or lunch and really enjoy it. For dinner, the restaurant adds candlelight and relaxing music with a great menu.

Tags: Healthy, Modern Decor, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 18, 2017

I took friends who enjoy sharing small plates and that is how we ordered. One of my pet peeves with restaurants that do small plates (or if we tell the wait staff that we are sharing) is when they do not bring utensils for the dishes that we are sharing. Also, we specifically mentioned we wanted our items to come out staggered but instead everything arrived at once and the table was crowded and some items that should have been hot were cold. Everything tasted great but it lessons the dining experience when you get rushed through a meal or have to keep asking for things.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 10, 2017

The bread is fantastic but they were out of it that night, BOO! Love the Miro sea bass, they were out of it! BOO! The cocktails are fantastic, took forever to get them, BOO!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Very good menu. Great for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Also, good wine selection.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 23, 2017

We had dinner with our team here and had a wonderful dining experience.

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Made a reservation for 7:30, we were still waiting for a table at 8:15, this restaurant just lost four possible customers for life, don't take a reservation that you can't keep...ruined our evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We had a reservation for three and showed up on time. Our reservation was found and we were told the table would be 'ready in just a minute'. 50 minutes later we left hungry... We were never seated. What is the point of a reservation if it is not honored???

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value1

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 11, 2017

My wife and I each ordered the steak special. Mine was extremely tough and flavorless, I should have sent it back but I've never done that before, so didn't. My wife said hers was very good. When we were seated right next to the bar, we asked for a table further in and were given one, but told we'd have to be done by 8:00 if we sat there. We were done before then, but it set a poor tone for the evening, particularly when it was clear as it got close to 8:00 that there were plenty of open tables. Café Zola has been one of our favorite places, but I'll think twice about it next time because of this experience.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (New England)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Great place. I've been there for brunch twice and dinner twice and everything has always been great.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Excellent food once again! My favorite place to visit in Ann Arbor.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Fabulous food, outstanding dishes and presentation. A real find.

Tags: Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 21, 2017

I have had brunch here before and loved it. This was my first time dining there for dinner. I was disappointed in the amount of food for the price. I know it is locally sourced but a salad for $12 that is only enough lettuce to be considered a side salad and 3 nuts is a little high in my opinion. Great food but a little too pricey.

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Went for Restaurant Week, and had a great time at a restaurant I've never been to. I got the Lobster Americaine, and it was prepared phenomenally.

Tags: Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 19, 2017

Very loud and very, very crowded. I reserved a table for five which they gave us a table for four with a chair on the end. Luckily, the fifth person was a baby and just needed the highchair. Otherwise, it would have been very cramped with five adults. Service was ok. Tables that were sat after us got served and greeted first. I had to ask another waitress over to send our waitress to the table. We really like Cafe Zola and intend to come back, but not during restaurant week.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service3
value3

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 18, 2017

Very delicious food. the portions are small but oh so good.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 18, 2017

Always excellent. Sophisticated yet casual. The best coffee in town and the food is international.

Tags: Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Afternoon Tea, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Modern Decor, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Afternoon Coffee, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 17, 2017

Every course was delicious and fresh. Because it was restaurant week, it felt like we were sitting on top of each other. Besides that it was a nice and cozy date.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Great Beer, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 17, 2017

The service was fantastic and prompt, and the ambiance was just right. The food was a bit of a let-down, though--blood orange salad was delicious, but dates had too much balsamic vinegar and not enough fontina, and the duck was tough, and didn't have enough sauce.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 16, 2017

We went to Cafe Zola during restaurant week so it was packed but the service was still excellent!! The food was amazing, really recommend the dates and the calamari! Will definitely be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Overall the food was delicious and well worth the Restaurant Week price! My only concern was that the starters came out for our table at completely different times, and one even came with the main course. Understandable though due to the craziness of Restaurant Week. The mussels, shrimp, and calamari starters were absolutely wonderful along with the lobster tail main dish!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 14, 2017

We enjoyed the selection options and the ones we chose were all delicious!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fun, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 14, 2017

The food was delicious, the only 2 issues we had while dining at Cafe Zola, is that there was a long break between our appetizers and our entrees. The server kept coming out and saying that it would be out in a a few minutes but it took a long time. They apologized and offered something for free, but she misunderstood what we asked for and just brought us tomatoes...The other issue was that we were seated by the door and it was VERY cold every time someone came in. I would still highly recommend this restaurant for a date night, it was just what my husband and I needed.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Reservation was swift, seating was fine considering it was new years eve. The food was, as always, great, and the server was awesome.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Silk or favorite spot in Ann Arbor.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 25, 2016

We had a wonderful Christmas Eve dinner. The restaurant was full and busy but not overly crowded. My husband and I both ordered off he specials menu. I had the blackberry duck which was delicious. Where did they find the pea shoots at this time of year? My husband had the short ribs and was very happy. Always a good meal at Zola's.

Tags: Romantic, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Although I've lived in Ann Arbor since way before Cafe Zola opened, I'd never been. Went there to celebrate my birthday with my husband. Cold night but very cozy ambiance. Great big band music not played too loud. Interesting and delicious craft cocktails. Lots of amazing small plates we shared. Wish we could have ordered more and will be going back to sample other options. Our wait person was perfect, sweet, efficient, not intrusive, helpful, etc. A new favorite.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.