Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.09mi
  4. Distance: 0.26mi
  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.09mi
  4. Distance: 0.26mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.09mi
  4. Distance: 0.26mi
  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.09mi
  4. Distance: 0.26mi

About Cafe Zola

Café Zola is an independently owned and operated restaurant serving breakfast, lunch, and dinner in downtown Ann Arbor. Our menus are inspired by flavors and recipes borrowed from European and Mediterranean cultures and cuisine, including some Turkish recipes. We are committed to sourcing the freshest and highest quality ingredients available and supporting local businesses, farms, and suppliers. Café Zola’s seasonal menus emphasize organic and local produce, dairy, eggs, poultry, meat and seafood. Our full service bar features artisanal cocktails, happy hour specials, and a rotating wine selection chosen from various small production vineyards throughout the world. We accept reservations for parties of six or more for brunch on Saturday and Sunday. We accept reservations for groups of two or more for dinner and weekday brunch. We are also glad to accommodate large groups and special occasions. If you need a reservation for a large group or special event, please contact us directly.

112 W Washington St
Ann Arbor, MI 48104-1325
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Mediterranean, International

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Daily: 7:00am-4:00pm, egg service ends at 3:00pm
Dinner: Sunday-Thursday: 5:00pm-10:00pm, Friday-Saturday: 5:00pm-11:00pm
Happy Hour: Monday-Friday: 5:00pm-6:30pm, bar area only

Cross Street:
Main Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(734) 769-2020

Website:
http://www.cafezola.com/

Parking Details:
There are many locations to park nearby. Metered parking is available on the streets surrounding Cafe Zola. Parking is free on Sundays. The closest public lots are on West Washington between 4th Street and Main Street and on the corner of Ashley and West Washington.

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Cafe Zola Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.2

ambience

4.2

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (15)
Good for a Date (15)
Creative Cuisine (11)
See All
Good for Birthdays (9)
Special Occasion (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Great for Brunch (7)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Casual (6)
Cozy (6)
Good for Groups (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Authentic (4)
Romantic (4)
Fun (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Notable Wine List (4)
Bar Seating (3)
People Watching (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Healthy (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Comfort Food (2)
Tapas (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Great Beer (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Seasonal (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Sort By:
S
200 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

We visited Cafe Zola to celebrate our son's birthday. Dinner was delicious and relaxing. Usually we eat here for brunch or lunch and really enjoy it. For dinner, the restaurant adds candlelight and relaxing music with a great menu.

Tags: Healthy, Modern Decor, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 18, 2017

I took friends who enjoy sharing small plates and that is how we ordered. One of my pet peeves with restaurants that do small plates (or if we tell the wait staff that we are sharing) is when they do not bring utensils for the dishes that we are sharing. Also, we specifically mentioned we wanted our items to come out staggered but instead everything arrived at once and the table was crowded and some items that should have been hot were cold. Everything tasted great but it lessons the dining experience when you get rushed through a meal or have to keep asking for things.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 10, 2017

The bread is fantastic but they were out of it that night, BOO! Love the Miro sea bass, they were out of it! BOO! The cocktails are fantastic, took forever to get them, BOO!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Very good menu. Great for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Also, good wine selection.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 23, 2017

We had dinner with our team here and had a wonderful dining experience.

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Made a reservation for 7:30, we were still waiting for a table at 8:15, this restaurant just lost four possible customers for life, don't take a reservation that you can't keep...ruined our evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We had a reservation for three and showed up on time. Our reservation was found and we were told the table would be 'ready in just a minute'. 50 minutes later we left hungry... We were never seated. What is the point of a reservation if it is not honored???

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value1

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 11, 2017

My wife and I each ordered the steak special. Mine was extremely tough and flavorless, I should have sent it back but I've never done that before, so didn't. My wife said hers was very good. When we were seated right next to the bar, we asked for a table further in and were given one, but told we'd have to be done by 8:00 if we sat there. We were done before then, but it set a poor tone for the evening, particularly when it was clear as it got close to 8:00 that there were plenty of open tables. Café Zola has been one of our favorite places, but I'll think twice about it next time because of this experience.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (New England)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Great place. I've been there for brunch twice and dinner twice and everything has always been great.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Excellent food once again! My favorite place to visit in Ann Arbor.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Fabulous food, outstanding dishes and presentation. A real find.

Tags: Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 21, 2017

I have had brunch here before and loved it. This was my first time dining there for dinner. I was disappointed in the amount of food for the price. I know it is locally sourced but a salad for $12 that is only enough lettuce to be considered a side salad and 3 nuts is a little high in my opinion. Great food but a little too pricey.

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Went for Restaurant Week, and had a great time at a restaurant I've never been to. I got the Lobster Americaine, and it was prepared phenomenally.

Tags: Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 19, 2017

Very loud and very, very crowded. I reserved a table for five which they gave us a table for four with a chair on the end. Luckily, the fifth person was a baby and just needed the highchair. Otherwise, it would have been very cramped with five adults. Service was ok. Tables that were sat after us got served and greeted first. I had to ask another waitress over to send our waitress to the table. We really like Cafe Zola and intend to come back, but not during restaurant week.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service3
value3

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 18, 2017

Very delicious food. the portions are small but oh so good.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 18, 2017

Always excellent. Sophisticated yet casual. The best coffee in town and the food is international.

Tags: Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Afternoon Tea, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Modern Decor, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Afternoon Coffee, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 17, 2017

Every course was delicious and fresh. Because it was restaurant week, it felt like we were sitting on top of each other. Besides that it was a nice and cozy date.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Great Beer, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 17, 2017

The service was fantastic and prompt, and the ambiance was just right. The food was a bit of a let-down, though--blood orange salad was delicious, but dates had too much balsamic vinegar and not enough fontina, and the duck was tough, and didn't have enough sauce.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 16, 2017

We went to Cafe Zola during restaurant week so it was packed but the service was still excellent!! The food was amazing, really recommend the dates and the calamari! Will definitely be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Overall the food was delicious and well worth the Restaurant Week price! My only concern was that the starters came out for our table at completely different times, and one even came with the main course. Understandable though due to the craziness of Restaurant Week. The mussels, shrimp, and calamari starters were absolutely wonderful along with the lobster tail main dish!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 14, 2017

We enjoyed the selection options and the ones we chose were all delicious!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fun, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 14, 2017

The food was delicious, the only 2 issues we had while dining at Cafe Zola, is that there was a long break between our appetizers and our entrees. The server kept coming out and saying that it would be out in a a few minutes but it took a long time. They apologized and offered something for free, but she misunderstood what we asked for and just brought us tomatoes...The other issue was that we were seated by the door and it was VERY cold every time someone came in. I would still highly recommend this restaurant for a date night, it was just what my husband and I needed.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Reservation was swift, seating was fine considering it was new years eve. The food was, as always, great, and the server was awesome.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Silk or favorite spot in Ann Arbor.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 25, 2016

We had a wonderful Christmas Eve dinner. The restaurant was full and busy but not overly crowded. My husband and I both ordered off he specials menu. I had the blackberry duck which was delicious. Where did they find the pea shoots at this time of year? My husband had the short ribs and was very happy. Always a good meal at Zola's.

Tags: Romantic, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Although I've lived in Ann Arbor since way before Cafe Zola opened, I'd never been. Went there to celebrate my birthday with my husband. Cold night but very cozy ambiance. Great big band music not played too loud. Interesting and delicious craft cocktails. Lots of amazing small plates we shared. Wish we could have ordered more and will be going back to sample other options. Our wait person was perfect, sweet, efficient, not intrusive, helpful, etc. A new favorite.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 10, 2016

We had a wonderful relaxing meal with plenty of time to visit. We were there for over 2 hours and never felt rushed. The food and service were excellent.

Tags: Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Good for a Date, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 1, 2016

The Cafe Zola is a really great place with tasty food but it was expensive according to me. It claims to be french style and I actually could recognize the french touch in several products and general atmosphere, which I really appreciate (I'm from France). The belied that french cuisine is expensive looks to make people spending a lot of money for it in US... If you go you should definitively take the brioche punding as a desert...

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Modern Decor, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Love cafe Zola will always chose it as a special place great food terrific service quiet and romantic love ❤️ that place always have

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 22, 2016

Wonderful dinner, great ambience, first-rate wait staff.

Tags: Casual, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Cafe Zola is charming with lit candles and a relaxed ambience. My friend and I got seated by the window which was perfect for catching the first snow fall in this season. Our server was incredibly patient when we took our time with the menu since it was our first time there for dinner. The salmon burger I ordered was delicious and my friend liked his mussel verde. They have a good selection of tea, although the tea was a bit weak for my taste. Another thing I would point out is that the tables are a bit too close together which can be tricky to maneuver around and for having a private conversation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Very loud and very hot inside (it was only in the 40s today!!) but really delicious food. Unimaginable that this brunch spot does dinner but so enjoyed it!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 6, 2016

This restaurant does not honor its reservations or respect its patrons. Period. The food is delicious and our waitress was lovely, but waiting ONE HOUR after our reservation time is unacceptable. When I found the manager/owner Hediye Batu to raise my concerns, she first left to find out "what was going on" only to veer off into the kitchen with no intention of returning to speak with me. After I tracked her down again and told how long we had been waiting, she was unapologetic and entirely indifferent. She simply shrugged her shoulders and said "that's how it goes." When I responded that keeping customers with reservations waiting -- in a very hot and busy restaurant with no place to wait, much less sit -- was not a good way to run a restaurant, I got an earful about how Mr. So-and-so and Dr. Whoever, who have been dining there for 10 years, disagree. So while the food is absolutely delicious, be forewarned that the owner is abjectly rude and, perhaps aside from her regulars, has no regard for customers. I will certainly neither return to Cafe Zola (or Zola Bistro, which she also owns) nor recommend it to anyone based on this experience. THAT'S how it goes, Hediye.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service1
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 4, 2016

We had a wonderful dinner for Father's weekend with great vegetarian options.

Tags: Healthy, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 29, 2016

This was my second time eating at Cafe Zola. The food was delicious both times and the service and ambiance is outstanding. I will definitely recommend this restaurant to friends and dine there again in the future.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Very nice place, had a great dinner for my girlfriend's birthday. Will be returning!

Tags: Organic, Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Food and service never changes from visit to visit ... you can always count on it being very good.

Tags: Vegan, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 20, 2016

My dish was very well prepared and tasty. However, I usually prefer lighter cooking. My associate's dish was good but not outstanding. I would definitely eat here again but would try a lighter dish--not beef, something vegetarian or a salad.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 15, 2016

We arrived early for our reservation and the were able to seat us. The service was great and the food fantastic!

Tags: Family Style, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 12, 2016

Excellent service! Food was really quite ordinary, nothing special.

Tags: Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.