About Cafe Zola

112 W Washington St
Ann Arbor, MI 48104-1325
View Larger Map

Café Zola is an independently owned and operated restaurant serving breakfast, lunch, and dinner in downtown Ann Arbor. Our menus are inspired by flavors and recipes borrowed from European and Mediterranean cultures and cuisine, including some Turkish recipes. We are committed to sourcing the freshest and highest quality ingredients available and supporting local businesses, farms, and suppliers. Café Zola’s seasonal menus emphasize organic and local produce, dairy, eggs, poultry, meat and seafood. Our full service bar features artisanal cocktails, happy hour specials, and a rotating wine selection chosen from various small production vineyards throughout the world. We accept reservations for parties of six or more for brunch on Saturday and Sunday. We accept reservations for groups of two or more for dinner and weekday brunch. We are also glad to accommodate large groups and special occasions. If you need a reservation for a large group or special event, please contact us directly.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Mediterranean, International

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Daily: 7:00am-4:00pm, egg service ends at 3:00pm
Dinner: Sunday-Thursday: 5:00pm-10:00pm, Friday-Saturday: 5:00pm-11:00pm
Happy Hour: Monday-Friday: 5:00pm-6:30pm, bar area only

Cross Street:
Main Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(734) 769-2020

Website:
http://www.cafezola.com/

Parking Details:
There are many locations to park nearby. Metered parking is available on the streets surrounding Cafe Zola. Parking is free on Sundays. The closest public lots are on West Washington between 4th Street and Main Street and on the corner of Ashley and West Washington.

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Cafe Zola Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.1

ambience

4.2

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Fit for Foodies
Ann Arbor
Best Restaurants in Ann Arbor ›

Fit for Foodies (23)
Special Occasion (18)
Great for Brunch (11)
See All
Great for Outdoor Dining (9)
Romantic (9)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Great for Lunch (7)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Good for a Date (6)
Hot Spot (5)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Cozy (4)
Business Meals (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Good for Birthdays (3)
People Watching (3)
Healthy (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Casual (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Fun (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Authentic (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Sort By:
Newest
159 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We had a solidly fun and delicious eveni ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined 4 days ago

We had a solidly fun and delicious evening at Cafe Zola so I recommend it as a great dining options. That said, this was our first time eating there after two failed game-day attempts. They don't seem to manage the reservations/expectations very accurately so we abandoned our prior reservations because the wait was too long IN SPITE of us arriving at our appropriate reservation time. Again, the menu was great, food was delicious and the host/waitress made for a great evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

SLOW service for an average dining exper ...

vip
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on September 21, 2016

SLOW service for an average dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

Crowded and noisy. Menu nothing spectacu ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Crowded and noisy. Menu nothing spectacular.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

Our waitress was excellent. Good food. ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Our waitress was excellent. Good food. Too noisy.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Delicious food and drinks

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Delicious food and drinks

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Fantastic food and great bartender. Serv ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Fantastic food and great bartender. Service was excellent without being intrusive. Thoroughly enjoyed the complete dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Crowded and confusing reception. Slow se ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

Crowded and confusing reception. Slow service but friendly server. Ambitious menu well executed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Good food, friendly service and a pleas ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

Good food, friendly service and a pleassnt room make dining at the Zola an overall lovely experience.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Hostess was incredibly rude. We had a 7: ...

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

Hostess was incredibly rude. We had a 7:15 reservation and we were finally seated at 8pm.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

The owner/manager is on her game. She's ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

The owner/manager is on her game. She's warm and friendly and makes sure her wait staff gets it done. But they are not up to the task. Food comes out wrong and hot dishes were cold. Manager re-ordered them but couldn't make up for the ridiculous amount of time wasted waiting for new dishes. Overall experience was disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value2

Fabulous food - great server - wonderful ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 30, 2016

Fabulous food - great server - wonderful owner. I highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always great food! Service was pleasant ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Always great food! Service was pleasant and attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Overall quite good. Food is above avera ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Overall quite good. Food is above average, and the ambience is quite nice. Beverages are priced reasonably; however, the entrees are a bit pricey for what they are, in my view.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Our dinner selections were beautifully p ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Our dinner selections were beautifully presented and absolutely delicious. I seldom order beef but had the flat iron steak with chimichurri and it was outstanding. I was slightly disappointed with the seafood options - I wish they included a shellfish and a local fish, e.g. whitefish. Our server was knowledgeable and attentive.

Tags: Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent dinner, from start to finish. ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Excellent dinner, from start to finish. Prices are high, though, from start to finish. $11 for a mojito, entrees $26-35.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Cozy, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Excellent food , service was great...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Excellent food , service was great...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This is a special place. Wonderful staf ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

This is a special place. Wonderful staff/service, interesting menu, and outstanding food. Would go back in a heartbeat.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Really terrific meal. We were in Ann Ar ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

Really terrific meal. We were in Ann Arbor to visit the University, had arrived in the afternoon after the art fair ended, and were looking for a bite to eat. I thought restaurants might be crowded from the art fair and so checked through Open Table. Cafe Zola sounded good, so we booked it. The place was almost empty, so the reservation didn't seem to be needed. Also, the noise in the restaurant might be very different under more normal circumstances.

The food was fantastic. We loved everything we tried -- sweet potato fries, the ahi tuna main dish (though I'd get the Wasabi cream sauce on the side), the shrimp tacos, the tuna tartare, even the bread that comes with the meal. Could not have asked for a better experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Service was very slow.

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Service was very slow.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1

Café Zola is a wonderful little place th ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Café Zola is a wonderful little place that provides a consistent level of food and service. Nothing over the top, but really solid food at a relatively reasonable price. Service is always very good, friendly, and courteous.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Food is very tasty and priced well

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

Food is very tasty and priced well

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food and drink were phenomenal as al ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

The food and drink were phenomenal as always. But the service leaves something to be desired

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

Delicious well prepared octopus and crab ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Delicious well prepared octopus and crab cakes followed our fresh oysters. Liked the Chardonnay as well. Lovely summer light meal on a very hot evening. Friendly good service. Only disappointment was they were out of tuna tartare, my first choice, but didn't mention it until I tried to order it. Managed to console myself with the lovely items they did have. One of our favorite downtown venues.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was a last minute find that was out ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

This was a last minute find that was outstanding. We did the fixed menu and were blown away by the flavors and only wished the portions were a little larger. Great staff who took excellent care of us.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Delicious food. Great service. Wonderful ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

Delicious food. Great service. Wonderful dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Went for Restaurant Week and everything ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

Went for Restaurant Week and everything was delicious. The drink menu was overpriced.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Moscow mule was good. Server got mis ord ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

Moscow mule was good. Server got mis order. She didnt know she got wrong order. And charged me the wrong order price. Ordered medium-rare but medium came out and when I sent it back, the same dish came out and cook said it is medium-rare. (I know the difference of two as cook lover) Server made me waiting such a long time for everything.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1

Never Disappoints

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on May 30, 2016

I've had great food and service every time I go to Cafe Zola.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Second Trip Even Better Than the First

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

We were very pleased with our first trip to Café Zola and the were even better this time. Can't wait to get back to see if they can top the first two trips.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value4

Always happy here

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

Always go here for good service and food. Hot tea is the best in town.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The filet with red wine and port glaze i ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on April 15, 2016

The filet with red wine and port glaze is excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food, fun place

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on April 14, 2016

Delicious food in downtown Ann Arbor. From the bread, compound butter and olives you receive at first, to cocktails, salads, entrees and tasty deserts, its a safe bet that you will have an enjoyable meal. Mediterranean inspired.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I very much enjoyed our f ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on April 14, 2016

My husband and I very much enjoyed our first visit to Cafe Zola for dinner. We shared one of the pear-arugula salads, which was nicely plated, simple, and delicious, then he had the Kobe burger and I had the salmon burger. Both fantastic. Wait service was friendly and attentive. Enjoyed the ambience/decor of the space, my sole complaint is that as we sat there the music seemed to get turned up several times, and conversations in the room got increasingly louder as people spoke over the music. It was unnecessarily loud and detracted from the otherwise lovely ambience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Pre-concert dinner

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on March 26, 2016

We started our meal with cocktails - I always like a place that serves the shaker with the drink. Our first courses were tasty (salads). We both really enjoyed our entrees (lamb and steak, both cooked properly) and came back after the concert to have dessert at the bar. Seems like a really reliable place - lots of "regulars". I'll definitely want to go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

First timers during lunch. Food was exce ...

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined on March 15, 2016

First timers during lunch. Food was excellent and our waitresses were pleasant. I give this a 4 star only because I had left my daughters baby bottle on the table and realized after I left. When I called 4 times so that I could pick it up nobody really knew where it was until the hostesses that was working the day I went hid it for me. Would have been efficient for them to leave it at the lost and found instead of getting the runaround a few times. Nonetheless, I will return to the restaurant and I'll try not to forget anything!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Last min. dinner on a weeknight. Pleasan ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on February 23, 2016

Last min. dinner on a weeknight. Pleasantly uncrowded with a nice wine list and a good vibe. Will keep it in mind when on that side of town.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Normally a very good experience at Cafe ...

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined on February 21, 2016

Normally a very good experience at Cafe Zola, but this Sat night was very busy and chaotic, likely understaffed that night so waitress was often delayed, and hostess seemed confused and overwhelmed. Food still very good. Chalk this up to a rough night but still one of our favorite places.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Great food! Great service!

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on February 18, 2016

I was celebrating my birthday with friends and had a splendid time. Not only was the food impeccable, the service was outstanding. I requested my favorite waitress and she of course treated us like royalty. If you want consistently great food and great service, I highly recommend Cafe Zola!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall food was very good for entrees. ...

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

Overall food was very good for entrees. Appetizers were small, sword fish and tuna were excellent. Only drawback was not having anyone even give us water for almost 30 minutes. After 20 minutes we finally got the staff's attention but it still took another 10 minutes for anyone to actually take a drink order and bring us water. We seemed to be lost in the mix as others who were seated after us were given much faster service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

DONT DO IT

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

cute place on the inside but by far the worst restaurant I've ever eaten at

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.