Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.09mi
  4. Distance: 0.26mi
  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.09mi
  4. Distance: 0.26mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.09mi
  4. Distance: 0.26mi
  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.09mi
  4. Distance: 0.26mi

About Cafe Zola

Café Zola is an independently owned and operated restaurant serving breakfast, lunch, and dinner in downtown Ann Arbor. Our menus are inspired by flavors and recipes borrowed from European and Mediterranean cultures and cuisine, including some Turkish recipes. We are committed to sourcing the freshest and highest quality ingredients available and supporting local businesses, farms, and suppliers. Café Zola’s seasonal menus emphasize organic and local produce, dairy, eggs, poultry, meat and seafood. Our full service bar features artisanal cocktails, happy hour specials, and a rotating wine selection chosen from various small production vineyards throughout the world. We accept reservations for parties of six or more for brunch on Saturday and Sunday. We accept reservations for groups of two or more for dinner and weekday brunch. We are also glad to accommodate large groups and special occasions. If you need a reservation for a large group or special event, please contact us directly.

112 W Washington St
Ann Arbor, MI 48104-1325
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Mediterranean, International

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Daily: 7:00am-4:00pm, egg service ends at 3:00pm
Dinner: Sunday-Thursday: 5:00pm-10:00pm, Friday-Saturday: 5:00pm-11:00pm
Happy Hour: Monday-Friday: 5:00pm-6:30pm, bar area only

Cross Street:
Main Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(734) 769-2020

Website:
http://www.cafezola.com/

Parking Details:
There are many locations to park nearby. Metered parking is available on the streets surrounding Cafe Zola. Parking is free on Sundays. The closest public lots are on West Washington between 4th Street and Main Street and on the corner of Ashley and West Washington.

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Cafe Zola Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.3

ambience

4.2

value

4.0

Noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (13)
Special Occasion (11)
Creative Cuisine (10)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (10)
Fun (9)
Local Ingredients (8)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Business Meals (6)
Casual (6)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Great for Brunch (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Great for Lunch (5)
Romantic (5)
Authentic (4)
Cozy (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Healthy (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Bar Seating (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Seasonal (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Tapas (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Organic (1)
Scenic View (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Vegan (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Sort By:
S
254 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

yummy and romantic

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 10, 2017

Cafe Zola is one of my go-to places in Ann Arbor, and I usually love it there. However, my most recent evening was ruined by a completely inept and disinterested server. It was a joke. She spoke in a whisper, did not know the menu, and ignored us after our entree' was served, on a Wed. night when the restaurant was practically empty. I know that many restaurants in downtown A2 intensively train their servers and they are professional. Cafe Zola needs to step it up in this regard. I am not a needy customer but this was ridiculous.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value2

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 8, 2017

Hard to put into words how bad the service was. I made a reservation for 8 people on a Sunday at 7pm for my mother’s 73rd birthday party. We arrived at the restaurant on time and were told the table was not ready and to please wait outside on the sidewalk. After 30 minutes of waiting, I went inside to check on the status of our table and was informed it would be another 45-60 minutes before they could get a table for us. When I expressed my frustration that they would take my reservation for a large group but not honor it, the manager replied “some times it works out, some times it doesn’t.”

They essentially ruined my mother’s birthday dinner party.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 8, 2017

Short staffed but understand why and they explained this before so we were prepared would go back in a heartbeat though! Halibut was out of this world!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 7, 2017

Amazing fresh food with excellent spice:!best lamb I and my friends have had. Been here several times! Had the brunch and dinners, have always been impressed and never disappointed! Get a reservation early as I am not the only one that knows this place has great food, energy!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on October 6, 2017

Seated 45 minutes late. Crowded and loud dining area. Touching shoulders with the guy at the table next to me.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

 
·Dined on October 6, 2017

Took my 18 y/o son there while on a college visit. Shared a few starters and smalls. Excellent food, excellent waiter.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Late-night Find, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 30, 2017

Fish good but boring

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on September 30, 2017

Very noisy and crowded, service was a bit slow and food was marginal

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 30, 2017

might not be the best date night as the tables are very close. great atmosphere

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 23, 2017

Enjoyed the excellent food and cocktails. And especially enjoyed the promptness of the kitchen in delivering our food.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Food was great! Lively restaurant. One of our favorite restaurants in Ann Arbor.

Tags: Fun, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Great food and even got to sit outside!
Great dinner with our kids and friends!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 13, 2017

Excellent service & delicious food! They accommodated our large group on a Tuesday night late!

Tags: Good for Groups, Organic, Scenic View, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 6, 2017

Great food, service and atmosphere. Love this place. One of our favorites!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quick Bite, Cozy, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on August 31, 2017

Excellent menu with many great choices. Great for a group dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on August 30, 2017

Good food and I've eaten here before and had good service but this time it was rough. We waited 30 minutes for our appetizer and there was a hair in my food. They did comp my meal after I asked but it was 20 minutes just to get our check.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on August 24, 2017

Loved the food, appreciated the service and respect the values the restaurant stands for.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 21, 2017

I come here at least once a week. Highly recommend the oysters, the steak frites, the spaghetti with meatballs, and the asparagus salad. High quality, consistent, successful international influences, and always makes me feel at home.

Tags: Special Occasion, Tapas, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 11, 2017

Came to Zola Cafe after attending a gallery show opening. It was perfect. We all made dinner of several wonderful small plates--plenty of great food and all enjoyed the variety of tastes.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 10, 2017

We enjoyed our dinner at Cafe Zola, which we selected tonight specifically to support the management's principled stance in refusing to allow ICE to search the premises without a warrant. Thank you for being a welcoming and courageous presence in our community.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Tapas, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Server was fantastic. Attentive, but unobtrusive. The food was excellent as always, and the bartender knew what he was doing. Overall, I can't recommend Cafe Zola enough.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 4, 2017

Still feel this is best restaurant in Ann Arbor. We recently had great brunch and an excellent dinner.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Authentic, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 4, 2017

Our server was professional and friendly. We had specialty cocktails of the day, both good. Order the fried chickpeas, they are delicious. The grilled pear arugula salad was also great.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on August 3, 2017

My wife and I really enjoyed our dinner at Cafe Zola. Service was excellent . Hope to come back soon

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 30, 2017

Great dinner, tasty hot herbal tea pot served with hot cups, great service.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 29, 2017

After having many excellent meals here, we wound up with a real clunker. Two of us ordered the special Moroccan short ribs. They were all things short ribs shouldn't be: dry, tough, cold and tasteless. Kindly, they took them off the bill. On the other hand, the swordfish and smoked salmon were quite good. The espresso was terrible. And they have added a table that's way too close to the door which must violate the fire code. Hopefully management will pay more attention next time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service5
value2

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on July 21, 2017

Great food. Our Art Fair guests really liked it. We ordered a bottle of Pinot Grigio for the table. Very nice recommendation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 28, 2017

We love this place. Everything here is absolutely amazing.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 25, 2017

I brought 7 people with me who have not been to Café Zola and they all were impressed and enjoyed the food. The waiter was very good, brought olives and bread to the table to hold us over until our food came. a little slow getting our entree's but were able to make theatre in time!

Tags: Vegan, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Love Zola for Breakfast. Dinner was not outstanding just OK Saturday night. We'll be back

Tags: Authentic, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 21, 2017

A great night sitting outside in Ann Arbor. Food was fun and service was outstanding. A must dine experience.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 19, 2017

Beautiful restaurant and food was very creative and tasty. Would highly recommend to everyone.

Tags: Quick Bite, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Afternoon Tea, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 16, 2017

The restaurant week menu was outstanding for this foursome. 2 appetizers (so eight total) and main dishes were gourmet tasty with a variety to pick from for both those in our group who prefer meat and those who prefer vegetables/items from the sea. In particular the lamb kofte and chops were perfect. The goat cheese with figs and spread and shakshukka (spelling?) were highlights. Very good service for this crowded busy night, too.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good Vegetarian Options, People Watching, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 16, 2017

The appetizers were amazing : the calamari and the corn with coconut and chili. But the steak dinner was over done. The medium rare was medium well. I sent it back, but even the second time the flavor wasn't very good.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 14, 2017

Best Father's day meal in a long time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 14, 2017

We had an excellent, creative dinner with attentive staff. Wine was pricey but good.

Tags: Tapas, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Great variety, Great food, Great Wine! We had a fabulous dinner (party of 6 for a birthday)

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on June 10, 2017

The food was good however the server was perhaps new. The second we sat down she asked us already what we wanted to eat, however we hadn't even received our waters or picked up our menus. After bringing us the water she asked us right away again. We told her we needed more time, I felt rushed. When we did decide and ordered, even though we were two people and the restaurant was empty, we were there over an hour. Our meals were easy, 20 min for goat cheese starter albeit tasty, is a long time when they're dead quiet. Would go back again for food, perhaps not for service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 25, 2017

A burger ordered medium, should come medium. We all ordered medium burgers, we all got burgers well done. In a bit of a rush and didn't want to wait for reorder. Disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.