About Cafe Vicino

808 W Fort Street
Boise, ID 83702
View Larger Map

Vicino (va-CHEE-no) is Italian for "neighborhood." Offering a Mediterranean bistro-style menu in an intimate, elegant setting, Café Vicino is a perfect choice for lunch or dinner. Drawing on influences from Italy, Spain and France, the menu is innovative, ingredient-driven and flavorful, pleasing even the most sophisticated palate. Menus change with the seasons to take advantage of locally sourced ingredients, fresh fish, meat and game as they become available. Chef Richard Langston and his team create daily specials, adding to the variety of choices for both lunch and dinner.

Café Vicino's wine list is hand-selected by Chef Richard Langston to enhance your dining experience. With a focus on food-friendly varietals, the selections are from both the old and new worlds: Italy, France, Spain, Oregon, California, Idaho and Washington.

We hope to see you soon in our neighborhood!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Mediterranean, Spanish

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 9:30 pm

Cross Street:
8th Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(208) 472-1463

Website:
http://www.cafevicino.com/

Parking Details:
Main restaurant entrance is off the Boise Co-Op parking lot which can be used for Cafe Vicino parking. Street parking is also available.

Public Transit:
Bus stop is located on Fort Street between 8th and 9th streets.

Executive Chef:
Richard Langston

Private Party Facilities:
Cafe Vicino specializes in small cocktail or dinner parties in your home. Please contact us to discuss individualized menus and services.

Additional:
Beer, Farm to Table, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Copper River Salmon With Sugar Snap Peas
Hazelnut Chocolate Torte
Gnocchi
Olives
Grilled Asparagus Salad
Tomato Basil Soup
housemade potato chips with truffle salt
Prosecco
Chocolate Ganache Cake
Back: Cucumber Watermelon Summer Salad, Front: Ceasar Salad
Salted caramel cheesecake

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Mon - Thu 5:00PM - 5:30PM 8:00PM - 8:30PM

Cafe Vicino Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.3

noise

Quiet

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Idaho
Best Food
Idaho
Best Service
Idaho
13 More
Best Value
Idaho
Fit for Foodies
Idaho
Neighborhood Gem
Idaho
Romantic
Idaho
Special Occasion
Idaho
Best Overall
Boise
Best Food
Boise
Best Service
Boise
Best Value
Boise
Fit for Foodies
Boise
Romantic
Boise
Special Occasion
Boise
Most Booked
Boise
Best Restaurants in Boise ›

neighborhood gem (51)
special occasion (44)
fit for foodies (42)
See All
romantic (31)
notable wine list (25)
great for lunch (16)
good for groups (8)
great for outdoor dining (8)
late-night find (2)
great for brunch (1)
hot spot (1)
kid-friendly (1)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
632 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Lunch was very pleasant. Service and foo ...

 
 (Boise)
·Dined 3 days ago

Lunch was very pleasant. Service and food were excellent. Most enjoyable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Always fantastic!

vip
 (Boise)
·Dined 4 days ago

Always fantastic!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Waitress was so kind and helpful. The wi ...

 
 (Boise)
·Dined 4 days ago

Waitress was so kind and helpful. The wine we splurged for was divine. The Flank Steak was comparable to any Top of the line steak house dishes. Will definitely be back!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our first visit to Cafe Vicino ...

 
 (Boise)
·Dined 5 days ago

This was our first visit to Cafe Vicino and we'll definitely be going back for seconds. The halibut was sheer perfection.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It was my first time at the café - servi ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

It was my first time at the café - service was excellent. Food was all very tasty and imaginative as were the cocktails. We went before the James Taylor concert and had a lovely medial. Prosciutto wrapped chicken was to delish albeit a little salty.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Love love the food and ambiance .

 
 (Boise)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Love love the food and ambiance .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful per usual. Just super bummed ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Wonderful per usual. Just super bummed you are moving downtown. Love everything about Cafe Vicino, especially the PARKING. I come there 4-6 a month, but probably will not when you move. :(

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I wish there salad was more than 1 cup o ...

 
 (Boise)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

I wish there salad was more than 1 cup of greens. grilled shrimp with risotto cakes is very good.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Our favorite for years. Very good for c ...

 
 (Boise)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Our favorite for years. Very good for conversation, because the noise level is moderate. Good place to bring clients, interviewees, or persons of a certain age, such as myself, who may have problems hearing in restaurants with a noise level resembling a machine shop.

Menu is excellent, wine list well-conceived, and the service is exemplary.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We have been devoted customers for years ...

 
 (Boise)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

We have been devoted customers for years. Café Vicino is always our go-to when the mood calls for incredible service, memorable food, and ambiance. Love it's quaintness. Adore the menu. By focusing on a few great choices, quality is always top quality.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This cafe is a beautiful place for lunch ...

 
 (Boise)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

This cafe is a beautiful place for lunch or dinner. The menu changes and is interesting for all tastes. There are a lot of different options. Wine is good, coffee is good, too. The restaurant is known for the tomato basil soup and it never disappoints. Salads are fresh and delicious. Servers are very professional and quiet.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was not as good as it has been in t ...

 
 (Boise)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Food was not as good as it has been in the past.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

Dinner was pleasant, well paced and beau ...

 
 (Boise)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Dinner was pleasant, well paced and beautifully presented. Our server was excellent and the attention to detail was great and not intrusive.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We enjoyed a wonderful and intimate dinn ...

 
 (Boise)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

We enjoyed a wonderful and intimate dinner experience with our daughter and her boyfriend, celebrating her 21st. We had the flatbread du jour and the prosciutto wrapped figs for starters, I had the arugula salad, and we all had different pasta dishes. Daughter had the linguine with clams, and if the clams were any fresher they'd need to be slapped! All the dishes were fresh, well seasoned and tasty, and beautifully presented. We also had a bottle of the Santa Cantabria Crianza from La Rioja that nicely paired with our food.

The servers were friendly and attentive without hovering or being intrusive. And, Vicino is a wonderful place to dine without driving music or lots of noise - that is, you can talk and dine without shouting.

I'm hoping they retain all these great qualities when they move to their new downtown location - we're going to miss having them as a neighborhood dining spot.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had not been there in years and it wa ...

 
 (Jackson Hole)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

We had not been there in years and it was slightly out of the downtown area where we usually go ., so we took a walk and came to this restaurant again..still very nice and pleasant

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We love this restaurant and are never di ...

 
 (Boise)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

We love this restaurant and are never disappointed. Delicious, wonderful menu and impeccable service. Thank you for always making us happy.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Another lovely experience with excellent ...

 
 (Boise)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Another lovely experience with excellent service and delicious food.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a great experience, favorite plac ...

vip
 (Boise)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Always a great experience, favorite place in Idaho.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This is my favorite lunch restaurant in ...

 
 (Boise)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

This is my favorite lunch restaurant in Boise! The cuisine is delectable at very affordable prices. Service is paramount and the environment is quiet to carry on a conversation. We like the variety and creativity on the menu. Best wait service in town --- attentive, friendly and helpful.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Quite disappointed. I had high expectati ...

 
 (Boise)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Quite disappointed.

I had high expectations of one of the top fine dining spots in town. The veal was soggy, and presented in a way that was not very appealing. Tomato sauce on top made it all mushy, and the seasoning was not special.

The gazpacho appetizer was much better, slight spicyness blended well with the garlic and cucumber freshness.

Beet gnocchi with gorgonzola were ok, just a little light on the good cheese.

All dishes were overpriced for the quality.

Service: tried to be formal, but failed. Spilled the wine on the table cloth, quite clumsy. Turned the bottle at the beginning of pouring instead of the end. Possibly a trainee just starting out.

Ambiance: tight quarters - this is a small place. Formal look with white table cloths, but a bit too land; could use some spiffy decoration ideas. Ok overall, but nothing special.

Menu: one of everything (chicken, beef, pork, veal, fish), none inventive. Seems like an attempt at completeness instead of quality.

Overall not satisfied.

Tags: romantic, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Great evening atCafe Vicino. Great menu ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Great evening atCafe Vicino. Great menu and food was outstanding. My husband had a Martini served nice and cold! Pots de creme was delicious!

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great BLT, best in town.

vip
 (Boise)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

Great BLT, best in town.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Perfect meal in a great establishment.

vip
 (Boise)
·Dined on June 2, 2016

Perfect meal in a great establishment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Loved this restaurant - very nice menu a ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 23, 2016

Loved this restaurant - very nice menu and wine list. Liked the local ingredients used. Will definitely be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Ambiance and service were great as alway ...

 
 (Boise)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Ambiance and service were great as always. Food was amazing (Flat iron steak special!).

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Loved it last year, love it this year!

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

My wife and I drive through Boise once a year while returning to Canada. We dined here last year, loved it, and made sure we included this stop in this year's trip. Small, intimate, casual and blessed with an excellent menu and very capable chef. Generally, special surprises await (this year morel mushrooms in a marsala sauce). My only complaint is that we have to drive 800 miles to dine there.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent! The arugula goat cheese stuff ...

vip
 (Boise)
·Dined on May 18, 2016

Excellent! The arugula goat cheese stuffed pepper salad is a must.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was phenomenal! Service was gre ...

 
 (Boise)
·Dined on May 16, 2016

The food was phenomenal! Service was great. Dining room was elegant. Unfortunately, there was a large party behind us that was noisy and made it hard to have conversation. But we definitely want to go back and try more of the delightful menu offerings.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Never Disappoints

 
 (Boise)
·Dined on May 9, 2016

Another lovely meal and evening at Cafe Vicino. It was Mother's Day and my mother was delighted with her choice as well. Service is always fantastic too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, good ambience, nice wine

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Our second visit there and it still remains our favorite restaurant in Boise.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Great meal, great place, great people.. ...

vip
 (Boise)
·Dined on May 2, 2016

Great meal, great place, great people...cannot say much more.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food is outstanding, but service ruined ...

 
 (Boise)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

Food is outstanding, but service ruined the experience. The waitress entered my food wrong in the computer so it came out a little later. No big deal! Gave me a chance to sample everyone's delicious meals. Except then it came and it wasn't cooked right. The pasta was dry and the 'sauce' was soup. I mentioned it and she offered to get me something else to dine in or to go. Very nice since they messed up! Except they charged is for it. We previous had recommended this place to other people and I won't be doing that anymore.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service1

A nice restaurant

 
 (Boise)
·Dined on April 29, 2016

The food was very good. The It was very quiet and tucked away. The only issue is that the waiter was a little rude with no personality. He barely even gave my wife eye contact. I would recommend this restaurant for a romantic night out.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Hurry if you want to eat at this superb ...

 
 (Boise)
·Dined on April 15, 2016

Hurry if you want to eat at this superb little bistro. They are moving to a larger establishment in the fall and this quaint , comfortable neighborhood jewel will be gone. The wait-staff were very attentive, very welcoming and knowledgeable about all the menu items. The lunch servings were wonderfully prepared. Portions were what you would expect from this fine eatery and the timing from salad to main course, lets you enjoy a leisure lunch.

A gem in the gem state.

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Beautiful food, prepared correctly, serv ...

 
 (Boise)
·Dined on April 8, 2016

Beautiful food, prepared correctly, served in a civilized manner. I love eating here! We love the figs, risotto cakes, and chicken with raisin sauce.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Lovely on a quiet night

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 5, 2016

My family and I were there on a Monday so it was very quiet... maybe 3 or 4 other tables while we were there. I'm sure it's busier on a Friday or Saturday... I hope so. Menu was not overwhelming, simple cocktail offerings, nice wine list, perfect service (as in not too chatty, but knowledgable and friendly). And of course, dinner was superb. You should totally go. Try anything... I'm sure it'll be delish!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

The red beet gnocchi was absolutely amaz ...

vip
 (Nashville)
·Dined on March 24, 2016

The red beet gnocchi was absolutely amazing! Maybe the most singular dish I have had in Boise to date!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

Good find for a Californian in Idaho

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on March 19, 2016

I was visiting family in Boise from the Bay Area and this is one of their favorite places. The food was excellent from the flatbread to the sole cooked in parchment to the cannelloni to the risotto! GREAT!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The spaghetti with prosciutto and poache ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on March 15, 2016

The spaghetti with prosciutto and poached egg is as good a carbonara as I have found this side of Rome.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always a favorite

 
 (Boise)
·Dined on March 7, 2016

Cafe Vicino is a favorite dining experience for any occasion. The food is consistently well prepared and delicious. The staff is excellent and ready to serve and please.We are very lucky to have such a great neighborhood delight.

Tags: great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.