About Cafe Vicino

808 W Fort Street
Boise, ID 83702
View Larger Map

Vicino (va-CHEE-no) is Italian for "neighborhood." Offering a Mediterranean bistro-style menu in an intimate, elegant setting, Café Vicino is a perfect choice for lunch or dinner. Drawing on influences from Italy, Spain and France, the menu is innovative, ingredient-driven and flavorful, pleasing even the most sophisticated palate. Menus change with the seasons to take advantage of locally sourced ingredients, fresh fish, meat and game as they become available. Chef Richard Langston and his team create daily specials, adding to the variety of choices for both lunch and dinner.

Café Vicino's wine list is hand-selected by Chef Richard Langston to enhance your dining experience. With a focus on food-friendly varietals, the selections are from both the old and new worlds: Italy, France, Spain, Oregon, California, Idaho and Washington.

We hope to see you soon in our neighborhood!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Mediterranean, Spanish

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 9:30 pm

Cross Street:
8th Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(208) 472-1463

Website:
http://www.cafevicino.com/

Parking Details:
Main restaurant entrance is off the Boise Co-Op parking lot which can be used for Cafe Vicino parking. Street parking is also available.

Public Transit:
Bus stop is located on Fort Street between 8th and 9th streets.

Executive Chef:
Richard Langston

Private Party Facilities:
Cafe Vicino specializes in small cocktail or dinner parties in your home. Please contact us to discuss individualized menus and services.

Additional:
Beer, Farm to Table, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Mon - Thu 5:00PM - 5:30PM 8:00PM - 8:30PM

Cafe Vicino Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.2

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Idaho
Fit for Foodies
Idaho
Neighborhood Gem
Idaho
7 More
Best Overall
Boise
Best Food
Boise
Best Service
Boise
Best Value
Boise
Fit for Foodies
Boise
Romantic
Boise
Special Occasion
Boise
Best Restaurants in Boise ›

special occasion (51)
neighborhood gem (48)
fit for foodies (47)
See All
romantic (37)
notable wine list (21)
great for lunch (15)
good for groups (9)
late-night find (3)
hot spot (2)
great for outdoor dining (2)
kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
605 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Ambiance and service were great as alway ...

Dined 4 days ago

Ambiance and service were great as always. Food was amazing (Flat iron steak special!).

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The food was phenomenal! Service was gre ...

Dined on May 16, 2016

The food was phenomenal! Service was great. Dining room was elegant. Unfortunately, there was a large party behind us that was noisy and made it hard to have conversation. But we definitely want to go back and try more of the delightful menu offerings.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Never Disappoints

Dined on May 9, 2016

Another lovely meal and evening at Cafe Vicino. It was Mother's Day and my mother was delighted with her choice as well. Service is always fantastic too.

food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Great food, good ambience, nice wine

Dined on May 8, 2016

Our second visit there and it still remains our favorite restaurant in Boise.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience2
service1

Food is outstanding, but service ruined ...

Dined on May 1, 2016

Food is outstanding, but service ruined the experience. The waitress entered my food wrong in the computer so it came out a little later. No big deal! Gave me a chance to sample everyone's delicious meals. Except then it came and it wasn't cooked right. The pasta was dry and the 'sauce' was soup. I mentioned it and she offered to get me something else to dine in or to go. Very nice since they messed up! Except they charged is for it. We previous had recommended this place to other people and I won't be doing that anymore.

food4
ambience4
service3
value4

A nice restaurant

Dined on April 29, 2016

The food was very good. The It was very quiet and tucked away. The only issue is that the waiter was a little rude with no personality. He barely even gave my wife eye contact. I would recommend this restaurant for a romantic night out.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Hurry if you want to eat at this superb ...

Dined on April 15, 2016

Hurry if you want to eat at this superb little bistro. They are moving to a larger establishment in the fall and this quaint , comfortable neighborhood jewel will be gone. The wait-staff were very attentive, very welcoming and knowledgeable about all the menu items. The lunch servings were wonderfully prepared. Portions were what you would expect from this fine eatery and the timing from salad to main course, lets you enjoy a leisure lunch. A gem in the gem state.

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Beautiful food, prepared correctly, serv ...

Dined on April 8, 2016

Beautiful food, prepared correctly, served in a civilized manner. I love eating here! We love the figs, risotto cakes, and chicken with raisin sauce.

food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Lovely on a quiet night

Dined on April 5, 2016

My family and I were there on a Monday so it was very quiet... maybe 3 or 4 other tables while we were there. I'm sure it's busier on a Friday or Saturday... I hope so. Menu was not overwhelming, simple cocktail offerings, nice wine list, perfect service (as in not too chatty, but knowledgable and friendly). And of course, dinner was superb. You should totally go. Try anything... I'm sure it'll be delish!

food4
ambience3
service5

The red beet gnocchi was absolutely amaz ...

Dined on March 24, 2016

The red beet gnocchi was absolutely amazing! Maybe the most singular dish I have had in Boise to date!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good find for a Californian in Idaho

Dined on March 19, 2016

I was visiting family in Boise from the Bay Area and this is one of their favorite places. The food was excellent from the flatbread to the sole cooked in parchment to the cannelloni to the risotto! GREAT!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

The spaghetti with prosciutto and poache ...

vip
Dined on March 15, 2016

The spaghetti with prosciutto and poached egg is as good a carbonara as I have found this side of Rome.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a favorite

Dined on March 7, 2016

Cafe Vicino is a favorite dining experience for any occasion. The food is consistently well prepared and delicious. The staff is excellent and ready to serve and please.We are very lucky to have such a great neighborhood delight.

Tags: great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Delicious dinner

vip
Dined on March 5, 2016

My husband and I wanted to eat lighter, and made a wonderful dinner out of appetizers and one entree. The tuna with caponata was delicious, as was the flatbread with hummus. The caponata did double duty as being a great accompanyment to the flatbread. The tomat soup was wonderful as always. Very comfortable and friendly. Great food and great service can't be beat.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

An elegant spot for a special occasion

Dined on March 2, 2016

Cafe Vicino is a small neighborhood restaurant known for its elegance and restraint in a city where conformism runs rampant (think noise, burgers & beer, sports TVs and yet more noise). This cafe is a delightful exception. Service is professional and adult. They are courteous and attentive but never hover. The food is not ordinary or over-the-top precious for foodies. It is generally quite good, varied and well-prepared. There are pasta and seafood or meat dishes and a range of salads. Some daily specials supplement the normal menu. Desserts are excellent and stylish. Cafe Vicino was the spot I chose for a very special lunch date with a very special someone. The staff were gracious and as unobtrusive as possible, except for a certain insistence on imparting all the things that had been added to the olive oil. Flowers I had ordered were already on the table, placed nicely. We were left largely to ourselves at the corner table where we could enjoy as much privacy as possible. The main cafe has a row of parallel tables that unfortunately encourage curious and less polite diners to scrutinize one another's plates. The staff nevertheless tries to afford you as much privacy as they can, especially if you ask, until the restaurant fills up. Although we did not have wine at lunch, there is a wine list with judicious offerings, again considering that Idaho restaurants are not known for extensive wine holdings. Cafe Vicino represents one of the few places in this part of the country where fine, though not lavish, dining is available. The prices are fair and reasonable. They have been successful in this location, just a few blocks from downtown, for years. It is readily apparent why.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

I enjoyed myself.

Dined on February 24, 2016

We had the lunch special: Grilled shrimp salad. Very disappointed when it came out with four mediocre shrimp placed over a few greens and sliced onions. For $14 I expected a few more shrimp and a generous portion of greens.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience2
service4
value1

Disappointed

vip
Dined on February 20, 2016

From reviews we read we expected a delicious meal, our soup was cold, the fish was tasteless and the options limited especially for non meat eaters. The only thing that was delicious was the ricotta cakes.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A dinner at Cafe Vicino's never disappoints.

Dined on February 15, 2016

Outstanding drinks, wine list, food, desserts and service. One of the best places in Boise for a romantic dinner or celebrating a special occasion. Top notch and world class, we always look forward to seeing Richard and his staff hard at work making fabulous meals and memorable evenings.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Hidden Gem found in North End

Dined on February 14, 2016

I stubbled upon great reviews while searching on Yelp for our Valentine date night. I was surprised to find such a fabulous place in a strip mall and had to make a reservation! We were definitely not disappointed as our evening was everything we wanted from a romantic atmosphere, wonderful menu and wine list, five star service and delicious meal. We will definitely be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Valentine's Day weekend

Dined on February 14, 2016

A Valentine's Day weekend is traditionally a tough time for any restaurant. However, Richard's Vicino delivered well with a fun menu, great service, great drinks, and no delays but without a hurry. I had my favorite roasted duck breast over green lentils and my partner had Pacific sole in parchment paper with fennel. Both very good. Richard's Vicino is consistently good and often excellent.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

, Always good for a nice, quiet dinner

Dined on February 14, 2016

I'm sorry I can't remember the name of the waiter we usually dine with. Tall, nice looking gent and a long term part of Richard's team. In my opinion he is the best waiter in Boise, always makes our wives feel pampered. We always wonder why we don't make it there more often. They had some nice Valentine specials on 2/13. An elegant small dining room and always busy on weekends. We love Cafe Vincino. Craig and Darlene, Ivan and Judy, Jim and Priscilla. Cheers:)

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

Blah

Dined on February 13, 2016

The service was not so good. Asked the waiter for something he flat out said, "no" - he tried to push the special appetizer gnocchi - ordered two others asked for half order of the gnocchi - very rich, even willing to pay full price for it - he flat out said, NO, what was the downside? Both of the appetizers we ordered good. Our friends (out of state) couldn't believe his No answer. Carrots were so, al dente - what was the point of peeling them they should have handed them to me to gnaw on when I got there...My sirloin was tough, like chewing on an old boot and flavorless - other person in the party was the same - suppose it was a pair of boots. My husband's chicken was so dry - he didn't finish - left more than half on the plate, but no one questioned it - odd, veg undercooked. The only thing that saved the evening friends and 2 ridiculously expensive, fantastic bottles of wine. Decided to go elsewhere for dessert. Other friends went on our recommendation and there were also very disappointed.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great first experience - nice attention to detail

Dined on February 11, 2016

Had not been before, but been by many times. Had a great first experience. The food was very good. The service was equally good. Liked the quiet and attention to detail. Would be nice if the tables were not so close together. The lady next to us had bathed in perfume and it actually had an effect on the flavor of the food and the tea I had. Nothing they could do, and it's not cramped, but another foot apart and I would not have noticed or had a headache when I left. My companion was closer and we had to leave earlier than usual do for dinner. Again, nothing they did wrong or could do about it except take out a table or 2. Probably not in their interest for one customer. I don't blame them. The food and service were really good, more than I would normally spend, but didn't feel gipped. Go planning to spend $30 each at least. the appetizers and salads are reasonable, but the entrees are a lot more. Nice quiet spot. There was a nice attention to detail in the plating and flavor combinations. Creative and yummy. They even packed the "doggie-bag" in a pretty way.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Enjoyed the dinner. Italian in true European style

Dined on February 6, 2016

The food was good. It is a dress up place, rare in Boise. Food was mostly italian, very much in true European style and not overly americanized which I appreciate. Everything was not laden with cream and too much cheese. There are options for those with Lactose intolerance. Seafood was cooked to perfection and moist. Even the dessert was good. I had the key lime tart with coconut cream. Dessert had to have been home made. The only drawback is that it is not very large so you have to have reservations. We tried to make reservations for Valentine's day but were told it had been sold out since December. Ah well! I would definitely go back to see if it is consistently good. This is my new favorite for Italian food.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Enjoyed our time

Dined on February 1, 2016

We went to celebrate my daughter's birthday. Food was very good and ambience was nice. Servers were very attentive.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Out of the park .. again

Dined on January 27, 2016

Four of us had lunch which was, as expected, wonderful. Vicino's green olive dressing is simply delicious. Attentive service, not overbearing. A great experience all around.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Cafe Vicino

Dined on January 21, 2016

This may be my favorite restaurant in town. The food and wine are dependably very good, it's never noisy, the ambiance is nice and the servers are knowledgeable and friendly. It's my place to go for a romantic dinner with my husband or a great meal with a couple of good friends. It also feels like a friendly, neighborhood place, not too posh.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Kbpb

Dined on January 17, 2016

Great food. Real sleeper from the looks of the building. Best dining experience in years.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

A neighborhood favorite.

Dined on January 17, 2016

Food, wine, dessert, service and ambiance are wonderful. A place to frequent often. We are never disappointed.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Quick Seating, Relaxed Dining

Dined on January 16, 2016

It's hard to say anything bad about Cafe Vicino -- so I won't! Food was exceptional, loved the addition of cocktails and enjoyed a lovely martini before dinner. Service was wonderful -- friendly, courteous, great recommendations, didn't "hover" or rush us.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Birthday Dinner

Dined on January 1, 2016

We were visiting our daughter who moved to Boise in Sept for the holidays and I wanted to find a nice restaurant to take my husband for his birthday on New Years Eve and my daughter for her early Jan. birthday celebration. The wine was excellent, we had Prosecco, and the food was very good and presented elegantly. The waitress overheard our discussion of celebrating birthdays and she brought our our dessert with candles lit to help our special celebration. That was very kind of her.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

Good atmosphere/Bland food

Dined on January 1, 2016

We loved the atmosphere and service but our food was really bland. I think it might be the kind of food some people really like. It was well cooked and nicely presented but we felt that the flavor level was very lacking.

food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Great ambiance

Dined on December 30, 2015

Loved the very European ambiance, great heavy curtains and wall booth ding have the restaurant an intimate and warm atmosphere. My braised pork was excellent, my husbands pasta just ok. Nice place for a quiet, comfortable dinner, good service and nice reasonably priced wine list.

Tags: romantic, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Neighborhood quiet gem

Dined on December 25, 2015

Cafe Vicino has become our go to when we want the exceptional dining experience. Not only do they provide great food and wonderful service, but also maintain level of quiet atmosphere where you can have discussions without shouting or having to repeat yourself.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Great Evening with My Wife

Dined on December 25, 2015

Café Vicino is consistently a very good restaurant for great food and a quiet evening with family and friends. The staff is always friendly and the atmosphere welcoming. Our waitress was quite busy this evening and not able to be as attentive as is customary here. We both enjoyed our appetizers and entrees and a great time catching up after a busy pre-Christmas week.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent always. Great neighborhood ge ...

Dined on December 19, 2015

Excellent always. Great neighborhood gem!

food5
ambience5
service5

New cocktail program

Dined on December 13, 2015

Vicino is reliably excellent and service is attentive without being obtrusive. The new but small cocktail program is promising with attention to detail and quality.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Deliciousness for all

Dined on December 12, 2015

Our party of 6 thoroughly enjoyed an array of deliciousness - from the tomato basil soup & special cauliflower soup, salads, figs & goat cheese, cannelloni, lamb shank, Prosciutto chicken breast, fresh fettuccine w/seared scallops which were seared to perfection, to the pear marscapone tart & key lime brulee. We ordered a white and a red wine - all of us ended up with some of each in separate glasses which made the table look festive! It was very fun!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Wowzers!

Dined on December 2, 2015

Four "ladies who lunch" had lunch here the other day. All around fabulous experience, nothing could have been better either in terms of service, ambiance or flavor(s). Outstanding all around.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Tomato Soup!!

Dined on November 29, 2015

Enjoy it, this is truly a gem in our city. The tomato soup and the special flatbread is what I had.

Tags: fit for foodies

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.