About Cafe Vicino

808 W Fort Street
Boise, ID 83702
View Larger Map

Vicino (va-CHEE-no) is Italian for "neighborhood." Offering a Mediterranean bistro-style menu in an intimate, elegant setting, Café Vicino is a perfect choice for lunch or dinner. Drawing on influences from Italy, Spain and France, the menu is innovative, ingredient-driven and flavorful, pleasing even the most sophisticated palate. Menus change with the seasons to take advantage of locally sourced ingredients, fresh fish, meat and game as they become available. Chef Richard Langston and his team create daily specials, adding to the variety of choices for both lunch and dinner.

Café Vicino's wine list is hand-selected by Chef Richard Langston to enhance your dining experience. With a focus on food-friendly varietals, the selections are from both the old and new worlds: Italy, France, Spain, Oregon, California, Idaho and Washington.

We hope to see you soon in our neighborhood!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Mediterranean, Spanish

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 9:30 pm

Cross Street:
8th Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(208) 472-1463

Website:
http://www.cafevicino.com/

Parking Details:
Main restaurant entrance is off the Boise Co-Op parking lot which can be used for Cafe Vicino parking. Street parking is also available.

Public Transit:
Bus stop is located on Fort Street between 8th and 9th streets.

Executive Chef:
Richard Langston

Private Party Facilities:
Cafe Vicino specializes in small cocktail or dinner parties in your home. Please contact us to discuss individualized menus and services.

Additional:
Beer, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Gnocchi
Hazelnut Chocolate Torte
Copper River Salmon With Sugar Snap Peas
Olives
Grilled Asparagus Salad
Tomato Basil Soup
Prosecco
housemade potato chips with truffle salt
Chocolate Ganache Cake
Back: Cucumber Watermelon Summer Salad, Front: Ceasar Salad
Salted caramel cheesecake

Specials

1,000-Point Tables

Specials

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Mon - Thu 5:00PM - 5:30PM 8:00PM - 8:30PM

Cafe Vicino Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

noise

Quiet

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Idaho
Best Food
Idaho
Best Service
Idaho
12 More
Best Value
Idaho
Fit for Foodies
Idaho
Neighborhood Gem
Idaho
Notable Wine List
Idaho
Best Overall
Boise
Best Food
Boise
Best Service
Boise
Best Ambiance
Boise
Best Value
Boise
Fit for Foodies
Boise
Romantic
Boise
Most Booked
Boise
Best Restaurants in Boise ›

Neighborhood Gem (45)
Fit for Foodies (41)
Special Occasion (32)
See All
Romantic (28)
Notable Wine List (24)
Great for Lunch (14)
Great for Outdoor Dining (7)
Good for a Date (7)
Good for Groups (6)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Local Ingredients (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Authentic (3)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Seasonal (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Cozy (2)
Fun (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Business Meals (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Healthy (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Organic (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Casual (1)
Vegan (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Scenic View (1)
Sort By:
Newest
656 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Another lovely dining experience. The ...

 
 (Boise)
·Dined 6 days ago

Another lovely dining experience.

The noise level is indicated as moderate, but normally it is quiet. There were some ebullient folks at an adjacent table on this occasion, but we could still have conversation.

Food: Menu has changed since last we dined here, and Richard has done an admirable job of offering a variety which appeals to everyone.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Had out of town guests from Seattle - f ...

 
 (Boise)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Had out of town guests from Seattle - fabulous meal as always. The arugula salad divine !!!they were very impressed !!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Brought foodie guests from Houston who n ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Brought foodie guests from Houston who noted that Vicino's cuisine would compare favorably with the best in Houston, a notable foodie town. Great food, cocktails, conversation (even on a crowded Friday night) and service.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This is my go-to restaurant for business ...

vip
 (Boise)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

This is my go-to restaurant for business lunches. The food is great, reasonably priced, and very fresh. They have a lot of selections that make me feel like I had a good meal without over-indulging. I am especially fond of the fresh salmon cakes served over fresh greens and the grilled shrimp served with risotto cakes. The wait staff is exemplery. They are efficient and friendly without being overbearing. The dining room is small enough to feel intimate and reasonably private - great for my business lunches. I'm a fan!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

There were 6 people in our group, two of ...

 
 (Boise)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

There were 6 people in our group, two of whom were my daughter and son-in-law who were visiting from the San Francisco Bay Area; the other two were our good friends from Meridian who had never dined at Cafe Vicino either. My wife and I had lunch at Cafe Vicino a few months ago and we were extremely impressed and pleased; everything we had that day was wonderful. So we thought what a nice treat it would be to have our family from "the city by the bay" enjoy a fine dining experience right here in Boise. When we arrived home following dinner, my wife and I discussed our meals and the service and we agreed it was a huge disappointment, and quite an embarrassment for us. You see, based on the lunch we'd had there, we bragged and bragged about how great the food was. Open Table had Cafe Vicino listed as #1 in the area at one time and we bragged about that as well. So we called our friends in Meridian and asked them what their honest opinion was. They agreed with us; they did not consider it a great dining experience. I can only imagine what our family from San Francisco thought considering they come from a metropolitan city where fine cuisine is the norm. It's doubtful that we will ever return to Cafe Vicino. We have since apologized to our family and friends for what turned out to be one of the least enjoyable and embarrassing dining experiences we've ever had. One more thing: our waitress never even asked our son-in-law what he would like to drink when she was taking drink orders! The pasta wasn't even cooked to the al dente stage; it was like it was dipped in the water for 1 or 2 minutes and then dished up. The only good thing I can comment on is that the Tomato Basil soup was great, as were the Caesar salads. Beyond that, all in all we feel it was very overpriced, we got less than stellar service, and the food was lackluster and required all of us to add seasoning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

Still one of the outstanding restaurants ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Still one of the outstanding restaurants in Boise. We plan a meal there whenever we are in the area.'Everyrhing Fresh and Unique .

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

A quaint north-end neighborhood favorite ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

A quaint north-end neighborhood favorite. Calm and relaxed environment with outstanding food and service. Always love their homemade tomato basil soup.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and service. We were blo ...

 
 (Boise)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Excellent food and service. We were blown away.

Expensive so for us it will be a special occasion splurge.

But the food was so great. We are still talking about it.

Tags: Fun, Business Meals, Organic, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Just outstanding meal and wine. Cannot ...

 
 (Boise)
·Dined on August 29, 2016

Just outstanding meal and wine. Cannot say enough about how good this place is.....thank you to Richard and staff.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Another wonderful meal at Vicino! To sta ...

 
 (Boise)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Another wonderful meal at Vicino! To start, we had the newly added and delicious negroni sbagliato, that is unique to Vicino but not made with Campari as the "negroni" name might suggest, but an inventive and refreshing take on the classic champagne cocktail. Then on to the appetizer special of plump mussels in a rich heirloom tomato broth that had us mopping up every trace with the accompanying grilled bread. The recently added quail was excellent as the generous serving of quail had been artfully brined before grilling and served with perfectly roasted root vegetables and harissa to the side. This house-made harissa isn't the familiar, fiery, oily condiment found in stores but provided a rich roasted pepper flavor with a touch of chili warmth and subtle middle eastern or Indian spices for a great exotic accent to this satisfying dish. As always, the service was the most polished and professional in town.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I love this restaurant! I would suggest ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

I love this restaurant! I would suggest that they put cushions on their very hard and very uncomfortable metal chairs to make the outdoor dining experience better.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Cafe Vicino is eternally delightful! I ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

Cafe Vicino is eternally delightful! I have yet to visit when I haven't enjoyed the meal.

Having visited a number of times, however, I am looking forward to a few new dishes being presented to show off the chef's creativity!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Cafe Vicino is one of those place where ...

 
 (Boise)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Cafe Vicino is one of those place where you would go for a nice adult evening. Iniimate and charming, we always have a nice time here. We heard they were moving to a different location this year. This is great news, as the only downside, currently, is that it is in a strip mall and needs to be in a more elegant location. We always look forward to the specials and the local ingredients.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

We had fantastic service and great food ...

 
 (Boise)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

We had fantastic service and great food which made for a very memorable and enjoyable evening.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fun, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

A favorite!! Comfortable and delicious f ...

vip
 (Boise)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

A favorite!! Comfortable and delicious food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

What a hidden treasure we found! The foo ...

 
 (Boise)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

What a hidden treasure we found! The food & ambiance were perfect..we loved it

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a favorite dining place to us. Ou ...

vip
 (Boise)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Always a favorite dining place to us. Our most recent meal was terrific; duck breast with huckleberry sauce. Yummy.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Nice ambiance! Love the homey feel of th ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Nice ambiance! Love the homey feel of the restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

Cafe Vicino never disappoints. The food ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Cafe Vicino never disappoints. The food and service were amazing as usual. Love it!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

I eat here a lot. Richard's Cafe Vicino ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

I eat here a lot. Richard's Cafe Vicino is the best restaurant in Boise. Not the most expensive. Not the fanciest. But clearly the best -- outstanding, inventive, local food; friendly and experienced waitstaff; and you'll be surrounded by locals who appreciate good food and feel at home at Cafe Vicino.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We had a lovely evening with excellent f ...

 
 (Boise)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

We had a lovely evening with excellent food. Very enjoyable!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Consistently good food and great service ...

 
 (Boise)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

Consistently good food and great service, with inventive menu and excellent daily specials. Good value in food and wine pricing. Richard maintains his long-standing level of excellence

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Richard Langston has been one of Boise's ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Richard Langston has been one of Boise's best chefs/restaurant owners. Excellent inventive food, wonderful servers, cozy ambiance. In addition to our other visits, we have celebrated our anniversary there almost every year. I am very sad to see that Richard's Cafe Vicino is moving into the hotel being built downtown. Its been a wonderful experience to walk from our North End home to Cafe Vicino.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Lunch at Cafe Vicino is always delightfu ...

 
 (Boise)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Lunch at Cafe Vicino is always delightful. The food is delicious and the ambiance is inviting. The brûléed key lime pie was amazing.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Lunch was very pleasant. Service and foo ...

 
 (Boise)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

Lunch was very pleasant. Service and food were excellent. Most enjoyable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Always fantastic!

vip
 (Boise)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Always fantastic!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Waitress was so kind and helpful. The wi ...

 
 (Boise)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Waitress was so kind and helpful. The wine we splurged for was divine. The Flank Steak was comparable to any Top of the line steak house dishes. Will definitely be back!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our first visit to Cafe Vicino ...

 
 (Boise)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

This was our first visit to Cafe Vicino and we'll definitely be going back for seconds. The halibut was sheer perfection.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It was my first time at the café - servi ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

It was my first time at the café - service was excellent. Food was all very tasty and imaginative as were the cocktails. We went before the James Taylor concert and had a lovely medial. Prosciutto wrapped chicken was to delish albeit a little salty.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Love love the food and ambiance .

 
 (Boise)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Love love the food and ambiance .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful per usual. Just super bummed ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Wonderful per usual. Just super bummed you are moving downtown. Love everything about Cafe Vicino, especially the PARKING. I come there 4-6 a month, but probably will not when you move. :(

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I wish there salad was more than 1 cup o ...

 
 (Boise)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

I wish there salad was more than 1 cup of greens. grilled shrimp with risotto cakes is very good.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Our favorite for years. Very good for c ...

 
 (Boise)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Our favorite for years. Very good for conversation, because the noise level is moderate. Good place to bring clients, interviewees, or persons of a certain age, such as myself, who may have problems hearing in restaurants with a noise level resembling a machine shop.

Menu is excellent, wine list well-conceived, and the service is exemplary.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We have been devoted customers for years ...

 
 (Boise)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

We have been devoted customers for years. Café Vicino is always our go-to when the mood calls for incredible service, memorable food, and ambiance. Love it's quaintness. Adore the menu. By focusing on a few great choices, quality is always top quality.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This cafe is a beautiful place for lunch ...

 
 (Boise)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

This cafe is a beautiful place for lunch or dinner. The menu changes and is interesting for all tastes. There are a lot of different options. Wine is good, coffee is good, too. The restaurant is known for the tomato basil soup and it never disappoints. Salads are fresh and delicious. Servers are very professional and quiet.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was not as good as it has been in t ...

 
 (Boise)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Food was not as good as it has been in the past.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

Dinner was pleasant, well paced and beau ...

 
 (Boise)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Dinner was pleasant, well paced and beautifully presented. Our server was excellent and the attention to detail was great and not intrusive.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We enjoyed a wonderful and intimate dinn ...

 
 (Boise)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

We enjoyed a wonderful and intimate dinner experience with our daughter and her boyfriend, celebrating her 21st. We had the flatbread du jour and the prosciutto wrapped figs for starters, I had the arugula salad, and we all had different pasta dishes. Daughter had the linguine with clams, and if the clams were any fresher they'd need to be slapped! All the dishes were fresh, well seasoned and tasty, and beautifully presented. We also had a bottle of the Santa Cantabria Crianza from La Rioja that nicely paired with our food.

The servers were friendly and attentive without hovering or being intrusive. And, Vicino is a wonderful place to dine without driving music or lots of noise - that is, you can talk and dine without shouting.

I'm hoping they retain all these great qualities when they move to their new downtown location - we're going to miss having them as a neighborhood dining spot.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had not been there in years and it wa ...

 
 (Jackson Hole)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

We had not been there in years and it was slightly out of the downtown area where we usually go ., so we took a walk and came to this restaurant again..still very nice and pleasant

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We love this restaurant and are never di ...

 
 (Boise)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

We love this restaurant and are never disappointed. Delicious, wonderful menu and impeccable service. Thank you for always making us happy.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.