About Café Trio

4558 Main Street
Kansas City, MO 64111
View Larger Map

Hip & glamorous, Café Trio blends outstanding cuisine and cocktails for an award winning “Come as you are” fine dining experience. Trio offers a unique intersection of incredible dining, quality live entertainment and original local art. The Starlet Lounge at Café Trio evokes a bygone era complete with Hollywood Starlets and the always playing classic movie with unique specialty martinis, traditional cocktails and an extensive list of wine and beers. Every Tuesday features Half Priced Wine with $5 Starlet specialty Martinis each Wednesday. Live music on Tuesday through Saturday includes Café Trio's own resident Diva, the one and only Alice Jenkins on Friday & Saturday nights. Large outdoor deck and terrace offers one of kind views of the Country Club Plaza and J.C. Nichols Fountain. Cafe Trio is one of Kansas City's most popular restaurants. Awarded multiple Kansas City “Best Of” designations by Kansas City Magazine, including “Best Overall Restaurant”.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH: Monday - Friday 11am - 2pm

HAPPY HOUR: Monday -Friday 2pm-6pm

DINNER / Full Menu Service: Monday: 5pm-9pm, Tuesday-Thursday: 5pm-9:30pm, Friday & Saturday: 5pm -10:30pm.

Cocktails (Lounge & Deck): Monday - Friday: 2:00pm - Midnight, Saturday: 5:00pm - Midnight
Kitchen & Bar Hours may Vary

Cross Street:
E. 45th Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(816) 756-3227

Website:
http://www.cafetriokc.com/

Entertainment:
Piano & Vocals. Blues & Jazz. Evenings: Tuesday through Saturday.

Parking Details:
Private Lot & Street Parking.

Public Transit:
On the actual Main Street route, including the Max. Only a few feet from two stops.

Executive Chef:
Nick Estell

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Cafe Trio hosts numerous special events year round including wine diners, art openings, costume parties and special live music engagements. Please sign up to receive emails about these events by visiting our website at cafetriokc.com.

Restaurant Photos

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Offering the very best in private event options in Kansas City. Outstanding private dining opportunities for fifteen to over a hundred guests. Custom or à la Carte menus, full audiovisual support in the choice of two very unique rooms. Let us do the work while you take all the credit.

Café Trio Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Kansas City
Outdoor Dining
Kansas City
American
Kansas City
2 More
Best Ambiance
Kansas City, MO
American
Kansas City, MO
Best Restaurants in Plaza / Brookside ›

special occasion (88)
fit for foodies (87)
neighborhood gem (82)
See All
romantic (78)
great for outdoor dining (73)
scenic view (65)
good for groups (48)
great for lunch (38)
notable wine list (37)
vibrant bar scene (30)
hot spot (29)
great for brunch (17)
late-night find (10)
 (6)
 (6)
 (6)
 (4)
 (4)
 (4)
 (3)
 (3)
kid-friendly (1)
 (1)
Sort By:
Newest
2846 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Main courses were very good. Tilapia & b ...

Dined 4 days ago

Main courses were very good. Tilapia & braised ribs with nice accompaniments. Big negative was the bread, dry no flavor. Salad so so. Dessert was excellent

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Cafe Provence

vip
Dined 4 days ago

The food and service was excellent. This was one of the best dining experiences I have had in Kansas City.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was a spur-of-the - moment dinner b ...

Dined 5 days ago

This was a spur-of-the - moment dinner before going to the symphony& it was a great pick. We had a fun waiter & quick service & delicious meals! Who could ask for anything more? We'll back!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

We ate here on a Wednesday night. We wer ...

vip
Dined 6 days ago

We ate here on a Wednesday night. We were able to get a table on the deck, one of our favorite places. Food was great. I had the crab cakes for my entree and my companion had the seafood lasagna. Wine was great. As always, everyone with whom we came in contact was friendly and welcoming. Our server did a great job, and that's no small feat on the deck. Parking was pretty easy. View was wonderful.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

We had lunch at Cafe Trio. It was good, ...

vip
Dined on May 24, 2016

We had lunch at Cafe Trio. It was good, but not memorable. I had the quiche special and my friend had the chicken salad. I would say both were good but nothing special.

food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Cafe Trio has been one of our favorites ...

vip
Dined on May 24, 2016

Cafe Trio has been one of our favorites for great service and good food. I will hope that Monday was just an off night. My wife's filet was tasteless and not served as ordered with the peppercorn sauce. No complaint on my salmon which is what I generally order but the standard dinner salad now leaves a lot to be desired.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Cafe Trio never lets me down! Another fu ...

Dined on May 23, 2016

Cafe Trio never lets me down! Another fun even with great food, wine and service!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This restaurant has been one of my favor ...

vip
Dined on May 21, 2016

This restaurant has been one of my favorite places to have dinner at for years. Service and food have always been outstanding. On my most recent visit, I had a group of 8 family family members (all in from out of town) that grew to 12 and the hostess was great at helping us get seating that worked for all of us. The outdoor seating that overlooks the KC Plaza area is a wonderful way to show off my city while eating great food! We had a variety of foods (the mussels, scallops and Mac and cheese were big favorites!) both as appetizers and entrees. Our server helped split the check for the group without missing a beat (many places object).

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lovely space, delicious food

Dined on May 20, 2016

Loved the outdoor patio overlooking the park and the plaza; they had heaters to ward off the chill. We started with the Moroccan Flatbread with lamb. I had the spinach salad with salmon which was tasty. Good drinks.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

One of my go-to places

vip
Dined on May 18, 2016

I like Cafe Trio very much - I've eaten here many times. I bring out of town company here frequently. I like that there's no sports on the tv, and it's comfortable - upscale without being uppity. Two small details this last trip - the greens under the sea bass were quite salty, and we were a little too close to the piano player who seemed to me, after an hour or so, to be playing quite loudly. That's ok, my daughter says I'm fussy and she's not wrong. Next time (oh yes, I will absolutely go back) we'll sit a little farther from the piano. I'd order the sea bass again though. My companion had the short ribs and loved them.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

I had the salmon chowder (which was to d ...

Dined on May 16, 2016

I had the salmon chowder (which was to die for), and initially ordered the arugula salad, but was told that they had ran out of arugula much to my dismay, so I swapped my order for the frisee salad, which I learned was happily just as appetizing! It was my first time around at Café Trio and certainly will not be my last. The ambience was very lively, complimented by my waiter's upbeat personality and his ability to suggest me wonderful foods!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

We make Cafe Trio every chance we get. ...

vip
Dined on May 13, 2016

We make Cafe Trio every chance we get. Other family members fans as well.

food5
ambience5
service4

Outstanding restaurant with a great menu ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

Outstanding restaurant with a great menu of starter and main dishes. Had a great time there with friends celebrating a special day.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Favorite place - we love

Dined on May 12, 2016

Always the best spot to celebrate a beautiful day or occasion.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5

Brussels sprouts at happy hour were AMAZ ...

vip
Dined on May 9, 2016

Brussels sprouts at happy hour were AMAZING, service fantastic. Happy hour wine not so much - poor quality so order a cocktail instead!

food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Cafe Trio's Happy Hour on Monday goes un ...

vip
Dined on May 9, 2016

Cafe Trio's Happy Hour on Monday goes until 10:30 p.m. This was my first time to enjoy this. The choices were adequate and the food was very good. I will recommend this to my friends.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Mothers Day Brunch

Dined on May 8, 2016

What a delightful time. We sat on the deck enjoying the food, our server, and the view of the park, while rain made music on the roof!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

ALWAYS a good time!

Dined on May 7, 2016

I have NEVER had a bad experience at Cafe Trio and I've been going for almost 10 years now

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful Experience

Dined on May 7, 2016

Cafe Trio has been my favorite restaurant for a long time. The food is always delicious, the ambiance is unparalleled, and the service is excellent. I had the short ribs which were divine. I also enjoyed the chocolate mint cake.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

10 year anniversary dinner

Dined on May 7, 2016

My husband and I got engaged at the fountain near this restaurant and then spent our engagement dinner in your restaurant 10 years ago! We came back on our 10 year anniversary and you were very welcoming and accommodating. We sat outside but the only seating was near the road, which was loud. But, the food was delicious and the service was quick and friendly and we had a great night celebrating!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Destination for a Special Occasion

Dined on May 4, 2016

I have been going to Cafe Trio since it was in it's original location and it has really stood the test of time. It went from a classy small neighborhood lounge to a full scale, top notch destination with a great patio and excellent views/ambiance. Our last visit was for my mother's birthday and it was on the top of her list of places to dine. She and my father went there before an opera performance recently and she was "dreaming" of the pork chop for days. I guess she had never had one cooked so well in her days. Everyone else had excellent food and service and we at no time were rushed to finish but were taken excellent care of. The Plaza and park were very close which made an after dinner promenade an easy and feasible option. I really give Trio many big thumbs up.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Lovely atmosphere and the food was so de ...

Dined on April 30, 2016

Lovely atmosphere and the food was so delicious. We had the steak and salmon. Both were very tender and delicious. The Mac and cheese was amazing as well!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always consistent, excellent

vip
Dined on April 21, 2016

My go to favorite on the Plaza for either and easy business lunch, dinner out with friends or romantic dinner with spouse

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Always delivers

vip
Dined on April 19, 2016

Cafe Trio is a gem. Food is excellent and waitstaff professional and attentive. The place is gorgeous inside and has a fun and relaxing covered porch and patio with bar in the back. Great happy hour menu and specials, too. I've never been disappointed!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great find in KC

vip
Dined on April 17, 2016

We couldn't have asked for a better evening: Great service...wonderful food...flawless redemption of the OT gift card. Scallops were awesome, dessert was delicious, drinks were perfect!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience4
service1
value2

took an hour and 45 minutes for our dinn ...

Dined on April 16, 2016

took an hour and 45 minutes for our dinner to arrive.

food4
ambience4
service5
value3

We ate outside and it was a bit windy

Dined on April 15, 2016

The food and service was wonderful! It was a bit pricey.

food5
ambience5
service5

The food was awesome! I've never had a b ...

Dined on April 15, 2016

The food was awesome! I've never had a bad meal there.

food5
ambience4
service4

Enjoyed seafood lasagna, tried something ...

Dined on April 13, 2016

Enjoyed seafood lasagna, tried something new and was very satisfied.

food5
ambience5
service5

We had a birthday in our party and all e ...

Dined on April 12, 2016

We had a birthday in our party and all enjoyed a wonderful dinner to their tastes: seafood lasagna, hanger steak and MacDaddy. :). The mussels appetizer is our favorite and we've tried them many other places. Half price wine was a pleasant finding on Tues night, and Tony was a great server whom we will request again on our return.

food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Great

Dined on April 10, 2016

The food was amazing but a bit pricy for the portions. The cocktails were wonderful and top shelf so certainly worth the price. The only problem we had was that we waited an hour after finishing our dinner to receive our ticket. It was still a wonderful date with my husband and the view of The Plaza was wonderful. We will definitely be back.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Consistently a local favorite!

Dined on April 7, 2016

Great location, great atmosphere, locally owned. You will always see the owners running around helping out. The food, drinks and service are some of the best KC has to offer.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Cafe Trip Happy Hour

Dined on March 29, 2016

A great night to sit on the deck and enjoy the view of The Plaza! Tuesday is half priced bottles wine($50 and under). Always great food and fun...and good value! Lucky night...they had lobster bisque! Their crab cakes, flatbread, Brussels sprouts and mussels are Devine! Wonderful for lunch,d inner and Happy Hour!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

We chose to sit out in the covered patio ...

Dined on March 27, 2016

We chose to sit out in the covered patio, which turns out leaves something to be desired. High top tables only, which I never find comfortable. Not much of a view when you are turned sideways either. The inside of this restaurant is so much better. Food and service are always good here.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for lunch, scenic view, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Had a great dinner and overall experienc ...

Dined on March 26, 2016

Had a great dinner and overall experience. Highly recommend this restaurant and we will certainly go back the next time we visit KC

food5
ambience5
service5

Nice people and outstanding food and ser ...

vip
Dined on March 20, 2016

Nice people and outstanding food and service.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Romantic dinner for two!

Dined on March 12, 2016

Enjoyed dinner with my Sweetie! Great food and the best Martinis around!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We ate here on a Friday night. Seated ou ...

vip
Dined on March 11, 2016

We ate here on a Friday night. Seated out on the deck as requested. Our server was excellent. The deck is a pretty challenging place to be a server and she made us feel like we were her only customers while she was with us. I had the elk and my companion had the seafood lasagna. We both really enjoyed our food. I tried a fig Manhattan and really liked it. They have interesting wines by the glass and bottle. Parking is pretty easy and the view from the deck is really nice. Everyone with whom we can in contact was gracious and welcoming. It was a lovely evening. Be advised that the deck can be noisy. If that bothers you, maybe inside would be better. We like the energy but others may want a more cozy experience.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Enjoyable dining experience

Dined on March 11, 2016

Our server was very helpful in suggesting items and just very personable in general. I wish I remembered his name for the review. Being from Maryland, we are a bit skeptical about ordering the crab cake appetizers but were very pleased with the amount of crab, very little or no breading but instead of veggies! The entire meals was satisfying. The atmosphere was lovely with a view of the "Ponce de Leon" across the street and a pianist playing.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience3
service5

Great food and great setting with piano ...

Dined on March 6, 2016

Great food and great setting with piano music for background. The only negative was the noise level made it a little difficult for conversation.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.