About Café Trio

4558 Main Street
Kansas City, MO 64111
View Larger Map

Hip & glamorous, Café Trio blends outstanding cuisine and cocktails for an award winning “Come as you are” fine dining experience. Trio offers a unique intersection of incredible dining, quality live entertainment and original local art. The Starlet Lounge at Café Trio evokes a bygone era complete with Hollywood Starlets and the always playing classic movie with unique specialty martinis, traditional cocktails and an extensive list of wine and beers. Every Tuesday features Half Priced Wine with $5 Starlet specialty Martinis each Wednesday. Live music on Tuesday through Saturday includes Café Trio's own resident Diva, the one and only Alice Jenkins on Friday & Saturday nights. Large outdoor deck and terrace offers one of kind views of the Country Club Plaza and J.C. Nichols Fountain. Cafe Trio is one of Kansas City's most popular restaurants. Awarded multiple Kansas City “Best Of” designations by Kansas City Magazine, including “Best Overall Restaurant”.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH: Monday - Friday 11am - 2pm

HAPPY HOUR: Monday -Friday 2pm-6pm

DINNER / Full Menu Service: Monday: 5pm-9pm, Tuesday-Thursday: 5pm-9:30pm, Friday & Saturday: 5pm -10:30pm.

Cocktails (Lounge & Deck): Monday - Friday: 2:00pm - Midnight, Saturday: 5:00pm - Midnight
Kitchen & Bar Hours may Vary

Cross Street:
E. 45th Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(816) 756-3227

Website:
http://www.cafetriokc.com/

Entertainment:
Piano & Vocals. Blues & Jazz. Evenings: Tuesday through Saturday.

Parking Details:
Private Lot & Street Parking.

Public Transit:
On the actual Main Street route, including the Max. Only a few feet from two stops.

Executive Chef:
Nick Estell

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Cafe Trio hosts numerous special events year round including wine diners, art openings, costume parties and special live music engagements. Please sign up to receive emails about these events by visiting our website at cafetriokc.com.

Restaurant Photos

Hanger Steak
Shrimp Flatbread
House Salad
Salmon burger
Lambchops
Lemon Icebox Cake
Filet Mignon
Mac Daddy
Crab Cakes
Brussels Sprouts
Caprese Salad
Southwest Chicken Cobb
Pear Ginger Martini
NYE Dessert Sampler
Xingu Black Beer
NYE Seafood Trio
NYE Appetizer Sampler
Grilled Barrumundi
Scallops Praline
Lamb Lollipops
Caesar Salad
Seafood Trio
Mac Daddy Side
Tomato Bisque Soup
Bread
Iced tea
Side Salad
Braised Short Ribs
Cheesesteak
Ribeye
Mediterranean Grilled Seafood Trio
baked spaghetti
Seafood Ceviche
Tomato Basil Soup
Grilled Asparagus
Prince Edward Island Mussels
Mediterrean Seafood Grill
Cream Brulee Cheesecake
Cowboy Bone-in Ribeye
Ribeye Steak
Tomato Basil
Seafood Lasagna
Jimi Hendrix
Seafood Cev
Seared Ahi Tuna
Mac Daddy Mac & Cheese
Spinach Salad
Tuscan Shrimp Pizza
Roasted Chicken
Oyster Rockerfeller
Ahi tuna
Pale Ale
Veal Ossobuco
tortellini
Steak And Sticks
Braised Pork Short Ribs
Spinach and Smoked Bacon Salad
Blue Bistro
Deluxe Steakburger

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Offering the very best in private event options in Kansas City. Outstanding private dining opportunities for fifteen to over a hundred guests. Custom or à la Carte menus, full audiovisual support in the choice of two very unique rooms. Let us do the work while you take all the credit.

Café Trio Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Outdoor Dining
Kansas City
American
Kansas City
Best Service
Kansas City, MO
2 More
Best Ambiance
Kansas City, MO
American
Kansas City, MO
Best Restaurants in Plaza / Brookside ›

great for outdoor dining (97)
special occasion (89)
neighborhood gem (88)
See All
fit for foodies (84)
scenic view (72)
romantic (67)
good for groups (53)
great for lunch (43)
notable wine list (39)
hot spot (38)
vibrant bar scene (31)
late-night find (16)
great for brunch (15)
kid-friendly (3)
Sort By:
Newest
2867 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

Relaxed dinning close to The Plaza with ...

vip
Dined 4 days ago

Relaxed dinning close to The Plaza with covered outdoor seating that overlooks the Park and fountain. Menu is small but not lacking. Service was relaxed and unrushed. Food was good and well priced. Stop by for a drink on their back patio and I bet you decide to stay for dinner!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

The third night of our out of town anniv ...

Dined 4 days ago

The third night of our out of town anniversary stay we tried Cafe Trio. The decor was very nice. The food and service was very good. For us the topper was the piano player. (Please don't shoot him.) He could start with a tune, change the tempo and style, segway into a different song and back to the original with such ease it almost sounded as one. I'll recommend this dinning experience to anyone.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Celebrated our twenty-eighth anniversary ...

Dined 4 days ago

Celebrated our twenty-eighth anniversary at Cafe Trio...not our first time! And, again, food, service and ambiance...outstanding! We have never been disappointed. One of our very favorite places to dine.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I recently took a friend to Café Trio wh ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

I recently took a friend to Café Trio who grew up in KC but has been living in California for 30 years or so. He loved it! Said the food, cocktails, wine, and ambience rival some of the best restaurants in San Francisco. I think Trio is one of Kansas City's best restaurants. The food is delicious. The staff is friendly and knowledgeable. I always have a great time there--love the bar area and the covered patio. Consistently wonderful!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

This has always been our first choice fo ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

This has always been our first choice for special event celebrations. However, in the past year or two negative changes have been made to the menu/menu items. This is the best patio dining experience in Kansas City but we will have to find an alternative for special occasions.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

It was a birthday dinner. We were set ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

It was a birthday dinner. We were set upstairs in isolation. The food was just ok. Not sure we will return.

Tags: great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have now been to Cafe Trio twice, bot ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

We have now been to Cafe Trio twice, both times for our anniversary. We absolutely Love their food, service, atmosphere and always enjoy the live pianist !! We Will be back! A and C from Tulsa, OK

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

we requested a table on the main floor a ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

we requested a table on the main floor and got it! service was extraordinary. meal was delicious. piano man big plus - since it was an occasion, requested songs which he consistently knew or acquired. a bit if a slow night, which was pleasant for us, in hanging out a bit, enjoying music. we'll come again soon, probably for lunch and outdoors dining. thank you.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server was knowledgeable and very he ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

Our server was knowledgeable and very helpful ! She had a wonderful personality ! She made great suggestions and knew the menu very well ! The whole staff moved seamlessly clearing plates and refilling glasses. We had a wonderful evening and enjoyed the very talented pianist...and felt comfortable enough to stay awhile and enjoy the music ! We were celebrating Fathers Day...I informed my husband we could celebrate my birthday there !!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great happy hour menu and ambiance! Our ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

Great happy hour menu and ambiance! Our server was very attentive, and they made sure to confirm my reservation the day before. I highly recommend Cafe Trio!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful dining experience. Though it w ...

vip
Dined on June 14, 2016

Wonderful dining experience. Though it was a hot day, the patio was comfortable and inviting. Service and food were both fantastic!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining
food4
ambience5
service4

Food was good. It took a little longer t ...

vip
Dined on June 14, 2016

Food was good. It took a little longer to get our food than we expected but the food was good again. We went for lunch. I had the pork tacos and enjoyed them.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Every time I visit Cafe Trio it is an ab ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

Every time I visit Cafe Trio it is an absolutely perfect experience from arrival to walking out the door. The atmosphere, the food, the staff all the way down to the personal touch of Tai or Chris (the owners) coming to the table to say hello and check-in. The most personal service and experience I have received at any restaurant, anywhere, ever and why I always go back to Cafe Trio again and again, it just doesn't get any better. As always Cara, our server of choice who has become a friend is always beyond perfection as well! Lastly, thank you for the replacement wine glasses!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One Of Our Favorites Just Keeps Getting Better

vip
Dined on June 8, 2016

Cafe Trio has been one of our favorite restaurants for several years and our recent visit kept it at the top of our list. My wife tried one of the newer offerings, the paella, which she enjoyed very much. I ordered the fillet and was very pleased with cut of meat and the accompaniments. Our server was extremely pleasant and competent even though the restaurant was busy and she had several tables to manage. Overall, it was an outstanding meal.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Another great dinner at Cafe Trio

Dined on June 8, 2016

We were there on a weekday evening and were seated on the deck. We both had the pork chops, which were great. We had the tomato bisque and crab cakes before the entree, and both were excellent. The service was outstanding.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, scenic view
food2
ambience4
service5
value1

We will not be back for dinner.

Dined on June 3, 2016

I went to happy hour at Cafe Trio a few weeks ago and liked it so we thought we would try their dinner menu. My husband ordered the salmon and I ordered the seafood ravioli. Both meals were terrible. We didn't even finish them. They had no flavor and were not impressive, especially for the cost. My wine was good but my husband's wine tasted skunked. We probably should have said something about the wine. We like trying new places and don't mind spending money when the food is worth it, but I could have found a $10 meal that was so much better than this. It takes a lot for us not to finish our food and wine. The service was great, but that wasn't what we came for. We might come back for happy hour but will definitely not be back for dinner.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
food1
ambience2
service3

What a disappointment. This used to be ...

vip
Dined on June 2, 2016

What a disappointment. This used to be a favorite, but this is the last time. Server was pleasant but not really on too of her game. The cocktail was a ten dollar glass of ice with maybe two sips of liquid. Dinner was poorly prepared and caused stomach problems the next 24 hours.

food3
ambience4
service4
value4

empty

Dined on June 1, 2016

At noon no one was in the inside; 3-4 tables outside (nice) What's up/

Tags: great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Fun Date Night

Dined on May 29, 2016

Me and my date really enjoyed our experience at Café Trio. The food was really good. I had the mac and cheese (Kansas City's best they say) and the girlfriend got seafood lasagna which was awesome. The highlight for me as a beer guy was seeing Delirium Tremens on the tap list! That's a rare find outside of Europe, so that was a nice surprise. There was a nice couple playing soft music that created a good vibe inside the restaurant. The outdoor seating area looked fantastic with a view of the plaza. We wanted to try that but it was full, so we may have to come back for that reason alone. On top of all of it, the service was excellent. Prompt, but not pushy. It was an overall great experience.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A Fave

Dined on May 28, 2016

Great food! Always enjoy Cafe Trio. Outside is great when weather is good. Service is consistently attentive and flexible with requests.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Main courses were very good. Tilapia & b ...

Dined on May 27, 2016

Main courses were very good. Tilapia & braised ribs with nice accompaniments. Big negative was the bread, dry no flavor. Salad so so. Dessert was excellent

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Cafe Provence

vip
Dined on May 27, 2016

The food and service was excellent. This was one of the best dining experiences I have had in Kansas City.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was a spur-of-the - moment dinner b ...

Dined on May 26, 2016

This was a spur-of-the - moment dinner before going to the symphony& it was a great pick. We had a fun waiter & quick service & delicious meals! Who could ask for anything more? We'll back!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

We ate here on a Wednesday night. We wer ...

vip
Dined on May 25, 2016

We ate here on a Wednesday night. We were able to get a table on the deck, one of our favorite places. Food was great. I had the crab cakes for my entree and my companion had the seafood lasagna. Wine was great. As always, everyone with whom we came in contact was friendly and welcoming. Our server did a great job, and that's no small feat on the deck. Parking was pretty easy. View was wonderful.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Patio dining with view of Plaza Fountain

Dined on May 25, 2016

Excellent seafood choices and wonderful selection of wines! Crab cakes were out of this world... we loved the Elk, doctored up Mac and Cheese, rich polenta, and salmon.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

We had lunch at Cafe Trio. It was good, ...

vip
Dined on May 24, 2016

We had lunch at Cafe Trio. It was good, but not memorable. I had the quiche special and my friend had the chicken salad. I would say both were good but nothing special.

food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Cafe Trio has been one of our favorites ...

vip
Dined on May 24, 2016

Cafe Trio has been one of our favorites for great service and good food. I will hope that Monday was just an off night. My wife's filet was tasteless and not served as ordered with the peppercorn sauce. No complaint on my salmon which is what I generally order but the standard dinner salad now leaves a lot to be desired.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Cafe Trio never lets me down! Another fu ...

Dined on May 23, 2016

Cafe Trio never lets me down! Another fun even with great food, wine and service!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This restaurant has been one of my favor ...

vip
Dined on May 21, 2016

This restaurant has been one of my favorite places to have dinner at for years. Service and food have always been outstanding. On my most recent visit, I had a group of 8 family family members (all in from out of town) that grew to 12 and the hostess was great at helping us get seating that worked for all of us. The outdoor seating that overlooks the KC Plaza area is a wonderful way to show off my city while eating great food! We had a variety of foods (the mussels, scallops and Mac and cheese were big favorites!) both as appetizers and entrees. Our server helped split the check for the group without missing a beat (many places object).

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lovely space, delicious food

Dined on May 20, 2016

Loved the outdoor patio overlooking the park and the plaza; they had heaters to ward off the chill. We started with the Moroccan Flatbread with lamb. I had the spinach salad with salmon which was tasty. Good drinks.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

One of my go-to places

vip
Dined on May 18, 2016

I like Cafe Trio very much - I've eaten here many times. I bring out of town company here frequently. I like that there's no sports on the tv, and it's comfortable - upscale without being uppity. Two small details this last trip - the greens under the sea bass were quite salty, and we were a little too close to the piano player who seemed to me, after an hour or so, to be playing quite loudly. That's ok, my daughter says I'm fussy and she's not wrong. Next time (oh yes, I will absolutely go back) we'll sit a little farther from the piano. I'd order the sea bass again though. My companion had the short ribs and loved them.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

I had the salmon chowder (which was to d ...

Dined on May 16, 2016

I had the salmon chowder (which was to die for), and initially ordered the arugula salad, but was told that they had ran out of arugula much to my dismay, so I swapped my order for the frisee salad, which I learned was happily just as appetizing! It was my first time around at Café Trio and certainly will not be my last. The ambience was very lively, complimented by my waiter's upbeat personality and his ability to suggest me wonderful foods!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

We make Cafe Trio every chance we get. ...

vip
Dined on May 13, 2016

We make Cafe Trio every chance we get. Other family members fans as well.

food5
ambience5
service4

Outstanding restaurant with a great menu ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

Outstanding restaurant with a great menu of starter and main dishes. Had a great time there with friends celebrating a special day.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Favorite place - we love

Dined on May 12, 2016

Always the best spot to celebrate a beautiful day or occasion.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5

Brussels sprouts at happy hour were AMAZ ...

vip
Dined on May 9, 2016

Brussels sprouts at happy hour were AMAZING, service fantastic. Happy hour wine not so much - poor quality so order a cocktail instead!

food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Cafe Trio's Happy Hour on Monday goes un ...

vip
Dined on May 9, 2016

Cafe Trio's Happy Hour on Monday goes until 10:30 p.m. This was my first time to enjoy this. The choices were adequate and the food was very good. I will recommend this to my friends.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Mothers Day Brunch

Dined on May 8, 2016

What a delightful time. We sat on the deck enjoying the food, our server, and the view of the park, while rain made music on the roof!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

ALWAYS a good time!

Dined on May 7, 2016

I have NEVER had a bad experience at Cafe Trio and I've been going for almost 10 years now

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful Experience

Dined on May 7, 2016

Cafe Trio has been my favorite restaurant for a long time. The food is always delicious, the ambiance is unparalleled, and the service is excellent. I had the short ribs which were divine. I also enjoyed the chocolate mint cake.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.