About Café Trio

4558 Main Street
Kansas City, MO 64111
View Larger Map

Hip & glamorous, Café Trio blends outstanding cuisine and cocktails for an award winning “Come as you are” casual fine dining experience offering the perfect “Trio” of great Local Food, Art and Live Music. The Starlet Lounge at Café Trio evokes a bygone era complete with Hollywood Starlets and the always playing classic movie with specialty martinis, traditional cocktails and an extensive list of wine and beer with Live Music Tuesday through Saturday. Large outdoor terrace offers one of kind views of the Country Club Plaza & J.C. Nichols Fountain. Chef Nick Estell uses a cornucopia of local and regional produce and artisan ingredients for a very well curated menu. Expect to be greeted with a smile by both the staff & owners, Tai and Chris. Cafe Trio is one of Kansas City's most popular restaurants awarded multiple Kansas City “Best Of” designations including “Best Overall Restaurant” designations including “Best Overall Restaurant”.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH: Monday - Friday 11am - 2pm

HAPPY HOUR: Monday -Friday 2pm-6pm

DINNER / Full Menu Service: Monday: 5pm-9pm, Tuesday-Thursday: 5pm-9:30pm, Friday & Saturday: 5pm -10:30pm.

Cocktails (Lounge & Deck): Monday - Friday: 2:00pm - Midnight, Saturday: 5:00pm - Midnight
Kitchen & Bar Hours may Vary

Cross Street:
E. 45th Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(816) 756-3227

Website:
http://www.cafetriokc.com/

Entertainment:
Piano & Vocals. Blues & Jazz. Evenings: Tuesday through Saturday.

Parking Details:
Private Lot & Street Parking.

Public Transit:
On the actual Main Street route, including the Max. Only a few feet from two stops.

Executive Chef:
Nick Estell

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Cafe Trio hosts numerous special events year round including wine diners, art openings, costume parties and special live music engagements. Please sign up to receive emails about these events by visiting our website at cafetriokc.com.

Restaurant Photos

Hanger Steak
Shrimp Flatbread
House Salad
Salmon burger
Lemon Icebox Cake
Filet Mignon
Mac Daddy
Crab Cakes
Brussels Sprouts
Caprese Salad
Southwest Chicken Cobb
Pear Ginger Martini
NYE Dessert Sampler
Xingu Black Beer
NYE Seafood Trio
NYE Appetizer Sampler
Grilled Barrumundi
Scallops Praline
Lamb Lollipops
Caesar Salad
Seafood Trio
Mac Daddy Side
Bread
Side Salad
Iced tea
Tomato Bisque Soup
Braised Short Ribs
Cheesesteak
Ribeye
Mediterranean Grilled Seafood Trio
baked spaghetti
Grilled Asparagus
Seafood Ceviche
Tomato Basil Soup
Prince Edward Island Mussels
Mediterrean Seafood Grill
Cream Brulee Cheesecake
Cowboy Bone-in Ribeye
Ribeye Steak
Tomato Basil
Seafood Lasagna
Seafood Cev
Jimi Hendrix
Seared Ahi Tuna
Mac Daddy Mac & Cheese
Spinach Salad
Tuscan Shrimp Pizza
Roasted Chicken
Lambchops
Ahi tuna
Oyster Rockerfeller
Pale Ale
Veal Ossobuco
tortellini
Steak And Sticks
Braised Pork Short Ribs
Spinach and Smoked Bacon Salad
Blue Bistro
Deluxe Steakburger

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Offering the very best in private event options in Kansas City. Outstanding private dining opportunities for fifteen to over a hundred guests. Custom or à la Carte menus, full audiovisual support in the choice of two very unique rooms. Let us do the work while you take all the credit.

Café Trio Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Outdoor Dining
Kansas City
Best Value
Kansas City, MO
Outdoor Dining
Kansas City, MO
1 More
American
Kansas City, MO
Best Restaurants in Plaza / Brookside ›

Great for Outdoor Dining (64)
Special Occasion (60)
Scenic View (50)
See All
Fit for Foodies (49)
Neighborhood Gem (44)
Romantic (43)
Great for Lunch (28)
Good for Groups (26)
Notable Wine List (21)
Hot Spot (18)
Vibrant Bar Scene (18)
Good for a Date (15)
Late-night Find (14)
Good for Anniversaries (11)
Bar Seating (8)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Live Music (6)
Happy Hour (5)
Business Meals (5)
Fun (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Casual (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Private Room (3)
Authentic (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Seasonal (2)
Tapas (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Cozy (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Fireplace (1)
People Watching (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Great Beer (1)
Healthy (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Sort By:
Newest
2910 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Richard is a great waiter! Makes your e ...

vip
·Dined 3 days ago

Richard is a great waiter! Makes your evening more enjoyable!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We went for our four year anniversary an ...

 
·Dined 3 days ago

We went for our four year anniversary and had a great time. We love the back bar area and has exceptional service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I have been to Cafe Trio quite a few tim ...

vip
·Dined 3 days ago

I have been to Cafe Trio quite a few times and it never fails to deliver. We tried the Mussels appetizer for the first time a while and it was as tasty as ever. Make sure to get more bread to soak up the amazing broth. I tried the roast chicken entree for the first time and it was done perfectly and the pickled mushrooms were a very interesting addition. They have a small wine list but you can find some decent ones on it. We tried the Lenore Syrah from Washington for $36 a bottle and it was delicious and after opening up for a but got even better. We'll be back!

Tags: Private Room, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was really really good. Excel ...

vip
·Dined 3 days ago

Everything was really really good. Excellent service. Very attentive to our table.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Amazing dinner and service

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Amazing dinner and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

As always great, Richard such a fun guy. ...

vip
·Dined 4 days ago

As always great, Richard such a fun guy. New menu Robert liked the fish tacos, everything really good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Cafe Trio is a wonderful place, especial ...

vip
·Dined on September 19, 2016

Cafe Trio is a wonderful place, especially on Monday, with their all day happy hour. Great food, atmosphere and service.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was in Kansas City on a trip and was l ...

 
·Dined on September 18, 2016

I was in Kansas City on a trip and was looking for a restaurant near my hotel and saw this on a website. Looked good so I made a reservation and went there. They had a very good menu. I had the pork chop and the spinach salad. Both were very good and reasonably priced. The waitress was very nice and helpful. I would definitely go back if I get back to KC.

Tags: Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great wine list. Entrees always deliciou ...

 
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Great wine list. Entrees always delicious & great service. This was our 4th or 5th time @ Cafe Trio!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Usually I'm impressed with Café Trio. Th ...

vip
·Dined on September 15, 2016

Usually I'm impressed with Café Trio. This time not so much. The stuffed pork chop my GF got was rare and needed to be re-fired. Not only that, it was probably 50% fat and a bad cut. We mentioned this to our waiter and showed him. They simply cooked it some more vs replacing. We ordered a $100 bottle of wine and wasn't offered to decant and was asked jokingly if I even wanted to taste it before it was poured! I thought they might remove the $12 appetizer from the bill but we were fully charged. I expect more from this place. I'll likely return at some point but I'm in no rush after this experience.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

We specifically came to Cafe Trio to use ...

vip
·Dined on September 14, 2016

We specifically came to Cafe Trio to use $25 off of $75 or more voucher I had signed up for on FB. I was extremely disappointed to be told we couldn't use it because we purchased a few Happy Hour items. The voucher I received had no terms and conditions on it. After much research I found it was only included on your website and it only said it couldn't be combined with other discounts. I never assumed HH prices would be included in that very broad and vague description. #FeltLikeBaitAndSwitch. :(

Tags: Comfort Food, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Delicious food. Very good music. Nice pa ...

vip
·Dined on September 14, 2016

Delicious food. Very good music. Nice patio. Servers are excellent. Highly recommend this establishment to anyone

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our evening with friends was marred by s ...

 
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Our evening with friends was marred by something out of your control, we think.

There was a group of customers that were just plain unruly. Noisy and doing shots and being a distraction to a normally special night at an exquisite restaurant.

The wait staff expressed over and over again about how sorry they were for the disrespectful customers. We were told they were regulars which told me that they should have felt comfortable enough to ask them politely to respect the desires of other customers.

But our waitress did as good of a job as she could and we will be back.

The food was great as usual.

We did go elsewhere for an after-dinner bottle of wine.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Tapas, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service5
value4

Interesting, fun restaurant. Excellent s ...

 
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Interesting, fun restaurant. Excellent service. Always leave feeling happy!

Tags: Happy Hour, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Live Music, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The waitress seemed irritated that we -- ...

 
·Dined on September 3, 2016

The waitress seemed irritated that we -- a twosome -- asked to be moved from a high-top table on the outside deck. She took us to the south part of the deck in the corners "in the trees." It was a terrific table, but the waitress was afterward seemingly aloof and disinterested.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value4

My husband and I were very disappointed ...

 
·Dined on September 3, 2016

My husband and I were very disappointed in our meal. My husband ordered a steak and it was so bad that he couldn't eat it. My meal was ok but not worth what I paid for it. Our total bill was very expensive which would have been fine if the food was outstanding. It's too bad because the patio setting really is nice. We won't be back.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

With the weather moderating, we try to f ...

vip
·Dined on September 2, 2016

With the weather moderating, we try to frequent places with outdoor dining this time of year. Trio is one of our favorites. The deck is covered, and reasonably shady. The view is great and the service on their deck is polished and professional. You don't feel like you're on a picnic. They do outdoor dining right. We ate here on the Friday evening of Labor Day weekend. We got a table on the deck. Had a great bottle of wine, and enjoyed wonderful food. I had the halibut and my companion had the seafood lasagna. Our server gave us space and time to enjoy our food and wine, but never let us feel forgotten. Parking is pretty easy and the wine list is interesting.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Consistent high quality food in a casual ...

vip
·Dined on September 1, 2016

Consistent high quality food in a casual, comfortable setting. Quiet enough to talk, but sounds of people enjoying themselves. Thursday night Tim Whitmer provides great piano music for relaxing atmosphere. Always a good evening.

Tags: Business Meals, Fun, Live Music, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Hadn't been here in a few months. They ...

vip
·Dined on August 31, 2016

Hadn't been here in a few months. They added some delicious dishes to their menu. I got the paella and ceviche and they were both absolutely delicious! Atmosphere was fun with a talented pianist playing all night. Pretty sure I recognized the fizzy lifting drink music from Willy Wonka! Great wine and service too!

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I love Café Trio. I've been there many ...

 
·Dined on August 29, 2016

I love Café Trio. I've been there many times for business lunches and recently met there with 7 other people for a book discussion. We were all able to hear each other without disrupting the people nearby. We were there on a Monday and had happy hour prices the whole evening, and the food was delicious.

Tags: Fun, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Happy Hour, Scenic View, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I would have given five stars, but as re ...

 
·Dined on August 28, 2016

I would have given five stars, but as really good the food was, it wasn't and oh my God moment. Not something that is required for everything else it provides.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Private Room, Romantic, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vERY NICE TIME. tHJE WAITER WAS GREAT AN ...

 
·Dined on August 27, 2016

vERY NICE TIME. tHJE WAITER WAS GREAT AND FOUND TIME TO TALK TO US. i HAVE BEEN GOING THERE LONG BEFORE THEY MOVED AND MY WIFE LOVES IT.

Tags: Fun, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Seafood curry was light and flavorful. T ...

vip
·Dined on August 24, 2016

Seafood curry was light and flavorful. The view and ambiance on the patio enhance the dining experience.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Beautiful ambiance, outstanding food, ex ...

 
·Dined on August 24, 2016

Beautiful ambiance, outstanding food, excellent service

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Another excellent meal last night at Caf ...

vip
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Another excellent meal last night at Café Trio. The mussels are incredible as a starter, husband had the lamb I had the hanger steak. Our meals were fabulous. Don't forget strawberry shortcake for dessert… Yum! Excellent food, service and ambiance… Love the piano man too!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent greatservice Very inventive me ...

 
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Excellent greatservice

Very inventive menu

Alwaysapleasure

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Truly a special dining experience! Food ...

vip
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Truly a special dining experience! Food is fantastic!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server was Hanna and she did a great ...

 
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Our server was Hanna and she did a great job. We enjoyed sitting outside and got lucky with great weather Saturday night. My husband and I both enjoyed our meal and we'll come back.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great atmosphere and service! Food was f ...

 
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Great atmosphere and service! Food was fair but not as high quality as I expected for the price tag. I would probably go back for a happy hour setting but not for dinner.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

We sat outside at the back bar and enjoy ...

 
·Dined on August 6, 2016

We sat outside at the back bar and enjoyed a cocktail prior to being sat at an outdoor table. Was great atmosphere and even better food. The mussels are delicious!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for Groups, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Cafe Trio NEVER disappoints!! We have b ...

 
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Cafe Trio NEVER disappoints!! We have been patrons for some time now and was a favorite before they moved to their current location and has only gotten better and better! Their deck and view of The Plaza are outstanding and can have the feel of a private more romantic spot to a great place to meet friends to unwind and enjoy fun and unique drink choices. A must try place in my opinion!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food is always a treat-- selections ...

 
·Dined on August 2, 2016

The food is always a treat-- selections sometimes to the point it's hard to make a choice. This time our server was the BEST ever!! Thank you for making my client-outing special event and making sure I got the check.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

I usually have fabulous food here, but m ...

 
·Dined on August 2, 2016

I usually have fabulous food here, but my lunch wasn't good. Service was okay but not great! Very disappointing because we were celebrating a dear friend's birthday.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value2

I order the Confit Pasta- it was delicio ...

 
·Dined on July 30, 2016

I order the Confit Pasta- it was delicious! The brown butter sauce was the best I've ever had. My wife had the Seafood Lasagna and raved about it as well. Our server was professional, knowledgeable, and courteous. The prices were a bit higher than we would like, but the quality of food is worth it. It is less an everyday restaurant and more of one that is frequented on a date or special occasion. Definitely give it a try!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Jeremy is always the best server. And t ...

 
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Jeremy is always the best server. And the atmosphere is always fantastic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

Always reliable for either a quality bus ...

vip
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Always reliable for either a quality business lunch meeting or special occasion with friends or family. Food options are great and atmosphere is engaging.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious food with thoughtful and atten ...

 
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Delicious food with thoughtful and attentive (but not too attentive) service.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We found Cafe Trio and made a reservatio ...

 
·Dined on July 16, 2016

We found Cafe Trio and made a reservation on a whim after missing our other reservation. Turned out to be an amazing choice! The paella was amazing (and spicy), as was the seafood lasagna. The waitress was attentive and friendly. We went at about 21.30, so the restaurant was quiet, which suited us just fine. Even had we gone during the day, I doubt it would have been loud. We'll definitely be going back the next time we're in Kansas City.

Tags: Late-night Find, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were celebrating an anniversary and I ...

vip
·Dined on July 14, 2016

We were celebrating an anniversary and I called ahead so they would seat us on the deck, which has a terrific view of the Plaza and the fountain. Wonderful crab cake appetizer and seafood lasagna. Our waiter tipped us off to a special dessert that was also ridiculously good, some kind of a peach pastry. Even if you weren't planning dessert, if they have that, get it and share it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife had the mussels and within 5 min ...

vip
·Dined on July 14, 2016

My wife had the mussels and within 5 minutes of returning home she was struck with food poisoning. We called the restaurant and spoke with the owner and his level of concern was barely noticeable. I doubt we will be back anytime soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.