About Cafe Trio Downtown

Café Trio is an Italian neighborhood restaurant nestled in the East Bench of downtown Salt Lake City.

680 S 900 E
Salt Lake City, UT 84102-3478
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 4:00pm
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 9:30pm, Friday: 4pm-10:00pm Saturday: 3:00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 3:00pm - 9:00pm
Brunch: Saturday - Sunday: 10:00am - 3:00pm

Cross Street:
700 South

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(801) 533-8746

Website:
http://www.triodining.com/

Parking Details:
Parking to the North, East and South.

Public Transit:
Trax train stops 4 blocks north. UTA bus stop on the corner of 900 E and 700 S.

Executive Chef:
Jennifer West

Additional:
Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Cafe Trio Downtown Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.9

service

4.4

ambience

4.0

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

83% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (7)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Good for a Date (3)
See All
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Seasonal (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Fun (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Healthy (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Fit for Foodies (2)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Authentic (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Tapas (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Special Occasion (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Business Meals (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
42 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on April 17, 2017

Weather was bad but look forward to eating outside on the patio. Our group all had salads & were very happy with them. Beet salad is good but wish there was a bit more beets.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Paleo Friendly, Great for Lunch, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 13, 2017

We selected Cafe Trio to celebrate 3 family birthdays. We had been to the Cottonwood location and the experience was a memorable one with amazing food and excellent service. This location was so different. The 2 salads we ordered were so overdressed they were soggy. The flat bread, salmon, and the snap peas were the only dishes I would eat again out of everything we ordered. When we told our waitress the salad was over dressed she just agreed with us and didn't replace the lettuce. She offered free dessert which when you order a salad that's probably not what you desire. Hmmm. We live in Park City and have heard they are building a location there. Not sure if I would try it after this experience.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on March 27, 2017

The wine menu is pretty diverse. The small plates are so fun and delicious. Great place to go with friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Sat on the patio and it was so pleasant. Loved the salads

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Very good food and service. The Burrata and Blistered Snap Peas were amazing!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on March 7, 2017

Exquisite taste. I had all appetizers which were rich and wonderful. Sat in the two top booths on the way in. Not the best seating

Tags: Healthy, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Even though we had a reservation, they made us wait over 15 minutes for a table. At 6:00 PM hard to believe that people started their dining at 4:30? The initial ambience was disappointing, but the server and food were very good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 17, 2017

They had no record of our reservation but were able to put a table together is less than 10 minutes. The food was average, some good reviews and some were just fair - 50 -50 out of the 10 of us in the lunch.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Pasta was not to our liking. We tried 2 different pastas and not so happy with either.
Asked for bread. Came soggy and rather inedible.

Tags: Casual, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 5, 2017

This place is not what it used to be. Used to come here on a regular basis but the food has gone downhill. The pizza lacks taste and the small plate (various slices of meat and cheeses) used to be u der $10 and now is $18. Other things are the same price but the portion is half of what it used to be. My sister ordered a $12 salad and it didn't even have any dressing and only 3 small slivers of chicken. We tried it 3 more times in a row and have now vowed to never go back. too bad as we used to eat here at least 3-4 times a month.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 23, 2017

My bowl of soup (butternut squash) and club sandwich on ciabatta was perfect for going off to support the Women's March on the Capitol! A friend had brussels sprouts with bacon while another had their meatballs on polenta. The entire meal was outstanding!

Tags: Wood Oven, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Delicious food and excellent service. A little on the crowded side but overall great restaurant for smaller, quieter patrons.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 20, 2016

One of our favorite restaurants! Always a great dining experience!

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Special Occasion, Authentic, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Food was great and Kaydee our server did nice job too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on October 27, 2016

I had the baked penne for lunch. It was outstanding. Our server was great, polite, and attentive. I'll be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 3, 2016

Consistently great for years. Servers always among the best in town. Great small plates and pizza as well as wonderful pasta dishes and entrees.

Tags: Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Excellent preparation - good, interesting , low calorie options

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Food was good - service good
We had a very enjoyable evening.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on September 19, 2016

The outdoor patio is really lovely and also shaded.

Tags: Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on September 18, 2016

We had a wonderful table outside in the corner; it was pretty quiet and great service. the food is excellent too.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 25, 2016

Four of us had different entrees plus their flatbread appetizer and were all very pleased. The sausage pizza was very good as were the dinner salads and soup. My homemade pappardelle with sausage and tomato-vodka sauce was outstanding. The desserts were just right. Their wine list is short but well chosen. We arrived at 6 pm and there were plenty of seats both indoors and out. But that didn't last more than 30 minutes. Still it was easy to sit and talk without obtrusive noise.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on July 19, 2016

Nicole did a great job

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 29, 2016

Good lunch and a bit on the pricier side. Good service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on March 5, 2016

I have never been to a restaurant where I loved every course of food. Everything from the start to finish was amazing. The vanilla skies mix drink and the mixed green salad were amazing. I highly recommend the wood fired pizza. The vibe is metropolitan chic and the service is top notch. Must eat if you're in Salt Lake.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 27, 2016

Italian with NO complimentary bread/balsamic/oil?? Food is meh. Not many menu choices. Service was great. GET the chocolate pudding!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 23, 2016

The food is on point and consistent. This is a good go to for a casual night or a special ocassion.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 31, 2016

My wife and I enjoyed dinner very much and look forward to returning

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 27, 2016

We dined with friends at Trio downtown this week and all enjoyed our pasta dishes and a good bottle of Chianti. We a frequent diners here and have often benefited from the Trio frequent diner card, as we did this week, in fact. Much appreciated discount, Trio. Thanks.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 28, 2015

We had a wonderful time.My finance and I took our parents hear to eat together for the first time. Both of our family visited us this christmas. It is the best kept 9th and 7th neighborhood secrete.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on November 25, 2015

The blended mushroom soup was savory and perfectly flavored. It is a perfect starter in cold weather.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on September 15, 2015

Trio is one of our favorite restaurants. The menu is always spot on, the kitchen never disappoints. Their handmade cocktails are excellent, brunch is outstanding, and the service has always been polite, on point, and polished. We had a group of 10 this time, and the host called ahead to confirm our reservation, and everything was handled beautifully: waters refilled, plates arrived at the same time, everyone's dietary needs were met.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on July 17, 2015

Love my pasta. Treated us very nicely. Celebrating our anniversary.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on June 24, 2015

The atmosphere at the Cafe is very nice for an afternoon brunch or early dinner. The food was not exceptional, I had the beet salad with grilled chicken. The chicken was dry and the salad part lacked taste. Others at the table ordered the ravioli and said it was a nice meal but lacked pizzazz.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on June 2, 2015

The Salmon and Brussel Sprouts were beyond excellent.
My guests couldn't say enough good things about their experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on May 11, 2015

Part of the salmi was very good. The other a bit old

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on May 11, 2015

The new small plate options are all delicious and generously proportioned. In particular, the cauliflower au gratin was outstanding, and the three meatball dish could serve as a light entree. Service was prompt and professional. The deck will be a real asset as warmer weather sets in.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on February 5, 2015

The food is excellent (the flatbread--so good! the shrimp small plate--OOOOMMMM! and chocolate custard that you just need a few minutes alone with. The only thing that disappointed was the Brussels, but maybe it was just an off night), the staff is very friendly and accommodating, the space is very nice, and outdoor dining (in season) would be lovely. What really stuck out for us, as both meals we had there the week we were in town, was the wide range of Trio fans--from elderly couples out for an evening to frat guys having a few beers to an eight-year-old celebrating his birthday with some family and a massive plate of ravioli, it's clearly a comfortable, friendly place for all. Our last night in SLC, we had made reservations elsewhere, but ended up cancelling them and coming back to Trio. Thoroughly recommended.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 30, 2015

Our group of friends loves Trio for getting together inside or on the beautiful patio when weather permits. They have a wonderful selection of delicious salads and small plates. Great service too!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 10, 2014

Our next meeting made it so we had to get in and out in 30 minutes. They put our order in as they set up a table. Very good foods and staff was running hard and it made it very enjoyable. Thank You.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on August 13, 2014

The service was great. One in our party is lactose intolerant and needs thing to be gluten free. Sam was able to offer multiple choices and knew all aspects of menu offerings to help make the right choice. We were entertaining out of town business guests and everyone though the experience was perfect

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.