HelpiOS AppAndroid AppWindows Phone AppWindows 8 App

Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 3 times today

Cafe Trio Downtown

4.6
66 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Italian
Top Tags:
  • Good for Anniversaries
  • Casual
  • Good for a Date
Café Trio is an Italian neighborhood restaurant nestled in the East Bench of downtown Salt Lake City.
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Italian, American
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 4:00pm
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 9:30pm, Friday: 4pm-10:00pm Saturday: 3:00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 3:00pm - 9:00pm
Brunch: Saturday - Sunday: 10:00am - 3:00pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(801) 533-8746
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Jennifer West
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
700 South
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Parking to the North, East and South.
icon/ic_public_transitCreated with Sketch.
Public transit
Trax train stops 4 blocks north. UTA bus stop on the corner of 900 E and 700 S.
Additional
Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 66 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.6  based on recent ratings
4.5
food
4.7
service
4.5
ambience
4.3
value
Noise · Moderate
91% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
AprilM 
5.0  Dined 5 days ago

My favorite place to eat! I will use any excuse to go to Cafe Trio. Brunch, dinner, dessert, anything. The downtown location is the best! Servers are always polite and on top of it.

Report
Helpful
vipThursby (New York Area)
3.0  Dined 7 days ago

Just poor food.

Report
Helpful
JenniferA (Salt Lake City)
5.0  Dined on February 14, 2018

We come here every Valentine's Day, the food is amazing and so are the beverages. It is a little pricey, but so worth it. That's why we only go once a year. The seating is also close in proximity, so you hear the people's conversations around you. But everything we have ever tried here is seriously so good.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (San Francisco)
5.0  Dined on January 19, 2018

The lasagna special was delicious! Everyone enjoyed their meal. The server was attentive, but not overly so. We had a nice, cozy booth in the corner where it was easy to have a conversation.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (San Diego)
5.0  Dined on January 2, 2018

We were celebrating Christmas with a special grandson and his parents. We sat at a round table. Perfect! Everyone could be involved in the conversation. Loved the lobster lasagna.and chicken. Looking forward to our next visit.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Salt Lake City)
5.0  Dined on December 22, 2017

Wonderful date night spot !

Report
Helpful
vipBPB2017 (Atlanta)
5.0  Dined on December 21, 2017

Great food and great service

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Salt Lake City)
5.0  Dined on December 20, 2017

This was our team's Holiday dinner and none of them had been there before. All were delighted and commented they would certainly come back with spouses/friends. Our waiter (Jeff) was excellent; attentive, friendly and accommodating. He was everything you would want from a server. In regards to the food, the penne pasta and the carbonara were memorably good.

Report
Helpful
vipOpenTable Diner (Salt Lake City)
2.0  Dined on October 30, 2017

Trio has become stale. Same old , same old. Needs to have some revitalization. Portions are small vis a vis the price.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (San Francisco)
3.0  Dined on October 13, 2017

The food at our table was quite mediocre. Beet salad: low on quantity, with a virtually tasteless dressing. Meatballs & spaghetti: sauce tasted like ketchup. And why so few noodles?

Report
Helpful
10JR (Seattle)
4.0  Dined on September 7, 2017

Used to love Cafe Trio, but the menu is not that great. Love the location still.

Report
Helpful
vipBPB2017 (Atlanta)
4.0  Dined on September 1, 2017

There is a major fly issue that needs pest control to work on. It's not nice when flies are landing on you and your food all during dinner

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Salt Lake City)
4.0  Dined on August 6, 2017

The flies buzzing around (inside, mind you) were a little frustrating, but overall--still has some great food and the service is attentive.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Adelaide / SA)
5.0  Dined on July 26, 2017

Great food. Nice ambience

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Greensboro)
5.0  Dined on July 24, 2017

Great dinner, love coming here anytime I'm in Salt Lake.

Report
Helpful
vipThursby (New York Area)
3.0  Dined on July 19, 2017

Food is just so so, nothing special. Good service. Nice neighborhood setting. Prices much to high for quality of food.

Report
Helpful
vipLSNelson (Salt Lake City)
4.0  Dined on July 13, 2017

Cocktails were not very good but waitress was accommodating and provided us wine as a replacement. We had appetizers and they were very good. It was a nice gathering spot for our group. We will go there again.

Report
Helpful
CacheValleyFoodie (Salt Lake City)
4.0  Dined on July 11, 2017

We ate at Café Trio with friends. It was our first visit there. I thought that the food was consistently good, not spectacular, but it's not that kind of restaurant. Two of us had the polenta and shrimp nightly special and it was excellent. One friend's steak was ok, but just that. The gelato was a treat. The service was really quite nice and the ambiance enjoyable.

Report
Helpful
vipBPB2017 (Atlanta)
5.0  Dined on June 29, 2017

Always great we love it at Cafe Trio, staff and food is the best.

Report
Helpful
vipLiketoeat (Salt Lake City)
3.0  Dined on May 21, 2017

We go 3 or 4 times per year, we just wish they would change the menu once in a while and when we make reservations for groups give us a table that actually fits the number of people we have. We had 10 people the last time we went and it was really a table for eight. This is a normal way of seating.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
4