Cafe Trio Downtown

4.7
71 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Italian
Top Tags:
  • Neighborhood Gem
  • Good for Groups
  • Healthy
Café Trio is an Italian neighborhood restaurant nestled in the East Bench of downtown Salt Lake City.
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Italian, American
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 4:00pm
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 9:30pm, Friday: 4pm-10:00pm Saturday: 3:00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 3:00pm - 9:00pm
Brunch: Saturday - Sunday: 10:00am - 3:00pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(801) 533-8746
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Jennifer West
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
700 South
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Parking to the North, East and South.
icon/ic_public_transitCreated with Sketch.
Public transit
Trax train stops 4 blocks north. UTA bus stop on the corner of 900 E and 700 S.
Additional
Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 71 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.7based on recent ratings
4.6
food
4.5
service
4.4
ambience
4.3
value
Noise · Moderate
100% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined on June 15, 2018

Great patio for evening dining. Carbonara was fantastic!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 11, 2018

I love sitting on the downtown Trio’s patio!!! It is so perfect! I love the flowers in the boxes and it isn’t noisy with cars, it’s just perfect! The food is always good, and usually the service is always great too! A great place to sit in a calm and relaxing atmosphere and enjoy being outside without being in the sun!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 30, 2018

Food is excellent and service is great. Menu changes with the season so there are new items to try along with standard favorites. Pizza is thin crust, cooked a wood burning oven that you see when you first walk in. Splitting a pizza with a salad and a glass of wine is always a winner. If you are there when short ribs are the special, that is the one to get.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 7, 2018

Great job all! I loved the food, the servers were nice, and it was a fun experience for our group. It was very accomadating for our group, and a nice date! Thank you!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 27, 2018

I am a quasi-regular at Trio, visiting with friends and business acquaintances. So far, the restaurant has been impressively consistent in terms of food quality and service. And in warmer weather you can sit outside.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 19, 2018

My favorite place to eat! I will use any excuse to go to Cafe Trio. Brunch, dinner, dessert, anything. The downtown location is the best! Servers are always polite and on top of it.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on February 16, 2018

Just poor food.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 14, 2018

We come here every Valentine's Day, the food is amazing and so are the beverages. It is a little pricey, but so worth it. That's why we only go once a year. The seating is also close in proximity, so you hear the people's conversations around you. But everything we have ever tried here is seriously so good.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 19, 2018

The lasagna special was delicious! Everyone enjoyed their meal. The server was attentive, but not overly so. We had a nice, cozy booth in the corner where it was easy to have a conversation.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 2, 2018

We were celebrating Christmas with a special grandson and his parents. We sat at a round table. Perfect! Everyone could be involved in the conversation. Loved the lobster lasagna.and chicken. Looking forward to our next visit.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 22, 2017

Wonderful date night spot !

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 21, 2017

Great food and great service

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 20, 2017

This was our team's Holiday dinner and none of them had been there before. All were delighted and commented they would certainly come back with spouses/friends. Our waiter (Jeff) was excellent; attentive, friendly and accommodating. He was everything you would want from a server. In regards to the food, the penne pasta and the carbonara were memorably good.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on October 30, 2017

Trio has become stale. Same old , same old. Needs to have some revitalization. Portions are small vis a vis the price.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on October 13, 2017

The food at our table was quite mediocre. Beet salad: low on quantity, with a virtually tasteless dressing. Meatballs & spaghetti: sauce tasted like ketchup. And why so few noodles?

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on September 7, 2017

Used to love Cafe Trio, but the menu is not that great. Love the location still.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on September 1, 2017

There is a major fly issue that needs pest control to work on. It's not nice when flies are landing on you and your food all during dinner

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on August 6, 2017

The flies buzzing around (inside, mind you) were a little frustrating, but overall--still has some great food and the service is attentive.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on July 26, 2017

Great food. Nice ambience

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on July 24, 2017

Great dinner, love coming here anytime I'm in Salt Lake.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on July 19, 2017

Food is just so so, nothing special. Good service. Nice neighborhood setting. Prices much to high for quality of food.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on July 13, 2017

Cocktails were not very good but waitress was accommodating and provided us wine as a replacement. We had appetizers and they were very good. It was a nice gathering spot for our group. We will go there again.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on July 11, 2017

We ate at Café Trio with friends. It was our first visit there. I thought that the food was consistently good, not spectacular, but it's not that kind of restaurant. Two of us had the polenta and shrimp nightly special and it was excellent. One friend's steak was ok, but just that. The gelato was a treat. The service was really quite nice and the ambiance enjoyable.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 29, 2017

Always great we love it at Cafe Trio, staff and food is the best.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 21, 2017

We go 3 or 4 times per year, we just wish they would change the menu once in a while and when we make reservations for groups give us a table that actually fits the number of people we have. We had 10 people the last time we went and it was really a table for eight. This is a normal way of seating.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 14, 2017

Excellent service. Great reccomendations for appetizers for our group. Entrees cooked perfectly. My chicken lemon salad dressing with caper berries was perfect.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on May 13, 2017

They did not honor the reservation. I showed them the confirmation on my phone but they said they did not have a record of my reservation.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 11, 2017

Charming, with freshly made food. Service was great. Prices were reasonable. Parking can be a problem when they're busy.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 1, 2017

Always a great experience at downtown trio! Will
Be back soon!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 17, 2017

Weather was bad but look forward to eating outside on the patio. Our group all had salads & were very happy with them. Beet salad is good but wish there was a bit more beets.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on April 13, 2017

We selected Cafe Trio to celebrate 3 family birthdays. We had been to the Cottonwood location and the experience was a memorable one with amazing food and excellent service. This location was so different. The 2 salads we ordered were so overdressed they were soggy. The flat bread, salmon, and the snap peas were the only dishes I would eat again out of everything we ordered. When we told our waitress the salad was over dressed she just agreed with us and didn't replace the lettuce. She offered free dessert which when you order a salad that's probably not what you desire. Hmmm. We live in Park City and have heard they are building a location there. Not sure if I would try it after this experience.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 27, 2017

The wine menu is pretty diverse. The small plates are so fun and delicious. Great place to go with friends.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 18, 2017

Sat on the patio and it was so pleasant. Loved the salads

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 11, 2017

Very good food and service. The Burrata and Blistered Snap Peas were amazing!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 6, 2017

Exquisite taste. I had all appetizers which were rich and wonderful. Sat in the two top booths on the way in. Not the best seating

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 25, 2017

Even though we had a reservation, they made us wait over 15 minutes for a table. At 6:00 PM hard to believe that people started their dining at 4:30? The initial ambience was disappointing, but the server and food were very good

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on February 17, 2017

They had no record of our reservation but were able to put a table together is less than 10 minutes. The food was average, some good reviews and some were just fair - 50 -50 out of the 10 of us in the lunch.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on February 16, 2017

Pasta was not to our liking. We tried 2 different pastas and not so happy with either.
Asked for bread. Came soggy and rather inedible.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on February 4, 2017

This place is not what it used to be. Used to come here on a regular basis but the food has gone downhill. The pizza lacks taste and the small plate (various slices of meat and cheeses) used to be u der $10 and now is $18. Other things are the same price but the portion is half of what it used to be. My sister ordered a $12 salad and it didn't even have any dressing and only 3 small slivers of chicken. We tried it 3 more times in a row and have now vowed to never go back. too bad as we used to eat here at least 3-4 times a month.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 23, 2017

My bowl of soup (butternut squash) and club sandwich on ciabatta was perfect for going off to support the Women's March on the Capitol! A friend had brussels sprouts with bacon while another had their meatballs on polenta. The entire meal was outstanding!

Report
Helpful
1
2