About Cafe Trio Cottonwood

Cafe Trio is a spacious, casual but elegant restaurant serving fine contemporary Italian cuisine. With its accessible menus & popular Trio dishes, it's a favorite destination for the many local residents & business personnel in the area. Menu favorites are their signature flatbreads, delicious thin crust pizzas, Lemon Chicken Salad & Trio Meatball Pasta.
The unique decor & layout of Trio perfectly accommodates parties as small as two or as large as 150.

6405 South 3000 East
Salt Lake City, UT 84121
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 4:00pm
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 9:30pm
Dinner: Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
6200 South

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(801) 944-8746

Website:
http://www.triodining.com/

Parking Details:
Parking for 60 cars in our private lot, then there is ample parking in the near vicinity (behind the restaurant & on the street.

Executive Chef:
Mike Sparks

Private Party Facilities:
Looking for a chic space to hold your next event or meeting? We cater to all kinds of private dining events, including Wedding Receptions & Rehearsal Dinners, Business Meetings, Birthday Parties, Reunions, Bar Mitzvahs, Holiday Parties - You name it!

Private Party Contact:
Niki Mosdell: (801) 944-8746 ext. 11

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Cafe Trio Cottonwood Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.1

ambience

4.0

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (9)
Modern Decor (9)
Good for a Date (8)
See All
Casual (7)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Fun (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Good for Anniversaries (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Authentic (4)
Quick Bite (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Romantic (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Healthy (3)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Local Ingredients (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Cozy (2)
Business Meals (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Tapas (1)
Family Style (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Great Beer (1)
People Watching (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Seasonal (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
351 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined 6 hours ago

Was ok. Was hungry. It did the job.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined 4 days ago

I have dined at this location several times however this time was very disappointing. Very cold where we were sitting and asked to be moved to another location but nothing else available. Tried to turn the fans down but to no avail--nothing like wearing your coat the entire time. Food was sub par for all at the table. Going to hope this was just a bad night and give it 1 last time later on.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value2

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Trio consistently offers great food and excellent service. One of my favorite places.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Great for Brunch, Casual, Paleo Friendly, Sunday Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on March 5, 2017

The food was decent, but the noise was way too much. Very difficult to have a conversation. Prices were very reasonable for what we had.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Delicious pork tenderloin. Friendly service. Very enjoyable dinner.

Tags: Authentic, Fun, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Boise)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Menu reduced to the point it was hard to find anything we wanted to order.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Beautiful building, bad parking, awesome fire oven and open kitchen. Our reservation was made on a Friday night at 7:30 normally a busy time and we were sat right on time. We had multiple people who helped us as we were sat upstairs in a smaller room. That being said we were forgotten by many people as well. 3 tables sat after us received amazing service, however no one would pay us any attention. The table right next to us had a young couple who multiple waiters kept hanging around and visiting with inappropriately so that we could hear their conversation. They also kept disappearing with the female for about 20minutes at a time which made it even harder for us to receive service. When we met our actual waiter he did not want to explain menu items or he didn't know. Then took more than 30 minutes to bring my cocktail and another 30 to bring my friends after that, which was not what she ordered. Other tables had multiple cocktails delivered quickly. Our food was delicious except it was ice cold. And some of it was again not what we ordered. I went to this location to try out as a rehearsal dinner venue, which I will not be booking. The waiter did take off a portion of the ticket after we complained. No management saw us. Then the waiter counted in front of us to see what he was tipped... I would only recommend Cafe Trio if you like good food with absolutely horrible service and no management. Or asked to be sat downstairs and hopefully they have a new wait staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 18, 2017

We love the bison bolognese, and sitting upstairs!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We went here for valentines day dinner. It was probably the best experience we've ever had. The servers were attentive but weren't making us feel uncomfortable or rushed. They also werent asking every 5 seconds how we were doing. Its like they knew by observation and we didnt have to wait for anything. The food tasted amazing. This will be our go to for special occasions from now on. 5 stars

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Seasonal, Authentic, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Food was a little above average. Very small menu with few options. It's not a bad place, I probably just wouldn't recommend it because the menu is so simple and the food was good but not great. We had great service but it was definitely done by committee. Our main waiter served us our drinks, another server brought our flatbread appetizer, another server brought our entrees, and in the mix of the back and forth of various servers they missed bringing out our soup and salad altogether. Even our bill was given to us by our main server but a different server ran my card and brought it back to be signed.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 15, 2017

I took my daughter (age 4) here for our very first daddy/daughter date on Valentines Day. I ordered the Carbonara, and she ordered the pepperoni pizza. The wait staff was really nice. They brought her out a special plate of cut strawberries and raspberries. We got dressed up for the occasion and had a really great time.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Well presented experience. The food was cooked correctly and was wonderful. Even the water carrier knew the menu and was helpful. Aftewards it was nice and easy to slide right over to the lounge and talk and get drinks.

Tags: Healthy, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Gluten Free Options, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 14, 2017

It was awesome. Thank you.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 8, 2017

The spaghetti was the best I've ever had but the cheesecake was um...interesting at best

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 7, 2017

We were disappointed after arriving for our reservation on time and being asked to wait 35 minutes to be seated. There was no point of making a reservation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We dined at Cafe Trio on New Years Eve 2016. Food was good and we had attentive service from our server and the people bussing tables and filling water glasses. It was a busy night and there were a couple minor glitches with removing appetizer dishes and getting our after dinner drinks but overall we had a very nice evening and will definitely return.

Tags: Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Average food, and a littke pricey for quality. Ambience feels cheap. Food came out quickky, but then very slow inattentive service. One and done.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Ambience and service were spot-on, and we were delighted to get a same-day reservation even during the busy ski season. I ordered the fish special, and unfortunately it was salty and overcooked. Not horrible, just could've been better. My 2 friends enjoyed their pasta meals. Great wine and beer selection, too. Overall, a wonderful dining experience. We will be back next time we're in town!

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Wood Oven, Hot Spot, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 25, 2016

I have been to Cafe Trio numerous times for important occasions. The food is always excellent and the service is generally good. The prices are decent. The noise level can get high. If I am in a booth rather than a table, I feel more cozy and a bit quieter.

Tags: Modern Decor, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 11, 2016

This place is insanely loud. The place was crowded and almost beyond tolerable. Our table and the one behind us both asked the waiter if this was normal. Food was decent and both entrees came out not exactly cold but very cool.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Waitress was great, food ok not really great. Beet Salad was not even close to the best one I have had. Will order pizzza. Ext time. Cheese and meat board came with a cup of honey and little cheese or bread. I think small changes would be big

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 11, 2016

I was very disappointed that they no longer have the Butternut Squash Ravioli on their menu. That is the reason I chose to go to this restaurant. :/

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Food was good, but the service was a little slow, server was pleasant though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Pizza was very good. Other pasta dishes were quite bland.

Tags: Quick Bite, Modern Decor, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on November 15, 2016

I love Trio, but every time I go to the Cottonwood location I'm always disappointed. Almost without fail I order the mixed greens salad with my entree because it is amazing. When I ordered it at Cottonwood the other night the lettuce was wilting and old, the grapes were squishy and tasted like prunes. They weren't crisp and bright like a grape should be. I was sad it wasn't as good because I was looking forward to it all day.

The last time I was at Cottonwood I ordered the artichoke and I literally couldn't get any meat from the leaves. There was nothing there to eat at all. I complained about it and my server apologized by saying, yeah our artichokes haven't been great lately. When I only, tried, to eat half of it, my server asked if I'd like a box for the other half, and I still ended paying for the artichoke that was nothing.

The service is usually great, the ambiance is fine, but I don't think I'll be going back to that location because of the disappointment in the food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value1

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Enjoyed our evening at Trio's. Food was good, not fabulous, but certainly good. Service was also good, but again, not fabulous. I'd go back since the over all ambience was very nice.

Tags: Modern Decor, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on October 19, 2016

Food and service was good, as usual! Always enjoy eating at both Trio Restaurants.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Such good food. This is our third visit in a row where we got a rookie server who messed up the order. It's a good restaurant with a thriving business. Why do they hire servers that would better be working at Denny's. The manager came by three times to apologize. Do yourself a favor and hire better servers, or train the ones you've got.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Always a great experience. The staff is attentive, the food is excellent and the managers are friendly and personable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on August 28, 2016

How many syllables in TERRIBLE! Worst dining experience I have ever had. Raw , yes I said raw meat balls along side of well done meat balls. The chef special "dinner salad" for the evening was a "green" not ripe "warmed" not grilled peach with "peanuts" not walnuts all for 16.00! Did I mention sending the spaghetti and meatballs back for uncook shrimp?.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on August 27, 2016

Good service. Food was excellent. It's a good place to get away from the city, unwind, and chill with food, wine and friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on July 30, 2016

We are vegetarian s and there was only one entrepreneurs for us to order. someone told me to order the butternut squash ravioli and that was taken off the menu I was quite disappointed also you were completely out of White Zinfandel wine so that was disappointing don't get me wrong it's a nice restaurant but I thought there would be more choices

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on July 28, 2016

Nice patio dining. Good consistent food. Great salad, pasta and pizza.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on July 10, 2016

This is the second time I have been here, and both times have been excellent. Food is fresh and delicious. Excellent salads and pizzas. I had the meatball appetizer and chopped salad. Wonderful. Excellent service too. Would definitely go again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on July 3, 2016

As always a nice place to eat. The patio is nice and most of it is well shaded. They have changed their menu recently and I'm not sure I'm that pleased with the changes and their breakfast potatoes used to be better as well. Maybe they're trying to get more fancy and it just doesn't suit me.

Overall it was good and I'm not going to stop going there, just maybe not as often since my menu choices are limited now.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on June 25, 2016

Cassidy is a very good, courteous, helpful and is an excellent server !!!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on June 21, 2016

Trio always provides great service, menu and just the right ambiance. We particularly like their patio. Good wine and beer selection too.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 18, 2016

excellent small plates as starters. pasta was very good, very fresh. service got off to a bit of a rocky start but then our server improved. overall very pleasant, very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on May 8, 2016

We have enjoyed special occasions , at Trio, many times. They have all been enjoyable.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on May 1, 2016

The service was great and cheerful. My wife and I agree that the pizza we had was the worst we have ever had including store bought in a box. The crust was soaked with oils or something and flopped over when you held it. It tasted mushy. The flatbread appetizer was dry and tasteless and the greens in the Caesar salad are a weird plant we had never seen. We were with friends so didn't want to complain. A terrible food experience....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.