About Cafe Trio Cottonwood

6405 South 3000 East
Salt Lake City, UT 84121
View Larger Map

Cafe Trio is a spacious, casual but elegant restaurant serving fine contemporary Italian cuisine. With its accessible menus & popular Trio dishes, it's a favorite destination for the many local residents & business personnel in the area. Menu favorites are their signature flatbreads, delicious thin crust pizzas, Lemon Chicken Salad & Trio Meatball Pasta.
The unique decor & layout of Trio perfectly accommodates parties as small as two or as large as 150.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 4:00pm
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 9:30pm
Dinner: Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
6200 South

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(801) 944-8746

Website:
http://www.triodining.com/

Parking Details:
Parking for 60 cars in our private lot, then there is ample parking in the near vicinity (behind the restaurant & on the street.

Executive Chef:
Mike Sparks

Private Party Facilities:
Looking for a chic space to hold your next event or meeting? We cater to all kinds of private dining events, including Wedding Receptions & Rehearsal Dinners, Business Meetings, Birthday Parties, Reunions, Bar Mitzvahs, Holiday Parties - You name it!

Private Party Contact:
Niki Mosdell: (801) 944-8746 ext. 11

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Cafe Trio Cottonwood Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.1

ambience

4.0

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

83% would recommend it to a friend

Modern Decor (11)
Good for a Date (8)
Good for Birthdays (7)
See All
Casual (7)
Special Occasion (7)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Good for Anniversaries (5)
Romantic (4)
Authentic (4)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Fun (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Healthy (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Wood Oven (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Local Ingredients (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Business Meals (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Tapas (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Great Beer (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Private Room (1)
Family Style (1)
Cozy (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
People Watching (1)
Seasonal (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
346 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined 5 days ago

Menu reduced to the point it was hard to find anything we wanted to order.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined 6 days ago

Beautiful building, bad parking, awesome fire oven and open kitchen. Our reservation was made on a Friday night at 7:30 normally a busy time and we were sat right on time. We had multiple people who helped us as we were sat upstairs in a smaller room. That being said we were forgotten by many people as well. 3 tables sat after us received amazing service, however no one would pay us any attention. The table right next to us had a young couple who multiple waiters kept hanging around and visiting with inappropriately so that we could hear their conversation. They also kept disappearing with the female for about 20minutes at a time which made it even harder for us to receive service. When we met our actual waiter he did not want to explain menu items or he didn't know. Then took more than 30 minutes to bring my cocktail and another 30 to bring my friends after that, which was not what she ordered. Other tables had multiple cocktails delivered quickly. Our food was delicious except it was ice cold. And some of it was again not what we ordered. I went to this location to try out as a rehearsal dinner venue, which I will not be booking. The waiter did take off a portion of the ticket after we complained. No management saw us. Then the waiter counted in front of us to see what he was tipped... I would only recommend Cafe Trio if you like good food with absolutely horrible service and no management. Or asked to be sat downstairs and hopefully they have a new wait staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 6 days ago

We love the bison bolognese, and sitting upstairs!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We went here for valentines day dinner. It was probably the best experience we've ever had. The servers were attentive but weren't making us feel uncomfortable or rushed. They also werent asking every 5 seconds how we were doing. Its like they knew by observation and we didnt have to wait for anything. The food tasted amazing. This will be our go to for special occasions from now on. 5 stars

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Seasonal, Authentic, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Food was a little above average. Very small menu with few options. It's not a bad place, I probably just wouldn't recommend it because the menu is so simple and the food was good but not great. We had great service but it was definitely done by committee. Our main waiter served us our drinks, another server brought our flatbread appetizer, another server brought our entrees, and in the mix of the back and forth of various servers they missed bringing out our soup and salad altogether. Even our bill was given to us by our main server but a different server ran my card and brought it back to be signed.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 15, 2017

I took my daughter (age 4) here for our very first daddy/daughter date on Valentines Day. I ordered the Carbonara, and she ordered the pepperoni pizza. The wait staff was really nice. They brought her out a special plate of cut strawberries and raspberries. We got dressed up for the occasion and had a really great time.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Well presented experience. The food was cooked correctly and was wonderful. Even the water carrier knew the menu and was helpful. Aftewards it was nice and easy to slide right over to the lounge and talk and get drinks.

Tags: Healthy, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Gluten Free Options, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 14, 2017

It was awesome. Thank you.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 8, 2017

The spaghetti was the best I've ever had but the cheesecake was um...interesting at best

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 7, 2017

We were disappointed after arriving for our reservation on time and being asked to wait 35 minutes to be seated. There was no point of making a reservation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We dined at Cafe Trio on New Years Eve 2016. Food was good and we had attentive service from our server and the people bussing tables and filling water glasses. It was a busy night and there were a couple minor glitches with removing appetizer dishes and getting our after dinner drinks but overall we had a very nice evening and will definitely return.

Tags: Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Average food, and a littke pricey for quality. Ambience feels cheap. Food came out quickky, but then very slow inattentive service. One and done.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Ambience and service were spot-on, and we were delighted to get a same-day reservation even during the busy ski season. I ordered the fish special, and unfortunately it was salty and overcooked. Not horrible, just could've been better. My 2 friends enjoyed their pasta meals. Great wine and beer selection, too. Overall, a wonderful dining experience. We will be back next time we're in town!

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Wood Oven, Hot Spot, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 25, 2016

I have been to Cafe Trio numerous times for important occasions. The food is always excellent and the service is generally good. The prices are decent. The noise level can get high. If I am in a booth rather than a table, I feel more cozy and a bit quieter.

Tags: Modern Decor, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 11, 2016

This place is insanely loud. The place was crowded and almost beyond tolerable. Our table and the one behind us both asked the waiter if this was normal. Food was decent and both entrees came out not exactly cold but very cool.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Waitress was great, food ok not really great. Beet Salad was not even close to the best one I have had. Will order pizzza. Ext time. Cheese and meat board came with a cup of honey and little cheese or bread. I think small changes would be big

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 11, 2016

I was very disappointed that they no longer have the Butternut Squash Ravioli on their menu. That is the reason I chose to go to this restaurant. :/

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Food was good, but the service was a little slow, server was pleasant though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Pizza was very good. Other pasta dishes were quite bland.

Tags: Quick Bite, Modern Decor, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on November 15, 2016

I love Trio, but every time I go to the Cottonwood location I'm always disappointed. Almost without fail I order the mixed greens salad with my entree because it is amazing. When I ordered it at Cottonwood the other night the lettuce was wilting and old, the grapes were squishy and tasted like prunes. They weren't crisp and bright like a grape should be. I was sad it wasn't as good because I was looking forward to it all day.

The last time I was at Cottonwood I ordered the artichoke and I literally couldn't get any meat from the leaves. There was nothing there to eat at all. I complained about it and my server apologized by saying, yeah our artichokes haven't been great lately. When I only, tried, to eat half of it, my server asked if I'd like a box for the other half, and I still ended paying for the artichoke that was nothing.

The service is usually great, the ambiance is fine, but I don't think I'll be going back to that location because of the disappointment in the food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value1

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Enjoyed our evening at Trio's. Food was good, not fabulous, but certainly good. Service was also good, but again, not fabulous. I'd go back since the over all ambience was very nice.

Tags: Modern Decor, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on October 19, 2016

Food and service was good, as usual! Always enjoy eating at both Trio Restaurants.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Such good food. This is our third visit in a row where we got a rookie server who messed up the order. It's a good restaurant with a thriving business. Why do they hire servers that would better be working at Denny's. The manager came by three times to apologize. Do yourself a favor and hire better servers, or train the ones you've got.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Always a great experience. The staff is attentive, the food is excellent and the managers are friendly and personable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on August 28, 2016

How many syllables in TERRIBLE! Worst dining experience I have ever had. Raw , yes I said raw meat balls along side of well done meat balls. The chef special "dinner salad" for the evening was a "green" not ripe "warmed" not grilled peach with "peanuts" not walnuts all for 16.00! Did I mention sending the spaghetti and meatballs back for uncook shrimp?.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on August 27, 2016

Good service. Food was excellent. It's a good place to get away from the city, unwind, and chill with food, wine and friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on July 30, 2016

We are vegetarian s and there was only one entrepreneurs for us to order. someone told me to order the butternut squash ravioli and that was taken off the menu I was quite disappointed also you were completely out of White Zinfandel wine so that was disappointing don't get me wrong it's a nice restaurant but I thought there would be more choices

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on July 28, 2016

Nice patio dining. Good consistent food. Great salad, pasta and pizza.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on July 10, 2016

This is the second time I have been here, and both times have been excellent. Food is fresh and delicious. Excellent salads and pizzas. I had the meatball appetizer and chopped salad. Wonderful. Excellent service too. Would definitely go again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on July 3, 2016

As always a nice place to eat. The patio is nice and most of it is well shaded. They have changed their menu recently and I'm not sure I'm that pleased with the changes and their breakfast potatoes used to be better as well. Maybe they're trying to get more fancy and it just doesn't suit me.

Overall it was good and I'm not going to stop going there, just maybe not as often since my menu choices are limited now.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on June 25, 2016

Cassidy is a very good, courteous, helpful and is an excellent server !!!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on June 21, 2016

Trio always provides great service, menu and just the right ambiance. We particularly like their patio. Good wine and beer selection too.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 18, 2016

excellent small plates as starters. pasta was very good, very fresh. service got off to a bit of a rocky start but then our server improved. overall very pleasant, very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on May 8, 2016

We have enjoyed special occasions , at Trio, many times. They have all been enjoyable.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on May 1, 2016

The service was great and cheerful. My wife and I agree that the pizza we had was the worst we have ever had including store bought in a box. The crust was soaked with oils or something and flopped over when you held it. It tasted mushy. The flatbread appetizer was dry and tasteless and the greens in the Caesar salad are a weird plant we had never seen. We were with friends so didn't want to complain. A terrible food experience....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on April 24, 2016

Loved the food. Italian Sausage pizza was great. Also, their caesar salad is delicious.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on March 20, 2016

Wish they had a gluten free menu. They said the have options, but it'd be nice if there was a menu.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on March 13, 2016

The place is now packed with tables so close to one another you feel the other people around you breathe. Service was bad and food was horrible. Very disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on March 6, 2016

We regularly eat here for Sunday brunch. It's clean, friendly, and the food is consistently good. The only issue I might have is sometimes the service is slow.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on March 4, 2016

Host was on his game and catered to our picky needs.

Bar tender served us and was efficient and provided great service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 21, 2016

The waiter! He was cute friendly and flirty!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 14, 2016

I drove 30 minutes to give it a try, but I wouldn't again. It was fine, good enough...but for the price I know I can get better food and better service within 30 minutes of my home.

That said, if this was my corner restaurant, I would be fine to frequent it. Good, not amazing.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 14, 2016

We had an okay dining experience. The place on the outside looks really cute, however inside lacked character. The lights were pretty bright, slightly dimmed would have made this place more pleasant. The food was mediocre. The bbq chicken pizza needed more sauce and wasn't very good. The beet salad lacked flavor. If you are looking for a plate full of bland arugula with a few beets and minimal dressing you might like this salad. The caesar salad was also made with arugula which we couldn't figure out. It also was not good. When the waiter picked up our plates full of lettuce he didn't even ask how we liked our salads. The gnocchi fell apart and lacked flavor. If you are going to dine here stick to pasta. We didn't order any but the other plates we saw looked good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 3, 2016

It was initially difficult to identify where the restaurant is and how best to get there in a car. In the dark, signage is confusing and U-turns are necessary. Finally did find it, however and my entree was delicious.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 22, 2016

Flat Bread used to have lots of onions on it and balsalmic vinegar but is plain now. Need to get back to the original flat bread. Still good but used to be great.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 17, 2016

A bit expensive but very good food and atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 3, 2016

For the price, you are far better off eating elsewhere. The food tastes like it came straight off the foodservice delivery truck and was reheated.

My wife's steak was very poor quality and very tough for the money we paid, and my shrimp were stringy and tough.

To top it all off, the wait staff were slow and very unatenettaive of us overall, and the only thing that was timely was my water being refilled.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 25, 2015

Have gone here plenty of times and always have had a great meal. Will come back often

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on November 8, 2015

Went here for a birthday dinner, got right in when we got there, food was amazing!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on November 6, 2015

I had a tasty and memorable dinner at Cafe Trio. One member of my group ordered the nightly special and LOVED IT. The other two of us ordered off the menu and added wine to our dinners. All of us truly enjoyed our meal, the ambiance and the service. Thanks for a lovely evening!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.