About Cafe Trio Cottonwood

Cafe Trio is a spacious, casual but elegant restaurant serving fine contemporary Italian cuisine. With its accessible menus & popular Trio dishes, it's a favorite destination for the many local residents & business personnel in the area. Menu favorites are their signature flatbreads, delicious thin crust pizzas, Lemon Chicken Salad & Trio Meatball Pasta.
The unique decor & layout of Trio perfectly accommodates parties as small as two or as large as 150.

6405 South 3000 East
Salt Lake City, UT 84121
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 4:00pm
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 9:30pm
Dinner: Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
6200 South

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(801) 944-8746

Website:
http://www.triodining.com/

Parking Details:
Parking for 60 cars in our private lot, then there is ample parking in the near vicinity (behind the restaurant & on the street.

Executive Chef:
Mike Sparks

Private Party Facilities:
Looking for a chic space to hold your next event or meeting? We cater to all kinds of private dining events, including Wedding Receptions & Rehearsal Dinners, Business Meetings, Birthday Parties, Reunions, Bar Mitzvahs, Holiday Parties - You name it!

Private Party Contact:
Niki Mosdell: (801) 944-8746 ext. 11

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Cafe Trio Cottonwood Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

3.9

ambience

3.9

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

84% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (11)
Special Occasion (11)
Good for a Date (9)
See All
Sunday Lunch (6)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Authentic (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Great for Lunch (5)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Modern Decor (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Business Meals (5)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Good for Anniversaries (5)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Quick Bite (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Fun (3)
Romantic (3)
Scenic View (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Healthy (3)
Wood Oven (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Seasonal (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
People Watching (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Cozy (1)
Family Style (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Sort By:
S
364 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined 3 days ago

Excellent service. The bison bolognese was terrific.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined 4 days ago

Slow service.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on May 20, 2017

We loved it! We love their menu foods but we always choose the special! Great place to go with friends!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Food is always good. Service has been spotty though. Restaurant was fairly empty yet took 20 minutes for server to get our drink order.

Tags: Romantic, Seasonal, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on May 14, 2017

I booked Trio for Mother's Day Brunch, there was no mention on Open Table that it was going to be buffet style, which was a huge disappointment. We got over the fact that we wouldn't be able to order from the menu, however, we were disappointed again by the buffet -the food was not satisfying at all and the options were very minimal. The dessert bites were decent though.
The patio seating was too crowded, making it hard to walk in-between tables and carry on a conversation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We love the Mother's Day Brunch at Trio. Easy online access for reservations and the food is always delicious!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Casual, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Never disappointed with the food at Trio! We both had the chopped salad...delicious! Had the beet bruschetta for the first time. That was amazing!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good Vegetarian Options, Business Meals, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Wonderful. The food is always good. We took some people to Trio who had not been there before and loved the food. I can't wait to come back!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 18, 2017

Good time had by all

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Food was awful!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Pomodoro and chopped salad with grilled chicken was fantastic. Service superb on a busy evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Was ok. Was hungry. It did the job.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on March 26, 2017

I have found the food and service to be very consistent in quality! I have never been disappointed when dining at this restaurant. Italian is my favorite European cuisine. The view from the upstairs dining area is great at sunset. Also love the wine list. Looking forward to warmer weather and dining outside on the patio.

Tags: Casual, Scenic View, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on March 23, 2017

I have dined at this location several times however this time was very disappointing. Very cold where we were sitting and asked to be moved to another location but nothing else available. Tried to turn the fans down but to no avail--nothing like wearing your coat the entire time. Food was sub par for all at the table. Going to hope this was just a bad night and give it 1 last time later on.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value2

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Trio consistently offers great food and excellent service. One of my favorite places.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Great for Brunch, Casual, Paleo Friendly, Sunday Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on March 5, 2017

The food was decent, but the noise was way too much. Very difficult to have a conversation. Prices were very reasonable for what we had.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Delicious pork tenderloin. Friendly service. Very enjoyable dinner.

Tags: Authentic, Fun, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Boise)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Menu reduced to the point it was hard to find anything we wanted to order.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Beautiful building, bad parking, awesome fire oven and open kitchen. Our reservation was made on a Friday night at 7:30 normally a busy time and we were sat right on time. We had multiple people who helped us as we were sat upstairs in a smaller room. That being said we were forgotten by many people as well. 3 tables sat after us received amazing service, however no one would pay us any attention. The table right next to us had a young couple who multiple waiters kept hanging around and visiting with inappropriately so that we could hear their conversation. They also kept disappearing with the female for about 20minutes at a time which made it even harder for us to receive service. When we met our actual waiter he did not want to explain menu items or he didn't know. Then took more than 30 minutes to bring my cocktail and another 30 to bring my friends after that, which was not what she ordered. Other tables had multiple cocktails delivered quickly. Our food was delicious except it was ice cold. And some of it was again not what we ordered. I went to this location to try out as a rehearsal dinner venue, which I will not be booking. The waiter did take off a portion of the ticket after we complained. No management saw us. Then the waiter counted in front of us to see what he was tipped... I would only recommend Cafe Trio if you like good food with absolutely horrible service and no management. Or asked to be sat downstairs and hopefully they have a new wait staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 18, 2017

We love the bison bolognese, and sitting upstairs!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We went here for valentines day dinner. It was probably the best experience we've ever had. The servers were attentive but weren't making us feel uncomfortable or rushed. They also werent asking every 5 seconds how we were doing. Its like they knew by observation and we didnt have to wait for anything. The food tasted amazing. This will be our go to for special occasions from now on. 5 stars

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Seasonal, Authentic, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Food was a little above average. Very small menu with few options. It's not a bad place, I probably just wouldn't recommend it because the menu is so simple and the food was good but not great. We had great service but it was definitely done by committee. Our main waiter served us our drinks, another server brought our flatbread appetizer, another server brought our entrees, and in the mix of the back and forth of various servers they missed bringing out our soup and salad altogether. Even our bill was given to us by our main server but a different server ran my card and brought it back to be signed.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 15, 2017

I took my daughter (age 4) here for our very first daddy/daughter date on Valentines Day. I ordered the Carbonara, and she ordered the pepperoni pizza. The wait staff was really nice. They brought her out a special plate of cut strawberries and raspberries. We got dressed up for the occasion and had a really great time.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 14, 2017

I was really disappointed by the food, it just wasn't that amazing. However, I must say the appetizer was pretty yummy (flatbread with goat cheese ) but it was the best part of the meal and the portions on everything were small for the price. I got the prawns with fettuccini...it just ok, not very flavorful and I had to take the heads/faces off my shrimp which I did not enjoy. I needed wet naps afterwards. My boyfriend got a pasta dish as well, maybe something with buffalo, I forget now but the noodles were stuck together and he was not pleased with that. Overall I was disappointed because the place was so hyped up. The service was good and the drinks were good too. The restaurant is beautiful and clean, but the food, the reason for eating out in the first place, was a big bummer.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Well presented experience. The food was cooked correctly and was wonderful. Even the water carrier knew the menu and was helpful. Aftewards it was nice and easy to slide right over to the lounge and talk and get drinks.

Tags: Healthy, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Gluten Free Options, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 14, 2017

It was awesome. Thank you.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 8, 2017

The spaghetti was the best I've ever had but the cheesecake was um...interesting at best

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 7, 2017

We were disappointed after arriving for our reservation on time and being asked to wait 35 minutes to be seated. There was no point of making a reservation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We dined at Cafe Trio on New Years Eve 2016. Food was good and we had attentive service from our server and the people bussing tables and filling water glasses. It was a busy night and there were a couple minor glitches with removing appetizer dishes and getting our after dinner drinks but overall we had a very nice evening and will definitely return.

Tags: Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Average food, and a littke pricey for quality. Ambience feels cheap. Food came out quickky, but then very slow inattentive service. One and done.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Ambience and service were spot-on, and we were delighted to get a same-day reservation even during the busy ski season. I ordered the fish special, and unfortunately it was salty and overcooked. Not horrible, just could've been better. My 2 friends enjoyed their pasta meals. Great wine and beer selection, too. Overall, a wonderful dining experience. We will be back next time we're in town!

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Wood Oven, Hot Spot, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 25, 2016

I have been to Cafe Trio numerous times for important occasions. The food is always excellent and the service is generally good. The prices are decent. The noise level can get high. If I am in a booth rather than a table, I feel more cozy and a bit quieter.

Tags: Modern Decor, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 11, 2016

This place is insanely loud. The place was crowded and almost beyond tolerable. Our table and the one behind us both asked the waiter if this was normal. Food was decent and both entrees came out not exactly cold but very cool.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Waitress was great, food ok not really great. Beet Salad was not even close to the best one I have had. Will order pizzza. Ext time. Cheese and meat board came with a cup of honey and little cheese or bread. I think small changes would be big

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 11, 2016

I was very disappointed that they no longer have the Butternut Squash Ravioli on their menu. That is the reason I chose to go to this restaurant. :/

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Food was good, but the service was a little slow, server was pleasant though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Pizza was very good. Other pasta dishes were quite bland.

Tags: Quick Bite, Modern Decor, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on November 15, 2016

I love Trio, but every time I go to the Cottonwood location I'm always disappointed. Almost without fail I order the mixed greens salad with my entree because it is amazing. When I ordered it at Cottonwood the other night the lettuce was wilting and old, the grapes were squishy and tasted like prunes. They weren't crisp and bright like a grape should be. I was sad it wasn't as good because I was looking forward to it all day.

The last time I was at Cottonwood I ordered the artichoke and I literally couldn't get any meat from the leaves. There was nothing there to eat at all. I complained about it and my server apologized by saying, yeah our artichokes haven't been great lately. When I only, tried, to eat half of it, my server asked if I'd like a box for the other half, and I still ended paying for the artichoke that was nothing.

The service is usually great, the ambiance is fine, but I don't think I'll be going back to that location because of the disappointment in the food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value1

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Enjoyed our evening at Trio's. Food was good, not fabulous, but certainly good. Service was also good, but again, not fabulous. I'd go back since the over all ambience was very nice.

Tags: Modern Decor, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on October 19, 2016

Food and service was good, as usual! Always enjoy eating at both Trio Restaurants.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.