Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Sat, 4/21
Time
11:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 23 times today

Cafe Trio Cottonwood

4.1
405 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Italian
Top Tags:
  • Casual
  • Special Occasion
  • Creative Cuisine
Cafe Trio is a spacious, casual but elegant restaurant serving fine contemporary Italian cuisine. With its accessible menus & popular Trio dishes, it's a favorite destination for the many local residents & business personnel in the area. Menu favorites are their signature flatbreads, delicious thin crust pizzas, Lemon Chicken Salad & Trio Meatball Pasta.
The unique decor & layout of Trio perfectly accommodates parties as small as two or as large as 150.
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private dining
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Italian
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 4:00pm
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 9:30pm
Dinner: Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(801) 944-8746
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Mike Sparks
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
6200 South
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Parking for 60 cars in our private lot, then there is ample parking in the near vicinity (behind the restaurant & on the street.
Additional
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

Looking for a chic space to hold your next event or meeting? We cater to all kinds of private dining events, including Wedding Receptions & Rehearsal Dinners, Business Meetings, Birthday Parties, Reunions, Bar Mitzvahs, Holiday Parties - You name it!

View Private Dining Details
What 405 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.1based on recent ratings
4.1
food
3.9
service
4.0
ambience
3.8
value
Noise · Moderate
76% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
2.0Dined on April 12, 2018

We had a party of 8 with a reservation. When we arrived the table wasn't set up. Then the table they took us to was way too small. We eventually were seated at a larger table. Our server didn't keep up with us and eventually credited an entree. The party at the table next to us was so loud we had to raise our voices to be heard. We asked to move to a small room so we could actually talk. Didn't happen.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 1, 2018

Easter brunch for the family was great..... food was very good and the outdoor seating when the weather is nice was great!

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on April 1, 2018

Flatbread was a little undercooked and lacked sufficient toppings.especially for the price!
Cesar salad was just lame. Old lettuce, lacking dressing, boring croutons.
Salmon itself was very good but lentils and tomato/pepper topping was so salty it was almost unpalatable.
You think you are ordering a healthy dish by going with the fish? Not so with the amount of salt in that dish . Ruined our experience at Trio and have been there many, many times. I hope this review get back to the owner.
Cauliflower was good, but lacking in size for$10!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 19, 2018

The aesthetic of the entire place is so nice! Food is great and the music was as if it was straight off of my playlists! Highly recommend to any and everyone!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 16, 2018

Food was ok, Drinks and Dessert were amazing.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 11, 2018

limited menu for Sunday brunch but everyone was happy with their meal. Fresh & tasty.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 9, 2018

Service was absolutely wonderful as well as the food. We will definitely be coming back. And extremely enjoyable experience.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 25, 2018

Food was amazing. Service from the server was terrible but the manager stepped up and was awesome.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on February 18, 2018

Not a great experience. Very disappointing! Service was lousy.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on February 16, 2018

We were a little underwhelmed by the food after reading the strong reviews. My husband and I shared a mixed green salad, which was very small. He had the carbonara and I had the sausage pizza that was overloaded with cheese that I couldn't even taste the other ingredients. It annoys me when I can't pick up my cheese slices with my hand. This was quite soft/soggy in the middle that I had to cut with knife and fork. The only good part was the crust. Also had a bottle of overpriced red wine that normally we get at Trader Joes for under $10.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on February 15, 2018

After making a reservation for Valentines day, we arrived at our time and was seated right away. Awesome! As we were being seated, we asked for a booth vs a table. We were told no because we were only a party of 2 and they were reserved for parties of 4,yet there was a party of 2 seated at a booth. After waiting for over 10 min, literally, our waiter shows up to take a drink order. We ask if there was a special menu for the day and he responded "it is not out yet". It was 5 pm. Let's just say we were moved to a booth, a menu for the day was produced and the evening went on. As we sat in one of 3 booths, they never sat any party of 4 in the booths.
The menu was not great, neither was the food for the price.
I will probably not return to eat here. Price does not equal service and food. Sorry.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 10, 2018

Trio is one of my favorite restaurants in SLC. Great food, awesome service!

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on January 26, 2018

Food is mediocre at best, but not too expensive so that’s something. If your looking for real Italian look elsewhere.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 26, 2018

My single critique would be that the seating is a little bit cafeteria and I would have preferred to be sat at one of the couples booths since we were on a date. Other than that the food was outstanding and our server was friendly and personable.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on January 5, 2018

The facility has gorgeous potential. Felt like a cafeteria. Need to rethink the seating arrangements.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 31, 2017

Good food! Nice service, decent price.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 31, 2017

Reservation exact. Service exceptional. Food hot and tasty.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on December 28, 2017

The Cafe was ok - the service was great but the food was expensive for what we received.
The sandwiches were a little dry and lacked a ton of flavor. By far the worst item was the chicken breast salad - it literally was nothing but a chicken breast and iceburg lettuce (there may been celery and what was supposed to be capers) however, the presentation lacked any color or imagination. We were quite surprised to walk out spending over $60 on lunch as we did not have adult beverages.
Unfortunately we will most likely not go back to Trio - which again is sad, the atmosphere was good enough and the service was very good.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 24, 2017

The services was a little slow initially, but once the hostess came over to help she took over and was on top of everything from then on! Trio remains one of our favorites too-especially for brunch! (Salmon hash-best thing ever!) Also has yummy coffee and a decent wine list. The pasta dishes are always really good too. This time I had the club sandwich and that was really good! Overall great place to go for really any meal.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on December 24, 2017

Food was good but a bit cold when it arrived. The restuarant was not busy (first customers of the day) but our server was MIA the majority of our visit. No drink refills, coffee.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 21, 2017

Favorites Italian restaurant in Holladay. Fun on a date night and with friends

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on November 18, 2017

Great place for friends to get together and share. Something on the menu for everyone. Enjoyable dinning. I will go again.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on November 4, 2017

Overall pleased. Good food. Good value.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on October 20, 2017

Flatbread is a must. Pasta was very good and reasonable prices. Very loud however; not the best place for dinner discussions. Wine availability was good but too limited. Not bad if you're looking for a casual dinner night out.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 8, 2017

We had a family gathering of 14 people and they found us a nice table with some privacy that was just perfect. The food was very good for ages from 75 to 6. The wait staff never rushed us and we had a wonderful 2 hour dinner experience. Thank you Cafe Trio!

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on October 6, 2017

We had made a reservation & when we arrived, the hostess said uhhhh, I don't have any tables open... I said I made a reservation last week. Oh, well let me see... oh I have 1 table left open in the restaurant. We were there for our Anniversary & the table we were sat at was right in the middle of everything, very loud & not private or special. Making a reservation on opentable it asks the question, "special occasion?" What is the point of asking if when you arrive there is nothing noted or saved for a special occasion? Our server was not great & we had to ask a bus boy to bring our check. We were not offered after dinner drinks, dessert or anything. We won't be back. The food did not wow us enough to overlook the terrible welcome & service.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 10, 2017

The food was awesome! I had the rosemary flat bread and it was delicious! I also had the small plate with the meatballs and polenta and finished it off with the creme brûlée. The service was wonderful too.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 26, 2017

Everything was amazing. we will be back again.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on August 16, 2017

I have heard great things about this place, but our server Had not shaven for about a week, and not what you'd expect for a place that runs $100 plus for 2 people. The lighting is not cozy at all and the food was less than desirable. All of the empty tables at 7:30 pm should of been my sign to abort..

Not a good experience!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 6, 2017

Delicious food. Perfect coffee. Great service. Friendly staff. Comfortable environment. Will be back!

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on July 27, 2017

For starters we reserved outdoor seating through Open Table for 10 people 7 hours in advance, and when we arrived the hostess did not have any table ready and said it would be a thirty minute wait. So we opted to sit inside. Why make a reservation if they don't accommodate?

After ordering apps and drinks the meal started ok, until 20 minutes goes by without any drink refills. We had to hunt down the waiter to get refills.

The chicken fettuccini was terrible. Tasted like a cardboard box and paste. The tomato soup tasted like canned soup and was way too salty.

The experience was terrible, and will not be going back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on July 15, 2017

Lovely, deliciousness. Peaceful patio with unique dishes made to make your palette sing!

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on July 9, 2017

It was a very pleasant evening to sit on the patio and enjoy your meal. Our sever checked back to make sure everything was prepared as requested. The flat bread makes for an excellent appetizer and the spaghetti carbonara could not have been any better. I would highly recommend this place for a great summer meal on the patio

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on June 30, 2017

Food was not up to its usual standard. We ordered the mussels which came in a green sauce which was tasteless and the color was off-putting.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on June 27, 2017

Noisy patio due to the large party next to us with several noisy children. We had to ask to have the patio music turned off so we could try to hear each other across the table. Ended up having to yell to each other...

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on June 24, 2017

The service was friendly at the beginning but started to feel rushed and rude before we even ordered entrees. Ambiance on the patio is beautiful, though.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 18, 2017

I love this restaurant. Never had a bad meal. I love the atmosphere!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on June 14, 2017

Been going to Cafe Trio for many years. Food is always very good. The only negative is that their portions are getting smaller.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on June 6, 2017

Some of our entrees were just bland with not a lot of flavor

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 4, 2017

Delightful Sunday brunch! Great food, friendly service and perfect setting. What else could make it better.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
11