About Cafe Trio Cottonwood

6405 South 3000 East
Salt Lake City, UT 84121
View Larger Map

Cafe Trio is a spacious, casual but elegant restaurant serving fine contemporary Italian cuisine. With its accessible menus & popular Trio dishes, it's a favorite destination for the many local residents & business personnel in the area. Menu favorites are their signature flatbreads, delicious thin crust pizzas, Lemon Chicken Salad & Trio Meatball Pasta.
The unique decor & layout of Trio perfectly accommodates parties as small as two or as large as 150.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 4:00pm
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 9:30pm
Dinner: Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
6200 South

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(801) 944-8746

Website:
http://www.triodining.com/

Parking Details:
Parking for 60 cars in our private lot, then there is ample parking in the near vicinity (behind the restaurant & on the street.

Executive Chef:
Mike Sparks

Private Party Facilities:
Looking for a chic space to hold your next event or meeting? We cater to all kinds of private dining events, including Wedding Receptions & Rehearsal Dinners, Business Meetings, Birthday Parties, Reunions, Bar Mitzvahs, Holiday Parties - You name it!

Private Party Contact:
Niki Mosdell: (801) 944-8746 ext. 11

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Eggs Florentine - Cafe Trio Cottonwood, Salt Lake City, UT
  • Trio Meatball - Cafe Trio Cottonwood, Salt Lake City, UT
  • Baked Chicken With Penne And Mushrooms In Cognac Sauce - Cafe Trio Cottonwood, Salt Lake City, UT
  • Mixed Greens W/ Walnuts & Green Tea Vinaigrette - Cafe Trio Cottonwood, Salt Lake City, UT
  • Rosemary Flatbread - Cafe Trio Cottonwood, Salt Lake City, UT
  • Carbonara - Cafe Trio Cottonwood, Salt Lake City, UT
  • Steak Trio - Cafe Trio Cottonwood, Salt Lake City, UT
  • New York Steak Sandwich - Cafe Trio Cottonwood, Salt Lake City, UT

Report a photo problem

Eggs Florentine - Cafe Trio Cottonwood, Salt Lake City, UT
Trio Meatball - Cafe Trio Cottonwood, Salt Lake City, UT
Baked Chicken With Penne And Mushrooms In Cognac Sauce - Cafe Trio Cottonwood, Salt Lake City, UT
Mixed Greens W/ Walnuts & Green Tea Vinaigrette - Cafe Trio Cottonwood, Salt Lake City, UT
Rosemary Flatbread - Cafe Trio Cottonwood, Salt Lake City, UT
Carbonara - Cafe Trio Cottonwood, Salt Lake City, UT
Steak Trio - Cafe Trio Cottonwood, Salt Lake City, UT
New York Steak Sandwich - Cafe Trio Cottonwood, Salt Lake City, UT

Cafe Trio Cottonwood Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

3.9

ambience

4.0

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (8)
Casual (8)
Modern Decor (7)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Special Occasion (5)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Good for Anniversaries (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Romantic (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Business Meals (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Fun (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Healthy (3)
Tapas (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Authentic (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Fit for Foodies (2)
Bar Seating (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Seasonal (1)
Private Room (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Organic (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Great Beer (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Family Style (1)
Cozy (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
339 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Well presented experience. The food was ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined 7 days ago

Well presented experience. The food was cooked correctly and was wonderful. Even the water carrier knew the menu and was helpful. Aftewards it was nice and easy to slide right over to the lounge and talk and get drinks.

Tags: Healthy, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Gluten Free Options, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

It was awesome. Thank you.

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined 7 days ago

It was awesome. Thank you.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The spaghetti was the best I've ever had ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 8, 2017

The spaghetti was the best I've ever had but the cheesecake was um...interesting at best

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We were disappointed after arriving for ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 7, 2017

We were disappointed after arriving for our reservation on time and being asked to wait 35 minutes to be seated. There was no point of making a reservation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value4

We dined at Cafe Trio on New Years Eve 2 ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We dined at Cafe Trio on New Years Eve 2016. Food was good and we had attentive service from our server and the people bussing tables and filling water glasses. It was a busy night and there were a couple minor glitches with removing appetizer dishes and getting our after dinner drinks but overall we had a very nice evening and will definitely return.

Tags: Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Average food, and a littke pricey for qu ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Average food, and a littke pricey for quality. Ambience feels cheap. Food came out quickky, but then very slow inattentive service. One and done.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

Ambience and service were spot-on, and w ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Ambience and service were spot-on, and we were delighted to get a same-day reservation even during the busy ski season. I ordered the fish special, and unfortunately it was salty and overcooked. Not horrible, just could've been better. My 2 friends enjoyed their pasta meals. Great wine and beer selection, too. Overall, a wonderful dining experience. We will be back next time we're in town!

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Wood Oven, Hot Spot, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

I have been to Cafe Trio numerous times ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 25, 2016

I have been to Cafe Trio numerous times for important occasions. The food is always excellent and the service is generally good. The prices are decent. The noise level can get high. If I am in a booth rather than a table, I feel more cozy and a bit quieter.

Tags: Modern Decor, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This place is insanely loud. The place w ...

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 11, 2016

This place is insanely loud. The place was crowded and almost beyond tolerable. Our table and the one behind us both asked the waiter if this was normal. Food was decent and both entrees came out not exactly cold but very cool.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3

Waitress was great, food ok not really g ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Waitress was great, food ok not really great. Beet Salad was not even close to the best one I have had. Will order pizzza. Ext time. Cheese and meat board came with a cup of honey and little cheese or bread. I think small changes would be big

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

I was very disappointed that they no lon ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 11, 2016

I was very disappointed that they no longer have the Butternut Squash Ravioli on their menu. That is the reason I chose to go to this restaurant. :/

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Food was good, but the service was a lit ...

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Food was good, but the service was a little slow, server was pleasant though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Pizza was very good. Other pasta dishes ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Pizza was very good. Other pasta dishes were quite bland.

Tags: Quick Bite, Modern Decor, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

I love Trio, but every time I go to the ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on November 15, 2016

I love Trio, but every time I go to the Cottonwood location I'm always disappointed. Almost without fail I order the mixed greens salad with my entree because it is amazing. When I ordered it at Cottonwood the other night the lettuce was wilting and old, the grapes were squishy and tasted like prunes. They weren't crisp and bright like a grape should be. I was sad it wasn't as good because I was looking forward to it all day.

The last time I was at Cottonwood I ordered the artichoke and I literally couldn't get any meat from the leaves. There was nothing there to eat at all. I complained about it and my server apologized by saying, yeah our artichokes haven't been great lately. When I only, tried, to eat half of it, my server asked if I'd like a box for the other half, and I still ended paying for the artichoke that was nothing.

The service is usually great, the ambiance is fine, but I don't think I'll be going back to that location because of the disappointment in the food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value1

Enjoyed our evening at Trio's. Food was ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Enjoyed our evening at Trio's. Food was good, not fabulous, but certainly good. Service was also good, but again, not fabulous. I'd go back since the over all ambience was very nice.

Tags: Modern Decor, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Food and service was good, as usual! Al ...

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on October 19, 2016

Food and service was good, as usual! Always enjoy eating at both Trio Restaurants.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

Such good food. This is our third visit ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Such good food. This is our third visit in a row where we got a rookie server who messed up the order. It's a good restaurant with a thriving business. Why do they hire servers that would better be working at Denny's. The manager came by three times to apologize. Do yourself a favor and hire better servers, or train the ones you've got.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value3

Always a great experience. The staff is ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Always a great experience. The staff is attentive, the food is excellent and the managers are friendly and personable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

How many syllables in TERRIBLE! Worst di ...

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on August 28, 2016

How many syllables in TERRIBLE! Worst dining experience I have ever had. Raw , yes I said raw meat balls along side of well done meat balls. The chef special "dinner salad" for the evening was a "green" not ripe "warmed" not grilled peach with "peanuts" not walnuts all for 16.00! Did I mention sending the spaghetti and meatballs back for uncook shrimp?.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

Good service. Food was excellent. It's ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on August 27, 2016

Good service. Food was excellent. It's a good place to get away from the city, unwind, and chill with food, wine and friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We are vegetarian s and there was only o ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on July 30, 2016

We are vegetarian s and there was only one entrepreneurs for us to order. someone told me to order the butternut squash ravioli and that was taken off the menu I was quite disappointed also you were completely out of White Zinfandel wine so that was disappointing don't get me wrong it's a nice restaurant but I thought there would be more choices

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Nice patio dining. Good consistent food. ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on July 28, 2016

Nice patio dining. Good consistent food. Great salad, pasta and pizza.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

This is the second time I have been here ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on July 10, 2016

This is the second time I have been here, and both times have been excellent. Food is fresh and delicious. Excellent salads and pizzas. I had the meatball appetizer and chopped salad. Wonderful. Excellent service too. Would definitely go again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

As always a nice place to eat. The patio ...

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on July 3, 2016

As always a nice place to eat. The patio is nice and most of it is well shaded. They have changed their menu recently and I'm not sure I'm that pleased with the changes and their breakfast potatoes used to be better as well. Maybe they're trying to get more fancy and it just doesn't suit me.

Overall it was good and I'm not going to stop going there, just maybe not as often since my menu choices are limited now.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Cassidy is a very good, courteous, help ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on June 25, 2016

Cassidy is a very good, courteous, helpful and is an excellent server !!!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Trio always provides great service, menu ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on June 21, 2016

Trio always provides great service, menu and just the right ambiance. We particularly like their patio. Good wine and beer selection too.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

excellent small plates as starters. pas ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 18, 2016

excellent small plates as starters. pasta was very good, very fresh. service got off to a bit of a rocky start but then our server improved. overall very pleasant, very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value4

We have enjoyed special occasions , at T ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on May 8, 2016

We have enjoyed special occasions , at Trio, many times. They have all been enjoyable.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Bad food experience

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on May 1, 2016

The service was great and cheerful. My wife and I agree that the pizza we had was the worst we have ever had including store bought in a box. The crust was soaked with oils or something and flopped over when you held it. It tasted mushy. The flatbread appetizer was dry and tasteless and the greens in the Caesar salad are a weird plant we had never seen. We were with friends so didn't want to complain. A terrible food experience....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service5
value3

Great Food

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on April 24, 2016

Loved the food. Italian Sausage pizza was great. Also, their caesar salad is delicious.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Wish they had a gluten free menu. They s ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on March 20, 2016

Wish they had a gluten free menu. They said the have options, but it'd be nice if there was a menu.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

bad experience

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on March 13, 2016

The place is now packed with tables so close to one another you feel the other people around you breathe. Service was bad and food was horrible. Very disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Amazing food

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on March 6, 2016

We regularly eat here for Sunday brunch. It's clean, friendly, and the food is consistently good. The only issue I might have is sometimes the service is slow.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

Host was on his game and catered to our ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on March 4, 2016

Host was on his game and catered to our picky needs.

Bar tender served us and was efficient and provided great service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The waiter! He was cute friendly and fli ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 21, 2016

The waiter! He was cute friendly and flirty!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Just okay--nice enough for neighborhood place

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 14, 2016

I drove 30 minutes to give it a try, but I wouldn't again. It was fine, good enough...but for the price I know I can get better food and better service within 30 minutes of my home.

That said, if this was my corner restaurant, I would be fine to frequent it. Good, not amazing.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value4

We had an okay dining experience. The pl ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 14, 2016

We had an okay dining experience. The place on the outside looks really cute, however inside lacked character. The lights were pretty bright, slightly dimmed would have made this place more pleasant. The food was mediocre. The bbq chicken pizza needed more sauce and wasn't very good. The beet salad lacked flavor. If you are looking for a plate full of bland arugula with a few beets and minimal dressing you might like this salad. The caesar salad was also made with arugula which we couldn't figure out. It also was not good. When the waiter picked up our plates full of lettuce he didn't even ask how we liked our salads. The gnocchi fell apart and lacked flavor. If you are going to dine here stick to pasta. We didn't order any but the other plates we saw looked good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2

Finding It

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 3, 2016

It was initially difficult to identify where the restaurant is and how best to get there in a car. In the dark, signage is confusing and U-turns are necessary. Finally did find it, however and my entree was delicious.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Flat Bread used to have lots of onions ...

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 22, 2016

Flat Bread used to have lots of onions on it and balsalmic vinegar but is plain now. Need to get back to the original flat bread. Still good but used to be great.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

A bit expensive but very good food and a ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 17, 2016

A bit expensive but very good food and atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.