About Cafe Trio Cottonwood

6405 South 3000 East
Salt Lake City, UT 84121
View Larger Map

Cafe Trio is a spacious, casual but elegant restaurant serving fine contemporary Italian cuisine. With its accessible menus & popular Trio dishes, it's a favorite destination for the many local residents & business personnel in the area. Menu favorites are their signature flatbreads, delicious thin crust pizzas, Lemon Chicken Salad & Trio Meatball Pasta.
The unique decor & layout of Trio perfectly accommodates parties as small as two or as large as 150.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 4:00pm
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 9:30pm
Dinner: Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
6200 South

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(801) 944-8746

Website:
http://www.triodining.com/

Parking Details:
Parking for 60 cars in our private lot, then there is ample parking in the near vicinity (behind the restaurant & on the street.

Executive Chef:
Mike Sparks

Private Party Facilities:
Looking for a chic space to hold your next event or meeting? We cater to all kinds of private dining events, including Wedding Receptions & Rehearsal Dinners, Business Meetings, Birthday Parties, Reunions, Bar Mitzvahs, Holiday Parties - You name it!

Private Party Contact:
Niki Mosdell: 8019448746x11

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Eggs Florentine
  • Trio Meatball
  • Baked Chicken With Penne And Mushrooms In Cognac Sauce
  • Mixed Greens W/ Walnuts & Green Tea Vinaigrette
  • Rosemary Flatbread
  • Carbonara
  • Steak Trio
  • New York Steak Sandwich
Eggs Florentine
Trio Meatball
Baked Chicken With Penne And Mushrooms In Cognac Sauce
Mixed Greens W/ Walnuts & Green Tea Vinaigrette
Rosemary Flatbread
Carbonara
Steak Trio
New York Steak Sandwich

Cafe Trio Cottonwood Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.1

ambience

3.9

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Outdoor Dining
Utah
Outdoor Dining
Salt Lake City
Italian
Salt Lake City
Best Restaurants in Holladay / Midvale / Sandy / Union ›

great for outdoor dining (16)
good for groups (12)
great for lunch (11)
See All
special occasion (10)
great for brunch (9)
fit for foodies (9)
neighborhood gem (8)
kid-friendly (5)
romantic (4)
scenic view (2)
notable wine list (2)
late-night find (1)
hot spot (1)
Sort By:
Newest
307 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

This is the second time I have been here ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

This is the second time I have been here, and both times have been excellent. Food is fresh and delicious. Excellent salads and pizzas. I had the meatball appetizer and chopped salad. Wonderful. Excellent service too. Would definitely go again.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

As always a nice place to eat. The patio ...

vip
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

As always a nice place to eat. The patio is nice and most of it is well shaded. They have changed their menu recently and I'm not sure I'm that pleased with the changes and their breakfast potatoes used to be better as well. Maybe they're trying to get more fancy and it just doesn't suit me.

Overall it was good and I'm not going to stop going there, just maybe not as often since my menu choices are limited now.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Cassidy is a very good, courteous, help ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Cassidy is a very good, courteous, helpful and is an excellent server !!!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Trio always provides great service, menu ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

Trio always provides great service, menu and just the right ambiance. We particularly like their patio. Good wine and beer selection too.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

excellent small plates as starters. pas ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

excellent small plates as starters. pasta was very good, very fresh. service got off to a bit of a rocky start but then our server improved. overall very pleasant, very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value4

We have enjoyed special occasions , at T ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

We have enjoyed special occasions , at Trio, many times. They have all been enjoyable.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Bad food experience

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

The service was great and cheerful. My wife and I agree that the pizza we had was the worst we have ever had including store bought in a box. The crust was soaked with oils or something and flopped over when you held it. It tasted mushy. The flatbread appetizer was dry and tasteless and the greens in the Caesar salad are a weird plant we had never seen. We were with friends so didn't want to complain. A terrible food experience....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service5
value3

Great Food

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

Loved the food. Italian Sausage pizza was great. Also, their caesar salad is delicious.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Wish they had a gluten free menu. They s ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on March 20, 2016

Wish they had a gluten free menu. They said the have options, but it'd be nice if there was a menu.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

bad experience

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on March 13, 2016

The place is now packed with tables so close to one another you feel the other people around you breathe. Service was bad and food was horrible. Very disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Amazing food

vip
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on March 6, 2016

We regularly eat here for Sunday brunch. It's clean, friendly, and the food is consistently good. The only issue I might have is sometimes the service is slow.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

Host was on his game and catered to our ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on March 4, 2016

Host was on his game and catered to our picky needs.

Bar tender served us and was efficient and provided great service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The waiter! He was cute friendly and fli ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on February 21, 2016

The waiter! He was cute friendly and flirty!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Just okay--nice enough for neighborhood place

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

I drove 30 minutes to give it a try, but I wouldn't again. It was fine, good enough...but for the price I know I can get better food and better service within 30 minutes of my home.

That said, if this was my corner restaurant, I would be fine to frequent it. Good, not amazing.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value4

We had an okay dining experience. The pl ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

We had an okay dining experience. The place on the outside looks really cute, however inside lacked character. The lights were pretty bright, slightly dimmed would have made this place more pleasant. The food was mediocre. The bbq chicken pizza needed more sauce and wasn't very good. The beet salad lacked flavor. If you are looking for a plate full of bland arugula with a few beets and minimal dressing you might like this salad. The caesar salad was also made with arugula which we couldn't figure out. It also was not good. When the waiter picked up our plates full of lettuce he didn't even ask how we liked our salads. The gnocchi fell apart and lacked flavor. If you are going to dine here stick to pasta. We didn't order any but the other plates we saw looked good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2

Finding It

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on February 3, 2016

It was initially difficult to identify where the restaurant is and how best to get there in a car. In the dark, signage is confusing and U-turns are necessary. Finally did find it, however and my entree was delicious.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Flat Bread used to have lots of onions ...

vip
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on January 22, 2016

Flat Bread used to have lots of onions on it and balsalmic vinegar but is plain now. Need to get back to the original flat bread. Still good but used to be great.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

A bit expensive but very good food and a ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on January 17, 2016

A bit expensive but very good food and atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

For the price, you are far better off ea ...

vip
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on January 3, 2016

For the price, you are far better off eating elsewhere. The food tastes like it came straight off the foodservice delivery truck and was reheated.

My wife's steak was very poor quality and very tough for the money we paid, and my shrimp were stringy and tough.

To top it all off, the wait staff were slow and very unatenettaive of us overall, and the only thing that was timely was my water being refilled.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1

Always a great choice

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on December 25, 2015

Have gone here plenty of times and always have had a great meal. Will come back often

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went here for a birthday dinner, got rig ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on November 8, 2015

Went here for a birthday dinner, got right in when we got there, food was amazing!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Lovely Thursday Evenin

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on November 6, 2015

I had a tasty and memorable dinner at Cafe Trio. One member of my group ordered the nightly special and LOVED IT. The other two of us ordered off the menu and added wine to our dinners. All of us truly enjoyed our meal, the ambiance and the service. Thanks for a lovely evening!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on October 31, 2015

I took my wife to Trio for date night, she had a salad and I had the trout, which was the special of the day. Our food was excellent, and so was the service. I ordered a red Spanish Tempranillo called El Jamon, which was also excellent. For two glasses of wine, an appetizer, entrees and a dessert with tip the bill was about $100.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Small portions, mediocre service, overpriced.

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on October 20, 2015

Our server was in training, that's just fine, but he was totally unsupervised. We asked him questions he didn't know the answers to and he had nobody to ask and/or was just forced to guess (incorrectly, in one case). He was just thrown to the sharks.

The mustard glazed Brussels sprouts are pretty good, the gnocchi was also excellent.

I found the menu limited, but did spot a suitable option. The food was tasty, but the portions were very small for the price, so I ordered the beet salad since I was still hungry. I asked the server if it was a hot salad, he said yes, and I assumed it was basically a plate of beets. What I received was a mountain of bitter greens soaked in dressing with 4 or 5 cold chunks of golden beet on the side of the plate. Seriously misrepresented (by both menu and waiter) and extremely unsatisfying.

I left hungry, which is totally unacceptable for a $140+ meal (for two people), in my opinion.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3

Service was a little distracted but frie ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on October 15, 2015

Service was a little distracted but friendly. The grilled cauliflower app was excellent. The meatball app on polenta was great as well. The carbonara was good but not great - a little better than a chain restaurant but not a dish I'd try again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

I had a very nice experience at the rest ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on October 3, 2015

I had a very nice experience at the restaurant tonight. The food was hot, delicious, and promptly served. Everything seemed to be operating tremendously for a busy Friday night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Went there for Brunch

vip
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on September 27, 2015

Our first visit was for Sunday brunch and I was impressed. Quick service and food was out fast. We were there early so there weren't many people. Quite often when a place is slow, so is the service, but not here., our server was awesome. The food was very tasty, My wife had pancakes and I had eggs Benedict. Everything was prepared just they way we like.

I am looking forward to our second visit.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

Wonderful Patio Dining, Great Service

vip
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on September 12, 2015

Both Trio Restaurants are good. Cottonwood has a nicer patio, imo, and better service. Nice variety of cocktails, a decent wine list, and the food is well prepared and presented. Should be something for everyone, nothing far out. They do the basics well.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

They made good - we will go back

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on September 5, 2015

Our last experience was memorable in a bad way. The management were very good about responding to our poor experience and asked for another chance and provided a gift card to help.

This time they hit on all marks save one plate that just wasn't to our taste. The service was good, and they left a bottle of water for us so we could refill as needed (a problem last time).

We ordered two appetizers: trio meatballs with polenta and the bruschetta with grilled corn and onions, whipped feta and diced pancetta. Both were delicious, although the bruschetta felt a little salty and the meatballs a little sweet and could have used a dash of salt. Still, both were enjoyed.

For entrees we ordered one off the menu: fettuccine with chorizo and shrimp in a saffron butter sauce and one special: chicken Milanese with pickled mushrooms and fingerling potatoes in a Marsala cream sauce. The Milanese was delicious, I've had it many many times is Argentina and this was a great example of it. The pickling of the mushroom was meant to cut through the heaviness of the meat and sauce, but I found what it really wanted was some fresh lemon juice (traditional in Argentina). The waiter brought some lemons and it cut through the heaviness, added some needed acid and lightened the meal. The pickling also cuts through heaviness but doesn't brighten the meal. I would have sautéed the mushrooms in the delicious sauce. It waa a great meal with what I think might be a misstep in pickling.

The fettuccine was less enjoyable. The whole saffron butter broth ended up tasting too shrimp-y although some may like that taste. The noodles were pedestrian (they did have a special that included homemade fettuccine, which we should have ordered). In the end, my wife and I mostly just saved the Milanese dish and had one or two bites of her fettuccine.

We ordered the chocolate pudding to go. A bit over the top on the whip cream, but the pudding was delicious and approximated a pot de creme. Glad we came back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Great service from Courtney

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on August 30, 2015

Great service from Courtney

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Not what it used to be.....

vip
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on August 29, 2015

I had not been to Trio in about a year. Not sure what has happened, but it was just not a good experience. Our server forgot my drink, he heard my order incorrectly, and overall - he just wasn't around. I would not say they were too busy. It was a Friday night, but on the early side. The food was food, but the service certainly left me with a not so good impression. Sadly, I don't think we will be back.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1

Food and service was very good, except for.....

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on August 23, 2015

Too many tables stuffed into the patio area leaving no where to walk. Seriously, I had to hop around umbrellas and tables, doing a little dance to get to and away from our table. It was bizarre. Good wine, semi-enthusiastic waiter and except for feeling a little rushed it was very nice. I personally like a slower pace to my drinks, starters and main dishes.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4

One of the best patios in Sandy

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on August 23, 2015

Love the patio dining experience. Food is always good, service was good

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Way too loud, food was cold, & took forever.

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on August 22, 2015

Every course was cold - lacked flavor, took forever. We sat in the indoor dining room and it was so loud it sounded like a cafeteria. Next time I'll go to the downtown location.

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3

The menu has changed and I don't like it ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on August 22, 2015

The menu has changed and I don't like it near as much. My salmon wasn't nearly as good as it used to be. The artichoke was bland. Dessert was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4

Trio is consistently good. Our favorite ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on July 8, 2015

Trio is consistently good. Our favorite is the pastas. Great service. Patio dining is terrific.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Trio is always a good take for great pasta.

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on July 3, 2015

Trio in Cottonwood always has great food & wonderful service. It is never too crowded when I've been there which is nice in my mind.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Food is great!

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on June 26, 2015

Yummy food! However, I made a reservation, was on time for said reservation, and thehostess still made us wait between 15 and 20 minutes which I found mildly irritating.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1

TOO NOISY TOO SLOW SERVICE

vip
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on June 20, 2015

We waited and waited to order our meal...then we waited some 40 minutes to get our food.

We were seated in the terrace area. It was way too noisy and could not hear across the table as they packed the table so close to each other.

TOO SLOW FOOD TOO NOISY. Certainly was not relaxing atmosphere.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

Pleasant evening, great outdoor ambiance

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on June 8, 2015

We have enjoyed Trio on several occassions, but this time I thought the food was not exceptional. Some items were very nice: the fish ono special with delicious polenta was lovely, and the ricotta-spinach dumplings were delicious. The chicken romaine lettuce, salad was just ok (I disliked the caper berries-too salty/sour). The salad would have been nicer with something else in it: artichoke hearts, grated carrots, pickled beets. Overall, a very pleasant evening sitting on the patio.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.