About Café Trio

4558 Main Street
Kansas City, MO 64111
View Larger Map

Hip & glamorous, Café Trio blends outstanding cuisine and cocktails for an award winning “Come as you are” casual fine dining experience offering the perfect “Trio” of great Local Food, Art and Live Music. The Starlet Lounge at Café Trio evokes a bygone era complete with Hollywood Starlets and the always playing classic movie with specialty martinis, traditional cocktails and an extensive list of wine and beer with Live Music Tuesday through Saturday. Large outdoor terrace offers one of kind views of the Country Club Plaza & J.C. Nichols Fountain. Chef Nick Estell uses a cornucopia of local and regional produce and artisan ingredients for a very well curated menu. Expect to be greeted with a smile by both the staff & owners, Tai and Chris. Cafe Trio is one of Kansas City's most popular restaurants awarded multiple Kansas City “Best Of” designations including “Best Overall Restaurant” designations including “Best Overall Restaurant”.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH: Monday - Friday 11am - 2pm

HAPPY HOUR: Monday -Friday 2pm-6pm

DINNER / Full Menu Service: Monday: 5pm-9pm, Tuesday-Thursday: 5pm-9:30pm, Friday & Saturday: 5pm -10:30pm.

Cocktails (Lounge & Deck): Monday - Friday: 2:00pm - Midnight, Saturday: 5:00pm - Midnight
Kitchen & Bar Hours may Vary

Cross Street:
E. 45th Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(816) 756-3227

Website:
http://www.cafetriokc.com/

Entertainment:
Piano & Vocals. Blues & Jazz. Evenings: Tuesday through Saturday.

Parking Details:
Private Lot & Street Parking.

Public Transit:
On the actual Main Street route, including the Max. Only a few feet from two stops.

Executive Chef:
Nick Estell

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Cafe Trio hosts numerous special events year round including wine diners, art openings, costume parties and special live music engagements. Please sign up to receive emails about these events by visiting our website at cafetriokc.com.

Restaurant Photos

Hanger Steak
Shrimp Flatbread
House Salad
Salmon burger
Lemon Icebox Cake
Filet Mignon
Mac Daddy
Crab Cakes
Brussels Sprouts
Caprese Salad
Southwest Chicken Cobb
Pear Ginger Martini
NYE Dessert Sampler
Xingu Black Beer
NYE Seafood Trio
NYE Appetizer Sampler
Grilled Barrumundi
Scallops Praline
Lamb Lollipops
Caesar Salad
Seafood Trio
Mac Daddy Side
Bread
Side Salad
Iced tea
Tomato Bisque Soup
Braised Short Ribs
Cheesesteak
Ribeye
Mediterranean Grilled Seafood Trio
baked spaghetti
Grilled Asparagus
Seafood Ceviche
Tomato Basil Soup
Prince Edward Island Mussels
Mediterrean Seafood Grill
Cream Brulee Cheesecake
Cowboy Bone-in Ribeye
Ribeye Steak
Tomato Basil
Seafood Lasagna
Seafood Cev
Jimi Hendrix
Seared Ahi Tuna
Mac Daddy Mac & Cheese
Spinach Salad
Tuscan Shrimp Pizza
Roasted Chicken
Lambchops
Ahi tuna
Oyster Rockerfeller
Pale Ale
Veal Ossobuco
tortellini
Steak And Sticks
Braised Pork Short Ribs
Spinach and Smoked Bacon Salad
Blue Bistro
Deluxe Steakburger

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Offering the very best in private event options in Kansas City. Outstanding private dining opportunities for fifteen to over a hundred guests. Custom or à la Carte menus, full audiovisual support in the choice of two very unique rooms. Let us do the work while you take all the credit.

Café Trio Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Kansas City
Outdoor Dining
Kansas City
Best Ambiance
Kansas City, MO
1 More
American
Kansas City, MO
Best Restaurants in Plaza / Brookside ›

Great for Outdoor Dining (88)
Special Occasion (78)
Fit for Foodies (73)
See All
Scenic View (65)
Neighborhood Gem (64)
Romantic (59)
Good for Groups (43)
Great for Lunch (42)
Hot Spot (32)
Notable Wine List (32)
Vibrant Bar Scene (25)
Late-night Find (23)
Great for Brunch (13)
Kid-friendly (4)
Sort By:
Newest
2888 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Seafood curry was light and flavorful. T ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined 4 days ago

Seafood curry was light and flavorful. The view and ambiance on the patio enhance the dining experience.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Beautiful ambiance, outstanding food, ex ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined 5 days ago

Beautiful ambiance, outstanding food, excellent service

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Another excellent meal last night at Caf ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Another excellent meal last night at Café Trio. The mussels are incredible as a starter, husband had the lamb I had the hanger steak. Our meals were fabulous. Don't forget strawberry shortcake for dessert… Yum! Excellent food, service and ambiance… Love the piano man too!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent greatservice Very inventive me ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Excellent greatservice

Very inventive menu

Alwaysapleasure

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Truly a special dining experience! Food ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Truly a special dining experience! Food is fantastic!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server was Hanna and she did a great ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Our server was Hanna and she did a great job. We enjoyed sitting outside and got lucky with great weather Saturday night. My husband and I both enjoyed our meal and we'll come back.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great atmosphere and service! Food was f ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Great atmosphere and service! Food was fair but not as high quality as I expected for the price tag. I would probably go back for a happy hour setting but not for dinner.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

We sat outside at the back bar and enjoy ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

We sat outside at the back bar and enjoyed a cocktail prior to being sat at an outdoor table. Was great atmosphere and even better food. The mussels are delicious!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for Groups, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Cafe Trio NEVER disappoints!! We have b ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Cafe Trio NEVER disappoints!! We have been patrons for some time now and was a favorite before they moved to their current location and has only gotten better and better! Their deck and view of The Plaza are outstanding and can have the feel of a private more romantic spot to a great place to meet friends to unwind and enjoy fun and unique drink choices. A must try place in my opinion!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food is always a treat-- selections ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

The food is always a treat-- selections sometimes to the point it's hard to make a choice. This time our server was the BEST ever!! Thank you for making my client-outing special event and making sure I got the check.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

I usually have fabulous food here, but m ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

I usually have fabulous food here, but my lunch wasn't good. Service was okay but not great! Very disappointing because we were celebrating a dear friend's birthday.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value2

I order the Confit Pasta- it was delicio ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

I order the Confit Pasta- it was delicious! The brown butter sauce was the best I've ever had. My wife had the Seafood Lasagna and raved about it as well. Our server was professional, knowledgeable, and courteous. The prices were a bit higher than we would like, but the quality of food is worth it. It is less an everyday restaurant and more of one that is frequented on a date or special occasion. Definitely give it a try!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Jeremy is always the best server. And t ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Jeremy is always the best server. And the atmosphere is always fantastic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

Always reliable for either a quality bus ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Always reliable for either a quality business lunch meeting or special occasion with friends or family. Food options are great and atmosphere is engaging.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious food with thoughtful and atten ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Delicious food with thoughtful and attentive (but not too attentive) service.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We found Cafe Trio and made a reservatio ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

We found Cafe Trio and made a reservation on a whim after missing our other reservation. Turned out to be an amazing choice! The paella was amazing (and spicy), as was the seafood lasagna. The waitress was attentive and friendly. We went at about 21.30, so the restaurant was quiet, which suited us just fine. Even had we gone during the day, I doubt it would have been loud. We'll definitely be going back the next time we're in Kansas City.

Tags: Late-night Find, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were celebrating an anniversary and I ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

We were celebrating an anniversary and I called ahead so they would seat us on the deck, which has a terrific view of the Plaza and the fountain. Wonderful crab cake appetizer and seafood lasagna. Our waiter tipped us off to a special dessert that was also ridiculously good, some kind of a peach pastry. Even if you weren't planning dessert, if they have that, get it and share it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife had the mussels and within 5 min ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

My wife had the mussels and within 5 minutes of returning home she was struck with food poisoning. We called the restaurant and spoke with the owner and his level of concern was barely noticeable. I doubt we will be back anytime soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2

As always, great service, friendly atmos ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

As always, great service, friendly atmosphere and great smiles. Most important, great food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Relaxed dinning close to The Plaza with ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Relaxed dinning close to The Plaza with covered outdoor seating that overlooks the Park and fountain. Menu is small but not lacking. Service was relaxed and unrushed. Food was good and well priced. Stop by for a drink on their back patio and I bet you decide to stay for dinner!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

The third night of our out of town anniv ...

 
 (Nebraska)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

The third night of our out of town anniversary stay we tried Cafe Trio. The decor was very nice. The food and service was very good. For us the topper was the piano player. (Please don't shoot him.) He could start with a tune, change the tempo and style, segway into a different song and back to the original with such ease it almost sounded as one. I'll recommend this dinning experience to anyone.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Celebrated our twenty-eighth anniversary ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Celebrated our twenty-eighth anniversary at Cafe Trio...not our first time! And, again, food, service and ambiance...outstanding! We have never been disappointed. One of our very favorite places to dine.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I recently took a friend to Café Trio wh ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

I recently took a friend to Café Trio who grew up in KC but has been living in California for 30 years or so. He loved it! Said the food, cocktails, wine, and ambience rival some of the best restaurants in San Francisco. I think Trio is one of Kansas City's best restaurants. The food is delicious. The staff is friendly and knowledgeable. I always have a great time there--love the bar area and the covered patio. Consistently wonderful!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This has always been our first choice fo ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

This has always been our first choice for special event celebrations. However, in the past year or two negative changes have been made to the menu/menu items. This is the best patio dining experience in Kansas City but we will have to find an alternative for special occasions.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

It was a birthday dinner. We were set ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

It was a birthday dinner. We were set upstairs in isolation. The food was just ok. Not sure we will return.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

We have now been to Cafe Trio twice, bot ...

 
 (Tulsa)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

We have now been to Cafe Trio twice, both times for our anniversary. We absolutely Love their food, service, atmosphere and always enjoy the live pianist !!

We Will be back!

A and C from Tulsa, OK

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

we requested a table on the main floor a ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

we requested a table on the main floor and got it! service was extraordinary. meal was delicious. piano man big plus - since it was an occasion, requested songs which he consistently knew or acquired. a bit if a slow night, which was pleasant for us, in hanging out a bit, enjoying music. we'll come again soon, probably for lunch and outdoors dining. thank you.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Our server was knowledgeable and very he ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Our server was knowledgeable and very helpful ! She had a wonderful personality ! She made great suggestions and knew the menu very well ! The whole staff moved seamlessly clearing plates and refilling glasses. We had a wonderful evening and enjoyed the very talented pianist...and felt comfortable enough to stay awhile and enjoy the music ! We were celebrating Fathers Day...I informed my husband we could celebrate my birthday there !!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great happy hour menu and ambiance! Our ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Great happy hour menu and ambiance! Our server was very attentive, and they made sure to confirm my reservation the day before. I highly recommend Cafe Trio!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful dining experience. Though it w ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

Wonderful dining experience. Though it was a hot day, the patio was comfortable and inviting. Service and food were both fantastic!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was good. It took a little longer t ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

Food was good. It took a little longer to get our food than we expected but the food was good again. We went for lunch. I had the pork tacos and enjoyed them.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Every time I visit Cafe Trio it is an ab ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Every time I visit Cafe Trio it is an absolutely perfect experience from arrival to walking out the door. The atmosphere, the food, the staff all the way down to the personal touch of Tai or Chris (the owners) coming to the table to say hello and check-in. The most personal service and experience I have received at any restaurant, anywhere, ever and why I always go back to Cafe Trio again and again, it just doesn't get any better. As always Cara, our server of choice who has become a friend is always beyond perfection as well! Lastly, thank you for the replacement wine glasses!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One Of Our Favorites Just Keeps Getting Better

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

Cafe Trio has been one of our favorite restaurants for several years and our recent visit kept it at the top of our list. My wife tried one of the newer offerings, the paella, which she enjoyed very much. I ordered the fillet and was very pleased with cut of meat and the accompaniments. Our server was extremely pleasant and competent even though the restaurant was busy and she had several tables to manage. Overall, it was an outstanding meal.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Another great dinner at Cafe Trio

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

We were there on a weekday evening and were seated on the deck. We both had the pork chops, which were great. We had the tomato bisque and crab cakes before the entree, and both were excellent. The service was outstanding.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We will not be back for dinner.

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

I went to happy hour at Cafe Trio a few weeks ago and liked it so we thought we would try their dinner menu. My husband ordered the salmon and I ordered the seafood ravioli. Both meals were terrible. We didn't even finish them. They had no flavor and were not impressive, especially for the cost. My wine was good but my husband's wine tasted skunked. We probably should have said something about the wine. We like trying new places and don't mind spending money when the food is worth it, but I could have found a $10 meal that was so much better than this. It takes a lot for us not to finish our food and wine. The service was great, but that wasn't what we came for. We might come back for happy hour but will definitely not be back for dinner.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value1

What a disappointment. This used to be ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 2, 2016

What a disappointment. This used to be a favorite, but this is the last time. Server was pleasant but not really on too of her game. The cocktail was a ten dollar glass of ice with maybe two sips of liquid. Dinner was poorly prepared and caused stomach problems the next 24 hours.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3

empty

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 1, 2016

At noon no one was in the inside; 3-4 tables outside (nice) What's up/

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Fun Date Night

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Me and my date really enjoyed our experience at Café Trio. The food was really good. I had the mac and cheese (Kansas City's best they say) and the girlfriend got seafood lasagna which was awesome. The highlight for me as a beer guy was seeing Delirium Tremens on the tap list! That's a rare find outside of Europe, so that was a nice surprise.

There was a nice couple playing soft music that created a good vibe inside the restaurant. The outdoor seating area looked fantastic with a view of the plaza. We wanted to try that but it was full, so we may have to come back for that reason alone.

On top of all of it, the service was excellent. Prompt, but not pushy.

It was an overall great experience.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

A Fave

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Great food! Always enjoy Cafe Trio. Outside is great when weather is good. Service is consistently attentive and flexible with requests.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Main courses were very good. Tilapia & b ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

Main courses were very good. Tilapia & braised ribs with nice accompaniments. Big negative was the bread, dry no flavor. Salad so so. Dessert was excellent

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.