About Cafe Thirty-A

3899 East County Highway 30A
Seagrove Beach, FL 32459
View Larger Map

Café Thirty-A is a casual fine-dining restaurant featuring grilled and fire roasted seafood, meats and poultry, wood-oven pizza, vegetarian fare and hedonistic, "architectural" desserts. The menu changes daily according to availability of ingredients. Fine wines and cocktails--including a creative menu of the best martinis in the area--complement the meal. The ambiance is open, casual, "islandy," yet sophisticated, with vaulted ceilings, upside-down market umbrellas, hand painted chairs, intimate lighting and half-wall dividers creating the atmosphere. Patrons often state, "It just makes you feel good to walk in here!" It's a fun, happening place to dine - with impeccable, yet unpretentious, service. Recent and ongoing awards are: Wine Spectator Award of Excellence, Florida Trend Golden Spoon Award, North American Restaurant Association Five-Star Award of Excellence, NW Florida Daily News “Restaurant of the Year.” Private dining for 25-80 is available upstairs in the Fishbone

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner Nightly: 5:00pm - Close

Cross Street:
Somerset Bridge Rd.

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(850) 231-2166 ext. 1

Website:
http://www.cafethirtya.com/

Parking Details:
Somerset Bridge Rd.

Executive Chef:
Ken Duenas

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Beer, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Private dining is available in one of our two private rooms, The Fishbone Room (25-80) or The Side Porch (35-55). In addition, the entire restaurant accommodates 250 for seated dinners or 350 for standing buffets--all individualized to reflect your vision, resources and wishes.

Cafe Thirty-A Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Northwest Florida
Best Food
Northwest Florida
Best Service
Northwest Florida
13 More
Best Value
Northwest Florida
Fit for Foodies
Northwest Florida
Neighborhood Gem
Northwest Florida
Most Booked
Northwest Florida
Best Overall
Destin
Best Food
Destin
Best Service
Destin
Best Ambiance
Destin
Best Value
Destin
Fit for Foodies
Destin
Romantic
Destin
Special Occasion
Destin
Most Booked
Destin
Best Restaurants in Seagrove Beach ›

special occasion (110)
fit for foodies (98)
neighborhood gem (70)
See All
notable wine list (68)
romantic (67)
good for groups (58)
hot spot (39)
vibrant bar scene (14)
kid-friendly (11)
great for lunch (8)
scenic view (6)
great for brunch (4)
late-night find (3)
great for outdoor dining (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1323 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience4
service5

Luckily we made reservations for the por ...

vip
Dined 6 days ago

Luckily we made reservations for the porch. Noise level inside was extremely loud, porch was fine. Service was excellent as was the food. Casket parking was the only thing that almost ruined the signing. 20 minute wait for the car was unacceptable especially since we had to pay plus gratuity.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent Dining

Dined 7 days ago

The food was excellent and the service was exceptional. Highly recommend for a wonderful dining experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Subtly Divine

vip
Dined on May 16, 2016

Delicious can't begin to describe the quality of food here. The grits were made of what I'm sure heaven tastes like, and the fish--baked in the same oven as their pizzas--was layered with soft notes of chili. Even the bread, served with cracked pepper, white balsamic wine, and olive oil, was fantastic. This place isn't too touristy, but, rather, like its food, represents an understated investigation of what makes seafood, and dining across from the water, so great.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service2

We love this restaurant and would usuall ...

Dined on May 16, 2016

We love this restaurant and would usually rate all 5 stars but last night we had a poorly trained waiter who frankly embarrassed us with our guests. Interruptions for no good reason and taking away plates while others were still dining - very unprofessional. We felt rushed. Usually they have very experienced waiters so maybe we had the young Sunday night full-in - but he was poorly trained. It was not typical -

food4
ambience3
service4
value3

GOOD TO VERY GOOD, BUT GETTING SOME STIF ...

vip
Dined on May 15, 2016

GOOD TO VERY GOOD, BUT GETTING SOME STIFF COMPETITION WITH NEW COMERS

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

It had been too long

Dined on May 15, 2016

Was nice to be back at Cafe 30a. They have certainly spruced the place up. Excellent seafood and service!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent as it always is! Unparalleled ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Excellent as it always is! Unparalleled for service and quality in the 30A area. We have been dining here three to four times a year for ten years and have always had great food and an enjoyable experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was excellent !! We had a grea ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

The food was excellent !! We had a great waiter. It is a special place ...and we enjoy it every time we did everything there. I would highly recommend it!!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had a great meal at Cafe 30-a. Our w ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

We had a great meal at Cafe 30-a. Our waitress was excellent and answered our questions quite well. The food was excellent but expensive. I would not recommend it to families with children. We ate there since it was the last night of our vacation. When we return to the area, we will definitely return.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was our second visit and we were no ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

This was our second visit and we were not disappointed. We were seated promptly and were greeted by our waiter Troy. He was one of the best , if not the best, waiter we have ever had. He was friendly and very knowledgeable about the menu and wine list. The seafood was outstanding and the creamy grits are a must try. We ordered our dessert to go and the dessert packaging was great. Bottom line this is a great restaurant on the beach and we will be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious as always! One of our favorite ...

Dined on May 10, 2016

Delicious as always! One of our favorites!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Has consistently been the best restauran ...

Dined on May 9, 2016

Has consistently been the best restaurant on 30A for years.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything we had was awesome!

Dined on May 8, 2016

Everything we had was awesome!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I have been there many times and have ne ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

I have been there many times and have never been disappointed! Always consistent always delicious. The service is fantastic. If the veal chop is on the menu your evening .... Order it! The fried oyster and spinach salad is another favorite and ordered every time!

Tags: fit for foodies
food4
ambience4
service5

Dined upstairs off the beaten path, a li ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Dined upstairs off the beaten path, a little quieter than downstairs near the bar. Best Jumbo Lump crab cake anywhere on 30A. Cobia and Tuna entrees were excellent. Great atmosphere following an engagement proposal on the beach. A family member contacted the restaurant and made arrangements for congratulatory champagne table side, we were well taken care of. Host / Waitstaff were all incredible. I don't recall our servers name but he was originally from England. A special thanks to him, Chris

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Exceptional!

Dined on May 7, 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed the service and meal at Cafe 30A. It's always an incredible treat!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great dinner experience

Dined on May 7, 2016

Have only dined at Cafe Thirty A several times over the course of many years. I truly forgot how wonderful the food and service are. It's pricey but nice for a special night out!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great find!

Dined on May 6, 2016

We actually heard about this place and the free entree from 5-6. Hubby had lobster and I had cobia fish. The lobster was delicious and the fish was good--a bit firmer than expected, but that is normal. One Crab cake at $20 is expensive, but was very good. Great service by SCOTT.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome!!!

Dined on May 6, 2016

Best crab cakes on the beach and best creamy grits anywhere. Ask for crab cakes (2) as an entree or just order the small bites crab cake (1). But make sure to order a side of creamy grits.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Expectations met as always

Dined on May 5, 2016

When we visit the gulf coast it always includes dinner at Cafe 30A and we are never disappointed. We find the chef's menus to inspire trying different foods and preparations. From the hostess greeting to the professional and poised serving staff the service compliments the ambiance and terrific meal. We look forward to our next visit.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great time. Food was awesome

Dined on May 5, 2016

Thank you. Everything was great as soon as you walk the door. Very friendly staff. Food was great

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful experience!

Dined on May 5, 2016

Wonderful experience!

food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious dinner, great service, and bea ...

Dined on May 3, 2016

Delicious dinner, great service, and beautiful restaurant.

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Saturday night dinner out

Dined on May 1, 2016

We visit 30A frequently. The food is consistently delicious and fresh. The service is typically excellent. Unfortunately there were two problems this night. The first problem was, even after asking the wait person to "pace" our meal and not bring out the meal before we had time to enjoy the appetizer, the very minute our appetizer plates were removed our dinner plates replaced them. The 2nd problem was that my husband ordered a scotch and we were charged $35.00 - regular price was under $15.00. Fortunately we checked our bill before putting down our credit card. This was one of the tastiest meals we've ever had but two strikes with such a great restaurant was a disappointment.

Tags: special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Celebrating our 35 anniversary where we ...

Dined on May 1, 2016

Celebrating our 35 anniversary where we have dined over the years. Always a great experience.

food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Snooty But Good

vip
Dined on April 29, 2016

Wife and I took our twin girls (8 months) to dinner recently and had a 6pm reservation. We intentionally went early since we were with small children. The hostess(s) legitimately looked annoyed that we brought our small kids with us. They made us feel a little uncomfortable standing by the hostess stand while they figured out what to do….. We decided to stay and made the most of it. The server was outstanding and did his best to make our experience great. The old fashion was excellent, as was my wife's wine, and we split a wedge salad that was also excellent. She had the sesame tuna and I had the wahu fish dish. Both were fresh, flavorful, and outstanding…. Despite the rough start, the food was great and our experience once seated was very positive. The kids were also very well behaved and quiet in case anyone is interested! 

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful experience ! Start to finish.

Dined on April 27, 2016

Very good from beginning to end. Loved the cucumber gin martini and beet salad.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

Disappointing night at Cafe Thirty-A

Dined on April 27, 2016

It seemed like they all just got out of a bad staff meeting and were in bad moods. Our waiter who waited on us in Dec. denied doing so and had an unpleasant personality and demeanor throughout our dinner. I really think maybe they have become so popular that customer focus is not really required anymore. I own rental properties on the beach on 30-A and have about 70 families that rent from me each year. After my dinner, I took Café Thirty-A off the recommended list I send to each guest for things to do and the best places to eat. Over the years it could be a big loss to the restaurant.

food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Still not one of my favorites

vip
Dined on April 22, 2016

I have tried this restaurant 4 times and still can't figure out why it's rated so highly. We were greeted by Valet with " do you have reservations?" In an unpleasant tone. The hostess stand was not very pleasant either. However our server was excellent and made us feel welcomed. I believe her name was Alanna. She was very helpful with recommendations and her service was impeccable. The food was good and the cocktails were very good. The noise level was VERY high as it has been each time I have dined here. There are too many great restaurants on 30A for this to be one of my "regulars".

Tags: kid-friendly
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Anniversary Dinner at Cafe 30A

Dined on April 20, 2016

We spent a week in Seagrove, FL, for anniversary, and had an excellent anniversary dinner at Cafe 30A after it was recommended by some locals. It was a short walk from the condo we rented for the week. Both my braised shot ribs and my wife's lobster macaroni & cheese excellent. No, her's was beyond excellent: 3 halved lobster tails over a pasta in a delicious cheese sauce. Not your average mac & cheese. Our waiter Matthew had "only" been there 4 years, I think he said, but knew every dish on the menu and quickly answered our few questions about the wine list, too. On our way out, we chatted up his more senior colleague Joe, and got some more background on the place and area. We would definitely go back.

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Would go again

Dined on April 20, 2016

Pricey, even with the early bird BOGO, but very good and well worth it. Wine list excellent and quite extensive, but also quite expensive compared to other restaurants.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect!!

Dined on April 19, 2016

We have never had a bad experience at 30A. We have vacationed in the Destin area for 20+ yrs and have eaten at 30Aa 35+ times. Service and food are consistent. There are many great restaurants in the area. 30A is #1 in our book. Lobster in Paradise is to die for.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Don't miss it!!

Dined on April 16, 2016

Crab cakes the best I have ever had for this NOLA girl! 90% lump crab- it's true! So light & delicious! Also, the tuna was excellent also! Great evening all the way around!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Spring break dinner

vip
Dined on April 9, 2016

Group of 8 last night on spring break in Rosemary Beach area--could get a reservation here upscale restaurant with white tableclothes very nice atmosphere probably best meal we had all week. Was alittle more pricey, but much better than the bar food and middle of the road stuff we had previously in the week. Highly recommend!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Consistently good

Dined on April 9, 2016

Cafe Thirty A is consistent and inviting. We always go back every time we are in the area for the great food and service. You always know what to expect which is what makes it so good!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4

It was our anniversary - it was too bad ...

vip
Dined on April 8, 2016

It was our anniversary - it was too bad the waiter didn't ask if we were celebrating a special day. Obviously we were... Service was not that great. I have eaten here several times and the food is always spot on. It was apparent that our waiter on this visit preferred to visit with the locals.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

From the service, the ambience, the food ...

Dined on April 2, 2016

From the service, the ambience, the food, wine and finally dessert. Everything was superb!! Will def be back!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome!

Dined on April 2, 2016

This was our first visit to the area and we tried several of the area restaurants. We had a wonderful meal, as did our two children (7&11). Delicious food, great ambiance. We highly recommend!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

We had Steve and he was very attentive a ...

Dined on March 29, 2016

We had Steve and he was very attentive and helpful. The food, service , and atmosphere was great. Enjoyable evening!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Some of the Best Memories of my Life

Dined on March 26, 2016

Been bringing my family to Cafe30A for probably 20 years. It is one of our favorite family traditions. I've never had even close to an off experience here. This time was off the chart. It's not even fair how delicious the food is, how cool the atmosphere is, how wonderful I feel and proud I am to have all my girls here. The memories of when they were just little girls in white dresses come flooding back. It is a very special place for me. Can you tell?

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.