About Cafe Thirty-A

3899 East County Highway 30A
Seagrove Beach, FL 32459
View Larger Map

Café Thirty-A is a casual fine-dining restaurant featuring grilled and fire roasted seafood, meats and poultry, wood-oven pizza, vegetarian fare and hedonistic, "architectural" desserts. The menu changes daily according to availability of ingredients. Fine wines and cocktails--including a creative menu of the best martinis in the area--complement the meal. The ambiance is open, casual, "islandy," yet sophisticated, with vaulted ceilings, upside-down market umbrellas, hand painted chairs, intimate lighting and half-wall dividers creating the atmosphere. Patrons often state, "It just makes you feel good to walk in here!" It's a fun, happening place to dine - with impeccable, yet unpretentious, service. Recent and ongoing awards are: Wine Spectator Award of Excellence, Florida Trend Golden Spoon Award, North American Restaurant Association Five-Star Award of Excellence, NW Florida Daily News “Restaurant of the Year.” Private dining for 25-80 is available upstairs in the Fishbone

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner Nightly: 5:00pm - Close

Cross Street:
Somerset Bridge Rd.

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(850) 231-2166 ext. 1

Website:
http://www.cafethirtya.com/

Parking Details:
Somerset Bridge Rd.

Executive Chef:
Ken Duenas

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Beer, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Private dining is available in one of our two private rooms, The Fishbone Room (25-80) or The Side Porch (35-55). In addition, the entire restaurant accommodates 250 for seated dinners or 350 for standing buffets--all individualized to reflect your vision, resources and wishes.

Cafe Thirty-A Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Northwest Florida
Best Food
Northwest Florida
Best Service
Northwest Florida
11 More
Best Value
Northwest Florida
Fit for Foodies
Northwest Florida
Neighborhood Gem
Northwest Florida
Most Booked
Northwest Florida
Best Overall
Destin
Best Food
Destin
Best Service
Destin
Best Ambiance
Destin
Best Value
Destin
Special Occasion
Destin
Most Booked
Destin
Best Restaurants in Seagrove Beach ›

special occasion (149)
fit for foodies (131)
romantic (83)
See All
neighborhood gem (81)
notable wine list (79)
good for groups (78)
hot spot (49)
kid-friendly (25)
vibrant bar scene (20)
scenic view (10)
great for lunch (6)
great for brunch (4)
late-night find (3)
great for outdoor dining (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1413 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Loyal customers of Cafe Thirty-A. Gem o ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined 3 days ago

Loyal customers of Cafe Thirty-A. Gem of a restaurant, best in the area.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

2nd trip to Cafe 30A. Had a great time ...

vip
 (Alabama)
·Dined 4 days ago

2nd trip to Cafe 30A. Had a great time with the family. Service was really good, waiter was knowledgeable and attentive. Passed on desserts because we were full but the menu is extensive and varied for being on the Gulf Coast. Highly recommended.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Appetizers and salads were excellent. A ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined 4 days ago

Appetizers and salads were excellent. A few misses on the entrees but overall good food and excellent service.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

I had the Jonas crab claws which are lik ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined 4 days ago

I had the Jonas crab claws which are like Stone Crabs. They were very tasty. The fish special was very nice and would have again. The wife had the pork chop dish which was very large and tasty. Order of you are extremely hungry. The cheesecake desert with peaches finished off a almost perfect evening. I say this as the table of 5 women 3 tables away from us were so noisy we could barely talk across the table. Service was exceptional. We will return again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We were seated in the enclosed porch are ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined 4 days ago

We were seated in the enclosed porch area which was absolutely ideal. It was quiet there compared to the livelier main room. The food and service were excellent. My husband had grouper and I had seared tuna, each fish perfectly cooked.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our party of five all ordered different ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined 4 days ago

Our party of five all ordered different meals and they were all equally delicious! We made reservations for 5:30 p.m. to take advantage of the 2 for 1 menu deal. Really helps out with the bill and we were able to go back to the beach for sunset and to take pictures. One of our favorite restaurants on 30A. We would eat there every night if we could!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent food and service! We were on ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined 5 days ago

Excellent food and service! We were on vacation at Seaside, and greatly enjoyed our dinner.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Never a disappointment at Cafe 30A. We ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined 5 days ago

Never a disappointment at Cafe 30A. We always have a good meal here. My favorite drink is the Pineapple Cosmo. Very good place to eat!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Thirty A is always a must stop place to ...

 
 (Little Rock)
·Dined 6 days ago

Thirty A is always a must stop place to have a date night during our annual beach trip!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Celebrated another fabulous anniversary ...

 
 (NW Florida)
·Dined 6 days ago

Celebrated another fabulous anniversary dinner and we are always pleased. Never have we been disappointed with the food or service. Best server ever!! Can't wait for the next time!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We always love the food at Café 30 A and ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined 6 days ago

We always love the food at Café 30 A and it did not disappoint this time. The crabcakes, the fried oysters spinach salad, and a Manhattan steak all got rave reviews from the four of us. Our waiter Scott was attentive and did many extras for us without complaint. We would definitely ask to be placed at his station again

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The filet mignon was so delicious! Every ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined 7 days ago

The filet mignon was so delicious! Everything was exceptionally good. It was a meal to remember.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Love this place. It never disappoints. ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined 7 days ago

Love this place. It never disappoints. The waitstaff are great

Service impeccable, food and presentation amazing.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Being from a major city with an outstand ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Being from a major city with an outstanding food scene, we have pretty high expectations when it comes to restaurants. Cafe 30A met or exceeded them all. Best meals we had during our week on 30A--we went twice bc we loved it so much! Every dish our parties ordered both nights were beyond terrific and delicious. Fried oyster salad, fried green tomatoes, arugula salad, quail over grits, seared ahi tuna, fish specials, bread pudding, etc! The first night our waiter was a little less than friendly but Sarah more than made up for that on our second visit! She was attentive, gave great descriptions of everything we asked about and more, and made sure our evening was outstanding from start to finish. Next time we are on 30A we will be back at least twice again! Make a reservation and run to eat at this amazing restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food. Professional service. Relia ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Great food. Professional service.

Reliable pick.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Service was lacking. Our server seemed ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Service was lacking. Our server seemed more interested in chatting with a regular customer than attending to his other tables. Food took a long time to come out and one of the steaks was not cooked correctly causing further delay. A side we ordered was not served and we had to ask for it. To be "the place" in Seagrove, we were not impressed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Our waiter was very knowledgable about e ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Our waiter was very knowledgable about everything on the menu. The food was outstanding! The crab cake was all crab, no filling like bread crumbs and such. I try crab cakes at many places this is the best -hands down! Very nicely decorated inside. We didn't get dessert but they looked amazing. Really wish we could have gone back!

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

You took the scallops off the menu compl ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

You took the scallops off the menu completely and I ordered the lobster pasta and all I could taste was sausage- it completely overtwhelmed the dish

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

Cafe Thirty-A was recommended by a frien ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Cafe Thirty-A was recommended by a friend who lives in the area and it was a great experience. I had the grouper and it was delicious. It had a great combination of flavors with black eyed peas, tomato, and zucchini. The stone crab claw appetizer was very good but hard work cracking the claws. My husband had the tile fish, which was a bit bland and the cremini mushroom puree was not our cup of tea. But we tried something new. The cheesecake with peaches and oatmeal/graham cracker crust was to die for. The service was outstanding and they treated us well. The drinks were great and overall we had a wonderful experience and meal. We will definitely go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

When you are looking for a location to c ...

 
 (NW Florida)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

When you are looking for a location to celebrate anything, this is the place. It is not inexpensive, it is not a place for children that leave a lot of food on their plate. It is a place to go to feel spoiled, pampered and enjoy some of the finest food the South has to offer.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We've been eating at 30-a for 17 years n ...

vip
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

We've been eating at 30-a for 17 years now. Even had our rehearsal dinner there 15 years ago when we got married. Always a great meal. Same server the last couple times and he makes the experience. Wish I could remember his name. He ran country clubs for 20 years or more?. Perfect experience. Will always come back. Please keep the boar on the menu. It's a new favorite though we usually default to the filet.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The service was outstanding and the food ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

The service was outstanding and the food was over the top. This is MY favorite place to dine in the summertime! I can't wait to return to 30A.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and service were both super! A far ...

 
 (NW Florida)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Food and service were both super! A far better dining experience than another restaurant in Destin that has more awards. Highly recommend!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Best Crab Cakes I have ever experienced. ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Best Crab Cakes I have ever experienced. Not sure how they keep them in one piece. Expensive, but worth it. The food is properly prepared. The Chef is extremely creative with his Bill of Fare. I love dining here when on the Coast. Reservations required. Nice wine list since you can purchase by the bottle, the 1/2 bottle, or the glass. From a place that has been overflowing each time I have dined and considering the money you spend here, I would think the Service would be more solid. Service is OK, but has room for improvement.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Wonderful menu, great food, and superior ...

 
 (NW Florida)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Wonderful menu, great food, and superior service. We'll definitely be back!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We've eaten at this Resturant quite a fe ...

 
 (NW Florida)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

We've eaten at this Resturant quite a few times over the past fifteen (15) years and have always thoroughly enjoyed everything about this Resturant.

Last week we were seated upstairs for the first time and quickly figured out that this was where other families with young children were seated and thought that was such a great idea. We then didn't worry about our two (2) young children bothering anyone else in our vicinity. I would imagine those seated downstairs appreciated it was well. Ha. Again, this is a great idea.

We love this place with or without our children and will continue to dine there whenever we are back down to the area from West TN.

Tags: kid-friendly, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

This was our second time dining at Café ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

This was our second time dining at Café Thirty-A. Our first experience was outstanding, but the second was even better (didn't know it was possible). The food, service and atmosphere were all fabulous! I highly recommend Café Thirty-A!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

As always, Cafe 30A was awesome. Every d ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

As always, Cafe 30A was awesome. Every dish ordered by our party of 6 was great. We booked another reservation for Friday so we could eat there again before we left town!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went here for our anniversary dinner ...

 
 (NW Florida)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

We went here for our anniversary dinner and went during the buy 1 get 1 entree free time of 5-6 pm. I got the corvina and my husband got the langostina pasta, both were excellent. We also got a cheesecake which was very unique with an oatmeal cookie base! The wine list is extensive, as are the cocktails. We had a very fun, lovely time too.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Our experience started off on the wrong ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Our experience started off on the wrong foot when we arrived. The man who stands at the front door to assign seating was rude and condescending because I had my two children who would need high chairs. After huffing and puffing, as well as rolling his eyes at me, he finally assigned our table. Maybe he just isn't intelligent enough to figure out how a table could seat 6 people. But I used my noggin and put 3 people on each side. Who would've thought! Anyway, besides dealing with his arrogance, we had a great experience. Our server was wonderful and the food was excellent. The "greeter" was the only bad part of our experience- unfortunately he's the first person to speak to customers as they walk in the door. Perhaps if he isn't appreciative for the people who are the reason he has a job then he should quit and finding something that better suits him. For $300 meal, I expect to be treated with respect and courtesy. I will gladly take my $300 to another restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

The two for one from 5 to 6 is a good va ...

 
 (NW Florida)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

The two for one from 5 to 6 is a good value. My steak was over cooked but they made it right. The overall dining experience was a good one.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

It was our wedding anniversary and my wi ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

It was our wedding anniversary and my wife's birthday. I asked her where she wanted to have our celebration dinner and she said "Cafe Thirty-A", which was perfect except we live in Nashville, TN - so we booked a room and drove to Seagrove for dinner- I'm not kidding. We got there on Thursday, had dinner on Friday and drove back on Saturday. Our meal and service was WELL worth the 800+ mile round trip drive! See you next year!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We never visit the area without a dinner ...

vip
 (Memphis)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

We never visit the area without a dinner (or in this case two) at Cafe 30-A. The service is only excelled by the wonderful food. The crab cakes were outstanding.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our second visit, but like the ...

 
 (NW Florida)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

This was our second visit, but like the first, the food was excellent. The menu was different, which means they make seasonal adjustments based on availability of fresh ingredients, and, creative Chefs. The wine list is extensive, so if you can't find something to suit you, it's you!

Scott Y was our server, and he was THE BEST server we have ever had, bar none. He was knowledgeable, would offer his opinion when asked, made sure our drinks stayed full and the table uncluttered, but best of all (although a super nice guy who we would probably like to know better) he didn't try and become part of our dinner date by chatting us up like a long lost friend. In short; nice, knowledgeable, unobtrusive, efficient, and as a result of all that, along with the spectacularly fresh foods prepared to perfection, one of our two best meals ever on 30A, and the other just happened to be here as well, and we've tried them all.

Again, Scott, awesome, Cafe Thirty A, outstanding!

Darrell-

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Cafe Thirty-A remains a staple for my wi ...

vip
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Cafe Thirty-A remains a staple for my wife and I when we are in the area. It has never let us down. Whether we are dining alone or with family and friends in a larger group, the restaurant staff has delivered outstanding cuisine in a wonderful atmosphere. Highly recommended. Cafe Thirty-A holds its place in the short list of outstanding dining experiences in the 30A area.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Our dining experience was great as alway ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Our dining experience was great as always. Sarah, our server was very attentive and helpful. The food is always great, Café 30-A is always on our list when we are in Destin.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

All the rave reviews one reads about thi ...

 
 (NW Florida)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

All the rave reviews one reads about this place are true. We had a delightful time, unforgetable meal and stellar service. Particularly like restaurants which offer children's menu with real food.

Tags: kid-friendly, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous restaurant for a family/friend ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Fabulous restaurant for a family/friend dinner. Our waitress was friendly and helpful and the service was quick! We enjoyed our delicious food and the price was reasonable. We will come again!

Tags: kid-friendly, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love Cafe 30A!! Each and every visit ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

We love Cafe 30A!! Each and every visit is a treat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Loved everything about it. Scott the wa ...

vip
 (Alabama)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Loved everything about it. Scott the waiter is a real pro!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.