About Cafe Thirty-A

3899 East County Highway 30A
Seagrove Beach, FL 32459
View Larger Map

Café Thirty-A is a casual fine-dining restaurant featuring grilled and fire roasted seafood, meats and poultry, wood-oven pizza, vegetarian fare and hedonistic, "architectural" desserts. The menu changes daily according to availability of ingredients. Fine wines and cocktails--including a creative menu of the best martinis in the area--complement the meal. The ambiance is open, casual, "islandy," yet sophisticated, with vaulted ceilings, upside-down market umbrellas, hand painted chairs, intimate lighting and half-wall dividers creating the atmosphere. Patrons often state, "It just makes you feel good to walk in here!" It's a fun, happening place to dine - with impeccable, yet unpretentious, service. Recent and ongoing awards are: Wine Spectator Award of Excellence, Florida Trend Golden Spoon Award, North American Restaurant Association Five-Star Award of Excellence, NW Florida Daily News “Restaurant of the Year.” Private dining for 25-80 is available upstairs in the Fishbone

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner Nightly: 5:00pm - Close

Cross Street:
Somerset Bridge Rd.

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(850) 231-2166 ext. 1

Website:
http://www.cafethirtya.com/

Parking Details:
Somerset Bridge Rd.

Executive Chef:
Ken Duenas

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, Corkage Fee, Non-Smoking, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Private dining is available in one of our two private rooms, The Fishbone Room (25-80) or The Side Porch (35-55). In addition, the entire restaurant accommodates 250 for seated dinners or 350 for standing buffets--all individualized to reflect your vision, resources and wishes.

Cafe Thirty-A Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (43)
Good for a Date (36)
Good for Anniversaries (34)
See All
Fit for Foodies (31)
Creative Cuisine (26)
Notable Wine List (24)
Romantic (23)
Good for Birthdays (21)
Neighborhood Gem (19)
Worth the Drive (19)
Handcrafted Cocktails (18)
Local Ingredients (17)
Good for Groups (14)
Cozy (13)
Happy Hour (11)
Hot Spot (11)
Casual (11)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Outstanding Value (10)
Authentic (10)
Bar Seating (9)
Wood Oven (8)
Modern Decor (7)
Tasting Menu (6)
Fun (5)
Seasonal (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Business Meals (4)
Great Beer (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Gluten Free Options (3)
People Watching (3)
Family Style (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Scenic View (2)
Waterfront (2)
Historic (2)
Healthy (2)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Private Room (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Sort By:
S
1666 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Good food and great service. Always an e ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined 2 days ago

Good food and great service. Always an enjoyable meal.

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We've dined at 30A many times over the l ...

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined 3 days ago

We've dined at 30A many times over the last 15 years and this is the first time we have been disappointed. The group was slightly overcooked and sat on a bed of mushroom risotto. I like risotto and mushrooms, as well. But I don't think the combination worked in this dish. It needed some oomph and color! Our waiter, however, was very good.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value2

Chicken was very good but the crab cake ...

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined 3 days ago

Chicken was very good but the crab cake had too much filler and not enough crab meat. Overall though we had a delightful time and the service was superb!!

Tags: Casual, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Best food on the gulf coast. Jay always ...

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined 3 days ago

Best food on the gulf coast. Jay always takes care of us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Really enjoyed the delicious lobster tai ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 3 days ago

Really enjoyed the delicious lobster tails dinner and terrific service.

Tags: Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Grouper was excellent. Steak was excelle ...

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined 4 days ago

Grouper was excellent. Steak was excellent. BOGO from 5pm-6pm made it even better. Will be back!

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was great. All the staff in wonderf ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Food was great. All the staff in wonderful. We enjoy this restaurant.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Have been here many times. Food and ser ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Have been here many times. Food and service consistently good. Happy hour provided a very good value. Will return.

Tags: Modern Decor, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had a lovely dinner. The food was won ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 12, 2017

We had a lovely dinner. The food was wonderful, as well as the atmosphere and hospitality. Thank you!!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great classic fare. 2 for 1 special fro ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 10, 2017

Great classic fare. 2 for 1 special from 5-6 is great. Waiter and chef weee accommodating to my vegan husband. Quiet time of year so very quiet meal.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Exceptional service and wonderful food! ...

 
 (Little Rock)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Exceptional service and wonderful food! I would highly recommend this restaurant to anyone. The atmosphere was definitely cozy.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen, Cozy, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Steve was our Server. Very happy with h ...

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on January 4, 2017

Steve was our Server. Very happy with his knowledge of the menu and attention. Would ask for him again for sure. Best Steak I have had in a very long time. Everything was so good!

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Casual, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Wood Oven, Happy Hour, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome as ever dining experience! Such ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Awesome as ever dining experience! Such a great place to go and have a wonderful dining experience in a touristy place that's full of so-so food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

We always look forward to a great date n ...

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We always look forward to a great date night out when we visit the 30A area. Will be coming back. Thanks!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Family Style, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value1

We always celebrate New Years Eve and ou ...

vip
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We always celebrate New Years Eve and our Anniversary dinner at Cafe 30A! We love it and appreciate Jay's excellent service ! We even go when there isn't anything to celebrate! It's just the perfect place to relax and enjoy a great meal.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The New Year's Eve dinner was pricey at ...

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on January 1, 2017

The New Year's Eve dinner was pricey at $135 but 30A didn't skimp on the quality: Full flutes of Laurent Perrier on arrival (lesser venues would have poured Prosecco and called it Champagne) a beautiful prime filet preceded by homemade wild mushroom raviolis (pasta a bit thick but that's a mild cavil) my wife's she crab soup and sea bass flawlessly prepared. Superb cheesecake to finish. So, nothing too inventive (or out of whack!) and served with aplomb (waiter, Don, executed my one out-of-the-box request for a tiny ramekin of crab soup for me to taste). Their wine list is the best, and w/o question the fairest-priced on 30A. 3 stars for ambience only because we were seated upstairs in the Siberia adjacent to the restrooms.

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

One our very favorites!!! Great service, ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 1, 2017

One our very favorites!!! Great service, delicious food! We eat at Thirty A at least once a month or more!!

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Tasting Menu, Hot Spot, Cozy, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the best restaurants on 30a!!

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 31, 2016

One of the best restaurants on 30a!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had Sarah as our waitress and she was ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 29, 2016

We had Sarah as our waitress and she was excellent! I had the best filet mignon and my wife had the salmon. This was the best meal we had in town. Can't wait to go back! Thanks Sarah, you were awesome!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Kimberly was an excellent server, helpfu ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Kimberly was an excellent server, helpful but not pushy. The whole staff is friendly. Beautifully decorated for Christmas.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Continues to be the prime fine dining ch ...

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Continues to be the prime fine dining choice in South Walton. Service and food you'd expect from a top quality restaurant in a large city.

Tags: Romantic, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of our favorite restaurants in the a ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on December 28, 2016

One of our favorite restaurants in the area! Bogo entree between 5-6pm every night & $5 Martini's T & Th in the bar, make this place an exceptional value. Valet parking for $5 is a plus! No worries about where to park. The food & service are impeccable!!!

Tags: Business Meals, Outstanding Value, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Predictably fantastic! The food and serv ...

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Predictably fantastic! The food and service is always 5 Star!.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful dining experience, with great ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Wonderful dining experience, with great food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great meal too bad the table next to us ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Great meal too bad the table next to us was loud and obnoxious. Should try to seat two tops together so they can enjoy their time together.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

We had a delightful and satisfying eveni ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on November 26, 2016

We had a delightful and satisfying evening. Our server (don't recall his name but British from Dorset) was perfect for us and made our night just right. We love the creativity of the dishes, too. The spinach salad with oysters, salmon, duck, grouper, macaroni w crawfish were all good.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had great meals here in the past. Not s ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Had great meals here in the past. Not so consistent recently. Fish was fully well-done, dry & tough, not how grouper should be, and not how it used to be. Lobster was cooked fine, fortunately. Portions were more ample than most places, but for the prices charged, the fish should be perfect. Didn't have time or desire to send it back. Seems to be more of a family restaurant now than the higher-end seafood destination it used to be. Many more new places to venture to our next time around.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

We had reservations and were seated imme ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 26, 2016

We had reservations and were seated immediately. The good was prepared perfectly, we both had a fish entree.

The pricing is a little high, but to be expected on 30A

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We have eaten at this restaurant many ti ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We have eaten at this restaurant many times but this occasion was THANKSGIVING LUNCH and it was simply divine! The food was simply the best -- the service impeccable (ALEX) -- everyone friendly and nice. I hope to return many more times, and certainly will try and make it next Thanksgiving, as well. THANK YOU TO EVERYONE AT THE RESTAURENT but most especially to our server, ALEX.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food as always. We love to ea ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Excellent food as always. We love to eat here every time we visit. The older gentlemen waiters seem to have a bit of an attitude, and after the 4th time hitting my husband when walking past our table, my husband finally says something to the waiter. He seemed a little put out.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

Service was awesome. Had a glass of wine ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Service was awesome. Had a glass of wine from a pretty good selection. Had the beet salad which was this highlight of my meal. The layers of flavors made this salad perfect. Warm bread is offered and I suggest the truffle white balsamic addition to the dipping oil. Ordered the steak, was decent but not amazing. Also finished with the chocolate cake, I would pass on desert the next time as the cake was dry and not as described on the menu. Overall, great service, beautiful setting and decent food at a decent price.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Food was great. The mussels where the be ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Food was great. The mussels where the best ever. Everything was great to awesome. Will definitely dine there again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Service was excellent and the food was p ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Service was excellent and the food was perfect. I had the filet and it melted in my mouth.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Probably would not recommend. For the mo ...

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Probably would not recommend. For the money the food was marginal at best. Actually below marginal.

Place is very loud. Needs something to soften the noise level.

That is twice. Never again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service4
value1

This restaurant never fails to impress. ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on November 11, 2016

This restaurant never fails to impress. My husband and I only visit the area once a year, but we always make sure to include a dinner here. Service is impeccable and the food inventive and delicious. I appreciate that servers are knowledgeable and friendly, even advising us to share a salad. If you are there between 5 and 6, you can get a 2-for-1 meal, an amazing deal. However, the prices are reasonable regardless of when you're there. It is conveniently located between Destin and Panama City, adjacent to beautiful Seaside. You will not be disappointed by choosing to dine here.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Good for a Date, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food, once again, was delicious. The ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on November 6, 2016

The food, once again, was delicious. The menu changes daily. Our server was very attentive and patient with our group--six very chatty old friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We were very impressed with the service ...

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on November 6, 2016

We were very impressed with the service we received and the food was amazing. We had a reservation, walked in a couple of minutes early and were escorted straight to our table.

I had the salmon and it melted in my mouth. My husband ordered a vegetarian plate so they let him choose from the veggies and starches they have on their menu. He said it was better than anything he has had in other nice restaurants.

We completely enjoyed our date night and will plan to return.

Tags: Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Cafe Thirty-A never misses - they are fa ...

vip
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Cafe Thirty-A never misses - they are fabulous!! The service is great and the food is truly some of the very best on 30-A. It is always a wonderful experience :)

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Consistently outstanding food and servic ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Consistently outstanding food and service. Have been dining here as long as Cafe 30A has been open (close to 20 years I am sure) and have never had anything less than great food. Harriet runs a "class act". Look forward to every dining experience at Cafe 30A!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome! The crab cakes were unbelievab ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Awesome! The crab cakes were unbelievable....don't miss them!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.