Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.26mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.26mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.26mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.26mi

About Cafe Sole - Key West

Café Solé has captured the hearts and palates of locals and visitors lucky enough to discover this culinary gem off the beaten path. By combining his French mastery of sauces with fresh locally caught seafood, John has created a menu unlike any on the island, where every dish is bursting with indescribable flavors. Mutton snapper in pesto and champagne, yellowtail in a beurre blanc of lobster or a rare hog snapper with red pepper zabaglione top a list of nightly specials. As for the classics, the Duck a L'Orange, Rack of Lamb with herb de Province and Lobster Bouillaise are as authentic as you will find this side of Paris. Chef Correa combines the best of both of his worlds, European and Caribbean to win the People's Choice and Best Entree awards at a recent Master Chefs Classic

1029 Southard St.
Key West, FL 33040
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
French, Fish, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner Nightly: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Frances St.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(305) 294-0230

Website:
http://www.cafesole.com/

Executive Chef:
John Correa

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Gluten-free Menu, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

Cafe Sole - Key West Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (75)
Good for a Date (71)
Neighborhood Gem (61)
See All
Romantic (60)
Fit for Foodies (58)
Cozy (53)
Quiet Conversation (47)
Good for Anniversaries (46)
Creative Cuisine (45)
Local Ingredients (44)
Notable Wine List (40)
Authentic (36)
Great for Outdoor Dining (35)
Good for Birthdays (29)
Worth the Drive (28)
Casual (24)
Healthy (16)
Fun (13)
Historic (11)
Business Meals (9)
Outstanding Value (9)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Seasonal (6)
Happy Hour (6)
Good for Groups (6)
Comfort Food (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Molecular Gastronomy (5)
People Watching (5)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Scenic View (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Modern Decor (2)
Family Style (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Tapas (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Sort By:
S
1418 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Key West)·Dined a day ago

Awesome every time we bring family and friends to eat here. This was no different. Jason was our server and was very accommodating. Can not wait to eat there again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 2 days ago

Going to key West for 20 years. Best overall food quality and consistency on the island. Never miss a visit when in town.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 3 days ago

Excellent Hog Fish prepared gormet style. Delishes sides. Excellent presentation!

Tags: Special Occasion, Historic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 4 days ago

Wonderful setting in quiet neighborhood. Outstanding kitchen. The hogfish is excellent

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 5 days ago

One of our all-time favorites in Key West! The reason we still look forward to visiting Key West every year...the hogfish is unbelievable! Best fish we have ever had ANYWHERE - hands down!

Tags: Business Meals, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined 6 days ago

Café Solé was recommended to us by a friend.

The food was absolutely fantastic my wife had the Hog fish and I had the yellowtail snapper ..... hers was probably just a little bit better. 😇

The location and decor was fantastic and was off the craziness of Duval Street.

We will return to this location again because it was just so great and I will probably have a hog fish ☺️

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined 6 days ago

We absolutely enjoyed our meal at Cafe Sole. The gazpacho was different from any other that I have had, as it was thick and almost creamy. It was delicious! There was a problem with the grouper and apparently there was a problem in the kitchen, as I was not alone. The server immediately addressed the issue, and rather than bringing the same plate back again, they made an entirely new one for me and this one was perfect. Great food, reasonable prices, attention to detail. What more could you ask!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Our butter tasted like bleach, but the service was ok

Tags: People Watching, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service3
value2

 
 (Naples)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Great Food nice spread and portions, everything was cooked just right. One of two meals was a little cool, but not enough to send back. Ambiance was fun, families and couples. Wine selection was great, even into the dessert and non traditional options. Good classic Key West place for having a nice dinner. Hosts and wait staff were both very adequate but not overly friendly - not sure they loved their job.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Nice ambiente, very friendly staff, soups could have been hotter

Tags: Tasting Menu, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on March 14, 2017

The food was delicious and the place is really nice! We had the Conch carpaccio, the Artichoke with Crab, the Lambs and the Trio for dessert, couldn't have ended it better! My only suggestion is a little more light or maybe candles, some people (myself included) needed to use phones to see the menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Key West)·Dined on March 14, 2017

Decided to go here for dinner based on great reviews and a recommendation from the hotel where we were staying. What a disappointment! The food was very bland with little or no flavor and was served cold. Even the butter was awful as it tasted like soap! To be fair there were a few positives - the dessert was very good as was the ambiance and the service was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 13, 2017

Wonderful experience as always. The hogfish snapper is a must-have.

Tags: Disabled Access, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 12, 2017

excellent restaurant - great food, service, and atmosphere - highly recommend the Hog Fish

Tags: Healthy, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Excellent! Lamb and hogfish were both wonderful! Great bottle of wine from their limited but well chosen offerings. Great evening -particularly because such a quiet, romantic setting is rare in Key West!

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 9, 2017

It was wonderful as usual. The food is always delicious and the people who work there are the best!!!

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Happy Hour, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 9, 2017

I went there for a specific dish(mangrove snapper) that I found on the menu on line & when I got there the waiter said that dish hasn't been on the menu for two years. I thought he might ask the chef if he could make it but he did not offer to do that. The waiter had no personality & my portabella mushroom soup was cold & small portion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 9, 2017

The food was really creative and delicious. The pistachio-crusted tuna was cooked perfectly. Loved the interesting selection of sides. Our server was knowledgeable and friendly. Would definitely go back if we have the good fortune to visit Key West again.

Tags: Casual, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Fun, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on March 8, 2017

As always this is one of the best in Key West. Unfortunately, this night server was trying to get tables cleared fast and fish came out perfect but vegetables were cold. Likely chief Correa was it in town.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 6, 2017

Great restaurant. Some of the best food we had in Key West. Highly recommend. Get the hog fish snapper, house specialty. Best Keylime pie ever!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 6, 2017

We eat here every time we are in Key West. The food is exceptionaland they truly have the best key lime pie in key West. Go here and you will be very happy with your meal. If we lived in the keys this would be our favorite place to eat.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Cozy, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on March 5, 2017

The Hog fish snapper exceeded our expectations. It is the chefs favorite on the menu and it was absolutely delicious. We had a lovely evening and the ambience was very romantic. I would highly recommend this to others

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 4, 2017

This is the second time I have dined at Cafe Sole , outstanding meal both times, very friendly and attentive staff, good wine list, very fresh and carefully prepared seafood, plus the steaks and rack of lamb at the next table looked great as well. The conch carpaccio was outstanding , and the wine list is better than most in Key West. It is now on my must-do list for Key West

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Our server Brian was attentive and efficient. The seafood options are always varied and delicious. We always enjoy a meal here during our annual visit to Key West

Tags: Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 3, 2017

As expected, ambience, food, service all outstanding. I can always count on having an excellent dining experience here.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Food is always great I just wish the sides came a little hotter temperature.

Tags: Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Fabulous food! Lovely environment.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Key West)·Dined on March 2, 2017

Perfect whe loved Jason and the food I will recommend all myn vriend in the Netherlands.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 2, 2017

Cafe Sole is the real thing. Great fish, terrific ambiance and great service.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Key West)·Dined on March 2, 2017

Very nice restaurant for special occasions with excellent menu and great food

Tags: Worth the Drive, Healthy, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 1, 2017

We had a wonderful experience at Cafe Sole. My partner and I were on our first vacation to Key West, and several people recommended Cafe Sole and specifically the hog snapper. I had the hog snapper entree and it was delicious - I don't think I've ever had such a tender fish that just melted in my mouth. My partner had the snapper with tropical mango salsa, which was also very good. And chocolate pecan pie for dessert was tasty. Our server was Nate, who took great care of us and was very nice and fun to talk with. We live in Minnesota and he is from Wisconsin, so we chatted about that a bit. We look forward to returning to Cafe Sole on future Key West visits.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Paleo Friendly, Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on February 28, 2017

repeat performance - this is a mandatory stop whenever I am in Key West - had four business with me this time and everyone enjoyed it very much

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Casual, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 28, 2017

We get to Key West at least once a year - Cafe Sole' is a must - always elegant, friendly service and outstanding food! A treasure in paradise!!!

Tags: Modern Decor, Scenic View, Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food, Fun, People Watching, Gluten Free Options, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Key West)·Dined on February 27, 2017

Very disappointing after the reviews I read. Felt the food was pretty bland and tasteless. Could feel the lobster meat in the bisque - but not taste it. Trio pasta was listed as a specialty and again quite bland.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 27, 2017

Great pet-friendly restaurant, very accommodating and friendly staff.

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Business Meals, Authentic, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Omaha)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Wine list very nice
Quiet and away from the Duval crowd
Local fresh fish
Waiter (Brian) very good and pleasant

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Best cream of mushroom soup I've ever tasted! Perfect neighborhood gen.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Key West)·Dined on February 26, 2017

As always we had a great meal and great service. One of our favorites.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fun, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 25, 2017

The food and service was excellent. I would certainly recommend this restaurant to anyone traveling to Key West.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Outstanding authentic French food in Key West. Laid back vibe fits the rest of the island but the quality of food is far above most other restaurants in the Keys. A few blocks away from the busy Mallory Square area and it shows in this smaller more intimate venue. A delightful place to spend an evening!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.