About Cafe Sole - Key West

1029 Southard St.
Key West, FL 33040
View Larger Map

Café Solé has captured the hearts and palates of locals and visitors lucky enough to discover this culinary gem off the beaten path. By combining his French mastery of sauces with fresh locally caught seafood, John has created a menu unlike any on the island, where every dish is bursting with indescribable flavors. Mutton snapper in pesto and champagne, yellowtail in a beurre blanc of lobster or a rare hog snapper with red pepper zabaglione top a list of nightly specials. As for the classics, the Duck a L'Orange, Rack of Lamb with herb de Province and Lobster Bouillaise are as authentic as you will find this side of Paris. Chef Correa combines the best of both of his worlds, European and Caribbean to win the People's Choice and Best Entree awards at a recent Master Chefs Classic

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
French, Fish, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner Nightly: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Frances St.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(305) 294-0230

Website:
http://www.cafesole.com/

Executive Chef:
John Correa

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Gluten-free Menu, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Chocolate Pecan Pie - Cafe Sole - Key West, Key West, FL
Palmito (Heart of Palm) Salad - Cafe Sole - Key West, Key West, FL
Thanksgiving Dinner - Cafe Sole - Key West, Key West, FL
Lobster Bisque - Cafe Sole - Key West, Key West, FL
Angels on Horseback - Cafe Sole - Key West, Key West, FL
Shrimp And Scallops Over Angel Hair Pasta - Cafe Sole - Key West, Key West, FL
Stone Crab Claws - Cafe Sole - Key West, Key West, FL
Hog Snapper - Cafe Sole - Key West, Key West, FL
Crab Claws - Cafe Sole - Key West, Key West, FL
Key Lime Pie - Cafe Sole - Key West, Key West, FL
Ostrich Medallions - Cafe Sole - Key West, Key West, FL

Cafe Sole - Key West Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Service
Key West / Florida Keys
Best Value
Key West / Florida Keys
Most Booked
Key West / Florida Keys
3 More
Best Service
Florida Keys - Monroe County
Best Value
Florida Keys - Monroe County
Most Booked
Florida Keys - Monroe County
Best Restaurants in Key West ›

Neighborhood Gem (45)
Romantic (38)
Good for a Date (38)
See All
Fit for Foodies (37)
Creative Cuisine (36)
Special Occasion (33)
Cozy (31)
Good for Anniversaries (30)
Local Ingredients (29)
Quiet Conversation (29)
Authentic (23)
Notable Wine List (21)
Great for Outdoor Dining (21)
Worth the Drive (20)
Good for Birthdays (17)
Casual (17)
Outstanding Value (13)
Healthy (11)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Good for Groups (8)
Tasting Menu (6)
Hot Spot (6)
Fun (6)
Comfort Food (5)
People Watching (5)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Historic (4)
Family Style (4)
Private Room (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Business Meals (3)
Late-night Find (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Vegan (2)
Seasonal (2)
Open Kitchen (1)
Tapas (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Scenic View (1)
Great Beer (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Organic (1)
Live Music (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Sort By:
S
1200 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The best place I have ever been for hog ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 3 days ago

The best place I have ever been for hog fish. Every visit to Key West takes me here for dinner. No exceptions.

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Hogfish excellent as usual, great servic ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 4 days ago

Hogfish excellent as usual, great service friendly staff

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Poor service and overdone food.

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 7 days ago

Poor service and overdone food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1

As always we enjoy the dining and friend ...

 
 (Key West)·Dined on November 27, 2016

As always we enjoy the dining and friendly service. The hog fish is outstanding

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Outstanding Value, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was lucky enough 20 years ago to happe ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 27, 2016

I was lucky enough 20 years ago to happen upon Cafe Sole. Each time in Key West, I make it a point to come for dinner at least once or twice during my visit. We had a marvelous dinner the other night and once again, Chef Correa did not disappoint. Thank you!

Tags: Romantic, Historic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Hog Snapper is delicious!!! Service was ...

 
 (Key West)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Hog Snapper is delicious!!! Service was great, menu is fantastic

Tags: Outstanding Value, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We were hoping for a terrific meal. It w ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined on November 25, 2016

We were hoping for a terrific meal. It was fine but just not great. We felt the food did not warrant the expensive price.

The onion soup was good. The hog fish was good. The beet salad was very nice. There again $15.00 for beets?!!

It's just that neither one was memorable.

We had so much better at othe restaurants in Key West.

Service was adequate. We had no complaints with that.

We probably will not go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

We went there on Thanksgiving day. Ther ...

 
 (Key West)·Dined on November 25, 2016

We went there on Thanksgiving day. There was a mix up with our reservation. It seems that we really didn't have one!! The hostess was wonderful. Even tho they were booked solid for the entire evening, she offered us seating at the bar. We gladly accepted. The staff went out of their way to make us comfortable. All were extremely friendly and the meal was delicious!

Tags: Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Good food served well. Menu is interesti ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Good food served well.

Menu is interesting and creative without being pretentious.

Fusion of contenental style and local flavor.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

wonderful experience and foof particular ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on November 24, 2016

wonderful experience and foof particularly since we are from New Orleans. liquor licence would have made it 100% perfect.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Outstanding Value, Good for a Date, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

excellent celebratory venue. Did Thank ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on November 24, 2016

excellent celebratory venue.

Did Thanksgiving in highest Key West fashion, excellent foods, service and atmosphere.

Tags: Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This is great neighbor gem. We were on ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 24, 2016

This is great neighbor gem. We were on vacation and we went there blindly because they were serving Thanksgiving dinner. The food was great and the staff and owner were welcoming. Highly recommend!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We did have an enjoyable meal at Cafe So ...

 
 (London)·Dined on November 23, 2016

We did have an enjoyable meal at Cafe Sole, but I'm not sure it matches some of the other restaurants in Key West (had an outstanding meal at Flaming Buoy and always enjoy Blue Heaven). However, the Hog snapper was tasty and I think the Key Lime pie was some of the best I have had.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great little spot for intimate dining. ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 22, 2016

Great little spot for intimate dining. Started with beet salad and hubby had French onion soup. Both very good. Wine list is limited, but has a good selection. For dinner, I had the house specialty, hogfish, and hubby got the shrimp & scallops over pasta in a cream sauce. Our server, Dan, was pleasant, helpful and not overbearing as some wait staff can be. We had a quiet couple to our left and a noisy family of six on the other side of us. Wish I could have moved them as the space is close; people, if you want to laugh and talk loud, go to one of the Duval Street places. Otherwise, great dining experience. With tip, it was a $250 dinner ( wine was $90).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Our second visit was spoilt by slow serv ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on November 22, 2016

Our second visit was spoilt by slow service finally capped by an inordinate wait for the check because their aged computer system went down. As a consequence they have a lot more credit card information on paper than we're comfortable with. In total dinner took around 2.75 hours; plus we never got our port!

The food was as previously well done.

Wine prices followed other restaurants in Key West; expensive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Cafe Sole was an excellent choice for di ...

 
 (Key West)·Dined on November 21, 2016

Cafe Sole was an excellent choice for dinner. Even though we were early for our reservation, we were seated immediately. The atmosphere was very relaxing and quiet, yet inviting and dignified. Families as well as adult groups were enjoying their experience. Our appetizer was tuna tar tare, which was fresh and served with a spicy garnish - delicious! For the entree, we chose the signature meals - Hogfish and a pasta/seafood dish. Both were prepared to perfection. The environment is so beautiful, clean, inviting and relaxing. We are definitely returning, and would recommend it highly.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A very nice meal. Tight seating. Amazing ...

 
 (Key West)·Dined on November 20, 2016

A very nice meal. Tight seating. Amazing how the modern table conversation is the cell phone. I must be getting old. Current 2 for 1 entre special was a hit. Great staff. Chef visited table to inquire about the meal. A very nice spot for a K.W. evening

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

We have lived in Key West for 20 years a ...

 
 (Key West)·Dined on November 20, 2016

We have lived in Key West for 20 years and Cafe Sole' remains our favorite restaurant for any occasion. Chef Corea is the best chef on the island and the food is always above expectation.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Gluten Free Options, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Disabled Access, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a joy to dine at Cafe Sole. Ser ...

 
 (Key West)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Always a joy to dine at Cafe Sole. Service is always amazing and the food is excellent everytime. A must visit whenever we are in Key West.

Tags: Healthy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My favorite place in Key West! I recomme ...

 
 (Key West)·Dined on November 19, 2016

My favorite place in Key West! I recommend this place to everyone for delicious fish and pasta. The portabello soup is delicious and creamy. But my go to is always the escargot, cooked to perfection!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our must stop each year when we visit Ke ...

 
 (Key West)·Dined on November 17, 2016

Our must stop each year when we visit Key West. We are never disappointed. The staff is attentive and friendly, the food amazing, and the selection of wines excellent. Our favorite, the hog snapper is a delicious fish in an amazing sauce accompanied by mashed potatoes, lima beans, rice and carrots. An unusual but very tasty combination. We also had the french onion soup and shared the hearts of palm/shrimp salad. Excellent!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We can always count on a wonderful dinne ...

 
 (Key West)·Dined on November 17, 2016

We can always count on a wonderful dinner there. The hog fish is specially wonderful.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The hog fish dish was outstanding and th ...

 
 (Key West)·Dined on November 10, 2016

The hog fish dish was outstanding and the presentation was very nice. Others in my party were very satisfied with their meals as well. All and all it was a great night. I would recommend it to anyone looking for a really good dining experience.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Cozy, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a very nice dinner here a few nig ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 8, 2016

We had a very nice dinner here a few nights ago. The restaurant is in a pleasant, quiet part of the old town,maybe a 10 or so minutes walk from our B&B near Duval. We had a table on the partly-enclosed patio, so us northerners could still enjoy the warm evening. The food was very good; my wife really enjoyed her onion soup while I was pleased with my lobster bisque (a small personal quibble, I like a few chunks of lobster in a bisque, here it was more like a mince). My hog snapper was as tasty and well-prepared a piece of fish as I've had in a long time, I can really believe that it's an award-winning dish.My wife is a big duck fan and enjoyed the two legs of her duck a l'orange. The accompanying sides were good and each surprised me a bit with an unexpected flavour or texture. The wine pairings were fine, the desserts good, the wait staff friendly and knowledgable. Another very good dinner in the Florida Keys made even better by their current program of buy one entree get the second one free. Why such a fine restaurant needs such a promotion is beyond me, unless it is a very kind way of thanking it's patrons. We would be very happy to go back.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

The Hog fish dinner is our favorite. We ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 6, 2016

The Hog fish dinner is our favorite. We only order this dish. The service and staff are wonderful . We eat here everytime we are in Key West.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delightful restaurant! Great ambience, ...

 
 (Key West)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Delightful restaurant! Great ambience, delicious food, extensive wine list, attentive service. So many wonderful menu choices -- from the appetizers, soups, and salads...to the pastas and entrees -- but be sure to save room, because the desserts are amazing, too. As a "local", Café Sole has become a new favorite for dining with our out-of-town visitors and Keys friends alike. Highly recommend the French Onion Soup, Artichoke stuffed with Crab, Angels on Horseback Appetizer (delicious Dates with bacon and demi -glaze), Hog Sole Fish, the Filet of Beef, Crème Brule, and the Chocolate Pecan Pie.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very good food and wine and excellent se ...

vip
 (London)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Very good food and wine and excellent service. Recommended.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Still best hog snapper on the island! We ...

 
 (Key West)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Still best hog snapper on the island! We have been there many times.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My friends and I were in Key West for a ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 5, 2016

My friends and I were in Key West for a vacation. Cafe Sole was a nice restaurant for wonderful food, good service, and a nice place to enjoy friends. We had a bottle of French white wine, hog fish snapper and desert. Everything was fantastic. The bread was not worth the space in your tummy. Save room for the fantastic food.

I think Daniel was the waiter, he was really efficient and fun.

Tags: Quick Bite, Casual, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This is my favorite place in Key West bu ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on November 5, 2016

This is my favorite place in Key West but it was a bit off this time. The food was served at a tepid temperature. We were squeezed into a tiny table at the back of the patio despite that we had a reservation and there were other tables open. I will return as I hope this was just an off night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

Our party of 4 enjoyed fresh seafood exp ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Our party of 4 enjoyed fresh seafood expertly prepared by the kitchen staff together with delicious vegetable accompaniments. The wine selection was excellent as was the desert and first course salads and appetizers.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food. Great service. Very quiet an ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Great food. Great service. Very quiet and romantic.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Cozy, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been going to Café Sole for the ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 2, 2016

We have been going to Café Sole for the last 13 years to celebrate our anniversary and we always order the escargot, angels on horsebacks and hogfish snapper. This year my husband ordered shrimp sole. The escargots were delicious and well presented, but my angels on horseback were much to peppery and very overdone, hot in the middle and cool on the outside which suggests microwave. My husband's shrimp sole was outstanding as was my hogfish snapper, but the sides ranged from lukewarm to cool. Not too good for rice or mashed potatoes. Dishes were well presented and looked beautiful. We ordered coffee and espresso and dessert. We ordered the Quattro which satisfied my husband's need for Key Lime Pie and mine for crème brulee. There were also two sabayon with fruit and they were just the right sizes for dessert. Serving sizes are normal and our waiter Daniel was outstanding. Prices are a little high but seem to be comparable with most of the upscale restaurants in the area. Of course, we will return next year.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

Excellent food and excellent service. We ...

 
 (Key West)·Dined on November 1, 2016

Excellent food and excellent service. We thoroughly enjoyed the buy one get one entrée s

Tags: Seasonal, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

we had the lambchops, the tuna tartar,th ...

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on October 31, 2016

we had the lambchops, the tuna tartar,the banana foster.. everything was so tasting.. i just wanna fly back to key west and eat at this french place again.. thats how good their food is.. been to really good french places but this small gem was great choice. for dining that night with my hubby ...

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Family Style, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

A Key West favorite for us. Both food & ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on October 31, 2016

A Key West favorite for us. Both food & service always excellent. Great wine selection.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

When we visit Key West, we always eat at ...

 
 (Key West)·Dined on October 30, 2016

When we visit Key West, we always eat at Café Sole. I always order the hogfish filet entrée. We can't get hogfish at home and this preparation is simply the best I've ever had. A special treat was the stone crab claw appetizer. Service was excellent and we have a second reservation for our last night of this trip.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Outstanding Value, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Casual, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have been going to cafe sole for 7-8 y ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on October 30, 2016

I have been going to cafe sole for 7-8 years. I have always had a wonderful meal. Last Sunday was the exception to the rule. The skirt steak was terrible...impossible to chew and thus left untouched. The accompanying veggies and potatoe were lukewarm. We ordered and shared an appetizer. When we were done we ordered out entrees...hogfish and skirt steak. Less than 4 minutes later they appeared. That should have let me know there would be a problem. The hogfish was crisp on the outside like it had sat under a warming light ...but it was edible. The steak not so much. We are down here about 6 months a year and eat here at least 2 times a month. Hope this isn't a sign of things to come for Cafe Sole.

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value3

Our recent dining experience at Café Sol ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 26, 2016

Our recent dining experience at Café Sole was exceptional. We were delightfully pleased with the food, service and atmosphere. My husband and I almost never order the same entrée, however this is one time we were surely pleased with our selection as we both enjoyed the Hog Snapper. A must try when visiting this restaurant. The Key Lime Pie was to die for. 5 stars, definitely.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best restaurant in Key West! Great food, ...

vip
 (Key West)·Dined on October 26, 2016

Best restaurant in Key West! Great food, service and atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.