Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.26mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.26mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.26mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.26mi

About Cafe Sole - Key West

Café Solé has captured the hearts and palates of locals and visitors lucky enough to discover this culinary gem off the beaten path. By combining his French mastery of sauces with fresh locally caught seafood, John has created a menu unlike any on the island, where every dish is bursting with indescribable flavors. Mutton snapper in pesto and champagne, yellowtail in a beurre blanc of lobster or a rare hog snapper with red pepper zabaglione top a list of nightly specials. As for the classics, the Duck a L'Orange, Rack of Lamb with herb de Province and Lobster Bouillaise are as authentic as you will find this side of Paris. Chef Correa combines the best of both of his worlds, European and Caribbean to win the People's Choice and Best Entree awards at a recent Master Chefs Classic

1029 Southard St.
Key West, FL 33040
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
French, Fish, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner Nightly: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Frances St.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(305) 294-0230

Website:
http://www.cafesole.com/

Executive Chef:
John Correa

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Gluten-free Menu, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

Cafe Sole - Key West Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (78)
Special Occasion (77)
Good for a Date (75)
See All
Romantic (71)
Cozy (64)
Fit for Foodies (62)
Quiet Conversation (57)
Creative Cuisine (49)
Good for Anniversaries (46)
Local Ingredients (46)
Notable Wine List (41)
Great for Outdoor Dining (40)
Authentic (38)
Worth the Drive (30)
Good for Birthdays (30)
Casual (29)
Healthy (17)
Fun (15)
Business Meals (13)
Historic (13)
Good for Groups (10)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Good Vegetarian Options (7)
Happy Hour (7)
Seasonal (6)
Comfort Food (6)
Paleo Friendly (5)
Outstanding Value (5)
Molecular Gastronomy (4)
People Watching (4)
Hot Spot (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Family Style (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Scenic View (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Tapas (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Vegan (1)
Organic (1)
Sort By:
S
1457 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined a day ago

First of all the prices on open table aren't accurate..
The restaurant has a nice atmosphere.
The waiter was fine, not very talkative
but he was friendly.
I am from Maryland and, against my better judgement I got the Maryland crab cake...I figured that even if it wasn't a true"Maryland style" that the crab would be fresh..not so much..actually there was hardly any in it..it was all filler. And for one small crab cake that cost $14 that wasn't going to fly.
I did send that back.
My wife got the hogfish and it was pretty good.
A very light breading but lacking in seasoning.
We got the Quattro for dessert..which was good , the key lime is outstanding..
Honestly I would skip the meal there and just go for the key lime..it is the best I've ever had.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3

 
 (Indiana)·Dined 3 days ago

Excellence all around!!! Great ambiance, wonderful waiter(Dan) and the food is out of this world!!!!!

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Key West)·Dined 3 days ago

We had a wonderful birthday evening for my husband with friends. Food was delicious, beautiful presentation and great service. We really enjoy this restaurant!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined 4 days ago

Having eaten a various places throughout Key West over the years. First time for our group in this dinning establishment.
We were immediately seated upon arrival. Our waiter appeared and drink orders were taken and fresh bread arrived.
Starters included the mushroom soup, seafood risotto, and gazpacho. All wonderful.
Our meals included seafood pasta dish, yellowtail, grouper, and hog fish plates. Once again. Very fresh and tasty.
Ambience was very nice. Good place to bring that special someone.
The wait staff were very attentive, but not intrusive.
Pricing was not cheap, but not too expensive. We spent $90 per person, including tip and two bottles of wine.
I will definitely place this on my new list of places to eat when visiting Key West. Give it a try.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 5 days ago

By far one of the best gems of Key West. Know for their Hogfish which melts in your mouth but everything the chef does is fabulous. Servers have wonder personalites and know their food and wine. We always will go there when we are in Key West every year. It's over 5 stars :)

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 5 days ago

We were a group of 6 friends visiting Key West. We had friends tell us to try Cafe Sole. We were happy we did. Food was great, well made drinks and an appropriate wine list. Our server(Nate)? Was helpful and attentive. We will definetly return in the future.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined 5 days ago

We love this restaurant and we love the food. The hogfish is delicious and I would highly recommend this place

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Had a wonderful evening! Food was excellent, service was great and the ambiance perfect.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Key West)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Our anniversary was made even more special with our dinner at Café Sole and Jason as our server. The hogfish was so delicious, the service was excellent. I would highly recommend this restaurant to anyone who wants a delicious meal, good wine, and a relaxing evening with wonderful staff to serve you. Ask for Jason!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Great personable service lovely atmosphere

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Key West)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Jason our waiter was very helpful in advising what I should have with the selection on the menu,the food was excellent as usual (it's wasn't our first time there so I knew we would be happy) and it never disappoints.
It's a must for me on every trip to Key West

Tags: Notable Wine List, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on April 21, 2017

A truly GREAT restaurant. If you like Hog Fish and even if you don't know what it is, just order it. The preparation is the best ever and you will not be disappointed.

We have ordered it every time we get to Key West and Cafe Sole and it is always perfect.

Everything they do is just great!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Off the beaten path but so worth finding! A must if you love fresh, super creative and tasty food with quaint ambiance.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Historic, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 18, 2017

One of my favorite restaurants in Key West or anywhere. Always visit when I'm in town and recommend it to others.

Tags: Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Healthy, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Omaha)·Dined on April 18, 2017

We were very happy we found Cafe Sole in Key West. The local hogfish is their specialty, and it did not disappoint. Our waiter was very attentive. Also, try the conch ceviche!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Key West)·Dined on April 17, 2017

We ordered a fillet. The meat that arrived at our table was not fillet quality. It was tough and chewy. We probably should have ordered fish.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (Miami)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Food was not very good at all and was very expensive. Definitely would not recommend at all!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 15, 2017

I had an excellent meal at Cafe Sole. Our waiter was accomplished and prompt. We had the HogaFish which was outstanding. Best meal during my five day vacation in Key West. Great Early Bird special as well so quite a bargain.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Gracious Staff and accommodating - loved the off-the-menu foie gras!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on April 12, 2017

Consistingly good but they never give am offer for a special occasion celebration.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Fargo)·Dined on April 12, 2017

What a great evening! Our waiter was awesome. His recommendations were excellent! The Hog Snapper was the best!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on April 6, 2017

This was our first visit as new KW residences..It will be one of our favorites!

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 5, 2017

Vacation treat lived u to and exceeded expectations - great from start to finish!

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 4, 2017

Anniversary!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Hogfish beet salad key lime pie
Time after time
Best in Key West

Tags: Casual, Authentic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 30, 2017

Cafe Sole is one of our favorite restaurants in Key West. The food and the service are both wonderful (Ask for Jason. ). We just wish there was a tad more light by which to dine.

Tags: Romantic, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 30, 2017

Started with the Gazpacho and then the Hog Snapper and special Chilean Sea Bass. Ended with the Zabaglione. Washed it all gone with a Mersault.

Total Heaven. Great food, well prepared. Nice professional service. Kind of place I wish there were more of.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Key West)·Dined on March 30, 2017

Once again Café Sole provided an absolutely top of the line meal and atmospheric experience. They always seem to hit it perfectly. We were there during the two for one wine happy hour, but to be honest we often go with or without it. Baked saganaki Greek cheese starter is so fantastic. Their most popular dish, the hogfish, is amazing. Actually just about everything on the menu is great.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Cozy, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Key West)·Dined on March 29, 2017

The signature dish, Hogfish was fantastic! Appetizer of garlic stuffed figs wrapped in smoked bacon surprisingly awesome. Definitely one of best restaurants in Key West.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on March 28, 2017

The good: lovely ambience, extensive wine list, and attentive and friendly service. The food was a disappointment. I would go back to enjoy the atmosphere but I would chose the food carefully. The chef paired many foods and flavors that seemed at odds with one another. An example--every meal we saw came with the same group of 5 small side dishes. The spot is very romantic and I would order simpler options from the menu.

Tags: Historic, Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 27, 2017

Great food. Don't pass up the hogfish. Quaint Key West cottage location, worth getting away from Duval.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Casual, Healthy, Romantic, Fun, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 27, 2017

We arrived early and were able to take advantage of their 2 for 1 wine BTG and 2 for 1 dinners. Enjoyed their Beef Carpaccio, Lamb Chops, and Hog Snapper followed by a cheese tray. The wait staff was very conscientious without hovering. We will definitely go back.

Tags: Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Key West)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Poor service. Food took over and hour to arrive

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 23, 2017

Vacation special night out

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 23, 2017

An excellent meal, as usual. The staff was very attentive, recognized us from previous visits and treated us like old friends. This is a perennial favorite.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 23, 2017

We booked this place randomly through Open Table but it turned out to be one of the best meals of our trip. The fish (Red Snapper) was just fantastic. I would definitely return there just for this dish.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Key West)·Dined on March 22, 2017

Awesome every time we bring family and friends to eat here. This was no different. Jason was our server and was very accommodating. Can not wait to eat there again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 22, 2017

We looked forward to this dinner. We had gone last year on our visit to Key West. We loved it last year. This year,our Hog Snapper was not not only cold when brought to the table but it had no crust or seasoning at all. It seemed as thought it had all come off in the pan. Even when it was swarmed up, my gray and not golden hog snapper was still cool.

So, very disappointed this year.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 21, 2017

Going to key West for 20 years. Best overall food quality and consistency on the island. Never miss a visit when in town.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 20, 2017

Excellent Hog Fish prepared gormet style. Delishes sides. Excellent presentation!

Tags: Special Occasion, Historic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.