About Cafe Sole - Key West

Café Solé has captured the hearts and palates of locals and visitors lucky enough to discover this culinary gem off the beaten path. By combining his French mastery of sauces with fresh locally caught seafood, John has created a menu unlike any on the island, where every dish is bursting with indescribable flavors. Mutton snapper in pesto and champagne, yellowtail in a beurre blanc of lobster or a rare hog snapper with red pepper zabaglione top a list of nightly specials. As for the classics, the Duck a L'Orange, Rack of Lamb with herb de Province and Lobster Bouillaise are as authentic as you will find this side of Paris. Chef Correa combines the best of both of his worlds, European and Caribbean to win the People's Choice and Best Entree awards at a recent Master Chefs Classic

1029 Southard St.
Key West, FL 33040
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
French, Fish, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner Nightly: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Frances St.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(305) 294-0230

Website:
http://www.cafesole.com/

Executive Chef:
John Correa

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Gluten-free Menu, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Chocolate Pecan Pie - Cafe Sole - Key West, Key West, FL
Palmito (Heart of Palm) Salad - Cafe Sole - Key West, Key West, FL
Thanksgiving Dinner - Cafe Sole - Key West, Key West, FL
Lobster Bisque - Cafe Sole - Key West, Key West, FL
Angels on Horseback - Cafe Sole - Key West, Key West, FL
Shrimp And Scallops Over Angel Hair Pasta - Cafe Sole - Key West, Key West, FL
Stone Crab Claws - Cafe Sole - Key West, Key West, FL
Hog Snapper - Cafe Sole - Key West, Key West, FL
Crab Claws - Cafe Sole - Key West, Key West, FL
Key Lime Pie - Cafe Sole - Key West, Key West, FL
Ostrich Medallions - Cafe Sole - Key West, Key West, FL

Cafe Sole - Key West Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Romantic (48)
Good for a Date (46)
Special Occasion (46)
See All
Fit for Foodies (43)
Neighborhood Gem (42)
Creative Cuisine (38)
Local Ingredients (36)
Good for Anniversaries (36)
Quiet Conversation (36)
Cozy (35)
Notable Wine List (29)
Authentic (29)
Great for Outdoor Dining (24)
Good for Birthdays (23)
Worth the Drive (22)
Casual (17)
Healthy (14)
Outstanding Value (12)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Historic (7)
Fun (7)
Tasting Menu (7)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Good for Groups (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Business Meals (5)
People Watching (5)
Family Style (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Disabled Access (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Seasonal (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Great for Brunch (2)
Tapas (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Scenic View (2)
Vegan (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Private Room (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Great Beer (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Organic (1)
Live Music (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
1321 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The hogfish snapper is the best on the i ...

 
 (Key West)·Dined 2 days ago

The hogfish snapper is the best on the island. Service is friendly and professional. Ambience is island tropical. I would highly recommend this restaurant to family, friends, or business associates.

Tags: Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour, Romantic, Casual, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We arrived 20 minutes before our schedul ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

We arrived 20 minutes before our scheduled reservation and were promptly seated by a very friendly server. The ambience of the garden room was the perfect setting for a quiet dinner after a day of travel. Our server was attentive (save for the one time I had to refill our wine glasses because I he was chatting with some regulars who had just arrived). He knew the menu well, answered our questions, and was generally affable. The food was spectacular. The conch carpaccio was exotically flavorful and perfectly prepared. The hogfish was honestly the best tasting fish I've had. The four sides were a perfect accompaniment to each dish. My fiancé had the vanilla scented pink shrimp. The were grilled and placed in a shallow pool of a vanilla scented sauce and were quite good. The key lime pie we shared for dessert was one of the best I have ever eaten. This restaurant is well worth stepping off the beaten path to visit. My only criticism is that each course came out too soon. We were hardly able to enjoy our first glass of wine before the appetizers arrived. The main courses came out three minutes after the first course was cleared, and the dessert was in the table within minutes of our placing the order. Despite this, our server never made ups feel rushed, and we had a throughly delightful dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Booked this place while on our way to Ke ...

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined 4 days ago

Booked this place while on our way to Key West. Great food and wine. Will go back.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I found this place here on Open Table wh ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 5 days ago

I found this place here on Open Table when planning a trip to Key West for my birthday. And I was glad I did. The wait staff knew what wine to pair with what dish, made special efforts to find out about allergies/aversions of the patrons, made those patrons feel welcome, and especially encouraged reservations.

The Snapper Sole, the signature dish, is so good, you may forget your manners! Good luck not eating it in one swallow. My family ate incredibly well and, the next time I am in Key West, we are definitely returning.

And definitely try the key lime pie.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Outstanding! Can't wait to go back.

 
 (Key West)·Dined 6 days ago

Outstanding! Can't wait to go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We went to Cafe Sole for my husband's bi ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 13, 2017

We went to Cafe Sole for my husband's birthday on a recommendation of an aquaitance from our hotel. The lobster bisque was the best my husband every tasted. The signature hogfish dish was beyond our expectations. Our server Brian was a consumate professional. He was attentive at just the right level and gave us thoughtful answers to our questions.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Service and value excellent! Will be bac ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Service and value excellent! Will be back!!!such a special place! A real gem!

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

For 20 a gem in key West, an also conver ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 13, 2017

For 20 a gem in key West, an also converted house lived by locals and visitors alike.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Tapas, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Historic, Cozy, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great happy hour, impeccable service, in ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Great happy hour, impeccable service, incredible fine dining. Worth the price

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our best meal in Key West! (We ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on January 11, 2017

This was our best meal in Key West! (We had Hogfish and Scallops). We happened to be eating at 5:15 so we could get a reservation and when the bill came we learned that we were given "buy one entree, get one free"! WOW! Best meal and a bargain all rolled into one.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fine dining in a relaxed atmosphere- goo ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 10, 2017

Fine dining in a relaxed atmosphere- good service. A reliable destination for a great meal- as it has been for decades.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I would stack Cafe Sole up against the b ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 8, 2017

I would stack Cafe Sole up against the best big city restaurants. My salmon tartare was delicious, inventively seasoned and beautifully presented. The hog fish was oustanding and my wife loved her escargot followed by bouillibase which had an authentic broth that had an aroma that said fresh seafood all the way .

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I had the Hogfish & my husband had the T ...

 
 (Key West)·Dined on January 8, 2017

I had the Hogfish & my husband had the Tuna. Both were excellent!! Never had a bad experience at Cafe Sole.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We are long time customers of Cafe Sole. ...

 
 (Key West)·Dined on January 6, 2017

We are long time customers of Cafe Sole. It is always delicious. Good for a gathering of friends or family. My husband loves the conch carpaccio. The seafood risotto is a good small plate. I had Steak Diane this time. The steak was tender and the sauce excellent. ( I would have liked a few more asparagus spears on the side. Three spears seemed a bit skimpy.)

Highly recommend.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Café Sole never disappoints! Known local ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Café Sole never disappoints! Known locally the best hog fish anywhere(which is true) the entire menu is awesome. I have dinned there many times with out of town guests and they are always blown away. One of the best dinning experiences anywhere in the world.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Historic, Sunday Lunch, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Enjoyed a nice dinner at Café Sole. Goo ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Enjoyed a nice dinner at Café Sole. Good knowledgeable waiter and great food.

Tags: Authentic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

One of my favorite places to eat in Key ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 4, 2017

One of my favorite places to eat in Key West! I love thy it is hidden away and off of Duval Street!

Tags: Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful little cafe with the tropical ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 4, 2017

Beautiful little cafe with the tropical feel of Key West. The pasta lacked flavor and the risotto was dry, the dessert is excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4

Fabulous as always! We eat here every ti ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on January 4, 2017

Fabulous as always! We eat here every time we visit Key West. The Hog Fish is the best!!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wir mussten trotz einer Reservierung ers ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Wir mussten trotz einer Reservierung erst einmal 40 Minuten warten!! Wir hatten uns alle nach Empfehlung des Kellners für den Hog Snapper entschieden - hätten wir nicht zuvor eine Suppe gegessen, wären wir hungrig aus dem Restaurant - die Portionen sind klein, der Fisch war zerkocht, kaltund das Preisleistungsverhältnis stimmt absolut nicht! Der Chocolate Pecan Pie ist katastrophal - eine Mischung aus Pecans und purem Zucker. Wir waren massloss enttäuscht. Wir geben gerne sehr oft viel Geld für gutes Essen aus, aber das war die reinste Katastrophe!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

Go! The hogfish chefs specialty is amazi ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Go! The hogfish chefs specialty is amazing , the desserts were incredible, especially the key lime pie. Our server was lovely. Its definitely a "go to" while in key west.

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Outdoor dining. Unique menu. Fabulous fo ...

vip
 (Key West)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Outdoor dining. Unique menu. Fabulous food. Quiet, romantic atmosphere. A neighborhood gen!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Authentic, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Definitely one of the hidden gems in Key ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Definitely one of the hidden gems in Key West. Have been going for many years and it is always a consistently great restaurant experience.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent Restaurant. Came highly recomm ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Excellent Restaurant. Came highly recommended and did not disappoint. The Hogfish snapper

was excellent.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Cafe sole is a top restaurant in key wes ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Cafe sole is a top restaurant in key west. We always eat there while on vacation and this year we are there twice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent French food with super fresh f ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Excellent French food with super fresh fish paired with lovely wine

Tags: Romantic, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent food and service. We ate there ...

 
 (Key West)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Excellent food and service. We ate there on New Years Eve and it was our anniversary. Highly recommend.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

One of the best dining experiences ever.

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on December 31, 2016

One of the best dining experiences ever.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The fillet was outstanding as was thee e ...

 
 (Key West)·Dined on December 31, 2016

The fillet was outstanding as was thee escargot. Generally food was fairly good. Served tasteless hummus with very nice bread. Service was attentive but not overbearing. A little pricey

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value2

Soup to Nuts a Great Experience! The se ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Soup to Nuts a Great Experience! The service was outstanding as well. Beer and Wine only.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Quaint. The food quality did not match t ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Quaint. The food quality did not match the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

We had a seafood entrée and a beef entré ...

 
 (Key West)·Dined on December 30, 2016

We had a seafood entrée and a beef entrée and they were both phenomenal! I would highly recommend Café Sole to anyone.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Molecular Gastronomy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our reservation was accomodated. It was ...

 
 (Key West)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Our reservation was accomodated. It was early and and not busy and still the waiter was less than attentive. Food was on par for hat you would expect for 4 stars but not overwhelmingly. Only beer and wine available but a good selection of wines, a little less so with beer. Interesting place.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Molecular Gastronomy, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

The conch ceviche and hog snapper were b ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on December 26, 2016

The conch ceviche and hog snapper were both excellent. The 'sides' were a bit tired. The Grouper although sizable was good not great. Enjoyed the escargot. Some of the best outside of Europe.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

I visited with my husband and children ( ...

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 26, 2016

I visited with my husband and children (12-daughter, 8-son) on Dec 25th, first night and first time in Key West . I've made reservations four days prior.

Our experience was a bit disappointing. The restaurant has a great atmosphere but we didn't experience it. We were seated to the side of the door in front of the kitchen. For a $300+ meal ( three entrees, one child meal, $60 bottle of wine, one appetizer, two salads, two deserts, and one glass of sweet wine), I expected more. (From the night before in Miami, our experience was so excellent in a similar type of restaurant.)

My husband had the salmon Oscar and said it was good. I had their signature dish the Hug snapper. It was good but warm not hot (I didn't complain). My daughter had the shrimp in orchids which was also good. All three had the same accompaniments (however it was a significant amount), which again for a $30+ disk I would have expected each dish to have their own composition. I had the palm salad, which had a "tower" of shaved palm (great) but overall it was quite bland. None of the food we had was amazing.

Overall Cafe Solé is a well appointed restaurant with all the right pieces, just didn't seem to be executed correctly for us. It was extremely busy which shows it's popularity.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

My wife and I went for Christmas dinner. ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 25, 2016

My wife and I went for Christmas dinner. We had the Hogfish dinner. It was fantastic. We also had the conch caparccio, which was special since we had never had such a dish before. We sat in the back room near the wine cellar. It was cozy and quaint. The entire dinner was special.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Cozy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

Very nice meal for four and well proport ...

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Very nice meal for four and well proportioned. Only draw back is that they serve only wine and beer. For those wishing a cocktail with dinner, go elsewhere.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Always excellent. Great food, great serv ...

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Always excellent. Great food, great service. Christmas Eve and Christmas Day meals are wonderful, esp the goose Highest recommendation!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fun, Casual, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic, Healthy,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Cafe Sole is a wonderful Key West restau ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Cafe Sole is a wonderful Key West restaurant. The Hog fish is the signature dish and well worth it. The fish is sweet and the preparation allows the fish to shine. Our only recommendation is to not order until you are ready to be served. The fish is very delicate and quick cooking so our meal was served about 5 minutes after we ordered. The service time may be more with meats and other entrees.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Only serve wine and beer very over price ...

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Only serve wine and beer very over priced for the quality of food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.