About Cafe Sole - Key West

1029 Southard St.
Key West, FL 33040
View Larger Map

Café Solé has captured the hearts and palates of locals and visitors lucky enough to discover this culinary gem off the beaten path. By combining his French mastery of sauces with fresh locally caught seafood, John has created a menu unlike any on the island, where every dish is bursting with indescribable flavors. Mutton snapper in pesto and champagne, yellowtail in a beurre blanc of lobster or a rare hog snapper with red pepper zabaglione top a list of nightly specials. As for the classics, the Duck a L'Orange, Rack of Lamb with herb de Province and Lobster Bouillaise are as authentic as you will find this side of Paris. Chef Correa combines the best of both of his worlds, European and Caribbean to win the People's Choice and Best Entree awards at a recent Master Chefs Classic

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
French, Fish, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner Nightly: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Frances St.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(305) 294-0230

Website:
http://www.cafesole.com/

Executive Chef:
John Correa

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Gluten-free Menu, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

Cafe Sole - Key West Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (62)
Good for a Date (57)
Neighborhood Gem (54)
See All
Fit for Foodies (53)
Romantic (51)
Cozy (46)
Quiet Conversation (43)
Creative Cuisine (42)
Good for Anniversaries (40)
Local Ingredients (40)
Notable Wine List (34)
Authentic (31)
Great for Outdoor Dining (28)
Good for Birthdays (26)
Worth the Drive (21)
Casual (20)
Healthy (13)
Historic (10)
Outstanding Value (9)
Fun (8)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Tasting Menu (5)
Business Meals (5)
Molecular Gastronomy (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Good for Groups (3)
Seasonal (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Family Style (3)
Hot Spot (3)
People Watching (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Scenic View (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Tapas (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Sort By:
S
1373 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 2 days ago

My favorite restaurant in the Keys & most everywhere else. Their service goals are lofty & they exceed them time & again. Jason is an incredible waiter. Their wine recommendations are spot on and if there is better hogfish dish anywhere I'd like to know. Kudos

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined 3 days ago

Their signature dish, hogfish snapper, is to die for. The single best fish dinner I have ever had!

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

Nice quiet cozy dinner...off the main drag. Great early specials we stumbled upon ...recommended.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined 4 days ago

I had the hog fish, which is what they are known for. It was a nice white tender flakey fish. It was lightly coated and pan fried sitting on top of a white cream sauce. My wife had the steak Diane, which was prepared medium rare and had great flavor.

They had a great wine list but no bar for those who do not drink wine (us).

Great atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Key West)·Dined 6 days ago

Great food as always, but to call the decor/structure eclectic is to be forgiving.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value4

 
 (Key West)·Dined 7 days ago

Great dinner as always and the hogfish & mushroom soup the best ever.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 7 days ago

The relative quiet, open air feel, knowledgeable staff and superior seafood put this place in our top three dinner destinations in Key West. Why would a person go near Duval Street?

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Cozy, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 18, 2017

I have been thinking about their delicious food for almost 15 years when I last dined here. We were not disappointed on our recent visit. The food, service and ambiance are incredible. The hogfish entree is their specialty and cannot be missed.

Tags: Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Romantic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Cafe Sole is a must whenever we are in Key West. It's one of our favorites! It's always consistently delicious.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Food was terrific. A bit pricey, would only do for special occasions. We had comparable food for less money in Key West. Mark up on wine very high.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Key West)·Dined on February 17, 2017

My husband & I dine at Cafe Sole often. The food and the service is always excellent. This week I took a friend and she totally agreed. It was again a great dining experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Enjoyable dinner. Service was fine, as was the food (gotta admit, Angels on Horseback was delicious! But the chocolate soufflé cake was a bit disappointing.). The prices were higher than other similar level restaurants, which didn't seem justified, as it was no better or more sophisticated than other restaurants. The dining space, sort-of outdoors but very enclosed, is tight, with tables very close together. They get a gold star for giving each table a white rose for Valentines Day. Overall, recommended for a solid meal and overall experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on February 14, 2017

We've driven past this Southard Street place for years and thought it looked cool, but for some reason never stopped for a meal - what a mistake that was! Cafe Sole is a real Key West gem and we'll be back again. Sue had their signature hogfish dinner and it was excellent. I had the salmon with crab and Key West pinks and it was also very good. We both had a glass of wine from their excellent selection. The ambiance was very pleasant and the wait staff was outstanding. All in all this was a wonderful dining experience. If you haven't been there you should go!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 13, 2017

I have never been disappointed at the Cafe Sole. Food, service, atmosphere perfect for us.It is great to have a neighborhood restaurant of such quality and reliability.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Key West)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Food was good as was the service. Rather pricey. But is you don't mind spending a bit of money it is a very nice restaurant.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Healthy, Cozy, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 12, 2017

There are a lot of choices in KW. This was ok but not great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Food was excellent -- we had stone crab claws as starters and split a bouillabaisse -- and atmosphere was nice. The wine list is dandy but over-priced. Waiter was timely and efficient but not in our faces all the time. Key Lime Pie was the best I've had. No qualms about suggesting it for dinner so long as you have a thick credit card in hand. I'd go back in a heartbeat.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Historic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 11, 2017

I would recommend it, but not above a number of other places for the price point. While the food was good, it wasn't anything spectacular for the price we paid. A friend raved about it but we didn't have the same experience. The wait staff was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 11, 2017

This was our first trip to Key West.

I really do not believe in providing a 5 for any review, but there are elements about Cafe Sole that are uniquely wonderful. The location is nestled in an ultimately charming KW neighborhood. The restaurant dining area is romantic, charming and totally lacking pretentiousness.

Service was professional, easy, but attentive. Noise level was minimal.

This is a beer and wine only restaurant, so we ordered a bottle of wine, the least expensive Zinfandel. My wife was not present at that moment when the bottle was opened and I was left with responsibility of approving the wine. (I think our approval rate is about 100% but nonetheless, such pressure.) Fortunately, for me, the moment the wine was poured, the aroma was instantly great - no pressure.

I had the three seafoods angel hair pasta which was served with a lentil sauce - shrimp, scallops and fish - mahi. The sauce was awesome, fish easy, and the scallop.... typically, I am not a scallop person, but my scallop was a medium size, utterly delectable treat....but just one scallop for me.

My wife had the boullebaise which ranked below the 5 level of perfection in her estimate. (We also come from a seafood town.)

Cafe Sole provides an exceptional dinner experience. It's expensive, but not extravagent. It is comfortable and easy, but by no means lax. I'm sure there are many great spots in Key West, but Cafe Sole is a neighborhood gem that will make a trip to Paradise more memorable.

Tags: Special Occasion, Historic, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Authentic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 10, 2017

We met friends, who are locals, here and were pleasantly surprised by the pre-6pm specials. Everything was perfect. Completely relaxed and delicious local seafood.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Key West)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Dan was our waiter...AWESOME! Friendly, knowledgeable and helpfulness! The hostess was also extremely nice and helpful! Will be back very soon...

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Outstanding Value, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Historic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 9, 2017

We had a great time. Wine list is awesome as is the food. The staff is very friendly and service is fantastic. Make sure you make a reservation as it is nor a huge restaurant. I'll be back when I return to Key West.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 8, 2017

the food was amazing! the service was good but not great. The server spoke so soft and was hard to understand. He seemed a bit annoyed when we asked questions about the wine selection. Forgot to bring out the bread which would've been very helpful with our appetizer we ordered. Very great atmosphere,food was excellent.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 8, 2017

There was a 30 minute wait for a table ( no reservations available for a party of5). The wait was closer to an hour. The hostess suggested we wait outside, there was one bench that seated 2 people. she asked if we wanted a beverage while waiting; then pointed to the service bar, where the only bartender was also delivering drinks to tables. After a 20 minute wait we received the glasses of wine that three of us ordered. Then asked if we could put it on our dinner bill. Confusion reigned; the bartender didn't know, the hostess was nowhere to be found. We went outside with our wine, and left it to them to sort out. The food was good, however only lukewarm. Some of the women in our party were thrilled to see Cakebread Chardonnay on the wine list. At $90 a bottle it was disappointingly warm. The bill with one bottle of overpriced wine and dinner for five was $350 (excluding tip). I would not recommend this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 7, 2017

Great little spot away from the noise of Duval Steet in a quiet corner of Old Town. Menu has a nice balance of seafood, meat and vegetarian options. Wine options from affordable to some rare finds. Treat yourself to something special in the Keys!

Tags: Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 7, 2017

A KW staple for us. Good selection of interesting food. Interesting selection of fresh seafood. Not snobby. Outdoor covered patio. Intimate, service was excellent.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Love the neighborhood setting - excellent service - amazing fish - 10/10!

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Good Vegetarian Options, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 5, 2017

I cannot say enough about this restaurant. The people were wonderful, the service outstanding and the food, OH MY, it was fantastic. I had their signature dish, hog snapper, and I have never had better anywhere .

By the way, I asked for a romantic table if possible and the moment I checked in I was told that they had saved a private and romantic table for me. Very impressive.

If you possibly have room for dessert, their dessert menu is excellent.

You can not go wrong eating here

Tags: Fun, Hot Spot, Business Meals, Authentic, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Molecular Gastronomy, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Late-night Find, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Great quiet spot. The Hog Fish is fantastic! Service impeccable! Strong wine list. A must go to while in Key West!

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Discovered this gem on one of our many walks in Key West. Great Old Town location, off the beaten path. Food was fantastic - we both started with the Portobello Soup, which was so flavorful. I ordered the hogfish fresh catch, which was excellently prepared - I'm not a seafood lover, except when I can order it fresh in the Keys. My husband ordered the shrimp & scallop angel hair dish, which he raved about. We chose the chocolate pecan pie for dessert and wanted to go home with an entire pie - it's amazing! Our server was friendly and attentive. We will absolutely be back!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Happy Hour, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Outstanding Value, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Key West)·Dined on February 4, 2017

The hog fish was delicious as was the stone crab appetizer... this was the best meal that we had on Key West.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Key West)·Dined on February 2, 2017

One of our favorites and the hogfish and mushroom soup are fabulous

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Correa's snapper always good and the 1/2 crispy duck superb

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 2, 2017

This was our second visit within the week. We stayed with fish entrees. Signature Hogfish dish and grouper with romesco sauce. Great vegetable preparation and incredible wine list. Great ambience and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 1, 2017

While the service and food were both very good, the obnoxious table of loud mouthed hilljacks ruined the evening. The very loud, inappropriate, childish behaviour of the table next to us was embarrassing. Like I said the hogfish was delicious and the service was great. The keylime pie was topped with flame toasted very light marshmallow...Get it!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Love this restaurant. We try to go at least on our annual trip to Key West. The menu is broad enough for anyone's taste. Our favorite is the hogfish grouper.

We will continue going but would love to see a larger variety of. Eferables with our entrees.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Always the best Hog Fish dinner

Tags: Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on January 31, 2017

Great food, acceptable service but ambiance was lacking. Prices were good. However, the tables were too close together and we (as did other diners) had to use our smartphones to read the menu.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value4

 
 (Key West)·Dined on January 30, 2017

Great food , lovely service , all around good experience.

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on January 30, 2017

As always, the food and service were outstanding. This is a favorite place for us when we visit Key West. Consistently great!!

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 29, 2017

We both had portobello soup and hogfish special which were both excellent.

Tags: Casual, Good Vegetarian Options, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Paleo Friendly, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Cafe Sole was a delightful dining discovery for us in Key West- excellent in every way.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Excellent food, well prepared and presented. Turned out to be one of the finest eating experiences in Key West.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Cafe sold is my favorite restaurant in Key West. All dishes are completely satisfying, but the Hogfish is the best dish I've had in the entire city and never dissapoints.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Family Style, Casual, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Key West)·Dined on January 26, 2017

We have been coming to Key West for five years and Cafe Sole is the best restaurant by far.

The Hogfish is excellent and so is the beet salad.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 26, 2017

We had a lovely dinner at Cafe sole. It's located in a quiet residential neighborhood, away from the noise of Duval Street. The hogfish was fabulous- buttery and melts in your mouth. Dan was an attentive server.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Key West)·Dined on January 25, 2017

Delicious appetizers...anchovy crossing and Caesar salad, porcine soup. ...hog fish very good and salmon Oscar excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 24, 2017

Had hogfish and snapper sole. Fish was perfectly cooked. Veg seemed more designed go gratify the eye of the chef than the palate of the diner: mashed potatoes, rice, lima beans, and over sweet carrots. Three starches? Really? Four mini drsserts were fine, especially the key lime pie -- not over-sweet filling seem to have sour cream very good. Overall, good food but no creative spark.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Key West)·Dined on January 23, 2017

Good food, good service and especially good price with the 2 for 1 entree.

Tags: Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Charming location, excellent food, knowledgeable waitstaff, attention to service and detail

Tags: Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Fun, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.