About Cafe Sole - Key West

1029 Southard St.
Key West, FL 33040
View Larger Map

Café Solé has captured the hearts and palates of locals and visitors lucky enough to discover this culinary gem off the beaten path. By combining his French mastery of sauces with fresh locally caught seafood, John has created a menu unlike any on the island, where every dish is bursting with indescribable flavors. Mutton snapper in pesto and champagne, yellowtail in a beurre blanc of lobster or a rare hog snapper with red pepper zabaglione top a list of nightly specials. As for the classics, the Duck a L'Orange, Rack of Lamb with herb de Province and Lobster Bouillaise are as authentic as you will find this side of Paris. Chef Correa combines the best of both of his worlds, European and Caribbean to win the People's Choice and Best Entree awards at a recent Master Chefs Classic

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
French, Fish, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner Nightly: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Frances St.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(305) 294-0230

Website:
http://www.cafesole.com/

Executive Chef:
John Correa

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Gluten-free Menu, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

Cafe Sole - Key West Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Food
Key West / Florida Keys
Best Service
Key West / Florida Keys
Fit for Foodies
Key West / Florida Keys
7 More
Neighborhood Gem
Key West / Florida Keys
Most Booked
Key West / Florida Keys
Best Food
Florida Keys - Monroe County
Best Service
Florida Keys - Monroe County
Fit for Foodies
Florida Keys - Monroe County
Neighborhood Gem
Florida Keys - Monroe County
Most Booked
Florida Keys - Monroe County
Best Restaurants in Key West ›

neighborhood gem (103)
fit for foodies (103)
special occasion (91)
See All
romantic (82)
great for outdoor dining (60)
notable wine list (57)
good for groups (12)
hot spot (10)
great for lunch (7)
great for brunch (6)
late-night find (6)
scenic view (2)
kid-friendly (1)
vibrant bar scene (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1062 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

This has always been a very favorite of ...

Dined 4 days ago

This has always been a very favorite of ours. The best suggestion when dining at Café Sole is to go with the chef recommendations. The Hog Fish dish that is highly recommended is one of the best fish dishes I have ever experienced. Perfectly prepared. It is safe to say, whatever your choice on the menu, it will be memorable. If you are in Key West, don't miss the opportunity to enjoy Café Sole.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Cafe Sole - Key West

Dined 5 days ago

We were vacationing in Key West and this restaurant was highly recommended. It did not disappoint, especially for its very fresh seafood. Both the food and service was high quality for casual dining. Definitely recommend it to others.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5

The "Hug SnapperSole'" was the best fish ...

Dined 6 days ago

The "Hug SnapperSole'" was the best fish I ever had. Took friends based on recommendation, and was not disappointed. Wonderful night with friends.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Best fish entree I've ever had!

Dined on May 14, 2016

The reasons Cafe Sole did not get 5 stars across the board is how uncomfortably warm it was. I think the indoor/outdoor patio seating is a novel idea; however, the ceiling fans did not cool it down nearly enough. The food prices were expected though the wine markup was higher than most places (a glass would run around $14). And we were eating in mid-May at 9 pm. Otherwise, this was an amazing dining experience. The hog snapper was OUTSTANDING. I've never had better seafood. Ever. Plus, our server was knowledgeable not only about the food, but also about the wine. Impressive!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Hog Fish was over the top. A must while ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

Hog Fish was over the top. A must while in Key West!

Tags: great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience5
service5

Went to cafe sole for a romantic birthda ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

Went to cafe sole for a romantic birthday dinner and it was the perfect place. Food was amazing, and service was incredible! The server brought my wife a birthday key lime pie with a candle and that was delicious! Will definitely be going back.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This is my second visit to Cafe Sole. F ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

This is my second visit to Cafe Sole. Food is always amazing and the ambiance feels like your at a friends dinner party.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great for seafood

Dined on May 12, 2016

I had the scallops special which was excellent. My wife had a filet -- it was just ok. Always order seafood at Sole.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

A great little hideaway.

Dined on May 12, 2016

Our experience was great from the time we walked in the door. We were greeted with a smiling face and seated right away. Our server Brian was very personable and had a great since of humor,we were taken great care of but not overly so. We were with guest so we were out to enjoy our friends. We never wanted for anything, yet were not overly waited on as to interrupt our conversation. We were made to feel so welcomed and enjoyed our dinning experience very much. the food was wonderful and the dessert ( the quattro) to die for. Thank you once again for a flawless evening! And yes we will be back!

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Never disappoints!

Dined on May 12, 2016

We have visited during our holiday in Key West every year since Cafe Sole opened. It never disappoints and the signature dishes - portabello mushroom soup & hog snapper sole as amazing as I remember. Highly recommended.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

One of my favorite restaurants...it's the food!!

Dined on May 8, 2016

The food here is as good as it gets! There are so many choices that I usually go with a number of small plates...so difficult to choose. The portabello soup is not to be missed. Eat here!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We go to Key West every year.

Dined on May 7, 2016

As usual food and service outstanding. Hogfish and yellowtail were great.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

local of 35 years

Dined on May 6, 2016

I love this restaurant, my favorite. Never had a bad meal, always pleasant, great atmosphere, and not noisy because so open. The best!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Had to go back for a second visit.

Dined on May 1, 2016

Visited Key West for 3 nights. Hotel recomended Cafe Sole for early Friday night dinner, we have been in the Keys for 8 days by this time, but my wife still wanted a seafood dinner, she had the hogfish which is a specialty of Cafe Sole and after 8 days of seafood, it was the best meal she had, I went for the rack of lamb and it was also excellent. We ate at another restaurant on Saturday and while the food was good it was not exceptional. On Sunday we changed our plans and returned to Cafe Sole and both of us enjoyed the hogfish. While the place does not have the ocean or sunset view of others for me the most important thing in a restaurant is the food, and Cafe Sole passes this test with A++.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our second time to Cafe Sole and we love ...

Dined on May 1, 2016

Our second time to Cafe Sole and we loved it all over again. The hogfish house specialty is fantastic, light and buttery! Perfectly prepared, delicious sides, our best dinner in Key West. And save room for their Key Lime Pie. It comes with a marshmallow topping and creme fraiche, so good!!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious !

Dined on April 27, 2016

I visit from So California and was fortunate to try Cafe Sole my first time to Key West - a bit off the beaten path (which is a good thing) and well worth the find. It's a darling converted house with various seating options - solarium, outdoor or indoor more intimate dining. Each of the 5 times since, it has been a must for dinner. My friend started with the lobster bisque - and she's real foodie - it was delicious - my starter was a yummy salad w/ mixed greens, diced pear and pecans - also delicious. She had one of their specialties, the HogFish - a delicate white fish and I had a pasta dish w/ shrimp and scallops - great wines by the glass -- everything was wonderful, including our waiter, Eddie. We had early reservations because we would be going to the Waterfront Playhouse for an 8pm play -- an added bonus was their special pricing for early dining. All in all, it was a 12 !

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Service was top notch

Dined on April 27, 2016

The service we received at Café Sole was perfect. Our server was delightful, fun, energetic and personable. He even gave us a nice surprise as part of our honeymoon. Could not have asked for a better experience. The food was great as well.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5

Love the hogfish!

Dined on April 19, 2016

Love the hogfish!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A Truly Unique Key West Dining Experience

Dined on April 19, 2016

Cafe Sole is my favorite fine-dining restaurant in Key West. Its food, service, atmosphere and uniqueness make for a memorable special occasion. If you haven't experienced Cafe Sole, put it at the top of your must-try list for Key West.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

So the buzz in Key West was all about th ...

Dined on April 17, 2016

So the buzz in Key West was all about this great tasting hog fish at Café Sole. So my girl and I just had to see what everybody was raving about, and let me tell you, they were not lying!! We booked an early dinner, 5:30pm, in order to catch the sunset at Mallory Square so the restaurant was kind of quiet but we liked it that way. Our waiter, Eddie was very informative, accommodating and courteous. The service was excellent!! We started off with two glasses of wine and then appetizers and main course. Service was spread out evenly throughout as not to rush you out the door. Our appetizers were the conch carpaccio and the shrimp risotto. Both very tasty and delicious! And onto the main course was the absolutely best tasting fish I've ever put in my mouth!! A must meal while in Key West!!

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Hotel recommendation

Dined on April 17, 2016

Hotel recommendation, proved to be delicious! Wanted to try the local Hogfish and it was beyond expectations!

Tags: romantic
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

hogfish

Dined on April 11, 2016

Go for the best local seafood. Get the hogfish! It's our go to every time we are in town.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

Over priced

Dined on April 10, 2016

Nothing to complain about with the presentation, taste or quality of the meal, these were all well done, however, this was an expensive restaurants when all things are considered. $109 for: 2 glasses of house wine, no appetizers, Hog Snapper/Grouper, shared cheesecake desert including tax and tip I paid $138.00. I paid about the same at the Latitudes which had significantly more atmosphere. Again, food quality was fine, just thought it should be more in the $75 range before tax/tip.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience3
service4

When in town we will always go back for ...

Dined on April 8, 2016

When in town we will always go back for the food which is so awesome. Nothing is bad about this restaurant .

food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Great food

vip
Dined on April 8, 2016

Nice menu, great server, flexible to adjust to fit our dietary needs and food was fantastic, would certainly eat here again when in key West.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

European and local menu at this neighborhood gem

vip
Dined on April 6, 2016

Feeling like French food? Escargot maybe? or local Key West seafood? Hogfish or snapper? How about carpaccio? it could be beef, tuna or conch...all on the menu at Cafe Sole. Lovely setting in a quite KW neighborhood. Wine only and the list is limited (only drawback I'd say). Wonderful menu and their specialties were delicious (I had the hogfish sole) and the hubby had 3 apps - Andalusian gazpacho, beet and goat cheese salad and ostrich gazpacho. Definitely worth going back to for more grazing!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Neighborhood gem

Dined on April 4, 2016

Nestle on the corner of a neighborhood street away from the hectic Duval Street we discovered a delightful little restaurant. Atmosphere was lovely, staff was very welcoming and dinner was superb! Would love to go back to try some other items on the menu.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5

This restaurant was recommended to us by ...

Dined on March 29, 2016

This restaurant was recommended to us by a few different friends and did not disappoint. The hog snapper and salmon Oscar were delicious not to mention the three little sides that accompanied. Angels on horseback were a nice start and there is wine list for every budget. Dinner for two was $150 after tip. Worth the splurge.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Continues to please

Dined on March 29, 2016

We try to visit when we're in KeyWest. Delicious hogfish and snapper entrees. The setting is garden and patio casual. In a quiet neighborhood. Worth the price.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have eaten here numerous times on vis ...

Dined on March 28, 2016

We have eaten here numerous times on visits to Key West and the food is always creatively prepared and outstandingly delicious. It is our favorite Key West restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, great for lunch, late-night find, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of Key West best restaurants

vip
Dined on March 27, 2016

Elegant while casual. Food is some of the best in KW. Presentation is always amazing. This is one of those restaurants that we always visit while vacationing here. We went there for Easter dinner. We were seated in the outside dinner area. It's peaceful and who doesn't want to sit outside on a beautiful day. Their inside dining room is very nice as well. We just prefer the outdoor one. The service is always friendly and prompt. We had a wonderful bottle of wine to enjoy with our food. They have a very nice wine selection that is priced affordable. I had an arugula salad with pears and toasted pumpkin seeds. The flavors were fresh and bright. My partner had the beet and goat cheese salad. It is really a piece of edible art! My grilled lobster tail was juicy and sweet. My partner had the duck that he said was the best he had ever had. They have a very nice selection of entrees to choose from. They are always beautifully presented with some mashed potatoes, rice, Lima beans, a small stuffed tomato and grated carrots. The presentation is elegant and the taste is a wonderful addition to the main course. This is one of the few restaurants that offer a sampler of several of their signature desserts. Enough to taste and share. Yum! We will return again, just like we always to.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fan-Tas-Tic

Dined on March 26, 2016

When we are in Key West this is a must. The food is outstanding and the atmosphere is great. Our waiter, Brian (who has waited on us numerous times) is professional and attentive. Please go - it is well worth your time :)

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great night out

Dined on March 25, 2016

Went to Cafe Sole for the first time. The service was outstanding. Very timely yet relaxed. Food was excellent. Will definitely be back next year.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

An authentic key west experiences!

vip
Dined on March 25, 2016

An authentic key west experiences!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Cafe Sole never disappoints!

Dined on March 24, 2016

Everything - from the conch carpaccio to the incomparable hog snapper, is amazing.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Never dissapoints

Dined on March 23, 2016

We go every year and it is always a pleasant experience. We like to take family and friends who have never been there. My shrimp pasta was a bit too garlicky but still tasty. Dessert sampler is wonderful.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

Food Was Imagnative and Good

Dined on March 23, 2016

The menu was Imagnative with a few combinations that I had not imagined like balsamic over vanilla ice cream and strawberries, a true acquired taste. The beet salad was very good. Entree was shrimp wrapped with bacon and uncooked beans. Not bad, not great. My wife had the snapper which was ok too. Salad was good. We were in and out in about an hour. Ambiance was ruined by 2 loud talkers nearby and the sidewalk and outside menu immediately on my left. I wish there was a way to deal with that. Parking in the area is awful and so not worth the food. Try walking or taxi, if you can.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious hogfish snapper & mini lamb ch ...

Dined on March 20, 2016

Delicious hogfish snapper & mini lamb chop appetizer. Great service!

food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Excellent food for that special night out.

Dined on March 18, 2016

On the corner of Francis and Southard, Café Soleil is a great place for excellent food, for that special night out. There were four in our party, three of them had the hog fish and loved it. The fourth person had lobster tail and that was excellent too. The prices are a bit on the high side, and the service is above average, but not excellent.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Fresh Fish!

Dined on March 17, 2016

The hogfish and black grouper were delicious. Nice wine list, as there is no liquor license. Definitely worth a stop when you're visiting Old Town.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.