Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.26mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.26mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.26mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.26mi

About Cafe Sole - Key West

Café Solé has captured the hearts and palates of locals and visitors lucky enough to discover this culinary gem off the beaten path. By combining his French mastery of sauces with fresh locally caught seafood, John has created a menu unlike any on the island, where every dish is bursting with indescribable flavors. Mutton snapper in pesto and champagne, yellowtail in a beurre blanc of lobster or a rare hog snapper with red pepper zabaglione top a list of nightly specials. As for the classics, the Duck a L'Orange, Rack of Lamb with herb de Province and Lobster Bouillaise are as authentic as you will find this side of Paris. Chef Correa combines the best of both of his worlds, European and Caribbean to win the People's Choice and Best Entree awards at a recent Master Chefs Classic

1029 Southard St.
Key West, FL 33040
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
French, Fish, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner Nightly: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Frances St.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(305) 294-0230

Website:
http://www.cafesole.com/

Executive Chef:
John Correa

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Gluten-free Menu, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

Cafe Sole - Key West Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (44)
Neighborhood Gem (36)
Romantic (35)
See All
Special Occasion (33)
Good for Anniversaries (28)
Cozy (27)
Great for Outdoor Dining (25)
Local Ingredients (24)
Quiet Conversation (24)
Fit for Foodies (22)
Notable Wine List (20)
Creative Cuisine (18)
Casual (15)
Good for Birthdays (15)
Authentic (11)
Worth the Drive (8)
Business Meals (7)
Fun (6)
Good for Groups (6)
Happy Hour (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
People Watching (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Tapas (2)
Historic (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Vegan (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Waterfront (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Organic (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Paleo Friendly (0)
Sort By:
S
1542 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined a day ago

One of my best friends said this is his favorite restaurant in KW.
I was here before and equally underwhelmed.
We booked well in advance and waited, albeit, a relatively short time for an inside table.
Unfortunately a group of loud and obnoxious party of 6 were next to us in a very confined area. The folks next to us mitigated the disruption by joining us in the calumniation of their diatribe.
The conch carpaccio lacked imagination. It could use a baby spinach or arugula base, some more conch and a little less citrus.
The hogfish special was small, well seasoned but left me hungry.
Lamb chops not a good choice and over cooked.
I don't think I will go back.
Overall value marginal
Tim

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined 4 days ago

Excellent service, excellent food, and my wife found the whole experience very magical and romantic as mid way through our meal as we sat outside in the covered area it began to rain - giving us a chance to listen to the rhythms of the rain pouring down

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined 4 days ago

Best hogfish in the Keys. Great service and food. This restaurant is a must!

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 6 days ago

Wonderful petite restaurant with great entrees and service. Nice covered outdoor eating area.

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Key West)·Dined on August 16, 2017

Always a treat to go to Cafe Sole. The Hogfish dish is out of this world !

Tags: Quick Bite, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Good for a Date, Casual, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Key West)·Dined on August 14, 2017

Loved the grouper Romesco, skirt steak, and snails, another great dinner at Café Sole.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, People Watching, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Key West)·Dined on August 14, 2017

Took advantage of their 50% off all food deal after9pm and able to try several appetizers that I would have never done at full price. Go do this while it lasts. Service was excellent. Food was exceptional. Regular prices for apps would have been steep . great atmosphere and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 12, 2017

We have eaten at Café Soul many times. The dinner was fantastic. The atmosphere was very good.

Tags: Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Key West)·Dined on August 11, 2017

Another wonderful meal at our favorite neighborhood café.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 10, 2017

Food was delicious, loved the ambiance and the staff was curtious and responsive. We were on vacation with our teenage boys and just randomly chose it for our last evening out. I will keep it in mind the next time we're that far south in the key west.

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Afternoon Coffee, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Afternoon Tea, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 9, 2017

Excellent food, especially the hog snapper. Service was good & great wine selection. Fine food so expect the price tag to match.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 9, 2017

Cafe Sole is consistently a five star dining experience. The staff is impeccable along with a very tranquil, classy setting. Yet, it's all about the food which is the focal point and never ever do they disappoint. We had the surf and turf option with the kick off of Lobster week. The John Lennon table is not only adorable but a wonderfully cool spot to chill out at on those very hot Key West summer days. The early dining option of 50% off food just can not be matched anywhere on the island with the highest quality ingredients. Thanks for memorable dining experiences year after year, after year.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 6, 2017

The menu offers something for everyone at a reasonable price. The service was very good.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Gluten Free Options, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 1, 2017

Great food. Upset to find out we could of got our $37 meals for $20 the next night

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 29, 2017

The food was delicious! I had the Hogfish and my friend had the Shrimp pasta dish. Everything was wonderful! Look forward to returning to Key West and enjoying another delicious dinner at Cafe Sole.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Key West)·Dined on July 27, 2017

Always a pleasure! Susan welcomes everyone like old friends. Best hogfish on the island.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Key West)·Dined on July 27, 2017

Unbelievably fresh and tasty yellow tail prepared to perfection in a mango salsa with a variety of sides that were the perfect compliment - From seating to server to busboy a fine tuned team that made the entire dining experience superb

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 27, 2017

Delicious food! Cafe Sole was recommended by our Airbnb host and it was, by far, the BEST since we've been in Keys. Our waiter made great suggestions. So happy we made it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on July 25, 2017

Another excellent meal. Our favorite spot in Key West. Server was not overly attentitive. No wine glass for the second person and the only way to refill the glasses was to walk over to the corner where wine was chilling. the food, however, was perfect.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on July 25, 2017

Our server was fantastic...present but not overbearing. The food was good. I will go back and recommend!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 25, 2017

Live down the street and are fortunate to have a great restaurant close to us!

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Fun, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on July 23, 2017

My Wife and I celebrated our 35th Wedding Anniversary at Cafe Sole on July 23rd. This was our second time at the restaurant. Every detail was perfect and the waiter, Jason, made the night extra special. Every course was superb, the wine selections were excellent! We will make Cafe Sole a must on all future visits to Key West!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Key West)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Love this restarant. Eat here every time I'm in key west which is twice a year. Great food. Great service Had the hogfish and stuffed artichoke. Delicious Would highly recommend this restarant I send people here all the time

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Unreservedly yes! Such good food, outstanding service, lovely patio, and a well-rounded wine list. We look forward to returning.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 21, 2017

Best fresh hogfish, outstanding value, great service

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 15, 2017

We were sat outside in the patio area separated front the noise of the main entrance by a wood lattice - the worst place in the house especially considering the restaurant was 80% empty. We ordered the steak Diane which arrived room temperature and the steak was sliced 1/8 inch strips and not the steak diane of my memories from other restaurants. The service felt rushed as well. Maybe because we dined off season the experience was not up to what I had anticipated but regardless not an excuse considering the prices.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 15, 2017

The food was terrific. They were accommodating of our request to move indoors after we first sat outside. They have an amazing deal for the summer with all entrees at $20 and they are still full sized servings.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Café Sole never disappoints. Service and food was amazing.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 13, 2017

We visit Cafe Sole several times a year and almost always order their very special Hog Snapper. It is always great, this time terrific - the best ever. Service is prompt and well timed. No rushing courses. Summer specials on the food and drink menus make this one of the best summer experiences in Key West.

Tags: Authentic, Casual, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Key West)·Dined on July 13, 2017

My favorite restaurant in Key West! Great food! They are very creative and the medley of vegetables is to die for. Inside is small, so if you want to sit inside, I would suggest a reservation.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 9, 2017

They had summer deals that included buy one get one free wine and all entrees for $20. The food was incredible.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on July 9, 2017

Bryan was awesome, made the evening perfect

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 8, 2017

In a quite neighborhood, slightly off the beaten path.
Worth the walk and did not disappoint.
Enjoyable and the staff was accommodating in off menu request for an iced coffee beverage.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on July 6, 2017

Wow what a treat. Wonderful food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Key West)·Dined on July 6, 2017

We go to Cafe Sole often and never have been disappointed. Our server was timely and handled a table of 8 easily. You must appreciate the professional staff, no rookies here.
I would recommend it for locals as well as visitors. Top notch.

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on July 4, 2017

Fantastic food and service. One of the best places in Key West!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on July 4, 2017

Absolutely delicious ! Everything we had was over the top. We would definitely frequent this establishment if we lived here.

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Our server was good. But everyone else was just there because they needed to be there. From the front desk, no ackowledgement that I booked via Opentable. No hi and hello, how are you. The bus boys and those that brought the food in, did what they did, bring the food in. Our server, was okay. Didn't look very happy with his job. I was always told, we are NOT a TREE, if we are not happy where we are at, move.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Naples)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Best fish I ever had!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Well since you asked…
We've been coming here for years and we love the portobello mushroom soup and the hogfish OMG!

Tonight was my birthday and I made the reservation three days ago for a party of five.
One of the reasons we booked here was because our friend said she wanted to go to because it was cool inside and the weather is in the high 80s, low 90s - it's summertime in Key West.

I should've made a deal about it but for some reason I thought that it would be air conditioned in the main room. They put us against the wall where there's plexiglass looking out to the street so no breeze cannot come from outdoors and the fan blowing above us wouldn't go full speed- so it was like sitting in oven for our entire meal.
We were all so flippin' hot!
I walked inside to cool off and there were five empty tables! WTF!

John needs to stop being so cheap and put A/C into his restaurant or we're not going back.

It was Sunday night and they had a special deal going which I didn't know about before we got there and when I asked the young man who brought us water about which meals were included in the special, he said, "I've only been here for two days."
Great.

Our waiter was very sweet, explained all the specials and the food was all good. Unfortunately we were miserable the entire time because we were way too hot.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.