About Cafe Sole - Key West

1029 Southard St.
Key West, FL 33040
View Larger Map

Café Solé has captured the hearts and palates of locals and visitors lucky enough to discover this culinary gem off the beaten path. By combining his French mastery of sauces with fresh locally caught seafood, John has created a menu unlike any on the island, where every dish is bursting with indescribable flavors. Mutton snapper in pesto and champagne, yellowtail in a beurre blanc of lobster or a rare hog snapper with red pepper zabaglione top a list of nightly specials. As for the classics, the Duck a L'Orange, Rack of Lamb with herb de Province and Lobster Bouillaise are as authentic as you will find this side of Paris. Chef Correa combines the best of both of his worlds, European and Caribbean to win the People's Choice and Best Entree awards at a recent Master Chefs Classic

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
French, Fish, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner Nightly: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Frances St.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(305) 294-0230

Website:
http://www.cafesole.com/

Executive Chef:
John Correa

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Gluten-free Menu, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

Chocolate Pecan Pie
Palmito (Heart of Palm) Salad
Thanksgiving Dinner
Lobster Bisque
Shrimp And Scallops Over Angel Hair Pasta
Stone Crab Claws
Angels on Horseback
Hog Snapper
Crab Claws
Key Lime Pie
Ostrich Medallions

Cafe Sole - Key West Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Key West / Florida Keys
Best Food
Key West / Florida Keys
Best Service
Key West / Florida Keys
13 More
Fit for Foodies
Key West / Florida Keys
Neighborhood Gem
Key West / Florida Keys
Romantic
Key West / Florida Keys
Special Occasion
Key West / Florida Keys
Most Booked
Key West / Florida Keys
Best Overall
Florida Keys - Monroe County
Best Food
Florida Keys - Monroe County
Best Service
Florida Keys - Monroe County
Fit for Foodies
Florida Keys - Monroe County
Neighborhood Gem
Florida Keys - Monroe County
Romantic
Florida Keys - Monroe County
Special Occasion
Florida Keys - Monroe County
Most Booked
Florida Keys - Monroe County
Best Restaurants in Key West ›

neighborhood gem (93)
special occasion (85)
fit for foodies (82)
See All
romantic (79)
great for outdoor dining (53)
notable wine list (49)
good for groups (18)
great for lunch (8)
hot spot (8)
great for brunch (7)
late-night find (7)
kid-friendly (3)
scenic view (3)
vibrant bar scene (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1082 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and totally enjoyed our dining e ...

Dined 6 days ago

My wife and totally enjoyed our dining experience at Cafe Sole during a recent visit. We'd recommend trying the entire menu... we had the Escargot, Beet Salad, and the "award-winning #can't miss" Hog Snapper. We'll definitely visit again sometime real soon!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

It was relatively quiet when we arrived, ...

vip
Dined 6 days ago

It was relatively quiet when we arrived, but service was attentive, but not overbearing. The food overall was amazing with great flavors-the gazpacho fresh and the conch carpaccio tender and well seasoned. The hearts of palm salad could be elevated by a bit more seasoning, but wasn't bad. I enjoyed the blackened grouper, cooked perfectly,and my husband enjoyed the bouillabaisse.

food5
ambience5
service5

An excellent meal!

Dined 7 days ago

An excellent meal!

food2
ambience2
service4
value2

The food is average at best but in a sma ...

vip
Dined on June 19, 2016

The food is average at best but in a small town like Key West it gets good reviews.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

As always the food was excellent. As loc ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

As always the food was excellent. As locals we frequent it often. The only hitch was the wording of their newspaper ad regarding special pricing was confusing.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Really great meal! Thoroughly enjoyed i ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

Really great meal! Thoroughly enjoyed it.

food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Always a great experience! A perfect key ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

Always a great experience! A perfect key west restaurant. Food cant be surpassed

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We always try to check out where the loc ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

We always try to check out where the locals like to eat, and this was a recommendation from a person we met who has lived in Key West for several years. This little cafe was a real find. Complimentary homemade hummus and bread started us off. For our entrees, we had the sauteed hog fish topped with a roasted red pepper hollandaise--sounds rich but wasn't--and it was fabulous. (This from a person who really doesn't care for fish.) It came with 4 tasting sized mounds of deliciously different vegetables. The wine selection is very nice and their offerings for dessert are compelling. We had the Key Lime pie and hands down it was the best we've ever had. Definitely worth your time. Make reservations, though. It's "intimate."

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Will definitely be back. Food was amazin ...

vip
Dined on June 14, 2016

Will definitely be back. Food was amazing.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Another super gem in Key West. Not the ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

Another super gem in Key West. Not the type of place you go to often but a great place to take someone you love for a romantic special evening. My wife doesn't like lima beans but the way they were prepared at Café Sole had her eating them along with everything else on the plate.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our favorite restaurant in key west for ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Our favorite restaurant in key west for many years. Love the hogfish

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Entrees were excellent. Jason, our serve ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Entrees were excellent. Jason, our server, was great.

food4
ambience4
service4
value2

Great food and service but unpleasantly warm

Dined on June 11, 2016

Dined at Café Solé on final night of a fantastic Key West family vacation. Visited other Key West restaurants daily during the week and Café Solé had been recommended by a local resident. Lobster bisque, gazpacho and snapper dishes were fabulous. Service and wine were excellent. But the covered outdoor dining space at 8:30 p.m. was uncomfortably warm, even with ceiling fans and light attire. Will try again on my next trip to Key West, assuming cooler temperatures or changes to restaurant conditioned space.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Last Night in Key West!

Dined on June 7, 2016

For our last evening in Key West, I booked this restaurant after reading all of the excellent reviews. The food was very, very good but a little overpriced in my opinion based on other experiences that we had in Key West. Overall, it was an enjoyable evening and I would recommend this place to others for special occasions.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Fresh Find

Dined on June 2, 2016

Amazing quaint Key West restaurant a little off the main drag. Small but fresh and expertly prepared menu. Super hospitable staff, too. The Hogfish, Conche Carpaccio and Duck de l'range are all amazing. I will definitely repeat.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious, romantic, quaint...with excel ...

Dined on May 27, 2016

Delicious, romantic, quaint...with excellent service. The grouper and hogfish were incredible! Also delicious the baby clams and seafood risotto.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Hogfish!! Grouper!! Both awesome, wine c ...

Dined on May 26, 2016

Hogfish!! Grouper!! Both awesome, wine choices are great

food5
ambience5
service5

From the greeting at the door to finally ...

Dined on May 25, 2016

From the greeting at the door to finally leaving, it was hard to find any fault; maybe not having an odd bottle of Chateau D'Yquem about? I normally find many negatives in restaurants which don't encourage me to return. From the freshness of food, excellent culinary skills of the chef, adequate but by no means modest or squanderous portions to the real but respectful joviality of the staff, there was no fault. It's a pity we don't live close enough to feast there every evening else we would. Res ipsa loquitur! Enjoy!

food4
ambience3
service4
value3

My party had a wonderful time! We apprec ...

Dined on May 23, 2016

My party had a wonderful time! We appreciated being able to be seated inside or out- great option! Thanks.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolute favorite place in Key West! Foo ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

Absolute favorite place in Key West! Food, staff,owner and ambience off the chart! I go as often as possible, bring family , friends and recommend to everyone who asks😊

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

This has always been a very favorite of ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

This has always been a very favorite of ours. The best suggestion when dining at Café Sole is to go with the chef recommendations. The Hog Fish dish that is highly recommended is one of the best fish dishes I have ever experienced. Perfectly prepared. It is safe to say, whatever your choice on the menu, it will be memorable. If you are in Key West, don't miss the opportunity to enjoy Café Sole.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Cafe Sole - Key West

Dined on May 19, 2016

We were vacationing in Key West and this restaurant was highly recommended. It did not disappoint, especially for its very fresh seafood. Both the food and service was high quality for casual dining. Definitely recommend it to others.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5

The "Hug SnapperSole'" was the best fish ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

The "Hug SnapperSole'" was the best fish I ever had. Took friends based on recommendation, and was not disappointed. Wonderful night with friends.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Best fish entree I've ever had!

Dined on May 14, 2016

The reasons Cafe Sole did not get 5 stars across the board is how uncomfortably warm it was. I think the indoor/outdoor patio seating is a novel idea; however, the ceiling fans did not cool it down nearly enough. The food prices were expected though the wine markup was higher than most places (a glass would run around $14). And we were eating in mid-May at 9 pm. Otherwise, this was an amazing dining experience. The hog snapper was OUTSTANDING. I've never had better seafood. Ever. Plus, our server was knowledgeable not only about the food, but also about the wine. Impressive!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Hog Fish was over the top. A must while ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

Hog Fish was over the top. A must while in Key West!

Tags: great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience5
service5

Went to cafe sole for a romantic birthda ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

Went to cafe sole for a romantic birthday dinner and it was the perfect place. Food was amazing, and service was incredible! The server brought my wife a birthday key lime pie with a candle and that was delicious! Will definitely be going back.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This is my second visit to Cafe Sole. F ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

This is my second visit to Cafe Sole. Food is always amazing and the ambiance feels like your at a friends dinner party.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great for seafood

Dined on May 12, 2016

I had the scallops special which was excellent. My wife had a filet -- it was just ok. Always order seafood at Sole.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

A great little hideaway.

Dined on May 12, 2016

Our experience was great from the time we walked in the door. We were greeted with a smiling face and seated right away. Our server Brian was very personable and had a great since of humor,we were taken great care of but not overly so. We were with guest so we were out to enjoy our friends. We never wanted for anything, yet were not overly waited on as to interrupt our conversation. We were made to feel so welcomed and enjoyed our dinning experience very much. the food was wonderful and the dessert ( the quattro) to die for. Thank you once again for a flawless evening! And yes we will be back!

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Never disappoints!

Dined on May 12, 2016

We have visited during our holiday in Key West every year since Cafe Sole opened. It never disappoints and the signature dishes - portabello mushroom soup & hog snapper sole as amazing as I remember. Highly recommended.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

One of my favorite restaurants...it's the food!!

Dined on May 8, 2016

The food here is as good as it gets! There are so many choices that I usually go with a number of small plates...so difficult to choose. The portabello soup is not to be missed. Eat here!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We go to Key West every year.

Dined on May 7, 2016

As usual food and service outstanding. Hogfish and yellowtail were great.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

local of 35 years

Dined on May 6, 2016

I love this restaurant, my favorite. Never had a bad meal, always pleasant, great atmosphere, and not noisy because so open. The best!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Had to go back for a second visit.

Dined on May 1, 2016

Visited Key West for 3 nights. Hotel recomended Cafe Sole for early Friday night dinner, we have been in the Keys for 8 days by this time, but my wife still wanted a seafood dinner, she had the hogfish which is a specialty of Cafe Sole and after 8 days of seafood, it was the best meal she had, I went for the rack of lamb and it was also excellent. We ate at another restaurant on Saturday and while the food was good it was not exceptional. On Sunday we changed our plans and returned to Cafe Sole and both of us enjoyed the hogfish. While the place does not have the ocean or sunset view of others for me the most important thing in a restaurant is the food, and Cafe Sole passes this test with A++.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our second time to Cafe Sole and we love ...

Dined on May 1, 2016

Our second time to Cafe Sole and we loved it all over again. The hogfish house specialty is fantastic, light and buttery! Perfectly prepared, delicious sides, our best dinner in Key West. And save room for their Key Lime Pie. It comes with a marshmallow topping and creme fraiche, so good!!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious !

Dined on April 27, 2016

I visit from So California and was fortunate to try Cafe Sole my first time to Key West - a bit off the beaten path (which is a good thing) and well worth the find. It's a darling converted house with various seating options - solarium, outdoor or indoor more intimate dining. Each of the 5 times since, it has been a must for dinner. My friend started with the lobster bisque - and she's real foodie - it was delicious - my starter was a yummy salad w/ mixed greens, diced pear and pecans - also delicious. She had one of their specialties, the HogFish - a delicate white fish and I had a pasta dish w/ shrimp and scallops - great wines by the glass -- everything was wonderful, including our waiter, Eddie. We had early reservations because we would be going to the Waterfront Playhouse for an 8pm play -- an added bonus was their special pricing for early dining. All in all, it was a 12 !

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Service was top notch

Dined on April 27, 2016

The service we received at Café Sole was perfect. Our server was delightful, fun, energetic and personable. He even gave us a nice surprise as part of our honeymoon. Could not have asked for a better experience. The food was great as well.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5

Love the hogfish!

Dined on April 19, 2016

Love the hogfish!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A Truly Unique Key West Dining Experience

Dined on April 19, 2016

Cafe Sole is my favorite fine-dining restaurant in Key West. Its food, service, atmosphere and uniqueness make for a memorable special occasion. If you haven't experienced Cafe Sole, put it at the top of your must-try list for Key West.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

So the buzz in Key West was all about th ...

Dined on April 17, 2016

So the buzz in Key West was all about this great tasting hog fish at Café Sole. So my girl and I just had to see what everybody was raving about, and let me tell you, they were not lying!! We booked an early dinner, 5:30pm, in order to catch the sunset at Mallory Square so the restaurant was kind of quiet but we liked it that way. Our waiter, Eddie was very informative, accommodating and courteous. The service was excellent!! We started off with two glasses of wine and then appetizers and main course. Service was spread out evenly throughout as not to rush you out the door. Our appetizers were the conch carpaccio and the shrimp risotto. Both very tasty and delicious! And onto the main course was the absolutely best tasting fish I've ever put in my mouth!! A must meal while in Key West!!

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.