About Cafe Sole - Key West

1029 Southard St.
Key West, FL 33040
View Larger Map

Café Solé has captured the hearts and palates of locals and visitors lucky enough to discover this culinary gem off the beaten path. By combining his French mastery of sauces with fresh locally caught seafood, John has created a menu unlike any on the island, where every dish is bursting with indescribable flavors. Mutton snapper in pesto and champagne, yellowtail in a beurre blanc of lobster or a rare hog snapper with red pepper zabaglione top a list of nightly specials. As for the classics, the Duck a L'Orange, Rack of Lamb with herb de Province and Lobster Bouillaise are as authentic as you will find this side of Paris. Chef Correa combines the best of both of his worlds, European and Caribbean to win the People's Choice and Best Entree awards at a recent Master Chefs Classic

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
French, Fish, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner Nightly: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Frances St.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(305) 294-0230

Website:
http://www.cafesole.com/

Executive Chef:
John Correa

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Gluten-free Menu, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Chocolate Pecan Pie
Palmito (Heart of Palm) Salad
Thanksgiving Dinner
Lobster Bisque
Angels on Horseback
Shrimp And Scallops Over Angel Hair Pasta
Stone Crab Claws
Hog Snapper
Crab Claws
Key Lime Pie
Ostrich Medallions

Cafe Sole - Key West Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Fit for Foodies
Key West / Florida Keys
Romantic
Key West / Florida Keys
Special Occasion
Key West / Florida Keys
5 More
Most Booked
Key West / Florida Keys
Fit for Foodies
Florida Keys - Monroe County
Romantic
Florida Keys - Monroe County
Special Occasion
Florida Keys - Monroe County
Most Booked
Florida Keys - Monroe County
Best Restaurants in Key West ›

Neighborhood Gem (63)
Special Occasion (62)
Romantic (60)
See All
Fit for Foodies (49)
Great for Outdoor Dining (37)
Notable Wine List (31)
Good for Groups (18)
Great for Lunch (6)
Hot Spot (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Great for Brunch (4)
Scenic View (3)
Kid-friendly (2)
Sort By:
Newest
1112 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Amazing experience from the moment you w ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined 5 days ago

Amazing experience from the moment you walk in the door

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was highly expensive, bland & the s ...

vip
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Food was highly expensive, bland & the sides were unpalatable. So disappointed...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2

Hogfish- wow once again

 
 (Key West)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Hogfish- wow once again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Hogfish was delicious & primarily the re ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Hogfish was delicious & primarily the reason we went. Service was excellent and our waiter was knowledgeable about the wine list. Unknown to us, there was a 50% off entre deal going on and bogo glasses of select wines. Inside seemed like it could use a cleanse but no complaints on the service, price, & food. Would definitely recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

TERRIFIC DINNER! WE WERE SURPRISED TO FI ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

TERRIFIC DINNER! WE WERE SURPRISED TO FIND OUT THEY HAVE 50% OFF OF DINNERS ON MONDAY'S AND TUESDAY'S. YOU WILL THROUGHLY ENJOY IT.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Exceptional dining experience! Food was ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Exceptional dining experience! Food was outstanding and ambiance was great for our group of 3 parents and 5 daughters.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great Spot. My Favorite Restaurant in Ke ...

 
 (Key West)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Great Spot. My Favorite Restaurant in Key West. Hog Fish is OUTSTANDING. TOP NOTCH. Check papers for coupons. Got one for Half Off.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect for a romantic evening with grea ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Perfect for a romantic evening with great service and a great chef. Summer deal was outstanding.

Tags: Late-night Find, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A very good meal, though a little pricey ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

A very good meal, though a little pricey considering entrees were half off. Tables were very close and we had a non-stop loud talker at next table which took away from our dining experience, no fault to restaurant.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

We celebrated our 28th anniversary at Ca ...

 
 (Key West)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

We celebrated our 28th anniversary at Cafe Sole and had an excellent time. The quality of the food was great, I gave it 4 stars because of the sides not the main part of the entree. I had the hog snapper and my husband had the grouper, both ( they know how to cook fish, not over done) excellent. Our waiter was excellent! The wine list is great as well. Don't miss it if you are in Key West!

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent experience from start to finis ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Excellent experience from start to finish. So happy we fit this stop into our plans!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The food was excellently prepared and ta ...

 
 (Key West)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

The food was excellently prepared and tasted great! The summer special pricing was also very well received...

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The best find in Key West. The waiter wa ...

 
 (Key West)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

The best find in Key West. The waiter was exceptional. Very friendly!! Food was excellent! Everyone was very friendly and helpful. We have been coming to Key West for 28 years. So good to find an out of the way, good all the way around restaurant. Can't say enough about the good experience we had.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband looked for a special dinner f ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

My husband looked for a special dinner for our last night in key west. Made a 7pm reservation. Arrived at 6:45. Hostess acted very put out that we were a little early and they were far from full. We were seated. Then we sat for more than 10 minutes and I had to get the attention of an assistant/bus boy to get our waiter so we could even order a drink. Our waiter was not very friendly at all. My husband ordered the duck with orange sauce. Duck was okay, orange sauce was terrible. We have eaten all over the world and know sauces and this is horrible sauce. My yellow tail snapper was good. And the escargot was good. Restrooms are not air conditioned and extremely stuffy. No ventilation at all. The restaurant itself is mainly outside also with little to no ventilation. Service, attitude and overall uncomfortableness of this restaurant definitely has made this a no rest urn for us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

The hogfish dinner was very good but ver ...

 
 (Key West)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

The hogfish dinner was very good but very pricey for the amount of local fish one received. At the seafood market it is 22.00/lb. We got problably 1/3 of a lb each. Each meal was 36.00. Presented well. Key lime pie was very good also. No appetizer, one small piece of pie. We ordered 3 glasses of wine at 15/glass.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

We have eaten here every time we come to ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

We have eaten here every time we come to Key West which has

been over 20 years! The Hog Fish special is fantastic!

This evening they had a 50% off all entrees, including the

Hog Fish! Such a deal! The service is understated and

very friendly.

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Consistently great food. We have been ea ...

 
 (Key West)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Consistently great food. We have been eating dinners here for years.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We came for the evening special between ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

We came for the evening special between 5 and 7 p.m. Everyone was very welcoming and attentive. Our food was good and timed perfectly. One complaint that I don't the restaurant has control over were the people next to us. A table of 4 women sat down and, for some reason, it was important to talk loud and with foul language. It spoiled the experience for us. I am not sure what you can do about people who have to do that. We could have asked for another table; however, the restaurant is very small inside and I don't know that it would have made much of a difference, unless we went outside.

Another suggestion for wait staff: I don't mind that you smoke. Just be sure to wash your hands after you've smoked because the smell is very strong at the table.

We will definitely return, though, because of the staff and the food.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Great food Always come for hogfish. ...

 
 (Key West)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Great food

Always come for hogfish. One of best places in key west.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best Hogfish in town!

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Best Hogfish in town!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Their actual menu lacked a number of ite ...

 
 (Key West)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Their actual menu lacked a number of items that their online menu said they had.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service5
value1

We had walked by several times and noted ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

We had walked by several times and noted a great outdoor dining room, but never stopped. Finally made reservations... and was not disappointed. Beautiful atmosphere. Food was delicious. We'll definitely be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of my favorite restaurants in Key We ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

One of my favorite restaurants in Key West. Best hogfish in town.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was my choice for my birthday dinne ...

 
 (Key West)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

This was my choice for my birthday dinner and was thoroughly impressed. Food service excellent. Love that the owner comes around to introduce himself and ensure you are having a good time. Mentioned to him it was my birthday and my dessert came out with a candle and staff singing happy birthday. Nice touch. Will def return

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

excellent food and service, outside a li ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

excellent food and service, outside a little to hot for comford.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

It was my second time at this place. The ...

vip
·Dined on July 2, 2016

It was my second time at this place. The first, in March, was excellent, very tasty. This time was different. Something happened to the food, with none to be good. Disappointing experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4

Our dinners were terrific, as always. T ...

 
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Our dinners were terrific, as always. There was an issue with pricing, and our waiter was brusque and almost rude. No manager at the restaurant to resolve the issue. Hostess stepped in and re-issued our check correctly, so we paid and left. ($50. Dollar difference!) However, they still haven't issued a credit, so we have two charges on our statement 4 days later. Not the best experience at what was our favorite restaurant in Key West.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We had soup, salad and entrees. Each ite ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

We had soup, salad and entrees. Each item was fantastic. Wonderful food

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

The hogfish was as delicious as everyone ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

The hogfish was as delicious as everyone said. The sides were ok that's why I rated 4 and not 5 stars.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

My wife and totally enjoyed our dining e ...

 
 (Key West)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

My wife and totally enjoyed our dining experience at Cafe Sole during a recent visit. We'd recommend trying the entire menu... we had the Escargot, Beet Salad, and the "award-winning #can't miss" Hog Snapper. We'll definitely visit again sometime real soon!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was relatively quiet when we arrived, ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

It was relatively quiet when we arrived, but service was attentive, but not overbearing. The food overall was amazing with great flavors-the gazpacho fresh and the conch carpaccio tender and well seasoned. The hearts of palm salad could be elevated by a bit more seasoning, but wasn't bad. I enjoyed the blackened grouper, cooked perfectly,and my husband enjoyed the bouillabaisse.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

An excellent meal!

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

An excellent meal!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food is average at best but in a sma ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

The food is average at best but in a small town like Key West it gets good reviews.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

As always the food was excellent. As loc ...

 
 (Key West)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

As always the food was excellent. As locals we frequent it often. The only hitch was the wording of their newspaper ad regarding special pricing was confusing.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Really great meal! Thoroughly enjoyed i ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Really great meal! Thoroughly enjoyed it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always a great experience! A perfect key ...

 
 (Key West)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Always a great experience! A perfect key west restaurant. Food cant be surpassed

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

We always try to check out where the loc ...

 
 (Nebraska)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

We always try to check out where the locals like to eat, and this was a recommendation from a person we met who has lived in Key West for several years. This little cafe was a real find. Complimentary homemade hummus and bread started us off. For our entrees, we had the sauteed hog fish topped with a roasted red pepper hollandaise--sounds rich but wasn't--and it was fabulous. (This from a person who really doesn't care for fish.) It came with 4 tasting sized mounds of deliciously different vegetables. The wine selection is very nice and their offerings for dessert are compelling. We had the Key Lime pie and hands down it was the best we've ever had. Definitely worth your time. Make reservations, though. It's "intimate."

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

My wife and I were given a recommendatio ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

My wife and I were given a recommendation we will never regret. Cafe Sole is a gem in the middle of an average residential neighborhood that was within walking distance of our as well as many other quaint Key West lodging locations. The menu has a vast variety of choices, and everything we ordered was well prepared, artfully presented. The staff was well versed on the menu and quite attentive. We would gladly pay full price, but were also very pleased to find the "Early Bird" special that allows you to order any entree on the menu for $20.00 if you are seated before 6:30pm. Cafe Sole will be first on our list for dinner reservations when we next visit Key West.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Will definitely be back. Food was amazin ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

Will definitely be back. Food was amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Another super gem in Key West. Not the ...

 
 (Key West)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

Another super gem in Key West. Not the type of place you go to often but a great place to take someone you love for a romantic special evening. My wife doesn't like lima beans but the way they were prepared at Café Sole had her eating them along with everything else on the plate.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.