About Cafe Sole - Key West

1029 Southard St.
Key West, FL 33040
View Larger Map

Café Solé has captured the hearts and palates of locals and visitors lucky enough to discover this culinary gem off the beaten path. By combining his French mastery of sauces with fresh locally caught seafood, John has created a menu unlike any on the island, where every dish is bursting with indescribable flavors. Mutton snapper in pesto and champagne, yellowtail in a beurre blanc of lobster or a rare hog snapper with red pepper zabaglione top a list of nightly specials. As for the classics, the Duck a L'Orange, Rack of Lamb with herb de Province and Lobster Bouillaise are as authentic as you will find this side of Paris. Chef Correa combines the best of both of his worlds, European and Caribbean to win the People's Choice and Best Entree awards at a recent Master Chefs Classic

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
French, Fish, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner Nightly: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Frances St.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(305) 294-0230

Website:
http://www.cafesole.com/

Executive Chef:
John Correa

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Gluten-free Menu, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

Chocolate Pecan Pie
Palmito (Heart of Palm) Salad
Thanksgiving Dinner
Lobster Bisque
Shrimp And Scallops Over Angel Hair Pasta
Stone Crab Claws
Angels on Horseback
Hog Snapper
Crab Claws
Key Lime Pie
Ostrich Medallions

Cafe Sole - Key West Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.3

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Key West / Florida Keys
Best Food
Key West / Florida Keys
Best Service
Key West / Florida Keys
13 More
Fit for Foodies
Key West / Florida Keys
Neighborhood Gem
Key West / Florida Keys
Romantic
Key West / Florida Keys
Special Occasion
Key West / Florida Keys
Most Booked
Key West / Florida Keys
Best Overall
Florida Keys - Monroe County
Best Food
Florida Keys - Monroe County
Best Service
Florida Keys - Monroe County
Fit for Foodies
Florida Keys - Monroe County
Neighborhood Gem
Florida Keys - Monroe County
Romantic
Florida Keys - Monroe County
Special Occasion
Florida Keys - Monroe County
Most Booked
Florida Keys - Monroe County
Best Restaurants in Key West ›

neighborhood gem (75)
special occasion (68)
romantic (64)
See All
fit for foodies (60)
great for outdoor dining (46)
notable wine list (35)
good for groups (19)
great for lunch (7)
late-night find (6)
hot spot (5)
great for brunch (5)
scenic view (2)
kid-friendly (2)
Sort By:
Newest
1094 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great food Always come for hogfish. ...

 
 (Key West)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Great food

Always come for hogfish. One of best places in key west.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best Hogfish in town!

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Best Hogfish in town!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Their actual menu lacked a number of ite ...

 
 (Key West)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Their actual menu lacked a number of items that their online menu said they had.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service5
value1

We had walked by several times and noted ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

We had walked by several times and noted a great outdoor dining room, but never stopped. Finally made reservations... and was not disappointed. Beautiful atmosphere. Food was delicious. We'll definitely be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of my favorite restaurants in Key We ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

One of my favorite restaurants in Key West. Best hogfish in town.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was my choice for my birthday dinne ...

 
 (Key West)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

This was my choice for my birthday dinner and was thoroughly impressed. Food service excellent. Love that the owner comes around to introduce himself and ensure you are having a good time. Mentioned to him it was my birthday and my dessert came out with a candle and staff singing happy birthday. Nice touch. Will def return

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

excellent food and service, outside a li ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

excellent food and service, outside a little to hot for comford.

Tags: romantic, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

It was my second time at this place. The ...

vip
 (Southwest FL)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

It was my second time at this place. The first, in March, was excellent, very tasty. This time was different. Something happened to the food, with none to be good. Disappointing experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4

Our dinners were terrific, as always. T ...

 
 (Southwest FL)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Our dinners were terrific, as always. There was an issue with pricing, and our waiter was brusque and almost rude. No manager at the restaurant to resolve the issue. Hostess stepped in and re-issued our check correctly, so we paid and left. ($50. Dollar difference!) However, they still haven't issued a credit, so we have two charges on our statement 4 days later. Not the best experience at what was our favorite restaurant in Key West.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We had soup, salad and entrees. Each ite ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

We had soup, salad and entrees. Each item was fantastic. Wonderful food

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

The hogfish was as delicious as everyone ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

The hogfish was as delicious as everyone said. The sides were ok that's why I rated 4 and not 5 stars.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

My wife and totally enjoyed our dining e ...

 
 (Key West)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

My wife and totally enjoyed our dining experience at Cafe Sole during a recent visit. We'd recommend trying the entire menu... we had the Escargot, Beet Salad, and the "award-winning #can't miss" Hog Snapper. We'll definitely visit again sometime real soon!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was relatively quiet when we arrived, ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

It was relatively quiet when we arrived, but service was attentive, but not overbearing. The food overall was amazing with great flavors-the gazpacho fresh and the conch carpaccio tender and well seasoned. The hearts of palm salad could be elevated by a bit more seasoning, but wasn't bad. I enjoyed the blackened grouper, cooked perfectly,and my husband enjoyed the bouillabaisse.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

An excellent meal!

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

An excellent meal!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food is average at best but in a sma ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

The food is average at best but in a small town like Key West it gets good reviews.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

As always the food was excellent. As loc ...

 
 (Key West)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

As always the food was excellent. As locals we frequent it often. The only hitch was the wording of their newspaper ad regarding special pricing was confusing.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Really great meal! Thoroughly enjoyed i ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Really great meal! Thoroughly enjoyed it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always a great experience! A perfect key ...

 
 (Key West)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Always a great experience! A perfect key west restaurant. Food cant be surpassed

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

We always try to check out where the loc ...

 
 (Omaha)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

We always try to check out where the locals like to eat, and this was a recommendation from a person we met who has lived in Key West for several years. This little cafe was a real find. Complimentary homemade hummus and bread started us off. For our entrees, we had the sauteed hog fish topped with a roasted red pepper hollandaise--sounds rich but wasn't--and it was fabulous. (This from a person who really doesn't care for fish.) It came with 4 tasting sized mounds of deliciously different vegetables. The wine selection is very nice and their offerings for dessert are compelling. We had the Key Lime pie and hands down it was the best we've ever had. Definitely worth your time. Make reservations, though. It's "intimate."

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

My wife and I were given a recommendatio ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

My wife and I were given a recommendation we will never regret. Cafe Sole is a gem in the middle of an average residential neighborhood that was within walking distance of our as well as many other quaint Key West lodging locations. The menu has a vast variety of choices, and everything we ordered was well prepared, artfully presented. The staff was well versed on the menu and quite attentive. We would gladly pay full price, but were also very pleased to find the "Early Bird" special that allows you to order any entree on the menu for $20.00 if you are seated before 6:30pm. Cafe Sole will be first on our list for dinner reservations when we next visit Key West.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Will definitely be back. Food was amazin ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

Will definitely be back. Food was amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Another super gem in Key West. Not the ...

 
 (Key West)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

Another super gem in Key West. Not the type of place you go to often but a great place to take someone you love for a romantic special evening. My wife doesn't like lima beans but the way they were prepared at Café Sole had her eating them along with everything else on the plate.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Our favorite restaurant in key west for ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Our favorite restaurant in key west for many years.

Love the hogfish

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Entrees were excellent. Jason, our serve ...

 
 (Key West)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Entrees were excellent. Jason, our server, was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and service but unpleasantly warm

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Dined at Café Solé on final night of a fantastic Key West family vacation. Visited other Key West restaurants daily during the week and Café Solé had been recommended by a local resident. Lobster bisque, gazpacho and snapper dishes were fabulous. Service and wine were excellent. But the covered outdoor dining space at 8:30 p.m. was uncomfortably warm, even with ceiling fans and light attire. Will try again on my next trip to Key West, assuming cooler temperatures or changes to restaurant conditioned space.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

Last Night in Key West!

 
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on June 7, 2016

For our last evening in Key West, I booked this restaurant after reading all of the excellent reviews. The food was very, very good but a little overpriced in my opinion based on other experiences that we had in Key West. Overall, it was an enjoyable evening and I would recommend this place to others for special occasions.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Great Fresh Find

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on June 2, 2016

Amazing quaint Key West restaurant a little off the main drag. Small but fresh and expertly prepared menu. Super hospitable staff, too. The Hogfish, Conche Carpaccio and Duck de l'range are all amazing. I will definitely repeat.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious, romantic, quaint...with excel ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

Delicious, romantic, quaint...with excellent service. The grouper and hogfish were incredible! Also delicious the baby clams and seafood risotto.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Hogfish!! Grouper!! Both awesome, wine c ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

Hogfish!! Grouper!! Both awesome, wine choices are great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

From the greeting at the door to finally ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on May 25, 2016

From the greeting at the door to finally leaving, it was hard to find any fault; maybe not having an odd bottle of Chateau D'Yquem about?

I normally find many negatives in restaurants which don't encourage me to return. From the freshness of food, excellent culinary skills of the chef, adequate but by no means modest or squanderous portions to the real but respectful joviality of the staff, there was no fault.

It's a pity we don't live close enough to feast there every evening else we would.

Res ipsa loquitur!

Enjoy!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My party had a wonderful time! We apprec ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on May 23, 2016

My party had a wonderful time! We appreciated being able to be seated inside or out- great option! Thanks.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Absolute favorite place in Key West! Foo ...

 
 (Key West)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Absolute favorite place in Key West! Food, staff,owner and ambience off the chart! I go as often as possible, bring family , friends and recommend to everyone who asks😊

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This has always been a very favorite of ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

This has always been a very favorite of ours. The best suggestion when dining at Café Sole is to go with the chef recommendations. The Hog Fish dish that is highly recommended is one of the best fish dishes I have ever experienced. Perfectly prepared. It is safe to say, whatever your choice on the menu, it will be memorable. If you are in Key West, don't miss the opportunity to enjoy Café Sole.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Cafe Sole - Key West

 
 (New England)
·Dined on May 19, 2016

We were vacationing in Key West and this restaurant was highly recommended. It did not disappoint, especially for its very fresh seafood. Both the food and service was high quality for casual dining. Definitely recommend it to others.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The "Hug SnapperSole'" was the best fish ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 18, 2016

The "Hug SnapperSole'" was the best fish I ever had. Took friends based on recommendation, and was not disappointed. Wonderful night with friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Best fish entree I've ever had!

 
 (NW Florida)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

The reasons Cafe Sole did not get 5 stars across the board is how uncomfortably warm it was. I think the indoor/outdoor patio seating is a novel idea; however, the ceiling fans did not cool it down nearly enough. The food prices were expected though the wine markup was higher than most places (a glass would run around $14). And we were eating in mid-May at 9 pm. Otherwise, this was an amazing dining experience. The hog snapper was OUTSTANDING. I've never had better seafood. Ever. Plus, our server was knowledgeable not only about the food, but also about the wine. Impressive!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Hog Fish was over the top. A must while ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

Hog Fish was over the top. A must while in Key West!

Tags: great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Went to cafe sole for a romantic birthda ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

Went to cafe sole for a romantic birthday dinner and it was the perfect place. Food was amazing, and service was incredible! The server brought my wife a birthday key lime pie with a candle and that was delicious!

Will definitely be going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This is my second visit to Cafe Sole. F ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

This is my second visit to Cafe Sole. Food is always amazing and the ambiance feels like your at a friends dinner party.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great for seafood

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 12, 2016

I had the scallops special which was excellent. My wife had a filet -- it was just ok.

Always order seafood at Sole.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.