Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.26mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.26mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.26mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.26mi

About Cafe Sole - Key West

Café Solé has captured the hearts and palates of locals and visitors lucky enough to discover this culinary gem off the beaten path. By combining his French mastery of sauces with fresh locally caught seafood, John has created a menu unlike any on the island, where every dish is bursting with indescribable flavors. Mutton snapper in pesto and champagne, yellowtail in a beurre blanc of lobster or a rare hog snapper with red pepper zabaglione top a list of nightly specials. As for the classics, the Duck a L'Orange, Rack of Lamb with herb de Province and Lobster Bouillaise are as authentic as you will find this side of Paris. Chef Correa combines the best of both of his worlds, European and Caribbean to win the People's Choice and Best Entree awards at a recent Master Chefs Classic

1029 Southard St.
Key West, FL 33040
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
French, Fish, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner Nightly: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Frances St.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(305) 294-0230

Website:
http://www.cafesole.com/

Executive Chef:
John Correa

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Gluten-free Menu, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

Cafe Sole - Key West Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.5

Noise

Quiet

95% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (26)
Good for a Date (22)
Special Occasion (21)
See All
Romantic (21)
Good for Anniversaries (17)
Great for Outdoor Dining (16)
Quiet Conversation (13)
Fit for Foodies (12)
Local Ingredients (12)
Cozy (12)
Notable Wine List (10)
Creative Cuisine (10)
Authentic (9)
Casual (8)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Fun (5)
Happy Hour (4)
Business Meals (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Great for Brunch (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Tapas (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Healthy (1)
People Watching (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort By:
S
1557 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 5 hours ago

Excellent service. Very personal and attentive. Will be going back soon!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 3 days ago

Never disappointed. Even post Irma, with short power outages they put out consistently great food. Great wine list too. Must have hogfish snapper!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Was great. Good service. Good food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 1, 2017

It was our first time and we were not disappointed, the hog fish was outstanding as well as the crab cakes. Service was very friendly and great value

Tags: Authentic, Casual, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (London)·Dined on August 30, 2017

really enjoyed dinner -- key lime pie great desert. lobster and snapper great

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Naples)·Dined on August 29, 2017

Brought friends here for their first time. We all had the hogfish entree, which turned them into hogfish lovers. It was prepared perfectly, as usual. So moist and tender with absolutely no fishy taste, and I'm very picky about my fish! The sides were great too. I like how they serve 4 or 5 small sides so you get to taste several instead of just one or two. The server can make or break your dining experience, and ours was excellent, just enhancing the evening.

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Keys seafood with a French flair. Magnifique! Superb preparation of local hogfish and yellowtail snapper.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Excellent. We enjoyed our meal so much. Friendly staff. Great hog snapper. The grouper was very good. One of our best meals in Key West.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Fantastic local restaurant. Highly recommend the goat fish specialty.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 25, 2017

Was told by a local to go here..... was not disappointed!!
It Was amazing food, beautiful little place.
Sat on covered patio, enjoyed wonderful food, server was well educated and trained well.
Thank you for a wonderful dinner!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 24, 2017

Had a 9pm reservation when the special was 50 percent off food. When we received our check it was for the full amount. When we questioned the waiter he immediately produced the correct check which he had ready in a folder. Food was excellent by the way.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
·Dined on August 23, 2017

We live in Key West but have only been here a few times. It's always pretty good but pricey. Service is always great. One of the better food options in a town that lacks fine dining. Hogfish was fantastic, shrimp were average, and pasta dish was good.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on August 23, 2017

We went to Café Solé on the recommendation of a local resident. The Hogfish was recommended and it did not disappoint. The food was fresh, very well prepared, nicely inspired and the entire meal was delicious. The service was excellent and the waiters were very knowledgeable pleasant and attentive. I would highly recommend trying this place and is one of the very best I have tried in Key West.

Tags: Casual, Healthy, Romantic, Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 22, 2017

One of my best friends said this is his favorite restaurant in KW.
I was here before and equally underwhelmed.
We booked well in advance and waited, albeit, a relatively short time for an inside table.
Unfortunately a group of loud and obnoxious party of 6 were next to us in a very confined area. The folks next to us mitigated the disruption by joining us in the calumniation of their diatribe.
The conch carpaccio lacked imagination. It could use a baby spinach or arugula base, some more conch and a little less citrus.
The hogfish special was small, well seasoned but left me hungry.
Lamb chops not a good choice and over cooked.
I don't think I will go back.
Overall value marginal
Tim

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 22, 2017

Café Sole never disappoints. We went this time for our anniversary which they acknowledged upon arriving, and our table was ready for us within minutes. The food and service were amazing as always. We can't wait to go back again real soon.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 22, 2017

I am a "local" and took my best friend there to [barely, partially] thank her for taking care of my KW home while I was away for 10 weeks! Food is consistently and dependably good. My crab cake appetizer was an 8 (out of 10) and her "angels on horseback" a 9. My rack of lamb gets a 7 and her shrimp on pasta an 8. There are better in KW but more $$$ and Cafe' Sole' is always very acceptable.

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Excellent service, excellent food, and my wife found the whole experience very magical and romantic as mid way through our meal as we sat outside in the covered area it began to rain - giving us a chance to listen to the rhythms of the rain pouring down

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Best hogfish in the Keys. Great service and food. This restaurant is a must!

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 17, 2017

Wonderful petite restaurant with great entrees and service. Nice covered outdoor eating area.

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Key West)·Dined on August 16, 2017

Always a treat to go to Cafe Sole. The Hogfish dish is out of this world !

Tags: Quick Bite, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Good for a Date, Casual, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Key West)·Dined on August 14, 2017

Loved the grouper Romesco, skirt steak, and snails, another great dinner at Café Sole.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, People Watching, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Key West)·Dined on August 14, 2017

Took advantage of their 50% off all food deal after9pm and able to try several appetizers that I would have never done at full price. Go do this while it lasts. Service was excellent. Food was exceptional. Regular prices for apps would have been steep . great atmosphere and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 12, 2017

We have eaten at Café Soul many times. The dinner was fantastic. The atmosphere was very good.

Tags: Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Key West)·Dined on August 11, 2017

Another wonderful meal at our favorite neighborhood café.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 10, 2017

Food was delicious, loved the ambiance and the staff was curtious and responsive. We were on vacation with our teenage boys and just randomly chose it for our last evening out. I will keep it in mind the next time we're that far south in the key west.

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Afternoon Coffee, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Afternoon Tea, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 9, 2017

Excellent food, especially the hog snapper. Service was good & great wine selection. Fine food so expect the price tag to match.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 9, 2017

Cafe Sole is consistently a five star dining experience. The staff is impeccable along with a very tranquil, classy setting. Yet, it's all about the food which is the focal point and never ever do they disappoint. We had the surf and turf option with the kick off of Lobster week. The John Lennon table is not only adorable but a wonderfully cool spot to chill out at on those very hot Key West summer days. The early dining option of 50% off food just can not be matched anywhere on the island with the highest quality ingredients. Thanks for memorable dining experiences year after year, after year.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 6, 2017

The menu offers something for everyone at a reasonable price. The service was very good.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Gluten Free Options, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 1, 2017

Great food. Upset to find out we could of got our $37 meals for $20 the next night

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 29, 2017

The food was delicious! I had the Hogfish and my friend had the Shrimp pasta dish. Everything was wonderful! Look forward to returning to Key West and enjoying another delicious dinner at Cafe Sole.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Key West)·Dined on July 27, 2017

Always a pleasure! Susan welcomes everyone like old friends. Best hogfish on the island.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Key West)·Dined on July 27, 2017

Unbelievably fresh and tasty yellow tail prepared to perfection in a mango salsa with a variety of sides that were the perfect compliment - From seating to server to busboy a fine tuned team that made the entire dining experience superb

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 27, 2017

Delicious food! Cafe Sole was recommended by our Airbnb host and it was, by far, the BEST since we've been in Keys. Our waiter made great suggestions. So happy we made it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on July 25, 2017

Another excellent meal. Our favorite spot in Key West. Server was not overly attentitive. No wine glass for the second person and the only way to refill the glasses was to walk over to the corner where wine was chilling. the food, however, was perfect.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on July 25, 2017

Our server was fantastic...present but not overbearing. The food was good. I will go back and recommend!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 25, 2017

Live down the street and are fortunate to have a great restaurant close to us!

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Fun, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on July 23, 2017

My Wife and I celebrated our 35th Wedding Anniversary at Cafe Sole on July 23rd. This was our second time at the restaurant. Every detail was perfect and the waiter, Jason, made the night extra special. Every course was superb, the wine selections were excellent! We will make Cafe Sole a must on all future visits to Key West!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Key West)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Love this restarant. Eat here every time I'm in key west which is twice a year. Great food. Great service Had the hogfish and stuffed artichoke. Delicious Would highly recommend this restarant I send people here all the time

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Unreservedly yes! Such good food, outstanding service, lovely patio, and a well-rounded wine list. We look forward to returning.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 21, 2017

Best fresh hogfish, outstanding value, great service

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.