About Cafe Sole - Key West

1029 Southard St.
Key West, FL 33040
View Larger Map

Café Solé has captured the hearts and palates of locals and visitors lucky enough to discover this culinary gem off the beaten path. By combining his French mastery of sauces with fresh locally caught seafood, John has created a menu unlike any on the island, where every dish is bursting with indescribable flavors. Mutton snapper in pesto and champagne, yellowtail in a beurre blanc of lobster or a rare hog snapper with red pepper zabaglione top a list of nightly specials. As for the classics, the Duck a L'Orange, Rack of Lamb with herb de Province and Lobster Bouillaise are as authentic as you will find this side of Paris. Chef Correa combines the best of both of his worlds, European and Caribbean to win the People's Choice and Best Entree awards at a recent Master Chefs Classic

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
French, Fish, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner Nightly: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Frances St.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(305) 294-0230

Website:
http://www.cafesole.com/

Executive Chef:
John Correa

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Gluten-free Menu, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Chocolate Pecan Pie
Palmito (Heart of Palm) Salad
Thanksgiving Dinner
Lobster Bisque
Angels on Horseback
Shrimp And Scallops Over Angel Hair Pasta
Stone Crab Claws
Hog Snapper
Crab Claws
Key Lime Pie
Ostrich Medallions

Specials

50% Off Food Only

Special valid Sep 16, 2016 - Oct 21, 2016 all week from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Thanksgiving Dinner Special Menus & Offers

Thursday, November 24, 2016

Buy 1 Glass - Get 1 Free

Special valid Sep 15, 2016 - Oct 21, 2016 all week from 5:00 PM - 7:00 PM

Specials

50% Off Food Only

Special valid Sep 16, 2016 - Oct 21, 2016 all week from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Details

50% Off Food Only. Excludes Tax and Tip. Not valid with any other offers. Special valid Sep 16, 2016 - Oct 21, 2016 all week from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM.

Thanksgiving Dinner Special Menus & Offers

Thursday, November 24, 2016

Details

Cafe Sole - Key West will be serving traditional Thanksgiving menu in addition to the regular a la carte offerings.

Buy 1 Glass - Get 1 Free

Special valid Sep 15, 2016 - Oct 21, 2016 all week from 5:00 PM - 7:00 PM

Details

Selected Wines. Excludes Tax and Tip. Not valid with any other offers. Special valid Sep 15, 2016 - Oct 21, 2016 all week from 5:00 PM - 7:00 PM.

Cafe Sole - Key West Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.3

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Neighborhood Gem
Key West / Florida Keys
Romantic
Key West / Florida Keys
Special Occasion
Key West / Florida Keys
5 More
Most Booked
Key West / Florida Keys
Neighborhood Gem
Florida Keys - Monroe County
Romantic
Florida Keys - Monroe County
Special Occasion
Florida Keys - Monroe County
Most Booked
Florida Keys - Monroe County
Best Restaurants in Key West â€ș

Neighborhood Gem (50)
Romantic (41)
Special Occasion (40)
See All
Fit for Foodies (33)
Great for Outdoor Dining (23)
Notable Wine List (21)
Good for Groups (13)
Creative Cuisine (10)
Good for a Date (10)
Local Ingredients (9)
Cozy (9)
Good for Anniversaries (9)
Casual (8)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Authentic (6)
Worth the Drive (5)
Late-night Find (4)
Outstanding Value (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Healthy (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Scenic View (2)
Fun (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Private Room (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Family Style (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
People Watching (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Business Meals (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1134 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Awesome, awesome, awesome! Absolutely ...

 
 (Key West)
·Dined 3 days ago

Awesome, awesome, awesome!

Absolutely love this place😊

Tags: Good for Groups, Open Kitchen, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, People Watching, Private Room, Healthy, Outstanding Value, Fun, Disabled Access, Cozy, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We have been here several times and am n ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined 6 days ago

We have been here several times and am never disappointed. The hog snapper is a real treat and expertly prepared. The summer/fall promo is an exceptional value. Service is friendly and efficient. A trip to Key West is not complete without a visit here.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Visited Café Sole during our visit to Ke ...

vip
 (Key West)
·Dined 6 days ago

Visited Café Sole during our visit to Key West. It was so good that we have made another reservation for our last night.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Very disappointing place neither the pla ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined 7 days ago

Very disappointing place neither the place, food or service is good. Over priced even at there 50% off in Sept.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

The meal was phenomenal and the service ...

 
 (Key West)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

The meal was phenomenal and the service was excellent. A really enjoyable meal out with good friends.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Whenever we are in Key West, Cafe Sole i ...

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Whenever we are in Key West, Cafe Sole is a must! Angels on horseback can't be missed! The hog fish and snapper sole is amazing. Service is exceptional.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very good food and at a good price wrigh ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Very good food and at a good price wright now running a special . Will go again next time in key west.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I can't seem to be able to try anything ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

I can't seem to be able to try anything besides the Hogfish and Key Lime pie. It never disappoints. We have been here ten days this trip and visited Cafe Sole three times. The service is always top notch. Can't wait until we come back.

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Cafe Sole had great reviews on TripAdvis ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Cafe Sole had great reviews on TripAdvisor but the chef/owner must have been on vacation. Maybe that is why all the entrées were half price. The signature Hogfish entrée was so full of bones it was inedible plus it had a pitiful amount of sauce. The waiter did offer to replace it but it was too late to make a good impression. The fresh anchovy appetizer had been dry, not fresh, and flavorless; the bread seemed to be on the stale side. The room we were seated in was small with tables very close together. Everyone joined in the conversation which was fun but not what you want for a romantic, special occasion dinner. The wine list was very good, though. We would try Cafe Sole again but would call first to make sure the chef was there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value3

This is our favorite restaurant in Key W ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

This is our favorite restaurant in Key West, or maybe even the U.S. We always visit here a couple of times whenever we are in Key West. The food is wonderful, although I can't get myself to try anything besides the Hogfish. The service is also the best we have found on the island.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service and food! Would have given ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Great service and food! Would have given 5 stars if it was cooler. Open air patio seating made it somewhat uncomfortable on a hot humid evening in Key West.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Wonderful food! Service is friendly, att ...

 
 (Key West)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

Wonderful food! Service is friendly, attentive and efficient. We will continue to re-visit every time we are in town!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We've been coming here for 18 years, and ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

We've been coming here for 18 years, and never fail to be amazed by the quality of the food, as well as the service and wine selection. This time we had a for course menu for our anniversary celebration, and everything was cooked to perfection. Just follow your waiter's suggestions, and you can't be wrong. The price was surprisingly reasonable for what you get.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Cozy, Good for a Date, Family Style, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had not been to cafe sole in a few years ...

 
 (Key West)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Had not been to cafe sole in a few years and a local recommended it especially with the reduced prices this time of year. Food was fair at best service was ok and the chairs were very uncomfortable. I was really disappointed with my dining experience . I eat out a lot when I come to key west and will not plan on coming back anytime soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

Just a great restaurant and a must for y ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

Just a great restaurant and a must for your Key West visit. Legendary Hog Snapper is awesome.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Molecular Gastronomy, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Friendly staff, excellent values, food w ...

 
 (Key West)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

Friendly staff, excellent values, food was great (I always get the Hog Fish). We go there often and will continue to do so.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Wonderful meal, wonderful service, wond ...

 
 (Key West)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

Wonderful meal, wonderful service, wonderful location to our Inn. Will definitely go back! Highly recommend!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Hog Fish was out of this world. It ...

 
 (Key West)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

The Hog Fish was out of this world. It was a great night for us.

John Therasse and Johna

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Private Room, Cozy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I dine here often. Took 2 of my out of ...

 
 (Key West)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

I dine here often. Took 2 of my out of town friends. Food and service excellent as always!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Our go to favorite! We always go to Caf ...

 
 (Key West)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Our go to favorite! We always go to Cafe Sole when we're in town. And the summer special on 50% off entrees and 2 for 1 wine by the glass are a great value! Consistently good food, great atmosphere, exceptional service. Highly recommend.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Took dear friends here for their 20th an ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Took dear friends here for their 20th anniversary. Treated like royalty with great waiter, great service and outstanding food. As a finale thry served us complimentary flutes of champagne. Last meal in Key West before end of our vacation and it was the best.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing experience from the moment you w ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

Amazing experience from the moment you walk in the door

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was highly expensive, bland & the s ...

vip
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Food was highly expensive, bland & the sides were unpalatable. So disappointed...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2

Hogfish- wow once again

 
 (Key West)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Hogfish- wow once again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Hogfish was delicious & primarily the re ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Hogfish was delicious & primarily the reason we went. Service was excellent and our waiter was knowledgeable about the wine list. Unknown to us, there was a 50% off entre deal going on and bogo glasses of select wines. Inside seemed like it could use a cleanse but no complaints on the service, price, & food. Would definitely recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

TERRIFIC DINNER! WE WERE SURPRISED TO FI ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

TERRIFIC DINNER! WE WERE SURPRISED TO FIND OUT THEY HAVE 50% OFF OF DINNERS ON MONDAY'S AND TUESDAY'S. YOU WILL THROUGHLY ENJOY IT.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Exceptional dining experience! Food was ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Exceptional dining experience! Food was outstanding and ambiance was great for our group of 3 parents and 5 daughters.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great Spot. My Favorite Restaurant in Ke ...

 
 (Key West)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Great Spot. My Favorite Restaurant in Key West. Hog Fish is OUTSTANDING. TOP NOTCH. Check papers for coupons. Got one for Half Off.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect for a romantic evening with grea ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Perfect for a romantic evening with great service and a great chef. Summer deal was outstanding.

Tags: Late-night Find, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We ALWAYS try to get to Cafe Sole at lea ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

We ALWAYS try to get to Cafe Sole at least once on our trips to Key West. The hogfish dish is the best in the world! And, they have a great wine list and helpful staff. I would have given a perfect 5 star but on ambience, I put 4. It's located in a great location in a house in old town residential section and decor is perfect. Just, occasionally, in July and August, the dining area can be a little warm. I hope those reading the review understand this would never stop us from going. Obviously, we've been there enough to know something this detailed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

A very good meal, though a little pricey ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

A very good meal, though a little pricey considering entrees were half off. Tables were very close and we had a non-stop loud talker at next table which took away from our dining experience, no fault to restaurant.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

We celebrated our 28th anniversary at Ca ...

 
 (Key West)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

We celebrated our 28th anniversary at Cafe Sole and had an excellent time. The quality of the food was great, I gave it 4 stars because of the sides not the main part of the entree. I had the hog snapper and my husband had the grouper, both ( they know how to cook fish, not over done) excellent. Our waiter was excellent! The wine list is great as well. Don't miss it if you are in Key West!

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent experience from start to finis ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Excellent experience from start to finish. So happy we fit this stop into our plans!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The food was excellently prepared and ta ...

 
 (Key West)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

The food was excellently prepared and tasted great! The summer special pricing was also very well received...

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The best find in Key West. The waiter wa ...

 
 (Key West)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

The best find in Key West. The waiter was exceptional. Very friendly!! Food was excellent! Everyone was very friendly and helpful. We have been coming to Key West for 28 years. So good to find an out of the way, good all the way around restaurant. Can't say enough about the good experience we had.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband looked for a special dinner f ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

My husband looked for a special dinner for our last night in key west. Made a 7pm reservation. Arrived at 6:45. Hostess acted very put out that we were a little early and they were far from full. We were seated. Then we sat for more than 10 minutes and I had to get the attention of an assistant/bus boy to get our waiter so we could even order a drink. Our waiter was not very friendly at all. My husband ordered the duck with orange sauce. Duck was okay, orange sauce was terrible. We have eaten all over the world and know sauces and this is horrible sauce. My yellow tail snapper was good. And the escargot was good. Restrooms are not air conditioned and extremely stuffy. No ventilation at all. The restaurant itself is mainly outside also with little to no ventilation. Service, attitude and overall uncomfortableness of this restaurant definitely has made this a no rest urn for us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

The hogfish dinner was very good but ver ...

 
 (Key West)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

The hogfish dinner was very good but very pricey for the amount of local fish one received. At the seafood market it is 22.00/lb. We got problably 1/3 of a lb each. Each meal was 36.00. Presented well. Key lime pie was very good also. No appetizer, one small piece of pie. We ordered 3 glasses of wine at 15/glass.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

We have eaten here every time we come to ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

We have eaten here every time we come to Key West which has

been over 20 years! The Hog Fish special is fantastic!

This evening they had a 50% off all entrees, including the

Hog Fish! Such a deal! The service is understated and

very friendly.

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Consistently great food. We have been ea ...

 
 (Key West)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Consistently great food. We have been eating dinners here for years.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We came for the evening special between ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

We came for the evening special between 5 and 7 p.m. Everyone was very welcoming and attentive. Our food was good and timed perfectly. One complaint that I don't the restaurant has control over were the people next to us. A table of 4 women sat down and, for some reason, it was important to talk loud and with foul language. It spoiled the experience for us. I am not sure what you can do about people who have to do that. We could have asked for another table; however, the restaurant is very small inside and I don't know that it would have made much of a difference, unless we went outside.

Another suggestion for wait staff: I don't mind that you smoke. Just be sure to wash your hands after you've smoked because the smell is very strong at the table.

We will definitely return, though, because of the staff and the food.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.