Cafe Sole - Key West

4.6
1756 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
French
Top Tags:
  • Good for a Date
  • Romantic
  • Special Occasion
Café Solé has captured the hearts and palates of locals and visitors lucky enough to discover this culinary gem off the beaten path. By combining his French mastery of sauces with fresh locally caught seafood, John has created a menu unlike any on the island, where every dish is bursting with indescribable flavors. Mutton snapper in pesto and champagne, yellowtail in a beurre blanc of lobster or a rare hog snapper with red pepper zabaglione top a list of nightly specials. As for the classics, the Duck a L'Orange, Rack of Lamb with herb de Province and Lobster Bouillaise are as authentic as you will find this side of Paris. Chef Correa combines the best of both of his worlds, European and Caribbean to win the People's Choice and Best Entree awards at a recent Master Chefs Classic
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
French, Fish, Seafood
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Dinner Nightly: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(305) 294-0230
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
John Correa
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Frances St.
Additional
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Gluten-free Menu, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wine
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined 3 days ago

First visit with my daughter
Return visit for me

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 7 days ago

Father’s Day meal

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 7 days ago

Cafe Sole is one of my husband's favorite if not favorite restaurant in Key West. We went with friends on Saturday. For our friends it was their first experience. They were not disappointed.
We started with artichoke appitizer and escargot. Both of which were superb. My husband ordered the Hog Fish, Friends ordered skirt steak and Filet Mignon, I chose the duck larange
We all loved our meal. Followed by desert of Bananas Foster and Chocolate cake. Wonderful experience. Can't wait to go back.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 13, 2018

Very pleasant restaurant, nice food, very good value as we ate between 5 and 7pm when the food is half price.
Had an issue with the gratuity as 20% automatically added to the bill, which is one thing but it was 20% of the non-discounted total. Maybe because I am British I found this irritating, and maybe Americans accept this as standard practise but I like to choose how much I tip.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 9, 2018

Cafe' Sole' has been a favorite for MANY years. Key West has many fine restaurants but few can match the consistantly high quality food, service and value of Cafe' Sole'. Their presentations are as lovely as they are delicious. To compliment their outstanding food they offer a fine wine list featuring outstanding wines from around the world.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 7, 2018

Excellent dinner we will come back again for sure and the Key Lime pie was the best hands down

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 7, 2018

Cafe Sole was cute, the patio was pleasant and the service was outstanding. I am a chef so my expectations are high, so I was a little disappointed in the food. My scallops were not cooked properly and left a puddle of water on the plate, the vegetables were uninspiring and overcooked, however, the polenta was very good and my husband enjoyed his steak. The best bite we had was the beef carpaccio, which was perfect.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 5, 2018

Cute, quaint little restaurant tucked away in a quieter area of Key West. Perfect for a date night, or nice night out. Hogfish Snapper was TO DIE FOR! Highly recommend. It was a perfect balance of sweet, salty, savory. My girlfriend is a vegetarian, and she kept stealing bites of it.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 4, 2018

Easily one of the best restaurants at which I have ever ate. The Hogfish Sole simply melts in your mouth and the skirt steak was excellently prepared with an amazing flavor. All of the appetizers are delicious, especially the tuna tartare and the escargot.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 4, 2018

My favorite restaurant in Key West.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 31, 2018

Cafe Sole was willing to cook fish we had caught ourselves and cooked it BEAUTIFULLY for us. I highly recommend the mushroom and French onion soups, both were excellent!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 28, 2018

Wonderful flavors served with enthusiasm and knowledge.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 26, 2018

After reading reviews I was expecting one of the best meals of my life. The portobello soup was outstanding but all other items, ncluding signature items were just fair. Nothing extraordinary.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 26, 2018

My husband I and went here for our anniversary while in Key West and loved it. Extensive wine list and amazing food. We tried the gazpacho, hogfish and salmon Oscar. All amazing.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on May 25, 2018

This restaurant was highly recommended but didn't come close the our expectations. The atmosphere and staff were pleasant but the food menu on the internet was completely different than what was offered. Beef carpaccio, home made Foie gras, and surf and turf not on the menu, very disappointed but we tried it anyway... I had the steak Diane, the béarnaise cream sauce was bland, tarragon would have gone a long way. I asked for a lobster tail on the side, and they charged me $42 for the lobster tail as a dinner w no accompaniments. We also had the Black Grouper, that was nice, the highlight of our evening was the Quattro dessert, if that helps your decision...

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 25, 2018

We ate in their covered patio area that was nice because it was somewhat open however the overall appearance was a little rough and in a good downpour you might not want to be seated under one of the gutter's for the building. The food was great.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 23, 2018

Cafe Sole was everything you want from a romantic French restaurant - delicious tasty dishes, excellent service and romantic atmosphere; I wouldn't hesitate to recommend!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Love Cafe Sole and go every time we visit key west. Everything I have ordered is amazing from the Sea Food Pasta through to the lamb chops. Hog Snapper is potentially the best thing I have ever eaten.
Would recommend to anyone who is ready for a great meal. While its a bit high dollar I personally believe it is worth every penny.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 12, 2018

Overpriced, the rissoto is not made with arborio, seafood grossly overcooked. Spend your money elsewhere.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on May 11, 2018

It was not our first time
Food is delicious
Service could be much better, not very friendly
We won’t go back

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 10, 2018

Wonderful. Nice quiet place. Hogfish is the best!!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 7, 2018

We got here on a Monday at 6. They have a 3 course special from 5-6:30. We had the hog fish and the tuna tataki and it was excellent. No better hog fish on the island, I have looked. The tuna was perfect. It was $33 per meal which is a bargain! Worth the walk but we took an Uber down and back, too dang hot for us Montana folk.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 6, 2018

Excellent as always. The mushroom soup is perfect as is the hogfish and lamb. Key Lime pie - the best on the island. Service - perfect.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 4, 2018

Jean-Pierre provides the perfect recommendations: French onion soup (do not leave without someone in your party ordering this) and hogsnapper sole. Will make this a regular place for us!

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on May 3, 2018

Food was dated and not all that delicious...

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 2, 2018

Service impeccable but food so so.. also very expensive.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 28, 2018

Outstanding restaurant. Great food, service & ambiance

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 25, 2018

Food and service were excellent. Continues to be my favorite restaurant in KW.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 25, 2018

Beet and goat cheese napoleon and the local shrimp over angel hair pasta with tomato and basil was very good.
Key lime pie was nicely done.
Attentive staff was very pleasant.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 25, 2018

Great find. Wonderful food. My only complaint was that we made an 8 PM reservation, but were not seated until 8:30. Better scheduling would have enhanced the experience. They did apologize for the delay, and gave us a first glass of wine to compensate.

I will go back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 24, 2018

We've been going to this restaurant for more than 10 years and the Hog Snapper Special is as good as ever! Wait Staff, , Hostesses and atmosphere are friendly and very helpful!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 24, 2018

Have been coming here for years...have never been disappointed! Signature Hog Snapper the best on the Island. Don C

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 23, 2018

Another great dining experience.
Great service meal in comfortable surroundings

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 23, 2018

The hogfish was truly amazing!!!!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 23, 2018

Never disappoints.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 22, 2018

Strongly recommend for Key West. Will not disappoint. BTW there are VERY FEW restaurants to whom I give 5 stars

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 21, 2018

The food was amazing, but we were a bit put off by the staff because they rushed us through our meal. We had a late reservation - 9 pm - but by 10 they were rushing us out and actually turned off the lights in the main dining room. We wanted to take our time and have a long dinner, and given this is a French restaurant, you’d think that would be pretty standard. The food was great, but the way the staff treated us really turned us off.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 20, 2018

Wonderful menu, I could have ordered the carpaccio of octopus 3 times. Beyond delicious. Service very good, pleasant and a great wine selection.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 20, 2018

It is simply the BEST restaurant in Key West. The hog fish is a gastronomical delight. Try angels on horseback for an appetizer. Have been coming here for over 15 years and still haven’t found a better restaurant. Make sure you make reservations. It can get crowded and tables are close together. But so what - we have always had great conversations with our dinner mates.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 19, 2018

Food delicious but simple. Service was very good.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
44

Tweets by Cafe Sole - Key West