Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.09mi
  4. Distance: 0.09mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.09mi
  4. Distance: 0.09mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.09mi
  4. Distance: 0.09mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.09mi
  4. Distance: 0.09mi

About Cafe SFA

Cafe SFA is a hidden gem nestled on the 8th floor of the iconic flagship Saks Fifth Avenue store. Chef Alex Reyes' menu is fresh and seasonal with daily specials served alongside an inventive selection of entrees, salads, and sandwiches. A stylish and comfortable interior features bird's-eye views of Rockefeller Center and St. Patrick's Cathedral. Café SFA is a popular midtown business lunch spot and a favorite destination for shoppers and international visitors. Private events are also a specialty and Café SFA can host functions of all types and sizes at several locales in the store.

611 5th Avenue
New York, NY 10021
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service, Afternoon Tea

Hours of Operation:
Cafe SFA and The Terrace:

Monday-Saturday 12 to 7:30pm
Sunday 12 to 6pm

Cross Street:
49th Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 940-4080

Website:
http://cafesfa.com/

Catering:
Available for private events- please call 212 940 2138 for information

Public Transit:
Subway: B,D,F,M,6,E
Bus: M50

Executive Chef:
Alexandro Reyes

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Cafe SFA hosts special events and dinners throughout the year. Check our website for what is coming up.

Private Dining

The flagship Saks Fifth Avenue store is an iconic setting that emanates luxury and style. Add exquisite food and drink and you have the makings of a truly memorable event. We offer versatile space for corporate and social occasions, from cocktail parties to elegant formal dinners.

Cafe SFA Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.9

service

4.0

ambience

3.9

value

3.5

noise

Moderate

81% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Lunch (12)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Scenic View (7)
See All
Creative Cuisine (6)
Casual (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Business Meals (4)
Quick Bite (4)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Good for a Date (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Afternoon Tea (3)
People Watching (3)
Cozy (2)
Historic (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Special Occasion (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Private Room (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Healthy (1)
Great Beer (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Sort By:
S
149 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 9, 2017

Very disappointed . Difficult to get server's attention for check. Very limited menu --- different from last time I was here. But it's a pretty venu with little competition so will likely come again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 2, 2017

I picked Cafe SFA because of the view but when I arrived it was closed off due to a private event. So we did not get to see the view, enjoy the great weather, so that was a miss for our lunch date.

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Great Beer, Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 22, 2017

great place and a trend i see replicating at other high end retailers. thanks

Tags: Casual, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Scenic View, Sunday Lunch, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 2, 2017

A classic "meet for lunch" place, conveniently located for shopping and MoMA. Easy access to Grand Central Station. I met a friend there who I haven't seen in a very long time and the Cafe SFA was a perfect place to catch up. The waiter did not hurry us and we extended our lunch over several hours. The noise level was perfect for talking. The Lunch Break was really good, especially if you can't decide what you want. It includes a choice of salad, soup and sandwich so you can get a taste of everything. Portion sizes were perfect. I would definitely go back again. It was also fun to be able to do a little shopping at Saks on the way to and fro.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 30, 2017

The tables in the main seating area were crowded together. Our table for two was squeezed in between even two tables of six.
The service was disinterested at best. Still waiting for the basket of rolls. Had to ask twice to have a glass of water.
The Cobb Salad, which is not inexpensive had too much lettuce and not enough of the other ingredients.
Cafe SFA has reached a new low.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 28, 2017

An easy place for casual lunch with friends Service was attentive, food was good, and it's convenient. Not an extensive menu, but there's rnough to choose from. It's a little pricey, but so is SFA.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Casual, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Just love the soup, salad and sandwich for a nice healthy lunch before a show and a quick look in the store.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 23, 2017

This place feels tired. They have updated their menu and made it better, but the room feels like it needs an update to feel that dining there is more than just a meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 23, 2017

Simply divine- the food, the cocktails and the service were fantastic!

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Had an early light supper after shopping. The burrata was excellent in a sweet puddle of tomato jam, served with toast points with just a bit of char around the edges. A glass of cava was the perfect pairing for a view of a rooftop garden across the street.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Lovely space. Great service. Adorable and delicious mini- cupcakes were the best part of the meal in addition to our charming and attentive waiter. Always a fun place to meet a friend for lunch.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 21, 2017

Pleasant lunch here. The combination choices of sandwich , soup, salad are the greatest idea. A small portion of each with choices. A great deal. Had the beet and ricotta appetizer as a lunch and it was superb. There are many dining options here. Will definitely return!

Tags: Modern Decor, Tasting Menu, Good Vegetarian Options, Afternoon Tea, Great for Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 10, 2017

I made a reservation through OpenTable. When we got there we were told the kitchen was already closed

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Great place to stop for lunch while shopping! good is great!

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 8, 2017

It was perfect for a lunch where I could have a conversation. Service was good and the food was tasty. I was disappointed in the presentation of the Cobb salad. It seemed as though the ingredients were just plopped on top of the lettuce in big chunks with no attempt to make it visually appealing. Rather thrown together. And it took longer than expected to get our check.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 4, 2017

I enjoy eating at Cafe SFA. My only reservation in recommending the restaurant is that it is a little pricey for a lunch.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 30, 2017

Throughly enjoyed lunch with an old friend in this up-to-date version of the mid-20th Century 'shopping store restauarant'. Not destined to become a must-dine place for foodies but a really solid place to have a great, relaxing lunch.

And cupcakes!

Tags: Cozy, Good for Groups, Afternoon Tea, Disabled Access, Creative Cuisine, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Please note that to get a seat at the window overlooking Rockefeller Center, your party must be 4 or less guests. The main reason I booked this restaurant was for the view so we were quite disappointed. I prefer the regular menu over the Holiday Menu. When we checked the menu before booking, the regular menu popped up so we were quite surprised when we got to the restaurant and the menu was completely different. There were 5 of us in our group so they seated us at a table for 6 but never removed the 6th place setting so it was a little awkward. The waiter never asked us if we wanted to order drinks. He was just anxious to get our food order. Overall, the food was good and the service was OK, just not up to par for the price of the meal. I would return again but only with a party of 4 where I could have a window seat.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Waited 15 minutes until I was attended to. No water, no service for 15 minutes. Watches as people were seated after me and received water and service. Finally got water and glass was dirty. Overall the food was amazing, but the service can definitely be improved.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Overall, the food and service are pretty good, however the physical space needs updating. It makes a great spot for a meal and view of the Rockefeller Christmas Tree ( ask for
Window seat). It's very convenient if you're in SFA to begin with, and who can resist the walk through the shoe department to get there!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Great ambiance, amazing service, good food. Makes a good spot for dining when in the city.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Groups, Historic, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Good food, view is unbelievable. Nice place from the craziness.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 19, 2016

Went here around Christmas time because I heard you can see rockefeller center tree while you eat. It's on the 8th floor of saks 5th Ave and I made a reservation on open table before hand. When we arrived at 1145am it was pretty empty. There's only about 3 seats that actually can see the tree and that is the only appeal if you aren't looking for a way overpriced meal while you shop. We were seated where we couldn't see, when I asked to move we were obliged but not not happily. Our server could tell we were tourist not interested in wine or mimosas and he appeared annoyed by us the whole time. We orders a combo lunch, tiny sandwich, tiny salad and super tiny cupcake for about $20. It was yummy but without that awesome view, would've been a joke. I would go back because I loved the view and ambiance but for no other reason.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value2

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 18, 2016

There is no afternoon tea here! I read that Cafe SFA was a tearoom here on OpenTable. A little disappointed, but the food was okay. The tables and seats were really close to each other, however, and the food took at least 30 min to get to us. The server was alright too, but it took a really long time to get our check and get it back to be signed... Overall I probably would not come back here again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 15, 2016

Perfect in every way! Great view of the tree at Rockefeller Center and the skaters on the rink, along with the spires of St. Patrick's. Food and service wonderful. A jewel in the heart of Manhattan.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 12, 2016

What a lovely lunch we had! Several old friends got together for a delicious lunch that we were allowed to enjoy without being rushed. The food was great, the service was friendly and unhurried, and the Prosecco was a nice festive touch for the holidays. We're already planning our return visit. Thanks for a wonderful afternoon!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Every year tradition is to journey from CT to see the "tree",a show and enjoy NYC at Christmas time. We ALWAYS have lunch 1st at Café sfa.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on November 30, 2016

Around the time of our wedding anniversary for several years now we've gone to NYC to shop and see a Broadway show. It's become a tradition to have lunch at the Café inside Saks. Regretfully, this was the last year for the Café; we've noticed a decline in lunch quality and quantity. My wife had the "petit curried chicken salad sandwich" with lentil soup, and I had the "petit tuna salad sandwich" with lentil soup. The sandwiches are "microscopic" not "petit." The curried chicken salad taste was fair at best, and the tuna seemed like mystery fish. Each lunch was $21. As a side, we shared French fries at the waiter's suggestion. He didn't tell us they were $10, a lot by even NYC standards. The menu boasted that the cup cakes were voted the "best in NY" by the Village Voice, so we each gave in to temptation. Sadly, the cup cakes were dry and tiny. The service was OK, but we've seen much better at Saks in past years. We remember the days when the servers treated us like we were in a very high-end store.

Tags: People Watching, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 27, 2016

the waiter is not nice at all and I only paid him 10% tips. he is in a hurry about everything and not even polite when I called him.

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

vip
 (Caribbean)·Dined on November 21, 2016

OpenTable confirmed my reservation. When I arrived at the restaurant I was told it was closed for a private event. No prior communication was received from Cafe SFA. I wasted money, time and could not get a reasonable restaurant at the time. I believe there should be better communication between OpenTable and the restaurants. I am very disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 27, 2016

This restaurant has gone down steadily from what it used to be. Not the best NYC choice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 27, 2016

If you are shopping in NYC and looking for a little more than the quick bite, if you are looking for a place to meet up with fellow shoppers for a respite from the ordeals of shopping, something a little more special than a street pretzel or dirty water hotdog, this is a good choice. Not cheap but not over the moon expensive for New York. Great menu for all orders of eaters. You can bring your husband - it's not just a tearoom.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 26, 2016

Lovely setting. We had a table overlooking st. Patrick's.

Tags: Modern Decor, Afternoon Coffee, Sunday Lunch, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 26, 2016

Lovely place for lunch. Loved the table by the window.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on September 30, 2016

We were celebrating a friend's 40th birthday! Our view was wonderful and the food was great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 18, 2016

Always a great escape from tiny and crowded NYC restaurants!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 8, 2016

Reliable go to for midtown girls get together. Even if you don't have time to shop its great to walk thru the shoe department to get some lunch. Has gotten quite pricey in the last couple of years though.

Tags: Casual, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 6, 2016

I had a reservation through Open Table but when I arrived, the hostess said they were closed for a special occasion. They had my phone number but did not try to call me to tell me this. Why did they accept the OT reservation on a night they were closed?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 5, 2016

I cannot answer any of your questions because despite the fact that I made a dinner reservation for 7 pm on Monday. And waited an hour before going to the Cafe because your automated system said the only available reservation was for 7 pm. I was in the store since well before 6 PM.
When I went to the Cafe for my reservation I was told that the kitchen was already closed.
A very nice employee named Christian gave me a tour of the Cafe, it is lovely, and showed me a menu. At my request, he also said he would have the restaurant manager, also named Christian, call me.
Honestly, I can understand a technology glich since Monday was Labor Day but the thing that bothers me the most is that I still have not heard from the restaurant manager. That is really bad service which I would not expect from SAKS. From Alisa 718 637 4908

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 2, 2016

There is a lot I like about the café. but one thing I don't like is that the menu hardly every changes. The menu needs to be expanded, I want more choices of appetizers, sandwiches & burgers.

Tags: Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Brunch, Cozy, Great for Lunch, Casual, Business Meals, Afternoon Coffee, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.