HelpiOS AppAndroid AppWindows Phone AppWindows 8 App

Not available on OpenTable

Unfortunately, this restaurant is not on the OpenTable reservation network.
If you like, we’ll notify you by email if this restaurant joins.
Is this your restaurant? Claim this listing

Permanently Closed - Cafe SFA

3.7
181 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Contemporary American
Top Tags:
  • Great for Lunch
  • Quiet Conversation
  • Afternoon Coffee

Similar Restaurants

About

This restaurant is permanently closed. Cafe SFA is a hidden gem nestled on the 8th floor of the iconic flagship Saks Fifth Avenue store. Chef Alex Reyes' menu is fresh and seasonal with daily specials served alongside an inventive selection of entrees, salads, and sandwiches. A stylish and comfortable interior features bird's-eye views of Rockefeller Center and St. Patrick's Cathedral. Café SFA is a popular midtown business lunch spot and a favorite destination for shoppers and international visitors. Private events are also a specialty and Café SFA can host functions of all types and sizes at several locales in the store.
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Contemporary American, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service, Afternoon Tea
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Cafe SFA and The Terrace:

Monday-Saturday 12 to 7:30pm
Sunday 12 to 6pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(212) 940-4080
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Smart Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Alexandro Reyes
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private party facilities
The flagship Saks Fifth Avenue store is an iconic setting that emanates luxury and style. Add exquisite food and drink and you have the makings of a truly memorable event. We offer versatile space for corporate and social occasions, from cocktail parties to elegant formal dinners.
icon/ic_contactCreated with Sketch.
Private party contact
our Private Event Coordinator: (877) 912-1347
icon/ic_cateringCreated with Sketch.
Catering
Available for private events- please call 212 940 2138 for information
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
49th Street
icon/ic_public_transitCreated with Sketch.
Public transit
Subway: B,D,F,M,6,E
Bus: M50
icon/ic_special_eventsCreated with Sketch.
Special events & promotions
Cafe SFA hosts special events and dinners throughout the year. Check our website for what is coming up.
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 181 People Are SayingWrite a review
Overall ratings and reviews
3.7  based on recent ratings
3.5
food
3.3
service
3.1
ambience
3.2
value
Noise · Moderate
73% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
RickR (New York Area)
1.0  Dined on January 5, 2018

I made this reservation in late December 2017 and it was confirmed by OpenTable. however, it turns out the restaurant closed its door at the end of December without OpenTable or the restaurant giving us any notice. Now Opentable wants me to review!! Get your act together or get out of the business!

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (New York Area)
1.0  Dined on January 3, 2018

I was shocked to discover that I, along with my 5 friends approached Cafe SFA at 12:00 as my reservation said, only to find that it was closed! I had received a reminder just the day before to be there at 12:00, confirming my reservation. I don't know who dropped the ball, either Open Table or Cafe SFA, (I'm assuming it was Cafe SFA but will never know) but needless to say, I would NOT assume from here on in that a reservation made on any online entity is going to be there. I will call ahead from now on to confirm. Thankfully, someone from the restaurant was there when we arrived and offered to make my group another lunch reservation at a restaurant in the area, which saved the day. I was embarrassed and it was a tense time until we had a later lunch reservation confirmed at another restaurant. My takeaway is that you MUST call to confirm any reservation you make. Don't assume that it'll be there when you show up.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Chicago)
5.0  Dined on November 24, 2017

The food was delicious. The service was impeccable, our waitress was very attentive and gave great recommendations. I believe she was from Ohio.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (New York Area)
1.0  Dined on November 16, 2017

Restaurant was closed for a private party!!!!! Never honored our reservation. ! Very upsetting

Report
Helpful
vipconky (New York Area)
2.0  Dined on November 7, 2017

Kitchen messed up our first course and sent our second course before fixing the first. Not ideal and they didn’t take anything off the check

Report
Helpful
Hungrybear (New York Area)
4.0  Dined on November 6, 2017

Nice view and lovely staff and surroundings but took a little too long for food to arrive.
Good location and pretty place to chat,dine,dinner meeting etc.

Report
Helpful
HSlovesNYC2017 (New York Area)
3.0  Dined on October 27, 2017

The menu is smaller in the evening than on their website. So you have fewer options to choose. Also, some of their ingredients may not be there if you are dining after 5:30 pm. The food was delicious and service ok. It is somewhat difficult to find. You have to go to the 8th floor and through the shoe to the back.
There are very few signs. The department store pretends to be a high end, so be aware and not to be intimidated by some of the looks you may get if you are wearing jeans or other casual clothing. Not a place to go wearing flip-flops, shorts, or tired t-shirt.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (New York Area)
5.0  Dined on October 24, 2017

Hadn't been to Cafe SFA in over 10 years, but was eager to reorder my favorite dish - Asian Chicken Salad. It was still wonderful. The views are so unusual and stunning and the service was perfect. A little pricey for lunch, but otherwise, perfect.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (New York Area)
4.0  Dined on October 4, 2017

SFA is a classic. Always convenient and a great excuse to go shoe shopping. It is always a bonus when stumble across the sales. Service was fair but all else makes up for it. This is a great central meeting location.

Report
Helpful
vipJeberama (New York Area)
4.0  Dined on September 25, 2017

SFA Cafe is always a sure bet. Conveniently located in midtown and if you get a table by the window you can spy some of the great rooftop gardens of the buildings on 5th Avenue. The menu is somewhat limited but the salads are always good and they'll make adjustments to anything to satisfy dietary restrictions (or desires). I've been countless times and I'm sure I'll continue to return again and again.

Report
Helpful
vipUNplazagirl (New York Area)
3.0  Dined on September 25, 2017

This is the perfect place to meet a friend in midtown and have a long quiet talk then explore the latest fashions. The food was actually very good but the menu is very limited. Service was great.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (San Francisco)
4.0  Dined on September 19, 2017

Hmmmm, well, the view is epic and iconic, I will say that. However, the food is far less than epic and is better left alone. My recommendation would be that you go to this spot strictly for a glass of somethin' somethin' and save your money for better eats elsewhere. Nuff said. Oh, our waiter was funny and great, a definite plus.

Report
Helpful
LHIIESQ (New York Area)
4.0  Dined on September 18, 2017

A pleasant find. Terrific food. Excellent, attentive service and quiet!

Report
Helpful
pharris (Perth / WA)
2.0  Dined on September 10, 2017

Good food let down by extremely poor service. It is very hard to recommend this place.

Report
Helpful
vipShopgirl3 (New York Area)
2.0  Dined on September 6, 2017

It's a little fussy…modern decor but still old fashioned (not in a good way). I couldn't put my finger on it but it felt old-ladyish. Maybe the dreary day outside contributed to the drab feeling inside…so I'll give it another chance…maybe. Too much money for a salad & a cup of tea. Much prefer BG @ Bergdorf's for the cafe in a department store experience.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
13