About Cafe SFA

611 5th Avenue
New York, NY 10021
View Larger Map

Cafe SFA is a hidden gem nestled on the 8th floor of the iconic flagship Saks Fifth Avenue store. Chef Alex Reyes' menu is fresh and seasonal with daily specials served alongside an inventive selection of entrees, salads, and sandwiches. A stylish and comfortable interior features bird's-eye views of Rockefeller Center and St. Patrick's Cathedral. Café SFA is a popular midtown business lunch spot and a favorite destination for shoppers and international visitors. Private events are also a specialty and Café SFA can host functions of all types and sizes at several locales in the store.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service, Afternoon Tea

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday - Saturday: 10:00am - 12:00pm
Sunday: 11:00am - 12:00pm
Brunch: Sunday: 11:00am - 4:30pm
Lunch: Monday - Sunday: 11:00am -4:30pm

Cross Street:
49th Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 940-4080

Website:
http://cafesfa.com/

Public Transit:
Subway: B,D,F,M,6,E
Bus: M50

Executive Chef:
Alexandro Reyes

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Cafe SFA hosts special events and dinners throughout the year. Check our website for what is coming up.

Private Dining

The flagship Saks Fifth Avenue store is an iconic setting that emanates luxury and style. Add exquisite food and drink and you have the makings of a truly memorable event. We offer versatile space for corporate and social occasions, from cocktail parties to elegant formal dinners.

Cafe SFA Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.2

ambience

4

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Lunch
New York / Tri-State Area
Great for Lunch
Manhattan
Best Restaurants in Midtown East ›

great for lunch (28)
scenic view (14)
great for brunch (12)
See All
fit for foodies (9)
good for groups (8)
neighborhood gem (7)
special occasion (5)
kid-friendly (4)
great for outdoor dining (1)
vibrant bar scene (1)
hot spot (1)
Sort By:
Newest
98 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5

Our lunch was great. Nice fresh half sa ...

vip
Dined on June 19, 2016

Our lunch was great. Nice fresh half sandwich, soup and salad all together. Reasonable price. Tasted great and very fresh. Nice views and good service.

food5
ambience4
service4

Best grilled cheese I've ever had in my ...

Dined on June 9, 2016

Best grilled cheese I've ever had in my life.

food5
ambience4
service4

Great escape for lunch

Dined on June 8, 2016

Great escape for lunch

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food, amazing view of St. Patrick' ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

Great food, amazing view of St. Patrick's cathedral. Excellent, attentive service. Such a great lunch and fabulous spot!

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food2
ambience3
service2

An hour to get a salad at lunch. Clearl ...

vip
Dined on May 17, 2016

An hour to get a salad at lunch. Clearly aimed at people who have time to shop.

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

A gem

vip
Dined on April 30, 2016

Always enjoyed cafe sfa, food is tasty and allot for your money. The turkey avocado sandwich is amazing. The cafe is very nice among the hustle of the shoe salon just wish they would do a remodel of the cafe. The outer part of the dining area that surrounds the Windows needs updating.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Great lunch in town

vip
Dined on April 28, 2016

Found this place while shopping at Saks - nice food and a good wine selection.

Tags: great for lunch
food4
ambience3
service4

I had the pasta dish with Parmesan shave ...

Dined on April 14, 2016

I had the pasta dish with Parmesan shaved truffles and a poached egg. It was a perfect lunchtime size, satisfying but not too heavy. I wasn't in the mood for a salad that day but they looked delicious as the servers walked by with them. We happened to go there on a day when their cc machines were not working so the meals were cash only. I'm not sure if this contributed to slow service but it took over 1 hour for lunch . This was fine as we were not in a rush that day. I will try this place again.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always delivers

vip
Dined on April 10, 2016

Cafe SFA is always great. The food is great. The service is top notch. The view is spectacular if you like city scapes. After dining you can do some shopping! One of my favorite places for lunch in midtown.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, scenic view
food2
ambience2
service5
value1

Wish the food were more up to date

Dined on April 8, 2016

So looked forward to shopping and dining at Saks for a very special occasion. Was disappointed in the dining. Service was very nice and prompt. Food was very outdated and just not in keeping with Saks. Neiman Marcus is so much better. Too noisy. They need a new menu with beautiful, healthy, delicious food, better pricing and atmosphere consistent with all the gorgeous modern updates in the store. Surprised the food was so limited, unremarkable yet expensive.

Tags: scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice lunch

Dined on March 23, 2016

Perfect place for lunch before a show. Thank you for your great food and service.?

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Perfect for lunch

Dined on March 22, 2016

Food was great, service was great, never felt rushed.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Lovely lunch

Dined on March 2, 2016

Perfect spot for a quick lunch on a shopping day with my Aunt in town. Not a lot of good places around Saks for a nice & quiet lunch - this was perfect. Not only was the food great, but the service was really good and it was relatively quiet and a relaxed lunch. Recall Saks cafe years back was much more crowded - nice to see the updated spacious restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Suprise

Dined on January 28, 2016

I recently enjoyed a working business lunch here w/two colleagues and it was surprisingly tasty and well mannered. We sat on the porch like section and had a nice view of Rockefeller Center. One of my colleagues and I both had the lobster and spinach salad...amazing. The service was spot on and pleasant. We will be back. Thank you to the Saks FA staff...wonderful job. JD

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food1
ambience4
service5
value1

Not serving Brunch

vip
Dined on December 27, 2015

Love the Brunch they serve at SFA, I was told that they were not serving Brunch that day, because they decided that for this weekend, after Christmas, they would serve their regular menu. That was not what we wanted when we went there.

Tags: great for brunch
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

GREAT LOCATION AND GOOD FOOD

Dined on December 22, 2015

This was the perfect spot to meet after a busy morning of holiday shopping, museum visiting and holiday decorations viewing. The view of St. Patricks, Rockefeller Center and Fifth Avenue is amazing.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for lunch, scenic view
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

Convenience...

Dined on December 20, 2015

If you are shopping at Saks or visiting during the holiday season...it's a convenient place to have a quick lunch...Otherwise...I would look elsewhere.

food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Food flavored with nice touches; fine ambiance

Dined on December 20, 2015

I always have a nice time here. The food choices are excellent and delicious. I like that some menu options are a bit exotic - it make eating here a treat. My friends loved the mock cocktails and I liked the iced tea selections which were out of the ordinary.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

SFA never disappoints!

Dined on December 11, 2015

I most most grateful to Craig who runs the SFA with grace and skill. The staff is a reflection of his style, in fact, and our Waiter, Christian, was professional, polite and charming. The food, as always, is superior and I think of the restaurant as a best kept secret (not for much longer!). Thank you, Craig, for your kind consideration given our exchange about the guest I was hosting at lunch. You created a memorable Christmas holiday luncheon. Angels all around you! Many thanks!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food4
ambience2
service3

Convenient, noisy place for lunch

vip
Dined on December 11, 2015

Reservations are a must during the holidays. Food was good. Two of us had the lamb burger and enjoyed it. The grilled cheese, however, was so "grilled" that the bread was almost impossible to chew. During the holidays, the noise level is almost unbearable.

Tags: great for lunch
food3
ambience1
service

Mr. Gregory Ortez the Mgr. and host was ...

Dined on December 8, 2015

Mr. Gregory Ortez the Mgr. and host was the rudest person I have ever encountered. This is the second time he has acted this way. I will never dine there again. We changed our reservation from 12:30 to 2:00, when we arrived he told us we didn't have a reservation because they don't take reservations past noon. Impossible since on Open Table they take reservations past noon.

food5
ambience5
service5

Favorite lunch spot

Dined on December 7, 2015

Whenever I visit New York City for a shopping day (a few times a year), this is the spot for lunch. The service is excellent, the food is delicious, the atmosphere is perfect for chatting and relaxing and the views from the outer seating area are wonderful. I have never been disappointed in any facet of service at this restaurant and will always take new people there to experience it.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food1
ambience1
service1

Bad food and poor service

Dined on November 27, 2015

Extremely disappointed with the quality of food and service. It was a busy day but there is no justification for the cold fries (charged $7) and getting at least 2 of the 5 dishes ordered wrong! Needless to say that I requested a window table when I made the reservation (3 weeks before) for my daughter's birthday but we never go it. At least they were nice enough to offer us champagne.

food5
ambience4
service5

Seated on time. Men had changed overtime ...

vip
Dined on November 27, 2015

Seated on time. Men had changed overtime but the turkey avacado was outstanding.

food5
ambience5
service5

Great brunch with a view!

Dined on November 23, 2015

Fantastic spot for lunch post shopping and pre show! The lamb burger was phenomenal! Love the views from the Windows!

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch, scenic view
food3
ambience3
service4

Ladies who shop and lunch

Dined on November 12, 2015

within Saks Fifth avenue, take the lift the to shoe department and walk past all the shoes....to the restaurant. My work colleague was the only man in the place, the tables are a little too close together, but the noise levels were low and we had a civilised work conversation with nice fresh ingredients and light lunch options.

Tags: great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service5

Service was impeccable! They did everyth ...

vip
Dined on November 7, 2015

Service was impeccable! They did everything they could to help us celebrate a friends 90th birthday!

food2
ambience4
service5

Lunch at Cafe SFA

Dined on November 2, 2015

Service was so wonderful. Lovely female server. However, the food has gone downhill since I was last here, approximately 2 years ago. Salad was completely wilted and odd rice paper placed on top looked silly. overpriced for the salad, but the view is worth the trip.

Tags: scenic view, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience2
service2

Disappointing

Dined on October 26, 2015

Disappointing

food2
ambience4
service4

Disappointing

Dined on October 21, 2015

Very disappointing. Not so many options in the menu, what ordered (Cod Entree and Beef Entree) wasn't that good as well.

food5
ambience5
service5

Reliably good lunch food, great service. ...

vip
Dined on October 19, 2015

Reliably good lunch food, great service. Will definitely return when shopping.

food5
ambience4
service5

SFA cafe

Dined on October 18, 2015

We had a great brunch with a wonderful view of St. Patricks!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience4
service5

Excellent!

Dined on October 15, 2015

This is a great place for brunch or lunch. Stop in right before you shop or right afterwards. Make sure to ask for a table by the window. You get to look out and enjoy the wonderful view while dinning on wonderful fare.

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service5

Good food efficient service pre theatre

vip
Dined on October 10, 2015

Cafe SFA was booked for my wife and I approximately 90 minutes prior to show time, one mile away. The service was excellent and respective of our "sense of urgency". The waiter recommended dishes that were not lengthy to prepare and he was very attentive with liquid refills, settling the bill, etc. I ordered salmon Nicoise salad. It was dressed deliciously and perfectly. I have to say the grilled slice of salmon was just ok...it was overcooked, definitely very dried out. But overall I still did enjoy the salad and the bread, which was outstanding. Overall 4*

Tags: great for lunch
food4
ambience5
service5

Hidden Gem by Rockerfella Center

vip
Dined on October 8, 2015

My friend and I were looking for a more laid back, less hectic place to have lunch by the Modern Museum of Art, than their cafe or dining room. I remembered how nice the Cafe at Saks Fifth Avenue was and we headed there. Situated on the 8th floor in Saks, it is tuck in the back and has wonderful sunken dining area surrounded by a raised indoor terrace with views of Rockefeller Center. The host and our server couldn't have been nicer or more efficient. There is a great variety of choices on the menu. We each had the soup, half sandwich and salad. I had the chicken salad which was delicious and my friend enjoyed the Tuna Salad. They also offer daily specials and full entrees if you are interested in a full meal. We had a delicious unhurried meal. It's a smart restaurant in a great location . . . a quiet respite from the busy Rockerfeller Center and St Patrick's Cathedral tourist crowd, especially at holiday season!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Iconic setting great food

Dined on September 16, 2015

This is my go to place before theatre and any occasion we bring friends and family inti city...have been enjoying great service , atmosphere and superb food for more than 15 years...a real gem

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience4
service5

Lobster salad

Dined on September 3, 2015

I love their Waldorf Lobster salad. Fresh grapes, apples, bib lettuce, lobster chunks with candied macadamia nuts. Server was responsive to my special request for a whole grain roll. Very nice lighting.

Tags: great for lunch, scenic view
food4
ambience4
service4

Café SFA is located on the 8th floor of ...

vip
Dined on August 15, 2015

Café SFA is located on the 8th floor of Saks Fifth Ave in the NY City. It is a very pleasant and convenient place to dine during shopping at Saks and, it gets quite busy during lunch hours. Menu offers a variety of dishes from appetizers to salads to main dishes and desserts. I tasted a Tajine chicken "Café SFA" style that was quite delicious (served of course with couscous but it also include perfectly cooked vegetables). It made an enjoyable and satisfying lunch for me and would return there with pleasure even if I do not shop at the Saks.

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

excellent food

vip
Dined on June 20, 2015

We come back often. It's nice to.be able to shop and eat in the same location.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for lunch
food3
ambience4
service3

On my multiple return to Café SFA, this ...

vip
Dined on June 3, 2015

On my multiple return to Café SFA, this time I was quite disappointed. I came about one hour before kitchen would be closed. Service was sluggish in spite of a very few customers present at that time and getting my order took more then half hour (I ordered a cheeseburger with French fries). Getting someone to fill my glass with water seemed like another big task, so, I just sat there waiting...When my order finally arrived, my fries were soggy and looked and tasted like they were cooked many hours before, so I asked for a fresh batch; to my surprise I got it quickly but... they looked and tasted just the same... (hamburger was good though). It seems to me that the service at that place is much better when challenged by a crowd as opposed to a single customer in more "relaxed" atmosphere. Too bad... Anyway, it remains a convenient place to have a bite during shopping at Saks Fifth and I will give it another try at a different hour next time.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, great for lunch

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.