About Cafe SFA

611 5th Avenue
New York, NY 10021
View Larger Map

Cafe SFA is a hidden gem nestled on the 8th floor of the iconic flagship Saks Fifth Avenue store. Chef Alex Reyes' menu is fresh and seasonal with daily specials served alongside an inventive selection of entrees, salads, and sandwiches. A stylish and comfortable interior features bird's-eye views of Rockefeller Center and St. Patrick's Cathedral. Café SFA is a popular midtown business lunch spot and a favorite destination for shoppers and international visitors. Private events are also a specialty and Café SFA can host functions of all types and sizes at several locales in the store.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service, Afternoon Tea

Hours of Operation:
Cafe SFA and The Terrace:

Monday-Saturday 12 to 7:30pm
Sunday 12 to 6pm

Cross Street:
49th Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 940-4080

Website:
http://cafesfa.com/

Catering:
Available for private events- please call 212 940 2138 for information

Public Transit:
Subway: B,D,F,M,6,E
Bus: M50

Executive Chef:
Alexandro Reyes

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Cafe SFA hosts special events and dinners throughout the year. Check our website for what is coming up.

Private Dining

The flagship Saks Fifth Avenue store is an iconic setting that emanates luxury and style. Add exquisite food and drink and you have the makings of a truly memorable event. We offer versatile space for corporate and social occasions, from cocktail parties to elegant formal dinners.

Cafe SFA Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.9

service

4.0

ambience

3.8

value

3.3

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Lunch
New York / Tri-State Area
Great for Lunch
Manhattan
Best Restaurants in Midtown East ›

Great for Lunch (20)
Scenic View (5)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
See All
Great for Brunch (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Special Occasion (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Casual (2)
Good for a Date (2)
Business Meals (2)
Fit for Foodies (2)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Fun (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Cozy (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Sort By:
Newest
113 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Always a great escape from tiny and cro ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Always a great escape from tiny and crowded NYC restaurants!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Reliable go to for midtown girls get tog ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

Reliable go to for midtown girls get together. Even if you don't have time to shop its great to walk thru the shoe department to get some lunch. Has gotten quite pricey in the last couple of years though.

Tags: Casual, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

I had a reservation through Open Table b ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 6, 2016

I had a reservation through Open Table but when I arrived, the hostess said they were closed for a special occasion. They had my phone number but did not try to call me to tell me this. Why did they accept the OT reservation on a night they were closed?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

I cannot answer any of your questions be ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

I cannot answer any of your questions because despite the fact that I made a dinner reservation for 7 pm on Monday. And waited an hour before going to the Cafe because your automated system said the only available reservation was for 7 pm. I was in the store since well before 6 PM.

When I went to the Cafe for my reservation I was told that the kitchen was already closed.

A very nice employee named Christian gave me a tour of the Cafe, it is lovely, and showed me a menu. At my request, he also said he would have the restaurant manager, also named Christian, call me.

Honestly, I can understand a technology glich since Monday was Labor Day but the thing that bothers me the most is that I still have not heard from the restaurant manager. That is really bad service which I would not expect from SAKS. From Alisa 718 637 4908

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

There is a lot I like about the café. b ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

There is a lot I like about the café. but one thing I don't like is that the menu hardly every changes. The menu needs to be expanded, I want more choices of appetizers, sandwiches & burgers.

Tags: Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Brunch, Cozy, Great for Lunch, Casual, Business Meals, Afternoon Coffee, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Its only open two weeks, I think they ne ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

Its only open two weeks, I think they need to expand the menu a bit. But its a really nice space outdoors. Staff is great.

Tags: Fun, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Server was horrible! Very curt & unatten ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

Server was horrible! Very curt & unattentive. We asked about sitting outside & were rudely told that couldn't be. No patrons out there. A few moments later, two diners came in & asked their server if they could switch. They were & all were gracious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value4

Service was not great. When I arrived th ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

Service was not great. When I arrived there was no host/hostess to check me in. I waited awhile and thank goodness there was a bench. When my friend arrived, still no host. Eventually we got seated. Service was good at first but then dropped off.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

My experience has always been satisfacto ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

My experience has always been satisfactory - seating immediate and I had the view I asked for...my party of 4 was very happy and we do come often but now that I know how to reserve a table there are no worries...thank you!

Tags: Modern Decor, Scenic View, Good Vegetarian Options, Afternoon Tea, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

Food is good but this restaurant is conv ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Food is good but this restaurant is conveniently located next to the women's' shoe department and nice to stop by for a bite or drink after shopping in the store.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

great for lunch. Nice staff and good cus ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

great for lunch. Nice staff and good customer service!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

restaurant was closed for private event, ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

restaurant was closed for private event, open table should have a way to let me know, instead i showed up there only to hear it is closed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Great spot for a business lunch or catch ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Great spot for a business lunch or catching up with a friend in midtown. All the servers are very aware of time and are happy to expedite service if necessary. Would definitely go again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

Very impressed overall. Didn't expect t ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Very impressed overall. Didn't expect to see a kid's menu, but great value for $10 and under. Definitely coming back.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Our waitress was absolutely lovely, very ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Our waitress was absolutely lovely, very attentive, pleasant and informative. Although lunch was a little pricey, we were able to have a conversation without straining to hear each other. The view was great too!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Our lunch was great. Nice fresh half sa ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Our lunch was great. Nice fresh half sandwich, soup and salad all together. Reasonable price. Tasted great and very fresh. Nice views and good service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Best grilled cheese I've ever had in my ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

Best grilled cheese I've ever had in my life.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Great escape for lunch

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

Great escape for lunch

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Great food, amazing view of St. Patrick' ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

Great food, amazing view of St. Patrick's cathedral. Excellent, attentive service. Such a great lunch and fabulous spot!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

An hour to get a salad at lunch. Clearl ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 17, 2016

An hour to get a salad at lunch. Clearly aimed at people who have time to shop.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

A gem

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

Always enjoyed cafe sfa, food is tasty and allot for your money. The turkey avocado sandwich is amazing. The cafe is very nice among the hustle of the shoe salon just wish they would do a remodel of the cafe. The outer part of the dining area that surrounds the Windows needs updating.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great lunch in town

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 28, 2016

Found this place while shopping at Saks - nice food and a good wine selection.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

I had the pasta dish with Parmesan shave ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 14, 2016

I had the pasta dish with Parmesan shaved truffles and a poached egg. It was a perfect lunchtime size, satisfying but not too heavy. I wasn't in the mood for a salad that day but they looked delicious as the servers walked by with them. We happened to go there on a day when their cc machines were not working so the meals were cash only. I'm not sure if this contributed to slow service but it took over 1 hour for lunch . This was fine as we were not in a rush that day. I will try this place again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Always delivers

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 10, 2016

Cafe SFA is always great. The food is great. The service is top notch. The view is spectacular if you like city scapes. After dining you can do some shopping! One of my favorite places for lunch in midtown.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wish the food were more up to date

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 8, 2016

So looked forward to shopping and dining at Saks for a very special occasion. Was disappointed in the dining. Service was very nice and prompt. Food was very outdated and just not in keeping with Saks. Neiman Marcus is so much better. Too noisy. They need a new menu with beautiful, healthy, delicious food, better pricing and atmosphere consistent with all the gorgeous modern updates in the store. Surprised the food was so limited, unremarkable yet expensive.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service5
value1

Nice lunch

 
 (Savannah)
·Dined on March 23, 2016

Perfect place for lunch before a show. Thank you for your great food and service.?

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect for lunch

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 22, 2016

Food was great, service was great, never felt rushed.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Lovely lunch

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 2, 2016

Perfect spot for a quick lunch on a shopping day with my Aunt in town. Not a lot of good places around Saks for a nice & quiet lunch - this was perfect. Not only was the food great, but the service was really good and it was relatively quiet and a relaxed lunch. Recall Saks cafe years back was much more crowded - nice to see the updated spacious restaurant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Suprise

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on January 28, 2016

I recently enjoyed a working business lunch here w/two colleagues and it was surprisingly tasty and well mannered. We sat on the porch like section and had a nice view of Rockefeller Center. One of my colleagues and I both had the lobster and spinach salad...amazing. The service was spot on and pleasant. We will be back. Thank you to the Saks FA staff...wonderful job. JD

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Not serving Brunch

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on December 27, 2015

Love the Brunch they serve at SFA, I was told that they were not serving Brunch that day, because they decided that for this weekend, after Christmas, they would serve their regular menu. That was not what we wanted when we went there.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service5
value1

GREAT LOCATION AND GOOD FOOD

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on December 22, 2015

This was the perfect spot to meet after a busy morning of holiday shopping, museum visiting and holiday decorations viewing. The view of St. Patricks, Rockefeller Center and Fifth Avenue is amazing.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Convenience...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on December 20, 2015

If you are shopping at Saks or visiting during the holiday season...it's a convenient place to have a quick lunch...Otherwise...I would look elsewhere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

Food flavored with nice touches; fine ambiance

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on December 20, 2015

I always have a nice time here. The food choices are excellent and delicious. I like that some menu options are a bit exotic - it make eating here a treat. My friends loved the mock cocktails and I liked the iced tea selections which were out of the ordinary.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

SFA never disappoints!

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on December 11, 2015

I most most grateful to Craig who runs the SFA with grace and skill. The staff is a reflection of his style, in fact, and our Waiter, Christian, was professional, polite and charming. The food, as always, is superior and I think of the restaurant as a best kept secret (not for much longer!). Thank you, Craig, for your kind consideration given our exchange about the guest I was hosting at lunch. You created a memorable Christmas holiday luncheon. Angels all around you! Many thanks!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Convenient, noisy place for lunch

vip
 (Charleston)
·Dined on December 11, 2015

Reservations are a must during the holidays. Food was good. Two of us had the lamb burger and enjoyed it. The grilled cheese, however, was so "grilled" that the bread was almost impossible to chew. During the holidays, the noise level is almost unbearable.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3

Mr. Gregory Ortez the Mgr. and host was ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on December 8, 2015

Mr. Gregory Ortez the Mgr. and host was the rudest person I have ever encountered. This is the second time he has acted this way. I will never dine there again. We changed our reservation from 12:30 to 2:00, when we arrived he told us we didn't have a reservation because they don't take reservations past noon. Impossible since on Open Table they take reservations past noon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1

Favorite lunch spot

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on December 7, 2015

Whenever I visit New York City for a shopping day (a few times a year), this is the spot for lunch. The service is excellent, the food is delicious, the atmosphere is perfect for chatting and relaxing and the views from the outer seating area are wonderful. I have never been disappointed in any facet of service at this restaurant and will always take new people there to experience it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Bad food and poor service

 
 (New England)
·Dined on November 27, 2015

Extremely disappointed with the quality of food and service. It was a busy day but there is no justification for the cold fries (charged $7) and getting at least 2 of the 5 dishes ordered wrong! Needless to say that I requested a window table when I made the reservation (3 weeks before) for my daughter's birthday but we never go it. At least they were nice enough to offer us champagne.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

Seated on time. Men had changed overtime ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on November 27, 2015

Seated on time. Men had changed overtime but the turkey avacado was outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Great brunch with a view!

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on November 23, 2015

Fantastic spot for lunch post shopping and pre show! The lamb burger was phenomenal! Love the views from the Windows!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.