Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.09mi
  4. Distance: 0.09mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.09mi
  4. Distance: 0.09mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.09mi
  4. Distance: 0.09mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.09mi
  4. Distance: 0.09mi

About Cafe SFA

Cafe SFA is a hidden gem nestled on the 8th floor of the iconic flagship Saks Fifth Avenue store. Chef Alex Reyes' menu is fresh and seasonal with daily specials served alongside an inventive selection of entrees, salads, and sandwiches. A stylish and comfortable interior features bird's-eye views of Rockefeller Center and St. Patrick's Cathedral. Café SFA is a popular midtown business lunch spot and a favorite destination for shoppers and international visitors. Private events are also a specialty and Café SFA can host functions of all types and sizes at several locales in the store.

611 5th Avenue
New York, NY 10021
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service, Afternoon Tea

Hours of Operation:
Cafe SFA and The Terrace:

Monday-Saturday 12 to 7:30pm
Sunday 12 to 6pm

Cross Street:
49th Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 940-4080

Website:
http://cafesfa.com/

Catering:
Available for private events- please call 212 940 2138 for information

Public Transit:
Subway: B,D,F,M,6,E
Bus: M50

Executive Chef:
Alexandro Reyes

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Cafe SFA hosts special events and dinners throughout the year. Check our website for what is coming up.

Private Dining

The flagship Saks Fifth Avenue store is an iconic setting that emanates luxury and style. Add exquisite food and drink and you have the makings of a truly memorable event. We offer versatile space for corporate and social occasions, from cocktail parties to elegant formal dinners.

Cafe SFA Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Lunch (10)
Scenic View (8)
Afternoon Coffee (6)
See All
Quiet Conversation (6)
Quick Bite (5)
Casual (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Great for Brunch (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Special Occasion (4)
Afternoon Tea (4)
Healthy (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Authentic (3)
People Watching (3)
Business Meals (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Live Sports (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Great Beer (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Romantic (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Fun (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Cozy (1)
Seasonal (1)
Sort By:
S
165 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 3 days ago

staff very warm, young with energy for comfort and good food aimed at making an excellent
evening which we enjoyed and hope to pass along to other friends

Tags: Quick Bite, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 10, 2017

Fun, beautiful views, good service & wonderful food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 2, 2017

I hadn't visited SFA in a long time and found it slow service (maybe it's because most of the audience is not in a hurry!) and the food is just so so. My lobster salad had less than 7 leaves of lettuce and I needed not be hungry for lobster because there wasn't much of it. It took forever to serve us and we didn't even get an appetizer!...thankfully for my figure, we left without having dessert , and didn't buy shoes because we had to get back to work!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 31, 2017

I love taking my young grandchildren here (and will continue as they get older :) They have a great kid's menu and I think it is very good value. Lots of good choices for the little ones - beautiful fresh berries and great dessert. Mac with cheese/Grilled Cheese and more advanced choices like Salmon. They give them crayons and coloring placemat. My grandchild always seem to behave in this grown up surrounding and I love looking at them when they behave so well. For me - lots of great choices - salads, entrees, appetizers - all very good. Can even have a glass of champagne.

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Great for Lunch, People Watching, Neighborhood Gem, Quick Bite, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 19, 2017

My friend and I had a lovely lunch. The lunch special is very nice. The atmosphere and food make the restaurant a wonderful spot to have lunch.

Tags: Casual, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 18, 2017

I have been here before and always enjoy it very much. The only disappointed thing for this occasion - the 2 dishes my friend and I ordered, we were told neither of them were exactly what was on the menu. She ordered asparagus risotto and was substituted with corn, and I ordered mussels but got clams.

Tags: Cozy, Scenic View, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 17, 2017

A wonderful restaurant, but I do think they need to be mindful of their menu pricing. It has gone up quite a bit over the years(past 5 years) and may lose that customer base. Also, their past salads are no longer on the menu, and that is a mistake as they were wonderful:)
In any case it remains to be a wonderful place to lunch!

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Afternoon Coffee, Great for Lunch, Casual, Bar Seating, Afternoon Tea, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 15, 2017

The sandwich, salad, soup combo was lovely as was the outside seating and the wait-staff. The maître de was especially sweet and accommodating. Will definitely visit again after a day of amazing shopping.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 14, 2017

It is always a pleasure to go to cafeSFA. The salads are good and the view is great.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (London)·Dined on July 12, 2017

I went to cafe SFA with a friend for lunch, the service was good as my friend was delayed for half hour because of the traffic. I ordered coffee and the waitress kept coming to offer me more coffee. But the food was nothing special, in fact, it was not even good. But you are going to do shopping at Saks, this place might be convenient especially on a rainy/snowy day. Otherwise, I would just go there for coffee or maybe afternoon tea.

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Afternoon Coffee, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 24, 2017

It was simply lovely!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 9, 2017

View from the terrace was spectacular. Generous sized cocktails. Service a little on the slow side.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Had lunch with my twin daughters who were both in from out of town. I wanted a special lunch to celebrate. Saks did not disappoint!

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 29, 2017

Food good service excellent very pricey

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Lovely lunch on the terrace, it was quiet so felt very private. Service was friendly and attentive, we will be back soon!

Tags: Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch, People Watching, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Best lobster roll I've had!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 9, 2017

Very disappointed . Difficult to get server's attention for check. Very limited menu --- different from last time I was here. But it's a pretty venu with little competition so will likely come again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 2, 2017

I picked Cafe SFA because of the view but when I arrived it was closed off due to a private event. So we did not get to see the view, enjoy the great weather, so that was a miss for our lunch date.

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Great Beer, Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 22, 2017

great place and a trend i see replicating at other high end retailers. thanks

Tags: Casual, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Scenic View, Sunday Lunch, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 2, 2017

A classic "meet for lunch" place, conveniently located for shopping and MoMA. Easy access to Grand Central Station. I met a friend there who I haven't seen in a very long time and the Cafe SFA was a perfect place to catch up. The waiter did not hurry us and we extended our lunch over several hours. The noise level was perfect for talking. The Lunch Break was really good, especially if you can't decide what you want. It includes a choice of salad, soup and sandwich so you can get a taste of everything. Portion sizes were perfect. I would definitely go back again. It was also fun to be able to do a little shopping at Saks on the way to and fro.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 30, 2017

The tables in the main seating area were crowded together. Our table for two was squeezed in between even two tables of six.
The service was disinterested at best. Still waiting for the basket of rolls. Had to ask twice to have a glass of water.
The Cobb Salad, which is not inexpensive had too much lettuce and not enough of the other ingredients.
Cafe SFA has reached a new low.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 28, 2017

An easy place for casual lunch with friends Service was attentive, food was good, and it's convenient. Not an extensive menu, but there's rnough to choose from. It's a little pricey, but so is SFA.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Casual, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Just love the soup, salad and sandwich for a nice healthy lunch before a show and a quick look in the store.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 23, 2017

This place feels tired. They have updated their menu and made it better, but the room feels like it needs an update to feel that dining there is more than just a meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 23, 2017

Simply divine- the food, the cocktails and the service were fantastic!

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Had an early light supper after shopping. The burrata was excellent in a sweet puddle of tomato jam, served with toast points with just a bit of char around the edges. A glass of cava was the perfect pairing for a view of a rooftop garden across the street.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Lovely space. Great service. Adorable and delicious mini- cupcakes were the best part of the meal in addition to our charming and attentive waiter. Always a fun place to meet a friend for lunch.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 21, 2017

Pleasant lunch here. The combination choices of sandwich , soup, salad are the greatest idea. A small portion of each with choices. A great deal. Had the beet and ricotta appetizer as a lunch and it was superb. There are many dining options here. Will definitely return!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good Vegetarian Options, Afternoon Tea, Great for Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 9, 2017

I made a reservation through OpenTable. When we got there we were told the kitchen was already closed

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Great place to stop for lunch while shopping! good is great!

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 8, 2017

It was perfect for a lunch where I could have a conversation. Service was good and the food was tasty. I was disappointed in the presentation of the Cobb salad. It seemed as though the ingredients were just plopped on top of the lettuce in big chunks with no attempt to make it visually appealing. Rather thrown together. And it took longer than expected to get our check.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 4, 2017

I enjoy eating at Cafe SFA. My only reservation in recommending the restaurant is that it is a little pricey for a lunch.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 30, 2017

Throughly enjoyed lunch with an old friend in this up-to-date version of the mid-20th Century 'shopping store restauarant'. Not destined to become a must-dine place for foodies but a really solid place to have a great, relaxing lunch.

And cupcakes!

Tags: Cozy, Good for Groups, Afternoon Tea, Disabled Access, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Please note that to get a seat at the window overlooking Rockefeller Center, your party must be 4 or less guests. The main reason I booked this restaurant was for the view so we were quite disappointed. I prefer the regular menu over the Holiday Menu. When we checked the menu before booking, the regular menu popped up so we were quite surprised when we got to the restaurant and the menu was completely different. There were 5 of us in our group so they seated us at a table for 6 but never removed the 6th place setting so it was a little awkward. The waiter never asked us if we wanted to order drinks. He was just anxious to get our food order. Overall, the food was good and the service was OK, just not up to par for the price of the meal. I would return again but only with a party of 4 where I could have a window seat.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Waited 15 minutes until I was attended to. No water, no service for 15 minutes. Watches as people were seated after me and received water and service. Finally got water and glass was dirty. Overall the food was amazing, but the service can definitely be improved.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Overall, the food and service are pretty good, however the physical space needs updating. It makes a great spot for a meal and view of the Rockefeller Christmas Tree ( ask for
Window seat). It's very convenient if you're in SFA to begin with, and who can resist the walk through the shoe department to get there!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Great ambiance, amazing service, good food. Makes a good spot for dining when in the city.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Groups, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Good food, view is unbelievable. Nice place from the craziness.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 19, 2016

Went here around Christmas time because I heard you can see rockefeller center tree while you eat. It's on the 8th floor of saks 5th Ave and I made a reservation on open table before hand. When we arrived at 1145am it was pretty empty. There's only about 3 seats that actually can see the tree and that is the only appeal if you aren't looking for a way overpriced meal while you shop. We were seated where we couldn't see, when I asked to move we were obliged but not not happily. Our server could tell we were tourist not interested in wine or mimosas and he appeared annoyed by us the whole time. We orders a combo lunch, tiny sandwich, tiny salad and super tiny cupcake for about $20. It was yummy but without that awesome view, would've been a joke. I would go back because I loved the view and ambiance but for no other reason.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value2

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 18, 2016

There is no afternoon tea here! I read that Cafe SFA was a tearoom here on OpenTable. A little disappointed, but the food was okay. The tables and seats were really close to each other, however, and the food took at least 30 min to get to us. The server was alright too, but it took a really long time to get our check and get it back to be signed... Overall I probably would not come back here again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.