About Cafe SFA

611 5th Avenue
New York, NY 10021
View Larger Map

Cafe SFA is a hidden gem nestled on the 8th floor of the iconic flagship Saks Fifth Avenue store. Chef Alex Reyes' menu is fresh and seasonal with daily specials served alongside an inventive selection of entrees, salads, and sandwiches. A stylish and comfortable interior features bird's-eye views of Rockefeller Center and St. Patrick's Cathedral. Café SFA is a popular midtown business lunch spot and a favorite destination for shoppers and international visitors. Private events are also a specialty and Café SFA can host functions of all types and sizes at several locales in the store.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service, Afternoon Tea

Hours of Operation:
Cafe SFA and The Terrace:

Monday-Saturday 12 to 7:30pm
Sunday 12 to 6pm

Cross Street:
49th Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 940-4080

Website:
http://cafesfa.com/

Catering:
Available for private events- please call 212 940 2138 for information

Public Transit:
Subway: B,D,F,M,6,E
Bus: M50

Executive Chef:
Alexandro Reyes

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Cafe SFA hosts special events and dinners throughout the year. Check our website for what is coming up.

Private Dining

The flagship Saks Fifth Avenue store is an iconic setting that emanates luxury and style. Add exquisite food and drink and you have the makings of a truly memorable event. We offer versatile space for corporate and social occasions, from cocktail parties to elegant formal dinners.

Cafe SFA Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

3.8

ambience

4.1

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Lunch (11)
Scenic View (9)
Afternoon Tea (6)
See All
Special Occasion (5)
Modern Decor (4)
Casual (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Good for a Date (3)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Fit for Foodies (2)
Fun (2)
Business Meals (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Seasonal (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Quick Bite (1)
People Watching (1)
Family Style (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Cozy (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Romantic (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Historic (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
132 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Please note that to get a seat at the wi ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Please note that to get a seat at the window overlooking Rockefeller Center, your party must be 4 or less guests. The main reason I booked this restaurant was for the view so we were quite disappointed. I prefer the regular menu over the Holiday Menu. When we checked the menu before booking, the regular menu popped up so we were quite surprised when we got to the restaurant and the menu was completely different. There were 5 of us in our group so they seated us at a table for 6 but never removed the 6th place setting so it was a little awkward. The waiter never asked us if we wanted to order drinks. He was just anxious to get our food order. Overall, the food was good and the service was OK, just not up to par for the price of the meal. I would return again but only with a party of 4 where I could have a window seat.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Waited 15 minutes until I was attended t ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Waited 15 minutes until I was attended to. No water, no service for 15 minutes. Watches as people were seated after me and received water and service. Finally got water and glass was dirty. Overall the food was amazing, but the service can definitely be improved.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value3

Overall, the food and service are pretty ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Overall, the food and service are pretty good, however the physical space needs updating. It makes a great spot for a meal and view of the Rockefeller Christmas Tree ( ask for

Window seat). It's very convenient if you're in SFA to begin with, and who can resist the walk through the shoe department to get there!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Great ambiance, amazing service, good fo ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Great ambiance, amazing service, good food. Makes a good spot for dining when in the city.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Groups, Historic, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Good food, view is unbelievable. Nice p ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Good food, view is unbelievable. Nice place from the craziness.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Went here around Christmas time because ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 19, 2016

Went here around Christmas time because I heard you can see rockefeller center tree while you eat. It's on the 8th floor of saks 5th Ave and I made a reservation on open table before hand. When we arrived at 1145am it was pretty empty. There's only about 3 seats that actually can see the tree and that is the only appeal if you aren't looking for a way overpriced meal while you shop. We were seated where we couldn't see, when I asked to move we were obliged but not not happily. Our server could tell we were tourist not interested in wine or mimosas and he appeared annoyed by us the whole time. We orders a combo lunch, tiny sandwich, tiny salad and super tiny cupcake for about $20. It was yummy but without that awesome view, would've been a joke. I would go back because I loved the view and ambiance but for no other reason.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value2

There is no afternoon tea here! I read ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 18, 2016

There is no afternoon tea here! I read that Cafe SFA was a tearoom here on OpenTable. A little disappointed, but the food was okay. The tables and seats were really close to each other, however, and the food took at least 30 min to get to us. The server was alright too, but it took a really long time to get our check and get it back to be signed... Overall I probably would not come back here again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3

Perfect in every way! Great view of the ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 15, 2016

Perfect in every way! Great view of the tree at Rockefeller Center and the skaters on the rink, along with the spires of St. Patrick's. Food and service wonderful. A jewel in the heart of Manhattan.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a lovely lunch we had! Several old ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 12, 2016

What a lovely lunch we had! Several old friends got together for a delicious lunch that we were allowed to enjoy without being rushed. The food was great, the service was friendly and unhurried, and the Prosecco was a nice festive touch for the holidays. We're already planning our return visit. Thanks for a wonderful afternoon!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Every year tradition is to journey from ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Every year tradition is to journey from CT to see the "tree",a show and enjoy NYC at Christmas time. We ALWAYS have lunch 1st at Café sfa.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Around the time of our wedding anniversa ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on November 30, 2016

Around the time of our wedding anniversary for several years now we've gone to NYC to shop and see a Broadway show. It's become a tradition to have lunch at the Café inside Saks. Regretfully, this was the last year for the Café; we've noticed a decline in lunch quality and quantity. My wife had the "petit curried chicken salad sandwich" with lentil soup, and I had the "petit tuna salad sandwich" with lentil soup. The sandwiches are "microscopic" not "petit." The curried chicken salad taste was fair at best, and the tuna seemed like mystery fish. Each lunch was $21. As a side, we shared French fries at the waiter's suggestion. He didn't tell us they were $10, a lot by even NYC standards. The menu boasted that the cup cakes were voted the "best in NY" by the Village Voice, so we each gave in to temptation. Sadly, the cup cakes were dry and tiny. The service was OK, but we've seen much better at Saks in past years. We remember the days when the servers treated us like we were in a very high-end store.

Tags: People Watching, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

the waiter is not nice at all and I only ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 27, 2016

the waiter is not nice at all and I only paid him 10% tips. he is in a hurry about everything and not even polite when I called him.

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

OpenTable confirmed my reservation. Whe ...

vip
 (Caribbean)·Dined on November 21, 2016

OpenTable confirmed my reservation. When I arrived at the restaurant I was told it was closed for a private event. No prior communication was received from Cafe SFA. I wasted money, time and could not get a reasonable restaurant at the time. I believe there should be better communication between OpenTable and the restaurants. I am very disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

This restaurant has gone down steadily f ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 27, 2016

This restaurant has gone down steadily from what it used to be. Not the best NYC choice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

If you are shopping in NYC and looking f ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 27, 2016

If you are shopping in NYC and looking for a little more than the quick bite, if you are looking for a place to meet up with fellow shoppers for a respite from the ordeals of shopping, something a little more special than a street pretzel or dirty water hotdog, this is a good choice. Not cheap but not over the moon expensive for New York. Great menu for all orders of eaters. You can bring your husband - it's not just a tearoom.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Lovely setting. We had a table overlooki ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 26, 2016

Lovely setting. We had a table overlooking st. Patrick's.

Tags: Modern Decor, Afternoon Coffee, Sunday Lunch, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Lovely place for lunch. Loved the table ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 26, 2016

Lovely place for lunch. Loved the table by the window.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

We were celebrating a friend's 40th birt ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on September 30, 2016

We were celebrating a friend's 40th birthday! Our view was wonderful and the food was great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a great escape from tiny and cro ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 18, 2016

Always a great escape from tiny and crowded NYC restaurants!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Reliable go to for midtown girls get tog ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 8, 2016

Reliable go to for midtown girls get together. Even if you don't have time to shop its great to walk thru the shoe department to get some lunch. Has gotten quite pricey in the last couple of years though.

Tags: Casual, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

I had a reservation through Open Table b ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 6, 2016

I had a reservation through Open Table but when I arrived, the hostess said they were closed for a special occasion. They had my phone number but did not try to call me to tell me this. Why did they accept the OT reservation on a night they were closed?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

I cannot answer any of your questions be ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 5, 2016

I cannot answer any of your questions because despite the fact that I made a dinner reservation for 7 pm on Monday. And waited an hour before going to the Cafe because your automated system said the only available reservation was for 7 pm. I was in the store since well before 6 PM.

When I went to the Cafe for my reservation I was told that the kitchen was already closed.

A very nice employee named Christian gave me a tour of the Cafe, it is lovely, and showed me a menu. At my request, he also said he would have the restaurant manager, also named Christian, call me.

Honestly, I can understand a technology glich since Monday was Labor Day but the thing that bothers me the most is that I still have not heard from the restaurant manager. That is really bad service which I would not expect from SAKS. From Alisa 718 637 4908

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

There is a lot I like about the café. b ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 2, 2016

There is a lot I like about the café. but one thing I don't like is that the menu hardly every changes. The menu needs to be expanded, I want more choices of appetizers, sandwiches & burgers.

Tags: Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Brunch, Cozy, Great for Lunch, Casual, Business Meals, Afternoon Coffee, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Its only open two weeks, I think they ne ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 25, 2016

Its only open two weeks, I think they need to expand the menu a bit. But its a really nice space outdoors. Staff is great.

Tags: Fun, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Server was horrible! Very curt & unatten ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 25, 2016

Server was horrible! Very curt & unattentive. We asked about sitting outside & were rudely told that couldn't be. No patrons out there. A few moments later, two diners came in & asked their server if they could switch. They were & all were gracious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value4

Service was not great. When I arrived th ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 23, 2016

Service was not great. When I arrived there was no host/hostess to check me in. I waited awhile and thank goodness there was a bench. When my friend arrived, still no host. Eventually we got seated. Service was good at first but then dropped off.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

My experience has always been satisfacto ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 21, 2016

My experience has always been satisfactory - seating immediate and I had the view I asked for...my party of 4 was very happy and we do come often but now that I know how to reserve a table there are no worries...thank you!

Tags: Modern Decor, Scenic View, Good Vegetarian Options, Afternoon Tea, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

Food is good but this restaurant is conv ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 17, 2016

Food is good but this restaurant is conveniently located next to the women's' shoe department and nice to stop by for a bite or drink after shopping in the store.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

great for lunch. Nice staff and good cus ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 6, 2016

great for lunch. Nice staff and good customer service!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

restaurant was closed for private event, ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 4, 2016

restaurant was closed for private event, open table should have a way to let me know, instead i showed up there only to hear it is closed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Great spot for a business lunch or catch ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 19, 2016

Great spot for a business lunch or catching up with a friend in midtown. All the servers are very aware of time and are happy to expedite service if necessary. Would definitely go again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

Very impressed overall. Didn't expect t ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 9, 2016

Very impressed overall. Didn't expect to see a kid's menu, but great value for $10 and under. Definitely coming back.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Our waitress was absolutely lovely, very ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 5, 2016

Our waitress was absolutely lovely, very attentive, pleasant and informative. Although lunch was a little pricey, we were able to have a conversation without straining to hear each other. The view was great too!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Our lunch was great. Nice fresh half sa ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on June 19, 2016

Our lunch was great. Nice fresh half sandwich, soup and salad all together. Reasonable price. Tasted great and very fresh. Nice views and good service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Best grilled cheese I've ever had in my ...

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 9, 2016

Best grilled cheese I've ever had in my life.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Great escape for lunch

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 8, 2016

Great escape for lunch

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Great food, amazing view of St. Patrick' ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 20, 2016

Great food, amazing view of St. Patrick's cathedral. Excellent, attentive service. Such a great lunch and fabulous spot!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

An hour to get a salad at lunch. Clearl ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 17, 2016

An hour to get a salad at lunch. Clearly aimed at people who have time to shop.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

A gem

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 30, 2016

Always enjoyed cafe sfa, food is tasty and allot for your money. The turkey avocado sandwich is amazing. The cafe is very nice among the hustle of the shoe salon just wish they would do a remodel of the cafe. The outer part of the dining area that surrounds the Windows needs updating.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great lunch in town

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 28, 2016

Found this place while shopping at Saks - nice food and a good wine selection.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.