Not available on OpenTable

Unfortunately, this restaurant is not on the OpenTable reservation network.
If you like, we’ll notify you by email if this restaurant joins.
Is this your restaurant? Claim this listing

Permanently Closed - Cafe SFA

4.2
181 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Contemporary American
Top Tags:
  • Great for Lunch
  • Scenic View
  • Great for Brunch

Similar Restaurants

About

This restaurant is permanently closed. Cafe SFA is a hidden gem nestled on the 8th floor of the iconic flagship Saks Fifth Avenue store. Chef Alex Reyes' menu is fresh and seasonal with daily specials served alongside an inventive selection of entrees, salads, and sandwiches. A stylish and comfortable interior features bird's-eye views of Rockefeller Center and St. Patrick's Cathedral. Café SFA is a popular midtown business lunch spot and a favorite destination for shoppers and international visitors. Private events are also a specialty and Café SFA can host functions of all types and sizes at several locales in the store.
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Contemporary American, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service, Afternoon Tea
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Cafe SFA and The Terrace:

Monday-Saturday 12 to 7:30pm
Sunday 12 to 6pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(212) 940-4080
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Smart Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Alexandro Reyes
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private party facilities
The flagship Saks Fifth Avenue store is an iconic setting that emanates luxury and style. Add exquisite food and drink and you have the makings of a truly memorable event. We offer versatile space for corporate and social occasions, from cocktail parties to elegant formal dinners.
icon/ic_contactCreated with Sketch.
Private party contact
our Private Event Coordinator: (877) 912-1347
icon/ic_cateringCreated with Sketch.
Catering
Available for private events- please call 212 940 2138 for information
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
49th Street
icon/ic_public_transitCreated with Sketch.
Public transit
Subway: B,D,F,M,6,E
Bus: M50
icon/ic_special_eventsCreated with Sketch.
Special events & promotions
Cafe SFA hosts special events and dinners throughout the year. Check our website for what is coming up.
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 181 People Are SayingWrite a review
Overall ratings and reviews
4.2based on all time ratings
4.0
food
4.0
service
3.9
ambience
3.6
value
Noise · Moderate
86% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
1.0Dined on January 5, 2018

I made this reservation in late December 2017 and it was confirmed by OpenTable. however, it turns out the restaurant closed its door at the end of December without OpenTable or the restaurant giving us any notice. Now Opentable wants me to review!! Get your act together or get out of the business!

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on January 3, 2018

I was shocked to discover that I, along with my 5 friends approached Cafe SFA at 12:00 as my reservation said, only to find that it was closed! I had received a reminder just the day before to be there at 12:00, confirming my reservation. I don't know who dropped the ball, either Open Table or Cafe SFA, (I'm assuming it was Cafe SFA but will never know) but needless to say, I would NOT assume from here on in that a reservation made on any online entity is going to be there. I will call ahead from now on to confirm. Thankfully, someone from the restaurant was there when we arrived and offered to make my group another lunch reservation at a restaurant in the area, which saved the day. I was embarrassed and it was a tense time until we had a later lunch reservation confirmed at another restaurant. My takeaway is that you MUST call to confirm any reservation you make. Don't assume that it'll be there when you show up.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 24, 2017

The food was delicious. The service was impeccable, our waitress was very attentive and gave great recommendations. I believe she was from Ohio.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on November 16, 2017

Restaurant was closed for a private party!!!!! Never honored our reservation. ! Very upsetting

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on November 7, 2017

Kitchen messed up our first course and sent our second course before fixing the first. Not ideal and they didn’t take anything off the check

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on November 6, 2017

Nice view and lovely staff and surroundings but took a little too long for food to arrive.
Good location and pretty place to chat,dine,dinner meeting etc.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on October 27, 2017

The menu is smaller in the evening than on their website. So you have fewer options to choose. Also, some of their ingredients may not be there if you are dining after 5:30 pm. The food was delicious and service ok. It is somewhat difficult to find. You have to go to the 8th floor and through the shoe to the back.
There are very few signs. The department store pretends to be a high end, so be aware and not to be intimidated by some of the looks you may get if you are wearing jeans or other casual clothing. Not a place to go wearing flip-flops, shorts, or tired t-shirt.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 24, 2017

Hadn't been to Cafe SFA in over 10 years, but was eager to reorder my favorite dish - Asian Chicken Salad. It was still wonderful. The views are so unusual and stunning and the service was perfect. A little pricey for lunch, but otherwise, perfect.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on October 4, 2017

SFA is a classic. Always convenient and a great excuse to go shoe shopping. It is always a bonus when stumble across the sales. Service was fair but all else makes up for it. This is a great central meeting location.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on September 25, 2017

SFA Cafe is always a sure bet. Conveniently located in midtown and if you get a table by the window you can spy some of the great rooftop gardens of the buildings on 5th Avenue. The menu is somewhat limited but the salads are always good and they'll make adjustments to anything to satisfy dietary restrictions (or desires). I've been countless times and I'm sure I'll continue to return again and again.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on September 25, 2017

This is the perfect place to meet a friend in midtown and have a long quiet talk then explore the latest fashions. The food was actually very good but the menu is very limited. Service was great.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on September 19, 2017

Hmmmm, well, the view is epic and iconic, I will say that. However, the food is far less than epic and is better left alone. My recommendation would be that you go to this spot strictly for a glass of somethin' somethin' and save your money for better eats elsewhere. Nuff said. Oh, our waiter was funny and great, a definite plus.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on September 18, 2017

A pleasant find. Terrific food. Excellent, attentive service and quiet!

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on September 10, 2017

Good food let down by extremely poor service. It is very hard to recommend this place.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on September 6, 2017

It's a little fussy…modern decor but still old fashioned (not in a good way). I couldn't put my finger on it but it felt old-ladyish. Maybe the dreary day outside contributed to the drab feeling inside…so I'll give it another chance…maybe. Too much money for a salad & a cup of tea. Much prefer BG @ Bergdorf's for the cafe in a department store experience.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 18, 2017

staff very warm, young with energy for comfort and good food aimed at making an excellent
evening which we enjoyed and hope to pass along to other friends

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 10, 2017

Fun, beautiful views, good service & wonderful food!

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on August 2, 2017

I hadn't visited SFA in a long time and found it slow service (maybe it's because most of the audience is not in a hurry!) and the food is just so so. My lobster salad had less than 7 leaves of lettuce and I needed not be hungry for lobster because there wasn't much of it. It took forever to serve us and we didn't even get an appetizer!...thankfully for my figure, we left without having dessert , and didn't buy shoes because we had to get back to work!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on July 31, 2017

I love taking my young grandchildren here (and will continue as they get older :) They have a great kid's menu and I think it is very good value. Lots of good choices for the little ones - beautiful fresh berries and great dessert. Mac with cheese/Grilled Cheese and more advanced choices like Salmon. They give them crayons and coloring placemat. My grandchild always seem to behave in this grown up surrounding and I love looking at them when they behave so well. For me - lots of great choices - salads, entrees, appetizers - all very good. Can even have a glass of champagne.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on July 19, 2017

My friend and I had a lovely lunch. The lunch special is very nice. The atmosphere and food make the restaurant a wonderful spot to have lunch.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on July 18, 2017

I have been here before and always enjoy it very much. The only disappointed thing for this occasion - the 2 dishes my friend and I ordered, we were told neither of them were exactly what was on the menu. She ordered asparagus risotto and was substituted with corn, and I ordered mussels but got clams.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on July 17, 2017

A wonderful restaurant, but I do think they need to be mindful of their menu pricing. It has gone up quite a bit over the years(past 5 years) and may lose that customer base. Also, their past salads are no longer on the menu, and that is a mistake as they were wonderful:)
In any case it remains to be a wonderful place to lunch!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on July 15, 2017

The sandwich, salad, soup combo was lovely as was the outside seating and the wait-staff. The maître de was especially sweet and accommodating. Will definitely visit again after a day of amazing shopping.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on July 14, 2017

It is always a pleasure to go to cafeSFA. The salads are good and the view is great.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on July 12, 2017

I went to cafe SFA with a friend for lunch, the service was good as my friend was delayed for half hour because of the traffic. I ordered coffee and the waitress kept coming to offer me more coffee. But the food was nothing special, in fact, it was not even good. But you are going to do shopping at Saks, this place might be convenient especially on a rainy/snowy day. Otherwise, I would just go there for coffee or maybe afternoon tea.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on July 3, 2017

I hadn't been to Cafe SFA in years, but was pleasantly surprised by the updated menu. The softshell crab sandwich is a MUST.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 24, 2017

It was simply lovely!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 9, 2017

View from the terrace was spectacular. Generous sized cocktails. Service a little on the slow side.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 9, 2017

Had lunch with my twin daughters who were both in from out of town. I wanted a special lunch to celebrate. Saks did not disappoint!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 29, 2017

Food good service excellent very pricey

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 26, 2017

Lovely lunch on the terrace, it was quiet so felt very private. Service was friendly and attentive, we will be back soon!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 26, 2017

Best lobster roll I've had!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 9, 2017

Very disappointed . Difficult to get server's attention for check. Very limited menu --- different from last time I was here. But it's a pretty venu with little competition so will likely come again.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 2, 2017

I picked Cafe SFA because of the view but when I arrived it was closed off due to a private event. So we did not get to see the view, enjoy the great weather, so that was a miss for our lunch date.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 22, 2017

great place and a trend i see replicating at other high end retailers. thanks

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 2, 2017

A classic "meet for lunch" place, conveniently located for shopping and MoMA. Easy access to Grand Central Station. I met a friend there who I haven't seen in a very long time and the Cafe SFA was a perfect place to catch up. The waiter did not hurry us and we extended our lunch over several hours. The noise level was perfect for talking. The Lunch Break was really good, especially if you can't decide what you want. It includes a choice of salad, soup and sandwich so you can get a taste of everything. Portion sizes were perfect. I would definitely go back again. It was also fun to be able to do a little shopping at Saks on the way to and fro.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on March 30, 2017

The tables in the main seating area were crowded together. Our table for two was squeezed in between even two tables of six.
The service was disinterested at best. Still waiting for the basket of rolls. Had to ask twice to have a glass of water.
The Cobb Salad, which is not inexpensive had too much lettuce and not enough of the other ingredients.
Cafe SFA has reached a new low.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 28, 2017

An easy place for casual lunch with friends Service was attentive, food was good, and it's convenient. Not an extensive menu, but there's rnough to choose from. It's a little pricey, but so is SFA.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 25, 2017

Just love the soup, salad and sandwich for a nice healthy lunch before a show and a quick look in the store.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 23, 2017

This place feels tired. They have updated their menu and made it better, but the room feels like it needs an update to feel that dining there is more than just a meal.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
5