About Café Sebastienne

One of Kansas City's premier restaurants, Café Sebastienne combines the worlds of contemporary art & contemporary cuisine in the heart of the Kemper Museum of Contemporary Art. The Café utilizes the season's offerings & local organic produce in her creative menus.

4420 Warwick Blvd.
Kansas City, MO 64111
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Tuesday - Saturday: 11:00am - 2:30pm; Dinner: Thursday - Friday: 5:30pm - 9:00pm, Sunday Brunch: 11:00am - 2:30pm

Cross Street:
45th

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(816) 561-7740

Website:
http://www.kemperart.org/cafe/index.asp

Entertainment:
Please visit www.kemperart.org for any information regarding programs and/or entertainment.

Catering:
Please call for details.

Public Transit:
Bus/Metro - 45th & Main

Private Party Facilities:
Please call or visit www.kemperart.org for details.

Private Party Contact:
Betty Kindler: (816) 797-1544

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, Cafe, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Café Sebastienne Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Modern Decor (25)
Great for Lunch (25)
Sunday Lunch (21)
See All
Great for Brunch (21)
Good for a Date (20)
Fit for Foodies (19)
Special Occasion (19)
Creative Cuisine (17)
Neighborhood Gem (12)
Pre/post Theatre (11)
Fun (11)
Authentic (11)
Good for Groups (9)
Casual (8)
People Watching (8)
Romantic (7)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Local Ingredients (7)
Healthy (6)
Good for Anniversaries (6)
Seasonal (6)
Worth the Drive (5)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Business Meals (5)
Cozy (5)
Notable Wine List (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Afternoon Coffee (4)
Scenic View (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Historic (2)
Live Music (2)
Organic (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Tapas (2)
Outstanding Value (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Private Room (1)
Sort By:
S
938 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 5 days ago

Our office has a wonderful time celebrating together at your cafe and perusing the art museum. The food was outstanding!

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 19, 2017

We enjoyed a long-awaited luncheon with friends and I chose Cafe Sebastienne for it's
ambiance and generally terrific, albeit limited, menu. Both couples were greatly satisfied
with our lunchtime restaurant choice, and will, undoubtedly, be back. Thank you.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Accommodated every request. Server was polite but bland. Had to ask for better description. Was a 20% tip applied to our table. Would have given that anyway, but didn't see any warni g it would happen.

Tags: Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Rosé by the can, cool museum vibes, and great service. Appreciate the option to sit in the cafe or the courtyard. Love the atmosphere of both, but during brunch my favorite is the cafe. The courtyard can get very warm with the skylight. I am struggling to find any entrees that aren't delicious.

A fun little KC gem!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Been awhile since dining at c Sebastienne.. past experiences good, this time not so much. Ordered ceviche. Was very good...Lamb was tough. Had to saw with steak knife veggies like eating wood, I think it was zucchini slice. Other diners fish was undercooked till returned to kitchen.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 13, 2017

not yet up to its usual perfection.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 12, 2017

My food was very disappointing. I ordered the chicken, most good restaurants do not use chicken parts, they use breasts. I had chicken backs or thighs, with very little meat or taste. The grits the chicken was served on was tastey.

Tags: Modern Decor, Business Meals, Afternoon Coffee, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 12, 2017

If I had not ordered my entree at the same time I had ordered my salad, I would have left. The food was tasteless.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 11, 2017

You feel special at this restaurant. The art is great and the food is great. A little loud and echoey in the courtyard where we sat but no matter. A tad overpriced but think of it as supporting the arts. A real ladies who lunch sort of venue.

Tags: Modern Decor, Scenic View, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Great atmosphere and Food , service seemed a bit indifferent

Tags: Special Occasion, Afternoon Coffee, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 6, 2017

One of my "go to" restaurants - always good. And CHARLES is the best server ever.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Healthy, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 6, 2017

A Friday-night foursome with two out-of-towners who never had been to the museum. Sat in the courtyard -- quieter than inside, as there was one noisy party in there. Two of us had hanger steaks, the other two had pork chops. Steaks very nice, done as ordered, and sides were attractive and tasty. Pork chops were huge, but one was extraordinarily fatty -- thus the food probably should get 3.5 stars instead of 4. Ordered two desserts, a semifreddo and a bread pudding, both attractive and tasty. Wine list had good selection and price range. Enjoyed a bottle of an Italian red that spell check won't let me spell correctly -- insists on spelling "barber" -- so you get the idea. Service excellent as always, although after-dinner coffee arrived after we'd eaten the desserts, but it was a fresh pot, so tasted good at least.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 6, 2017

This is actually one of my favorite restaurants in all of Kansas City. Most often the food is creative and very tasty. I was disappointed this last visit, that the food was not up to par. Neither I nor my husband enjoyed our entrees, not finishing and not taking home to finish, which was a first for us both. I realize their is a new chef who will soon be starting, and we will certainly give this restaurant another chance. (They are currently between chefs, due to unforeseen circumstances out of their control.) But given the unfortunate dinner this past Friday, we still will return, as the service and ambience are wonderful. Not the norm. Dale is our favorite waiter, and we request him each time.

Tags: Casual, Cozy, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 2, 2017

My husband and I came in for lunch and toured the museum afterwards. The space is gorgeous, the menu is seasonal and service is attentive and friendly. We split a spinach salad with pancetta and a poached egg. We both ordered the trout with spring vegetables, fingerling potatoes and tarragon butter. Execution and flavors were very spot on, so much so that we decided to order a dessert too. The flourless chocolate cake with fresh fruit was a lovely way to round out the meal.

We look forward to our next meal here. Keep up the great work!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Always the best--especially if Dale is our server!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Comfort Food, Authentic, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Set in the inner depths of the museum we were taken by the artistic ambiance. The meal was divine. The staff were phenomenal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Great Brunch. Outstanding service. Charles is the best.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Excellent food and superb service. Enjoyed the courtyard for its light open feeling.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Authentic, Modern Decor, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We always love Cafe Sebastienne; This particular visit was on Easter, and they were very busy but it was still a very nice experience. I did drop a star or two for having been seated so close to the kitchen door- I made the reservation weeks ago, and would have preferred to be at a less high traffic table. I think they "may" have crammed a few too many tables into a small area to support the holiday. Really delicious food though!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Comfort Food, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Creative menu, outstanding service in a unique venue, the Kemper Museum. We enjoy Café Sebastienne regularly dinner and Sunday brunch. This past Easter Sunday was especially good.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Modern Decor, Local Ingredients, Sunday Lunch, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Party of 8 and it was awesome. Great service. Great menu. Great prep and delivery. Highly recommended.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 11, 2017

Truly a fun time with a dear friend. We were able to catch up and enjoy a delicious lunch. They were very helpful but let us have our time together without rushing us. And amazing original art work covering the walls surrounded us as we ate and chatted. What is not to like?

Tags: Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Short but great menu and each dish done to perfection. Always a treat to dine here.

Tags: Fun, Modern Decor, Historic, Molecular Gastronomy, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Our server Stacey, as always, was incredible. We have had her a couple of times when we were there, once with our young girls, and she's flawless. We read the history of the artwork and were more in awe than we'd been before. Everything about this place is perfect!

Tags: Cozy, Great for Brunch, Quick Bite, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 31, 2017

We enjoyed the atmosphere, the food was excellent. The hostess was fun and friendly. Our waiter was great. We had a great experience and will definitely visit again.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 31, 2017

I have eaten at the Café many times over the years, and I am never disappointed. Our server has been with the Café for years, and he is always a delight; good in giving suggestions and attention to detail. The food is always top-notch and changes monthly so there are always new entrees to experience. There are several options including chicken, lamb, beef, pork, seafood and vegetarian, but not so many entrees that it takes forever to go over the list and decide. My friend and I had wine, good list to choose from. In the past I have had mixed cocktails, they are always great as well.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Sunday Lunch, Disabled Access, Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Healthy, People Watching, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 28, 2017

Halibut was perfect. I do wish the wine was a bit less pricey...it's good, just a bit hard on the wallet.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Always good. Missing Jennifer, but still a great place.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Lunch anytime is a treat at Cafe Sebastienne--especially when Dale is our server!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 15, 2017

I enjoyed sitting in the sun room in an alcove. It was what I expected for lunch in a cafe-like setting in an outstanding museum. Many items on the menu sounded delicious. I had Fish Tacos. Yum! I will definitely have lunch there again.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Dinner is always consistently delicious at Cafe Sebastienne. And having Dale for our server us the best!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Lovely experience. Server was excellent.
The food was fresh and tasty.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fun, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Delicious and lovely. Despite Ms. Maloney's death, the tradition of great food at cafe Sebastienne lives on.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Authentic, Organic, People Watching, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 8, 2017

The service was incredible: perfectly timed and friendly. The manager came to check in on us. Our drinks were filled at all times. We sat right by the kitchen door, and as the staff came in and out we could hear the lively kitchen clutter and the delicious smells wafted towards us. All of these combined created a perfect cozy atmosphere for a special occasion we celebrated. I couldn't wish for a better time. Thank you so much, Café Sebastienne.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Great for Lunch, Modern Decor, Good Vegetarian Options, Seasonal, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Sunday Brunch was as good as ever; our favorite server, Charles Lee recommended the trout for our entrée. My date and I shared the fish and found it delicious and the way the cauliflower was prepared was excellent. A most enjoyable afternoon at the Kemper Museum of Contemporary Art.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 5, 2017

One of the best values out there considering high quality food versus price. We drove from Liberty to get chef prepared gourmet food at a reasonable price. A gourmet chef knows how to mix multiple ingredients so that the flavor complement each other and can each be enjoyed to the fullest. That's what we always experience at Cafe Sebastienne. Love, love, love Cafe Sabastienne.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Healthy, Organic, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Excellent good and atmosphere!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 28, 2017

I had not eaten at Cafe Sabastienne in a few months and thought it'd be a great place to take my friend. However, the food was so so and unimpressive. I expected more and left disappointed.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 26, 2017

One of my spouse's favorites for birthdays, etc. Good venue for brunch with son, daughter and grandkids. Also nice to be able to view art after brunch.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 24, 2017

The food served at the cafe is as interesting & artistic as the pieces outside the door in the museum. Everything is prepared so well! I'm already looking forward to returning.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor, Hot Spot, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.