About Café Sebastienne

4420 Warwick Blvd.
Kansas City, MO 64111
View Larger Map

One of Kansas City's premier restaurants, Café Sebastienne combines the worlds of contemporary art & contemporary cuisine in the heart of the Kemper Museum of Contemporary Art. Chef Jennifer Maloney utilizes the season's offerings & local organic produce in her creative menus.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Tuesday - Saturday: 11:00am - 2:30pm; Dinner: Thursday - Friday: 5:30pm - 9:00pm, Sunday Brunch: 11:00am - 2:30pm

Cross Street:
45th

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(816) 561-7740

Website:
http://www.kemperart.org/cafe/index.asp

Entertainment:
Please visit www.kemperart.org for Musician's schedule.

Catering:
Please call for details.

Public Transit:
Bus/Metro - 45th & Main

Executive Chef:
Jennifer Maloney

Private Party Facilities:
Please call or visit www.kemperart.org for details.

Private Party Contact:
Betty Kindler: 816-797-1544

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Beer, Cafe, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Scallops
Amaretto Cherry Crisp
Pork Chop
Moroccan Tagine
Cafe Benny -Half Order
Chocolate Carmel Creme Brulee
Brioche French Toast -Half Order
flourless chocolate cake
Lamb Chops
Pork Loin
Chicken Curry Soup
Brioche French Toast With Blueberry, Pear Compote, Smoked Bacon
Biscuts And Sage/Sausage Gravy, Eggs, Bacon And Potatoes
Charcuterie plate
Bread Pudding!
Spaghetti Squash
Carrot Bisque
Apple Pear Crisp With Ginger Icecream
Duroc Pork Chop
Milk Chocolate Creme Brulee
Crab Benedict, French Toast, Ham Croque
fish tacos
Mussels In Coconut Curry Sauce
Crispy Fried Oysters

Café Sebastienne Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Fit for Foodies
Kansas City
Great for Brunch
Kansas City
Great for Lunch
Kansas City
6 More
Contemporary American
Kansas City
Best Value
Kansas City, MO
Fit for Foodies
Kansas City, MO
Great for Brunch
Kansas City, MO
Great for Lunch
Kansas City, MO
Contemporary American
Kansas City, MO
Best Restaurants in Kansas City ›

great for lunch (58)
fit for foodies (57)
great for brunch (54)
See All
special occasion (42)
neighborhood gem (34)
good for groups (21)
scenic view (17)
romantic (15)
notable wine list (9)
hot spot (8)
kid-friendly (5)
great for outdoor dining (4)
late-night find (1)
Sort By:
Newest
770 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Always a pleasure to dine here. Service ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined 7 days ago

Always a pleasure to dine here. Service is special. Food is spectacular.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is a great place to eat for all occ ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

This is a great place to eat for all occasions. The food is outstanding, along with a good wine list. But the prices are the real bargain.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

The food was very good - all 4 of us lov ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

The food was very good - all 4 of us loved what we ordered. We had a great waiter which always makes the experience better.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Perfectly-prepared, locally-sourced food ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Perfectly-prepared, locally-sourced food. An inventive menu. Attentive and knowledgeable service. Lovely wine selection. And you're surrounded by art!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Café Sebastienne may well be my favorite ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Café Sebastienne may well be my favorite restaurant in Kansas City! From the dart-lined walls of the dining room to the excellent service and simply superb food, it offers a dining experience that simply can't be beat! Chef Jennifer Maloney's offerings change weekly as dictated by what's seasonal and fresh. An example: the lobster risotto my husband and I enjoyed as an appetizer was embellished with fresh tomatoes, basil and corn. I would recommend Café Sebastienne without hesitation. You won't be disappointed!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Family from STL asked specifically to ha ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Family from STL asked specifically to have lunch at Sebastienne. Our 8 year old niece has been here multiple times and loved the swordfish tacos!!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great quick service, tettific lunch men ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

Great quick service, tettific lunch menu and the venue itself if magnificent. Need I say more?

Tags: great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A Kansas City contemporary must!! Fantas ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

A Kansas City contemporary must!! Fantastic from all angles. Signature drink Sebastienne is great.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I hesitate to keep praising this place b ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

I hesitate to keep praising this place because I don't want it to become so popular that it will be hard to get a table there. However, I also don't want it to not keep operating because of low demand. It deserves more patronage than it seems to be getting. The food is always excellent, the service attentive and the atmosphere unique. Perhaps its the location, but it seldom seems crowded. So, I hope more people go there but don't tell all their friends about it, just tell the few who would appreciate what a special place this is.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A great place for lunch with friends fro ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

A great place for lunch with friends from out of the city. The lunch trio is my favorite and Jennifer Maloney has great seasonable soups and salads but my favorite is always the sandwich. Always good never a disappointment

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Squash soup was pretty tasteless. Brioch ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Squash soup was pretty tasteless. Brioche french toast yummy as wasTenderloin Benny. Servings were generous Nice altho loud in main indoorarea.

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Cafe Sebastiene is a fab place for Sunda ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Cafe Sebastiene is a fab place for Sunday brunch! It had been a while since we had been there for brunch and it was amazing. And Dale always makes it a very fun experience!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is my favorite place for brunch. I ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

This is my favorite place for brunch. I love being surrounded by great art. The food is always amazing.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Cafe Sebastienne

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

Food was great, ambience perfect for the occasion, and service was attention, but not overbearing. One of our favorite restaurants in the City

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Museum cafe

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

This is a lovely place for brunch. The portions are large and the food is very good. My only quibble is that it is listed as having terrace dining: actually it is an atrium, which is pleasant and a little more all weather, but not what I expected.

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Brunch was recommended when we ate there ...

vip
 (Omaha)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Brunch was recommended when we ate there for dinner. We weren't disappointed. The scones were scrumptious that even my gluten avoidant husband had 2. Frittata and beef hash were both nicely done - eggs not over cooked.! The museum opens at 10am and the Cafe at 11am and an hour is more than enough time to look at the whole collection.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Service was impeccable. Our server, Dale ...

vip
 (Omaha)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Service was impeccable. Our server, Dale was very helpful and pleasant to chat with about the food, museum, etc. Portions were generous so left very full after just 2 courses.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Incredible food, unique interior....wil ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Incredible food, unique interior....will definitely return

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always good.

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

The atmosphere may be the best in KC . Go 30-45 minutes early so you have time to take in the museum. Not a "cow town" experience.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

Favoriet

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on May 19, 2016

The combination of excellent food an atmosphere makes this on of my favorite places in KC. It's great for any occasion from a Sunday brunch, business lunch to special dinner.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

The food was excellent! The trout was ex ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on May 17, 2016

The food was excellent! The trout was exceptional and the service was impeccable! We are extremely impressed, and we are not people to throw around compliments for restaurants lightly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was amazing

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

The brunch here is amazing. The food is full of flavor and absolutely delicious.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

We enjoyed the Mother's Day Brunch, and ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

We enjoyed the Mother's Day Brunch, and appreciated that although we had a late seating, we were still made welcome and not rushed at all. The beef hash was superb, and my husband enjoyed the smoked trout plate. We each had an excellent cocktail for brunch, as well as dessert - a medley of gelato and cookies. Everything was beautifully presented and delicious.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Charles is fantastic and makes every vis ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Charles is fantastic and makes every visit enjoyable and always request he be our waiter.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Consistently the best in KC

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Went on Mother's Day for brunch. They had planned well, with plenty of wait staff.

Food was perfect, as always.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

So disappointed.

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Bad iced tea, tough frisee and little else in my salad, tiny, useless cubes of beets, a few desultory strawberries and little pieces of feta and a few toasted pecans. It is sad when a restaurant serves you something that you could make so much better at home.

I won't be going back to this restaurant, even though years ago I had some very good meals there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

ALWAYS INCREDIBLE

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

The food was fabulous, as always, and the service was impeccable and our server Stacey was among the best we've had in the city.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our reservations were 7:30 on a Friday n ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Our reservations were 7:30 on a Friday night and they had run out of the halibut we'd gone to eat so that was disappointing. Otherwise our dinner was very good, but I'd call ahead and order next time because there are only about 6 choices for entrees.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

A favorite

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

Cafe Sebastienne is one of my favorite restaurants in Kansas City. The art museum setting, the delightful cafe with reproductions of famous artworks covering all of the walls make it a colorful and eclectic place. The food is always exquisite; the service always excellent. When I have out-of-town guests, I take them to the Nelson-Atkins Art Museum and then to The KemperArt Museum's Cafe Sebastienne for lunch. My niece and I celebrate our birthdays with Sunday brunch almost every year.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Not to be Forgotten

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

Sometimes we forget about Cafe Sebastianne because it's been in KC for a while BUT each time we go back, it's as good or better than we remembered! The food was amazing, pasta and chicken and flank steak! And they stock Ransom Gin!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I love the atmosphere andJenniferMaloney ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on April 28, 2016

I love the atmosphere andJenniferMaloney's food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Lunch with my office

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on April 27, 2016

Excellent first-time visit for my co-workers. I raved about the Reuben so much that everyone at our table ordered one. AMAZING, as always. In my opinion, the best Reuben I've ever had. Thanks for a great visit.

Tags: great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place for any occasion

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

Café Sebastienne is always on point. You can order with confidence knowing anything on the menu will be great. Cocktails are great too.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always Great!

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

Cafe Sebastienne is one of our favorite Kansas City restaurants...and again last Friday night we were not disappointed. The wait staff here is "5 star"....most have been at the restaurant for many years ... so professional but not stuffy... they handle everything efficiently with attention to detail. The food was really good...I started with the grilled asparagus salad with poached egg, perfectly cook, the asparagus had that crunch and when you cut into the egg the yellow of the yolk was runny enough to make a great dipping sauce for the asparagus. My husband ordered the arancini....small rice filled meat balls...melted in your mouth. We could have made a meal on those alone. We shared the pork chop with mashed potatoes and snap peas. Again perfectly prepared. Dessert was a wonderful cake with raspberries between the layers and a scoop of vanilla bean ice cream. The perfect end to a wonderful meal...The chef here consistently prepares food that is outstanding. She is one of the best in the city.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Artful dining in an artful atmosphere.

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

Artful dining in an artful atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

One of my KC favorites, the only negativ ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on April 10, 2016

One of my KC favorites, the only negative is the noise level. All of the interior surfaces are hard, so noise level is high.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

By far, one of the best restaurants in this city!

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 7, 2016

Always consistently one of the best restaurants in this city. Food is excellent, the staff is attentive and the atmosphere is the best. You can expect the best and it always follows through. At the top of our list always!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Easter Lunch

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

We had a late Easter lunch (2:00 reservation) our food was wonderful and the service great. We were a little disappointed that the dessert menu was short but that was because we were late dining. Over all I will go again and recommend to friends.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Cafe Sebastienne remains a top restaurant!

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on March 19, 2016

Consistently, Cafe Sebastienne serves the best food in town. The menu always has new items; it is always interesting; and it is always really delicious. The service is excellent--especially if you have Dale.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

All-around winnder

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 6, 2016

We made a mistake with our reservation (yes, it was OUR mistake); nevertheless, the staff went out of their way to accommodate us. This exemplifies an all-around top-notch experience of great service, great food, and great ambience. I hadn't been there in several years, but will definitely return.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.