About Café Sebastienne

One of Kansas City's premier restaurants, Café Sebastienne combines the worlds of contemporary art & contemporary cuisine in the heart of the Kemper Museum of Contemporary Art. The Café utilizes the season's offerings & local organic produce in her creative menus.

4420 Warwick Blvd.
Kansas City, MO 64111
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Tuesday - Saturday: 11:00am - 2:30pm; Dinner: Thursday - Friday: 5:30pm - 9:00pm, Sunday Brunch: 11:00am - 2:30pm

Cross Street:
45th

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(816) 561-7740

Website:
http://www.kemperart.org/cafe/index.asp

Entertainment:
Please visit www.kemperart.org for any information regarding programs and/or entertainment.

Catering:
Please call for details.

Public Transit:
Bus/Metro - 45th & Main

Private Party Facilities:
Please call or visit www.kemperart.org for details.

Private Party Contact:
Betty Kindler: (816) 797-1544

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, Cafe, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Café Sebastienne Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Lunch (34)
Great for Brunch (29)
Creative Cuisine (25)
See All
Fit for Foodies (24)
Special Occasion (24)
Sunday Lunch (21)
Good for a Date (20)
Neighborhood Gem (19)
Modern Decor (16)
Healthy (14)
Good for Birthdays (12)
Local Ingredients (12)
Fun (12)
Good for Anniversaries (11)
Business Meals (10)
Casual (10)
Seasonal (10)
Good for Groups (9)
Authentic (8)
Worth the Drive (8)
Good Vegetarian Options (7)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Cozy (7)
Notable Wine List (7)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Romantic (6)
Afternoon Coffee (6)
People Watching (6)
Comfort Food (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Quick Bite (4)
Vegan (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Tapas (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Scenic View (3)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Private Room (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Historic (1)
Sort By:
S
957 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 2 days ago

The food and service was very good. It was quite noisy in the open room, we had always been seated in the section with all the art previously. I would specify that room on our next visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined 6 days ago

The service and meal was excellent, as always. However, seated next to us were four very loud young women who obviously were enjoying their cocktails and bottles of wine. The people who usually dine at Café Sebestienne enjoy their meal in a quiet, relaxed atmosphere. When dining out, I would think people would be conscious of their surroundings and mood of the restaurant, after all it is not Applebee's or some BBQ joint!

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Great food; dinner menu that changes regularly (check out the reuben for lunch). Top-notch service. For dinner I recommend reservations.

Great place for the wedding reception they were setting up in the larger room (we were there for a pre-concert dinner in the smaller room).

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Berlin)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Cafe Sebastienne is a fantastic place to eat. Great menu and service surrounded by interesting art.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Vegan, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 9, 2017

Amazing ambiance but it is frustrating when a brunch spot like this has little to none vegetarian options.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on July 8, 2017

We enjoyed the flank steak with chimichuri sauce, roasted potatoes, mushrooms and spinach. This dish was amazing! We finished with a semifreddo of pistachio and cherries. It was light and delicious. The service and ambience were perfect for a Saturday afternoon date! We will definitely return!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on July 2, 2017

We usually have Sunday brunch. Last week the asparagus-crab soup was excellent! Hope they make it again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Cafe Sebastian never disappoints!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 25, 2017

We always plan a lunch at Café Sebastienne when we come to KC. The menu is varied and imaginative and we have an excellent selection of wines by the glass to choose from. We also enjoy the atrium as a venue, and spending time in the Kemper to enhance our day.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Healthy, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 22, 2017

Service was top notch! The handcrafted cocktails were amazing, we loved our "mixologist". The food was expertly prepared, presented beautifully and delicious The entrees were all just the right portions for our group. We are middle aged ladies. If we'd have been with men, they'd more than likely wanted more food.
You can't beat the setting, beautiful museum!

Tags: Healthy, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 20, 2017

Perfect spot for lunch! Enjoy the fabulous food, excellent service and then tour the art gallery. This is my 3rd time at Café Sebastienne and I'm already looking forward to the next time. Fresh, flavorful and beautiful presentation in a great atmosphere. What's not to love?

Tags: Casual, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 18, 2017

I would suggest the patio only if you are not adverse to loud noise as the acoustics in that area are in a more open space and it can be loud with a lot of people talking. The patio, however, is lovely and the food is worth it!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Very nice venue with a creative menu. Menu isn't large but broad eonough for most.

Tags: Casual, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on June 14, 2017

Great lunch spot befor hitting the galleries. The cucumber coconut gazpacho was light and refreshing paired with a crisp, white wine. The mussels were tender and sauces was flavorful with addition of sausage and beans. My friend had the sandwich soup salad trio and said it was one of the best Reuben's she has eaten. Noise level was a little high for visiting but service was great.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Food was only fair. Forgot vegetables on salad. Portions too small.

Used to be one of my favorite restaurants.

Mediocore at best now. Hope you can improve!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Impossible to change number of people on your site from always two to three or four...upgrade the system

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 2, 2017

New menu this week....you'll love it!! The trout was special and my guest loved the reuben with fresh potato chips

Tags: Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Great for Brunch, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Out of town guests were impressed! Food and service were great!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 24, 2017

Our office has a wonderful time celebrating together at your cafe and perusing the art museum. The food was outstanding!

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 19, 2017

We enjoyed a long-awaited luncheon with friends and I chose Cafe Sebastienne for it's
ambiance and generally terrific, albeit limited, menu. Both couples were greatly satisfied
with our lunchtime restaurant choice, and will, undoubtedly, be back. Thank you.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Service was a bit slow, but everything else was delightful. Ambiance & food were great. A perfect spot to celebrate Mother's Day!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Accommodated every request. Server was polite but bland. Had to ask for better description. Was a 20% tip applied to our table. Would have given that anyway, but didn't see any warni g it would happen.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Rosé by the can, cool museum vibes, and great service. Appreciate the option to sit in the cafe or the courtyard. Love the atmosphere of both, but during brunch my favorite is the cafe. The courtyard can get very warm with the skylight. I am struggling to find any entrees that aren't delicious.

A fun little KC gem!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Been awhile since dining at c Sebastienne.. past experiences good, this time not so much. Ordered ceviche. Was very good...Lamb was tough. Had to saw with steak knife veggies like eating wood, I think it was zucchini slice. Other diners fish was undercooked till returned to kitchen.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 12, 2017

not yet up to its usual perfection.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 12, 2017

My food was very disappointing. I ordered the chicken, most good restaurants do not use chicken parts, they use breasts. I had chicken backs or thighs, with very little meat or taste. The grits the chicken was served on was tastey.

Tags: Business Meals, Afternoon Coffee, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 12, 2017

If I had not ordered my entree at the same time I had ordered my salad, I would have left. The food was tasteless.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 11, 2017

You feel special at this restaurant. The art is great and the food is great. A little loud and echoey in the courtyard where we sat but no matter. A tad overpriced but think of it as supporting the arts. A real ladies who lunch sort of venue.

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 6, 2017

One of my "go to" restaurants - always good. And CHARLES is the best server ever.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Healthy, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Great atmosphere and Food , service seemed a bit indifferent

Tags: Special Occasion, Afternoon Coffee, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 5, 2017

A Friday-night foursome with two out-of-towners who never had been to the museum. Sat in the courtyard -- quieter than inside, as there was one noisy party in there. Two of us had hanger steaks, the other two had pork chops. Steaks very nice, done as ordered, and sides were attractive and tasty. Pork chops were huge, but one was extraordinarily fatty -- thus the food probably should get 3.5 stars instead of 4. Ordered two desserts, a semifreddo and a bread pudding, both attractive and tasty. Wine list had good selection and price range. Enjoyed a bottle of an Italian red that spell check won't let me spell correctly -- insists on spelling "barber" -- so you get the idea. Service excellent as always, although after-dinner coffee arrived after we'd eaten the desserts, but it was a fresh pot, so tasted good at least.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 5, 2017

This is actually one of my favorite restaurants in all of Kansas City. Most often the food is creative and very tasty. I was disappointed this last visit, that the food was not up to par. Neither I nor my husband enjoyed our entrees, not finishing and not taking home to finish, which was a first for us both. I realize their is a new chef who will soon be starting, and we will certainly give this restaurant another chance. (They are currently between chefs, due to unforeseen circumstances out of their control.) But given the unfortunate dinner this past Friday, we still will return, as the service and ambience are wonderful. Not the norm. Dale is our favorite waiter, and we request him each time.

Tags: Casual, Cozy, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 2, 2017

My husband and I came in for lunch and toured the museum afterwards. The space is gorgeous, the menu is seasonal and service is attentive and friendly. We split a spinach salad with pancetta and a poached egg. We both ordered the trout with spring vegetables, fingerling potatoes and tarragon butter. Execution and flavors were very spot on, so much so that we decided to order a dessert too. The flourless chocolate cake with fresh fruit was a lovely way to round out the meal.

We look forward to our next meal here. Keep up the great work!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Always the best--especially if Dale is our server!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Comfort Food, Authentic, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Set in the inner depths of the museum we were taken by the artistic ambiance. The meal was divine. The staff were phenomenal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Great Brunch. Outstanding service. Charles is the best.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Excellent food and superb service. Enjoyed the courtyard for its light open feeling.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Authentic, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We always love Cafe Sebastienne; This particular visit was on Easter, and they were very busy but it was still a very nice experience. I did drop a star or two for having been seated so close to the kitchen door- I made the reservation weeks ago, and would have preferred to be at a less high traffic table. I think they "may" have crammed a few too many tables into a small area to support the holiday. Really delicious food though!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Comfort Food, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Creative menu, outstanding service in a unique venue, the Kemper Museum. We enjoy Café Sebastienne regularly dinner and Sunday brunch. This past Easter Sunday was especially good.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Local Ingredients, Sunday Lunch, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Party of 8 and it was awesome. Great service. Great menu. Great prep and delivery. Highly recommended.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.