About Café Sebastienne

One of Kansas City's premier restaurants, Café Sebastienne combines the worlds of contemporary art & contemporary cuisine in the heart of the Kemper Museum of Contemporary Art. The Café utilizes the season's offerings & local organic produce in her creative menus.

4420 Warwick Blvd.
Kansas City, MO 64111
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Tuesday - Saturday: 11:00am - 2:30pm; Dinner: Thursday - Friday: 5:30pm - 9:00pm, Sunday Brunch: 11:00am - 2:30pm

Cross Street:
45th

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(816) 561-7740

Website:
http://www.kemperart.org/cafe/index.asp

Entertainment:
Please visit www.kemperart.org for any information regarding programs and/or entertainment.

Catering:
Please call for details.

Public Transit:
Bus/Metro - 45th & Main

Private Party Facilities:
Please call or visit www.kemperart.org for details.

Private Party Contact:
Betty Kindler: (816) 797-1544

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, Cafe, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Café Sebastienne Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

Noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Creative Cuisine (33)
Great for Lunch (33)
Special Occasion (27)
See All
Good for a Date (27)
Fit for Foodies (26)
Good for Birthdays (23)
Neighborhood Gem (23)
Great for Brunch (20)
Sunday Lunch (20)
Healthy (19)
Quiet Conversation (19)
Good for Anniversaries (17)
Fun (17)
Casual (15)
Cozy (15)
Local Ingredients (13)
Worth the Drive (13)
Authentic (12)
Business Meals (12)
Seasonal (12)
Handcrafted Cocktails (11)
People Watching (11)
Pre/post Theatre (11)
Romantic (11)
Disabled Access (9)
Good Vegetarian Options (9)
Scenic View (9)
Good for Groups (7)
Afternoon Coffee (6)
Organic (4)
Afternoon Tea (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Kid-friendly (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Vegan (2)
Comfort Food (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Sort by
S
1032 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 4 days ago

Just perfect. Creamy tomato soup was served with drizzled basil oil. Our server was attentive and helpful. Great food with great presentation. We enjoyed all dishes.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Business Meals, Afternoon Tea, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 5 days ago

Beautiful environment and excellently prepared food.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Cozy, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 5 days ago

We have treasured our past visits to Cafe Sebastienne and were eager to try it again after a lengthy hiatus. Unfortunately, our high hopes were not met by the new chef or the unsmiling servers during our Restaurant Week experience. It was painfully obvious that Chef Jennifer Maloney’s honest-yet-discerning palate no longer influences what comes out of the kitchen. Cafe Sebastienne, where is the heart—the love of good, real food?

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic, Good Vegetarian Options, Disabled Access, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value2

 
·Dined on January 9, 2018

Was surprised at the food and price! Delicious clams and salads!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on January 6, 2018

Lovely hidden gem. Food was delicious; nice wine selection; interesting cocktail choices. Very attentive (but not cloying) servers. Ambiance is simply fabulous.

Tags: Good for a Date, Afternoon Coffee, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 6, 2018

Chewy and fatty tenderloin that was over cooked in the Beef Wellington dish. Simply awful is all I can say about the food I had.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 2, 2018

Always the best!! A favorite for lunch. Great atmosphere, personable weight staff, food is always great.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 31, 2017

The food was great. It has a very unique environment. I definitely want to go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 28, 2017

As always ambiance, especially inside, was great. Food this time was OK. Shrimps were over cooked. Service very good, although it took some time to take our order but place very busy. Waiter was great. My guest liked the decor and his chicken dish.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 24, 2017

Perfect place to treat out of town friends to delicious food in a beautiful space.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 24, 2017

Once again, we were so pleased with our meal at Cafe Sebastienne. Our daughter was visiting from San Francisco and we wanted a relaxing place where we could visit for brunch on Christmas Eve. And, with a tasty menu. Did I mention she doesn't eat wheat or dairy? So it was PERFECT! She ordered the trout with lentils and butternut squash puree -- it was really delicious (I did sneak a taste) and everything else we had was just as good. Want to come back and not waiting for her to visit again!

Tags: Seasonal, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Paleo Friendly, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Casual, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 23, 2017

Menu was very limited. We are not a big fan of duck and it seemed there were a lot of dishes with duck. We would have ordered the steak, but you ran out. Would prefer a menu with more variety.....chicken, fish, steak, pasta.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined on December 22, 2017

The duck cassoulet was superb. The ambience would be terrific if you would play music that compliments the room instead of the pop music one hears at Applebee's. I notice your choices on sound in this survey are quiet, moderate and energetic. What happened to "too loud"? Light jazz or classical would go with the art.

Tags: People Watching, Cozy, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value3

 
·Dined on December 19, 2017

Good food. Small menu to focus on flavor bye options for everyone for lunch. Our table of 6 had 4 different entrees. Each equally delicious. The menu does change seasonally.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 17, 2017

This is one of our favorite KC restaurants for Brunch. We had another great experience
this time with four guests. The Bloody Mary got exceptionally high marks as did the food. I had a salmon benedict with two perfectly cooked poached eggs. Two in our group ordered a croissant stuffed with pastrami and cheese. That also got high marks. Our waiter was right there when we needed him and provided perfect service. The only thing I'd point out is that if you sit in the atrium area it's a little noisy. If that concerns you, opt to be seated inside.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 16, 2017

Love the atmosphere and creative menu. Enjoyed brunch but can’t wait to return for dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 16, 2017

The atmosphere is amazing - the restaurant is in an art museum! We always get wonderful service, and the menu is never the same between our visits.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 12, 2017

Delicious soup, salad, 1/2 sandwich lunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on December 10, 2017

I have heard all kinds of good reviews about this restaurant so my friends and I decided to give it a try. The ambience was very warm and cozy as we were surrounded with art on the walls. However, I was very disappointed with my order. I wanted the kobe corned beef hash and there was no presence of meat in my dish. The cocktail I had was very good though but won’t come back just for that.

Tags: Comfort Food, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 10, 2017

We come here often for Saturday lunch or Sunday brunch -- great menu choices and delicious food creatively prepared. It's always great to see the servers we know and love, too!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 9, 2017

This was the first time we'd eaten in the open courtyard area. So noisy! The acoustics made it challenging to hear our own conversation. Such a difference from when we sit inside as normally. The food was good, as always, but our service was a bit "less than" usual. While friendly, the server just didn't measure up. Still, a great venue for a unique meal in an artsy setting. We'll keep coming.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 3, 2017

We celebrated a birthday at Cafe Sebastienne, her favorite spot. She had the pork sausage with Gouda and I had the omelette. We were both pleased with our meals. Cafe Sebastienne is a hidden jewel in Kansas City.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 1, 2017

WE HAD A GREAT MEAL. THE SERVICE WAS GOOD. THEY HAVE DAILY SPECIALS AND A GREAT RUEBAN SANDWICH! WE ALWAYS SIT IN THE SMALLER SIDE OF THE RESTAURANT TO HAVE A MORE QUIET SETTING,

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 26, 2017

Trying to regain its bearings after the death of executive chef Jennifer Maloney. Sunday brunch, once by far the best in KC Metro or anywhere, now a sad afterthought. There's still the magnificent artistic and architectural setting, and intelligent service, but no firepower in the kitchen. Can't speak to lunch or dinner at this point, though the menus suggest nothing new or particularly interesting even if well-executed, a doubtful bet. Let's call it a rebuilding year in the manner of sports teams.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value3

 
·Dined on November 26, 2017

One of my very favorite Sunday brunch destinations! Our food was still sizzling when brought to the table, and our service was impeccable. Already looking forward to me next brunch!

Tags: Disabled Access, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 24, 2017

Best lunch in KC. Awesome food, tidy wine selection and great art. No tax makes it even better.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 12, 2017

I ordered the creamy squash Grits. The orange colored spicy sauce served in a small bowl inside the big bowl had half spilled over my dish. Luckily I like some spice. The grits were not creamy. They were not cooked correctly. They were gritty and chewy. I told the waiter when he asked. When the waiter found out from the chef that there was agreement they were not 100% cooked, he offered a side to my already big meal.

I did order fruit, but asked for no honeydew melon. The cup came out served by a manager. His jacket reeked of cigarette smoke.
The fruit cup was half full of honeydew. I gave up.
The location is cool. The Apple Gouda sausage was very tasty. Eggs were done right. There were collard greens under the grits, also tasty.
I’d give it another try. Not overly impressed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 11, 2017

I appreciate creativity and beside being housed in The Kemper Museum of Contemporary Art there is a lot of creativity in the food and cocktails and that comes with planning and prep. If you appreciate food, Farm to Market, locally sourced eat here and often!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 8, 2017

The best Reuben sandwich in KC

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 5, 2017

The food and coffee was disappointing for our brunch. I had been there before and it really dropped in quality. Service and ambience continued to be lovely.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 4, 2017

We had not been to the Café in over a year, so we were looking forward to trying the new chef's dishes. She did not disappoint! The soup was incredible, the entrée delicious. Service, as always, was excellent (thank you Stacey!) It's good to see that the excellent tradition started by Jennifer Maloney continues...

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 4, 2017

The food was pretty good. Surprised there were not more people there. We would go back.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 4, 2017

This was our first time and the food was delightful. Not a large selection but everything we had “delicious” would recommend the trout or spaghetti squash.

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 3, 2017

It was the perfect place to take out-of-town visitors. They were in awe of the restaurant and the museum. We'll be back soon.

Tags: Business Meals, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 3, 2017

Cafe Sebastienne's new chef seems to have a good menu. As someone who is gluten and lactose free I'd prefer more choices, but I appreciate the willingness to adapt and substitute.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on November 3, 2017

The atmosphere was great. Loved the art. Our waiter was super!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 3, 2017

Everything was what I have wanted in a meal. The flavors that the chef explored left my palette in awe. Cafe Sabastienne has a menu that would please anyone and the quality is unparalleled. The Host and wait staff were the most likely people and the ambiance is very contemporary art. I just loved every minute I spent at Cafe Sabastienne.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Scenic View, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Afternoon Coffee, Good for a Date, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Seasonal, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 2, 2017

Food was outstanding, as always. Charles is always so attentive and friendly. We had a wonderful time.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 29, 2017

Beautiful surroun
dings and great food-one of my favorite KC brunch spots....always wonderful!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 28, 2017

I brought my boyfriend and his sister and niece to Café Sebastienne to celebrate his birthday. We made reservations however, they weren't necessary as the restaurant wasn't busy at 1:45 in the afternoon. The food was absolutely fabulous and they were very accommodating to us in preparing a meal that was vegetarian and gluten free. Our waiter was very attentive and pleasant and we loved the atmosphere with all the beautiful artwork. This is a great place to bring friends and family. We had a great time visiting and eating lunch. Afterward we enjoyed the exhibits. It was a great way to celebrate. We had always wanted to have lunch here and we were thrilled at our experience overall. I highly recommend Café Sebastienne.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fun, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.