About Café Sebastienne

4420 Warwick Blvd.
Kansas City, MO 64111
View Larger Map

One of Kansas City's premier restaurants, Café Sebastienne combines the worlds of contemporary art & contemporary cuisine in the heart of the Kemper Museum of Contemporary Art. Chef Jennifer Maloney utilizes the season's offerings & local organic produce in her creative menus.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Tuesday - Saturday: 11:00am - 2:30pm; Dinner: Thursday - Friday: 5:30pm - 9:00pm, Sunday Brunch: 11:00am - 2:30pm

Cross Street:
45th

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(816) 561-7740

Website:
http://www.kemperart.org/cafe/index.asp

Entertainment:
Please visit www.kemperart.org for Musician's schedule.

Catering:
Please call for details.

Public Transit:
Bus/Metro - 45th & Main

Executive Chef:
Jennifer Maloney

Private Party Facilities:
Please call or visit www.kemperart.org for details.

Private Party Contact:
Betty Kindler: 816-797-1544

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, Cafe, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Café Sebastienne, Kansas City, MO
Scallops - Café Sebastienne, Kansas City, MO
Amaretto Cherry Crisp - Café Sebastienne, Kansas City, MO
Pork Chop - Café Sebastienne, Kansas City, MO
Moroccan Tagine - Café Sebastienne, Kansas City, MO
flourless chocolate cake - Café Sebastienne, Kansas City, MO
Lamb Chops - Café Sebastienne, Kansas City, MO
Pork Loin - Café Sebastienne, Kansas City, MO
Chicken Curry Soup - Café Sebastienne, Kansas City, MO
Brioche French Toast -Half Order - Café Sebastienne, Kansas City, MO
Charcuterie plate - Café Sebastienne, Kansas City, MO
Biscuts And Sage/Sausage Gravy, Eggs, Bacon And Potatoes - Café Sebastienne, Kansas City, MO
Brioche French Toast With Blueberry, Pear Compote, Smoked Bacon - Café Sebastienne, Kansas City, MO
Bread Pudding! - Café Sebastienne, Kansas City, MO
Cafe Benny -Half Order - Café Sebastienne, Kansas City, MO
Spaghetti Squash - Café Sebastienne, Kansas City, MO
Chocolate Carmel Creme Brulee - Café Sebastienne, Kansas City, MO
Apple Pear Crisp With Ginger Icecream - Café Sebastienne, Kansas City, MO
Carrot Bisque - Café Sebastienne, Kansas City, MO
Duroc Pork Chop - Café Sebastienne, Kansas City, MO
Milk Chocolate Creme Brulee - Café Sebastienne, Kansas City, MO
Crab Benedict, French Toast, Ham Croque - Café Sebastienne, Kansas City, MO
fish tacos - Café Sebastienne, Kansas City, MO
Mussels In Coconut Curry Sauce - Café Sebastienne, Kansas City, MO
Crispy Fried Oysters - Café Sebastienne, Kansas City, MO

Café Sebastienne Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Kansas City / Kansas
Best Value
Kansas City / Kansas
Contemporary American
Kansas City / Kansas
5 More
Best Overall
Kansas City, MO
Best Food
Kansas City, MO
Best Value
Kansas City, MO
Fit for Foodies
Kansas City, MO
Contemporary American
Kansas City, MO
Best Restaurants in Kansas City ›

Great for Lunch (38)
Great for Brunch (27)
Fit for Foodies (25)
See All
Special Occasion (24)
Creative Cuisine (24)
Neighborhood Gem (20)
Modern Decor (18)
Good for a Date (16)
Worth the Drive (14)
Good for Anniversaries (13)
Business Meals (13)
Good for Birthdays (13)
Fun (12)
Local Ingredients (12)
Good for Groups (11)
Authentic (11)
Scenic View (11)
Casual (10)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Sunday Lunch (9)
Romantic (9)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Notable Wine List (7)
Comfort Food (7)
People Watching (7)
Healthy (6)
Cozy (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Disabled Access (5)
Outstanding Value (5)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Seasonal (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Family Style (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Vegan (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Organic (1)
Historic (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Sort By:
S
816 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Excellent experience - we loved the food ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 3 days ago

Excellent experience - we loved the food and ambience and our server was amazing! Keep lemon sherbet on your menu and I'll be back!!!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My date and I dine quite often at Café S ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 5 days ago

My date and I dine quite often at Café Sebastienne, more so for Sunday Brunch than an evening dinner. We are always intrigued by Chef Jennifer Maloney's menu and outstanding service from our favorite server, Mr. Charles Lee. It is a highlight of our week, and of course, we enjoy roaming through the galleries to view the latest exhibition.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Consistently, Cafe Sebastienne is a wond ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 5 days ago

Consistently, Cafe Sebastienne is a wonderful dinning experience, great for conversation and sharing stories.

Tags: Scenic View, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Everything was wonderful and I always en ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 6 days ago

Everything was wonderful and I always enjoy the creative seasonal menu! The perfect place for a celebratory birthday brunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent! Service was very attentive. ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Excellent! Service was very attentive. Looking forward to coming back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

As always, fabulous food and the best se ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 22, 2016

As always, fabulous food and the best service. Thank you!

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great spot to eat. Good service, menu. O ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 22, 2016

Great spot to eat. Good service, menu. One of our favorite spots

Tags: Great for Brunch, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I enjoyed lunch with my parents here. I ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 22, 2016

I enjoyed lunch with my parents here. I did not love the server. My dessert plate was a little dirty, and I asked the busboy to exchange it. The server didn't apologise, even after we told him. Also my coffee cup had a crack in it and was coffee stained.

However, I enjoyed the food and the ambiance.

Tags: People Watching, Casual, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Always enjoy eating at Sebastienne, usua ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Always enjoy eating at Sebastienne, usually for lunch, but brunch is very nice. Great food and wait staff.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I was very impressed with the food, serv ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 18, 2016

I was very impressed with the food, service, and atmosphere of this place. I will be recommending to my friends and can't wait to take another couple with us the next time we go back. Their dessert menu changes monthly & their meal menu changes weekly.

Tags: Special Occasion, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Try the daily trio .... today the mushro ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Try the daily trio .... today the mushroom soup was outstanding!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very good food, a little pricey on their ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 15, 2016

Very good food, a little pricey on their salads. If you sit in the Artium it is loud (echo-y), but that is where the sun shines through!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Consistently good every time. Dale adds ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Consistently good every time. Dale adds to the good experience--

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Comfort Food, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food is wonderful at Cafe Sebastienn ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 10, 2016

The food is wonderful at Cafe Sebastienne. I wish the Cafe was open for dinner on Saturday night. We also enjoy looking at the art work in the main part of the Cafe.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Historic, Neighborhood Gem, Afternoon Coffee, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

One of our favorite brunch spots. Food, ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 6, 2016

One of our favorite brunch spots. Food, service and ambiance are top of the list. My trout was superbly cooked, and the puréed sweet potatoes were special! Definitely on our regular " go to" list.

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

THIS IS A LOVELY RESTAURANT AND PROBABLY ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 5, 2016

THIS IS A LOVELY RESTAURANT AND PROBABLY GREAT FOR ALL ADULT FUNCTIONS. WOULD NOT WANT TO TAKE CHILDREN.

THERE ARE TOO MANY SUGGESTIONS ABOVE. CUT IT BACK IF YOU WANT APPROPRIATE REVIEWS.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Cafe Sebastienne is one of my favorite p ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 2, 2016

Cafe Sebastienne is one of my favorite places to lunch with a friend or two or three. It is also the place my niece and I go every year for Sunday brunch to celebrate her birthday. It is a place I take friends from out of town who are always charmed by the decor and ambiance. I've been going there for years and have never had a bad meal. Never. The food is always perfectly cooked and delicious. The service ranges from very good to excellent always. Cafe Sebastienne is my idea of the perfect restaurant to start an afternoon; before a movie, before a visit to its galleries or to the nearby Nelson-Atkins, or shopping on the Country Club Plaza.

Tags: Cozy, Healthy, Great for Brunch, Fun, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Modern Decor, Organic, Authentic, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Outstanding Value, Casual, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always delicious--always a wonderful men ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Always delicious--always a wonderful menu to choose from--with Dale as the best server ever.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good Vegetarian Options, Fun, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Been going here for years because they n ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Been going here for years because they never disappoint!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We're never disappointed by Cafe Sebasti ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on October 21, 2016

We're never disappointed by Cafe Sebastian. We had an especially expect waiter this visit, and just enjoyed everything about our experience.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Always love dining here. Staff are all ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Always love dining here. Staff are all very pleasant and can explain anything on the menu.

Tags: Casual, Authentic, Good Vegetarian Options, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

What a wonderful find! We are a group o ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on October 9, 2016

What a wonderful find! We are a group of 5 friends who meet each fall, usually in KC and we will always be grateful to the person who clued us in on this gem for Sunday brunch. The food was amazing and the service was outstanding (Thank You Ernest!!). I highly recommend trying Cafe Sebastienne...you won't be disappointed!

Tags: Casual, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Vegan, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We always enjoy our dining experience at ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 7, 2016

We always enjoy our dining experience at this restaurant.

Tags: Modern Decor, Family Style, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Outstanding Value, Great for Lunch, Fun, Scenic View, Casual, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Disabled Access, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Local Ingredients, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went for brunch. The coffee cake was phe ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Went for brunch. The coffee cake was phenomenal. Also had soup and salad, both of which were good. Ended with a delicious chocolate dessert.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Jennifer Maloney and her staff always gi ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Jennifer Maloney and her staff always give me the most delightful and excellent meals.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good Vegetarian Options, Scenic View, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was absolutely delicious. I had ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 18, 2016

The food was absolutely delicious. I had roasted eggplant soup and chicken salad.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was great as usual and we sat i ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 18, 2016

The food was great as usual and we sat inside so the noise level was good. Our server was ok, not overly friendly or gracious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

This was our first dinner at Cafe Sebast ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 17, 2016

This was our first dinner at Cafe Sebastian & the food was just amazing!!!!! There happened to be live music in the lobby that evening & it just added to the wonderful ambience. We love visiting the Kemper and now we have another reason to visit.

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, People Watching, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

A beyond charming artistic atmosphere bl ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 9, 2016

A beyond charming artistic atmosphere blends with an equally beautiful and delicious menu. Can't wait to go back again & again .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Never disappoints, great brunch choices ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 4, 2016

Never disappoints, great brunch choices and delicious food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was a wonderful Saturday lunch. Fo ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 3, 2016

This was a wonderful Saturday lunch. Food was wonderful and it is a romantic setting we loved it. Very nice wait staff. The quality is excellent.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

DEE-LISH-USS as always! A true KC gem i ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 26, 2016

DEE-LISH-USS as always! A true KC gem in a beautiful location.

Tags: Modern Decor, People Watching, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This restaurant has been consistently de ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 26, 2016

This restaurant has been consistently delicious and inventive since it opened. With great servers like Dale, it cannot be beat for a wonderful dining experience!

Tags: Cozy, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Tucked within the Kemper Museum surround ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 24, 2016

Tucked within the Kemper Museum surrounded by a beautiful tree-lined neighborhood is Café Sebastienne with its mod white and chrome decor, attentive and courteous staff, and excellent food! This is a "do-over" destination for everyday and special occasions.

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Scenic View, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Great for Brunch, Gluten Free Options, Disabled Access, Healthy, Fun, Outstanding Value, Sunday Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Afternoon Tea, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Kid-friendly, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and service were excellent. A g ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 21, 2016

The food and service were excellent. A great atmosphere to have a Sunday brunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food is excellent, we had a group of ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 21, 2016

The food is excellent, we had a group of 6 and all of us had great brunch options. Eggs were fluffy in the omelet, the Benedict was perfectly done and fresh. The frittata was a flavorful dish and an impressive presentation. The chocolate zucchini bread was also delicious, you only need a few bites.

The service left something to be desired. We waited a long time to get drinks, and then an even longer time to order. We actually wondered if our server was still there it had been so long. Our food came and we weren't checked on and then our bills got mixed up at the end. Pretty space, service is slow and parking is tough, not a must return in my book

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1

We celebrated a birthday with a Saturday ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 20, 2016

We celebrated a birthday with a Saturday lunch. We had made reservations, were seated promptly and served promptly. Our waiter was friendly and efficient. The food was attractive, delicious and nicely proportioned. We enjoyed quiet conversation and observed others also pleasantly interactive.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food & service were great. Bit noisy fo ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 14, 2016

Food & service were great. Bit noisy for a first date.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

We had a group of 7 for brunch and every ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 14, 2016

We had a group of 7 for brunch and everyone's meal was excellent. The ribeye was perfectly cooked and delicious and worthy of sharing all the way around the table. The Grouper was also perfectly cooked and delightedly spicy and wonderful. Service was excellent and the ambiance cannot be beat!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

My guest stated that they had the best f ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 12, 2016

My guest stated that they had the best fish tacos!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.