About Café Sebastienne

One of Kansas City's premier restaurants, Café Sebastienne combines the worlds of contemporary art & contemporary cuisine in the heart of the Kemper Museum of Contemporary Art. The Café utilizes the season's offerings & local organic produce in her creative menus.

4420 Warwick Blvd.
Kansas City, MO 64111
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Tuesday - Saturday: 11:00am - 2:30pm; Dinner: Thursday - Friday: 5:30pm - 9:00pm, Sunday Brunch: 11:00am - 2:30pm

Cross Street:
45th

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(816) 561-7740

Website:
http://www.kemperart.org/cafe/index.asp

Entertainment:
Please visit www.kemperart.org for Musician's schedule.

Catering:
Please call for details.

Public Transit:
Bus/Metro - 45th & Main

Private Party Facilities:
Please call or visit www.kemperart.org for details.

Private Party Contact:
Betty Kindler: (816) 797-1544

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, Cafe, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Café Sebastienne Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Creative Cuisine (28)
Great for Lunch (21)
Fit for Foodies (21)
See All
Special Occasion (19)
Great for Brunch (18)
Modern Decor (15)
Good for a Date (14)
Sunday Lunch (12)
Worth the Drive (11)
Authentic (11)
Business Meals (10)
Casual (10)
Pre/post Theatre (10)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Fun (10)
People Watching (9)
Local Ingredients (8)
Good for Anniversaries (8)
Healthy (8)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Romantic (7)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Cozy (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Scenic View (4)
Seasonal (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Outstanding Value (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Organic (3)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Tasting Menu (1)
Private Room (1)
Historic (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Live Music (1)
Sort By:
S
897 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Really enjoyed our first trip to Café Se ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Really enjoyed our first trip to Café Sebastienne! I love that you can browse the galleries before your meal and that the dining area is wall to ceiling filled with art. Our server was friendly and attentive and the food was delicious (especially the crème brulee). All in all a great dining experience.

Tags: Fun, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dale is the best! He always makes our di ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Dale is the best! He always makes our dinner that much better!!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfectly prepared food in interesting m ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Perfectly prepared food in interesting museum atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My friend and I both ordered the lunch t ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 19, 2017

My friend and I both ordered the lunch trio; soup, salad, and half a sandwich. Great value and wonderful food. The food is healthy, the ingredients are locally sourced, and are creatively prepared. The service was excellent and professional. The restaurant is located in a modern art museum and you can view the art before or after your meal. Eating here was a wonderful experience and I will be back for brunch or dinner sometime. Highly recommended.

Tags: Fun, Local Ingredients, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, People Watching, Good for a Date, Authentic, Healthy, Good Vegetarian Options, Seasonal, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

I am so sorry about the loss of the rest ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 14, 2017

I am so sorry about the loss of the restaurant's beloved chef. I fear that's what made the service and food quality subpar during Restaurant Week. Have thought highly of this restaurant and the atmosphere in past but was badly disappointed. Service was slow. Servers did not seem to know what they were doing -- reluctant to pick up plate when delivering new one, forgetting to bring a fork, a drink at the right time, etc. They frequently approached the table reeking of tobacco smoke. Appetizers and soup were not up to snuff. Main course of filet mignon and salmon were good. Because of the strong performance in the past and in light of the recent tragedy, I will give them another try. Sure hope they can get it back together.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

We were so excited to try Cafe Sebastian ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 14, 2017

We were so excited to try Cafe Sebastian for the first time, and what a great time to see the highlights, Kansas City Restaurant Week. We got the wrong server. We sat there for more than 2 hours, every time we wanted another glass of wine or anything we had to track down a different server to ask them to find ours. He made excuses and was very condescending. Finally, I explained that we were now in a big hurry and could we get our check (the 3rd time I asked) he brought it and then on his way back stopped to chat and flirt. We won't be back because of this server. It's unfortunate because the food was spectacular, but there are a lot of great restaurants in Kansas City and I prefer to spend my money for a better experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value5

I've been to this establishment many tim ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 13, 2017

I've been to this establishment many times in the past few years always like the atmosphere and the food is usually good too. We had a 530 reservation on a Friday so when we arrived the place was sparsely crowded within an hour the restaurant had filled to 70% that said the first course arrived on time but the braised butternut squash fondue appearance was appealing! It had the light gray/green appearance of something someone had thrown up! It tasted even worse than it looked the combination of too much salt coupled with too much blue cheese made this dish uneatable even for 2 hungry patrons. We also had the lobster bisque which was bland and had no salt. Being the glass is half full type patrons we tried a bit of fondue followed by the bisque. This didn't work either so we asked for some salt and shared the bisque. The Acorn squash goat cheese calfoutis and Scottish salmon were okay but not up to your usual standards. The worst part of our dinner was not the food our the service but how long it took them to plate and serve the main course. Our waiter told us 2 different times he was sorry about the wait. I don't blame him but the back of the house between the food they put out and the time it took was ridiculous! Everyone who was seated with us was long gone by the time we were eating our main course. We went ahead and ordered dessert and the pineapple tart w2as equally as bad, the pineapples looked like apples that had been rehydrated we didn't finish any dish we ordered except the tasteless lobster bisque.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

food was great but we ate in the open ar ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 13, 2017

food was great but we ate in the open area...too noisey...could not visit. Next tome we will sit inside

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and the services. It has always ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 7, 2017

The food and the services. It has always been one of our favorite plac

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The cuisine was delicious and service su ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 7, 2017

The cuisine was delicious and service superb, as always! One of my favorite restaurants!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Cafe Sebastienne is a favorite of ours f ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Cafe Sebastienne is a favorite of ours for its great food and drinks. A great stop after a tour of the museum it is housed in; The Kemper Museum. Highly recommended lunch spot!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always delicious. Consistently good food ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 8, 2016

Always delicious. Consistently good food and wonderful service provided by Dale.

Tags: Private Room, Sunday Lunch, Cozy, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was looking for a venue with ambiance, ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 3, 2016

I was looking for a venue with ambiance, good food, interesting setting, convenient to other attractions and great service. I got all of these and more! Our small business group of 4 was exceptionally pleased.

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wow, we celebrated a birthday at Cafe Se ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Wow, we celebrated a birthday at Cafe Sebastienne-- Dinner, service and ambiance was fabulous. I am just sorry I have not been to Cafe Sebastienne in a few years--I have been missing out.

We also found great gifts in the Kemper gift shop before dinner. Overall it was a wonderful evening.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Sebastianne has been a stand out in the ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Sebastianne has been a stand out in the Plaza area for the several years we've been visiting Kansas City. It seems to be a well-kept secret in the sense that it is intimate and cozy and the food would stand up to any 4 or 5 star restaurant even in New York or Chicago. Great service for both dinner and brunch finish the experience off

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Gluten Free Options, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent venue , quiet setting, great f ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Excellent venue , quiet setting, great for meeting friends for lunch. Nice and diverse menu

Tags: Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent experience - we loved the food ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 29, 2016

Excellent experience - we loved the food and ambience and our server was amazing! Keep lemon sherbet on your menu and I'll be back!!!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My date and I dine quite often at Café S ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 27, 2016

My date and I dine quite often at Café Sebastienne, more so for Sunday Brunch than an evening dinner. We are always intrigued by Chef Jennifer Maloney's menu and outstanding service from our favorite server, Mr. Charles Lee. It is a highlight of our week, and of course, we enjoy roaming through the galleries to view the latest exhibition.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Consistently, Cafe Sebastienne is a wond ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Consistently, Cafe Sebastienne is a wonderful dinning experience, great for conversation and sharing stories.

Tags: Scenic View, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Everything was wonderful and I always en ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Everything was wonderful and I always enjoy the creative seasonal menu! The perfect place for a celebratory birthday brunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent! Service was very attentive. ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Excellent! Service was very attentive. Looking forward to coming back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

As always, fabulous food and the best se ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 22, 2016

As always, fabulous food and the best service. Thank you!

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great spot to eat. Good service, menu. O ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 22, 2016

Great spot to eat. Good service, menu. One of our favorite spots

Tags: Great for Brunch, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I enjoyed lunch with my parents here. I ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 22, 2016

I enjoyed lunch with my parents here. I did not love the server. My dessert plate was a little dirty, and I asked the busboy to exchange it. The server didn't apologise, even after we told him. Also my coffee cup had a crack in it and was coffee stained.

However, I enjoyed the food and the ambiance.

Tags: People Watching, Casual, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Always enjoy eating at Sebastienne, usua ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Always enjoy eating at Sebastienne, usually for lunch, but brunch is very nice. Great food and wait staff.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I was very impressed with the food, serv ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 18, 2016

I was very impressed with the food, service, and atmosphere of this place. I will be recommending to my friends and can't wait to take another couple with us the next time we go back. Their dessert menu changes monthly & their meal menu changes weekly.

Tags: Special Occasion, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Try the daily trio .... today the mushro ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Try the daily trio .... today the mushroom soup was outstanding!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very good food, a little pricey on their ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 15, 2016

Very good food, a little pricey on their salads. If you sit in the Artium it is loud (echo-y), but that is where the sun shines through!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Consistently good every time. Dale adds ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Consistently good every time. Dale adds to the good experience--

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Comfort Food, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food is wonderful at Cafe Sebastienn ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 10, 2016

The food is wonderful at Cafe Sebastienne. I wish the Cafe was open for dinner on Saturday night. We also enjoy looking at the art work in the main part of the Cafe.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Historic, Neighborhood Gem, Afternoon Coffee, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

One of our favorite brunch spots. Food, ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 6, 2016

One of our favorite brunch spots. Food, service and ambiance are top of the list. My trout was superbly cooked, and the puréed sweet potatoes were special! Definitely on our regular " go to" list.

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

THIS IS A LOVELY RESTAURANT AND PROBABLY ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 5, 2016

THIS IS A LOVELY RESTAURANT AND PROBABLY GREAT FOR ALL ADULT FUNCTIONS. WOULD NOT WANT TO TAKE CHILDREN.

THERE ARE TOO MANY SUGGESTIONS ABOVE. CUT IT BACK IF YOU WANT APPROPRIATE REVIEWS.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Cafe Sebastienne is one of my favorite p ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 2, 2016

Cafe Sebastienne is one of my favorite places to lunch with a friend or two or three. It is also the place my niece and I go every year for Sunday brunch to celebrate her birthday. It is a place I take friends from out of town who are always charmed by the decor and ambiance. I've been going there for years and have never had a bad meal. Never. The food is always perfectly cooked and delicious. The service ranges from very good to excellent always. Cafe Sebastienne is my idea of the perfect restaurant to start an afternoon; before a movie, before a visit to its galleries or to the nearby Nelson-Atkins, or shopping on the Country Club Plaza.

Tags: Cozy, Healthy, Great for Brunch, Fun, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Modern Decor, Organic, Authentic, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, , Casual, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Cafe Sebastienne is definitely all about ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Cafe Sebastienne is definitely all about the food. The ambiance is... well... unique. It's definitely not formal. That being said, the food is excellent. Everything we had was delicious and well presented. We will certainly be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Always delicious--always a wonderful men ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Always delicious--always a wonderful menu to choose from--with Dale as the best server ever.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good Vegetarian Options, Fun, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Been going here for years because they n ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Been going here for years because they never disappoint!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We're never disappointed by Cafe Sebasti ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on October 21, 2016

We're never disappointed by Cafe Sebastian. We had an especially expect waiter this visit, and just enjoyed everything about our experience.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Always love dining here. Staff are all ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Always love dining here. Staff are all very pleasant and can explain anything on the menu.

Tags: Casual, Authentic, Good Vegetarian Options, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Although the noise level can make it tou ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 11, 2016

Although the noise level can make it tough to have a quiet conversation, the environment and surrounding gallery offset the inconvenience. I've most frequently dined there for lunches and if you (or someone you know) is a fan of a Ruben sandwich, this place has the best in town. It's worth taking a long lunch to enjoy the gallery before or after you eat, the Kemper Contemporary never disappoints.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Casual, Fun, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

What a wonderful find! We are a group o ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on October 9, 2016

What a wonderful find! We are a group of 5 friends who meet each fall, usually in KC and we will always be grateful to the person who clued us in on this gem for Sunday brunch. The food was amazing and the service was outstanding (Thank You Ernest!!). I highly recommend trying Cafe Sebastienne...you won't be disappointed!

Tags: Casual, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Vegan, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.