About Café Sebastienne

4420 Warwick Blvd.
Kansas City, MO 64111
View Larger Map

One of Kansas City's premier restaurants, Café Sebastienne combines the worlds of contemporary art & contemporary cuisine in the heart of the Kemper Museum of Contemporary Art. Chef Jennifer Maloney utilizes the season's offerings & local organic produce in her creative menus.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Tuesday - Saturday: 11:00am - 2:30pm; Dinner: Thursday - Friday: 5:30pm - 9:00pm, Sunday Brunch: 11:00am - 2:30pm

Cross Street:
45th

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(816) 561-7740

Website:
http://www.kemperart.org/cafe/index.asp

Entertainment:
Please visit www.kemperart.org for Musician's schedule.

Catering:
Please call for details.

Public Transit:
Bus/Metro - 45th & Main

Executive Chef:
Jennifer Maloney

Private Party Facilities:
Please call or visit www.kemperart.org for details.

Private Party Contact:
Betty Kindler: 816-797-1544

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, Cafe, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Scallops
Amaretto Cherry Crisp
Pork Chop
Moroccan Tagine
Cafe Benny -Half Order
Chocolate Carmel Creme Brulee
Brioche French Toast -Half Order
flourless chocolate cake
Lamb Chops
Pork Loin
Chicken Curry Soup
Charcuterie plate
Biscuts And Sage/Sausage Gravy, Eggs, Bacon And Potatoes
Brioche French Toast With Blueberry, Pear Compote, Smoked Bacon
Bread Pudding!
Spaghetti Squash
Apple Pear Crisp With Ginger Icecream
Carrot Bisque
Duroc Pork Chop
Milk Chocolate Creme Brulee
Crab Benedict, French Toast, Ham Croque
fish tacos
Mussels In Coconut Curry Sauce
Crispy Fried Oysters

Café Sebastienne Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

99% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Value
Kansas City
Fit for Foodies
Kansas City
Great for Brunch
Kansas City
7 More
Great for Lunch
Kansas City
Contemporary American
Kansas City
Best Value
Kansas City, MO
Fit for Foodies
Kansas City, MO
Great for Brunch
Kansas City, MO
Great for Lunch
Kansas City, MO
Contemporary American
Kansas City, MO
Best Restaurants in Kansas City ›

Great for Lunch (49)
Fit for Foodies (44)
Great for Brunch (38)
See All
Special Occasion (36)
Neighborhood Gem (31)
Good for Groups (18)
Scenic View (17)
Romantic (15)
Notable Wine List (10)
Creative Cuisine (10)
Modern Decor (8)
Good for a Date (8)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Worth the Drive (7)
Good for Anniversaries (7)
Authentic (7)
Kid-friendly (6)
Great for Outdoor Dining (6)
Business Meals (6)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Hot Spot (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Fun (4)
Cozy (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Healthy (3)
Outstanding Value (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
People Watching (2)
Casual (2)
Late-night Find (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Seasonal (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Sort By:
Newest
792 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Jennifer Maloney and her staff always gi ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined 3 days ago

Jennifer Maloney and her staff always give me the most delightful and excellent meals.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good Vegetarian Options, Scenic View, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was absolutely delicious. I had ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

The food was absolutely delicious. I had roasted eggplant soup and chicken salad.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was great as usual and we sat i ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

The food was great as usual and we sat inside so the noise level was good. Our server was ok, not overly friendly or gracious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

This was our first dinner at Cafe Sebast ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

This was our first dinner at Cafe Sebastian & the food was just amazing!!!!! There happened to be live music in the lobby that evening & it just added to the wonderful ambience. We love visiting the Kemper and now we have another reason to visit.

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, People Watching, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

A beyond charming artistic atmosphere bl ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

A beyond charming artistic atmosphere blends with an equally beautiful and delicious menu. Can't wait to go back again & again .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Never disappoints, great brunch choices ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Never disappoints, great brunch choices and delicious food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was a wonderful Saturday lunch. Fo ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

This was a wonderful Saturday lunch. Food was wonderful and it is a romantic setting we loved it. Very nice wait staff. The quality is excellent.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

DEE-LISH-USS as always! A true KC gem i ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

DEE-LISH-USS as always! A true KC gem in a beautiful location.

Tags: Modern Decor, People Watching, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This restaurant has been consistently de ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

This restaurant has been consistently delicious and inventive since it opened. With great servers like Dale, it cannot be beat for a wonderful dining experience!

Tags: Cozy, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Tucked within the Kemper Museum surround ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

Tucked within the Kemper Museum surrounded by a beautiful tree-lined neighborhood is Café Sebastienne with its mod white and chrome decor, attentive and courteous staff, and excellent food! This is a "do-over" destination for everyday and special occasions.

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Scenic View, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Great for Brunch, Gluten Free Options, Disabled Access, Healthy, Fun, Outstanding Value, Sunday Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Afternoon Tea, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Kid-friendly, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and service were excellent. A g ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

The food and service were excellent. A great atmosphere to have a Sunday brunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food is excellent, we had a group of ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

The food is excellent, we had a group of 6 and all of us had great brunch options. Eggs were fluffy in the omelet, the Benedict was perfectly done and fresh. The frittata was a flavorful dish and an impressive presentation. The chocolate zucchini bread was also delicious, you only need a few bites.

The service left something to be desired. We waited a long time to get drinks, and then an even longer time to order. We actually wondered if our server was still there it had been so long. Our food came and we weren't checked on and then our bills got mixed up at the end. Pretty space, service is slow and parking is tough, not a must return in my book

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1

We celebrated a birthday with a Saturday ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

We celebrated a birthday with a Saturday lunch. We had made reservations, were seated promptly and served promptly. Our waiter was friendly and efficient. The food was attractive, delicious and nicely proportioned. We enjoyed quiet conversation and observed others also pleasantly interactive.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food & service were great. Bit noisy fo ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Food & service were great. Bit noisy for a first date.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

We had a group of 7 for brunch and every ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

We had a group of 7 for brunch and everyone's meal was excellent. The ribeye was perfectly cooked and delicious and worthy of sharing all the way around the table. The Grouper was also perfectly cooked and delightedly spicy and wonderful. Service was excellent and the ambiance cannot be beat!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

My guest stated that they had the best f ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

My guest stated that they had the best fish tacos!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We ate in the large dining area. It was ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

We ate in the large dining area. It was nice and sunny but kind of plain. Since we were a table of 5 we could not sit in the little room with all the wonderful art. Our waiter was pleasant and helped us with our menu choices. Lunch was "out of this world" delicious! The presentation was exciting too! We all raved about our delightful meal. I can't wait to return!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Very classy. Desserts especially scrumpt ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Very classy. Desserts especially scrumptous. A little under staffed out front. Excellent parking.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Outstanding location among art. Great s ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Outstanding location among art. Great service. The Amish chicken was very good. We will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We have been many times and enjoy it alw ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

We have been many times and enjoy it always. I did not order the right thing last time and did not enjoy my meal as much but I will do better next time. Thank you.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Excellent and professional wait staff. ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Excellent and professional wait staff. Treated us like we were celebrities. Delicious and fresh food.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding in every aspect, as always. ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Outstanding in every aspect, as always. Our favorite restaurant for many years.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a pleasure to dine here. Service ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Always a pleasure to dine here. Service is special. Food is spectacular.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is a great place to eat for all occ ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

This is a great place to eat for all occasions. The food is outstanding, along with a good wine list. But the prices are the real bargain.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

The food was very good - all 4 of us lov ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

The food was very good - all 4 of us loved what we ordered. We had a great waiter which always makes the experience better.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Perfectly-prepared, locally-sourced food ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Perfectly-prepared, locally-sourced food. An inventive menu. Attentive and knowledgeable service. Lovely wine selection. And you're surrounded by art!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Café Sebastienne may well be my favorite ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Café Sebastienne may well be my favorite restaurant in Kansas City! From the dart-lined walls of the dining room to the excellent service and simply superb food, it offers a dining experience that simply can't be beat! Chef Jennifer Maloney's offerings change weekly as dictated by what's seasonal and fresh. An example: the lobster risotto my husband and I enjoyed as an appetizer was embellished with fresh tomatoes, basil and corn. I would recommend Café Sebastienne without hesitation. You won't be disappointed!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Family from STL asked specifically to ha ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Family from STL asked specifically to have lunch at Sebastienne. Our 8 year old niece has been here multiple times and loved the swordfish tacos!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great quick service, tettific lunch men ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

Great quick service, tettific lunch menu and the venue itself if magnificent. Need I say more?

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A Kansas City contemporary must!! Fantas ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

A Kansas City contemporary must!! Fantastic from all angles. Signature drink Sebastienne is great.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I hesitate to keep praising this place b ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

I hesitate to keep praising this place because I don't want it to become so popular that it will be hard to get a table there. However, I also don't want it to not keep operating because of low demand. It deserves more patronage than it seems to be getting. The food is always excellent, the service attentive and the atmosphere unique. Perhaps its the location, but it seldom seems crowded. So, I hope more people go there but don't tell all their friends about it, just tell the few who would appreciate what a special place this is.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A great place for lunch with friends fro ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

A great place for lunch with friends from out of the city. The lunch trio is my favorite and Jennifer Maloney has great seasonable soups and salads but my favorite is always the sandwich. Always good never a disappointment

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Squash soup was pretty tasteless. Brioch ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Squash soup was pretty tasteless. Brioche french toast yummy as wasTenderloin Benny. Servings were generous Nice altho loud in main indoorarea.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Cafe Sebastiene is a fab place for Sunda ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Cafe Sebastiene is a fab place for Sunday brunch! It had been a while since we had been there for brunch and it was amazing. And Dale always makes it a very fun experience!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is my favorite place for brunch. I ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

This is my favorite place for brunch. I love being surrounded by great art. The food is always amazing.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Cafe Sebastienne

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

Food was great, ambience perfect for the occasion, and service was attention, but not overbearing. One of our favorite restaurants in the City

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Museum cafe

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

This is a lovely place for brunch. The portions are large and the food is very good. My only quibble is that it is listed as having terrace dining: actually it is an atrium, which is pleasant and a little more all weather, but not what I expected.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Brunch was recommended when we ate there ...

vip
 (Omaha)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Brunch was recommended when we ate there for dinner. We weren't disappointed. The scones were scrumptious that even my gluten avoidant husband had 2. Frittata and beef hash were both nicely done - eggs not over cooked.! The museum opens at 10am and the Cafe at 11am and an hour is more than enough time to look at the whole collection.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Service was impeccable. Our server, Dale ...

vip
 (Omaha)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Service was impeccable. Our server, Dale was very helpful and pleasant to chat with about the food, museum, etc. Portions were generous so left very full after just 2 courses.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Incredible food, unique interior....wil ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Incredible food, unique interior....will definitely return

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.