About Café Sebastienne

One of Kansas City's premier restaurants, Café Sebastienne combines the worlds of contemporary art & contemporary cuisine in the heart of the Kemper Museum of Contemporary Art. The Café utilizes the season's offerings & local organic produce in her creative menus.

4420 Warwick Blvd.
Kansas City, MO 64111
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Tuesday - Saturday: 11:00am - 2:30pm; Dinner: Thursday - Friday: 5:30pm - 9:00pm, Sunday Brunch: 11:00am - 2:30pm

Cross Street:
45th

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(816) 561-7740

Website:
http://www.kemperart.org/cafe/index.asp

Entertainment:
Please visit www.kemperart.org for any information regarding programs and/or entertainment.

Catering:
Please call for details.

Public Transit:
Bus/Metro - 45th & Main

Private Party Facilities:
Please call or visit www.kemperart.org for details.

Private Party Contact:
Betty Kindler: (816) 797-1544

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, Cafe, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Café Sebastienne Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Lunch (21)
Fit for Foodies (21)
Creative Cuisine (20)
See All
Modern Decor (18)
Special Occasion (17)
Great for Brunch (16)
Sunday Lunch (15)
Good for a Date (14)
Pre/post Theatre (12)
Authentic (10)
Worth the Drive (10)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Casual (10)
Cozy (8)
People Watching (7)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Fun (7)
Local Ingredients (7)
Good for Anniversaries (7)
Romantic (7)
Healthy (6)
Business Meals (4)
Organic (4)
Notable Wine List (4)
Seasonal (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Scenic View (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Live Music (2)
Tasting Menu (1)
Private Room (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Historic (1)
Sort By:
S
911 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined 4 days ago

Always good. Missing Jennifer, but still a great place.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Lunch anytime is a treat at Cafe Sebastienne--especially when Dale is our server!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 15, 2017

I enjoyed sitting in the sun room in an alcove. It was what I expected for lunch in a cafe-like setting in an outstanding museum. Many items on the menu sounded delicious. I had Fish Tacos. Yum! I will definitely have lunch there again.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Dinner is always consistently delicious at Cafe Sebastienne. And having Dale for our server us the best!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Lovely experience. Server was excellent.
The food was fresh and tasty.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fun, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Delicious and lovely. Despite Ms. Maloney's death, the tradition of great food at cafe Sebastienne lives on.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Authentic, Organic, People Watching, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 8, 2017

The service was incredible: perfectly timed and friendly. The manager came to check in on us. Our drinks were filled at all times. We sat right by the kitchen door, and as the staff came in and out we could hear the lively kitchen clutter and the delicious smells wafted towards us. All of these combined created a perfect cozy atmosphere for a special occasion we celebrated. I couldn't wish for a better time. Thank you so much, Café Sebastienne.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Great for Lunch, Modern Decor, Good Vegetarian Options, Seasonal, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Sunday Brunch was as good as ever; our favorite server, Charles Lee recommended the trout for our entrée. My date and I shared the fish and found it delicious and the way the cauliflower was prepared was excellent. A most enjoyable afternoon at the Kemper Museum of Contemporary Art.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 5, 2017

One of the best values out there considering high quality food versus price. We drove from Liberty to get chef prepared gourmet food at a reasonable price. A gourmet chef knows how to mix multiple ingredients so that the flavor complement each other and can each be enjoyed to the fullest. That's what we always experience at Cafe Sebastienne. Love, love, love Cafe Sabastienne.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Healthy, Organic, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Excellent good and atmosphere!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 28, 2017

I had not eaten at Cafe Sabastienne in a few months and thought it'd be a great place to take my friend. However, the food was so so and unimpressive. I expected more and left disappointed.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 26, 2017

One of my spouse's favorites for birthdays, etc. Good venue for brunch with son, daughter and grandkids. Also nice to be able to view art after brunch.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 24, 2017

The food served at the cafe is as interesting & artistic as the pieces outside the door in the museum. Everything is prepared so well! I'm already looking forward to returning.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor, Hot Spot, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 18, 2017

It's fun to check out all the art around you while you're eating, as well as in the rest of the museum.. The reuben was different than the traditional reuben, but very good. I loved it. Server was very nice and attentive.

Tags: People Watching, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Really enjoyed our first trip to Café Sebastienne! I love that you can browse the galleries before your meal and that the dining area is wall to ceiling filled with art. Our server was friendly and attentive and the food was delicious (especially the crème brulee). All in all a great dining experience.

Tags: Fun, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Dale is the best! He always makes our dinner that much better!!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Perfectly prepared food in interesting museum atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 19, 2017

My friend and I both ordered the lunch trio; soup, salad, and half a sandwich. Great value and wonderful food. The food is healthy, the ingredients are locally sourced, and are creatively prepared. The service was excellent and professional. The restaurant is located in a modern art museum and you can view the art before or after your meal. Eating here was a wonderful experience and I will be back for brunch or dinner sometime. Highly recommended.

Tags: Fun, Local Ingredients, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, People Watching, Good for a Date, Authentic, Healthy, Good Vegetarian Options, Seasonal, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 14, 2017

I am so sorry about the loss of the restaurant's beloved chef. I fear that's what made the service and food quality subpar during Restaurant Week. Have thought highly of this restaurant and the atmosphere in past but was badly disappointed. Service was slow. Servers did not seem to know what they were doing -- reluctant to pick up plate when delivering new one, forgetting to bring a fork, a drink at the right time, etc. They frequently approached the table reeking of tobacco smoke. Appetizers and soup were not up to snuff. Main course of filet mignon and salmon were good. Because of the strong performance in the past and in light of the recent tragedy, I will give them another try. Sure hope they can get it back together.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 14, 2017

We were so excited to try Cafe Sebastian for the first time, and what a great time to see the highlights, Kansas City Restaurant Week. We got the wrong server. We sat there for more than 2 hours, every time we wanted another glass of wine or anything we had to track down a different server to ask them to find ours. He made excuses and was very condescending. Finally, I explained that we were now in a big hurry and could we get our check (the 3rd time I asked) he brought it and then on his way back stopped to chat and flirt. We won't be back because of this server. It's unfortunate because the food was spectacular, but there are a lot of great restaurants in Kansas City and I prefer to spend my money for a better experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 13, 2017

I've been to this establishment many times in the past few years always like the atmosphere and the food is usually good too. We had a 530 reservation on a Friday so when we arrived the place was sparsely crowded within an hour the restaurant had filled to 70% that said the first course arrived on time but the braised butternut squash fondue appearance was appealing! It had the light gray/green appearance of something someone had thrown up! It tasted even worse than it looked the combination of too much salt coupled with too much blue cheese made this dish uneatable even for 2 hungry patrons. We also had the lobster bisque which was bland and had no salt. Being the glass is half full type patrons we tried a bit of fondue followed by the bisque. This didn't work either so we asked for some salt and shared the bisque. The Acorn squash goat cheese calfoutis and Scottish salmon were okay but not up to your usual standards. The worst part of our dinner was not the food our the service but how long it took them to plate and serve the main course. Our waiter told us 2 different times he was sorry about the wait. I don't blame him but the back of the house between the food they put out and the time it took was ridiculous! Everyone who was seated with us was long gone by the time we were eating our main course. We went ahead and ordered dessert and the pineapple tart w2as equally as bad, the pineapples looked like apples that had been rehydrated we didn't finish any dish we ordered except the tasteless lobster bisque.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 13, 2017

food was great but we ate in the open area...too noisey...could not visit. Next tome we will sit inside

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 7, 2017

The food and the services. It has always been one of our favorite plac

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 7, 2017

The cuisine was delicious and service superb, as always! One of my favorite restaurants!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Cafe Sebastienne is a favorite of ours for its great food and drinks. A great stop after a tour of the museum it is housed in; The Kemper Museum. Highly recommended lunch spot!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 8, 2016

Always delicious. Consistently good food and wonderful service provided by Dale.

Tags: Private Room, Sunday Lunch, Cozy, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 3, 2016

I was looking for a venue with ambiance, good food, interesting setting, convenient to other attractions and great service. I got all of these and more! Our small business group of 4 was exceptionally pleased.

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Wow, we celebrated a birthday at Cafe Sebastienne-- Dinner, service and ambiance was fabulous. I am just sorry I have not been to Cafe Sebastienne in a few years--I have been missing out.
We also found great gifts in the Kemper gift shop before dinner. Overall it was a wonderful evening.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Sebastianne has been a stand out in the Plaza area for the several years we've been visiting Kansas City. It seems to be a well-kept secret in the sense that it is intimate and cozy and the food would stand up to any 4 or 5 star restaurant even in New York or Chicago. Great service for both dinner and brunch finish the experience off

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Gluten Free Options, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Excellent venue , quiet setting, great for meeting friends for lunch. Nice and diverse menu

Tags: Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 29, 2016

Excellent experience - we loved the food and ambience and our server was amazing! Keep lemon sherbet on your menu and I'll be back!!!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 27, 2016

My date and I dine quite often at Café Sebastienne, more so for Sunday Brunch than an evening dinner. We are always intrigued by Chef Jennifer Maloney's menu and outstanding service from our favorite server, Mr. Charles Lee. It is a highlight of our week, and of course, we enjoy roaming through the galleries to view the latest exhibition.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Consistently, Cafe Sebastienne is a wonderful dinning experience, great for conversation and sharing stories.

Tags: Scenic View, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Everything was wonderful and I always enjoy the creative seasonal menu! The perfect place for a celebratory birthday brunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Excellent! Service was very attentive. Looking forward to coming back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 22, 2016

As always, fabulous food and the best service. Thank you!

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 22, 2016

Great spot to eat. Good service, menu. One of our favorite spots

Tags: Great for Brunch, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 22, 2016

I enjoyed lunch with my parents here. I did not love the server. My dessert plate was a little dirty, and I asked the busboy to exchange it. The server didn't apologise, even after we told him. Also my coffee cup had a crack in it and was coffee stained.
However, I enjoyed the food and the ambiance.

Tags: People Watching, Casual, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Always enjoy eating at Sebastienne, usually for lunch, but brunch is very nice. Great food and wait staff.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 18, 2016

I was very impressed with the food, service, and atmosphere of this place. I will be recommending to my friends and can't wait to take another couple with us the next time we go back. Their dessert menu changes monthly & their meal menu changes weekly.

Tags: Special Occasion, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.