About Café Sebastienne

One of Kansas City's premier restaurants, Café Sebastienne combines the worlds of contemporary art & contemporary cuisine in the heart of the Kemper Museum of Contemporary Art. The Café utilizes the season's offerings & local organic produce in her creative menus.

4420 Warwick Blvd.
Kansas City, MO 64111
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Tuesday - Saturday: 11:00am - 2:30pm; Dinner: Thursday - Friday: 5:30pm - 9:00pm, Sunday Brunch: 11:00am - 2:30pm

Cross Street:
45th

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(816) 561-7740

Website:
http://www.kemperart.org/cafe/index.asp

Entertainment:
Please visit www.kemperart.org for any information regarding programs and/or entertainment.

Catering:
Please call for details.

Public Transit:
Bus/Metro - 45th & Main

Private Party Facilities:
Please call or visit www.kemperart.org for details.

Private Party Contact:
Betty Kindler: (816) 797-1544

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, Cafe, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Café Sebastienne Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Lunch (25)
Fit for Foodies (20)
Special Occasion (19)
See All
Great for Brunch (19)
Creative Cuisine (17)
Neighborhood Gem (15)
Good for a Date (13)
Sunday Lunch (12)
Good for Birthdays (11)
Local Ingredients (11)
Seasonal (10)
Good for Anniversaries (9)
Business Meals (8)
Casual (8)
Worth the Drive (7)
Authentic (6)
Fun (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Afternoon Coffee (5)
Cozy (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Notable Wine List (4)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Romantic (3)
Vegan (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
People Watching (2)
Scenic View (2)
Hot Spot (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Organic (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Tapas (1)
Sort By:
S
971 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Great food---bloody mary, trout, and French toast! Great service---Lisa!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 10, 2017

Had 11:00 resers for brunch...sat in atrium...noise level escalated as diners number increased...hostess wears too much patchouli for a resturant environment...cold aluminum surface on table...very minimal...but not in a good aesthetic way...service was slow...ordered a fritata...odd color/taste & overdone (sent back & ate a scone), other person ordered eggs benedict w/sauteed spinach on bed of Kobe hash...very pedstrian...nothing that would inspire a return...had pot of hot water for tea...no offer to refill...just a nonevent...it's too bad as it could have easily been more memorable given the museum ambiance...will not return...the hollandaise at Eggtc puts this to shame...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Second time here. Great place for brunch, inside kemper museum. Good food good service, very clean area, modern. Wil be back again for sure

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Great food and service as always! We always enjoy going for brunch.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Food is great. The fish is always an excellent choice. Service is wonderful.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Authentic, Sunday Lunch, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Delicious food, great service and beautiful atmosphere! Great opportunity to enjoy the art of food and the art of the Kansas City community and beyond.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Beautiful, delicious food, expertly served. Great, modern space in contemporary art museum. Great value for such high quality. Go.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 18, 2017

Soup, starter and dessert were excellent. However, the main courses didn't taste as fresh or as flavorful as I would expect from a restaurant of this caliber. And both meals were luke-warm. The restaurant was maybe a third full, so it was should have been easy to execute. We were disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 17, 2017

Absolutely wonderful as always!
Thank you Dale for taking care of us,
You and Jorge are the bombs!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Café Sebastienne service and food never disappoints. It is a restaurant in which one should definitely try.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 10, 2017

Lov to dine at Kemper surrounded by lively art. A great place for conversation and lovely food.
One of my very favorites.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 4, 2017

Food and service is consistently outstanding. Enjoy the fact that the menu has frequent changes. Dale our server is always great. He is helpful with selection of wines to accompany entrees, etc. This is one of our most favorite restaurants in all of metro Kansas City!!!!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on July 23, 2017

The atmosphere of the cafe is lovely with all of the art covering the walls. We absolutely love the currant scones with blackberry jam!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Nice evening seeing an exhibit and then having dinner in a beautiful dining room with really good, well-prepared food.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on July 19, 2017

The food and service was very good. It was quite noisy in the open room, we had always been seated in the section with all the art previously. I would specify that room on our next visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on July 16, 2017

The service and meal was excellent, as always. However, seated next to us were four very loud young women who obviously were enjoying their cocktails and bottles of wine. The people who usually dine at Café Sebestienne enjoy their meal in a quiet, relaxed atmosphere. When dining out, I would think people would be conscious of their surroundings and mood of the restaurant, after all it is not Applebee's or some BBQ joint!

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Great food; dinner menu that changes regularly (check out the reuben for lunch). Top-notch service. For dinner I recommend reservations.

Great place for the wedding reception they were setting up in the larger room (we were there for a pre-concert dinner in the smaller room).

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Berlin)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Cafe Sebastienne is a fantastic place to eat. Great menu and service surrounded by interesting art.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Vegan, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 9, 2017

Amazing ambiance but it is frustrating when a brunch spot like this has little to none vegetarian options.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on July 8, 2017

We enjoyed the flank steak with chimichuri sauce, roasted potatoes, mushrooms and spinach. This dish was amazing! We finished with a semifreddo of pistachio and cherries. It was light and delicious. The service and ambience were perfect for a Saturday afternoon date! We will definitely return!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on July 2, 2017

We usually have Sunday brunch. Last week the asparagus-crab soup was excellent! Hope they make it again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Cafe Sebastian never disappoints!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 25, 2017

We always plan a lunch at Café Sebastienne when we come to KC. The menu is varied and imaginative and we have an excellent selection of wines by the glass to choose from. We also enjoy the atrium as a venue, and spending time in the Kemper to enhance our day.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Healthy, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 22, 2017

Service was top notch! The handcrafted cocktails were amazing, we loved our "mixologist". The food was expertly prepared, presented beautifully and delicious The entrees were all just the right portions for our group. We are middle aged ladies. If we'd have been with men, they'd more than likely wanted more food.
You can't beat the setting, beautiful museum!

Tags: Healthy, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 20, 2017

Perfect spot for lunch! Enjoy the fabulous food, excellent service and then tour the art gallery. This is my 3rd time at Café Sebastienne and I'm already looking forward to the next time. Fresh, flavorful and beautiful presentation in a great atmosphere. What's not to love?

Tags: Casual, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 18, 2017

I would suggest the patio only if you are not adverse to loud noise as the acoustics in that area are in a more open space and it can be loud with a lot of people talking. The patio, however, is lovely and the food is worth it!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Very nice venue with a creative menu. Menu isn't large but broad eonough for most.

Tags: Casual, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on June 14, 2017

Great lunch spot befor hitting the galleries. The cucumber coconut gazpacho was light and refreshing paired with a crisp, white wine. The mussels were tender and sauces was flavorful with addition of sausage and beans. My friend had the sandwich soup salad trio and said it was one of the best Reuben's she has eaten. Noise level was a little high for visiting but service was great.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Food was only fair. Forgot vegetables on salad. Portions too small.

Used to be one of my favorite restaurants.

Mediocore at best now. Hope you can improve!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Impossible to change number of people on your site from always two to three or four...upgrade the system

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 2, 2017

New menu this week....you'll love it!! The trout was special and my guest loved the reuben with fresh potato chips

Tags: Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Great for Brunch, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Out of town guests were impressed! Food and service were great!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 24, 2017

Our office has a wonderful time celebrating together at your cafe and perusing the art museum. The food was outstanding!

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 19, 2017

We enjoyed a long-awaited luncheon with friends and I chose Cafe Sebastienne for it's
ambiance and generally terrific, albeit limited, menu. Both couples were greatly satisfied
with our lunchtime restaurant choice, and will, undoubtedly, be back. Thank you.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Service was a bit slow, but everything else was delightful. Ambiance & food were great. A perfect spot to celebrate Mother's Day!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Accommodated every request. Server was polite but bland. Had to ask for better description. Was a 20% tip applied to our table. Would have given that anyway, but didn't see any warni g it would happen.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Rosé by the can, cool museum vibes, and great service. Appreciate the option to sit in the cafe or the courtyard. Love the atmosphere of both, but during brunch my favorite is the cafe. The courtyard can get very warm with the skylight. I am struggling to find any entrees that aren't delicious.

A fun little KC gem!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Been awhile since dining at c Sebastienne.. past experiences good, this time not so much. Ordered ceviche. Was very good...Lamb was tough. Had to saw with steak knife veggies like eating wood, I think it was zucchini slice. Other diners fish was undercooked till returned to kitchen.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 12, 2017

not yet up to its usual perfection.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 12, 2017

My food was very disappointing. I ordered the chicken, most good restaurants do not use chicken parts, they use breasts. I had chicken backs or thighs, with very little meat or taste. The grits the chicken was served on was tastey.

Tags: Business Meals, Afternoon Coffee, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.