About Café Sebastienne

4420 Warwick Blvd.
Kansas City, MO 64111
View Larger Map

One of Kansas City's premier restaurants, Café Sebastienne combines the worlds of contemporary art & contemporary cuisine in the heart of the Kemper Museum of Contemporary Art. Chef Jennifer Maloney utilizes the season's offerings & local organic produce in her creative menus.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Tuesday - Saturday: 11:00am - 2:30pm; Dinner: Thursday - Friday: 5:30pm - 9:00pm, Sunday Brunch: 11:00am - 2:30pm

Cross Street:
45th

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(816) 561-7740

Website:
http://www.kemperart.org/cafe/index.asp

Entertainment:
Please visit www.kemperart.org for Musician's schedule.

Catering:
Please call for details.

Public Transit:
Bus/Metro - 45th & Main

Executive Chef:
Jennifer Maloney

Private Party Facilities:
Please call or visit www.kemperart.org for details.

Private Party Contact:
Betty Kindler: 816-797-1544

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Beer, Cafe, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Scallops
Amaretto Cherry Crisp
Pork Chop
Moroccan Tagine
Cafe Benny -Half Order
Chocolate Carmel Creme Brulee
Brioche French Toast -Half Order
flourless chocolate cake
Lamb Chops
Pork Loin
Chicken Curry Soup
Brioche French Toast With Blueberry, Pear Compote, Smoked Bacon
Biscuts And Sage/Sausage Gravy, Eggs, Bacon And Potatoes
Charcuterie plate
Bread Pudding!
Spaghetti Squash
Carrot Bisque
Apple Pear Crisp With Ginger Icecream
Duroc Pork Chop
Milk Chocolate Creme Brulee
Crab Benedict, French Toast, Ham Croque
fish tacos
Mussels In Coconut Curry Sauce
Crispy Fried Oysters

Café Sebastienne Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Value
Kansas City
Fit for Foodies
Kansas City
Great for Brunch
Kansas City
9 More
Great for Lunch
Kansas City
Contemporary American
Kansas City
Best Food
Kansas City, MO
Best Ambiance
Kansas City, MO
Best Value
Kansas City, MO
Fit for Foodies
Kansas City, MO
Great for Brunch
Kansas City, MO
Great for Lunch
Kansas City, MO
Contemporary American
Kansas City, MO
Best Restaurants in Kansas City ›

great for brunch (59)
fit for foodies (58)
great for lunch (58)
See All
special occasion (39)
neighborhood gem (34)
good for groups (22)
scenic view (17)
romantic (16)
notable wine list (8)
hot spot (7)
kid-friendly (4)
great for outdoor dining (3)
late-night find (1)
Sort By:
Newest
762 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A Kansas City contemporary must!! Fantas ...

Dined 4 days ago

A Kansas City contemporary must!! Fantastic from all angles. Signature drink Sebastienne is great.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service5

A great place for lunch with friends fro ...

vip
Dined 4 days ago

A great place for lunch with friends from out of the city. The lunch trio is my favorite and Jennifer Maloney has great seasonable soups and salads but my favorite is always the sandwich. Always good never a disappointment

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Squash soup was pretty tasteless. Brioch ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Squash soup was pretty tasteless. Brioche french toast yummy as wasTenderloin Benny. Servings were generous Nice altho loud in main indoorarea.

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Cafe Sebastiene is a fab place for Sunda ...

vip
Dined on June 19, 2016

Cafe Sebastiene is a fab place for Sunday brunch! It had been a while since we had been there for brunch and it was amazing. And Dale always makes it a very fun experience!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This is my favorite place for brunch. I ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

This is my favorite place for brunch. I love being surrounded by great art. The food is always amazing.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Cafe Sebastienne

Dined on June 10, 2016

Food was great, ambience perfect for the occasion, and service was attention, but not overbearing. One of our favorite restaurants in the City

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Museum cafe

Dined on May 29, 2016

This is a lovely place for brunch. The portions are large and the food is very good. My only quibble is that it is listed as having terrace dining: actually it is an atrium, which is pleasant and a little more all weather, but not what I expected.

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service5

Brunch was recommended when we ate there ...

vip
Dined on May 29, 2016

Brunch was recommended when we ate there for dinner. We weren't disappointed. The scones were scrumptious that even my gluten avoidant husband had 2. Frittata and beef hash were both nicely done - eggs not over cooked.! The museum opens at 10am and the Cafe at 11am and an hour is more than enough time to look at the whole collection.

food5
ambience4
service5

Service was impeccable. Our server, Dale ...

vip
Dined on May 28, 2016

Service was impeccable. Our server, Dale was very helpful and pleasant to chat with about the food, museum, etc. Portions were generous so left very full after just 2 courses.

food5
ambience5
service5

Incredible food, unique interior....wil ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

Incredible food, unique interior....will definitely return

food5
ambience5
service5
value2

Always good.

Dined on May 21, 2016

The atmosphere may be the best in KC . Go 30-45 minutes early so you have time to take in the museum. Not a "cow town" experience.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Favoriet

Dined on May 19, 2016

The combination of excellent food an atmosphere makes this on of my favorite places in KC. It's great for any occasion from a Sunday brunch, business lunch to special dinner.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was excellent! The trout was ex ...

vip
Dined on May 17, 2016

The food was excellent! The trout was exceptional and the service was impeccable! We are extremely impressed, and we are not people to throw around compliments for restaurants lightly.

food4
ambience5
service5
value3

The food was amazing

Dined on May 15, 2016

The brunch here is amazing. The food is full of flavor and absolutely delicious.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We enjoyed the Mother's Day Brunch, and ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

We enjoyed the Mother's Day Brunch, and appreciated that although we had a late seating, we were still made welcome and not rushed at all. The beef hash was superb, and my husband enjoyed the smoked trout plate. We each had an excellent cocktail for brunch, as well as dessert - a medley of gelato and cookies. Everything was beautifully presented and delicious.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Charles is fantastic and makes every vis ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Charles is fantastic and makes every visit enjoyable and always request he be our waiter.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Consistently the best in KC

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

Went on Mother's Day for brunch. They had planned well, with plenty of wait staff. Food was perfect, as always.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

So disappointed.

Dined on May 7, 2016

Bad iced tea, tough frisee and little else in my salad, tiny, useless cubes of beets, a few desultory strawberries and little pieces of feta and a few toasted pecans. It is sad when a restaurant serves you something that you could make so much better at home. I won't be going back to this restaurant, even though years ago I had some very good meals there.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

ALWAYS INCREDIBLE

vip
Dined on May 7, 2016

The food was fabulous, as always, and the service was impeccable and our server Stacey was among the best we've had in the city.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4

Our reservations were 7:30 on a Friday n ...

vip
Dined on May 7, 2016

Our reservations were 7:30 on a Friday night and they had run out of the halibut we'd gone to eat so that was disappointing. Otherwise our dinner was very good, but I'd call ahead and order next time because there are only about 6 choices for entrees.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A favorite

Dined on May 1, 2016

Cafe Sebastienne is one of my favorite restaurants in Kansas City. The art museum setting, the delightful cafe with reproductions of famous artworks covering all of the walls make it a colorful and eclectic place. The food is always exquisite; the service always excellent. When I have out-of-town guests, I take them to the Nelson-Atkins Art Museum and then to The KemperArt Museum's Cafe Sebastienne for lunch. My niece and I celebrate our birthdays with Sunday brunch almost every year.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Not to be Forgotten

vip
Dined on April 30, 2016

Sometimes we forget about Cafe Sebastianne because it's been in KC for a while BUT each time we go back, it's as good or better than we remembered! The food was amazing, pasta and chicken and flank steak! And they stock Ransom Gin!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

I love the atmosphere andJenniferMaloney ...

vip
Dined on April 28, 2016

I love the atmosphere andJenniferMaloney's food

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lunch with my office

Dined on April 27, 2016

Excellent first-time visit for my co-workers. I raved about the Reuben so much that everyone at our table ordered one. AMAZING, as always. In my opinion, the best Reuben I've ever had. Thanks for a great visit.

Tags: great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great place for any occasion

Dined on April 16, 2016

Café Sebastienne is always on point. You can order with confidence knowing anything on the menu will be great. Cocktails are great too.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Always Great!

Dined on April 16, 2016

Cafe Sebastienne is one of our favorite Kansas City restaurants...and again last Friday night we were not disappointed. The wait staff here is "5 star"....most have been at the restaurant for many years ... so professional but not stuffy... they handle everything efficiently with attention to detail. The food was really good...I started with the grilled asparagus salad with poached egg, perfectly cook, the asparagus had that crunch and when you cut into the egg the yellow of the yolk was runny enough to make a great dipping sauce for the asparagus. My husband ordered the arancini....small rice filled meat balls...melted in your mouth. We could have made a meal on those alone. We shared the pork chop with mashed potatoes and snap peas. Again perfectly prepared. Dessert was a wonderful cake with raspberries between the layers and a scoop of vanilla bean ice cream. The perfect end to a wonderful meal...The chef here consistently prepares food that is outstanding. She is one of the best in the city.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5

Artful dining in an artful atmosphere.

Dined on April 16, 2016

Artful dining in an artful atmosphere.

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

One of my KC favorites, the only negativ ...

Dined on April 10, 2016

One of my KC favorites, the only negative is the noise level. All of the interior surfaces are hard, so noise level is high.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

By far, one of the best restaurants in this city!

vip
Dined on April 7, 2016

Always consistently one of the best restaurants in this city. Food is excellent, the staff is attentive and the atmosphere is the best. You can expect the best and it always follows through. At the top of our list always!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Easter Lunch

Dined on March 27, 2016

We had a late Easter lunch (2:00 reservation) our food was wonderful and the service great. We were a little disappointed that the dessert menu was short but that was because we were late dining. Over all I will go again and recommend to friends.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Cafe Sebastienne remains a top restaurant!

vip
Dined on March 19, 2016

Consistently, Cafe Sebastienne serves the best food in town. The menu always has new items; it is always interesting; and it is always really delicious. The service is excellent--especially if you have Dale.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

All-around winnder

Dined on March 6, 2016

We made a mistake with our reservation (yes, it was OUR mistake); nevertheless, the staff went out of their way to accommodate us. This exemplifies an all-around top-notch experience of great service, great food, and great ambience. I hadn't been there in several years, but will definitely return.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Bad timing

Dined on February 28, 2016

We made a reservation for their rush hour. We were seated 30 min. after our noon reservation. As usual, the seating was tight and the noise level was high. Service was slow in taking our order, delivering our food, getting drink refills and getting our check. Food was great. I recommend this place but suggest you avoid peak brunch time.

Tags: great for brunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Hidden gem

Dined on February 21, 2016

Took my wife and kids for brunch and this place did not disappoint. The food was top notch and the service was second to none. The ambiance was great the kids enjoyed all the art all over the walls. I would recommend making an appointment as seating is limited and it fills up quickly. Best part was after eating we took a stroll through the museum to see some of the exibitions they had going on. Best of all the museum is free. Prices for the meal were right in line with the quality of ingredients and service. Take your friends and family, or even that special someone and you'll definitely win them over. I'll be back again.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, romantic
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Vibrant atmosphere and delicious fare

Dined on February 17, 2016

Every bite was delicious. Great care was taken in the service as well as food presentation and

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Visually Stimulating

Dined on February 14, 2016

I took my girl there for brunch on Valentine's Day. She's a brunch fanatic and being able to look at art before eating really started our day off great.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for lunch
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

Underwhelmed (this time)

Dined on February 13, 2016

I've been here before and this time I was less impressed than in past visits. The food was acceptable but not amazing, and the service just wasn't good. We seemed to be one of only a couple of tables our server had, and we still had to repeatedly flag her down (to request the dessert menu, for example) She never inquired how our entrees were, didn't bring sugar with the coffee and never returned so I could request it. Overall, was rather disappointed.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lunch

vip
Dined on February 4, 2016

This beautiful cafe delivers the finest lunch experience in Kansas City! The menu reflects the imagination of Janet Ross and the service is of the highest level. No visitor to Kansas City should miss it!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

First time back after a while

Dined on January 31, 2016

6 of us met for Brunch. It was excellent in every way.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful Reuben

Dined on January 30, 2016

The Reuben was the best I've ever had. The potato salad was okay.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.