About Cafe Renaissance

163 Glyndon Street, SE
Vienna, VA 22180
View Larger Map

For lovers of food, wine and romance,
Cafe Renaissance is your first choice in
intimate dining. Located in the heart of downtown Vienna, Cafe Renaissance
offers a quiet and charming ambiance
that will complement any lunch or dinner.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
French, Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm; Dinner: Nightly: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Sunday 5pm to 9pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(703) 938-3311

Website:
http://www.caferenaissance.com/

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Daily 5:00PM - 5:00PM 9:00PM - 9:00PM

Cafe Renaissance Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (33)
Romantic (31)
Quiet Conversation (30)
See All
Good for a Date (29)
Good for Anniversaries (25)
Good for Birthdays (25)
Neighborhood Gem (22)
Creative Cuisine (18)
Worth the Drive (15)
Business Meals (15)
Notable Wine List (14)
Fit for Foodies (14)
Cozy (14)
Sunday Lunch (12)
Authentic (11)
Great for Brunch (8)
Great for Lunch (8)
Good for Groups (7)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Outstanding Value (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Disabled Access (4)
Local Ingredients (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Casual (3)
Private Room (3)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Seasonal (1)
Fun (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
People Watching (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Spicy (1)
Fireplace (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
2020 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Always delicious and fresh food. Good se ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 3 days ago

Always delicious and fresh food.

Good service too. The chef is great and he comes to the table and spends some time with the guests.

Tags: Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Cozy, Authentic, Good for Groups, Casual, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, , Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My friend and I have been going to the R ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 4 days ago

My friend and I have been going to the Renaissance every Christmas time for many years. It is always delicious and fun. It is the perfect restaurant to have conversations with friends. Classical music, a fabulous mouth-watering gourmet menu, warm and friendly service from the owners and staff, a lovely, classic decor with gorgeous flower arrangements made by the owner herself, all make this dining experience unforgettable!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Gluten Free Options, Afternoon Tea, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

From the moment we entered the restauran ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 9, 2017

From the moment we entered the restaurant, the owner and staff at Café R was sensational. The chef even came out to our table and helped tailor our selections to individual tastes. The experience was wonderful.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Café Renaissance has been a favorite of ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Café Renaissance has been a favorite of my wife and I for over three (3) years. The food is great and the staff is very friendly and very attentive.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Romantic, Cozy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have been a customer for some time now ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 4, 2017

I have been a customer for some time now - I have yet to have anything but a fantastic experience. What the owner and the staff do is very professional.

Tags: Business Meals, Authentic, Special Occasion,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a wonderful dinner and experience ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We had a wonderful dinner and experience on New Year's at Cafe Renaissance!! We there for the second seating, so we had music, with champagne, hats, and noisemakers at midnight. We have been to Cafe Renaissance many times before for birthdays, Valentine's Day, and other special occasions when we want a very nice dinner with very good service and ambience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent service, not rushed through th ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Excellent service, not rushed through the courses. Waiter polite and fun. Food was outstanding.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food is always outstanding. The own ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 1, 2017

The food is always outstanding. The owner and chef are very friendly

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

It's our favorite restaurant for special ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 31, 2016

It's our favorite restaurant for special occasions. The food is always very good, and service is excellent. Even with a full restaurant for New Year's Eve the service was great, and the food came out hot and in a timely fashion. Someone is always checking to make sure that everything is good. One of the best in the area.

Tags: Fireplace, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Cafe Renaissance is our go to place for ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Cafe Renaissance is our go to place for all special occasions! It never disappoints. Can't go there without having an Irish coffee. It's a show besides being delicious.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went to the first seating on New Year ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We went to the first seating on New Years Eve, a busy night for sure. Everything was delicious...they had plenty of options on the prix fix menu they offered for the night. Would definitely return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Cafe Renaissance is the favorite restaur ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Cafe Renaissance is the favorite restaurant of a close friend. The staff treated us wonderfully - offering a table that was easy to access with her wheelchair. The owner remembered her, and a server who recognized her from over 20 years ago, stopped by to say hello. She was most pleased and had a wonderful time.

The food, it almost goes without saying, was incredible. . .from the the bread basket to the appetizers to the entrees. . .all was wonderful.

Thank you for taking such wonderful care of our friend. . .it meant a lot.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Warm, romantic setting. Exceptional foo ...

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Warm, romantic setting. Exceptional food. Top notch service. Located in the back corner of a strip mall. Recommend reservations, but not required. Definitely trying the Irish coffee the next visit based on how we observed their preparation and YouTube videos of their presentation. Baked oysters are among the very best. Ask for grated parmesan cheese to dip with their superb olive oil and butter with their wonderful baked bread. Best continental food in Northern Virginia. What a treat!

Tags: Good for Groups, Casual, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Charmingly elegant surroundings - you'd ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Charmingly elegant surroundings - you'd never know (and won't care that it's in a strip mall). Kind, attentive service--they make you feel like family. Food is reliably good & very reasonably priced wine list. Makes for a romantic date night meal & good place for special occasions & holidays.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

A hidden Gem in Vienna. Tucked in a cor ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 24, 2016

A hidden Gem in Vienna. Tucked in a corner of a small shopping center this place is for romantics who appreciate good food and excellent service. Go. You won't have a bad meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Typically excellent. The fish special w ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Typically excellent. The fish special was delicious. The wine recommendation was on target.

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value2

One of My favorite restaurants - excelle ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 22, 2016

One of My favorite restaurants - excellent service, friendly staff ( chef chats to diners) great food - a big winner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

outstanding - the fresh fish [cod] was t ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 19, 2016

outstanding - the fresh fish [cod] was too good for words. The surprise birthday dessert trio was mouth watering and terrific!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As usual, the food was absolutely delici ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 18, 2016

As usual, the food was absolutely delicious! And the Service was Excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Friendly service and excellent food ever ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Friendly service and excellent food every time we visit

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went here on a date and greatly enjoy ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 16, 2016

We went here on a date and greatly enjoyed it. Good, classical French food. The wine list is quite varied -- just in the Bordeaux we had a choice ranging from $45 to $600 for a bottle (no, that's not a typo). We chose the $45 bottle; it was a 2011 vintage, and it was perfect (looks like they pay attention to their wines). The food was excellent, and the service was just right. We were even given a free dessert of cranberry sorbet with flourless chocolate (similar to a thick hot fudge, only creamier) and creme Anglaise. Delicious!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent dinner. Chef prepared Salmon W ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 12, 2016

Excellent dinner. Chef prepared Salmon Wellington for my spouse from scratch - it wasn't on the menu, and I had Swordfish. Both excellent. Cafe Renaissance is a great place for an everyday or special occasion dinner, and terrific for lunch or Sunday brunch as well. Special wine dinners are wonderful too. Maadi's new outfit (he's been our server for years) is great. Nice to see something other than a tux. Ha

Tags: Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Disabled Access, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Sunday Lunch, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The tables are so tight that you can exp ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 11, 2016

The tables are so tight that you can expect to be bumped and jostled while the staff attempts to noisily clean/clear tables. The food was good but not outstanding and they have a good selection of wine. I felt the waiter could have been more on top of clearing the table, keeping water glasses filled, and overall checking on us. I will admit that they were busy, but I expect a certain level of service when I am spending this kind of money.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Delightfully enjoyable with great menu a ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Delightfully enjoyable with great menu and friendly staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent, as always. A great brunch an ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Excellent, as always. A great brunch and service was excellent. Hope to return for brunch soon.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Tucked away in a suburban strip mall, Ca ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Tucked away in a suburban strip mall, Cafe Renaissance endeavors to provide a fine dining experience, but you're only likely to think it succeeds if you're in your 70's and/or don't get out much. The room is charming and cozy in an over-the-top spinster-aunt sort of way. Huge murals of ballerinas decorate the walls (check photos on-line). The menu is pretty traditional French. There were quite a few specials when we were there -- too many to easily remember. When I joked to the waiter that in the age of laser printers they really should just print the list of specials, he said that it would be too expensive because they had an ink jet printer. Huh? The food was solid, but neither inventive nor particularly well excuted. A rack of lamb was properly cooked. Parmesean crusted cod was moist and a quality piece of fish, but the "crust" lacked texture because of the sauce that had been put on the dish. Sides were pretty disappointing. A vegitable "risotto" that came with the cod lacked creaminess and was essentially rice with veggies. Everything else on the plate was steamed veggies, which to me suggest a complete lack of effort by the kitchen. Our server was weird. Strange body language. Not dressed like the other servers. Just plain awkward. I had the sense that he might have been family with the owners. If you live in the area you might give it a try, but given that entrees are priced in the mid-30's, I'd burn a little gas a go elsewhere.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

I went here with my daughter in order to ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 29, 2016

I went here with my daughter in order to commemorate the 8th anniversary of the passing of my sister. I wanted to do something nice and something that I would enjoy. I was completely satisfied. The hosts were attentive but not too much so. The food was very tasty and very well-presented. I highly recommend this restaurant for anyone wishing to share a quiet meal with a special loved one.

Tags: Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Disabled Access, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

As usual, the food, the service and the ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 27, 2016

As usual, the food, the service and the ambience were outstanding. Attentive, but not over-involved service. Hospitable staff adds further to one's experience.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a wonderful dinner and had a priv ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 26, 2016

We had a wonderful dinner and had a private room to ourselves. The food was fantastic, service was the right pace and the surprise Baklava for dessert was one of the best I have had. The chef visited with us and our food was fantastic. I cannot recommend this restaurant highly enough and look forward to our next visit.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The restaurant was very nicely decorated ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 26, 2016

The restaurant was very nicely decorated and the service was excellent. Very attentive staff and friendly. The wine list was decent. The food was good, but it was not worth the price. For the entire dinner, we paid almost as much as we would have paid at a more high-end French restaurant like L'Auberge Chez Francois, but the food was not even in the same class. My wife ordered an Australian Sea Bass and it did not taste fresh. My filet mignon was average - not the best I've ever had. My son ordered lobster ($40) and it was very tough, so I believe it was over cooked.

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

We always have an very nice experience w ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 26, 2016

We always have an very nice experience with excellent food and service

Tags: Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Amazing. Every time. Friendly and knowle ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Amazing. Every time. Friendly and knowledgeable staff, and the BEST food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Based on the reviews that I read online, ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 21, 2016

Based on the reviews that I read online, I took my wife and our close friends for her birthday dinner instead of Chez Francois (BIG MISTAKE!!!). I was planning on ordering the group dinner #4 (the most expensive pre-fixe dinner). I was told that I had to pre-order that. Tthe waiter offered to make us a special 4-course meal plan instead albeit at a higher price than the highest priced group dinner; $70/person. He said that there would be plenty of food and that he'd take care of our large group. The first plate was a seafood sampler consisting of one shrimp, one scallop, one lobster ravioli, and one piece of pasta with some sort of creamy topping. As noted in some other reviews, the presentation was non-existent. It was just food plopped on a dish. The second course was a typical house salad. I was expecting a seafood salad with lobster meat (like in their online menu). I was told that there was NO lobster that night. For the main entree, I got the sea bass and my wife got the filet mignon. My sea bass was dry and her filet was bland. Then our dessert came... It looked like they took 4 pieces of dessert and just divided them up and literally threw them on a plate for each of us to have another "sampler". Terrible. Total bill with tip came to $1190. Not worth it. Never going back.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

Cafe Renaissance is a great french resta ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Cafe Renaissance is a great french restaurant tucked away in a small shopping center in Vienna, VA. The service is outstanding (and friendly), cocktails are perfect (especially martinis), good wine list but best of all is the food. We were two couples Saturday night and had lamb chops, tuna, pasta and lobster. All were excellent. And, at Cafe Renaissance, don't leave without having their famous Irish Coffee. It is delicious but the presentation is VERY unique...lots of fireworks. Best in the entire Washington metropolitan area.

Tags: Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Molecular Gastronomy, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding service, fine food, nice atm ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Outstanding service, fine food, nice atmosphere. Recommended for special occasions.

Tags: Spicy, Seasonal, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent service and good food. Good ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Excellent service and good food. Good for special occasions.

Tags: Romantic, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Complicated review, hang in there with m ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 9, 2016

Complicated review, hang in there with me. Aging parents love it, my spouse and I in our 40's do not. We've been dozens of times, our go to for the elderly. Why they love it. Dated ambiance, lots of personal attention, very quiet and classically prepared food. Why we don't love it. Dated ambiance, lots of personal attention, very quiet and classically prepared food. We'd prefer a more modern and inspired approach while keeping the spacious feel. My biggest complaint is their personal attention. I know, odd complaint. The chef sits down and chats, the waiter is overly personal and the conversations don't stop. While most people might appreciate this, I often leave feeling exhausted, unrelaxed, like I had to entertain their very kind staff. I'm not sure my husband and I got one word in with each other because of their overly chatty interruptions. Again, incredibly kind staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4

Amazing dining, on par with L'Auberge Ch ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 8, 2016

Amazing dining, on par with L'Auberge Chez Francois for a third of the price! Saeed was a gracious and generous host as well.

Tags: Private Room, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

These folks are the best. Personable wi ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 7, 2016

These folks are the best. Personable with great food.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Neighborhood gem in Vienna. Excellent s ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Neighborhood gem in Vienna. Excellent service and fine food. Loved it

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.