About Cafe Renaissance

163 Glyndon Street, SE
Vienna, VA 22180
View Larger Map

For lovers of food, wine and romance,
Cafe Renaissance is your first choice in
intimate dining. Located in the heart of downtown Vienna, Cafe Renaissance
offers a quiet and charming ambiance
that will complement any lunch or dinner.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
French, Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm; Dinner: Nightly: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Sunday 5pm to 9pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(703) 938-3311

Website:
http://www.caferenaissance.com/

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Daily 5:00PM - 5:00PM 9:00PM - 9:00PM

Cafe Renaissance Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Romantic
Washington, D.C. Area
Special Occasion
Washington, D.C. Area
French
Washington, D.C. Area
7 More
Best Overall
Virginia - DC Suburbs
Best Service
Virginia - DC Suburbs
Best Ambiance
Virginia - DC Suburbs
Best Value
Virginia - DC Suburbs
Romantic
Virginia - DC Suburbs
Special Occasion
Virginia - DC Suburbs
French
Virginia - DC Suburbs
Best Restaurants in Vienna ›

special occasion (100)
romantic (89)
neighborhood gem (63)
See All
fit for foodies (57)
notable wine list (38)
good for groups (18)
great for brunch (17)
great for lunch (15)
late-night find (3)
hot spot (2)
great for outdoor dining (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1872 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

When in the area we eat here

vip
Dined on May 15, 2016

They never disappoint!!! I wanted sweet potatoes, which they did not have, so the Chef cooked carrots with pomegranate . It tasted like sweet potatoes. VERY clever!! If we lived in the area, we would be regulars!! LOVE this place.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Spectacular in every way!

Dined on May 14, 2016

Not only is the food delicious, the staff makes you feel like someone special. We will return - again and again.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Great Mother's Day meal

Dined on May 8, 2016

We were seated immediately at our reservation time. The meal selection was great. I thoroughly enjoyed the lamb shanks. The beef Wellington was also a hit. Even though the restaurant was very busy we were never rushed. Thanks for a great Mother's Day meal!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food1
ambience1
service3
value1

It was Mother's Day, so I should make an ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

It was Mother's Day, so I should make an allowance. However, since they might expect a number of first-timers, I'm deprecating the allowance. My wife order the Beef Wellington, which was simply a meat pie filled with chopped meat. No pate, no bacon, no mushrooms, no sauce...just pie. I ordered the Barramundi, and coming from Australia, I can tell you that if it was Barrimundi, it was a 25 year old Barramundi. Barramundi has a texture not dissimilar to filet minion...the fish for carnivores. They tried to disguise the lack of texture and flavour with a sweet tomato sauce. Tomato? Really? What about simple herbs and lemon so you can taste the fish? I will say the liver appetizer was very well done and quite tasty. The waiter was fast, efficient, and unlike some comments I've seen, he did not hover.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Pleasantly surprised

Dined on May 8, 2016

Went there for Mother's Day. This is a very quaint little restaurant with excellent food and service. It's a very nice place for a romantic date night too. The name "Cafe Renaissance " suits it to a tee. Beautiful decor and reminiscent of the Renaissance era. Greeted upon entering the restaurant by the head chef who's very personable and friendly. He made sure our meal was to our liking. Highly recommend and I will be going back again.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

Very Pleasant Experience

vip
Dined on May 7, 2016

We dined early because, as we age, we cannot hear in noisy places. This was not noisy, although if someone had been seated at the table next to us, it would not have been too private. The tables are close together. We were made to feel welcome and had a fun time kidding around with our waiter who had a unique personality. The room is lovely with fresh roses and little candles on all the tables and the art adds to the mood. The wine pours are generous. The classic menu and list of specials was extensive. I had caesar salad which was fresh and crispy but on the bland side - would have benefited from salt, garlic and anchovy. My husband had mussels - large and plump but did not seem to have been cooked in the sauce they came with, just steamed and then served on the sauce. I had lamb shank, again, very tender but not too flavorful. Husband had veal piccata - thin, tender and well cooked but the lemon sauce had too much thickener in it. We shared a dessert sampler - all very tasty. At least the early guests all seemed to be primarily seniors. I appreciated the genteel staff, the lovely room and the friendliness. I just wish the food had a bit more zing.

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

a French treat!!

Dined on May 6, 2016

outstanding filet mignon and rack of lamb...great starters and desserts. attention to detail and service. first visit....will return.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great!

Dined on May 2, 2016

We have been to Cafe Renaissance several times and each meal has been superb. The wait staff is experienced and professional, the ambiance is elegant, and the food is delicious.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

It's not French

vip
Dined on April 30, 2016

Food was generally good, but I can't say it's French. I ordered veal, my husband ordered fish but 2 dishes came out look exactly the same - same vegetable, same sauce. The duck confit for appetizer had an overly sweet sauce. They were out of the French red wine that we ordered, so they brought out 2 bottles of white wine for us to choose. ??? The soufflé dessert with flame was a good show but a disaster as a dessert. It was just gooey egg white.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Restaurant

vip
Dined on April 30, 2016

This is our "go to" place for any special occasion. The food is wonderful. The ambience is great. The service is spectacular. The chef is fun in addition to preparing great food. The Maître d is charming. They usually honor special requests. We highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was great and everyone was supe ...

Dined on April 29, 2016

The food was great and everyone was super nice to us. All the servers and the chef stopped by our table and chatted with us; they were hilarious. One of the best dining experiences I've had!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

A Great French Restaurant

Dined on April 28, 2016

My wife and I came to the Café Renaissance for our Anniversary after quite some time. We were pleased to find the food and the overall environment as outstanding as we remembered. A baked oyster appetizer was in a wonderful cream sauce and my wife's veal was thin and tender. All in all, a fine meal. A bit pricy but well worth it.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great as Always!

vip
Dined on April 24, 2016

Came back to Vienna area after move to TX last year. First place we made reservations to meet and dine w/friends was Cafe Renaissance. Always consistently great food & service! Thanks to Saheed, Manny & entire staff for a great meal & service.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

Great food, overbearing service

Dined on April 22, 2016

We enjoyed the food, though it's not any better than we've had at several other area restaurants and didn't quite live up to the expectations that had been set by other reviews. The chef came out to our table to talk with us about our meal and made some great recommendations (and even made a meal that was half of each of the entrees that I was considering), which was nice. At first, the service was friendly, but we progressed through our meal, it became far too overbearing. Our server kept returning to our table to tell us stories and did not respond to social cues to back off a little bit. He kept touching my arm while talking to us, even as I pulled away, and then sat down with us to tell us even more stories about his (supposed) past, eventually even following us out the door as we tried to leave. The restaurant is small and did not have enough background music or white noise to provide a bit of conversational privacy, so we were also privvy to the entirety of the conversations at the tables around us, which did not contribute to a great date night dinner experience at all.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

A neighborhood gem for great food & atmosphere

Dined on April 21, 2016

My wife and I love coming to this restaurant for our anniversary and with other friends for a great meal at a reasonable price. The service is friendly and thoughtful. The food is always great and well presented. We keep coming back and highly recommend to our friends and those that appreciate a night out with friends or love ones.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Great service and good food

Dined on April 17, 2016

We went here for our anniversary dinner. We had never been here before but had to check it out because they are one of the few places that has chateau briand. We were a little skeptical when we saw the outside, but the inside was charming and the food was delicious.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing restaurant

Dined on April 13, 2016

We went here to celebrate my grandfather's life (he passed away). The owners were wonderful and so sweet. They set us up in a private room and gave us amazing service! Highly recommend them.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A Pleasure and a Privilege.

Dined on April 12, 2016

Few restaurants we consider a privilege as well as a pleasure to enjoy. Cafe Renaissance is at the top of our list. Saeed and Chef "Elvis" are the most gracious and friendly of hosts. Somehow they make elegant dining comfortable and casual. The daily specials are fresh, varied and heavenly. There is a menu, but we rarely use it. If you have questions, Chef will likely come out and discuss preparations and options. The wine list is deep and wide - something for every taste and budget. If you are in the area there is no finer treat you can give yourself. We live in South Carolina now, but when we're in the DC area, we'd never miss a chance to dine here. The menu has a French flair, but you'll find many things you can enjoy and share. Do yourself a big favor....

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Never judge a book by its cover.

Dined on April 8, 2016

Great place, great food, great staff. Don't let the out side fool you! Staff will make you feel like you've been coming for years!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Mork & Mindy alive and well in Vienna

Dined on April 8, 2016

The dinning experience was bizarre - the waiter hovered over us the entire meal - kept interrupting our conversation with his new age medicine views, ability to control the weather with his mind and other outer worldly ying-yang perspectives on the universe. The food was harmless except my wife could not determine the type of sauce that smothered her small seafood morsel. On departing the owner/manager rushed behind us as we left to exclaim "Good bye young people". As a we are in our mid-50's simply checking our IDs before serving the watered down wine would have been charming enough...

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Another wonderful evening at Cafe Renaissance

Dined on April 5, 2016

I've been to Cafe Renaissance countless times and it never disappoints. Delicious food, superb service, and endless fun. This visit was no exception. It is a true gem and has my highest recommendation. If you haven't tried it, you are missing out.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

What a wonderful experience! True 1st c ...

Dined on April 2, 2016

What a wonderful experience! True 1st class service with attention to detail! The chef even came out to ensure everything was prepared exactly right! We'll be back!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful restaurant

Dined on April 1, 2016

I have been going to Cafe Renaissance for many years. The food is always great, the service is consistently good, the atmosphere is romantic, and you can actually have a conversation without raising your voice. I will continue to frequently dining at Cafe Renaissance.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Reliable mainstay of great French/Italian Fare

vip
Dined on March 30, 2016

Hadn't attended cafe renaissance in years but the owner and proprietor took great care of our foody particularities and were always willing to accomodate us. We unintentionally arrived on a Wednesday wine supper night when a special occasion reservation took most of the restaurant - but they went out of their way to seat us away in the the more secluded section allowing for privacy. Guillermo took excellent care of us and the owner treated us to special aperitif afterwards to seal a wonderful early evening dinner. HHank you for such a wonderful meal!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent. Dinner

Dined on March 27, 2016

Not just a neighborhood gem, rather metro find! Excellent food. Never rushed. A very pleasant evening ... a candidate for the slow food movement. All staff from owner, chef, and waiters very attentive!

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Easter Special

Dined on March 27, 2016

My wife and I had a very enjoyable brunch on Easter Sunday. The food was outstanding and the service was very good. A very special place and we will certainly return.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Easter Brunch Success

Dined on March 27, 2016

Sought out a nice place for Easter brunch and Cafe Renaissance did not disappoint. Everyone in our group of 5 commented on the food and service. Lovely time. Was a bit crowded but chalked it up to holiday. Will return.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First time visit

Dined on March 26, 2016

After reading many reviews and finding this on several lists of best restaurants, Café Renaissance did not disappoint. This long-time Vienna institution lived up to its promise with fine food, good service, and upscale ambiance. Everyone was warm and friendly. Recommendations on wine and food were excellent. We will definitely go back!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good Vienna Eatery

Dined on March 26, 2016

Great food, great staff. I showed up once in old work pants and a sweatshirt and was treated like my friends owned the place. I really enjoy the food. The Chef is amazing and comes out and talks to the guests. The wait staff are very professional and my water glass was never empty. I laughed so much with the staff that you really feel like part of the restaurant. It reminds me of eating at some of my fav places in Europe.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Friendly

Dined on March 23, 2016

We closed,the place taking to the manager and staff members with no,rush to leave.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

I looooooooooved this restaurant. I had ...

Dined on March 22, 2016

I looooooooooved this restaurant. I had the best service I have ever had. And the veal was superb.

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Incredibly good food in a very comfortable place.

Dined on March 20, 2016

Really good food and staff. It was quite a surprise to me that I've never been to this restaurant before. It was all very good. The staff was very nice and helpful. The food was quite good. The chef came out and chatted a bit and was delightful to talk with. It was a great menu. I also have to note that the ambiance was very good. It wasn't too noisy. I will be returning and bringing more folks.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Café R provides consistently excellent c ...

vip
Dined on March 19, 2016

Café R provides consistently excellent cuisine to go with a delightful atmosphere. If the specials include seafood, consider them strongly. My wife had flounder and our guest had barramundi, and both were pleased with the choices. My pork tenderloin came with a Portobello mushroom covered in spinach and cheese that was quite lovely. All in all, a delightful evening, but that has come to be the norm at this restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very charming and excellent food

Dined on March 18, 2016

Everything was great from the moment my husband and I stepped into the restaurant. Staff was very friendly and made us feel like home as they knew us forever. Food was excellent. We definitely will come back.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our Favorite

vip
Dined on March 17, 2016

My fiancée and I love Café Renaissance - it's our favorite restaurant. The beautiful atmosphere, the friendly greetings and service, and the delicious meals are the primary reasons that we keep coming back regularly. The fresh flowers, the generous spirit of the owner, the excellent service, the beautiful murals and pictures, all come together for a memorable dining experience. We both look forward to returning to Café Renaissance as often as possible. Thank you Saeed and staff for your gracious hospitality and wonderful dining experience. Café Renaissance is the best...!!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

As always, Cafe Renaissance was a great ...

Dined on March 16, 2016

As always, Cafe Renaissance was a great experience! The service is fantastic, the food was outstanding, the atmosphere perfect. It couldn't have been nicer. We celebrate our birthdays here every year and go at other times, as well. It's our favorite restaurant for every special celebration.

food4
ambience5
service5

Fabulous service. Food was excellent.

Dined on March 16, 2016

Fabulous service. Food was excellent.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious

Dined on March 14, 2016

Everything was excellent. Great food, attentive service, good wine. I can't believe I hadn't found this place earlier. I will definitely be back.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful experience

Dined on March 13, 2016

My family took me to Sunday brunch for my birthday. What a wonderful treat! The wait staff was very attentive, kind, and personable. The food was spectacular -- especially the dessert. It was a perfect way to spend a Sunday morning.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5

Excellent charming restaurant in Vienna. ...

Dined on March 11, 2016

Excellent charming restaurant in Vienna. Had a wonderful experience. Delicious food and service was great. The chef and staff made us feel very welcomed.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.