Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Thu, 4/26
Time
9:30 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 8 times today
Special offers available. See details

Cafe Renaissance

4.8
2286 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$31 to $50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
French
Perfect For:
  • Romantic
  • Good for a Date
  • Special Occasion
For lovers of food, wine and romance,
Cafe Renaissance is your first choice in
intimate dining. Located in the heart of downtown Vienna, Cafe Renaissance
offers a quiet and charming ambiance
that will complement any lunch or dinner.
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
French, Italian
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm; Dinner: Nightly: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Sunday 5pm to 9pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(703) 938-3311
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Business Casual
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Daily 5:00PM - 5:00PM 9:00PM - 9:00PM

What 2286 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.8based on recent ratings
4.7
food
4.8
service
4.8
ambience
4.6
value
Noise · Quiet
99% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined 4 days ago

From the special greeting at the door too the excellent service and very attentive waiter and host, it was a delightful evening. Salad and entrees were delicious. The Bananas Foster was prepared in front of us with great skill. Entertaining and delicious. We capped off dinner with a specialty coffee prepared with much fanfare. Looking forward to visiting again. Vienna has quite a jewel in Cafe Renaissance!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 5 days ago

We love Café Renaissance... Always gracious, always wonderful food. We feel like old friends every time we go.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 6 days ago

Excellent food and wine selection. The owner is hospitable, sits at the table and chats with customers. French wine selection is superb. Highly recommended and the restaurant matches its reputation.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 19, 2018

I can not describe the treatment and service you will receive from the management team, the chef, and server/wait staff. From start to finish, by far the best experience in the area. Always a personal visit from the owner and the chef. They take great pride in what they are serving and making sure you receive what you want. The meal comes with a personal touch. If you have dietary concerns, this is the place for you.

The daily specials were to die for. We had a home made lobster ravioli which made your month water. At the end, you have to experience the Irish coffee and Banana's Foster. I know you will be full, but a must!!!!

We spent our Anniversary there and will spend many more there in the future. At the end of the evening the owner sat with us to ensure our experience was unforgettable. Well, it true was. I highly recommend Cafe Renaissance

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 17, 2018

Very attentive management, chef and wait staff. Your satisfaction is their main concern

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 17, 2018

We love talking to the owner and chef. It makes the experience so special.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 16, 2018

I found this fantastic French restaurant on Open Table when I put in a search for Romantic (my wife and I were celebrating our Anniversary).

I am very familiar with Maple Avenue in Vienna but had never noticed this restaurant before....I wish I had!

We had a WONDERFUL meal and time.

From the moment we walked in we were warmly greeted by Saeed the Owner and made to feel at home.

The food was great but the service was even better. My wife and I were pampered throughout the night, we were never rushed and we received little goodies and treats after the meal.

The restaurant was quiet (it was a cold Monday night) and we found it very enjoyable and relaxing. The prices were very reasonable for the quality and authenticity of the food.

We talked all the way home about how much we enjoyed the experience and my wife was still talking about it this morning.

We would definitely encourage others to try this little gem in Vienna. We will be going back!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 16, 2018

Sayeed provided another lovely evening. If there are soups on the menu, try them. All three, French onion, lentil and gazpacho, were of high quality. I can personally recommend the lamb, as it has always been delicious and was certainly excellent on our most recent visit.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 15, 2018

Always a delight! Brunch was delicious. Beautiful plus great food.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 14, 2018

Nice, quiet ambiance for dinner; cuisine superb but not overly memorable; friendly yet professional - quite enjoyable.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 13, 2018

This restaurant is not close to us but we go out of our way when we want to have a relax dinner where you are not rushed. It is also the place selected by our friends when a group dinner is planned. The food and service is excellent.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 13, 2018

Great food and service - Reasonably priced - good value

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 8, 2018

Wonderful experience at a very friendly and professional level. Fantastic cuisine. Definitely a class joint. Neighborhood gem.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 4, 2018

excellent choice for a special occasion or just dinner; food is excellent and the organization is very people oriented and friemdly ..

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 2, 2018

We loved our dinner at Cafe Renaissance! Our hosts were attentive, friendly, and really took care of us. The food was great and clearly prepared with love. We'll be back!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 29, 2018

As usual my wife and I had a marvelous dining experience. The personal attention by the owner Saeed and Chef Ocean is special. The highlight of the evening was the flaming Irish coffee. An extraordinary birthday celebration!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 27, 2018

The service is friendly and professional. The food is wonderful. The ambiance is spectacular.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 25, 2018

Great service. Lovely flower arrangements! Lovely atmosphere!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 24, 2018

This is a unique restaurant because it is not a chain. I went years ago when they had someone playing the violin and it really added to the ambiance. They don't do that anymore. They also used to make you bananas foster for your birthday which they did not do this time, so disappointing.! We ordered it anyway and the bananas were not cooked. I sent it back and it came out with melted ice cream. It was still really tasty but could have been a lot better. The food is OK but the presentation is very nice. We had three dishes. The seafood crepe: The crepe was very small and just mediocre but the scallop and shrimp on top were very good. The Filet de Cabillaud en Croûte de Parmesan-Miso sake marinated and Parmesan crusted Atlantic cod with vegetable risotto sounded so good but also just mediocre and I didn't recognize any of the flavors suggested in the description. I did not try the Escaloped de Poulet Flambée au Calvados- Pan seared chicken breast with apples, Calvados brandy & pistachio dusted wild berry saffron rice, but the feedback was that it was good, not great. They do have some nice flaming after dinner drinks which are very nice, This place reminds me of old time elegant restaurants that focused on specialties like the bananas foster and flamming drinks prepared tableside but the food is not as good as I remember it being.

As for service, they are very attentive but the head waiter doesn't know when to stop talking.
He gets too involved in your conversations and his own and this takes away from the ambiance which could be a nice romantic evening or a fun time with your friends.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 22, 2018

My friend and I had a charming lunch at the Cafe. It was a quiet afternoon and so we were able to chat with a very attentive staff. Food was outstanding and the atmosphere was perfect. We will go there often.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 17, 2018

Friendly, warm atmosphere. Excellent food, excellent service. A definite "We will be back" kind of place.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 17, 2018

Disappointing... very ordinary food and NOT inexpensive.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 15, 2018

This was a wonderful location for a dinner date. All of the staff were extremely friendly, courteous, and helpful, and went out of their way to make it a special meal.

Maybe only one other couple at 6pm on that weekday, and a few more after an hour or so.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 12, 2018

Excellent food, service, and ambiance, as always. Try the lamb shanks if they're on special. Melt-in-your-mouth, fall of the bone! My birthday friend loved her lobster and shrimp, too. Even the bread and butter is uncommonly good here! If you drink, please don't miss the one-of-a-kind Irish Coffee!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 11, 2018

Cafe Renaissance is a charming restaurant with lovely atmosphere and delicious food. One of my favorites in Vienna

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 9, 2018

Great place to relax and enjoy a meal with family and friends. The owner is hospitable and the staff is professional. The service is based on your pace. You don't feel pressured to pay the bill and leave. The desserts are delicious and the Irish coffee could not be better.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 8, 2018

This spot is not to be missed.
Romantic, casually elegant, fine food, great atmosphere.
Flavor is an indication of the essential character of something.
Great flavors created at Cafe Cafe Renaissance.
The entire staff is your family there to create a time and place for you to enjoy meal.
Let it go.... Take your time .
We had the Chateaubriand for 2. It was very very good. Ate it all. The chef checked for our approval of his use of brandy in the sauce. It was fun to have input.
Allow 2 hrs for a a fine dining experience that you will want to repeat.
bon appetit....

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 6, 2018

Great place, great food.
You'll have a good time and a good meal.
The staff is top drawer. They show you how....
A real treat.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 4, 2018

Brunch opens at 10:30. We got there at 11:00 and had the place to ourselves. (We learned most folks come after 12:30.) The fresh flowers everywhere we're gorgeous. There is a $20 special which includes choice of soup/salad, choice from 4 entrees (we had chicken marsala and sole with champagne sauce) and miniature desserts. Everything was done impeccably. We have now been there for brunch, lunch, dinner and the monthly wine dinners and have always left feeling satisfied. It is an experience.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 3, 2018

This is the fourth time we have dined at Cafe Renaissance and it was another perfect experience. Menu was great, wine list was great, service great and the food was wonderful. The lobster and rockfish were done to perfection. Cafe Renaissance is at the top of our list for dining experience and value.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 28, 2018

Always great !!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 25, 2018

This was a family gathering and, as usual, the service, attention to detail, friendly ambience and outstanding food made a special occasion even more special and memorable. We never miss a chance to get there when we're in town.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 25, 2018

Great birthday dinner with my wife and son.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 25, 2018

Be ready for a fine time. The experience of being transported to a local gem of a European cafe not in France or Italy as your senses tell you but in Vienna, Virginia. Tell your friends if they go, surrender to to atmosphere. The wonderful staff will make it a first class tightly knit fine meal for you. Get to know them....Let them take you away. Bon appetit.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 19, 2018

Always and ever the best.....you can't beat Cafe Renaissance, the warm and welcoming host and staff, outstanding food and beautifully imaginative floral arrangements. We lovd it!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 18, 2018

My husband and I have visited Cafe Renaissance for about 5 years now. It has never failed when it comes to friendly service and having a romantic ambiance. I would recommend this neighborhood gem to everyone. It's not completely visible from the main road but it's well worth the drive. The food is delicious and well priced for a couple to dine out for a date night.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 18, 2018

The service was excellent and the food was superb. We will be repeat customers.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 17, 2018

Cozy, warm French restaurant with lovely staff and outstanding food

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 15, 2018

We enjoyed a relaxing, romantic evening at Cafe Renaissance on Valentine's Day. The wine recommendation was excellent. The food was high quality, the service attentive but not intrusive. We will return for a date night soon.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 14, 2018

My husband and I went to Cafe Renaissance for Valentine's Day. For the occasion, the restaurant had a fixed, 3-course dinner. We had a choice of about 6 appetizers, about a dozen entrees, and then a dessert sampler. A wonderful dinner! And, even though the restaurant was completely full, we could still carry on a conversation or enjoy the background music.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
58