Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.34mi
  4. Distance: 0.57mi
  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.34mi
  4. Distance: 0.57mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.34mi
  4. Distance: 0.57mi
  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.34mi
  4. Distance: 0.57mi

About Cafe Renaissance

For lovers of food, wine and romance,
Cafe Renaissance is your first choice in
intimate dining. Located in the heart of downtown Vienna, Cafe Renaissance
offers a quiet and charming ambiance
that will complement any lunch or dinner.

163 Glyndon Street, SE
Vienna, VA 22180
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
French, Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm; Dinner: Nightly: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Sunday 5pm to 9pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(703) 938-3311

Website:
http://www.caferenaissance.com/

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Daily 5:00PM - 5:00PM 9:00PM - 9:00PM

Cafe Renaissance Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.9

ambience

4.7

value

4.6

noise

Quiet

100% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (38)
Good for Anniversaries (33)
Romantic (33)
See All
Quiet Conversation (28)
Neighborhood Gem (25)
Creative Cuisine (23)
Good for a Date (22)
Cozy (20)
Fit for Foodies (19)
Good for Birthdays (18)
Notable Wine List (17)
Worth the Drive (16)
Authentic (12)
Business Meals (11)
Fun (6)
Comfort Food (5)
Good for Groups (5)
Great for Brunch (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Casual (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Seasonal (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Healthy (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Vegan (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort By:
S
2165 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 2 days ago

An exceptional meal from the soups to the lobster. Friendly neighborhood greeting from the owner and the service was superb. The dessert of unique ice cream complemented by a delicious cake culminated in a perfect evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 3 days ago

Excellent food for taste and presentation. Service was exceptional.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 7 days ago

This place is a true neighborhood gem! Beautiful decor, wonderful food.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 7, 2017

Couldn't have picked a better place for a first date. Food was amazing and the staff were even better. I will definitely be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 4, 2017

What a timeless little jewel, that refuses to be anything other than an old world restaurant that exudes charm and civility.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Wonderful time and superb meal for a party of ten. Excellent personal service and attention to detail. Left stuffed and completely satisfied.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Four of us had brunch at Cafe Renaissance. While we are all "regulars" this was special because we had learned that Chef Jean Claud would be in the kitchen, and we had heard he was a marvelous Chef. The information proved correct. The Brunch was outstanding. While Jean Claud will not be at Cafe Renaissance on a full-time basis, we hope he will be there at other times when we dine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Exceptional from start to finish. It was worth the drive from DC to be met at the door by our excellent waiter. It is a small restaurant (12-15 tables) and nicely decorated. The escargot were exceptional, as were our lamb, beef & seafood entrees. They prepared a very nice dessert for my wife's birthday. The owner/chef also warmly greeted his guests. The next time I am in DC, I will definitely come again.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 1, 2017

Good food and service. Webgot there before our reservation time and got a table right away.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 29, 2017

Very professional and friendly service. The French onion soup is always excellent, as is the Osso Bucco.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Cafe Renaissance is one of my favorite restaurants. The food is absolutely delicious. The decor is beautiful, cozy and romantic. It has a great ambiance. The service staff are impeccable. Really a superb meal and experience.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 24, 2017

As usual the food and service were outstanding. Very friendly and welcoming. Best French onion soup in the area. Our fish was so fresh it just melted in your mouth. It's hard to choose from the specials and everyday menus. We are never disappointed.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 18, 2017

Dine frequently at Cafe Renaissance. It's food is excellently prepared, it's service is superb, and it's ambiance is small, elegant and subdued for easy conversation! Ranked #1 in Northern Virginia.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 17, 2017

This will always be a favorite special occasion place for us. The owner, Saeed, should give other restaurateurs lessons on how to make guests feel welcome!

The food, as always, was delicious. I had one of the fish specials - snapper in a lentil sauce. My husband's had a saffron-ginger sauce, our teenage kids shared the Chateaubriand. All were impeccable. Although I generally avoid dairy, I did make an exception, to have a little bit of ice cream with the flambéed apples.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 16, 2017

Outstanding restaurant. We have never been disappointed. Our friends also enjoyed the excellent food (halibut was fabulous), lovely ambiance (fresh flowers on every table) and friendly staff (Saeed was particularly kind with serving flaming tableside banana foster, chef came to table to explain ingredients on menu and give recommendations and waiter was extremely pleasant . A wonderful evening and we will definitely go back.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 15, 2017

Great food, service, and experience. Highly recommended.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 15, 2017

We've been here several times, and each time reminds me why I think this is one of, if not the, best restaurants in the DC metro area. We went on a week-night, so it was not too busy. The chef and maitre d' came over and spoke personally with us. And one is wise to follow whatever the chef recommends. He is really an artist. Why aren't there more restaurants like Cafe Renaissance? Fine dining seems a dying art. Get here before it's too late!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 14, 2017

The quality of the food, the restaurant's ambience and the friendly and gracious vibe from the hostess and server make me want to return and bring more friends.

Tags: Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 12, 2017

My wife and I had a wonderful experience. The food was fantastic and the service outstanding. Interior decoration had an elegant touch.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 12, 2017

This small but authentic French restaurant is a favorite for us when we attend Wolf Trap events. The food is consistently good, and the staff are friendly and attentive. This time, I got two daily specials: a crepe filled with lobster and crab in a beurre blanc sauce as an appetizer, and a nicely prepared pork loin with a cherry sauce. For dessert, chocolate mousse, ooh la la. We will be back!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Café Renaissance is perfection! A beautiful room, attentive, but totally unobtrusive, servers who gauge ehat you want. If you are deep in conversation, they don't intrude...but they are wonderfully warm and friendly, making you feel like longtime friends or family when you are simply enjoying the meal. Never rushed...this is an exceptional place, whether for a special evening or for no reason at all!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 11, 2017

This is a hidden gem unexpectedly located in a shopping center. Lovely elegant old world atmosphere with great food, wonderful service and friendly accommodating staff. When the owner heard it was a work anniversary celebration, he brought us free dessert and after dinner drinks. Have been coming here n and off for many years, and it is always a pleasure and does not disappoint when you bring guests.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 7, 2017

Wow... the best of everything. Think about it.... it's going to be good. You are family here. Be prepared to take well honed advice as to what you need and want. You just need a friendly helpung .nudge.
Did I mention that they're the best of everything. Wow. Family.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Wonderful experience at Café Renaissance. It was our first time dining at Café Renaissance -- we were celebrating my brothers birthday. The Chef and staff were terrific and made us feel special. We plan to return again in the future.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Very friendly, welcoming staff. We had a very pleasant evening. Would definitely go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 5, 2017

I was looking forward to coming back here since our last experience was excellent. But it was not the same this time. Went with a group of friends each time. We received a nice warm welcome. The food & service was not to the same level it was before. I hope it was just an off night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

Service itself was part of the experience. Great food, very funny servers, very accommodating and authentic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on August 4, 2017

I've been to a lot of amazing restaurants in the D.C. area and this one is the best of all. Food is spectacular, the service is world class, and the ambience is perfect. I definitely plan to go again soon!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 29, 2017

There are so many places to go, but if you do not go to Café Renaissance you are missing out. The food, service and everyone at the restaurant just goes way out of their way to make you feel like you are the only one there. Once you go to Café Renaissance you will keep going back again and again.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Authentic, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Excellent experience. Service was excellent, food was excellent. The staff is very well trained and very focused on customer satisfaction.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 26, 2017

This place was recommended by a friend, so it was my first time at the restaurant. I took my brother and his wife to celebrate his birthday. The food was very, very good, and the wine list was extensive. The service was excellent. We shared an appetizer of oysters, and were each brought a separate plate of a generous portion. Our main courses were delicious, and we were given a special dessert for the special occasion. I will definitely return, and will recommend this place to anyone looking for good traditional French cuisine.

Tags: Romantic, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 24, 2017

What a great place for a good meal. The owner will greed you and the food and service was exceptional. Been at many French/Italian Restaurants and this ranks as one of the best. Wine list is good and not over priced too.
Whenever we visit our family in the area we will be coming back.
Thanks for a great meal.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 22, 2017

I like that the restaurant is quiet enough for our group to chat. The food is fantastic as always. I love dining at Cafe Renaissance and so do my friends.

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 15, 2017

We love the care the owner takes to beautify the entrance by planting lovely flowers. It gives it a nice old European feel. Once inside, the atmosphere is quiet and refined. It seems that there was no piped-in music. If there was, it was unobtrusive. This allowed for low volume and relaxing conversation.
The atmosphere continued to be relaxed as we were seated and offered drinks. The martinis were perfect. Only after we enjoyed the martini a bit, were we offered the menu. We each had the special, veal masala and a fish (forget the name of it). I loved the fish because, although it had a sauce, it was very little and not at all overpowering. Veggies that went with our meal were good. Loved the large chunks of sweet carrot. All in all, a good meal. All in all, a good evening. We will certainly be back.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Attentive service with wit rather than snobbery. Helpful suggestions. Great meal!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 11, 2017

Ever and always the best! A cozy and elegant atmosphere enhanced by beautiful flower arrangements. Food second to none. Saeed a most gracious host complimented by a friendly wait staff.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 10, 2017

Café Renaissance provides excellent service and delicious food!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 9, 2017

Food and service was beyond expectations, very friendly staff, chef came out to talk just a very nice experience with no down side at all.

Tags: Late-night Find, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 9, 2017

We celebrated my 70th Birthday at this restaurant and had a wonderful meal.The service was very good and the owner very personable.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 8, 2017

I can't imagine what they could do to make you feel more welcome and glad you were there. Dinner with friends was extremely pleasant and warm, food was great, just a delightful place to go for dinner. Looking forward to going back.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.