About Cafe Renaissance

163 Glyndon Street, SE
Vienna, VA 22180
View Larger Map

For lovers of food, wine and romance,
Cafe Renaissance is your first choice in
intimate dining. Located in the heart of downtown Vienna, Cafe Renaissance
offers a quiet and charming ambiance
that will complement any lunch or dinner.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
French, Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm; Dinner: Nightly: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Sunday 5pm to 9pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(703) 938-3311

Website:
http://www.caferenaissance.com/

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Daily 5:00PM - 5:00PM 9:00PM - 9:00PM

Cafe Renaissance Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Service
Washington, D.C. Area
Special Occasion
Washington, D.C. Area
French
Washington, D.C. Area
6 More
Best Overall
Virginia - DC Suburbs
Best Service
Virginia - DC Suburbs
Best Ambiance
Virginia - DC Suburbs
Romantic
Virginia - DC Suburbs
Special Occasion
Virginia - DC Suburbs
French
Virginia - DC Suburbs
Best Restaurants in Vienna ›

Special Occasion (28)
Romantic (22)
Neighborhood Gem (17)
See All
Quiet Conversation (16)
Good for a Date (16)
Good for Anniversaries (15)
Good for Birthdays (12)
Creative Cuisine (12)
Business Meals (10)
Fit for Foodies (10)
Notable Wine List (10)
Good for Groups (8)
Cozy (8)
Authentic (7)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Worth the Drive (6)
Great for Lunch (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Private Room (4)
Great for Brunch (4)
Outstanding Value (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Historic (2)
Seasonal (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Healthy (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Comfort Food (1)
People Watching (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Casual (1)
Spicy (1)
Fun (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Sort By:
S
1944 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Tucked away in a suburban strip mall, Ca ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 3 days ago

Tucked away in a suburban strip mall, Cafe Renaissance endeavors to provide a fine dining experience, but you're only likely to think it succeeds if you're in your 70's and/or don't get out much. The room is charming and cozy in an over-the-top spinster-aunt sort of way. Huge murals of ballerinas decorate the walls (check photos on-line). The menu is pretty traditional French. There were quite a few specials when we were there -- too many to easily remember. When I joked to the waiter that in the age of laser printers they really should just print the list of specials, he said that it would be too expensive because they had an ink jet printer. Huh? The food was solid, but neither inventive nor particularly well excuted. A rack of lamb was properly cooked. Parmesean crusted cod was moist and a quality piece of fish, but the "crust" lacked texture because of the sauce that had been put on the dish. Sides were pretty disappointing. A vegitable "risotto" that came with the cod lacked creaminess and was essentially rice with veggies. Everything else on the plate was steamed veggies, which to me suggest a complete lack of effort by the kitchen. Our server was weird. Strange body language. Not dressed like the other servers. Just plain awkward. I had the sense that he might have been family with the owners. If you live in the area you might give it a try, but given that entrees are priced in the mid-30's, I'd burn a little gas a go elsewhere.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

I went here with my daughter in order to ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 6 days ago

I went here with my daughter in order to commemorate the 8th anniversary of the passing of my sister. I wanted to do something nice and something that I would enjoy. I was completely satisfied. The hosts were attentive but not too much so. The food was very tasty and very well-presented. I highly recommend this restaurant for anyone wishing to share a quiet meal with a special loved one.

Tags: Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Disabled Access, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

As usual, the food, the service and the ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 27, 2016

As usual, the food, the service and the ambience were outstanding. Attentive, but not over-involved service. Hospitable staff adds further to one's experience.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a wonderful dinner and had a priv ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 26, 2016

We had a wonderful dinner and had a private room to ourselves. The food was fantastic, service was the right pace and the surprise Baklava for dessert was one of the best I have had. The chef visited with us and our food was fantastic. I cannot recommend this restaurant highly enough and look forward to our next visit.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The restaurant was very nicely decorated ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 26, 2016

The restaurant was very nicely decorated and the service was excellent. Very attentive staff and friendly. The wine list was decent. The food was good, but it was not worth the price. For the entire dinner, we paid almost as much as we would have paid at a more high-end French restaurant like L'Auberge Chez Francois, but the food was not even in the same class. My wife ordered an Australian Sea Bass and it did not taste fresh. My filet mignon was average - not the best I've ever had. My son ordered lobster ($40) and it was very tough, so I believe it was over cooked.

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

We always have an very nice experience w ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 26, 2016

We always have an very nice experience with excellent food and service

Tags: Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Amazing. Every time. Friendly and knowle ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Amazing. Every time. Friendly and knowledgeable staff, and the BEST food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Based on the reviews that I read online, ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 21, 2016

Based on the reviews that I read online, I took my wife and our close friends for her birthday dinner instead of Chez Francois (BIG MISTAKE!!!). I was planning on ordering the group dinner #4 (the most expensive pre-fixe dinner). I was told that I had to pre-order that. Tthe waiter offered to make us a special 4-course meal plan instead albeit at a higher price than the highest priced group dinner; $70/person. He said that there would be plenty of food and that he'd take care of our large group. The first plate was a seafood sampler consisting of one shrimp, one scallop, one lobster ravioli, and one piece of pasta with some sort of creamy topping. As noted in some other reviews, the presentation was non-existent. It was just food plopped on a dish. The second course was a typical house salad. I was expecting a seafood salad with lobster meat (like in their online menu). I was told that there was NO lobster that night. For the main entree, I got the sea bass and my wife got the filet mignon. My sea bass was dry and her filet was bland. Then our dessert came... It looked like they took 4 pieces of dessert and just divided them up and literally threw them on a plate for each of us to have another "sampler". Terrible. Total bill with tip came to $1190. Not worth it. Never going back.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

Cafe Renaissance is a great french resta ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Cafe Renaissance is a great french restaurant tucked away in a small shopping center in Vienna, VA. The service is outstanding (and friendly), cocktails are perfect (especially martinis), good wine list but best of all is the food. We were two couples Saturday night and had lamb chops, tuna, pasta and lobster. All were excellent. And, at Cafe Renaissance, don't leave without having their famous Irish Coffee. It is delicious but the presentation is VERY unique...lots of fireworks. Best in the entire Washington metropolitan area.

Tags: Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Molecular Gastronomy, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding service, fine food, nice atm ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Outstanding service, fine food, nice atmosphere. Recommended for special occasions.

Tags: Spicy, Seasonal, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent service and good food. Good ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Excellent service and good food. Good for special occasions.

Tags: Romantic, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Complicated review, hang in there with m ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 9, 2016

Complicated review, hang in there with me. Aging parents love it, my spouse and I in our 40's do not. We've been dozens of times, our go to for the elderly. Why they love it. Dated ambiance, lots of personal attention, very quiet and classically prepared food. Why we don't love it. Dated ambiance, lots of personal attention, very quiet and classically prepared food. We'd prefer a more modern and inspired approach while keeping the spacious feel. My biggest complaint is their personal attention. I know, odd complaint. The chef sits down and chats, the waiter is overly personal and the conversations don't stop. While most people might appreciate this, I often leave feeling exhausted, unrelaxed, like I had to entertain their very kind staff. I'm not sure my husband and I got one word in with each other because of their overly chatty interruptions. Again, incredibly kind staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4

Amazing dining, on par with L'Auberge Ch ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 8, 2016

Amazing dining, on par with L'Auberge Chez Francois for a third of the price! Saeed was a gracious and generous host as well.

Tags: Private Room, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

These folks are the best. Personable wi ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 7, 2016

These folks are the best. Personable with great food.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Neighborhood gem in Vienna. Excellent s ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Neighborhood gem in Vienna. Excellent service and fine food. Loved it

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A family of 5 adults dined here on a Sat ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 6, 2016

A family of 5 adults dined here on a Saturday night and enjoyed the over-the-top French ambiance, the attentive service and the pretty authentic French menu. Moderately priced for the DC region, too. Very hospitable owner, as Persians often are. Vienna-McLean can't have enough good quality restaurants where adults can have a conversation without shouting. Alors, bon appetite. Luke

Tags: Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Enjoyed anniversary dinner; Saeed, the o ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 1, 2016

Enjoyed anniversary dinner; Saeed, the owner, welcomes all guests; inventive chef selects interesting specials, along with a comprehensive menu every day. service was unobtrusive and efficient. Ambiance is artistic, comfortable. Go here soon!

Tags: Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Private Room, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a wonderful experience. Yes the foo ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 30, 2016

What a wonderful experience. Yes the food is good but these owners and staff LOVE you. Not their favorites or the locals but everyone walking in the door. They make you feel at home and relaxed. They pour from bottles and tell great stories. That's original in this town.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

We really enjoyed the atmosphere, servic ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 29, 2016

We really enjoyed the atmosphere, service and food at Cafe Renaissance. Highly recommend to foodies and for special occasions.

Tags: Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

one of the best restaurants in Northern ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 24, 2016

one of the best restaurants in Northern Va to include DC for a foodie and decor and service

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Disabled Access, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Outstanding restaurant. Love entertainin ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Outstanding restaurant. Love entertaining at Cafe Renaissance. Everything is always perfect.

Food outstanding. Owner Saed, is always available and very cordial. Chef often visits our table.

This is a MUST GO to restaurant, that you can always count on. Superb service. Wonderful interior decor....beautifully presented. Now doing Brunch on Sunday, which I can't wait to try as well.

This is truly one of my most favorite restaurants in the Washington area.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always enjoy Cafe Renaissance. Frequent ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Always enjoy Cafe Renaissance. Frequent at least once every month or so. Excellent Chef. Great ambiance. All staff and owner engage with clientele to assure a wonderful dining experience. Rated number 1 restaurant in Northern Virginia. Found it by accident looking for something new. Located in a strip mall corner, walking from the parking lot to the restaurant, you enter a new world of slow dining at its best.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Outstanding Value, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Cafe Renaissance is superbly above par i ...

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Cafe Renaissance is superbly above par in overall service. The dining experience is truly exceptional. Both the owner, Saeed Abtahi, and Chef Ocean Joseph came to our table and made my spouse and myself feel like family. They do everything possible to make this a very positive dining experience. This luxurious dining adventure will take about 1.5+ hours of your time to fully develop your meal as this is a totally luxurious dining experience. Treat yourself. You will become a regular patron. Nothing else compares.

Tags: Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Every thing about the meal was absolutel ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 6, 2016

Every thing about the meal was absolutely outstanding. The entire staff was friendly and engaging. I have never been to a restaurant where the waiter and the chef were as personable and helpful. It was a unique experience

Tags: Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Afternoon Coffee, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

really great food, including a long list ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 1, 2016

really great food, including a long list of daily specials, which are all very fresh and unique dishes. personal service is excellent. intimate setting, quiet, easy to talk. Flaming Irish coffee is amazing.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Good not great anymore. Food so so. Iris ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Good not great anymore. Food so so. Irish coffee while always good took 20 minutes to get

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Food was fresh and delicious, excellent ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Food was fresh and delicious, excellent wine list, service was attentive and interactive, and desserts were wonderful. Irish Coffee and some desserts prepared table side - a must to order.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been regulars at Cafe Renaissanc ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 11, 2016

We have been regulars at Cafe Renaissance since they opened. This dinner was a combination of a 57th wedding anniversary and a birthday. It was delightful.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Historic, Cozy, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The host/owner treats every guest like a ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 4, 2016

The host/owner treats every guest like an old friend (we go there frequently; I think we ARE old friends, but many other diners were treated the same way). Food is excellent, and the chef makes an occasional tour to check on diners' satisfaction.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Very impressed by this place, the atmosp ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 3, 2016

Very impressed by this place, the atmosphere, food, and staff are all fantastic.

Overhearing some conversations from others, it sounds like they routinely come back, and they all recognize them, and remember them by name.

Our waiter was very pleasant, cut to the chase, and recommended the best options for our meals. We did not know what we wanted for dessert, so he ended up going and preparing a dish with small pieces of each dessert they had on a plate. The touch he added was really thoughtful.

I left feeling satisfied, and did not feel rushed at all. I will definitely come back a second time.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This Resturant is above par in service. ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 21, 2016

This Resturant is above par in service. The overall dining experience is top notch. Both the owner and the chef came to our table and made my spouse and myself feel like family. We plan to come back often and have Thanksgiving meal there. This is a very special Resturant. A true dining experience.

Tags: Authentic, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We first discovered Cafe Renaissance two ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 16, 2016

We first discovered Cafe Renaissance two years ago and go every few months. It is an intimate, elegant small restaurant. The food is excellent. The service superb. We go both for special occasions as well as simply everyday dining.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My friend and I came for a mid-week lunc ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 16, 2016

My friend and I came for a mid-week lunch in August. As the restaurant had only a few patrons, our waiter gave us lots of personal attention. Although he made unwelcome assumptions of what lunching ladies may prefer to drink and eat, he was personable, we enjoyed the food (especially the mussels that my friend ordered) and the wine, and were able to relax and converse for two delightful hours. The dining room is decorated with romance in mind, so we both decided that we will return with our husbands.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Always excellent. Go once and you'll be ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 11, 2016

Always excellent. Go once and you'll be sure to return. Must try Irish Coffee; the show is as great as the coffee.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This is such a wonderful restaurant, bea ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 8, 2016

This is such a wonderful restaurant, beautiful, quiet and the food is excellent. We always enjoy our time when we go there. Everyone is so welcoming and friendly.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I think Cafe Renaissance is the best res ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 4, 2016

I think Cafe Renaissance is the best restaurant in Northern Virginia. It has the best qualities and no negatives. The owner is a wonderful host and the staff and chef are all outstanding. When my fiancee and I go out to dinner, Cafe Renaissance is always our first choice. We are never disappointed and we are always delighted. I look forward to when we can return.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful place. Took my fiancé there fo ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 30, 2016

Beautiful place. Took my fiancé there for our first engagement anniversary. Was not disappointed.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

My very favorite restaurant. Always spec ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 30, 2016

My very favorite restaurant. Always spectacular. Love love love it. You wouldn't expect such a fabulous place to be in a strip mall. What an absolute gem. If it were closer to where I live I would be there all the time. Awesome.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Perfect spot for a large dining party ce ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 29, 2016

Perfect spot for a large dining party celebrating my folks' 50th wedding anniversary. Older folks in party particularly liked the entertaining and chatty servers and special attention from the chef, and they were very good with the 11 year old picky eater. Food was good and ambience is festively formal but not stuffy. Pricey but not outrageous. Desserts were divine ! I'm not sure I'd want a quiet intimate date night here but it was just right for this special occasion.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

This is a charming restaurant located in ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 23, 2016

This is a charming restaurant located in a not so charming strip mall...it is a real neighborhood delight. With a European, easy elegance ambiance that is well suited for a romantic or business dinner or special occasion. While the maître d and waiters were in tuxes, it is not stuffy or overly formal; many guests were in fairly casual attire (sport coats to casual Friday). The wine list featured a fairly good selection (country of origin and type of wine) and range of prices.

The menu is extensive with a number of daily specials. A neighborhood surpise, we really wanted to love this place...all things considered we like the place (and will return). The service was uneven and not as skilled as one expectws w/ the ambiance: Our waiter who was eager to please and very friendly but also just very busy w/ other tables. Our orders arrived when they were ready in the kitchen and included serving the appetizer (Oysters Rockafeller) after the soup and salads. The cesar salad was overly dressed. The entrees arrived at roughly the same time, but the main course fish dishes were overly sauced. The dover sole w/lobster was prepared w/ too much cream relative to other ingredients. Desert was pleasant w/ a nice variety of options. A complimentary after dinner drink was offered to us.

The bottom line---do try it, but don't expect a finely tuned operation or attention to detail in food preparation or service.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.