About Cafe Renaissance

163 Glyndon Street, SE
Vienna, VA 22180
View Larger Map

For lovers of food, wine and romance,
Cafe Renaissance is your first choice in
intimate dining. Located in the heart of downtown Vienna, Cafe Renaissance
offers a quiet and charming ambiance
that will complement any lunch or dinner.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
French, Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm; Dinner: Nightly: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Sunday 5pm to 9pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(703) 938-3311

Website:
http://www.caferenaissance.com/

Cafe Renaissance Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Romantic
Washington, D.C. Area
French
Washington, D.C. Area
Romantic
Virginia - DC Suburbs
1 More
French
Virginia - DC Suburbs
Best Restaurants in Vienna ›

special occasion (73)
romantic (71)
neighborhood gem (65)
See All
fit for foodies (52)
notable wine list (39)
great for brunch (19)
good for groups (15)
great for lunch (8)
hot spot (2)
kid-friendly (2)
late-night find (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1904 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We have been dining here since mid 2000. ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 5 days ago

We have been dining here since mid 2000. A friend we had taken for dinner recently observed that the name recognition greeting from the staff was like having a country club membership without the dues! The staff is charming, the food is wonderful, the atmosphere is relaxed and friendly.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great ambience, relaxed , friendly staff ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 7 days ago

Great ambience, relaxed , friendly staff, good food, good wine.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

fun because it is informally formal. Fo ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

fun because it is informally formal. Food is decent; there was a mixup where the chef did not come out to explain he did not have the ingredients for a food. They made up for it by giving us a drink an dessert. The waiter and owner were so much fun. The waiter KNEW his wine and gave an excellent pairing. The place is quirky in a good sort of way. I dont have lots of words for this place bc it is hard to describe but we had an unexpected blast.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Great staff. Very knowledgeable and eage ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Great staff. Very knowledgeable and eager to please. Very good food and even better dessert!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great place for a date or get together. ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Great place for a date or get together. Food spectacular and service outstanding! Such a fun evening in Vienna!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a wonderful dining experience at ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

We had a wonderful dining experience at Cafe Renaissance. The food was outstanding as was the service. We were really made to feel very comfortable, like one of the family. The chef came out and sat with us to see how we liked our meal, and was genuinely interested in our feedback. Overall great evening.. We will definitely be back.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service and the most hospitabl ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Excellent service and the most hospitable staff. The chef came out to visit each table and the owner took the time to engage every table.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

My wife and I recently visited for dinne ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

My wife and I recently visited for dinner before a concert at Wolf Trap. We were greeted like old friends and treated throughout the evening like we were part of the family. Fantastic menu and they are willing to go the extra mile to customize your menu selection. When we are in the Vienna area again we will return! Highly recommended!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My first time here. We brought out of to ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

My first time here. We brought out of town guests. Everyone loved it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was a birthday dinner and the staff ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

This was a birthday dinner and the staff was fabulous. Very attentive and helpful. Food was delicious. Prices are expensive but this is a restaurant for special occasions. The bonus birthday dessert sampler with a free glass of port was a lovely touch to end the evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

My fiance and I went here to celebrate o ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

My fiance and I went here to celebrate our engagement. All the staff were very friendly, and the place had a great romantic atmosphere. Definitely would recommend for special occasions, and we'll be going back.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Elegant and most romantic restaurant in ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Elegant and most romantic restaurant in Northern Virginia. We do not live in Vienna but travel there for special occasions to eat at this wonderful restaurant. The owner is very involved in the restaurant and it shows with the attention to details from the flowers on the tables to the quietly efficient service. The service is impeccable! The chef comes to the dining room to make sure all are satisfied and even will make a special meal based on your palate.

If I lived closer, I would make this a weekly dining option but for now it is our go to place for all special occasions. It is interesting to note that the number of "special occasions" have increased yearly since we found this gem. Go there and you will not be disappointed.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We sound like a broken record, but this ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

We sound like a broken record, but this is our absolutely favorite Vienna area restaurant. Saeed and his staff will make you feel appreciated and your palate satisfied--guaranteed!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had never been overly impressed, but rem ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

Had never been overly impressed, but remain loyal due to convenience and desired ambiance (dated, quiet, easy parking out front, fresh beautiful roses) for our aging parents. This time around, however, was particularly good. Escargot, soft shell crab better than Clarity's down the street & desserts excellent. Red snapper was breaded and fried, which I didn't care for, but tasty nonetheless. Our parents are always happy with their dishes and loved being gushed over by the attentive owner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value4

Cafe R is the best retaurant in the Wash ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Cafe R is the best retaurant in the Wash DC area. Saeed and Chef Ocean always make your visit a special occasion. We always can,t wait to return to Cafe R

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious Food and Excellent Service!

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Delicious Food and Excellent Service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Perfect way to spend Fathers Day for my ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Perfect way to spend Fathers Day for my husband. Food and Service were both excellent. Everybody is very friendly and welcoming. Great job, my husband thoroughly enjoyed himself!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Café Renaissance is a great place fo ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

The Café Renaissance is a great place for good food, especially for special occasions. My wife and I celebrated our anniversary there and there were two other couples also celebrating anniversaries. The service was outstanding, as was the excellence of the food. Desert was also a real treat. The staff certainly goes out of their way to make you feel special.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We love this restaurant! The one we alw ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

We love this restaurant! The one we always go back to.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent French Restaurant tucked into ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Excellent French Restaurant tucked into a shopping center. The food is excellent and well prepared. The wait staff is both friendly and knowledgeable. They make it a special occasion even when it isn't. A great place for a delicious dinner.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Cafe Renaissance continues to be a culin ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Cafe Renaissance continues to be a culinary jewel in Vienna. The food is unique and delicious. The staff is friendly, knowledgeable, and helpful. The ambiance is perfect for dinner and the price is VERY reasonable. This restaurant remains one of my favorite places to eat in the DC area. MOST HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the Best Restaurants in Vienna

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

My fiancee and I stopped at Cafe Renaissance for brunch and it was a first-rate experience. The decor is very elegant with gilded walls, freshly cut flowers, and old world paintings. The food was fabulous and presented well by Chef Ocean. The owner/host Saaed is a delight to be around and will make your experience perfect. The pricing is very reasonable considering the five star quality and service.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Another Vienna Underdog

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Everyone should mark down this location as a wonderful place in an understated location (next to Silva's Bakery (also excellent). You get a wonderful, warm and personalized welcome by the owner, and attentive, sincere and friendly service. The wine list is good, and reasonable, and the food is well prepared, presented geometrically on a large plate, and delicious. Prices are reasonable This neighborhood in Vienna boasts several very good eateries including Cafe Renaissance and Pazzo Pomodoro. If you are planning a day in Vienna, try them both!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious food and excellent service

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 24, 2016

Delicious food and excellent service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We have dined at the Cafe Renaissance ma ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

We have dined at the Cafe Renaissance many times. The. Meals are always outstanding and the service top shelf. If you want a memorable dining experience dine at the ?Cafe Renaissance!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was pleasantly surprised with the qual ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

I was pleasantly surprised with the quality of the food, ambiance, and service. Was a little skeptical at first because its located in a strip mall. Great food at a great price!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went to celebrate a special birthday wit ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Went to celebrate a special birthday with friends. Everything we ate was wonderful. Our wine wasn't chilled, so we were each brought a small glass of Chardonnay, and when the desert we asked about wasn't available, we were brought small pieces of their incredible lemon cake. It is so nice to find a restaurant that is elegant, has great food, great service and understands how to treat patrons. We will continue going back often.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstandle neighborhood location

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

In the midst of strip malls in Vienna, VA, is this little gem. Where one might expect to find a Five-guys Burger joint, instead there's the Cafe Renaissance. It's cozy and intimate, the staff remember your name, and the menu recalls the best of classic European cooking - something from Spain, Italy, Germany, etc. Expensive, but well worth it!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A wonderful neighborhood find. Great Fre ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 19, 2016

A wonderful neighborhood find. Great French selections with wonderful sauces. Wide range of fish dishes, as well as traditional favorites like rack of lamb, calves liver, and filet mignon. Great selection of appetizers-- we especially liked the pork/chicken liver mousse and French onion soup. Service was exquisite and even the chef visited our table to say hello as we were new customers. We felt most welcome. We will be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Aniversery

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

This was our anniversary dinner and our waiter was very funny. The Chef was also kind enough to accommodate a special request for my wife.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

When in the area we eat here

vip
 (E. Tennessee)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

They never disappoint!!!

I wanted sweet potatoes, which they did not have, so the Chef cooked carrots with pomegranate . It tasted like sweet potatoes. VERY clever!!

If we lived in the area, we would be regulars!! LOVE this place.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Spectacular in every way!

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Not only is the food delicious, the staff makes you feel like someone special. We will return - again and again.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Mother's Day meal

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

We were seated immediately at our reservation time. The meal selection was great. I thoroughly enjoyed the lamb shanks. The beef Wellington was also a hit. Even though the restaurant was very busy we were never rushed. Thanks for a great Mother's Day meal!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Cafe Renaissance has been on my "to try" ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Cafe Renaissance has been on my "to try" list for quite some time. They are always on OpenTable's most romantic and special occasion lists for the DC area. I was in a party of 6 for a Mother's Day dinner here and was not impressed. We arrived early for our reservation but were not seated until 20 minutes after our reservation time. I know these things cannot be controlled per say but we did not like standing outside. The restaurant is not very large and there is no waiting room. Located in an out-dated strip mall in Vienna, the place does not look very appealing from the outside. A manager did offer us wine, which was a nice gesture. The interior of the place is old dated and cozy...I would not say its one of the most romantic places I have been to.

Service was above average but food was average. My mom and I had the lamb shank and soft shelled crabs for our entrees and the lobster ravioli for an appetizer. The ravioli order was only 2 pieces..tasty and very creamy but I could only taste a hint of lobster. The lamb shank was a very large portion but was not tasty. The soft shelled crabs were also just alright. I would not go back to this place because it is out of my way and frankly the food is not worth the trip.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

It was Mother's Day, so I should make an ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

It was Mother's Day, so I should make an allowance. However, since they might expect a number of first-timers, I'm deprecating the allowance. My wife order the Beef Wellington, which was simply a meat pie filled with chopped meat. No pate, no bacon, no mushrooms, no sauce...just pie. I ordered the Barramundi, and coming from Australia, I can tell you that if it was Barrimundi, it was a 25 year old Barramundi. Barramundi has a texture not dissimilar to filet minion...the fish for carnivores. They tried to disguise the lack of texture and flavour with a sweet tomato sauce. Tomato? Really? What about simple herbs and lemon so you can taste the fish?

I will say the liver appetizer was very well done and quite tasty. The waiter was fast, efficient, and unlike some comments I've seen, he did not hover.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service3
value1

Pleasantly surprised

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Went there for Mother's Day. This is a very quaint little restaurant with excellent food and service. It's a very nice place for a romantic date night too. The name "Cafe Renaissance " suits it to a tee. Beautiful decor and reminiscent of the Renaissance era. Greeted upon entering the restaurant by the head chef who's very personable and friendly. He made sure our meal was to our liking. Highly recommend and I will be going back again.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very Pleasant Experience

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

We dined early because, as we age, we cannot hear in noisy places. This was not noisy, although if someone had been seated at the table next to us, it would not have been too private. The tables are close together. We were made to feel welcome and had a fun time kidding around with our waiter who had a unique personality. The room is lovely with fresh roses and little candles on all the tables and the art adds to the mood. The wine pours are generous. The classic menu and list of specials was extensive. I had caesar salad which was fresh and crispy but on the bland side - would have benefited from salt, garlic and anchovy. My husband had mussels - large and plump but did not seem to have been cooked in the sauce they came with, just steamed and then served on the sauce. I had lamb shank, again, very tender but not too flavorful. Husband had veal piccata - thin, tender and well cooked but the lemon sauce had too much thickener in it. We shared a dessert sampler - all very tasty. At least the early guests all seemed to be primarily seniors. I appreciated the genteel staff, the lovely room and the friendliness. I just wish the food had a bit more zing.

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

a French treat!!

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

outstanding filet mignon and rack of lamb...great starters and desserts.

attention to detail and service.

first visit....will return.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great!

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 2, 2016

We have been to Cafe Renaissance several times and each meal has been superb. The wait staff is experienced and professional, the ambiance is elegant, and the food is delicious.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It's not French

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

Food was generally good, but I can't say it's French. I ordered veal, my husband ordered fish but 2 dishes came out look exactly the same - same vegetable, same sauce. The duck confit for appetizer had an overly sweet sauce. They were out of the French red wine that we ordered, so they brought out 2 bottles of white wine for us to choose. ??? The soufflé dessert with flame was a good show but a disaster as a dessert. It was just gooey egg white.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.