Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.34mi
  4. Distance: 0.57mi
  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.34mi
  4. Distance: 0.57mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.34mi
  4. Distance: 0.57mi
  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.34mi
  4. Distance: 0.57mi

About Cafe Renaissance

For lovers of food, wine and romance,
Cafe Renaissance is your first choice in
intimate dining. Located in the heart of downtown Vienna, Cafe Renaissance
offers a quiet and charming ambiance
that will complement any lunch or dinner.

163 Glyndon Street, SE
Vienna, VA 22180
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
French, Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm; Dinner: Nightly: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Sunday 5pm to 9pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(703) 938-3311

Website:
http://www.caferenaissance.com/

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Daily 5:00PM - 5:00PM 9:00PM - 9:00PM

Cafe Renaissance Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.6

value

4.4

noise

Quiet

93% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (45)
Romantic (40)
Good for a Date (36)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (35)
Neighborhood Gem (30)
Good for Birthdays (28)
Worth the Drive (23)
Quiet Conversation (23)
Cozy (22)
Creative Cuisine (20)
Authentic (20)
Notable Wine List (15)
Fit for Foodies (14)
Business Meals (12)
Fun (11)
Sunday Lunch (11)
Great for Lunch (8)
Good for Groups (8)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Private Room (6)
Great for Brunch (5)
Late-night Find (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Casual (4)
Healthy (4)
Afternoon Tea (4)
Outstanding Value (3)
Historic (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Vegan (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Scenic View (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Happy Hour (1)
People Watching (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Sort By:
S
2105 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 5 days ago

My wife and i have celebrated special occasions at Cafe Renaissance for years and we keep returning for the friendly and elegant service, delightful wine, and of course the outstanding food. We will continue to return for our special occasions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 6 days ago

Very enjoyable. Owner was very friendly and caring.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Cafe Renaissance is an excellent choice for a quiet and memorable dinner. Be sure to ask about their specials and don't hesitate to put your selections in the hands of your knowledgeable waiter. If food quality and imagination are important to you, you won't be disappointed in this fine restaurant.

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Hidden Gem in Vienna !!! The outside does not look like much and the surrounding area is safe but very bland. We would have NEVER GUESSED a great restaurant like this existed in this corner of Vienna, VA

Very romantic. Ambiance was perfect. Service wonderful. Food delicious. We highly recommend for a special evening out.

However, it does get crowded I'm told for special events like Valentines Day, Mothers Day, etc. When this happens the place is just too small for large crowds. We recommend going when no one else is there (Mon-Thur)

Tags: Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We dined at Café Renaissance for Mother's Day. They had a special menu and the selections were excellent. All of us had a difficult time selecting which of the entrees to try because so many of the listed entrees sounded so good. What I especially appreciated was the flexibility of the chef because I combined my salmon dish with the sauce from another entrée. The result was excellent. All of us at the table agreed that we need to frequent this restaurant more often.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Very nice mother's day dinner - everything was fine as usual.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 14, 2017

This past weekend the Cafe Renaissance again proved why it is our default destination for a fine meal. Despite the packed house for Mother's Day, the kitchen maintained its usual high standards of quality and promptness. We all gravitated toward fish entrees, and all three (salmon steak topped with a crab cake, parmesan-encrusted flounder, and pan-fried rockfish) were everything that one could hope for. The wait staff was extremely attentive, so much so that one would not have known that every table was filled. Definitely a great value for a superb meal and a wonderful experience.

Tags: Private Room, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Service, service, service. This place is fantastic. Don't be fooled by the location - take every date/special ocassion here. You won't be sorrt.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Overall EXCELLENT....as usual. If you only order one thing, make it the Irish Coffee. I have had that drink all over the world and the presentation at Cafe Renaissance beats anything I ever witnessed.

Tags: Romantic, Authentic, Afternoon Tea, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Cafe Renaissance is a consistent outstanding dining event. Great service, personal attention from the magnificent chef, and unbelievable meals.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Fun, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 6, 2017

We were recommended this restaurant by my husband's parents as they both know that we enjoy old French fine dining. I was optimistically hoping for something similar to La Grenouille, but in the end the experience left me uncomfortable.

I made us reservations for 2 , we were sat at a table for four, and it was assumed for at least an hour that we were waiting on another couple--we weren't. The first thing I noticed was the wine glasses on the table were mismatched, and both were covered in fingerprints. Mine still had the waxy imprint of lipstick on the rim. The glasses were 'clean', but not polished. We were not offered a wine list, instead recommended 3 generic white wines--no region, flavour profile, vintage.

The gimmick of this place is that the chef will make his rounds to certain tables--those with larger parties, people celebrating special events, regulars--and make the table something 'special' for the night. We were given menus and no such treatment. The menu as a whole was of dubious French origin, no souffles, fishes and meats in heavy cream sauces, uninspired vegetable 'garnish'.

We were having pleasant conversation, and our waiter was attentive and personable, so I cannot fault him in the least for what followed. We ordered dessert, which ended up being the best part of our meal. Around this time I excused myself to the powder room. The chef for the first time that evening noticed us. This is where things went from an enjoyable evening with somewhat mediocre food, to uncomfortable af. What started as a simple compliment from the chef ended with inappropriate, intrusive assumptions prying into our personal lives. The conversation went further into something that was downright xenophobic .

We finished our dessert and digestifs, paid our check, thanked our waiter, and left. One of the strangest, most uncomfortable ends to an otherwise pleasant night out with my husband. I doubt I'll ever be able to bring myself to patronize Cafe Renaissance again.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Great service and feel here in Vienna. Enjoyed the specials. Terrific date night.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 4, 2017

I really didn't know what to expect because this restaurant has been around for a very long time and the menu is quite dated. However, it turned out to be delightful. This is essentially your classic 70's French restaurant with really excellent food preparation. So you can get crab meat on your fish, classic sole dishes, etc. The menu emphasized fresh fish and beef and I don't recall any lamb. Every dish we had was carefully cooked and presented.

The wine list was long with some really nice wines. What a pleasure to have a really good Brunello di Montalcino with my Filet Mignon.

The restaurant is incredibly welcoming. I was met by the host who greeted me by name before I even made it though the door. At various times the host and the chef sat down and talked with us. The service is friendly but not intrusive.

The restaurant was quiet enough for us to speak and length without having to raise our voices.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 3, 2017

Excellent dinner with friends. Everything was exactly as ordered and just perfect. We've been coming to Cafe Renaissance since it opened and even held our 50th anniversary party there several years ago. We hope they remain in business for years to come.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 29, 2017

We just celebrated our 24th anniversary at Cafe Renaissance, where we celebrate our birthdays, as well. Everything about the experience is ALWAYS superb - the food, it's presentation, the attentive and friendly service, the ambiance, the intimate and refined, but relaxed, atmosphere. Everyone is treated as a welcomed guest, be it a first timer or a familiar face. Once you experience Cafe Renaissance, I know you will become a regular.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 28, 2017

We went to Café Renaissance for lunch on our 38th anniversary. Since we had an early seating we had the restaurant and the wait staff to ourselves. There was a lot of friendly banter back-and-forth between us and them. We felt like we were having lunch with friends. The food was superb - both the appetizers - 3 Cheese French Onion Soup and Gazpacho - and the entrees - Carré D’Agneau and Capellini Aux Fruits De Mer. Our dessert was on the house since it was our anniversary. It was a sampling of the desserts that were on the menu for the day. We will be repeat customers.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 23, 2017

service & food was amazing...the chef ocean made us feel like special. Saheed made the Best irish coffee ever...in taste and in the table side show :) can't wait to go back :)

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 19, 2017

We love this place. My wife loves being called "Pretty Lady. " wonderful food, staff, and ambience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 19, 2017

An absolutely lovely evening. Soraya and her husband were lovely hosts! The chef was so personable and made us a very special dinner. I love the way they sit at your table when taking your order . Great time! Can't wait to go back!

Tags: Cozy, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We were very pleased. It was quaint, Renaissance stylish, with wonderful food. Perfectly cooked. Nicely plated. Excellent selection of food and good selection of wine.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Amazing and delightful!! The food was incredible. The service impecable! You feel very soecial dining here.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Private Room, Fit for Foodies, Historic, Creative Cuisine, Afternoon Tea, Modern Decor, Happy Hour, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Great for Brunch, Authentic, Comfort Food, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Civilized dining at its best! One of the few restaurants that understand how to care for patrons.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Vegan, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Kid-friendly, Authentic, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Cafe Renaissance is always pleasure to go to. We've been many times and always have a great meal. The dining room is romantic and quiet, the service is excellent and friendly, and the food is always amazing. Haven't looked at the menu in three visits, trusting Ocean's (chef's) personal recommendations, and have never been disappointed.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 13, 2017

We always enjoy Café Ren. Sayid and Ocean consistently do a beautiful job. Should duck be one of the specials, make it a point to try it. They also have a way with seafood, as the flounder wrapped in hash browns was outstanding.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 8, 2017

The Café Renaissance was wonderful as always. We were warmly greeted by the owner, who chatted for several minutes renewing the acquaintance like an old friend. They have an incredible list of daily specials for a small restaurant, which they should probably print out since there are so many, you often forget something. My rack of lamb was outstanding, and the best lamb dish I have had in some time. My wife's Australian Sea Bass was just about perfect. We also loved our desert sampler plate. While the atmosphere was very subdued, when we started, the hubbub of a busy Saturday night was noticeable by the time we finished. Still nothing like the roar of many restaurants these days. The staff works as a team and seems genuinely interested in your enjoying your experience. Complementary cordials capped a just about perfect evening . We'll return!

Tags: Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 8, 2017

The best thing about this place is the super friendly wait staff and the limoncello cake. They also had good bread and very good wine. All around a very fun experience due to the nice staff.

Tags: Fun, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 3, 2017

Café Renaissance is a celebration of tradition, offering well-executed classic French cuisine at reasonable prices (by Washington standards). The menu is short on innovation, but high on quality. There isn't much on it that you will not have seen elsewhere, but everything was prepared well, with the exception of the desserts, which were mediocre. The wait staff when we went was two gregarious older gentlemen who have obviously worked there quite a while. They are opinionated and informed about the menu, and involve themselves in your meal and conversation. That may not be for everyone, but I found them amusing and entertaining. Overall, a fun experience and good food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 30, 2017

Fabulous! From the moment we walked in the door, we just loved everything! I'd eat there every night if only I could.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 30, 2017

We were celebrating a special occasion. We were treated like royalty. The chef joined us at our table and recommended food selections. We love this place and will return again soon.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 21, 2017

Celebrated our anniversary here recently. Excellent service and menu with several specials that were very appealing. We selected onion soup and oysters. Both excellent. Dover sole for one main course and salmon for the other. Each came with four vegetables. Just plain wonderful. Special surprise was a desert platter with samples of 5 . Yummy. Excellent service and very friendly staff. We will be returning more often. Just a hidden gem in Vienna, VA.

Tags: Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 19, 2017

This was our first visit and we are hooked. My wife was celebrating her birthday and we talked about going to the Inn at Little Washington. This dinner was just as good and it was much closer and much less expensive. Both the owner and the chef sat at our table and chatted for awhile. We are going back for their Easter brunch.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Cafe Renaissance always satisfies. It is a gem. The host, chef and service is always first rate.

Tags: Cozy, Authentic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Great Restaurant! Will definitely go again. Waiter was phenomenal and the food was absolutely delicious.

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 9, 2017

I waited a few days to write the review, because I'm finally coming back down to earth! Fabulous evening. My friend introduced me to this restaurant, and every time we've come, the owners and chef rolled out the red carpet for us as if we were personal friends! A wonderful, warm welcome: on this visit, the service was especially warm because we were celebrating my friend's birthday.

The food was out of this world. We had the chef's specials and we're really glad we did. My friend loved her escargot and flounder stuffed with crabmeat. I enjoyed my baked oysters with crabmeat and spinach-Pernod sauce; but I nearly went through the roof when I tasted the LAMB SHANKS! Unbelievably delicious and tender! They was honestly the most delicious thing I have ever eaten in my life. I'm not exaggerating--they were THAT GOOD.

Because it was my friend's birthday, the chef gave her a complimentary piece of marmalade-Grand Marnier cream cake after dinner. Again, it was sublime: just the right little pop of Grand Marnier without being too much.

And my friend also got the Irish Coffee at the end: it was an amazing, flaming extravaganza complete with a sugar-coated glass--and about 10% coffee... :-).

I cannot recommend this place highly enough. Even the bread and butter were spectacular.

The ambience is intimate and Renaissance-looking: elaborate, yet not busy or intimidating. Just a quiet and friendly environment. And they do not rush patrons in any way.

Cafe Renaissance gave my friend one of the finest birthdays she's ever had (and I loved it, too)..

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Great experience. Staff was friendly and on top of our service without being intrusive. They surprised us with an anniversary special. Definitely recommended for diners looking to focus on each other and the food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 4, 2017

What a wonderful experience!! I would recommend this restaurant to anyone looking for a romantic dinner. The owner and staff are very warm and welcoming.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Even though near our house, it has been almost 10 years since we were last here. We'll come more often. Great food and very attentive service. Not too loud, so conversation was easy.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Gluten Free Options, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 22, 2017

Wonderful experience and delicious food. Both Chef and Owner checked In on us to assure we were pleased. We were! Thank you, Cafe Renaissance!!

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Fun, Local Ingredients, Casual, Healthy, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 18, 2017

It is a great place to relax and enjoy the meal and company you're with. You are not rushed and the service is fantastic. I recommend attending the restaurant's wine dinners.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 18, 2017

not as good as previous visits --- little disappointed.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.