Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.34mi
  4. Distance: 0.57mi
  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.34mi
  4. Distance: 0.57mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.34mi
  4. Distance: 0.57mi
  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.34mi
  4. Distance: 0.57mi

About Cafe Renaissance

For lovers of food, wine and romance,
Cafe Renaissance is your first choice in
intimate dining. Located in the heart of downtown Vienna, Cafe Renaissance
offers a quiet and charming ambiance
that will complement any lunch or dinner.

163 Glyndon Street, SE
Vienna, VA 22180
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
French, Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm; Dinner: Nightly: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Sunday 5pm to 9pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(703) 938-3311

Website:
http://www.caferenaissance.com/

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Daily 5:00PM - 5:00PM 9:00PM - 9:00PM

Cafe Renaissance Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.6

value

4.5

noise

Quiet

97% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (44)
Good for Anniversaries (35)
Romantic (33)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (30)
Quiet Conversation (26)
Good for a Date (23)
Cozy (22)
Creative Cuisine (20)
Fit for Foodies (19)
Notable Wine List (18)
Good for Birthdays (18)
Authentic (16)
Worth the Drive (16)
Business Meals (13)
Fun (9)
Good for Groups (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Sunday Lunch (7)
Late-night Find (5)
Great for Lunch (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Casual (4)
Healthy (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Great for Brunch (4)
Private Room (4)
Afternoon Tea (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Kid-friendly (2)
Vegan (2)
Seasonal (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Historic (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Scenic View (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
People Watching (1)
Sort By:
S
2132 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 6 days ago

We love the care the owner takes to beautify the entrance by planting lovely flowers. It gives it a nice old European feel. Once inside, the atmosphere is quiet and refined. It seems that there was no piped-in music. If there was, it was unobtrusive. This allowed for low volume and relaxing conversation.
The atmosphere continued to be relaxed as we were seated and offered drinks. The martinis were perfect. Only after we enjoyed the martini a bit, were we offered the menu. We each had the special, veal masala and a fish (forget the name of it). I loved the fish because, although it had a sauce, it was very little and not at all overpowering. Veggies that went with our meal were good. Loved the large chunks of sweet carrot. All in all, a good meal. All in all, a good evening. We will certainly be back.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 7 days ago

Attentive service with wit rather than snobbery. Helpful suggestions. Great meal!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 11, 2017

Ever and always the best! A cozy and elegant atmosphere enhanced by beautiful flower arrangements. Food second to none. Saeed a most gracious host complimented by a friendly wait staff.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 10, 2017

Café Renaissance provides excellent service and delicious food!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 9, 2017

Food and service was beyond expectations, very friendly staff, chef came out to talk just a very nice experience with no down side at all.

Tags: Late-night Find, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 9, 2017

We celebrated my 70th Birthday at this restaurant and had a wonderful meal.The service was very good and the owner very personable.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 8, 2017

I can't imagine what they could do to make you feel more welcome and glad you were there. Dinner with friends was extremely pleasant and warm, food was great, just a delightful place to go for dinner. Looking forward to going back.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 6, 2017

My wife and I have dined at the Cafe Renaissance many, many times and have always had a won derful dining experience. The service is outstanding and the food is also outstanding. If you want a wonderful dining experience you must try the Cate Renaissance.

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 6, 2017

Owner Saeed greeted us and came personally to make sure that everything was going smoothly. Saeed's wife, Soraya also came to greet us when she came in and cook Ocean (hope I spelled it right) introduced himself and made sure everything was to our liking. Dessert was on the the house because it was our anniversary. The menu is basically European with a French flair. Seafood was fantastic. The oysters Rockfeller were out of this word and so was my crepe filled with carb meat topped with shrimps, scallops and a secret sauce. My husband had the Dover sole with Farro/cranberries, roasted potatoes. Great wine selection too. Very special place.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 5, 2017

Delicious food and wine and excellent service. A special occasion place as it is higher priced but a lovely meal and experience.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 3, 2017

Our favorite local restaurant! Food is always excellent, staff is always friendly and efficient.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 30, 2017

This place is a first establishment "hidden" in an average looking location, but I would say is a gem. Food and service is equal to top notch restaurants without all of their hassle and arrogance. I Highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 25, 2017

Loved this restaurant! It was recommended to me by my sister in law and I'll bookmark it for future reservations to come!! The food was delicious and freshly prepared. Highly recommend!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 24, 2017

It was a great experience for us having dinner here. The service, food, and ambience are just outstanding. Recommended for couples on a romantic date, anniversaries, etc.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 20, 2017

The food is delicious and Saeed (the owner) makes you feel like you are the most important people in the restaurant.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Old world charm, excellent food and variety, feel of elegance, superb gentlemen waitstaff.

Tags: Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 17, 2017

We've been living in Vienna for a long time and finally decided to try this place. The food was truly excellent with wonderful appetizers and seafood dishes. The servers were extremely friendly, but be prepared for take things at a slower pace. The clientele is principally comprised of the "Greatest Generation", but my sense is the restaurant would very much like to expand its audience. Overall, it was a wonderful meal and we would certainly go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 14, 2017

I didn't personally attend, but scheduled a dinner for my superiors. All I heard back was amazing feedback about the restaurant being the perfect place, that the food was wonderful and a great value for the price, that the alcohol was decent, and that they are thrilled it had a private room. I had positive feedback from everyone who attended.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 13, 2017

We had a fabulous time. We were two couples celebrating our anniversaries. Our meal was excellent and the care we received was incredible. It was a delightful evening. We will return often.

Tags: Romantic, Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Good food though a bit uninspired in a Victorian looking dining room in a strip center. Badly needs a refresh -- new paint, carpet, and furniture. Pricing was fair. Service very friendly but slower than one would like. While we did not have a bad time, we will not be returning -- too many other good choices available elsewhere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Interesting. Dessert saved the day. The host, chef, and most servers are very engaging and a pleasure to talk with.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Magnificent food, service, and wine list driven by a staff that cared about making us happy. A rare find these days.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Disabled Access, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Quick Bite, Fun, Healthy, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Authentic, Cozy, Good Vegetarian Options, Paleo Friendly, Vegan, Afternoon Coffee, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Afternoon Tea, Tasting Menu, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Delicious dinner in a lovely, friendly and romantic spot. The fresh flowers and frescoes are lovely. Flaming berries jubilee prepared at the table was a spectacular end to a wonderful meal. Met the chef too!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 30, 2017

My wife and I celebrated our 25 Anniversary at Cafe Renaissance because of the personal and private touch provided, to say nothing of the excellent meal and hospitality shown to us. Always a favorite for us and our Family.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Cannot say enough wonderful things about this place!! Will definitely be back!!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Seasonal, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Very romantic. Wine by the glass is the best pour in Northern Virginia.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Traditional French restaurant. Most patrons were semi-dressed up (coats but not ties). Clientele was of a mature age. Service is attentive - the owner is evident and friendly, as is the chef. The seafood was fresh and very nicely prepared.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 20, 2017

My wife and i have celebrated special occasions at Cafe Renaissance for years and we keep returning for the friendly and elegant service, delightful wine, and of course the outstanding food. We will continue to return for our special occasions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Very enjoyable. Owner was very friendly and caring.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Cafe Renaissance is an excellent choice for a quiet and memorable dinner. Be sure to ask about their specials and don't hesitate to put your selections in the hands of your knowledgeable waiter. If food quality and imagination are important to you, you won't be disappointed in this fine restaurant.

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Hidden Gem in Vienna !!! The outside does not look like much and the surrounding area is safe but very bland. We would have NEVER GUESSED a great restaurant like this existed in this corner of Vienna, VA

Very romantic. Ambiance was perfect. Service wonderful. Food delicious. We highly recommend for a special evening out.

However, it does get crowded I'm told for special events like Valentines Day, Mothers Day, etc. When this happens the place is just too small for large crowds. We recommend going when no one else is there (Mon-Thur)

Tags: Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We dined at Café Renaissance for Mother's Day. They had a special menu and the selections were excellent. All of us had a difficult time selecting which of the entrees to try because so many of the listed entrees sounded so good. What I especially appreciated was the flexibility of the chef because I combined my salmon dish with the sauce from another entrée. The result was excellent. All of us at the table agreed that we need to frequent this restaurant more often.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Very nice mother's day dinner - everything was fine as usual.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 14, 2017

This past weekend the Cafe Renaissance again proved why it is our default destination for a fine meal. Despite the packed house for Mother's Day, the kitchen maintained its usual high standards of quality and promptness. We all gravitated toward fish entrees, and all three (salmon steak topped with a crab cake, parmesan-encrusted flounder, and pan-fried rockfish) were everything that one could hope for. The wait staff was extremely attentive, so much so that one would not have known that every table was filled. Definitely a great value for a superb meal and a wonderful experience.

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Service, service, service. This place is fantastic. Don't be fooled by the location - take every date/special ocassion here. You won't be sorrt.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Overall EXCELLENT....as usual. If you only order one thing, make it the Irish Coffee. I have had that drink all over the world and the presentation at Cafe Renaissance beats anything I ever witnessed.

Tags: Romantic, Authentic, Afternoon Tea, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Cafe Renaissance is a consistent outstanding dining event. Great service, personal attention from the magnificent chef, and unbelievable meals.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Fun, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 6, 2017

We were recommended this restaurant by my husband's parents as they both know that we enjoy old French fine dining. I was optimistically hoping for something similar to La Grenouille, but in the end the experience left me uncomfortable.

I made us reservations for 2 , we were sat at a table for four, and it was assumed for at least an hour that we were waiting on another couple--we weren't. The first thing I noticed was the wine glasses on the table were mismatched, and both were covered in fingerprints. Mine still had the waxy imprint of lipstick on the rim. The glasses were 'clean', but not polished. We were not offered a wine list, instead recommended 3 generic white wines--no region, flavour profile, vintage.

The gimmick of this place is that the chef will make his rounds to certain tables--those with larger parties, people celebrating special events, regulars--and make the table something 'special' for the night. We were given menus and no such treatment. The menu as a whole was of dubious French origin, no souffles, fishes and meats in heavy cream sauces, uninspired vegetable 'garnish'.

We were having pleasant conversation, and our waiter was attentive and personable, so I cannot fault him in the least for what followed. We ordered dessert, which ended up being the best part of our meal. Around this time I excused myself to the powder room. The chef for the first time that evening noticed us. This is where things went from an enjoyable evening with somewhat mediocre food, to uncomfortable af. What started as a simple compliment from the chef ended with inappropriate, intrusive assumptions prying into our personal lives. The conversation went further into something that was downright xenophobic .

We finished our dessert and digestifs, paid our check, thanked our waiter, and left. One of the strangest, most uncomfortable ends to an otherwise pleasant night out with my husband. I doubt I'll ever be able to bring myself to patronize Cafe Renaissance again.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Great service and feel here in Vienna. Enjoyed the specials. Terrific date night.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 4, 2017

I really didn't know what to expect because this restaurant has been around for a very long time and the menu is quite dated. However, it turned out to be delightful. This is essentially your classic 70's French restaurant with really excellent food preparation. So you can get crab meat on your fish, classic sole dishes, etc. The menu emphasized fresh fish and beef and I don't recall any lamb. Every dish we had was carefully cooked and presented.

The wine list was long with some really nice wines. What a pleasure to have a really good Brunello di Montalcino with my Filet Mignon.

The restaurant is incredibly welcoming. I was met by the host who greeted me by name before I even made it though the door. At various times the host and the chef sat down and talked with us. The service is friendly but not intrusive.

The restaurant was quiet enough for us to speak and length without having to raise our voices.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.