Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.34mi
  4. Distance: 0.57mi
  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.34mi
  4. Distance: 0.57mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.34mi
  4. Distance: 0.57mi
  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.34mi
  4. Distance: 0.57mi

About Cafe Renaissance

For lovers of food, wine and romance,
Cafe Renaissance is your first choice in
intimate dining. Located in the heart of downtown Vienna, Cafe Renaissance
offers a quiet and charming ambiance
that will complement any lunch or dinner.

163 Glyndon Street, SE
Vienna, VA 22180
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
French, Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm; Dinner: Nightly: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Sunday 5pm to 9pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(703) 938-3311

Website:
http://www.caferenaissance.com/

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Daily 5:00PM - 5:00PM 9:00PM - 9:00PM

Cafe Renaissance Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Romantic (47)
Special Occasion (47)
Good for a Date (42)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (39)
Good for Birthdays (34)
Quiet Conversation (33)
Neighborhood Gem (30)
Worth the Drive (26)
Creative Cuisine (23)
Cozy (23)
Authentic (20)
Sunday Lunch (14)
Business Meals (14)
Notable Wine List (14)
Fit for Foodies (12)
Great for Brunch (10)
Great for Lunch (9)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Good for Groups (8)
Outstanding Value (8)
Disabled Access (5)
Casual (5)
Local Ingredients (5)
Fun (5)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Afternoon Tea (3)
Healthy (3)
Comfort Food (2)
Private Room (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Historic (1)
Fireplace (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Sort By:
S
2074 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 21, 2017

Celebrated our anniversary here recently. Excellent service and menu with several specials that were very appealing. We selected onion soup and oysters. Both excellent. Dover sole for one main course and salmon for the other. Each came with four vegetables. Just plain wonderful. Special surprise was a desert platter with samples of 5 . Yummy. Excellent service and very friendly staff. We will be returning more often. Just a hidden gem in Vienna, VA.

Tags: Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 19, 2017

This was our first visit and we are hooked. My wife was celebrating her birthday and we talked about going to the Inn at Little Washington. This dinner was just as good and it was much closer and much less expensive. Both the owner and the chef sat at our table and chatted for awhile. We are going back for their Easter brunch.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Cafe Renaissance always satisfies. It is a gem. The host, chef and service is always first rate.

Tags: Cozy, Authentic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Great Restaurant! Will definitely go again. Waiter was phenomenal and the food was absolutely delicious.

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 9, 2017

I waited a few days to write the review, because I'm finally coming back down to earth! Fabulous evening. My friend introduced me to this restaurant, and every time we've come, the owners and chef rolled out the red carpet for us as if we were personal friends! A wonderful, warm welcome: on this visit, the service was especially warm because we were celebrating my friend's birthday.

The food was out of this world. We had the chef's specials and we're really glad we did. My friend loved her escargot and flounder stuffed with crabmeat. I enjoyed my baked oysters with crabmeat and spinach-Pernod sauce; but I nearly went through the roof when I tasted the LAMB SHANKS! Unbelievably delicious and tender! They was honestly the most delicious thing I have ever eaten in my life. I'm not exaggerating--they were THAT GOOD.

Because it was my friend's birthday, the chef gave her a complimentary piece of marmalade-Grand Marnier cream cake after dinner. Again, it was sublime: just the right little pop of Grand Marnier without being too much.

And my friend also got the Irish Coffee at the end: it was an amazing, flaming extravaganza complete with a sugar-coated glass--and about 10% coffee... :-).

I cannot recommend this place highly enough. Even the bread and butter were spectacular.

The ambience is intimate and Renaissance-looking: elaborate, yet not busy or intimidating. Just a quiet and friendly environment. And they do not rush patrons in any way.

Cafe Renaissance gave my friend one of the finest birthdays she's ever had (and I loved it, too)..

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Great experience. Staff was friendly and on top of our service without being intrusive. They surprised us with an anniversary special. Definitely recommended for diners looking to focus on each other and the food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 4, 2017

What a wonderful experience!! I would recommend this restaurant to anyone looking for a romantic dinner. The owner and staff are very warm and welcoming.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Even though near our house, it has been almost 10 years since we were last here. We'll come more often. Great food and very attentive service. Not too loud, so conversation was easy.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Gluten Free Options, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 22, 2017

Wonderful experience and delicious food. Both Chef and Owner checked In on us to assure we were pleased. We were! Thank you, Cafe Renaissance!!

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Fun, Local Ingredients, Casual, Healthy, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 18, 2017

It is a great place to relax and enjoy the meal and company you're with. You are not rushed and the service is fantastic. I recommend attending the restaurant's wine dinners.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 18, 2017

not as good as previous visits --- little disappointed.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Delicious French-ish food. The owner is the maitre d' and sat down and talked with us. He's a character! After we were done he insisted on making a (second) dessert for us on the house: ice cream, bananas, strawberries and a flaming source.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Excellent food and service. The lamb shank was to die for!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We went for Valentines dinner. Even though we had a late reservation it was worth the wait! The food was excellent and the portions were not over sized. It was perfect!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We had been to Cafe Renaissance before and had a very good meal in their elegant and inviting main dining room. So, for this special Valentine's Day meal, we were greatly disappointed to be seated in a crowded ante room that had none of the ambience of the main part of the restaurant, and a view that was to die for. And I mean that literally! Cheap curtains covered the bottom of the front windows that had a view of several nearby restaurants in the corner of the shopping center where they are located. The service for this evening was cursory and hurried, unlike our other experience. I get it that they were trying to make the most of the day, but it was a day we won't remember fondly for some time to come!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service3
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Excellent food and service. Syid and Ocean are a great team. Expect the best and you'll get it.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Went for Valentine's Day. Cafe Renaissance had a special VD menu. We both had seafood and both entrees were superb.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 14, 2017

very polite service, great food. Traditional Italian so a little heavy, but a great treat when you feel like indulging.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 14, 2017

As usual, the food earned top marks and the service was attentive without being clinging. But, it was a pre-Valentine's day evening and the tables were crowded together to allow for more business--understandable for a small restaurant. Unfortunately, the guests at the table next to us were totally unconscious of anyone else in the room and carried on loud and quite personal conversations the entire evening, essentially ruining the otherwise wonderful atmosphere, food and service. Recommendation? By all means, go to this restaurant, just not at a time when they're likely to be busy: Check on that when you make the reservation!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 13, 2017

If you want a five star dining experience The Cafe Renaissance is the place. We have eaten there many times and continue to be impressed with the entire dining experience.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Private Room, Creative Cuisine
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Cafe Renaissance is a true fine dining experience. The food, the service, the warm and welcoming atmosphere of the dining room .... all top-notch!

Tags: Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 13, 2017

My friend and I an early reservation and were able to have the restaurant blissfully to ourselves for most of the meal. Then a party of four arrived and were seated right next to us, even though the whole place was empty. Made us want to rush to leave. We were disappointed that the online menu was very different from the actual menu.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 13, 2017

We are never disappointed here. The service is always attentive and engaging. The owner is on premises and ensures a top notch dining experience.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Nice, elegant, romantic, authentic, classy, excellent for a date night.

Tags: Authentic, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 11, 2017

I don't understand the positive reviews of this place, as we had an awful experience! The food was average and the service was horrible! They had plenty of waiters, all of whom were rude. They didn't like my perch order and told me I should get the special. When I said no thanks, perch sounds great, they brought me the special anyway..... without explanation! Good thing I don't have allergies. The bottle of champagne was the best thing we had that evening, but we had to pour it ourselves three times! The appetizers sounded good, but there was no saffron in the saffron dish and the soup was not as described....No creativity, just butter and salt. When we asked for the check, the waiter refused to bring it, stating we must try dessert. We couldn't leave fast enough, and they made us late for our show....The guy actually brought out the desserts of his choice after we said we didn't want dessert! We like good food and nice restaurants......This is a neighborhood dive for those who don't know any better!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Amazing meal. Always come here for special occasions.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 11, 2017

great experience, friendly and accommodating staff and great food and selection, excellent section of wines

Tags: Cozy
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Simply awful.

The service was completely slow and inattentive. The food was mediocre at best. They advertised a 2012 Cabernet and actually brought a 2014 to the table. Unfortunately I did not pick up on this until I was already disgusted with the experience and just wanted to finish and leave.

I do not at all understand how Cafe Renaissance has received so many accolades in the recent past. It is not one of the top 100 most romantic restaurants in the US as recently declared on OpenTable. It has an outdated decor in a strip mall. Not romantic.

We will not be back and I will never recommend this restaurant to a friend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 10, 2017

We went for a birthday dinner and had a very enjoyable experience. The service is wonderful, the attendants are attentive, the décor is very nice and tasteful, the food is wonderful, and the wine is very good. You can talk quietly to the people in your party. Everyone came to greet us including the chef and the owner. Wow, what treatment. This is not our first time and we will go back again.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Excellent food - wonderful service. Truly a delightful place that makes you feel at home..... Recommend it to anyone for any occasion.... Very Friendly owner and staff,,, had a very enjoyable time talking to the owner and chef... Always lots of regulars too.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Café Renaissance is a dependable, consistent 5 star winner. I go there when I have something big to celebrate and some extra space around my waist because the desserts are just the best ever. I think sauces and gravies are a particular specialty of the kitchen. I do often recommend it. It is an ideal restaurant for me. Twenty somethings may find it too quiet and refined. There is NO wide screen and no bar seating. I see these as attractions. Just a great place to enjoy your food.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Food and service is just average, not at the level of some French restaurant we normally go in Great Falls. Souffle was a joke...not sure what it was. Will not return again. Don't trust all the excellent reviews.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 4, 2017

This is a wonderful restaurant with great food. The owner always makes you feel like part of his family. We go for special occasions and just because we enjoy it so much.

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 4, 2017

WE HAD A VERY NICE MEAL,FISH WAS FRESH,GOOD SERVICE.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 1, 2017

We enjoyed the food and excellent service. The owner was right there to assure that everything was correct. They were very helpful in appropriately dealing with my gluten intolerance without compromising the taste and quality of my dinner. We will return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 30, 2017

We went for a birthday luncheon. The service was excellent! The menu was fully explained when asked about certain dishes. Our food was great; lots of veggies with my flounder and with the Veal dish. We were treated to dessert and Sambuca. It was a lovely afternoon was my spouse and myself.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Although this restaurant may not have the most appealing curb appeal, the ambiance, food, and service were excellent. The staff was very friendly and a bit humorous. I thoroughly enjoyed it and would highly recommend Cafe Renaissance, especially for a romantic dinner.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 29, 2017

I have never had a bad experience at Café Renaissance. This dinner was perfect.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Excellent food, exceptional staff, comfortable and exquisite dining venue. Frequent at least once a month or so.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Outstanding Value, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Cafe Renaissance is a wonderful place to lunch or dine the menu and specials offered are all tempting and excellent choices. You are treated like you are the only customer they have even with the others there. This is not a low cost fare, but the experience and cuisine are well worth the price. We were there to celebrate a long delayed birthday lunch and over lunch was very special. I highly recommend you choose Cafe Renaissance as a future dining experience, especially if you have not been before. Reservations are a must.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Historic, Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Outstanding Value, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.