About Cafe Renaissance

163 Glyndon Street, SE
Vienna, VA 22180
View Larger Map

For lovers of food, wine and romance,
Cafe Renaissance is your first choice in
intimate dining. Located in the heart of downtown Vienna, Cafe Renaissance
offers a quiet and charming ambiance
that will complement any lunch or dinner.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
French, Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm; Dinner: Nightly: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Sunday 5pm to 9pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(703) 938-3311

Website:
http://www.caferenaissance.com/

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Daily 5:00PM - 5:00PM 9:00PM - 9:00PM

Cafe Renaissance Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Romantic
Washington, D.C. Area
Special Occasion
Washington, D.C. Area
French
Washington, D.C. Area
5 More
Best Ambiance
Virginia - DC Suburbs
Best Value
Virginia - DC Suburbs
Romantic
Virginia - DC Suburbs
Special Occasion
Virginia - DC Suburbs
French
Virginia - DC Suburbs
Best Restaurants in Vienna ›

special occasion (79)
romantic (72)
neighborhood gem (61)
See All
fit for foodies (53)
notable wine list (35)
great for brunch (16)
good for groups (15)
great for lunch (11)
late-night find (2)
hot spot (2)
kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1891 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience2
service5
value4

Had never been overly impressed, but rem ...

vip
Dined 4 days ago

Had never been overly impressed, but remain loyal due to convenience and desired ambiance (dated, quiet, easy parking out front, fresh beautiful roses) for our aging parents. This time around, however, was particularly good. Escargot, soft shell crab better than Clarity's down the street & desserts excellent. Red snapper was breaded and fried, which I didn't care for, but tasty nonetheless. Our parents are always happy with their dishes and loved being gushed over by the attentive owner.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Cafe R is the best retaurant in the Wash ...

Dined 7 days ago

Cafe R is the best retaurant in the Wash DC area. Saeed and Chef Ocean always make your visit a special occasion. We always can,t wait to return to Cafe R

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious Food and Excellent Service!

vip
Dined 7 days ago

Delicious Food and Excellent Service!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect way to spend Fathers Day for my ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Perfect way to spend Fathers Day for my husband. Food and Service were both excellent. Everybody is very friendly and welcoming. Great job, my husband thoroughly enjoyed himself!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The Café Renaissance is a great place fo ...

vip
Dined on June 14, 2016

The Café Renaissance is a great place for good food, especially for special occasions. My wife and I celebrated our anniversary there and there were two other couples also celebrating anniversaries. The service was outstanding, as was the excellence of the food. Desert was also a real treat. The staff certainly goes out of their way to make you feel special.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

We love this restaurant! The one we alw ...

vip
Dined on June 11, 2016

We love this restaurant! The one we always go back to.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent French Restaurant tucked into ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

Excellent French Restaurant tucked into a shopping center. The food is excellent and well prepared. The wait staff is both friendly and knowledgeable. They make it a special occasion even when it isn't. A great place for a delicious dinner.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Cafe Renaissance continues to be a culin ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

Cafe Renaissance continues to be a culinary jewel in Vienna. The food is unique and delicious. The staff is friendly, knowledgeable, and helpful. The ambiance is perfect for dinner and the price is VERY reasonable. This restaurant remains one of my favorite places to eat in the DC area. MOST HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the Best Restaurants in Vienna

Dined on June 5, 2016

My fiancee and I stopped at Cafe Renaissance for brunch and it was a first-rate experience. The decor is very elegant with gilded walls, freshly cut flowers, and old world paintings. The food was fabulous and presented well by Chef Ocean. The owner/host Saaed is a delight to be around and will make your experience perfect. The pricing is very reasonable considering the five star quality and service.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Another Vienna Underdog

vip
Dined on May 28, 2016

Everyone should mark down this location as a wonderful place in an understated location (next to Silva's Bakery (also excellent). You get a wonderful, warm and personalized welcome by the owner, and attentive, sincere and friendly service. The wine list is good, and reasonable, and the food is well prepared, presented geometrically on a large plate, and delicious. Prices are reasonable This neighborhood in Vienna boasts several very good eateries including Cafe Renaissance and Pazzo Pomodoro. If you are planning a day in Vienna, try them both!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious food and excellent service

Dined on May 24, 2016

Delicious food and excellent service

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have dined at the Cafe Renaissance ma ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

We have dined at the Cafe Renaissance many times. The. Meals are always outstanding and the service top shelf. If you want a memorable dining experience dine at the ?Cafe Renaissance!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was pleasantly surprised with the qual ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

I was pleasantly surprised with the quality of the food, ambiance, and service. Was a little skeptical at first because its located in a strip mall. Great food at a great price!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went to celebrate a special birthday wit ...

vip
Dined on May 21, 2016

Went to celebrate a special birthday with friends. Everything we ate was wonderful. Our wine wasn't chilled, so we were each brought a small glass of Chardonnay, and when the desert we asked about wasn't available, we were brought small pieces of their incredible lemon cake. It is so nice to find a restaurant that is elegant, has great food, great service and understands how to treat patrons. We will continue going back often.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Outstandle neighborhood location

Dined on May 21, 2016

In the midst of strip malls in Vienna, VA, is this little gem. Where one might expect to find a Five-guys Burger joint, instead there's the Cafe Renaissance. It's cozy and intimate, the staff remember your name, and the menu recalls the best of classic European cooking - something from Spain, Italy, Germany, etc. Expensive, but well worth it!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A wonderful neighborhood find. Great Fre ...

vip
Dined on May 19, 2016

A wonderful neighborhood find. Great French selections with wonderful sauces. Wide range of fish dishes, as well as traditional favorites like rack of lamb, calves liver, and filet mignon. Great selection of appetizers-- we especially liked the pork/chicken liver mousse and French onion soup. Service was exquisite and even the chef visited our table to say hello as we were new customers. We felt most welcome. We will be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Aniversery

Dined on May 15, 2016

This was our anniversary dinner and our waiter was very funny. The Chef was also kind enough to accommodate a special request for my wife.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

When in the area we eat here

vip
Dined on May 15, 2016

They never disappoint!!! I wanted sweet potatoes, which they did not have, so the Chef cooked carrots with pomegranate . It tasted like sweet potatoes. VERY clever!! If we lived in the area, we would be regulars!! LOVE this place.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Spectacular in every way!

Dined on May 14, 2016

Not only is the food delicious, the staff makes you feel like someone special. We will return - again and again.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Great Mother's Day meal

Dined on May 8, 2016

We were seated immediately at our reservation time. The meal selection was great. I thoroughly enjoyed the lamb shanks. The beef Wellington was also a hit. Even though the restaurant was very busy we were never rushed. Thanks for a great Mother's Day meal!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Cafe Renaissance has been on my "to try" ...

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

Cafe Renaissance has been on my "to try" list for quite some time. They are always on OpenTable's most romantic and special occasion lists for the DC area. I was in a party of 6 for a Mother's Day dinner here and was not impressed. We arrived early for our reservation but were not seated until 20 minutes after our reservation time. I know these things cannot be controlled per say but we did not like standing outside. The restaurant is not very large and there is no waiting room. Located in an out-dated strip mall in Vienna, the place does not look very appealing from the outside. A manager did offer us wine, which was a nice gesture. The interior of the place is old dated and cozy...I would not say its one of the most romantic places I have been to. Service was above average but food was average. My mom and I had the lamb shank and soft shelled crabs for our entrees and the lobster ravioli for an appetizer. The ravioli order was only 2 pieces..tasty and very creamy but I could only taste a hint of lobster. The lamb shank was a very large portion but was not tasty. The soft shelled crabs were also just alright. I would not go back to this place because it is out of my way and frankly the food is not worth the trip.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food1
ambience1
service3
value1

It was Mother's Day, so I should make an ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

It was Mother's Day, so I should make an allowance. However, since they might expect a number of first-timers, I'm deprecating the allowance. My wife order the Beef Wellington, which was simply a meat pie filled with chopped meat. No pate, no bacon, no mushrooms, no sauce...just pie. I ordered the Barramundi, and coming from Australia, I can tell you that if it was Barrimundi, it was a 25 year old Barramundi. Barramundi has a texture not dissimilar to filet minion...the fish for carnivores. They tried to disguise the lack of texture and flavour with a sweet tomato sauce. Tomato? Really? What about simple herbs and lemon so you can taste the fish? I will say the liver appetizer was very well done and quite tasty. The waiter was fast, efficient, and unlike some comments I've seen, he did not hover.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Pleasantly surprised

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

Went there for Mother's Day. This is a very quaint little restaurant with excellent food and service. It's a very nice place for a romantic date night too. The name "Cafe Renaissance " suits it to a tee. Beautiful decor and reminiscent of the Renaissance era. Greeted upon entering the restaurant by the head chef who's very personable and friendly. He made sure our meal was to our liking. Highly recommend and I will be going back again.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

Very Pleasant Experience

vip
Dined on May 7, 2016

We dined early because, as we age, we cannot hear in noisy places. This was not noisy, although if someone had been seated at the table next to us, it would not have been too private. The tables are close together. We were made to feel welcome and had a fun time kidding around with our waiter who had a unique personality. The room is lovely with fresh roses and little candles on all the tables and the art adds to the mood. The wine pours are generous. The classic menu and list of specials was extensive. I had caesar salad which was fresh and crispy but on the bland side - would have benefited from salt, garlic and anchovy. My husband had mussels - large and plump but did not seem to have been cooked in the sauce they came with, just steamed and then served on the sauce. I had lamb shank, again, very tender but not too flavorful. Husband had veal piccata - thin, tender and well cooked but the lemon sauce had too much thickener in it. We shared a dessert sampler - all very tasty. At least the early guests all seemed to be primarily seniors. I appreciated the genteel staff, the lovely room and the friendliness. I just wish the food had a bit more zing.

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

a French treat!!

Dined on May 6, 2016

outstanding filet mignon and rack of lamb...great starters and desserts. attention to detail and service. first visit....will return.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great!

Dined on May 2, 2016

We have been to Cafe Renaissance several times and each meal has been superb. The wait staff is experienced and professional, the ambiance is elegant, and the food is delicious.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

It's not French

vip
Dined on April 30, 2016

Food was generally good, but I can't say it's French. I ordered veal, my husband ordered fish but 2 dishes came out look exactly the same - same vegetable, same sauce. The duck confit for appetizer had an overly sweet sauce. They were out of the French red wine that we ordered, so they brought out 2 bottles of white wine for us to choose. ??? The soufflé dessert with flame was a good show but a disaster as a dessert. It was just gooey egg white.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Restaurant

vip
Dined on April 30, 2016

This is our "go to" place for any special occasion. The food is wonderful. The ambience is great. The service is spectacular. The chef is fun in addition to preparing great food. The Maître d is charming. They usually honor special requests. We highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was great and everyone was supe ...

Dined on April 29, 2016

The food was great and everyone was super nice to us. All the servers and the chef stopped by our table and chatted with us; they were hilarious. One of the best dining experiences I've had!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

A Great French Restaurant

Dined on April 28, 2016

My wife and I came to the Café Renaissance for our Anniversary after quite some time. We were pleased to find the food and the overall environment as outstanding as we remembered. A baked oyster appetizer was in a wonderful cream sauce and my wife's veal was thin and tender. All in all, a fine meal. A bit pricy but well worth it.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great as Always!

vip
Dined on April 24, 2016

Came back to Vienna area after move to TX last year. First place we made reservations to meet and dine w/friends was Cafe Renaissance. Always consistently great food & service! Thanks to Saheed, Manny & entire staff for a great meal & service.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

Great food, overbearing service

Dined on April 22, 2016

We enjoyed the food, though it's not any better than we've had at several other area restaurants and didn't quite live up to the expectations that had been set by other reviews. The chef came out to our table to talk with us about our meal and made some great recommendations (and even made a meal that was half of each of the entrees that I was considering), which was nice. At first, the service was friendly, but we progressed through our meal, it became far too overbearing. Our server kept returning to our table to tell us stories and did not respond to social cues to back off a little bit. He kept touching my arm while talking to us, even as I pulled away, and then sat down with us to tell us even more stories about his (supposed) past, eventually even following us out the door as we tried to leave. The restaurant is small and did not have enough background music or white noise to provide a bit of conversational privacy, so we were also privvy to the entirety of the conversations at the tables around us, which did not contribute to a great date night dinner experience at all.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

A neighborhood gem for great food & atmosphere

Dined on April 21, 2016

My wife and I love coming to this restaurant for our anniversary and with other friends for a great meal at a reasonable price. The service is friendly and thoughtful. The food is always great and well presented. We keep coming back and highly recommend to our friends and those that appreciate a night out with friends or love ones.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Great service and good food

Dined on April 17, 2016

We went here for our anniversary dinner. We had never been here before but had to check it out because they are one of the few places that has chateau briand. We were a little skeptical when we saw the outside, but the inside was charming and the food was delicious.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing restaurant

Dined on April 13, 2016

We went here to celebrate my grandfather's life (he passed away). The owners were wonderful and so sweet. They set us up in a private room and gave us amazing service! Highly recommend them.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A Pleasure and a Privilege.

Dined on April 12, 2016

Few restaurants we consider a privilege as well as a pleasure to enjoy. Cafe Renaissance is at the top of our list. Saeed and Chef "Elvis" are the most gracious and friendly of hosts. Somehow they make elegant dining comfortable and casual. The daily specials are fresh, varied and heavenly. There is a menu, but we rarely use it. If you have questions, Chef will likely come out and discuss preparations and options. The wine list is deep and wide - something for every taste and budget. If you are in the area there is no finer treat you can give yourself. We live in South Carolina now, but when we're in the DC area, we'd never miss a chance to dine here. The menu has a French flair, but you'll find many things you can enjoy and share. Do yourself a big favor....

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Never judge a book by its cover.

Dined on April 8, 2016

Great place, great food, great staff. Don't let the out side fool you! Staff will make you feel like you've been coming for years!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Mork & Mindy alive and well in Vienna

Dined on April 8, 2016

The dinning experience was bizarre - the waiter hovered over us the entire meal - kept interrupting our conversation with his new age medicine views, ability to control the weather with his mind and other outer worldly ying-yang perspectives on the universe. The food was harmless except my wife could not determine the type of sauce that smothered her small seafood morsel. On departing the owner/manager rushed behind us as we left to exclaim "Good bye young people". As a we are in our mid-50's simply checking our IDs before serving the watered down wine would have been charming enough...

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Another wonderful evening at Cafe Renaissance

Dined on April 5, 2016

I've been to Cafe Renaissance countless times and it never disappoints. Delicious food, superb service, and endless fun. This visit was no exception. It is a true gem and has my highest recommendation. If you haven't tried it, you are missing out.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

What a wonderful experience! True 1st c ...

Dined on April 2, 2016

What a wonderful experience! True 1st class service with attention to detail! The chef even came out to ensure everything was prepared exactly right! We'll be back!

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.