About Cafe Renaissance

163 Glyndon Street, SE
Vienna, VA 22180
View Larger Map

For lovers of food, wine and romance,
Cafe Renaissance is your first choice in
intimate dining. Located in the heart of downtown Vienna, Cafe Renaissance
offers a quiet and charming ambiance
that will complement any lunch or dinner.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
French, Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm; Dinner: Nightly: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Sunday 5pm to 9pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(703) 938-3311

Website:
http://www.caferenaissance.com/

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Daily 5:00PM - 5:00PM 9:00PM - 9:00PM

Cafe Renaissance Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.8

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Neighborhood Gem
Washington, D.C. Area
Romantic
Washington, D.C. Area
Special Occasion
Washington, D.C. Area
6 More
French
Washington, D.C. Area
Neighborhood Gem
Virginia - DC Suburbs
Notable Wine List
Virginia - DC Suburbs
Romantic
Virginia - DC Suburbs
Special Occasion
Virginia - DC Suburbs
French
Virginia - DC Suburbs
Best Restaurants in Vienna ›

Special Occasion (69)
Romantic (64)
Neighborhood Gem (59)
See All
Fit for Foodies (43)
Notable Wine List (32)
Great for Brunch (19)
Good for Groups (13)
Great for Lunch (6)
Hot Spot (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Late-night Find (1)
Authentic (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1914 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

This Resturant is above par in service. ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 4 days ago

This Resturant is above par in service. The overall dining experience is top notch. Both the owner and the chef came to our table and made my spouse and myself feel like family. We plan to come back often and have Thanksgiving meal there. This is a very special Resturant. A true dining experience.

Tags: Authentic, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We first discovered Cafe Renaissance two ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

We first discovered Cafe Renaissance two years ago and go every few months. It is an intimate, elegant small restaurant. The food is excellent. The service superb. We go both for special occasions as well as simply everyday dining.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My friend and I came for a mid-week lunc ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

My friend and I came for a mid-week lunch in August. As the restaurant had only a few patrons, our waiter gave us lots of personal attention. Although he made unwelcome assumptions of what lunching ladies may prefer to drink and eat, he was personable, we enjoyed the food (especially the mussels that my friend ordered) and the wine, and were able to relax and converse for two delightful hours. The dining room is decorated with romance in mind, so we both decided that we will return with our husbands.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Always excellent. Go once and you'll be ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Always excellent. Go once and you'll be sure to return. Must try Irish Coffee; the show is as great as the coffee.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This is such a wonderful restaurant, bea ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

This is such a wonderful restaurant, beautiful, quiet and the food is excellent. We always enjoy our time when we go there. Everyone is so welcoming and friendly.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I think Cafe Renaissance is the best res ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

I think Cafe Renaissance is the best restaurant in Northern Virginia. It has the best qualities and no negatives. The owner is a wonderful host and the staff and chef are all outstanding. When my fiancee and I go out to dinner, Cafe Renaissance is always our first choice. We are never disappointed and we are always delighted. I look forward to when we can return.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful place. Took my fiancé there fo ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Beautiful place. Took my fiancé there for our first engagement anniversary. Was not disappointed.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

My very favorite restaurant. Always spec ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

My very favorite restaurant. Always spectacular. Love love love it. You wouldn't expect such a fabulous place to be in a strip mall. What an absolute gem. If it were closer to where I live I would be there all the time. Awesome.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Perfect spot for a large dining party ce ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Perfect spot for a large dining party celebrating my folks' 50th wedding anniversary. Older folks in party particularly liked the entertaining and chatty servers and special attention from the chef, and they were very good with the 11 year old picky eater. Food was good and ambience is festively formal but not stuffy. Pricey but not outrageous. Desserts were divine ! I'm not sure I'd want a quiet intimate date night here but it was just right for this special occasion.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

This is a charming restaurant located in ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

This is a charming restaurant located in a not so charming strip mall...it is a real neighborhood delight. With a European, easy elegance ambiance that is well suited for a romantic or business dinner or special occasion. While the maître d and waiters were in tuxes, it is not stuffy or overly formal; many guests were in fairly casual attire (sport coats to casual Friday). The wine list featured a fairly good selection (country of origin and type of wine) and range of prices.

The menu is extensive with a number of daily specials. A neighborhood surpise, we really wanted to love this place...all things considered we like the place (and will return). The service was uneven and not as skilled as one expectws w/ the ambiance: Our waiter who was eager to please and very friendly but also just very busy w/ other tables. Our orders arrived when they were ready in the kitchen and included serving the appetizer (Oysters Rockafeller) after the soup and salads. The cesar salad was overly dressed. The entrees arrived at roughly the same time, but the main course fish dishes were overly sauced. The dover sole w/lobster was prepared w/ too much cream relative to other ingredients. Desert was pleasant w/ a nice variety of options. A complimentary after dinner drink was offered to us.

The bottom line---do try it, but don't expect a finely tuned operation or attention to detail in food preparation or service.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

We have been dining here since mid 2000. ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

We have been dining here since mid 2000. A friend we had taken for dinner recently observed that the name recognition greeting from the staff was like having a country club membership without the dues! The staff is charming, the food is wonderful, the atmosphere is relaxed and friendly.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great ambience, relaxed , friendly staff ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Great ambience, relaxed , friendly staff, good food, good wine.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

fun because it is informally formal. Fo ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

fun because it is informally formal. Food is decent; there was a mixup where the chef did not come out to explain he did not have the ingredients for a food. They made up for it by giving us a drink an dessert. The waiter and owner were so much fun. The waiter KNEW his wine and gave an excellent pairing. The place is quirky in a good sort of way. I dont have lots of words for this place bc it is hard to describe but we had an unexpected blast.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Great staff. Very knowledgeable and eage ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Great staff. Very knowledgeable and eager to please. Very good food and even better dessert!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great place for a date or get together. ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Great place for a date or get together. Food spectacular and service outstanding! Such a fun evening in Vienna!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a wonderful dining experience at ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

We had a wonderful dining experience at Cafe Renaissance. The food was outstanding as was the service. We were really made to feel very comfortable, like one of the family. The chef came out and sat with us to see how we liked our meal, and was genuinely interested in our feedback. Overall great evening.. We will definitely be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service and the most hospitabl ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Excellent service and the most hospitable staff. The chef came out to visit each table and the owner took the time to engage every table.

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

My wife and I recently visited for dinne ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

My wife and I recently visited for dinner before a concert at Wolf Trap. We were greeted like old friends and treated throughout the evening like we were part of the family. Fantastic menu and they are willing to go the extra mile to customize your menu selection. When we are in the Vienna area again we will return! Highly recommended!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My first time here. We brought out of to ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

My first time here. We brought out of town guests. Everyone loved it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was a birthday dinner and the staff ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

This was a birthday dinner and the staff was fabulous. Very attentive and helpful. Food was delicious. Prices are expensive but this is a restaurant for special occasions. The bonus birthday dessert sampler with a free glass of port was a lovely touch to end the evening.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

My fiance and I went here to celebrate o ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

My fiance and I went here to celebrate our engagement. All the staff were very friendly, and the place had a great romantic atmosphere. Definitely would recommend for special occasions, and we'll be going back.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Elegant and most romantic restaurant in ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Elegant and most romantic restaurant in Northern Virginia. We do not live in Vienna but travel there for special occasions to eat at this wonderful restaurant. The owner is very involved in the restaurant and it shows with the attention to details from the flowers on the tables to the quietly efficient service. The service is impeccable! The chef comes to the dining room to make sure all are satisfied and even will make a special meal based on your palate.

If I lived closer, I would make this a weekly dining option but for now it is our go to place for all special occasions. It is interesting to note that the number of "special occasions" have increased yearly since we found this gem. Go there and you will not be disappointed.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We sound like a broken record, but this ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

We sound like a broken record, but this is our absolutely favorite Vienna area restaurant. Saeed and his staff will make you feel appreciated and your palate satisfied--guaranteed!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had never been overly impressed, but rem ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

Had never been overly impressed, but remain loyal due to convenience and desired ambiance (dated, quiet, easy parking out front, fresh beautiful roses) for our aging parents. This time around, however, was particularly good. Escargot, soft shell crab better than Clarity's down the street & desserts excellent. Red snapper was breaded and fried, which I didn't care for, but tasty nonetheless. Our parents are always happy with their dishes and loved being gushed over by the attentive owner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value4

Cafe R is the best retaurant in the Wash ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Cafe R is the best retaurant in the Wash DC area. Saeed and Chef Ocean always make your visit a special occasion. We always can,t wait to return to Cafe R

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious Food and Excellent Service!

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Delicious Food and Excellent Service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Perfect way to spend Fathers Day for my ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Perfect way to spend Fathers Day for my husband. Food and Service were both excellent. Everybody is very friendly and welcoming. Great job, my husband thoroughly enjoyed himself!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Café Renaissance is a great place fo ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

The Café Renaissance is a great place for good food, especially for special occasions. My wife and I celebrated our anniversary there and there were two other couples also celebrating anniversaries. The service was outstanding, as was the excellence of the food. Desert was also a real treat. The staff certainly goes out of their way to make you feel special.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We love this restaurant! The one we alw ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

We love this restaurant! The one we always go back to.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent French Restaurant tucked into ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Excellent French Restaurant tucked into a shopping center. The food is excellent and well prepared. The wait staff is both friendly and knowledgeable. They make it a special occasion even when it isn't. A great place for a delicious dinner.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Cafe Renaissance continues to be a culin ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Cafe Renaissance continues to be a culinary jewel in Vienna. The food is unique and delicious. The staff is friendly, knowledgeable, and helpful. The ambiance is perfect for dinner and the price is VERY reasonable. This restaurant remains one of my favorite places to eat in the DC area. MOST HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the Best Restaurants in Vienna

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

My fiancee and I stopped at Cafe Renaissance for brunch and it was a first-rate experience. The decor is very elegant with gilded walls, freshly cut flowers, and old world paintings. The food was fabulous and presented well by Chef Ocean. The owner/host Saaed is a delight to be around and will make your experience perfect. The pricing is very reasonable considering the five star quality and service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Another Vienna Underdog

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Everyone should mark down this location as a wonderful place in an understated location (next to Silva's Bakery (also excellent). You get a wonderful, warm and personalized welcome by the owner, and attentive, sincere and friendly service. The wine list is good, and reasonable, and the food is well prepared, presented geometrically on a large plate, and delicious. Prices are reasonable This neighborhood in Vienna boasts several very good eateries including Cafe Renaissance and Pazzo Pomodoro. If you are planning a day in Vienna, try them both!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious food and excellent service

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 24, 2016

Delicious food and excellent service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We have dined at the Cafe Renaissance ma ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

We have dined at the Cafe Renaissance many times. The. Meals are always outstanding and the service top shelf. If you want a memorable dining experience dine at the ?Cafe Renaissance!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was pleasantly surprised with the qual ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

I was pleasantly surprised with the quality of the food, ambiance, and service. Was a little skeptical at first because its located in a strip mall. Great food at a great price!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went to celebrate a special birthday wit ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Went to celebrate a special birthday with friends. Everything we ate was wonderful. Our wine wasn't chilled, so we were each brought a small glass of Chardonnay, and when the desert we asked about wasn't available, we were brought small pieces of their incredible lemon cake. It is so nice to find a restaurant that is elegant, has great food, great service and understands how to treat patrons. We will continue going back often.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstandle neighborhood location

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

In the midst of strip malls in Vienna, VA, is this little gem. Where one might expect to find a Five-guys Burger joint, instead there's the Cafe Renaissance. It's cozy and intimate, the staff remember your name, and the menu recalls the best of classic European cooking - something from Spain, Italy, Germany, etc. Expensive, but well worth it!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A wonderful neighborhood find. Great Fre ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 19, 2016

A wonderful neighborhood find. Great French selections with wonderful sauces. Wide range of fish dishes, as well as traditional favorites like rack of lamb, calves liver, and filet mignon. Great selection of appetizers-- we especially liked the pork/chicken liver mousse and French onion soup. Service was exquisite and even the chef visited our table to say hello as we were new customers. We felt most welcome. We will be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Aniversery

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

This was our anniversary dinner and our waiter was very funny. The Chef was also kind enough to accommodate a special request for my wife.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.