About Cafe Renaissance

163 Glyndon Street, SE
Vienna, VA 22180
View Larger Map

For lovers of food, wine and romance,
Cafe Renaissance is your first choice in
intimate dining. Located in the heart of downtown Vienna, Cafe Renaissance
offers a quiet and charming ambiance
that will complement any lunch or dinner.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
French, Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm; Dinner: Nightly: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Sunday 5pm to 9pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(703) 938-3311

Website:
http://www.caferenaissance.com/

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Daily 5:00PM - 5:00PM 9:00PM - 9:00PM

Cafe Renaissance Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (51)
Romantic (51)
Good for a Date (42)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (37)
Quiet Conversation (35)
Neighborhood Gem (32)
Good for Birthdays (30)
Creative Cuisine (24)
Cozy (21)
Worth the Drive (21)
Authentic (18)
Notable Wine List (14)
Fit for Foodies (14)
Business Meals (14)
Sunday Lunch (13)
Great for Lunch (10)
Great for Brunch (10)
Good for Groups (9)
Outstanding Value (8)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Casual (5)
Disabled Access (5)
Local Ingredients (5)
Fun (5)
Private Room (4)
Afternoon Tea (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Healthy (2)
Late-night Find (1)
Fireplace (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Spicy (1)
Seasonal (1)
Historic (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Sort By:
S
2065 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New England)·Dined 3 days ago

Wonderful experience and delicious food. Both Chef and Owner checked In on us to assure we were pleased. We were! Thank you, Cafe Renaissance!!

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Fun, Local Ingredients, Casual, Healthy, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 7 days ago

It is a great place to relax and enjoy the meal and company you're with. You are not rushed and the service is fantastic. I recommend attending the restaurant's wine dinners.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 18, 2017

not as good as previous visits --- little disappointed.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Delicious French-ish food. The owner is the maitre d' and sat down and talked with us. He's a character! After we were done he insisted on making a (second) dessert for us on the house: ice cream, bananas, strawberries and a flaming source.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Excellent food and service. The lamb shank was to die for!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We went for Valentines dinner. Even though we had a late reservation it was worth the wait! The food was excellent and the portions were not over sized. It was perfect!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We had been to Cafe Renaissance before and had a very good meal in their elegant and inviting main dining room. So, for this special Valentine's Day meal, we were greatly disappointed to be seated in a crowded ante room that had none of the ambience of the main part of the restaurant, and a view that was to die for. And I mean that literally! Cheap curtains covered the bottom of the front windows that had a view of several nearby restaurants in the corner of the shopping center where they are located. The service for this evening was cursory and hurried, unlike our other experience. I get it that they were trying to make the most of the day, but it was a day we won't remember fondly for some time to come!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service3
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Excellent food and service. Syid and Ocean are a great team. Expect the best and you'll get it.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Went for Valentine's Day. Cafe Renaissance had a special VD menu. We both had seafood and both entrees were superb.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 14, 2017

very polite service, great food. Traditional Italian so a little heavy, but a great treat when you feel like indulging.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 13, 2017

If you want a five star dining experience The Cafe Renaissance is the place. We have eaten there many times and continue to be impressed with the entire dining experience.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Private Room, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Cafe Renaissance is a true fine dining experience. The food, the service, the warm and welcoming atmosphere of the dining room .... all top-notch!

Tags: Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 13, 2017

My friend and I an early reservation and were able to have the restaurant blissfully to ourselves for most of the meal. Then a party of four arrived and were seated right next to us, even though the whole place was empty. Made us want to rush to leave. We were disappointed that the online menu was very different from the actual menu.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 13, 2017

We are never disappointed here. The service is always attentive and engaging. The owner is on premises and ensures a top notch dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Nice, elegant, romantic, authentic, classy, excellent for a date night.

Tags: Authentic, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 11, 2017

I don't understand the positive reviews of this place, as we had an awful experience! The food was average and the service was horrible! They had plenty of waiters, all of whom were rude. They didn't like my perch order and told me I should get the special. When I said no thanks, perch sounds great, they brought me the special anyway..... without explanation! Good thing I don't have allergies. The bottle of champagne was the best thing we had that evening, but we had to pour it ourselves three times! The appetizers sounded good, but there was no saffron in the saffron dish and the soup was not as described....No creativity, just butter and salt. When we asked for the check, the waiter refused to bring it, stating we must try dessert. We couldn't leave fast enough, and they made us late for our show....The guy actually brought out the desserts of his choice after we said we didn't want dessert! We like good food and nice restaurants......This is a neighborhood dive for those who don't know any better!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Amazing meal. Always come here for special occasions.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 11, 2017

great experience, friendly and accommodating staff and great food and selection, excellent section of wines

Tags: Cozy
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Simply awful.

The service was completely slow and inattentive. The food was mediocre at best. They advertised a 2012 Cabernet and actually brought a 2014 to the table. Unfortunately I did not pick up on this until I was already disgusted with the experience and just wanted to finish and leave.

I do not at all understand how Cafe Renaissance has received so many accolades in the recent past. It is not one of the top 100 most romantic restaurants in the US as recently declared on OpenTable. It has an outdated decor in a strip mall. Not romantic.

We will not be back and I will never recommend this restaurant to a friend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 10, 2017

We went for a birthday dinner and had a very enjoyable experience. The service is wonderful, the attendants are attentive, the décor is very nice and tasteful, the food is wonderful, and the wine is very good. You can talk quietly to the people in your party. Everyone came to greet us including the chef and the owner. Wow, what treatment. This is not our first time and we will go back again.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Excellent food - wonderful service. Truly a delightful place that makes you feel at home..... Recommend it to anyone for any occasion.... Very Friendly owner and staff,,, had a very enjoyable time talking to the owner and chef... Always lots of regulars too.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Café Renaissance is a dependable, consistent 5 star winner. I go there when I have something big to celebrate and some extra space around my waist because the desserts are just the best ever. I think sauces and gravies are a particular specialty of the kitchen. I do often recommend it. It is an ideal restaurant for me. Twenty somethings may find it too quiet and refined. There is NO wide screen and no bar seating. I see these as attractions. Just a great place to enjoy your food.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Food and service is just average, not at the level of some French restaurant we normally go in Great Falls. Souffle was a joke...not sure what it was. Will not return again. Don't trust all the excellent reviews.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 4, 2017

This is a wonderful restaurant with great food. The owner always makes you feel like part of his family. We go for special occasions and just because we enjoy it so much.

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 4, 2017

WE HAD A VERY NICE MEAL,FISH WAS FRESH,GOOD SERVICE.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 1, 2017

We enjoyed the food and excellent service. The owner was right there to assure that everything was correct. They were very helpful in appropriately dealing with my gluten intolerance without compromising the taste and quality of my dinner. We will return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 30, 2017

We went for a birthday luncheon. The service was excellent! The menu was fully explained when asked about certain dishes. Our food was great; lots of veggies with my flounder and with the Veal dish. We were treated to dessert and Sambuca. It was a lovely afternoon was my spouse and myself.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Although this restaurant may not have the most appealing curb appeal, the ambiance, food, and service were excellent. The staff was very friendly and a bit humorous. I thoroughly enjoyed it and would highly recommend Cafe Renaissance, especially for a romantic dinner.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 29, 2017

I have never had a bad experience at Café Renaissance. This dinner was perfect.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Excellent food, exceptional staff, comfortable and exquisite dining venue. Frequent at least once a month or so.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Outstanding Value, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Cafe Renaissance is a wonderful place to lunch or dine the menu and specials offered are all tempting and excellent choices. You are treated like you are the only customer they have even with the others there. This is not a low cost fare, but the experience and cuisine are well worth the price. We were there to celebrate a long delayed birthday lunch and over lunch was very special. I highly recommend you choose Cafe Renaissance as a future dining experience, especially if you have not been before. Reservations are a must.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Historic, Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Outstanding Value, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 22, 2017

This is a neighborhood gem, for authentic French food. The service was very attentive. I had the lamb shank, it was excellent. My friend had the barramundi special, he said it was outstanding. The prices were very reasonable. The place was old school, with fresh flowers everywhere, even in the bathroom--very beautiful flowers. The wine list was good, some decent values. Everyone was very happy with their food and I will definitely come back.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Amazing experience, great food, out of the world service. I highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on January 21, 2017

We enjoyed the chateaubriand pour deux. Nice mix of vegetables and scalloped potatoes. The beef was okay but not outstanding. Great service and mellow atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 18, 2017

We celebrated my wife's birthday at Cafe Renaissance and thoroughly enjoyed every aspect of our experience, from the outstanding gourmet meal, to the service of the warm and welcoming staff, and the classic fine-dining experience. Cafe Renaissance is now on our short list of favorite restaurants.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Always delicious and fresh food.

Good service too. The chef is great and he comes to the table and spends some time with the guests.

Tags: Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Cozy, Authentic, Good for Groups, Casual, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Outstanding Value, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 12, 2017

My friend and I have been going to the Renaissance every Christmas time for many years. It is always delicious and fun. It is the perfect restaurant to have conversations with friends. Classical music, a fabulous mouth-watering gourmet menu, warm and friendly service from the owners and staff, a lovely, classic decor with gorgeous flower arrangements made by the owner herself, all make this dining experience unforgettable!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Gluten Free Options, Afternoon Tea, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 9, 2017

From the moment we entered the restaurant, the owner and staff at Café R was sensational. The chef even came out to our table and helped tailor our selections to individual tastes. The experience was wonderful.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Café Renaissance has been a favorite of my wife and I for over three (3) years. The food is great and the staff is very friendly and very attentive.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Romantic, Cozy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 4, 2017

I have been a customer for some time now - I have yet to have anything but a fantastic experience. What the owner and the staff do is very professional.

Tags: Business Meals, Authentic, Special Occasion, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We had a wonderful dinner and experience on New Year's at Cafe Renaissance!! We there for the second seating, so we had music, with champagne, hats, and noisemakers at midnight. We have been to Cafe Renaissance many times before for birthdays, Valentine's Day, and other special occasions when we want a very nice dinner with very good service and ambience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Excellent service, not rushed through the courses. Waiter polite and fun. Food was outstanding.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 1, 2017

The food is always outstanding. The owner and chef are very friendly

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 31, 2016

It's our favorite restaurant for special occasions. The food is always very good, and service is excellent. Even with a full restaurant for New Year's Eve the service was great, and the food came out hot and in a timely fashion. Someone is always checking to make sure that everything is good. One of the best in the area.

Tags: Fireplace, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Cafe Renaissance is our go to place for all special occasions! It never disappoints. Can't go there without having an Irish coffee. It's a show besides being delicious.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We went to the first seating on New Years Eve, a busy night for sure. Everything was delicious...they had plenty of options on the prix fix menu they offered for the night. Would definitely return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Cafe Renaissance is the favorite restaurant of a close friend. The staff treated us wonderfully - offering a table that was easy to access with her wheelchair. The owner remembered her, and a server who recognized her from over 20 years ago, stopped by to say hello. She was most pleased and had a wonderful time.

The food, it almost goes without saying, was incredible. . .from the the bread basket to the appetizers to the entrees. . .all was wonderful.

Thank you for taking such wonderful care of our friend. . .it meant a lot.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Warm, romantic setting. Exceptional food. Top notch service. Located in the back corner of a strip mall. Recommend reservations, but not required. Definitely trying the Irish coffee the next visit based on how we observed their preparation and YouTube videos of their presentation. Baked oysters are among the very best. Ask for grated parmesan cheese to dip with their superb olive oil and butter with their wonderful baked bread. Best continental food in Northern Virginia. What a treat!

Tags: Good for Groups, Casual, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Charmingly elegant surroundings - you'd never know (and won't care that it's in a strip mall). Kind, attentive service--they make you feel like family. Food is reliably good & very reasonably priced wine list. Makes for a romantic date night meal & good place for special occasions & holidays.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 24, 2016

A hidden Gem in Vienna. Tucked in a corner of a small shopping center this place is for romantics who appreciate good food and excellent service. Go. You won't have a bad meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.