About Cafe Pacific

24 Highland Park Village
Dallas, TX 75205
View Larger Map

An institution in Dallas dining for over 31 years, Cafe Pacific embodies sophistication while remaining decidedly unpretentious. Our friendly "neighborhood seafood restaurant" has garnered praise both locally and nationally for its casual elegance. You’ll dine in the warm glow of dark mahogany, rich marble, etched glass and polished brass. The walls are adorned with art from the owner's collection. Cafe Pacific is nestled in Highland Park Village, Dallas' premiere shopping locale, where pampering is the order of the day. From the complimentary valet parking to the outstanding service from our knowledgeable veteran staff, Cafe Pacific offers you sophistication without a hint of snobbery. Proper Dress Required (No T-Shirts, Shorts or Flip Flops.)

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, International

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 2:30pm
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm
Sunday Brunch: 11:00am - 2:30pm

Cross Street:
Preston and Mockingbird

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(214) 526-1170

Website:
http://www.cafepacificdallas.com/

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking and parking in the Highland Park Village Shopping Center.

Executive Chef:
Bill Trevino

Private Party Facilities:
Cafe Pacific is available for private events on Sunday evenings. During the week, semi-private dining is available for groups of up to twenty-six. Whether for business or a special occasion we will create a special menu to cater to your specific needs.

Please contact Mr. Thomas Regan, General Manager, or Mr. Vincent McGrath, Dining Room Manager.

Private Party Contact:
Thomas Regan: 2145261170

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Cafe Pacific Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.8

ambience

4.7

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Dallas - Fort Worth
Best Service
Dallas - Fort Worth
Best Ambiance
Dallas - Fort Worth
6 More
Seafood
Dallas - Fort Worth
Best Overall
Dallas
Best Service
Dallas
Best Ambiance
Dallas
Best Value
Dallas
Seafood
Dallas
Best Restaurants in Park Cities ›

special occasion (84)
neighborhood gem (70)
romantic (61)
See All
fit for foodies (53)
great for lunch (41)
notable wine list (33)
great for brunch (27)
hot spot (11)
good for groups (7)
vibrant bar scene (4)
great for outdoor dining (4)
scenic view (2)
kid-friendly (1)
late-night find (1)
Sort By:
Newest
699 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5

Oh the peppercorn steak. Yum! We also ha ...

Dined 3 days ago

Oh the peppercorn steak. Yum! We also had the seabass which was terrific as well as the lump crab appetizer and pecan ball. Everything was spot on delicious. Ask for Mark! He's fantastic!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been patrons of CP for many year ...

Dined 5 days ago

We have been patrons of CP for many years. It never disappoints. The service is impecable and the food is excellent. Chef will accomdate variations from the menu. Our favorite waiter is Mark.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Let me just say that I was impressed by ...

vip
Dined 6 days ago

Let me just say that I was impressed by the immediate warm welcome at the door and then proceeded to the bar and was greeted by Dave who was very attentive to my empty glass. Dinner was amazing, I had the seabass and it was a nice portion cooked perfect. Walter was our server which gave great service. I will definitely be back!!!!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Cafe Pacific never fails us. We have di ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Cafe Pacific never fails us. We have dined here off and on for 20 years and are always inspired by the consistency of service, menu and food quality. As restaurant owners ourselves, we appreciate revisiting the gold standard to remind us of our goals. We brought our longest tenured FOH staff member and his wife for their anniversary, as he wanted great lamb chops. You did not disappoint. Thanks and see you again.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food1
ambience1
service4
value1

We had a gift card to dine here, and it ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

We had a gift card to dine here, and it was highly recommended by friends. We were stuck in a table right next to the kitchen with waiters bearing down the entire meal. 8oz filet was was lamb my wife ordered medium well was cooked medium, and still hard as a rock. Apple cake desert was tasteless and boring. Waitress was awesome, but food left us wanting our 75 dollar gift card refunded along with the75extra toclear the bill. This is not fine dining, and God forbid chef Ramsey get his hands on them.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was delicious and the ambiance ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

The food was delicious and the ambiance just wonderful. We celebrated our son's graduation and this is an upscale and lovely restaurant with moderate pricing. We were greeted by the host who offered congratulations to our son without us saying a word - I had included it in a note when making the reservation. It was very thoughtful of the host to note this. Our waiter was wonderful and gave us enough time to chat and relax and was very attentive. This is a top drawer restaurant for fine dining and a magnificent experience.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

A neighborhood fixture and one of my fav ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

A neighborhood fixture and one of my favorite Dallas restaurants

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful place to celebrate a special o ...

vip
Dined on May 12, 2016

Wonderful place to celebrate a special occasion orang occasion for that matter

food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Lovely evening

vip
Dined on May 9, 2016

Filet and shrimp were perfect as were the drinks before and the wine with dinner. I love this room in the early evening as the lighting is so nice. Quiet in the early evening but can get loud as the night goes on as it is a relatively small room. If you are coming to Dallas this is a must as it is a favorite of famous locals...you may see someone you know.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

As usual, Café Pacific did not let down! ...

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

As usual, Café Pacific did not let down! Great service from László and table location made Mother's Day celebration special! No matter what the holiday or how busy it is café Pacific always seems to get it done without stress or drama. The pepper fillet continues to be the best steak in Dallas, always get the 12 ounce so I can have a steak sandwich the following day. The thing that makes Café Pacific so great is: eat in the bar and make it your neighborhood joint or dress up in suit or blazer and eat in the beautiful dining room that reminds you of something from San Francisco or New York. Thank you Lazlo for making our dinner so fun

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous!

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

Still good after all these years! I had the special oven-roasted halibut which was outstanding and my husband had the short smoked salmon which was cooked to perfection....medium rare. Great wine choices with good prices and service was outstanding.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Another fabulous experience

Dined on May 4, 2016

The service level here is just without flaw. I so appreciate a professional server that can truly make me feel that he is in on the meal with me. I have now tried the lemon sole, the three onion crusted seabass, the shrimp and grits, the escargot, the caesar salad, and the seafood crepes. Each of them are the best I have ever had. One tip, get out of your jeans. We happened in at lunch and were pretty shabbily dressed. We were seated next to the kitchen door and every time someone came out of it, the door seemed to slam into the wall or some stop behind the spouse. Extremely annoying since the earlier visits had all been wonderful. So, dress for the occasion. If you still get that table, ask to be moved.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service3

We had a reservation at 8:00, but were s ...

vip
Dined on May 1, 2016

We had a reservation at 8:00, but were seated approximately 40 minutes later. The host was very apologetic, however. Our initial service was extremely poor, but the host eventually switched our service and it was superb. We still love this place!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Yes, definitely!

Dined on April 29, 2016

This is a neighborhood gem for sure. Great energy but even better, delicious food. Worth every penny for sure. The service is spot on. Strongly recommend for your dining pleasure.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasions, neighbourhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

A very special consistent place to dine fine food

Dined on April 29, 2016

I've gone to this restaurant many times and each time come away at just how close to perfect it is in ALL aspects food,service,ambience.I feel very special and cared for each time I go an it is alway consistently so...I do however miss the iced cruditate plate they serves but other than that is an oasis in an otherwise unimpressive restaurant scene in this area

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food3
ambience3
service5

This place is old school, but the servic ...

vip
Dined on April 24, 2016

This place is old school, but the service was great and I appreciated the staff's professionalism. Stefan was great. The pecan ball was worth the calories. It had a nut type candy with it that was actually better than the pecan ball itself. I had the migas and they were good. My husband had the oriental chicken salad. He said it tasted of wasabi, a little to spicy for him. The dress code is no flip flops, no shorts-basically slacks and button up shirts and dresses only. You have been warned. Checking this restaurant off my bucket list...

food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Service was fantastic!

vip
Dined on April 24, 2016

The service was fantastic...the servers were attentive and friendly. Went for brunch...food was good, not great. A lot of after church folks. Will have to try for dinner.

Tags: great for brunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Fernando was fabulous!!!!

vip
Dined on April 23, 2016

Fernando was fabulous!!!!

food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Tulsa Friend

Dined on April 21, 2016

This was a perfect place for our family to celebrate my wife's birthday. The service was as good as I have ever had.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service3

Waiter was inattentive which is not norm ...

vip
Dined on April 21, 2016

Waiter was inattentive which is not normal

food5
ambience4
service4

High end restaurant but without the pomp ...

Dined on April 20, 2016

High end restaurant but without the pompousness. Real people, real food. Great personal service. Each item oozes freshness and flavor. At the end of the day, about $50 a person but worth it.

food4
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was excellent!

Dined on April 20, 2016

We went for my husband's birthday. Since I had told them ahead of time, it felt like they gave him special service. I had the sole "piccata" and my husband had the rainbow trout. The fish itself was very good and was prepared well. The sauce over it left a little something to be desired, VERY buttery. I love butter so it worked well but I would want others to know that before ordering. My husband enjoyed his rainbow trout as well. Usually places like this have exorbitant prices; I like that they were very reasonable. We would probably go back here again for another special occasion. They gave us fried iced cream on the house! It was a very good night.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

The fish I had was good, but the coating ...

Dined on April 19, 2016

The fish I had was good, but the coating was almost inedible. The desserts that both of us ordered were not good. We hadn't been back in 2 to 3 years and now we remember why. We expect much more in the quality of food, especially at these price points.

food5
ambience5
service5

I lived in Dallas many years ago and was ...

Dined on April 14, 2016

I lived in Dallas many years ago and was a favorite of mine. People told me the quality and service was still the same and it really was. Excellent food and service m. I had the pepper steak, better than what I've eaten in France! I recommend this place 100%!!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great seafood/steaks

vip
Dined on April 10, 2016

We've always enjoyed Cafe Pacific for special occasions. Dinners are always delicious.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Vincent is the best maître d' in Texas! ...

vip
Dined on April 10, 2016

Vincent is the best maître d' in Texas! The food and service at Café Pacific are exemplary. The gracious environment and pleasant patrons make dining at Café Pacific a quintessential Highland Park experience.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Sea Bass is always wonderful and the ...

Dined on April 6, 2016

The Sea Bass is always wonderful and the service impeccable.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a special place to celebrate anyt ...

Dined on April 5, 2016

Always a special place to celebrate anything. Have done several birthday lunches and also anniversary dinners, business meetings dinner with friends. Service is always friendly, expedient and professional. And the food is superb.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Cafe Pacific is a favorite when in Dallas.

vip
Dined on April 3, 2016

Elegant ambiance. Quiet.Delicious reliable food. Excellent old school service.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Predictably great

Dined on April 3, 2016

Superb service, wonderful wine, excellent food Love this place

Tags: notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

a good find

Dined on April 2, 2016

Many friends had suggested this spot, glad we finally experienced it. The ambiance was great, it delivered what the website promised. It was high on service, but not stuffy. The menu was appealing, and the waiter explained items in detail. Do not miss the lump crabcake appetizer!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

This was our fourth time dining here; not so good.

Dined on March 30, 2016

The restaurant used to be a special place to go to for a special occasion as we are from out of town. The front desk folks were not very welcoming. The food was not so good, nothing special about the service. It was actually substandard. I think the place is best for the neighborhood scene at the bar. We won't be back...kind of sad.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Fabulous food with impeccable service.

Dined on March 30, 2016

Fabulous food with impeccable service.

food5
ambience5
service5

One of my favorite lunch spots in Dallas ...

vip
Dined on March 30, 2016

One of my favorite lunch spots in Dallas!!

food5
ambience5
service5

One of the best, most enjoyable dining e ...

vip
Dined on March 27, 2016

One of the best, most enjoyable dining experiences in Dallas.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great

Dined on March 27, 2016

Excellent food and service and ambience. Great for that special occasion or just a good meal

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a go to classic

Dined on March 24, 2016

This is our go to spot... You will always find high quality food served with pride by career waiters who know their stuff. Upscale atmosphere and a who's who clientele. But the food is always right! From lamb to lobster, cooked to your specifications. A tad noisy when full, which is most always. Fun to have lunch in the bar area. Classy and Classic!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

What a restaurant should be

Dined on March 18, 2016

Excellent respectful service, where the customers are treated as welcome guests, in a sedate albeit busy setting. The sea bass, and the grouper we had were both excellent, well presented and accompanied. The tables are a little too close together, and the prices are on the high side, but I would choose to return in a heartbeat to this fine establishment, so deserving of its praise from others. Characteristic of its fine management, we were seated promptly at the time of our reservation, as opposed to our experience in other pricey Dallas restaurants such as Capital Grill.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Awesome service ad delicious food.

vip
Dined on March 17, 2016

Awesome service ad delicious food.

food5
ambience5
service4

Reservation was delayed 30minutes. We d ...

vip
Dined on March 13, 2016

Reservation was delayed 30minutes. We didn't understand the delay but remained patient. They made up for the delay by immediately serving us water and calamari. This was. Nice touch and appreciated. All our meals were delicious and arrived timely.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.