About Cafe Pacific

24 Highland Park Village
Dallas, TX 75205
View Larger Map

An institution in Dallas dining for over 31 years, Cafe Pacific embodies sophistication while remaining decidedly unpretentious. Our friendly "neighborhood seafood restaurant" has garnered praise both locally and nationally for its casual elegance. You’ll dine in the warm glow of dark mahogany, rich marble, etched glass and polished brass. The walls are adorned with art from the owner's collection. Cafe Pacific is nestled in Highland Park Village, Dallas' premiere shopping locale, where pampering is the order of the day. From the complimentary valet parking to the outstanding service from our knowledgeable veteran staff, Cafe Pacific offers you sophistication without a hint of snobbery. Proper Dress Required (No T-Shirts, Shorts or Flip Flops.)

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, International

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 2:30pm
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm
Sunday Brunch: 11:00am - 2:30pm

Cross Street:
Preston and Mockingbird

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(214) 526-1170

Website:
http://www.cafepacificdallas.com/

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking and parking in the Highland Park Village Shopping Center.

Executive Chef:
Bill Trevino

Private Party Facilities:
Cafe Pacific is available for private events on Sunday evenings. During the week, semi-private dining is available for groups of up to twenty-six. Whether for business or a special occasion we will create a special menu to cater to your specific needs.

Please contact Mr. Thomas Regan, General Manager, or Mr. Vincent McGrath, Dining Room Manager.

Private Party Contact:
Thomas Regan: 2145261170

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Pecan Ball
Huevos rancheros
Chef's Chopped Salad
Sweet Potato Sticks
New England Clam Chowder
Seafood Crepe
Sweet Potato Strings
Sweet potato fries
Fruit
Crudites
lobster roll
Sole Almondine
Wine
Snapper Simple Grill
Tortilla Soup
Hess Select Cabernet Sauvignon
Lobster tail with risotto
Field Greens Salad
Rack of Lamb
Nantucket Bay Scallops
Lobster Roll (Sandwich)
Nova Scotia Halibut With Celery Root And Apple
Creme Brulee
Ahi Tuna Poke
Lemongrass Grilled Shrimp
Pan Seared Halibut With Risotto
Chilled Strawberry Soup
Cafe Burger And Fries
Live Uni (Sea Urchin)
Halibut With Braised Mushrooms
Roasted Beet Salad
Branzino With Sea Urchin Beurre Monte
Rib Eye Steak Special
Pan Seared Ahi Tuna
Grand Marnier Creme Brulee
Porcini Dusted Halibut
Crusted Seabass

Cafe Pacific Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Seafood
Dallas - Fort Worth
Best Overall
Dallas
Seafood
Dallas
Best Restaurants in Park Cities ›

special occasion (82)
neighborhood gem (62)
romantic (54)
See All
fit for foodies (45)
great for lunch (35)
notable wine list (27)
great for brunch (25)
hot spot (14)
good for groups (7)
vibrant bar scene (3)
great for outdoor dining (3)
scenic view (2)
late-night find (2)
Sort By:
Newest
727 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Cafe pacific continues as a wonderful in ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined 2 days ago

Cafe pacific continues as a wonderful institution in Highland Park Village. With the addition of relatively new items such as a lobster BLT they continue to stay fresh and wonderful . Also best Cobb salad in town!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

From the greeting through desert. Excell ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined 3 days ago

From the greeting through desert. Excellent ! Food quality , plating and service. All very good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

very good and consistent food excellen ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

very good and consistent food excellent service Thank you Mark Excellent Maitre de Thank you Vincent AAA venue in the best location in Dallas We have been customers for 4 years Keep it up! Our best,

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The manager and wait staff were exceptio ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

The manager and wait staff were exceptionally friendly and the food was excellent. We had a wonderful dinner.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Near SMU campus. We had a lovely meal wi ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Near SMU campus. We had a lovely meal with great service. The sole was especially good and not on everyone's menu. Will definitely eat here again.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food. Good service. However, I wen ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Great food. Good service. However, I went there with my twin sister. We had presents for each other. Large ones. Couldn't miss it. I even put in Open Table notes that it was our birthday. They never acknowledged a celebration. Never asked. But the table next to us celebrating a birthday....was lauded over. Somewhat insensitive. Same waiter. Guess you have to be regular to get that kind of service.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Have been a patron of Café Pacific sever ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Have been a patron of Café Pacific several times before and always had a positive experience both with the food and the service. This time was may have been an exception but none the less it was far from acceptable for a restaurant of this caliber.

My wife and I took our daughter and 3 friends to celebrate her 19th birthday and the waiter immediately seemed in a hurry to move this dining experience along quickly so he could turn this one tabletop into two or wanted to get to the next party where the alcohol portion of the check would be higher? Not sure but all in the party noticed.

Food (12 oz. filets and salmon for all) was just ok and certainly not up to the standards that we had enjoyed previously but being a busy Friday night that happens sometimes I guess.

At CP menu prices it shouldn't but it did.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

Great 38th anniversary evening! Our wai ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Great 38th anniversary evening! Our waiter - Peter Wright (a go-to every time we dine at CP) is awesome ... One of Dallas' best! All dishes (crab & oyster appetizers+sea bass & salmon) fantastic ... Except Caesar salad which was subpar. Overall - excellent! BY

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Updated menu was great. Food and service ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Updated menu was great. Food and service were better than ever. Vincent and Mark are the best. I can't thank them both enough for a great evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great wine selection, outstanding servic ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Great wine selection, outstanding service and best pepper steak ever.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

I had the filet and shrimp and ended up ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

I had the filet and shrimp and ended up with food poisoning all week end.

There was a table with 6 people behind us totally drunk, and very loud.

I can't believe management didn't ask them to leave. We saw the manager laughing with them. All the tables around them kept looking at them hoping they would understand how rude and loud they were.

Very disappointed.

Won't be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Cafe Pacific is our families favorite pl ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

Cafe Pacific is our families favorite place to spend special occasions.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very friendly Waiter Salad was very good ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Very friendly Waiter Salad was very good and the main dish(Sea Bass) was delicious. The fresh vegies were good that came with the main dish but the amount was small. We look forward to eating at Café Pacific.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Sea Bass was amazing! French fries were ...

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Sea Bass was amazing! French fries were superb!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Service was lacking. They are so used ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Service was lacking. They are so used to appealing to the regulars from Highland Park that the menu (desserts included) is boring. Time for an update.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

We had a wonderful time. The staff was ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

We had a wonderful time. The staff was very hospitable and the food was outstanding! We will definitely return.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and service couldn't be any better! ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Food and service couldn't be any better!! They really go out of their way to make your evening special!! Highly recommend it for any kind of special occasion. Also, it's one of the few establishments left that cares to have its staff and patrons dress up for the evening, adding to the ambience and experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The Best

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

After nearly 40 years, probably Dallas-Ft. Worth's best. Food and service.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Love the food and the service

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

The service is fantastic. The maitre d' was fabulous as was our server, Maria Garcia. 3 of 4 people had the sole almandine and they loved it. I had the simple grill salmon which was great, too. Desserts were wonderful, pecan ball and cookies. Fun people watching if you're interested in an older crowd!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

UP SCALE CLASSIC

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 6, 2016

Every thing you would expect from a long time dining spot of the 1% of the 1% including the Rolls Royce at the valet stand. Food, service, and libations were all excellent and fairly priced for luxury offerings. Not a very wide selection however.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Cafe Pacific continues to impress

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

I took my now wife to Cafe Pacific for our first date a number of years ago. I was living in Tulsa at the time and was one of the few restaurants I knew in Dallas. Fast forward 30 years and we now live in the neighborhood, and amazingly Cafe Pacific is still our go to restaurant for consistantly good, fresh seafood and amazing service. Because of the special meaning we come here every year to celebrate our anniversay. While the menu may not be cutting edge, they have a new chef and he recently updated the menu. We both have a gluten sensitivity and they had no problem accomodating our needs. For a high end restaurant, they have a very reasonable wine list. Clearly not many restaurants have endured as long as Cafe Pacific and they have done it with a great setting, good food, and excellent service and I would highly recommend it to anyone looking for a memorable night out in Dallas.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great restaurant!

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Love to visit this restaurant when in Dallas. Elegant,special, great service delicious food. Not too big, not too small.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

A delicious meal in a wonderful setting. ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

A delicious meal in a wonderful setting. Can't wait to go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Cafe Pacific is one of our favorite plac ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on May 25, 2016

Cafe Pacific is one of our favorite places. The food is consistently excellent. We think Cafe Pacific has the best seafood in Dallas. For lunch, we had the lobster roll and chopped seafood salad. As always, excellent!! The only complaint we have is while the service was top notch, our waiter could have been a bit more engaged. He was extremely aloof. We have definitely had better waiters on our past visits.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

Always a pleasure! Food and staff equal ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on May 24, 2016

Always a pleasure! Food and staff equally impressive. It's a "can't miss"!!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous dinner. We had a large party o ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Fabulous dinner. We had a large party of 9 and everyone cleaned their plate, even the dieting women. Keep doing what you're doing!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Oh the peppercorn steak. Yum! We also ha ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Oh the peppercorn steak. Yum! We also had the seabass which was terrific as well as the lump crab appetizer and pecan ball. Everything was spot on delicious. Ask for Mark! He's fantastic!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We keep coming back, it is very reliable ...

vip
 (Austin)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

We keep coming back, it is very reliable.

Top notch is the Pecan ice cream ball in a mirror of Godiva chocolate sauce.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

We have been patrons of CP for many year ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on May 19, 2016

We have been patrons of CP for many years. It never disappoints. The service is impecable and the food is excellent. Chef will accomdate variations from the menu. Our favorite waiter is Mark.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Let me just say that I was impressed by ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on May 18, 2016

Let me just say that I was impressed by the immediate warm welcome at the door and then proceeded to the bar and was greeted by Dave who was very attentive to my empty glass. Dinner was amazing, I had the seabass and it was a nice portion cooked perfect. Walter was our server which gave great service. I will definitely be back!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Cafe Pacific never fails us. We have di ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

Cafe Pacific never fails us. We have dined here off and on for 20 years and are always inspired by the consistency of service, menu and food quality. As restaurant owners ourselves, we appreciate revisiting the gold standard to remind us of our goals. We brought our longest tenured FOH staff member and his wife for their anniversary, as he wanted great lamb chops. You did not disappoint. Thanks and see you again.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a gift card to dine here, and it ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

We had a gift card to dine here, and it was highly recommended by friends. We were stuck in a table right next to the kitchen with waiters bearing down the entire meal. 8oz filet was was lamb my wife ordered medium well was cooked medium, and still hard as a rock. Apple cake desert was tasteless and boring. Waitress was awesome, but food left us wanting our 75 dollar gift card refunded along with the75extra toclear the bill. This is not fine dining, and God forbid chef Ramsey get his hands on them.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service4
value1

The food was delicious and the ambiance ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

The food was delicious and the ambiance just wonderful. We celebrated our son's graduation and this is an upscale and lovely restaurant with moderate pricing. We were greeted by the host who offered congratulations to our son without us saying a word - I had included it in a note when making the reservation. It was very thoughtful of the host to note this. Our waiter was wonderful and gave us enough time to chat and relax and was very attentive.

This is a top drawer restaurant for fine dining and a magnificent experience.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A neighborhood fixture and one of my fav ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

A neighborhood fixture and one of my favorite Dallas restaurants

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Wonderful place to celebrate a special o ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on May 12, 2016

Wonderful place to celebrate a special occasion orang occasion for that matter

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Lovely evening

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on May 9, 2016

Filet and shrimp were perfect as were the drinks before and the wine with dinner. I love this room in the early evening as the lighting is so nice. Quiet in the early evening but can get loud as the night goes on as it is a relatively small room. If you are coming to Dallas this is a must as it is a favorite of famous locals...you may see someone you know.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

As usual, Café Pacific did not let down! ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

As usual, Café Pacific did not let down! Great service from László and table location made Mother's Day celebration special! No matter what the holiday or how busy it is café Pacific always seems to get it done without stress or drama. The pepper fillet continues to be the best steak in Dallas, always get the 12 ounce so I can have a steak sandwich the following day. The thing that makes Café Pacific so great is: eat in the bar and make it your neighborhood joint or dress up in suit or blazer and eat in the beautiful dining room that reminds you of something from San Francisco or New York.

Thank you Lazlo for making our dinner so fun

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fabulous!

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Still good after all these years! I had the special oven-roasted halibut which was outstanding and my husband had the short smoked salmon which was cooked to perfection....medium rare. Great wine choices with good prices and service was outstanding.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Another fabulous experience

 
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on May 4, 2016

The service level here is just without flaw. I so appreciate a professional server that can truly make me feel that he is in on the meal with me. I have now tried the lemon sole, the three onion crusted seabass, the shrimp and grits, the escargot, the caesar salad, and the seafood crepes. Each of them are the best I have ever had.

One tip, get out of your jeans. We happened in at lunch and were pretty shabbily dressed. We were seated next to the kitchen door and every time someone came out of it, the door seemed to slam into the wall or some stop behind the spouse. Extremely annoying since the earlier visits had all been wonderful. So, dress for the occasion. If you still get that table, ask to be moved.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a reservation at 8:00, but were s ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

We had a reservation at 8:00, but were seated approximately 40 minutes later. The host was very apologetic, however. Our initial service was extremely poor, but the host eventually switched our service and it was superb. We still love this place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.