About Cafe Pacific

24 Highland Park Village
Dallas, TX 75205
View Larger Map

An institution in Dallas dining for over 31 years, Cafe Pacific embodies sophistication while remaining decidedly unpretentious. Our friendly "neighborhood seafood restaurant" has garnered praise both locally and nationally for its casual elegance. You’ll dine in the warm glow of dark mahogany, rich marble, etched glass and polished brass. The walls are adorned with art from the owner's collection. Cafe Pacific is nestled in Highland Park Village, Dallas' premiere shopping locale, where pampering is the order of the day. From the complimentary valet parking to the outstanding service from our knowledgeable veteran staff, Cafe Pacific offers you sophistication without a hint of snobbery. Proper Dress Required (No T-Shirts, Shorts or Flip Flops.)

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, International

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 2:30pm
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm
Sunday Brunch: 11:00am - 2:30pm

Cross Street:
Preston and Mockingbird

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(214) 526-1170

Website:
http://www.cafepacificdallas.com/

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking and parking in the Highland Park Village Shopping Center.

Executive Chef:
Bill Trevino

Private Party Facilities:
Cafe Pacific is available for private events on Sunday evenings. During the week, semi-private dining is available for groups of up to twenty-six. Whether for business or a special occasion we will create a special menu to cater to your specific needs.

Please contact Mr. Thomas Regan, General Manager, or Mr. Vincent McGrath, Dining Room Manager.

Private Party Contact:
Thomas Regan: 2145261170

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Pecan Ball
Huevos rancheros
Chef's Chopped Salad
Sweet Potato Sticks
New England Clam Chowder
Seafood Crepe
Sweet Potato Strings
Sweet potato fries
Fruit
Crudites
lobster roll
Sole Almondine
Wine
Snapper Simple Grill
Tortilla Soup
Hess Select Cabernet Sauvignon
Lobster tail with risotto
Field Greens Salad
Rack of Lamb
Nantucket Bay Scallops
Lobster Roll (Sandwich)
Nova Scotia Halibut With Celery Root And Apple
Creme Brulee
Ahi Tuna Poke
Lemongrass Grilled Shrimp
Pan Seared Halibut With Risotto
Chilled Strawberry Soup
Cafe Burger And Fries
Live Uni (Sea Urchin)
Halibut With Braised Mushrooms
Roasted Beet Salad
Branzino With Sea Urchin Beurre Monte
Rib Eye Steak Special
Pan Seared Ahi Tuna
Grand Marnier Creme Brulee
Porcini Dusted Halibut
Crusted Seabass

Cafe Pacific Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Dallas - Fort Worth
Seafood
Dallas - Fort Worth
Best Overall
Dallas
3 More
Best Service
Dallas
Best Ambiance
Dallas
Seafood
Dallas
Best Restaurants in Park Cities ›

special occasion (85)
neighborhood gem (67)
romantic (56)
See All
fit for foodies (53)
great for lunch (36)
notable wine list (28)
great for brunch (25)
hot spot (15)
good for groups (9)
great for outdoor dining (4)
scenic view (3)
late-night find (3)
vibrant bar scene (3)
Sort By:
Newest
717 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

I had the filet and shrimp and ended up ...

Dined 5 days ago

I had the filet and shrimp and ended up with food poisoning all week end. There was a table with 6 people behind us totally drunk, and very loud. I can't believe management didn't ask them to leave. We saw the manager laughing with them. All the tables around them kept looking at them hoping they would understand how rude and loud they were. Very disappointed. Won't be back.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Cafe Pacific is our families favorite pl ...

Dined on June 20, 2016

Cafe Pacific is our families favorite place to spend special occasions.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Very friendly Waiter Salad was very good ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Very friendly Waiter Salad was very good and the main dish(Sea Bass) was delicious. The fresh vegies were good that came with the main dish but the amount was small. We look forward to eating at Café Pacific.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Sea Bass was amazing! French fries were ...

vip
Dined on June 19, 2016

Sea Bass was amazing! French fries were superb!

food3
ambience3
service3

Service was lacking. They are so used ...

vip
Dined on June 18, 2016

Service was lacking. They are so used to appealing to the regulars from Highland Park that the menu (desserts included) is boring. Time for an update.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a wonderful time. The staff was ...

vip
Dined on June 11, 2016

We had a wonderful time. The staff was very hospitable and the food was outstanding! We will definitely return.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Food and service couldn't be any better! ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

Food and service couldn't be any better!! They really go out of their way to make your evening special!! Highly recommend it for any kind of special occasion. Also, it's one of the few establishments left that cares to have its staff and patrons dress up for the evening, adding to the ambience and experience.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The Best

vip
Dined on June 9, 2016

After nearly 40 years, probably Dallas-Ft. Worth's best. Food and service.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Love the food and the service

vip
Dined on June 9, 2016

The service is fantastic. The maitre d' was fabulous as was our server, Maria Garcia. 3 of 4 people had the sole almandine and they loved it. I had the simple grill salmon which was great, too. Desserts were wonderful, pecan ball and cookies. Fun people watching if you're interested in an older crowd!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

UP SCALE CLASSIC

Dined on June 6, 2016

Every thing you would expect from a long time dining spot of the 1% of the 1% including the Rolls Royce at the valet stand. Food, service, and libations were all excellent and fairly priced for luxury offerings. Not a very wide selection however.

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Cafe Pacific continues to impress

Dined on May 29, 2016

I took my now wife to Cafe Pacific for our first date a number of years ago. I was living in Tulsa at the time and was one of the few restaurants I knew in Dallas. Fast forward 30 years and we now live in the neighborhood, and amazingly Cafe Pacific is still our go to restaurant for consistantly good, fresh seafood and amazing service. Because of the special meaning we come here every year to celebrate our anniversay. While the menu may not be cutting edge, they have a new chef and he recently updated the menu. We both have a gluten sensitivity and they had no problem accomodating our needs. For a high end restaurant, they have a very reasonable wine list. Clearly not many restaurants have endured as long as Cafe Pacific and they have done it with a great setting, good food, and excellent service and I would highly recommend it to anyone looking for a memorable night out in Dallas.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great restaurant!

Dined on May 28, 2016

Love to visit this restaurant when in Dallas. Elegant,special, great service delicious food. Not too big, not too small.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

A delicious meal in a wonderful setting. ...

vip
Dined on May 26, 2016

A delicious meal in a wonderful setting. Can't wait to go back!

food5
ambience5
service3

Cafe Pacific is one of our favorite plac ...

vip
Dined on May 25, 2016

Cafe Pacific is one of our favorite places. The food is consistently excellent. We think Cafe Pacific has the best seafood in Dallas. For lunch, we had the lobster roll and chopped seafood salad. As always, excellent!! The only complaint we have is while the service was top notch, our waiter could have been a bit more engaged. He was extremely aloof. We have definitely had better waiters on our past visits.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a pleasure! Food and staff equal ...

Dined on May 24, 2016

Always a pleasure! Food and staff equally impressive. It's a "can't miss"!!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fabulous dinner. We had a large party o ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

Fabulous dinner. We had a large party of 9 and everyone cleaned their plate, even the dieting women. Keep doing what you're doing!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Oh the peppercorn steak. Yum! We also ha ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

Oh the peppercorn steak. Yum! We also had the seabass which was terrific as well as the lump crab appetizer and pecan ball. Everything was spot on delicious. Ask for Mark! He's fantastic!

food4
ambience5
service4

We keep coming back, it is very reliable ...

vip
Dined on May 21, 2016

We keep coming back, it is very reliable. Top notch is the Pecan ice cream ball in a mirror of Godiva chocolate sauce.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been patrons of CP for many year ...

Dined on May 19, 2016

We have been patrons of CP for many years. It never disappoints. The service is impecable and the food is excellent. Chef will accomdate variations from the menu. Our favorite waiter is Mark.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Let me just say that I was impressed by ...

vip
Dined on May 18, 2016

Let me just say that I was impressed by the immediate warm welcome at the door and then proceeded to the bar and was greeted by Dave who was very attentive to my empty glass. Dinner was amazing, I had the seabass and it was a nice portion cooked perfect. Walter was our server which gave great service. I will definitely be back!!!!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Cafe Pacific never fails us. We have di ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Cafe Pacific never fails us. We have dined here off and on for 20 years and are always inspired by the consistency of service, menu and food quality. As restaurant owners ourselves, we appreciate revisiting the gold standard to remind us of our goals. We brought our longest tenured FOH staff member and his wife for their anniversary, as he wanted great lamb chops. You did not disappoint. Thanks and see you again.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food1
ambience1
service4
value1

We had a gift card to dine here, and it ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

We had a gift card to dine here, and it was highly recommended by friends. We were stuck in a table right next to the kitchen with waiters bearing down the entire meal. 8oz filet was was lamb my wife ordered medium well was cooked medium, and still hard as a rock. Apple cake desert was tasteless and boring. Waitress was awesome, but food left us wanting our 75 dollar gift card refunded along with the75extra toclear the bill. This is not fine dining, and God forbid chef Ramsey get his hands on them.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was delicious and the ambiance ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

The food was delicious and the ambiance just wonderful. We celebrated our son's graduation and this is an upscale and lovely restaurant with moderate pricing. We were greeted by the host who offered congratulations to our son without us saying a word - I had included it in a note when making the reservation. It was very thoughtful of the host to note this. Our waiter was wonderful and gave us enough time to chat and relax and was very attentive. This is a top drawer restaurant for fine dining and a magnificent experience.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

A neighborhood fixture and one of my fav ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

A neighborhood fixture and one of my favorite Dallas restaurants

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful place to celebrate a special o ...

vip
Dined on May 12, 2016

Wonderful place to celebrate a special occasion orang occasion for that matter

food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Lovely evening

vip
Dined on May 9, 2016

Filet and shrimp were perfect as were the drinks before and the wine with dinner. I love this room in the early evening as the lighting is so nice. Quiet in the early evening but can get loud as the night goes on as it is a relatively small room. If you are coming to Dallas this is a must as it is a favorite of famous locals...you may see someone you know.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

As usual, Café Pacific did not let down! ...

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

As usual, Café Pacific did not let down! Great service from László and table location made Mother's Day celebration special! No matter what the holiday or how busy it is café Pacific always seems to get it done without stress or drama. The pepper fillet continues to be the best steak in Dallas, always get the 12 ounce so I can have a steak sandwich the following day. The thing that makes Café Pacific so great is: eat in the bar and make it your neighborhood joint or dress up in suit or blazer and eat in the beautiful dining room that reminds you of something from San Francisco or New York. Thank you Lazlo for making our dinner so fun

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous!

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

Still good after all these years! I had the special oven-roasted halibut which was outstanding and my husband had the short smoked salmon which was cooked to perfection....medium rare. Great wine choices with good prices and service was outstanding.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Another fabulous experience

Dined on May 4, 2016

The service level here is just without flaw. I so appreciate a professional server that can truly make me feel that he is in on the meal with me. I have now tried the lemon sole, the three onion crusted seabass, the shrimp and grits, the escargot, the caesar salad, and the seafood crepes. Each of them are the best I have ever had. One tip, get out of your jeans. We happened in at lunch and were pretty shabbily dressed. We were seated next to the kitchen door and every time someone came out of it, the door seemed to slam into the wall or some stop behind the spouse. Extremely annoying since the earlier visits had all been wonderful. So, dress for the occasion. If you still get that table, ask to be moved.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service3

We had a reservation at 8:00, but were s ...

vip
Dined on May 1, 2016

We had a reservation at 8:00, but were seated approximately 40 minutes later. The host was very apologetic, however. Our initial service was extremely poor, but the host eventually switched our service and it was superb. We still love this place!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Yes, definitely!

Dined on April 29, 2016

This is a neighborhood gem for sure. Great energy but even better, delicious food. Worth every penny for sure. The service is spot on. Strongly recommend for your dining pleasure.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasions, neighbourhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

A very special consistent place to dine fine food

Dined on April 29, 2016

I've gone to this restaurant many times and each time come away at just how close to perfect it is in ALL aspects food,service,ambience.I feel very special and cared for each time I go an it is alway consistently so...I do however miss the iced cruditate plate they serves but other than that is an oasis in an otherwise unimpressive restaurant scene in this area

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food3
ambience3
service5

This place is old school, but the servic ...

vip
Dined on April 24, 2016

This place is old school, but the service was great and I appreciated the staff's professionalism. Stefan was great. The pecan ball was worth the calories. It had a nut type candy with it that was actually better than the pecan ball itself. I had the migas and they were good. My husband had the oriental chicken salad. He said it tasted of wasabi, a little to spicy for him. The dress code is no flip flops, no shorts-basically slacks and button up shirts and dresses only. You have been warned. Checking this restaurant off my bucket list...

food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Service was fantastic!

vip
Dined on April 24, 2016

The service was fantastic...the servers were attentive and friendly. Went for brunch...food was good, not great. A lot of after church folks. Will have to try for dinner.

Tags: great for brunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Fernando was fabulous!!!!

vip
Dined on April 23, 2016

Fernando was fabulous!!!!

food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Tulsa Friend

Dined on April 21, 2016

This was a perfect place for our family to celebrate my wife's birthday. The service was as good as I have ever had.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service3

Waiter was inattentive which is not norm ...

vip
Dined on April 21, 2016

Waiter was inattentive which is not normal

food5
ambience4
service4

High end restaurant but without the pomp ...

Dined on April 20, 2016

High end restaurant but without the pompousness. Real people, real food. Great personal service. Each item oozes freshness and flavor. At the end of the day, about $50 a person but worth it.

food4
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was excellent!

Dined on April 20, 2016

We went for my husband's birthday. Since I had told them ahead of time, it felt like they gave him special service. I had the sole "piccata" and my husband had the rainbow trout. The fish itself was very good and was prepared well. The sauce over it left a little something to be desired, VERY buttery. I love butter so it worked well but I would want others to know that before ordering. My husband enjoyed his rainbow trout as well. Usually places like this have exorbitant prices; I like that they were very reasonable. We would probably go back here again for another special occasion. They gave us fried iced cream on the house! It was a very good night.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

The fish I had was good, but the coating ...

Dined on April 19, 2016

The fish I had was good, but the coating was almost inedible. The desserts that both of us ordered were not good. We hadn't been back in 2 to 3 years and now we remember why. We expect much more in the quality of food, especially at these price points.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.