About Cafe Pacific

24 Highland Park Village
Dallas, TX 75205
View Larger Map

An institution in Dallas dining for over 31 years, Cafe Pacific embodies sophistication while remaining decidedly unpretentious. Our friendly "neighborhood seafood restaurant" has garnered praise both locally and nationally for its casual elegance. You’ll dine in the warm glow of dark mahogany, rich marble, etched glass and polished brass. The walls are adorned with art from the owner's collection. Cafe Pacific is nestled in Highland Park Village, Dallas' premiere shopping locale, where pampering is the order of the day. From the complimentary valet parking to the outstanding service from our knowledgeable veteran staff, Cafe Pacific offers you sophistication without a hint of snobbery. Proper Dress Required (No T-Shirts, Shorts or Flip Flops.)

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, International

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 2:30pm
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm
Sunday Brunch: 11:00am - 2:30pm

Cross Street:
Preston and Mockingbird

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(214) 526-1170

Website:
http://www.cafepacificdallas.com/

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking and parking in the Highland Park Village Shopping Center.

Executive Chef:
Bill Trevino

Private Party Facilities:
Cafe Pacific is available for private events on Sunday evenings. During the week, semi-private dining is available for groups of up to twenty-six. Whether for business or a special occasion we will create a special menu to cater to your specific needs.

Please contact Mr. Thomas Regan, General Manager, or Mr. Vincent McGrath, Dining Room Manager.

Private Party Contact:
Thomas Regan: (214) 526-1170

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Cafe Pacific Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.8

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

99% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (65)
Good for Anniversaries (63)
Romantic (55)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (55)
Good for a Date (51)
Good for Birthdays (45)
Quiet Conversation (38)
Business Meals (35)
Great for Lunch (33)
Notable Wine List (26)
Great for Brunch (22)
Worth the Drive (20)
People Watching (20)
Fit for Foodies (18)
Sunday Lunch (18)
Cozy (17)
Creative Cuisine (15)
Bar Seating (15)
Pre/post Theatre (14)
Historic (14)
Authentic (12)
Hot Spot (11)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Outstanding Value (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Fun (7)
Seasonal (6)
Good for Groups (6)
Happy Hour (3)
Healthy (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Private Room (2)
Scenic View (2)
Casual (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
917 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined 3 days ago

It has been years since we have been there. It was still great. Sea bass is incredible

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined 3 days ago

Everything was perfect. The food was delicious, service was excellent, the ambiance as always was elegant yet relaxing––one of our favorite restaurants in the Dallas-Fort Worth area.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined 4 days ago

This was a highly recommended restaurant by a friend of mine and it did not fail to deliver. It started by us arriving a bit late. It was a slow Sunday and the host was very accommodating. The appetizer was devine. Lump crab and avocado was absolutely amazing. I could have eaten 7 of these. The main dishes were under seasoned but once the salt was adjusted the salmon and sea bass were both fantastic. Let's not forget about the best part, dessert. The pecan ball was probably one of the best things to cross my lips ever, in the history of ever. As if that wasn't great enough a 12 yr Pappy Van Winkle capped off our evening. Thanks Cafe Pacific we will definitely return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined 4 days ago

Another outstanding meal with fantastic service. We both had salads and my wedge was one of the best salads I've ever tasted. Great wines by the glass! Sea Bass was amazing, as was the pepper steak. I would eat here every night if I could!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Outstanding Value, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined 6 days ago

Another wonderful dining experience here! Everything was perfect and delicious!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 16, 2017

One of our two most favorite restaurants in Dallas.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 14, 2017

This is a lovely place for a quiet, special and delicious meal. We have had the same waiter for years. The food is always superb. We are never disappointed and enjoy going back every time.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Parents were in town

Tags: Authentic, Historic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Had not been to Cafe Pacific in years. It was simply amazing! Staff are all so friendly and helpful.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 9, 2017

CP remains one of or favorite places and never disappoints us

Tags: People Watching, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Romantic, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 9, 2017

I could easily give it 2 stars were it not for namely the great staff...but a generally pleasant experience and evening. This review is primarily centered around the food. For the money, they should seriously re-think some of the dishes they are serving. First, kudos for not gouging customers on their wine list. It is quite reasonably priced. We started off with Oysters Rockefeller, calamari, and crab cake as appetizers. No complaints about the last two, but the oysters were terribly overcooked and/or re-heated. They tasted OK, but were not prepared well. Our main courses consisted of all fish including snapper, salmon, and trout. The fish, as expected, is very fresh. Preparation was again lacking since a few of our dishes were overcooked or under-seasoned. We chose creamed spinach and Parmesan risotto as sides. Both left much to be desired. The spinach was very gloppy, and the cream sauce used reminded me your standard green bean casserole...hardly edible. The risotto tasted hastily prepared and lacked the creaminess one would expect from a correctly prepared dish. For some reason, it also had corn in it, which was unexpected and out of place. It seemed to lack any Parmesan and was also very under-seasoned. Finally, for our deserts, we had the pecan ball, apple crisp, and creme brulee. Pecan ball was excellent. Apple crisp was under-cooked, not seasoned well, and generally devoid of any life. Creme brulee was flavorful and interesting with a hints lavender. The crunchy top could have used a bit more crispness. In summary, if you are an old person whose doctor has instructed you to limit salt intake and have been going to this place since it opened nearly 40 years ago, it might be great for you. Considering it is on D Magazine's top restaurant list, we expected so much more from the food. It is a restaurant in a historic part of Dallas with very appealing old school charm and character. Sadly, the food did not meet expectations compared with the other positives.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value2

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Excellent evening at Café Pacific. Crab meat cocktail is best ever.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on February 5, 2017

The place was packed as always. We had excellent service and good food. We always enjoy our dinners with our good friends there.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Slow service... Had to get up from table to pay the bill

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Old school never loses. Best bar, food and service you can get for a wonderful civilized evening

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 31, 2017

My lunch was very pleasant. I was eating with a friend and we had some serious matters to discuss. The atmosphere was light and pleasing, we were not crowded or rushed. It wasn't too loud nor was it so quiet that we felt that we were disturbing others. I had very nice Shepard's Pie while my friend had a beautiful Dover Sole. We both enjoyed a Squash Soup that was creamy and delightful.

An outstanding outing.

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, People Watching, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 29, 2017

I have been at Cafe Pacific several times and I always have a good time. This place is one of those Gems in Highland Park. It reminds the Ritz Carlton at Central Park in New York City for elegant and ritzy. Love the cozy ambience of this place brings. Let's talk about the food which is exquisite and never fails. I usually order the Crusted Sea Bass and Enjoy every bit of it. I recommend this place, I bet you will be back for more.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Fun, Cozy, Healthy, Historic, Pre/post Theatre, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 25, 2017

Great service and amazing food. You must save room for dessert.

Tags: Historic, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 20, 2017

As always, Cafe Pacific did not fail to impress. From the moment we arrived, each and every staff member was attentive and personal. It's such a fun birthday lunch spot. The lunch specials are tasty and the pecan ball is the best dessert, hands down. Can't wait to be back.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 19, 2017

The food and service was impeccable as always. Cafe Pacific is a classic icon in fine dining in Dallas.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 16, 2017

Great lunch with friends with amazing food and detailed service... we will be back!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Hot Spot, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Cafe Pacific never fails! Always a delight. They make you feel like royalty.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Authentic, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Historic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Cozy, Seasonal, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Jumbo Lump crap meat with avocado creole remoulade that alone worth the drive.

We dined on the Texas red snapper OMG! The brute Blanc butter sauce was awesome.

I had the Gruet-Sparkling New Mexico wine was very good paring for the evening.

Maria gave us great service-perfecto.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Healthy, Cozy, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Consistently great food & service. Our meals were perfectly prepared, we all loved it.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fun, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Has been great for a long time and the last visit did not disappoint. Food is great, ambience is old world and the service is topnotch.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Cafe Pacific never disappoints. Service is professional but friendly. Fish is about the freshest and best you can get in Dallas. One of the few places left in Dallas for an elegant (and festive)white tablecloth lunch or dinner.

Tags: Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Always outstanding.The service is just swell.It's a great place to relax and be waited on.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 11, 2017

Always fantastic....food, service, atmosphere everything!

Tags: People Watching, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 9, 2017

Saki is a wonderful waiter.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Excellent ambiance, food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Flawless experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Such a special restaurant. Great food. Great service.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Cafe Pacific is the best restaurant in Dallas...and that's saying a lot! Dallas has some of the best restaurants in the USA!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Consistently one of the best restaurants in Dallas. Superb food, outstanding service. The one place I will always continue visiting - in particular for those really special ocassions.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 3, 2017

This is one of my all-time favorite restaurants in Dallas, and it's a classic. The food is not as good as it used to be, but it is still excellent. This is a great place to take your wife for an anniversary or birthday.

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on January 1, 2017

A "go to" for any special occasion. Always consistent . Friendly staff with great ambience and food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 30, 2016

I had been there several years ago, and it was as good as I remember. Lovely experience from beginning to end. I will definitely return soon.

Tags: Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Good for a Date, People Watching, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 28, 2016

We live about an hour's drive away, so we don't have the opportunity to visit as often as we'd like, but we go a few times a year -- a must is Christmastime. They have the restaurant decorated beautifully, so that is an extra treat. The atmosphere is at any time of the year though, lovely. Great service and delicious food are consistent. This is one of our very favorite restaurants and we always enjoy ourselves!

Tags: Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 28, 2016

We dined here with friends for the food and the neighborhood holiday decorations. It was all very festive. My seabass was delicious. Others ordered flat iron steak, trout picatta and sole almondine. All were very pleased with their choices. The service was very professional. A wonderful time was had by all.

Tags: Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Happy Hour, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Recently went to Cafe Pacific for a holiday luncheon. It was the first time I had been to the restaurant and loved it so much, I immediately booked a follow up reservation to take my wife and daughter there for lunch. Great local restaurant, highly recommend!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Perfect lunch on patio

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Had reservation, however had to wait 45 minutes for our table

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 23, 2016

great dining.. outstanding service and food. would recommend for any occasion.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Had not been in many years. It has aged well. Beautifully decorated for Christmas, food, especially salmon, was outstanding. Tables are a bit too close together making it difficult for the waiters and servers, but all in all, we will be back.

Tags: People Watching, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 21, 2016

We were having an early family Christmas… And we enjoyed every minute of it!

Tags: Business Meals, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 19, 2016

Excellent evening to celebrate our 34th anniversary. The Christmas lights of Highland Park Village just makes it that much more special! Excellent wine and seafood.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 18, 2016

The food was awesome. We had Boody Mary's, Artichokes and the fish of the day, Mahi Mahi. Everything was wonderful from the service to the food.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Sunday Lunch, Casual, Outstanding Value, Fun, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Excellent as always! The meal, service and atmosphere were wonderful as usual.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Always a good experience .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 14, 2016

Great place. Excellent fish. Dessert was a disappointment. Neighborhood gen.

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.