About Cafe Pacific

24 Highland Park Village
Dallas, TX 75205
View Larger Map

An institution in Dallas dining for over 31 years, Cafe Pacific embodies sophistication while remaining decidedly unpretentious. Our friendly "neighborhood seafood restaurant" has garnered praise both locally and nationally for its casual elegance. You’ll dine in the warm glow of dark mahogany, rich marble, etched glass and polished brass. The walls are adorned with art from the owner's collection. Cafe Pacific is nestled in Highland Park Village, Dallas' premiere shopping locale, where pampering is the order of the day. From the complimentary valet parking to the outstanding service from our knowledgeable veteran staff, Cafe Pacific offers you sophistication without a hint of snobbery. Proper Dress Required (No T-Shirts, Shorts or Flip Flops.)

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, International

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 2:30pm
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm
Sunday Brunch: 11:00am - 2:30pm

Cross Street:
Preston and Mockingbird

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(214) 526-1170

Website:
http://www.cafepacificdallas.com/

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking and parking in the Highland Park Village Shopping Center.

Executive Chef:
Bill Trevino

Private Party Facilities:
Cafe Pacific is available for private events on Sunday evenings. During the week, semi-private dining is available for groups of up to twenty-six. Whether for business or a special occasion we will create a special menu to cater to your specific needs.

Please contact Mr. Thomas Regan, General Manager, or Mr. Vincent McGrath, Dining Room Manager.

Private Party Contact:
Thomas Regan: 2145261170

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Pecan Ball
Huevos rancheros
Chef's Chopped Salad
Sweet Potato Sticks
New England Clam Chowder
Seafood Crepe
Sweet Potato Strings
Sweet potato fries
Fruit
Crudites
lobster roll
Sole Almondine
Wine
Snapper Simple Grill
Tortilla Soup
Hess Select Cabernet Sauvignon
Lobster tail with risotto
Rack of Lamb
Field Greens Salad
Nantucket Bay Scallops
Lobster Roll (Sandwich)
Nova Scotia Halibut With Celery Root And Apple
Creme Brulee
Chilled Strawberry Soup
Lemongrass Grilled Shrimp
Pan Seared Halibut With Risotto
Ahi Tuna Poke
Cafe Burger And Fries
Branzino With Sea Urchin Beurre Monte
Halibut With Braised Mushrooms
Live Uni (Sea Urchin)
Roasted Beet Salad
Rib Eye Steak Special
Grand Marnier Creme Brulee
Pan Seared Ahi Tuna
Porcini Dusted Halibut
Crusted Seabass

Cafe Pacific Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Seafood
Dallas - Fort Worth
Best Overall
Dallas
Seafood
Dallas
Best Restaurants in Park Cities ›

Special Occasion (81)
Neighborhood Gem (61)
Romantic (52)
See All
Fit for Foodies (42)
Great for Lunch (37)
Notable Wine List (25)
Great for Brunch (20)
Hot Spot (15)
Good for Groups (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Scenic View (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Sort By:
Newest
756 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Truly an iconic classic in the Dallas re ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined a day ago

Truly an iconic classic in the Dallas restaurant scene... not to be missed! Great seafood... and awesome steaks for date night! Definitely an older crowd but don't let that deter you! The lump crab cakes are always excellent to start with... my date had and shared the onion crusted sea bass with me... beware it's a huge portion! I shared my peeper crusted filet in cognac sauce with her... augmented our dinners with the twice baked and grilled mushrooms... no way we could finish let alone even consider dessert! It always seems to be a few years before I go back... but over 30 years now is a testament to great service and good food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Everything was excellent, which was not ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined 6 days ago

Everything was excellent, which was not a surprise after several visits. But the outstanding part of the evening was out server, Olivia. She is bright, charming and became a part of our evening without being intrusive at all.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My first impression was that it was wond ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

My first impression was that it was wonderful being back in the 50's again when service, atmosphere, charm, and courtesy was so important to fine dining. We were greeted immediately and our seated promptly and our server introduced himself within two minutes of our seating. Our drinks were served promptly. All items on the menu sounded appealing, but all four in our party stayed with the Restaurant Menu. Our waiter answered all questions and all enjoyed our meal. Most importantly, we all could converse pleasantly without yelling.

This will definitely be a popular spot to visit on a regular basis.

Tags: People Watching, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We loved celebrating our 47th wedding an ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

We loved celebrating our 47th wedding anniversary at this lovely spot. The food was delicious on the "Restaurant Week" menu, our waiter, though a bit harried, was good, and we got a table for 4 just to give us some extra room. The decor is conducive to talking and elegant without being kitschy or over done.

Tags: Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Great for Brunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Came for restaurant week. The portion wa ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Came for restaurant week. The portion was reduced, my BF got the redfish that were quite underseasoned, however the waitress Maria is very friendly and attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

The food, service, and atmosphere was gr ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

The food, service, and atmosphere was great! The construction outside was properly guarded for your guest.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The place had an overwhelming smell of f ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

The place had an overwhelming smell of fish. Almost didn't stay because of the smell.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service4
value1

Wonderful experience, food and service!! ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Wonderful experience, food and service!! Will return

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Lovely restaurant, the only downside the ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Lovely restaurant, the only downside the tables are too close together.

Tags: Happy Hour, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Afternoon Coffee, Authentic, Sunday Lunch, Open Kitchen, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Late-night Find, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Went for restaurant week. Our waiter was ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Went for restaurant week. Our waiter was very good but was clearly being let down by the kitchen. Main course came out lukewarm. Will likely not go back again. Prefer Oceanaire for seafood

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

Food was excellent. Best dirty martini I ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Food was excellent. Best dirty martini I have had in a while, and I am very particular with my martinis. :) Great service. Classy and romantic ambience and a great place for a special occasion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I always love to have my birthday dinner ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

I always love to have my birthday dinner here. Cafe Pacific is superb always. Food, atmosphere and service alike. We also make it a point to have dinner (among other times as well) during the holidays. It's decorated so beautifully. If we lived closer, we would come a lot more often! But it's definitely worth the 45 minute drive. Thank you again for another memorable evening.

Tags: Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Cafe Pacific is not only the best restau ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Cafe Pacific is not only the best restaurant in Dallas but also far, far beyond

!

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Even though the restaurant was full, ser ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Even though the restaurant was full, service was attentive and responsive. Food was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our meal was delicious, and the service ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Our meal was delicious, and the service was impeccable! The menu choices could appeal to just about anyone! We especially appreciated the "celebratory" dessert, as we were celebrating two guests birthdays! Cafe Pacific is our "go to" place for all events worth celebrating! Our sincere thanks to the entire staff.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lunch at Cafe Pacific is a gracious way ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Lunch at Cafe Pacific is a gracious way of living.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The experience was adequate, but I don't ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

The experience was adequate, but I don't think we'll be returning. The food was decent, but not for the prices. The main course of seafood paella came out lukewarm and the meat slightly overcooked. There was a bit of confusion on drinks that were ordered as well, with a sidecar served with ice and a sugar rim which is definitely not traditional and not a great way to enjoy that drink.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

SO special, as always. I can routinely ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

SO special, as always. I can routinely count on the staff and

the food to be stellar. Never disappointing!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best fried calamari ever. so tender, ye ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Best fried calamari ever. so tender, yet perfectly brown and crisp. Wedge salad always good. Onion Crusted Sea Bass very nice. Sole almondine either lacked almonds, or they were ground up as a crust, and very over cooked. Pecan Ball was a favorite as always with the most wonderful almond cookie/candy/butter brittle.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Another delightful evening as usual. The ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Another delightful evening as usual. The food and the people are the best. We go often and will continue to do so.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This restaurant never misses. It is in ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

This restaurant never misses. It is in my opinion the best restaurant in Dallas.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious meal! Would come back in a hea ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Delicious meal! Would come back in a heartbeat for the sea bass!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

A great place for a business lunch. Ups ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

A great place for a business lunch. Upscale in terms of appearance, the presentation and preparation of the food was excellent. Service is always excellent with an attentive staff always available to take care or your needs.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

CP remains our favorite place though we ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

CP remains our favorite place though we do try others but always come back "home"

The lamb chops were superb!

Best in Dallas

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Had a wonderful experience . Food was gr ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

Had a wonderful experience . Food was great . Our waiter was excellent. He was from Greece and was awesome his name was like salvie. Ask for him

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Cafe Pacific is one of our favorite rest ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Cafe Pacific is one of our favorite restaurants. The service was professional but not stuffy. We have never had poor service here and the food is delicious. The sea bass ($42) was excellent and the portions were generous. There were also many entrees that were much less in cost. The salads were standard but at less than $10 I felt a good value. The food and drinks are reasonable for the type of establishment. It is more on the moderate to high end in cost and worth it. I personally also prefer the atmosphere and decor compared to the austere ambiance popular today.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Cafe pacific continues as a wonderful in ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Cafe pacific continues as a wonderful institution in Highland Park Village. With the addition of relatively new items such as a lobster BLT they continue to stay fresh and wonderful . Also best Cobb salad in town!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

There are a number of things to like (fo ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

There are a number of things to like (food, service, wine list, bar) about Café Pacific. The Sea Bass was outstanding. Peter was outstanding. David was great in the bar. The wine was fantastic. I would say that it's best to stick with the fish.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

A Highland Park classic! Been going for ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

A Highland Park classic! Been going for years. Food and service are always outstanding! They make a great Old Fashioned

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

From the greeting through desert. Excell ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

From the greeting through desert. Excellent ! Food quality , plating and service. All very good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

very good and consistent food excellen ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

very good and consistent food excellent service Thank you Mark Excellent Maitre de Thank you Vincent AAA venue in the best location in Dallas We have been customers for 4 years Keep it up! Our best,

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The manager and wait staff were exceptio ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

The manager and wait staff were exceptionally friendly and the food was excellent. We had a wonderful dinner.

Tags: Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Near SMU campus. We had a lovely meal wi ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Near SMU campus. We had a lovely meal with great service. The sole was especially good and not on everyone's menu. Will definitely eat here again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food. Good service. However, I wen ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Great food. Good service. However, I went there with my twin sister. We had presents for each other. Large ones. Couldn't miss it. I even put in Open Table notes that it was our birthday. They never acknowledged a celebration. Never asked. But the table next to us celebrating a birthday....was lauded over. Somewhat insensitive. Same waiter. Guess you have to be regular to get that kind of service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Have been a patron of Café Pacific sever ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Have been a patron of Café Pacific several times before and always had a positive experience both with the food and the service. This time was may have been an exception but none the less it was far from acceptable for a restaurant of this caliber.

My wife and I took our daughter and 3 friends to celebrate her 19th birthday and the waiter immediately seemed in a hurry to move this dining experience along quickly so he could turn this one tabletop into two or wanted to get to the next party where the alcohol portion of the check would be higher? Not sure but all in the party noticed.

Food (12 oz. filets and salmon for all) was just ok and certainly not up to the standards that we had enjoyed previously but being a busy Friday night that happens sometimes I guess.

At CP menu prices it shouldn't but it did.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

Great 38th anniversary evening! Our wai ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Great 38th anniversary evening! Our waiter - Peter Wright (a go-to every time we dine at CP) is awesome ... One of Dallas' best! All dishes (crab & oyster appetizers+sea bass & salmon) fantastic ... Except Caesar salad which was subpar. Overall - excellent! BY

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Updated menu was great. Food and service ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Updated menu was great. Food and service were better than ever. Vincent and Mark are the best. I can't thank them both enough for a great evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great wine selection, outstanding servic ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Great wine selection, outstanding service and best pepper steak ever.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The food, service, and ambience were all ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

The food, service, and ambience were all fantastic. I highly recomend this restaurant

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I had the filet and shrimp and ended up ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

I had the filet and shrimp and ended up with food poisoning all week end.

There was a table with 6 people behind us totally drunk, and very loud.

I can't believe management didn't ask them to leave. We saw the manager laughing with them. All the tables around them kept looking at them hoping they would understand how rude and loud they were.

Very disappointed.

Won't be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.