About Cafe Nell

1987 NW Kearney St
Portland, OR 97209
View Larger Map








Located in the heart of Northwest Portland, Café Nell serves French inspired American classics simply prepared from Northwest ingredients. Entering its fifth year, Café Nell has become known for lively brunches featuring signature cocktails which never fail to impress. A full bar, friendly atmosphere, rotating taps, and a glowing fireplace create a welcoming environment. During summer, our patio seating is perfect for happy hour, or a candle-lit dinner on a warm Portland evening.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, French, Bistro

Hours of Operation:
11 am - 10 pm Monday - Friday
9 am - 10 pm Saturday
9 am - 8 pm Sunday

Cross Street:
NW 20th Ave

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Pay with OpenTable, Visa

Phone Number:
(503) 295-6487

Website:
http://cafenell.com/

Parking Details:
Complimentary parking available in private parking lot. Street parking also available.

Public Transit:
Two block walk from StreetCar at 18th & Lovejoy.

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun 9:00AM - 9:30AM 2:00PM - 2:00PM 2:15PM - 3:00PM 5:00PM - 6:00PM 7:00PM - 8:00PM

Mon - Thu 11:00AM - 11:45AM 5:00PM - 6:00PM 8:30PM - 10:00PM

Fri 5:00PM - 6:00PM 8:30PM - 10:00PM

Sat 9:00AM - 9:45AM 2:00PM - 2:00PM 2:15PM - 3:00PM 5:00PM - 6:00PM 8:30PM - 10:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Cafe Nell Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.2

ambience

4.2

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Portland / Oregon
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Portland
Best Restaurants in NW Portland ›

Creative Cuisine (13)
Fit for Foodies (12)
Neighborhood Gem (12)
See All
Great for Brunch (10)
Fireplace (9)
Happy Hour (8)
Cozy (8)
Casual (8)
Great for Outdoor Dining (7)
Good for a Date (7)
Sunday Lunch (7)
Bar Seating (6)
Great for Lunch (6)
Quiet Conversation (6)
People Watching (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Local Ingredients (5)
Special Occasion (4)
Modern Decor (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Business Meals (3)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Late-night Find (2)
Authentic (2)
Family Style (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Romantic (2)
Healthy (2)
Fun (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Organic (1)
Historic (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Sort By:
S
252 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great food Great service We were made to ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined 4 days ago

Great food

Great service

We were made to feel very special by the owner

Highly recommend this place

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We went to Cafe Nell for brunch mostly t ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined 7 days ago

We went to Cafe Nell for brunch mostly to have their famous Bloody Marys but discovered the food was excellent too. We will definitely return for another meal.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Great for Brunch, Casual, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Wonderful ambiance, intimate, welcoming ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Wonderful ambiance, intimate, welcoming and warm on a wet winter evening.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Fireplace, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Great brunch not super busy nice and re ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Great brunch not super busy nice and relaxing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

We had been to Cafe Nell once before for ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on November 25, 2016

We had been to Cafe Nell once before for Mother's Day - it was super busy but great. This time, a Friday at lunchtime, the food was very good but the service terrible. Our waitress was rude, forgetful, and only showed signs of thawing out when she delivered our bill. She really treated us poorly. It's too bad. The restaurant is a lovely neighborhood find, and the food solid. but why bother if you're going to be treated like that.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value4

Byron was charming. Breakfast was excell ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Byron was charming. Breakfast was excellent, and so was lunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good menu of variety. Loved our lamb en ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Good menu of variety. Loved our lamb entrée and Turkey burger with the trimmings.

Service pleasant and attentive. Nice cozy neighborhood dining. Good desserts, but to full to order one.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Attentive friendly service and good valu ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on November 17, 2016

Attentive friendly service and good value for well prepared and tasty food.

Tags: Healthy, Casual, Modern Decor, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Our waitress was great. She held well un ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Our waitress was great. She held well under pressure on a very busy weekend day.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

The servers were incredibly rude and unh ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 13, 2016

The servers were incredibly rude and unhelpful. Waited 30 minutes for our reserved table. The food wasn't spectacular enough to make up for the poor service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service1
value1

Great NW neighborhood spot, just off the ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Great NW neighborhood spot, just off the busy main streets. Really good food and service, with a bunch of interesting cocktails. Lots of good choices on the menu.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great food, super cute location!

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Great food, super cute location!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

We were so looking forward to trying thi ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on November 6, 2016

We were so looking forward to trying this neighborhood place! It has all the elements of a great spot-- cozy, ambiance, location. The food was disappointing and three items we ordered were not available-- but we weren't told until after we ordered and had been waiting for a while. Very mediocre Caesar salad-- no leafy parts of romaine, only the white stems. Lamb had an off taste. Chicken was well done. Apple crisp had barely cooked apples with what seemed to be barely cooked crisp, dry and sorely lacking butter. Not hot at all though we were told the baking dish was hot! Perhaps this was an off night? We really wanted to love this place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value2

Great service. Food is excellent. Will ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Great service. Food is excellent. Will definitely come back again. Complimentary parking is a welcome change in that neighborhood.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We held a birthday party with 8 people. ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 5, 2016

We held a birthday party with 8 people. We changed our reservation at the last minute from 12 to 8 and they were still more than willing to accommodate us. The server was incredible. She went above and beyond. She treated our children wonderfully, she made a special birthday sign for the guest of honor and was just overall super. The food was great. There was a great mix on the menu of standard fare as well as some out of the ordinary options. Everyone was very happy with their food. I will definitely being going back.

Tags: Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Love the ambiance of this place. The fo ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 3, 2016

Love the ambiance of this place. The food is delicious and the cocktails are delicious!

Tags: Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Had a hard time flagging down server for ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Had a hard time flagging down server for an ice tea refill. Not very attentive. Everything else was great as always!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Date night ambiance is good at Cafe Nell ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Date night ambiance is good at Cafe Nell. You took good care of, We enjoyed the city vibe meets rustic charm of your dinning room. The service is very good, almost great, our waitress was knowledgeable of everything Cafe Nell ( Raquel ) She made everything on the menu sound delicious, and helped us make a choice for the perfect plate. However I my dinner plate was a little boring, the steak with fries and hollandaise sauce, no vegetables, salad,anything green and fresh. I should've got the burger it had a fresh salad with it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5

Had dinner with my sister, who I had not ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Had dinner with my sister, who I had not seen for quite some time. The waitress was attentive but gave us plenty of time to talk and decide about dinner. The dinner menu is limited, but everything is fresh and delicious. We had a really nice evening and never felt rushed. Want to go back and try them for breakfast and lunch sometime soon.

Tags: Business Meals, Authentic, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

For a Monday evening, they were very bus ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on October 25, 2016

For a Monday evening, they were very busy, which is a good sign. The server greeted us warmly and was very helpful to answer our questions. Plus, the overall service was very fast. The cocktails were good to start. We had the mussels and fries as well as a chicken breast dish. Each one was prepared very well, and the sauces were the highlights of each dish. We really had a very good weeknight experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Exceptional food and portion sizes. We s ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Exceptional food and portion sizes. We sat comfortably at a long table that seated 12. The Mary Nell (their Bloody Mary drink) was an appetizer as well! Our server was attentive, very friendly and had a smile on her face the whole time. We went for Sunday brunch at 12:15 with family and were not in a rush (nor rushed) and were done at 2. The noise level was a bit high, as the concrete/tile interior didn't dampen any of the conversations throughout the restaurant. We were so thankful for the parking lot for Cafe Nell, we had no trouble finding spots.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Fun, energetic ambiance with a good brun ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Fun, energetic ambiance with a good brunch menu. The brolini and the bromosa were excellent. Several unique drink options made in house. Wish the fire would have been on; I imagine it adds to the ambiance.

Tags: People Watching, Bar Seating, Fireplace, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

A true neighborhood gem! Always great f ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on October 23, 2016

A true neighborhood gem! Always great food and wonderful service!

Tags: Fireplace, Sunday Lunch, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

There were eight of us, and we absolutel ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 22, 2016

There were eight of us, and we absolutely had a wonderful time. We like this place for the quaint, homespun feel. The waitstaff has always been accommodating and knowledgeable!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

We had a very pleasant lunch accompanied ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 21, 2016

We had a very pleasant lunch accompanied by a marvelous Bloody Mary.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Noise level was way up there, because of ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Noise level was way up there, because of a huge table. Have been before. And it was much quieter.

The drinks are good but 13.00 is too high of a price.

staff and food excellent

Tags: Casual, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I was glad to see they had a parking lot ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 5, 2016

I was glad to see they had a parking lot behind the restaurant because parking in that part of town is usually a challenge. The food was excellent! And our server was attentive and pleasant. I would definitely dine there again. I will and have already recommended Cafe Nell to people I know. I live in Albany, so it's a bit of a drive for me, but I am looking forward to our next visit. So many good menu options to choose from as well.

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Fireplace, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, People Watching, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Romantic, Disabled Access, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Comfort Food, Healthy, Organic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Chicken Paillard was wonderful!

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on September 27, 2016

The Chicken Paillard was wonderful!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Delicious meal and very enjoyable atmosp ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 22, 2016

Delicious meal and very enjoyable atmosphere. The main course was very slow arriving but the waitress comped our drinks because of that - did not have to ask. I so appreciate service that realizes it could be better and does something about it without being asked.

Will definitely go back.

Tags: Family Style, People Watching, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

The food was enjoyable and the service w ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 12, 2016

The food was enjoyable and the service was good and courteous. I like the relaxed environment and the friendly staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Nice menu and really friendly staff. Th ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 9, 2016

Nice menu and really friendly staff. The Owner made the effort to Visit each table and ask how the meal was.

Tags: People Watching, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Cozy, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The length of time we sat before getting ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 5, 2016

The length of time we sat before getting menus, before getting to order, then receiving beverages, receiving food, receiving coffee refills, even just getting the check.... absolutely painful. The food was good, the space was nice. The noise level was very quiet when we arrived, but by the time we left several tables around us were really loud. I've heard wonderful things! Was sad to have this negative experience. I may go back sometime with a smaller group, and sit outside instead.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

Food was disappointing. Very diluted and ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 3, 2016

Food was disappointing. Very diluted and watered down flavors consistently from one dish to the next. Beautiful dining room and very nice ambiance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3

Food and drinks were phenomenal. Bar ser ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 28, 2016

Food and drinks were phenomenal. Bar service was fantastic, table service was a little slow. Seemed to be slightly understaffed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

We loved the space, and the menu had a l ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 28, 2016

We loved the space, and the menu had a lot to choose from. Plus, there wasn't a crazy long line to wait for a table. If it's a nice day, they have great seating outside.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food and cocktails were fantastic, b ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on August 26, 2016

The food and cocktails were fantastic, but we waited a really long time for our entrees. Fortunately, my wife and I had a lot to catch up on, otherwise, it would have been a frustrating experience.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service2
value2

Cozy, comfortable, neighborhood feel ins ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 25, 2016

Cozy, comfortable, neighborhood feel inside and outdoor side walk cafe. Took my adult son and two of his cousins for dinner and the food was delicious, and relatively healthy compared to other Portland restaurants. Everything was fresh and locally sourced, server was friendly and helpful. All in all a very enjoyable experience.

Tags: Authentic, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fireplace, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We will be back. Nice neighborhood feel ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on August 24, 2016

We will be back. Nice neighborhood feel in NW.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

We sat outside and had a great meal. We ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on August 24, 2016

We sat outside and had a great meal. We shared mussels and fries and ceviche among four of us. The mussels were so good one in our party ordered them as her entree. I had the roast chicken and would order it again. We'll definitely go back!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

FABULOUS food and service. A great, quie ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on August 21, 2016

FABULOUS food and service. A great, quiet time at one of Portland's best!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.