About Cafe Monte

Ashley Park Lane Suite 108
Charlotte, NC 28210
View Larger Map

Cafe Monte brings French fare to Charlotte. Classic favorites served all day include quiches and crepes, eggs, waffles, french toast, along with Freshly baked artisan breads, pain du croissants. In the evening enjoy Bistro service and classics like duck confit and trout amandine. This French Bakery and Bistro has a delectable dish for everyone.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
French, American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast and Lunch: Monday - Friday: 9:00am - 3:30pm, Saturday - Sunday: 9:00am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 3:30pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 3:30pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Allen Tate Building at Phillips Place

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(704) 552-1116

Website:
http://cafemonte.net/

Catering:
Sandwiches, Salades, Quiche, Hot Entrees, Breakfast Pastries and Fruit, Great Coffee, Cheese and Charcuterie, Desserts, Breakfast, Lunch or Dinner

Parking Details:
Plenty of Parking any time of day.

Executive Chef:
Justin Mendenhall

Private Party Facilities:
Opening Soon a Private room for 30 guests, separate area, bar and Audio Visual.

Private Party Contact:
Monte Smith: 704-965-2788

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, High Tea, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Cafe Monte Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Value
Charlotte
Great for Lunch
Charlotte
Most Booked
Charlotte
3 More
Best Value
Charlotte
Great for Lunch
Charlotte
Most Booked
Charlotte
Best Restaurants in SouthPark ›

Neighborhood Gem (108)
Fit for Foodies (104)
Great for Brunch (104)
See All
Great for Lunch (100)
Special Occasion (96)
Romantic (64)
Notable Wine List (39)
Good for Groups (38)
Great for Outdoor Dining (21)
Good for a Date (18)
Hot Spot (17)
Authentic (16)
Casual (15)
Good for Anniversaries (13)
Kid-friendly (13)
Creative Cuisine (12)
Sunday Lunch (12)
Good for Birthdays (11)
Vibrant Bar Scene (8)
Late-night Find (8)
Afternoon Coffee (8)
Cozy (7)
Business Meals (7)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Bar Seating (6)
Outstanding Value (6)
Afternoon Tea (6)
Fun (6)
Worth the Drive (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Live Music (5)
People Watching (4)
Comfort Food (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Scenic View (2)
Family Style (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Healthy (2)
Vegan (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Historic (1)
Great Beer (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1626 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great authentic French cuisine! Very pro ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined 13 hours ago

Great authentic French cuisine! Very professional server. One of our favorite places in Charlotte,

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We have eaten here a number of times and ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined 5 days ago

We have eaten here a number of times and have always enjoyed CM.

Very nice meal and "good" service.

One recommendation, when customers want left over food to go "very good" service would be to take the plates to the back and box it for them there rather than having them box it themselves at the table (as you would expect at Dennys for example).

Tags: Great Beer, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Great food, lovely atmosphere and the du ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined 7 days ago

Great food, lovely atmosphere and the duck confit and the short rib was amazing 5*

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Afternoon Tea, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Always consistent food and service. The ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined 7 days ago

Always consistent food and service. The staff is very friendly, knowledgeable and seasoned (most we have seen there for years). Good to go with girlfriends or with significant other. True french bistro.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Afternoon Coffee, Authentic, Great for Brunch, Casual, Sunday Lunch, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Cafe Monte is unique in Charlotte, in te ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on September 23, 2016

Cafe Monte is unique in Charlotte, in terms of the kinds of food available (French and French-influenced food served in a nice but casual and non-fussy environment. Because it is so good, it can also be busy during peak dining times. Use Open Table to reserve your table.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, People Watching, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Invite some girlfriends for a lunch out ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on September 20, 2016

Invite some girlfriends for a lunch out and had an exceptional experience. Jennifer took such good care of us. Several of the ladies had not been here before and fell in love with Cafe Monte's!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had not seen the new decor and I loved ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

I had not seen the new decor and I loved it! I remember the former restaurant location and the vibe of the old was captured in the current. My husband ordered the wrong thing, no one's fault, so he did not enjoy the food as much as I did. The trout was really good. The 5 star however goes to the mussels I ordered. They were fantastic.

I plan to go again for a special dinner.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Romantic, Cozy, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Overall great!

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

Overall great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Great food, service and atmosphere ! W ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

Great food, service and atmosphere !

We really enjoyed the all-you-can-eat mussels & frites on Monday !

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, People Watching, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was excellent. It tasted amazin ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

The food was excellent. It tasted amazing and came out quick. The service was great. Our water, tea and coffee cups never even got close to empty. I definitely recommend this place and will for sure be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very noisy , tables for 2 very very smal ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Very noisy , tables for 2 very very small not confortable. Nice atmosphere , I loved the music .

Too noisy.

please don't serve the kind of stake I had .... Not good at all.

I will go back because I know food can be better than the stake.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value3

Great food, good value, excellent servic ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

Great food, good value, excellent service. Varied menu

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our third time and we've always ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on September 6, 2016

This was our third time and we've always enjoyed our dining experience!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We were pleasantly surprised with our lu ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on September 6, 2016

We were pleasantly surprised with our lunch at Cafe Monte ~ our waiter was excellent!! The food was tasty. We enjoyed the total experience.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We had great service and wonderful good. ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

We had great service and wonderful good.

They were also very accommodating in seating us despite the fact that we were there two hours earlier than our reservation time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Delicious food. The vegetable/wild mushr ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Delicious food. The vegetable/wild mushroom crepes were outstanding. The table also ordered, and devoured, the Quiche Lorraine & a mushroom/vegetable/feta omelette. Service was outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

I truly enjoyed my experience there. Gr ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

I truly enjoyed my experience there. Great food and excellent service.

Tags: Late-night Find, Live Music, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love love love. Please turn down the spe ...

vip
 (Charleston)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Love love love. Please turn down the speakers...front of the house was not soothed by the high volume .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Meal and service

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Meal and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent escargot and mussels.

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

Excellent escargot and mussels.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

we are fairly regular customers at cafe ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

we are fairly regular customers at cafe monte. Today we had french onion soup, quite good, chicken caesar salad, quite good, and quiche loraine, quite good.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great food and service. The menu has som ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 29, 2016

Great food and service. The menu has something for everyone. Nice wine list. They also have a weekly changing house red and house white wine at a reasonable price to have with dinner.

Tags: Cozy, Notable Wine List, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The closest to a real French bistro (wit ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

The closest to a real French bistro (without the attitude) we've found in the region. The owner, Monte, is often present and his attention shows in the quality of the food and the operation of cafe. The food is good as it gets in Charlotte and the service is both attentive and knowledgeable. The bakery selection is small, but the quality is excellent. The only caution is it's easy to get enamored of a single dish (the crab & lobster crepes in my case) and not try the rest of the menu, which is a mistake as nothing we've had has been less than excellent.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Afternoon Tea, Afternoon Coffee, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Authentic, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Outstanding Value, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service, attentive staff and g ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Excellent service, attentive staff and great brunch food

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food in a well appointed setting ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Great food in a well appointed setting Service attentive without smothering . Desserts are outstanding

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My boyfriend loved his burger, and the f ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

My boyfriend loved his burger, and the fries were to die for. I ordered the french toast with berry compote. The topping definitely made the dish. It was delicious but next time I will have to try a crepe or benedict. My coffee with steamed milk was very good. Would recommend it to any coffee-lover as myself.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We went fo brunch and it was delicious. ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

We went fo brunch and it was delicious. We were meeting friends and we were not rushed at all. It was a great experience!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Just a tad noisy , otherwise a wonderful ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Just a tad noisy , otherwise a wonderful evening and the trout was outstanding.

Tags: Casual, Outstanding Value, Neighborhood Gem, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Our weeknight experience at Cafe Monte w ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

Our weeknight experience at Cafe Monte was excellent. The three of us shared the escargots--fabulous. My brother-in-law devoured the Beef Tips Bourguignon with the accompanying vegetables. My sister and I needed boxes for the leftovers from our entrees--the shrimp and artichoke crepes and the chicken with mushroom crepes--but oh, what tasty leftovers!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Great outside dining for a birthday cele ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

Great outside dining for a birthday celebration. The halibut special was excellent! We had a great experience...great food, great service, great menu selection.

Tags: Romantic, Afternoon Tea, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of our favorites!

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

One of our favorites!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Café Monte was great as always. Rachael ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Café Monte was great as always. Rachael was especially good server.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wanted a quiet evening out for dinner. W ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Wanted a quiet evening out for dinner. We both ordered crepes. He, the lobster/crab. Me, the shrimp/artichoke. The sauces were both delicate and delicious. Portions were generous...had enough for the next day! Espresso, a thumbs up, and our shared eclair, a great sweet treat!

Our wait staff was super. Not in our faces, but there when you wanted them. When I forgot my "baggie" on the way out, and our waitress brought to me. <3

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great for brunch with girlfriends. Servi ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Great for brunch with girlfriends. Service is inconsistent sometimes but that is the only quirk. Love the ambience. Cheerful. Casual enough or you can dress up a little and feel like u fit in. One of my favorite brunch spots.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My husband and I were celebrating our be ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

My husband and I were celebrating our belated wedding anniversary (30 years) and it was a lovely experience. From the appetizers, the apple and brie one was to die for and the food was also good. The wine was also a good choice. Needless to say, I would go back every time I could!

Tags: Outstanding Value, Casual, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Made a last-minute reservation to quench ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Made a last-minute reservation to quench a craving for crepes. Server Laura had great timing, checking on us regularly but not enough to be intrusive. Food came out quickly and was very good. Especially enjoyed the live music, as it was loud enough to be heard but soft enough that we still could enjoy normal conversation. Although I've been to this restaurant several times for lunch, this was my first time having an evening meal there and definitely would return.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We have been to Cafe Monte many times fo ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

We have been to Cafe Monte many times for both brunch and dinner. The experience is consistently very good.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

I've been to Cafe Monte' many times, lun ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

I've been to Cafe Monte' many times, lunch and dinner,but never with a coupon. I used a coupon for a bogo this visit and the service was as good if not the best I've had there. This was the first time I booked a birthday celebration dinner through open table with a note that it was for a birthday that they actually noticed my note. Most of my reservations are for groups and generally a celebration of some sort. I had originally booked for 5 but 3 canceled and I had to alter my reservation down to just 2. Seamless and fabulous. Cafe Monte' has become one of my favorites.

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great food selections and excellent serv ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Great food selections and excellent service. Salmon and crepe done perfectly. Wonderful dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Cafe Monte has a wide variety of food ch ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Cafe Monte has a wide variety of food choices which makes it a little more special than other restaurants! The shrimp and artichoke crepes were very yummy!!! Definitely a place to enjoy!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.