About Cafe Monte

Ashley Park Lane Suite 108
Charlotte, NC 28210
View Larger Map

Cafe Monte brings French fare to Charlotte. Classic favorites served all day include quiches and crepes, eggs, waffles, french toast, along with Freshly baked artisan breads, pain du croissants. In the evening enjoy Bistro service and classics like duck confit and trout amandine. This French Bakery and Bistro has a delectable dish for everyone.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
French, American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast and Lunch: Monday - Friday: 9:00am - 3:30pm, Saturday - Sunday: 9:00am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 3:30pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 3:30pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Allen Tate Building at Phillips Place

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(704) 552-1116

Website:
http://cafemonte.net/

Catering:
Sandwiches, Salades, Quiche, Hot Entrees, Breakfast Pastries and Fruit, Great Coffee, Cheese and Charcuterie, Desserts, Breakfast, Lunch or Dinner

Parking Details:
Plenty of Parking any time of day.

Executive Chef:
Justin Mendenhall

Private Party Facilities:
Opening Soon a Private room for 30 guests, separate area, bar and Audio Visual.

Private Party Contact:
Monte Smith: 704-965-2788

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Entertainment, High Tea, Non-Smoking Area, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Cafe Monte Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Value
Charlotte
Great for Lunch
Charlotte
Best Value
Charlotte
1 More
Great for Lunch
Charlotte
Best Restaurants in SouthPark ›

great for brunch (153)
great for lunch (149)
neighborhood gem (148)
See All
fit for foodies (141)
special occasion (109)
romantic (88)
good for groups (69)
notable wine list (52)
great for outdoor dining (39)
hot spot (25)
kid-friendly (25)
late-night find (11)
vibrant bar scene (10)
scenic view (2)
Sort By:
Newest
1484 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great evening

Dined 4 days ago

Was here for Monday night all you can eat mussels! Delish!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Beef short rib sandwich w/petite frites ...

Dined 4 days ago

Beef short rib sandwich w/petite frites ~~the best! Crepe cooked to perfection. We always expect perfection and usually get it. Love Cafe Monte!

food5
ambience5
service5

To be safe it is always better to reserv ...

Dined 5 days ago

To be safe it is always better to reserve, especially on the weekend. The reception sometimes gets overwhelmed, but handle it quite well. The ambiance is pleasant if not a bit noisy. The servers do their job exceedingly well even when crowded. Best of all the food is excellent & quite varied. The best of bistro eating!

food4
ambience4
service5
value3

The chicken and mushroom crepe was excel ...

Dined 6 days ago

The chicken and mushroom crepe was excellent and the portion was larger than expected. Not as big of the fan of the specials - I think they mean special (as in high) prices. Service was excellent!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very great experience yet again. This i ...

Dined 6 days ago

Very great experience yet again. This is the first time I have had dinner at the Café. I usually go for Brunch or Lunch. They had several specials for the evening and I decided to try the Beef Wellington which was perfection and my mom decided to get the Scallop Special which was also very good. The Soup De Jour was She Crab and it was also so good and could have been my meal. If you haven't been here you should definitely give it a try. The only negative is I wish they had a better variety of starters/appetizers as I never order one or see one I like so I went with the soup.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great as always!

Dined 6 days ago

I haven't been disappointed with anything I have eaten here and I have eaten here a lot! My friends and family feel the same way. If calories aren't an issue the lobster crepes are to die for! Enjoy Cafe Monte!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Always a favorite!

Dined 7 days ago

Food is always excellent and service is good. Lobster special was wonderful as were the crab cakes. Can't go wrong with anything on the menu. Made the reservation on Open Table and even though it was very crowded we were seated within minutes of our reservation.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5

Great appetizers. Loved the short rib. L ...

Dined 7 days ago

Great appetizers. Loved the short rib. Love the deserts and wine selection. Great service

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

One of my favorite restaurants....always ...

Dined 7 days ago

One of my favorite restaurants....always completely happy with food, service, etc.....the restaurant I usually take friends for special occasions....

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My favorite spot! Oh la la💋💋

Dined on May 18, 2016

I ABSOLUTELY love this restaurant. It's located in the Southpark area of Charlotte....but whenever I come, I feel like I've left Charlotte and stepped into a quaint bistro in Paris. Lisa, our waitress was absolutely catering and attentive. The ambience is perfect, the food...everything is sublime! Do yourself a favor and go!!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I am in Paris!

Dined on May 18, 2016

I love this place. I always feel like I am dining in Paris. I would recommend this restaurant to anyone who loves French food and ambiance!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

CONSISTENTKY FABULOUS

vip
Dined on May 17, 2016

Love Monte's for all meals although lunch can be a bit noisy and frenetic. But the food is fabulous no matter what you choose.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Love the atmosphere and ambiance, as liv ...

vip
Dined on May 15, 2016

Love the atmosphere and ambiance, as lively as it is!

food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Good but not great

Dined on May 15, 2016

Rated by many as a top place for brunch we were pleased and satisfied but no where near wowed by the selections and the food. As I said good, but not great and not deserving of the top rating.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We went on a Sunday morning for brunch a ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

We went on a Sunday morning for brunch as Cafe Monte had just won Best Brunch in the Best of Charlotte awards. We had breakfast entrees (Parisian omelet, Country breakfast)and they were very good. The coffee was just okay. (Why don't breakfast places invest in better coffee?) I had a cappuccino which was very good. Our kids were disappointed that there was no children's menu, but they liked their eggs and crepes. Overall, very good, but not worth driving past 4 other breakfast places much closer to our house.

Tags: great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service4

I appreciate the gluten free option for ...

vip
Dined on May 15, 2016

I appreciate the gluten free option for waffles!

food5
ambience5
service5

This place has yet to disappoint! The fo ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

This place has yet to disappoint! The food, the service....and the dessert!

food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Had lunch with my wife this past Saturd ...

vip
Dined on May 14, 2016

Had lunch with my wife this past Saturday around 130 pm, still very crowded. Slowly the lunch crowd dissipated. We had a spinach quiche and a short rib baguette. Both were excellent; the short rib has a distinct flavor, if you're into it this sandwich is for you. A cocktail and a glass of wine and we were done. Monte rarely disappoints. Still waiting for Monte II a bit closer to the Blakeney/Indian Land area. We need you!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

fabulous meal

vip
Dined on May 13, 2016

We had dinner there tonight. I had the blackened swordfish that was prepared to perfection. In fact, the blackening is better than most Cajun restaurants in Charlotte. My wife had the penne in pesto cream sauce with chicken. She raved about it and wished she could have taken home what she didn't finish (not easy since we were going to the Charlotte Symphony concert). Paul was a very attentive waiter. The only downside was that the room was starting to get too cold by the time we left (just after 6). Not fun shivering while you enjoy a fine dinner.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I went to Cafe Monte on my birthday (as ...

Dined on May 11, 2016

I went to Cafe Monte on my birthday (as I do every year). The atmosphere is always relaxing, the staff is always attentive, and the food is always exceptional. Our waiter, Sean, was very patient and accommodating with my little boys who did NOT want French food (they opted for pizza, yes, there's a kids' menu!) I had the special, bouillabaisse. The servings for both of our dishes were huge. My boys were able to split one kids' pizza, and I had leftovers to take home. Definitely one of my favorite Charlotte restaurants!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My waiter was awesome when I go I only w ...

Dined on May 9, 2016

My waiter was awesome when I go I only want Shane S.. He is so awesome and I cannot stress that enough. The food was so good. One thing to keep in mind is on the menu the crepes are not crispy so if you order one of those then be prepared for that. The service was super fast the friendliness of the staff was awesome, I enjoyed every second at Cafe Monte with my beautiful date.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Saturday night with music

Dined on May 7, 2016

We went on a Saturday night for a casual dinner with our son and his girlfriend. We were seated right by the music, but it was enjoyable and did not disrupt our conversation. Our server was excellent. She was attentive, helpful, professional and not invasive. We started with cocktails which came out quickly and were excellent. We then had Fondue for the table, again, very good. We had a wide variety of entrees, including Crepes, mussels, a salad and beef. All were served hot and very tasty. I think that it may be my favorite presentation of mussels in Charlotte. The music was a bit "loungy", but the volume was good and the selection of songs was also interesting. We enjoyed the evening and will return.

Tags: great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Mother's Day Treat

Dined on May 7, 2016

I took my wife and her mother to Charlotte and the Mont the day before Mother's Day. It was a great choice. We like French food in general and this was very good in most respects. I am left wondering if Mont wishes to be known primarily for its brunches or also seeks to be an evening dining place as well. It should be able to do both, but we missed the brunch. The food was very good (not great), the service was friendly but not swift. The ambiance was fine, but we were not given a very good table, considering that we had booked in advance. All together it was very pleasurable.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Great night!

Dined on May 7, 2016

We visited Cafe Monte back in March and, while the food was good, we didn't have a great experience with the service. The owner assured us it that was not typical at all and heartily invited us back. Boy, was he right! We decided to come back because no one can expect a place to be "on" every night and this time the staff was perfect and the food awesome. We really enjoyed our second experience and we definitely we will be back. The entire evening was like being transported to a cafe in Europe!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service2

Great food!

Dined on May 6, 2016

Great food!

food5
ambience5
service5

Great service. Great Salmon

Dined on May 4, 2016

Great service. Great Salmon

food4
ambience5
service5

We dined outside-the sun had set and the ...

vip
Dined on April 29, 2016

We dined outside-the sun had set and there was a light breeze so it was just lovely. Our attentive waiter quickly brought our drinks, a perfectly baked baquette and butter and then an excellent French onion soup for my partner. After that, my partner a had a tasty charcuterie and I had a very enjoyable lobster salad. There could have been just a bit more lobster in the salad to make it perfect, but otherwise it was a very enjoyable light meal.

food4
ambience4
service2

Food was good. Ambience is nice. Three ...

Dined on April 29, 2016

Food was good. Ambience is nice. Three of us for dinner. Salmon, Steak, and crepe. Menu has great variety. Location ideal.

food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Always a treat

Dined on April 28, 2016

Excellent lunch spot. Extensive menu. Everything is well prepared. Someone always orders pomme frites. Thank goodness. They are so good here. The salads are crisp and drizzled with just the right touch of dressing. Service is excellent. Wish it was a bit quieter. One guest had a hearing issue and the background noise made it impossible for him to hear our conversation.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Lobster crepes were outstanding along wi ...

Dined on April 26, 2016

Lobster crepes were outstanding along with the service! Feels like your visiting friends.

food5
ambience5
service3
value3

Overall Great -- A Favorite

Dined on April 24, 2016

Great food and atmosphere. Wait staff is hit or miss. Have had awesome service prior, but most recent visit left much to be desired with respect to the waiter's performance. Nevertheless, Cafe Monte is on my go-to short list of favorite spots . Pricing is a little high for what you get, but the food is consistently good. Menu pricing probably reflects location, as I'm sure making the lease every month on this space must cause sleepless nights. Great decor and ambience. It's easy to forget you are in CLT; great European feel. Overall, I'd say go to Cafe Monte...you'll like it!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

a find for south Charlotte

vip
Dined on April 23, 2016

Cafe Monte's location is out of the way, a little hard to locate. But just look for the Whole Foods and then to the left. It's worth the hunt, really good food at more than reasonable prices. We have had exceptional meals there each time we've gone. We will go back. It's a bit of a hidden gem in Charlotte.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Cafe Monte

vip
Dined on April 23, 2016

Cafe Monte is a solid choice. Great French Bistro in a shopping strip center. The Trout is a great dish and the soups are always very good. The pomme frites are spectacular whether with the steak or the mussels. The breakfast is also good. Service is always efficient.

Tags: great for brunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Food,Service & Atmosphere as usual ...

Dined on April 22, 2016

Great Food,Service & Atmosphere as usual !!

food5
ambience5
service5

This was one of the best dining experien ...

Dined on April 21, 2016

This was one of the best dining experiences that I have had since moving to Charlotte. Food was amazing but the service was outstanding. It's not often when we are out and order apps and salads that we are asked if we would like it to be staggered. Gave us plenty of time to enjoy each course and have conversations with one another. Definitely has become my new favorite restaurant. The menu is reasonably priced and the portions are perfect.

food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and ambience. Jennifer G prov ...

Dined on April 19, 2016

Great food and ambience. Jennifer G provided top notch suggestions and truly made the lunch special for us. Bravo!

food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Cafe Monte does not disappoint

Dined on April 15, 2016

As always cafe monte provided a terrific dining experience. The lobster is delicious!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

Always a great meal! Very friendly setvi ...

vip
Dined on April 15, 2016

Always a great meal! Very friendly setvice

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice French Bisto, great location.

Dined on April 13, 2016

Great corner location in a mixed use area that is convenient for brunch, lunch, and dinner. This is true French cuisine that hasn't been Americanized or altered to fit the mainstream routines. The French Onion Soup is true to form, and are the cheese plate, and charcuterie. Highly recommended!

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

The service was fantastic and the food w ...

Dined on April 11, 2016

The service was fantastic and the food was great!

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.