About Cafe Monte

Ashley Park Lane Suite 108
Charlotte, NC 28210
View Larger Map

Cafe Monte brings French fare to Charlotte. Classic favorites served all day include quiches and crepes, eggs, waffles, french toast, along with Freshly baked artisan breads, pain du croissants. In the evening enjoy Bistro service and classics like duck confit and trout amandine. This French Bakery and Bistro has a delectable dish for everyone.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
French, American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast and Lunch: Monday - Friday: 9:00am - 3:30pm, Saturday - Sunday: 9:00am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 3:30pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 3:30pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Allen Tate Building at Phillips Place

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(704) 552-1116

Website:
http://cafemonte.net/

Catering:
Sandwiches, Salades, Quiche, Hot Entrees, Breakfast Pastries and Fruit, Great Coffee, Cheese and Charcuterie, Desserts, Breakfast, Lunch or Dinner

Parking Details:
Plenty of Parking any time of day.

Executive Chef:
Justin Mendenhall

Private Party Facilities:
Opening Soon a Private room for 30 guests, separate area, bar and Audio Visual.

Private Party Contact:
Monte Smith: 704-965-2788

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, High Tea, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Cafe Monte Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Lunch (73)
Good for a Date (72)
Great for Brunch (71)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (67)
Special Occasion (64)
Casual (55)
Creative Cuisine (50)
Fit for Foodies (48)
Good for Anniversaries (47)
Sunday Lunch (44)
Good for Birthdays (44)
Authentic (40)
Business Meals (37)
Cozy (36)
Worth the Drive (33)
Romantic (32)
Afternoon Coffee (28)
Pre/post Theatre (26)
Notable Wine List (25)
Quiet Conversation (23)
Fun (23)
Good for Groups (22)
Bar Seating (22)
Comfort Food (22)
Outstanding Value (20)
Afternoon Tea (16)
Good Vegetarian Options (15)
Live Music (14)
Hot Spot (12)
People Watching (11)
Tasting Menu (9)
Healthy (8)
Local Ingredients (7)
Disabled Access (7)
Happy Hour (6)
Seasonal (6)
Great for Outdoor Dining (6)
Quick Bite (5)
Kid-friendly (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Historic (4)
Family Style (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Tapas (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Vegan (2)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Great Beer (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Scenic View (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Waterfront (1)
Private Room (1)
Sort By:
S
1869 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Hectic Sunday brunch - always hard to fi ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined 2 days ago

Hectic Sunday brunch - always hard to find parking at this spot (valet parking anyone?). As usual, the place was busy with a variety of groups and couples (there is always a birthday or an baby shower in one of the larger tables). We got seated quickly and ordered the large charcuterie- our favorite appetizer Because it is generous and the pate is excellent. Seafood omelette and crab and lobster crepes followed. Both solid but nothing to rave about. This is the third time we get the same server and he is just devoid of any kind of personality or customer engagement, so "efficient" is the best I can do to rate him. Overall, this place is solid.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

We love Cafe Monte & go there at least t ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined 2 days ago

We love Cafe Monte & go there at least twice a month! Fantastic food!! :)

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch, Healthy, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Had nice dinner there on way downtown to ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 2 days ago

Had nice dinner there on way downtown to see a play. Always one of our favorites. Food and service excellent as usual. A real value spot.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The food was great and our server Laura ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 3 days ago

The food was great and our server Laura was excellent, very friendly and personal. The noise level was just a bid too loud for an intimate dinner.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Afternoon Coffee, Outstanding Value, Family Style, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Another very good night at Cafe Monte . ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined 3 days ago

Another very good night at Cafe Monte . . . service was fine, but whatever shortfall they had was made up with the food. It's a great neighborhood gem.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Cafe Monte is Diane's favorite restauran ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 4 days ago

Cafe Monte is Diane's favorite restaurant and we both enjoy dining her. The food was delicious - I had wild mushroom crepes and Diane had pizza. Both were delicious. We shared a bottle of Louis Latour Pinot Noir which was excellent. Paul, our waiter did a wonderful job of watching over us without interfering with our time together. Altogether, a great dinner.

Tags: Romantic, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of many great lunches I have enjoyed ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 5 days ago

One of many great lunches I have enjoyed at Café Monte. Great continental/French vibe and the food is always spot on.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Cozy, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

The service was a bit slow otherwise wou ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 6 days ago

The service was a bit slow otherwise would have been a 5. On the other hand our sever was most helpful. Great value.

Tags: Comfort Food, Family Style, Kid-friendly, Casual, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

It is a favorite place for any family oc ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 7 days ago

It is a favorite place for any family occasion. It is also one of the first choices for lunch with friends..My family from D.C. finds it a special place in Charlotte for good food and they love the ambience of the place. It has a feeling of warmth, exceptional cuisine and exceptional service.

It has all the makings of classy dining in Charlotte.

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is one of Charlotte's best now! I h ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 6, 2017

This is one of Charlotte's best now! I highly recommend this for great dining at a great price.

Tags: Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Private Room, Tapas, Tasting Menu, Historic, Vegan, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Comfort Food, Live Music, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Another outstanding experience! I've rev ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Another outstanding experience! I've reviewed Café Monte so many times, I'm running out of superlatives. So, this time, I'll simply comment on the service. Richie was a pleasure: His service was as professional as he was personable.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Paul always make this visit memorable. ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Paul always make this visit memorable. The service is outstanding but done in a very subtle way so as not to disrupt our conversation. Food is exceptional and I recommend this restaurant to many friends.

Tags: Late-night Find, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Authentic, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Space needs new or improved ventilation ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 4, 2017

Space needs new or improved ventilation system. Clothes need cleaning after each visit.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Fabulous as always!! I had the swordfish ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Fabulous as always!! I had the swordfish and my husband the duck.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The staff was friendly and warm, and the ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 2, 2017

The staff was friendly and warm, and the food was truly wonderful.. the flavors were tremendous and everything was beautifully prepared and presented. I ordered 3 different "Petit Plats" so I could try all of the choices that appealed. I enjoyed every last bite. I want to go back and eat there again today, and tomorrow and the next day...

Tags: Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Just the best. Very cozy and French. We ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Just the best. Very cozy and French. We love it... especially for breakfast.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My visit was great and it was the first ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 1, 2017

My visit was great and it was the first time in a long while that I had eaten steak. The meat was very tender and enjoyable. We will come back again for the dinner selection to compare the food and atmosphere.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We had a reservation. They seated us pr ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We had a reservation. They seated us promptly. Our table was just what we requested. The service was perfect. We got our coffee 5 minutes after sitting. The waiter made an excellent suggestion for a breakfast pastry. We had the Chocolate/almond croissant; the best pastry I ever had. I had the classic eggs Benedict which did not disappoint. My husband the ham and cheese omelet; An excellent choice. I ate his grain toast and jam...yum. My only ding was that the coffee was 5 dollars. The coffee was good and plenty. I thought the environment was pretty. I almost felt I was in Paris? I will go again to try the dinner ítems. We had had a great time.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Afternoon Coffee, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This is my second time at this restauran ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 31, 2016

This is my second time at this restaurant and it did not disappoint - even on New Year's Eve. The blackened swordfish steak was excellent - and was accompanied by roasted fingerling potatoes and asparagus. My husband had the trout amandine, which was served with fingerling potatoes and french green beans. He enjoyed his meal too. And for dessert we split the warm beignets. They were good but not of the same caliber as Cafe Du Monde. Our waitress, Rachel, was very helpful, assisting with our meal choices. We will return!

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

This is where she always wants to go for ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 31, 2016

This is where she always wants to go for her birthday, it is a a great place for date night. The food is always perfect.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We ordered an appetizer and our food was ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We ordered an appetizer and our food was delivered before the appetizer got there so we wound up cancelling the order. The toast was barely toasted and the cappuccino was barely warm. Service was ordinary at best.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

Always a awesome experience and yummy fo ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Always a awesome experience and yummy food...one of our favorite restaurants in town!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Honestly, what stood out was the idea of ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Honestly, what stood out was the idea of a great french meal with excellent service in an incredibly comfortable environment. The ambiance is relaxed and inviting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We celebrated two birthdays. The dinner ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 29, 2016

We celebrated two birthdays. The dinner with dessert was fabulous!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love Lisa! She makes our experience spe ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Love Lisa! She makes our experience special every time!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Both food and service was outstanding. F ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Both food and service was outstanding. Food has a french flair, and highly recommend the escargot and duck. We were celebrating my father's 93rd birthday, and all 3 generations found entrees they enjoyed. Dessert was especially delicious. Service was wonderfully attentive.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Waiter was pleasant but not attentive, n ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Waiter was pleasant but not attentive, no expressions, food was served in a rush manner placed in front of us without a mention of what was presented before us.

Also noted a regular (appears)was addressed and acknowledged by everyone in service seated next table over while we were just assigned as that table.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service1
value3

Enjoyed our dinner and food was very go ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Enjoyed our dinner and food was very good and we had a great waitress. Checked on us through out the Meal. Never rushed, and we recommend this restaurant for lunch or dinner you won't be sorry.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Incredible food, best service! It was Ch ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Incredible food, best service! It was Christmas Eve and we wanted a nice dinner to celebrate. It was perfect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We LOVE this restaurant. The food is alw ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 24, 2016

We LOVE this restaurant. The food is always delicious and the service is wonderful too!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We wanted to take my mother somewhere ni ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 23, 2016

We wanted to take my mother somewhere nice over the holidays without going excessively over budget. Cafe Monte was perfect. The food was an interesting French American style and excellently prepared. Our server was helpful and friendly. The atmosphere is nice, with everyone having individual tables and a fitting decor. We will be returning.

Tags: Special Occasion, Disabled Access, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Slow to get food and over cooked eggs Be ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Slow to get food and over cooked eggs Benedict. I'm sure it was just a bad day. Will try again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2

Service good, food good.

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Service good, food good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Always a favorite! The bartender makes ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 19, 2016

Always a favorite! The bartender makes a perfect bruised martini and all of the staff is knowledgeable and attentive. We had escargot and artichoke appetizers....would have preferred fresh artichokes but was tasty. Beef burgundy was tender and rich in flavor. My companions had the trout and the chicken mushroom crepe and refused to give up a bite!! Thanks

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We utilized a Groupon from Cafe Monte. ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on December 17, 2016

We utilized a Groupon from Cafe Monte. We had an early reservation so there was no waiting. I would not recommend ordering from the specials . We did and both sent back .

Reordered from regular menu and everything was very good .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

We will definitely be back! The food is ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 17, 2016

We will definitely be back! The food is excellent! Must order the beignets! They melt in your mouth. Delicious plain or with the strawberry jam that comes with them.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Cafe Monte maintains its place as my fav ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Cafe Monte maintains its place as my favorite SouthPark spot for breakfast /brunch (Served until 3pm daily). My favorite is the Florentine omelette, but the sausage pizza is also delicious-especially the crust. Service by Javier (always with a smile) was excellent. Wish I lived nearby!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Unfortunately, not our best dining exper ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Unfortunately, not our best dining experience at this restaurant. Food was mediocre . Had to exchange one entree for another.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

The quiche was some of the best I've had ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 16, 2016

The quiche was some of the best I've had, and I really liked the apricot vinaigrette. This was my second visit and won't be my last! Ambience is fun, if a bit noisy.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

One of my favorites - always delicious! ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 15, 2016

One of my favorites - always delicious! The service is outstanding and the atmosphere is upbeat for relatively quiet.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Casual, Open Kitchen, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.