About Cafe Monte

Cafe Monte brings French fare to Charlotte. Classic favorites served all day include quiches and crepes, eggs, waffles, french toast, along with Freshly baked artisan breads, pain du croissants. In the evening enjoy Bistro service and classics like duck confit and trout amandine. This French Bakery and Bistro has a delectable dish for everyone.

Ashley Park Lane Suite 108
Charlotte, NC 28210
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
French, American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast and Lunch: Monday - Friday: 9:00am - 3:30pm, Saturday - Sunday: 9:00am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 3:30pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 3:30pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Allen Tate Building at Phillips Place

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(704) 552-1116

Website:
http://cafemonte.net/

Catering:
Sandwiches, Salades, Quiche, Hot Entrees, Breakfast Pastries and Fruit, Great Coffee, Cheese and Charcuterie, Desserts, Breakfast, Lunch or Dinner

Parking Details:
Plenty of Parking any time of day.

Executive Chef:
Justin Mendenhall

Private Party Facilities:
Opening Soon a Private room for 30 guests, separate area, bar and Audio Visual.

Private Party Contact:
Monte Smith: (704) 965-2788

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, High Tea, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Cafe Monte Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Brunch (79)
Great for Lunch (76)
Good for a Date (72)
See All
Special Occasion (63)
Neighborhood Gem (56)
Casual (56)
Fit for Foodies (54)
Creative Cuisine (51)
Good for Anniversaries (50)
Sunday Lunch (48)
Romantic (46)
Authentic (46)
Good for Birthdays (41)
Cozy (40)
Worth the Drive (34)
Business Meals (29)
Afternoon Coffee (28)
Outstanding Value (26)
Fun (25)
Quiet Conversation (25)
Comfort Food (23)
Notable Wine List (22)
Good for Groups (22)
Pre/post Theatre (22)
Bar Seating (22)
Live Music (16)
Good Vegetarian Options (15)
Afternoon Tea (14)
Hot Spot (11)
People Watching (11)
Tasting Menu (10)
Seasonal (10)
Local Ingredients (8)
Happy Hour (8)
Healthy (8)
Gluten Free Options (7)
Disabled Access (7)
Quick Bite (6)
Kid-friendly (6)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Modern Decor (4)
Family Style (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Tapas (3)
Historic (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Vegan (2)
Organic (2)
Open Kitchen (1)
Scenic View (1)
Private Room (1)
Great Beer (1)
Sort By:
S
1915 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great birthday celebration. Gluten fre ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined a day ago

Great birthday celebration. Gluten free friendly.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Gluten Free Options, Afternoon Coffee, Seasonal, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was excellent and our waitress ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined 4 days ago

The food was excellent and our waitress was very good. However, I made reservations 3 weeks in advance and we still had to wait close to 20 minutes for our table. It was a Wednesday at lunchtime so I don't understand why we had to wait.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great dinner as always at Café Monte! Lo ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 5 days ago

Great dinner as always at Café Monte! Love the steak.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was delicious, service was slow but ...

 
 (New England)·Dined 5 days ago

Food was delicious, service was slow but we hope it was because it was Valentine's Day and the restaurant was full.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Delicious! The Beef Short Rib Baguette l ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 5 days ago

Delicious! The Beef Short Rib Baguette literally melted in my mouth. And the desserts... swoon! A little loud, but still pleasant atmosphere. Friendly, courteous service. (One negative: limited restroom facilities.) Overall a great experience; I'll definitely be going back next time I'm in town.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Have been to Cafe Monte a number of time ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined 5 days ago

Have been to Cafe Monte a number of times. Always excellent . Food and service wonderful. Wish they had a dress code. Shame to be "dining" with people that look like they are going to clean up the yard.

This restaurant is much to nice for "eating"

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The shrimp risotto is outstanding - lots ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined 6 days ago

The shrimp risotto is outstanding - lots of fresh veges in it and nice sized shrimp. The buratta with roasted asparagus, tomatoes, prosciutto and balsamic glaze is divine. The crepes are great, so is the pizza - especially the shrimp, spinach and roasted tomato pizza. Ask for Lisa to be your server - she is very attentive, kind, and eager to please. The french macaroons are a great little sweet bite. I have never been disappointed at Cafe Monte.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Cafe Monte is one of my family's favorit ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Cafe Monte is one of my family's favorite restaurants in Charlotte. The "Parisian cafe" decor is cute, the food is delicious, and the prices are reasonable. I've had numerous family lunches, dates, and special occasions there. On this occasion, my girlfriend and I went for a pre-Valentine's Day brunch and we both loved it.

To expand on my ratings:

Overall - 5 stars - I've never had a bad experience here, and I would (and do!) recommend it to my friends.

Food - 5 stars - Once again, I've never had a dish here I haven't loved. If you're doing brunch, I highly recommend the salmon croissant or one of the quiches.

Service - 3 stars - The service was fine. I had trouble deciding between a 3- and 4-star rating on this one. The service has always been good, just not exceptional. This is the category that I value the least of the five.

Ambiance - 4 stars - The place is adorable. Really feels like you're in an old school cafe. I feel like the style could be tacky if executed poorly, but Cafe Monte does a good job with it.

Value - 4 stars - Surprisingly inexpensive for the quality and quantity of food you get. You can easily get away with paying less the $20 or $25 per person.

Noise Level - Moderate - Lively, but you never have to shout over the background noise to have a conversation.

If you like French food or just want a cute spot for a date, I absolutely recommend Cafe Monte.

Tags: Cozy, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Always have a great meal at Cafe Monte'. ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Always have a great meal at Cafe Monte'. Have been many times and each time it is a great dining experience.

Tags: Fun, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Amazing food and ambiance! The macaroon ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Amazing food and ambiance! The macaroons were great.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food and service were great. Highly rec ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Food and service were great. Highly recommended

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Food was predictably good. My main compl ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Food was predictably good. My main complaint (4 instead of 5 stars) was that I made a reservation about a week in advance and put in the notes that I'd like an outside table, weather permitting. Then I called the day of about 60 min prior to the reservation to confirm the outside seating since the weather was gorgeous. The hostess told me they were not seating outside that day. That would've been helpful to know in advance since I'd indicated it in my notes.

Also the table was not ready at the scheduled time. So I told the hostess to come get me outside when it was ready, which she said she would. 15 min later, no one had come to get us. So we went inside and asked about it. Hostess says "well yes your table has been ready." Uh ok. And they weren't that busy and there were TWO hostesses.

So they could use a little work on the service side.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Amazing service. Delicious fresh food a ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Amazing service. Delicious fresh food and great Ambiance. Cafe Monte is one of our favorite restaurant 👌🏼

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Great for Brunch, Healthy, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

What's Not to Love! Great food and wines ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 9, 2017

What's Not to Love! Great food and wines. Authentic French ambience. Excellent service. Reasonable prices.

Tags: Hot Spot, Live Music, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love to go to Café Monte. The food is ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 6, 2017

We love to go to Café Monte. The food is always delicious and the service good. Lisa, our server last night, could not have been more attentive. If you want to go for Sunday Brunch, make a reservation-always people waiting.

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Always a great spot for Sunday brunch. ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Always a great spot for Sunday brunch. Very tastie bloody Mary's. Wonderful French influence with beignets and crepes at the forefront. Yummy!

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Sunday Lunch, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Pork chop was exceotional, Trout Almondi ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Pork chop was exceotional, Trout Almondine was very very salty

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

Best pomme frites, mussels, and beignets ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Best pomme frites, mussels, and beignets in the Piedmont. Always a great experience, and a lovely meal. It's my favorite spot for lunch.

Tags: Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Sunday Lunch, Business Meals, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Quick Bite, Romantic, Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Only issue was that seemed like staff wa ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Only issue was that seemed like staff was lacking, so it took a while to get coffee/water top ups etc.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Lovely evening

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Lovely evening

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Afternoon Tea, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It's been a while since our last visit. ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 31, 2017

It's been a while since our last visit. We were early for our reservation. We were cordially greeted and told a table would be held for us while we had drinks at the bar. The hostess (a new manager at Cafe Monte) was a real pro. Bar tender and server were pleasant, friendly and efficient. Well trained staff. Our food choices (salmon and chicken salad) were plentiful and delicious. Our food delivery was done rather quickly and served hot. Every aspect of our lunch was excellent from start to finish.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always, the food, service, and ambian ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 30, 2017

As always, the food, service, and ambiance of Cafe Monte were outstanding. I especially appreciate their extensive array of healthy, delicious, gluten-free options.

Tags: Organic, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was delicious and the service w ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 29, 2017

The food was delicious and the service was excellent. It was enjoyable to try foods that I had not had, French cuisine is new to me.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food and service as ALWAYS deliver ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Great food and service as ALWAYS delivered by Monte's

Tags: Great for Lunch, Fun, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

2nd time dining at Café Monte and was as ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 29, 2017

2nd time dining at Café Monte and was as good as the first time. Special occasions for us only because of the travel time but well worth the drive. Excellent food and atmosphere.

Tags: Authentic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The food and decor at Cafe Monte is supe ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 29, 2017

The food and decor at Cafe Monte is superb. The service is excellent particularly when Sean K is your waiter!!! My only complaint is the hostess who is not at all customer oriented. I will always go there when in Charlotte.

Tags: Authentic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Only complaint was a very skimpy pour fo ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Only complaint was a very skimpy pour for the after dinner cordial.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Although Monte's is quite a busy restaur ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Although Monte's is quite a busy restaurant, and the wait staff isn't always on par, the food and ambiance outweigh the obvious.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great quiche Florentine.

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Great quiche Florentine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great experience here!

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Great experience here!

Tags: Fun, Romantic, People Watching, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was delicious and the service w ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 28, 2017

The food was delicious and the service was exceptional. Javier was very attentive and personable. He made excellent food recommendations.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Consistently good food, varied menu, goo ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Consistently good food, varied menu, good service & nice ambiance. . .

Tags: Worth the Drive, Seasonal, Comfort Food, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Lisa was a marvel as she immediately put ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 24, 2017

Lisa was a marvel as she immediately put us at ease and had great suggestions! We enjoyed the Restaurant Week menu - we both started with the fresh beet salad. I had the pan-seared trout with butternut squash and arugula, and my husband had the beef bourguignon for the main course. The eggnog bread pudding and lemon torte were a sublime way to complete the meal.

We finally got to meet the owner, Monte, and let him know that this is one of our favorite restaurants and we drive a long way to dine there - but it is always worth it.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went during Queens Feast they offered bo ...

 
·Dined on January 24, 2017

Went during Queens Feast they offered both the feast and their regular menu.

The food was not rushed and our waitstaff person was knowledgable and very helpful with our selection. We ended closing the place and we were never asked to leave even after the place was closed. I definitely will be back and promise to be more aware of their closing time.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was quite good and beautifully ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 23, 2017

The food was quite good and beautifully presented. The service was excellent. I thought however, the Crooque Madame was on th soggy side and the soup, itself terrific, could have used a bit more of the cheese topping...really enjoyed dining there...

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

No complaints about the meal but it was ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 22, 2017

No complaints about the meal but it was just ok. The live music was nice to hear but tables were a bit close together so a little noisy in the place. We are glad we tried this place but probably would not go back.

Tags: Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Great food coupled with great service ma ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Great food coupled with great service made for a wonderful evening!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

All our food was beautifully prepared a ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 21, 2017

All our food was beautifully prepared and tasted delicious. I always enjoy dining at Cafe Monte and recommend it highly!

Tags: Live Music, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

The regular menu looked awesome as well ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 21, 2017

The regular menu looked awesome as well as reasonable. We plan on returning! Love French cuisine!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We went for breakfast - the Vegetable & ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 21, 2017

We went for breakfast - the Vegetable & Wild Mushroom crepes were outstanding and highly recommended. French toast was delicious but the side of sausage...not so much. Sausage was overcooked (or precooked & reheated?) and very dry. The omelet with bacon, sausage, & swiss (submitted swiss for the brie) was tasty but also overcooked. Service (Javier) was outstanding. This visit was not the best showing for the kitchen - we've had better meals on previous visits and for this reason, we'll eat here again.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.