Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.18mi
  3. Distance: 0.35mi
  4. Distance: 0.38mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.18mi
  3. Distance: 0.35mi
  4. Distance: 0.38mi

About Cafe Monte

Cafe Monte brings French fare to Charlotte. Classic favorites served all day include quiches and crepes, eggs, waffles, french toast, along with Freshly baked artisan breads, pain du croissants. In the evening enjoy Bistro service and classics like duck confit and trout amandine. This French Bakery and Bistro has a delectable dish for everyone.

Ashley Park Lane Suite 108
Charlotte, NC 28210
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
French, American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast and Lunch: Monday - Friday: 9:00am - 3:30pm, Saturday - Sunday: 9:00am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 3:30pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 3:30pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Allen Tate Building at Phillips Place

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(704) 552-1116

Website:
http://cafemonte.net/

Catering:
Sandwiches, Salades, Quiche, Hot Entrees, Breakfast Pastries and Fruit, Great Coffee, Cheese and Charcuterie, Desserts, Breakfast, Lunch or Dinner

Parking Details:
Plenty of Parking any time of day.

Executive Chef:
Justin Mendenhall

Private Party Facilities:
Opening Soon a Private room for 30 guests, separate area, bar and Audio Visual.

Private Party Contact:
Monte Smith: (704) 965-2788

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, High Tea, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Cafe Monte Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Brunch (89)
Great for Lunch (78)
Good for a Date (70)
See All
Fit for Foodies (66)
Special Occasion (65)
Neighborhood Gem (62)
Casual (61)
Good for Anniversaries (58)
Authentic (57)
Creative Cuisine (57)
Sunday Lunch (57)
Good for Birthdays (51)
Romantic (48)
Cozy (41)
Fun (34)
Worth the Drive (34)
Comfort Food (33)
Afternoon Coffee (32)
Business Meals (32)
Bar Seating (30)
Good for Groups (29)
Quiet Conversation (29)
Notable Wine List (28)
Outstanding Value (27)
Pre/post Theatre (21)
Live Music (21)
People Watching (17)
Healthy (17)
Afternoon Tea (14)
Seasonal (13)
Good Vegetarian Options (13)
Kid-friendly (12)
Great for Outdoor Dining (12)
Hot Spot (12)
Gluten Free Options (11)
Local Ingredients (10)
Family Style (8)
Quick Bite (7)
Tasting Menu (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Happy Hour (6)
Disabled Access (5)
Modern Decor (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Molecular Gastronomy (4)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Historic (4)
Great Beer (4)
Tapas (3)
Vegan (2)
Private Room (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Organic (2)
Fireplace (1)
Sort By:
S
1974 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 2 days ago

Lovely and food was very good. Brunch on a Monday were else can you get that... Great idea. service was really friendly and helpful. reasonable the whole package highly recommend

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 3 days ago

I loved the food and the service. It was perfect for brunch on a Sunday afternoon.

Tags: Seasonal, Family Style, Worth the Drive, Fireplace, Bar Seating, Private Room, Open Kitchen, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Good for a Date, Historic, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Cozy, Comfort Food, Business Meals, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Afternoon Coffee, Notable Wine List, People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Romantic, Fun, Kid-friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 4 days ago

Great service. Food was very flavorful and hot. Many restaurants serve food that is lukewarm...not Monte's! Blackened swordfish with spinach, tomato's and fingerling potatos sliced into 50 cent sized pieces. Good crowd, not pretensious. Plus a hot date makes it even better!

Tags: Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 4 days ago

Parking is inadequate. Beautiful place and great service. Eggs Benedict were cold and not cooked right.

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Quick Bite, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined 6 days ago

always love this place. Great food and service . I highly recommend it

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 7 days ago

Lovely spot to take our first-time visitors. Celebrated a birthday with a great bottle of wine and delicious meals. Yes!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Seasonal, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 7 days ago

Great food and service! This was nice ambience for our regular group of 6. We'll be back!!

Tags: Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 21, 2017

We ate outside which is a delight. No noise except from cars driving by.
Food, service always wonderful.

Tags: People Watching, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 20, 2017

My wife and I discovered this place with a Groupon and decided to take a chance. It turned out to be fantastic. We had great service and the food was very well done. In fact, best trout I've ever had. We will be back!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Cozy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 19, 2017

We visited Café Monte for brunch on Sunday. The Smoked Salmon and the Crepes were outstanding. The menu' is French in nature and authentic. Our server was very attentive and friendly. The experience was very much as we had in Paris. Highly recommended.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch, Afternoon Coffee, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on March 19, 2017

I was treating my best friend to a nice dinner for her birthday, and chose Cafe Monte based on reviews I read on line. We were not disappointed! Every course was delicious, and the service was exceptional. We had a great time and look forward to eating there again on our next visit to Charlotte!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Modern Decor, Live Music, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 19, 2017

The food below expextation. Waiter seemed ditracted and rushed. Did check how we are doing and did not refill the water until we called him. The music wsd nice

Tags: Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Great food. Awesome service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 17, 2017

I had the lobster special & it was FANTASTIC!! Such a great value!! We eat at Cafe Monte about 3 times a month or more! The service is always excellent & the food delicious. We're glad we live close by!!

Tags: Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Great French gem in Southpark. From Salmon to soup all good. Warm French bread kills my diet, but is a must.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 17, 2017

helpful staff, clean, nice menu, very good food, parking is a bit of a pain, looking forward to going again

Tags: Fun, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Delicious veggie crepes. And the soup du jour - mushroom. My friend asked for just the pate from the appetizer that included more. No problem. Service is always attentive, prompt and cheerful.

Tags: Business Meals, People Watching, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Afternoon Coffee, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 15, 2017

I had not been to Cafe Monte in a long time. Our meal was so marvelous that now we will go there often. It was obvious that high quality ingredients were used to prepare our items as the taste was amazing! The scallops were cooked perfect which does not always happen when getting scallops at a restaurant. The risotto was fabulous and our overall experience was wonderful! Thumbs up to this restaurant and its chef!

Tags: Casual, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 15, 2017

My server, Caroline Parker, did an outstanding job of meeting our needs at our business dinner this week. The food was very good, the service was excellent, the pre-dinner cocktails were excellent and I would definitely recommend Café Monte to others.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 13, 2017

We visit Cafe Monte several times a year and tend to repeat menu selections. We like the chicken club with Caesar side salad or shoestring fries which are good only while hot. They were out of French onion soup so that was a disappointment and it took a while to get our sandwiches,

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on March 13, 2017

Our first time here and it was exactly what I wanted to celebrate my birthday with my husband. The service was impeccable and the food was absolutely delicious. Brie appetizer, short rib baguette and beignets for dessert. Scrumptious! We will definitely return with the kids bc of everything. Thank you!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 13, 2017

We were disappointed that the quiche was sold out at 12:15 on a Monday.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Food as always was stellar. Our waiter was overwhelmed by a large party nearby. He was slow on refills, forgot our leftovers, brought our dessert without utensils, overall he had more to do than he could handle.

Tags: Live Music, Modern Decor, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Cafe Monte is one of my favorite places for brunch (dinner also). I took my friend and she loved it. This time I tried the omelette and it was outstanding. My husband and I usually get the same thing, me-short rib
Sandwich with frites, him - lobster and crab crepe.
This time I had an omelet and a takeout of the short rob sandwich for my husband.
It was great even on the rehear. You can never go wrong at Cafe Monte. I just love it!!!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Afternoon Tea, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Outstanding Value, Good for a Date, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 10, 2017

The food and service were both excellent. I cannot resist the salmon.

Tags: Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Great food, nice ambience and excellent service. Our "go to" restaurant for all occasions.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 10, 2017

This is one of my favorite places in Charlotte. It is very relaxed, and reminds you of if you had traveled to Paris for dinner. Make a reservation, though. It gets packed quickly.

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Romantic, Fun, Quiet Conversation, Kid-friendly, Casual, Live Music, Cozy, Afternoon Tea, Healthy, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List, Outstanding Value, Comfort Food, Happy Hour, People Watching, Bar Seating, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 10, 2017

We love Cafe Monte great food & service. We live out of town, and arrange our trips through Charlotte to eat here.

Tags: Family Style, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Shirley and I will bring our sons with us next time (they are both in the 45-55 age range.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 9, 2017

This is a wonderful French brassiere & so glad to have them in Charlotte. My elderly mother & I had a very pleasant lunch here after a doctors appt. She has breakfast food & simply loved it. I had an ahi tuna Niçoise salad that was wonderful & a cappuccino. It was a beautiful day & we decided to eat outside. Highly recommend for something a little different & upscale.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 8, 2017

I lunch often at Cafe Monte, usually for the mussels or the chicken salad croissant, and always for the pomme frittes. Javier is usually our server, and he always excels.

Tags: Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Fun, Authentic, Cozy, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 7, 2017

The food was delicious. The staff was very helpful and friendly. The accommodations were very nice. I would definitely recommend Cafe Monte to others.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Healthy, Fun, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 5, 2017

This was one of the best brunches we have ever had. The shrimp and artichoke crepes were to die for! Very highly recommended.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 5, 2017

It was great felt like I was transported back to Paris

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Cafe Monte never disappoints for Sunday brunch. Since we usually have my 91 year old mom with us, we need a patient server - and Paul certainly delivers patience and good service in abundance. A couple of new menu items were available since our last visit, and I tried the Brussels Sprouts Pizza (sans bacon), and it was excellent.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Consistent excellent service and croissants fresh from the oven each morning make this a must for brunch or all day great dining!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Been for lunch and dinner multiple times. They have an excellent brunch menu and a good variety for dinner options. Love their coffee!

Tags: Family Style, Fit for Foodies, Gluten Free Options, Seasonal, Afternoon Coffee, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Outdoor Dining, Live Music, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Great for Brunch, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 4, 2017

We've been to Cafe Monte several times and have never been disappointed with the food. The menu is varied, focussed mainly on French bistro classics. Fresh, good quality ingredients, well-prepared.

Tags: Bar Seating, Live Music, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 4, 2017

We got our requested quiet table at a corner so the 5 month old baby wouldn't disturb other guests. Service & food was good as usual which is why I felt that bringing 8 people to Cafe Monte we wouldn't be disappointed . All enjoyed with no problem with baby or other guests.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Who knew you would need a reservation for lunch on Saturday? Glad I made one as there was a continuous line waiting. The service and atmosphere were wonderful. The selection of food was enormous. The quality of the food was perfect. Enjoyed every moment of it!

Tags: Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.