About Cafe Monte

Ashley Park Lane Suite 108
Charlotte, NC 28210
View Larger Map

Cafe Monte brings French fare to Charlotte. Classic favorites served all day include quiches and crepes, eggs, waffles, french toast, along with Freshly baked artisan breads, pain du croissants. In the evening enjoy Bistro service and classics like duck confit and trout amandine. This French Bakery and Bistro has a delectable dish for everyone.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
French, American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast and Lunch: Monday - Friday: 9:00am - 3:30pm, Saturday - Sunday: 9:00am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 3:30pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 3:30pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Allen Tate Building at Phillips Place

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(704) 552-1116

Website:
http://cafemonte.net/

Catering:
Sandwiches, Salades, Quiche, Hot Entrees, Breakfast Pastries and Fruit, Great Coffee, Cheese and Charcuterie, Desserts, Breakfast, Lunch or Dinner

Parking Details:
Plenty of Parking any time of day.

Executive Chef:
Justin Mendenhall

Private Party Facilities:
Opening Soon a Private room for 30 guests, separate area, bar and Audio Visual.

Private Party Contact:
Monte Smith: 704-965-2788

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, High Tea, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Cafe Monte Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Value
Charlotte
Best Value
Charlotte
Most Booked
Charlotte
Best Restaurants in SouthPark ›

Neighborhood Gem (78)
Great for Brunch (74)
Great for Lunch (71)
See All
Special Occasion (63)
Good for a Date (56)
Fit for Foodies (51)
Casual (45)
Good for Birthdays (38)
Good for Anniversaries (38)
Creative Cuisine (37)
Sunday Lunch (36)
Romantic (34)
Authentic (34)
Business Meals (29)
Cozy (27)
Worth the Drive (23)
Afternoon Coffee (22)
Pre/post Theatre (21)
Notable Wine List (21)
Good for Groups (18)
Fun (18)
Quiet Conversation (16)
Live Music (16)
Hot Spot (15)
Outstanding Value (15)
Afternoon Tea (14)
Bar Seating (14)
Comfort Food (12)
Great for Outdoor Dining (10)
Good Vegetarian Options (9)
People Watching (8)
Healthy (6)
Tasting Menu (6)
Quick Bite (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Kid-friendly (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Local Ingredients (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Disabled Access (3)
Family Style (3)
Scenic View (2)
Historic (2)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Great Beer (1)
Waterfront (1)
Vegan (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Seasonal (1)
Sort By:
S
1707 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Very fresh and flavorful. Ordered the F ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined a day ago

Very fresh and flavorful. Ordered the Florentine omelette, which came with fresh fruit, a wonderful, perfectly crispy potato cake and just as perfectly crispy and delicious toast with jam and butter on the side. It was fantastic in every way. Bravo.

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Great for Brunch, Cozy, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Two of my co-workers and I had lunch wit ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 2 days ago

Two of my co-workers and I had lunch with an ex co-worker who loves dining at Café Monte. Two of us had never been there and we work next door to the restaurant. Nonetheless, everyone enjoyed their meal and the atmosphere.

I purchased the Caesar salad with chicken. The dressing did not have enough flavor for me but it was still ok. The bread was delicious along with the chocolate croissant. Everyone seemed to have enjoyed their brunch or lunch.

I look forward to dining there again with a different selection.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value5

Always consistent....great service and w ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

Always consistent....great service and wonderful food! Whenever I have people from out of town I bring them to Café Monte. (makes me look good.....)

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Business Meals, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and experience at Café Monte wa ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 3 days ago

The food and experience at Café Monte was superb, as always! I had salmon and my husband had beef short ribs, both of which were outstanding. For dessert, we had the Tuxedo Cake which was one of the best desserts I've ever eaten. It needs to be on the menu permanently. The service by Lisa was excellent, very attentive and helpful, not intrusive. We love the atmosphere, service and food at Café Monte - it never disappoints!

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Outstanding Value, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Good for a Date, Fun, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent , friendly service & excellent ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined 5 days ago

Excellent , friendly service & excellent short rib!!! Desserts were wonderful - best beignets in Charlotte!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Lovely, yet slow service. Food was medio ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined 5 days ago

Lovely, yet slow service. Food was mediocre for a French bistro.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Family in town meal and service was exce ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 6 days ago

Family in town meal and service was excellent. Paul was are server. He is wonderful.

Tags: Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Outstanding Value, Comfort Food, Business Meals, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good service, Excellent food, Great atmo ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Good service, Excellent food, Great atmosphere,Good music and

good time with friends... We enjoyed the lobster & crab crepe and the chicken/mushroom crepe.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Afternoon Tea, Special Occasion, Fun, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome as always👍 Service , food and ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Awesome as always👍 Service , food and ambiance all excellent

Tags: Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This time was noisy due to the number of ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 20, 2016

This time was noisy due to the number of people dining. The food was excellent as it was our brunch not lunch.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Great waiter and food!! Always love Cafe ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Great waiter and food!! Always love Cafe Monte

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Usually a favorite of ours. On this last ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Usually a favorite of ours. On this last visit the service was not good to say the least. We eat regularly- usually once/week at this restaurant. On this occasion we waited more than 20 minutes for our table despite making a reservation. The table we were given was right next to the kitchen entrance and near 3 computer stations. This location should not be used for any guest table at the restaurant. In addition, our waiter was frazzled and inattentive. On more than one occasion we needed to ask him to please take our drink order. This after we were told we were getting a "free" appetizer which no one at the table wanted. Very disappointed overall

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value2

Always great service and food. Looking ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Always great service and food. Looking forward to our next meal there.

Tags: Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Afternoon Coffee, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Casual, Sunday Lunch, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Cafe Monte is a long-standing favorite. ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Cafe Monte is a long-standing favorite. A lovely bistro which could be in Paris with a wonderful menu never fails to please! Great breakfast/brunch menu with authentic French pastries, and pleasing and varied menus for lunch and dinner. Monte, the owner, is a gracious host, and the staff is friendly and well-informed. Best pomme frites in town!

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Casual, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Authentic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved the restaurant itself . The servic ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Loved the restaurant itself . The service could've been a little more friendlier . They also could've ask how we were doing more often . All in all an ok experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value4

The pizza was average and dough under co ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 19, 2016

The pizza was average and dough under cooked. Not a great place to order pizza. Husaband had trout and that was very good. Best for lunch.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

On the small and noisy side. Feels a bi ...

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 19, 2016

On the small and noisy side. Feels a bit cramped. Check the menu before you go. Food and service is OK. Try to get a booth

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Cafe Monte is an energetic, boisterous r ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Cafe Monte is an energetic, boisterous restaurant that offers an attractive variety of menu items in a bistro-type setting. The service was friendly and efficient. parking is a headache, perhaps because of the construction going on in the parking lot; I walked about four blocks after finding a place to park!

Tags: Fun, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

My Daughter took me for my birthday, It ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 15, 2016

My Daughter took me for my birthday, It was wonderful food was delicious and service was superb. I will be going there again.

Tags: Romantic, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went to Cafe Monte on a Monday evenin ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 14, 2016

We went to Cafe Monte on a Monday evening for all-you-can-eat Mussels, they are absolutely fabulous!! We have also been for lunch on several occasions and have been pleasantly surprised every time (believe or not, one of the best burgers I have had in Charlotte!). We will be visiting again soon😊

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful Service, lovely ambiance. Our ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Wonderful Service, lovely ambiance. Our server was delightful efficient woman. We got to meet Kara, the manager who is an absolute delight and made us feel special.

Thanks to all.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Phenomenal food made with high quality i ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Phenomenal food made with high quality ingredients and impeccable flavor. Service is outstanding, and the live jazz music at dinner is absolutely lovely. One of my all time favorite restaurants for an overall perfect dining experience.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Live Music, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went in specifically for the Beef Wellin ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Went in specifically for the Beef Wellington special. Have been looking for a place that serves it for quite some time so lots of anticipation and excitement built up. Cafe Monte did not disappoint. It was a fantastic dish and service was top notch. Entire experience memorable; the chef and staff made it clear that they care about their customers' experience.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Live Music, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Kid-friendly, Good Vegetarian Options, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, People Watching, Pre/post Theatre, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Afternoon Coffee, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First visit to CM because we were intere ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 12, 2016

First visit to CM because we were interested in a French bistro while visiting Charlotte. Quite simply, she ordered the special Beef Wellington, I asked for the beef short ribs bourguignon, and with good bootleg of wine, we thoroughly enjoyed the early evening. Kudos to the chef and staff; we got what we hoped for!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great service and great food as always!

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Great service and great food as always!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful food,great service,could not a ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Wonderful food,great service,could not ask for more.Love this place.Just needs a better setting.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Excellent food and wine. Quiet ambiance. ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Excellent food and wine. Quiet ambiance. Nice clients.

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Afternoon Coffee, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Modern Decor, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Authentic, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fernando always treats me right. One of ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 9, 2016

Fernando always treats me right. One of my favorite spots in the city.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Went on a Monday for mussels night and t ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 8, 2016

Went on a Monday for mussels night and to celebrate a friends birthday and we had a blast! Food was great, David, our waiter was awesome and we closed the place down!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Live Music, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Cafe Monte never disappoints. Consistent ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Cafe Monte never disappoints. Consistently good food at reasonable prices

Tags: Good for a Date, Outstanding Value, Bar Seating, Casual, Live Music, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Service at Cafe Monte is always impeccab ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Service at Cafe Monte is always impeccable and food until this last visit always tasty and appealing presented. I was looking forward by the menu description to Steak & Eggs; but, nothing on the plate looked that appetizing and was unfortunately not very good and definitely not as described. Because this was not my normal experience at this restaurant, I would give it another chance BUT not order that item. My friend had an Omelet which she thought was good but potato cake very bland and neither of us understood having cranberry sauce on our dishes.

Tags: Casual, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Afternoon Tea, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value3

Crepes were disappointing, soggy and bur ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Crepes were disappointing, soggy and burned. Filling was good, lemon tart was good. If I go back would try some of the other items, mussels or steak frites.Have been there before for lunch, great lobster salad.

Tags: Romantic, Casual, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

Excellent french bistro in Charlotte. Fo ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 3, 2016

Excellent french bistro in Charlotte. Food is very consistent. One of the best in Charlotte.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

This has been a favorite spot for some t ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 2, 2016

This has been a favorite spot for some time. I especially recommend the blackened swordfish, as good as any you'll find in New Orleans. A minus is that it can get a bit noisy especially now that they have live music (which I don't care for).

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Wonderful meal and service!

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 1, 2016

Wonderful meal and service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Unfortunately we were seated near a 6-8 ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Unfortunately we were seated near a 6-8 group of young ladies sharing and drinking - they were a bit loud.

It made it a bit difficult to hear or talk .

My wife ordered the crab and lobster crepe.. Delicious until.. There were a couple small pieces of shell and her tongue became burnt when she placed a piece of very, very hot tomato in her mouth.

We loved, loved, loved the pastries we took home!

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Good restaurant, pleasant area, very goo ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Good restaurant, pleasant area, very good service. Food taste like home cook food.

Tags: Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Family Style, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of our favorites. The omelettes are ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on October 29, 2016

One of our favorites. The omelettes are great. Recommend making a reservation. Prices are moderate and a good value for both menu and wine.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Afternoon Tea, Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Afternoon Coffee, Great for Lunch, Authentic, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Café Monte was absolutely outstanding! ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Café Monte was absolutely outstanding! The food was incredible, service was attentive, and the atmosphere made for a perfect date night. To top it off, the duo providing the live music were excellent and really enhanced the experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Live Music, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Javier was most charming and efficient. ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Javier was most charming and efficient. My daughter and I were totally surprised that some stranger paid for our meals. We found this out when the tab was presented. That was a first !

Tags: Casual, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.