Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.18mi
  3. Distance: 0.35mi
  4. Distance: 0.38mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.18mi
  3. Distance: 0.35mi
  4. Distance: 0.38mi

About Cafe Monte

Cafe Monte brings French fare to Charlotte. Classic favorites served all day include quiches and crepes, eggs, waffles, french toast, along with Freshly baked artisan breads, pain du croissants. In the evening enjoy Bistro service and classics like duck confit and trout amandine. This French Bakery and Bistro has a delectable dish for everyone.

Ashley Park Lane Suite 108
Charlotte, NC 28210
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
French, American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast and Lunch: Monday - Friday: 9:00am - 3:30pm, Saturday - Sunday: 9:00am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 3:30pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 3:30pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Allen Tate Building at Phillips Place

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(704) 552-1116

Website:
http://cafemonte.net/

Catering:
Sandwiches, Salades, Quiche, Hot Entrees, Breakfast Pastries and Fruit, Great Coffee, Cheese and Charcuterie, Desserts, Breakfast, Lunch or Dinner

Parking Details:
Plenty of Parking any time of day.

Executive Chef:
Justin Mendenhall

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, High Tea, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Cafe Monte Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Brunch (78)
Good for a Date (77)
Neighborhood Gem (74)
See All
Great for Lunch (66)
Sunday Lunch (60)
Special Occasion (60)
Casual (59)
Good for Anniversaries (58)
Authentic (53)
Good for Birthdays (51)
Fit for Foodies (44)
Creative Cuisine (43)
Romantic (42)
Cozy (36)
Bar Seating (33)
Worth the Drive (33)
Fun (30)
Quiet Conversation (26)
Business Meals (25)
Comfort Food (25)
Great for Outdoor Dining (25)
Good for Groups (24)
Afternoon Coffee (22)
Live Music (22)
Notable Wine List (21)
Pre/post Theatre (16)
Handcrafted Cocktails (13)
Good Vegetarian Options (12)
People Watching (11)
Afternoon Tea (10)
Local Ingredients (10)
Hot Spot (9)
Quick Bite (6)
Happy Hour (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Disabled Access (4)
Tapas (4)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Great Beer (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Seasonal (3)
Organic (2)
Vegan (2)
Spicy (1)
Sort By:
S
2232 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 2 days ago

Food is always outstanding along with the service. Great for date night or dinners with others.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined 2 days ago

Cafe Monte is consistently an excellent value. The food is delicious and I look forward to Saturday evenings when I can have the Beef Wellington. My wife and I went there on our first date and it's our annual anniversary night out for us. Highly recommended.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 3 days ago

Perfect! Best bread, wine, soup, special (Asian salmon) & ambiance for a casual date night out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 3 days ago

We were there for our granddaughter's birthday. Laura served us and did a wonderful job - she remembered her name, brought a macaroon with a candle when we finished our meal, and made her feel really special.

Tags: Special Occasion, Afternoon Coffee, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 3 days ago

Food was excellent. Great wine list.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 3 days ago

I have lived in Charlotte for 12 years and had never been to Café Monte and was excited to try it . I was surprised when the meal -- Steak Frites (filet mignon) came out in 10 minutes and then I figured out how that was possible. Everything had been made ahead of time - even the meat! The green beans were full of water and had a spongy, rubbery texture. I assume they had been sitting in a pan for some time -- had the taste of bad buffet food. I love haricot verts and could not get these down. I gave my husband, a big veggie eater, a taste and he could not eat a whole bean. The fries we both received had clearly been premade as well. They were barely warm and had that "old fry" taste. Pre cooking meat was a huge surprise to me at a restaurant that appeared upscale. The mat looked to be the right temperature (correct amount of red) but had no juiciness to it whatsoever and just tasted old. Each bite sucked the moisture out of my mouth completely. It was incredibly dry. We realized they must have precooked this as well and then seared the outside before serving. It clearly had not been cooked to order, no question about it.
Our waiter was attentive, no complaints there. It seems like they are very busy at lunch time on Fridays and have decided to cut corners, but even if I am paying very little, I would rather eat at home than eat this quality of food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

This was our first visit and it was delicious! All of the food was delicious and our server was great! I love the atmosphere as well - elegant yet comfortable. Perfect choice for our date night!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 4 days ago

Food and service were excellent as usual - one of our favorite restaurants in Charlotte!

Tags: Fun, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Authentic, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 5 days ago

Jenny is an outstanding server in absence of our favorite person who was not working on our last visit (Mike). We recommend Jenny as well. Always a great place to eat breakfast, lunch or dinner. Never disappointed.

Tags: Authentic, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 6 days ago

Café Monte is my favorite upscale restaurant and I've eaten there probably 50 times! I always take out-of-town friends there for either brunch or dinner...I'm never disappointed...My daughter and I were there last Saturday to celebrate my daughter's birthday...Lisa was our server and, as always, she was attentive, friendly and professional....

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 18, 2017

We recently took friends who were visiting to Cafe Monte. We all enjoyed the surroundings & everyone had a dellcious dinner. Definitely a favorite choice of ours.

Tags: Romantic, Kid-friendly, Disabled Access, Live Music, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 18, 2017

The food and the service were outstanding. Our server Lisa was incredible at reading our desire to relax and chat and to not be rushed. I will definitely request her at my next visit. The food is always incredible!

Tags: Fun, Tasting Menu, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Vegetarian crepes were excellent if a bit on the salty side. The only complaint I have is that there are too few vegetarian options but that can be said of about 98.99% of all Charlotte restaurants. Reservations are probably advised since the wait was about 45 minutes when I arrived but I walked in and was seated immediately.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Great for Sunday brunch. Coffee was excellent. Brioche French Toast was very good! Very authentic and cozy.

Tags: Bar Seating, Quick Bite, Authentic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on September 15, 2017

As always, great food and lively atmosphere with very good service.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Good for Groups, Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 15, 2017

Consistently very good. One of the best restaurant in Charlotte.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Brunch was delicious and very reasonable in price. Lisa was outstanding as our server - always willing to recommend food options.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 10, 2017

The service was excellent, and the food was delicious. The Duck Confit was perfect. Highly recommend.

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on September 9, 2017

The crepes were delicious and the service great. All 6 people in our party loved their meals. The ambiance was comfortable and cozy.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on September 9, 2017

One of my favorite restaurants! Great for all occasions.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Fun, Special Occasion, Casual, Cozy, Afternoon Tea, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Afternoon Coffee, Neighborhood Gem, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Lunch, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 9, 2017

We had a reservation but were not seated for 30 minutes. They had 2 large parties that slowed down table turns. Seems like they overbooked. Food was good. Lobster dinner delicious. Risotto had too much garlic. ( Not fresh garlic but the jarred kind which in my opinion has a off taste to real fresh . Yes, I am a foodie and a gourmet chef so when I don't want to cook we come here!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on September 8, 2017

We made a reservation for our friends anniversary and arrived early. Our table was given away due to a reservation ballooning to 10 people. It was a little upsetting as we had to wait for 30 minutes.

We were given free champagne. We received a stellar service Fom Javier, we would tecommend the duck confit appetizer and the short rib a la bouguinione!

I would recommend to make a reservation!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Afternoon Coffee, Worth the Drive, Authentic, People Watching, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
·Dined on September 8, 2017

Cafe Monte always has excellent food and service. I've dined there with friends and also had celebrations with 15-30 people. The management and staff are always accommodating and professional, not to mention that the food is exceptional.

Tags: Cozy, Live Music, Afternoon Tea, Good Vegetarian Options, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 8, 2017

First time there and we were very impressed with the quality of the food, the presentation and helpfulness of the wait staff.

Tags: Late-night Find, Quiet Conversation, Kid-friendly, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on September 7, 2017

Good food, nice ambiance and great service! Do recommended

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on September 7, 2017

My friend ordered the fish which she said was delicious. I had the crab and lobster crepe which I did not care for at all.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on September 6, 2017

Always love this place! I brought a friend for the first time and she was impressed with the authenticity of the French cuisine having been to Paris recently.
Will definitely recommend to friends and will be returning soon.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Love the duck confit! Reminds me of Paris. Very helpful waitstaff, when out of her way to make our anniversary special.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Live Music, Cozy, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Great food, attentive but not invasive service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on September 1, 2017

Dinner at Cafe Monte with some of our family. The food was delicious, as always! Our server was excellent and very attentive to our needs. We will be back!

Tags: Healthy, Casual, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 29, 2017

Always consistency good meals at affordable prices. Lovely ambiance which adds to enjoyment of food and wine.

Tags: Seasonal, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Great service, delicious food, good atmosphere. Enjoyed taking my grandparents there for Sunday brunch.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on August 26, 2017

One of my favorite Charlotte restaurants....I always take out-of-town company for either brunch or dinner.....

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on August 25, 2017

Dinner out catching up with an long time friend. Unhurried, delicious and great service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Live Music, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on August 25, 2017

Great atmosphere, great service and really good food!
We enjoy dining at Cafe Monte for special occasions as well as weekend dining.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on August 25, 2017

Table too small

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on August 25, 2017

excellent live music, very good service, and the food was fresh and delicious

Tags: Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Live Music, Bar Seating, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on August 25, 2017

Celebrating an anniversary and the atmosphere was perfect. The dining experience we can't stop talking about !!! Highly recommend this spot for dining.

Tags: Cozy, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Healthy, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on August 25, 2017

The food and service was excellent, as usual! Will be back for lunch and brunch!

Tags: Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on August 24, 2017

Great place to go everyday

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.