About Cafe Monte

Ashley Park Lane Suite 108
Charlotte, NC 28210
View Larger Map

Cafe Monte brings French fare to Charlotte. Classic favorites served all day include quiches and crepes, eggs, waffles, french toast, along with Freshly baked artisan breads, pain du croissants. In the evening enjoy Bistro service and classics like duck confit and trout amandine. This French Bakery and Bistro has a delectable dish for everyone.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
French, American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast and Lunch: Monday - Friday: 9:00am - 3:30pm, Saturday - Sunday: 9:00am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 3:30pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 3:30pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Allen Tate Building at Phillips Place

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(704) 552-1116

Website:
http://cafemonte.net/

Catering:
Sandwiches, Salades, Quiche, Hot Entrees, Breakfast Pastries and Fruit, Great Coffee, Cheese and Charcuterie, Desserts, Breakfast, Lunch or Dinner

Parking Details:
Plenty of Parking any time of day.

Executive Chef:
Justin Mendenhall

Private Party Facilities:
Opening Soon a Private room for 30 guests, separate area, bar and Audio Visual.

Private Party Contact:
Monte Smith: 704-965-2788

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, High Tea, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Cafe Monte Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Value
Charlotte
Best Value
Charlotte
Best Restaurants in SouthPark ›

Fit for Foodies (130)
Great for Brunch (127)
Neighborhood Gem (121)
See All
Great for Lunch (120)
Special Occasion (106)
Romantic (80)
Good for Groups (52)
Notable Wine List (49)
Great for Outdoor Dining (29)
Kid-friendly (20)
Hot Spot (19)
Vibrant Bar Scene (10)
Late-night Find (7)
Scenic View (2)
Sort By:
Newest
1597 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Our weeknight experience at Cafe Monte w ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined 4 days ago

Our weeknight experience at Cafe Monte was excellent. The three of us shared the escargots--fabulous. My brother-in-law devoured the Beef Tips Bourguignon with the accompanying vegetables. My sister and I needed boxes for the leftovers from our entrees--the shrimp and artichoke crepes and the chicken with mushroom crepes--but oh, what tasty leftovers!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Great outside dining for a birthday cele ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined 5 days ago

Great outside dining for a birthday celebration. The halibut special was excellent! We had a great experience...great food, great service, great menu selection.

Tags: Romantic, Afternoon Tea, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of our favorites!

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined 7 days ago

One of our favorites!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Café Monte was great as always. Rachael ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined 7 days ago

Café Monte was great as always. Rachael was especially good server.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wanted a quiet evening out for dinner. W ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined 7 days ago

Wanted a quiet evening out for dinner. We both ordered crepes. He, the lobster/crab. Me, the shrimp/artichoke. The sauces were both delicate and delicious. Portions were generous...had enough for the next day! Espresso, a thumbs up, and our shared eclair, a great sweet treat!

Our wait staff was super. Not in our faces, but there when you wanted them. When I forgot my "baggie" on the way out, and our waitress brought to me. <3

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great for brunch with girlfriends. Servi ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Great for brunch with girlfriends. Service is inconsistent sometimes but that is the only quirk. Love the ambience. Cheerful. Casual enough or you can dress up a little and feel like u fit in. One of my favorite brunch spots.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Made a last-minute reservation to quench ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Made a last-minute reservation to quench a craving for crepes. Server Laura had great timing, checking on us regularly but not enough to be intrusive. Food came out quickly and was very good. Especially enjoyed the live music, as it was loud enough to be heard but soft enough that we still could enjoy normal conversation. Although I've been to this restaurant several times for lunch, this was my first time having an evening meal there and definitely would return.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We have been to Cafe Monte many times fo ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

We have been to Cafe Monte many times for both brunch and dinner. The experience is consistently very good.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

I've been to Cafe Monte' many times, lun ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

I've been to Cafe Monte' many times, lunch and dinner,but never with a coupon. I used a coupon for a bogo this visit and the service was as good if not the best I've had there. This was the first time I booked a birthday celebration dinner through open table with a note that it was for a birthday that they actually noticed my note. Most of my reservations are for groups and generally a celebration of some sort. I had originally booked for 5 but 3 canceled and I had to alter my reservation down to just 2. Seamless and fabulous. Cafe Monte' has become one of my favorites.

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great food selections and excellent serv ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Great food selections and excellent service. Salmon and crepe done perfectly. Wonderful dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Cafe Monte has a wide variety of food ch ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Cafe Monte has a wide variety of food choices which makes it a little more special than other restaurants! The shrimp and artichoke crepes were very yummy!!! Definitely a place to enjoy!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Although my wife and I dine at Café Mont ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Although my wife and I dine at Café Monte at least once per month, and have for several years, this was our first-ever brunch. We were met by friends after church this past Sunday, and by 12:30 pm, the time of our reservation, there was not a table to be had. We were greeted by Lisa, one of our favorite waiters at Café Monte. Rather than attempt to describe what each person ordered, I will simply describe the portions as generous and the quality as excellent. Bloody Marys and sparkling wine only added to the festivities.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ate outside as the singer inside though ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Ate outside as the singer inside though very good was accompanied by a very loud keyboard. Service and food was truly outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always a treat to come here. Live musi ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Always a treat to come here. Live music on Saturday night adds to the Bistro feel.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great restaurant with outstanding servic ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Great restaurant with outstanding service and excellent selection of appetizers, entrees and desserts. Will definitely go back!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic meal as always. I had the Stea ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Fantastic meal as always. I had the Steak Frites au poivre, while my wife had the Salmon. Both were excellent. Great coffee. My favorite spot in Charlotte.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Waitress wasn't friendly and made us fee ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Waitress wasn't friendly and made us feel rushed. She also forgot things we asked for.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

I looked at the menu before getting to t ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

I looked at the menu before getting to the restaurant and decided on the Trout Almondine, which my friend had the last time we were there. But when the waiter repeated the special, I had that instead. Scallops with a vegetable risotto, was delicious. we started with the endive salad and had leftovers. A perfect lite lunch the next day. The live music added to the flair being a Friday night, and the place was absolutely full. Good thing we had reservations. A consistently good and comfortable restaurant.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Wonderful food and service. It was very ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Wonderful food and service. It was very loud however

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

One of my favorite restaurants...I had B ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

One of my favorite restaurants...I had Birthday free entree ...enjoyed a steak! My daughter paid for only her meal and is why the above amount is smaller than usual....having this freebie is a great way to dine there....

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We were a party of six who sat outside. ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

We were a party of six who sat outside. The waiter was also covering tables inside and couldn't get out to us as often as he wanted, but he apologized, brought us fondu and desserts and was fun and personable. The food was lovely from the creamy risotto, the perfectly cooked steak, to the delicate crepes. This was my first time there for dinner. I also recommend lunch and brunch. Their omelettes are lovely.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The menu here is pretty diverse, and Fre ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

The menu here is pretty diverse, and French inspired. Whether you are in the mood for a personal pizza, mussels, fritz or lobster this place will have something for you. My recent visit included NY Strip. I requested medium rare, and would say it arrived medium. However the steak was flavorful, tender and quite large, so good value overall in my opinion. My wife had the scallops, which were on special. Excellently prepared on a bed of risotto. Word of caution, we thought we ordered a side salad with the entrée (a la carte). We were billed for $9 regular salads (each)!! Be sure to clarify.

I would recommend this restaurant, and we patronize it a few time a year ourselves.

Tags: Romantic, Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

We try to eat at Cafe Monte weekly for l ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

We try to eat at Cafe Monte weekly for lunch. Food is always excellent and service is very good. Asparagus and green bean sides are my favorite side items in town.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Quaint. Waiter was pleasant Food was uni ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Quaint. Waiter was pleasant Food was unimpressive. Two appetizers and two meals and none of it was worthy of a second try.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value4

We always dine al fresco. Great food, ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

We always dine al fresco. Great food, wait staff, ambiance. We eat at Cafe Monte several times a month. Very relaxed dining. Especially love the music selection!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This is a solid choice for lunch or dinn ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

This is a solid choice for lunch or dinner if you're in the Southpark area. The food is good as is the service.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Zen is one of our favorite restaurants! ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Zen is one of our favorite restaurants! Food is always fantastic- we get the blue cheese calamari EVERY time as our appetizer-just delicious. I have had entrées from every category and all are great so you will always find the perfect delicious choice no matter what you are in the mood for! Staff are always knowledgable about the menu and perfectly attentive. Great choice!

Tags: Romantic, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We were celebrating birthdays with frien ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

We were celebrating birthdays with friends. We had not been to Cafe Monte before but ours friends had been there before. It was very good.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was my first visit to Café Monte, b ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

This was my first visit to Café Monte, but it won't be my last. They have an amazing dinner menu with outstanding French and continental selections. I look forward to trying the famous Sunday brunch

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

We were using a groupon. Staff were very ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

We were using a groupon. Staff were very friendly. Waiter was not rushed and took his time with us. Our food arrived quickly and tasted wonderful. We had smoke salmon and Beef Short Rib Bourguignonne. It was so good!!!

Tags: Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Café Monte is one of our favorite restau ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Café Monte is one of our favorite restaurants. The staff there remember our names and treat us with great respect. The food is always great and I love the French Bistro atmosphere.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We always look forward to eating at Café ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

We always look forward to eating at Café Monte. The service and food are consistently outstanding.

We highly recommend it for everyday dining or a special occasion.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Amazing food and experience! Will go bac ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Amazing food and experience! Will go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Shawn was great!

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Shawn was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

They serve great mussels, all you can ea ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

They serve great mussels, all you can eat, on Mondays. Delicious lobster and crab crepes and very good salads.

One of my favorite places. Consistent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Good place for friends to get together. ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Good place for friends to get together. Even food is not close to real French cousin, I will be back with my friends to enjoy a good service and pleasant atmosphere.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

Great location, friendly staff, prompt s ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Great location, friendly staff, prompt service, wonderful menu/variety

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

One of our favorite Charlotte restaurant ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

One of our favorite Charlotte restaurant! The food is authentic french and at good values. Check out the daily specials and half price wine on Tuesdays.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Such a great spot in South Park area! We ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

Such a great spot in South Park area! We love the food and the incredible service. We have never had a bad experience!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We have been to Cafe Monte many times an ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

We have been to Cafe Monte many times and have never been disappointed. This past time the music (which is fine) was too loud. It was hard to hear your neighbor at the table. Otherwise, a great time!

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.