Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.18mi
  3. Distance: 0.35mi
  4. Distance: 0.38mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.18mi
  3. Distance: 0.35mi
  4. Distance: 0.38mi

About Cafe Monte

Cafe Monte brings French fare to Charlotte. Classic favorites served all day include quiches and crepes, eggs, waffles, french toast, along with Freshly baked artisan breads, pain du croissants. In the evening enjoy Bistro service and classics like duck confit and trout amandine. This French Bakery and Bistro has a delectable dish for everyone.

Ashley Park Lane Suite 108
Charlotte, NC 28210
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
French, American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast and Lunch: Monday - Friday: 9:00am - 3:30pm, Saturday - Sunday: 9:00am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 3:30pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 3:30pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Allen Tate Building at Phillips Place

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(704) 552-1116

Website:
http://cafemonte.net/

Catering:
Sandwiches, Salades, Quiche, Hot Entrees, Breakfast Pastries and Fruit, Great Coffee, Cheese and Charcuterie, Desserts, Breakfast, Lunch or Dinner

Parking Details:
Plenty of Parking any time of day.

Executive Chef:
Justin Mendenhall

Private Party Facilities:
Opening Soon a Private room for 30 guests, separate area, bar and Audio Visual.

Private Party Contact:
Monte Smith: (704) 965-2788

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, High Tea, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Cafe Monte Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

99% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Brunch (94)
Neighborhood Gem (90)
Great for Lunch (86)
See All
Good for a Date (84)
Fit for Foodies (69)
Special Occasion (68)
Authentic (66)
Casual (64)
Good for Birthdays (58)
Good for Anniversaries (57)
Sunday Lunch (57)
Worth the Drive (48)
Cozy (44)
Romantic (42)
Creative Cuisine (41)
Great for Outdoor Dining (33)
Bar Seating (33)
Fun (32)
Business Meals (32)
Afternoon Coffee (29)
Comfort Food (28)
Notable Wine List (27)
Good for Groups (24)
Pre/post Theatre (21)
Quiet Conversation (20)
Live Music (18)
Hot Spot (17)
Good Vegetarian Options (15)
People Watching (13)
Local Ingredients (11)
Handcrafted Cocktails (11)
Afternoon Tea (10)
Tasting Menu (8)
Vibrant Bar Scene (8)
Quick Bite (7)
Late-night Find (7)
Modern Decor (6)
Happy Hour (5)
Seasonal (5)
Tapas (5)
Disabled Access (5)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Organic (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Vegan (3)
Family Style (2)
Scenic View (1)
Great Beer (1)
Spicy (1)
Sort By:
S
2150 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 3 days ago

Our waitress was exceptionlly good. Service was fast and food was delicious.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 3 days ago

Stopped in for restaurant week. Menu was fabulous and the food was outstanding. We were seated at a table at a long booth. Both parties on either side of us were chatting and making comments at our dishes. Everyone was very friendly, but we would have preferred a little more privacy. All in all though, the service and food was fantastic.

Tags: Fun, Healthy, Authentic, Spicy, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined 3 days ago

Excellent service, food and wine, as usual, even though very busy for restaurant week. We ordered from the menu and were not disappointed.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 3 days ago

Love this place. My wife and I try a new restaurant every Saturday for lunch. We will be returning here for dinner sometime. His place has it all, great food, great atmosphere and great service. It reminded us of many of the cafes we ate at in Paris, minus the French. Highly recommend this for lunch or dinner.

Tags: Special Occasion, Tapas, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined 5 days ago

Another fine meal and experience. Excellent service from Paul, as usual.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined 5 days ago

Cafe Monte is one of my favorite restaurants. Tonight I has seared sea scallops served atop vegetable risotto. Both were exceptional. The risotto is as rich and creamy as risotto in Europe. It is heaven.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 5 days ago

Great place, terrific food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 6 days ago

Great food and service. It is a neighborhood place but with the sophistication of fine dining.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 6 days ago

The staff were very accommodating, as not only our time changed, but so did our number of guests...originally 4 @ 1:45 pm to 7 @ 1:00 pm. The restaurant was busy and we appreciate the flexibility I realize how difficult this can be a lunch rush...an excellent meal was a WIN!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Quick Bite, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined 6 days ago

The food was great as usual. We always have exceptional service. We highly recommend Café Monte for any occasion. We always make a reservation, but not necessarily needed, depending on the time.

It is conveniently located close to South park Mall.

We can't wait until we return.

Tags: Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 17, 2017

Great restaurant with great food. Ask for Shane he will take good care of you!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Great service for crowded Sunday brunch. Salads, quiche Lorraine and mimosas were excellent. Join their frequent dinner club and enjoy more.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Cafe Monte never disappoint. I had a business meeting and my guest had never been to Cafe Monte and they loved it! Lets just say I sealed the deal!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Always wonderful!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 15, 2017

We had to wait 20 minutes for our table. The server was pleasant but kept disappearing for long periods - e.g. When she presented the menu, she warned us that there were only five helpings of their special beef Wellington available. She disappeared for 20 minutes after serving the wine, and by the time she returned with bread and to take our order, they were sold out! Food was good but not spectacular. Wine was fine and well priced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 15, 2017

My favorite place to eat in all of Charlotte. Never had a bad meal there in over 5 years.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Love cafe monte to go grab breakfast or lunch. Food is delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Always superb food, service, and ambiance. One of our favorites.

Tags: Romantic, Fun, Business Meals, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Never a bad meal and always great service. Definitely our "go to" for dinner.

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Live Music, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Casual, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 10, 2017

Went for mid-week breakfast with old friends. PERFECT setting for that - both in ambiance and noise level. Professionally run, very clean & attractive, staff all quite professional. Menu is fabulous. Food didn't quite live up to expectations, but still was good. Close to being priced out of range since moderate breakfasts and coffee for four was nearly $80. Check Groupon for current coupon.

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 9, 2017

We had a family late lunch on Sunday afternoon. It was a great meal! The food was excellent and the service was superb. I remarked during the meal that Cafe Monte provides a comfortable environment with people in shorts or ties, and with children of all ages. It was a great afternoon enjoyed by all.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Casual, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 9, 2017

Good service, good food. Just what you want from a restaurant.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 8, 2017

As expected, great food, great service and wonderful ambiance! Maintain!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 8, 2017

As always a great experience. Best way to describe how good Cafe Monte is is that we ran into 4 other couples enjoying the great food and experience!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Live Music, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Great for Brunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 8, 2017

We enjoyed our experience at Cafe Monte. Food and service very good. Table was small for the four of us. A little loud. We were not rushed out which was very nice.
Excellent table staff to say the least.👍💯

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Our 1st time to Cafe Monte when in Charlotte. Service and food was great. The waiter recommended the duck, which was excellent. Nice wine list and atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Dinner was wonderful the salmon was cooked perfectly our waiter was spot on .We will look forward to a return visit

Tags: Romantic, Casual, People Watching, Live Music, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Fun, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Since moving to Charlotte a year ago, Cafe Monte has become our go-to place for Friday evening!

We love the food, the wait-staff, the wine, the atmosphere!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 6, 2017

Food is always excellent, so is the service. A little loud on a Thursday night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 6, 2017

The food, as always, was absolutely delicious! I come here maybe once or twice a year, mainly for special occasions, and it never disappoints! Their classic eggs benedict is my favorite and their pastries are exquisite! Our server this time was not very friendly and even seemed annoyed with us, even though we didn't ask for anything complicated or anything like that. Other than that, the food and ambiance was as wonderful as it always is.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Fun, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 5, 2017

First time there and loved it! BLT was loaded with crisp bacon and the side salad was so fresh and light.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Used Open Table and got right in on a very busy day. Service excellent, the Lobster salad very tasty and a good value. Wife enjoyed the Belgian waffles with Nutella. Very relaxing time on a special date.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Excellent salad dressing on house salad. Nice blend , proportions and types of oil and vinegar.
Delicious lobster/crab crepe and seafood omelette

Waitress harried. Had to ask a couple times for water/coffee refills.

One diner sat facing a boring wall with all the ambiance behind them. Need mirrors.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 2, 2017

We have had brunch at Cafe Monte more times than we can count. They always seat us near a window and are helpful and accommodating to my 92 year old mom who is visually impaired. Food is always excellent, and Paul and Lisa are both wonderful, patient servers.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 1, 2017

We arrived earlier than we expected and they were so gracious, they sat us early with no problems. The food was delicious and we had delicious coffee and dessert afterwards. We are definitely planning a return visit to try the escargot next time!

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Shane is always personable, friendly, welcoming and makes great recommendations! He and the servers always work well and in unison. My husband was especially looking forward to (and enjoyed!) the Beef Wellington. My Basted Salmon was absolutely delicious!
We had a lovely evening!

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 1, 2017

11th Wedding Anniversary

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 1, 2017

They consistently have the best breakfast in Charlotte. We both had the crab cakes Benedict. Excellent as always. Service always excellent too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on June 29, 2017

Wonderful food and service as usual. This is one of our favorite go-to places and we are never disappointed. Paul was our waiter and he was very professional and knowledgeable about the menu. Grilled salmon was excellent as well as the chicken crepe. Will definitely go back soon!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on June 27, 2017

We come here often and always enjoy it. Never disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.