About Cafe Monte

Ashley Park Lane Suite 108
Charlotte, NC 28210
View Larger Map

Cafe Monte brings French fare to Charlotte. Classic favorites served all day include quiches and crepes, eggs, waffles, french toast, along with Freshly baked artisan breads, pain du croissants. In the evening enjoy Bistro service and classics like duck confit and trout amandine. This French Bakery and Bistro has a delectable dish for everyone.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
French, American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast and Lunch: Monday - Friday: 9:00am - 3:30pm, Saturday - Sunday: 9:00am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 3:30pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 3:30pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Allen Tate Building at Phillips Place

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(704) 552-1116

Website:
http://cafemonte.net/

Catering:
Sandwiches, Salades, Quiche, Hot Entrees, Breakfast Pastries and Fruit, Great Coffee, Cheese and Charcuterie, Desserts, Breakfast, Lunch or Dinner

Parking Details:
Plenty of Parking any time of day.

Executive Chef:
Justin Mendenhall

Private Party Facilities:
Opening Soon a Private room for 30 guests, separate area, bar and Audio Visual.

Private Party Contact:
Monte Smith: 704-965-2788

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Entertainment, High Tea, Non-Smoking Area, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Cafe Monte Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Lunch
Charlotte
Great for Lunch
Charlotte
Best Restaurants in SouthPark ›

neighborhood gem (124)
fit for foodies (117)
great for lunch (116)
See All
great for brunch (111)
special occasion (98)
romantic (73)
good for groups (49)
notable wine list (39)
great for outdoor dining (30)
kid-friendly (17)
hot spot (15)
vibrant bar scene (10)
late-night find (6)
Sort By:
Newest
1538 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We ate outside in the eve. Not enough ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined 4 days ago

We ate outside in the eve.

Not enough kitchen staff that eve so they couldn't seat us until they lightened up in the kitchen.

Very unusual experience for us at that restaurant. It usually flows well.

Our waiter apologized and food was good when we finally got served.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Consistently good no matter what the di ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Consistently good no matter what the dish. This time I had the Thai salad. Dee-lish! Service also great. Noise level is the only distraction.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Cafe Monte's is simply said, excellent. ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Cafe Monte's is simply said, excellent. It matters not what you order because everything is made to perfection.

The service,thanks Richard, is exceptional and not in your face kind of service. My club soda was nearing empty and before I could ask !Richard had brought a fresh glass.

All of us had something different and all of us loved our food and the service.

We'll be back...soon.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love Cafe Monte except this Saturday nig ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Love Cafe Monte except this Saturday night they had a jazz singer. People talked over her and increased the noise level. I am not sure why they would want a singer in a restaurant at 7:30 at night.....maybe 9pm would be more reasonable.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

It was amazing. My wife wanted French a ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

It was amazing. My wife wanted French and it was in South Park so I was expecting something really froo-froo. It wasn't contentious or anything close to that.

The food was amazing, even the leftovers heated up the next day. I will definitely return! My only recommendation would be some better purely French Beers, as I am a beer aficionado and their wasn't anything on the list draft wise I felt was special and the bottle prices were just a bit too steep for me when I know what I can buy them for at my local bottle shop. That didn't stop me from my 5star rating though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Place was busy and service was very quic ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Place was busy and service was very quick.

Had the beef wellington which was outstanding as usual. Service staff is very experienced and have longevity at Cafe Monte. This restaurant has become our favorite neighborhood place to go. Consistent, excellent, convenient, and all around best value dining experience in South park.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Love the French music in the bathroom!!! ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Love the French music in the bathroom!!!! The food is good and the waitstaff is very friendly.

Tags: great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent meal and ambiance. We had a gr ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Excellent meal and ambiance. We had a great time as always. Our server was attentive, not intrusive. Husband took me for my birthday and our server brought macarons for dessert. The raspberry macaron was absolutely delicious.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We always enjoy the food and the service ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

We always enjoy the food and the service at Cafe Monte. We introduced friends to the restaurant and they loved it and will go again.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We believe this has become our favorite ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

We believe this has become our favorite restaurant in Charlotte...loved it.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a lovely brunch at Cafe Monte. Tw ...

vip
 (Western NC)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

We had a lovely brunch at Cafe Monte. Two of us had omelets, and the third had crepes. We also ordered a side of berries as the omelet description did not indicate that it came with fruit although it did. Everything was tasty, including the coffee, and the service was good.

Tags: great for brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

French Onion Soup, Braised short ribs Bo ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

French Onion Soup, Braised short ribs Bourgignon, Trout Amandine all excellent. This is one of Charlotte's best, always consistent, reasonably priced.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Food is cooked in the French tradition. ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

Food is cooked in the French tradition. I have not had crepes cooked as flavorful in years. The menu is pretty diverse and each time I go, I find something new. I will go again soon.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

The manager kept talking loudly and inap ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

The manager kept talking loudly and inapproiate language with one of the employees.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

excellent food and drinks service. our ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

excellent food and drinks service. our server was Laurie (or Laura). we qll had omelettes and really enjoyed. there is no better or more reliable breakfast spot in Charlotte.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious food, great service, lovely am ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Delicious food, great service, lovely ambiance, wonderful entertainment on a Sat evening !

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have been coming to Cafe' Monte for ov ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

I have been coming to Cafe' Monte for over 4 years, and in those many dining occasions, I have never had anything less then stellar service, wonderful food, a terrific atmosphere, and another great memory to smile about. This is a great dining establishment here in Charlotte and I have tried others. I have found Café Monte to be suitable for a great Business dinner, or a great dinner date. Brunch is also fantastic, but be sure to make a reservation.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful customer service! I had the tr ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Wonderful customer service! I had the trout which is always great. My date had a steak and it wasn't cooked the way he likes. The manager was wonderful about making it right. We even received some free cookies.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food.. Consistent.

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Great food.. Consistent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Friendly, attentive service and excellen ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Friendly, attentive service and excellent food! Wonderful Continental ambience. To be highly recommended for special occasions or just for a wonderful brunch or lunch.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Try the duck confit - it was the best th ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Try the duck confit - it was the best thing I have eaten since I've been in Charlotte! GREAT food all around for whatever you like.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We like this restaurant because it never ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

We like this restaurant because it never has disappointed us. The food is always delicious and it has a nice cozy atmosphere. They have an extensive wine list and it is always enjoyable to spend time in their outdoor dining area enjoying a glass of French wine. We enjoy coming back to this restaurant for its tasty food and friendly atmosphere.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We always love Cafe Monte. Lunch servic ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

We always love Cafe Monte. Lunch service was good - our server forgot to replace fork, a little slow on drink refills, but all in all was solicitous and professional. Food was tasty and well presented - very nice.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

It was a special occasion, taking out a ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

It was a special occasion, taking out a friend having a bad week.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Consistently consistent - great service ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

Consistently consistent - great service and great food at this Southpark Gem. I favorite for business lunch or just meeting up with friends.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A disappointing Father's Day brunch with ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

A disappointing Father's Day brunch with an out of town child. Cafe Monte is one of our favorite restaurants and one we go to regularly for dinner. This was our first time going on a holiday or for Sunday brunch. We were seated on time....but the rest of our service was inadequate. We sat for quite a while before we were brought water, we had to ask the water server to find out waiter, our food took a long time to appear and was not hot---had clearly sat before delivery to our table. Not sure why the kitchen and servers had such a hard time --even though it was a holiday, they were not overbooked. I still recommend the restaurant but not on a holiday.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

Consistently one of our favorite dining ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Consistently one of our favorite dining spots! Great food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

We enjoyed our meal listening to the mus ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

We enjoyed our meal listening to the music. Not too loud to drown out conversation.

Tags: great for brunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Crepes are excellent. Don't get the stea ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Crepes are excellent. Don't get the steak. Too tough.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

We enjoyed the Saturday night Beef Welli ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

We enjoyed the Saturday night Beef Wellington -- which was done perfectly. The filet was "melt in your mouth quality" with no fat, grizzle or imperfections of any sort. The diced mushroom dressing was generous, nicely spiced and delightfully moist. In addition, when asked, the waiter brought an extra cruet of top sauce. The only way this meal could be topped would be if the chef had an (extra cost) option to include the traditional foie gras for which Wellingtons have fame.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Our favorite restaurant in town...our pl ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Our favorite restaurant in town...our place to go for special family events. We also take our out of town guests there as well.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The trout was amazing! Really enjoyed t ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

The trout was amazing! Really enjoyed the food. Service was good. Bread was good. It was a little bit more than we typically spend on food, but it was nice for a special occasion.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Great meal with friends and good food & ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

Great meal with friends and good food & service, what else could I want!!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food (mussels)was good. Since we liv ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

The food (mussels)was good. Since we lived in Brussels for seven years, we set a high bar. The service, however, was wonderful. The young male hispanic waiter was efficient, cordial and had a great demeanor and smile. He made the evening exceptional.

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Great brunch spot...good food, nice atmo ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Great brunch spot...good food, nice atmosphere. I love their omelets. They also serve great coffee...not your usual bland java. The staff is very friendly.

Tags: great for brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

one of our favourite restaurants in char ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

one of our favourite restaurants in charlotte area

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic. Great find. Food is divine ...

vip
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Fantastic. Great find. Food is divine and servers are lovely. Totally celebrated w us

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We have been to Cafe Monte several times ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

We have been to Cafe Monte several times, but took friends of which this was their first time. We all agreed the food was top-drawer with a great selection. Service was impeccable, as usual. Don't be afraid to share this place with special friends!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Reliably tasty food, service is hit or miss

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

This is a weekly Sunday brunch spot for my friends and me, and frequent lunch stop, as well, and the food is always tasty and attractive. However, service is not as consistent, unfortunately. Water glasses sit empty, coffee cups aren't refilled, and getting the attention of your server is occasionally challenging. This happens whether the place is packed and you wait 30 minutes for a table, or when the crowd has thinned and there are many empty tables. Some servers are superb, others are subpar. Given that a brunch with entree, coffee, and bloody Mary runs $40-$45 with tip, it's disappointing to have less than reliably excellent service. That said, when you get a good server, it's a wonderful experience, and I've never had a bad dish.

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Enjoyed lunch as we often do at any mea ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

Enjoyed lunch as we often do at any meal at cafe Monte

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.