Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.18mi
  3. Distance: 0.35mi
  4. Distance: 0.38mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.18mi
  3. Distance: 0.35mi
  4. Distance: 0.38mi

About Cafe Monte

Cafe Monte brings French fare to Charlotte. Classic favorites served all day include quiches and crepes, eggs, waffles, french toast, along with Freshly baked artisan breads, pain du croissants. In the evening enjoy Bistro service and classics like duck confit and trout amandine. This French Bakery and Bistro has a delectable dish for everyone.

Ashley Park Lane Suite 108
Charlotte, NC 28210
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
French, American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast and Lunch: Monday - Friday: 9:00am - 3:30pm, Saturday - Sunday: 9:00am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 3:30pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 3:30pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Allen Tate Building at Phillips Place

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(704) 552-1116

Website:
http://cafemonte.net/

Catering:
Sandwiches, Salades, Quiche, Hot Entrees, Breakfast Pastries and Fruit, Great Coffee, Cheese and Charcuterie, Desserts, Breakfast, Lunch or Dinner

Parking Details:
Plenty of Parking any time of day.

Executive Chef:
Justin Mendenhall

Private Party Facilities:
Opening Soon a Private room for 30 guests, separate area, bar and Audio Visual.

Private Party Contact:
Monte Smith: (704) 965-2788

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, High Tea, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Cafe Monte Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

99% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Brunch (104)
Great for Lunch (86)
Good for a Date (79)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (78)
Fit for Foodies (74)
Authentic (71)
Special Occasion (68)
Good for Birthdays (68)
Good for Anniversaries (63)
Casual (62)
Sunday Lunch (57)
Creative Cuisine (50)
Cozy (47)
Worth the Drive (47)
Romantic (47)
Afternoon Coffee (34)
Business Meals (33)
Bar Seating (33)
Notable Wine List (33)
Fun (32)
Comfort Food (30)
Good for Groups (27)
Quiet Conversation (26)
Great for Outdoor Dining (24)
Healthy (22)
Live Music (22)
Pre/post Theatre (22)
People Watching (18)
Hot Spot (17)
Gluten Free Options (13)
Outstanding Value (13)
Afternoon Tea (13)
Kid-friendly (12)
Good Vegetarian Options (12)
Seasonal (11)
Local Ingredients (10)
Late-night Find (9)
Quick Bite (9)
Tasting Menu (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Family Style (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Modern Decor (7)
Paleo Friendly (5)
Great Beer (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Disabled Access (5)
Molecular Gastronomy (4)
Organic (3)
Tapas (3)
Private Room (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Historic (1)
Scenic View (1)
Fireplace (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
2066 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined 2 days ago

Love this place for a relaxed evening. Great Cafe / Bistro atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 2 days ago

Café Monte was all the hoped it would be. It was cozy and slightly romantic. The service was excellent and the food, wine and deserts were amazing. I will be returning for more of the fine French cuisine.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Authentic, Casual, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Afternoon Coffee, Fit for Foodies, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 2 days ago

Cafe' Monte was a wonderful outing for my daughter and I for lunch, we both had omelets (Persian & Seafood). The food was delicious. Service was superb. Definitely going back for dinner next week.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly, Fun, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined 3 days ago

Cafe monte is consistently good with great service. Last night my husband had the lobster special and he said it was great and easy to eat because they cut the lobster meat off the shell. I had the scallop special and it too was delicious. Our server was knowledgeable about the wines and dishes. He was gracious, attentive and professional. It's always a joy to go to cafe monte. They have ample seating inside as well as outside.
Bon appetit!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Great for Outdoor Dining, Vegan, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Afternoon Coffee, Good for Anniversaries, Disabled Access, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Authentic, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Healthy, Comfort Food, Seasonal, Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Sunday Lunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Quick Bite, Worth the Drive, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined 3 days ago

We enjoyed the French food and the excellent service. Thanks

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 5 days ago

As always excellent whether it's dinner or brunch. Only negative at dinner Wednesday was that the fresh oysters were small and pricey at $2.75 each. Otherwise food is great!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Casual, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 6 days ago

My favorite Charlotte restaurant.....great location for before/after movie

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Austin)·Dined 6 days ago

We really liked Cafe Monte. Our main courses were delicious, an d the wine-by-the-glass servings were generous. The waitress was outstanding and knowledgeable, helping my wife--who has celiac--find the right food. Desserts were the one disappointment, with the crust of the fruit tart not good at all and the creme brule a bit stingy. But the ambiance, the possibility of eating French food, and the excellent wine list (though surprisingly lacking many French wine choices) will have us returning.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Romantic, Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Austin)·Dined 6 days ago

Great waiter and delicious food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on May 21, 2017

The food was good but the service was a little uneven. We placed an order for beignets for the table thinking that they would come prior to our meal, which they did. But they barely delivered them when our food arrived so we didn’t really have enough time to savor them. We had barely taken a bite when our food arrived so it felt a little rushed, even though there was not a line at the door at that point in time. However, they did not make us feel rushed when we were done even though a line had formed by that time.

Tags: Casual, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 21, 2017

First time we didn't have a great experience due to poor table service. Food was very good as always.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Food was delicious. We all enjoyed our dinners. Great place to meet friends.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Happy Hour, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Always a great place to dine - breakfast, brunch, lunch or dinner.

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Sunday Lunch, Afternoon Tea, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Casual, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 19, 2017

The food and service was outstanding! Delicious! I had a salad with strawberries and an apricot vinegrette topped with perfectly cooked salmon. Our server was always available and met our needs without asking. Fantastic experience!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Hot Spot, Afternoon Coffee, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Love this restaurant! I've been about three times and have never been disappointed!

Tags: Business Meals, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 18, 2017

My husband and I ate at Cafe Monte for dinner during a business/pleasure trip to Charlotte recently and it was delightful. The service was very attentive, the atmosphere authentic French bistro/cafe and the food was some of the best we had on our trip. I highly recommend Cafe Monte for anyone in the South Park area of Charlotte.

Tags: Fun, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Really good food, beignets were tasty. They have a decent variety of food on the menu.

Tags: Cozy, Romantic, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 18, 2017

We love this restaurant. The food is always good and the mussels are great!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Excellent service, delicious food. A great choice for a quick meal or a very special occasion.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Very relaxinging atmosphere with wonderful service. The food was very authentic tasted great and locked amazing.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Bar Seating, Seasonal, Great Beer, Special Occasion, Healthy, Afternoon Coffee, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Hot Spot, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We went here for Mother's Day Brunch. I was looking forward to having a Mimosa and Beignets.
The Mimosa was delicious and the Beignets were as well but unfortunately they came out after we had gotten our food. That was extremely disappointing. Our waitress noticed that it came out afterwards and asked us if we still wanted them. Well, since this is why I chose to come here, the answer was yes. I do think she should have taken them off our ticket. She was nice enough but always seemed to be in a rush when she was at our table. They were really busy but it just seemed exaggerated. My daughter and husband got the breakfast. Neither were fond of the Sausage but they were happy with the rest of their meal. I got an omelet that had spinach, tomatoes, and cheese. It came with toast, some type of potato patty, fruit, and jam. The jam here is fabulous. I will come back but I hope it won't be as rushed and that we get items in the order that they were meant to come.

Tags: Casual, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 14, 2017

All good. Timing perfect. We were seated at the exact time if our reservation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 13, 2017

We were there for an early Mother's Day dinner. The food was wonderful: Grande charcuterie plate, mussels, lobster crepe, and burrata. The server was however not great. We would have ordered dessert but he completely disappeared for 15 minutes after dropping off the menus.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 13, 2017

We came for brunch to celebrate Mothers Day. Comfortable atmosphere. Food was great. Will definitely come back!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 9, 2017

I have been coming to Café Monte for about 5 years now, and it is always simply excellent. My date and I split the smoked salmon appetizer, and then we ordered the Beef Short Rib and the Chicken Crepe for dinner. I remain amazed at the consistency of the food, the service, and the great atmosphere. I am always happy to enjoy this particular dining experience, and happy to write such a positive review.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 8, 2017

we have never had a bad experience at cafe monte. the wait staff is excellent. the food is fantastic and they are willing to make substitutions. they have a delightful outdooor eating section...especially in the evening b/c it's in the shade!

Tags: Cozy, Authentic, Casual, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Cafe Monte is our "go to" spot. We love the food and the ambiance. The service is incredible. Eating outside this time of year is an extra treat.

Tags: Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Everything was great other than our soup was less than half full, waitress was nice and took it back to get more. :)

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 6, 2017

This happened to be for my birthday, but I will always look for an excuse to dine at Monte.
The Cafe is probably my all around Charlotte favorite. The swordfish is wonderful. Same for the muscles. Same for the desserts. They also mix a good Martini. The wait staff is the best. Very accommodating. Good family dining, but it is a grownup place, not loaded with TV's or loud music. Did I mention ambiance? Feels like Paris.

Tags: Family Style, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 6, 2017

They were out of a number of items on a Saturday night, a little disappointing. Our server seemed to be overwhelmed, would disappear for long periods. Food was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 4, 2017

The food was amazing as always - have never had a meal there that wasn't fabulous! Our server, Richard, was excellent and very knowledgeable about the specials! All in all, a wonderful dining experience!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on May 4, 2017

First timer. Heard a lot about Café Monte and we thoroughly enjoyed it. Service was exceptional

Tags: Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 3, 2017

Service, food and ambience are five star. Been there more than a dozen times and NEVER a disappointment.

Tags: Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 1, 2017

Brunch with friend from Minnesota....always choose Cafe Monte for at least one meal for out-of-town guests since can be certain of good meal and service

Tags: Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 30, 2017

We sat at one of the few outdoor tables on a beautiful day. The service was outstanding; our server, a tall male of 30 something was very attentive. I was pleased to see a gluten free waffle and find it tasty. The poached egg was extremely small, but that's nature I guess. My friend liked her omelet and all the accoutrements. A good experience.

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 29, 2017

We had out of town guests and they commented that the service was poor. I thought our server was not as attentive as he should have been.

Tags: Casual, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Great place to come for a ladies' lunch!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Excellent food and service. Extensive brunch menu and bakery!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 28, 2017

we are repeat customers for Cafe Monte and like certain things on the menu. The French Onion soup is quite good. The braised short rib sandwich was quite good as was the chicken BLT. the shoestring fries are good if hot and the caesar salad is good. it was busy and service was not prompt this visit

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 27, 2017

Fabulous food and service. We live quiche and croque madame. We always look out for the artichoke soup!

Tags: Authentic, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.