About Cafe Monte

Ashley Park Lane Suite 108
Charlotte, NC 28210
View Larger Map

Cafe Monte brings French fare to Charlotte. Classic favorites served all day include quiches and crepes, eggs, waffles, french toast, along with Freshly baked artisan breads, pain du croissants. In the evening enjoy Bistro service and classics like duck confit and trout amandine. This French Bakery and Bistro has a delectable dish for everyone.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
French, American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast and Lunch: Monday - Friday: 9:00am - 3:30pm, Saturday - Sunday: 9:00am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 3:30pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 3:30pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Allen Tate Building at Phillips Place

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(704) 552-1116

Website:
http://cafemonte.net/

Catering:
Sandwiches, Salades, Quiche, Hot Entrees, Breakfast Pastries and Fruit, Great Coffee, Cheese and Charcuterie, Desserts, Breakfast, Lunch or Dinner

Parking Details:
Plenty of Parking any time of day.

Executive Chef:
Justin Mendenhall

Private Party Facilities:
Opening Soon a Private room for 30 guests, separate area, bar and Audio Visual.

Private Party Contact:
Monte Smith: 704-965-2788

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Entertainment, High Tea, Non-Smoking Area, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Cafe Monte Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Value
Charlotte
Great for Lunch
Charlotte
Best Value
Charlotte
2 More
Great for Lunch
Charlotte
Most Booked
Charlotte
Best Restaurants in SouthPark ›

neighborhood gem (133)
great for lunch (124)
great for brunch (123)
See All
fit for foodies (120)
special occasion (88)
romantic (74)
good for groups (54)
notable wine list (37)
great for outdoor dining (32)
hot spot (20)
kid-friendly (20)
vibrant bar scene (10)
late-night find (5)
Sort By:
Newest
1513 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

It was a special occasion, taking out a ...

Dined 4 days ago

It was a special occasion, taking out a friend having a bad week.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Consistently consistent - great service ...

Dined 4 days ago

Consistently consistent - great service and great food at this Southpark Gem. I favorite for business lunch or just meeting up with friends.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Consistently one of our favorite dining ...

Dined 6 days ago

Consistently one of our favorite dining spots! Great food and service.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We enjoyed our meal listening to the mus ...

Dined 6 days ago

We enjoyed our meal listening to the music. Not too loud to drown out conversation.

Tags: great for brunch, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Crepes are excellent. Don't get the stea ...

Dined 7 days ago

Crepes are excellent. Don't get the steak. Too tough.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

We enjoyed the Saturday night Beef Welli ...

Dined 7 days ago

We enjoyed the Saturday night Beef Wellington -- which was done perfectly. The filet was "melt in your mouth quality" with no fat, grizzle or imperfections of any sort. The diced mushroom dressing was generous, nicely spiced and delightfully moist. In addition, when asked, the waiter brought an extra cruet of top sauce. The only way this meal could be topped would be if the chef had an (extra cost) option to include the traditional foie gras for which Wellingtons have fame.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our favorite restaurant in town...our pl ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

Our favorite restaurant in town...our place to go for special family events. We also take our out of town guests there as well.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great meal with friends and good food & ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

Great meal with friends and good food & service, what else could I want!!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

The food (mussels)was good. Since we liv ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

The food (mussels)was good. Since we lived in Brussels for seven years, we set a high bar. The service, however, was wonderful. The young male hispanic waiter was efficient, cordial and had a great demeanor and smile. He made the evening exceptional.

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

Great brunch spot...good food, nice atmo ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Great brunch spot...good food, nice atmosphere. I love their omelets. They also serve great coffee...not your usual bland java. The staff is very friendly.

Tags: great for brunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

one of our favourite restaurants in char ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

one of our favourite restaurants in charlotte area

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fantastic. Great find. Food is divine ...

vip
Dined on June 11, 2016

Fantastic. Great find. Food is divine and servers are lovely. Totally celebrated w us

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We have been to Cafe Monte several times ...

vip
Dined on June 11, 2016

We have been to Cafe Monte several times, but took friends of which this was their first time. We all agreed the food was top-drawer with a great selection. Service was impeccable, as usual. Don't be afraid to share this place with special friends!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Reliably tasty food, service is hit or miss

Dined on June 10, 2016

This is a weekly Sunday brunch spot for my friends and me, and frequent lunch stop, as well, and the food is always tasty and attractive. However, service is not as consistent, unfortunately. Water glasses sit empty, coffee cups aren't refilled, and getting the attention of your server is occasionally challenging. This happens whether the place is packed and you wait 30 minutes for a table, or when the crowd has thinned and there are many empty tables. Some servers are superb, others are subpar. Given that a brunch with entree, coffee, and bloody Mary runs $40-$45 with tip, it's disappointing to have less than reliably excellent service. That said, when you get a good server, it's a wonderful experience, and I've never had a bad dish.

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4

Enjoyed lunch as we often do at any mea ...

vip
Dined on June 9, 2016

Enjoyed lunch as we often do at any meal at cafe Monte

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great meeting lunch

Dined on June 8, 2016

We met for lunch at Cafe Monte for a meeting. We were pleased to be able to sit outside. The weather was absolutely gorgeous. The wait staff was excellent. We were not rushed (since we met for 2 hours). The food was great!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Great as usual!😀

vip
Dined on June 7, 2016

Great as usual!😀

food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Always a good choice

Dined on June 6, 2016

Cafe Monte is always a good. Eat there several times a year and always a top notch experience.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Cafe Monte

Dined on June 6, 2016

We have gone here several times now. Service and food are always excellent. Noise is lower that other restaurants and on some nights there is music. A really nice place to go for lunch or dinner. They have a good bar as well.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Very enjoyable evening.

Dined on June 4, 2016

Very enjoyable evening.

food5
ambience5
service5

Memorable service, delicious food, gre ...

Dined on June 4, 2016

Memorable service, delicious food, great music. Felt like we we dining in a cute bistro in France! Perfect ambiance!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Spot for A Romantic Special Occasion

Dined on June 2, 2016

This is our second visit to Cafe Monte but the best one yet as my wife and I came to celebrate her 40th Birthday. With full glasses of red, Olive/ Hummus and Roasted Artichoke Apps Plus we both ordered the specials of the day (lamb, scallops) we can't say enough about the quality service and atmosphere. We plan on taking family with us when they visit and recommend to anyone couple or family looking for an authentic night out.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Brunch!

Dined on May 29, 2016

We visited Cafe Monte last Sunday after church. It was our first time there and very close to South Park Shopping where we were going after brunch. We were pleasantly surprised when we entered. A very nice upscale type restaurant. The Breakfast meals we chose were very delicious, excellently prepared and large portions. My wife said it was the best coffee she had ever had in a restaurant! The service was very attentive and cordial. Just before we left a gentleman came by whom I identified as the manager. I passed along our compliments to him also. Can't wait to return for another great meal!

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food!! It felt like we were in a r ...

Dined on May 29, 2016

Great food!! It felt like we were in a real Parisienne Café. Even the croissants were real French croissants. After living in Paris it has been hard to find a legitimate croissant. Will go there again when we are back in Charlotte.

food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Date nite

Dined on May 28, 2016

The ambiance & music was as lovely as usual, I love the atmosphere. My only complaint would be that the thicker piece of my fish wasn't as done as it should have been. Had it been salmon that would have been fine, but I ordered trout. Even still one fluke wouldn't stop me from going back again😊

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

We always have a good experience there. ...

Dined on May 27, 2016

We always have a good experience there. We take my elderly parents and we always get the best service and food. Thank you

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The occasion was the birthday of my girl ...

Dined on May 26, 2016

The occasion was the birthday of my girlfriend. I had flowers sent to the restaurant and asked for champagne to be at the table. They gave us a nice table and everything was beautifully arranged when we sat down at the table. It was a memorable experience, the food was spectacular as always and the wait staff was friendly, attentive but not overbearing. The waitress took several pictures of us even though she was busy and when I ordered dessert she had put a candle in some whipped cream! Another waiter complimented the flowers as he passed by. Just a wonderful restaurant!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Make a point to visit

Dined on May 24, 2016

Has become one of our go-to places when visiting Charlotte. Food and service are consistently outstanding. Have never been disappointed. Best Duck Confit you will find.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great evening

Dined on May 23, 2016

Was here for Monday night all you can eat mussels! Delish!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Beef short rib sandwich w/petite frites ...

Dined on May 23, 2016

Beef short rib sandwich w/petite frites ~~the best! Crepe cooked to perfection. We always expect perfection and usually get it. Love Cafe Monte!

food5
ambience5
service5

To be safe it is always better to reserv ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

To be safe it is always better to reserve, especially on the weekend. The reception sometimes gets overwhelmed, but handle it quite well. The ambiance is pleasant if not a bit noisy. The servers do their job exceedingly well even when crowded. Best of all the food is excellent & quite varied. The best of bistro eating!

food4
ambience4
service5
value3

The chicken and mushroom crepe was excel ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

The chicken and mushroom crepe was excellent and the portion was larger than expected. Not as big of the fan of the specials - I think they mean special (as in high) prices. Service was excellent!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very great experience yet again. This i ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Very great experience yet again. This is the first time I have had dinner at the Café. I usually go for Brunch or Lunch. They had several specials for the evening and I decided to try the Beef Wellington which was perfection and my mom decided to get the Scallop Special which was also very good. The Soup De Jour was She Crab and it was also so good and could have been my meal. If you haven't been here you should definitely give it a try. The only negative is I wish they had a better variety of starters/appetizers as I never order one or see one I like so I went with the soup.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great as always!

Dined on May 21, 2016

I haven't been disappointed with anything I have eaten here and I have eaten here a lot! My friends and family feel the same way. If calories aren't an issue the lobster crepes are to die for! Enjoy Cafe Monte!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Always a favorite!

Dined on May 21, 2016

Food is always excellent and service is good. Lobster special was wonderful as were the crab cakes. Can't go wrong with anything on the menu. Made the reservation on Open Table and even though it was very crowded we were seated within minutes of our reservation.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5

Great appetizers. Loved the short rib. L ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

Great appetizers. Loved the short rib. Love the deserts and wine selection. Great service

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

One of my favorite restaurants....always ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

One of my favorite restaurants....always completely happy with food, service, etc.....the restaurant I usually take friends for special occasions....

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My favorite spot! Oh la la💋💋

Dined on May 18, 2016

I ABSOLUTELY love this restaurant. It's located in the Southpark area of Charlotte....but whenever I come, I feel like I've left Charlotte and stepped into a quaint bistro in Paris. Lisa, our waitress was absolutely catering and attentive. The ambience is perfect, the food...everything is sublime! Do yourself a favor and go!!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I am in Paris!

Dined on May 18, 2016

I love this place. I always feel like I am dining in Paris. I would recommend this restaurant to anyone who loves French food and ambiance!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

CONSISTENTKY FABULOUS

vip
Dined on May 17, 2016

Love Monte's for all meals although lunch can be a bit noisy and frenetic. But the food is fabulous no matter what you choose.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.