About Cafe Modern

3200 Darnell Street
Fort Worth, TX 76107
View Larger Map

Café Modern chefs blend seasonal, local ingredients inspired by culinary traditions from around the globe. Their artfully crafted cuisine is served against the backdrop of Tadao Ando’s world renowned building in the celebrated Fort Worth Cultural District. Whether enjoying a weekday lunch, Friday night dinner or a relaxed weekend brunch, our genuine hospitality will ensure a memorable dining experience.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Fusion / Eclectic

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Tuesday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:30pm
Dinner: Friday: 5:00pm - 8:30pm
Brunch: Saturday - Sunday: 10:00am - 3:00pm

Cross Street:
University

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(817) 840-2157

Website:
http://www.themodern.org/cafe

Catering:
With its stunning location in the Modern Art Museum of Fort Worth and its serene, reflecting-pond backdrop, The Modern can host an impressive corporate event or the wedding reception of your dreams. From start to finish, our team of planning professionals will handle every detail of your event. Our staff will prepare your food with the same care and attention they provide our individual café customers, and will make sure your special event is nothing less than a masterpiece.

For more information, rental costs, availability and menu selections, contact Café Modern.

Executive Chef:
Denise Shavandy

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access

Restaurant Photos

Private Dining

With its stunning location in the Modern Art Museum and its serene reflecting-pond backdrop, The Modern can host an impressive corporate event or the wedding reception of your dreams.

Cafe Modern Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Brunch
Dallas - Fort Worth
Great for Lunch
Dallas - Fort Worth
Best Ambiance
Fort Worth
2 More
Fit for Foodies
Fort Worth
Most Booked
Fort Worth
Best Restaurants in Fort Worth Cultural District & TCU ›

great for brunch (114)
scenic view (113)
fit for foodies (91)
See All
special occasion (88)
great for lunch (85)
romantic (52)
good for groups (37)
great for outdoor dining (36)
neighborhood gem (31)
notable wine list (17)
hot spot (13)
kid-friendly (12)
vibrant bar scene (2)
 (2)
 (2)
late-night find (1)
 (1)
Sort By:
Newest
784 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

This is always a great place for a leisu ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

This is always a great place for a leisurely lunch. I enjoyed the entrée, but the dessert choices need to be changed. Savory is not what I was looking for, sweet and chocolate was on my list, and they really didn't have anything to offer.

Tags: great for brunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

first time dining there, loved it and wi ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

first time dining there, loved it and will definitely go back !!!!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

The BLT with fried green tomatoes was fa ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

The BLT with fried green tomatoes was fab!

food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Interesting menu. Well prepared food. Great amb

Dined on May 20, 2016

The menu changes monthly. Great ambiance. Well prepared food. Nice quiet lunch.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always love dining at the Modern. The m ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

Always love dining at the Modern. The menu is exciting and changing which allows me to try new dishes.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Modern .... an Oasis in Fort Worth

Dined on May 15, 2016

The setting of the Modern Cafe is stunning, perched on the edge of the water looking across the water at the pavilions filled with art. The food is delicious and the service is, mostly very attentive and easy. Brunch on Sunday is a special treat.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Brunch Spot

Dined on May 15, 2016

Had an amazing first time experience. Great place to have a nice quiet brunch with my significant other. Will definitely be back.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Cafe Modern is a place you can be guaran ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Cafe Modern is a place you can be guaranteed top notch service and beautifully crafted food. We were disappointed in neither.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4

Great brunch Able to enjoy the museum af ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Great brunch Able to enjoy the museum after the fine meal

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Winner on Mother's Day

Dined on May 8, 2016

My 98-year-old mother only wants to celebrate at the Modern.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

We always enjoy cafe modern - the food i ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

We always enjoy cafe modern - the food is always very good to excellent and the ambiance, while sometimes a bit noisy because of the hard surfaces, affords the opportunity to the ubiquitous Fort Worth "where the West begins" theme and imagine oneself in a far more cosmopolitan - perhaps even European - environment. Set in one of the city's architectural gems, the great food and smooth service almost never disappoints.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Five Stars for this beautiful restaurant

Dined on May 7, 2016

We came here to celebrate a graduation. The setting was spectacular--beautiful and dramatic. For a large space and a busy dining room, it was surprisingly quiet and zen like. The food was exceptional and the service was flawless. We will definitely go back the next time we are in Fort Worth!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

Mother's Day Brunch

Dined on May 7, 2016

We did not have to wait at all to be seated. Brunch felt leisurely and unrushed and we were leaving after about an hour. The Zucchini Ribbon Salad was good but not very filling; I should have added the chicken. I think it would have been amazing with a splash of basalmic vinegar. Hubby had the Modern Eggs Benedict. As one would expect, the hollandaise sauce was rich and creamy. My son had the Modern BLT with country potatoes. He wished he had gotten the fries like his sister. Before I could even ask for one, they were gone, so must have been good. I would order the BLT. The fried green tomato was an unusual twist. My daughter ordered the hamburger on a pretzel bun and devoured it. Service was competent. She seemed relatively new. The view was lovely and serene. I wish we had sat outside on the patio.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

love this restaurant

Dined on May 4, 2016

I love this restaurant. The setting is beautiful and the menu is different than other restaurants. There are healthy items as well as traditional food choices. It is quiet enough to have a conversation. The museum is wonderful and it is fun to combine the two events.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Very Mediocre

Dined on April 24, 2016

Just ok. Not the best. Not the worst. Hard to pinpoint it, but the menu seemed very basic and ordinary and the food the same. The space is pretty but I wouldn't return to the Modern.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect for Brunch!

Dined on April 24, 2016

This was our first trip to Cafe Modern and it was absolutely fantastic. We live in Dallas, but were visiting the Kimbell that day for research and decided to plan a trip for brunch nearby. I'm so glad that this popped up. Not only was it on several top brunch places in Ft. Worth, but it's conveniently located inside the Modern Museum (which happens to be free on Sundays)! Both my boyfriend and myself had been in fine dining for years, so our expectations were set pretty high. Our server Brian C. was absolutely on top of things, pleasant, and we will definitely be requesting him next time. We started off with the beef carpaccio, I had the tuna salad (slightly fishy), and my boyfriend the eggs benedict; all of which was delicious. We will be making our trips out to Ft. Worth brunch a little more frequent thanks to our experience here.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great for brunch

Dined on April 24, 2016

Brunch is delightful at the Modern Cafe. The bloody Marys are memorable, the eggs benedict really good, too. And the peaceful view of the pond is the best of all.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

I'd go again....BUT

vip
Dined on April 23, 2016

I love the setting and the menu offerings. What I don't love is the quality of the food and the corresponding attention to detail. I've been there twice during brunch time and: 1) eggs benedict - were served on a soggy english muffin....muffin should have been toasted first to allow it to stand up to the sauce, breakfast potatoes were overdone, tasted burned - and the entire meal was cold 2) eggs lyonnaise - said it was served with asparagus and capicola - actually there were a few very tiny pieces of asparagus and about 5 pieces of burned bacon bits (possibly capicola in a former life) breakfast potatoes were cold and lyonnaise sauce although quite tasty was cold 3) breakfast fritatta - well it was just plain bad - nothing like any fritatta I've ever seen - and it too was cold, and the side sausage was cheap and fatty. Just a plain egg, flattened, with lemon slices and cheese on it - so strange...the color of it was almost scarry - not even property cooked 4) most of the rolls in the basket were dry and stale. I was just so angry - as I was with guests from Rome, Italy and I did not want to send all our meals back - which in hindsight was a mistake as my guests just pushed their food around on their plates, ate of few of the rolls and left hungry. Shameful! My advice is - it's a pretty place, nice setting, but if I go again I will try the burger or club sandwich - try to stick to the simplest of foods and see if that's ok - and I will definitely send it back if it is not up to par.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Really almost perfect....

Dined on April 19, 2016

A beautiful setting with great food and great service...and this from a reviewer who never gives a perfect score....could not really be any better. ....guess if I had to make one criticism, it would be the design of the knife which is so artsy that it will not lay flat on the plate....good looking, but not functional...and that is a stretch to bring out any flow

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

New chef uses locally sourced foods

Dined on April 16, 2016

Loved the inventive new menu, The lamb and pork were both excellent. The outdoor dining was fine on a beautiful day.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Disappointed in meal

Dined on April 15, 2016

I was disappointed in my meal -- I ordered the rack of lamb and it was very difficult to eat - to cut into bites. It was tough and very hard to handle. Flavor of what I ate was good, but I really couldn't eat half of it. Very disappointing, especially given the price. Accompanying vegetables were very nice, but I gave up on them too!

Tags: fit for foodies, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wow!

Dined on April 12, 2016

The spicy shrimp salad was excellent. Worth going back to have this again. Other items looked tasty too!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Brunch

vip
Dined on April 10, 2016

Best Brunch in Ft. Worth. Modern Benedict is outstanding.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great brunch

Dined on April 10, 2016

The food was delicious. Service was outstanding. We can't wait to take our family for brunch.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Always wonderful for brunch. We had a l ...

Dined on April 9, 2016

Always wonderful for brunch. We had a large group (9) and they were very accommodating.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It's all about the art of dining at Cafe Modern

Dined on April 9, 2016

The well crafted, seasonal menu complements sublime surroundings and is balanced with a diverse wine and craft cocktail menu. It's a real treat to enjoy magnificent view of Tadao Ando's stunning architecture while you dine in Cafe Modern as the view over the pond includes major contemporary artworks by Roxy Paine and Jenny Holzer. You won't be sorry if you extend your dining experience and visit the Modern's growing collection of post WWII art and important American artists.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Favorite Dining Place

Dined on April 8, 2016

Delightful ambiance. I love dining here for special occasions.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Pretty good, adventurous menu

Dined on April 8, 2016

If I hadn't eaten here under the previous chef I would have rated the food higher, but this didn't quite hit mark. Our guests really enjoyed it, however. Fun things to try.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great place!

Dined on April 3, 2016

Food was great and service was excellent. Wonderful Sunday brunch after church. The paradise 9 cocktail was really enjoyable.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The menu is a little inflexible and for ...

Dined on April 3, 2016

The menu is a little inflexible and for Sunday lunch time should include a few more breakfast items--omelet maybe, etc.

Tags: great for lunch
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Great service, interesting food.

Dined on April 1, 2016

Our service was very good. Our waiter explained the dishes and suggested certain items.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It is always a delight to eat at The Modern

Dined on March 27, 2016

and the Easter Brunch was no exception. The dining room was packed, but our service was attentive and the food was delicious. We ordered from the specials of the day menu.

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Modern Cafe a new favorite of mine!

Dined on March 27, 2016

What is better than to have a fancy, yummy brunch and then being able to appreciate works of modern art? This is what you will get at the Modern Cafe, located inside the Modern Museum of Fort Worth. We tasted fried green tomatoes, and I ordered a big burger. Yum, yum, yum. Staff is super friendly and the mimosas were also VERY GOOD.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always A Delight

Dined on March 27, 2016

I have been to Cafe Modern several dozen times since it opened. With one exception, the restaurant delighted. The food is creative and delicious. You could put your finger down on the menu blindfolded and you would be delighted with the food. The service is great. The setting is extraordinary. Although I am a champagne "gal", my companions have ordered some very interesting and always changing beverages.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful Easter Brunch AGAIN!

Dined on March 27, 2016

We try to go to the Modern every Easter for Brunch. We absolutely love this restaurant! Food is ALWAYS great, service is wonderful (thanks, Megan) and ambiance is so cool. Can't recommend the Modern enough.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Easter Brunch

Dined on March 27, 2016

Four of us had Easter Brunch at the Cafe Modern. They are changing chefs and it shows. The food was not up to what we have had in the past and the presentation was less than appealing. For example, Eggs Benedict was an untoasted English muffin with a paperthin slice of ham topped by an adequately cooked egg and very, very lemony Hollandaise sauce along with a few breakfast potatoes, all sitting forlornly in the middle of a huge plate with no garnish. I suppose the crowd for Easter could have explained some of the other food issues as well, but perhaps when the new chef takes charge, things will improve. On the plus side, in spite of the crowd, we were seated promptly and our server was professional. Unfortunately the man (not our server) who actually delivered the food needs a bit more training. We usually enjoy the Cafe as a place to eat in the museum district, but with all the exciting, new restaurants just across University Drive from the museum, they will need to step up their game or continue to lose customers.

Tags: great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Finally found the Best

Dined on March 26, 2016

Fantastic place to experience This was more than expected

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

Great views & service, food OK

Dined on March 19, 2016

Ambiance and views are spectacular. The server was attentive and friendly. We had a nice romantic Friday night dinner. The food, however, was just OK. The cauliflower soup was tasty but not extraordinary. The brussel sprouts were more of a salad than brussell sprouts at other restaurants. The sea bass was over-seasoned. And the pasta di mare was over-seasoned as well. I would go back to try the brunch, but would not be back for dinner.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Nice- but not worth the $$$

Dined on March 19, 2016

We had a pretty pleasant experience. Group of four. Service was wonderful, quick and precise. The food was ok, steak was tender but overly sauced. Clams were over cooked. It was decent food but not for $120 a couple, and we left hungry.

Tags: fit for foodies
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Food sounds better than it is

Dined on March 16, 2016

I eat here often because I go to the movies here regularly and it's easy and convenient. Service is great--very pretty view. The descriptions of the food on the menu are exotic but the food is, for the most part, just ok. Ex. I ordered the apple Bourbon salad--lots of greens, lots of very pretty but tasteless pink radishes, a few apple sticks, some pecans buried under the lettuce. I expected more apples and a more assertive dressing. Perfectly edible, but also uninteresting. Pretty typical of the food here tho they make a great hamburger and the Eggs Benedict at brunch are very good. However, if you like the English muffins toasted you have to request that. Very noisy--nothing they can do about it, high ceilings and lots of glass. Have to shout at others at the table. Nonetheless, I will continue to eat here--guess that's what keeps mediocrity alive.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, scenic view

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.