About Cafe Modern

3200 Darnell Street
Fort Worth, TX 76107
View Larger Map

Café Modern chefs blend seasonal, local ingredients inspired by culinary traditions from around the globe. Their artfully crafted cuisine is served against the backdrop of Tadao Ando’s world renowned building in the celebrated Fort Worth Cultural District. Whether enjoying a weekday lunch, Friday night dinner or a relaxed weekend brunch, our genuine hospitality will ensure a memorable dining experience.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Fusion / Eclectic

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Tuesday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:30pm
Dinner: Friday: 5:00pm - 8:30pm
Brunch: Saturday - Sunday: 10:00am - 3:00pm

Cross Street:
University

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(817) 840-2157

Website:
http://www.themodern.org/cafe

Catering:
With its stunning location in the Modern Art Museum of Fort Worth and its serene, reflecting-pond backdrop, The Modern can host an impressive corporate event or the wedding reception of your dreams. From start to finish, our team of planning professionals will handle every detail of your event. Our staff will prepare your food with the same care and attention they provide our individual café customers, and will make sure your special event is nothing less than a masterpiece.

For more information, rental costs, availability and menu selections, contact Café Modern.

Executive Chef:
Denise Shavandy

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Spring Frittata  - Cafe Modern, Fort Worth, TX
Espresso - Cafe Modern, Fort Worth, TX
Beef Carpaccio - Cafe Modern, Fort Worth, TX
Oatmeal Cookie Chess Pie - Cafe Modern, Fort Worth, TX
Moroccan Spiced Steak - Cafe Modern, Fort Worth, TX
Cappuccino - Cafe Modern, Fort Worth, TX
Whole Fried Branzini - Cafe Modern, Fort Worth, TX
Duck Lettuce Wraps - Cafe Modern, Fort Worth, TX
Piggy Two Ways - Cafe Modern, Fort Worth, TX
Shrimp Michelada - Cafe Modern, Fort Worth, TX
French Toast w/ Seasonal Berries - Cafe Modern, Fort Worth, TX
Brushetta - Cafe Modern, Fort Worth, TX
Crispy Soft Shell Crab - Cafe Modern, Fort Worth, TX
Spring Five Onion Soup - Cafe Modern, Fort Worth, TX
Eggs Benedict Caprese - Cafe Modern, Fort Worth, TX
Adobo Fried Chicken - Cafe Modern, Fort Worth, TX
Steak & Panzanella - Cafe Modern, Fort Worth, TX
Tabasco-Buttermilk Fried Chicken - Cafe Modern, Fort Worth, TX
Capellini Crudaiolo - Cafe Modern, Fort Worth, TX
Wedge Salad With Grilled Mahi Mahi - Cafe Modern, Fort Worth, TX
Eggs Benedict Oscar - Cafe Modern, Fort Worth, TX
Pink Grapefruit Ginger Sorbet - Cafe Modern, Fort Worth, TX
Mental Cocktail - Cafe Modern, Fort Worth, TX
Local Cheese Plate - Cafe Modern, Fort Worth, TX
Daily Fresh Fish Special - Cafe Modern, Fort Worth, TX
Red Miso Steak - Cafe Modern, Fort Worth, TX
Turkey Sandwich With Avocado And Bacon Mayo - Cafe Modern, Fort Worth, TX
The Omelette - Cafe Modern, Fort Worth, TX
Muhammara - Cafe Modern, Fort Worth, TX
Tiramisu Pancakes - Cafe Modern, Fort Worth, TX
Chickpea Fries w/ Dipping Sauce - Cafe Modern, Fort Worth, TX
Fall Omlet - Cafe Modern, Fort Worth, TX

Private Dining

With its stunning location in the Modern Art Museum and its serene reflecting-pond backdrop, The Modern can host an impressive corporate event or the wedding reception of your dreams.

Cafe Modern Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.7

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (33)
Great for Lunch (29)
Creative Cuisine (28)
See All
Good for a Date (25)
Modern Decor (25)
Great for Brunch (19)
Fit for Foodies (19)
Neighborhood Gem (18)
Sunday Lunch (17)
Waterfront (17)
Special Occasion (16)
Quiet Conversation (15)
Good for Birthdays (15)
Casual (14)
Good for Anniversaries (13)
Business Meals (13)
Worth the Drive (11)
Healthy (11)
Local Ingredients (10)
Romantic (10)
Great for Outdoor Dining (9)
Good Vegetarian Options (8)
Afternoon Coffee (8)
Cozy (6)
Good for Groups (6)
Afternoon Tea (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Notable Wine List (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Seasonal (5)
Comfort Food (4)
Fun (4)
People Watching (3)
Organic (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Vegan (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Historic (2)
Authentic (1)
Spicy (1)
Great Beer (1)
Family Style (1)
Private Room (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
939 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Service was mediocre and so was the food ...

 
·Dined 7 days ago

Service was mediocre and so was the food.

I was actually quite surprised as I had been here before and had an excellent meal and sterling service.

The crab/ spinach omelet was set and not will seasoned. My friend's dish of the Latin eggs Benedict was tastier.

The waiter was not at all attentive and somewhat impatient.

Our table was lovely by the window and we had a nice visit. I am hoping this is the exception and not the rule ... overpriced for what we hadas well.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value2

I had a delightful lunch with friends at ...

 
·Dined on January 14, 2017

I had a delightful lunch with friends at the Cafe Modern. It was a busy Saturday, so it was good that I had made a reservation. I like the menu choices which are always a little different in a good way. The view of the serene pool of water just outside the windows makes for great ambiance.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Modern Decor, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My family has eaten at the Modern about ...

 
·Dined on January 14, 2017

My family has eaten at the Modern about twice a year since they have opened ( we don't live in the area). We have always been happy with the quality of food and the price. This weekend we ordered the queso fundido and were extremely disappointed. It was a quarter size of dried up cheese that wasn't the quality we expected. I had the pistachio and mixed greens with chicken which was good but not real impressive. My brother had the wagyu cheeseburger and said the blue cheese was a tad bit overpowering. Also, the basket of rolls and scones were dry and hard. We love the view, so we will probably go back, but if the food isn't up to par, we will just stay on the museum side.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Wonderful food and service! Unfortunatel ...

 
·Dined on January 11, 2017

Wonderful food and service! Unfortunately very loud but still a great experience overall.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server, Kerri, was warm, friendly, a ...

 
·Dined on January 11, 2017

Our server, Kerri, was warm, friendly, and attentive. The food was excellent. My friend and I split our sandwiches. Delicious!

Tags: Fun, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was slightly subpar this tim ...

 
·Dined on January 8, 2017

The service was slightly subpar this time...waiter often appeared missing in action. Parking is often a problem. Other than that, excellent ambiance and food. The only local place I know that servers Wagyu beef burgers for lunch.

Tags: Scenic View, Healthy, Waterfront, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Although we live in Dallas, we dine at t ...

 
·Dined on January 8, 2017

Although we live in Dallas, we dine at the Café Modern about once a month when we visit The Modern or the Kimball. It's a great place for lunch and the view is superb. We always enjoy our meals here and the service is outstanding.

Sunday, noon, was especially crowded...admission to the Museum is free on Sundays...so book via Open Table or you'll have a long wait for a table. There's a smallish bar area where you might be able to snag a seat but it could be problematic on a cold or wet day (Sunday was cold but not wet)...outside seating is not available during these temperature aberrations.

My only criticism of the Café is the noise level. Table are close together and there's a lot of glass and concrete so little of the noise is absorbed by the décor. We were a party of 4 so we were seated in the center of the dining room...parties of 2 are usually seated near the windows and that helps with the noise distraction. I truly wish that some sound absorbing décor could be added to soften the racket level...particularly when you have a group celebrating a birthday or other event...their good time spills over to the rest of us.

Tags: Comfort Food, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Café Modern was a nice place to enjoy lu ...

 
·Dined on January 7, 2017

Café Modern was a nice place to enjoy lunch prior to a visit to the museum. Our table was not ready when we arrived and it actually took them about 20 minutes to get us a table even though we had reservations. That was disappointing. The waitress was not good about taking our empty glasses and plates when we were done.

However, on the bright side, the food was delicious. I had the Asian Nicoise salad. The tuna was perfectly seared and the veggies were cooked, but still crisp. The rest of the group had eggs benedict and were happy with the choices. I will try this place again, but hope for better service.

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

The food, service and view were wonderfu ...

 
·Dined on January 7, 2017

The food, service and view were wonderful, as always, but the front of house was not on top of their game on Saturday. The restaurant was extremely busy, but I still did not expect to wait 45 minutes for a table with a reservation. More information and a little sympathy would have been much appreciated.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious meal and wonderful service.!

 
·Dined on January 7, 2017

Delicious meal and wonderful service.!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Friendliness of greeters and waiter. Bea ...

 
·Dined on January 7, 2017

Friendliness of greeters and waiter. Beautiful room.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Great setting. Very nice menu. Excellent ...

 
·Dined on January 7, 2017

Great setting. Very nice menu. Excellent food. Friendly polite service. No negatives.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We went on a Friday when a rock band exp ...

 
·Dined on January 7, 2017

We went on a Friday when a rock band expo was playing in the museum atrium. My ears are still splitting. The meal was great but check before you go unless you like loud music making your table vibrate.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4

The Modern's restaurant is always a reli ...

 
·Dined on December 31, 2016

The Modern's restaurant is always a reliable lunch stop prior to seeing an exhibit. Lovely service and delicious food! Thank you.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Organic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Enjoyed everything about it. Not rushed, ...

 
·Dined on December 30, 2016

Enjoyed everything about it. Not rushed, good drinks, good food, gorgeous surroundings.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Love the view out the window of this caf ...

 
·Dined on December 29, 2016

Love the view out the window of this cafe, and the food is always, fresh, unique, and delicious. It is a privier lunch spot, but the view and food combined was worth it. We went for lunch during a girl's day out, and it was perfect.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Waterfront, Afternoon Coffee, Afternoon Tea, Great for Lunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

I love Cafe Modern! The food is excelle ...

 
·Dined on December 29, 2016

I love Cafe Modern! The food is excellent and interesting. And the location is one of the most beautiful anywhere. Plus it happens to be 2 miles from my house! We are lucky to have this in Fort Worth!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Great for Brunch, Afternoon Coffee, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Romantic, Modern Decor, Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Pasta was stocked together and very dry. ...

 
·Dined on December 28, 2016

Pasta was stocked together and very dry. Tast was good but some part of pasta was not edible.

Tags: Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch, Casual, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

When I meet with family or friends In Fo ...

 
·Dined on December 27, 2016

When I meet with family or friends In Fort Worth, my favorite lunch and brunch place is the Café Modern. The menu changes sometimes, but we were never disappointed. Friendly service, very good food, great atmosphere and of course the view! On weekends a reservation really helps. I used the open table service many times.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Lovely as always--the Modern never disap ...

 
·Dined on December 26, 2016

Lovely as always--the Modern never disappoints on service or setting. The food was fantastic--always wish for more vegetarian options. But, there is always something good or that can be modified (other than salads, which are fantastic too) for veg on the menu. Wine list is not extensive but offerings are excellent.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Modern Decor, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Café Modern has excellent food and servi ...

 
·Dined on December 21, 2016

Café Modern has excellent food and service. The menu is diverse and changes periodically so you have different choices at subsequent visits. The setting is unique and they have a nice gift shop to visit!

Tags: Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Because the restaurant is a glass pavili ...

 
·Dined on December 18, 2016

Because the restaurant is a glass pavilion on a peninsula in the reflecting pool of the Fort Worth Modern Art Museum, the view from every table is incredible. Food is excellent. Service is very efficient.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Great service and menu selection was ama ...

 
·Dined on December 15, 2016

Great service and menu selection was amazing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I have dined here several times, and it ...

 
·Dined on December 11, 2016

I have dined here several times, and it never disappoints. I love the food, and of course the art.

Tags: Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Waiter never brought us bread. Got my d ...

 
·Dined on December 10, 2016

Waiter never brought us bread. Got my drink and my order wrong. Water glass was left empty for a while. Usually get very good service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3

The setting is lovely, beautiful view by ...

 
·Dined on December 9, 2016

The setting is lovely, beautiful view by the window overlooking the FW Modern's pond. Food and cocktails were excellent. Daniel, the server, did a perfect job. five star all around.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The lunch was so good as were the cockta ...

 
·Dined on December 9, 2016

The lunch was so good as were the cocktails! Excellent.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Scenic View, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A beautiful place with delicious food an ...

 
·Dined on December 9, 2016

A beautiful place with delicious food and excellent service!

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Had reservations for 2 months for a grou ...

 
·Dined on December 3, 2016

Had reservations for 2 months for a group of 4. Staff was not attentive. Received drinks after we received meal and potatoes were cold.

Never offered dessert or coffee.

This happened the last time we had appetizers and wine. We could not get anyone's attention because their friends were at the bar.

Beautiful view but will not be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

I love Cafe Modern, especially on the mu ...

 
·Dined on December 3, 2016

I love Cafe Modern, especially on the museums's First Friday events when the exhibits are open late and music and beverages are available in the lobby. Makes for a very festive, exciting evening all in one location. Our meal this time had two big hits, an interesting dish, some mehs and one fail. The fried oyster appetizer was more fry than oyster, only the freshly marinated veggies underneath saved the dish. The bibb salad was under seasoned, and our server's only fail for not offering some fresh ground pepper. The duck breast and the sea bass were fabulous, perfectly cooked and beautifully plated. Exactly the quality I expect from CM. The curry vegetables perfumed the entire room with a heavenly fragrance, but the bite I had (tofu) while interesting was a little underwhelming. The scent was better than the flavor. The pheasant with dumplings was a complete let down. It tasted ok, but, if it was my cafe, I would not have let that plate out of the kitchen. When you are serving what is essentially chicken at an elevate price it should at least look better than mystery meat in a bowl. Great deal on the reserve wine list that night--much appreciated.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

The dining room is attractive and busy, ...

 
·Dined on December 2, 2016

The dining room is attractive and busy, the dining crowd seemed to enjoying themselves as evidenced by the noise volume, which was a little loud for a museum café. Our server was attentive, and knowledgeable about the menu items. The wine list was more than adequate. The menu items, for such a small selection, could have been better executed. The warm cheese appetizer was disappointing and small. A spicy item did not have enough inherent flavor, a comfortable choice was a little bland. A starter salad hit the right notes, chocolate and fruit preparations excelled at dessert. Overall- good but not great. Pricey.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

A lovely, crisp atmosphere that was perf ...

 
·Dined on December 2, 2016

A lovely, crisp atmosphere that was perfect for catching up with an old friend. We sat next to the window facing the water/pool and it was very peaceful and delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

It's always a treat to have a meal at th ...

 
·Dined on December 2, 2016

It's always a treat to have a meal at the Modern! Service is always professional and friendly.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

I ordered the jerk chicken and quinoa sa ...

 
·Dined on November 30, 2016

I ordered the jerk chicken and quinoa salad. It looked so unappetizing that I almost sent it back! But I didn't and it tasted ok.

Our waiter was pretty lousy. Very unhelpful with the menu. Took forever to refill our empty tea glasses. But after dropping off our check he kept trying to take it before we'd had a chance to put a credit card in to pay!

Beautiful atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2

Good food and great atmosphere; being at ...

 
·Dined on November 27, 2016

Good food and great atmosphere; being attached to modern art museum very unique.

Tags: Fun, Waterfront, Sunday Lunch, Modern Decor, Great for Brunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

I feel that the food has been the most d ...

 
·Dined on November 27, 2016

I feel that the food has been the most disappointing element of having a meal at Café Modern. I used to think of it as such a treat to take friends to brunch and visit the latest movie or exhibit. I will think of other options in our future, frequent visits.

Tags: Modern Decor, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value2

As always, the food is great. If you'r ...

 
·Dined on November 27, 2016

As always, the food is great. If you're looking for lighter fare, try the Asian shrimp salad.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Delicious lunch, excellent service (gave ...

 
·Dined on November 25, 2016

Delicious lunch, excellent service (gave us time to enjoy our time together), lovely setting.

Tags: Special Occasion, Healthy, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lovely place with lovely food. Amazing ...

 
·Dined on November 25, 2016

Lovely place with lovely food. Amazing experience, loved the sweet potato poutin with duck confit as well as their fish special. The service was courteous and prompt. We visited the museum first, had lunch and then took a stroll through the grounds. A nice day indeed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always enjoy the Modern. I will return f ...

 
·Dined on November 20, 2016

Always enjoy the Modern. I will return for brunch and hope to make it for dinner some time.

Tags: Good for a Date, Afternoon Tea, People Watching, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.