Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.18mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.18mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.18mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.18mi

About Cafe Modern

Café Modern chefs blend seasonal, local ingredients inspired by culinary traditions from around the globe. Their artfully crafted cuisine is served against the backdrop of Tadao Ando’s world renowned building in the celebrated Fort Worth Cultural District. Whether enjoying a weekday lunch, Friday night dinner or a relaxed weekend brunch, our genuine hospitality will ensure a memorable dining experience.

3200 Darnell Street
Fort Worth, TX 76107
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Fusion / Eclectic

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Tuesday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:30pm
Dinner: Friday: 5:00pm - 8:30pm
Brunch: Saturday - Sunday: 10:00am - 3:00pm

Cross Street:
University

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(817) 840-2157

Website:
http://www.themodern.org/cafe

Catering:
With its stunning location in the Modern Art Museum of Fort Worth and its serene, reflecting-pond backdrop, The Modern can host an impressive corporate event or the wedding reception of your dreams. From start to finish, our team of planning professionals will handle every detail of your event. Our staff will prepare your food with the same care and attention they provide our individual café customers, and will make sure your special event is nothing less than a masterpiece.

For more information, rental costs, availability and menu selections, contact Café Modern.

Executive Chef:
Denise Shavandy

Additional:
Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access

Cafe Modern Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.4

ambience

4.7

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (35)
Great for Brunch (34)
Sunday Lunch (34)
See All
Creative Cuisine (31)
Great for Lunch (28)
Special Occasion (22)
Fit for Foodies (22)
Good for a Date (20)
Waterfront (19)
Quiet Conversation (16)
Romantic (15)
Worth the Drive (15)
Business Meals (15)
Neighborhood Gem (14)
Local Ingredients (12)
Pre/post Theatre (12)
Good for Anniversaries (11)
Good for Birthdays (11)
Casual (11)
Afternoon Coffee (10)
Fun (10)
Handcrafted Cocktails (10)
Authentic (9)
Good Vegetarian Options (9)
Seasonal (8)
Good for Groups (7)
Afternoon Tea (6)
Quick Bite (6)
Cozy (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
People Watching (5)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Comfort Food (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Bar Seating (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Organic (2)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Tapas (1)
Vegan (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sort By:
S
1079 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined 5 days ago

Wonderful place for Sunday Brunch prior to an afternoon at The Modern and Kimbell.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (London)·Dined 5 days ago

Clancy, our server was, as usual, wonderful. Very attentive and made this occasion special.
Food was wondeful and brunch was great for the movie afterward.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 7 days ago

Our server was wonderful! She was prompt, so helpful with a really warm personality-and the FOOD!!! I had basil tomato soup followed by grilled marinated shrimp, creamy grits with bits of applewood bacon and crispy greens on the side.
Can't wait to go back! The nightime view of the cobalt blue lit museum reflecting off the water made the entire evening complete!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Waterfront, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Delightful dining -- peaceful smbianceon the water. Special.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Cafe Modern is my favorite place in Fort Worth for Sunday Brunch. The menu is always interesting and delectable, the service is lovely and the setting is beautiful. It is without comparison.

Tags: Hot Spot, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Scenic View, Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Waterfront, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Business Meals, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 29, 2017

We eat here every time we visit ft. Worth. They change the menu and always have amazing meals.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 27, 2017

I went with a friend for a casual Sunday Brunch and was pleased with the nice atmosphere and good food. The eggs benedict were tasty and came served with excellent home style potatoes. It was nice to have a room with a pretty view and a noise level that allowed for easy conversation. Will definitely be back.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Afternoon Tea, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on August 25, 2017

Excellent restaurant! My favorite restaurant in Fort Worth!

Tags: Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, People Watching, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 23, 2017

Cafe Modern is a culinary cornerstone of the museum district. Service is outstanding and the menu varied and well prepared by the great chef.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 9, 2017

The food was creative, fresh, local and very tasty. We love this cafe!

Tags: Casual, Good Vegetarian Options, Sunday Lunch, Business Meals, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Food good. Service was also good. Nice place for lunch before you hit the
museums. Drinks are good.

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Excellent rhubarb rosemary cocktail. Exquisite Quacomano Esquites.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Austin)·Dined on August 4, 2017

Very good food. Accommodated request for gluten free and dairy free meal. Attentive service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Great experience! The food keeps getting better every time we go.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 29, 2017

We dine here whenever we make the trek from Dallas to Fort Worth. We are never disappointed with our visits and enjoy the seasonal changes to the menu.

Tags: Healthy, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 28, 2017

The setting is beautiful; the ambiance serene; the food outstanding!

Our waitperson seemed new at the job and did not know the menu. She did not bring extra bread that we requested and she got my husband's order wrong. The mistake was quickly corrected. And the meal was so wonderful that these little inconveniences did not detract from the overall experience.

Tags: Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 26, 2017

Food was excellent. Our waitress, Summer was very attentive. Our 9-year old grandson loved the Mac & Cheese!

Tags: Special Occasion, Afternoon Coffee, Good for Groups, Good Vegetarian Options, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 26, 2017

Great experience. Good food and service. Had a problem last time and Audrn cane through forcus this time.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on July 25, 2017

This has always been a mother/daughter occasion and now we have three generations for this special outing. The food used to be so inspired we couldn't wait to see what was on the menu. I ordered fish and chips thinking my granddaughter might eat some. Unfortunately, she shared her mac and cheese with me as I sent my plate back. The batter was not cooked through, the fish had slimy skin on it and had not been cleaned properly. Usually dessert is a hit but it was a big dud. Our museum day tradition may not last much longer which makes me sad.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Outstanding service! The menu changes seasonally. Options for all palettes. The modern museum is the perfect backdrop for a great meal. Ask for a window table!

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Healthy, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Business Meals, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 19, 2017

I booked a table for 6 then had 9. I am always told if I have a table for 8, it has to be one check. This is unacceptable as there are 8 individuals eating. People now use credit cards not cash! I got 2 tables one for 4 and one for 5. The service was extremely slow and we had no time to order either coffee or dessert. Our reservation was for 12:15 and we went to the Modern Theater at 2pm. A glass of wine and a main course in 90 minutes! I would appreciate a call back re this review.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 18, 2017

We had read a review from a few days ago which wasn't very positive, so not sure what to expect this time - our last visit wasn't up to par but this one was EXCELLENT in all area - service, food, libations. We were so pleased as we've had such good experiences in the past - and this was back on track and beyond!! - We usually go for lunch after a visit to one of the museums - and will for sure be back again!

Tags: Fun, Scenic View, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 15, 2017

i had been before and had a better experience. this time, the food was just ok and the service was not good. Our server was so slow - she decided to stop and chat with another server with our ice tea order in her hand for a full 5 minutes. then cocktail order came another 5 minutes after that (15 min after seated). Ice tea refill was diluted with coke! very strange. In general, just felt like the whole place (kitchen and service staff) didn't care too much about making the food and service an excellent experience. It's a beautiful spot to eat with a great view. They need to step up their game to match the atmosphere.

Tags: Scenic View, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Everything was good except one of our chicken wings came uncooked.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Waterfront, Fun, Good for a Date, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Wonderful creative dinner pre-movie at The Modern; it was relaxing at our window overlooking the reflecting pool. The Texas Sparkler cocktail was delicious as were our shared appetizer and entrees.

Tags: Healthy, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 14, 2017

We went to Cafe Modern for lunch before going to an exhibit across the street from the Modern. It is a beautiful place for lunch and the food is excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 14, 2017

The restaurant is a lovely place, the setting is serene and quiet. The food is exceptional as is the service.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Casual, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Gluten Free Options, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Modern, romantic, amazing service but chefs choice of menu left all of us so disappointed in many areas specially the salads.
I highly recommend this location though. The ambience is unique.

Tags: Quick Bite, Seasonal, Sunday Lunch, Waterfront, Healthy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on July 5, 2017

Excellent! The Modern is excellent! It is one of the best places in Fort Worth!

Tags: Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 1, 2017

A great range of food with an excellent view. Really a great date spot with good drinks and coffee to go with any meal. Well worth the drive around a beautiful area of Fort Worth.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Happy Hour, Afternoon Tea, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Unique setting. Appetizers sounded better than they tasted. Great service. Overall good but not mind blowing. If you get a few drinks, app, and meals you are looking at about $100.

Tags: People Watching, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 30, 2017

We had a wonderful time It was our fist time dining there The waiter was wonderful and the cuisine was outstanding Will definitely go back The view outside was very pretty and peaceful

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Texas)·Dined on June 30, 2017

We had an amazing time. Our waitress/ess took great care of us. The surroundings are beautiful. The food so healthly and delicious and unusual. Our new favorite place

Tags: Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on June 25, 2017

One of our favorite places anywhere!!
Perfect service, delicious food, beautiful setting.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, People Watching, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Disappointing service leading to underwhelming food. Our service was slow. My wife's was served the wrong dish the first time and the server left my food at the table to get cold while her meal was remade. Water was only if we asked. This was only our second time to visit this restaurant and we were really looking forward to it. After this time, I am not certain we will return.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on June 18, 2017

We celebrated Father's Day at Cafe Modern on Sunday. We were looking forward to the usual wonderful experience, as it is a go-to special occasion place for us. Unfortunately, it seemed to be one issue after another. None of the children's options were egg free, which was a no-go for my son. The chef burned all the quiches, one of which was intended for my plate. The substitution provided arrived cold and inedible. The bar had run out of the proper whiskey for the cocktail my husband ordered. Not to mention the expected wait time considering it was a holiday. It was a MESS. Our waiter comped my meal and gave us a heaping bowl of sorbet as an apology, so he did all he could. But it really makes me question whether we can rely on a restaurant we love to deliver.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Always good. Our favorite place to eat in Fort Worth!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Even though it's a museum restaurant, it IS NOT a museum restaurant. Consistently high quality food, service, and class ... and a five minute walk to the Kimbell.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Scenic View, Healthy, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on June 17, 2017

My husband and I were in Ft. Worth for a Kimball exhibit and decided to dine at the Modern Art Museum Cafe Modern. The setting is lovely, as it is surrounded by a shallow pond that comes right up next to the exterior tables inside the glass. The menu was varied and I had a difficult time deciding what to order. He really enjoyed his grits and shrimp, and my softshell crab banh mi sandwich was good. I was not a big fan of the coconut milk drink special, which was not at all sweet and sort of bitter. We enjoyed the carrot soup and the choco ganache dessert. We actually went back the next day for lunch when we were still in the museum area -- different brunch menu for the weekend. Had grits, bacon and cheese (appetizer) as an entree and pea filafel. And, we used Open Table and were assured of a seat both times.

Tags: Business Meals, Vegan, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Healthier options needed, in particular a vegan option. However great bread. Located in the beautiful modern art Museum, location is the best asset this restaurant offers.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.