Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.18mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.18mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.18mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.18mi

About Cafe Modern

Café Modern chefs blend seasonal, local ingredients inspired by culinary traditions from around the globe. Their artfully crafted cuisine is served against the backdrop of Tadao Ando’s world renowned building in the celebrated Fort Worth Cultural District. Whether enjoying a weekday lunch, Friday night dinner or a relaxed weekend brunch, our genuine hospitality will ensure a memorable dining experience.

3200 Darnell Street
Fort Worth, TX 76107
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Fusion / Eclectic

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Tuesday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:30pm
Dinner: Friday: 5:00pm - 8:30pm
Brunch: Saturday - Sunday: 10:00am - 3:00pm

Cross Street:
University

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(817) 840-2157

Website:
http://www.themodern.org/cafe

Catering:
With its stunning location in the Modern Art Museum of Fort Worth and its serene, reflecting-pond backdrop, The Modern can host an impressive corporate event or the wedding reception of your dreams. From start to finish, our team of planning professionals will handle every detail of your event. Our staff will prepare your food with the same care and attention they provide our individual café customers, and will make sure your special event is nothing less than a masterpiece.

For more information, rental costs, availability and menu selections, contact Café Modern.

Executive Chef:
Denise Shavandy

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access

Private Dining

With its stunning location in the Modern Art Museum and its serene reflecting-pond backdrop, The Modern can host an impressive corporate event or the wedding reception of your dreams.

Cafe Modern Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.6

ambience

4.7

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Modern Decor (39)
Scenic View (38)
Great for Lunch (37)
See All
Great for Brunch (35)
Creative Cuisine (33)
Sunday Lunch (28)
Special Occasion (27)
Good for Birthdays (25)
Fit for Foodies (23)
Quiet Conversation (19)
Good for a Date (19)
Waterfront (19)
Good for Anniversaries (18)
Worth the Drive (18)
Local Ingredients (16)
Business Meals (15)
Romantic (14)
Neighborhood Gem (13)
Casual (12)
Healthy (11)
Pre/post Theatre (11)
Cozy (10)
Good Vegetarian Options (9)
Fun (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Seasonal (9)
Good for Groups (8)
Organic (8)
Comfort Food (7)
Gluten Free Options (7)
Afternoon Coffee (7)
Disabled Access (6)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
People Watching (5)
Bar Seating (5)
Molecular Gastronomy (4)
Afternoon Tea (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Happy Hour (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Vegan (3)
Quick Bite (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Authentic (2)
Great Beer (1)
Historic (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Family Style (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Sort By:
S
997 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined 7 days ago

Never disappointed! Food is always fresh and delicious, innovative menu is rotated seasonally. We love to take out of town guests here even if we don't visit the exhibits. The Architecture and view over the water elevates the experience.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Historic, Sunday Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Waterfront, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined 7 days ago

Easter Brunch and first time at Café Modern. With a full restaurant and hard concrete walls, the noise level was high. I enjoyed the grits and BLT benedict but my wife did not care for the grits. She prefers creamy grits. My wife ordered the veggie omelet and was pleased. She liked the potatoes but I did not care for the oil used to cook the potatoes.

Service was prompt. Hint - try the violet gin drink.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Wonderful, inventive seasonal offerings.

Had a terrific server who knew just how much to say at the right time. Great suggestions & super-pleasant.

Noisier than usual due to the many large family parties for Easter.

Always polite host.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Cafe Modern is an upscale Fort Worth dining experience that suites every artful soul! The service is amazing & the experience impressionable. We LOVE Cafe Modern!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Special Occasion, Casual, Afternoon Coffee, Modern Decor, Romantic, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We went to Cafe Modern for Easter....we had a reservation and were seated promptly. Had great service even though the restaurant was full. The food was excellent and nice portions. Afterward we walked around the museum. I hope we can make this an Easter tradition.

Tags: Fun, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Great menu and service not to mention great view.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Great for Brunch, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Enjoyed our visit. Great food and ambiance. Come back often to celebrate birthdays.

Tags: Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Great atmosphere, great view, and great food. Cafe Modern is our favorite restaurant for memorable gatherings with close friends and family.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Modern Decor, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 15, 2017

My oldest daughter said it was the best burger she ever ate! I took my three daughters to the Modern to go to the Museum for the youngest one's 13th birthday, and the Cafe is my favorite restaurant in Texas. It has a gorgeous view, but the food is amazing, incredible, delicious. Definitely a place for foodies, "fancy schmancy" and good for clean eating.

Tags: Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Organic, Vegan, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Perfect location for a birthday lunch. Excellent, personal service plus an outstanding seasonal menu and wine list elevated the experience and made for a thoroughly enjoyable and memorable birthday celebration for my mother.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Very pleasant for brunch but reservations are a must.

Tags: Modern Decor, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 8, 2017

I've eaten at Cafe Modern in the Modern Art Museum many times, and they are always great. The only improvement would be to have brought silverware to the table when we sat down so we didn't have to ask for it, and to bring the wonderful gourmet breads to the table also without having to ask for it. These were minor issues, as the food was fantastic and the service was responsive to every need.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Modern Decor, Great for Brunch, Afternoon Tea, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on April 6, 2017

The setting in this building by architect Tadeo Ando is beautiful. Also very calm and soothing. But this time the food really left quite a bit to be desired. There were very few/none choices for someone on a restricted diet. Every item on the menu was really reaching to be different rather than well prepared or delicious. And prices pretty high for serving size and quality. I have eaten here several times and in past was always excellent and worth the trip to museum.

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Special Occasion, Romantic, Scenic View, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on April 4, 2017

LOVELY LUNCH. WILL DO AGAIN. ENJOYED THE MUSEUM TOO.OUR FIRST TIME.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good Vegetarian Options, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Wonderful brunch! The view was lovely. We will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 1, 2017

The outdoor area is very nice when the weather is pleasant. Food is a little pricey but it's very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 28, 2017

I love that Cafe Modern uses local ingredients and updates the menu periodically. Everything about this restaurant is lovely - from the service, its scenic views, and superb menu. One of my favorite places to dine.

Tags: Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Daniel was absolutely fantastic!!! He mad my husbands birthday EXTRA special just by being him. Highly recommended!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Fantastic drinks and creative happy hour dishes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 19, 2017

This is not our first time here - we're members at the museum and this is one of our preferred locations for meals with friends who have kids. The outdoor garden with reflecting pool is ideal - kids get to run around without disturbing others and parents have a line of sight to them so they get to enjoy their meal. Win-win.

This time, our server was just not in the mood. We're low maintenance, and weren't time pressed... but our friends commented (unprompted) that she seemed angry and irritated, even taking our drink orders.

Food was good, weather was great and we got to have brunch with old friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 19, 2017

We have never been to this museum. I went with my fiance who heard about a cat documentary and knew his girl liked cats so he told me about that. When I reviewed thr museum I saw cafe and brunch so I made an open tabke date. We enjoyed our entire experience. Dan provided our outstanding service seeing about getting us to the show on time. We will definately make The Modern another date in the future.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Waterfront, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Excellent Sunday brunch. Best eggs benedict I've had in Texas. We had a great window table with a view of the sculpture garden across the reflecting pool.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Scenic View, Organic, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on March 19, 2017

We were late for the reserved time, but were treated professionally and smoothly.

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on March 19, 2017

This is our favorite restaurant in Fort Worth. We're not big on their dinner offerings, mainly due to price. But we hit this place for brunch on the weekends and also the bar prior to movies that the museum offers.

Quick, efficient service. No loud cellphone clowns. Excellent bar.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Sunday Lunch, Modern Decor, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on March 18, 2017

We were coming to FTW for a weekend get away! I found it online and thought it would be cool to try The Modern for dinner. Reservations were a breeze as I made them online. The day before I received a personal call confirming the reservation. We arrived a bit early, yet they were very accommodating seat us at our table which was waiting for us. Since we had a later seating, we basically had the place to ourselves and the service, and dining experience was FABULOUS!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Vegan, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Gluten Free Options, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 15, 2017

We had lunch together before we attended the 2 pm show. Meals were excellent. Service was a little slow. Restaurant was full at the time we were seated.

Tags: Modern Decor, Good Vegetarian Options, Scenic View, Waterfront, Romantic, Molecular Gastronomy, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on March 7, 2017

Menu changes regularly and has a variety of cuisines. Excellent craft cocktails!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Organic, Outstanding Value, Waterfront, Great Beer, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Happy Hour, Vegan, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (El Paso)·Dined on March 5, 2017

We were disappointed in the food as well as the bread basket. It had been a long time since we were there...food quality seemed to be down. The bread was at least day old and cold. Our soup was very fresh, but the grits were not cooked completely. The bacon had a burned flavor.

We will try it again. The table was poor because we made reservations late.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Organic, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on March 5, 2017

This is one of our favorite dining locations. The cuisine is always interesting and very well prepared. We've dined here several times over the years and never been disappointed. The service is always outstanding. Highly recommend!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on March 5, 2017

I love eating at Cafe Modern. The food is great, creative and the ambience can't be beat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on March 4, 2017

We like having dinner at the Modern after a museum event. Meals here can range from okay to really good. This visit was okay. My wife's lamb was dry, lacking seasoning and I thought she should send it back, but she didn't want to wait since my dish had been served. Also, it was supposed to Persian and the rice could have been Uncle Ben's with some yellow food coloring. Her spinach salad had a great dressing, but could have used more goat cheese. In fairness, I ordered the mussel appetizer as my main course and it was pretty tasty.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on March 4, 2017

We were a few minutes late for our reservation and the hostess let us know she needed our table at 730 even though about 1/8 of the tables in the restaurant were full. Not a great welcome to the restaurant and a bad taste before we ever sat down. Waiter was a little slow and not as attentive as he could have been. They had a ramen noodle bowl on the menu and the noodles were not even homemade. My husband for halibut and we felt it was overcooked and dry. The ambiance was the only good part but honestly for a date night it was a disappointment.

Tags: Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Chicken salad did not have much chicken salad. Lot of bread.

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Saturday brunch was not up to historical standards. Service is always excellent but food was definitely lacking. Will try again and hope this was just an off day for the chef.

Tags: Seasonal, Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 25, 2017

I love eating at the Modern, a well-kept secret for Friday evening dining. The menu is always interesting and the food fresh. This last dinner was good but not best I have had at the Modern. My halibut and broth was good but under-seasoned, and same critque for my son's ramen soup with the smoked duck egg. The smoke was delicious but it lacked other flavors to balance.

Tags: Special Occasion, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 23, 2017

This choice has in the past been wonderful but not so now. Food was rather bland and uninteresting - quality lacking. The lunch was very disappointing for the price.

Tags: Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 21, 2017

We had a wonderful lunch and were served by friendly and helpful Daniel. Excellent service , beautiful view, and great food. One of my favorite FW dining spots. Keep up the good work!!!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fun, Great for Brunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 15, 2017

The physical restaurant is very nice, probably one of the nicest in fort Worth. With walls of floor to ceiling glass looking over the reflection pond and courtyard of the museum. Food was good but nothing special when comparing to other restaurants in the same price bracket.

Tags: Fun, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Waterfront, Hot Spot, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value3

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 15, 2017

While the setting was perfect, with the restaurant overlooking the beautiful lagoon, the dining experience was far less than anticipated. I'll give the management credit for opening on a special occasion day, but virtually from start to finish, the meal and service were not up to par. The three course fixed-prix (which I do not recall was disclosed when I made the reservation) was less than appetizing. My wife had the vichyssoise soup with white asparagus and pureed spinach which had NO taste! I had the lobster bisque that while flavorful, the dish was served "luke warm". As for entrees, we had the prosciutto-wrapped halibut (again, the only flavor was that of the proscuitto) and osso buco (ample serving and very tender, but lacking in seasoning). The only other offering was mushroom risotto. The best was last: a serving of three tasty and small offerings of chocolate mousse, lemon tart and parfait. All in all: not what I had expected for a special evening. I will say the restaurant appeared fully booked and table rotation was very active the entire time we were there, so perhaps our disappointment was more due to needing a limited (though perhaps not ideal) menu and need for additional but untrained wait staff. Having said all this, we have dined there before on less-than-special dates and will try again on a less traffic-ed occasion.

Tags: People Watching, Modern Decor, Sunday Lunch, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Valentines date; perfect venue for a romantic Valentine's date. Go to the museum before dinner and then wine and dine your significant other!! They had a special Valentine's menu, but regardless the food is always fantastic. The device was great, we took our time and talked more than we ate. The drinks were great as well!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.