About Cafe Modern

3200 Darnell Street
Fort Worth, TX 76107
View Larger Map

Café Modern chefs blend seasonal, local ingredients inspired by culinary traditions from around the globe. Their artfully crafted cuisine is served against the backdrop of Tadao Ando’s world renowned building in the celebrated Fort Worth Cultural District. Whether enjoying a weekday lunch, Friday night dinner or a relaxed weekend brunch, our genuine hospitality will ensure a memorable dining experience.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Fusion / Eclectic

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Tuesday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:30pm
Dinner: Friday: 5:00pm - 8:30pm
Brunch: Saturday - Sunday: 10:00am - 3:00pm

Cross Street:
University

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(817) 840-2157

Website:
http://www.themodern.org/cafe

Catering:
With its stunning location in the Modern Art Museum of Fort Worth and its serene, reflecting-pond backdrop, The Modern can host an impressive corporate event or the wedding reception of your dreams. From start to finish, our team of planning professionals will handle every detail of your event. Our staff will prepare your food with the same care and attention they provide our individual café customers, and will make sure your special event is nothing less than a masterpiece.

For more information, rental costs, availability and menu selections, contact Café Modern.

Executive Chef:
Denise Shavandy

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access

Restaurant Photos

Duck Lettuce Wraps
Piggy Two Ways
Moroccan Spiced Steak
Cappuccino
Oatmeal Cookie Chess Pie
Espresso
Beef Carpaccio
Whole Fried Branzini
Shrimp Michelada
French Toast w/ Seasonal Berries
Brushetta
Crispy Soft Shell Crab
Spring Five Onion Soup
Eggs Benedict Caprese
Adobo Fried Chicken
Steak & Panzanella
Wedge Salad With Grilled Mahi Mahi
Tabasco-Buttermilk Fried Chicken
Capellini Crudaiolo
Eggs Benedict Oscar
Local Cheese Plate
Mental Cocktail
Pink Grapefruit Ginger Sorbet
Daily Fresh Fish Special
Red Miso Steak
Turkey Sandwich With Avocado And Bacon Mayo
Muhammara
The Omelette
Tiramisu Pancakes
Chickpea Fries w/ Dipping Sauce
Fall Omlet

Private Dining

With its stunning location in the Modern Art Museum and its serene reflecting-pond backdrop, The Modern can host an impressive corporate event or the wedding reception of your dreams.

Cafe Modern Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.7

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Brunch
Dallas - Fort Worth
Great for Lunch
Dallas - Fort Worth
Best Ambiance
Fort Worth
1 More
Fit for Foodies
Fort Worth
Best Restaurants in Fort Worth Cultural District & TCU ›

scenic view (114)
great for brunch (106)
great for lunch (87)
See All
special occasion (84)
fit for foodies (83)
romantic (38)
good for groups (36)
great for outdoor dining (28)
neighborhood gem (28)
notable wine list (13)
hot spot (12)
kid-friendly (4)
late-night find (3)
Sort By:
Newest
820 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We had a lovely table by the window. Th ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined 2 days ago

We had a lovely table by the window. The brunch menu is fantastic - a nice variety eggs dishes, interesting salads, and heartier entrees. The restaurant was busy, but never felt crowded or hurried. The only odd thing was that our waiter consistently addressed his suggestions, etc. to my friend, even though I had made the reservation and brunch was my treat.

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

There is always something new on the men ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined 2 days ago

There is always something new on the menu and it's usually delicious. Wine list is safe yet still interesting. Good cocktails. And you can't beat the location/ambiance. Food + wine + art make this worth returning to on a regular basis, which I do!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

Wonderful setting, windows needed cleani ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined 4 days ago

Wonderful setting, windows needed cleaning though but overall ambiance was modern, neat and beautiful.

Ate the duck and scallop dishes which were cooked/seared nicely and flavorful. The prices might have been about $10 overpriced.

Still, we had a lovely experience and hope to try other dishes before the season is over. (menu changes each season)

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Food options and food taste were meh... ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Food options and food taste were meh... service and views were good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4

We were there on Sunday, 7/17/16, 11am r ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

We were there on Sunday, 7/17/16, 11am reservations. This is my favorite place for Sunday brunches. I got to choose the place for the Sunday brunch for this time. Of course, I picked Cafe Modern! I had the Peaches and berries waffle and scrambled eggs. So very good!!! The waiter was attentive, friendly and professional. It IS a little expensive, but the experience was worth it. Thank you!

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Cafe Modern is one of the best spots in ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Cafe Modern is one of the best spots in the Dallas-Ft.Worth metroplex for a sophisticated brunch or lunch. We happily drive the 30 miles to get there, combining a marvelous meal with a walk through the galleries.

Brunch is a lively combination of expected and unexpected fare--all the entrees we have sampled in the past three or four visits have been delicious. The Bloody Mary is Southwestern in its orientation, and it is one of the best in the area.

Downsides? It's noisy when crowded--concrete isn't very forgiving. On our visit last Sunday, I was surprised the the normally excellent "Breakfast Potatoes" appeared to be diced large and dropped into the deep fryer. New cook?

All in all, Cafe Modern is a wonderful way to start your Sunday off.

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, incredible service! What mo ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Great food, incredible service! What more can I say?

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

New menu item scallops with lobster succ ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

New menu item scallops with lobster succotash was excellent. My husband enjoyed his sea bass and mash.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great view

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Great view

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

I have been to this restaurant many time ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

I have been to this restaurant many times and always thought it a good spot. Was meeting the parents of my daughter's fiancé for the first time who live close to Fort Worth and thought this would be a good place bec the view is lovely and the food has always been pretty exceptional. (And I wanted to see the Frank Stella exhibit.) What a disappointment in the food. I had Vichyssoise which was thick with little taste. The 3 of us had salads. I asked the waiter if my salad had dressing on it and he assured me it did. However, the lettuce was totally dry. Two of us had this salad and there was no dressing on either one so we asked for some dressing on the side and the waiter brought it but kept arguing that there was dressing on the salad. I will go back for another chance, but this was not a positive food event.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value2

We loved it! A great way to get out of t ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

We loved it! A great way to get out of the heat on 4th of July weekend.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love this lovely restaurant Great vie ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

We love this lovely restaurant

Great view!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The view and the restaurant itself are v ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

The view and the restaurant itself are very unique. The soups we got were not piping hot. I do like nice hot soup. These were luke warm. The baba ganoush was good, but we ran out of bread before we ran out of baba ganoush. The waitress was kind and brought more when asked. She came by our table to refill water and I had hoped she would notice that we were out of bread but still had more "dip". I was under the impression that Cafe Modern offers a fine dining experience. I was disappointed. The fact that it is in a museum is appealing, but I probably won't return.

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Service was well-timed and friendly. The ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Service was well-timed and friendly. The food was well presented and tasty.

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent place for lunch or dinner. Foo ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Excellent place for lunch or dinner. Food is fabulous and the service is outstanding!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and Service wasn't as good as we ex ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Food and Service wasn't as good as we expected but we were thrilled to find the Museum admission FREE on Sunday.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

It is a great restaurant and on Sunday's ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

It is a great restaurant and on Sunday's the Museum is free.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

My husband and I have been to Cafe Moder ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

My husband and I have been to Cafe Modern before. This time we brought a guest and we will not do that again. It is very difficult to hear conversation without leaning from one person to the next...impossible if you are seated across from each other. Usually our food is above average, but this time it left a lot to be desired. There was egg shell remaining on my poached eggs benedict and my husband's burger was too large to eat as a sandwich. He had to finally finish it with a fork as an open face sandwich.

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

Everyone one of our six person party ord ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Everyone one of our six person party ordered something different and everyone thought their choice was delicious. Presentation was beautiful as is the location. Our server was exceptional.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The chef is beyond fabulous and so is th ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

The chef is beyond fabulous and so is the atmosphere!! Our favorite restaurant!!!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love having brunch at the Modern. Won ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

We love having brunch at the Modern. Wonderful atmosphere, food and service. Never been disappointed.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My sister and I love to meet and eat at ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

My sister and I love to meet and eat at Cafe Modern about every three months or so. It is beautiful and memorable. You definitely want to ask to sit by or near the huge windows. It seemed as if the large groups were in the rear of the space, in a much less scenic area. But for couples or smaller groups, the seating in the striking window area, added to the unusual food , great service and unique cocktails make it perfect for special occasions.Cafe Modern can make any brunch or lunch into a special event.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

The waitress was gracious and very accom ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

The waitress was gracious and very accomadating

She made sure each guest had their desired food

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful place to have lunch in Fort Wo ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

Wonderful place to have lunch in Fort Worth. The view of the reflecting pool from this lunch spot makes it worth your while. The food is always well thought out and different, always tasty!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

New menu offerings are interesting, artf ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

New menu offerings are interesting, artfully presented, and tasty. Sea bass over stir fry veggies was delicious and serving was appropriately sized. Veggies were garden veggies(corn, squash,beans, celery)cut into small bites.

Baba Ganush was best I have had.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The ambience provided by the architectur ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

The ambience provided by the architecture of the museum makes this restaurant definitely unique. Not only is the food a great taste experience, with interesting choices, but the view in that room cannot be topped! If one is looking for a romantic spot, this is it! The service is excellent and unhurried. I highly recommend it.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We've been coming to Cafe Modern for ove ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

We've been coming to Cafe Modern for over two years, mostly for brunch though sometimes for Happy Hour. We have yet to be disappointed during any of our visits. Excellent service, good food choices, and great value for the money.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Friday evening menu and museum visit bef ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Friday evening menu and museum visit before. Nice evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Just was not happy with ambiance and alt ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

Just was not happy with ambiance and although the food was ok I thought it was very expensive for what we got.

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value1

Enjoyable lunch

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

We had a very enjoyable lunch and wine at the cafe. The service was very good and the view was great!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Great Service Great setting

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

The setting next to pond was perfect. Very relaxed atmosphere. Have to try Bloody Mary's. had egg dishes - perfect!

Tags: great for brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Excellent place for friends to meet and ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Excellent place for friends to meet and visit. Good food and service. Peaceful scenery overlooking museum water feature. We felt

comfortable to linger over food and drink and we're very pleased it was quiet so we could hear each other.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Civilized

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

My husband and I enjoyed a lovely brunch here. The room is so calming and the view so peaceful that just entering is a spiritual experience. The food was beautifully presented and perfectly delicious. We ordered the seared tuna salad and the Chinese chicken salad and both were wonderful.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Special place, great food!

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Brunch before Magnolia at the Modern. One of the restaurants at the top of our list.

Recommend to everyone we know. Menu changes often, servers are wonderful, very

accommodating for dietary needs. Great view of outdoors, reflecting pool. Love it!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The menu is always very interesting.

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

The setting is great and the service is good. I like that the menu changes frequently and offers lots of dining options.

Great place for a special luncheon.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Wonderful as always

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on May 24, 2016

I took a friend to Cafe Modern for her birthday. We sat by the window - enjoyed the beautiful view, amazing food and wonderful atmosphere. Thank you for being a consistently fantastic place to dine and enjoy.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is always a great place for a leisu ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

This is always a great place for a leisurely lunch. I enjoyed the entrée, but the dessert choices need to be changed. Savory is not what I was looking for, sweet and chocolate was on my list, and they really didn't have anything to offer.

Tags: great for brunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

first time dining there, loved it and wi ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

first time dining there, loved it and will definitely go back !!!!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The BLT with fried green tomatoes was fa ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

The BLT with fried green tomatoes was fab!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Interesting menu. Well prepared food. Great amb

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

The menu changes monthly. Great ambiance. Well prepared food. Nice quiet lunch.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.