About Cafe Modern

3200 Darnell Street
Fort Worth, TX 76107
View Larger Map

Café Modern chefs blend seasonal, local ingredients inspired by culinary traditions from around the globe. Their artfully crafted cuisine is served against the backdrop of Tadao Ando’s world renowned building in the celebrated Fort Worth Cultural District. Whether enjoying a weekday lunch, Friday night dinner or a relaxed weekend brunch, our genuine hospitality will ensure a memorable dining experience.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Fusion / Eclectic

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Tuesday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:30pm
Dinner: Friday: 5:00pm - 8:30pm
Brunch: Saturday - Sunday: 10:00am - 3:00pm

Cross Street:
University

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(817) 840-2157

Website:
http://www.themodern.org/cafe

Catering:
With its stunning location in the Modern Art Museum of Fort Worth and its serene, reflecting-pond backdrop, The Modern can host an impressive corporate event or the wedding reception of your dreams. From start to finish, our team of planning professionals will handle every detail of your event. Our staff will prepare your food with the same care and attention they provide our individual café customers, and will make sure your special event is nothing less than a masterpiece.

For more information, rental costs, availability and menu selections, contact Café Modern.

Executive Chef:
Denise Shavandy

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access

Restaurant Photos

Spring Frittata  - Cafe Modern, Fort Worth, TX
Duck Lettuce Wraps - Cafe Modern, Fort Worth, TX
Piggy Two Ways - Cafe Modern, Fort Worth, TX
Oatmeal Cookie Chess Pie - Cafe Modern, Fort Worth, TX
Moroccan Spiced Steak - Cafe Modern, Fort Worth, TX
Cappuccino - Cafe Modern, Fort Worth, TX
Espresso - Cafe Modern, Fort Worth, TX
Beef Carpaccio - Cafe Modern, Fort Worth, TX
Whole Fried Branzini - Cafe Modern, Fort Worth, TX
Shrimp Michelada - Cafe Modern, Fort Worth, TX
French Toast w/ Seasonal Berries - Cafe Modern, Fort Worth, TX
Brushetta - Cafe Modern, Fort Worth, TX
Crispy Soft Shell Crab - Cafe Modern, Fort Worth, TX
Spring Five Onion Soup - Cafe Modern, Fort Worth, TX
Eggs Benedict Caprese - Cafe Modern, Fort Worth, TX
Adobo Fried Chicken - Cafe Modern, Fort Worth, TX
Steak & Panzanella - Cafe Modern, Fort Worth, TX
Tabasco-Buttermilk Fried Chicken - Cafe Modern, Fort Worth, TX
Capellini Crudaiolo - Cafe Modern, Fort Worth, TX
Wedge Salad With Grilled Mahi Mahi - Cafe Modern, Fort Worth, TX
Eggs Benedict Oscar - Cafe Modern, Fort Worth, TX
Pink Grapefruit Ginger Sorbet - Cafe Modern, Fort Worth, TX
Mental Cocktail - Cafe Modern, Fort Worth, TX
Local Cheese Plate - Cafe Modern, Fort Worth, TX
Daily Fresh Fish Special - Cafe Modern, Fort Worth, TX
Red Miso Steak - Cafe Modern, Fort Worth, TX
Turkey Sandwich With Avocado And Bacon Mayo - Cafe Modern, Fort Worth, TX
The Omelette - Cafe Modern, Fort Worth, TX
Muhammara - Cafe Modern, Fort Worth, TX
Tiramisu Pancakes - Cafe Modern, Fort Worth, TX
Chickpea Fries w/ Dipping Sauce - Cafe Modern, Fort Worth, TX
Fall Omlet - Cafe Modern, Fort Worth, TX

Private Dining

With its stunning location in the Modern Art Museum and its serene reflecting-pond backdrop, The Modern can host an impressive corporate event or the wedding reception of your dreams.

Cafe Modern Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.7

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (38)
Modern Decor (26)
Great for Lunch (25)
See All
Sunday Lunch (24)
Great for Brunch (23)
Fit for Foodies (20)
Special Occasion (19)
Good for a Date (19)
Creative Cuisine (19)
Neighborhood Gem (16)
Quiet Conversation (15)
Worth the Drive (13)
Good for Birthdays (13)
Good for Anniversaries (12)
Casual (11)
Healthy (11)
Business Meals (9)
Great for Outdoor Dining (8)
Seasonal (8)
Waterfront (8)
Romantic (7)
Local Ingredients (7)
Good Vegetarian Options (7)
Afternoon Coffee (7)
Good for Groups (6)
Afternoon Tea (6)
Fun (5)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Authentic (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Cozy (2)
Historic (2)
People Watching (2)
Vegan (2)
Organic (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Late-night Find (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Private Room (1)
Family Style (1)
Spicy (1)
Great Beer (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Sort By:
S
885 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Had reservations for 2 months for a grou ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined 4 days ago

Had reservations for 2 months for a group of 4. Staff was not attentive. Received drinks after we received meal and potatoes were cold.

Never offered dessert or coffee.

This happened the last time we had appetizers and wine. We could not get anyone's attention because their friends were at the bar.

Beautiful view but will not be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

I love Cafe Modern, especially on the mu ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined 5 days ago

I love Cafe Modern, especially on the museums's First Friday events when the exhibits are open late and music and beverages are available in the lobby. Makes for a very festive, exciting evening all in one location. Our meal this time had two big hits, an interesting dish, some mehs and one fail. The fried oyster appetizer was more fry than oyster, only the freshly marinated veggies underneath saved the dish. The bibb salad was under seasoned, and our server's only fail for not offering some fresh ground pepper. The duck breast and the sea bass were fabulous, perfectly cooked and beautifully plated. Exactly the quality I expect from CM. The curry vegetables perfumed the entire room with a heavenly fragrance, but the bite I had (tofu) while interesting was a little underwhelming. The scent was better than the flavor. The pheasant with dumplings was a complete let down. It tasted ok, but, if it was my cafe, I would not have let that plate out of the kitchen. When you are serving what is essentially chicken at an elevate price it should at least look better than mystery meat in a bowl. Great deal on the reserve wine list that night--much appreciated.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

The dining room is attractive and busy, ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined 5 days ago

The dining room is attractive and busy, the dining crowd seemed to enjoying themselves as evidenced by the noise volume, which was a little loud for a museum café. Our server was attentive, and knowledgeable about the menu items. The wine list was more than adequate. The menu items, for such a small selection, could have been better executed. The warm cheese appetizer was disappointing and small. A spicy item did not have enough inherent flavor, a comfortable choice was a little bland. A starter salad hit the right notes, chocolate and fruit preparations excelled at dessert. Overall- good but not great. Pricey.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

A lovely, crisp atmosphere that was perf ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined 5 days ago

A lovely, crisp atmosphere that was perfect for catching up with an old friend. We sat next to the window facing the water/pool and it was very peaceful and delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

It's always a treat to have a meal at th ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined 5 days ago

It's always a treat to have a meal at the Modern! Service is always professional and friendly.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

I ordered the jerk chicken and quinoa sa ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined 7 days ago

I ordered the jerk chicken and quinoa salad. It looked so unappetizing that I almost sent it back! But I didn't and it tasted ok.

Our waiter was pretty lousy. Very unhelpful with the menu. Took forever to refill our empty tea glasses. But after dropping off our check he kept trying to take it before we'd had a chance to put a credit card in to pay!

Beautiful atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2

Good food and great atmosphere; being at ...

 
·Dined on November 27, 2016

Good food and great atmosphere; being attached to modern art museum very unique.

Tags: Fun, Waterfront, Sunday Lunch, Modern Decor, Great for Brunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

I feel that the food has been the most d ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 27, 2016

I feel that the food has been the most disappointing element of having a meal at Café Modern. I used to think of it as such a treat to take friends to brunch and visit the latest movie or exhibit. I will think of other options in our future, frequent visits.

Tags: Modern Decor, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value2

As always, the food is great. If you'r ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 27, 2016

As always, the food is great. If you're looking for lighter fare, try the Asian shrimp salad.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Delicious lunch, excellent service (gave ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Delicious lunch, excellent service (gave us time to enjoy our time together), lovely setting.

Tags: Special Occasion, Healthy, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lovely place with lovely food. Amazing ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Lovely place with lovely food. Amazing experience, loved the sweet potato poutin with duck confit as well as their fish special. The service was courteous and prompt. We visited the museum first, had lunch and then took a stroll through the grounds. A nice day indeed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always enjoy the Modern. I will return f ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Always enjoy the Modern. I will return for brunch and hope to make it for dinner some time.

Tags: Good for a Date, Afternoon Tea, People Watching, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

I love the modern, but they have always ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 13, 2016

I love the modern, but they have always had some trouble with service. It was a Sunday, but not too busy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2

Cafe Modern is always delightful. It's ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Cafe Modern is always delightful. It's our favorite spot for brunch on Sunday and we try to manage it every couple of weeks. The menu changes seasonally and the chef always manages to come up creative, flavorful appetizers, soups and entrees that intrigue and never disappoint. If you don't try it, you'll never know what you have missed.

Tags: Casual, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

the best brunch in DFW/MIDCITIES. I DO ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 13, 2016

the best brunch in DFW/MIDCITIES. I DO NOT WANT TO BE SUBJECTED TO SOME MININUM NUNBER.

Tags: Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The setting is so pretty at the Cafe Mod ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 10, 2016

The setting is so pretty at the Cafe Modern and we always love the food there. I chose the Cafe Modern because the setting is so pretty and also because it is quiet. My mom and her friend both wear hearing aids and I wanted a place were they could meet and talk without noise interference. The restaurant was very comfortable and they were able to hear each other plus the food is lovely. We will be back for lunch soon!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went with my wife for a Sunday brunch an ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Went with my wife for a Sunday brunch and got the Modern Eggs Benedict with a side of Bacon; she got the Torta-style Eggs Benedict, both of which were fantastic. Also got a glass of some delicious Texas Honey Cider. The food was excellent, the staff was courteous (although a little on the slow side), and the ambiance was bustling, yet still cozy. When we finished eating, we took a tour of the museum, which is free on Sundays (huge bonus for eating on Sundays!). I recommend getting a reservation since the place is quite popular. Top-notch place; will definitely make it a regular dining spot!

Tags: Casual, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Great Beer, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Sunday Lunch, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

The food was good, most entrees should c ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 6, 2016

The food was good, most entrees should come with fruit. Better appetizer options to share. It took awhile for the food to come out, maybe 35-40 mins after we ordered. The server was super friendly and helpful.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Beautiful view and great food! Worth mak ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Beautiful view and great food! Worth making reservation to get a good table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It was excellent. Enjoyed the food then ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 5, 2016

It was excellent. Enjoyed the food then a few steps away we enjoyed a great little jazz trio!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Menu is pricey and portions aren't huge ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Menu is pricey and portions aren't huge so probably should plan to eat again soon. However, the view is excellent and they have a very unique menu. Menu has an Asian flair and ranged from Southeast Asia to Indian.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Have enjoyed Sunday brunch several times ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Have enjoyed Sunday brunch several times before. Was looking forward to sharing the atmosphere, food and spectacular view with a good friend. Reservations were made, arrived prior to seating time, was told seating was 15 minute behind. Re-checked in a number of times, was told "working on it". After the line cleared and now 45minutes later. I inquired again and was told, they could not find my reservation. She could not seat us, I showed her my reservation on my I-phone. A table suddenly opened after another staff member recognized us from previously.

From this point forward, we enjoyed a great view, wonderful waiter, and very good food. Received an apology from waiter for the long wait.

Would recommend better reservation management, or staff scheduling for such busy times.

Tags: Casual, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Scenic View, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The torta-style benedict on the brunch m ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on October 30, 2016

The torta-style benedict on the brunch menu was to-die for!! I wanted to order a second round of brunch to have it again. The bloody marys are excellent too. Great brunch!

Tags: Romantic, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

As always: EXCELLENT ambiance lovely wit ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on October 23, 2016

As always: EXCELLENT

ambiance lovely with view over the water to folks gamboling on the grass, in the sunshine

food beautifully described, elegantly presented, deliciously devoured

from arrival, through seating, to food service/table busing all staffers were attentive, attractive, personable, and able to answer questions quickly and clearly

Tags: Outstanding Value, Neighborhood Gem, Afternoon Tea, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

It's always a good experience at the Caf ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on October 22, 2016

It's always a good experience at the Cafe at the Modern. The service is good, the food presentation is excellent, and the Modern Art Museum is available for browsing.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very disappointed. Usually great. Intro ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on October 18, 2016

Very disappointed. Usually great. Introduced business person to this place and was embarrassed by the meal. Cheese sandwich almost burn and rubbery.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value2

A nice scene of water and green space. ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on October 15, 2016

A nice scene of water and green space. Satisfactory noise level for good conversation. Varied menu - not too extensive. A pleasant experience all round.

Tags: Healthy, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We went for brunch before the theatre. ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on October 15, 2016

We went for brunch before the theatre. Everything was very good and it was hard to decide what to have.

Tags: Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Scenic View, Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

We had the Sea Bass. It was dry & tastel ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on October 14, 2016

We had the Sea Bass. It was dry & tasteless. Bread was stale. I ordered a cocktail and was almost finished with meal when waiter said it was coming soon. There were only five tables so it shouldn't have taken so long. I canceled it. Will I go back? NO

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service2
value1

Beautiful setting for a fabulous meal! I ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Beautiful setting for a fabulous meal! I always take out of town visitors and friends to this lovely cafe - I have never had a bad meal. Service is good, ambiance outstanding, and food something special!!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Good Vegetarian Options, Molecular Gastronomy, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Food is pretty good for a museum restaur ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Food is pretty good for a museum restaurant and the view on the museum is great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

We love the patio, view, walking out int ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on October 9, 2016

We love the patio, view, walking out into grassy area, sculpture, and much more.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding service and food which has r ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Outstanding service and food which has really improved.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was very good; service was excellen ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Food was very good; service was excellent; setting was extremely comfortable; most enjoyable experience

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Healthy, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Great for Brunch, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

surprising find in a museum with sensati ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on September 17, 2016

surprising find in a museum with sensational food and affordable wine list

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very nice brunch.

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on September 11, 2016

Very nice brunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Everything was wonderful except it took ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on September 10, 2016

Everything was wonderful except it took a long time for a waitress to come to our table when we were seated. We could see wait staff standing around talking and no one was coming to take our order. Once our waitress did come, the service was wonderful.

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

In my opinion this is the only 5 star re ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on September 9, 2016

In my opinion this is the only 5 star restaurant in FTW

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Really nice place to sit, relax, and enj ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on September 9, 2016

Really nice place to sit, relax, and enjoy...very nice. Nice people, really cool menu - lots of unique items - great view.

Tags: Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

We had burgers for lunch. They were quit ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on September 9, 2016

We had burgers for lunch. They were quite tasty and properly cooked. The staff was friendly and professional. It was the perfect place to go before we visited the Kimbell museum next door (which was fabulous!).

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Great for Brunch, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.