Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.18mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.18mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.18mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.18mi

About Cafe Modern

Café Modern chefs blend seasonal, local ingredients inspired by culinary traditions from around the globe. Their artfully crafted cuisine is served against the backdrop of Tadao Ando’s world renowned building in the celebrated Fort Worth Cultural District. Whether enjoying a weekday lunch, Friday night dinner or a relaxed weekend brunch, our genuine hospitality will ensure a memorable dining experience.

3200 Darnell Street
Fort Worth, TX 76107
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Fusion / Eclectic

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Tuesday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:30pm
Dinner: Friday: 5:00pm - 8:30pm
Brunch: Saturday - Sunday: 10:00am - 3:00pm

Cross Street:
University

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(817) 840-2157

Website:
http://www.themodern.org/cafe

Catering:
With its stunning location in the Modern Art Museum of Fort Worth and its serene, reflecting-pond backdrop, The Modern can host an impressive corporate event or the wedding reception of your dreams. From start to finish, our team of planning professionals will handle every detail of your event. Our staff will prepare your food with the same care and attention they provide our individual café customers, and will make sure your special event is nothing less than a masterpiece.

For more information, rental costs, availability and menu selections, contact Café Modern.

Executive Chef:
Denise Shavandy

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access

Private Dining

With its stunning location in the Modern Art Museum and its serene reflecting-pond backdrop, The Modern can host an impressive corporate event or the wedding reception of your dreams.

Cafe Modern Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.3

ambience

4.6

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (54)
Sunday Lunch (44)
Great for Brunch (43)
See All
Great for Lunch (38)
Creative Cuisine (35)
Special Occasion (33)
Fit for Foodies (32)
Good for a Date (24)
Waterfront (19)
Local Ingredients (19)
Good for Anniversaries (16)
Fun (16)
Good for Birthdays (16)
Pre/post Theatre (15)
Quiet Conversation (15)
Romantic (15)
Modern Decor (15)
Neighborhood Gem (13)
Seasonal (13)
Worth the Drive (12)
Business Meals (12)
Handcrafted Cocktails (12)
Good Vegetarian Options (11)
Casual (10)
People Watching (10)
Authentic (8)
Afternoon Tea (8)
Comfort Food (7)
Cozy (7)
Afternoon Coffee (7)
Great for Outdoor Dining (7)
Organic (7)
Disabled Access (6)
Notable Wine List (6)
Vegan (5)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Good for Groups (5)
Hot Spot (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Family Style (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Historic (2)
Tapas (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Tasting Menu (1)
Live Music (1)
Spicy (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Sort By:
S
1063 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined a day ago

Food was excellent. Our waitress, Summer was very attentive. Our 9-year old grandson loved the Mac & Cheese!

Tags: Special Occasion, Afternoon Coffee, Good for Groups, Good Vegetarian Options, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined a day ago

Great experience. Good food and service. Had a problem last time and Audrn cane through forcus this time.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined 3 days ago

This has always been a mother/daughter occasion and now we have three generations for this special outing. The food used to be so inspired we couldn't wait to see what was on the menu. I ordered fish and chips thinking my granddaughter might eat some. Unfortunately, she shared her mac and cheese with me as I sent my plate back. The batter was not cooked through, the fish had slimy skin on it and had not been cleaned properly. Usually dessert is a hit but it was a big dud. Our museum day tradition may not last much longer which makes me sad.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined 6 days ago

Outstanding service! The menu changes seasonally. Options for all palettes. The modern museum is the perfect backdrop for a great meal. Ask for a window table!

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Healthy, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Business Meals, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 19, 2017

I booked a table for 6 then had 9. I am always told if I have a table for 8, it has to be one check. This is unacceptable as there are 8 individuals eating. People now use credit cards not cash! I got 2 tables one for 4 and one for 5. The service was extremely slow and we had no time to order either coffee or dessert. Our reservation was for 12:15 and we went to the Modern Theater at 2pm. A glass of wine and a main course in 90 minutes! I would appreciate a call back re this review.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 18, 2017

We had read a review from a few days ago which wasn't very positive, so not sure what to expect this time - our last visit wasn't up to par but this one was EXCELLENT in all area - service, food, libations. We were so pleased as we've had such good experiences in the past - and this was back on track and beyond!! - We usually go for lunch after a visit to one of the museums - and will for sure be back again!

Tags: Fun, Scenic View, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 15, 2017

i had been before and had a better experience. this time, the food was just ok and the service was not good. Our server was so slow - she decided to stop and chat with another server with our ice tea order in her hand for a full 5 minutes. then cocktail order came another 5 minutes after that (15 min after seated). Ice tea refill was diluted with coke! very strange. In general, just felt like the whole place (kitchen and service staff) didn't care too much about making the food and service an excellent experience. It's a beautiful spot to eat with a great view. They need to step up their game to match the atmosphere.

Tags: Scenic View, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Everything was good except one of our chicken wings came uncooked.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Waterfront, Fun, Good for a Date, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Wonderful creative dinner pre-movie at The Modern; it was relaxing at our window overlooking the reflecting pool. The Texas Sparkler cocktail was delicious as were our shared appetizer and entrees.

Tags: Healthy, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 14, 2017

We went to Cafe Modern for lunch before going to an exhibit across the street from the Modern. It is a beautiful place for lunch and the food is excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 14, 2017

The restaurant is a lovely place, the setting is serene and quiet. The food is exceptional as is the service.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Casual, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Gluten Free Options, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Modern, romantic, amazing service but chefs choice of menu left all of us so disappointed in many areas specially the salads.
I highly recommend this location though. The ambience is unique.

Tags: Quick Bite, Seasonal, Sunday Lunch, Waterfront, Healthy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on July 5, 2017

Excellent! The Modern is excellent! It is one of the best places in Fort Worth!

Tags: Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 1, 2017

A great range of food with an excellent view. Really a great date spot with good drinks and coffee to go with any meal. Well worth the drive around a beautiful area of Fort Worth.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Happy Hour, Afternoon Tea, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Unique setting. Appetizers sounded better than they tasted. Great service. Overall good but not mind blowing. If you get a few drinks, app, and meals you are looking at about $100.

Tags: People Watching, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 30, 2017

We had a wonderful time It was our fist time dining there The waiter was wonderful and the cuisine was outstanding Will definitely go back The view outside was very pretty and peaceful

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Texas)·Dined on June 30, 2017

We had an amazing time. Our waitress/ess took great care of us. The surroundings are beautiful. The food so healthly and delicious and unusual. Our new favorite place

Tags: Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on June 25, 2017

One of our favorite places anywhere!!
Perfect service, delicious food, beautiful setting.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, People Watching, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Disappointing service leading to underwhelming food. Our service was slow. My wife's was served the wrong dish the first time and the server left my food at the table to get cold while her meal was remade. Water was only if we asked. This was only our second time to visit this restaurant and we were really looking forward to it. After this time, I am not certain we will return.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on June 18, 2017

We celebrated Father's Day at Cafe Modern on Sunday. We were looking forward to the usual wonderful experience, as it is a go-to special occasion place for us. Unfortunately, it seemed to be one issue after another. None of the children's options were egg free, which was a no-go for my son. The chef burned all the quiches, one of which was intended for my plate. The substitution provided arrived cold and inedible. The bar had run out of the proper whiskey for the cocktail my husband ordered. Not to mention the expected wait time considering it was a holiday. It was a MESS. Our waiter comped my meal and gave us a heaping bowl of sorbet as an apology, so he did all he could. But it really makes me question whether we can rely on a restaurant we love to deliver.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Always good. Our favorite place to eat in Fort Worth!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Even though it's a museum restaurant, it IS NOT a museum restaurant. Consistently high quality food, service, and class ... and a five minute walk to the Kimbell.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Scenic View, Healthy, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on June 17, 2017

My husband and I were in Ft. Worth for a Kimball exhibit and decided to dine at the Modern Art Museum Cafe Modern. The setting is lovely, as it is surrounded by a shallow pond that comes right up next to the exterior tables inside the glass. The menu was varied and I had a difficult time deciding what to order. He really enjoyed his grits and shrimp, and my softshell crab banh mi sandwich was good. I was not a big fan of the coconut milk drink special, which was not at all sweet and sort of bitter. We enjoyed the carrot soup and the choco ganache dessert. We actually went back the next day for lunch when we were still in the museum area -- different brunch menu for the weekend. Had grits, bacon and cheese (appetizer) as an entree and pea filafel. And, we used Open Table and were assured of a seat both times.

Tags: Business Meals, Vegan, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Healthier options needed, in particular a vegan option. However great bread. Located in the beautiful modern art Museum, location is the best asset this restaurant offers.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on June 13, 2017

Went to Cafe at the Modern for a business lunch. Food was great, noise level tolerable and setting, as always, amazing. Service at the Modern is impeccable -- the staff are attentive and knowledgable about the food and wine. Such a nice place to have lunch--for both business or pleasure.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Organic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Great place for lunch or brunch. The food is great. Very nice scenery. You can visit the exhibit afterwards too.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Food is good. Creative and well executed menu in a pretty setting.

This time, we were not treated well by the seating hostess. We had an 11 AM reservation. She was abrupt and unfriendly. I had let my mother off at the door after searching for a place to park. My Mother will be 89 soon. She was not allowed to sit because she was not a full party. When I arrived now having walked from a distance due to parking it was 11:10 AM I was told I would have to wait because I was late. There were obviously empty tables and my mother was now uncomfortable after standing and I said we would have to sit down. We were told no, so I seated us anyway. During this time she had a nasty scowl on her face and never relaxed to smile. I had to ask for menus. I can't believe that a business would put a person like this woman to meet their customers. We still had a nice meal and we determined not to let this treatment spoil our day, but it was unfortunate.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (London)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Imaginative setting at the Museum of Modern Art and across the street from the Kimbell. Excellent service but sadly only average food. Nice wines by the glass.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on June 10, 2017

An unfortunate visit to one of my favorite places--things just didn't click this day. Cigarette and lighter on the hostess stand;
Loud alternative music playing; The kitchen and the server did not communicate well, and instead of offering to fix the meal, server tried to justify the confusion. That said, the Greek salad is delicious, and it's always good to look over the reflecting pool.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Eating at the Modern is always a pleasure. In a spectacular building with zen-inspired views, how could it not be? But the food is always solid, too. It's sometimes wonderful but dependably several notches above ordinary. On this visit, we had chicken and steak and shared, as always. I give the nod to the chicken, which was plump and juicy and paired perfectly with asparagus, pureed peas, and morels.

Tags: Scenic View, Pre/post Theatre, Seasonal, Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on June 9, 2017

I had heard so much about the modern but was sorely disappointed. Service and ambience were very good but the food was terrible. To be fair the carrot soup was good but my fish was cold and wife's tenderloin was the toughest piece of meat I have seen.

Have heard great things about the brunch but not sure I will try it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service5
value2

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on June 4, 2017

And, it was fantastic once again. New salad items on the menu that were lovely. The only criticism I have of The Cafe Modern is that, like so many restaurants these days, they have caved to the trend of offering fewer and fewer healthy food options, entrees are pretty heavy meats

Cafe Modern tries to source locally, or regionally...which is great too. Vital Farms eggs--which is so wonderful if you eat eggs, but only the more humane kind. AND again, can't say enough how great the salads are---just amazing. I just wish there was at least one additional healthy vegetarian friendly entree (the vegetarian sandwich is super duper delicious, but its a sandwich not an entree).

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on June 4, 2017

We celebrated a birthday before visiting the Kimball. It was a perfect brunch & a lovely day.

Tags: Waterfront, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Afternoon Coffee, Fun, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Very disappointed in our meals. We were there for Sunday brunch. I ordered the Veggie Sandwich ($12.95)which is described as Hippie Whole Grain Toast, here latte da Goat Cheese, cucumber, pickled green tomato, smoked red onion, Arugula. The bread was straight out of a grocery store bag, one tomato, a few cucumbers and dreadful smoked red onion. The sandwich was less than the height of a deck of cards including the bread, with ONE slice of tomato. Marginal at best. My friend had the BLT benedict ($15.95) -eggs over cooked, sauce was tasteless and a tiny bit of bacon. The best part of her brunch was the breakfast potatoes. The overall best thing I can say is that the bloody mary's were tasty. However, when served with a small piece of wilted celery I have to say we were disappointed in those as well. Way over priced for the quality of food we received.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service4
value1

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on June 1, 2017

This is a return visit (3rd). We will make sure to dine here, again, whenever we are in Fort Worth.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Beautiful setting, food above average, great for brunch if going to any of the museums

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Austin)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Beautiful setting, great service, and good food and specialty drinks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Crab sandwich was not good. However, the Modern Eggs Benedict was wonderful. Wait staff is great. Hostess was rude.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Dan our server is DELIGHTFUL! Best service we can remember!!!

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 20, 2017

My favorite waffle...

Service was good, atmosphere was good. But mainly I go for the waffle.

Tags: People Watching, Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.