Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.18mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.18mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.18mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.18mi

About Cafe Modern

Café Modern chefs blend seasonal, local ingredients inspired by culinary traditions from around the globe. Their artfully crafted cuisine is served against the backdrop of Tadao Ando’s world renowned building in the celebrated Fort Worth Cultural District. Whether enjoying a weekday lunch, Friday night dinner or a relaxed weekend brunch, our genuine hospitality will ensure a memorable dining experience.

3200 Darnell Street
Fort Worth, TX 76107
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Fusion / Eclectic

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Tuesday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:30pm
Dinner: Friday: 5:00pm - 8:30pm
Brunch: Saturday - Sunday: 10:00am - 3:00pm

Cross Street:
University

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(817) 840-2157

Website:
http://www.themodern.org/cafe

Catering:
With its stunning location in the Modern Art Museum of Fort Worth and its serene, reflecting-pond backdrop, The Modern can host an impressive corporate event or the wedding reception of your dreams. From start to finish, our team of planning professionals will handle every detail of your event. Our staff will prepare your food with the same care and attention they provide our individual café customers, and will make sure your special event is nothing less than a masterpiece.

For more information, rental costs, availability and menu selections, contact Café Modern.

Executive Chef:
Denise Shavandy

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access

Private Dining

With its stunning location in the Modern Art Museum and its serene reflecting-pond backdrop, The Modern can host an impressive corporate event or the wedding reception of your dreams.

Cafe Modern Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (46)
Great for Brunch (38)
Great for Lunch (37)
See All
Sunday Lunch (37)
Creative Cuisine (36)
Modern Decor (36)
Special Occasion (36)
Fit for Foodies (26)
Good for Birthdays (25)
Good for Anniversaries (22)
Good for a Date (22)
Local Ingredients (20)
Waterfront (18)
Quiet Conversation (18)
Pre/post Theatre (15)
Romantic (14)
Seasonal (14)
Handcrafted Cocktails (14)
Worth the Drive (14)
Business Meals (13)
Fun (13)
Good Vegetarian Options (11)
Organic (11)
Neighborhood Gem (11)
Casual (10)
Healthy (10)
People Watching (9)
Cozy (8)
Great for Outdoor Dining (7)
Disabled Access (7)
Gluten Free Options (7)
Good for Groups (6)
Kid-friendly (6)
Vegan (6)
Afternoon Coffee (6)
Authentic (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Notable Wine List (5)
Afternoon Tea (5)
Molecular Gastronomy (5)
Bar Seating (4)
Hot Spot (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Outstanding Value (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Family Style (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Historic (2)
Tapas (2)
Great Beer (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Spicy (1)
Live Music (1)
Sort By:
S
1024 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 20, 2017

My favorite waffle...

Service was good, atmosphere was good. But mainly I go for the waffle.

Tags: People Watching, Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Little Rock)·Dined on May 14, 2017

It was Mother's Day, so the staff was quite busy, though I think we could have been waited on a little more promptly.
Can a place be upscale but really casual? That describes Cafe Modern. If you go on Sunday you can tour the museum free.
Really noisy though.

Tags: Good for a Date, Waterfront, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Austin)·Dined on May 14, 2017

The dining room was busy and the staff seemed frazzled, as one would expect on Mother's Day. It was unusually loud and my party had a hard time conversing over the noise. I don't understand why they did not offer patio seating- the weather was perfect. Our server was prompt and courteous, and the food was as good as ever. I did not enjoy the ambiance like I usually do.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Seasonal, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 14, 2017

This was my third visit to Cafe Modern. I took my mother for brunch on Mother's Day, and the restaurant was full of families celebrating. The food (greek chicken salad and a quiche special) and service were wonderful. I was expecting a bit less than the usual flawless experience given the holiday, but was very pleasantly surprised that (other than a bit more noise than usual, which was totally understandable given the day) everything went smoothly. We were seated right away, service was prompt but not pushy, and the food was fresh and absolutely delicious. We sat next to the window and were able to enjoy the reflecting pool and sculpture while we ate. Overall a lovely lunch!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We were disappointed with the service at the Modern. We usually have a good experience but on Mother's day that was not the case. To top it off, our dessert included melba toast and it was so hard to eat, we just left it. We asked our server about it but he said that it is always hard to chew melba toast! We also asked for a mimosa, he forgot it, we had to remind him when he finally came to our table.

Tags: People Watching, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Some of the best food in Fort Worth. The Deviled Eggs with Truffle were a great start and the rest of the meal did not disappoint! The staff is very knowledgable and professional and the management is fantastic. I can't wait to go back.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Healthy, Seasonal, Organic, Sunday Lunch, Disabled Access, Great for Brunch, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Wow, what an incredible experience! My wife and I had reservations for Mother's Day Brunch, it's one of the busiest days in the restaurnat industry. We checked in with the host around 30 minutes early and were told he would have our table ready in around 10 minutes or so. What a surprise.

We were seated right by the reflecting pool with a beautiful view. Our attentive server took our drink order and brought us a basket of assorted breads. Yummy.

My wife ordered the asparagus and Brie quiche and I ordered the lobster and shrimp mac and cheese. Oh my goodness, what incredible brunch entrees. They were both so delicious. We'll definitely return again in the future.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Mother's Day

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Warm welcome, the table was waterside. The brunch was good. Food could have been served warmer. Ambiance was Modern and calming.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Great for Brunch, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Eggs Benedict too runny - eggs not poached long enough. 2 at table got this and could barely eat them. Disappointing as usually it is very good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 14, 2017

I love to bring friends and family here for brunch. The ambiance is nice, noise level is low and the food is good. Love sitting over looking the reflection pond.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Cozy, Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 13, 2017

The food was wonderful. I took my mom and daughter for a Mother's Day brunch. Unfortunately our table was next to a a girl who was crying and arguing the whole time because she wanted the perfect wedding. Having to listen to her ruined the mood and nice view.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Fabulous meal! Service is always gracious and attentive.

Tags: Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 12, 2017

The view and atmosphere is always great. Very tasty turkey sandwich with a side of snap peas, cucumbers, and carrots in a rice vinegar dressing. The waitress was not super friendly but got the job done in a timely manner. We were here for lunch on a Friday and enjoyed it very much!

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 11, 2017

We enjoyed our lunch very much. Love the Modern.

My only comment, every time I dine there, I notice the wall to the right when entering the Cafe. This should have a color or Modern painting. After all it is an art museum. This would certainly improve the ambiance of the bar area. Also for evening dining, if the silver tree outside was lit, it also would improve the ambiance of the dining experience. Thank you.

Tags: Special Occasion, Tapas, Good for Anniversaries, Afternoon Coffee, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Fayetteville)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Lovely Sunday Brunch gathering with friend aand family

Tags: Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Authentic, Casual, Spicy, Hot Spot, Afternoon Tea, Paleo Friendly, Family Style, Tapas, Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Business Meals, Organic, Vegan, People Watching, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Molecular Gastronomy, Fun, Gluten Free Options, Scenic View, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Nice atmosphere and great food menu that changes often.

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Creative cuisine, great service and the best view!

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 5, 2017

We dined at Cafe Modern as part of a night out together. We are always greeted warmly and treated professionally by every member of the staff. They know what we like and can make excellent recommendations when we want to explore new combinations. Although the food is typically a delightful culinary experience, this night was a particular treat. As we contemplated our meal selections, we nibbled on a tasty assortment of mini breads and a glass of La Posta Pizella (Mendoza, Argentina) red wine. The salad comprised berries, almonds and salad greens tossed with a citrus honey vinaigrette, followed by an entree of spring pea dumplings and roasted baby vegetables complemented with an Indian-spiced tomato cashew sauce and a green pesto. It was a feast for the eyes as well as the vegetarian palate! The ambience was filled with positive energy as we enjoyed the stunning views of the museum grounds aand surrounding, overlooking the water and the magnificent architecture that is The Modern.

Tags: Scenic View, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Creative food, excellent service and a beautiful setting. Definitely make plans to eat here soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 30, 2017

This restaurant was recommended for brunch. The food was below average and over priced for its quality.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Eclectic menu. More of a lunch menu then traditional breakfast. I was able to order bacon and eggs over easy off menu easily and it was delicious. Enjoyed the venue, beautiful. The room has concrete and glass and high walls so noise is an issue. It's easier sometimes to hear the conversation from the person at the next table than the persona across from you. Our server seemed distracted with other tables hence it took a while to get our drinks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 30, 2017

34th wedding anniversary

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on April 22, 2017

We enjoyed a lovely view of the water from our table. Service was excellent and food was perfect!!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Historic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Waterfront, Modern Decor, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Never disappointed! Food is always fresh and delicious, innovative menu is rotated seasonally. We love to take out of town guests here even if we don't visit the exhibits. The Architecture and view over the water elevates the experience.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Historic, Sunday Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Waterfront, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Easter Brunch and first time at Café Modern. With a full restaurant and hard concrete walls, the noise level was high. I enjoyed the grits and BLT benedict but my wife did not care for the grits. She prefers creamy grits. My wife ordered the veggie omelet and was pleased. She liked the potatoes but I did not care for the oil used to cook the potatoes.

Service was prompt. Hint - try the violet gin drink.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Wonderful, inventive seasonal offerings.

Had a terrific server who knew just how much to say at the right time. Great suggestions & super-pleasant.

Noisier than usual due to the many large family parties for Easter.

Always polite host.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Cafe Modern is an upscale Fort Worth dining experience that suites every artful soul! The service is amazing & the experience impressionable. We LOVE Cafe Modern!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Special Occasion, Casual, Afternoon Coffee, Modern Decor, Romantic, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We went to Cafe Modern for Easter....we had a reservation and were seated promptly. Had great service even though the restaurant was full. The food was excellent and nice portions. Afterward we walked around the museum. I hope we can make this an Easter tradition.

Tags: Fun, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Great menu and service not to mention great view.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Great for Brunch, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Enjoyed our visit. Great food and ambiance. Come back often to celebrate birthdays.

Tags: Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Great atmosphere, great view, and great food. Cafe Modern is our favorite restaurant for memorable gatherings with close friends and family.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Modern Decor, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 15, 2017

My oldest daughter said it was the best burger she ever ate! I took my three daughters to the Modern to go to the Museum for the youngest one's 13th birthday, and the Cafe is my favorite restaurant in Texas. It has a gorgeous view, but the food is amazing, incredible, delicious. Definitely a place for foodies, "fancy schmancy" and good for clean eating.

Tags: Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Organic, Vegan, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Perfect location for a birthday lunch. Excellent, personal service plus an outstanding seasonal menu and wine list elevated the experience and made for a thoroughly enjoyable and memorable birthday celebration for my mother.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Very pleasant for brunch but reservations are a must.

Tags: Modern Decor, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 8, 2017

I've eaten at Cafe Modern in the Modern Art Museum many times, and they are always great. The only improvement would be to have brought silverware to the table when we sat down so we didn't have to ask for it, and to bring the wonderful gourmet breads to the table also without having to ask for it. These were minor issues, as the food was fantastic and the service was responsive to every need.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Modern Decor, Great for Brunch, Afternoon Tea, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on April 6, 2017

The setting in this building by architect Tadeo Ando is beautiful. Also very calm and soothing. But this time the food really left quite a bit to be desired. There were very few/none choices for someone on a restricted diet. Every item on the menu was really reaching to be different rather than well prepared or delicious. And prices pretty high for serving size and quality. I have eaten here several times and in past was always excellent and worth the trip to museum.

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Special Occasion, Romantic, Scenic View, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on April 4, 2017

LOVELY LUNCH. WILL DO AGAIN. ENJOYED THE MUSEUM TOO.OUR FIRST TIME.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good Vegetarian Options, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Wonderful brunch! The view was lovely. We will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 1, 2017

The outdoor area is very nice when the weather is pleasant. Food is a little pricey but it's very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.