About Cafe Modern

3200 Darnell Street
Fort Worth, TX 76107
View Larger Map

Café Modern chefs blend seasonal, local ingredients inspired by culinary traditions from around the globe. Their artfully crafted cuisine is served against the backdrop of Tadao Ando’s world renowned building in the celebrated Fort Worth Cultural District. Whether enjoying a weekday lunch, Friday night dinner or a relaxed weekend brunch, our genuine hospitality will ensure a memorable dining experience.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Fusion / Eclectic

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Tuesday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:30pm
Dinner: Friday: 5:00pm - 8:30pm
Brunch: Saturday - Sunday: 10:00am - 3:00pm

Cross Street:
University

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(817) 840-2157

Website:
http://www.themodern.org/cafe

Catering:
With its stunning location in the Modern Art Museum of Fort Worth and its serene, reflecting-pond backdrop, The Modern can host an impressive corporate event or the wedding reception of your dreams. From start to finish, our team of planning professionals will handle every detail of your event. Our staff will prepare your food with the same care and attention they provide our individual café customers, and will make sure your special event is nothing less than a masterpiece.

For more information, rental costs, availability and menu selections, contact Café Modern.

Executive Chef:
Denise Shavandy

Additional:
Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access

Restaurant Photos

Spring Frittata
Duck Lettuce Wraps
Piggy Two Ways
Oatmeal Cookie Chess Pie
Moroccan Spiced Steak
Cappuccino
Espresso
Beef Carpaccio
Whole Fried Branzini
Shrimp Michelada
French Toast w/ Seasonal Berries
Brushetta
Crispy Soft Shell Crab
Spring Five Onion Soup
Eggs Benedict Caprese
Adobo Fried Chicken
Steak & Panzanella
Tabasco-Buttermilk Fried Chicken
Capellini Crudaiolo
Wedge Salad With Grilled Mahi Mahi
Eggs Benedict Oscar
Pink Grapefruit Ginger Sorbet
Mental Cocktail
Local Cheese Plate
Daily Fresh Fish Special
Red Miso Steak
Turkey Sandwich With Avocado And Bacon Mayo
The Omelette
Muhammara
Tiramisu Pancakes
Chickpea Fries w/ Dipping Sauce
Fall Omlet

Private Dining

With its stunning location in the Modern Art Museum and its serene reflecting-pond backdrop, The Modern can host an impressive corporate event or the wedding reception of your dreams.

Cafe Modern Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.7

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Fit for Foodies
Dallas - Fort Worth
Great for Brunch
Dallas - Fort Worth
Great for Lunch
Dallas - Fort Worth
2 More
Best Ambiance
Fort Worth
Fit for Foodies
Fort Worth
Best Restaurants in Fort Worth Cultural District & TCU ›

Scenic View (104)
Great for Brunch (90)
Great for Lunch (83)
See All
Special Occasion (79)
Fit for Foodies (69)
Romantic (31)
Good for Groups (29)
Neighborhood Gem (29)
Great for Outdoor Dining (23)
Notable Wine List (14)
Hot Spot (9)
Kid-friendly (4)
Late-night Find (3)
Sort By:
Newest
838 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We made reservations and arrived exactly ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined 5 days ago

We made reservations and arrived exactly on time to a chilly hostess and had to wait for 10 minutes even though there were 4-5 open and clean tables in sight. We were then seated along a wall in a corner when there were other more appealing tables with a better view. I could have insisted on a better table but didn't make a fuss. They never sat others in the open tables while I was there. I think those with reservations should be seated promptly in the best areas available. Next time save the corner wall for walk ups! Encourage friendliness by hostesses and waitstaff please.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Beautiful view and restaurant but food w ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined 5 days ago

Beautiful view and restaurant but food was not worth it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3

Lovely view. I was a bit disappointed th ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined 5 days ago

Lovely view. I was a bit disappointed they no longer offer a free mimosa with the purchase of movie tickets. It was several (more than 5) minutes before a server appeared at our table Food was good. The sauce on my eggs was ok, nothing special. The restaurant was louder than its been in the past. Overall you go for the view more than anything else.

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value2

We had a very unfortunate experience. Tw ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined 7 days ago

We had a very unfortunate experience. Two people in our party ordered the Wagyu strip steak medium rare. It was well done. Our waitress returned the entrees to be re-done. 30 minutes later they were presented again every bit as well done as the first time. The gentlemen serving them (not our original server) said "they were medium rare when they were removed from the grill" and argued that they were indeed medium rare. The entrees were rejected again and we asked for the check. They comped the two entrees that were satisfactory and gave us a gift certificate for a future meal but I doubt we'll use it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1

Highly recommended/rated yet a little sh ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Highly recommended/rated yet a little short on fabulous. Arrived for early weekday lunch, and it was not crowded. Veggie tacos were quite soggy, while the caprese sandwich was worth every bite. Can imagine other places I would return to before this one. Museum view from the restaurant is truly lovely if you are facing the correct direction.

Try it, but using the word try. Perhaps my expectations were too inflated for an otherwise pleasant meal.

Tags: Scenic View, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

I will never go to the Sunday brunch aga ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

I will never go to the Sunday brunch again. Your lunches, during the week , are interesting, perfectly served and delicious. This 60th birthday gathering was a mess. We had a gathering of 8 people, service was painfully slow and food was only adequate.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service1
value3

Always wonderful! Chef and team make it ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Always wonderful! Chef and team make it a wonderful experience whether it's a Sunday brunch, lunch, or an intimate dinner on a Friday night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Convenient while at either Modern or Kim ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Convenient while at either Modern or Kimbell or just nearby. Good menu and service. Lots of groups so conversation is noisy.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Lunch at the Modern. Met some friends f ...

vip
 (Austin)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Lunch at the Modern.

Met some friends from Dallas at the Modern for lunch. Gorgeous view, exceptional menu with food that's so good and service was terrific. What a way to visit with friends and also a worl class art museum.

Tags: Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were there for brunch and the Animee ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

We were there for brunch and the Animee show. Food was tasty but felt cheated because of the lack of it, I ordered the ceviche for $15.95 and requested the red bell peppers be left out and instead ended up with the tiniest scoop of fish. Not worthy of the price.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

As always excellent food and service. I ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

As always excellent food and service. I had the cheeseburger and both of my friends had the omlet with salmon. Both said they would certainly order again - that is our test when it is excellent. Burger was great. The staff always are so friendly - they truly act as if you are special guests in their home.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

we ordered salads with shrimp and cevich ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

we ordered salads with shrimp and ceviche appetizer. For a 15 dollar ceviche appetizer, it was very overpriced.It was expensive for what we got.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

We dined for lunch here at the Modern fo ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

We dined for lunch here at the Modern for the first time this week. In a nutshell, the menu is quite extensive with pleasing selections. The food was prepared expertly and the service was friendly and efficient.

A couple of negatives though....the total bill was over $90.00 for two apps and two main courses for lunch. This is very expensive compared to other good Ft. Worth lunch restaurants. Also, we had lunch in the large round dining room. That room is essentially constructed of concrete and windows and thus, was very loud! The noise was almost to the level where we had to almost shout at times to be heard.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was fresh and delicious and the ser ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Food was fresh and delicious and the service was outstanding!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent place! My favorite restaurant ...

vip
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Excellent place! My favorite restaurant in Fort Worth. Going again this next week!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was very poor and this was s ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

The service was very poor and this was surprising. We had 9 people at or table and thus gratuity was included. The server never asked us what we wanted to drink. We had to wave her down to put in our orders for drinks and for food. The entire brunch was 30 min too long due to the inefficiency of the server. And to note, it was not busy that day. Basically , poor service , poor food. Disappointing.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1
value2

We had a lovely table by the window. Th ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

We had a lovely table by the window. The brunch menu is fantastic - a nice variety eggs dishes, interesting salads, and heartier entrees. The restaurant was busy, but never felt crowded or hurried. The only odd thing was that our waiter consistently addressed his suggestions, etc. to my friend, even though I had made the reservation and brunch was my treat.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

There is always something new on the men ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

There is always something new on the menu and it's usually delicious. Wine list is safe yet still interesting. Good cocktails. And you can't beat the location/ambiance. Food + wine + art make this worth returning to on a regular basis, which I do!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

Wonderful setting, windows needed cleani ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Wonderful setting, windows needed cleaning though but overall ambiance was modern, neat and beautiful.

Ate the duck and scallop dishes which were cooked/seared nicely and flavorful. The prices might have been about $10 overpriced.

Still, we had a lovely experience and hope to try other dishes before the season is over. (menu changes each season)

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

The restaurant view is fabulous Our se ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

The restaurant view is fabulous Our server was nice Two of us ordered the Bourbon BBQ pork ribs. They were horrible! Very dry and way too much cayenne pepper. The waitress recommend this, obviously she doesn't eat the food.

We ordered the " lemon lavender sorbet". It comes out the color of brown. Right then we knew something was wrong. We all took a bite and could not even eat it! It was so full of lavender it was gross!! Very disappointed in the food.

No desire to spend that kind of $$ again at Cafe Modern.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value1

Food options and food taste were meh... ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Food options and food taste were meh... service and views were good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4

We were there on Sunday, 7/17/16, 11am r ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

We were there on Sunday, 7/17/16, 11am reservations. This is my favorite place for Sunday brunches. I got to choose the place for the Sunday brunch for this time. Of course, I picked Cafe Modern! I had the Peaches and berries waffle and scrambled eggs. So very good!!! The waiter was attentive, friendly and professional. It IS a little expensive, but the experience was worth it. Thank you!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Cafe Modern is one of the best spots in ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Cafe Modern is one of the best spots in the Dallas-Ft.Worth metroplex for a sophisticated brunch or lunch. We happily drive the 30 miles to get there, combining a marvelous meal with a walk through the galleries.

Brunch is a lively combination of expected and unexpected fare--all the entrees we have sampled in the past three or four visits have been delicious. The Bloody Mary is Southwestern in its orientation, and it is one of the best in the area.

Downsides? It's noisy when crowded--concrete isn't very forgiving. On our visit last Sunday, I was surprised the the normally excellent "Breakfast Potatoes" appeared to be diced large and dropped into the deep fryer. New cook?

All in all, Cafe Modern is a wonderful way to start your Sunday off.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, incredible service! What mo ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Great food, incredible service! What more can I say?

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

New menu item scallops with lobster succ ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

New menu item scallops with lobster succotash was excellent. My husband enjoyed his sea bass and mash.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great view

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Great view

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

I have been to this restaurant many time ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

I have been to this restaurant many times and always thought it a good spot. Was meeting the parents of my daughter's fiancé for the first time who live close to Fort Worth and thought this would be a good place bec the view is lovely and the food has always been pretty exceptional. (And I wanted to see the Frank Stella exhibit.) What a disappointment in the food. I had Vichyssoise which was thick with little taste. The 3 of us had salads. I asked the waiter if my salad had dressing on it and he assured me it did. However, the lettuce was totally dry. Two of us had this salad and there was no dressing on either one so we asked for some dressing on the side and the waiter brought it but kept arguing that there was dressing on the salad. I will go back for another chance, but this was not a positive food event.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value2

We loved it! A great way to get out of t ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

We loved it! A great way to get out of the heat on 4th of July weekend.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love this lovely restaurant Great vie ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

We love this lovely restaurant

Great view!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The view and the restaurant itself are v ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

The view and the restaurant itself are very unique. The soups we got were not piping hot. I do like nice hot soup. These were luke warm. The baba ganoush was good, but we ran out of bread before we ran out of baba ganoush. The waitress was kind and brought more when asked. She came by our table to refill water and I had hoped she would notice that we were out of bread but still had more "dip". I was under the impression that Cafe Modern offers a fine dining experience. I was disappointed. The fact that it is in a museum is appealing, but I probably won't return.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Service was well-timed and friendly. The ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Service was well-timed and friendly. The food was well presented and tasty.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent place for lunch or dinner. Foo ...

vip
 (Austin)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Excellent place for lunch or dinner. Food is fabulous and the service is outstanding!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and Service wasn't as good as we ex ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Food and Service wasn't as good as we expected but we were thrilled to find the Museum admission FREE on Sunday.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

It is a great restaurant and on Sunday's ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

It is a great restaurant and on Sunday's the Museum is free.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

My husband and I have been to Cafe Moder ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

My husband and I have been to Cafe Modern before. This time we brought a guest and we will not do that again. It is very difficult to hear conversation without leaning from one person to the next...impossible if you are seated across from each other. Usually our food is above average, but this time it left a lot to be desired. There was egg shell remaining on my poached eggs benedict and my husband's burger was too large to eat as a sandwich. He had to finally finish it with a fork as an open face sandwich.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

Everyone one of our six person party ord ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Everyone one of our six person party ordered something different and everyone thought their choice was delicious. Presentation was beautiful as is the location. Our server was exceptional.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The chef is beyond fabulous and so is th ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

The chef is beyond fabulous and so is the atmosphere!! Our favorite restaurant!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love having brunch at the Modern. Won ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

We love having brunch at the Modern. Wonderful atmosphere, food and service. Never been disappointed.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My sister and I love to meet and eat at ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

My sister and I love to meet and eat at Cafe Modern about every three months or so. It is beautiful and memorable. You definitely want to ask to sit by or near the huge windows. It seemed as if the large groups were in the rear of the space, in a much less scenic area. But for couples or smaller groups, the seating in the striking window area, added to the unusual food , great service and unique cocktails make it perfect for special occasions.Cafe Modern can make any brunch or lunch into a special event.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

The waitress was gracious and very accom ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

The waitress was gracious and very accomadating

She made sure each guest had their desired food

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.