About Cafe Modern

3200 Darnell Street
Fort Worth, TX 76107
View Larger Map

Café Modern chefs blend seasonal, local ingredients inspired by culinary traditions from around the globe. Their artfully crafted cuisine is served against the backdrop of Tadao Ando’s world renowned building in the celebrated Fort Worth Cultural District. Whether enjoying a weekday lunch, Friday night dinner or a relaxed weekend brunch, our genuine hospitality will ensure a memorable dining experience.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Fusion / Eclectic

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Tuesday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:30pm
Dinner: Friday: 5:00pm - 8:30pm
Brunch: Saturday - Sunday: 10:00am - 3:00pm

Cross Street:
University

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(817) 840-2157

Website:
http://www.themodern.org/cafe

Catering:
With its stunning location in the Modern Art Museum of Fort Worth and its serene, reflecting-pond backdrop, The Modern can host an impressive corporate event or the wedding reception of your dreams. From start to finish, our team of planning professionals will handle every detail of your event. Our staff will prepare your food with the same care and attention they provide our individual café customers, and will make sure your special event is nothing less than a masterpiece.

For more information, rental costs, availability and menu selections, contact Café Modern.

Executive Chef:
Denise Shavandy

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access

Restaurant Photos

Duck Lettuce Wraps
Piggy Two Ways
Moroccan Spiced Steak
Cappuccino
Oatmeal Cookie Chess Pie
Espresso
Beef Carpaccio
Whole Fried Branzini
Shrimp Michelada
French Toast w/ Seasonal Berries
Brushetta
Crispy Soft Shell Crab
Spring Five Onion Soup
Eggs Benedict Caprese
Adobo Fried Chicken
Steak & Panzanella
Wedge Salad With Grilled Mahi Mahi
Tabasco-Buttermilk Fried Chicken
Capellini Crudaiolo
Eggs Benedict Oscar
Local Cheese Plate
Mental Cocktail
Pink Grapefruit Ginger Sorbet
Daily Fresh Fish Special
Red Miso Steak
Turkey Sandwich With Avocado And Bacon Mayo
Muhammara
The Omelette
Tiramisu Pancakes
Chickpea Fries w/ Dipping Sauce
Fall Omlet

Private Dining

With its stunning location in the Modern Art Museum and its serene reflecting-pond backdrop, The Modern can host an impressive corporate event or the wedding reception of your dreams.

Cafe Modern Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.6

ambience

4.7

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Brunch
Dallas - Fort Worth
Great for Lunch
Dallas - Fort Worth
Scenic View
Dallas - Fort Worth
3 More
Best Ambiance
Fort Worth
Fit for Foodies
Fort Worth
Great for Lunch
Fort Worth
Best Restaurants in Fort Worth Cultural District & TCU ›

scenic view (106)
great for brunch (105)
fit for foodies (84)
See All
great for lunch (77)
special occasion (76)
good for groups (35)
romantic (35)
great for outdoor dining (30)
neighborhood gem (27)
notable wine list (14)
hot spot (13)
kid-friendly (9)
vibrant bar scene (1)
late-night find (1)
Sort By:
Newest
801 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The chef is beyond fabulous and so is th ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

The chef is beyond fabulous and so is the atmosphere!! Our favorite restaurant!!!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love having brunch at the Modern. Won ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

We love having brunch at the Modern. Wonderful atmosphere, food and service. Never been disappointed.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

My sister and I love to meet and eat at ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

My sister and I love to meet and eat at Cafe Modern about every three months or so. It is beautiful and memorable. You definitely want to ask to sit by or near the huge windows. It seemed as if the large groups were in the rear of the space, in a much less scenic area. But for couples or smaller groups, the seating in the striking window area, added to the unusual food , great service and unique cocktails make it perfect for special occasions.Cafe Modern can make any brunch or lunch into a special event.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The waitress was gracious and very accom ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

The waitress was gracious and very accomadating She made sure each guest had their desired food

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful place to have lunch in Fort Wo ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

Wonderful place to have lunch in Fort Worth. The view of the reflecting pool from this lunch spot makes it worth your while. The food is always well thought out and different, always tasty!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

New menu offerings are interesting, artf ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

New menu offerings are interesting, artfully presented, and tasty. Sea bass over stir fry veggies was delicious and serving was appropriately sized. Veggies were garden veggies(corn, squash,beans, celery)cut into small bites. Baba Ganush was best I have had.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The ambience provided by the architectur ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

The ambience provided by the architecture of the museum makes this restaurant definitely unique. Not only is the food a great taste experience, with interesting choices, but the view in that room cannot be topped! If one is looking for a romantic spot, this is it! The service is excellent and unhurried. I highly recommend it.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We've been coming to Cafe Modern for ove ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

We've been coming to Cafe Modern for over two years, mostly for brunch though sometimes for Happy Hour. We have yet to be disappointed during any of our visits. Excellent service, good food choices, and great value for the money.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Friday evening menu and museum visit bef ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

Friday evening menu and museum visit before. Nice evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience1
service3
value1

Just was not happy with ambiance and alt ...

Dined on June 10, 2016

Just was not happy with ambiance and although the food was ok I thought it was very expensive for what we got.

Tags: scenic view
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Enjoyable lunch

Dined on June 10, 2016

We had a very enjoyable lunch and wine at the cafe. The service was very good and the view was great!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Great Service Great setting

Dined on June 5, 2016

The setting next to pond was perfect. Very relaxed atmosphere. Have to try Bloody Mary's. had egg dishes - perfect!

Tags: great for brunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent place for friends to meet and ...

Dined on June 5, 2016

Excellent place for friends to meet and visit. Good food and service. Peaceful scenery overlooking museum water feature. We felt comfortable to linger over food and drink and we're very pleased it was quiet so we could hear each other.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Civilized

Dined on June 5, 2016

My husband and I enjoyed a lovely brunch here. The room is so calming and the view so peaceful that just entering is a spiritual experience. The food was beautifully presented and perfectly delicious. We ordered the seared tuna salad and the Chinese chicken salad and both were wonderful.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Special place, great food!

Dined on June 4, 2016

Brunch before Magnolia at the Modern. One of the restaurants at the top of our list. Recommend to everyone we know. Menu changes often, servers are wonderful, very accommodating for dietary needs. Great view of outdoors, reflecting pool. Love it!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

The menu is always very interesting.

Dined on May 28, 2016

The setting is great and the service is good. I like that the menu changes frequently and offers lots of dining options. Great place for a special luncheon.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful as always

Dined on May 24, 2016

I took a friend to Cafe Modern for her birthday. We sat by the window - enjoyed the beautiful view, amazing food and wonderful atmosphere. Thank you for being a consistently fantastic place to dine and enjoy.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

This is always a great place for a leisu ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

This is always a great place for a leisurely lunch. I enjoyed the entrée, but the dessert choices need to be changed. Savory is not what I was looking for, sweet and chocolate was on my list, and they really didn't have anything to offer.

Tags: great for brunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

first time dining there, loved it and wi ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

first time dining there, loved it and will definitely go back !!!!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

The BLT with fried green tomatoes was fa ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

The BLT with fried green tomatoes was fab!

food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Interesting menu. Well prepared food. Great amb

Dined on May 20, 2016

The menu changes monthly. Great ambiance. Well prepared food. Nice quiet lunch.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always love dining at the Modern. The m ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

Always love dining at the Modern. The menu is exciting and changing which allows me to try new dishes.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Modern .... an Oasis in Fort Worth

Dined on May 15, 2016

The setting of the Modern Cafe is stunning, perched on the edge of the water looking across the water at the pavilions filled with art. The food is delicious and the service is, mostly very attentive and easy. Brunch on Sunday is a special treat.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Brunch Spot

Dined on May 15, 2016

Had an amazing first time experience. Great place to have a nice quiet brunch with my significant other. Will definitely be back.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Cafe Modern is a place you can be guaran ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Cafe Modern is a place you can be guaranteed top notch service and beautifully crafted food. We were disappointed in neither.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4

Great brunch Able to enjoy the museum af ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Great brunch Able to enjoy the museum after the fine meal

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Winner on Mother's Day

Dined on May 8, 2016

My 98-year-old mother only wants to celebrate at the Modern.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

We always enjoy cafe modern - the food i ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

We always enjoy cafe modern - the food is always very good to excellent and the ambiance, while sometimes a bit noisy because of the hard surfaces, affords the opportunity to the ubiquitous Fort Worth "where the West begins" theme and imagine oneself in a far more cosmopolitan - perhaps even European - environment. Set in one of the city's architectural gems, the great food and smooth service almost never disappoints.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Five Stars for this beautiful restaurant

Dined on May 7, 2016

We came here to celebrate a graduation. The setting was spectacular--beautiful and dramatic. For a large space and a busy dining room, it was surprisingly quiet and zen like. The food was exceptional and the service was flawless. We will definitely go back the next time we are in Fort Worth!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

Mother's Day Brunch

Dined on May 7, 2016

We did not have to wait at all to be seated. Brunch felt leisurely and unrushed and we were leaving after about an hour. The Zucchini Ribbon Salad was good but not very filling; I should have added the chicken. I think it would have been amazing with a splash of basalmic vinegar. Hubby had the Modern Eggs Benedict. As one would expect, the hollandaise sauce was rich and creamy. My son had the Modern BLT with country potatoes. He wished he had gotten the fries like his sister. Before I could even ask for one, they were gone, so must have been good. I would order the BLT. The fried green tomato was an unusual twist. My daughter ordered the hamburger on a pretzel bun and devoured it. Service was competent. She seemed relatively new. The view was lovely and serene. I wish we had sat outside on the patio.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

love this restaurant

Dined on May 4, 2016

I love this restaurant. The setting is beautiful and the menu is different than other restaurants. There are healthy items as well as traditional food choices. It is quiet enough to have a conversation. The museum is wonderful and it is fun to combine the two events.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Very Mediocre

Dined on April 24, 2016

Just ok. Not the best. Not the worst. Hard to pinpoint it, but the menu seemed very basic and ordinary and the food the same. The space is pretty but I wouldn't return to the Modern.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect for Brunch!

Dined on April 24, 2016

This was our first trip to Cafe Modern and it was absolutely fantastic. We live in Dallas, but were visiting the Kimbell that day for research and decided to plan a trip for brunch nearby. I'm so glad that this popped up. Not only was it on several top brunch places in Ft. Worth, but it's conveniently located inside the Modern Museum (which happens to be free on Sundays)! Both my boyfriend and myself had been in fine dining for years, so our expectations were set pretty high. Our server Brian C. was absolutely on top of things, pleasant, and we will definitely be requesting him next time. We started off with the beef carpaccio, I had the tuna salad (slightly fishy), and my boyfriend the eggs benedict; all of which was delicious. We will be making our trips out to Ft. Worth brunch a little more frequent thanks to our experience here.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great for brunch

Dined on April 24, 2016

Brunch is delightful at the Modern Cafe. The bloody Marys are memorable, the eggs benedict really good, too. And the peaceful view of the pond is the best of all.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

I'd go again....BUT

vip
Dined on April 23, 2016

I love the setting and the menu offerings. What I don't love is the quality of the food and the corresponding attention to detail. I've been there twice during brunch time and: 1) eggs benedict - were served on a soggy english muffin....muffin should have been toasted first to allow it to stand up to the sauce, breakfast potatoes were overdone, tasted burned - and the entire meal was cold 2) eggs lyonnaise - said it was served with asparagus and capicola - actually there were a few very tiny pieces of asparagus and about 5 pieces of burned bacon bits (possibly capicola in a former life) breakfast potatoes were cold and lyonnaise sauce although quite tasty was cold 3) breakfast fritatta - well it was just plain bad - nothing like any fritatta I've ever seen - and it too was cold, and the side sausage was cheap and fatty. Just a plain egg, flattened, with lemon slices and cheese on it - so strange...the color of it was almost scarry - not even property cooked 4) most of the rolls in the basket were dry and stale. I was just so angry - as I was with guests from Rome, Italy and I did not want to send all our meals back - which in hindsight was a mistake as my guests just pushed their food around on their plates, ate of few of the rolls and left hungry. Shameful! My advice is - it's a pretty place, nice setting, but if I go again I will try the burger or club sandwich - try to stick to the simplest of foods and see if that's ok - and I will definitely send it back if it is not up to par.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Really almost perfect....

Dined on April 19, 2016

A beautiful setting with great food and great service...and this from a reviewer who never gives a perfect score....could not really be any better. ....guess if I had to make one criticism, it would be the design of the knife which is so artsy that it will not lay flat on the plate....good looking, but not functional...and that is a stretch to bring out any flow

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

New chef uses locally sourced foods

Dined on April 16, 2016

Loved the inventive new menu, The lamb and pork were both excellent. The outdoor dining was fine on a beautiful day.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Disappointed in meal

Dined on April 15, 2016

I was disappointed in my meal -- I ordered the rack of lamb and it was very difficult to eat - to cut into bites. It was tough and very hard to handle. Flavor of what I ate was good, but I really couldn't eat half of it. Very disappointing, especially given the price. Accompanying vegetables were very nice, but I gave up on them too!

Tags: fit for foodies, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wow!

Dined on April 12, 2016

The spicy shrimp salad was excellent. Worth going back to have this again. Other items looked tasty too!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Brunch

vip
Dined on April 10, 2016

Best Brunch in Ft. Worth. Modern Benedict is outstanding.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, scenic view

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.