About Cafe Modern

3200 Darnell Street
Fort Worth, TX 76107
View Larger Map

Café Modern chefs blend seasonal, local ingredients inspired by culinary traditions from around the globe. Their artfully crafted cuisine is served against the backdrop of Tadao Ando’s world renowned building in the celebrated Fort Worth Cultural District. Whether enjoying a weekday lunch, Friday night dinner or a relaxed weekend brunch, our genuine hospitality will ensure a memorable dining experience.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Fusion / Eclectic

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Tuesday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:30pm
Dinner: Friday: 5:00pm - 8:30pm
Brunch: Saturday - Sunday: 10:00am - 3:00pm

Cross Street:
University

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(817) 840-2157

Website:
http://www.themodern.org/cafe

Catering:
With its stunning location in the Modern Art Museum of Fort Worth and its serene, reflecting-pond backdrop, The Modern can host an impressive corporate event or the wedding reception of your dreams. From start to finish, our team of planning professionals will handle every detail of your event. Our staff will prepare your food with the same care and attention they provide our individual café customers, and will make sure your special event is nothing less than a masterpiece.

For more information, rental costs, availability and menu selections, contact Café Modern.

Executive Chef:
Denise Shavandy

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access

Restaurant Photos

Spring Frittata
Duck Lettuce Wraps
Piggy Two Ways
Oatmeal Cookie Chess Pie
Moroccan Spiced Steak
Cappuccino
Espresso
Beef Carpaccio
Whole Fried Branzini
Shrimp Michelada
French Toast w/ Seasonal Berries
Brushetta
Crispy Soft Shell Crab
Spring Five Onion Soup
Eggs Benedict Caprese
Adobo Fried Chicken
Steak & Panzanella
Tabasco-Buttermilk Fried Chicken
Capellini Crudaiolo
Wedge Salad With Grilled Mahi Mahi
Eggs Benedict Oscar
Pink Grapefruit Ginger Sorbet
Mental Cocktail
Local Cheese Plate
Daily Fresh Fish Special
Red Miso Steak
Turkey Sandwich With Avocado And Bacon Mayo
The Omelette
Muhammara
Tiramisu Pancakes
Chickpea Fries w/ Dipping Sauce
Fall Omlet

Private Dining

With its stunning location in the Modern Art Museum and its serene reflecting-pond backdrop, The Modern can host an impressive corporate event or the wedding reception of your dreams.

Cafe Modern Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.5

ambience

4.7

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Brunch
Dallas - Fort Worth
Great for Lunch
Dallas - Fort Worth
Best Ambiance
Fort Worth
1 More
Fit for Foodies
Fort Worth
Best Restaurants in Fort Worth Cultural District & TCU ›

Scenic View (93)
Great for Brunch (77)
Great for Lunch (73)
See All
Special Occasion (62)
Fit for Foodies (61)
Neighborhood Gem (25)
Romantic (24)
Good for Groups (23)
Great for Outdoor Dining (16)
Notable Wine List (12)
Modern Decor (11)
Sunday Lunch (10)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Worth the Drive (6)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Good for a Date (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Kid-friendly (4)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Healthy (4)
Seasonal (3)
Business Meals (3)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Fun (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Casual (1)
Authentic (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Waterfront (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Sort By:
Newest
849 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

surprising find in a museum with sensati ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

surprising find in a museum with sensational food and affordable wine list

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very nice brunch.

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Very nice brunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Everything was wonderful except it took ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Everything was wonderful except it took a long time for a waitress to come to our table when we were seated. We could see wait staff standing around talking and no one was coming to take our order. Once our waitress did come, the service was wonderful.

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

In my opinion this is the only 5 star re ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

In my opinion this is the only 5 star restaurant in FTW

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Really nice place to sit, relax, and enj ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Really nice place to sit, relax, and enjoy...very nice. Nice people, really cool menu - lots of unique items - great view.

Tags: Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

We had burgers for lunch. They were quit ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

We had burgers for lunch. They were quite tasty and properly cooked. The staff was friendly and professional. It was the perfect place to go before we visited the Kimbell museum next door (which was fabulous!).

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Great for Brunch, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

As always, a lovely time was had by me a ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

As always, a lovely time was had by me and my daughter, but this time was to celebrate my birthday. the food was great (waffles for her, salad for me), we had our "usual" table by the window, and the service was excellent. Thanks!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Friday night dinner was wonderful. I ha ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

Friday night dinner was wonderful. I had the strip steak which was 5 stars! The best meal I have had there and we have dined there several times.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

This is not a go-to restaurant that we f ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

This is not a go-to restaurant that we frequent. Even with a new chef, I can't be very excited about the Cafe Modern. We waited about five minutes before we were greeted by our server and another few minutes before we had water. The food is alright but certainly doesn't support the high prices particularly for entrees. We were only here because we were attending a 6:00 film and wanted a bite to eat.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Very good food. Wish there will be more ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Very good food. Wish there will be more breakfast options. The restaurant can be noisy at a times.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

The restaurant setting is amazing. Unfor ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

The restaurant setting is amazing. Unfortunately the food was not. The food was good, just not exceptional.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3

We made reservations and arrived exactly ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

We made reservations and arrived exactly on time to a chilly hostess and had to wait for 10 minutes even though there were 4-5 open and clean tables in sight. We were then seated along a wall in a corner when there were other more appealing tables with a better view. I could have insisted on a better table but didn't make a fuss. They never sat others in the open tables while I was there. I think those with reservations should be seated promptly in the best areas available. Next time save the corner wall for walk ups! Encourage friendliness by hostesses and waitstaff please.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Beautiful view and restaurant but food w ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Beautiful view and restaurant but food was not worth it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3

Lovely view. I was a bit disappointed th ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Lovely view. I was a bit disappointed they no longer offer a free mimosa with the purchase of movie tickets. It was several (more than 5) minutes before a server appeared at our table Food was good. The sauce on my eggs was ok, nothing special. The restaurant was louder than its been in the past. Overall you go for the view more than anything else.

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value2

We had a very unfortunate experience. Tw ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

We had a very unfortunate experience. Two people in our party ordered the Wagyu strip steak medium rare. It was well done. Our waitress returned the entrees to be re-done. 30 minutes later they were presented again every bit as well done as the first time. The gentlemen serving them (not our original server) said "they were medium rare when they were removed from the grill" and argued that they were indeed medium rare. The entrees were rejected again and we asked for the check. They comped the two entrees that were satisfactory and gave us a gift certificate for a future meal but I doubt we'll use it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1

Highly recommended/rated yet a little sh ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Highly recommended/rated yet a little short on fabulous. Arrived for early weekday lunch, and it was not crowded. Veggie tacos were quite soggy, while the caprese sandwich was worth every bite. Can imagine other places I would return to before this one. Museum view from the restaurant is truly lovely if you are facing the correct direction.

Try it, but using the word try. Perhaps my expectations were too inflated for an otherwise pleasant meal.

Tags: Scenic View, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

I will never go to the Sunday brunch aga ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

I will never go to the Sunday brunch again. Your lunches, during the week , are interesting, perfectly served and delicious. This 60th birthday gathering was a mess. We had a gathering of 8 people, service was painfully slow and food was only adequate.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service1
value3

Always wonderful! Chef and team make it ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Always wonderful! Chef and team make it a wonderful experience whether it's a Sunday brunch, lunch, or an intimate dinner on a Friday night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Convenient while at either Modern or Kim ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Convenient while at either Modern or Kimbell or just nearby. Good menu and service. Lots of groups so conversation is noisy.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Lunch at the Modern. Met some friends f ...

vip
 (Austin)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Lunch at the Modern.

Met some friends from Dallas at the Modern for lunch. Gorgeous view, exceptional menu with food that's so good and service was terrific. What a way to visit with friends and also a worl class art museum.

Tags: Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were there for brunch and the Animee ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

We were there for brunch and the Animee show. Food was tasty but felt cheated because of the lack of it, I ordered the ceviche for $15.95 and requested the red bell peppers be left out and instead ended up with the tiniest scoop of fish. Not worthy of the price.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

As always excellent food and service. I ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

As always excellent food and service. I had the cheeseburger and both of my friends had the omlet with salmon. Both said they would certainly order again - that is our test when it is excellent. Burger was great. The staff always are so friendly - they truly act as if you are special guests in their home.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

we ordered salads with shrimp and cevich ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

we ordered salads with shrimp and ceviche appetizer. For a 15 dollar ceviche appetizer, it was very overpriced.It was expensive for what we got.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

We dined for lunch here at the Modern fo ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

We dined for lunch here at the Modern for the first time this week. In a nutshell, the menu is quite extensive with pleasing selections. The food was prepared expertly and the service was friendly and efficient.

A couple of negatives though....the total bill was over $90.00 for two apps and two main courses for lunch. This is very expensive compared to other good Ft. Worth lunch restaurants. Also, we had lunch in the large round dining room. That room is essentially constructed of concrete and windows and thus, was very loud! The noise was almost to the level where we had to almost shout at times to be heard.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was fresh and delicious and the ser ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Food was fresh and delicious and the service was outstanding!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent place! My favorite restaurant ...

vip
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Excellent place! My favorite restaurant in Fort Worth. Going again this next week!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was very poor and this was s ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

The service was very poor and this was surprising. We had 9 people at or table and thus gratuity was included. The server never asked us what we wanted to drink. We had to wave her down to put in our orders for drinks and for food. The entire brunch was 30 min too long due to the inefficiency of the server. And to note, it was not busy that day. Basically , poor service , poor food. Disappointing.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1
value2

We had a lovely table by the window. Th ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

We had a lovely table by the window. The brunch menu is fantastic - a nice variety eggs dishes, interesting salads, and heartier entrees. The restaurant was busy, but never felt crowded or hurried. The only odd thing was that our waiter consistently addressed his suggestions, etc. to my friend, even though I had made the reservation and brunch was my treat.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

There is always something new on the men ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

There is always something new on the menu and it's usually delicious. Wine list is safe yet still interesting. Good cocktails. And you can't beat the location/ambiance. Food + wine + art make this worth returning to on a regular basis, which I do!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

Wonderful setting, windows needed cleani ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Wonderful setting, windows needed cleaning though but overall ambiance was modern, neat and beautiful.

Ate the duck and scallop dishes which were cooked/seared nicely and flavorful. The prices might have been about $10 overpriced.

Still, we had a lovely experience and hope to try other dishes before the season is over. (menu changes each season)

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

The restaurant view is fabulous Our se ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

The restaurant view is fabulous Our server was nice Two of us ordered the Bourbon BBQ pork ribs. They were horrible! Very dry and way too much cayenne pepper. The waitress recommend this, obviously she doesn't eat the food.

We ordered the " lemon lavender sorbet". It comes out the color of brown. Right then we knew something was wrong. We all took a bite and could not even eat it! It was so full of lavender it was gross!! Very disappointed in the food.

No desire to spend that kind of $$ again at Cafe Modern.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value1

Food options and food taste were meh... ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Food options and food taste were meh... service and views were good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4

We were there on Sunday, 7/17/16, 11am r ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

We were there on Sunday, 7/17/16, 11am reservations. This is my favorite place for Sunday brunches. I got to choose the place for the Sunday brunch for this time. Of course, I picked Cafe Modern! I had the Peaches and berries waffle and scrambled eggs. So very good!!! The waiter was attentive, friendly and professional. It IS a little expensive, but the experience was worth it. Thank you!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Cafe Modern is one of the best spots in ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Cafe Modern is one of the best spots in the Dallas-Ft.Worth metroplex for a sophisticated brunch or lunch. We happily drive the 30 miles to get there, combining a marvelous meal with a walk through the galleries.

Brunch is a lively combination of expected and unexpected fare--all the entrees we have sampled in the past three or four visits have been delicious. The Bloody Mary is Southwestern in its orientation, and it is one of the best in the area.

Downsides? It's noisy when crowded--concrete isn't very forgiving. On our visit last Sunday, I was surprised the the normally excellent "Breakfast Potatoes" appeared to be diced large and dropped into the deep fryer. New cook?

All in all, Cafe Modern is a wonderful way to start your Sunday off.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, incredible service! What mo ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Great food, incredible service! What more can I say?

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

New menu item scallops with lobster succ ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

New menu item scallops with lobster succotash was excellent. My husband enjoyed his sea bass and mash.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great view

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Great view

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

I have been to this restaurant many time ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

I have been to this restaurant many times and always thought it a good spot. Was meeting the parents of my daughter's fiancé for the first time who live close to Fort Worth and thought this would be a good place bec the view is lovely and the food has always been pretty exceptional. (And I wanted to see the Frank Stella exhibit.) What a disappointment in the food. I had Vichyssoise which was thick with little taste. The 3 of us had salads. I asked the waiter if my salad had dressing on it and he assured me it did. However, the lettuce was totally dry. Two of us had this salad and there was no dressing on either one so we asked for some dressing on the side and the waiter brought it but kept arguing that there was dressing on the salad. I will go back for another chance, but this was not a positive food event.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value2

We loved it! A great way to get out of t ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

We loved it! A great way to get out of the heat on 4th of July weekend.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love this lovely restaurant Great vie ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

We love this lovely restaurant

Great view!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.