Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.18mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.18mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.18mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.18mi

About Cafe Modern

Café Modern chefs blend seasonal, local ingredients inspired by culinary traditions from around the globe. Their artfully crafted cuisine is served against the backdrop of Tadao Ando’s world renowned building in the celebrated Fort Worth Cultural District. Whether enjoying a weekday lunch, Friday night dinner or a relaxed weekend brunch, our genuine hospitality will ensure a memorable dining experience.

3200 Darnell Street
Fort Worth, TX 76107
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Fusion / Eclectic

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Tuesday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:30pm
Dinner: Friday: 5:00pm - 8:30pm
Brunch: Saturday - Sunday: 10:00am - 3:00pm

Cross Street:
University

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(817) 840-2157

Website:
http://www.themodern.org/cafe

Catering:
With its stunning location in the Modern Art Museum of Fort Worth and its serene, reflecting-pond backdrop, The Modern can host an impressive corporate event or the wedding reception of your dreams. From start to finish, our team of planning professionals will handle every detail of your event. Our staff will prepare your food with the same care and attention they provide our individual café customers, and will make sure your special event is nothing less than a masterpiece.

For more information, rental costs, availability and menu selections, contact Café Modern.

Executive Chef:
Denise Shavandy

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access

Private Dining

With its stunning location in the Modern Art Museum and its serene reflecting-pond backdrop, The Modern can host an impressive corporate event or the wedding reception of your dreams.

Cafe Modern Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Modern Decor (37)
Great for Lunch (37)
Creative Cuisine (33)
See All
Scenic View (32)
Great for Brunch (29)
Special Occasion (23)
Good for a Date (21)
Waterfront (21)
Sunday Lunch (21)
Fit for Foodies (20)
Good for Birthdays (19)
Worth the Drive (17)
Quiet Conversation (17)
Good for Anniversaries (17)
Business Meals (15)
Neighborhood Gem (13)
Romantic (11)
Casual (10)
Local Ingredients (10)
Healthy (9)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Good for Groups (8)
Great for Outdoor Dining (7)
Fun (7)
Seasonal (7)
Afternoon Coffee (7)
Cozy (7)
Good Vegetarian Options (7)
People Watching (5)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Organic (5)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Happy Hour (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Tasting Menu (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Great Beer (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
977 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined 12 hours ago

Fantastic drinks and creative happy hour dishes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 6 days ago

We have never been to this museum. I went with my fiance who heard about a cat documentary and knew his girl liked cats so he told me about that. When I reviewed thr museum I saw cafe and brunch so I made an open tabke date. We enjoyed our entire experience. Dan provided our outstanding service seeing about getting us to the show on time. We will definately make The Modern another date in the future.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Waterfront, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 6 days ago

This is not our first time here - we're members at the museum and this is one of our preferred locations for meals with friends who have kids. The outdoor garden with reflecting pool is ideal - kids get to run around without disturbing others and parents have a line of sight to them so they get to enjoy their meal. Win-win.

This time, our server was just not in the mood. We're low maintenance, and weren't time pressed... but our friends commented (unprompted) that she seemed angry and irritated, even taking our drink orders.

Food was good, weather was great and we got to have brunch with old friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined 6 days ago

Excellent Sunday brunch. Best eggs benedict I've had in Texas. We had a great window table with a view of the sculpture garden across the reflecting pool.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Scenic View, Organic, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined 6 days ago

We were late for the reserved time, but were treated professionally and smoothly.

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined 6 days ago

This is our favorite restaurant in Fort Worth. We're not big on their dinner offerings, mainly due to price. But we hit this place for brunch on the weekends and also the bar prior to movies that the museum offers.

Quick, efficient service. No loud cellphone clowns. Excellent bar.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Sunday Lunch, Modern Decor, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 15, 2017

We had lunch together before we attended the 2 pm show. Meals were excellent. Service was a little slow. Restaurant was full at the time we were seated.

Tags: Modern Decor, Good Vegetarian Options, Scenic View, Waterfront, Romantic, Molecular Gastronomy, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on March 7, 2017

Menu changes regularly and has a variety of cuisines. Excellent craft cocktails!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Organic, Outstanding Value, Waterfront, Great Beer, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Happy Hour, Vegan, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (El Paso)·Dined on March 5, 2017

We were disappointed in the food as well as the bread basket. It had been a long time since we were there...food quality seemed to be down. The bread was at least day old and cold. Our soup was very fresh, but the grits were not cooked completely. The bacon had a burned flavor.

We will try it again. The table was poor because we made reservations late.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Organic, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on March 5, 2017

This is one of our favorite dining locations. The cuisine is always interesting and very well prepared. We've dined here several times over the years and never been disappointed. The service is always outstanding. Highly recommend!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on March 5, 2017

I love eating at Cafe Modern. The food is great, creative and the ambience can't be beat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on March 4, 2017

We like having dinner at the Modern after a museum event. Meals here can range from okay to really good. This visit was okay. My wife's lamb was dry, lacking seasoning and I thought she should send it back, but she didn't want to wait since my dish had been served. Also, it was supposed to Persian and the rice could have been Uncle Ben's with some yellow food coloring. Her spinach salad had a great dressing, but could have used more goat cheese. In fairness, I ordered the mussel appetizer as my main course and it was pretty tasty.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on March 4, 2017

We were a few minutes late for our reservation and the hostess let us know she needed our table at 730 even though about 1/8 of the tables in the restaurant were full. Not a great welcome to the restaurant and a bad taste before we ever sat down. Waiter was a little slow and not as attentive as he could have been. They had a ramen noodle bowl on the menu and the noodles were not even homemade. My husband for halibut and we felt it was overcooked and dry. The ambiance was the only good part but honestly for a date night it was a disappointment.

Tags: Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Chicken salad did not have much chicken salad. Lot of bread.

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Saturday brunch was not up to historical standards. Service is always excellent but food was definitely lacking. Will try again and hope this was just an off day for the chef.

Tags: Seasonal, Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 25, 2017

I love eating at the Modern, a well-kept secret for Friday evening dining. The menu is always interesting and the food fresh. This last dinner was good but not best I have had at the Modern. My halibut and broth was good but under-seasoned, and same critque for my son's ramen soup with the smoked duck egg. The smoke was delicious but it lacked other flavors to balance.

Tags: Special Occasion, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 23, 2017

This choice has in the past been wonderful but not so now. Food was rather bland and uninteresting - quality lacking. The lunch was very disappointing for the price.

Tags: Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 21, 2017

We had a wonderful lunch and were served by friendly and helpful Daniel. Excellent service , beautiful view, and great food. One of my favorite FW dining spots. Keep up the good work!!!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fun, Great for Brunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 15, 2017

The physical restaurant is very nice, probably one of the nicest in fort Worth. With walls of floor to ceiling glass looking over the reflection pond and courtyard of the museum. Food was good but nothing special when comparing to other restaurants in the same price bracket.

Tags: Fun, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Waterfront, Hot Spot, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value3

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 15, 2017

While the setting was perfect, with the restaurant overlooking the beautiful lagoon, the dining experience was far less than anticipated. I'll give the management credit for opening on a special occasion day, but virtually from start to finish, the meal and service were not up to par. The three course fixed-prix (which I do not recall was disclosed when I made the reservation) was less than appetizing. My wife had the vichyssoise soup with white asparagus and pureed spinach which had NO taste! I had the lobster bisque that while flavorful, the dish was served "luke warm". As for entrees, we had the prosciutto-wrapped halibut (again, the only flavor was that of the proscuitto) and osso buco (ample serving and very tender, but lacking in seasoning). The only other offering was mushroom risotto. The best was last: a serving of three tasty and small offerings of chocolate mousse, lemon tart and parfait. All in all: not what I had expected for a special evening. I will say the restaurant appeared fully booked and table rotation was very active the entire time we were there, so perhaps our disappointment was more due to needing a limited (though perhaps not ideal) menu and need for additional but untrained wait staff. Having said all this, we have dined there before on less-than-special dates and will try again on a less traffic-ed occasion.

Tags: People Watching, Modern Decor, Sunday Lunch, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Valentines date; perfect venue for a romantic Valentine's date. Go to the museum before dinner and then wine and dine your significant other!! They had a special Valentine's menu, but regardless the food is always fantastic. The device was great, we took our time and talked more than we ate. The drinks were great as well!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 14, 2017

The restaraunt was a fantastic experience! We love this place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Brunch wasn't as we expected as the menu is limited and the food average. The Thai soup needs a little heat. It had very little flavor. The waffles were nice with the infusion and the bacon perfectly cooked. The French dip was the best with a lot of flavor. Service is slow, but if you are there for the view, it's ok. It is VERY loud if you go around noon. If you want to visit, plan your time a little later.

Tags: Seasonal, Kid-friendly, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 5, 2017

I brought my friend to the Modern Cafe for her birthday. This was her first time. We were sat at a really nice table with a view of the water. Food was amazing and the cocktails were really good. I'm never disappointed.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Bread in sandwiches was not particularly fresh. The soup was excellent,.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Brunch is excellent here!

Tags: Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Cafe Modern is always a delectable dining experience, with friendly (but professiona), knowledgeable staff. There is always something new to experience. Dining overlooking the water in view of The Modern's spectacuular architecture is a must!

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Gluten Free Options, Notable Wine List, Great for Brunch, Quick Bite, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Afternoon Coffee, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Waterfront, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Molecular Gastronomy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Organic, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Healthy, People Watching, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Bar Seating, Afternoon Tea, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Sunday Brunch at the Modern is always a great treat! They have a new chef and the menu has expanded in wonderful ways! Treat yourself to it....

Tags: Fun, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Lovely seasonal menu.
The cranberry scones were delightful!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Delicious cuisine that is seasonal, local and expertly prepared. Novel combinations of ingredients remind me of the innovative Michelin starred restaurants I enjoyed in France. For example, maple and bacon ice cream along side a molten chocolate tart! To die for. The ambiance is spectacular as well with large windows and an impressive view. We went with our family and friends of our children and all had a spectacular time. It's a great place to go when in the arts district. I give it my highest recommendation and will continue to drive from Dallas to frequent this venue.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Sunday Lunch, Healthy, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 28, 2017

It was a bit load due to Friday night bar group, but quieted down later. The manager was very helpful in allowing us to select a table less exposed to the noise. The food was interesting and tasty, as always. We especially enjoy the view over the reflecting pool with the reflection of neighboring buildings. Decent wine list, if not expansive, and our waiter directed us to very nice wines. We come here often after attending exhibits at the Kimbell. And I should note that Cafe Modern anticipated the Stock Show crowd and had an officer screening people so that only those going to the museums or Cafe Modern could park in their lot. Very helpful otherwise we would have been hard pressed to find parking. Thanks for that !!

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Scenic View
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Always enjoy The Cafe at the Modern, changing menu means there's normally something new to try and the ambiance is so refreshing and calming. Love it!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on January 22, 2017

One of our favorite restaurants. Menu nice mix of traditional & creative. Always excellent service & beautiful setting.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Excellent food and service. The setting by the large pond and the abundance of Windows makes it so light and bright.

Tags: Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 20, 2017

The waitress did well, even though one of my friends did not get what he had ordered originally. Good as always!

Tags: Modern Decor, Local Ingredients, Waterfront, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Service was mediocre and so was the food.
I was actually quite surprised as I had been here before and had an excellent meal and sterling service.
The crab/ spinach omelet was set and not will seasoned. My friend's dish of the Latin eggs Benedict was tastier.
The waiter was not at all attentive and somewhat impatient.
Our table was lovely by the window and we had a nice visit. I am hoping this is the exception and not the rule ... overpriced for what we hadas well.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value2

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 14, 2017

I had a delightful lunch with friends at the Cafe Modern. It was a busy Saturday, so it was good that I had made a reservation. I like the menu choices which are always a little different in a good way. The view of the serene pool of water just outside the windows makes for great ambiance.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Modern Decor, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 14, 2017

My family has eaten at the Modern about twice a year since they have opened ( we don't live in the area). We have always been happy with the quality of food and the price. This weekend we ordered the queso fundido and were extremely disappointed. It was a quarter size of dried up cheese that wasn't the quality we expected. I had the pistachio and mixed greens with chicken which was good but not real impressive. My brother had the wagyu cheeseburger and said the blue cheese was a tad bit overpowering. Also, the basket of rolls and scones were dry and hard. We love the view, so we will probably go back, but if the food isn't up to par, we will just stay on the museum side.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 11, 2017

Wonderful food and service! Unfortunately very loud but still a great experience overall.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 11, 2017

Our server, Kerri, was warm, friendly, and attentive. The food was excellent. My friend and I split our sandwiches. Delicious!

Tags: Fun, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.