About Cafe Mahjaic - Lotus Inn

1006 Lotus Road
Lotus, CA 95651
View Larger Map

Dinners at Cafe' Mahjaic are New American, a mixture of all ethnic backgrounds. All foods, sauces and breads made from scratch daily using naturally raise meats and grains. Fresh fish from the ocean. Organic produce when available.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Wednesday - Saturday: 5:00 PM - 10:30 PM

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(530) 622-9587

Website:
http://www.cafemahjaic.com/

Executive Chef:
John Metropulos

Private Party Contact:
Gina: 5306229587

Additional:
Beer, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Takeout, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Halibut
  • Chocolate Decadence
  • Coullote Steak
  • Ahi tuna
  • Asparagus Bisque Soup
  • Chocolate Chipotle Prawns
Halibut
Chocolate Decadence
Coullote Steak
Ahi tuna
Asparagus Bisque Soup
Chocolate Chipotle Prawns

Cafe Mahjaic - Lotus Inn Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.2

ambience

4.4

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Value
Sacramento / Sacramento Valley
Fit for Foodies
Sacramento / Sacramento Valley
Neighborhood Gem
Sacramento / Sacramento Valley
4 More
Romantic
Sacramento / Sacramento Valley
Special Occasion
Sacramento / Sacramento Valley
American
Sacramento / Sacramento Valley
Most Booked
Lotus / Placerville / Camino
Best Restaurants in Lotus ›

special occasion (43)
fit for foodies (34)
romantic (32)
See All
neighborhood gem (28)
good for groups (9)
notable wine list (8)
scenic view (5)
hot spot (2)
late-night find (1)
Sort By:
Newest
394 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Wonderful food but it took 2 & 1/2 hours ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined 5 days ago

Wonderful food but it took 2 & 1/2 hours to finish, Painfully slow ant the restaurant was not full.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value4

Wonderful food and presentation. Don't ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined 6 days ago

Wonderful food and presentation. Don't go if you are in a hurry. That is the nice thing about this restaurant. We had the Fixed Menu and the salmon was delicious. Worth the ride to get there!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

. Service good menu OK soup served Luke ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

.

Service good menu OK soup served Luke warm returned too hot to tackle spoon too shallow restroom clean outside veggie good food and sauces fair desserts good will not return

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

your our new favorite restaurant, that s ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

your our new favorite restaurant, that should say it all

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

I would really like to give this place a ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

I would really like to give this place a better review. We live close by so they are convenient and I like the ambience and the food.

My big problem with this place is there lack of a hostess. This is the third time we have been to this restaurant and had the same experience.We got there on time for our reservation and sat there for 20 minutes waiting for someone to acknowledge us. With no hostess you have to just stand around waiting for one of the waitresses to notice you. Even after my husband approached a waiter, we still waited. I had to go pitch a minor fit with one of the other waitresses before someone finally acknowledged we were waiting.

This is not a cheap restaurant. They really need to invest in a hostess. This is a recurring problem. I don't intend to go back unless I hear that they have a hostess. Service is important at a restaurant and that is where this restaurant really struggles.

Once we were finally seated, our waitress was quite good. However, we were just about to leave by then after waiting so long.

We wee both really aggravated by then. After a glass of wine, we calmed down, but we don't go out to eat so that we can be annoyed. Even though the food was good, it was overshadowed by our initial wait.

Even if someone had come by and acknowledged we were waiting and said they were busy, it would have been better than being ignored.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

Historic atmosphere with great ambiance. ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Historic atmosphere with great ambiance. We celebrated an anniversary there.

Lots of choices of entrees with special sauces that I would not cook at home.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Service was really poor. It was a new k ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

Service was really poor. It was a new kid on the job.

I ended up clearing my own plates to the kitchen finally.

Usually we have a perfect experience here...

:(

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value4

Each year we come for a family reunion n ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Each year we come for a family reunion near the restaurant and love to come over for dinner. Been doing this for five years and each time we have an enjoyable time with good food served.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Cafe Mahjaic

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

If I have a special occasion, or special guests I want to entertain I always chose Cafe Mahjaic on our side of the American River Canyon...They never fail to impress with service, menu and ambiance. A warm smile upon entry to the sincere thank you upon your exit, I love this restaurant.

Larry J.

Cool, CA

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful Dinner!

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

What a gem this place is! My husband and I enjoyed every bite of our food right down to the creme brûlée. If you are looking for fresh food with a flair definitely try this place you will not be disappointed

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Go to dinner are Cafe Mahjaic

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

We live in the area and were thrilled when Café Mahjaic opened and even more thrilled that we can still enjoy its great food and lovely atmosphere. Not only is the food great but the wine list is super and so reasonable! Make a reservation now!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Amazing, every time!

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on May 30, 2016

The food is amazing and never lets me down it's a little pricey, but worth it! The food the food the the food! Go and enjoy!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Anniversary dinner

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

We go here every month or two. Have always had a great meal. Dana our server was right on when it came to giving us attention and serving our food, which was outstanding and hot. Totally recommend, keep in mind you go to this restaurant to dine, not fast food. Some reviews mention the length of time spent there. If you want a 30 minute meal, go somewhere else.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Disappointed in Pilot Hill

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

I usually love this place, but was extremely disappointed on this occasion. It was a late Mother's Day celebration, and we had taken our 92-year old mother. We had a horrible experience trying to get her into the restaurant with her walker. The air conditioning was not functioning properly, so we were all sweating. The service was almost non-existent - very slow. It took 45 minutes to get butter! My sea bass was overcooked and dry, and others commented negatively on their meals when they finally arrived. I am sad to say I will choose a different location to celebrate my anniversary next week.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

Perfect meal

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

One of the best dinners I have ever had! The salmon was to die for! The wine was perfect, perfect place for a girls night. Exspensive but worth it for a special occasion

Tags: romantic, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Creative culinary. Flavor adventure. Exc ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Creative culinary. Flavor adventure. Excellent service

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was excellent, and the old buil ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

The food was excellent, and the old building occupied by the restaurant is full of character. My husband and I celebrated our 15th anniversary here. We both opted for the fixed menu ($34 per person), and enjoyed everything we tried. A couple of highlights: The Bruschetta was very flavorful and delicious, and the Asparagus Bisque was surprisingly spicy and really lovely on a cool rainy evening.

Unfortunately a few things detracted from the overall experience. First, the noise level was very high, especially for such a nice restaurant, making it difficult to have a normal conversation. Second, the service was quite slow and seemed to get worse as the evening went on. When we finished dessert we had to wait for about 10 minutes before our server brought the check. During this time she made several trips to another table without even glancing our direction. Perhaps it was because we hadn't ordered wine or other drinks, and she didn't see us as having big money making potential compared to a table of 4 ordering multiple bottles of wine. Whatever the cause, it is very unlikely we will go here again, because although the food was very good, the overall experience was somewhat dissapointing.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

Absolutely the BEST restaurant!!! We LOV ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

Absolutely the BEST restaurant!!! We LOVE the OUTSTANDING, DELICIOUS food; the great dinner choices; the service - it was the BEST ever this last weekend; the environment both inside and out. It is a relaxing and very enjoyable get-away for an evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best of the Foothills

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

As always, the food was exceptional. Mahjaic is hands down the best dining in western El Dorado County. Not to be missed!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Mother's Day dining!

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on May 9, 2016

The menu is pretty limited, but enough variety to satisfy! My vegan son and his wife even found a vegan dish, which my non-vegan husband also choose. They all enjoyed their selections, as did I - which was the pepper encrusted tuna. The dinners were very nicely presented, and delicious, as was the cheesecake my husband and I shared for dessert! The wine selection was limited too, but adequate. The server was very knowledgeable and pleasant. We will be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our 5th visit to Mahjaic, and o ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on May 9, 2016

This was our 5th visit to Mahjaic, and once again the service and the food delivered! The chef is a food genius and artist! He pays homage to serving what is in season, and it never disappoints. The servers are amazing; providing excellent service - never hovering, but always available and attentive. The ambiance of this little gem is heavenly. Not stuffy, very relaxed, and reasonably priced for the high quality this chef puts out. Without a doubt, we will be visiting again soon!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Superb food and atmosphere. A real gem.

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Cafe Mahjaic is an outstanding restaurant tucked away in the town of Lotus in the Sierra foothills. I have dined all over the world, and at some of the best restaurants, and this little place can compete with most. Make it a destination when going to explore the gold country. You wont regret it.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The restaurant was very nice and the ser ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

The restaurant was very nice and the service and food were excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic Find!!

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

My boyfriend and I stayed at an AMAZING local bed and breakfast, Bella Vista, where the host HIGHLY recommend we try Cafe Mahjaic, gave us the website for reservations and we couldn't be more pleased. Our dinners were exquisite! We did the special where we each got an appetizer, soup or salad, entree and desert for around $34 each. Each course was on the small side, compared to most American restaurant standards now a days, but they were perfect size to keep your appetite going through the desert and be full at the end! The only complaint is would have was that the bread they serve when you are first seated was burnt on the bottom, I'm sure just a slight over-look. I would still recommend this restaurant to anyone who enjoys fine dining at a reasonable price!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was excellent as always. Howeve ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

The food was excellent as always. However the service was poor. It took 20 minutes to get our drink order. Once served no one asked if we needed anything. No follow-up for drinks. The dinner took a total of two hours and 45 minutes

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1

Good Place

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on April 3, 2016

It was very good food. The price fix was excellent value. Slower service. Good place.

Tags: romantic
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

Lackluster

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on April 1, 2016

Sad to say that our meal was mediocre, at best.

Bruschetta was underseasoned with nicely toasted bread. Salads arrived without dressing and we were told that they were meant to be "lightly dressed" by the waitress. Yes, "lightly" implies that there is actually dressing ON the salad.

Steaks were overdone, drenched in sauces. Pasta dish was so overwhelmed by the number of ingredients in it that it was hard to tell them apart.

I think the concept of this restaurant nestled in the hills is so great- please reconsider simplifying your overdone dishes because I could tell that some of those ingredients- perhaps choosing 2-3 from each plate- would be great just on their own without all the extra 'fluff.' Celebrate your fresh flavors!

I'll try you again after some time. Hope round two is a winner!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

San Francisco quality in the middle of nowhere

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on March 26, 2016

absolutely fantastic quality food. Nice wine list. In a historic structure. Amazing to find that in the middle of nowhere.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, late-night find, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Interesting Local

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on March 21, 2016

I have been to this restaurant several times. I remember the food being much better in the past. It was still good, just not exceptional.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Food: good Service: good Ambiance: very ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on March 20, 2016

Food: good

Service: good

Ambiance: very nice

Time of service: terrible

Had reservations for 5:15pm. Arrived at 5:05pm right after opening. Were seated right away (third table seated). Waitress was helpful, gave great wine recommendation, and had bread and water coming. We waited for 1 hour and 20minutes for the first course to be served. All in all we were done with the meal and got out check at 7:45pm. Two hours and forty minutes is unreasonably long for a regular 2-person meal. All in all a nice evening, but we were not in a hurry this time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

Don't be in a hurry!

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on March 19, 2016

Good food, servers friendly and engaged, but the wait between courses is always painfully long! Go early, or it's too loud once the tables start to fill!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Saturday night dinner

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on March 13, 2016

We are frequent return customers, the food is always first rate. My only concern was the wait staff, they were a bit busy when we arrived but there were empty tables to be seated at. The wait staff had us stand in the entrance for about 10 minutes and they never assured us we would be seated shortly or apologize for the wait. We saw other customers receive the same treatment. Our waitress was super but the assistant bring bread and water was very cool and aloof. Not what we were expecting from a favorite spot. We still love the restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Spectacular!

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on March 6, 2016

As always, the best food in El Dorado County. Consistently exceptional!! Every menu item is exquisite, the historical building is charming, the service intimate without being obsequious.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Rural Charm and Urban Falir

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on March 5, 2016

Cafe Mahjaic is a charming little restaurant and an ideal dinner spot for anyone staying at Eden Vale Inn or Bella Vista B&B. The food is well prepared, the wine pours generous, and the wine list reasonable. You can enjoy a nice meal and friendly service in a charming room without the long drive into Placerville.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Desserts to die for!

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on March 5, 2016

Our meal was great but the star was dessert. We has cheesecake and flourless torte. Amazing!!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Not for us

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on February 28, 2016

We arrived on time 545 reservation. 30 min later soup and salad served. Much later dinner was served. We left at 820. Other patrons arrived after us. They were served and left before us. One of us had the special halibut and the other your packaged meal. The presentation and bread was good. She actually brought us more bread to hold us over. This service is not acceptable for anyone and especially for a diabetic taking insulin. We will not be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service1
value1

We loved having dinner here on Valentine ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

We loved having dinner here on Valentine's Day. The food was very good and the service was outstanding. We will be back for our next special occasion. Thank you!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

A little bit of heaven.

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

We were a group of four. We all chose the special $34 per person appetizer, soup or salad, main dish,and desert.Lots to chose from in the paired menu. The steak dish and home made papardelli with vegetables were amazing. My friend said it was the best steak she has ever had. Desert of chocolate cake and cheese cake ...heavenly. Every morsal from beginning to end was delicious. Warm cozy atmosphere, white table clothes lite with candles and one red flower, rustic wood floors and red brick walls decorated sparingly and tastfully with artwork. Add the wonderful, friendly, and helpful service with spectacular wine to all I have described and you have a very beautiful evening with friends. Enjoy.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous dining and ambiance!

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

We've been to Cafe Mahjaic a couple dozen times by ourselves and with friends and has never disappointed.

Tags: romantic, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Aniversary Dinner in Lotus, CA

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

Reservations recommended. The food was outsanding. The service was exceptional.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.