About Cafe Mahjaic - Lotus Inn

Dinners at Cafe' Mahjaic are New American, a mixture of all ethnic backgrounds. All foods, sauces and breads made from scratch daily using naturally raise meats and grains. Fresh fish from the ocean. Organic produce when available.

1006 Lotus Road
Lotus, CA 95651
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Wednesday - Saturday: 5:00 PM - 10:30 PM

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(530) 622-9587

Website:
http://www.cafemahjaic.com/

Executive Chef:
John Metropulos

Private Party Contact:
Gina: (530) 622-9587

Additional:
Beer, Corkage Fee, Takeout, Wine

Cafe Mahjaic - Lotus Inn Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (29)
Worth the Drive (25)
Good for Anniversaries (25)
See All
Special Occasion (22)
Fit for Foodies (21)
Creative Cuisine (21)
Neighborhood Gem (19)
Romantic (16)
Quiet Conversation (14)
Local Ingredients (13)
Good for Birthdays (12)
Historic (11)
Authentic (11)
Healthy (9)
Cozy (9)
Casual (7)
Notable Wine List (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Business Meals (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Seasonal (4)
Scenic View (3)
Organic (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Outstanding Value (2)
Fun (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Great Beer (2)
Family Style (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Sort By:
S
517 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on June 11, 2017

It was fantastic

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Casual, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on June 11, 2017

The best, you'd be hard pressed to find better food in Calif.
5 STAR

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Organic, Casual, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on June 9, 2017

As per usual we had a wonderful time at Cafe Mahjaic. That said for the second time we waited quite a while for dinner to arrive after the order was taken...Not the wait staff's fault as far as I could see. But it was over an hour wait...and this is the second time in a month this has happened. If the restaurant was jammed that's one thing and I understand that...but it was busy but not over flowing. Still, the food was excellent and the wait staff gracious and accommodating. Quite by chance when we arrived, two other couples, friends of ours arrived as well. The staff set us up with a table for six without hesitation. Bravo and many thanks.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 5, 2017

It was my first time at Cafe Mahjaic. I have driven by it TONS of times, but my husband was never willing to pay for the good food. I took a friend and we did the Fixed Price Four Course dinner. It was $37 and the food was great! I think it was great value for the money but my husband would disagree so I didn't bring him, lol.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Local Ingredients, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on June 4, 2017

We LOVE Cafe Majhaic! Stayed here for our Coloma wedding honeymoon two years ago and have eaten here multiple times. The food is amazing, wine was also delectable! It's got such a rustic feeling and small enough to be cozy. Always love coming here!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for a Date, Authentic, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Great food. Great service. We always enjoy the innovative menu. Choices for everyone - from appetizers to desserts. The quality of the food makes you realize how good food can be.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 29, 2017

Fantastic food! Server warned us it might be slow due to individual meal prep and so our expectations were well managed. Food came out very timely after a bit of a wait for the first course. The Saganski was unbelievable! Great value on the fixed price menu.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 29, 2017

Great food, great service and a wonderful selection. Nice selection of beer and wine. Very unique place with few tables, definitely need reservation.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Seasonal, Gluten Free Options, Paleo Friendly, Worth the Drive, Organic, Great Beer, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Outstanding! Scale of 1-10 we would say 9. Food is delicious!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Cozy, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Great Beer, Creative Cuisine, Late-night Find, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Never have been disappointed. Excellent cook. The four course menu is delicious and is worth the delicious flavors you taste in every bite!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 27, 2017

The kitchen is always serving the most delightful dishes using seasonal ingredients. If you love something in the summer don't expect it to be there in the fall. The "moody soups" have to be one of our favorites.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Authentic, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 21, 2017

This is a dinner well worth getting reservations for. We were in Coloma for the rafting (what else?) and Cafe Mahjaic was very close (two minutes' drive) to our campground - a great bit of luxury before heading out into the wilderness!

The Lotus Inn reviews were loaded with suggestions to make reservations at this, their partner business, and they were right on: Delicious, intriguing, seasonal food in a lovely atmosphere (must be a historic building). The staff does amazing things with a tiny kitchen (thus the importance of making reservations!).

The Saganaki appetizer is an interesting cousin of fondue - a bubbling, cheesy concoction that pairs very well with their pita and veggies.

The special soup was an asparagus bisque, which I had never had before. It managed to be both rich and to highlight the finer qualities of the vegetable (and not be swamped by cream or roux).

I got the steak and my husband the special steak - they were both perfectly done with well-matching sides. The waiter recommended a pinot noir to go with, and it suited excellently.

The dessert offerings were too heavy on the dairy for me, but by that time I had not a bit of room left for sweets. My husband got the sundae, which he found a little disappointing after the high quality of the meal, as it was not unusually awesome.

The service was excellent - we never had to ask for our waters to be refilled, even though we were one of the last reservations of the night.

There are also some excellent felines in residence here. Make sure to take the time to give them their appropriate levy of scritchings. There are at least two older tabbies, a grey and an orange (the grey seems to be friendlier, oddly).

A great place for an anniversary date, this would also be a great way to relax after coming off the river - as long as you leave time between take-out and before your reservations to shower and change! This is one restaurant where you don't want to feel like a slouch.

We'll definitely be back!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Cafe Mahjaic is in a very historic old building in Lotus, CA (near the gold rush discovery site) and is in an old, historic building that has lots of charm (rustic wood, tall narrow windows, high ceiling, and exposed brick). Pretty romantic atmosphere but noise level is somewhat high. Food is excellent with quite a breadth of offerings...something to satisfy just about any palate.
Our waitress was really friendly and nice but not altogether attentive...didn't put lemon in water in spite of request and didn't bring additional bread when we asked for more dipping olive oil and vinegar. Owner/Chef is a little bit strict...would not add avocado to my wife's salad although we indicated straight up that we were willing to pay extra. Highly recommend the Fix Price option...a real bargain with lots of choices.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Healthy, Good Vegetarian Options, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 21, 2017

The web-site clearly states $32 for the fixed price dinner so I reserved this via OpenTable for girls night out which was my treat. Be prepared for an increase to $37 per person and very small presentations. Possibly ordering from the menu the appetizer and desserts are larger; just guessing. I was disappointed they do not list wine by the glass but they do offer it. I should have brought our bottle from the local winery inside and paid the $14 corkage fee. The glass of wine was $15!
The Grilled Prawn and Flour Tortilla appetizer (just one shrimp) is plated with a delicious butter sauce but it’s a very small offering and what flour tortilla? It was a tiny 1 ½” circle cut from a flour tortilla.
Both the Caesar and the house salads were void of their requested dressings (blue cheese vinaigrette and Caesar dressing). The table near us asked and received additional dressing; should have done the same!
The Pork Schnitzel and Coulotte Steak were both delicious and cooked to perfection delivered piping hot.
The desserts, Chocolate Decadence and Crème Brule were satisfactory but not exceptional.

We thought it odd the very pleasant staff never asked if our food was satisfactory; which it was. When repeatedly asked for water, it was brought quickly. A girls’ night is always fun even with some negatives. Mainly because of the price change without notice and the small portions we can’t bring the husbands and it will probably be a long while before we are back. For the Lotus countryside it’s a shame to charge the big city fare but they do fill the place so what the heck.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Everything was wonderful as it always is! I have never been disappointed and I would highly recommend it to anyone.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Historic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 13, 2017

We enjoyed the multi-course meal. As the waiter explained, the portions were smaller than those on the a la carte menu but one can sample a larger selection. While the food was prepared and presented nicely, I felt some of the supplemental flavorings were too overpowering. In some cases, I could taste more vinegar, lemon, basil, or other accents than the main ingredient. I would suggest a more delicate cookie to accompany the chocolate decadence. The one I was served was tough rather than "short."

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on May 11, 2017

We tried three different entrees. All were excellent. Service was good. Probably could use another waitress/waiter. Ambience is OK but nothing special. This is our third time--and we will be back. Lovely experience!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Cafe Mahjaic never disappoints! We had guests visiting us from the Bay Area we knew they would enjoy the country setting and wonderful ambiance and food. They raved about it afterwards. It is so nice to have a restaurant of this quality near our home.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Food was good but the service was awful. It took 45 minutes to get first course of soup. Waiting wouldn't have been so bad but the waiters were ignoring all tables, not refilling water or bread and we couldn't even flag them down for more wine. We saw them peering through the kitchen window avoiding customers. We would have loved to try dessert but we were so worried it could take another hour that we passed on it. Too bad because dinner was impressive.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 7, 2017

After an hour and a half we still had not gotten our food so we left - it was a COMPLETE WASTE OF MY TIME to drive there, wait, not get food, and then have to drive into Placerville for dinner at a local diner that DIDN'T TAKE 1 1/2 HOURS. I had to mark something on food quality for your ratings - I put 1 star but really don't know bc we never saw our dinner

Dining Occasion:Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 30, 2017

We were first timers and completely loved the food and atmosphere. I wish they had some outdoor seating for when the weather is nice. We will definitely come again.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 30, 2017

We have eaten at Cafe Mahjaic many times and never had a disappointing meal. The food is excellent. On this particular occasion, we were served by Angie. She provided excellent service, making our experience even better.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options, Local Ingredients, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Everything was Amazing!!! From the service to the prawn appetizer, tomato basil soup, swordfish, pasta, espresso creme brulee! Fabulous...

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Cafe Mahjaic sparkles as the neighborhood good eats Gem, Enjoy.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 20, 2017

We have been to Cafe Mahjaic several times - on this visit the service was no where as good as it has been in the past.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Food was awful. Sauces tasted of vinegar and were likely past the date, based on our physical response afterword. Pretentious little servings with the four course meal. The sauteed kasseri cheese did not taste of bourbon and was presented on sliced tomatoes; uninspired and disgusting.

Only two other tables, but the food came out painfully slow. The chef's ego was put on display without even being in the room.

I would not recommend to anyone for any occasion, other than drinking wine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Seriously the tastiest food, and one of the best places to dine. I'm so glad we found it. We plan on coming once a week when we move here.
Eric and Julie

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Family Style, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Authentic, Sunday Lunch, Late-night Find, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 6, 2017

From start to finish a wonderful experience and meal. A gem in the foothills.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Good little spot. Make a reservation as it seemed to fill fast.

Dining Occasion:Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on March 24, 2017

My husband and I were staying in the area for just one night and looking for a good restaurant. Found Cafe Mahjaic while searching online. The chef's credentials nailed it. The food was excellent and our server (D?) was wonderful - very charming and personable. The only downside for dinner when it is dark outside is the lighting. Not very good consistently throughout the room. We were sitting in one of the darker spots and could hardly read the menu. This restaurant is located in a very old and historic building so perhaps that explains it, but do recommend the chef/owner investing in better lighting! Thank you.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Historic, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Great tucked away dining experience - great food with unique styling.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Outstanding Value, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on March 18, 2017

I always enjoy dinner at Café Mahjaic. Had the sea bass special and it was great. The tasting menu allows you to have four small courses, and this is good because I don't like to miss their flourless chocolate decadence! It happened that it wasn't real busy that night and the noise level was low and the service level was very attentive.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Organic, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Casual, Good Vegetarian Options, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Pre Fixe menu always a great choice!
Fun Gold Rush Era atmosphere!!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Worth the Drive, Historic, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Moved to Cool recently, so Lotus is in the neighborhood. Great ambiance and service. The fixed price menu was worth it. Filled up on Friday evening, so recommend a reservation. Will be back!

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on March 6, 2017

Great meal, as usual. But the temp was a little too cool for us, and older people should not sit right next to the radio (music).

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Great food and service in an unassuming location. What a wonderful find !

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Husbands meal was good
My soup was too spicy & was not described as such my meal had beans with fish
They were a poor choice to pair with &
Undercooked

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 19, 2017

My wife and I go to Cafe Mahjaic for most special occasions. Food is consistently good, atmosphere is consistent and making and managing your reservation is very easy. Their Prix Faire is reasonable and tasty. I highly recommend the experience to my friends.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Excellent service, menu selection and food! We enjoyed our dining experience at Cafe Mahjaic so much! I highly recommend this establishment for a special occasion, date night or friend get together.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Our dinner was excellent as usual. We took our neighbors, who had never been there before, and they loved. it. We also ran into friends there, it was their first time dining there, and they also loved it. A good time and excellent meal was enjoyed by all.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Romantic, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.