About Cafe Mahjaic - Lotus Inn

Dinners at Cafe' Mahjaic are New American, a mixture of all ethnic backgrounds. All foods, sauces and breads made from scratch daily using naturally raise meats and grains. Fresh fish from the ocean. Organic produce when available.

1006 Lotus Road
Lotus, CA 95651
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Wednesday - Saturday: 5:00 PM - 10:30 PM

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(530) 622-9587

Website:
http://www.cafemahjaic.com/

Executive Chef:
John Metropulos

Private Party Contact:
Gina: (530) 622-9587

Additional:
Beer, Corkage Fee, Takeout, Wine

Cafe Mahjaic - Lotus Inn Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.3

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (29)
Good for a Date (28)
Good for Anniversaries (27)
See All
Creative Cuisine (27)
Special Occasion (27)
Neighborhood Gem (26)
Worth the Drive (22)
Local Ingredients (19)
Romantic (19)
Quiet Conversation (15)
Good for Birthdays (13)
Cozy (12)
Authentic (12)
Healthy (10)
Casual (8)
Good Vegetarian Options (7)
Notable Wine List (6)
Tasting Menu (6)
Organic (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Great Beer (3)
Seasonal (3)
Scenic View (3)
Fun (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Historic (3)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Business Meals (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Vegan (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Sort By:
S
546 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Why didn't I know about this restaurant before? Robust unique flavor profiles- all new experiences, every bite wonderful, from appetizer to dessert. And not expensive at all for fine dining.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 13, 2017

The food was great and inventive and Dana was perfect. Both times we've been the food and service are great.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on August 12, 2017

It was wonderful! The food was outstanding. I had the lamb porterhouse which was cooked to perfection and melted in my mouth. The four of us ate special apitizers; a tomato salad with a basil puree that was truly remarkable; and whatever our server gave us. It was a wonderful evening. We ended up closing the place!

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual, Notable Wine List, Vegan, Kid-friendly, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good Vegetarian Options, Disabled Access, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on August 12, 2017

This place never disappoints. Excellent flavors and menu options. Great wine list too. We drive an hour one way to get to this restaurant and will continue to do so.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 12, 2017

No doubt, best food I have ever had. Just moved to this area from San Diego and found this treasure. Can't wait to go back.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 6, 2017

This was our 2nd time here. First time was a great experience and we ordered off the Pre Fixe menu. We did the same this time. We waited exactly 1 hour and 8 minutes for our first dish which was literally 1 prawn so not sure why it took so long. We then waited 20 minutes for the salad. It was torture! We still had the entree and the dessert to go. Total time for us to get all of our food and pay the bill was 2 whole hours. :-(

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 6, 2017

We had another great meal. Both of us had the fixed four course menu and enjoyed the many tastes and entree. Will definitely return as we have often over the past three years.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Casual, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

This place is awesome. We go for every special occasion or just because.
The only thing that is missing is chocolate syrup for the vanilla ice cream! (according to one of our fellow diners) Otherwise everything is beyond delicious
Love Cafe Mahjaic

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on August 5, 2017

This is a truly hidden gem. The food was awesome. We were staying in the area, but would drive an hour to eat here again.

Tags: Romantic, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on July 31, 2017

Brought family and friends who thoroughly enjoyed the delicious food and ambiance. The red wine was delicious but a little too warm. Other than that, perfect evening!

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 31, 2017

Took to long for food. Our reservation was at 5:30 and we didn't finish up the evening till 8:30. Food had way to much garlic added to it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
·Dined on July 30, 2017

The food is presented beautifully , the flavors and creativity of the the entire meal was a delight for the senses...thank you ! Excellent customer service . A bit noisy would be the only drawback to the setting feeling more intimate.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 29, 2017

The atmosphere was charming, the food was beautifully presented with excellent flavor, and the servers were very friendly. Unfortunately the service was unpardonably slow; after ordering, our salads did not arrive for 45 minutes, and the entrees took another 20 minutes after that. When we questioned our server about the delay he apologized profusely and brought out soup for our party at no charge. Additionally, Majaic should address the uncomfortable warmth in the dining area, perhaps through installing ceiling fans in conjunction with the air conditioning.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Cafe Mahjaic is consistently the best restaurant in our area. The food is always exceptional, the ambience is delightful, the prices reasonable. The Chicken Grand-mere is to die for! And the service, as always, is excellent.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on July 27, 2017

We have been customers at Cafe Mahjaic for 12 years. I've never had a complaint until now. We have brought guests with us on 2 of the last 3 occasions and each time the wait time for dinner got longer. The last occasion on July 26th was my wifes birthday, we had 6:15 dinner reservations. We arrived 5 minutes early and inspite of our table being ready were asked to sit and wait by a somewhat disgruntled, unsmiling male. Our female waitress seated us and we ordered our meal and wine. It appeared that there were only two people for the whole room. They both bused tables, waited on tables and greeted new arrivals. About an hour and a half later my hors duerves arrived, shrimp and they were cold. A few minutes later our meal arrived, luke warm. My wife requested silver ware, it never came, I cornered the waitress and she brought it to the table. I have no idea what the issue is here but 3 out of 3 times we've waited and extraordinary amount of time for our meal. I can no longer recommend Cafe Mahjaic because of this problem. I am saddened by this situation because we loved having a good restaurant on our side of the river. I hope things work out for the better and soon.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 23, 2017

My rating overall would have been higher were it not for the long gaps between receiving our drinks, which came promptly, and all other courses. We waitin nearly half an hour for the appetizers, then another 30 minutes for the salads, and finally about 30 minutes fir the main course. There was no wait staff initiated information regarding what was happening. That really might have helped. The food, when it arrived was excellent.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Casual, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Charming, smaller generally quiet, but van get noisy as room fills up with parties. Had sea bass special, ruined by too much pesto all over. Food can be a hit or miss here; over salted every thing this time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on July 22, 2017

I went with my cousin, we are both local(Placerville). We enjoyed our dinner very much. The person(s) in the kitchen certainly knows what they are doing. Very surprising for a cosy rural spot. I liked very much that the other guests were quiet and nicely dressed which is always nice when you are paying a bit more than normal for the area. I did think that for the quality of the food and lovely presentation, the price was justified. Our bill was a bit high because we ordered 4 glasses of wine instead of a bottle. If I had only one critism, it would be that two of the dishes I ordered were a bit on the acidic side, a bit too sour, but still very good. The tomato sauce on the goatcheese ravioli and the pesto that was on the seabass. The local baby veggies were of course, great. Loved the stuffed zucchini blossoms! We will certainly be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on July 16, 2017

We had a wonderful dining experience there. The food was prepared excellently, the service was great and the menu had a wide variety of choices. Worth the drive to Lotus!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on July 14, 2017

We had heard this was a wonderful place to go for a nice dinner. We decided to make a reservation to celebrate our 45th wedding anniversary. We arrived and only had to wait a few minutes before being seated. Our waiter was attentive without hovering. Our food was beautifully plated and delicious. We both had the four course meal and each presentation was the perfect size so that when the dessert was finally brought to us we weren't too full to enjoy it. The restaurant was rustic but elegant at the same time. It was quiet enough that we could talk. We left feeling like we had done something special for our anniversary. We definitely will return.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on July 14, 2017

This is one of our favorite restaurants for special occasions.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 25, 2017

A return visit that didn't disappoint. Well done meals with a no rush feel.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Our inn keeper recommended this restaurant for a dinner date. We totally loved the four course meal. Each course was colorful, wholesome and delicious! Our server was also great.

Tags: Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 24, 2017

The food was good. The building was extremely hot inside. I don't know if their air conditioner was broken or they didn't have it on? We have dined there before and found that the kitchen needs help getting meals out to the table. It took 30 minutes to bring our dessert and it was just a slice of cheesecake and chocolate cake. Both pre made so I know they weren't baking them.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Why have I not eaten here sooner! I grew up in Lotus and do not live far from it now. I am so impressed with this little gem of a place! The food is fantastic, they offer a pre fixed menu which is always fun. Do not be in a hurry when dining here as it is a little bit of a wait when you do the pre fixed menu. Our waitress was kind enough to explain the process and that there is a bit of a wait with the food. My husband and I were not in any hurry and we enjoyed the time were able to have together. I had the scallops and they were cooked to perfection! The wine I had was fabulous! I had to buy a bottle of it because it was so good! I will be back OFTEN!!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on June 21, 2017

The food was exhalent on the taste and the presentation. Our waitress was very nice and she met our needs without being over bearing. The courses were delivered in a way where we had time to visit and enjoy out time out with out the kids! I would recommend this restaurant to all my friends. My only criticism is it is a bit pricey. it was 15$ for a 22 ounce beer that I can by for 9 $ at Raleys.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on June 21, 2017

This is our go to spot for any occasion. I'm never disappointed.

Tags: Organic, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Good Vegetarian Options, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on June 10, 2017

My wife and I enjoyed a special occasion dinner at Cafe Mahjaic. The food was wonderful and the service impeccable. We loved our dining experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on June 10, 2017

It was fantastic

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Casual, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on June 10, 2017

The best, you'd be hard pressed to find better food in Calif.
5 STAR

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Organic, Casual, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on June 8, 2017

As per usual we had a wonderful time at Cafe Mahjaic. That said for the second time we waited quite a while for dinner to arrive after the order was taken...Not the wait staff's fault as far as I could see. But it was over an hour wait...and this is the second time in a month this has happened. If the restaurant was jammed that's one thing and I understand that...but it was busy but not over flowing. Still, the food was excellent and the wait staff gracious and accommodating. Quite by chance when we arrived, two other couples, friends of ours arrived as well. The staff set us up with a table for six without hesitation. Bravo and many thanks.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 4, 2017

It was my first time at Cafe Mahjaic. I have driven by it TONS of times, but my husband was never willing to pay for the good food. I took a friend and we did the Fixed Price Four Course dinner. It was $37 and the food was great! I think it was great value for the money but my husband would disagree so I didn't bring him, lol.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on June 3, 2017

We LOVE Cafe Majhaic! Stayed here for our Coloma wedding honeymoon two years ago and have eaten here multiple times. The food is amazing, wine was also delectable! It's got such a rustic feeling and small enough to be cozy. Always love coming here!

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for a Date, Authentic, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on June 2, 2017

Great food. Great service. We always enjoy the innovative menu. Choices for everyone - from appetizers to desserts. The quality of the food makes you realize how good food can be.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Fantastic food! Server warned us it might be slow due to individual meal prep and so our expectations were well managed. Food came out very timely after a bit of a wait for the first course. The Saganski was unbelievable! Great value on the fixed price menu.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Great food, great service and a wonderful selection. Nice selection of beer and wine. Very unique place with few tables, definitely need reservation.

Tags: Seasonal, Gluten Free Options, Paleo Friendly, Worth the Drive, Organic, Great Beer, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 28, 2017

THE place to go for fine dining on the Divide utilizing fresh local ingredients. I am always satisfied with my dining experience at Cafe Mahjaic.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Outstanding! Scale of 1-10 we would say 9. Food is delicious!

Tags: Cozy, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Great Beer, Creative Cuisine, Late-night Find, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Never have been disappointed. Excellent cook. The four course menu is delicious and is worth the delicious flavors you taste in every bite!

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 26, 2017

The kitchen is always serving the most delightful dishes using seasonal ingredients. If you love something in the summer don't expect it to be there in the fall. The "moody soups" have to be one of our favorites.

Tags: Authentic, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.