About Cafe Mahjaic - Lotus Inn

1006 Lotus Road
Lotus, CA 95651
View Larger Map

Dinners at Cafe' Mahjaic are New American, a mixture of all ethnic backgrounds. All foods, sauces and breads made from scratch daily using naturally raise meats and grains. Fresh fish from the ocean. Organic produce when available.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Wednesday - Saturday: 5:00 PM - 10:30 PM

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(530) 622-9587

Website:
http://www.cafemahjaic.com/

Executive Chef:
John Metropulos

Private Party Contact:
Gina: (530) 622-9587

Additional:
Beer, Corkage Fee, Takeout, Wine

Cafe Mahjaic - Lotus Inn Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (25)
Special Occasion (21)
Romantic (20)
See All
Worth the Drive (19)
Creative Cuisine (19)
Good for Anniversaries (17)
Historic (17)
Fit for Foodies (15)
Neighborhood Gem (15)
Cozy (13)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Notable Wine List (8)
Local Ingredients (7)
Authentic (7)
Casual (7)
Organic (5)
Outstanding Value (5)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Fun (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Business Meals (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Family Style (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Healthy (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Scenic View (1)
Dancing (1)
Fireplace (1)
Seasonal (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
479 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Excellent service, menu selection and fo ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined 5 days ago

Excellent service, menu selection and food! We enjoyed our dining experience at Cafe Mahjaic so much! I highly recommend this establishment for a special occasion, date night or friend get together.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our dinner was excellent as usual. We t ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined 5 days ago

Our dinner was excellent as usual. We took our neighbors, who had never been there before, and they loved. it. We also ran into friends there, it was their first time dining there, and they also loved it. A good time and excellent meal was enjoyed by all.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Romantic, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have dined at Café Mahjaic a number o ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 6 days ago

We have dined at Café Mahjaic a number of times and always fine the food and tastes outstanding and the service always perfect.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have had dinner many times here, ever ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 13, 2017

We have had dinner many times here, every month or two and each time is very good. Some might call it slow food service, I would call it dining in a no rush environment. Usually dinner is 1.5 hours or so. Allows time for appetizers, wine and main course. Nice wine list.

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Excellent .always enjoyable. Great food ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Excellent .always enjoyable. Great food, great staff. Top notch service.

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

IT HAS BEEN MY PLACE FOR MY WIFE AND I T ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 12, 2017

IT HAS BEEN MY PLACE FOR MY WIFE AND I TO CELEBRATE OUR WEDDING PROPOSAL. JOHN & GINA ARE SUPERB HOSTS AND THE FOOD IS ALWAYS FANTASTIC!

Tags: Authentic, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Historic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food is carefully crafted, delicious, an ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Food is carefully crafted, delicious, and lovely. Service is thoughtful and charming. I've traveled and dined in 20+ countries and am always happy to return to my favorite, Cafe Mahjaic-Lotus Inn.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love this place for special occasions ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 2, 2017

We love this place for special occasions due to costs but the taste of the food has so many layers of flavor - incredible!

Quality is spectacular and we love it even more because we eat organic food only.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Organic, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

An extra special dinning experience. Ve ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 29, 2017

An extra special dinning experience. Very well prepared food. Nice selection of wine and beer in an old gold country authentic setting

Tags: Historic, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very nice meal. $$$ Dinner for four. Th ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Very nice meal. $$$ Dinner for four. Three bottles of wine with 2 corkage fees over $300.

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Cafe Mahjaic is a lovely little restaura ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Cafe Mahjaic is a lovely little restaurant in a remodeled old historic building. It boasts fine cuisine and a pleasant smaller venue ambiance. I dined with my companion and another couple who had varied opinions about the food, value, etc. The other couple and myself were quite pleased with the quality and variety of food. We thought it was well prepared and nicely presented. My companion however had a different opinion. He claimed his food was overseasoned, not salty but way too many herbs and spices. He felt his appetizer salad in addition to his entree were overseasoned and he did not much enjoy them. He also felt the meals were somewhat overpriced. This is why I had to lower my rating a little bit. But 3 out of 4 of us were quite pleased overall. All agreed that the service was outstanding. Ambiance lacked a little since the dining room is very open and tables spaced a bit close together. Noise level was average for a weeknight, not excessive but not too quiet. I can see where it could get noisy if a lively party of 6 or more was seated in the dining room.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Paleo Friendly, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

Food had good flavor but too much emphas ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Food had good flavor but too much emphasis on presentation, ridiculously small portions. I didn't like spending $100 for just my wife and I and leaving hungry. Won't be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

this is our third time enjoying the exce ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 21, 2017

this is our third time enjoying the exceptional creative food options. Our waitress was again remarkably attentive and responsive to our needs, especially to those of my wife who has a very restricted diet that often precludes her from enjoying fine food. It is definitely a special occasion place, not only because of its costs but because it provides a memorable meal and experience.

Tags: Authentic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

As usual, a delightful dining experience ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 1, 2017

As usual, a delightful dining experience. A wonderful way to ring in the New Year with good friends and good food. New Year's Eve 2017. Thank you Chef John, Gina, and Kaela who is wonderful plus the entire staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This restaurant is worth the drive from ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 1, 2017

This restaurant is worth the drive from El Dorado Hills. They have a very nice menu, though the Prix Fixe is such a good value with many selections that we rarely depart from it.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Historic,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

This place is an excellent choice for th ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 1, 2017

This place is an excellent choice for that special occasion dinner. Food was excellent; surprisingly original and full of flavor. Would highly recommend. You will not be disappointed.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Historic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

We have been there many time and we alwa ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We have been there many time and we always love it. In the winter it is a little cold. We definitely recommend this restaurant to anyone.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great dining experience. Fresh fabulous ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Great dining experience. Fresh fabulous cuisine. Served timely and with care.

We will be back.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good Vegetarian Options, Healthy, Authentic, Special Occasion, Historic, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Disabled Access, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This lovely cafe always has excellent fo ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 30, 2016

This lovely cafe always has excellent food! Service is good although on this trip, it was a bit erratic. There was a full house with two servers doing everything including dealing with a large party, and at least one very picky diner. The fixed price menu is a great value! There is a nice variety of options in smaller size portions. We each had a different fish. Each was excellently prepared and presented!

Tags: Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

Every bite is a taste sensation! The fl ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Every bite is a taste sensation! The flavors created through John's passion never fail to please.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been to Cafe Mahjaic many times ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on December 23, 2016

We have been to Cafe Mahjaic many times and it is so consistently wonderful-- fabulous food served beautifully and excellent service.

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We absolutely love Cafe Mahjaic!! The fo ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on December 19, 2016

We absolutely love Cafe Mahjaic!! The food is always amazing and it's such a great place for a date night.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Organic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Two night in a row! Food very, very good ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Two night in a row! Food very, very good this second night. What we found surprising was the Chef's insistence on NO SUBSTITUTIONS! Wow, how un-Californian. The first night we had asked for a simple substitution and had to really beg for it. This time it was to ADD chicken to a Ceaser Salad. Seems like a no-brainer...add Chicken, collect $12.00, make customers happy. Noooooo! "Chef does not do that, in fact, he never has..." Oh well. Just beware: When you find this great little spot you are apparently entering "Food meets Artist" territory, so pack your "customer is always right" notions and simply order exactly what is on the menu, or else! All in all it had to be good or we would not have returned two night in a row. As noted, food and service (except the chef's stubbornness) was A+

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Great creative menu. Wonderful wine sele ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 15, 2016

Great creative menu. Wonderful wine selection - mostly local. Expect the unexpected from a seasoned chef.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

this was supposed to be 20th anniv celeb ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on December 15, 2016

this was supposed to be 20th anniv celeb. All was so great my husband wrote at the table great review. Within an hour of getting home I came down with what doctor confirmed was food poisoning - thought fish or green sauce that completely covered stuffed sole with prawn on pick only identifiable item. By 10PM I had severe cramps, and spent most of the time in the bathroom until 7AM - notified owners by email, Gina called but hadn't read email - said couldn't be their fault since fish delivered AM - since I had nothing that day except bagel and coffee at 8AM - doctor said definitely something from one of the four courses - and that not everyone reacts same to tainted food. Owner said no one else got sick, but DR also said depending on severity, most people don't realize what it's from - Great substitute for the icky salty stuff they give you for a colonoscopy - We were referred by friends but wasted money and build up for such a special occassion. Friends won't be back either

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

MY favorite restaurant. Gourmet, healthy ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on December 11, 2016

MY favorite restaurant. Gourmet, healthy, and the staff is friendly. Love it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

To celebrate our 56th wedding anniversar ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on December 3, 2016

To celebrate our 56th wedding anniversary, we decided to dine at Café Mahjaic. We had a 6:30 evening reservation and arrived at 6:16. We were told to have a seat on the bench in a small area facing the front door, and we would be seated in five minutes. After 10, I asked a server why we were being quarantined in the holding tank when many tables were available. She said, “Our policy is to only seat six people each 15-minute period.” Who are they serving their customers or themselves. They need to change their policy. Waiting in the holding tank is degrading, and not conducive to promoting goodwill. Being seated at a table, and told that service will begin as soon as possible would have left a better taste in our mouths.

Our luck changed immediately when another server, Alex, overheard our conversation and sprang into action saying, with a broad smile, “I will seat you now.”

My wife, who’s not a big eater had the four-course menu special. It was wonderful. I know because I helped her taking small delicious bites. I ordered the Coulotte steak, medium rare. It was perfect, as were the trimmings.

Scott Harvey, Amador Barbara 2013 was poured by the glass. Man, what an extraordinary compliment to a fine dining experience.

A bad beginning was fortunately rehabilitated into a memorable celebration. Thank you, Alex and Café Mahjaic. To paraphrase the great General Douglas MacArthur, “We shall return, often.”

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Historic, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We drove 45 minutes but the experiece wa ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on December 1, 2016

We drove 45 minutes but the experiece was worth it. Excellent food in an unpretentious historical building with a creative but not avante garde menu. The portions will seem small if you are used to bringing extra home but they are right sized for eating your entire meal. We had the fixed menu which had enough selection and was very reasonable for the quality of the food.

Tags: Historic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was Thanksgiving and the experience ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on November 24, 2016

This was Thanksgiving and the experience was very lovely but the food could be better without much trouble. Specifically, the bread is cold, boring and almost seems stale. This is an easy fix. The appetizers were outstanding but my salad was limp, boring and small -- again, easy fix. My turkey was excellent and moist but served on top of both boring mashed potatoes and unremarkable stuffing -- too salty and greasy. The menu said "fresh vegetables" which they were but I got four green beans, one skinny carrot and 1/4 of a beet, all excellent but they were just a colorful garnish, not a serving. The wine, service, coffee and dessert were all fine. This is the best restaurant around but still could improve. I keep hoping and trying again.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Cozy, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

We had Thanksgiving here and this was ex ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We had Thanksgiving here and this was exactly what I was looking for. An experience. Food was excellent and the service was outstanding. Just the right amount of attention without being over-the-top. The wine list was excellent and there were no high chairs. Highly recommended

Tags: , Authentic, Notable Wine List, Historic, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Many friends raved about Cafe Mohajaic a ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Many friends raved about Cafe Mohajaic and I finally went last month. I was stunned by the flavors, unique and delicious. I knew my husband would love it too, so I took him for our anniversary. We have to go back again because it was so hard to decide which of the dishes we wanted. The fish, amazing and the pumpkin relleno super. What a fine meal. I recommend the fixed menu...at first we were thinking it would be too much food, but the server explained that the portions were smaller. Well worth it because we got to taste the butternut squash soup, the shrimp appetizer, our main course and chocolate decadence for dessert. I do wish it wasn't such a long drive from my house, because I know we would return a lot. Even with the drive I will bring guests from out of town to Cafe M. because of the hight quality.

Tags: Historic, Romantic, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was amazing. Our sever Dana w ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Everything was amazing. Our sever Dana was outstanding

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wife & I went here on a date hoping for ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Wife & I went here on a date hoping for an exquisite dining experience, it did NOT happen. We tried their 4 course meals for $35, which sounds like a good value and would have been if the food was any good.

Appetizers: Bruschetta for her and fried cheese for me; just "okay"

Salads: House for her Cesar for me - Cesar salad was essentially tasteless.

Main Courses:

She ordered the Schnitzel with spaetzle and I order a pumpkin stuffed chile relleno on a bed of chipotle risotto (sounds yummy right?), the spaetzle tasted like vinegar, so much so that she didn't even try the pork schnitzel just sent the dish back with the intent to order something more edible. I tried the risotto 1st and it tasted pretty good, but when I tried the small stuffed poblano chile it was a JALAPENO pepper instead (I know the difference) so I mentioned it to the server and sent mine back ... I don't know what the server told the chef, but he came back & told us they would not cook for us and asked us to leave.

They didn't charge us for anything, so no financial impact, but it cost us an hour of our time and we didn't have dinner that evening :(

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value3

Very interesting and different menu. Ev ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Very interesting and different menu. Everything we ordered from the prix fixe menu was very good. We had read online that service can be slow, but we found it just right. We arrived when they opened and on a weeknight in November.

Tags: Historic, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

The food at Cafe Mahjaic is always beaut ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on November 4, 2016

The food at Cafe Mahjaic is always beautifully prepared and presented. Any sauces are exceptional. The service is friendly, efficient, and low key. The atmosphere is lovely. We love going there.

Tags: Cozy, , Historic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wow, feel real lucky to have found this ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 3, 2016

Wow, feel real lucky to have found this spot. We are recent transplants from the Bay Area and there are few restaurants that live up to that competition, but this place does. I had the flank steak and it was done perfectly with a fantastic balsamic-red wine reduction sauce. My wife had the pork schnitzel with spaetzle and it was great, too. Perfect crust. Wonderfully building and interior. Wish it was closer to Placerville, but we'll be back nonetheless.

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Organic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love to go to this place when friends ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on October 31, 2016

We love to go to this place when friends are in town! All the food was delicious; however, the pasta dish was a bit too salty. The atmosphere is fun! The set menu is a great option!

Tags: Cozy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

One of my favorite restaurants by far! ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on October 30, 2016

One of my favorite restaurants by far! Food is amazing. Everything is fresh and the sauces are ebyond incredible. The ambiance is peaceful. My husband and I love it for date night!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent meal, wine, dessert and servic ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Excellent meal, wine, dessert and service. Looking forward to my next meal at Cafe Mahjaic.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Modern Decor, Organic, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went to Café Jahjaic for my husband's ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on October 22, 2016

We went to Café Jahjaic for my husband's birthday. The food was amazing, the service was good, although we did have to wait quite a while to get our desserts. The ambiance is very cosy and welcoming.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, , Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.