About Cafe Mahjaic - Lotus Inn

1006 Lotus Road
Lotus, CA 95651
View Larger Map

Dinners at Cafe' Mahjaic are New American, a mixture of all ethnic backgrounds. All foods, sauces and breads made from scratch daily using naturally raise meats and grains. Fresh fish from the ocean. Organic produce when available.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Wednesday - Saturday: 5:00 PM - 10:30 PM

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(530) 622-9587

Website:
http://www.cafemahjaic.com/

Executive Chef:
John Metropulos

Private Party Contact:
Gina: 5306229587

Additional:
Beer, Corkage Fee, Takeout, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Halibut - Cafe Mahjaic - Lotus Inn, Lotus, CA
  • Chocolate Decadence - Cafe Mahjaic - Lotus Inn, Lotus, CA
  • Coullote Steak - Cafe Mahjaic - Lotus Inn, Lotus, CA
  • Ahi tuna - Cafe Mahjaic - Lotus Inn, Lotus, CA
  • Asparagus Bisque Soup - Cafe Mahjaic - Lotus Inn, Lotus, CA
  • Chocolate Chipotle Prawns - Cafe Mahjaic - Lotus Inn, Lotus, CA

Report a photo problem

Halibut - Cafe Mahjaic - Lotus Inn, Lotus, CA
Chocolate Decadence - Cafe Mahjaic - Lotus Inn, Lotus, CA
Coullote Steak - Cafe Mahjaic - Lotus Inn, Lotus, CA
Ahi tuna - Cafe Mahjaic - Lotus Inn, Lotus, CA
Asparagus Bisque Soup - Cafe Mahjaic - Lotus Inn, Lotus, CA
Chocolate Chipotle Prawns - Cafe Mahjaic - Lotus Inn, Lotus, CA

Cafe Mahjaic - Lotus Inn Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (20)
Good for a Date (20)
Worth the Drive (19)
See All
Creative Cuisine (18)
Fit for Foodies (17)
Good for Anniversaries (17)
Romantic (17)
Historic (16)
Cozy (12)
Neighborhood Gem (11)
Local Ingredients (8)
Casual (6)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Notable Wine List (6)
Organic (5)
Authentic (5)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Outstanding Value (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Healthy (3)
Fun (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Scenic View (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Seasonal (2)
Good for Groups (1)
Business Meals (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Family Style (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Sort By:
S
466 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

As usual, a delightful dining experience ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 1, 2017

As usual, a delightful dining experience. A wonderful way to ring in the New Year with good friends and good food. New Year's Eve 2017. Thank you Chef John, Gina, and Kaela who is wonderful plus the entire staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This restaurant is worth the drive from ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 1, 2017

This restaurant is worth the drive from El Dorado Hills. They have a very nice menu, though the Prix Fixe is such a good value with many selections that we rarely depart from it.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Historic,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

This place is an excellent choice for th ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 1, 2017

This place is an excellent choice for that special occasion dinner. Food was excellent; surprisingly original and full of flavor. Would highly recommend. You will not be disappointed.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Historic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

We have been there many time and we alwa ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We have been there many time and we always love it. In the winter it is a little cold. We definitely recommend this restaurant to anyone.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great dining experience. Fresh fabulous ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Great dining experience. Fresh fabulous cuisine. Served timely and with care.

We will be back.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good Vegetarian Options, Healthy, Authentic, Special Occasion, Historic, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Disabled Access, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This lovely cafe always has excellent fo ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 30, 2016

This lovely cafe always has excellent food! Service is good although on this trip, it was a bit erratic. There was a full house with two servers doing everything including dealing with a large party, and at least one very picky diner. The fixed price menu is a great value! There is a nice variety of options in smaller size portions. We each had a different fish. Each was excellently prepared and presented!

Tags: Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

Every bite is a taste sensation! The fl ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Every bite is a taste sensation! The flavors created through John's passion never fail to please.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been to Cafe Mahjaic many times ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on December 23, 2016

We have been to Cafe Mahjaic many times and it is so consistently wonderful-- fabulous food served beautifully and excellent service.

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We absolutely love Cafe Mahjaic!! The fo ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on December 19, 2016

We absolutely love Cafe Mahjaic!! The food is always amazing and it's such a great place for a date night.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Organic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Two night in a row! Food very, very good ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Two night in a row! Food very, very good this second night. What we found surprising was the Chef's insistence on NO SUBSTITUTIONS! Wow, how un-Californian. The first night we had asked for a simple substitution and had to really beg for it. This time it was to ADD chicken to a Ceaser Salad. Seems like a no-brainer...add Chicken, collect $12.00, make customers happy. Noooooo! "Chef does not do that, in fact, he never has..." Oh well. Just beware: When you find this great little spot you are apparently entering "Food meets Artist" territory, so pack your "customer is always right" notions and simply order exactly what is on the menu, or else! All in all it had to be good or we would not have returned two night in a row. As noted, food and service (except the chef's stubbornness) was A+

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Great creative menu. Wonderful wine sele ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 15, 2016

Great creative menu. Wonderful wine selection - mostly local. Expect the unexpected from a seasoned chef.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

this was supposed to be 20th anniv celeb ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on December 15, 2016

this was supposed to be 20th anniv celeb. All was so great my husband wrote at the table great review. Within an hour of getting home I came down with what doctor confirmed was food poisoning - thought fish or green sauce that completely covered stuffed sole with prawn on pick only identifiable item. By 10PM I had severe cramps, and spent most of the time in the bathroom until 7AM - notified owners by email, Gina called but hadn't read email - said couldn't be their fault since fish delivered AM - since I had nothing that day except bagel and coffee at 8AM - doctor said definitely something from one of the four courses - and that not everyone reacts same to tainted food. Owner said no one else got sick, but DR also said depending on severity, most people don't realize what it's from - Great substitute for the icky salty stuff they give you for a colonoscopy - We were referred by friends but wasted money and build up for such a special occassion. Friends won't be back either

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

MY favorite restaurant. Gourmet, healthy ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on December 11, 2016

MY favorite restaurant. Gourmet, healthy, and the staff is friendly. Love it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

To celebrate our 56th wedding anniversar ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on December 3, 2016

To celebrate our 56th wedding anniversary, we decided to dine at Café Mahjaic. We had a 6:30 evening reservation and arrived at 6:16. We were told to have a seat on the bench in a small area facing the front door, and we would be seated in five minutes. After 10, I asked a server why we were being quarantined in the holding tank when many tables were available. She said, “Our policy is to only seat six people each 15-minute period.” Who are they serving their customers or themselves. They need to change their policy. Waiting in the holding tank is degrading, and not conducive to promoting goodwill. Being seated at a table, and told that service will begin as soon as possible would have left a better taste in our mouths.

Our luck changed immediately when another server, Alex, overheard our conversation and sprang into action saying, with a broad smile, “I will seat you now.”

My wife, who’s not a big eater had the four-course menu special. It was wonderful. I know because I helped her taking small delicious bites. I ordered the Coulotte steak, medium rare. It was perfect, as were the trimmings.

Scott Harvey, Amador Barbara 2013 was poured by the glass. Man, what an extraordinary compliment to a fine dining experience.

A bad beginning was fortunately rehabilitated into a memorable celebration. Thank you, Alex and Café Mahjaic. To paraphrase the great General Douglas MacArthur, “We shall return, often.”

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Historic, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We drove 45 minutes but the experiece wa ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on December 1, 2016

We drove 45 minutes but the experiece was worth it. Excellent food in an unpretentious historical building with a creative but not avante garde menu. The portions will seem small if you are used to bringing extra home but they are right sized for eating your entire meal. We had the fixed menu which had enough selection and was very reasonable for the quality of the food.

Tags: Historic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was Thanksgiving and the experience ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on November 24, 2016

This was Thanksgiving and the experience was very lovely but the food could be better without much trouble. Specifically, the bread is cold, boring and almost seems stale. This is an easy fix. The appetizers were outstanding but my salad was limp, boring and small -- again, easy fix. My turkey was excellent and moist but served on top of both boring mashed potatoes and unremarkable stuffing -- too salty and greasy. The menu said "fresh vegetables" which they were but I got four green beans, one skinny carrot and 1/4 of a beet, all excellent but they were just a colorful garnish, not a serving. The wine, service, coffee and dessert were all fine. This is the best restaurant around but still could improve. I keep hoping and trying again.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Cozy, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

We had Thanksgiving here and this was ex ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We had Thanksgiving here and this was exactly what I was looking for. An experience. Food was excellent and the service was outstanding. Just the right amount of attention without being over-the-top. The wine list was excellent and there were no high chairs. Highly recommended

Tags: , Authentic, Notable Wine List, Historic, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Many friends raved about Cafe Mohajaic a ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Many friends raved about Cafe Mohajaic and I finally went last month. I was stunned by the flavors, unique and delicious. I knew my husband would love it too, so I took him for our anniversary. We have to go back again because it was so hard to decide which of the dishes we wanted. The fish, amazing and the pumpkin relleno super. What a fine meal. I recommend the fixed menu...at first we were thinking it would be too much food, but the server explained that the portions were smaller. Well worth it because we got to taste the butternut squash soup, the shrimp appetizer, our main course and chocolate decadence for dessert. I do wish it wasn't such a long drive from my house, because I know we would return a lot. Even with the drive I will bring guests from out of town to Cafe M. because of the hight quality.

Tags: Historic, Romantic, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was amazing. Our sever Dana w ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Everything was amazing. Our sever Dana was outstanding

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wife & I went here on a date hoping for ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Wife & I went here on a date hoping for an exquisite dining experience, it did NOT happen. We tried their 4 course meals for $35, which sounds like a good value and would have been if the food was any good.

Appetizers: Bruschetta for her and fried cheese for me; just "okay"

Salads: House for her Cesar for me - Cesar salad was essentially tasteless.

Main Courses:

She ordered the Schnitzel with spaetzle and I order a pumpkin stuffed chile relleno on a bed of chipotle risotto (sounds yummy right?), the spaetzle tasted like vinegar, so much so that she didn't even try the pork schnitzel just sent the dish back with the intent to order something more edible. I tried the risotto 1st and it tasted pretty good, but when I tried the small stuffed poblano chile it was a JALAPENO pepper instead (I know the difference) so I mentioned it to the server and sent mine back ... I don't know what the server told the chef, but he came back & told us they would not cook for us and asked us to leave.

They didn't charge us for anything, so no financial impact, but it cost us an hour of our time and we didn't have dinner that evening :(

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value3

Very interesting and different menu. Ev ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Very interesting and different menu. Everything we ordered from the prix fixe menu was very good. We had read online that service can be slow, but we found it just right. We arrived when they opened and on a weeknight in November.

Tags: Historic, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

The food at Cafe Mahjaic is always beaut ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on November 4, 2016

The food at Cafe Mahjaic is always beautifully prepared and presented. Any sauces are exceptional. The service is friendly, efficient, and low key. The atmosphere is lovely. We love going there.

Tags: Cozy, , Historic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wow, feel real lucky to have found this ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 3, 2016

Wow, feel real lucky to have found this spot. We are recent transplants from the Bay Area and there are few restaurants that live up to that competition, but this place does. I had the flank steak and it was done perfectly with a fantastic balsamic-red wine reduction sauce. My wife had the pork schnitzel with spaetzle and it was great, too. Perfect crust. Wonderfully building and interior. Wish it was closer to Placerville, but we'll be back nonetheless.

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Organic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love to go to this place when friends ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on October 31, 2016

We love to go to this place when friends are in town! All the food was delicious; however, the pasta dish was a bit too salty. The atmosphere is fun! The set menu is a great option!

Tags: Cozy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

One of my favorite restaurants by far! ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on October 30, 2016

One of my favorite restaurants by far! Food is amazing. Everything is fresh and the sauces are ebyond incredible. The ambiance is peaceful. My husband and I love it for date night!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent meal, wine, dessert and servic ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Excellent meal, wine, dessert and service. Looking forward to my next meal at Cafe Mahjaic.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Modern Decor, Organic, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went to Café Jahjaic for my husband's ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on October 22, 2016

We went to Café Jahjaic for my husband's birthday. The food was amazing, the service was good, although we did have to wait quite a while to get our desserts. The ambiance is very cosy and welcoming.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, , Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Once again we had a super meal at Cafe M ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Once again we had a super meal at Cafe Mahjaic. Unfortunately, our service was a bit slow. It took us probably 30 minutes to get our salad once we ordered. Not sure what the problem was. If there was a problem with not enough servers or they had a problem in the kitchen it would have been nice to have been informed. Fortunately, once we received our food we were thrilled with it. Everything was excellent.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

This was our second visit and the food w ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on October 16, 2016

This was our second visit and the food was delicious both times. We love the small-menu.

Our waiter was very personable but for some reason the food delivery was VERY slow. We

waited for the first course and then between each course for much longer than it should have

been (over 20 minutes sometimes). We were never offered a touch up on our coffee which was

unusual. The outside bathroom was appropriate for the Gold Rush era building but getting there in the rain without a covered walkway was uncomfortable. Rustic beauty doesn't preclude comfort.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

We received a gift certificate for this ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on October 15, 2016

We received a gift certificate for this restaurant. It was a 1 1/2 hour drive from our residence but worth the time. The location was lovely, the food was great and service was excellent. I would highly recommend this place to family and friends.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My wife and I come here for special occa ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on October 9, 2016

My wife and I come here for special occasions, which just isn't often enough. Each time better than the last. Always absolutely delicious. My favorite restaurant anywhere.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Scenic View, Good for Groups, Molecular Gastronomy, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First time dining here. Attentive wait ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 8, 2016

First time dining here. Attentive wait staff., intimate dining experience and delicious food! We will be back and highly recommend it.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved it! Definitely a "must return"! ...

 
 (Puerto Vallarta)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Loved it! Definitely a "must return"! The food was excellent, as well as, the service and ambiance.

Tags: Historic, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Have dined at Café Mahjaic several times ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Have dined at Café Mahjaic several times. The food never disappoints. Creative, expertly prepared, seasonal specialties plus regular menu items. The $35 fixed-price 4 course dinner is a bargain: smaller portions than regular menu portions, but a chance to have several of the special items all in one meal. Get on their email list to be tempted by their menu descriptions!

Tags: Romantic, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Cafe Majaic is our favorite restaurant- ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Cafe Majaic is our favorite restaurant- the soups are always incredible, the different specials are uniformly fantastic... prefix menu is the best value in this county... and the next.

Tags: Fun, Cozy, Casual, Tasting Menu, Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful caring personal service ... Un ...

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Wonderful caring personal service ... Unique creative menu

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We love Cafe Mahjaic and come often. The ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on September 17, 2016

We love Cafe Mahjaic and come often. Their food is delicious and always fresh!

Tags: Historic, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Organic, Casual, Business Meals, Romantic, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

There are only one waitress and one serv ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on September 15, 2016

There are only one waitress and one server/cleanup to handle the whole restaurant. There also appears to be only one cook. So, don't be in a hurry and plan to relax while your meal comes with some long waits between courses. The presentation was excellent on the Salmon with seasonal vegetables. The meal was large so we didn't have room to order deserts but they did appear to be very good at the other tables. Make reservations, as the wait for a place may be way too long for your empty stomach.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Casual, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

This is a wonderful experience for speci ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on September 15, 2016

This is a wonderful experience for special occasions in an adult atmosphere - not great for kiddos. Don't expect a fast paced dinner but a meal you can enjoy a bottle of wine enjoying. You can order an full entree and salad separately or order a sampling of an appetizer, salad, entree, and dessert for a bit. Small samples (one shrimp for the app) but a good way to have a small four course meal for a bit over $30. We will be back.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

It was very good as always. It is the b ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on September 15, 2016

It was very good as always. It is the best place in town for dinner.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.