About Cafe Mahjaic - Lotus Inn

1006 Lotus Road
Lotus, CA 95651
View Larger Map

Dinners at Cafe' Mahjaic are New American, a mixture of all ethnic backgrounds. All foods, sauces and breads made from scratch daily using naturally raise meats and grains. Fresh fish from the ocean. Organic produce when available.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Wednesday - Saturday: 5:00 PM - 10:30 PM

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(530) 622-9587

Website:
http://www.cafemahjaic.com/

Executive Chef:
John Metropulos

Private Party Contact:
Gina: 5306229587

Additional:
Beer, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Takeout, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Cafe Mahjaic - Lotus Inn Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.3

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Value
Sacramento / Sacramento Valley
Fit for Foodies
Sacramento / Sacramento Valley
Neighborhood Gem
Sacramento / Sacramento Valley
4 More
Romantic
Sacramento / Sacramento Valley
Special Occasion
Sacramento / Sacramento Valley
American
Sacramento / Sacramento Valley
Most Booked
Lotus / Placerville / Camino
Best Restaurants in Lotus ›

special occasion (49)
fit for foodies (46)
neighborhood gem (40)
See All
romantic (38)
notable wine list (14)
good for groups (11)
late-night find (4)
scenic view (4)
great for lunch (1)
hot spot (1)
Sort By:
Newest
377 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely the BEST restaurant!!! We LOV ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Absolutely the BEST restaurant!!! We LOVE the OUTSTANDING, DELICIOUS food; the great dinner choices; the service - it was the BEST ever this last weekend; the environment both inside and out. It is a relaxing and very enjoyable get-away for an evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best of the Foothills

Dined on May 13, 2016

As always, the food was exceptional. Mahjaic is hands down the best dining in western El Dorado County. Not to be missed!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Mother's Day dining!

Dined on May 9, 2016

The menu is pretty limited, but enough variety to satisfy! My vegan son and his wife even found a vegan dish, which my non-vegan husband also choose. They all enjoyed their selections, as did I - which was the pepper encrusted tuna. The dinners were very nicely presented, and delicious, as was the cheesecake my husband and I shared for dessert! The wine selection was limited too, but adequate. The server was very knowledgeable and pleasant. We will be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our 5th visit to Mahjaic, and o ...

Dined on May 9, 2016

This was our 5th visit to Mahjaic, and once again the service and the food delivered! The chef is a food genius and artist! He pays homage to serving what is in season, and it never disappoints. The servers are amazing; providing excellent service - never hovering, but always available and attentive. The ambiance of this little gem is heavenly. Not stuffy, very relaxed, and reasonably priced for the high quality this chef puts out. Without a doubt, we will be visiting again soon!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Superb food and atmosphere. A real gem.

Dined on May 8, 2016

Cafe Mahjaic is an outstanding restaurant tucked away in the town of Lotus in the Sierra foothills. I have dined all over the world, and at some of the best restaurants, and this little place can compete with most. Make it a destination when going to explore the gold country. You wont regret it.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

The restaurant was very nice and the ser ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

The restaurant was very nice and the service and food were excellent.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic Find!!

Dined on April 24, 2016

My boyfriend and I stayed at an AMAZING local bed and breakfast, Bella Vista, where the host HIGHLY recommend we try Cafe Mahjaic, gave us the website for reservations and we couldn't be more pleased. Our dinners were exquisite! We did the special where we each got an appetizer, soup or salad, entree and desert for around $34 each. Each course was on the small side, compared to most American restaurant standards now a days, but they were perfect size to keep your appetite going through the desert and be full at the end! The only complaint is would have was that the bread they serve when you are first seated was burnt on the bottom, I'm sure just a slight over-look. I would still recommend this restaurant to anyone who enjoys fine dining at a reasonable price!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service1

The food was excellent as always. Howeve ...

Dined on April 17, 2016

The food was excellent as always. However the service was poor. It took 20 minutes to get our drink order. Once served no one asked if we needed anything. No follow-up for drinks. The dinner took a total of two hours and 45 minutes

food5
ambience4
service3
value5

Good Place

Dined on April 3, 2016

It was very good food. The price fix was excellent value. Slower service. Good place.

Tags: romantic
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Lackluster

vip
Dined on April 1, 2016

Sad to say that our meal was mediocre, at best. Bruschetta was underseasoned with nicely toasted bread. Salads arrived without dressing and we were told that they were meant to be "lightly dressed" by the waitress. Yes, "lightly" implies that there is actually dressing ON the salad. Steaks were overdone, drenched in sauces. Pasta dish was so overwhelmed by the number of ingredients in it that it was hard to tell them apart. I think the concept of this restaurant nestled in the hills is so great- please reconsider simplifying your overdone dishes because I could tell that some of those ingredients- perhaps choosing 2-3 from each plate- would be great just on their own without all the extra 'fluff.' Celebrate your fresh flavors! I'll try you again after some time. Hope round two is a winner!

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

San Francisco quality in the middle of nowhere

Dined on March 26, 2016

absolutely fantastic quality food. Nice wine list. In a historic structure. Amazing to find that in the middle of nowhere.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, late-night find, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Interesting Local

Dined on March 21, 2016

I have been to this restaurant several times. I remember the food being much better in the past. It was still good, just not exceptional.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service2

Food: good Service: good Ambiance: very ...

Dined on March 20, 2016

Food: good Service: good Ambiance: very nice Time of service: terrible Had reservations for 5:15pm. Arrived at 5:05pm right after opening. Were seated right away (third table seated). Waitress was helpful, gave great wine recommendation, and had bread and water coming. We waited for 1 hour and 20minutes for the first course to be served. All in all we were done with the meal and got out check at 7:45pm. Two hours and forty minutes is unreasonably long for a regular 2-person meal. All in all a nice evening, but we were not in a hurry this time.

food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Don't be in a hurry!

Dined on March 19, 2016

Good food, servers friendly and engaged, but the wait between courses is always painfully long! Go early, or it's too loud once the tables start to fill!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Saturday night dinner

Dined on March 13, 2016

We are frequent return customers, the food is always first rate. My only concern was the wait staff, they were a bit busy when we arrived but there were empty tables to be seated at. The wait staff had us stand in the entrance for about 10 minutes and they never assured us we would be seated shortly or apologize for the wait. We saw other customers receive the same treatment. Our waitress was super but the assistant bring bread and water was very cool and aloof. Not what we were expecting from a favorite spot. We still love the restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Spectacular!

Dined on March 6, 2016

As always, the best food in El Dorado County. Consistently exceptional!! Every menu item is exquisite, the historical building is charming, the service intimate without being obsequious.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Rural Charm and Urban Falir

vip
Dined on March 5, 2016

Cafe Mahjaic is a charming little restaurant and an ideal dinner spot for anyone staying at Eden Vale Inn or Bella Vista B&B. The food is well prepared, the wine pours generous, and the wine list reasonable. You can enjoy a nice meal and friendly service in a charming room without the long drive into Placerville.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Desserts to die for!

Dined on March 5, 2016

Our meal was great but the star was dessert. We has cheesecake and flourless torte. Amazing!!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic
food4
ambience1
service1
value1

Not for us

Dined on February 28, 2016

We arrived on time 545 reservation. 30 min later soup and salad served. Much later dinner was served. We left at 820. Other patrons arrived after us. They were served and left before us. One of us had the special halibut and the other your packaged meal. The presentation and bread was good. She actually brought us more bread to hold us over. This service is not acceptable for anyone and especially for a diabetic taking insulin. We will not be returning.

food4
ambience5
service5

We loved having dinner here on Valentine ...

Dined on February 15, 2016

We loved having dinner here on Valentine's Day. The food was very good and the service was outstanding. We will be back for our next special occasion. Thank you!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A little bit of heaven.

Dined on February 13, 2016

We were a group of four. We all chose the special $34 per person appetizer, soup or salad, main dish,and desert.Lots to chose from in the paired menu. The steak dish and home made papardelli with vegetables were amazing. My friend said it was the best steak she has ever had. Desert of chocolate cake and cheese cake ...heavenly. Every morsal from beginning to end was delicious. Warm cozy atmosphere, white table clothes lite with candles and one red flower, rustic wood floors and red brick walls decorated sparingly and tastfully with artwork. Add the wonderful, friendly, and helpful service with spectacular wine to all I have described and you have a very beautiful evening with friends. Enjoy.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous dining and ambiance!

Dined on February 13, 2016

We've been to Cafe Mahjaic a couple dozen times by ourselves and with friends and has never disappointed.

Tags: romantic, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Aniversary Dinner in Lotus, CA

Dined on February 13, 2016

Reservations recommended. The food was outsanding. The service was exceptional.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My favorite special occasion restaurant.

Dined on February 11, 2016

When it's my turn to pick a special occasion spot for dinner, I pick Cafe Mahjaic. We get the fixed price menu so we can enjoy smaller portions of multiple courses. We're never disappointed.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best ever!!!

Dined on February 7, 2016

The chef here is top notch! The food is excellent, so many levels to his flavors - my favorite local small town restaurant!!!! You will not be disappointed - this food is its own experience and your palette will thank you! Highly recommended and I will be back again and again!

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Great Food

Dined on February 6, 2016

Great Food. Had fixed course menu, prawn, potato leek soup, yellow fin, & cheesecake. All food items were delicious. Service was painfully slow from the time we sat down to the time we got the check.

Tags: special occasion
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

Not good

Dined on February 6, 2016

We've gone here alot and although don't like that we can't substitute anything, it's always good. The other night it was horrible. The food was terrible, the service was beyond slow, and we will not go back until the menu changes. I'm sure we will try it again eventually. Maybe it was an off night. But I have a hard time paying $125 for dinner when nothing was good.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A Bit of a Wait but Worth it.

Dined on January 31, 2016

When we arrived there were several people in the small waiting area. It was evident the place may have been understaffed. The staff should have told those of us waiting that they were running behind. We were seated 15 minutes after our reservation time. Once seated, the staff was apologetic about the waiting time. The staff was attentive, knowledgeable about the menu and gave recommendations. The wine list is very decent as is the beer offerings. The food was very, very good! This was our first time at the restaurant. We will be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

Destination!

Dined on January 22, 2016

Cafe Mahjaic is a local institution in tiny Lotus, California. An excellent destination for a drive in the country and sit down lunch, it is a hit among foodies. An eclectic, but well thought out menu is prepared by an internationally trained chef, and served in a wonderfully restored historic building. I eat at Cafe Mahjaic whenever my wanderings take me to Lotus, and I highly recommend you do the same.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The best food in N CA

Dined on January 1, 2016

High quality California cuisine at a reasonable price. What's not to like?

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Never Disappoints!

Dined on January 1, 2016

My wife and I frequent Café Mahjaic for special occasions and have never been disappointed. It's cozy, charming, and the food is spectacular. The wait staff are warm and friendly. Whenever we want an intimate night out, this is our #1 pick. It's a true gem.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4

Great food, lovely ambiance, fun historical aspect

Dined on November 26, 2015

Recommend to anyone looking for a unique culinary experience.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Lovely, charming small restaurant, great food

Dined on November 12, 2015

A charming, small and intimate setting, but okay for a large table. Situated in a historic Gold Rush building which has been nicely preserved. Friendly and efficient servers and a great use of local products in the menu, which also includes a prix fixe. I love going there for special occasions. Reasonably priced.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Best local restaurant

Dined on November 6, 2015

Our favorite place for upscale meals and wine selections. Have never had a meal that doesn't hit the mark. We are so fortunate to this restaurant in Lotus.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food2
ambience3
service3

We were hoping for great dinner, but didn't get it

Dined on October 31, 2015

The restaurant is nice, and the menu looks good, in theory. Unfortunately, the food is nothing special. We ordered four different dishes. None were great. The chicken was overpowered by a sauce, so strong that the person that ordered it almost didn't touch it. I tried it too, and it was terrible. The meat plate was ok. We also ordered two fish plates. The tuna (I had that one), was totally blend, nothing special at all. The fourth plate was also fish, halibut, and it was just ok. I found it not to be a good for the price. The atmosphere is very nice. Service is good, except that when we asked to make a change to accommodate for someone with allergies, we were told that the chef doesn't do substitutions.

food5
ambience3
service1

Two Hour Adventure Neighborhood Gem

Dined on October 24, 2015

Café Mahjaic is a neighborhood gem with most dishes being a "taste sensation" and nice presentation. By far the Best Restaurant in the Area!! We enjoyed the Birthday dinner when it arrived. We waited over an hour to receive the salad and the entrée was another 30+ minutes. When we arrived a 6:50 pm, the restaurant was less than half, so we were hoping the time between the appetizer, the salad and the entrée would be less than the previous time at Café Mahjaic. The prior time was Valentine's Day and the restaurant was completely full. In fact the wait was the same for both times. Great food, if you are not in a hurry.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience5
service5

😞

Dined on October 22, 2015

Unfortunately, the last 2 times I went there, my food took 2 hours from ordering to being served. Also, it was cold. This has been my FAVORITE restaurant since it opened. I am very sad to report this and hope that whatever is making this happen gets resolved.

food5
ambience5
service5

Cafe Mahjaic is an excellent restaurant

Dined on October 22, 2015

I highly recommend Café Mahjaic. It was a great experience from the time we walked in the door until we left. Our server did a phenomenal job, the food was delicious, and the ambiance was great.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

A gem of a restaurant in Lotus, CA

Dined on October 18, 2015

We've eaten at Café Mahjaic three times over the past 1.5 years. Each time, we've gone with friends and everyone has left with happy tastebuds. They serve a fusion of Mediterranean and Californian and I'm not sure what. But it is good! You are able to order from either ala carte or prix fixe. The prix fixe menu is a steal. For ~$30, you get four courses of scrumptiousness. They offer a good variety of choices for each course. The portions are smaller than ala carte, but we've never left hungry. Service is friendly and efficient. I know that's only one sentence, but that's what I want in a restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Cafe Mahjaic Rocks!

Dined on October 15, 2015

Hands down the best restaurant in El Dorado County! Spectacular historic setting. Intimate ambience. Stellar cuisine. Every morsel a gem.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.