About Cafe Mahjaic - Lotus Inn

Dinners at Cafe' Mahjaic are New American, a mixture of all ethnic backgrounds. All foods, sauces and breads made from scratch daily using naturally raise meats and grains. Fresh fish from the ocean. Organic produce when available.

1006 Lotus Road
Lotus, CA 95651
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Wednesday - Saturday: 5:00 PM - 10:30 PM

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(530) 622-9587

Website:
http://www.cafemahjaic.com/

Executive Chef:
John Metropulos

Private Party Contact:
Gina: (530) 622-9587

Additional:
Beer, Corkage Fee, Takeout, Wine

Cafe Mahjaic - Lotus Inn Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (21)
Special Occasion (19)
Worth the Drive (19)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (18)
Neighborhood Gem (17)
Historic (17)
Romantic (16)
Creative Cuisine (15)
Fit for Foodies (13)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Cozy (8)
Local Ingredients (7)
Authentic (7)
Notable Wine List (6)
Casual (6)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Tasting Menu (5)
Healthy (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Business Meals (4)
Disabled Access (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Fun (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Organic (2)
Scenic View (2)
Seasonal (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Dancing (1)
Fireplace (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Family Style (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
492 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined 3 days ago

We have been to Cafe Mahjaic several times - on this visit the service was no where as good as it has been in the past.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Food was awful. Sauces tasted of vinegar and were likely past the date, based on our physical response afterword. Pretentious little servings with the four course meal. The sauteed kasseri cheese did not taste of bourbon and was presented on sliced tomatoes; uninspired and disgusting.

Only two other tables, but the food came out painfully slow. The chef's ego was put on display without even being in the room.

I would not recommend to anyone for any occasion, other than drinking wine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Seriously the tastiest food, and one of the best places to dine. I'm so glad we found it. We plan on coming once a week when we move here.
Eric and Julie

Tags: Family Style, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Authentic, Sunday Lunch, Late-night Find, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 6, 2017

From start to finish a wonderful experience and meal. A gem in the foothills.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Good little spot. Make a reservation as it seemed to fill fast.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on March 24, 2017

My husband and I were staying in the area for just one night and looking for a good restaurant. Found Cafe Mahjaic while searching online. The chef's credentials nailed it. The food was excellent and our server (D?) was wonderful - very charming and personable. The only downside for dinner when it is dark outside is the lighting. Not very good consistently throughout the room. We were sitting in one of the darker spots and could hardly read the menu. This restaurant is located in a very old and historic building so perhaps that explains it, but do recommend the chef/owner investing in better lighting! Thank you.

Tags: Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Historic, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Great tucked away dining experience - great food with unique styling.

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Outstanding Value, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on March 18, 2017

I always enjoy dinner at Café Mahjaic. Had the sea bass special and it was great. The tasting menu allows you to have four small courses, and this is good because I don't like to miss their flourless chocolate decadence! It happened that it wasn't real busy that night and the noise level was low and the service level was very attentive.

Tags: Organic, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Casual, Good Vegetarian Options, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Pre Fixe menu always a great choice!
Fun Gold Rush Era atmosphere!!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Historic, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Moved to Cool recently, so Lotus is in the neighborhood. Great ambiance and service. The fixed price menu was worth it. Filled up on Friday evening, so recommend a reservation. Will be back!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on March 6, 2017

Great meal, as usual. But the temp was a little too cool for us, and older people should not sit right next to the radio (music).

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Great food and service in an unassuming location. What a wonderful find !

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Husbands meal was good
My soup was too spicy & was not described as such my meal had beans with fish
They were a poor choice to pair with &
Undercooked

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 19, 2017

My wife and I go to Cafe Mahjaic for most special occasions. Food is consistently good, atmosphere is consistent and making and managing your reservation is very easy. Their Prix Faire is reasonable and tasty. I highly recommend the experience to my friends.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Excellent service, menu selection and food! We enjoyed our dining experience at Cafe Mahjaic so much! I highly recommend this establishment for a special occasion, date night or friend get together.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Our dinner was excellent as usual. We took our neighbors, who had never been there before, and they loved. it. We also ran into friends there, it was their first time dining there, and they also loved it. A good time and excellent meal was enjoyed by all.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Romantic, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We have dined at Café Mahjaic a number of times and always fine the food and tastes outstanding and the service always perfect.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 13, 2017

We have had dinner many times here, every month or two and each time is very good. Some might call it slow food service, I would call it dining in a no rush environment. Usually dinner is 1.5 hours or so. Allows time for appetizers, wine and main course. Nice wine list.

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Excellent .always enjoyable. Great food, great staff. Top notch service.

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 12, 2017

IT HAS BEEN MY PLACE FOR MY WIFE AND I TO CELEBRATE OUR WEDDING PROPOSAL. JOHN & GINA ARE SUPERB HOSTS AND THE FOOD IS ALWAYS FANTASTIC!

Tags: Authentic, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Historic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Food is carefully crafted, delicious, and lovely. Service is thoughtful and charming. I've traveled and dined in 20+ countries and am always happy to return to my favorite, Cafe Mahjaic-Lotus Inn.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 2, 2017

We love this place for special occasions due to costs but the taste of the food has so many layers of flavor - incredible!

Quality is spectacular and we love it even more because we eat organic food only.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Organic, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 29, 2017

An extra special dinning experience. Very well prepared food. Nice selection of wine and beer in an old gold country authentic setting

Tags: Historic, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Very nice meal. $$$ Dinner for four. Three bottles of wine with 2 corkage fees over $300.

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Cafe Mahjaic is a lovely little restaurant in a remodeled old historic building. It boasts fine cuisine and a pleasant smaller venue ambiance. I dined with my companion and another couple who had varied opinions about the food, value, etc. The other couple and myself were quite pleased with the quality and variety of food. We thought it was well prepared and nicely presented. My companion however had a different opinion. He claimed his food was overseasoned, not salty but way too many herbs and spices. He felt his appetizer salad in addition to his entree were overseasoned and he did not much enjoy them. He also felt the meals were somewhat overpriced. This is why I had to lower my rating a little bit. But 3 out of 4 of us were quite pleased overall. All agreed that the service was outstanding. Ambiance lacked a little since the dining room is very open and tables spaced a bit close together. Noise level was average for a weeknight, not excessive but not too quiet. I can see where it could get noisy if a lively party of 6 or more was seated in the dining room.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Paleo Friendly, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Food had good flavor but too much emphasis on presentation, ridiculously small portions. I didn't like spending $100 for just my wife and I and leaving hungry. Won't be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 21, 2017

this is our third time enjoying the exceptional creative food options. Our waitress was again remarkably attentive and responsive to our needs, especially to those of my wife who has a very restricted diet that often precludes her from enjoying fine food. It is definitely a special occasion place, not only because of its costs but because it provides a memorable meal and experience.

Tags: Authentic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 1, 2017

As usual, a delightful dining experience. A wonderful way to ring in the New Year with good friends and good food. New Year's Eve 2017. Thank you Chef John, Gina, and Kaela who is wonderful plus the entire staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 1, 2017

This restaurant is worth the drive from El Dorado Hills. They have a very nice menu, though the Prix Fixe is such a good value with many selections that we rarely depart from it.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 1, 2017

This place is an excellent choice for that special occasion dinner. Food was excellent; surprisingly original and full of flavor. Would highly recommend. You will not be disappointed.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Historic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We have been there many time and we always love it. In the winter it is a little cold. We definitely recommend this restaurant to anyone.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Great dining experience. Fresh fabulous cuisine. Served timely and with care.
We will be back.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good Vegetarian Options, Healthy, Authentic, Special Occasion, Historic, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Disabled Access, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 30, 2016

This lovely cafe always has excellent food! Service is good although on this trip, it was a bit erratic. There was a full house with two servers doing everything including dealing with a large party, and at least one very picky diner. The fixed price menu is a great value! There is a nice variety of options in smaller size portions. We each had a different fish. Each was excellently prepared and presented!

Tags: Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Every bite is a taste sensation! The flavors created through John's passion never fail to please.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on December 23, 2016

We have been to Cafe Mahjaic many times and it is so consistently wonderful-- fabulous food served beautifully and excellent service.

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on December 19, 2016

We absolutely love Cafe Mahjaic!! The food is always amazing and it's such a great place for a date night.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Organic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Two night in a row! Food very, very good this second night. What we found surprising was the Chef's insistence on NO SUBSTITUTIONS! Wow, how un-Californian. The first night we had asked for a simple substitution and had to really beg for it. This time it was to ADD chicken to a Ceaser Salad. Seems like a no-brainer...add Chicken, collect $12.00, make customers happy. Noooooo! "Chef does not do that, in fact, he never has..." Oh well. Just beware: When you find this great little spot you are apparently entering "Food meets Artist" territory, so pack your "customer is always right" notions and simply order exactly what is on the menu, or else! All in all it had to be good or we would not have returned two night in a row. As noted, food and service (except the chef's stubbornness) was A+

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 15, 2016

Great creative menu. Wonderful wine selection - mostly local. Expect the unexpected from a seasoned chef.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on December 11, 2016

MY favorite restaurant. Gourmet, healthy, and the staff is friendly. Love it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on December 3, 2016

To celebrate our 56th wedding anniversary, we decided to dine at Café Mahjaic. We had a 6:30 evening reservation and arrived at 6:16. We were told to have a seat on the bench in a small area facing the front door, and we would be seated in five minutes. After 10, I asked a server why we were being quarantined in the holding tank when many tables were available. She said, “Our policy is to only seat six people each 15-minute period.” Who are they serving their customers or themselves. They need to change their policy. Waiting in the holding tank is degrading, and not conducive to promoting goodwill. Being seated at a table, and told that service will begin as soon as possible would have left a better taste in our mouths.
Our luck changed immediately when another server, Alex, overheard our conversation and sprang into action saying, with a broad smile, “I will seat you now.”
My wife, who’s not a big eater had the four-course menu special. It was wonderful. I know because I helped her taking small delicious bites. I ordered the Coulotte steak, medium rare. It was perfect, as were the trimmings.
Scott Harvey, Amador Barbara 2013 was poured by the glass. Man, what an extraordinary compliment to a fine dining experience.
A bad beginning was fortunately rehabilitated into a memorable celebration. Thank you, Alex and Café Mahjaic. To paraphrase the great General Douglas MacArthur, “We shall return, often.”

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Historic, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.