About Cafe Mahjaic - Lotus Inn

1006 Lotus Road
Lotus, CA 95651
View Larger Map

Dinners at Cafe' Mahjaic are New American, a mixture of all ethnic backgrounds. All foods, sauces and breads made from scratch daily using naturally raise meats and grains. Fresh fish from the ocean. Organic produce when available.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Wednesday - Saturday: 5:00 PM - 10:30 PM

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(530) 622-9587

Website:
http://www.cafemahjaic.com/

Executive Chef:
John Metropulos

Private Party Contact:
Gina: 5306229587

Additional:
Beer, Corkage Fee, Takeout, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Halibut - Cafe Mahjaic - Lotus Inn, Lotus, CA
  • Chocolate Decadence - Cafe Mahjaic - Lotus Inn, Lotus, CA
  • Coullote Steak - Cafe Mahjaic - Lotus Inn, Lotus, CA
  • Ahi tuna - Cafe Mahjaic - Lotus Inn, Lotus, CA
  • Asparagus Bisque Soup - Cafe Mahjaic - Lotus Inn, Lotus, CA
  • Chocolate Chipotle Prawns - Cafe Mahjaic - Lotus Inn, Lotus, CA
Halibut - Cafe Mahjaic - Lotus Inn, Lotus, CA
Chocolate Decadence - Cafe Mahjaic - Lotus Inn, Lotus, CA
Coullote Steak - Cafe Mahjaic - Lotus Inn, Lotus, CA
Ahi tuna - Cafe Mahjaic - Lotus Inn, Lotus, CA
Asparagus Bisque Soup - Cafe Mahjaic - Lotus Inn, Lotus, CA
Chocolate Chipotle Prawns - Cafe Mahjaic - Lotus Inn, Lotus, CA

Cafe Mahjaic - Lotus Inn Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Food
Sacramento / Sacramento Valley
Fit for Foodies
Sacramento / Sacramento Valley
Neighborhood Gem
Sacramento / Sacramento Valley
4 More
Romantic
Sacramento / Sacramento Valley
Special Occasion
Sacramento / Sacramento Valley
American
Sacramento / Sacramento Valley
Most Booked
Lotus / Placerville / Camino
Best Restaurants in Lotus ›

Special Occasion (32)
Worth the Drive (24)
Fit for Foodies (23)
See All
Romantic (23)
Good for Anniversaries (22)
Creative Cuisine (21)
Historic (21)
Neighborhood Gem (20)
Good for a Date (20)
Cozy (15)
Local Ingredients (14)
Quiet Conversation (13)
Notable Wine List (8)
Authentic (8)
Healthy (7)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Organic (7)
Casual (6)
Fun (5)
Outstanding Value (5)
Good for Groups (4)
Scenic View (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Seasonal (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Modern Decor (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Business Meals (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Vegan (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Family Style (1)
Sort By:
S
440 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We drove 45 minutes but the experiece wa ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined 4 days ago

We drove 45 minutes but the experiece was worth it. Excellent food in an unpretentious historical building with a creative but not avante garde menu. The portions will seem small if you are used to bringing extra home but they are right sized for eating your entire meal. We had the fixed menu which had enough selection and was very reasonable for the quality of the food.

Tags: Historic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was Thanksgiving and the experience ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on November 24, 2016

This was Thanksgiving and the experience was very lovely but the food could be better without much trouble. Specifically, the bread is cold, boring and almost seems stale. This is an easy fix. The appetizers were outstanding but my salad was limp, boring and small -- again, easy fix. My turkey was excellent and moist but served on top of both boring mashed potatoes and unremarkable stuffing -- too salty and greasy. The menu said "fresh vegetables" which they were but I got four green beans, one skinny carrot and 1/4 of a beet, all excellent but they were just a colorful garnish, not a serving. The wine, service, coffee and dessert were all fine. This is the best restaurant around but still could improve. I keep hoping and trying again.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Cozy, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

We had Thanksgiving here and this was ex ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We had Thanksgiving here and this was exactly what I was looking for. An experience. Food was excellent and the service was outstanding. Just the right amount of attention without being over-the-top. The wine list was excellent and there were no high chairs. Highly recommended

Tags: Outstanding Value, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Historic, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Many friends raved about Cafe Mohajaic a ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Many friends raved about Cafe Mohajaic and I finally went last month. I was stunned by the flavors, unique and delicious. I knew my husband would love it too, so I took him for our anniversary. We have to go back again because it was so hard to decide which of the dishes we wanted. The fish, amazing and the pumpkin relleno super. What a fine meal. I recommend the fixed menu...at first we were thinking it would be too much food, but the server explained that the portions were smaller. Well worth it because we got to taste the butternut squash soup, the shrimp appetizer, our main course and chocolate decadence for dessert. I do wish it wasn't such a long drive from my house, because I know we would return a lot. Even with the drive I will bring guests from out of town to Cafe M. because of the hight quality.

Tags: Historic, Romantic, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was amazing. Our sever Dana w ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Everything was amazing. Our sever Dana was outstanding

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wife & I went here on a date hoping for ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Wife & I went here on a date hoping for an exquisite dining experience, it did NOT happen. We tried their 4 course meals for $35, which sounds like a good value and would have been if the food was any good.

Appetizers: Bruschetta for her and fried cheese for me; just "okay"

Salads: House for her Cesar for me - Cesar salad was essentially tasteless.

Main Courses:

She ordered the Schnitzel with spaetzle and I order a pumpkin stuffed chile relleno on a bed of chipotle risotto (sounds yummy right?), the spaetzle tasted like vinegar, so much so that she didn't even try the pork schnitzel just sent the dish back with the intent to order something more edible. I tried the risotto 1st and it tasted pretty good, but when I tried the small stuffed poblano chile it was a JALAPENO pepper instead (I know the difference) so I mentioned it to the server and sent mine back ... I don't know what the server told the chef, but he came back & told us they would not cook for us and asked us to leave.

They didn't charge us for anything, so no financial impact, but it cost us an hour of our time and we didn't have dinner that evening :(

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value3

Very interesting and different menu. Ev ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Very interesting and different menu. Everything we ordered from the prix fixe menu was very good. We had read online that service can be slow, but we found it just right. We arrived when they opened and on a weeknight in November.

Tags: Historic, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

The food at Cafe Mahjaic is always beaut ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on November 4, 2016

The food at Cafe Mahjaic is always beautifully prepared and presented. Any sauces are exceptional. The service is friendly, efficient, and low key. The atmosphere is lovely. We love going there.

Tags: Cozy, Outstanding Value, Historic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wow, feel real lucky to have found this ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 3, 2016

Wow, feel real lucky to have found this spot. We are recent transplants from the Bay Area and there are few restaurants that live up to that competition, but this place does. I had the flank steak and it was done perfectly with a fantastic balsamic-red wine reduction sauce. My wife had the pork schnitzel with spaetzle and it was great, too. Perfect crust. Wonderfully building and interior. Wish it was closer to Placerville, but we'll be back nonetheless.

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Organic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love to go to this place when friends ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on October 31, 2016

We love to go to this place when friends are in town! All the food was delicious; however, the pasta dish was a bit too salty. The atmosphere is fun! The set menu is a great option!

Tags: Cozy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

One of my favorite restaurants by far! ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on October 30, 2016

One of my favorite restaurants by far! Food is amazing. Everything is fresh and the sauces are ebyond incredible. The ambiance is peaceful. My husband and I love it for date night!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent meal, wine, dessert and servic ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Excellent meal, wine, dessert and service. Looking forward to my next meal at Cafe Mahjaic.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Modern Decor, Organic, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went to Café Jahjaic for my husband's ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on October 22, 2016

We went to Café Jahjaic for my husband's birthday. The food was amazing, the service was good, although we did have to wait quite a while to get our desserts. The ambiance is very cosy and welcoming.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Outstanding Value, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Once again we had a super meal at Cafe M ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Once again we had a super meal at Cafe Mahjaic. Unfortunately, our service was a bit slow. It took us probably 30 minutes to get our salad once we ordered. Not sure what the problem was. If there was a problem with not enough servers or they had a problem in the kitchen it would have been nice to have been informed. Fortunately, once we received our food we were thrilled with it. Everything was excellent.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

This was our second visit and the food w ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on October 16, 2016

This was our second visit and the food was delicious both times. We love the small-menu.

Our waiter was very personable but for some reason the food delivery was VERY slow. We

waited for the first course and then between each course for much longer than it should have

been (over 20 minutes sometimes). We were never offered a touch up on our coffee which was

unusual. The outside bathroom was appropriate for the Gold Rush era building but getting there in the rain without a covered walkway was uncomfortable. Rustic beauty doesn't preclude comfort.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

We received a gift certificate for this ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on October 15, 2016

We received a gift certificate for this restaurant. It was a 1 1/2 hour drive from our residence but worth the time. The location was lovely, the food was great and service was excellent. I would highly recommend this place to family and friends.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My wife and I come here for special occa ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on October 9, 2016

My wife and I come here for special occasions, which just isn't often enough. Each time better than the last. Always absolutely delicious. My favorite restaurant anywhere.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Scenic View, Good for Groups, Molecular Gastronomy, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First time dining here. Attentive wait ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 8, 2016

First time dining here. Attentive wait staff., intimate dining experience and delicious food! We will be back and highly recommend it.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved it! Definitely a "must return"! ...

 
 (Puerto Vallarta)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Loved it! Definitely a "must return"! The food was excellent, as well as, the service and ambiance.

Tags: Historic, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Have dined at Café Mahjaic several times ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Have dined at Café Mahjaic several times. The food never disappoints. Creative, expertly prepared, seasonal specialties plus regular menu items. The $35 fixed-price 4 course dinner is a bargain: smaller portions than regular menu portions, but a chance to have several of the special items all in one meal. Get on their email list to be tempted by their menu descriptions!

Tags: Romantic, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Cafe Majaic is our favorite restaurant- ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Cafe Majaic is our favorite restaurant- the soups are always incredible, the different specials are uniformly fantastic... prefix menu is the best value in this county... and the next.

Tags: Fun, Cozy, Casual, Tasting Menu, Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful caring personal service ... Un ...

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Wonderful caring personal service ... Unique creative menu

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We love Cafe Mahjaic and come often. The ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on September 17, 2016

We love Cafe Mahjaic and come often. Their food is delicious and always fresh!

Tags: Historic, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Organic, Casual, Business Meals, Romantic, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

There are only one waitress and one serv ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on September 15, 2016

There are only one waitress and one server/cleanup to handle the whole restaurant. There also appears to be only one cook. So, don't be in a hurry and plan to relax while your meal comes with some long waits between courses. The presentation was excellent on the Salmon with seasonal vegetables. The meal was large so we didn't have room to order deserts but they did appear to be very good at the other tables. Make reservations, as the wait for a place may be way too long for your empty stomach.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Casual, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

This is a wonderful experience for speci ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on September 15, 2016

This is a wonderful experience for special occasions in an adult atmosphere - not great for kiddos. Don't expect a fast paced dinner but a meal you can enjoy a bottle of wine enjoying. You can order an full entree and salad separately or order a sampling of an appetizer, salad, entree, and dessert for a bit. Small samples (one shrimp for the app) but a good way to have a small four course meal for a bit over $30. We will be back.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

It was very good as always. It is the b ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on September 15, 2016

It was very good as always. It is the best place in town for dinner.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food, very creative, delicious ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on September 9, 2016

Excellent food, very creative, delicious, amazing culinary surprise.

Tags: Historic, Romantic, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is the best restaurant in our rural ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on September 9, 2016

This is the best restaurant in our rural area and usually has beautifully prepared food. This time was a disappointment to me. The bread is cold, tasteless and boring with too little butter. My yellow-tail fish was heavily breaded and greasy, served on boring mashed potatoes. The single cooked carrot was tough. Dessert and coffee were good but it would be nice to have a light choice for dessert -- say sorbet or fresh fruit.

Tags: Cozy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

We tool a Bay Area couple with us who we ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on September 8, 2016

We tool a Bay Area couple with us who were visiting us and are foodies. Our table was perfect, next to a window. Service was outstanding. The four of us opted for the fixed price menu. Each bite, for all of us, was delicious. The timing between plates was perfect. We brought our two bottles of wine as we are wine makers. Your corkage fee is fair $14 per botle. Desserts were lusious! Overall, our guests said they want to return to Cafe Mahjaic next time they visit us! We will!!

Tags: Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Romantic, Historic, Disabled Access, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The chef here is very good a cultivating ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 4, 2016

The chef here is very good a cultivating bold flavors, such as the flavor of my flank steak or the chocolate in the dessert - but less good at subtle flavors - no herb notes in a roasted pepper soup - a 'bourbon whipped cream' with no bourbon flavor, etc.

The service was VERY slow when we were there. It was a holiday weekend - but it took almost an hour to get our appetizers! Wait staff was over worked, didn't refill our drinks until we were ready to go, then spilled water on my foot.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value2

Cafe Mahjiac is always wonderful. Never ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on September 3, 2016

Cafe Mahjiac is always wonderful. Never rushed and with excellent serice. Thier fixed price menu is reasonable and excellent

Tags: Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Authentic, Historic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value5

Wonderful, original historic building, l ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on September 3, 2016

Wonderful, original historic building, located in Lotus, Ca. Good food, great wine, table linens, romantic lighting, knowledgeable and friendly wait staff. Can be crowded, suggest reservations.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Vegan, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Service was excellent, interesting wine ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 27, 2016

Service was excellent, interesting wine list and a well done menu.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Terrific dinner option in rustic and his ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 26, 2016

Terrific dinner option in rustic and historica Sierra foothills.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Historic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Love the "whatever I feel like" soup. T ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on August 21, 2016

Love the "whatever I feel like" soup. The potato leak soup was especially good.

Tags: Fun, Organic, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Everything was fabulous..just wish it wa ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 20, 2016

Everything was fabulous..just wish it was closer to my home!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We should have left when the whole resta ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on August 13, 2016

We should have left when the whole restaurant was empty and we had to wait over 10 minutes after our reservation time to be seated. My husband said lets go but I said lets try a few more minutes. He went and asked one of the staff again and they finally seated us.

Would have been nice if they had removed the extra setting and chair since it was a round table and they had plenty of time. This is supposed to be a nice restaurant so we had different expectations then a local coffee shop.

My husband and I ordered the chefs 4 course meal but our other guests did not. So I asked the waitress if she would please bring the appetizer with our soup/salad course so the other guests didn't have to sit through 4 courses. She told us that wasn't possible everything had to come out in a certain order. I asked her again to please just hold them in the kitchen then and bring out with the salads. However, she still brought them out first. Then another long delay for the salads and another until the meals finally arrived.

My son liked his salmon, his Italian girlfriend played with the pasta but really didn't eat it (I am guessing she didn't like it). My daughter had enjoyed her salad. My risotto was okay and my husband said the same about his Halibut. Neither one of us would order again. They enjoyed our deserts. The bottle of wine we ordered was nice and a good price.

The next night at dinner my husband said to me "can you believe the horrible service? They where so rude". I should have listened to him when he wanted to leave.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

Seated us right on time! Food was absolu ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on August 12, 2016

Seated us right on time! Food was absolutely amazing. The staff knew exactly what to recommend! My favorite part is that the owner is the chef! If you are looking for amazing food this is the spot to go. Not really recommended with children!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Went to Cafe Mahjaic for our anniversar ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on August 8, 2016

Went to Cafe Mahjaic for our anniversary and we had a great meal! We chose the price fixe menu which had lots of choices and was the perfect amount of food for us. The servings are smaller than the regular menu, but you get 4 courses and get to try more dishes.

We had not been to the cafe in 10 years and glad it is still there, going strong! Hope to return again soon!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Everything was great, food, service, and ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on August 5, 2016

Everything was great, food, service, and setting. Would definitely recommend this to all of my friends.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.