About Cafe Mahjaic - Lotus Inn

1006 Lotus Road
Lotus, CA 95651
View Larger Map

Dinners at Cafe' Mahjaic are New American, a mixture of all ethnic backgrounds. All foods, sauces and breads made from scratch daily using naturally raise meats and grains. Fresh fish from the ocean. Organic produce when available.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Wednesday - Saturday: 5:00 PM - 10:30 PM

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(530) 622-9587

Website:
http://www.cafemahjaic.com/

Executive Chef:
John Metropulos

Private Party Contact:
Gina: 5306229587

Additional:
Beer, Corkage Fee, Takeout, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Halibut
  • Chocolate Decadence
  • Coullote Steak
  • Ahi tuna
  • Asparagus Bisque Soup
  • Chocolate Chipotle Prawns
Halibut
Chocolate Decadence
Coullote Steak
Ahi tuna
Asparagus Bisque Soup
Chocolate Chipotle Prawns

Cafe Mahjaic - Lotus Inn Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Food
Sacramento / Sacramento Valley
Best Value
Sacramento / Sacramento Valley
Fit for Foodies
Sacramento / Sacramento Valley
4 More
Romantic
Sacramento / Sacramento Valley
Special Occasion
Sacramento / Sacramento Valley
American
Sacramento / Sacramento Valley
Most Booked
Lotus / Placerville / Camino
Best Restaurants in Lotus ›

Special Occasion (46)
Fit for Foodies (34)
Romantic (31)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (27)
Notable Wine List (15)
Good for Anniversaries (12)
Worth the Drive (11)
Historic (11)
Creative Cuisine (10)
Good for Groups (10)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Good for a Date (8)
Local Ingredients (8)
Cozy (7)
Healthy (5)
Authentic (5)
Fun (4)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Scenic View (4)
Organic (3)
Casual (3)
Kid-friendly (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Seasonal (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Great for Brunch (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Vegan (1)
Business Meals (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Sort By:
Newest
420 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Cafe Majaic is our favorite restaurant- ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 5 days ago

Cafe Majaic is our favorite restaurant- the soups are always incredible, the different specials are uniformly fantastic... prefix menu is the best value in this county... and the next.

Tags: Fun, Cozy, Casual, Tasting Menu, Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful caring personal service ... Un ...

vip
 (Sacramento)
·Dined 6 days ago

Wonderful caring personal service ... Unique creative menu

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We love Cafe Mahjaic and come often. The ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

We love Cafe Mahjaic and come often. Their food is delicious and always fresh!

Tags: Historic, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Organic, Casual, Business Meals, Romantic, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

There are only one waitress and one serv ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

There are only one waitress and one server/cleanup to handle the whole restaurant. There also appears to be only one cook. So, don't be in a hurry and plan to relax while your meal comes with some long waits between courses. The presentation was excellent on the Salmon with seasonal vegetables. The meal was large so we didn't have room to order deserts but they did appear to be very good at the other tables. Make reservations, as the wait for a place may be way too long for your empty stomach.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Casual, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

This is a wonderful experience for speci ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

This is a wonderful experience for special occasions in an adult atmosphere - not great for kiddos. Don't expect a fast paced dinner but a meal you can enjoy a bottle of wine enjoying. You can order an full entree and salad separately or order a sampling of an appetizer, salad, entree, and dessert for a bit. Small samples (one shrimp for the app) but a good way to have a small four course meal for a bit over $30. We will be back.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

It was very good as always. It is the b ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

It was very good as always. It is the best place in town for dinner.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food, very creative, delicious ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Excellent food, very creative, delicious, amazing culinary surprise.

Tags: Historic, Romantic, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is the best restaurant in our rural ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

This is the best restaurant in our rural area and usually has beautifully prepared food. This time was a disappointment to me. The bread is cold, tasteless and boring with too little butter. My yellow-tail fish was heavily breaded and greasy, served on boring mashed potatoes. The single cooked carrot was tough. Dessert and coffee were good but it would be nice to have a light choice for dessert -- say sorbet or fresh fruit.

Tags: Cozy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

We tool a Bay Area couple with us who we ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

We tool a Bay Area couple with us who were visiting us and are foodies. Our table was perfect, next to a window. Service was outstanding. The four of us opted for the fixed price menu. Each bite, for all of us, was delicious. The timing between plates was perfect. We brought our two bottles of wine as we are wine makers. Your corkage fee is fair $14 per botle. Desserts were lusious! Overall, our guests said they want to return to Cafe Mahjaic next time they visit us! We will!!

Tags: Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Romantic, Historic, Disabled Access, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The chef here is very good a cultivating ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

The chef here is very good a cultivating bold flavors, such as the flavor of my flank steak or the chocolate in the dessert - but less good at subtle flavors - no herb notes in a roasted pepper soup - a 'bourbon whipped cream' with no bourbon flavor, etc.

The service was VERY slow when we were there. It was a holiday weekend - but it took almost an hour to get our appetizers! Wait staff was over worked, didn't refill our drinks until we were ready to go, then spilled water on my foot.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value2

Cafe Mahjiac is always wonderful. Never ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Cafe Mahjiac is always wonderful. Never rushed and with excellent serice. Thier fixed price menu is reasonable and excellent

Tags: Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Authentic, Historic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value5

Wonderful, original historic building, l ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Wonderful, original historic building, located in Lotus, Ca. Good food, great wine, table linens, romantic lighting, knowledgeable and friendly wait staff. Can be crowded, suggest reservations.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Vegan, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Service was excellent, interesting wine ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Service was excellent, interesting wine list and a well done menu.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Terrific dinner option in rustic and his ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Terrific dinner option in rustic and historica Sierra foothills.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Historic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Love the "whatever I feel like" soup. T ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Love the "whatever I feel like" soup. The potato leak soup was especially good.

Tags: Fun, Organic, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Everything was fabulous..just wish it wa ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Everything was fabulous..just wish it was closer to my home!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We should have left when the whole resta ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

We should have left when the whole restaurant was empty and we had to wait over 10 minutes after our reservation time to be seated. My husband said lets go but I said lets try a few more minutes. He went and asked one of the staff again and they finally seated us.

Would have been nice if they had removed the extra setting and chair since it was a round table and they had plenty of time. This is supposed to be a nice restaurant so we had different expectations then a local coffee shop.

My husband and I ordered the chefs 4 course meal but our other guests did not. So I asked the waitress if she would please bring the appetizer with our soup/salad course so the other guests didn't have to sit through 4 courses. She told us that wasn't possible everything had to come out in a certain order. I asked her again to please just hold them in the kitchen then and bring out with the salads. However, she still brought them out first. Then another long delay for the salads and another until the meals finally arrived.

My son liked his salmon, his Italian girlfriend played with the pasta but really didn't eat it (I am guessing she didn't like it). My daughter had enjoyed her salad. My risotto was okay and my husband said the same about his Halibut. Neither one of us would order again. They enjoyed our deserts. The bottle of wine we ordered was nice and a good price.

The next night at dinner my husband said to me "can you believe the horrible service? They where so rude". I should have listened to him when he wanted to leave.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

Seated us right on time! Food was absolu ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Seated us right on time! Food was absolutely amazing. The staff knew exactly what to recommend! My favorite part is that the owner is the chef! If you are looking for amazing food this is the spot to go. Not really recommended with children!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Went to Cafe Mahjaic for our anniversar ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Went to Cafe Mahjaic for our anniversary and we had a great meal! We chose the price fixe menu which had lots of choices and was the perfect amount of food for us. The servings are smaller than the regular menu, but you get 4 courses and get to try more dishes.

We had not been to the cafe in 10 years and glad it is still there, going strong! Hope to return again soon!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Everything was great, food, service, and ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Everything was great, food, service, and setting. Would definitely recommend this to all of my friends.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

the food was very, very good. It's our ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

the food was very, very good. It's our favorite place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We read several reviews of this restaura ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

We read several reviews of this restaurant before booking our reservation. The five star reviews were quite accurate. The two or three star reviews were not what we experienced. We liked it so much we booked dinner there the next night(WED &THUR). We had 5:00p.m. res. We dined for 2hr. each night: the service was excellent, attentive but not overbearing. the food was very well prepare and presented, every thing we ordered was delicious. We had the chocolate chipolte prawns and chicken grandmere, shared a house salad and finished with west coast cheesecake (not really a cheesecake to us but very good and light). The second night was Saganaki(app), followed by a Salmon special and the Pork Schnitzel with Spaetzle. We asked to have the fish and pork under-cooked(the way we like our fish and pork done). The waiter said that the pork is cooked "through". The pork came with no pink but was still wonderfully moist and delicious. The salmon was excellent. We ended with their flour-less Chocolate Decadence (if you only order one dessert this is the one!). We also had a bottle of Holly's Hill 2014 Viognier each night. It paired perfectly with each of the entrees. It was soft, flavorful, with a surprisingly long lasting finish. (spoiler alert: we had the last two bottles they had and the winery has no more 2014, they told us so when we called to order a case to bring home to Southern California. The winery said the 2015 has a pineapple undertone.)

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

It was outstanding as always. The best f ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

It was outstanding as always. The best food in El Dorado County, CA. The only comment is that the marinated veggie garnish with the outstanding Saganiki appetizer was spicier than normal, and just a tad too hot for my wife's palate (though not for mine!)

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love this little gem! Food is amazing!! ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

Love this little gem! Food is amazing!! We'll be going back....soon!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Most food served for our group of 4 was ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Most food served for our group of 4 was good. However, we have one serious complaint: the red wine was served well above body temperature which is absolutely unacceptable at a fairly expensive restaurant. We had to put ice cubes in an expensive wine to make it drinkable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Wonderful food but it took 2 & 1/2 hours ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Wonderful food but it took 2 & 1/2 hours to finish, Painfully slow ant the restaurant was not full.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value4

Wonderful food and presentation. Don't ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Wonderful food and presentation. Don't go if you are in a hurry. That is the nice thing about this restaurant. We had the Fixed Menu and the salmon was delicious. Worth the ride to get there!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

. Service good menu OK soup served Luke ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

.

Service good menu OK soup served Luke warm returned too hot to tackle spoon too shallow restroom clean outside veggie good food and sauces fair desserts good will not return

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

Excellent food and ambiance. Service w ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Excellent food and ambiance. Service was nice. However, I asked server to keep bottle of wine chilled. When I got home instead of a pleasant Viognie I got a very stale Chardonnay. Iam not a wine expert but I know the difference it was tacky and disappointing.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Scenic View, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

your our new favorite restaurant, that s ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

your our new favorite restaurant, that should say it all

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

I would really like to give this place a ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

I would really like to give this place a better review. We live close by so they are convenient and I like the ambience and the food.

My big problem with this place is there lack of a hostess. This is the third time we have been to this restaurant and had the same experience.We got there on time for our reservation and sat there for 20 minutes waiting for someone to acknowledge us. With no hostess you have to just stand around waiting for one of the waitresses to notice you. Even after my husband approached a waiter, we still waited. I had to go pitch a minor fit with one of the other waitresses before someone finally acknowledged we were waiting.

This is not a cheap restaurant. They really need to invest in a hostess. This is a recurring problem. I don't intend to go back unless I hear that they have a hostess. Service is important at a restaurant and that is where this restaurant really struggles.

Once we were finally seated, our waitress was quite good. However, we were just about to leave by then after waiting so long.

We wee both really aggravated by then. After a glass of wine, we calmed down, but we don't go out to eat so that we can be annoyed. Even though the food was good, it was overshadowed by our initial wait.

Even if someone had come by and acknowledged we were waiting and said they were busy, it would have been better than being ignored.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

Historic atmosphere with great ambiance. ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Historic atmosphere with great ambiance. We celebrated an anniversary there.

Lots of choices of entrees with special sauces that I would not cook at home.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Service was really poor. It was a new k ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

Service was really poor. It was a new kid on the job.

I ended up clearing my own plates to the kitchen finally.

Usually we have a perfect experience here...

:(

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value4

Each year we come for a family reunion n ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Each year we come for a family reunion near the restaurant and love to come over for dinner. Been doing this for five years and each time we have an enjoyable time with good food served.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Cafe Mahjaic

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

If I have a special occasion, or special guests I want to entertain I always chose Cafe Mahjaic on our side of the American River Canyon...They never fail to impress with service, menu and ambiance. A warm smile upon entry to the sincere thank you upon your exit, I love this restaurant.

Larry J.

Cool, CA

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful Dinner!

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

What a gem this place is! My husband and I enjoyed every bite of our food right down to the creme brûlée. If you are looking for fresh food with a flair definitely try this place you will not be disappointed

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Go to dinner are Cafe Mahjaic

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

We live in the area and were thrilled when Café Mahjaic opened and even more thrilled that we can still enjoy its great food and lovely atmosphere. Not only is the food great but the wine list is super and so reasonable! Make a reservation now!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Amazing, every time!

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on May 30, 2016

The food is amazing and never lets me down it's a little pricey, but worth it! The food the food the the food! Go and enjoy!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Anniversary dinner

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

We go here every month or two. Have always had a great meal. Dana our server was right on when it came to giving us attention and serving our food, which was outstanding and hot. Totally recommend, keep in mind you go to this restaurant to dine, not fast food. Some reviews mention the length of time spent there. If you want a 30 minute meal, go somewhere else.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Disappointed in Pilot Hill

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

I usually love this place, but was extremely disappointed on this occasion. It was a late Mother's Day celebration, and we had taken our 92-year old mother. We had a horrible experience trying to get her into the restaurant with her walker. The air conditioning was not functioning properly, so we were all sweating. The service was almost non-existent - very slow. It took 45 minutes to get butter! My sea bass was overcooked and dry, and others commented negatively on their meals when they finally arrived. I am sad to say I will choose a different location to celebrate my anniversary next week.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.