About Cafe Mahjaic - Lotus Inn

Dinners at Cafe' Mahjaic are New American, a mixture of all ethnic backgrounds. All foods, sauces and breads made from scratch daily using naturally raise meats and grains. Fresh fish from the ocean. Organic produce when available.

1006 Lotus Road
Lotus, CA 95651
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Wednesday - Saturday: 5:00 PM - 10:30 PM

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(530) 622-9587

Website:
http://www.cafemahjaic.com/

Executive Chef:
John Metropulos

Private Party Contact:
Gina: (530) 622-9587

Additional:
Beer, Corkage Fee, Takeout, Wine

Cafe Mahjaic - Lotus Inn Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.3

ambience

4.3

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (25)
Worth the Drive (22)
Good for Anniversaries (21)
See All
Special Occasion (20)
Creative Cuisine (19)
Romantic (18)
Neighborhood Gem (17)
Historic (17)
Fit for Foodies (16)
Quiet Conversation (13)
Good for Birthdays (10)
Cozy (10)
Local Ingredients (9)
Casual (7)
Authentic (6)
Notable Wine List (6)
Tasting Menu (5)
Business Meals (5)
Healthy (5)
Scenic View (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Outstanding Value (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Organic (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Fun (2)
Seasonal (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Dancing (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Fireplace (1)
Family Style (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
505 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 3 days ago

Cafe Mahjaic is in a very historic old building in Lotus, CA (near the gold rush discovery site) and is in an old, historic building that has lots of charm (rustic wood, tall narrow windows, high ceiling, and exposed brick). Pretty romantic atmosphere but noise level is somewhat high. Food is excellent with quite a breadth of offerings...something to satisfy just about any palate.
Our waitress was really friendly and nice but not altogether attentive...didn't put lemon in water in spite of request and didn't bring additional bread when we asked for more dipping olive oil and vinegar. Owner/Chef is a little bit strict...would not add avocado to my wife's salad although we indicated straight up that we were willing to pay extra. Highly recommend the Fix Price option...a real bargain with lots of choices.

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Healthy, Good Vegetarian Options, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined 3 days ago

The web-site clearly states $32 for the fixed price dinner so I reserved this via OpenTable for girls night out which was my treat. Be prepared for an increase to $37 per person and very small presentations. Possibly ordering from the menu the appetizer and desserts are larger; just guessing. I was disappointed they do not list wine by the glass but they do offer it. I should have brought our bottle from the local winery inside and paid the $14 corkage fee. The glass of wine was $15!
The Grilled Prawn and Flour Tortilla appetizer (just one shrimp) is plated with a delicious butter sauce but it’s a very small offering and what flour tortilla? It was a tiny 1 ½” circle cut from a flour tortilla.
Both the Caesar and the house salads were void of their requested dressings (blue cheese vinaigrette and Caesar dressing). The table near us asked and received additional dressing; should have done the same!
The Pork Schnitzel and Coulotte Steak were both delicious and cooked to perfection delivered piping hot.
The desserts, Chocolate Decadence and Crème Brule were satisfactory but not exceptional.

We thought it odd the very pleasant staff never asked if our food was satisfactory; which it was. When repeatedly asked for water, it was brought quickly. A girls’ night is always fun even with some negatives. Mainly because of the price change without notice and the small portions we can’t bring the husbands and it will probably be a long while before we are back. For the Lotus countryside it’s a shame to charge the big city fare but they do fill the place so what the heck.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Everything was wonderful as it always is! I have never been disappointed and I would highly recommend it to anyone.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Historic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 13, 2017

We enjoyed the multi-course meal. As the waiter explained, the portions were smaller than those on the a la carte menu but one can sample a larger selection. While the food was prepared and presented nicely, I felt some of the supplemental flavorings were too overpowering. In some cases, I could taste more vinegar, lemon, basil, or other accents than the main ingredient. I would suggest a more delicate cookie to accompany the chocolate decadence. The one I was served was tough rather than "short."

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on May 11, 2017

We tried three different entrees. All were excellent. Service was good. Probably could use another waitress/waiter. Ambience is OK but nothing special. This is our third time--and we will be back. Lovely experience!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Cafe Mahjaic never disappoints! We had guests visiting us from the Bay Area we knew they would enjoy the country setting and wonderful ambiance and food. They raved about it afterwards. It is so nice to have a restaurant of this quality near our home.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Food was good but the service was awful. It took 45 minutes to get first course of soup. Waiting wouldn't have been so bad but the waiters were ignoring all tables, not refilling water or bread and we couldn't even flag them down for more wine. We saw them peering through the kitchen window avoiding customers. We would have loved to try dessert but we were so worried it could take another hour that we passed on it. Too bad because dinner was impressive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 7, 2017

After an hour and a half we still had not gotten our food so we left - it was a COMPLETE WASTE OF MY TIME to drive there, wait, not get food, and then have to drive into Placerville for dinner at a local diner that DIDN'T TAKE 1 1/2 HOURS. I had to mark something on food quality for your ratings - I put 1 star but really don't know bc we never saw our dinner

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 30, 2017

We were first timers and completely loved the food and atmosphere. I wish they had some outdoor seating for when the weather is nice. We will definitely come again.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 30, 2017

We have eaten at Cafe Mahjaic many times and never had a disappointing meal. The food is excellent. On this particular occasion, we were served by Angie. She provided excellent service, making our experience even better.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options, Local Ingredients, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Everything was Amazing!!! From the service to the prawn appetizer, tomato basil soup, swordfish, pasta, espresso creme brulee! Fabulous...

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Cafe Mahjaic sparkles as the neighborhood good eats Gem, Enjoy.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 20, 2017

We have been to Cafe Mahjaic several times - on this visit the service was no where as good as it has been in the past.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Food was awful. Sauces tasted of vinegar and were likely past the date, based on our physical response afterword. Pretentious little servings with the four course meal. The sauteed kasseri cheese did not taste of bourbon and was presented on sliced tomatoes; uninspired and disgusting.

Only two other tables, but the food came out painfully slow. The chef's ego was put on display without even being in the room.

I would not recommend to anyone for any occasion, other than drinking wine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Seriously the tastiest food, and one of the best places to dine. I'm so glad we found it. We plan on coming once a week when we move here.
Eric and Julie

Tags: Family Style, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Authentic, Sunday Lunch, Late-night Find, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 6, 2017

From start to finish a wonderful experience and meal. A gem in the foothills.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Good little spot. Make a reservation as it seemed to fill fast.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on March 24, 2017

My husband and I were staying in the area for just one night and looking for a good restaurant. Found Cafe Mahjaic while searching online. The chef's credentials nailed it. The food was excellent and our server (D?) was wonderful - very charming and personable. The only downside for dinner when it is dark outside is the lighting. Not very good consistently throughout the room. We were sitting in one of the darker spots and could hardly read the menu. This restaurant is located in a very old and historic building so perhaps that explains it, but do recommend the chef/owner investing in better lighting! Thank you.

Tags: Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Historic, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Great tucked away dining experience - great food with unique styling.

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Outstanding Value, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on March 18, 2017

I always enjoy dinner at Café Mahjaic. Had the sea bass special and it was great. The tasting menu allows you to have four small courses, and this is good because I don't like to miss their flourless chocolate decadence! It happened that it wasn't real busy that night and the noise level was low and the service level was very attentive.

Tags: Organic, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Casual, Good Vegetarian Options, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Pre Fixe menu always a great choice!
Fun Gold Rush Era atmosphere!!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Historic, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Moved to Cool recently, so Lotus is in the neighborhood. Great ambiance and service. The fixed price menu was worth it. Filled up on Friday evening, so recommend a reservation. Will be back!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on March 6, 2017

Great meal, as usual. But the temp was a little too cool for us, and older people should not sit right next to the radio (music).

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Great food and service in an unassuming location. What a wonderful find !

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Husbands meal was good
My soup was too spicy & was not described as such my meal had beans with fish
They were a poor choice to pair with &
Undercooked

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 19, 2017

My wife and I go to Cafe Mahjaic for most special occasions. Food is consistently good, atmosphere is consistent and making and managing your reservation is very easy. Their Prix Faire is reasonable and tasty. I highly recommend the experience to my friends.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Excellent service, menu selection and food! We enjoyed our dining experience at Cafe Mahjaic so much! I highly recommend this establishment for a special occasion, date night or friend get together.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Our dinner was excellent as usual. We took our neighbors, who had never been there before, and they loved. it. We also ran into friends there, it was their first time dining there, and they also loved it. A good time and excellent meal was enjoyed by all.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Romantic, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We have dined at Café Mahjaic a number of times and always fine the food and tastes outstanding and the service always perfect.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 13, 2017

We have had dinner many times here, every month or two and each time is very good. Some might call it slow food service, I would call it dining in a no rush environment. Usually dinner is 1.5 hours or so. Allows time for appetizers, wine and main course. Nice wine list.

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Excellent .always enjoyable. Great food, great staff. Top notch service.

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 12, 2017

IT HAS BEEN MY PLACE FOR MY WIFE AND I TO CELEBRATE OUR WEDDING PROPOSAL. JOHN & GINA ARE SUPERB HOSTS AND THE FOOD IS ALWAYS FANTASTIC!

Tags: Authentic, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Historic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Food is carefully crafted, delicious, and lovely. Service is thoughtful and charming. I've traveled and dined in 20+ countries and am always happy to return to my favorite, Cafe Mahjaic-Lotus Inn.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 2, 2017

We love this place for special occasions due to costs but the taste of the food has so many layers of flavor - incredible!

Quality is spectacular and we love it even more because we eat organic food only.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Organic, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 29, 2017

An extra special dinning experience. Very well prepared food. Nice selection of wine and beer in an old gold country authentic setting

Tags: Historic, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Very nice meal. $$$ Dinner for four. Three bottles of wine with 2 corkage fees over $300.

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Cafe Mahjaic is a lovely little restaurant in a remodeled old historic building. It boasts fine cuisine and a pleasant smaller venue ambiance. I dined with my companion and another couple who had varied opinions about the food, value, etc. The other couple and myself were quite pleased with the quality and variety of food. We thought it was well prepared and nicely presented. My companion however had a different opinion. He claimed his food was overseasoned, not salty but way too many herbs and spices. He felt his appetizer salad in addition to his entree were overseasoned and he did not much enjoy them. He also felt the meals were somewhat overpriced. This is why I had to lower my rating a little bit. But 3 out of 4 of us were quite pleased overall. All agreed that the service was outstanding. Ambiance lacked a little since the dining room is very open and tables spaced a bit close together. Noise level was average for a weeknight, not excessive but not too quiet. I can see where it could get noisy if a lively party of 6 or more was seated in the dining room.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Paleo Friendly, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Food had good flavor but too much emphasis on presentation, ridiculously small portions. I didn't like spending $100 for just my wife and I and leaving hungry. Won't be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 21, 2017

this is our third time enjoying the exceptional creative food options. Our waitress was again remarkably attentive and responsive to our needs, especially to those of my wife who has a very restricted diet that often precludes her from enjoying fine food. It is definitely a special occasion place, not only because of its costs but because it provides a memorable meal and experience.

Tags: Authentic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 1, 2017

As usual, a delightful dining experience. A wonderful way to ring in the New Year with good friends and good food. New Year's Eve 2017. Thank you Chef John, Gina, and Kaela who is wonderful plus the entire staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.