Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.28mi
  3. Distance: 0.40mi
  4. Distance: 0.44mi
  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.28mi
  3. Distance: 0.40mi
  4. Distance: 0.44mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.28mi
  3. Distance: 0.40mi
  4. Distance: 0.44mi
  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.28mi
  3. Distance: 0.40mi
  4. Distance: 0.44mi

About Cafe Lurcat - Minneapolis

TOP 50 RESTAURANTS, TOP 10 FOOD: Minneapolis/St. Paul Magazine
TOP TEN RESTAURANTS / Mpls St Paul Magazine
BEST SUMMER PATIOS / City Pages Summer Guide
BEST BURGERS / Mpls St Paul Magazine
BEST WINE BAR / City Pages “Best of the Twin Cities”
TOP TEN WINE LISTS / Food and Wine
WINE ENTHUSIAST / Award of Distinction
BEST BURGERS / Silver Spoon Award, Minnesota Monthly
THE HOT FIVE: PATIOS / Star Tribune
WHERE TO EAT / New York Magazine
BEST IN REAL ESTATE / Business Journal
DINER'S CHOICE / Mpls St Paul
BEST OF THE TWINCITIES / City Pages
TOP 50 RESTAURANTS: TOP 10 FOR FOOD / Minneapolis St. Paul Magazine

Sweeping views of Loring Park, innovative American food, a captivating bar featuring 200+ wines with 30 by the glass make this venue a complete destination. Open every evening. Reservations Recommended.

1624 Harmon Place
Minneapolis, MN 55403
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Comfort Food, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Café Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 11:00pm, Sunday- 5:30pm - 9:00pm
Bar: Sunday-4:30pm-10:00pm, Monday - Thursday: 4:30pm - 11:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:30pm - 12:00am

Cross Street:
Maple

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(612) 486-5500

Website:
http://www.cafelurcat.com/

Parking Details:
Lurcat Valet $9.00 cash at curb, metered street parking, MCTC Ramp on Hennepin- fee varies, Loop Lot on the corner of Maple and harmon $6.00 cash available

Executive Chef:
Jordan Swiler

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Celebrate Mother's Day with Cafe and Bar, Lurcat 9:00am-3:00pm. A delicious Family Style menu will be served. $30 per adult, $12 per child (12 and under). Kids can also join us a our Easter craft table.


Specials

DATE NIGHT 3 courses for $50.00 per couple

Sundays from 5:00 PM - 9:00 PM

Happy Hours

Special valid Jul 10, 2017 - Nov 10, 2017 all week from 4:30 PM - 6:30 PM

Specials

DATE NIGHT 3 courses for $50.00 per couple

Sundays from 5:00 PM - 9:00 PM

Details

DATE NIGHT 3 courses for $50.00 per couple. Excludes Tax and Tip. NEW DATE NIGHT SPECIAL! 3 courses for $50.00. 50% off bottled wine under $100. Special valid Jul 10, 2017 - Nov 10, 2017 on Sundays from 5:00 PM - 9:00 PM.

Happy Hours

Special valid Jul 10, 2017 - Nov 10, 2017 all week from 4:30 PM - 6:30 PM

Details

$5 Beer & House Drinks/$6 Wine/$7 Mixed Drinks 4:30 - 5:30 Happiest Hour $5 Appetizers. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Jul 10, 2017 - Nov 10, 2017 all week from 4:30 PM - 6:30 PM.

Private Dining

Cafe and Bar Lurcat offers many private dining spaces and both the Cafe and Bar are available for private functions. Space for groups of over 10 can also be reserved in the bar area. Please take the 360 virtual tour at www.cafelurcat.com to view these beautiful eclectic spaces.

Cafe Lurcat - Minneapolis Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (109)
Good for a Date (102)
Fit for Foodies (78)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (76)
Creative Cuisine (72)
Scenic View (63)
Romantic (57)
Good for Birthdays (51)
Neighborhood Gem (47)
Notable Wine List (47)
Worth the Drive (41)
Good for Groups (39)
Hot Spot (35)
Fun (34)
Handcrafted Cocktails (34)
Pre/post Theatre (34)
Bar Seating (33)
Business Meals (31)
Great for Outdoor Dining (30)
Happy Hour (30)
Vibrant Bar Scene (27)
People Watching (25)
Quiet Conversation (24)
Cozy (21)
Authentic (21)
Casual (20)
Comfort Food (16)
Seasonal (15)
Sunday Lunch (13)
Modern Decor (13)
Open Kitchen (12)
Great for Brunch (12)
Local Ingredients (11)
Tasting Menu (10)
Healthy (10)
Historic (9)
Great for Lunch (9)
Late-night Find (8)
Kid-friendly (7)
Family Style (6)
Private Room (5)
Great Beer (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Waterfront (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Spicy (3)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Organic (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Tapas (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Sort By:
S
3039 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 2 days ago

Excellent as usual!!! The ambiance is amazing and so is the food.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Late-night Find, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Sunday Lunch, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

Food was amazing and so was the wait staff. Definitely recommend for special occasions.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 3 days ago

Was great but there were flies flying around. Which was annoying when you're trying to enjoy a nice dinner inside. The manager noticed and he gave us our drinks for free. Which was very kind of him.

Tags: People Watching, Paleo Friendly, Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 4 days ago

We decided to give it a try for Restaurant Week. I liked what I saw in pics and the reviews. We weren't disappointed. We thought the ambiance, service and food was delicious. My glass of wine was a little pricey though, I had the larger pour. We will definitely be back regardless. Loved our table by the window!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (London)·Dined 5 days ago

It was my first time dining here. The service was friendly and professional, although I did feel like they were rushing us. They took dinner and drink orders at the same time, so I didn't get to enjoy a glass of fizz or a cocktail while looking at the menu.
The dessert arrived within seconds of our mains being cleared. We were then brought the bill without us asking for it. I had to ask if I could see a drinks menu for an after dinner brandy. We were never offered coffees.
Perhaps I'm being too critical, but when the food is that expensive you have great expectations. This was a special occasion and I wanted everything to be perfect. The food was tasty, but not amazing. Really. The salmon was dull. The dessert way too rich and sweet. And VERY slim pickings for vegetarians. The wine was great, however! And the Sunday night date night deal (50 bucks per couple with 50% off wine) was really good. The ambience and look of the restaurant are both excellent.
I would go again, but would lower my expectations of the food.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 5 days ago

I love the ambiance in Café Lurcat, but not the air conditioning! It is a good value on Sundays when the restaurant offers a "date night" menu. Otherwise it can get pricey.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 5 days ago

Cafe Lurcat had excellent service and the food was delicious!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 6 days ago

Excellent food, great waitress and perfect ambiance!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Hot Spot, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 6 days ago

The food and ambiance were both excellent as always.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 6 days ago

really wonderful in every respect. Accommodating service - we changed tables no prob. great food, beautifully presented. lovely al fresco dining. all good.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Seasonal, Good Vegetarian Options, Spicy, Afternoon Coffee, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 6 days ago

Excellent food and attentive service. xxxxxxxxxxxx

Tags: People Watching, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Special Occasion, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Terrific Twin Cities gem and a memorable dining experience in all respects!

Tags: Bar Seating, Fun, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 12, 2017

Pot roast came out luke warm and they forgot to bring part of our order. Other than than it was a good evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 10, 2017

Bar food menu was really good. The hanger steak sucked. Took over an hour to finally get food. Service was slow. Everyone was nice though. Great atmosphere and view of park. Nice interior.

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Casual, Fun, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 9, 2017

We enjoyed Cafe Lurcat so much we dined there two Sunday eves in a row on an 8-day vacation to Minneapolis this summer. The restaurant is gorgeous and large, but still feels cozy and warm. It sits on the edge of beautiful and green Loring Park (near downtown) and the large picture windows allow views of the gorgeous trees and happy dog-walkers and bicyclists enjoying the park. The staff is first-rate, and the food is to die for – from appetizers to entrees to their fabulous desserts. We enjoyed their $50 per couple Sunday dinner special, twice! For the quality of food and the ambiance, that deal can't be beat. I oredered their hangar steak with garlic mashed potatoes, and it was the best steak of any cut I've ever had, tender and succulent, and my wife's Korean barbequed salmon with ginger scallion and black rice was phenomenal. For dessert, she had a melt in your mouth green tea pavlova with key lime crema, hibiscus syrup and berries that was better even than it sounds. I had their salted milk chocolate bar (soft like a mousse) with puffed rice and hazelnuts and I thought I would ascend to heaven. Truly the best meals we've had in years --and worth a trip back to Minneapolis!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Happy Hour, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 9, 2017

Four of us experienced Date Night which for a set menu had a wide selection of starters, main courses, and deserts. We bought a bottle of wine we wouldn't usually do, but at 1/2 price it begged us to try it. The food was artistically presented by attentive servers and staff.
I'll go back for sure!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 9, 2017

This restaurant continues to amaze me with their food, service, kindness, ambiance, over all greatness!

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Quick Bite, Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Organic, Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Romantic, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Authentic, Healthy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Food is always great BUT was very disappointed that bar menu was not available other than burger fries and the patio was not available to anyone because of a private party in bar area and kitchen had to prepare for the large party. We should have been told when making reservation

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 8, 2017

We LOVE Lurcat!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Beautiful presentation! Seabass was the best ever!!!

Tags: Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, People Watching, Fun, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Great Beer, Local Ingredients, Sunday Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Scenic View, Great for Brunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 8, 2017

We were disappointed... there was a wedding in the front of the restaurant and on the patio. We were hoping to sit outside. Plus, when you came into restaurant you felt like you were intruding on wedding a bit. Then we were informed they we not offering the bar menu. (Small plates).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 8, 2017

In town for the Basilica Block party and wanted to try something new. Great food and service and once a month they change a section of their menu to a new country! Be prepared to spend some money.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Cafe Lurcat is, and continues to be, one of my favorite restaurants in the twin cities. The sea bass is my all time favorite entree, but you can't go wrong with any menu selection. The apple salad is a wonderful starter and the cauliflower is a perfect side dish. Last but not least, the mini donuts are a must have. if you are full, take a bag home for the next day.

We hosted a grooms dinner a Cafe Lurcat a number of years ago. The private room was the perfect size for our group. And again, the service and food were wonderful.

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Scenic View, Healthy, Authentic, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Everything was good besides the salty scallops. Service great as usual.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 6, 2017

The Miso glazed sea bass is everything is worthy of being a "signature" dish. Don't miss it, or the Apple cheese salad!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on July 3, 2017

The restaurant offers excellent food with outstanding service. The place has two sides, the bar which is more noisy but great for a get together or an afternoon drink and the restaurant which is quieter and allow a beautiful view of the Park. Highly recommended.

Tags: Seasonal, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Organic, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Authentic, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 3, 2017

My fourth visit here and as always was great. Party of four and we had the sea bass, pot roast, pork tenderloin, and orecchietti with lamb sausage. All great flavor and fresh. The pork tenderloin was good, but I would rank it last of those four dishes. The roasted carrots are awesome and the cauliflower was very good. The crab cake for a starter was awesome. And no matter how full you are order the donuts for dessert! We took ours to the Walker Art Institute across the street and ate them on a bench people watching outside. This is a great place and I'll be back. Oh yeah, if you like Gin, try their special drink called the Maserati.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Authentic, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Austin)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Had a wonderful meal. Our waiter was very attentive and may have been new to the business. When asked a specific question is was clear that he wasn't very familiar with the wine list and couldn't really describe the dishes the staff delivered the food hot and the waiter came around to check on us so definitely a team effort.
We arrived 15 minutes early with hopes to sit at the bar for a bit but a wedding party that took up the entire bar area so we had to sit outside and wait for our table which was rather disappointing

Tags: Hot Spot, Healthy, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Never disappoints! Great service and atmosphere. One of my favorite places!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 1, 2017

The food was amazing, cocktails were great and the doughnuts were phenomenal. Already made reservations for another dinner!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Wonderful all around. One of our favorite places. Miso Sea Bass out of this world!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fun, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Vibrant Bar Scene, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 30, 2017

One of my favorites in Minneapolis. Consistently great food and service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 29, 2017

Great atmosphere and delicious, creative menu! Apple, chive and cheese salad was great and the scallops were very well done!

Tags: Bar Seating, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 29, 2017

There were 8 of us in our 25 years old anniversary club outing (4 celebrations per year). The service was exceptional, no unnecessary jabber and very efficient and timely. We all agreed the food was great, which is rare for us. Great view of the park, clean and neat setting. The only negative issue, ambient noise was rather loud. Music from speakers with a cranked up base didn't help. I think there are to many hard (noise reflecting) surfaces. Again, the service was great (thanks Loretta) and the food simply amazing.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 29, 2017

I reserved a table for six, and eight showed up, but the hostess was very accommodating and friendly and seated us at a better table. 3 of us had the chicken schwarma which was delicious, and the salad with the candied pecans and pears. I forgot what the five others had but there were no complaints and everybody was happy.

Tags: Good for Groups, Casual, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 26, 2017

Great meal always excellent service

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 26, 2017

I am always disappointed at Lurcat, and inevitably it is the service. For what the place is, the service should be outstanding. But the times I have been here, it always feels dismissive. I have twice been there when business was slow, but yet we are always flagging down a waiter. In both instances there was a subtle snobbishness that I cannot quite place, but that has to be in the hiring. The food is good, but it is not, in fairness, great, or as good as next door at 4 Bells. But it is a lovely bar to sit at, and the outdoor space is divine. It is a shame they can't up their game.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Never been disappointed! Great for special occasions or just a very nice meal. Service and food are spectacular!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Good food and service, but the air conditioning was too cold, specially when the outside temperature was in the 50's. God portion sizes

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Perfect food and experience. I have nothing negative to say.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.