Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.28mi
  3. Distance: 0.40mi
  4. Distance: 0.44mi
  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.28mi
  3. Distance: 0.40mi
  4. Distance: 0.44mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.28mi
  3. Distance: 0.40mi
  4. Distance: 0.44mi
  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.28mi
  3. Distance: 0.40mi
  4. Distance: 0.44mi

About Cafe Lurcat - Minneapolis

TOP 50 RESTAURANTS, TOP 10 FOOD: Minneapolis/St. Paul Magazine
TOP TEN RESTAURANTS / Mpls St Paul Magazine
BEST SUMMER PATIOS / City Pages Summer Guide
BEST BURGERS / Mpls St Paul Magazine
BEST WINE BAR / City Pages “Best of the Twin Cities”
TOP TEN WINE LISTS / Food and Wine
WINE ENTHUSIAST / Award of Distinction
BEST BURGERS / Silver Spoon Award, Minnesota Monthly
THE HOT FIVE: PATIOS / Star Tribune
WHERE TO EAT / New York Magazine
BEST IN REAL ESTATE / Business Journal
DINER'S CHOICE / Mpls St Paul
BEST OF THE TWINCITIES / City Pages
TOP 50 RESTAURANTS: TOP 10 FOR FOOD / Minneapolis St. Paul Magazine

Sweeping views of Loring Park, innovative American food, a captivating bar featuring 200+ wines with 30 by the glass make this venue a complete destination. Open every evening. Reservations Recommended.

1624 Harmon Place
Minneapolis, MN 55403
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Comfort Food, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Café Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 11:00pm, Sunday- 5:30pm - 9:00pm
Bar: Sunday-4:30pm-10:00pm, Monday - Thursday: 4:30pm - 11:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:30pm - 12:00am

Cross Street:
Maple

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(612) 486-5500

Website:
http://www.cafelurcat.com/

Parking Details:
Lurcat Valet $9.00 cash at curb, metered street parking, MCTC Ramp on Hennepin- fee varies, Loop Lot on the corner of Maple and harmon $6.00 cash available

Executive Chef:
Jordan Swiler

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:


Specials

DATE NIGHT 3 courses for $50.00 per couple

Sundays from 5:00 PM - 9:00 PM

Happy Hours

Special valid Jul 10, 2017 - Nov 10, 2017 all week from 4:30 PM - 6:30 PM

Specials

DATE NIGHT 3 courses for $50.00 per couple

Sundays from 5:00 PM - 9:00 PM

Details

DATE NIGHT 3 courses for $50.00 per couple. Excludes Tax and Tip. NEW DATE NIGHT SPECIAL! 3 courses for $50.00. 50% off bottled wine under $100. Special valid Jul 10, 2017 - Nov 10, 2017 on Sundays from 5:00 PM - 9:00 PM.

Happy Hours

Special valid Jul 10, 2017 - Nov 10, 2017 all week from 4:30 PM - 6:30 PM

Details

$5 Beer & House Drinks/$6 Wine/$7 Mixed Drinks 4:30 - 5:30 Happiest Hour $5 Appetizers. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Jul 10, 2017 - Nov 10, 2017 all week from 4:30 PM - 6:30 PM.

Cafe Lurcat - Minneapolis Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.7

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (100)
Good for a Date (97)
Fit for Foodies (83)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (80)
Romantic (66)
Creative Cuisine (58)
Scenic View (53)
Neighborhood Gem (52)
Good for Birthdays (48)
Notable Wine List (44)
Great for Outdoor Dining (42)
Hot Spot (37)
Good for Groups (37)
Worth the Drive (37)
Business Meals (35)
Fun (35)
Handcrafted Cocktails (34)
People Watching (33)
Pre/post Theatre (32)
Bar Seating (30)
Happy Hour (30)
Quiet Conversation (29)
Vibrant Bar Scene (26)
Casual (24)
Authentic (21)
Local Ingredients (21)
Cozy (20)
Seasonal (16)
Comfort Food (14)
Healthy (14)
Sunday Lunch (11)
Tasting Menu (11)
Late-night Find (9)
Great for Lunch (8)
Quick Bite (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Great for Brunch (5)
Organic (5)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Afternoon Coffee (4)
Great Beer (3)
Waterfront (3)
Kid-friendly (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Spicy (2)
Tapas (2)
Live Sports (1)
Sort By:
S
3110 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 3 days ago

As usual,my guest and I were met with the warmth and welcome that I expect and appreciate.
From the manager,to our head waiter,the kitchen,and support staff,a big thank you!Well done!
It has been my repeated experience,that the Cafe Lur Cat has strived to make my dining memorable and pleasing!Please keep up the great work!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 4 days ago

Dinner was wonderful! We will return when we can!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, People Watching, Scenic View, Romantic, Good for a Date, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 4 days ago

very very good food. attentive, but not obtrusive, service. AMAZING dessert.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Fun, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined 5 days ago

Overall a very good experience, majority of food was very flavorful. Service was great, the rating of a 4 for overall and food is due to (in my opinion) not an overly adventurous menu for the foodie/chef type. Great ambiance, great/friendly service, good food, and a bit loud for only being 3/4 full restaurant when we dined.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 5 days ago

The service was excellent. I would go back based on service alone. The food was even better. Absolutely incredible food. At first I was worried cuz the menu didn't have a lot on it, but that didn't matter because they seem to have perfected every thing they make.

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 6 days ago

We went to Cafe Lurcat with our neighbors. We shared the ginger fried rice for an appetizer. I was unbelievably delicious. And the main course... The Hanger steak was fabulous. The pot roast was fabulous. The Sea Bass was fabulous. I can hardly wait to go back!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 7 days ago

We celebrated special birthday, and service was very slow. We got our first drink after 40 min. Tuna tartare was good, but all the vegetables were very, very salty, the side spinach was uneatable! We didn't want to ruin the celebration by addressing it during dinner, but all of who've been in this restaurant before were very disappointed!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Always a very pleasant time. This is probably the only truly superb, consistent and reliable 'upper tier' restaurant left in MPLS.

Tags: Scenic View, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Great food, excellent service. Love all of their foods...

Tags: Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Excellent, classically prepared food. High priced but worth it. Had pot roast in wine sauce. It tasted like Beef Bourgogne with some the best mashed potatoes I've ever tasted. Our entire table loved every entree and side we ordered. Going here is not mistake, definitely a good choice but an expensive one.

Tags: Authentic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 9, 2017

My wife and I have date night every Saturday night.
We went to Cafe Lurcat and they told us about their patio.
We did go to the patio and loved it.
Love the food ambiance and unique foods they have specially recommend the cauliflower.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Business Meals, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 8, 2017

Great dinner - hangar steak with carrots/root veggies and cauliflower amazing! Relaxing ambiance.

Tags: Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 7, 2017

Fast service, incredible food, fantastic staff! This my personal favorite restaurant in the entire world! Highly recommend!

Tags: Healthy, Afternoon Coffee, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Late-night Find, Happy Hour, Scenic View, Cozy, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 6, 2017

Their Sea Bass was the best I have ever eaten. Very large restaurant so tables were not smashed together. Nice interior but a little noisy which I personally don't mind. Our waiter and the overall service was very good - I'm not giving it excellent as we waited a little longer than we should have to have our entree dishes cleared. It was very busy so that is somewhat understandable but still . . . I ordered a cake from them which was beautiful and delicious. I would highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on September 4, 2017

Hands down the best restaurant in Minneapolis on all accounts

Tags: Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Organic, Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal, People Watching, Fun, Authentic, Good for Groups, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Loved our romantic anniversary evening with great food, service and ambiance! A favorite place in summer and winter with views of Loring Park!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 3, 2017

We are from NYC and had booked off of your reviews. We added four people and changed our time at the last minute and the staff could not have been more gracious.
The food and wine selection was excellent and each of our meals was great. Our server was both enthusiastic and knowledgeable about the food. Almost wished I lived in Minneapolis so that we could go back. If you live in Minneapolis, give this place a try.

Tags: Good for Groups, Tapas, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 2, 2017

We had a wonderful meal here on a busy Friday night. We hosted some family and friends -- one of our guests brought along another guest and the restaurant was so gracious in adding another seat for us. Our server was outstanding. He made great recommendations, was able to offer insight into the menu and wine list. The food was very well prepared, inventive, but not SO avant garde that our Minnesota family couldn't find something they wanted ;) We would certainly dine here again. Would be just as great for a date night as for a good. Lovely setting with tall windows over looking Loring Park.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 31, 2017

Cafe Lurcat never disappoints! New Tokyo Voyager menu is awesome along with the regular menu. Apple salad in the fall will be amazing. Fries of course, extra hot, and the great executive chef Jordan, always there to oversee service. So nice!

Tags: Scenic View, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Business Meals, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 30, 2017

Birthday celebration and as always Cafe Lurcat did not let us down. The sea bass was fantastic!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 30, 2017

Great from start to finish. Knowledgeable server, good food, ate outside. My husband had sea bass and I had salmon. We split them. The portions were good, enough but not overwhelming. The weather was perfect. Really enjoyed it. Will definitely go back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 27, 2017

We love their Sunday Night Date Night special! Food and service is outstanding!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 26, 2017

Fantastic as usual.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 24, 2017

The food was delicious and the atmosphere was inviting and unique.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 21, 2017

Lurcat has a "Voyages" menu that this month features Israel. The shaksukah and the labneh dessert were to die for. I am hoping I can get back before they go off the menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 21, 2017

We went for their Sunday night "date night" special. A three course meal for $50 per couple. Delicious food in a lovely atmosphere overlooking Loring Park. A great value!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
·Dined on August 21, 2017

The Sunday night Date Night menu is a tremendous deal, plus half off bottles of wine! Highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Had a great Sunday night "date night" dinner at Cafe Lurcat. We sat on the back patio which was so charming on a summer evening. We enjoyed a couple awesome bottles of Rose wine and ordered from their Sunday night/date night menu. The food was delicious as usual (we had the Korean BBQ salmon, the hanger steak, the apple salad as a starter). Can't wait to go back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 19, 2017

The food is amazing here. The chef is fantastic. The service isn't good, but the food makes it worth it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value2

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Food ~ as always wonderful. Outdoor dining beautiful and the service outstanding!
Thanks so much!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Authentic, Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 19, 2017

As always enjoyed the food, service, cocktails and ambiance! We had a table for 10 and the noise level was low that allowed us to easily have conversations (I bet we were the loudest noise...).
Enjoyed a miso seabass, ginger fried rice, oyster, risotto, apple chive salad . Food was scrumptious.

Tags: Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 19, 2017

Apple/cheese salad always a favorite. Miso Sea bass wonderful. Scallops, salmon and steak good. Lovely evening on their outdoor patio.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 19, 2017

We really enjoyed our pre-theater dinner and Ken gave us excellent service. We will be back.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 16, 2017

This was a disappointing experience. I asked for a reserved table by the windows for a week night over two weeks prior and was told they would try. The day of the event I called again to confirm the reservation and window seating. When I arrived with my party on time, there was a table by the window with a reserved sign, but I was told we must sit in the middle of the room. The server was good as well as the food, but I don't feel fairly treated by management.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on August 15, 2017

Sat out on the patio and had a great dining experience.

Tags: Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 15, 2017

I am a big fan. Great location. Great food. Good wine list. Service was very good but a little slow because of some large groups that night.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 14, 2017

As always, the food at Lurcat was amazing! We love the apple cheese and chive salad and the sea bass. Our server was fantastic. We will definitely continue to dine at Lurcat!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 13, 2017

My boyfriend surprised me by taking me here for my birthday as I wanted to go for awhile. I heard such great things about Cafe Lucrat, so I was crushed that it didn't quite meet the mark. The tone was set by the fact that we were forgotten for 20 minutes by wait staff after being seated outside. After finally flagged down a waitress we were treated a bit cooly. The one saving grace was the food. We order the tuna tartare as a starter- highly recommend. My boyfriend had the Korean Salmon (not for those who don't enjoy spice, he loved) and I took the Halibut from their Voyage to Israel menu. As we ended up being short on time, no birthday dessert was had for me and we had to rush out of there to make a movie. While we enjoyed our experience, I was disappointed that it wasn't quite as good as other's experienced. We'll hopefully try again in the future and sit inside next time.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 13, 2017

The ambience, service, and food were all phenomenal! Will definitely come back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 12, 2017

I feel like our server could've been a bit more attentive. I feel like our little table got lost in the crowd. The service was quite slow. It didn't ruin our experience or anything, because sometimes service can be too fast, especially at a high end restaurant when you're spending so much money.

Tags: People Watching, Fun, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Live Sports
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.