About Cafe Lurcat - Minneapolis

1624 Harmon Place
Minneapolis, MN 55403
View Larger Map

TOP 50 RESTAURANTS, TOP 10 FOOD: Minneapolis/St. Paul Magazine
TOP TEN RESTAURANTS / Mpls St Paul Magazine
BEST SUMMER PATIOS / City Pages Summer Guide
BEST BURGERS / Mpls St Paul Magazine
BEST WINE BAR / City Pages “Best of the Twin Cities”
TOP TEN WINE LISTS / Food and Wine
WINE ENTHUSIAST / Award of Distinction
BEST BURGERS / Silver Spoon Award, Minnesota Monthly
THE HOT FIVE: PATIOS / Star Tribune
WHERE TO EAT / New York Magazine
BEST IN REAL ESTATE / Business Journal
DINER'S CHOICE / Mpls St Paul
BEST OF THE TWINCITIES / City Pages
TOP 50 RESTAURANTS: TOP 10 FOR FOOD / Minneapolis St. Paul Magazine

Sweeping views of Loring Park, innovative American food, a captivating bar featuring 200+ wines with 30 by the glass make this venue a complete destination. Open every evening. Reservations Recommended.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Comfort Food, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Café Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 11:00pm, Sunday- 5:30pm - 9:00pm
Bar: Sunday-4:30pm-10:00pm, Monday - Thursday: 4:30pm - 11:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:30pm - 12:00am

Cross Street:
Maple

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(612) 486-5500

Website:
http://www.cafelurcat.com/

Parking Details:
Valet & street parking available

Executive Chef:
Adam King

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Cafe Lurcat - Minneapolis
Warm Cinnamon-Sugar Donuts
Apple Cheese & Chive Salad
Hanger Steak
Orange Passionfruit Pavlova
Chocolate ice cream
French Fries
Spice Market Cocktail
Eiffel Tower Sparkle
Spicy King Crab Tartelettes With Fruit Salsa
Grilled Hanger Steak
Beef Tenderloin with Onion Sauce
Beef Carpaccio
Creekstone Farm's Hanger Steak
Lurcat Crab Cake
Triple Chocolate Cream Cake
Roasted Boneless Half Chicken with Gremolata Butter
Fork And Knife
New York Strip Steak
Fried Rice
Lorem Sipsum Cocktail
Small plates
Berkshire Pork Tenderloin
Latte
Day Boat Sea Scallops
Sorbet With Berries And Citrus Wafers
Passion Fruit Crepe
Asian Tuna "Pizza"
French Bread And Salted Butter
Housemade Udon Noodles With Chinese Barbecue Chicken
Apple & Cheese Salad
Strawberry Crostata
Salad With Apple And Goat Cheese
Raw Vegetable Salad
Pan-Seared Pork Tenderloin

Promotions

Three Course Prix Fixe Meal for $50.00

Sundays from 5:00 PM - 9:00 PM

Promotions

Three Course Prix Fixe Meal for $50.00

Sundays from 5:00 PM - 9:00 PM

Details

Three Course Prix Fixe Meal for $50.00. Excludes Tax and Tip. NEW DATE NIGHT SPECIAL! 3 courses for $50.00. 50% off bottled wine under $100. Special valid May 22, 2016 - Sep 18, 2016 on Sundays from 5:00 PM - 9:00 PM.

Private Dining

Cafe and Bar Lurcat offers many private dining spaces and both the Cafe and Bar are available for private functions. Space for groups of over 10 can also be reserved in the bar area. Please take the 360 virtual tour at www.cafelurcat.com to view these beautiful eclectic spaces.

Cafe Lurcat - Minneapolis Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Contemporary American
Minneapolis - St. Paul
Most Booked
Minneapolis - St. Paul
Best Ambiance
Twin Cities / Minneapolis
2 More
Contemporary American
Twin Cities / Minneapolis
Most Booked
Twin Cities / Minneapolis
Best Restaurants in Downtown / North Loop ›

Special Occasion (159)
Fit for Foodies (143)
Romantic (118)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (94)
Scenic View (83)
Good for Groups (74)
Notable Wine List (68)
Hot Spot (61)
Great for Outdoor Dining (60)
Vibrant Bar Scene (39)
Great for Brunch (22)
Late-night Find (18)
Great for Lunch (12)
Kid-friendly (2)
Sort By:
Newest
2475 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Our food was prepared with excellent ing ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined 3 days ago

Our food was prepared with excellent ingredients, creativity and care. Everything we ate was delicious! This is the kind of restaurant in which one puts trust in the kitchen and simply enjoys. The serving staff was attentive and friendly, obviously well schooled.

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Healthy, Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Good Vegetarian Options, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

I love Cafe Lurcat and the servers are a ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined 3 days ago

I love Cafe Lurcat and the servers are amazing. I also have had several special occasions celebrated here as it's my favorite restaurant and they make you feel so special when you dine with them.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Afternoon Tea, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Business Meals, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a wonderful experience at Cafe Lu ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined 3 days ago

We had a wonderful experience at Cafe Lurcat. Great food, relaxed and attentive service, excellent wine options amidst a lovely patio seating. My wife and I both enjoyed excellent pork dishes with grilled cauliflower, that was amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

While I had a great time at the restaura ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined 3 days ago

While I had a great time at the restaurant with a group last week - I would recommend to the management and wait staff giving dinners who are so enthralled in conversation and the dining experience a gentle reminder that the restaurant is closing. My party was so into our conversation that only after a few mean glares from the wait staff did we realize the restaurant had cleared out around us. Call us unaware New Yorkers, as we're used to all night dinners that start at 9pm - I did think the staff could have been a bit more tactful in letting us know the restaurant was closing.

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

A return to this favorite restaurant was ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined 3 days ago

A return to this favorite restaurant was a bit disappointing. The food was amazing, the service was indifferent. We had to go track down our waiter to pay the bill, and he was absent for long periods. Unfortunate when paying over $400 (including Uber rides) for a meal for three.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2

Cafe Lurcat is our go-to for amazing foo ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined 4 days ago

Cafe Lurcat is our go-to for amazing food, terrific service and a memorable overall night out.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Our waiter was great and our food was fa ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 4 days ago

Our waiter was great and our food was fantastic

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We will be going back, and recommending ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 4 days ago

We will be going back, and recommending to friends!

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Open Kitchen, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, ambience, service. Best sea ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined 5 days ago

Great food, ambience, service. Best sea bass I have ever had. I don't normally like broccoli, but their broccoli was the best

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was not as good as expected. No ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

The food was not as good as expected. Not sure if I came on a bad day or what, but I wasn't a fan. Things were over salted and over sweetened and I didn't think it was worth the money.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value1

The sea bass is amazing!!!! Their Apple ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

The sea bass is amazing!!!! Their Apple straw salad is unique and wonderful.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic, Scenic View, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service, food was exceptional,

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Great service, food was exceptional,

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great service & food. Everyone in our pa ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Great service & food. Everyone in our party of 11 was happy. We went on a Sunday night & all had the couples meal which included several choices of a 3 course dinner for $50 per couple.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was excellent, the service outs ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

The food was excellent, the service outstanding! Will definitely be back.

Tags: Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Beautiful outdoor space. We had a lovel ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Beautiful outdoor space. We had a lovely dinner with our girls before they head back to college.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

We were visiting Minneapolis with our da ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

We were visiting Minneapolis with our daughter and had dinner at Café Lurcat on the recommendation of a friend. Excellent choice. Our meal was excellent (love the sea bass), the service was unobtrusive but at the ready and the overall experience was first rate. Highly recommended for an upscale, white table cloth, foodie experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

My wife and I absolutely love Cafe Lurca ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

My wife and I absolutely love Cafe Lurcat. It never disappoints. Great service, terrific ambiance and reliable, always great food. The sea bass is melt in your mouth good. Loved the zucchini. We like to get the donuts and bring them home -- they are great warmed up in the microwave the next morning.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Excellent dinner; decent wine choices. S ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Excellent dinner; decent wine choices. Service slow and not very inattentive. Slow to clear the table. Had to ask about filling our wine from our bottle .

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

Always enjoy dining here. Everything is ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Always enjoy dining here. Everything is done perfectly and with a smile.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and great service!! We sat ou ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Great food and great service!! We sat outside and thoroughly enjoyed the entire evening!!

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Date night on Sunday's is a great deal. ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Date night on Sunday's is a great deal. Everything was fantastic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great service, even better food. This is ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Great service, even better food. This is definitely a place that I would bring someone for a birthday/anniversary/first time in the city, you name it, really... The dining room is usually much calmer than the bar area, but the bar is really great if you want a livelier atmosphere. If you have any problems, the management is good about handling them. Quality overall.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4

While there were some good bites, as a w ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

While there were some good bites, as a whole the food was undercooked, over salted, and kind of a mess. If the best thing I can say out of the meal was that they have good French fries, then it was not worth the final bill. I would not go back after this meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2

Excellent Food.

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Excellent Food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful restaurant. The food was outs ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Wonderful restaurant. The food was outstanding and the service fabulous! We will be back!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wait staff was fabulous. Outside seating ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Wait staff was fabulous. Outside seating in back was perfect. Each course was delicious. Perfect evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

As usual Cafe Lucrat deliver the best fo ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

As usual Cafe Lucrat deliver the best food and service in the entire Twin Cities. Our server lars was very attentive and professional and culinary team rock. Thank you.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We travel and dine out often. Cafe Lurca ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

We travel and dine out often. Cafe Lurcat was one of the best meals, with the best service, that we have had in a long time. Apple & cheese salad is fabulous. The sea bass melts in your mouth. Friendly, attentive staff with delicious fare is their winning combination. We give this restaurant our unconditional best recommendation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good experience. The menu was a little ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Good experience. The menu was a little "predictable" but the execution was good.

Missed small things i.e. sharing appetizers didn't include enough crostini for one

piece per guest. Waiter was knowledgeable, and helpful. Good vibe for late night

reservations (9pm) Hanger steak was excellent.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

I was in Minneapolis visiting a dear fri ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

I was in Minneapolis visiting a dear friend this past weekend and my boyfiend, a former Minnie resident highly recommended your restaurant. We couldn't have been more in heaven and thankful for the recommendation! Service was excellent (our server Tyler was awesome!) We sat outside (it was a lovely evening weather-wise so we didn't want to pass that up!)

Miso Glazed Sea Bass -- 'nuff said. Melt in yo mouth greatness!! Wow doesn't even begin to describe it.

Thank you for such a wonderful, memorable experience! I will definitely be back and plan on recommending to others who will be in the area :)

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The two steak eaters at our table were o ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

The two steak eaters at our table were overjoyed with the prep and taste of their meat! The roasted cauliflower - a favorite of ours was great as usual and the app special, octopus salad, was fabulous! We loved the Heist and the Maserati cocktails too. Service, Brent was our server, was wonderful, everyone was very attentive and had good recommendations. Not an inexpensive restaurant but oh so worth the final tab!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Went there for my 30th birthday with som ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Went there for my 30th birthday with some family and we all had delicious meals and great service. Will definitely recommend and return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food, sea bass is one of the best! ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Great food, sea bass is one of the best! Really liked the cocktail list, we tried a few, very good. Loved the out door patio. Perfect birthday dining experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a pleasure to spend time at Lurca ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Always a pleasure to spend time at Lurcat! Sea Bass never disappoints and even the veggies are wonderful. Service is exceptional as always.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Love the food and the service.....Only c ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Love the food and the service.....Only complaint was that the bread was not warm...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It was a fantastic experience! The staf ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

It was a fantastic experience! The staff was super friendly and the drinks were amazing. It's been about 4 years since I have last been there, but it definitely will be sooner this time! Definitely recommend for any special occasion!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Cafe Lurcat never disappoints for food a ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

Cafe Lurcat never disappoints for food and service, and their Sunday date night special is a great deal.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always love dining here. Their Sunday "d ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

Always love dining here. Their Sunday "date night"

Promotion has to be the best fine dining value in the Cities .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Watch and double check your bill at the ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Watch and double check your bill at the end of the night! It was 1/2 price wine night but that is not what came on our bill. Although the server corrected it, when dining with friends sometimes it is easy to toss a few credit cards down and just split the bill. Check for errors first. Food was excellent but not being able to trust an accurate bill left a bad taste. Mistakes happen and this got resolved.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value2

The date night menu is a great value. T ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

The date night menu is a great value. The service we had that night was impeccable. We will be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.