About Cafe Lurcat - Minneapolis

1624 Harmon Place
Minneapolis, MN 55403
View Larger Map

TOP 50 RESTAURANTS, TOP 10 FOOD: Minneapolis/St. Paul Magazine
TOP TEN RESTAURANTS / Mpls St Paul Magazine
BEST SUMMER PATIOS / City Pages Summer Guide
BEST BURGERS / Mpls St Paul Magazine
BEST WINE BAR / City Pages “Best of the Twin Cities”
TOP TEN WINE LISTS / Food and Wine
WINE ENTHUSIAST / Award of Distinction
BEST BURGERS / Silver Spoon Award, Minnesota Monthly
THE HOT FIVE: PATIOS / Star Tribune
WHERE TO EAT / New York Magazine
BEST IN REAL ESTATE / Business Journal
DINER'S CHOICE / Mpls St Paul
BEST OF THE TWINCITIES / City Pages
TOP 50 RESTAURANTS: TOP 10 FOR FOOD / Minneapolis St. Paul Magazine

Sweeping views of Loring Park, innovative American food, a captivating bar featuring 200+ wines with 30 by the glass make this venue a complete destination. Open every evening. Reservations Recommended.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Comfort Food, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Café Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 11:00pm, Sunday- 5:30pm - 9:00pm
Bar: Sunday-4:30pm-10:00pm, Monday - Thursday: 4:30pm - 11:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:30pm - 12:00am

Cross Street:
Maple

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(612) 486-5500

Website:
http://www.cafelurcat.com/

Parking Details:
Valet & street parking available

Executive Chef:
Adam King

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Cafe Lurcat - Minneapolis
Eiffel Tower Sparkle
Grilled Hanger Steak
Sautéed Jumbo Asparagus
Chilean Sea Bass
Grapefruit Drop
Warm Cinnamon-Sugar Donuts
Apple Cheese & Chive Salad
Hanger Steak
Orange Passionfruit Pavlova
Chocolate ice cream
French Fries
Spice Market Cocktail
Spicy King Crab Tartelettes With Fruit Salsa
Beef Tenderloin with Onion Sauce
Beef Carpaccio
Creekstone Farm's Hanger Steak
Lurcat Crab Cake
Triple Chocolate Cream Cake
Roasted Boneless Half Chicken with Gremolata Butter
Fork And Knife
New York Strip Steak
Fried Rice
Lorem Sipsum Cocktail
Small plates
Berkshire Pork Tenderloin
Latte
Day Boat Sea Scallops
Sorbet With Berries And Citrus Wafers
Passion Fruit Crepe
Asian Tuna "Pizza"
French Bread And Salted Butter
Housemade Udon Noodles With Chinese Barbecue Chicken
Apple & Cheese Salad
Strawberry Crostata
Salad With Apple And Goat Cheese
Raw Vegetable Salad
Pan-Seared Pork Tenderloin

Private Dining

Cafe and Bar Lurcat offers many private dining spaces and both the Cafe and Bar are available for private functions. Space for groups of over 10 can also be reserved in the bar area. Please take the 360 virtual tour at www.cafelurcat.com to view these beautiful eclectic spaces.

Cafe Lurcat - Minneapolis Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Contemporary American
Minneapolis - St. Paul
Best Overall
Twin Cities / Minneapolis
Best Ambiance
Twin Cities / Minneapolis
1 More
Contemporary American
Twin Cities / Minneapolis
Best Restaurants in Downtown / North Loop ›

Special Occasion (131)
Fit for Foodies (115)
Romantic (104)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (76)
Notable Wine List (64)
Scenic View (64)
Hot Spot (57)
Good for Groups (56)
Great for Outdoor Dining (50)
Vibrant Bar Scene (29)
Good for a Date (23)
Good for Anniversaries (19)
Creative Cuisine (18)
Late-night Find (14)
Good for Birthdays (11)
Bar Seating (10)
Great for Brunch (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Business Meals (8)
Great for Lunch (7)
Worth the Drive (7)
Fun (6)
Open Kitchen (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
People Watching (5)
Local Ingredients (4)
Historic (4)
Authentic (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Casual (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Healthy (3)
Cozy (2)
Seasonal (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Private Room (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Vegan (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Organic (1)
Sort By:
Newest
2507 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We requested to be seated in the bar and ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined 3 days ago

We requested to be seated in the bar and our table overlooked Loring Park which was lovely. The place was lively and we experienced attentive service from the moment we checked in to be seated, and throughout the dining experience. Our server was knowledgeable of the food and wine choices and we weren't disappointed with any of her recommendations. Bar Lurcat was the perfect place to celebrate our wedding anniversary!

We will definitely be back!

Tags: Romantic, Comfort Food, Hot Spot, Seasonal, Fun, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Date night with my husband. Server reco ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined 4 days ago

Date night with my husband. Server recommended oysters to start. Served beautifully and tasted even better. Apple cheese chive salad was unexpectedly full of flavor and was fun to eat. Chilean sea bass with miso was heaven on a plate and for my palate. My husband enjoyed the ribeye. This was also aesthetically appealing. Dishes we tried which we would pass on in the future were the zucchini with dill and key lime dessert. These two just didn't sing like the other items. We had a window table overlooking the park. It did get a bit loud in there as the night went on but it would not steer us away in the future. The service was impeccable. Brett did an amazing job describing the menu and made excellent wine suggestions. I forgot my coat and another server rescued it got it to me before we departed. Valet services were great, too. Everyone was friendly and made us feel welcome. We will come back again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food, great ambiance, great views ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined 5 days ago

Great food, great ambiance, great views onto Loring Park - a little loud, but worth it.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We asked if they did something special f ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

We asked if they did something special for a 45th anniversary and they said yes.

What they gave us were the mini donuts to take home, not so special, dry the next day. We had been to another restaurant where they had made a baked Alaska for us, did not expect that much, but the mini donuts were not much of a good gesture. We were not made to feel too special for this occasion.

The cauliflower was very salty, sent it back and they gave us another just as salty.

Sorry, have to be honest, have a not so good review.

Tags: Scenic View, Tasting Menu, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Food at this Mpls. staple is so underrat ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Food at this Mpls. staple is so underrated. Sea Bass is one of the best menu items in the Twin Cities. Friends had the hangar steak and raved about it as well. I find myself going here more and more often because of it's consistency and YUM factor.

Tags: People Watching, Good for Groups, Casual, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing food served by a courteous staff ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Amazing food served by a courteous staff in a beautiful restaurant. What more could you want? Great for foodies. The beef carpaccio and smoked salmon are to die for.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Hot Spot, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent food from appetizer to dessert ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Excellent food from appetizer to dessert and the service was perfect.

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Sea Bass is is the best I have had, and ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

Sea Bass is is the best I have had, and I have ordered it many times in different states. The price fit the meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

I have been making dinner plans at Cafe ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

I have been making dinner plans at Cafe Lurcat for the better part of the last decade and it has never disappointed. Both the bar and dining room are spacious and on separate sides of the building. There is also a room that can be used for private events with a view of Loring Park. The menu is has with something for all palates and everything I have eaten there has been solid to outstanding. The seabass is their signature dish as are the mini donuts everyone should order for dessert. Whatever your occasion, date night, social gathering, or business, this restaurant has you covered.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Lurcat date night offers delicious, well ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Lurcat date night offers delicious, well-prepared three-course meals at a great value in a comfortable, upscale fine-dining restaurant.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Organic, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Gluten Free Options, Authentic, Business Meals, Outstanding Value, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Six friends dined during date night! A w ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Six friends dined during date night! A wonderful value with a good choice of foods to choose from.

Tags: Scenic View, Historic, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Outstanding Value, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Nice location/, but the food was overcoo ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Nice location/, but the food was overcooked (steak and tuna), and the service was very slow. I expected more for the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

I had an absolutely amazing time at Cafe ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

I had an absolutely amazing time at Cafe Lurcat on Sep 9th, 2016. I thought that the service was unbelievable. Our reservations were for 8:00 but our table wasn't ready until 8:30 and the chef offered free appetizers. The food was absolutely fantastic and the cocktails were unbeatable. I would definitely go again!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service and food. It was a birthda ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

Great service and food. It was a birthday celebration and we were surprised with a tray of donuts with a candle.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

The food was awesome! The sea bass was j ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on September 6, 2016

The food was awesome! The sea bass was just as the server described. Our overall experience was great. The only thing that could have made it better would have been if our server was about more polished. She was a bit rushed and klunky at times. We had to ask for the rest of our bottle of wine which they kept chilling in a central location. I would definitely go back and would not hesitate to recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Best food in Minneapolis. The sea bass i ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

Best food in Minneapolis. The sea bass is dreamy , and the apple chive salad is to die for!! Always our favorite place to dine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was the only time that our server d ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

This was the only time that our server did not do a good job. She did not check back with us and we were waiting to order more wine. Minimal service from her.

We love date night and have always had good food and good service. We have brought several there for Date Night and they are return customers.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value5

Overall, Cafe Lurcat is one of my favori ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Overall, Cafe Lurcat is one of my favorite restaurants, but it is time to change up the "date night" menu, so we can try other entrees!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We have had a dinner club with one other ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

We have had a dinner club with one other couple for the past 10 years. We alternate choosing a different restaurant every month and try not to repeat visiting the same restaurant. Lurcat is definitely one that we will repeat and repeat. Fantastic sea bass, tuna and lamb pasta.

Tags: Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were there for dinner at 6pm, early, ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

We were there for dinner at 6pm, early, before the Revolution Concert at 1st Avenue. The food was great as always. The service was quick, professional and unobtrusive. Superb. However, our particular server was OUTSTANDING. He was a dream. Charming, polite, funny, responsive, available and not 'on top of us'... truly fabulous - all three of us ladies were loving it. We agreed he was the best server we've had in some time and we eat out A LOT!!!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was very delicious, but quite e ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

The food was very delicious, but quite expensive for what it was. Nice ambiance. Good service.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Excellent food, service, ambience, and l ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

Excellent food, service, ambience, and location. We had hanger steak and sea bass of which both were excellent.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Sea Bass and roasted cauliflower were th ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

Sea Bass and roasted cauliflower were the standouts!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Vibrant Bar Scene, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Took advantage of the date night menu an ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 29, 2016

Took advantage of the date night menu and had a wonderful meal with great service. Portions are slightly smaller on the special menu but we ordered an additional vegetable as a side and left full and happy.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

We sat on the patio and had a very nice ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 29, 2016

We sat on the patio and had a very nice "Date Night" dinner with a half priced bottle of wine. I ordered an Au Bon Climat and the waitress tried the wine at my request. We will be back soon, we love the food and the staff.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was another great experience The onl ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

It was another great experience The only issue is noise!

We will try to create seating next time to help with

that issue.

Other than that, we need to come back soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food, very slow service. Date Night ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Good food, very slow service. Date Night is great value.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good Vegetarian Options, Paleo Friendly, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Fantastic Date night and wonderful servi ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Fantastic Date night and wonderful service and wine list rocks!!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food and exceptionally attentive, s ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Good food and exceptionally attentive, smooth, friendly service!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Ate outside in the alley patio. What a ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Ate outside in the alley patio. What a charming space. Food was wonderful, as usual. Nice way to celebrate a friends birthday.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Late-night Find, Good Vegetarian Options, Open Kitchen, Quiet Conversation, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Still one of the best restaurants in Min ...

vip
 (Omaha)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Still one of the best restaurants in Minneapolis. Barrett was an awesome server. The only hiccup in this night was the Halibut was slightly over cooked but still delicious! Love this place.

Tags: Fun, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, People Watching, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Wonderful dining experience.

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

Wonderful dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Our food was prepared with excellent ing ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

Our food was prepared with excellent ingredients, creativity and care. Everything we ate was delicious! This is the kind of restaurant in which one puts trust in the kitchen and simply enjoys. The serving staff was attentive and friendly, obviously well schooled.

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Healthy, Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Good Vegetarian Options, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

I love Cafe Lurcat and the servers are a ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

I love Cafe Lurcat and the servers are amazing. I also have had several special occasions celebrated here as it's my favorite restaurant and they make you feel so special when you dine with them.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Afternoon Tea, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Business Meals, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a wonderful experience at Cafe Lu ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

We had a wonderful experience at Cafe Lurcat. Great food, relaxed and attentive service, excellent wine options amidst a lovely patio seating. My wife and I both enjoyed excellent pork dishes with grilled cauliflower, that was amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

While I had a great time at the restaura ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

While I had a great time at the restaurant with a group last week - I would recommend to the management and wait staff giving dinners who are so enthralled in conversation and the dining experience a gentle reminder that the restaurant is closing. My party was so into our conversation that only after a few mean glares from the wait staff did we realize the restaurant had cleared out around us. Call us unaware New Yorkers, as we're used to all night dinners that start at 9pm - I did think the staff could have been a bit more tactful in letting us know the restaurant was closing.

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

A return to this favorite restaurant was ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

A return to this favorite restaurant was a bit disappointing. The food was amazing, the service was indifferent. We had to go track down our waiter to pay the bill, and he was absent for long periods. Unfortunate when paying over $400 (including Uber rides) for a meal for three.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2

Cafe Lurcat is our go-to for amazing foo ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Cafe Lurcat is our go-to for amazing food, terrific service and a memorable overall night out.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Our waiter was great and our food was fa ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Our waiter was great and our food was fantastic

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We will be going back, and recommending ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

We will be going back, and recommending to friends!

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Open Kitchen, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.