About Cafe Lurcat - Minneapolis

1624 Harmon Place
Minneapolis, MN 55403
View Larger Map

TOP 50 RESTAURANTS, TOP 10 FOOD: Minneapolis/St. Paul Magazine
TOP TEN RESTAURANTS / Mpls St Paul Magazine
BEST SUMMER PATIOS / City Pages Summer Guide
BEST BURGERS / Mpls St Paul Magazine
BEST WINE BAR / City Pages “Best of the Twin Cities”
TOP TEN WINE LISTS / Food and Wine
WINE ENTHUSIAST / Award of Distinction
BEST BURGERS / Silver Spoon Award, Minnesota Monthly
THE HOT FIVE: PATIOS / Star Tribune
WHERE TO EAT / New York Magazine
BEST IN REAL ESTATE / Business Journal
DINER'S CHOICE / Mpls St Paul
BEST OF THE TWINCITIES / City Pages
TOP 50 RESTAURANTS: TOP 10 FOR FOOD / Minneapolis St. Paul Magazine

Sweeping views of Loring Park, innovative American food, a captivating bar featuring 200+ wines with 30 by the glass make this venue a complete destination. Open every evening. Reservations Recommended.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Comfort Food, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Café Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 11:00pm, Sunday- 5:30pm - 9:00pm
Bar: Sunday-4:30pm-10:00pm, Monday - Thursday: 4:30pm - 11:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:30pm - 12:00am

Cross Street:
Maple

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(612) 486-5500

Website:
http://www.cafelurcat.com/

Parking Details:
Valet & street parking available

Executive Chef:
Adam King

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Promotions

Three Course Prix Fixe Meal for $50.00

Sundays from 5:00 PM - 9:00 PM

Promotions

Three Course Prix Fixe Meal for $50.00

Sundays from 5:00 PM - 9:00 PM

Details
Three Course Prix Fixe Meal for $50.00. Excludes Tax and Tip. NEW DATE NIGHT SPECIAL! 3 courses for $50.00. 50% off bottled wine under $100. Special valid May 22, 2016 - Sep 18, 2016 on Sundays from 5:00 PM - 9:00 PM.

Private Dining

Cafe and Bar Lurcat offers many private dining spaces and both the Cafe and Bar are available for private functions. Space for groups of over 10 can also be reserved in the bar area. Please take the 360 virtual tour at www.cafelurcat.com to view these beautiful eclectic spaces.

Cafe Lurcat - Minneapolis Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Minneapolis - St. Paul
Romantic
Minneapolis - St. Paul
Contemporary American
Minneapolis - St. Paul
4 More
Best Ambiance
Twin Cities / Minneapolis
Romantic
Twin Cities / Minneapolis
Contemporary American
Twin Cities / Minneapolis
Most Booked
Twin Cities / Minneapolis
Best Restaurants in Downtown / North Loop ›

special occasion (180)
fit for foodies (159)
romantic (145)
See All
scenic view (113)
neighborhood gem (91)
good for groups (84)
notable wine list (69)
hot spot (54)
vibrant bar scene (51)
late-night find (35)
great for outdoor dining (34)
great for brunch (26)
great for lunch (15)
kid-friendly (4)
Sort By:
Newest
2363 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

We sat outside which was lovely. The ser ...

Dined 5 days ago

We sat outside which was lovely. The service was very good and the food was also good. We ordered off the bar menu as the main dinner menu was just too pricey. The 2 small chicken sandwiches I got for $8.50 were tasty and along with the very good basket of french fries, was filling enough. $10 for french fries is a lot though in my book, but they were very good. ; -)

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything was amazing! Our waiter was s ...

vip
Dined 5 days ago

Everything was amazing! Our waiter was spectacular and the food was incredible!

food5
ambience5
service2
value5

date nigh

Dined on May 15, 2016

we walked into a date night menu which was a nice surprise. We added on an app and potato side. Food was all around great. We had several lulls in our service. One in between our salad and dinner and a very long one before our desert.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lovely food, presentation and service. W ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Lovely food, presentation and service. We love date night!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service4

Really great dinner! Wished I lived in ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Really great dinner! Wished I lived in Minneapolis, I would eat here often! Great decor and ambience. Service good. Food was great. Great fish and scallops, better than our usual fare on the East coast. How is this possible? Five stars.

food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Wonderful, attentive service. Sea bass w ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

Wonderful, attentive service. Sea bass was a little overcooked, scallops were great, cheesecake was quite small. Rather expensive but good for special occasions, nice ambiance.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

New mixed group!

Dined on May 13, 2016

We had a dinner out with a new mix of friends from all different places and jobs and careers. and it was a hit at Lurcat I'm glad we chose there to be our date night and we're left with perfect service and perfect peace to visit and get to know each other better thank you for a memorable evening

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

One of the best dinning experience I hav ...

Dined on May 10, 2016

One of the best dinning experience I have ever had, from the moment you walk in till you leave. I would highly recommend Cafe Lurcat to everyone!!

food5
ambience5
service5

We came later in the evening about 9 pm ...

Dined on May 10, 2016

We came later in the evening about 9 pm and although quiet, the food and service were spectacular.

food5
ambience4
service4

Sea bass. Hangar steak. Mushrooms. Dough ...

Dined on May 9, 2016

Sea bass. Hangar steak. Mushrooms. Doughnuts. Delicious.

food2
ambience2
service4
value2

This is one of my favorite restaurants i ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

This is one of my favorite restaurants in Minneapolis. Amazing and creative food and great service. The drink menu is full of great tasting and innovative mixed concoctions.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Obsessed

Dined on May 8, 2016

Best ambience, food, hospitality, and overall feel of any restaurant in Minneapolis. The bar area is a must.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

It was an excellent evening.

Dined on May 7, 2016

Dinner was excellent. Our party consisted of 4 individuals. We each had a different entree and each one was delicious. The service was great as well. We'll be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Enjoyable meal, nice view

Dined on May 6, 2016

Went to Lurcat for a pre-theater dinner. We had mushroom/brie app which was delicious, BLT salads which were tasty (although surprisingly light on lettuce and heavy on bacon), dessert and wine. Service was attentive but not intrusive, my ideal combination. Sat at a window and enjoyed looking out at a lovely evening in Loring Park.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

OK....this place totally rocked. I had ...

vip
Dined on May 2, 2016

OK....this place totally rocked. I had amazing fresh oysters, phenomenal sea bass and really really perfect service. What a great experience.

food5
ambience5
service5

We were there for their Sunday date nigh ...

Dined on May 1, 2016

We were there for their Sunday date night special. It was an amazing deal and all of the food was delicious.

food4
ambience1
service2
value2

Not worth it

Dined on May 1, 2016

We had a good meal, but the noise level was literally unbearable. We are people who enjoy civilized conversation, not shouting matches. The aperitif was slow in coming. The worst was the valet service. The young men running the show served the young people first and left us standing there for over 30 minutes awaiting delivery of our car. We live in the neighborhood and will let all of our condo dwellers know how lousy was the service. We have had good experiences before, but on the basis of this disaster, we will never go there again.

Tags: scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Consistently fabulous!

vip
Dined on April 30, 2016

We enjoyed a scrumptious "date night". The roasted cauliflower is always a hit - and the wine list gave us several choices. One of our favorite spots!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Hard to Beat

vip
Dined on April 24, 2016

Our daughter chose this restaurant to go to celebrate her 21st birthday, and I wouldn't be surprised if our raves from a former visit influenced her decision to go back to Cafe Lurcat. We ordered almost the identical food as we did the first time we were here- the Chilean sea bass, the fries, the potroast- all supremely prepared and delicious! Of course, it helped that the bar serves a drink called the Maserati ......then our daughter could tell her friends she got one for her birthday.😉

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

This was the best place I've been to for ...

Dined on April 24, 2016

This was the best place I've been to for great seafood in downtown Minneapolis

food3
ambience3
service4

Our party ordered different starters and ...

Dined on April 24, 2016

Our party ordered different starters and mains. No one was particularly thrilled or raved about selections. This was surprising considering the group behind this restaurant which is known for excellent food. The wine selections are being changed and the list was somewhat useless for bottles we chose. The by the glass option became our path. We were probably more disappointed than not with the dinner. It is good that our company was good; otherwise the night may have been better at a more moderately priced restaurant in Minneapolis. Even the "sweets" to close the night we fraught with "I'm sorry, we don't have the beverage pairing". You can get as good of food for 30-50% less in downtown Minneapolis which would put this restaurant on the "ok" list for me.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome service and food

Dined on April 23, 2016

Found this place on Google and the reviews were really good. Tried it out and it was just as they said. Services is spot and food is exceptional. Food is a little on the high side but well worth it.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service1
value2

Great Place but waiter was irritated with us.

Dined on April 22, 2016

I met with 3 other friends that I hadn't seen in 30 years. It was a very special occasion. I wanted a quieter place that we could sit and talk and re-connect which is why I chose this place. It was perfect for that. We all ordered at least 2 drinks except the driver. We all ordered salads. You could tell the waiter (Ethan) was a bit irritated that we took a long time to figure out what we wanted and that we didn't order more. It was almost like he was scolding me when I ordered my salad and he said in an irritated voice "don't you want some chicken or some salmon or some steak?!!" I said "sure I'll take some Salmon". And someone else ordered the chicken with the salad. Our bill for 4 came to just over $200. I felt uncomfortable that Ethan was irritated with us because we didn't spend more money so that he could make more money. His tip was $40 but I am guessing that he is use to more. Sorry Ethan, I know you need to make money. Would have been 5 stars if the prices were a bit lower and the waiter wasn't so frustrated with us.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service4
value1

Just ok

Dined on April 22, 2016

It was our 20th anniversary, and based on the days plans, we had to have an early (6pm) reservation. We ended up sitting in the bar area, which was fine. It was VERY loud with what seemed to be private parties gathered about 15 feet from us near some couches. It was ok, not too bad but occasionally we couldn't hear one another. The service was great - our server was Brandon or something close to that and he really did a great job throughout the meal. The folks keeping the table clear and filling the water glasses were non-stop and efficient. The food was ok at best. We wanted a starter salad but the salad selections were awful. Is it to much to actually have some type of lettuce as the main ingredient? I ended up ordering the BLT salad (minus the bacon) and got red onion slices on top of no flavor tomatoes on top of iceberg lettuce. not even close to great and not even close to the $12 or $14 I paid. My husband got the beet salad and he said it was just ok, but again, very small and not worth the price. We went though for the sea bass - we've had it here before. when it was brought out it smelled VERY fishy. I know, it's fish, but I'm one of those people that don't like my fish to smell like fish. So, ok, let's see how it looks and tastes - ok. the glaze or whatever is on the fish was very sweet - too sweet for me. My husband had the same experience. Not a memorable experience in my opinion - or more a memory of "I'd never go back for that". We also ordered broccoli to share - this place is ALL ala carte - so expect to pay outrageous prices for basic things like broccoli - $16. I'm not opposed to paying for a good meal, but it has to be good, and this was ok at best. End of the day I couldn't say I'd go back nor recommend this restaurant.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Friday Night Special

Dined on April 22, 2016

Our Server was excellent as was the food. We had some of the house specialties, the pot roast and the apple/cheese salad.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Upscale Occasion!

Dined on April 21, 2016

My husband and I visited Cafe Lurcat in April of 2016 for our wedding anniversary. We were so impressed with the level of service and attention to our table - the staff made us feel like family. Every table was full (it was a Wednesday evening) and the energy level was great. My husband had the roasted chicken (huge and phenomenal), and I had the sea bass. So tasty! Areas for opportunity: We had to wait 15 minutes for our valet to bring our car after the meal, and it is pretty pricey! Not affordable for us except for very special occasions. Great job Cafe Lurcat!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Delectable food

Dined on April 19, 2016

My first trip to the Lurcat was a pleasant surprise. The service staff was very attentive and knowledgeable. The most outstanding highlight was the food, clearly prepared by a "chef," not just a "cook." All our selections were mouth-wateringly delicious. The only thing I'd like to know is how to correctly pronounce the name of the restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

Food Excellent; Service Fair

Dined on April 18, 2016

There were 7 of us at the table. We started with appetizers which were very good and then our salads, also good. Then came the main courses, all of which were excellent. However this is why the rating was not higher. The server forget to ensure that our vegetables were served. We ordered 4 different dishes and none of them came right away. After speaking to another waiter, a couple of the dishes showed up, but several of us had already finished the main course. On top of that, the wrong vegetables were sent, and by then everyone was done with their dinner. The disappointing thing, was that the server never stopped by to make sure that our meals were satisfactory and see if everything was delivered as ordered. If so, we would have caught the problem in time. In fairness to the manager, she was determined to make it right, so there was a huge discount taken off of the total bill. Actually more than I would have expected. We will eat at this place again, but we also will be more careful about following up to make sure ALL of the food ordered, is served.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I loved café lurcat and was treated so k ...

Dined on April 17, 2016

I loved café lurcat and was treated so kindly by EVERYONE. Extremely impressive service!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great for special occasions!

Dined on April 15, 2016

It was my parents' 60th wedding anniversary and relatives had come in from LA, Santa Fe, and other places. We had a party of 11 and the staff put us along a window table looking in the smaller room looking out on the park. It was quieter, the view was great and we received excellent service! The staff was very attentive, both Ashley and Alan, and the food outstanding. My mom and dad couldn't have been happier! It was a wonderful dining experience! We will go back there again.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service5

Fantastic service!

vip
Dined on April 15, 2016

Fantastic service!

food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding! We went back a second time ...

vip
Dined on April 14, 2016

Outstanding! We went back a second time 2 nites after our first visit just to try other menu items. Highly recommend it to anyone in or visiting Minneapolis.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Two nights in a row!!

Dined on April 13, 2016

We ate at Cafe Lurcat and the dinner was excellent so good that we went back a second night in a row!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love, love, love this restaurant!

Dined on April 10, 2016

Incredible food (apple/manchengo/chive salad!), stellar service, amazing atmosphere, and a spectacular Sunday date night!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love this place!

Dined on April 10, 2016

We are infrequent regulars for Sunday date night. It's always a most enjoyable experience. Great food, setting, and staff. Highly recommended.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Very impressed with the waiter John!

Dined on April 10, 2016

Points for the food quality, ambiance, menu selection, and professional staff. Bonus points for the waiter John's pleasant personality and expertise. The historic building did not have much sound deadening so it was very loud for half the dinner but did not affect experience much at all. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food1
ambience4
service3
value1

Over Priced, Poorly Flavored, and Low Quality Food

Dined on April 9, 2016

I honestly wouldn't bother to eat here again if someone else was picking up the check. We ordered a sampling of four appetizers/sides and one entree for two people. None of the food was particularly inspired, unless your idea of inspiration is salty yet somehow otherwise bland. The ginger fried rice tasted nothing of ginger. The crab cake tasted nothing of crab. The cauliflower tasted like a salt lick. The best protein we were served all night was the bacon on the bacon and blue cheese salad. After all was said and done, I couldn't help but wonder what all the fuss was about, especially considering a tab in the $150 range (which included one drink a piece). Simply put, I've had much better quality, value, and taste at any number of other local establishments. My earnest advice is to encourage you to be more diligent with your time and money and pick a spot the offers not just the ambiance you may desire, but the meal you deserve.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Best of the best.

Dined on April 9, 2016

We go to Cafe Lurcat at least once a year to celebrate our anniversary. It never disappoints!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

Good Food, Cool Place

Dined on April 2, 2016

Food here was great! Expensive, but everything was very tasty. And, the atmosphere is very neat and energetic. Would definitely recommend checking out.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

The cheddar chess grits are amazing

Dined on March 27, 2016

The cheddar chess grits are amazing

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.