Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.28mi
  3. Distance: 0.40mi
  4. Distance: 0.44mi
  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.28mi
  3. Distance: 0.40mi
  4. Distance: 0.44mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.28mi
  3. Distance: 0.40mi
  4. Distance: 0.44mi
  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.28mi
  3. Distance: 0.40mi
  4. Distance: 0.44mi

About Cafe Lurcat - Minneapolis

TOP 50 RESTAURANTS, TOP 10 FOOD: Minneapolis/St. Paul Magazine
TOP TEN RESTAURANTS / Mpls St Paul Magazine
BEST SUMMER PATIOS / City Pages Summer Guide
BEST BURGERS / Mpls St Paul Magazine
BEST WINE BAR / City Pages “Best of the Twin Cities”
TOP TEN WINE LISTS / Food and Wine
WINE ENTHUSIAST / Award of Distinction
BEST BURGERS / Silver Spoon Award, Minnesota Monthly
THE HOT FIVE: PATIOS / Star Tribune
WHERE TO EAT / New York Magazine
BEST IN REAL ESTATE / Business Journal
DINER'S CHOICE / Mpls St Paul
BEST OF THE TWINCITIES / City Pages
TOP 50 RESTAURANTS: TOP 10 FOR FOOD / Minneapolis St. Paul Magazine

Sweeping views of Loring Park, innovative American food, a captivating bar featuring 200+ wines with 30 by the glass make this venue a complete destination. Open every evening. Reservations Recommended.

1624 Harmon Place
Minneapolis, MN 55403
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Comfort Food, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Café Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 11:00pm, Sunday- 5:30pm - 9:00pm
Bar: Sunday-4:30pm-10:00pm, Monday - Thursday: 4:30pm - 11:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:30pm - 12:00am

Cross Street:
Maple

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(612) 486-5500

Website:
http://www.cafelurcat.com/

Parking Details:
Lurcat Valet $9.00 cash at curb, metered street parking, MCTC Ramp on Hennepin- fee varies, Loop Lot on the corner of Maple and harmon $6.00 cash available

Executive Chef:
Jordan Swiler

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Celebrate Mother's Day with Cafe and Bar, Lurcat 9:00am-3:00pm. A delicious Family Style menu will be served. $30 per adult, $12 per child (12 and under). Kids can also join us a our Easter craft table.


Specials

DATE NIGHT 3 courses for $50.00 per couple

Sundays from 5:00 PM - 9:00 PM

Happy Hours

Special valid Mar 9, 2017 - Jul 9, 2017 all week from 4:30 PM - 6:30 PM

Specials

DATE NIGHT 3 courses for $50.00 per couple

Sundays from 5:00 PM - 9:00 PM

Details

DATE NIGHT 3 courses for $50.00 per couple. Excludes Tax and Tip. NEW DATE NIGHT SPECIAL! 3 courses for $50.00. 50% off bottled wine under $100. Special valid Mar 9, 2017 - Jul 9, 2017 on Sundays from 5:00 PM - 9:00 PM.

Happy Hours

Special valid Mar 9, 2017 - Jul 9, 2017 all week from 4:30 PM - 6:30 PM

Details

$5 Beer & House Drinks/$6 Wine/$7 Mixed Drinks 4:30 - 5:30 Happies Hour $5 Appetizers. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Mar 9, 2017 - Jul 9, 2017 all week from 4:30 PM - 6:30 PM.

Private Dining

Cafe and Bar Lurcat offers many private dining spaces and both the Cafe and Bar are available for private functions. Space for groups of over 10 can also be reserved in the bar area. Please take the 360 virtual tour at www.cafelurcat.com to view these beautiful eclectic spaces.

Cafe Lurcat - Minneapolis Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (125)
Good for a Date (111)
Good for Anniversaries (94)
See All
Creative Cuisine (85)
Romantic (80)
Fit for Foodies (79)
Scenic View (64)
Good for Birthdays (61)
Notable Wine List (55)
Neighborhood Gem (50)
Good for Groups (45)
Worth the Drive (44)
Pre/post Theatre (41)
Handcrafted Cocktails (39)
Bar Seating (36)
Fun (35)
Modern Decor (35)
Business Meals (35)
Open Kitchen (33)
Quiet Conversation (32)
Hot Spot (32)
Cozy (31)
People Watching (29)
Happy Hour (28)
Vibrant Bar Scene (28)
Authentic (22)
Historic (18)
Comfort Food (16)
Great for Outdoor Dining (14)
Late-night Find (13)
Seasonal (12)
Private Room (12)
Casual (12)
Healthy (12)
Tasting Menu (11)
Local Ingredients (10)
Great Beer (10)
Sunday Lunch (9)
Family Style (9)
Kid-friendly (8)
Great for Brunch (8)
Great for Lunch (7)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Molecular Gastronomy (4)
Outstanding Value (3)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Quick Bite (2)
Organic (1)
Live Music (1)
Spicy (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Sort By:
S
2959 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 5 days ago

I ordered the steak tartare. It was presented on a bed of chopped onion. Not great taste & horrible breath after. Also, the prices are now noticeably higher. I miss the good old days at Lurcat.

Tags: People Watching, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 6 days ago

Great food complemented by an awesome waiter in a marvelous setting. We'll be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 22, 2017

We went on our first anniversary for a Sunday evening date night. The date night menu has great choices at an incredible price. Half off wine was an added plus.

Our server, Ken, made the entire evening enjoyable and unforgettable. We'll definitely be going back.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Fun and tasty evening celebrating birthdays. Another great night at Cafe Lurcat!

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 20, 2017

If you have just one opportunity to dine out in Minneapolis, Cafe Lurcat is the choice to make. An expansive restaurant with a variety of spaces, you can dine near the bar where things are lively and loud, or you can request seating in other parts of the restaurant where things are busy, but quieter.

The menu is inventive, with three tiers: Market, Traditional and Voyage. In order, the selections are shaped by current availability, staples that are always part of the menu, and the exploration of regional cuisines. My wife had the Orecchiette. I had the 7 Oz. Beef Tenderloin Filet. Both of us had the Apple, Cheese & Chive salad and we shared an order of the Roasted Carrots.

The food was subtle and perfectly prepared. The wine list ample and well suited to the menu. The service was prompt and attentive.

If you are dining in Minneapolis, this is the restaurant that needs to be on your list.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 19, 2017

We celebrated our 44th anniversary at this restaurant. Three of us had the hanger steak which was excellent and I would order it again next time. The wine list was extensive and I found a wonderful red wine from Ehlers Estate and we shared a salad. Everything was perfect and the waitress was very attentive. I would highly recommend.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Graduation celebration and mothers day

Tags: Scenic View, Hot Spot, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We went to Lurcat to celebrate our son's graduation from UMN. Micheal was our server and did a fantastic job informing us on the menu items. The food was great; I had the pot roast and it was so tender and delicious. My husband had the orecchiette pasta dish and my son the Korean bbg salmon and they we both very happy with their choices.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We enjoyed the Mother's Day Brunch. The quality of the various items exceeded our expectations. The quantity was ample, just right for my big appetite; and my wife and son finished everything we were served also. The restaurant is extremely quiet, and easy to navigate. It is across from Loring Park, which has nice walking/jogging trails if you need to work up an appetite before dining.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Fabulous food and service. Staff very attentive. The only change I would make is the same suggestion I give every time......turn down the music. Too loud and interferes with conversation at the table. Seriously.

Tags: Happy Hour, Kid-friendly, Scenic View, Family Style, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 14, 2017

They aren't at their best for holiday brunch. Usually Lurcat is one of the best places in town but our Mother's Day experience was just OK. If you're going to do brunch it needs to be the same experience you provide at dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Super brunch for Mothers Day. Great service and great food.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Long time patron of Lurcat. You can't go wrong with this spot. It has many wonderful spaces within the restaurant. Outdoor patio, back alley grotto dining, one of the best views in the city from the bar and restaurant area with huge windows looking out on scenic Loring Park. It's truly my "go to " spot for any occasion. The good is consistently delicious with a nice variety. You can order off the bar menu or the main dining menu in any location which I appreciate. French fries are perfection as is the miso glazed cod. Mini burgers are pretty spectacular as well. Good cocktail list and wines. I can't say anything but positive things about Lurcat! Caters to all age groups and the service is professional and friendly.

Tags: Scenic View, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Excellent ambience, consistently great food and outstanding service,the reasons we return when we visit family in MN. We live in the Bay Area of CA and appreciate the comparable foodie culture of the Twin Cities, as exemplified by Cafe Lurcat

Tags: Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Amazing as always

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 13, 2017

The waiter was great at helping us out. For the price of the food and wait time I expected a bit more since it got high reviews but my chicken dish was dry and the salmon was under cooked.
One this the waiter didn't do is ask us if our food was ok. Didn't get checked till the end.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Best overall restaurant in the city hands down. Perfect in every facet. The decor, service, and most of all the food is amazing.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Open Kitchen, Notable Wine List, Happy Hour, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Great Place!!!! Great for a nice night out. Or a date or any occasion.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Ken, he was marvelous. We enjoyed his humor and how confident in his service. He made our day special. Jerry, Joe, Kate, and Lori.

Tags: Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 7, 2017

The food was great and the staff was very accommodating of the two children. My favorite place to eat. We did have to request a drink for the 3 year old and was not offered the fruit for her kids meal which we also forgot. Love visiting your establishment!!!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Great menu with outstanding preparation. We will return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Great Food, great table for our 45 anniversary

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Wife and friend went there prior to attending a play. She is very impressed and happy with how well they handled everything. She gives it an "excellent" review and would recommend it. I didn't go because I ate at McDonald's that night and hate sitting at plays.........

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 4, 2017

The food was delicious and the service was top notch. Pricey, but worth it! We enjoyed the voyager menu and plan to be back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 2, 2017

Service was so slow. Our waitress was very nice and knowledgeable but we waited forever for our cocktail which was ordered Within happy hour but received it after happy hour was over. The food was good not great and pricey for what was on the plate. I had the mixed greens salad which was ok but nothing to write home about. Halibut had good flavor.

The wine we ordered which was on the menu was not available but we were not told that until our meals arrived. So we had to select another and they were opening and pouring wine while we were trying to eat. We ordered our wine when we ordered our dinner. All this and the place was not even busy.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 30, 2017

My husband's birthday dinner was fabulous! Kudos to chef Jordan for a great menu. Loved every bite!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 30, 2017

We will not go here again.

I made reservations for Sunday date night. We arrived and were seated promptly.

That's all I can say. We were seated at a small table near the kitchen away from all the other tables and sat...and sat...and sat...for 20 minutes without anyone stopping by our table.

When we got up to speak to the manager, she said, "Opps, sorry bout that," and continued her conversation with the hostess.

I know all I need to know about this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Always good food, service and atmosphere. We eat at many restaurants in Minneapolis but Cafe Lurcat never disappoints, whether for date night, dinner with friends or a business dinner. One of our favorites.

Tags: Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Celebrating our anniversary where we were married! Café Lurcat is always on point and always so worth it! Love this place!

Tags: Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 29, 2017

What a wonderful restaurant! The pot roast was amazing! It would just melt in your mouth. I also tasted the pork tenderloin and it was done to perfection. For dessert I ordered the Green Tea Pavlova. It was the most delicate meringue, and berries, drizzled with hibiscus syrup. I can't come up with words to describe how delicious it was! I will definitely be back!!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Late-night Find, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 29, 2017

THE RESTAURANT PROVIDES A HIGH QUALITY EXPERIENCE THAT YOU DO PAY FOR AS MOST ITEMS ARE ALACARTE. THE SERVICE WAS VERY GOOD AS THE WAITER WAS KNOWLEDGEABLE AND ATTENTIVE.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Service was mediocre at best, food " specifically the pork tenderloin hand no flavor.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value1

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Excellent! Location, food, ambiance--everything was great. Would go back when in town for sure.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 28, 2017

We were underwhelmed by the food. Sea bass was great as always, but spinach was drenched in oil, steak tartar was chewy and other items average. With so many choices for good food, we won't be coming back here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service5
value2

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 27, 2017

Lurcat was crazy busy with 3 private parties and the usual
Dining customers. They were rolling out their new (tonight) Israeli Voyager Menu. The chicken and Lamb were delicious! The everyday menu stellar. Fries are a must
I always ask for extra hot.
New cool cocktails are tremendous! Chef Jordan has it rocking since he took over and you can see why!
Try it out!

Tags: Fun, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Open Kitchen, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Private Room, Bar Seating, Family Style, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining, People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on April 26, 2017

I call myself a food snob and this restaurant is absolutely at the top of the charts. I suggest trying a menu item from the special feature of the month, as well as the tried and true. If we lived in the area, we would be there every week! This is a don't miss it opportunity!

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Disabled Access, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 25, 2017

Absolutely wonderful experience. Wonderful food, artfully presented. The sea bass was melt-in-your-mouth delicious and do not go there without trying the apple salad. Truly wonderful experience. Service was great - they knew we were sharing so that we could try more things - they took it on their own to offer us split plates, and even our smaller plates were each artfully presented.
Highly recommended.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Scenic View, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Open Kitchen, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Happy Hour, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 25, 2017

The service was REALLY SLOW. I think they had too few servers working and the one server I saw was overwhelmed. Food was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Second time we drove 78 miles to eat at this Cafe. Flavors galore. Starting with the in-house made butter, smooth and buttery. Started with the coconut curry soup, followed by the Lamb Shank with curry spicing both were more than delicious. This coming from a German foods die-heart. Wife a filet order-er for the second time had the pork tenderloin. Service was right on cue. Deserves another trip north to it!!!

Tags: Scenic View, Molecular Gastronomy, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 22, 2017

The food was cooked to perfection with good portions. My husband had the sea bass and I had the barramundi curry. We arrived a few minutes early but would have been better off getting our beverage from the bar before we were seated. From getting our cocktails to being served, there was a lot of waiting. The servers were pleasant and helpful, but service was simply slow.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.