Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.28mi
  3. Distance: 0.40mi
  4. Distance: 0.44mi
  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.28mi
  3. Distance: 0.40mi
  4. Distance: 0.44mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.28mi
  3. Distance: 0.40mi
  4. Distance: 0.44mi
  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.28mi
  3. Distance: 0.40mi
  4. Distance: 0.44mi

About Cafe Lurcat - Minneapolis

TOP 50 RESTAURANTS, TOP 10 FOOD: Minneapolis/St. Paul Magazine
TOP TEN RESTAURANTS / Mpls St Paul Magazine
BEST SUMMER PATIOS / City Pages Summer Guide
BEST BURGERS / Mpls St Paul Magazine
BEST WINE BAR / City Pages “Best of the Twin Cities”
TOP TEN WINE LISTS / Food and Wine
WINE ENTHUSIAST / Award of Distinction
BEST BURGERS / Silver Spoon Award, Minnesota Monthly
THE HOT FIVE: PATIOS / Star Tribune
WHERE TO EAT / New York Magazine
BEST IN REAL ESTATE / Business Journal
DINER'S CHOICE / Mpls St Paul
BEST OF THE TWINCITIES / City Pages
TOP 50 RESTAURANTS: TOP 10 FOR FOOD / Minneapolis St. Paul Magazine

Sweeping views of Loring Park, innovative American food, a captivating bar featuring 200+ wines with 30 by the glass make this venue a complete destination. Open every evening. Reservations Recommended.

1624 Harmon Place
Minneapolis, MN 55403
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Comfort Food, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Café Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 11:00pm, Sunday- 5:30pm - 9:00pm
Bar: Sunday-4:30pm-10:00pm, Monday - Thursday: 4:30pm - 11:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:30pm - 12:00am

Cross Street:
Maple

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(612) 486-5500

Website:
http://www.cafelurcat.com/

Entertainment:
Ring in the New Year at Cafe and Bar Lurcat. Enjoy our 4-Course Pre-fix Chef Menu $100.00 per person. Live Music from 6:00pm-10:30pm, DJ 10:30pm-1:30am, Balloon drop and complimentary champagne toast at midnight. Seating all 4 dining rooms. Credit card required for all reservations.

Parking Details:
Lurcat Valet $9.00 cash at curb, metered street parking, MCTC Ramp on Hennepin- fee varies, Loop Lot on the corner of Maple and harmon $6.00 cash available

Executive Chef:
Jordan Swiler

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Ring in the New Year at Cafe and Bar Lurcat. Enjoy our 4-Course Pre-fix Chef Menu $90.00 per person. Live Music from 6:00pm-10:30pm, DJ 10:30pm-1:30am, Balloon drop and complimentary champagne toast at midnight. Seating all 4 dining rooms. Credit card required for all reservations.

Specials

DATE NIGHT 3 courses for $50.00 per couple

Sundays from 5:00 PM - 9:00 PM

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Sunday, December 31, 2017

Happy Hours

Special valid Jul 10, 2017 - Nov 10, 2017 all week from 4:30 PM - 6:30 PM

Specials

DATE NIGHT 3 courses for $50.00 per couple

Sundays from 5:00 PM - 9:00 PM

Details

DATE NIGHT 3 courses for $50.00 per couple. Excludes Tax and Tip. NEW DATE NIGHT SPECIAL! 3 courses for $50.00. 50% off bottled wine under $100. Special valid Jul 10, 2017 - Nov 10, 2017 on Sundays from 5:00 PM - 9:00 PM.

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Sunday, December 31, 2017

Details

Ring in the New Year at Cafe and Bar Lurcat. Enjoy our 4-Course Pre-fix Chef Menu $100.00 per person. Live Music from 6:00pm-10:30pm, DJ 10:30pm-1:30am, Balloon drop and complimentary champagne toast at midnight. Seating all 4 dining rooms. Credit card required for all reservations.

Happy Hours

Special valid Jul 10, 2017 - Nov 10, 2017 all week from 4:30 PM - 6:30 PM

Details

$5 Beer & House Drinks/$6 Wine/$7 Mixed Drinks 4:30 - 5:30 Happiest Hour $5 Appetizers. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Jul 10, 2017 - Nov 10, 2017 all week from 4:30 PM - 6:30 PM.

Private Dining

Cafe and Bar Lurcat offers many private dining spaces and both the Cafe and Bar are available for private functions. Space for groups of over 10 can also be reserved in the bar area. Please take the 360 virtual tour at www.cafelurcat.com to view these beautiful eclectic spaces.

Cafe Lurcat - Minneapolis Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

Noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (97)
Good for a Date (95)
Good for Anniversaries (84)
See All
Fit for Foodies (78)
Romantic (75)
Creative Cuisine (65)
Neighborhood Gem (58)
Good for Birthdays (58)
Scenic View (51)
Notable Wine List (46)
Pre/post Theatre (42)
Worth the Drive (42)
Hot Spot (41)
Fun (40)
Business Meals (39)
Good for Groups (38)
Great for Outdoor Dining (37)
People Watching (33)
Bar Seating (31)
Handcrafted Cocktails (31)
Vibrant Bar Scene (29)
Happy Hour (26)
Quiet Conversation (26)
Cozy (25)
Casual (22)
Local Ingredients (22)
Authentic (21)
Healthy (20)
Seasonal (17)
Comfort Food (17)
Late-night Find (15)
Tasting Menu (14)
Sunday Lunch (9)
Great for Lunch (8)
Organic (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Quick Bite (5)
Afternoon Coffee (4)
Great for Brunch (4)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Great Beer (3)
Spicy (3)
Tapas (3)
Kid-friendly (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Live Sports (1)
Waterfront (1)
Sort By:
S
3170 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 2 days ago

As others have stated, a perfectly marvelous experience. This restaurant probably does or should rank in the Twin Cities’ top 10. Great ambience (a bit on the noisy side), perfect and attentive service. Hangar Steak amdSalmon we’re both top notch. A surprising star: roasted and broiled cauliflower basted with clarified butter. Don’t miss it. Prices: high but you get full value in the overall experience.

Tags: Romantic, Hot Spot, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 2 days ago

Wedding anniversary. Never mentioned by server. Went for restaurant week and were given 3 small portions for $35. Not a good value. Positives: Team of servers were efficient, food was good, and place was clean.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 2 days ago

Excellent service and perfectly prepared food

Setting reminds me of Paris

Tags: Cozy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 2 days ago

Excellent food and service. We will be back...again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined 2 days ago

the interior was absolutely beautiful-lots of exposed brick and very romantic setting. We were there to try the restaurant week menu, and I fully understand how busy restaurant week can be and don't have high expectations going in. However, this experience was the worst restaurant week experience we've had. :( hopefully that's not the normal because the building is beautiful!!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 3 days ago

We had a reservation and were seated right when we arrived. The food was fabulous, atmosphere was great, and we had a wonderful server. Looking forward to returning there in the future.

Tags: Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 3 days ago

Beautiful room. Excellent food. Great service. Expensive, but the restaurant week menu helped with that. The waiter said that they have a Sunday menu that is $50 for dinner for two. The wine was expensive, but really good!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 4 days ago

Overall it was really great, food was amazing and service was exemplary. We went during restaurant week, and the wait time between courses was really long, but I suppose that it’s expected ☺️

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 4 days ago

Always great. It’s our go-to restaurant can’t go wrong always great food. The happy hour is amazing- been going for years never participated in Happy Hour so worth the drive !!! Love Lurcat.
Ask for a Stacy champagne— it’s champagne w a splash of Cointreau (sugar rim optional). And champagne is on the Happy Hour menu!! Score!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Fun, People Watching, Quick Bite, Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Happy Hour, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined 5 days ago

Great service from Michael! Awesome menu, food made with LOVE.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 5 days ago

Restaurant week. Excellent food. Enjoyed our meal thoroughly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined 6 days ago

Got the tasting menu for Restaurant Week. Apparently they have the same deal every sunday night for 50$ for 2 people which is 20 dollars better then the restaurant week deal. The Hangar Steak was unbelievably tender and delicious. The Pavlova desert was amazing gave me the taste memory of the best jelly donut I've ever had.

Tags: Good for a Date, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 6 days ago

Great food, a little pricey for the portion sizes, but definitely would go again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 6 days ago

Lurcat impresses once again! It has been several years since we dined at this gem and it was better than ever. Few restaurants in Minneapolis have maintained this high quality of food and service do so many years.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Romantic, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour, Late-night Find, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 16, 2017

Great date night deal on Sundays. Awesome atmosphere. Professional waitstaff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 15, 2017

Awesome all the way around! The food was outstanding, the wait staff fantastic and the atmosphere superb!

Tags: Fun, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 15, 2017

This is the best restaurant ever! Gourmet food with outstanding presentation. The great food is matched by the great service by Barrett , and ambience! Everything was perfect! It is a very large restaurant but is broken into three sections so it doesn't feel massive. It was very busy, so obviously it is a well-liked place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 15, 2017

We had great service, delicious food and a great price point, because we went on date night.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 15, 2017

Very good tasting menu with good value. However, the Amish chicken I ordered last time was under seasoning and didn't have too much flavor in it. Otherwise we enjoyed everything we had last Sunday dinner.

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu, People Watching, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on October 15, 2017

Noise levels made it impossible to have a conversation with our friends. Felt like we were in a pub watching a Gophers game!!!

Apple, Cheese and Chive salad was marginal - apples were too ripe and restaurant used red apples vs green apples. Salad at Lurcat in Naples is consistent and superior to this.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value2

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 14, 2017

The food was a delight to the tastebuds. The menu, in fact, did not do the selections justice. It was tough to decide what to order because there wasn't much of a description of the entrée. We ended up having the Sea Bass and the pot roast at our table. Both were excellent. The apple, cheese and chive salad was AMAZING. And, the pistachio dessert was fantastic, too. We had a fantastic experience!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Late-night Find, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 14, 2017

We were at Cafe Lurcat for our anniversary. They made us feel SO special! We had a beautiful table by the window, delicious apple and chive salad, amazing entrees and free mini donuts. We will be back for every anniversary in the future. THANK YOU!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 13, 2017

Back for UMN family weekend and wanted to treat our freshman to a fine meal. Outstanding attention to detail and delicious food. Certainly made our night out special!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 11, 2017

It was our anniversary and we decided to celebrate once again at Lurcat. The view was lovely, early evening. Unfortunately the noise level was so bad we could hardly talk to each other. The menu offerings were less than we had hoped. I had barbecued Korean salmon that was quite good. My husband had pot roast and it was very average. The apple salad was fine, better last time with green apple and manchengo cheese. Desserts were disappointing and very average. Warm mini donuts came as a bonus but we really didn’t want them.
I doubt we will be returning, which is too bad because it had been one of our favorites.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
·Dined on October 11, 2017

We had another excellent meal, this time with business associates from the East Coast. The Sea Bass and Salmon were perfection, as usual. Service was at its usual high level. Lurcat is our go-to for wonderful food, friendly, prompt service and a night to remember

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Tapas, Good for Groups, Disabled Access, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Paleo Friendly, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food, Vibrant Bar Scene, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on October 9, 2017

This is my favorite restaurant in the Twin Cities. The food is always excellent, the ambiance is vibrant, and the service is outstanding (esp. if you are fortunate enough to have John as your server). The milk chocolate bar is “to die for!”

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Healthy, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Vibrant Bar Scene, Pre/post Theatre, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 9, 2017

IT is a solid consistant good restaurant. Food is always good.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on October 8, 2017

Wonderful time at a wonderful establishment. Great service, good drinks. Dinner and dessert were delicious.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 8, 2017

We have eaten many times at Cafe Lurcat and have always enjoyed the food and our experience. We were disappointed in the service this time. The serving times between courses (3) was very lengthy, extending the dining experience to three hours. While we were not in a hurry, this was far too long and we found ourselves having to ask for the last course, only to hear the waiter say, "oh I thought that was already served." The hanger steak was lukewarm when it was served. We requested that it be warmed up. The replacement was served promptly and it looked to be a fresh serving.
During the previous dining experience (6 months earlier), the waiter recorded and served the wrong entre. It was a more expensive option. When we pointed out the error upon being served, the waiter apologized, but did not offer to adjust the bill to the price of the entre we actually ordered, nor did he comp us in any way.
In summary, the kitchen remains strong, but the service level is suffering. As a result, we will hesitate to return to Lurcat.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 8, 2017

Café Lurcat is always wonderful (my Mother's choice every year for her birthday dinner). Sunday Date Night prices definitely help with the often hefty tab. But don't tell anyone :).

Tags: Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Organic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Vibrant Bar Scene, Pre/post Theatre, Spicy, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 8, 2017

We had reservations on Sunday night where the restaurant had a special three course meal(Date Night) for $50.00 per couple which we ordered. The choice of food was very interesting and delicious and our server was polite and attentive. An enjoyable evening and we will return on another Sunday night for the special menu!

Tags: Scenic View, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 7, 2017

Excellent meal and service. Offer $20 corkage fee which is nice.

Tags: Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 7, 2017

Great food, atmosphere, and amazing service. Would most definitely go again.

Tags: Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries, Late-night Find, Local Ingredients, Kid-friendly, Afternoon Coffee, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Romantic, Casual, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Fun, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 7, 2017

Fun restaurant on Loring Park, great service, creative and delicious food.

Tags: People Watching, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 6, 2017

Love Lurcat and their great executive Chef Jordan! Food is outstanding ! Sea Bass, salmon , scallops, hangar steak, pot roast. Any of those! Apple salad, frites, tuna tartare. So great!

Tags: Happy Hour, Pre/post Theatre, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 4, 2017

It was a surprisingly nice experience. The Sea Bass was worth the $40, and I don’t even like fish! Great service. Worth the expense.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 2, 2017

We've been to Cafe Lurcat twice and found it enjoyable both times. The Sunday night date-menu (3-course for two people for $50) is a wonderful way to explore the menu at a reasonable cost. The couple we dined with had special dietary needs which our server and the kitchen was more than willing to accommodate. The only 'issue' we had dining was the interior lighting (ambiance) was quite low and the font on the menu was very small - so it was difficult to read (especially if you already need cheater-readers). It was also a bit chilly in the restaurant, so two of us needed to wear our jackets. Overall, the food and wine (half off a bottle up to $100) was great. We look forward to another dining experience - maybe for brunch!

Tags: People Watching, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Hot Spot, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 2, 2017

We had great service and amazing food. Date Night is a wonderful value. If I could change one thing it would be the noise level. With stone floors and high ceilings it's a bit loud for a romantic conversation.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 1, 2017

Sunday night Date Night special was a great deal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on October 1, 2017

Family in town

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.