Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.28mi
  3. Distance: 0.40mi
  4. Distance: 0.44mi
  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.28mi
  3. Distance: 0.40mi
  4. Distance: 0.44mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.28mi
  3. Distance: 0.40mi
  4. Distance: 0.44mi
  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.28mi
  3. Distance: 0.40mi
  4. Distance: 0.44mi

About Cafe Lurcat - Minneapolis

TOP 50 RESTAURANTS, TOP 10 FOOD: Minneapolis/St. Paul Magazine
TOP TEN RESTAURANTS / Mpls St Paul Magazine
BEST SUMMER PATIOS / City Pages Summer Guide
BEST BURGERS / Mpls St Paul Magazine
BEST WINE BAR / City Pages “Best of the Twin Cities”
TOP TEN WINE LISTS / Food and Wine
WINE ENTHUSIAST / Award of Distinction
BEST BURGERS / Silver Spoon Award, Minnesota Monthly
THE HOT FIVE: PATIOS / Star Tribune
WHERE TO EAT / New York Magazine
BEST IN REAL ESTATE / Business Journal
DINER'S CHOICE / Mpls St Paul
BEST OF THE TWINCITIES / City Pages
TOP 50 RESTAURANTS: TOP 10 FOR FOOD / Minneapolis St. Paul Magazine

Sweeping views of Loring Park, innovative American food, a captivating bar featuring 200+ wines with 30 by the glass make this venue a complete destination. Open every evening. Reservations Recommended.

1624 Harmon Place
Minneapolis, MN 55403
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Comfort Food, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Café Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 11:00pm, Sunday- 5:30pm - 9:00pm
Bar: Sunday-4:30pm-10:00pm, Monday - Thursday: 4:30pm - 11:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:30pm - 12:00am

Cross Street:
Maple

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(612) 486-5500

Website:
http://www.cafelurcat.com/

Parking Details:
Lurcat Valet $9.00 cash at curb, metered street parking, MCTC Ramp on Hennepin- fee varies, Loop Lot on the corner of Maple and harmon $6.00 cash available

Executive Chef:
Jordan Swiler

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Celebrate Mother's Day with Cafe and Bar, Lurcat 9:00am-3:00pm. A delicious Family Style menu will be served. $30 per adult, $12 per child (12 and under). Kids can also join us a our Easter craft table.


Specials

DATE NIGHT 3 courses for $50.00 per couple

Sundays from 5:00 PM - 9:00 PM

Mother's Day Menus & Specials

Sunday, May 14, 2017

Happy Hours

Special valid Mar 9, 2017 - Jul 9, 2017 all week from 4:30 PM - 6:30 PM

Specials

DATE NIGHT 3 courses for $50.00 per couple

Sundays from 5:00 PM - 9:00 PM

Details

DATE NIGHT 3 courses for $50.00 per couple. Excludes Tax and Tip. NEW DATE NIGHT SPECIAL! 3 courses for $50.00. 50% off bottled wine under $100. Special valid Mar 9, 2017 - Jul 9, 2017 on Sundays from 5:00 PM - 9:00 PM.

Mother's Day Menus & Specials

Sunday, May 14, 2017

Details

Celebrate Mother's Day with Cafe Lurcat! We will serve a Family Style brunch 9:00am-3:00pm $30 per adult, $12 per child - 12 and under. We will seat all 4 dining rooms. The patio will not be open for brunch service. We will also have a kids craft table. Credit card required for reservations.

Happy Hours

Special valid Mar 9, 2017 - Jul 9, 2017 all week from 4:30 PM - 6:30 PM

Details

$5 Beer & House Drinks/$6 Wine/$7 Mixed Drinks 4:30 - 5:30 Happies Hour $5 Appetizers. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Mar 9, 2017 - Jul 9, 2017 all week from 4:30 PM - 6:30 PM.

Private Dining

Cafe and Bar Lurcat offers many private dining spaces and both the Cafe and Bar are available for private functions. Space for groups of over 10 can also be reserved in the bar area. Please take the 360 virtual tour at www.cafelurcat.com to view these beautiful eclectic spaces.

Cafe Lurcat - Minneapolis Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (116)
Good for a Date (109)
Good for Anniversaries (92)
See All
Creative Cuisine (85)
Romantic (83)
Fit for Foodies (81)
Good for Birthdays (62)
Notable Wine List (55)
Scenic View (54)
Neighborhood Gem (49)
Worth the Drive (47)
Good for Groups (46)
Modern Decor (40)
Pre/post Theatre (38)
Handcrafted Cocktails (38)
Bar Seating (37)
Business Meals (36)
Open Kitchen (33)
Fun (30)
Quiet Conversation (29)
Happy Hour (28)
Cozy (28)
Authentic (27)
People Watching (27)
Hot Spot (27)
Vibrant Bar Scene (27)
Historic (21)
Comfort Food (16)
Late-night Find (15)
Healthy (14)
Private Room (14)
Great for Outdoor Dining (14)
Local Ingredients (12)
Seasonal (12)
Tasting Menu (11)
Casual (11)
Great Beer (10)
Sunday Lunch (9)
Family Style (6)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Great for Lunch (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Live Music (2)
Organic (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Wood Oven (1)
Vegan (1)
Dancing (1)
Spicy (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Sort By:
S
2929 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 2 days ago

What a wonderful restaurant! The pot roast was amazing! It would just melt in your mouth. I also tasted the pork tenderloin and it was done to perfection. For dessert I ordered the Green Tea Pavlova. It was the most delicate meringue, and berries, drizzled with hibiscus syrup. I can't come up with words to describe how delicious it was! I will definitely be back!!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Late-night Find, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined 2 days ago

THE RESTAURANT PROVIDES A HIGH QUALITY EXPERIENCE THAT YOU DO PAY FOR AS MOST ITEMS ARE ALACARTE. THE SERVICE WAS VERY GOOD AS THE WAITER WAS KNOWLEDGEABLE AND ATTENTIVE.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 2 days ago

Service was mediocre at best, food " specifically the pork tenderloin hand no flavor.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value1

 
 (Denver)·Dined 2 days ago

Excellent! Location, food, ambiance--everything was great. Would go back when in town for sure.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 2 days ago

We were underwhelmed by the food. Sea bass was great as always, but spinach was drenched in oil, steak tartar was chewy and other items average. With so many choices for good food, we won't be coming back here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service5
value2

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 3 days ago

Lurcat was crazy busy with 3 private parties and the usual
Dining customers. They were rolling out their new (tonight) Israeli Voyager Menu. The chicken and Lamb were delicious! The everyday menu stellar. Fries are a must
I always ask for extra hot.
New cool cocktails are tremendous! Chef Jordan has it rocking since he took over and you can see why!
Try it out!

Tags: Fun, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Open Kitchen, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Private Room, Bar Seating, Family Style, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining, People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined 4 days ago

I call myself a food snob and this restaurant is absolutely at the top of the charts. I suggest trying a menu item from the special feature of the month, as well as the tried and true. If we lived in the area, we would be there every week! This is a don't miss it opportunity!

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Disabled Access, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 5 days ago

Absolutely wonderful experience. Wonderful food, artfully presented. The sea bass was melt-in-your-mouth delicious and do not go there without trying the apple salad. Truly wonderful experience. Service was great - they knew we were sharing so that we could try more things - they took it on their own to offer us split plates, and even our smaller plates were each artfully presented.
Highly recommended.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Scenic View, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Open Kitchen, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Happy Hour, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 6 days ago

The service was REALLY SLOW. I think they had too few servers working and the one server I saw was overwhelmed. Food was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Second time we drove 78 miles to eat at this Cafe. Flavors galore. Starting with the in-house made butter, smooth and buttery. Started with the coconut curry soup, followed by the Lamb Shank with curry spicing both were more than delicious. This coming from a German foods die-heart. Wife a filet order-er for the second time had the pork tenderloin. Service was right on cue. Deserves another trip north to it!!!

Tags: Scenic View, Molecular Gastronomy, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 22, 2017

The food was cooked to perfection with good portions. My husband had the sea bass and I had the barramundi curry. We arrived a few minutes early but would have been better off getting our beverage from the bar before we were seated. From getting our cocktails to being served, there was a lot of waiting. The servers were pleasant and helpful, but service was simply slow.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Tasty, well-served classics.

Tags: Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Open Kitchen, Seasonal, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Lovely setting, elegant cocktails, delicious food, kind and helpful servers. People were very dressed up (except for us) and no one batted an eye! Sign of true hospitality.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 22, 2017

I went twice during a 3 night stay so I liked Lurcat, especially the ambiance in the room with chandeliers; the other two rooms are fine but less distinctive (and maybe less noisy). There are too few vegetarian options: I had the cheese plate the first visit (not enough for a meal) and the chana masala the second visit and that was it unless I wanted to stack up a bunch of (overpriced) vegetable sides. The quality is good but the price points were too high, especially with the smallish portions.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 16, 2017

I've been going to Lurcat since it opened. Alway wonderful

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We go often and with friends. Love their food and the setting! Plus, their Date Night Special on Sundays is tremendous!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We went for dinner on Easter evening. Sunday night is "date night" so they had a pre fixe menu option that we all went for. Great options and the food was fantastic. Service is always great here.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We went to the cafe for a nice Easter dinner. Their main menu can seem limited, but everything is delicious and there is something for everyone. Their scallops are divine, and they absolutely know how to make a burger. They are an interesting balance of high quality bar food and fancy foodie dishes. Wine list is fantastic and they have good date night deals. Their kids menu was surprisingly affordable and our kids loved their meals. There is always something interesting and new here to enjoy, and they have American, seafood and usually an Indian selection that covers every palate.

Tags: Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We've been to Cafe Lurcat in the past and were not vary sure how a brunch would stack up to their normal fare. But it was absolutely amazing! Every item was just as perfect as the previous item. Even our picky kids were pleased. We'll likely be back for holidays and possibly a date night.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Happy Hour, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Excellent
Had grandchildren 11,9,6 all had a great time for Easter family style meal
Cocktails were top of the line
Children's craft table a bonus as well as the Easter bunny
Will return during the middle of the week for a great repast

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Kid-friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Family Style, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Easter Brunch with family and friends. Food was great, service, not so much. Served family style, brunch was presented well, then servers disappeared, and I do mean disappeared as I literally had to go find them. Had to ask for everything from water to coffee, as they seemed understaffed and overwhelmed. Also, not so keen to sit at plastic folding tables on plastic outdoor chairs in the dining area. Wouldn't do this again for a special day.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Easter brunch was very delightful there with the Easter bunny and craft tables to keep the youngsters busy. Great idea. Nice change of pace.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 16, 2017

I am a huge fan of Lurcat. I love the restaurant and they have amazing dinners. It never disappoints. Unfortunately, their Easter brunch was a huge disappointment for few reasons: 1) family style was cumbersome and awkward - too many plates of food were placed on our table of 4 at the same time and it was hard to serve each other, 2) Limited menu options. I was hoping for a brunch with options either via a buffet style approach or menu that allowed selection options. I do not recommend the family style brunch at Lurcat based on my experience unless they change the format.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We had impeccable service during the Easter brunch. Great food was accompanied by a staff that was pleasant but didn't interfere with our good time. Thanks

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Excellent, original menu; top-notch service. Building exterior appears to be crumbling, and stairs leading to front door are uneven and could be treacherous for elderly and people with mobility problems.

Tags: Fun, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Fabulous, per usual. Very classy, and outstanding service.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Cozy, Private Room, Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 15, 2017

A perfect evening for a group of friends and business associates. Service, food and ambiance could not have been better. This restaurant never disappoints....

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 10, 2017

Service was great, food was fantastic. We will definitely be back for another Sunday date night!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 9, 2017

I had to make three changes to our reservation, and each time the person answering the phone couldn't have been more helpful, and assured me that my newest request was no bother at all.

Four of us were there on a Sunday Date Night for my birthday, and as always the menu selections were appealing, our server was well-informed, and the Bar/Lounge was busy but not noisy. Three of us ordered the salmon, with varying doneness requests, and each was prepared to perfection; the fourth had hanger steak and said it was excellent. Three Pavlovas and a divine chocolate dessert later, we agreed that this was one of the very best restaurants in town.

My husband and I live nearby, so for us it's our favorite neighborhood place - but we'd be happy to travel much further to eat at Cafe Lurcat, and look forward to our next visit.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Bar Seating, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Good for a Date, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Historic, Great Beer, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Our waiter, Steven was amazing. Funny, prompt, a good listener and made thoughtful suggestions. Much thanks!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 7, 2017

The Sea Bass with Miso was to die for. Expensive but superb. I would definitely go again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 6, 2017

Great service. Waitstaff was very helpful and was a treat! Sea bass, lamb vindaloo and mini donuts are to die for!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Authentic, Comfort Food, Modern Decor, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Spicy, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on April 5, 2017

They have a nice wine list to pick from (by the glass or bottle). The roasted cauliflower (side dish) I think was the favorite dish I had. The Indian inspired curry and coconut soup was also really good.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on April 4, 2017

We enjoyed a fabulous meal. Many people were in from across the country for a conference. Everyone raved about the food!

Tags: Bar Seating, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 3, 2017

This place is amazing - you can always count on the quality of the food. Flavors are outstanding in everything I have tried there. And then to top off an absolutely phenomenal venue for dining --- you have a "date night" special, that makes it affordable for a spot to frequent. You guys are the best! ...and the deserts ---WOW! Delicious!

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Sunday night is date night and you and your date each get an appitizer, meal, and dessert for $50. The salmon is the best I have ever had!

Tags: People Watching, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Open Kitchen, Bar Seating, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Went here on a Sunday for Birthday dinner with friends. Great value for Sunday date night and 1/2 off bottles of wine. Enough options on the set menu and with the addition of a few sides we had plenty to eat. Service was attentive and knowledgeable.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Noise level incredible, especially in private dining room. We asked to be moved into the main dining room - still noisy but way better view, and nice of staff to accommodate us.

Was asked several times if special occasion and we said anniversary, but nothing came of it, if there was supposed to be something special.

We're older and probably just not 'with it.'

Tags: Scenic View, Historic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 1, 2017

absolutely wonderful meal as always. always love coming here and the food is always so good.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 1, 2017

With creative and varied menus that appeal to the gourmand and less adventurous alike, well paced and attentive service with pleasant outlook over Loring Park, the Cafe is a must for date night. Continues to impress on repeat visits.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.