Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.28mi
  3. Distance: 0.40mi
  4. Distance: 0.44mi
  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.28mi
  3. Distance: 0.40mi
  4. Distance: 0.44mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.28mi
  3. Distance: 0.40mi
  4. Distance: 0.44mi
  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.28mi
  3. Distance: 0.40mi
  4. Distance: 0.44mi

About Cafe Lurcat - Minneapolis

TOP 50 RESTAURANTS, TOP 10 FOOD: Minneapolis/St. Paul Magazine
TOP TEN RESTAURANTS / Mpls St Paul Magazine
BEST SUMMER PATIOS / City Pages Summer Guide
BEST BURGERS / Mpls St Paul Magazine
BEST WINE BAR / City Pages “Best of the Twin Cities”
TOP TEN WINE LISTS / Food and Wine
WINE ENTHUSIAST / Award of Distinction
BEST BURGERS / Silver Spoon Award, Minnesota Monthly
THE HOT FIVE: PATIOS / Star Tribune
WHERE TO EAT / New York Magazine
BEST IN REAL ESTATE / Business Journal
DINER'S CHOICE / Mpls St Paul
BEST OF THE TWINCITIES / City Pages
TOP 50 RESTAURANTS: TOP 10 FOR FOOD / Minneapolis St. Paul Magazine

Sweeping views of Loring Park, innovative American food, a captivating bar featuring 200+ wines with 30 by the glass make this venue a complete destination. Open every evening. Reservations Recommended.

1624 Harmon Place
Minneapolis, MN 55403
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Comfort Food, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Café Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 11:00pm, Sunday- 5:30pm - 9:00pm
Bar: Sunday-4:30pm-10:00pm, Monday - Thursday: 4:30pm - 11:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:30pm - 12:00am

Cross Street:
Maple

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(612) 486-5500

Website:
http://www.cafelurcat.com/

Parking Details:
Lurcat Valet $9.00 cash at curb, metered street parking, MCTC Ramp on Hennepin- fee varies, Loop Lot on the corner of Maple and harmon $6.00 cash available

Executive Chef:
Jordan Swiler

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Celebrate Mother's Day with Cafe and Bar, Lurcat 9:00am-3:00pm. A delicious Family Style menu will be served. $30 per adult, $12 per child (12 and under). Kids can also join us a our Easter craft table.


Specials

DATE NIGHT 3 courses for $50.00 per couple

Sundays from 5:00 PM - 9:00 PM

Happy Hours

Special valid Mar 9, 2017 - Jul 9, 2017 all week from 4:30 PM - 6:30 PM

Specials

DATE NIGHT 3 courses for $50.00 per couple

Sundays from 5:00 PM - 9:00 PM

Details

DATE NIGHT 3 courses for $50.00 per couple. Excludes Tax and Tip. NEW DATE NIGHT SPECIAL! 3 courses for $50.00. 50% off bottled wine under $100. Special valid Mar 9, 2017 - Jul 9, 2017 on Sundays from 5:00 PM - 9:00 PM.

Happy Hours

Special valid Mar 9, 2017 - Jul 9, 2017 all week from 4:30 PM - 6:30 PM

Details

$5 Beer & House Drinks/$6 Wine/$7 Mixed Drinks 4:30 - 5:30 Happies Hour $5 Appetizers. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Mar 9, 2017 - Jul 9, 2017 all week from 4:30 PM - 6:30 PM.

Private Dining

Cafe and Bar Lurcat offers many private dining spaces and both the Cafe and Bar are available for private functions. Space for groups of over 10 can also be reserved in the bar area. Please take the 360 virtual tour at www.cafelurcat.com to view these beautiful eclectic spaces.

Cafe Lurcat - Minneapolis Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (104)
Good for a Date (96)
Creative Cuisine (78)
See All
Fit for Foodies (75)
Good for Anniversaries (72)
Scenic View (61)
Romantic (53)
Good for Birthdays (50)
Notable Wine List (49)
Neighborhood Gem (46)
Pre/post Theatre (37)
Worth the Drive (36)
Handcrafted Cocktails (36)
Good for Groups (35)
Bar Seating (33)
Fun (32)
Quiet Conversation (30)
Business Meals (29)
Hot Spot (29)
Happy Hour (26)
People Watching (24)
Cozy (24)
Vibrant Bar Scene (22)
Great for Outdoor Dining (21)
Modern Decor (20)
Authentic (19)
Casual (17)
Comfort Food (16)
Open Kitchen (15)
Historic (12)
Seasonal (11)
Great for Brunch (11)
Sunday Lunch (10)
Local Ingredients (10)
Late-night Find (9)
Kid-friendly (8)
Healthy (8)
Tasting Menu (8)
Private Room (8)
Family Style (7)
Great for Lunch (7)
Great Beer (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Afternoon Coffee (4)
Quick Bite (4)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Waterfront (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Spicy (1)
Tapas (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
2998 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 2 days ago

Great meal always excellent service

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 2 days ago

I am always disappointed at Lurcat, and inevitably it is the service. For what the place is, the service should be outstanding. But the times I have been here, it always feels dismissive. I have twice been there when business was slow, but yet we are always flagging down a waiter. In both instances there was a subtle snobbishness that I cannot quite place, but that has to be in the hiring. The food is good, but it is not, in fairness, great, or as good as next door at 4 Bells. But it is a lovely bar to sit at, and the outdoor space is divine. It is a shame they can't up their game.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 4 days ago

Never been disappointed! Great for special occasions or just a very nice meal. Service and food are spectacular!

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 4 days ago

Good food and service, but the air conditioning was too cold, specially when the outside temperature was in the 50's. God portion sizes

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Paleo Friendly, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 4 days ago

Perfect food and experience. I have nothing negative to say.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 5 days ago

Our 2 favorites - the sea bass and the salmon - were once again excellent. However, one person ordered the hangar steak. The server sold it by saying it would be cut thin and not at all tough. Unfortunately, the steak was SO tough that it turned into a pile of mauled meat that was totally inedible. The server did comp us for that meal.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for a Date, People Watching, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 5 days ago

Among our very favorite restaurants. The food is delicious and while the traditional entries are always there, the menu is always changing too. The wait staff are very professional and we always feel very welcome. The main dining room is very comfortable (including the chairs) so it's perfect for lingering over a great meal and bottle of wine. Whenever we want a special dining experience Cafe Lurcat is on our short list.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Gluten Free Options, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 6 days ago

Outstanding service. Delicious food. Great ambiance.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 6 days ago

Beat meal we had I n town. Perfect drinks and a great wine menu. Ben our waiter was TOP notch with friendley service. Will be back for sure.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Waterfront, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 6 days ago

Consistently good. Miso sea bass and apple salad are a couple of our favorites but the whole menu is good and well executed every time.
Wine list also excellent and includes many choices outside the traditional USA wines.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Good for a Date, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 20, 2017

This was our first time to Cafe Lurcat. We were celebrating our anniversary. The atmosphere was upbeat and fun. Not very romantic but that was fine for us. We sat near the kitchen and it was a little noisy but not too bad. Windows everywhere so people watching outside was fun. It was a beautiful evening for that. Loved our food. Very quick service. Will definitely go back.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 20, 2017

My experience at Lurcat wasn't great. The prices were on the large side and the portions were not. Don't even think about sharing the cheese plate. The setting was lovely, however. We ate outside next to Loring Park. My issue came from a billing problem. My two friends and I shared the bill equally, each giving the waitress a credit card. Somehow two of the three charges ended up on my VISA bill. I tried to call them about it but their voicemail (which invited me to leave a message) hung up on me twice. So I tried emailing them, including a copy of my receipt. I never heard back. I finally marked the incorrect charge as "disputed" on my credit card bill, which I hope takes care of things. It's been almost a week and nobody has had the courtesy to get in touch. I don't think I'll be hurrying back.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value2

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 19, 2017

Incredibly delicious special lamb dish paired with an excellent South African red by an attentive staff made it a memorable evening

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 19, 2017

Date night every Sunday is amazing! Incredible food that's well put together for a date night or really any occasion. The staff and ambiance is fantastic!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Brett was an excellent server and too great care of us.
Definitively will be back.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 18, 2017

LIked the three-course offering and the half off wine. Choices with the three-course deal were somewhat limited, but we liked what we chose. We'll look for this deal again.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Having lived near MSP for 30 years and eaten everywhere in town, I've found there are a multitude of solid meals to be had. I always look forward to traveling out of the area in order to find the outstanding meal!
Cafe Lurcat provides a higher level than found elsewhere in a metropolitan area of mediocre dining establishments!
The service is outstanding, the setting very pretty, and food inspiring of many returns!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Amazing food in a fun atmosphere. Good attention to detail and overall a wonderful dining experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Excellent meal, featuring Israeli cuisine. Probably one of the best meals I've ever had. The view of the park is beautiful. The service is wonderful.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for a Date, Scenic View, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 17, 2017

I made reservations for our anniversary and I ordered flowers prior to the reservation, and they made it work perfectly. We were greeted when we,arrived with a happy anniversary and the flowers were at the table where we arrived. Now the waiter KEN flawless exceptional service, attention to detail, truly great experience.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 15, 2017

Overall very satisfied. It took a while for our server to come and take our drink order. He came once and took a drink order from one person when there were 5 or so of us that had also recently joined the table. After that though the service was smooth sailing. The food was fantastic as well! Highly recommend overall!

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 11, 2017

I absolutely loved the ambiance and the food was exceptional! I will be back.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 11, 2017

The food and drinks are as impeccably done as the decor and view of the park without being pretentious. You could bring your child but would you when you and your significant other can come grab a martini at the bar followed by a fabulous dinner and a walk through the park.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Bar Seating, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Atmosphere was perfect for the surprise date night! The service was outstanding and the food was divine. I loved the specialty cocktails! So unique and super tasty. We will be back!

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Wonderful evening - food was exceptional. Service was splendid. Always a special place.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 10, 2017

At our daughter's suggestion, we took her there after her college graduation. The food was terrific, and the decor and ambiance were cheerful and interesting. Not cheap, but great for a special occasion.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Everyone was friendly and very accommodating. Looking out on the park is special.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Happy Hour, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Simply awesome food. The filet was perfectly cooked and tender, pot roast was melt in your your mouth.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 10, 2017

This spot was perfect for our girls night out! The service for 7 of us was professional, timely and kind. Two of the girls were not impressed with their food but everyone else was thrilled. The waiter was and team were great and did everything to accommodate our request and make us feel special. The outdoor dining was great due to the weather and were it not for a few bugs we would have stayed even longer. Good food, drinks and good service would make me go back and recommend to others.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Business Meals, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 5, 2017

A beautiful summer evening dinner on the back patio. Very Bohemian and European in feel. Our first choice of salmon entree had sold out. But the miso sea bass was an excellent substitute. And the date night menu is the best value in town!

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Comfort Food, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 4, 2017

A return to one of our favorite restaurants was rewarded with a great evening. John, our waiter is a gem and is a professional without peer. The new Israeli based menu was delightful and authentic. We had a great evening with our guests. A great destination.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Wonderful food,wonderful service!Ashley was superb!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 3, 2017

I hadn't been at Lurcat for many years and was pleased to see that it was still in business as getting good reviews as we were looking for a special-evening venue downtown. The reasons we aren't rating it totally 5-star: (1)the menu is creative but limited. Each meal category (a menu trick that I find precious and unnecessary) should have one or two more main dishes; (2) the server sort of forgot to bring our wine, a lapse that stood out because the place was close to empty when we arrived.

It was, however, a lovely experience in general. We especially enjoyed sitting by the window and watching the goslings across the street in the park.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 3, 2017

I am not a beef lover. In fact, I usually choose anything but steak, but the fillet was the best I have ever tasted in my life! It was cooked to perfection, and the red wine sauce made the entree fantastic. As a special touch, my husband and I were celebrating our 29th anniversary, and the waiter surprised us with a candle-lit dessert. The attentive but not overbearing service, romantic ambience, and fantastic food made our visit memorable.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 2, 2017

We got there early and had a drink a the bar, the bartender was attentive and knowledgeable.
We sat on the back patio, where none of us had been before, very Venice!
We got some "award winning fries" to start and they were just that!! We had a family emergency and had to leave before our entrees arrived, but the salad and fries held us over till 1am :) And Lurcat took care of our entrees, so kind!!
We will for sure be going back!!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Tapas, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Casual, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Late-night Find, Seasonal, Quiet Conversation, Happy Hour, Great for Lunch, Quick Bite, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on June 2, 2017

The food was overpriced, but good. At our table we ordered lamb chops, Korean BBQ salmon, chicken shawarma, scallops, crab cakes, and the orecchiette. The pasta was the best of the lot. The salmon and lamb chops were also delicious. The worst, by far, was the shawarma.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 31, 2017

Chose Cafe Lurcat to celebrate my girlfriend's birthday. The staff hit on all levels; great food, great service, and overall ambiance.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Late-night Find, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Really enjoyed the service they were very accommodating and helpful. I loved the food and the price was not too expensive. Would definitely recommend for a special date.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 27, 2017

This restaurant was simply spectacular! While somewhat pricy; It did not disappoint. The service was impeccable. The food was prepared beautifully, and the cocktails were wonderful.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Casual, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 24, 2017

I ordered the steak tartare. It was presented on a bed of chopped onion. Not great taste & horrible breath after. Also, the prices are now noticeably higher. I miss the good old days at Lurcat.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: People Watching, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.