About Cafe Lurcat - Minneapolis

1624 Harmon Place
Minneapolis, MN 55403
View Larger Map

TOP 50 RESTAURANTS, TOP 10 FOOD: Minneapolis/St. Paul Magazine
TOP TEN RESTAURANTS / Mpls St Paul Magazine
BEST SUMMER PATIOS / City Pages Summer Guide
BEST BURGERS / Mpls St Paul Magazine
BEST WINE BAR / City Pages “Best of the Twin Cities”
TOP TEN WINE LISTS / Food and Wine
WINE ENTHUSIAST / Award of Distinction
BEST BURGERS / Silver Spoon Award, Minnesota Monthly
THE HOT FIVE: PATIOS / Star Tribune
WHERE TO EAT / New York Magazine
BEST IN REAL ESTATE / Business Journal
DINER'S CHOICE / Mpls St Paul
BEST OF THE TWINCITIES / City Pages
TOP 50 RESTAURANTS: TOP 10 FOR FOOD / Minneapolis St. Paul Magazine

Sweeping views of Loring Park, innovative American food, a captivating bar featuring 200+ wines with 30 by the glass make this venue a complete destination. Open every evening. Reservations Recommended.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Comfort Food, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Café Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 11:00pm, Sunday- 5:30pm - 9:00pm
Bar: Sunday-4:30pm-10:00pm, Monday - Thursday: 4:30pm - 11:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:30pm - 12:00am

Cross Street:
Maple

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(612) 486-5500

Website:
http://www.cafelurcat.com/

Parking Details:
Valet & street parking available

Executive Chef:
Adam King

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Warm Cinnamon-Sugar Donuts
Apple Cheese & Chive Salad
Hanger Steak
Orange Passionfruit Pavlova
Chocolate ice cream
French Fries
Eiffel Tower Sparkle
Spice Market Cocktail
Spicy King Crab Tartelettes With Fruit Salsa
Grilled Hanger Steak
Beef Tenderloin with Onion Sauce
Creekstone Farm's Hanger Steak
Beef Carpaccio
Lurcat Crab Cake
Triple Chocolate Cream Cake
Roasted Boneless Half Chicken with Gremolata Butter
Fork And Knife
New York Strip Steak
Fried Rice
Lorem Sipsum Cocktail
Small plates
Passion Fruit Crepe
Latte
Sorbet With Berries And Citrus Wafers
Berkshire Pork Tenderloin
Day Boat Sea Scallops
French Bread And Salted Butter
Asian Tuna "Pizza"
Housemade Udon Noodles With Chinese Barbecue Chicken
Apple & Cheese Salad
Salad With Apple And Goat Cheese
Raw Vegetable Salad
Strawberry Crostata
Pan-Seared Pork Tenderloin

Promotions

Three Course Prix Fixe Meal for $50.00

Sundays from 5:00 PM - 9:00 PM

Promotions

Three Course Prix Fixe Meal for $50.00

Sundays from 5:00 PM - 9:00 PM

Details
Three Course Prix Fixe Meal for $50.00. Excludes Tax and Tip. NEW DATE NIGHT SPECIAL! 3 courses for $50.00. 50% off bottled wine under $100. Special valid May 22, 2016 - Sep 18, 2016 on Sundays from 5:00 PM - 9:00 PM.

Private Dining

Cafe and Bar Lurcat offers many private dining spaces and both the Cafe and Bar are available for private functions. Space for groups of over 10 can also be reserved in the bar area. Please take the 360 virtual tour at www.cafelurcat.com to view these beautiful eclectic spaces.

Cafe Lurcat - Minneapolis Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Minneapolis - St. Paul
Contemporary American
Minneapolis - St. Paul
Best Ambiance
Twin Cities / Minneapolis
2 More
Romantic
Twin Cities / Minneapolis
Contemporary American
Twin Cities / Minneapolis
Best Restaurants in Downtown / North Loop ›

special occasion (149)
fit for foodies (140)
romantic (113)
See All
scenic view (94)
neighborhood gem (85)
good for groups (74)
notable wine list (60)
hot spot (49)
vibrant bar scene (46)
great for outdoor dining (43)
great for brunch (27)
late-night find (26)
great for lunch (17)
kid-friendly (5)
Sort By:
Newest
2398 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5

My husband and I had our 11 year anniver ...

Dined 3 days ago

My husband and I had our 11 year anniversary dinner here. The food was absolutely wonderful and the staff was very friendly and patient with all our questions about the menu. I can say without hesitation that everything we ate was delicious. The only complaint I had was that I wanted to try other things but was too full. The room is nice and bright with a nice view of Loring Park. It was Pride Weekend when we dined and even though there was a dance party in the bar it didn't cross over into our side. What we ate: Appetizer (we shared): Ginger Fried Rice with Shrimp, Sausage and Egg Dinners: Pot Roast with Red Wine and Potato Purée Prime Dry-Aged Rib Eye with Caramelized Onions and Roasted Garlic Sides (shared sides) Roasted Broccoli with Chili, Garlic and Lemon Roasted Baby Potatoes with Gremolata Butter Dessert (we shared): Dark Chocolate Profiteroles with Salted Caramel Ice Cream and Spiced Candied Pecans

food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Our waiter was outstanding - a beautiful ...

Dined 5 days ago

Our waiter was outstanding - a beautiful man named Brett...just amazing! The food was excellent as usual! We even had Chef Jordon stop by our table and give me a recipe...what a treat to have such a great customer service experience - by far one of the best places in town!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

We eat at Lurcat mostly on weekends when ...

vip
Dined on June 21, 2016

We eat at Lurcat mostly on weekends when the noise level is okay. On Monday the crowd seemed to be mostly business people from out of town. It was extremely noisy, and we'll never eat there again on a weekday evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went for date night on Sunday, probably ...

Dined on June 20, 2016

Went for date night on Sunday, probably our 4th or 5th time doing so. It did change a little, the bottle of wine is no longer included, but they do have an extensive wine list and offer 1/2 price off a bottle less than $50. The food was EXCELLENT, as usual, offering seasonal delights and good variety of options even on the date night menu. Service was top notch, we were visited multiple times by our attentive and sweet server. We love Cafe Lurcat. Thank you!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

One of our all time favorites. They neve ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

One of our all time favorites. They never miss a beat, service , food atmosphere top shelf.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service4

We had great food and good service at Lu ...

vip
Dined on June 18, 2016

We had great food and good service at Lurcat. The prices have now gone above my pay grade. Sea Bass for $39, salads at $18. Just too expensive now.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had reservations for Father's Day di ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

We had reservations for Father's Day dinner. As soon as we entered, we were appropriately greeted by a friendly and wonderfully kind host. All the waitstaff, including busboys, greeted us as we were escorted to our table. It made the experience feel very formal, although you could've showed up in a T-shirt and shorts. They were very accommodating of a kids'/small plates menu for our son (11-yr old). Our waitress, Liz, provided great service and was knowledgeable about portion size. We appreciated that the atmosphere was quiet and formal enough to feel comfortable.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Stopped by here after attending after ho ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

Stopped by here after attending after hours at the Walker. OMG the cheese plate. THE CHEESE PLATE. Please go and get the cheese plate. We also shared an amazing Halibut, incredible broccoli, can't go wrong corn crepes and OF COURSE the mini donuts. Service was impeccable. The patio is quite possibly the loveliest place in town. Highway noise was not an issue at all.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of my favorite restaurants in Mpls - ...

vip
Dined on June 13, 2016

One of my favorite restaurants in Mpls - Love love love it all! Great bar scene, outdoor areas, as well as indoor dining. Excellent service too. The food is outstanding - always!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

I enjoy the overall Cafe Lurcat experien ...

vip
Dined on June 13, 2016

I enjoy the overall Cafe Lurcat experience. The value is better on "date night." Can be loud.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, scenic view
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Date night menu was very good, we enjoye ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Date night menu was very good, we enjoyed the corn crepes with wild mushrooms! Both the sea bass and hanger steak were excellent, and our wine was perfect.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent new menu

vip
Dined on June 11, 2016

It's been a couple months since we've been to Lurcat, and we were really pleased with some of the new selections on the menu. The corn crepes were outstanding, as was the new salmon appetizer. Great new stuff for a menu that sometimes seems to carry on without change for a little too long. John was, as always, an excellent server - request him if you can, you won't be disappointed.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Wonderful meal as always, everything was ...

vip
Dined on June 10, 2016

Wonderful meal as always, everything was so good , always love coming here

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Flank steak was to die for, view was fan ...

Dined on June 10, 2016

Flank steak was to die for, view was fantastic, the atmosphere was relaxing, although service was a little slow. I really enjoyed my dinner a lot. I felt that the price was very reasonable in light of the fact that the food was as good as it was. I will definitely be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, hot spot
food4
ambience5
service3
value2

Very good, not great

Dined on June 9, 2016

In general, it was very good. The pot roast was braised very well; it was very tender, but still had tooth. Unfortunately, it was a little bland and lacked seasoning. The mashed potatoes were also very good, but were too smooth, almost pureed. My personal preference is for a bit of unmashed potato in it, not everything completely smooth. Mind you, the potatoes weren't overcooked and watery. The mixed greens salad was very good. I think there was a lack of seasoning, though. I use almost no salt at home, but I have a different level of expectation when I dine out. The service was just okay. I don't care for servers who feel compelled to tell you what they "love" on the menu. I know they're told what to sell before they begin service, but absent a request for a recommendation, don't give me a sales pitch. It feels cheap.

food5
ambience5
service5

Sea Bass is a must, as is the roasted ca ...

vip
Dined on June 8, 2016

Sea Bass is a must, as is the roasted cauliflower. Mini donuts for dessert! Never disappointed for a great meal.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

It's been a while since the last time I ...

vip
Dined on June 8, 2016

It's been a while since the last time I dined at Cafe Lurcat, and it was even better then I remembered. From the service, drinks and food, everything was great and they operate like a well oiled machine. I was very impressed with how the food was cooked to perfection and extremely tasty and flavorful. The staff was so helpful, polite and courteous without being too overly attentive. All in all, I would go back in a heartbeat to celebrate a special occasion, since it is a little spendy and isn't for the faint of heart when it comes to price.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service5

Our server Ashley was phenomenal! Very k ...

Dined on June 5, 2016

Our server Ashley was phenomenal! Very knowledgeable and gave excellent advice on food and drink! :-)

food5
ambience5
service5

Steak was good but not amazing (go to Bu ...

Dined on June 2, 2016

Steak was good but not amazing (go to Burch for amazing) but everything else (steak with Madeira sauce, pork shank and risotto, halibut, pork roast) was super tasty. Service was excellent and made the evening feel special. Lovely 2 hour dinner!

food5
ambience5
service5

Loved the place- great atmosphere! Delic ...

vip
Dined on June 1, 2016

Loved the place- great atmosphere! Delicious food and wonderful service.

food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing food, great view of the park, an ...

Dined on May 30, 2016

Amazing food, great view of the park, and fantastic service.

food5
ambience5
service5

I always enjoy my visits

Dined on May 30, 2016

I always enjoy my visits

food3
ambience3
service1
value3

Off night at Lurcat

vip
Dined on May 30, 2016

The food would have been delicious but it was served lukewarm. The service was uncharacteristically awful. We have been to Lurcat many times and never had an experience like we had on this visit.

Tags: good for groups, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Always Good

Dined on May 30, 2016

We come to Café Lucrat routinely as food and service are always consistently good....one of our favorite spots.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Lovely Restaurant

Dined on May 29, 2016

Booked a table several weeks in advance for the patio for a special anniversary dinner. I re-checked the menu, etc. on-line the night before our family dinner. No mention about part of the cafe closed for a special event. When we arrived we noticed there was a wedding in the alley way. We were to meet the rest of our party in the bar and were told the main restaurant was open but the bar and patio were taken over by the wedding. We should have been called and given notice. We were seated at a very nice table and everything else was great. Good food and table service. Beef carpaccio excellent; ditto for French fries with Bernaise sauce; salmon with house-made spaetzel was cooked perfectly.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Lurcat never disappoints!

Dined on May 29, 2016

Café Lurcat has been a favorite of ours for over 10 years and it continues to never disappoint! Whether having drinks with friends in the bar or dining in the restaurant I can always count on the service and food being fantastic. We have also hosted larger group events in the private dining room and that too has outperformed my expectations. While we weren't able to enjoy the lovely outdoor patio given the rain the night we dined, its a great area on a nice Minnesota day. Looking forward to many more years of enjoying this fabulous restaurant!

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

The overall experience was great. The p ...

Dined on May 28, 2016

The overall experience was great. The pace of the meal was good was not rushed and our server was always there when we needed something. Food was excellent. Would recommend Cafe Lurcat to anyone looking for a wonderful place to eat.

food5
ambience5
service4
value3

CELEBRATION

Dined on May 28, 2016

This was our first experience at Cafe Lucrat. We had 3 birthdays that we were celebrating in the month of May. The atmosphere was elegant and unique. The food was excellent especially the Sea Bass. Our server was very helpful with explaining the menu items and very attentive. The only issue we had was the acoustics were very loud, very hard to hear people at your table without somewhat yelling.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Expensive but worth it

vip
Dined on May 27, 2016

Sigh, it would be nice if we could enjoy such wonderful food and service on a regular basis. But first we'll need to win the lottery, or get jobs that include an entertainment expense account, or make rich friends who will treat us to dinners out. Until then, we'll continue to save our pennies for several months and then splurge again on dinner at Lurcat.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Service was great, patio is gorgeous. Fo ...

Dined on May 25, 2016

Service was great, patio is gorgeous. Food is always amazing.

food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Great Ambience

Dined on May 24, 2016

The setting, location & service are great. The roasted chicken was well executed though a tad too salty while the roasted pork shank was a bit dry. The wine selection was very good but on a pricey side. I'd try other dishes before making a final judgement.

Tags: romantic, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It is always a surprise to me that this ...

Dined on May 24, 2016

It is always a surprise to me that this doesn't rate higher in the various restaurant rankings in the Twin Cities. It is consistently wonderfully prepared food.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service4

Date Night is the way to go on Sunday's! ...

Dined on May 23, 2016

Date Night is the way to go on Sunday's!! Food was amazing. And service was great. One of our favorite places in the twin cities.

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Our servers were excellent. Our food wa ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

Our servers were excellent. Our food was outstanding. We were there on Date Night which is a superb deal. We couldn't have been happier. It was our 35th Wedding Anniversary that day. There was one small glitch. We were seated on the patio and there was a person sitting in the alley directly across from us who stared at us non-stop. It was rather unnerving and uncomfortable. I asked Ian if this was normal and he said it was the 1st time it had happened and they were trying to figure out what to do about it. The manager came and talked to us and said they were taking care of it. The Paramedics and the Police were summoned and they convinced him to move along to the park. He left. After about 15 minutes, however, he returned. He did not stay so long, but wandered back and forth. Just a weird thing to have happen. I feel Cafe Lucrat handled the situation as best they could and appreciate their concern for their patrons comfort.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We like Café Lurcat for special occasion ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

We like Café Lurcat for special occasions. Their "Date Night" promotion was our favorite. They recently changed this promotion and discontinued the bottle of wine included in favor of larger food portions. The house wine they no longer include was an inexpensive variety and we were satisfied with the food proportions before the change. As always, the quality of the food and the service at Café Lurcat are both exceptional!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

We sat outside which was lovely. The ser ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

We sat outside which was lovely. The service was very good and the food was also good. We ordered off the bar menu as the main dinner menu was just too pricey. The 2 small chicken sandwiches I got for $8.50 were tasty and along with the very good basket of french fries, was filling enough. $10 for french fries is a lot though in my book, but they were very good. ; -)

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything was amazing! Our waiter was s ...

vip
Dined on May 20, 2016

Everything was amazing! Our waiter was spectacular and the food was incredible!

food5
ambience5
service2
value5

date nigh

Dined on May 15, 2016

we walked into a date night menu which was a nice surprise. We added on an app and potato side. Food was all around great. We had several lulls in our service. One in between our salad and dinner and a very long one before our desert.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lovely food, presentation and service. W ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Lovely food, presentation and service. We love date night!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service4

Really great dinner! Wished I lived in ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Really great dinner! Wished I lived in Minneapolis, I would eat here often! Great decor and ambience. Service good. Food was great. Great fish and scallops, better than our usual fare on the East coast. How is this possible? Five stars.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.