About Cafe Lurcat - Minneapolis

TOP 50 RESTAURANTS, TOP 10 FOOD: Minneapolis/St. Paul Magazine
TOP TEN RESTAURANTS / Mpls St Paul Magazine
BEST SUMMER PATIOS / City Pages Summer Guide
BEST BURGERS / Mpls St Paul Magazine
BEST WINE BAR / City Pages “Best of the Twin Cities”
TOP TEN WINE LISTS / Food and Wine
WINE ENTHUSIAST / Award of Distinction
BEST BURGERS / Silver Spoon Award, Minnesota Monthly
THE HOT FIVE: PATIOS / Star Tribune
WHERE TO EAT / New York Magazine
BEST IN REAL ESTATE / Business Journal
DINER'S CHOICE / Mpls St Paul
BEST OF THE TWINCITIES / City Pages
TOP 50 RESTAURANTS: TOP 10 FOR FOOD / Minneapolis St. Paul Magazine

Sweeping views of Loring Park, innovative American food, a captivating bar featuring 200+ wines with 30 by the glass make this venue a complete destination. Open every evening. Reservations Recommended.

1624 Harmon Place
Minneapolis, MN 55403
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Comfort Food, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Café Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 11:00pm, Sunday- 5:30pm - 9:00pm
Bar: Sunday-4:30pm-10:00pm, Monday - Thursday: 4:30pm - 11:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:30pm - 12:00am

Cross Street:
Maple

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(612) 486-5500

Website:
http://www.cafelurcat.com/

Parking Details:
Lurcat Valet $9.00 cash at curb, metered street parking, MCTC Ramp on Hennepin- fee varies, Loop Lot on the corner of Maple and harmon $6.00 cash available

Executive Chef:
Jordan Swiler

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Celebrate your Sweetheart 2/14/2017! Dinner service is from 5:30pm-10:00pm. All four dining rooms will be booked for dinner service. The "Andrew Walesch Trio" will perform in the lounge dining room from 6:00-10:00, Tommy O'Donnell 6:00-10:00. We will serve a 4 course prefix $85 per person menu. this will be the only menu available on 2/14/2017.

Bar Lurcat will host "BOSS", an LGBTQ Friendly, dance party on Saturday 3/25/2017 from 9:00pm-1:00am. Featured drinks specials, DJ and dancing, $7.00 cover. Join us as we celebrate our Gay Pride spirit!


Private Dining

Cafe and Bar Lurcat offers many private dining spaces and both the Cafe and Bar are available for private functions. Space for groups of over 10 can also be reserved in the bar area. Please take the 360 virtual tour at www.cafelurcat.com to view these beautiful eclectic spaces.

Cafe Lurcat - Minneapolis Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (90)
Good for a Date (85)
Good for Anniversaries (79)
See All
Romantic (72)
Fit for Foodies (63)
Good for Birthdays (52)
Notable Wine List (48)
Scenic View (46)
Creative Cuisine (45)
Worth the Drive (40)
Neighborhood Gem (34)
Good for Groups (34)
Modern Decor (28)
Pre/post Theatre (26)
Cozy (25)
Handcrafted Cocktails (25)
People Watching (25)
Bar Seating (24)
Vibrant Bar Scene (23)
Business Meals (23)
Open Kitchen (23)
Fun (21)
Authentic (21)
Hot Spot (18)
Historic (16)
Quiet Conversation (15)
Seasonal (14)
Happy Hour (14)
Healthy (12)
Comfort Food (10)
Local Ingredients (9)
Late-night Find (8)
Private Room (8)
Great for Outdoor Dining (8)
Tasting Menu (8)
Great Beer (6)
Molecular Gastronomy (6)
Gluten Free Options (6)
Casual (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Outstanding Value (4)
Great for Brunch (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Wood Oven (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Live Music (2)
Organic (2)
Dancing (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Tapas (1)
Waterfront (1)
Vegan (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Family Style (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
2832 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The food was delicious, and the staff wa ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined 2 days ago

The food was delicious, and the staff was wonderful. Our waiter was very attentive and courteous.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wow! Loved the location- looking out at ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 2 days ago

Wow! Loved the location- looking out at Loring Park. The atmosphere was comfortably upscale. The food was delicious. The service was attentive. I will definitely be back again!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I've been coming here for many years and ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 2 days ago

I've been coming here for many years and it's always great. One of my top 3 Minneapolis restaurants.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic experience, the service was gr ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 2 days ago

Fantastic experience, the service was great and the food was well worth the price for their date night on Sundays! Would definitely go back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great service, awesome views of Loring P ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 2 days ago

Great service, awesome views of Loring Park. You can tell they put some thought & effort into both the menu and the environment... all the way down to the pre meal bread/butter which were delicious. Will be back, but prices will keep me from returning as often as I'd like.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Outstanding service!!! Superb cuisine an ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 2 days ago

Outstanding service!!! Superb cuisine and romantic setting

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place but we got seated at a table ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 3 days ago

Great place but we got seated at a table near the main door and kitchen...felt like we were going to be trampled by staff and customers the whole time...Food was great and staff was awesome.

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Absolutely beautiful. The view of Loring ...

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined 3 days ago

Absolutely beautiful. The view of Loring Park is beautiful, service is great, and food is absolutely delicious. Seafood is perfectly prepared, veggie options were delicious, and the Indian food choices were a fun surprise!

Tags: Healthy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Good for Groups, People Watching, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very good old fashioned, hanger steak, a ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 3 days ago

Very good old fashioned, hanger steak, and atmosphere.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

great atmosphere, great service, great f ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 3 days ago

great atmosphere, great service, great food, great experience

Tags: Healthy, Scenic View, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Open Kitchen, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Casual, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Great Beer, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Great for Lunch, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a great time doing a late dinner ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 4 days ago

We had a great time doing a late dinner after Shen Yun. Excellent service and great food.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, People Watching, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It was a little spendy, but well worth i ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 4 days ago

It was a little spendy, but well worth it. The food was delicious!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

It was amazing. I really enjoyed myself. ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined 4 days ago

It was amazing. I really enjoyed myself. It was my 30th birthday and it was awesome. Couldn't have picked a better place

Tags: Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Happy Hour, Late-night Find, Private Room, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food, service and atmosphere were all gr ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined 4 days ago

Food, service and atmosphere were all great. Would definitely return again to try additional items on the menu.

Tags: Hot Spot, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The sea bass is amazing and I've tried t ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 4 days ago

The sea bass is amazing and I've tried them all around town. Cafe Lurcat is consistenly good. All our entrees we've ever had have been wonderful actually. It's at the top of my list when I want to go somewhere where I know we are going to love our food. I prefer the smaller dining room area. It is less noisy. We celebrated my birthday there and had a table by the window. Perfect!

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was incredible, and the service ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 5 days ago

The food was incredible, and the service was amazing. My boyfriend and I came here for our anniversary dinner and we were very pleased with our experience. I will recommend Lurcat to my friends and family and you can be sure that I will return!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Casual, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This place is impossibly noisy. Don't e ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 6 days ago

This place is impossibly noisy. Don't expect to talk to your table mates.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Cafe Lurcat never disappoints. The Valen ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 7 days ago

Cafe Lurcat never disappoints. The Valentine's dinner was as good as any other meal we have had there. And the atmosphere is head and shoulders above 99% of restaurants in the area.

Tags: Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Live Music, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Fantastic Valentines Day menu. Couldn't ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 7 days ago

Fantastic Valentines Day menu. Couldn't have asked for a better place to have dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The filet and rack of lamb were outstand ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 7 days ago

The filet and rack of lamb were outstanding! Great food, great service, great beer. Very creative dishes

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great Beer, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Open Kitchen, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value2

I've eaten at Lurcat several times over ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 7 days ago

I've eaten at Lurcat several times over the years. Most recently was a special Valentine's Day menu. Very good food and nice view of Loring Park.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We have never been less than impressed w ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We have never been less than impressed with our meals here. Impeccable service, we ordered the sea bass and it was a little cold and within a few minutes we had a fresh hot one. Wine list is a little spendy, but we bring a nice bottle and pay the 25.00 corkage fee.

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Business Meals, Open Kitchen, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My girlfriend and I went on Valentines D ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 15, 2017

My girlfriend and I went on Valentines Day to celebrate the obvious. It was great, parking was very hard to find but only because it was Valentines, but the valet was cheap only $9 and was quick to get you and the car taken care of. We stepped in and it was a very nice place. Very romantic and great. Unfortunately, I was told when I called to check on dinner reservation spots that our table was close by the live music which we were looking forward to, but then got sat very far away to where we could only faintly hear it. We ordered our food and got our appetizers shortly after. I loved mine and wasnt a fan of what my girlfriend got, but she loved it so that's all that matters! I got crab cakes and I always love crab cakes... Let's get this straight now! Their food is amazing!! No argument there at all! But then after we rather quickly got our appetizers we probably sat there for about 45 min and I mean 45 min or more for our entrées... This was pretty crappy because we had a movie that we had to make at 8:25 with dinner reservations at 6:30 thinking we had plenty of time but instead we had to get our deserts boxed up and leave very quickly. Now let's clear some things up, our waitress was awesome and it wasn't her fault at all. Shortly after we got our entrée, a woman told us our food would be free and didn't charge us for anything, but my beer and it was an $85 a person prefix meal without the drink cost, so that was amazing!!!! I understand that it was Valentines Day and they won best Valentines day restaurant of the year so hey stuff happens and you get busy and so much going on you might miss some stuff. But hey all and all it was fantastic! I know this review sounds "iffy" but I promise it's worth it. On a not so busy day like valentines I'm sure everything is much quicker and that's all they slacked on and I'm sure the reason we didn't get our seats was because customers were still eating and it happens ! Thanks a lot Cafe Lurcat!

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for Groups, Private Room, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

We went to Cafe Lurcat for Valentines Da ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 14, 2017

We went to Cafe Lurcat for Valentines Day. The food and service was superb. We really enjoyed our date night at Cafe Lurcat!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food and romantic atmosphere but q ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Great food and romantic atmosphere but quite pricey for the Valentine's Day menu.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Great Valentine's dinner. 4 course meal. ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Great Valentine's dinner. 4 course meal. Crab cakes, beef tenderloin, sea bass, and desert were amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Valentine's Day

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Valentine's Day

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Open Kitchen, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Date night is our favorite time to go. ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Date night is our favorite time to go. The food is delicious and the staff is awesome.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was well timed in each course & ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 13, 2017

The food was well timed in each course & presented attractively. The texture & flavor of every bite was excellent. Our waiter was informative & attentive. The only thing that wasn't perfect was the amount of noise from active chatter, but that was to be expected in a popular place with a full room of guests & busy kitchen.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Historic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Very nice place with good food and drink ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Very nice place with good food and drink options. The dessert and starter are not that bad, but need to be better for the price. Overall, not a bad place if you have a fat wallet.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value1

Incredible as always! My go-to place whe ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Incredible as always! My go-to place when I want incredible food and service!

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, People Watching, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Considering the restaurant style and cos ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Considering the restaurant style and cost, the bathrooms are terrible! You have to dodge waitstaff just to get to them.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

The food was good! The service was great ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 12, 2017

The food was good! The service was great! My only problem was that they sat my lady and I in the corner!!!! Soo not cool

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Cafe Lucrat is an outstanding restaurant ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Cafe Lucrat is an outstanding restaurant a phenomenal place to eat!! (Highly recommend their Amish Chicken or Korean Salmon) The food is pricy (sides are not included in entrees) but it is completely worth it! Service was very good noise level was not bad considering it was a Saturday night... would definitely come again!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We have long considered Lurcat to be a s ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 11, 2017

We have long considered Lurcat to be a star in Minneapolis. Sadly, our last couple of visits have made us feel that it is slipping. Food is still great, but what used to be consistently outstanding service has become hit or miss. Our food and drink were not served in a coordinated manner (food showed up before our wine, then main courses showed up while we were still eating appetizers). Food was delicious, and we enjoy the rotating portion of the menu featuring different regions. The current Indian dishes we tried were both wonderful. We did have a very nice time getting a drink in the bar before dinner. Bartenders were personable and attentive. We wish the lounge would go back to the more varied and comfortable seating it used to have, rather than simply being filled with more tables for dining.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Amazing food, service, and ambiance. Def ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Amazing food, service, and ambiance. Definitely add this place to your Twin Cities culinary bucket list!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Cozy, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We celebrated our daughters birthday! A ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 11, 2017

We celebrated our daughters birthday! Amazing food, service and atmosphere!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It was our 34th anniversary and everyone ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 11, 2017

It was our 34th anniversary and everyone who interacted with us from the host to the server to the manager-everyone made a point to wish us a happy anniversary. They gave us a lovely table for two by the window because of the special occasion which we so appreciated. It was a full moon and just perfect. And if the ambiance wasn't perfect enough, the food was absolutely wonderful! I had the Korean barbecue salmon over black rice and my husband had the tenderloin with the baby green salad with smoked goat cheese and candied walnuts and a side of a very creative fried rice stacked in a tower , topped with egg yolk and wrapped in the egg white. Wonderful flavors and beautiful presentation! We brought a 2001 Pape Clement Bordeaux which topped it all off! Then they brought us a wonderful dessert with coffee . It was such a nice evening we walked back (about 4 blocks) to the Hilton Minneapolis in the moonlight. I highly recommend Cafe Lucrat - it is one of our favorite places and will be for many anniversaries to come!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This is a restaurant and menu that would ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 10, 2017

This is a restaurant and menu that would hold up in any city on the globe. Service, ambiance, welcoming management and staff seal the warm Minneapolis experience.

Tags: Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Tasting Menu, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food quality excellent but expensive and ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Food quality excellent but expensive and the same goes for their wine selection. Service was slow and it was very noisy. Additionally, the bathrooms were inadequate (mens) and a long line waiting made matters worse. Have dined at their location in Naples Florida and can say it was a much better experience.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Modern Decor, People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.