About Cafe Lurcat - Minneapolis

1624 Harmon Place
Minneapolis, MN 55403
View Larger Map

TOP 50 RESTAURANTS, TOP 10 FOOD: Minneapolis/St. Paul Magazine
TOP TEN RESTAURANTS / Mpls St Paul Magazine
BEST SUMMER PATIOS / City Pages Summer Guide
BEST BURGERS / Mpls St Paul Magazine
BEST WINE BAR / City Pages “Best of the Twin Cities”
TOP TEN WINE LISTS / Food and Wine
WINE ENTHUSIAST / Award of Distinction
BEST BURGERS / Silver Spoon Award, Minnesota Monthly
THE HOT FIVE: PATIOS / Star Tribune
WHERE TO EAT / New York Magazine
BEST IN REAL ESTATE / Business Journal
DINER'S CHOICE / Mpls St Paul
BEST OF THE TWINCITIES / City Pages
TOP 50 RESTAURANTS: TOP 10 FOR FOOD / Minneapolis St. Paul Magazine

Sweeping views of Loring Park, innovative American food, a captivating bar featuring 200+ wines with 30 by the glass make this venue a complete destination. Open every evening. Reservations Recommended.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Comfort Food, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Café Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 11:00pm, Sunday- 5:30pm - 9:00pm
Bar: Sunday-4:30pm-10:00pm, Monday - Thursday: 4:30pm - 11:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:30pm - 12:00am

Cross Street:
Maple

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(612) 486-5500

Website:
http://www.cafelurcat.com/

Parking Details:
Valet & street parking available

Executive Chef:
Adam King

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Warm Cinnamon-Sugar Donuts
Apple Cheese & Chive Salad
Hanger Steak
Orange Passionfruit Pavlova
Chocolate ice cream
French Fries
Eiffel Tower Sparkle
Spice Market Cocktail
Spicy King Crab Tartelettes With Fruit Salsa
Grilled Hanger Steak
Beef Tenderloin with Onion Sauce
Creekstone Farm's Hanger Steak
Beef Carpaccio
Lurcat Crab Cake
Triple Chocolate Cream Cake
Roasted Boneless Half Chicken with Gremolata Butter
Fork And Knife
New York Strip Steak
Fried Rice
Lorem Sipsum Cocktail
Small plates
Passion Fruit Crepe
Latte
Sorbet With Berries And Citrus Wafers
Berkshire Pork Tenderloin
Day Boat Sea Scallops
French Bread And Salted Butter
Asian Tuna "Pizza"
Housemade Udon Noodles With Chinese Barbecue Chicken
Apple & Cheese Salad
Salad With Apple And Goat Cheese
Raw Vegetable Salad
Strawberry Crostata
Pan-Seared Pork Tenderloin

Promotions

Three Course Prix Fixe Meal for $50.00

Sundays from 5:00 PM - 9:00 PM

Promotions

Three Course Prix Fixe Meal for $50.00

Sundays from 5:00 PM - 9:00 PM

Details
Three Course Prix Fixe Meal for $50.00. Excludes Tax and Tip. NEW DATE NIGHT SPECIAL! 3 courses for $50.00. 50% off bottled wine under $100. Special valid May 22, 2016 - Sep 18, 2016 on Sundays from 5:00 PM - 9:00 PM.

Private Dining

Cafe and Bar Lurcat offers many private dining spaces and both the Cafe and Bar are available for private functions. Space for groups of over 10 can also be reserved in the bar area. Please take the 360 virtual tour at www.cafelurcat.com to view these beautiful eclectic spaces.

Cafe Lurcat - Minneapolis Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Minneapolis - St. Paul
Contemporary American
Minneapolis - St. Paul
Best Ambiance
Twin Cities / Minneapolis
2 More
Romantic
Twin Cities / Minneapolis
Contemporary American
Twin Cities / Minneapolis
Best Restaurants in Downtown / North Loop ›

special occasion (167)
fit for foodies (155)
romantic (129)
See All
neighborhood gem (97)
scenic view (93)
good for groups (83)
notable wine list (71)
hot spot (66)
great for outdoor dining (55)
vibrant bar scene (48)
late-night find (22)
great for brunch (21)
great for lunch (14)
kid-friendly (2)
Sort By:
Newest
2435 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Cafe Lurcat never disappoints for food a ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined 4 days ago

Cafe Lurcat never disappoints for food and service, and their Sunday date night special is a great deal.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always love dining here. Their Sunday "d ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined 4 days ago

Always love dining here. Their Sunday "date night"

Promotion has to be the best fine dining value in the Cities .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Watch and double check your bill at the ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined 4 days ago

Watch and double check your bill at the end of the night! It was 1/2 price wine night but that is not what came on our bill. Although the server corrected it, when dining with friends sometimes it is easy to toss a few credit cards down and just split the bill. Check for errors first. Food was excellent but not being able to trust an accurate bill left a bad taste. Mistakes happen and this got resolved.

Tags: notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value2

The date night menu is a great value. T ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined 4 days ago

The date night menu is a great value. The service we had that night was impeccable. We will be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Because I was bringing an out of town gu ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined 5 days ago

Because I was bringing an out of town guest, I requested a window table a week or more in advance. I even mentioned it when we checked in. We were seated in a small room three tables back from the window. When I saw how many tables in the restaurant had window seating, I was livid. It was not the outstanding dining experience recommended to me.

Tags: notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service5
value2

Steak under cooked, pork over cooked. Th ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined 7 days ago

Steak under cooked, pork over cooked. Thursday evening very busy, loud. Good for high energy get togethers where one needs to shout to carry on a conversation.

Tags: fit for foodies, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Late birthday dinner, during week. Food ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined 7 days ago

Late birthday dinner, during week. Food and drinks were really good. Drinks pretty expensive though ($13) Great building but very hot inside, somewhat uncomfortable. Strongly recommend.

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The food and service were amazing. Our w ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined 7 days ago

The food and service were amazing. Our waiter was really attentive, as were other staff. Our water glasses were never empty. There's a diverse cocktail list and an interesting and large menu. Everything we sampled was delicious. You definitely need a reservation when going nights on the weekend. The place fills up fast!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food and great services! Love ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Excellent food and great services! Love it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fabulous spot for nice dinner. My sister ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Fabulous spot for nice dinner. My sisters and I met during restaurant week and enjoyed the corn crepe appetizer and the salmon entree. My sisters had the key lime dessert and I had Izzys ice cream. All the food and the service was top line. Highly recommended.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We dined on the restaurant week special. ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

We dined on the restaurant week special.

The food was all amazing and a great value.

Lars our waiter was excellent.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great food and wonderful service! Loved ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Great food and wonderful service! Loved going to the Mpls. Restaurant Week event. Love the Cafe Lurcat and definitely will return!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

wow, over the top experience. great foo ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

wow, over the top experience. great food,the best service ever !. the staff delivered the wrong food order, didn't realize it until we started eating it. It happens, not uncommon. but what was uncommon was their response. We ate the wrong order which was very good plus they gave us our original order for take home plus an additional desert surprise and comp'd the whole meal, ex drinks. yes, the whole meal. made us feel like Rock Stars, Mick I bet they didn't do that for you:) We'll be back, this Saturday in fact! thanks to Ann mgr and Lars our waiter for great experience

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great meals for our Restaurant Week outi ...

vip
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Great meals for our Restaurant Week outing! The three of us tried several items and everything was delicious as it was beautiful to look at.

I've been here before for late-night at the bar. I would highly recommend that too.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We dinned at Cafe Lurcat for Restaurant ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

We dinned at Cafe Lurcat for Restaurant Week with an early reservation at 5:30 pm. We were seated right away and service was excellent, as always, in both the bar and dining room areas. The fixed price menu (appetizer, main meal and dessert) was a very good value with a significant number of items to choose from (3 in each category). Our table had the pork tenderloin or salmon entrees, which where reduced in portion, but very tasty. The corn and mushroom crepe, as well as the beef carpaccio were also very good. We ordered additional appetizers to share at the table for four people (crab cake and the sesame fried rice). These items again were tasty but very expensive at $15 for a small plate. Cafe Lurcat remains one of the premiere restaurants in the Twin Cities with imaginative, creative dishes and supurb service. The ambiance is also eclectic, upscale and fun to dine in.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Food was great! We want to figure out ho ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Food was great! We want to figure out how to make the honey crisp apple salad. Our server was outstanding. He gave us lots of tips/history of Minneapolis.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We took advantage of Cafe Lurcat during ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

We took advantage of Cafe Lurcat during MPLS Restaurant Week and we couldn't be happier with our choice! The Restaurant Week menu was varied enough to give us some great options, and it really gave us a chance to explore some flavors and dishes we haven't ha at all/often. We had the apple and cheese salad, beef carpaccio, flank steak, salmon, chocolate peanut butter dessert, meringue and fruit dessert, and a few different red wines - we'd order that all again. Thanks Cafe Lurcat!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved the food!!!

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Loved the food!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I use open table because I don't want to ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

I use open table because I don't want to talk to people on the phone. Calling me to confirm the reservation is annoying and defeats the purpose of me using the App. If you want to confirm, send an email, or something else.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

A friend and I had dinner at Cafe Lurcat ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

A friend and I had dinner at Cafe Lurcat last Sunday. It was a great evening, from the gracious greeting from the long-standing hostess to our waiter, Ken, to a delicious meal. The corn crepe appetizer was superb, as was the salmon main course. To top off the meal, we had a light and summery meringue desert with fresh fruit. The price tag was very reasonable and bottles of wine were half off. At Lurcat the staff go the extra mile: before I was 100 yards away from the restaurant I had a call from the hostess letting me know that I had forgotten my hat.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

We ate here for a mother daughter get aw ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

We ate here for a mother daughter get away. We ate out on the patio, which was lovely and made it easy to visit. The restaurant is near a park so there is a lot of beautiful things to look at. The food was sublime. I had the pork shank with risotto. So good. Nice spice and the meat just fell off the bone. Good dessert selection too. Drinks were made well and delivered as we needed. Service was attentive and helpful without hovering. We will return for sure!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent atmosphere in the back alleywa ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Excellent atmosphere in the back alleyway dining area. One of the most beautiful places I've had the pleasure of dining. The service, food, and overall experience were excellent. Will absolutely recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very personable wait staff, accommodatin ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Very personable wait staff, accommodating cooks and friendly atmosphere. First-rate cuisine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

I organised a project team celebration d ...

vip
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

I organised a project team celebration dinner at Cafe Lurcat for 5 people. Our server was fantastic, the ambiance is lovely, and everyone enjoyed their meals. I highly recommend this restaurant!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I enjoyed the ambiance of the courtyard ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

I enjoyed the ambiance of the courtyard in the back of the restaurant. My apple, cheese, and chive salad did not taste as fresh as I had expected -- maybe it was prepared a day or two before. I ordered the halibut which I liked although it was a a bit dry on the outside.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Everything's great. Great server too. Ho ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Everything's great. Great server too. Hope I can make back there again. Was my business trip so not locally. Too bad.

Specially great appetizer and bread. I highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great dining spot for a couple on a date ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Great dining spot for a couple on a date night or special occasion. Quiet atmosphere, friendly and professional service, great food. I highly recommend the hanger steak with madeira and garlic confit- good portion of steak with a delectable and unique taste.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

We love his place and don't return often ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

We love his place and don't return often enough! The menu s divers, the beer an wine list are complete. The services always wonderful. It's in the historic gay Loring Park!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fresh Halibat which was suggested by wai ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Fresh Halibat which was suggested by waitress came out overcooked and without any real flavor. Hangar steak came out rare, not med rare, and had little flavor as well. For these prices, they need to step their game up big time. Won't go back...

Tags: romantic, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value3

Fabulous fresh oysters -wonderful starte ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Fabulous fresh oysters -wonderful starters-entrees were very good -especially fish dishes -lamb pasta good-desserts great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Their Sunday date night deal is a great ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Their Sunday date night deal is a great value! For $50 per couple you each get 3 great courses. The corn crepe starter was my favorite.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

the date-night special looked like a sma ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

the date-night special looked like a smaller portion (hanger steak)

The food was not hot when served

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Our server Joe was great! The miso glaz ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Our server Joe was great! The miso glazed sea bass is the best I've ever had. Hats off to the chef 👌👌👌

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

The menu was interesting but the restaur ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

The menu was interesting but the restaurant is tired - ripped fabric on couches, dust balls in corners, rusted door frames. Good location, friendly staff.

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

My husband and I had our 11 year anniver ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

My husband and I had our 11 year anniversary dinner here. The food was absolutely wonderful and the staff was very friendly and patient with all our questions about the menu. I can say without hesitation that everything we ate was delicious. The only complaint I had was that I wanted to try other things but was too full. The room is nice and bright with a nice view of Loring Park. It was Pride Weekend when we dined and even though there was a dance party in the bar it didn't cross over into our side.

What we ate:

Appetizer (we shared):

Ginger Fried Rice with Shrimp, Sausage and Egg

Dinners:

Pot Roast with Red Wine and Potato Purée

Prime Dry-Aged Rib Eye with Caramelized Onions and Roasted Garlic

Sides (shared sides)

Roasted Broccoli with Chili, Garlic and Lemon

Roasted Baby Potatoes with Gremolata Butter

Dessert (we shared):

Dark Chocolate Profiteroles with Salted Caramel Ice Cream and Spiced Candied Pecans

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Ate in the back patio (our favorite) bec ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Ate in the back patio (our favorite) because it reminds us of Paris every time we eat there. Had great service and of course great food. Loved the fries!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our waiter was outstanding - a beautiful ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Our waiter was outstanding - a beautiful man named Brett...just amazing! The food was excellent as usual! We even had Chef Jordon stop by our table and give me a recipe...what a treat to have such a great customer service experience - by far one of the best places in town!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We eat at Lurcat mostly on weekends when ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

We eat at Lurcat mostly on weekends when the noise level is okay. On Monday the crowd seemed to be mostly business people from out of town. It was extremely noisy, and we'll never eat there again on a weekday evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Went for date night on Sunday, probably ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

Went for date night on Sunday, probably our 4th or 5th time doing so. It did change a little, the bottle of wine is no longer included, but they do have an extensive wine list and offer 1/2 price off a bottle less than $50. The food was EXCELLENT, as usual, offering seasonal delights and good variety of options even on the date night menu. Service was top notch, we were visited multiple times by our attentive and sweet server. We love Cafe Lurcat. Thank you!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

You can't go wrong going here - though t ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

You can't go wrong going here - though the menu is a little tired.

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.