Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 72 times today

Cafe Lurcat - Minneapolis

4.7
3451 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$31 to $50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
American
Top Tags:
  • Special Occasion
  • Good for a Date
  • Good for Anniversaries
TOP 50 RESTAURANTS, TOP 10 FOOD: Minneapolis/St. Paul Magazine
TOP TEN RESTAURANTS / Mpls St Paul Magazine
BEST SUMMER PATIOS / City Pages Summer Guide
BEST BURGERS / Mpls St Paul Magazine
BEST WINE BAR / City Pages “Best of the Twin Cities”
TOP TEN WINE LISTS / Food and Wine
WINE ENTHUSIAST / Award of Distinction
BEST BURGERS / Silver Spoon Award, Minnesota Monthly
THE HOT FIVE: PATIOS / Star Tribune
WHERE TO EAT / New York Magazine
BEST IN REAL ESTATE / Business Journal
DINER'S CHOICE / Mpls St Paul
BEST OF THE TWINCITIES / City Pages
TOP 50 RESTAURANTS: TOP 10 FOR FOOD / Minneapolis St. Paul Magazine

Sweeping views of Loring Park, innovative American food, a captivating bar featuring 200+ wines with 30 by the glass make this venue a complete destination. Open every evening. Reservations Recommended.
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private dining
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
American, Comfort Food, Steak
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Café Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 11:00pm, Sunday- 5:30pm - 9:00pm
Bar: Sunday-4:30pm-10:00pm, Monday - Thursday: 4:30pm - 11:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:30pm - 12:00am

Cafe and Bar Lurcat books reservations in all four dining rooms, including the bar and lounge. Our floor to ceiling windows overlook Loring Park on all sides of the property. We will do our best to honor your seating preferences. We look forward to serving you.


icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(612) 486-5500
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Jordan Swiler
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Maple
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Lurcat Valet $9.00 cash at curb, metered street parking, MCTC Ramp on Hennepin- fee varies, Loop Lot on the corner of Maple and harmon $6.00 cash available
icon/ic_entertainmentCreated with Sketch.
Entertainment
Join Cafe and Bar Lurcat for Easter Brunch on Sunday, April 1, 2018. Enjoy our three course Family Style brunch $35.00 per adult, 12 per child 12 and under (only menu available- no regular dinner or bar menu). Serving 9:00am-3:00pm. The Easter bunny will join the kids at our amazing craft station too! Credit card required for reservations. Seating all 4 dining rooms. Credit card required for all reservations.
icon/ic_special_eventsCreated with Sketch.
Special events & promotions
Join Cafe and Bar Lurcat for Valentine's Day 2/14/2018. Enjoy our 4 course pre-fix dinner $90.00 per person (only menu available- no regular dinner or bar menu). Live music from the Andrew Walesch trio 6:00-10:30. Credit card required for reservations. Seating all 4 dining rooms. Credit card required for all reservations.
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

Cafe and Bar Lurcat offers many private dining spaces and both the Cafe and Bar are available for private functions. Space for groups of over 10 can also be reserved in the bar area. Please take the 360 virtual tour at www.cafelurcat.com to view these beautiful eclectic spaces.

View Private Dining Details
What 3451 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.7based on recent ratings
4.7
food
4.7
service
4.6
ambience
4.3
value
Noise · Moderate
96% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined 5 days ago

Ken was phenomenal again of course. Food was fantastic. We'll be back, and yes we will request ken!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 6 days ago

We had a lovely time and the steak tartare was the best we've ever had.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 12, 2018

We had the most amazing meal. My second time here and it was better than the first. Food atmosphere drinks all amazing.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 11, 2018

Absolutely wonderful meal as always. Love the sea bass. Great filet and cauliflower. Always love coming here.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 10, 2018

Beautiful table, overlooking the park. Amazing food, especially the miso sea bass and the pavlova. Attentive server. Quite noisy.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 10, 2018

Cafe Lurcat hasn’t disappointed us before and this dinner was no exception. Nice bottle of barbarella to pair with a filet mignon and a flank steak, which were cooked as ordered. Roasted cauliflower is delicious! Service was really impeccable.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 9, 2018

Great food, beautiful space. Cafe Lurcat is one of our all time favorites in Minneapolis.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 7, 2018

Very nice dinner with old friends.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on June 7, 2018

Music was definitely not fine dining and way to loud. It would be nice to be able to converse when dining.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 3, 2018

Beautiful place with delicious food and totally fantastic service. We go often and are never disappointed.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 3, 2018

Everything was great until my steak entree came out over cooked. I sent it back and then it came back way under. Instead of giving me a whole new steak they threw the steak back on the grill and then brought it back out with bloody and cold mashed potatoes. They did comp our dinner which was the right thing to do but how do you not get the 2nd steak right?

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 3, 2018

Food was fabulous as usual, and always a pretty spot to dine. This particular time the service was outstanding!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 2, 2018

Great service from Anthony and delicious food with every course.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 1, 2018

Fabulous restaurant. Food was great. Service was spectacular. Have eaten in some of the best restaurants in the world and this was an incredible experience.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 27, 2018

The food and cocktails at Lurcat are amazing. I dream about the Miso Sea Bass. I have to say I was disappointed in the service though. We came for my parents 45th wedding anniversary which I noted in the reservation. It was not acknowledged in any way. I did not expect anything free however, I thought it would be mentioned in some way whether in a congratulations from our server, a message on the menu, or writing Happy Anniversary on one of the plates of dessert we ordered. I would think for a restaurant that often handles special occasions, they would have actually done something special. It won't stop me from coming back. It's one of my favorite restaurants in the city. Just disappointed in their lack of attention.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 27, 2018

We met friends here for the Sunday evening "Date Night." It was a lovely experience. We enjoyed it all. Everything from the crusty artisan bread to the creative, delicious desserts was tasty and beautifully presented. We received wider choice and more food than we anticipated, given the special Sunday evening couple's menu. The expansive view of Loring Park from our window seat added to the European feel of our time together. Our waiter was a delight. I wish we had asked his name!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 27, 2018

We had a later evening seating. Our server was good, but table attention was sporadic. Everything ordered took forever - drinks, appetizers, food. Lurcat is not the best value in town, but we come back time and again. Food was so so. Same menu as a year ago. Loathed the floor manager who asks about everything, but answered his own question with, “that’s great, awesome”. We had never replied to his leading question and sat stunned as he walked away thinking he had checked the box and walked away. Zero service heart.

Seems ownership has taken their hands off the handlebars. Sadly the his gig has run it race.

Cannot think of a compelling reason to come back.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on May 27, 2018

Overpriced, not good value. Food was at most mediocre.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 26, 2018

Our favorite place to go either to see the snow fall outside the large picture windows or sitting on the 2 patios. The New Mexican Voyager menu is coming next week! Lurcat adds a special part of the world to their menu every quarter. Known for the Miso Sea Bass which is incredible but don’t miss the hangar steak if you like meat. French fries are a must along with the veggie sides! My daughter and son who came up from Chicago ordered Moscow Mules. They said it was the best they have ever had! The service is impeccable and the Chef will venture out and is so welcoming!
Pictures are of the salmon and the fries. Both great!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 23, 2018

We had a wonderful time celebrating my mom's birthday. The ambiance was really great - open air, light and just super festive. My mom noted the wonderful and attentive service and the lovely atmosphere. no screaming kids, fairly quiet for such an open restaurant and interesting food. Our cocktails were great as well!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 22, 2018

Service at Cafe Lurcat has always been good. On this occasion, it was superb!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 22, 2018

Wonderful food, great atmosphere and great service!
We will absolutely be back!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 21, 2018

Great concept of Monday Night Wine List with 50% off on some great bottles. Smart move. I would return even if it wasn’t Monday!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 20, 2018

A friend told me about their 'sunday date night' special. First of all - they don't care who makes up the 'pair' on the date, and we saw several families of 4 and friends of 8 on our night.

The meal starts with excellent bread - barely warm, but who needs heat -- it was crusty and soft in all the right places.

2 people=$50, with each person having their choice of an appetizer (their crab cake was lovely - although I preferred just plain olive oil to their white horseradish sauce) and from what we saw, their salad was also pretty darn good. As for entrees... we had the hanger steak which was sublime (and I'm not usually a Madeira fan) and their pork loin was ok (i'd have liked more fig and less mustard). Dessert was a pavlova that was unique and delightful with such flavorful berries we almost licked the plate, and a 'chocolate bar' that doesn't really give itself credit in the menu description. Helpings were full size and easy to share tastes without feeling deprived. While it is unlikely you'd need a doggy bag, you won't go away hungry. You can check out the menu for the special evening online if you wish. We found it varied for all tastes.

Service was exactly what you expect from a topnotch place (professional, warm, but not overly 'familiar').

Suggest you go early or very late to avoid a crowd because crowds do breed noise. FYI if you need quiet, ask for the quiet room and pray that they won't have a large party near you.
Floor to ceiling windows mean that everyone gets to look out on Loring Park.

A truly wonderful evening.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 20, 2018

We love Sunday date night, and judging from the restaurant, others have discovered it too. Celebrating my daughter's graduation was special and the food, wine and ambiance added to the occasion!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 20, 2018

We had the best waiter, it was our wedding anniversary and he took care of very well he made sure everything is ok even took pictures of me and my wife. He was awesome

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 20, 2018

Could not have been happier with Cafe Lurcat. Went with a group of 11 friends and the food and service were impeccable. Interesting cocktails, wine and food. Everything about the dinner was perfect. Can’t wait to go back.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on May 19, 2018

This was our second visit. The first visit was good - we sat on the restaurant side. The second visit was terrible all around. On this visit we sat on the bar side. The noise level was deafening and the atmosphere and service was "chaotic" - definitely not a fine dining experience. It was very busy and they were not staffed properly to handle a crowd. The food quality suffered as well. They need to decide if they want this side of the place to be a bar or a restaurant. Management also needs to better manage the reservation flow. We would avoid this place on busy nights and/or if you get stuck on the bar side. The restaurant side is much better - if you are expecting a fine dining experience.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 18, 2018

A meal I will never forget...from the host/wait staff to the incredible food!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 18, 2018

The bacon , lettuce, tomato with blue cheese salad was very fresh and delicious. The 7 ounce filet was perfectly prepared at medium rare plus and was juicy and tender. The crab and shrimp linguini was tasty but I had to work hard to find the seafood. I counted 3 shrimp and only a few threads of crab. It seemed a bit skimpy! The service was superb and attentive.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 14, 2018

Hosting out of town guests from London, Boston, San Francisco for business. All were very complimentary on the ambiance and the food. Very cool place.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 14, 2018

11 of us dined to celebrate a graduation. The food was excellent & everyone enjoyed their choices.
The staff was welcoming and friendly, from the greetings at the hostess stand and to our servers Ken and Anthony. (A larger team of servers delivered all of the entrees to insure 11 of us had plates in front of us at the same time !!) We'd def dine there again.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Fair experience. We have been to Cafe Lurcat many times in the past and always have enjoyed the experience. This time however, we were placed in the bar area for dinner. It was loud and the service was mediocre. Food was also just ok (especially for the price). I will think again about going there for special occasions.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Sunday night Date Night. Terrific food, fine service, great wine for a very reasonable price on a beautiful evening looking out on the park!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

We've been to Cafe Lurcat a handful of times, and it's always very good. Their salads and fish are the best I've ever had! We went for their Date Night special last Sunday, which is an amazing value.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 13, 2018

mothers day

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Love this restaurant for Mother’s Day brunch !!! So lovely

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Excellent food. Great service. Outstanding speciality margarita for Mother’s Day. Nice table by the window.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Fantastic Mother’s Day brunch with incredible service

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

This was the perfect spot to celebrate our son's graduation from the University of Minnesota. The service was very professional and friendly. We received great recommendations on the food and the wine. Every one of us enjoyed the food, from the appetizers to the delicious desserts. The only slightly negative comment was about the swordfish being a little on the dry side, but that's it. Sea bass was amazing, pork tenderloin excellent, salmon delicious - we tried a variety of dishes and all were great. The interior is just beautiful, too, with huge windows and simple but lovely decor. I hope I get to go back!

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
87

Tweets by Cafe Lurcat - Minneapolis