Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.80mi
  2. Distance: 1.39mi
  3. Distance: 2.01mi
  4. Distance: 2.08mi
  1. Distance: 0.80mi
  2. Distance: 1.39mi
  3. Distance: 2.01mi
  4. Distance: 2.08mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.80mi
  2. Distance: 1.39mi
  3. Distance: 2.01mi
  4. Distance: 2.08mi
  1. Distance: 0.80mi
  2. Distance: 1.39mi
  3. Distance: 2.01mi
  4. Distance: 2.08mi

About Cafe Loren

The Café Loren was opened in 1978 and offers fine dining in an atmosphere of casual seashore elegance. For nearly four decades our menu has kept pace with American culinary trends. Over the years our heavy French influence has given way to American cuisine, a happy hybrid of styles, methods and ingredients from around the globe. Our menu can best be described as "American Coastal Cuisine". American because of our diverse preparations and Coastal because of our emphasis on seafood. But meat lovers have not been forgotten. We offer superbly prepared lamb, veal, beef and pork.
Chef/owner Stephen Serano has spent time with some of the best in any kitchen including three years in New York City with Chef Gordon Ramsey of “Hell’s Kitchen” fame. He brings all of this to his tables and continues to be progressive with his dishes including house made desserts and creative daily additions. During the winter months he teaches culinary classes at Atlantic County Community College.

2288 Dune Drive
Avalon, NJ 08202
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Seafood, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Sunday: 5:30PM - 9:30PM; Closed on Monday

Cross Street:
23rd St.

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(609) 967-8228

Website:
http://cafeloren.com/

Parking Details:
Limited parking is available in our lot on the 23rd street side of the building.

Additional:
BYO Liquor, BYO Wine, Non-Smoking

Cafe Loren Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.3

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (51)
Neighborhood Gem (47)
Good for Anniversaries (41)
See All
Fit for Foodies (40)
Creative Cuisine (39)
Good for a Date (34)
Romantic (29)
Good for Birthdays (28)
Seasonal (25)
Worth the Drive (25)
Quiet Conversation (24)
Cozy (18)
Local Ingredients (15)
Authentic (12)
Casual (7)
Hot Spot (5)
Fun (4)
Business Meals (4)
Good for Groups (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
People Watching (1)
Tapas (1)
Sort By:
S
457 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 3 days ago

Cafe Loren never disappoints! Food is creative and always outstanding. Service is very good as well. BYOB.

Tags: Casual, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 3 days ago

We have been going to Cafe Loren for many years to celebrate the beginning of our beach vacation in Stone Harbor with long-time friends. It never disappoints!! Staff is very friendly and accommodating and food is DELICIOUS!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined 4 days ago

Fabulous!!!! Every detail..from food, to service, to ambiance made for a wonderful dining experience.

Tags: Seasonal, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined 5 days ago

Very good- attentive staff- pleasant experience- very good food- nice setting

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Atlantic City)·Dined 5 days ago

It was great from the beginning to the end will go back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 5 days ago

Our waitress was very good. But for a "classy" restaurant, first impression was not good when she presented my soup in a chipped bowl!!! Very limited menu. The veal medallion was served over potato slices, one potato being very undercooked compared to the other two. Needs some fine tuning.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 6 days ago

Terrific evening....food, service , ambiance and decor are a all excellent.....and the creativity of the chef makes it very special.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

The food was delicious. I couldn't decide what to order because there were so many amazing-sounding options on the menu. Highly recommend this restaurant!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 7 days ago

Cafe Loren's staff was excellent and the food was marvelous as usual.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 20, 2017

All good was fresh and delicious. Service was outstanding. Great variety of choices.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 19, 2017

My scallops and Caesar salad were excellent. My friends had the filet and also liked their meal very much. Beautifully plated.

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 19, 2017

Everything was delicious everyone was friendly and helpful.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 16, 2017

The jersey tomato salad is as excellent as usual. We're always completely satisfied with the meal.

Tags: Special Occasion, Seasonal, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Great service and food above and beyond

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Never disappoints! My wife and I went for our anniversary and had a wonderful meal. I started with the shrimp and grits and it is pro ably the best I have ever had and honestly could have been a meal in itself. My wife had the special stuffed baby peppers which melted in your mouth with the prosciutto. My wife had the filet which was good and I had the scallops which are my favorite. Glad to see they had a little more variety rather than the same dishes this summer. This is our favorite place down the shore.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Very disappointed. We have been going to Cafe Loren for 23 years. Previous owners sold the restaurant last year. Although the chef is the same, the friendliness is gone. My husband's scallops were inedible. Others meals were fine, but not outstanding as has been the norm in the past. We also felt rushed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Server Sally is wonderful. Helpful and attentive. I ordered from the specials. Creative baby bell pepper appetizer and barramundi entrée were both excellent. Husband ordered from the menu. Steamed clams and Veal Loren always his favorites. We love this place and make an effort to get there every season. Make reservations early if you need a specific day/time.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Always one of our favorites! Great service & food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on July 12, 2017

The restaurant was extremely crowded and noisy. There isn't sufficient room for the waitstaff to move without bumping diners' chairs or put food on tables without intruding on nearby tables.
The food was very disappointing. The filet was overcooked chewy and tasteless. The tuna was stringy. The execution on other items made interesting ideas boring.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on July 11, 2017

Wonderful meal with knowledgeable servers. Such a wonderful spot after a long day at the beach!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on July 11, 2017

Always looking for that special place with great food. Found it.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 8, 2017

We love Cafe Loren!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on July 7, 2017

The ambiance was nice, the service and selection were great, and the food was delicious. It made for a wonderful night out with the family!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on July 7, 2017

1st time dining, great food, adorable restaurant , we will return!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 5, 2017

Great Ahi tuna and outstanding green beans. Next time will skip the Salad Loren, and have one of the appetizers instead.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Best in Avalon, hands down! Can be tough to get in, new ownership worries are overblown. Still the best in Avalon....if you like food go here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on July 2, 2017

This BYO restaurant in a beach town was quite impressive. I ordered the Loren salad for $12.50 which was nothing exceptional for the price. The veal Loren entree ($34) was delicious however. Three small thick medallions of veal on top of a potato slice topped by a small shrimp and lumps of crab in a delicious sauce. My husband enjoyed his octopus appetizer (be forewarned - the calabrese chili pepper is VERY hot) as well as the seared ahi special entree. For dessert we shared the macadamia pie for $12.50 which has a delicious crust but proved to be way too sweet to our liking. Sort of like eating too much soft toffee. The waitress was exceptional and we would definitely go back next time we are in town.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 2, 2017

My husband, sister in law, her husband and I had a wonderful dinner together. The menu was great. The food was so delicious! The service was impeccable! The table was private and we enjoyed a quiet meal. We will return!

Tags: Casual, Cozy, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Not sure why this place gets so much praise, since the service is poor, the food is over rated and over priced. This place is not worth your money. Goto Reeds or Jays on the 3rd for this price point. I'm sure I will get slack for this review, but this is coming from someone who has dined around the world.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 29, 2017

We had excellent food and our waitress was great!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on June 29, 2017

Excellent food and service. Beet salad and halibut were delicious.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on June 29, 2017

Wonderful. By far best restaurant we have found in Avalon/Stone Harbor area.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 27, 2017

We always look forward to our visit at Cafe Loren. It's always delicious and fresh. Can't wait to go back!!

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 27, 2017

Fantastic restaurant - fine dining experience. We do not need to leave Avalon for a great meal! No need to drive all the way to Cape May!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 27, 2017

The restaurant is wonderful, I've been there before and always loved it. This was a date night for me and there was a group of guys sitting very close to our table. They are so very noisy that I couldn't have a conversation with my date because of the noise level at that table. Those men would have been better suited for a local bar environment and not for such an otherwise lovely restaurant like Cafe Loren. Next time I'll ask to have my table changed if that happens again.

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 25, 2017

We have eaten here twice this year and both times were amazed at the food choices and staff. Everything was perfect!!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 25, 2017

Cafe Loren has been an Avalon treasure for many years and the new owners continue in that tradition. The menu items are delectable works of art. A must visit this season.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Seasonal, Healthy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 25, 2017

The entire meal was delicious from the excellent scallop appetizer to the beet salad and the entrees were fabulous. Our server was also excellent

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Always a great meal, the best in Avalon! Service is professional and knowledgeable. You won't be disappointed!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Great food and service at a reasonable price
Nice quote table will return

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.