About Cafe Loren

2288 Dune Drive
Avalon, NJ 08202
View Larger Map

The Café Loren was opened in 1978 and offers fine dining in an atmosphere of casual seashore elegance. For nearly four decades our menu has kept pace with American culinary trends. Over the years our heavy French influence has given way to American cuisine, a happy hybrid of styles, methods and ingredients from around the globe. Our menu can best be described as "American Coastal Cuisine". American because of our diverse preparations and Coastal because of our emphasis on seafood. But meat lovers have not been forgotten. We offer superbly prepared lamb, veal, beef and pork.
Chef/owner Stephen Serano has spent time with some of the best in any kitchen including three years in New York City with Chef Gordon Ramsey of “Hell’s Kitchen” fame. He brings all of this to his tables and continues to be progressive with his dishes including house made desserts and creative daily additions. During the winter months he teaches culinary classes at Atlantic County Community College.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Seafood, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Sunday: 5:30pm - 9:00pm.

Cross Street:
23rd St.

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(609) 967-8228

Website:
http://cafeloren.com/

Parking Details:
Limited parking is available in our lot on the 23rd street side of the building.

Additional:
BYO Liquor, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome

Cafe Loren Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.7

ambience

4.4

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

99% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Atlantic City / South Jersey Shore
Best Food
Atlantic City / South Jersey Shore
Fit for Foodies
Atlantic City / South Jersey Shore
10 More
American
Atlantic City / South Jersey Shore
Best Overall
South Jersey Shore
Best Food
South Jersey Shore
Best Ambiance
South Jersey Shore
Best Value
South Jersey Shore
Fit for Foodies
South Jersey Shore
Romantic
South Jersey Shore
Special Occasion
South Jersey Shore
American
South Jersey Shore
Most Booked
South Jersey Shore
Best Restaurants in Avalon ›

special occasion (88)
fit for foodies (87)
neighborhood gem (71)
See All
romantic (43)
good for groups (19)
late-night find (2)
hot spot (2)
notable wine list (1)
Sort By:
Newest
293 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Wonderful! Have never been disappointed ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined 4 days ago

Wonderful! Have never been disappointed and have been dining here for years. BYOB.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Cafe Loren is now our favorite place to ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined 4 days ago

Cafe Loren is now our favorite place to

Eat!!! Absolutely delicious meal from start to finish. Very friendly staff too. ❤️❤️

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A limited, but excellently prepared menu ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined 5 days ago

A limited, but excellently prepared menu, good service, bad parking (in summer). Pricey, but worth it. BYOB cuts down on the expense (if that matters).

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent food and service. One of the b ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined 5 days ago

Excellent food and service. One of the best restaurants consistently at the Shore.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Patty and her staff do such a great job. ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined 5 days ago

Patty and her staff do such a great job. A warm welcome, attentive service and delicious food added up to a memorable evening. My wife and I look forward to our next meal at Cafe Loren. You can't go wrong with this Avalon gem!

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Halibut is to die for!

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Halibut is to die for!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Dinner was excellent. The staff was ver ...

vip
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Dinner was excellent. The staff was very pleasant and nice. The only problem we had was dessert. We were very stuffed at dinner and could not take another bite, but dessert looked incredible. So we took ours home. To our surprise when we got home later to have dessert, it was a very tiny piece of what they should us at the restaurant and not dressed with all accessories ( assorted berries etc) that they should us. Not worth $12.50 dessert. Do not take dessert home.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

Cafe Loren is the best restaurant on 7 M ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Cafe Loren is the best restaurant on 7 Mile Island and may be the best restaurant in the entire South Jersey Beach area. Excellent food, always prepared perfectly! Simply the best food; worth every penny!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

This is our very favorite spot to dine w ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

This is our very favorite spot to dine when down the shore. Always over the top food with unique prep. The owner /greeter is so warm and welcoming. The chef is a genius, always tweaking the menu favorites to keep it interesting. Always look forward to our annual trip to Stone Harbor and our trip up to Avalon for an amazing meal at Cafe Loren.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Cafe Loren is always a special treat. P ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Cafe Loren is always a special treat. Portions seemed quite adequate and they used to be quite small. Halibut was superb and seafood bisque was served steamy HOT which is the way I think soup should be served so you had me at the soup!! Thanks

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

I look forward each year to the beautifu ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

I look forward each year to the beautifully-prepared and creatively presented dishes at this lovely, intimate seashore BYOB restaurant. Service is always attentive and professional.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food and service is always excellent ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

The food and service is always excellent at Cafe Loren. Patty makes sure everything runs smoothly. You can tell it is owner-operated. We usually have the fish dishes. This time we both had the halibut with risotto and there was enough to take a little home for the next day. Our favorite spot in Avalon.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Limited menu for non seafood items

vip
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Limited menu for non seafood items

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

A visit to the Shore would not be comple ...

 
 (Southwest FL)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

A visit to the Shore would not be complete without going to Cafe Loren. It is always excellent and it's our favorite in Avalon.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was perfect from the food pre ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Everything was perfect from the food presentation to the service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Impeccable service, amazing food! I woul ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Impeccable service, amazing food! I would recommend this for adult dinners, special times, and just because! I think this is the best restaurant in Avalon, NJ. Thanks!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Chef Stephen, Patty, Mark, Sally and the ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Chef Stephen, Patty, Mark, Sally and the entire staff at Cafe Loren are fantastic. Food is always excellent, service is first rate, and the ambiance is relaxed and friendly. We love this place.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food excellent. Best restaurant in Aval ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Food excellent. Best restaurant in Avalon! Service amazing. Surf and Turf fantastic. Get the tuna tat tar appetizer

Tags: neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This restaurant never disappoints. The m ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

This restaurant never disappoints. The menu will vary slightly based on available fresh ingredients. The chef is very creative and everything is always delicious. The service is wonderful. BYOB

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Gets better every time, and I don't even ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Gets better every time, and I don't even know how that's possible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Cafe Loren is consistently good. This is ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Cafe Loren is consistently good. This is one of our favorite restaurants in Avalon. The food is amazing and the service was excellent. Can't wait to go back.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a great meal at Cafe Loren. Food, ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Always a great meal at Cafe Loren. Food, service outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Always consistently GOOD! Superb service ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Always consistently GOOD! Superb service! Best on the island.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great place for a sophisticated meal in ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Great place for a sophisticated meal in Avalon, New Jersey. Food is as good as any restaurant in a big, east coast city.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Everything was great. The quality of ser ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Everything was great. The quality of service was impeccable. The food was delicious. Welcome the opportunity to return sometime in the future.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We try to come here every summer-our fav ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

We try to come here every summer-our favorite restaurant in Avalon hands down! Food is delicious and service is outstanding. It's getting harder to get a reservation on a weekend night in the summer because I think the secret is out:)

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This food and the service is outstanding ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

This food and the service is outstanding the owners especially friendly no bad choices on the menu I would recommend this to anybody who is visiting Avalon. All restaurants down the shore are expensive you might as well go to one that's worth it

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

I found the food to be good not great, a ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

I found the food to be good not great, a bit limited on the menu and somewhat overpriced for what you get.

They were missing the little things..... If you serve bread, serve good bread. Not stale rolls.

If you are limiting sides, they should be fantastic, not throw ins.

Etc.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value2

BYOB with excellent food. Popular small ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

BYOB with excellent food. Popular small place so reservations can be tough. But, worth the wait. Service was excellent. Good suggestions on specials. We get there several times during the summer and they never disappoint.

We will certainly be back again.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We had a special birthday dinner. There ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

We had a special birthday dinner. There were three of us. The food, service and ambiance were all very good. We would absolutely go again. I recommend it.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We have looked forward to visiting Cafe ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

We have looked forward to visiting Cafe Loren each time we come to Avalon NJ, since our first time in 1978. The food is always excellent. Our 2016 visit was slightly marred by very slow service. Still, we really enjoy our visits and will continue to return each year and recommend Cafe Loren to others.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Cafe Loren is a special place to eat. E ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Cafe Loren is a special place to eat. Everything is delicious. You get to take your time. The staff is friendly. It's a pretty restaurant. The owners are great people.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have been going to Café Loren since th ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

I have been going to Café Loren since they opened in 1978 and the food has been fabulous since day 1!! They never miss and the Peanut Butter Pie is to die for!

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Cafe Loren is fine dining at its best! ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Cafe Loren is fine dining at its best! The ambience is elegant, very classy and quiet enough to enjoy a private conversation. The service is outstanding from the moment you walk in the door until you leave, attention is paid to every detail. The most important part, of course, the food is incredibly delicious! My husband had a mouth watering seafood bisque served piping hot, while I enjoyed a fresh, crisp Caesar salad. The entrees were outstanding, he got sea bass and I opted for a well done scallops dish which just melted in my mouth! Of course we both shared to have a taste of each delectable dish and savor end every bite, unfortunately leaving no room for dessert. A nice chat with Mark and Patty is always the highlight of a special evening and something we always look forward to before leaving. Be sure to put this restaurant on your list of favorites! Christine & Gary Oxenberg

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Thirty eight years and still going stron ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Thirty eight years and still going strong. Patti and Mark and their staff never disappoint! The food is imaginative but not fussy. No molecular gastronomy, just excellent food. Highlights were: the poached lobster app (a little pricey at $20 but a very large portion that could have been a small entree for some).. a striped bass app special...and the scallop entree which had 5 huge scallops, edamame, corn and a super tasty bit of red onion marmalade atop each scallop. The only minor disappointment was the key lime tarte. The custard was wonderful, not cloyingly sweet or super tangy, but the cookie crust was a little too thick and heavy for our taste. In all a fabulous dinner!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

They were gracious from start to finish. ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

They were gracious from start to finish. Especially delightful in accommodating gluten free needs with fantastic food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was superb..there were four dif ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

The food was superb..there were four different entrees -- all were delicious! The service was friendly, warm and did not rush us through any course!

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Can't beat Cafe Loren for shore dinning. ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

Can't beat Cafe Loren for shore dinning. Great BYOB. Fine food & a very friendly staff.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I wanted so badly to like this place sin ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

I wanted so badly to like this place since there are so few amazing restaurants on 7MI, but sadly, I will never go back. I mentioned on my reservation that the dinner was for our forth wedding anniversary, and while I get this isn't a momentous occasion, you this we could have had a better selection of tables. Either right by the kitchen door, or right by the emergency exit shoved in the corner. Ok fine, we sit by the exit. My husband is a bourbon drinker and brought a flask with him since it is a byo. We asked our waiter, Sean, for a glass of ice for bourbon. He takes a wine glass and fills it up. Uggg.

Onto dinner, we had the clams and lobster appetizers. The lobster was amazing, but the clams came out with burnt bread Again annoying. Then the salads came. My husband had a caesar and I had the house...with a live stink bug crawling on the top of it!!! I showed the waiter and he took it away. When he returned later he brought another salad and said it was on the house. Come on, the whole dinner should have been in the house, I was so grossed out. If it hadn't been a date that I had planned with my husband, and gotten a sitter for, I would have left. Sean did a terrible job checking to see if everything was ok from that point on.

For our main course I had the scallops, which were good, but I had lost my appetite by then and my husband had the filet. He ordered it medium, but it came out well done. Overall I was disappointed with dinner even if it had been served sans stink bug.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1

As always, a wonderful experience from b ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

As always, a wonderful experience from beginning to end, thank you!!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.