Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.80mi
  2. Distance: 1.39mi
  3. Distance: 2.01mi
  4. Distance: 2.08mi
  1. Distance: 0.80mi
  2. Distance: 1.39mi
  3. Distance: 2.01mi
  4. Distance: 2.08mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.80mi
  2. Distance: 1.39mi
  3. Distance: 2.01mi
  4. Distance: 2.08mi
  1. Distance: 0.80mi
  2. Distance: 1.39mi
  3. Distance: 2.01mi
  4. Distance: 2.08mi

About Cafe Loren

The Café Loren was opened in 1978 and offers fine dining in an atmosphere of casual seashore elegance. For nearly four decades our menu has kept pace with American culinary trends. Over the years our heavy French influence has given way to American cuisine, a happy hybrid of styles, methods and ingredients from around the globe. Our menu can best be described as "American Coastal Cuisine". American because of our diverse preparations and Coastal because of our emphasis on seafood. But meat lovers have not been forgotten. We offer superbly prepared lamb, veal, beef and pork.
Chef/owner Stephen Serano has spent time with some of the best in any kitchen including three years in New York City with Chef Gordon Ramsey of “Hell’s Kitchen” fame. He brings all of this to his tables and continues to be progressive with his dishes including house made desserts and creative daily additions. During the winter months he teaches culinary classes at Atlantic County Community College.

2288 Dune Drive
Avalon, NJ 08202
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Seafood, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Sunday: 5:30PM - 9:30PM; Closed on Monday

Cross Street:
23rd St.

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(609) 967-8228

Website:
http://cafeloren.com/

Parking Details:
Limited parking is available in our lot on the 23rd street side of the building.

Additional:
BYO Liquor, BYO Wine, Non-Smoking

Cafe Loren Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.5

value

4.4

Noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (56)
Creative Cuisine (47)
Good for a Date (40)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (38)
Neighborhood Gem (35)
Fit for Foodies (30)
Good for Birthdays (27)
Romantic (26)
Quiet Conversation (20)
Worth the Drive (20)
Seasonal (19)
Cozy (16)
Casual (11)
Local Ingredients (11)
Authentic (10)
Hot Spot (6)
Healthy (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Fun (3)
Business Meals (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Organic (2)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Spicy (1)
Vegan (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort by
S
527 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on September 29, 2017

Cafe Loren is always a great choice for dining. The food and service were excellent once again.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on September 28, 2017

Always have had a wonderful experience at Cafe Loren

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 21, 2017

Always a great time Cafe Loren!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on September 17, 2017

We come here every year and it's always an amazing experience. The food and service is outstanding! Highly recommend the bisque and veal Loren. Can't wait to come back next year!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 15, 2017

The food here is always great. Menu and preparation are interesting. And the service is great. The restaurant would love a renovation to make it more open, and more space, as it's always difficult to get a reservation.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
·Dined on September 10, 2017

Celebrated our anniversary and the dessert was delivered with candles to celebrate - super food

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 9, 2017

Our entrees which were both the veal were delicious. Very complex and well constructed dish! One of my husband's favorite restaurants and we were not disappointed

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 8, 2017

Staff and food were fantastic! Every course was better than the last. Love BYO!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 8, 2017

Great server. The Veal Loren was delicious combination and great presentation. Scallops for the first crse. were excellent !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 8, 2017

The food was excellent as was the service. We had a wonderful night. Can't wait to go back.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 7, 2017

Not your typical beach restaurant, Cafe Loren boasts a beautiful atmosphere, lovely surroundings, white tableclothes, nicely-attired servers and delicious food! A little pricey, but definitely worth it for the wonderful food and relaxed and lovely atmosphere. A great restaurant for a special occasion.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 7, 2017

Our go to place for fine dining in Avalon. Butternut squash soup yummy. I had duck breast, cooked to perfection. My wife had swordfish, also wonderful. Finished sharing key lime pie. Service and staff friendly and accomodating

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on September 7, 2017

The Cajun Shrimp and grits are heavenly! I've eaten here for many years, and I've never had anything that wasn't delicious.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Cafe Loren continues to deliver amazing food and service in a beautiful, quiet environment. The menu combines classic cuts with creative delivery and beautiful presentation, like short ribs with roasted peaches and blueberry sauce, or swordfish with Mexican street corn. We also recommend the octopus appetizer, the scallops and the panacotta dessert. The service is excellent and we always have a great experience dining here!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Cozy, Tasting Menu, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 3, 2017

As nice as cafe Loren is on the inside, our appetizers were incredible and our dinner was very disappointing for a chef supposedly trained with Gordon Ramsey. I had the buttoni noodles crab and gravy special and we both felt it lacked taste. It was very bland and really needed some additional herbs and spices to pick up the taste. Very pricey which is fine with great food but that was not the case. We had been to basillicos in sea isle the night before and it has always been outstanding and offers a lot of specials. We have never been disappointed. Had our dinner matched the taste of our appetizers my review would have been outstanding. Unfortunately that was not the case and for the prices I can't say I will recommend cafe Loren since their are numerous other dining establishments we have visited with better and more consistency in quality food all of the time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Key West)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Another perfect night at The Cafe Loren and with Sally.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Cafe Loren. - nice place. Delicious food. Server Mike was fantastic !
We go every summer to cafe Loren

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 2, 2017

It was an anniversary date for when we first met in avalon as well as a gift from our engagement party

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 2, 2017

This was our best meal at the Jersey Shore this summer. Fine dining at its best. Thank you to Michael who took great care of us. Can't wait to go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on August 31, 2017

We both enjoyed our meals, very good and a nice presentation! Our server Sean was excellent. He knew the menu very well and he was very sociable. He was a great representative of your restaurant!

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 31, 2017

This is a favorite restaurant of ours in Avalon. Year after year we are never disappointed. The food is unique and delicious. On our last visit our waitress was spectacular- so friendly and warm. Made for a very special night. Being a BYOB makes it so affordable. This place is a gem!

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 31, 2017

food was terrible, even the specials that were recommended by there waitress were horrific

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 31, 2017

This meal was one of the best I can remember. We thoroughly enjoyed the octopus and shrimp & grits as starters. The most tender octopus we have ever had. The shrimp and grits was awesome. Our entrees included the veal medallions and the New York Strip, which was an addition to the menu. Everything was perfectly cooked and presented. Highly recommended!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on August 29, 2017

This was a new restaurant for us, and we were pleasantly surprised. The food was fabulous and the atmosphere was excellent, especially if you are celebrating a special occasion. An added bonus was the fact that it's a BYOB establishment.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 27, 2017

If you're in Avalon or one of the surrounding communities in South Jersey don't miss Cafe Loren. We've been going there for over 20 years and they never disappoint. GO!!!

Tags: Seasonal, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Always a pleasure at Cafe Loren-even though I was caught by surprise that the ownership had changed. The menu is pretty much the same-and still delicious. Many of the same staff members are there which is terrific-and a compliment. The atmosphere has not changed. All that being said,I'll be back next year!

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on August 25, 2017

Always perfect. My favorite restaurant!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 24, 2017

Cafe Loren has always been a favorite at the shore. The food is always delicious and the service excellent.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 22, 2017

Always fun to reconnect with this special place in the heart of Avalon. The was surprisingly diverse this time, and really interesting. Overall, our experience was great! Scallop appetizer was amazing, but tuna tartare was bland. Veal Loren was outstanding, as was the halibut special. Service was friendly and efficient. Overall, a fun experience!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on August 21, 2017

Liked it so much came back a second time a few days later.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Ambience was great. The food was very good and portions were just right. Our waitperson, Amy, was exceptional, answering all our questions and being very attentive

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 18, 2017

Everything about the evening was wonderful. The hostess was charming , the waiter was professional, and the food beautifully prepared and delicious! Rave reviews for the short ribs! Cafe Loren remains an excellent choice!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 18, 2017

Excellent swordfish dish. Very light and tasty. Everyone enjoyed their meal. Nice hostess and excellent service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 17, 2017

We dined here for our 3rd anniversary which always tends to fall on the week of our annual Avalon visit. The food was impeccable as well as the service. Thank you for a memorable meal that we will be sure to repeat next year!

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 17, 2017

Love Cafe Loren! This restaurant ranks up there in the top 5 of any one I've been too. Great service and food. The only negative thing I can say is that they have a lot of tables in a small area. Some guys were having a hard time just walking to the bathroom and back. Definitely recommend!

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 16, 2017

The food was off the charts, the service was great, would go back every time I'm at the shore

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 16, 2017

Great restaurant and even better service. Highly recommended for great food when in Avalon.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 13, 2017

My wife and I just travelled to Nashville, Atlanta, & Savanah last month. Even with all of the amazing meals we had along the way, we both think this meal was the BEST of the Summer! What a treat to have at the Shore. I also love BYOB and a great shop a couple doors down. Highest accolades to the chefs, staff, & owner.

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Great anniversary dinner! The Veal Loren is my favorite!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Another wonderful meal at Cafe Loren. Each time I visit, I try something new. This time I tried the Risotto and mushroom special. Very tasty, I would definitely order this again. The swordfish entree was perfectly prepared and served over a bed of delicious black bean and corn salsa. My friend enjoyed the braised short ribs, which happens to be my most favorite food and my other friend ordered pan seared scallops accompanied with edamame and yellow corn succotash. So buttery and tender. Another favorite of mine. The atmosphere was perfect and our waitress very attentive. Overall, a wonderful experience at Cafe Loren! I'll certainly be back. Great job to all!

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.