About Cafe Loren

2288 Dune Drive
Avalon, NJ 08202
View Larger Map

The Café Loren was opened in 1978 and offers fine dining in an atmosphere of casual seashore elegance. For nearly four decades our menu has kept pace with American culinary trends. Over the years our heavy French influence has given way to American cuisine, a happy hybrid of styles, methods and ingredients from around the globe. Our menu can best be described as "American Coastal Cuisine". American because of our diverse preparations and Coastal because of our emphasis on seafood. But meat lovers have not been forgotten. We offer superbly prepared lamb, veal, beef and pork.
Chef/owner Stephen Serano has spent time with some of the best in any kitchen including three years in New York City with Chef Gordon Ramsey of “Hell’s Kitchen” fame. He brings all of this to his tables and continues to be progressive with his dishes including house made desserts and creative daily additions. During the winter months he teaches culinary classes at Atlantic County Community College.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Seafood, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Sunday: 5:30pm - 9:00pm.

Cross Street:
23rd St.

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(609) 967-8228

Website:
http://cafeloren.com/

Parking Details:
Limited parking is available in our lot on the 23rd street side of the building.

Additional:
BYO Liquor, BYO Wine, Non-Smoking

Cafe Loren Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.4

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

99% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Atlantic City / South Jersey Shore
Best Food
Atlantic City / South Jersey Shore
Best Service
Atlantic City / South Jersey Shore
13 More
Best Value
Atlantic City / South Jersey Shore
Fit for Foodies
Atlantic City / South Jersey Shore
Neighborhood Gem
Atlantic City / South Jersey Shore
American
Atlantic City / South Jersey Shore
Best Overall
South Jersey Shore
Best Food
South Jersey Shore
Best Service
South Jersey Shore
Best Ambiance
South Jersey Shore
Best Value
South Jersey Shore
Fit for Foodies
South Jersey Shore
Neighborhood Gem
South Jersey Shore
Special Occasion
South Jersey Shore
American
South Jersey Shore
Best Restaurants in Avalon ›

Special Occasion (127)
Fit for Foodies (118)
Neighborhood Gem (102)
See All
Romantic (66)
Good for Groups (28)
Hot Spot (9)
Late-night Find (3)
Notable Wine List (2)
Great for Brunch (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Scenic View (1)
Sort By:
Newest
334 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Every thing is delicious!

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined 6 days ago

Every thing is delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I always have an amazing meal at Cafe Lo ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

I always have an amazing meal at Cafe Loren! This time I had the blueberry bbq short ribs and the sauce was excellent along with the short ribs. Always make sure to save room for their homemade dessert

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food and service. We both orde ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Excellent food and service. We both ordered the special short rib dinner. Absolutely delicious. We are never disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Consistently fine food and great service ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Consistently fine food and great service.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Excellent restaurant ... Best stone harb ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Excellent restaurant ... Best stone harbor/ Avalon has to offer!!

Tags: Late-night Find, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The best there is at the shore....period ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

The best there is at the shore....period.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Four of us had dinner and all four said ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Four of us had dinner and all four said it was wonderful. I had the cod, two had the blueberry short ribs and one had the scallops. Will be going back soon.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

LOVE it here- our favorite restaurant. ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

LOVE it here- our favorite restaurant. Have been several times this summer.

Going back in 2 weeks with 4 other friends- can't wait!!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We called last-minute and were impressed ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

We called last-minute and were impressed by the prompt response to get us in. Judy, the server, was terrific. All dishes, salad and entrees, were very good. Very friendly atmosphere.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Each year we come back to Cafe Loren whi ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Each year we come back to Cafe Loren while we are in Avalon and the fine dining experience does not disappoint. I'm happy to say the food was especially delicious this year. We were grateful that the chef is able to make so many of the entrees and appetizers gluten free and still exceed our demanding standards. A word about the friendliness of this place. You are greeted like long lost family when you come back to Cafe Loren. We always enjoy our experience here and hope to come back for many years to come.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We visit Cafe Loren every summer and loo ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

We visit Cafe Loren every summer and look forward to the experience. The food is unusual and delicious. The owner/hostess, Patty, goes out of her way to make sure everything is perfect and the waitstaff is superb! Can't wait til next year!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing food and service, Best Place In ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Amazing food and service, Best Place In New Jersey!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our favorite restaurant in Avalon and Sh ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Our favorite restaurant in Avalon and Shore. Food is always interesting and excellent.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We liked the warm, decorative atmosphere ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

We liked the warm, decorative atmosphere, and excellent service. The menu had a great selection of dishes. The chef was accommodating, when we requested the toppings and side dishes of the Halibut to be used on the grouper, or turning down the air conditioning, there was no problem. Of course we enjoyed the delicious meals.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It was great as usual. We have dined her ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

It was great as usual. We have dined here on numerous occasions

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Very knowable server, excellent preparat ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Very knowable server, excellent preparation. Very good value.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Wonderful, memorable food with fine dini ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Wonderful, memorable food with fine dining wait staff. An excellent choice for quality.

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always top shelf food. Well prepared an ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Always top shelf food. Well prepared and very tasty. Best food on 7 mile island.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value2

Great food! Fabulous service!

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Great food! Fabulous service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

All around excellence

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

All around excellence

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great little restaurant.

vip
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Great little restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

One of my favorite restaurants! I go as ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

One of my favorite restaurants! I go as often as possible when I am in Avalon. Food is fabulous and the people are always sweet and helpful. Been going for years. I highly recommend!

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our favorite place in Avalon/Stone Harbo ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Our favorite place in Avalon/Stone Harbor. Excellent food and professional service. Always fell welcomed and appreciated.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and service always very good and co ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Food and service always very good and consistent. Expensive but good for special occasions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Cafe Loren consistently provides excelle ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Cafe Loren consistently provides excellent food, with exceptional service. Highly recommend.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We visit Cafe Loren every summer while o ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

We visit Cafe Loren every summer while on vacation in Avalon. We continue to enjoy an excellent meal every time we go - it is a great gem of a restaurant with great food and excellent service.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Food is always excellent, wait staff ver ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Food is always excellent, wait staff very attentive. Very accomadating to my severe dietary restrictions due to health problems. ( this is coming from a "foodie" prior to my illness). Great place for a special occasion. Definitely, the best restaurant in Avalon, NJ

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service4
value3

Overall, my husband and I thoroughly enj ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Overall, my husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our meals. As first plates, we had a delicious, light, tuna tartar and corn/cauliflower/shrimp chowder. Our entrées were the scallop and halibut selections, and they were well-prepared and generous in portion size. We shared the chocolate mousse bar for dessert, which was flavorful and light. Prices were very high for what I usually spend on a special occasion, but they were on par with other Jersey Shore establishments. Excellent, friendly server. I highly recommend Café Loren for a date night out!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

One of best restaurants in Avalon for se ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

One of best restaurants in Avalon for several decades. We go here every summer. The rack of lamb is always excellent! The Baramundi was very good! Desserts are homemade and excellent!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Cafe Loren is a jewel of a place! Every ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Cafe Loren is a jewel of a place! Everything about it is excellent -- great food, super-friendly staff, delightful decor. We went for our anniversary, but we definitely won't be waiting a year to go again!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had an excellent dinner at Cafe Loren ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

We had an excellent dinner at Cafe Loren. The scallop, clams and tomatoe appetizers were delicious. We all had different entrees and finished every bite. Excellent dinner. Wonderful service !

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful dinner celebrating our brother ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Wonderful dinner celebrating our brother-in-law's 46th wedding anniversary!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

My husband and I had a delicious meal an ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

My husband and I had a delicious meal and fantastic service in a great atmosphere once again. This is our favorite spot in Avalon and we look forward to the summer months when we can enjoy this first rate restaurant. Our favorite dishes are the steamed clams appetizer in a flavorful onion broth and the fresh fish entrees which are always cooked to perfection and are healthy portions.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent BYOB spot in Avalon, went twic ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Excellent BYOB spot in Avalon, went twice during our 2-week stay. I had the macadamia-encrusted grouper both times! Our son from San Francisco had the halibut, husband had the duck once and the blueberry BBQ spare rib addition once. All excellent, as well as the lobster starter, and the tuna tartare. Beautiful presentations, great flavors. A little on the pricier side (but it's the shore), but we will pay this for great food.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

It is a " date nite" for me & my husband ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

It is a " date nite" for me & my husband.. Our special place although we have dined with other couples & had a wonderful time! I always get the scallops but my husband experiments more & it was delicious-- we love Sally & hope for table A or anything along the wall for 2 - if just us.. Oh & I always have a small scoop of vanilla yougart with chocolate jimmies for dessert from AV Freeze- no line & in a mug - nothing better!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The apps and main courses were very good ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

The apps and main courses were very good and somewhat different than the usual, which was refreshing. We dine out often (North Jersey) and so many times it's ho hum, this was quite good & different. We did not have desert so, no comment.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

The food at Cafe Loren is always excelle ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

The food at Cafe Loren is always excellent. From apps to soup to main meal the flavors are just fantastic. Great and friendly people!! Luv it every time we go. See ya again soon.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The short ribs with blueberry glaze was ...

vip
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

The short ribs with blueberry glaze was wonderful!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We love Cafe Loren. The food is fabulou ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

We love Cafe Loren. The food is fabulous and the service excellent. The butter poached lobster starter is delicious; the lobster is tender, flavorful and perfectly complimented by the tarragon corn. Be sure to add a bit of the lemon preserves to each bite; it adds a vibrancy without overt acidity that is often missing in lobster dishes. The veal tenderloin main course is also to die for. The veal was cooked perfectly and melted in the mouth. It's rather delicate flavor was supported and enhanced by its accompaniments rather than overshadowed by them as is so often the case. We cannot recommend this restaurant highly enough. Finally, we love the fact that we can order our meal then zip over to the liquor store on the corner to find the perfect wine for the meal at this BYOB establishment.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding food. We go here every year ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Outstanding food. We go here every year on our vacation, it's a Jersey Shore gem for sure!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.