About Cafe Loren

2288 Dune Drive
Avalon, NJ 08202
View Larger Map

The Café Loren was opened in 1978 and offers fine dining in an atmosphere of casual seashore elegance. For nearly four decades our menu has kept pace with American culinary trends. Over the years our heavy French influence has given way to American cuisine, a happy hybrid of styles, methods and ingredients from around the globe. Our menu can best be described as "American Coastal Cuisine". American because of our diverse preparations and Coastal because of our emphasis on seafood. But meat lovers have not been forgotten. We offer superbly prepared lamb, veal, beef and pork.
Chef/owner Stephen Serano has spent time with some of the best in any kitchen including three years in New York City with Chef Gordon Ramsey of “Hell’s Kitchen” fame. He brings all of this to his tables and continues to be progressive with his dishes including house made desserts and creative daily additions. During the winter months he teaches culinary classes at Atlantic County Community College.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Seafood, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Sunday: 5:30pm - 9:00pm.

Cross Street:
23rd St.

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(609) 967-8228

Website:
http://cafeloren.com/

Parking Details:
Limited parking is available in our lot on the 23rd street side of the building.

Additional:
BYO Liquor, BYO Wine, Non-Smoking

Cafe Loren Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.9

service

4.9

ambience

4.5

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Atlantic City / South Jersey Shore
Best Food
Atlantic City / South Jersey Shore
Best Service
Atlantic City / South Jersey Shore
11 More
Best Value
Atlantic City / South Jersey Shore
Neighborhood Gem
Atlantic City / South Jersey Shore
Special Occasion
Atlantic City / South Jersey Shore
American
Atlantic City / South Jersey Shore
Best Overall
South Jersey Shore
Best Food
South Jersey Shore
Best Service
South Jersey Shore
Best Ambiance
South Jersey Shore
Best Value
South Jersey Shore
Special Occasion
South Jersey Shore
American
South Jersey Shore
Best Restaurants in Avalon ›

Special Occasion (42)
Neighborhood Gem (32)
Fit for Foodies (29)
See All
Romantic (29)
Good for a Date (21)
Creative Cuisine (19)
Good for Anniversaries (17)
Worth the Drive (12)
Seasonal (10)
Local Ingredients (9)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Cozy (7)
Good for Groups (5)
Authentic (5)
Fun (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Casual (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Family Style (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Business Meals (1)
Healthy (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort By:
S
365 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

It is hands down the best restaurant in ...

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on September 25, 2016

It is hands down the best restaurant in Avalon.

Everything on the menu is fabulous .

Tags: Seasonal, Romantic, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Last night of dinner service for the 201 ...

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Last night of dinner service for the 2016 season.

For starters, we had a special appetizer of Foie Gras and the seafood bisque, both terrific. For our entrees, we had the short rib special and the halibut, both outstanding. Dessert was chocolate fudge bar type dense cake with a scoop of house made vanilla ice cream - yumm!

This place is BYO, so consider bringing a special bottle of wine to pair with this exceptional food.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Another great experience! It's our favor ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Another great experience! It's our favorite Avalon restaurant.

Additions to the menu are always interesting and well prepared.

The service is outstanding.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

I reserved a table for a Friday evening ...

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on September 24, 2016

I reserved a table for a Friday evening for my husband and myself and was excited to experience this cute place because of great reviews I've read about service and of course the food. We were greeted warmly and seated right away. The atmosphere was cozy and had a feeling of home to it. Our waitor was patient as he went through the recommendations and was very friendly. Our food came in a timely matter and it was amazing to say the least! He got the squash soup and blueberry bbq short ribs while I devoured the tomatoe salad and filet mignon. We couldn't have been more satisfied with the whole experience and even had time to chat with the waitor after our meal. Never felt rushed or like a number but rather like a part of the family there. Just wonderful and looking forward to going again. Think we found ourselves another favorite restaurant.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Family Style, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Modern Decor, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Casual, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Cozy, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food is always excellent here. Best ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 24, 2016

The food is always excellent here. Best restaurant in Avalon and up there with the top restaurants anywhere on the Jersey Shore.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

For 30 years Cafe Loren has consistently ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 24, 2016

For 30 years Cafe Loren has consistently exceeded expectations. They never disappoint.

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our first time visiting as we a ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 24, 2016

This was our first time visiting as we are Diving Horse diehards. But, have long wanted to try this restaurant and it did not disappoint! A few doors down from Fred's so all of your alcohol and mixer needs are steps away! The service is a paradox of formality but with warm familiarity and casualness. We enjoyed every dish we tried, the seafood salad, lobster appetizer, barramundi and halibut entrees and the blueberry cobbler for dessert. All fantastic! Only knock is the dining room is a little cramped and the noise level gets rather loud. With everyone having such a great time it was difficult hearing each other. We highly recommend and we'll be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Wonderful experience as always. Claim a ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 23, 2016

Wonderful experience as always. Claim appetizer was superb.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful food, wonderful people. We lov ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 23, 2016

Wonderful food, wonderful people. We love it. First time there and we will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a wonderful experience from start ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on September 22, 2016

Always a wonderful experience from start to finish.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always the best meal in town!

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on September 22, 2016

Always the best meal in town!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

As always, Cafe Loren does not disappoin ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 17, 2016

As always, Cafe Loren does not disappoint! Great food and ambience. Great service. Worth every penny!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Expensive and overall we were disappoint ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Expensive and overall we were disappointed. Several people recommended this restaurant. The soups were very tasty and the service was excellent. The decor was beachy.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Cafe Loren has become one of my favourit ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 15, 2016

Cafe Loren has become one of my favourite restaurants in NJ. Wish I lived closer so I could dine there more frequently. Food & service is excellent & I love that it is a byob.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Authentic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent restaurant...food is always wo ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 12, 2016

Excellent restaurant...food is always wonderful and the owners and staff very cordial and very accommodating. We have eaten at Cafe Loren over the years and is our favorite at the shore.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Cafe Loren is always excellent. The food ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 4, 2016

Cafe Loren is always excellent. The food is always outstanding and the service is friendly and professional. The kitchen turns out consistently excellent meals. Simply the best restaurant at the shore and always a treat!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Authentic, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Cafe Loren has continued to be THE resta ...

 
 (London)·Dined on September 3, 2016

Cafe Loren has continued to be THE restaurant experience in Avalon for years. Lovely presentation, attentive service with a casual vibe, delicious adventurous menu. And it BYO!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

My first time to Cafe Loren. The restau ...

vip
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on September 2, 2016

My first time to Cafe Loren. The restaurant was recommended by a friend. We will be back again. The food was outstanding and the wait staff was excellent. Thanks for a wonderful night!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was an excellent meal with outstand ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 31, 2016

This was an excellent meal with outstanding service. It is expensive, but worth it.

Tags: Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I like this place! An excellent dinning ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 31, 2016

I like this place! An excellent dinning experience.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

I had the Short Ribs... perfectly done. ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 31, 2016

I had the Short Ribs... perfectly done. Date got the Halibut... Delicious.

Service was great and food was a bit slow coming out, but worth the wait.

We will be going back ASAP.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The salad was delightful- great variety ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 30, 2016

The salad was delightful- great variety of ingredients happily seasoned. The scallops were done beautifully with surrounding vegetables predictably buck-shot size. The marmalade was too heavy-handed for this diner. They try too hard to be unique.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Wonderful meal at Café Loren. This has b ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 28, 2016

Wonderful meal at Café Loren. This has become my favorite restaurant, I only wish we were in Avalon more than once a year to enjoy it. Superb cooking. Don't miss it when in Avalon.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Every dish was beautiful and the blend o ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 27, 2016

Every dish was beautiful and the blend of flavors were creative and delicious. I wish it was open year round, and closer to me!

The service was attentive but not intrusive, and Mary was delightful. We were never wanting for anything. The timing of all the dishes was perfect.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice experience but over priced

vip
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on August 27, 2016

Nice experience but over priced

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Could easily become our favorite shore r ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on August 27, 2016

Could easily become our favorite shore restaurant. Great service and excellent food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a lovely dinner here - excellent ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 25, 2016

We had a lovely dinner here - excellent food and excellent wait staff. The food was very fresh and well prepared. Further, the menu is not overwhelming, but is nicely varied and the specials sounded very appetizing. Our waiter was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Great as always! I could have ordered on ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 24, 2016

Great as always! I could have ordered one of everything on the menu but went with the short rib special and it did not disappoint. We always go for special occasions when we're at the shore. Best on the island.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Delicious!

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 21, 2016

Delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Every thing is delicious!

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 21, 2016

Every thing is delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I always have an amazing meal at Cafe Lo ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 20, 2016

I always have an amazing meal at Cafe Loren! This time I had the blueberry bbq short ribs and the sauce was excellent along with the short ribs. Always make sure to save room for their homemade dessert

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food and service. We both orde ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 19, 2016

Excellent food and service. We both ordered the special short rib dinner. Absolutely delicious. We are never disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Consistently fine food and great service ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 19, 2016

Consistently fine food and great service.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Excellent restaurant ... Best stone harb ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 19, 2016

Excellent restaurant ... Best stone harbor/ Avalon has to offer!!

Tags: Late-night Find, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The best there is at the shore....period ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 18, 2016

The best there is at the shore....period.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Four of us had dinner and all four said ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 18, 2016

Four of us had dinner and all four said it was wonderful. I had the cod, two had the blueberry short ribs and one had the scallops. Will be going back soon.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

LOVE it here- our favorite restaurant. ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 18, 2016

LOVE it here- our favorite restaurant. Have been several times this summer.

Going back in 2 weeks with 4 other friends- can't wait!!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We called last-minute and were impressed ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 17, 2016

We called last-minute and were impressed by the prompt response to get us in. Judy, the server, was terrific. All dishes, salad and entrees, were very good. Very friendly atmosphere.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Each year we come back to Cafe Loren whi ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 15, 2016

Each year we come back to Cafe Loren while we are in Avalon and the fine dining experience does not disappoint. I'm happy to say the food was especially delicious this year. We were grateful that the chef is able to make so many of the entrees and appetizers gluten free and still exceed our demanding standards. A word about the friendliness of this place. You are greeted like long lost family when you come back to Cafe Loren. We always enjoy our experience here and hope to come back for many years to come.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We visit Cafe Loren every summer and loo ...

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on August 14, 2016

We visit Cafe Loren every summer and look forward to the experience. The food is unusual and delicious. The owner/hostess, Patty, goes out of her way to make sure everything is perfect and the waitstaff is superb! Can't wait til next year!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.