About Cafe Loren

2288 Dune Drive
Avalon, NJ 08202
View Larger Map

The Café Loren was opened in 1978 and offers fine dining in an atmosphere of casual seashore elegance. For nearly four decades our menu has kept pace with American culinary trends. Over the years our heavy French influence has given way to American cuisine, a happy hybrid of styles, methods and ingredients from around the globe. Our menu can best be described as "American Coastal Cuisine". American because of our diverse preparations and Coastal because of our emphasis on seafood. But meat lovers have not been forgotten. We offer superbly prepared lamb, veal, beef and pork.
Chef/owner Stephen Serano has spent time with some of the best in any kitchen including three years in New York City with Chef Gordon Ramsey of “Hell’s Kitchen” fame. He brings all of this to his tables and continues to be progressive with his dishes including house made desserts and creative daily additions. During the winter months he teaches culinary classes at Atlantic County Community College.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Seafood, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Sunday: 5:30pm - 9:00pm.

Cross Street:
23rd St.

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(609) 967-8228

Website:
http://cafeloren.com/

Parking Details:
Limited parking is available in our lot on the 23rd street side of the building.

Additional:
BYO Liquor, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome

Cafe Loren Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.9

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.9

ambience

4.8

noise

Quiet

100% would recommend it to a friend

special occasion (13)
fit for foodies (12)
neighborhood gem (10)
See All
romantic (7)
good for groups (5)
Sort By:
Newest
232 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5

Our waiter was friendly and attentive. T ...

vip
Dined 6 days ago

Our waiter was friendly and attentive. The food is beyond reproach. We've also enjoyed ourselves. We've going there for over 20 years.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food is wonderful. Very gourmet and de ...

Dined 6 days ago

Food is wonderful. Very gourmet and delicious. Service is the best and it is a BYOB.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Resturaunt always perfect, the fo ...

vip
Dined on May 21, 2016

Great Resturaunt always perfect, the food the staff and the ambiance are great. Highly recommend going here it's as good as it gets

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Cafe Loren is ALWAYS the best

Dined on May 14, 2016

Cafe Loren is ALWAYS the best. Every year the menu gets better and better......and the service is exceptional!!!!!!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Chef Steve and staff are on top of their game!

Dined on May 7, 2016

Chef Steve was kind enough to go off menu knowing my significant other does not like seafood, the service was great, knowledgeable and friendly. Chef Steve is a true talent! Every course was delicious! The creativity and presentation were the best I've seen! Treat yourself and friends and family and make a reservation!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

always excellent

Dined on September 20, 2015

we've eaten at cafe loren a few times every summer for the past 20 years perhaps. we've always had an excellent meal and wonderful service. this past summer, however, the food and experience have been better than ever, which is saying a lot. one of our favorite restaurants anywhere, ever.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Never Dissappoints

Dined on September 18, 2015

The old adage, that restaurants come and go, does not apply to Cafe Loren. After 24 years, still always great. Another great meal at Cafe Loren, not to be missed if you are in Avalon.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

A fabulous restaurant.

Dined on September 13, 2015

Fabulous. I had salmon with figs. My husband had the halibut. We are talking about this restaurant days later.

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Dinner and the service was excellent as ...

Dined on September 12, 2015

Dinner and the service was excellent as always. One of my favorite on the Jersey Shore!!!!

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience4
service5

great find at the shore

Dined on August 30, 2015

Hard to get a reservation but once in, the place is delightful. All four in our party were pleased with their entire meal. Great BYOB, friendly staff, great service, and the food is excellent!

food5
ambience5
service5

Finest restaurant on the East coast...seriously

Dined on August 28, 2015

This restaurant is not to be missed. The food here is so fine, creative, great atmosphere. We have eaten in fine restaurants all over the world - this is by far our favorite. About $100 for dinner for two (two appetizers, entrees, and dessert/coffee). Scallops over fingerling potatoes with a bacon sauce and pureed cauliflower for appetizer not to be missed, as is the lobster tail risotto - unbelievable. Treat yourself, you won't regret it. BYOB and there is a liquor store two doors down so easy to pick up a drink just before dinner.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4

Salty

Dined on August 26, 2015

We had great appetizers and salads. Two at our table ordered the filet with mashed potatoes but both said they were both very salty. Didn't want to make a fuss but they should have sent them back for $39. Two of us had the rack of lamb which was delicious. Service was good.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food2
ambience4
service3

Very disappointing

Dined on August 25, 2015

Pleasant servers and ambience but mediocre, overpriced food. They took decent ingredients and served them with thick bland sauces that made the whole meal unsatisfying.

food5
ambience4
service5

Consistantly Delicious

Dined on August 23, 2015

Cafe Loren has continued to be one of the most delicious restaurants on the south Jersey coast. For us its not a short ride but worth every mile. We try our best to get there several times each summer. The owner and staff always makes you feel like family. Looking forward to our next visit.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent restaurant in the heart of Avalon

vip
Dined on August 22, 2015

We had a lovely dinner in a small restaurant in the center of Avalon. The food was excellent and the service perfect. While somewhat expensive (average entree $35-40), this was offset by the fact that it is BYOB. There was a nice ambience (there were no children when we were there for a 9:00 dinner).

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service4

Wonderful meal

Dined on August 21, 2015

Food was delicious, service friendly and accommodating. Can't believe that it took us so long to get here but now that we are residents of Avalon, we will dedinitely be a regular.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5

Great shore spot

Dined on August 21, 2015

Great restaurant for special occasion in Cape May, Been here before so consistent too. The steak and halibut and scallops are excellent . Expensive but BYOB allows you to bring a nice bottle and not pay restaurant mark up

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5

Outstanding as always!

vip
Dined on August 20, 2015

A little pricey but the best food on the island. Well worth it! Halibut dish and Veal Loren are to die for, you don't want the meal to end. We probably dine there at least 4 times a season and we give gift certificates from Cafe Loren to family members for their celebrations. We give this resturant our highest recommendation. The only way it could be better is if it had a water view.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5

We enjoyed another fine meal at Cafe Lor ...

Dined on August 19, 2015

We enjoyed another fine meal at Cafe Loren - a must dinner out when we vacation every summer in Avalon.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Still great

vip
Dined on August 19, 2015

Always a wonderful experience. I love everything about this restaurant. Having tried many of the dishes, all of which have been delicious, my favorite is the Alaskan Halibut , truly outstanding. I recommend Cafe Loren to all of my friends and always look forward to returning. Great service and terrific food.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service3

too rushed.

Dined on August 18, 2015

The food. was delicious, but the noise level was very high and for the prices ( apps 14 to 19 and entries between 33 to 55) I didn't expect to be rushed. We were 4,people and we were served and back in our car in 1 1/2 hours.

food2
ambience3
service3

Mediocre Food, Nice Atmosphere

vip
Dined on August 18, 2015

For as long as we have been vacationing n Avalon, I have not eaten at Café Loren and was intent on going there this summer. We finally tried it because of a number of good reviews and we were all disappointed in the food, which we thought was mediocre at best. The ambience is lovely and the service was good but the food is average at best.

food4
ambience5
service5

Did It Again

vip
Dined on August 16, 2015

We love Cafe Loren. We go every summer while we're in Avalon-sometimes twice in two weeks. This time was just as good as we expected. From the time Patty greets us at the door like old friends to the time we polish off dessert,we're content to be there. The servers return year after year. This time we had Sally who is friendly,knowledgeable,fun,and efficient. My friend had the rack of lamb which he declared delicious; I had the halibut-excellent. While it's pricey,Cafe Loren offers such good-sized portions so you never leave hungry. Here's to next year!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent!

Dined on August 16, 2015

A definite when in beautiful Avalon, NJ! The perfect date night with my husband! BYO too!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience3
service5

Great dinner!!

Dined on August 16, 2015

Cafe Loren never disappoints. Great food and service!

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

EXCELLENT as always!! When ever we have ...

vip
Dined on August 16, 2015

EXCELLENT as always!! When ever we have weekend guest visit us we bring them here.

food5
ambience5
service5

Loren reviee

Dined on August 13, 2015

Cafe Loren has always been a favorite of ours for fine dining. Menu is great. Service is great. We always recommend to our friends.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Island Home

vip
Dined on August 13, 2015

Cafe Loren is our isand home restaurant. A summer without Cafe Loren is not summer. The food is Delicious. The ambience is peaceful, romantic, exciting. It's what you make it. Whether you live here, vacation or come from other places it's "Our Island Gem". Patti is Cafe Loren. She always greets you with her bright smile and makes you feel at home. Did I mention the food. Delicious!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5

Best food in the south Jersey shore areas

Dined on August 8, 2015

Outstanding cuisine with our standing and very friendly service. We can not wait to go back

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5

Very Good, But...

vip
Dined on August 7, 2015

We have been going to Café Loren for about 15 years and it has always been one of our favorite South Jersey shore BYOB's. However, this was our first time there since 2013 and some things have changed. First, the average age of the customers has gone from 30's and 40's to 60's and 70's. And perhaps because of that, while the food presentations actually seem to be fancier, the food itself is much less assertive. Tuna tartare was beautiful, but lacked seasoning. Accompanying dots of sauce - one red and one white - tasted the same! Veal Loren, formerly 3 good sized veal medallions and a pile of crabmeat, is now three 1/2" thick but small cuts of veal loin, and the previous pile of lump crab is now maybe 2 tablespoons worth. Probably great for an Octogenarian, but the younger set (no longer there) clearly would be disappointed. I'm only mid 50's and I was disappointed and longed for the old Café Loren. One bright spot in the evening was a killer cauliflower soup, and that says a lot for a guy who is not big on cauliflower. Also, the ginger crème brulee was excellent. Don't get me wrong. Café Loren is still one of the top spots in the area. It's just that they used to be so much more cutting edge. Seems that now, they are playing it a bit more safe.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Avalon's best

Dined on August 7, 2015

Cafe Loren is our go-to restaurant in Avalon. We have been there at least 1/2 dozen times and never disappointed .

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5

Great Night At the Shore

Dined on August 6, 2015

We have been going one night every year for over 25 years during our shore vacation. It is a special occasion we look forward to. Food is always excellent with slight variations to the menu each year. Even though they are always busy, the service is well paced and professional. The liquor store with a great wine selection next door is an added bonus.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Cafe Loren is the BEST Restaurant in Avalon

vip
Dined on July 31, 2015

I LOVE Cafe Loren. It is my favorite restaurant. They have a great menu - seafood, poultry, beef, salads, and awesome desserts!! The food is always delicious and the service impeccable.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Great dinner at the shore!

vip
Dined on July 31, 2015

We had a very good dinner. Service was terrific and we really enjoyed ourselves.

Tags: fit for foodies
food4
ambience4
service4

Wonderful!

Dined on July 29, 2015

This was our first vacation in Avalon and were pleased to have found Cafe Loren for a special night out. My husband loved the seafood bisque and my steak was perfect. Will definitely return if we visit the area again.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious!

vip
Dined on July 28, 2015

The best restaurant we've found in Avalon. Perfect for a special occasion. We'd definitely return!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

REPEAT OFFENDER

vip
Dined on July 26, 2015

For the last 12 summers I have been enjoying a five star summer dinner at Cafe Loren. I am a repeat offender. The assimilation of the finest classic and contemporary fare, service , and interior design leads the guest to a "sheer perfection " experience. I am a repeat offender. Cafe Loren is the sweetest sentence every summer.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5

As good as it gets in Avalon, NJ

Dined on July 25, 2015

Outstanding food! Awesome service! A happy and positive place to enjoy a great meal in Avalon. One of the top places in the Island!

Tags: neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4

Excellent as always

Dined on July 24, 2015

Cafe Loren is a real gem and all of our dinners here have always been memorable. I am very particular about giving out 5 stars. That said, the food, service and ambiance are excellent and we will definitely return during out next Jersey shore vacation!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

As good as it gets.

vip
Dined on July 18, 2015

5 stars. The white linen table ambience is great. The meticulous service and attention to details is excellent . The presentation of the amazing dishes is incredible. The food is to die for. Nothing else to say other than this is one of the top restaurants in all of South Jersey.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.