About Cafe Loren

2288 Dune Drive
Avalon, NJ 08202
View Larger Map

The Café Loren was opened in 1978 and offers fine dining in an atmosphere of casual seashore elegance. For nearly four decades our menu has kept pace with American culinary trends. Over the years our heavy French influence has given way to American cuisine, a happy hybrid of styles, methods and ingredients from around the globe. Our menu can best be described as "American Coastal Cuisine". American because of our diverse preparations and Coastal because of our emphasis on seafood. But meat lovers have not been forgotten. We offer superbly prepared lamb, veal, beef and pork.
Chef/owner Stephen Serano has spent time with some of the best in any kitchen including three years in New York City with Chef Gordon Ramsey of “Hell’s Kitchen” fame. He brings all of this to his tables and continues to be progressive with his dishes including house made desserts and creative daily additions. During the winter months he teaches culinary classes at Atlantic County Community College.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Seafood, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Sunday: 5:30pm - 9:00pm.

Cross Street:
23rd St.

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(609) 967-8228

Website:
http://cafeloren.com/

Parking Details:
Limited parking is available in our lot on the 23rd street side of the building.

Additional:
BYO Liquor, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome

Cafe Loren Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Atlantic City / South Jersey Shore
Best Food
Atlantic City / South Jersey Shore
Best Service
Atlantic City / South Jersey Shore
16 More
Best Ambiance
Atlantic City / South Jersey Shore
Best Value
Atlantic City / South Jersey Shore
Fit for Foodies
Atlantic City / South Jersey Shore
Neighborhood Gem
Atlantic City / South Jersey Shore
Special Occasion
Atlantic City / South Jersey Shore
American
Atlantic City / South Jersey Shore
Best Overall
South Jersey Shore
Best Food
South Jersey Shore
Best Service
South Jersey Shore
Best Ambiance
South Jersey Shore
Best Value
South Jersey Shore
Fit for Foodies
South Jersey Shore
Neighborhood Gem
South Jersey Shore
Romantic
South Jersey Shore
Special Occasion
South Jersey Shore
Most Booked
South Jersey Shore
Best Restaurants in Avalon ›

special occasion (49)
fit for foodies (47)
neighborhood gem (36)
See All
romantic (30)
good for groups (10)
late-night find (1)
notable wine list (1)
hot spot (0)
Sort By:
Newest
259 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Thirty eight years and still going stron ...

Dined 4 days ago

Thirty eight years and still going strong. Patti and Mark and their staff never disappoint! The food is imaginative but not fussy. No molecular gastronomy, just excellent food. Highlights were: the poached lobster app (a little pricey at $20 but a very large portion that could have been a small entree for some).. a striped bass app special...and the scallop entree which had 5 huge scallops, edamame, corn and a super tasty bit of red onion marmalade atop each scallop. The only minor disappointment was the key lime tarte. The custard was wonderful, not cloyingly sweet or super tangy, but the cookie crust was a little too thick and heavy for our taste. In all a fabulous dinner!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

They were gracious from start to finish. ...

vip
Dined 5 days ago

They were gracious from start to finish. Especially delightful in accommodating gluten free needs with fantastic food!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was superb..there were four dif ...

Dined 7 days ago

The food was superb..there were four different entrees -- all were delicious! The service was friendly, warm and did not rush us through any course!

Tags: fit for foodies
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Can't beat Cafe Loren for shore dinning. ...

Dined 7 days ago

Can't beat Cafe Loren for shore dinning. Great BYOB. Fine food & a very friendly staff.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food2
ambience2
service1

I wanted so badly to like this place sin ...

Dined 7 days ago

I wanted so badly to like this place since there are so few amazing restaurants on 7MI, but sadly, I will never go back. I mentioned on my reservation that the dinner was for our forth wedding anniversary, and while I get this isn't a momentous occasion, you this we could have had a better selection of tables. Either right by the kitchen door, or right by the emergency exit shoved in the corner. Ok fine, we sit by the exit. My husband is a bourbon drinker and brought a flask with him since it is a byo. We asked our waiter, Sean, for a glass of ice for bourbon. He takes a wine glass and fills it up. Uggg. Onto dinner, we had the clams and lobster appetizers. The lobster was amazing, but the clams came out with burnt bread Again annoying. Then the salads came. My husband had a caesar and I had the house...with a live stink bug crawling on the top of it!!! I showed the waiter and he took it away. When he returned later he brought another salad and said it was on the house. Come on, the whole dinner should have been in the house, I was so grossed out. If it hadn't been a date that I had planned with my husband, and gotten a sitter for, I would have left. Sean did a terrible job checking to see if everything was ok from that point on. For our main course I had the scallops, which were good, but I had lost my appetite by then and my husband had the filet. He ordered it medium, but it came out well done. Overall I was disappointed with dinner even if it had been served sans stink bug.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

As always, a wonderful experience from b ...

Dined 7 days ago

As always, a wonderful experience from beginning to end, thank you!!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything we ordered was delicious! C ...

Dined on June 20, 2016

Everything we ordered was delicious! Cafe Loren never lets us down!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Back again for a 5 star experience - con ...

vip
Dined on June 19, 2016

Back again for a 5 star experience - consistently amazing. Thank you for all the great dinners.

food3
ambience3
service2

We've had much better experiences at Caf ...

vip
Dined on June 17, 2016

We've had much better experiences at Cafe Loren. It must have been an off night.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent food with unique combinations. ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

Excellent food with unique combinations. Great service with good suggestions on choices. We will be back again. And will highly recommend to our friends. My wife had the best clam chowder as an appetizer. My beet salad was a perfect start to dinner. On my entree the flavorful pork was accompanied by grilled peaches and plums. My wife rarely orders veal. She commented it was cooked perfectly. I consider myself a "foodie" . I have had meals all over the world. This was a top 5 meal ever. I described it as " French but not too French"

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

The good was delicious & beautifully pre ...

vip
Dined on June 15, 2016

The good was delicious & beautifully presented. It is truly a dining experience.

food5
ambience3
service5
value5

A wonderful place for fine dining on the ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

A wonderful place for fine dining on the island!! The food and service are wonderful. A must while vacationing on the 7 mile island!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighbourhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was restaurant week in Avalon when we ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

It was restaurant week in Avalon when we went to Café Loren. The Prix Mix menu was superb with several great choices from appetizers to dessert. The staff was especially attentive. The ambiance, art work and room color was relaxing. Café Loren is one of our favorite restaurants and every summer we make a point of dining there, and would recommend it highly.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5

Delicious food, nice portion size and at ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Delicious food, nice portion size and attentive staff. Pricey entrees but when you factor in byob ended up reasonable. Enjoyable evening 😊

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Meal

Dined on June 10, 2016

Highly recommend Cafe Loren. It is a great place for a great dinner. Food was fantastic and service was outstanding.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

7 Mile Restaurant Week

Dined on June 10, 2016

The food was excellent and the presentation perfect. Our server, Mary was awesome.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

wonderful experience

Dined on June 10, 2016

We had a great meal at Cafe Loren during the 7 mile restaurant week event. The menu had many interesting options. I choose the roasted beet salad which was delicious. The chili soy salmon with fried rice was outstanding, maybe the best salmon dish I have ever had. Desert was tiramisu, also wonderful. The restaurant was very pretty and comfortable. The staff friendly and extremely competent. I look forward to my next visit.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Restaurant week

Dined on June 9, 2016

Had a nice dinner with family. Busy evening for servers but food was good. We would go back

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5

Short ribs were amazing!

Dined on June 8, 2016

Short ribs were amazing!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always fantastic -- food, service, ambia ...

vip
Dined on June 6, 2016

Always fantastic -- food, service, ambiance. Love coming back.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Long time favorite

Dined on June 5, 2016

My wife and I have been dining here for over 25 years. Renovated after Superstom Sandy, the interior is very lovey. The food has always been very good and at our recent visit (June 2016), the meal was exceptional, from appetizer thru dessert. The service is always top notch, smooth and professional, no small feat in a seasonally open shore town restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

The Seven Mile Island Gem. It's a cozy q ...

vip
Dined on June 5, 2016

The Seven Mile Island Gem. It's a cozy quaint restaurant that allows you to dine. The food is delicious. The chocolate peanut butter pie is awesome. It's made by Patti's mother. The wait staff are very nice. You must go.

food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Still Excellent After All These Years

Dined on June 3, 2016

It had been a couple of years since we had last visited Cafe Loren. We should not have stayed away so long. Although a bit pricey, the food is magnificent. We had tuna tartare to start and veal tenderloin and a surf and turf special (Scallops, NY Strip, shrimp and lobster risotto. Wonderful!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This restaurant is a gem

vip
Dined on May 30, 2016

I go to this restaurant at least three times a year and it always get better. The food is superb and the service is always great. it is BYOB so take a good wine and enjoy one of the best restaurants at the shore.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best of Seven Mile Island

Dined on May 29, 2016

Always wonderful dining experience starting with a warm greeting from Patty, owner and wife of chef/owner. She makes you feel like family. Servers, many college students and teachers, couldn't be more attentive yet discreet. We love the soups, but are always tempted by all the interesting appetizers. Salads equally delicious. Entrees all so perfectly prepared with such an interesting use of ingredients, it is hard to choose. Desserts are amazing too. Cafe Loren is where we dine. It is where we meet our friends and take our company. Best of the shore, hands down.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Lovely dinner with excellent food and se ...

vip
Dined on May 27, 2016

Lovely dinner with excellent food and service! Will definitely dine there again!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Everything was excellent from the servic ...

Dined on May 26, 2016

Everything was excellent from the service to the food! We had to ask where the front entrance was since we parked on the 23rd street side and only saw the Freeze shop around to the front. Surprised at the very lovely interior and the large size of the restaurant! Being able to BYO is awesome as all entrees are $30 something and apps $12 and up but well worth the price. We will certainly make this one of our go-to places at the beach!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Our waiter was friendly and attentive. T ...

vip
Dined on May 22, 2016

Our waiter was friendly and attentive. The food is beyond reproach. We've also enjoyed ourselves. We've going there for over 20 years.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food is wonderful. Very gourmet and de ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Food is wonderful. Very gourmet and delicious. Service is the best and it is a BYOB.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Resturaunt always perfect, the fo ...

vip
Dined on May 21, 2016

Great Resturaunt always perfect, the food the staff and the ambiance are great. Highly recommend going here it's as good as it gets

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Cafe Loren is ALWAYS the best

Dined on May 14, 2016

Cafe Loren is ALWAYS the best. Every year the menu gets better and better......and the service is exceptional!!!!!!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Chef Steve and staff are on top of their game!

Dined on May 7, 2016

Chef Steve was kind enough to go off menu knowing my significant other does not like seafood, the service was great, knowledgeable and friendly. Chef Steve is a true talent! Every course was delicious! The creativity and presentation were the best I've seen! Treat yourself and friends and family and make a reservation!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

always excellent

Dined on September 20, 2015

we've eaten at cafe loren a few times every summer for the past 20 years perhaps. we've always had an excellent meal and wonderful service. this past summer, however, the food and experience have been better than ever, which is saying a lot. one of our favorite restaurants anywhere, ever.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Never Dissappoints

Dined on September 18, 2015

The old adage, that restaurants come and go, does not apply to Cafe Loren. After 24 years, still always great. Another great meal at Cafe Loren, not to be missed if you are in Avalon.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

A fabulous restaurant.

Dined on September 13, 2015

Fabulous. I had salmon with figs. My husband had the halibut. We are talking about this restaurant days later.

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Dinner and the service was excellent as ...

Dined on September 12, 2015

Dinner and the service was excellent as always. One of my favorite on the Jersey Shore!!!!

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience4
service5

great find at the shore

Dined on August 30, 2015

Hard to get a reservation but once in, the place is delightful. All four in our party were pleased with their entire meal. Great BYOB, friendly staff, great service, and the food is excellent!

food5
ambience5
service5

Finest restaurant on the East coast...seriously

Dined on August 28, 2015

This restaurant is not to be missed. The food here is so fine, creative, great atmosphere. We have eaten in fine restaurants all over the world - this is by far our favorite. About $100 for dinner for two (two appetizers, entrees, and dessert/coffee). Scallops over fingerling potatoes with a bacon sauce and pureed cauliflower for appetizer not to be missed, as is the lobster tail risotto - unbelievable. Treat yourself, you won't regret it. BYOB and there is a liquor store two doors down so easy to pick up a drink just before dinner.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4

Salty

Dined on August 26, 2015

We had great appetizers and salads. Two at our table ordered the filet with mashed potatoes but both said they were both very salty. Didn't want to make a fuss but they should have sent them back for $39. Two of us had the rack of lamb which was delicious. Service was good.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food2
ambience4
service3

Very disappointing

Dined on August 25, 2015

Pleasant servers and ambience but mediocre, overpriced food. They took decent ingredients and served them with thick bland sauces that made the whole meal unsatisfying.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.