Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Fri, 5/25
Time
10:30 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 33 times today

Cafe Loren

4.9
542 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$31 to $50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
American
Top Tags:
  • Special Occasion
  • Good for a Date
  • Neighborhood Gem
The Café Loren was opened in 1978 and offers fine dining in an atmosphere of casual seashore elegance. For four decades our menu has kept pace with American culinary trends. Over the years our heavy French influence has given way to American cuisine, a happy hybrid of styles, methods and ingredients from around the globe. Our menu can best be described as "American Coastal Cuisine". American because of our diverse preparations and Coastal because of our emphasis on seafood. But meat lovers have not been forgotten. We offer superbly prepared lamb, veal, beef and pork.
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
American, Seafood, Contemporary American
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Dinner: Tuesday - Sunday: 5:30PM - 9:30PM; Closed on Monday
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(609) 967-8228
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Smart Casual
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
23rd St.
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Limited parking is available in our lot on the 23rd street side of the building.
Additional
BYO Liquor, BYO Wine, Non-Smoking
What 542 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.9based on recent ratings
4.8
food
4.7
service
4.5
ambience
4.3
value
Noise · Quiet
100% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined 5 days ago

Awesome place that we stop at four or five times a year. My first trip this year was 5/20/18 the weekend before Memorial Day. It was a quite night without all of the normal beach hustle and bustle. Had an opportunity to meet the chef and had an incredible dinner. Reservations are a must as this is a well known restaurant in Avalon. Enjoy!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 5 days ago

Cafe Loren never ceases to amaze. Old favorites like scallops and halibut are better than ever, and the new owners have brought with them delicious new additions like the octopus appetizer and swordfish entree. Beautiful presentation and ambience. We will definitely be back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 5 days ago

Awesome food. Presentation even better. Highly recommended.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 5 days ago

Warm welcome when we came in. We had an enthusiastic and friendly
waitress who recommended exquisite dishes such as the halibut (what a presentation!)and the duck.
The cuisine is very creative and uses top quality ingredients.
A perfect dinner.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 6 days ago

Wonderful dinner . So nice to see such consistency after all these years in business .

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

wonderful, as usual. The plant to Moms was a nice treat

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Hit or miss. Cafe Loren used to be a guaranteed home run for excellent cuisine and service. Lately it's been hit or miss and unfortunately I think we hit a miss the other night.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

I had the grilled oyster special (local oysters)with oregano garlic butter, extra sharp provolone and a grilled lemon. It was a spectacular start to the meal. Then I had the new grilled lamb dish perfectly seared and so flavorful served on couscous and topped with a minty cucumber tomato salad. We finished up with a warmed apple tart and vanilla ice cream- perfect Mother’s Day.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

This restaurant never disappoints. The food was delicious and beautifully presented. Treat yourself!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 12, 2018

The food and service are outstanding

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 12, 2018

I heard many good things about Café Loren and to say I was not disappointed is an understatement. The food, the staff, the ambience were all outstanding. It is a place we will return to!!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 12, 2018

As always, presentation was beautiful, service was friendly and attentive, noise level on the higher side as restaurant filled up. This time, however, disappointed in the Veal Loren--sauce was somewhat tasteless and shrimp were somewhat on the soft side.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 29, 2017

Cafe Loren is always a great choice for dining. The food and service were excellent once again.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 28, 2017

Always have had a wonderful experience at Cafe Loren

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 21, 2017

Always a great time Cafe Loren!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 16, 2017

We come here every year and it's always an amazing experience. The food and service is outstanding! Highly recommend the bisque and veal Loren. Can't wait to come back next year!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on September 15, 2017

The food here is always great. Menu and preparation are interesting. And the service is great. The restaurant would love a renovation to make it more open, and more space, as it's always difficult to get a reservation.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 10, 2017

Celebrated our anniversary and the dessert was delivered with candles to celebrate - super food

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on September 9, 2017

I took a large part to Café Loren based on a family recommendation. While the menu reads very well but I'm sorry to say that no one in our party enjoyed there meals. While the menu items appear to have a French basis the execution did not. This contradiction didn't seem to work well.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 9, 2017

Our entrees which were both the veal were delicious. Very complex and well constructed dish! One of my husband's favorite restaurants and we were not disappointed

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 8, 2017

Staff and food were fantastic! Every course was better than the last. Love BYO!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 8, 2017

Great server. The Veal Loren was delicious combination and great presentation. Scallops for the first crse. were excellent !

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 8, 2017

The food was excellent as was the service. We had a wonderful night. Can't wait to go back.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on September 7, 2017

Not your typical beach restaurant, Cafe Loren boasts a beautiful atmosphere, lovely surroundings, white tableclothes, nicely-attired servers and delicious food! A little pricey, but definitely worth it for the wonderful food and relaxed and lovely atmosphere. A great restaurant for a special occasion.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 7, 2017

Our go to place for fine dining in Avalon. Butternut squash soup yummy. I had duck breast, cooked to perfection. My wife had swordfish, also wonderful. Finished sharing key lime pie. Service and staff friendly and accomodating

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 7, 2017

The Cajun Shrimp and grits are heavenly! I've eaten here for many years, and I've never had anything that wasn't delicious.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 3, 2017

Cafe Loren continues to deliver amazing food and service in a beautiful, quiet environment. The menu combines classic cuts with creative delivery and beautiful presentation, like short ribs with roasted peaches and blueberry sauce, or swordfish with Mexican street corn. We also recommend the octopus appetizer, the scallops and the panacotta dessert. The service is excellent and we always have a great experience dining here!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on September 3, 2017

As nice as cafe Loren is on the inside, our appetizers were incredible and our dinner was very disappointing for a chef supposedly trained with Gordon Ramsey. I had the buttoni noodles crab and gravy special and we both felt it lacked taste. It was very bland and really needed some additional herbs and spices to pick up the taste. Very pricey which is fine with great food but that was not the case. We had been to basillicos in sea isle the night before and it has always been outstanding and offers a lot of specials. We have never been disappointed. Had our dinner matched the taste of our appetizers my review would have been outstanding. Unfortunately that was not the case and for the prices I can't say I will recommend cafe Loren since their are numerous other dining establishments we have visited with better and more consistency in quality food all of the time.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 2, 2017

Another perfect night at The Cafe Loren and with Sally.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 2, 2017

Cafe Loren. - nice place. Delicious food. Server Mike was fantastic !
We go every summer to cafe Loren

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on September 2, 2017

It was an anniversary date for when we first met in avalon as well as a gift from our engagement party

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 2, 2017

This was our best meal at the Jersey Shore this summer. Fine dining at its best. Thank you to Michael who took great care of us. Can't wait to go back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 31, 2017

We both enjoyed our meals, very good and a nice presentation! Our server Sean was excellent. He knew the menu very well and he was very sociable. He was a great representative of your restaurant!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 30, 2017

This is a favorite restaurant of ours in Avalon. Year after year we are never disappointed. The food is unique and delicious. On our last visit our waitress was spectacular- so friendly and warm. Made for a very special night. Being a BYOB makes it so affordable. This place is a gem!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on August 30, 2017

food was terrible, even the specials that were recommended by there waitress were horrific

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 30, 2017

This meal was one of the best I can remember. We thoroughly enjoyed the octopus and shrimp & grits as starters. The most tender octopus we have ever had. The shrimp and grits was awesome. Our entrees included the veal medallions and the New York Strip, which was an addition to the menu. Everything was perfectly cooked and presented. Highly recommended!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 29, 2017

This was a new restaurant for us, and we were pleasantly surprised. The food was fabulous and the atmosphere was excellent, especially if you are celebrating a special occasion. An added bonus was the fact that it's a BYOB establishment.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 27, 2017

If you're in Avalon or one of the surrounding communities in South Jersey don't miss Cafe Loren. We've been going there for over 20 years and they never disappoint. GO!!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 25, 2017

Excellent atmosphere, food and service. Going back for our anniversary April

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 25, 2017

Always a pleasure at Cafe Loren-even though I was caught by surprise that the ownership had changed. The menu is pretty much the same-and still delicious. Many of the same staff members are there which is terrific-and a compliment. The atmosphere has not changed. All that being said,I'll be back next year!

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
14