About Cafe Jolie

1500 Webster St
Alameda, CA 94501
View Larger Map

Bon Jour! Café Jolie is a French inspired restaurant--one of the best restaurants Northern California has to offer. We serve French inspired dishes that are organic and seasonal. We believe in every aspect of our restaurant, but the core of our restaurant lies in the quality of our dishes. You won't know until you experience it. Merci Beaucoup!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
French American, Organic, Californian

Hours of Operation:


Dinner: Th-Sa 5:00pm-9:00pm

Cross Street:
Between Haight Ave and Santa Clara Ave

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(510) 523-4500

Website:
http://www.cafejolies.com/

Catering:
Please contact the store for additional information.

Parking Details:
Café Jolie is located right next to a public parking lot. Street parking is also readily available.

Public Transit:
Webster-Santa Clara AC Transit Bus Stop (51A; 20; 0; W)

Executive Chef:
Joann Guitarte

Additional:
Beer, Cafe, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Cafe Jolie Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.9

service

4.4

ambience

4.2

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

neighborhood gem (7)
special occasion (4)
romantic (3)
See All
fit for foodies (3)
good for groups (3)
great for lunch (2)
kid-friendly (2)
notable wine list (1)
great for brunch (1)
great for outdoor dining (1)
Sort By:
Newest
51 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Best restaurant in Alameda. Better than ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Best restaurant in Alameda. Better than any bistro that Paris has to offer.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We come fairly often and the food and se ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

We come fairly often and the food and service is always good at Cafe Jolie.

We also love the live music as the musicians are very talented. However, we find it too loud for easy conversations as the restaurant is fairly small. If there was a way to "turn down the volume", it would be perfect.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

"Cold" is the word comes to mind regardi ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

"Cold" is the word comes to mind regarding the food temperature; "Disappointed" is the feeling comes to mind after my dinner date with my husband at Café Jolie.

We ordered two Hors d'Oeuvres and two entrees for our dinner: Ceasar Salad, Escargot, Steak frites and Mussels & Frites. We were not all that interested having so much Frites, but the menu of entrees was very restrictive - reminding me that they indeed are a Cafe', not a restaurant. The Ceasar salad was the best among all. When the escargot came out, the dish was hot, but the escargot was barely warm. I had to ask the server to take them back and get them hotter. He did, they re-heated the dish, burning the butter and served it. This time it was hot, but tasteless. When we were finished with the salad and Escargot, we were served the entrees and were again disappointed. The steak was lukewarm, so were the mussels, except the ones at the bottom of the bowl that were with the juice. We did get plenty of frites, more than we could eat.

There were total of three waiters/busboys served us. Two of them were very friendly and nice, but our main server was just OK.

We went to Café Jolie once before for a Sunday Brunch and were not impressed. We thought to give it another try after they started serving dinner. We should have trusted our previous impression and went some place else for our date.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Live jazz was a great add on to our expe ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Live jazz was a great add on to our experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Cafe Jolie is my go to date night and br ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Cafe Jolie is my go to date night and brunch place in alameda. Their food is excellent. For brunch the French toast and the eggs Benedict are always good. They make their own croissants too, so be sure not to miss those. Also on Saturday nights they have live music. The rissotto is always good, and be save room for the truffle fries and beignets.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server Thomas was amazing. Funny, h ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 9, 2016

Our server Thomas was amazing. Funny, helpful, was always there when you needed him but not hovering. Took my mom here for Mother's Day and was immediately greeted with a glass of champagne. Food was okay, my mom ordered pork tenderloin but what arrived was pork loin... not so tender and a little on the dry side, but the dessert made up for it for her. I would definitely go back and try their brunch menu.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

A Very Nice Restaurant.

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Reminded me of Neighborhood bistro in Paris. Good food, Good wine and nice service.

Tags: romantic, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

The ambiance was great as waa the menu b ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

The ambiance was great as waa the menu but the food itself lacked flavor. The scallops were over cooked and mussels tasted like tge wine used was not cooked off.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

Good find

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on March 20, 2016

The live music adds to the ambience, but it was a bit loud for our soft-spoken friends, so we opted to sit outside where it was much quieter. There are heaters on the patio, which worked well. I got the burger, medium-rare, and it came out a tad bit rare, but overall good and flavorful. The fries were nothing special. Everyone else seemed to enjoy their meals.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Rooting for jolie

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on March 19, 2016

Lots of potential, a few solid standards, but slightly disappointing overall. Portions are generous but the food, especially the non standards (specials, substitutes) disappoints. If you stick to the menu, avoid the specials (especially the beef-substandard quality) you get a solid meal for a fair price. Great if you don't want to leave the island but not worth traveling to the island of you aren't already here.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Lovely find with fabulous food and decent prices

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on March 13, 2016

We've been here several times over the last 1-2 years. The food is scrumptious every time. We've taken our tweens who have enjoyed the garlic shrimp appetizer and the Mac and cheese, sometimes with crab (definitely not Kraft). Aside from being local, charming and great atmosphere there's usually live music that makes for lovely background sound. This last visit (a Saturday night), the music was a bit loud and stayed loud even after asking for the electric piano to be turned down (first time I've seen a different pianist). Just made it harder but not impossible to converse, which was one of our two main goals (yummy food, catch up with old friends no kids!).

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was a very rainy evening and we wante ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on March 6, 2016

It was a very rainy evening and we wanted to try it out because we want to have a large group for lunch .

It was awesome! Everyone who worked there is so friendly and professional !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great service + Great food + Available Parking

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on March 5, 2016

We certainly enjoyed everything about Café Jolie. My wife and I like going there. One of the reasons is that, unlike places on Park Street, we can always find a place to park on TBD. Though we have only dined there for dinner a few times, our waiter recognized our faces and thanked us for coming back as he sat us. We started with some Tartine, toasted bread covered with pears, goat cheese, and drizzled with honey. What can be bad with that? I had the short ribs. Very flavorful. Very tender. Garlic mashed potatoes had just the right amount of garlic. Even the kale tasted good - a lot like sautéed spinach. My wife had the Poulet which was chicken stuffed with mushrooms and goat cheese. Very good. We had a Wild Horse Pinot Noir that complemented our meal just right. Our server checked on us but we had nothing for him to do, because everything was just right.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Cafe Jolie has become our favorite resta ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

Cafe Jolie has become our favorite restaurant in Alameda. Everything about the restaurant is exceptional. The food, service, ambiance is well done. The meals we have are consistently exceptional. Highly recommend this restaurant.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

disappointed this time

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on January 24, 2016

the steak frites was an utter disappointment. while the steak we cooked perfectly to my request of medium-rare, it was a tough and grizzly piece of meat that I would not serve to my family. The fries were slightly undercooked, tasting of raw potato. The jazz piano HAS TO GO!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value3

Low to Average

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on January 1, 2016

Mind you this is New Years dinner at $55.00 per person. I expected more than we we got. We got cheap low quality bread. Read more: The filet mignonette was over cooked even though I asked for medium rare. Tasted kinda weird. The salad was overly saturated with a low quality dressing. The dessert was a low quality pie just the worst dessert ever as though it came from KFC. Not eaten breakfast there but for sure we're not going back for NYE we were greatly disappointed .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

Great local find

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on November 15, 2015

The outdoor seating is great - even on a chilly evening thanks to the heaters. The food is well prepared and plentiful. The wine list is a bit limited in depth, but has reasonable breadth. Service is friendly and attentive. The space is small, so the piano jazz soloist would have been more than a bit much if we had eaten inside, but was, thankfully, not audible on the patio.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Good food, plenty of parking around the ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on November 15, 2015

Good food, plenty of parking around the corner, enjoyable night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

The only place in town that serves escargot.

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on October 11, 2015

Entrees were excellent: short ribs super tender, mashed potatoes so flavorful, and the kale was savory beyond expectations. My friend had the hanger steak, also incredible. The gnocchi were too big and a little gummy, but I'm not a fan anyway. Raw oysters were wonderful.

Overall beautiful presentation.

Great service.

One of the nicest restaurants in Alameda, elegant but low-key, not trendy like those at South Shore. I compare it to the Gold Coast Grill.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Neighborhood gem is accurate!

vip
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on October 3, 2015

This was our first time in Alameda and we didn't know where to get a quick dinner before a photography exhibit opening. We checked on Open Table and found Cafe Jolie. We are sad that this place is not nearer to our house! Then again, it might be good for our pocketbook that it isn't because we'd be there every night! The prices for the meal were very reasonable. The ambiance was lovely with the live jazz band. Our server was very friendly and attentive. The food was delicious although I felt the escargot could use more garlic. hehe! I love garlic. We definitely plan to visit again in the near future. It is a cute cafe in the middle of a neat town.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Jolie is our favorite restaurant in all ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 25, 2015

Jolie is our favorite restaurant in all of Alameda. The staff greet us by name with genuine warmth. It's a very special place where the food is as good as the people.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Loved it but a few service blips.

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 30, 2015

We enjoyed the salmon entree and the ambience. The live background music on Saturday night was a plus. Our waitress and the others who served us were very friendly. Blips? Entree came too quickly as we were still eating our salads. The carrot cake was too dry so we changed to a limoncello cake. The bill included a more expensive wine than ordered. All blips were rectified but there were too many. That said, I do intend to go back.

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3

Nice.

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 30, 2015

We went to hear Greg Jacobs and his bassist (whose name I can't remember) play some jazz. The music was great. The escargot was not the best I've had, but most of the food was very good. It got a little noisy as the evening progressed and the place got a little crowded. If you get there early, it's really nice. And you can eat outside, if you'd rather, but it is on a somewhat busy street... not nearly as bad as Columbus in North Beach, though. Our server was very good.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Reasonable French bistro, something for everyone

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 28, 2015

Our group of 8 had a delicious meal to suit our eclectic tastes, with reasonable prices, from the crab cakes (3 medium sized for $12) appetizer to the salads (Nicoise with very generous tuna portion and Warm Spinach with lots of crispy chunks of bacon--many salads to choose from) and mains (chicken, steak, beef burger). In spite of complimentary ice cream sundae for the birthday guy, we couldn't resist 2 more desserts: creme brûlée and chocolate cake (huge!), both scrumptious.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Cafe Jolie - a great experience

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 23, 2015

Everything was outstanding. Great food and a great value. Very friendly staff. I definitely recommend it and will visit it more often. A real gem in Alameda.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The best restaurant in Alameda

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on August 16, 2015

Cafe Jolie is a must if you are close to Alameda. We travel from San Jose for their excellent cuisine, presentation and service. Driving a fair distance is worth eating at Cafe Jolie.

Al and Cheryl Jaffa

Tags: kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Not Just For Breakfast Anymore

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 2, 2015

Alameda does not have a plethora of restaurants. It's nice to find one that is upscale yet not too expensive. Café Jolie offers great food at a good price. We have been there many times for breakfast. I really enjoy the crab cakes benedict because the sauce is so good. This time we went for dinner. I had barbecue beef ribs that were pretty good. The jalapeno cole slaw that came with it was a nice touch.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Great service and delicious food.

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 14, 2015

Great service and delicious food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very pleasantly surprised.

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 30, 2015

Excellent tasting food and presentation, and service. Small but nice wine list. Enjoyed the live music too!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Enjoyed Greatly

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 24, 2015

All three of us found our meals to be excellent with superior service and very generous portions. Of special mention, the white chocolate bread pudding was one of the best we've ever had.

Tags: neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Great find

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 23, 2015

Sweet welcoming environment, great service, solid menu and great prices.

Tags: great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Enjoyable

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 9, 2015

Went on a Friday evening for dinner for 3 people, we had a very nice experience. All of our food was delicious and the server described the food perfectly so that we got what we expected. Pork belly appetizer was a special, different from the regular menu item and was delicious. My Entree a special, was flattened sirloin was terrific and perfectly cooked to my liking. I don't care for brussel sprouts which were abundant on the plate but the sirloin alone was plenty. Desserts were also great. They had live jazz duo, and yes the restaurant is on the small side for live music but the music was good and ended at around 9 pm. We had an 8:00 reservation and we were the last people there at closing. Our server Delanie was exceptional. Not a huge wine list but adequate and had a nice reasonably priced bottle paired nicely with dinner. Plenty of parking nearby.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Neighborhood Gem

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on May 9, 2015

Benn here a few times over the last two months, we have had a great dining experience every time. The service is great, their crab cake appetizer is really good, their entree's are affordable and very good. We ordered their Rockwall Chardonnay; and as always it did not disappoint. We are going to make it our go to place for a quiet easy dinner night out.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

2nd time

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 12, 2015

Great food as always, nice variance on two separate weekends.

We will be coming back again soon.

Nice music toom

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wish we lived closer, we would go all the time

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 12, 2015

Music was fine for us but the tables close to music would have a problem with the noise level. Great food and service. We were very happy with our experience.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

CK Review

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 5, 2015

Fabulous all way round! Nice food, nice service, could not of asked for better waiters - nice young men.

There was very nice jazz music this night, so it added to the ambiance. Delightful.

Tags: kid-friendly, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Terrific service, above average food, gr ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on February 22, 2015

Terrific service, above average food, great music. Pork belly was one of the best I've had in years. Escargot appetizer was flavorful. French fries were disappointingly soggy and left much to be desired!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5

Cafe Jolie is a neighborhood gem

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on February 8, 2015

Cafe Jolie is an excellent choice for delicious breakfast or lunch but recently we have been enjoying dinner here as well. The dinner time servers are typically younger folks but very attentive and do a great job. They also know the menu well and do a great job addressing questions and making light conversation. Always a pleasure to dine with.

The morning service is also very good and we are always treated with care and respect, even when we have our kids with us.

The owners are good people; local folks with a vested interest in the community and I will continue to return to Cafe Jolie as often as possible.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good value

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on February 7, 2015

Good value for your money. Portions are generous. Shrimps was delicious with risotto. Short ribs melted in your mouth and were very flavorful. Kale with lemon taste was delightful. Staff was very attentive. Will definitely return.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Wanted to like this place but food..

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on January 31, 2015

Wife and I went for an early dinner, seated immediately at a table near a window and near the live music (electric piano). Ordered Caesar Salad (which they kindly split for us), French Onion Soup, Shrimp and Asparagus Risotto, and Mussels with Fries.

The flavors and textures were a little off on the soup and the risotto. Soup tasted like it had a tomato base while risotto was not smooth or creamy. The mussel stock was a little too salty while fries were really good. We expected something to wow us for the price paid...just not wowed.

Service was excellent contrary to some prior OpenTable and Yelp reviews. Will not be going back for awhile.

Tags: great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.