Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.28mi
  2. Distance: 0.36mi
  3. Distance: 0.41mi
  4. Distance: 0.42mi
  1. Distance: 0.28mi
  2. Distance: 0.36mi
  3. Distance: 0.41mi
  4. Distance: 0.42mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.28mi
  2. Distance: 0.36mi
  3. Distance: 0.41mi
  4. Distance: 0.42mi
  1. Distance: 0.28mi
  2. Distance: 0.36mi
  3. Distance: 0.41mi
  4. Distance: 0.42mi

About Cafe Jolie

Bon Jour! Café Jolie is a French inspired restaurant--one of the best restaurants Northern California has to offer. We serve French inspired dishes that are organic and seasonal. We believe in every aspect of our restaurant, but the core of our restaurant lies in the quality of our dishes. You won't know until you experience it. Merci Beaucoup!

1500 Webster St
Alameda, CA 94501
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
French American, Organic, Californian

Hours of Operation:


Dinner: Th-Sa 5:00pm-9:00pm

Cross Street:
Between Haight Ave and Santa Clara Ave

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(510) 523-4500

Website:
http://www.cafejolies.com/

Catering:
Please contact the store for additional information.

Parking Details:
Café Jolie is located right next to a public parking lot. Street parking is also readily available.

Public Transit:
Webster-Santa Clara AC Transit Bus Stop (51A; 20; 0; W)

Executive Chef:
Joann Guitarte

Additional:
Beer, Cafe, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Cafe Jolie Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.8

ambience

4.4

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Romantic (4)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Good for Birthdays (2)
See All
Casual (2)
Fun (2)
Good for a Date (2)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Special Occasion (2)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Authentic (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Live Music (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Family Style (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Fit for Foodies (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
72 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Wonderful prix fixe menu on Mother's Day. There was live music, service was attentive, and the food was solid. The organic greens salad was ok, but the filet mignon was tender and flavorful. My wife enjoyed the duck confit as well. The beignets were a nice treat for dessert, too. I also appreciated the availability of a kids menu, too. We will be back.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 23, 2017

I have visited Café Jolie several times and have always been very pleased with their food and service. Food choices are varied and tasty. Service is attentive but not overbearing. The desserts are huge and fantastic. The music on the weekends, while pleasant, is a little loud in the small space. But I would not let that get in the way of a delightful dining experience.

Tags: Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Live Music, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Always a lovely time here. Food consistently excellent and staff super friendly and nice.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun, Romantic, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Dinner is always great at Cafe Jolie. Piano and candlelight make for a warm and inviting ambiance. Short ribs are a must have, but their specials are usually delicious too. They have a great wine list that are not going to break your budget (bottles ~$40). The server Thomas is the best; very attentive and knowledgable of the menu.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Best desert

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 18, 2017

I have been here several times and never disappointed. Excellent breakfast, and dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 12, 2017

What a surprise! Excellent food, service and ambiance! Such a treat!Happy they are in our neighborhood☺

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Excellent service. Attentive but not "in your face". Jazz (?) trio was a bit loud by my taste. However they went on a break during most of our dining time which worked out ok for me.

Food was superb. No hassle about sharing entrees which we did and each had traditional French Onion soup -- superb.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Cafe Jolie is a great value, the food is always delicious, the service is wonderful, we've been several times and the waiter remembers what we like. We enjoy the entertainment during our meal, great music that doesn't distract from conversation but is perfect background music. It's an excellent value for the money and we've always enjoyed our experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Very nice meal for my Birthday! Beignets were the best part of the meal! Always enjoy eating at Cafe Jolie!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 23, 2016

My favorite resturant in the bay area. Their dinner service is a hidden gem!

Tags: Cozy, Disabled Access, Neighborhood Gem, Live Music, Outstanding Value, Great for Lunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 11, 2016

We are spoiled by SF Food. That being said, Cafe Jolie provided a very cute and sweet place to eat before our concert in Oakland. We enjoyed the food and the waitress we had was very professional. The only issue I had was the food is very over salted and not particularly unique. We had delicious mussels and pommes frites and my husband said his steak was very good. The appetizers were pretty boring. Save room for dessert. The desserts are HUGE and really delicious! good wine list, affordable. We will go back again!

Tags: Live Music, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 7, 2016

We always go for dinner. The French Onion Soup is terrific....different flavor than most other places. Tried the Cilantro Lime Shrimp Salad for a change and loved it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 11, 2016

We have been to Cafe Jolie a few times. We are from New Orleans, so we don't think their beignets are authentic but other than that, we love everything about the place. We were able to have a local wine, Urban Legend, with our dinner. It's always nice to support local businesses. I had the duck confit special which was great. My wife had the short ribs again that she had already had once before because she liked them that much. Even though we have only been there a few times, the staff knows us by name. We like that.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 10, 2016

The food was good, but there was too much salt used throughout. And the salad was too generous with the balsamic vinegar. So my recommendation is let the actual food flavors speak for themselves.

Tags: Casual, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 2, 2016

Café Jolie just keeps getting better and better. The food preparation is generally spot on and with reasonable prices, the service attentive, and on Friday and Saturday nights ambience kicks it up a notch with live jazz.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 20, 2016

Great food at very reasonable prices!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 14, 2016

Nice with music

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 13, 2016

Loved the food,and the value. Portions were a nice size and we all needed boxes. Loved the fig tartine. My mashed potatoes that came with my short ribs were a bit on the runny side. Delaney was an excellent server. We loved the music and the ambiance.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 7, 2016

The only thing I could not stomach was the fries that came with my chicken burger.
I mentioned this to the waitress and she was not amused and never offered anything to help the cause. The fries had enough salt for 5 times the fries portion. Not good.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 31, 2016

excellent staff and food. good selection on the menu

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 17, 2016

Best restaurant in Alameda. Better than any bistro that Paris has to offer.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 25, 2016

We come fairly often and the food and service is always good at Cafe Jolie.
We also love the live music as the musicians are very talented. However, we find it too loud for easy conversations as the restaurant is fairly small. If there was a way to "turn down the volume", it would be perfect.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 24, 2016

"Cold" is the word comes to mind regarding the food temperature; "Disappointed" is the feeling comes to mind after my dinner date with my husband at Café Jolie.
We ordered two Hors d'Oeuvres and two entrees for our dinner: Ceasar Salad, Escargot, Steak frites and Mussels & Frites. We were not all that interested having so much Frites, but the menu of entrees was very restrictive - reminding me that they indeed are a Cafe', not a restaurant. The Ceasar salad was the best among all. When the escargot came out, the dish was hot, but the escargot was barely warm. I had to ask the server to take them back and get them hotter. He did, they re-heated the dish, burning the butter and served it. This time it was hot, but tasteless. When we were finished with the salad and Escargot, we were served the entrees and were again disappointed. The steak was lukewarm, so were the mussels, except the ones at the bottom of the bowl that were with the juice. We did get plenty of frites, more than we could eat.
There were total of three waiters/busboys served us. Two of them were very friendly and nice, but our main server was just OK.
We went to Café Jolie once before for a Sunday Brunch and were not impressed. We thought to give it another try after they started serving dinner. We should have trusted our previous impression and went some place else for our date.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 5, 2016

Live jazz was a great add on to our experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 22, 2016

Cafe Jolie is my go to date night and brunch place in alameda. Their food is excellent. For brunch the French toast and the eggs Benedict are always good. They make their own croissants too, so be sure not to miss those. Also on Saturday nights they have live music. The rissotto is always good, and be save room for the truffle fries and beignets.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 9, 2016

Our server Thomas was amazing. Funny, helpful, was always there when you needed him but not hovering. Took my mom here for Mother's Day and was immediately greeted with a glass of champagne. Food was okay, my mom ordered pork tenderloin but what arrived was pork loin... not so tender and a little on the dry side, but the dessert made up for it for her. I would definitely go back and try their brunch menu.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 8, 2016

Reminded me of Neighborhood bistro in Paris. Good food, Good wine and nice service.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 30, 2016

The ambiance was great as waa the menu but the food itself lacked flavor. The scallops were over cooked and mussels tasted like tge wine used was not cooked off.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 20, 2016

The live music adds to the ambience, but it was a bit loud for our soft-spoken friends, so we opted to sit outside where it was much quieter. There are heaters on the patio, which worked well. I got the burger, medium-rare, and it came out a tad bit rare, but overall good and flavorful. The fries were nothing special. Everyone else seemed to enjoy their meals.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 19, 2016

Lots of potential, a few solid standards, but slightly disappointing overall. Portions are generous but the food, especially the non standards (specials, substitutes) disappoints. If you stick to the menu, avoid the specials (especially the beef-substandard quality) you get a solid meal for a fair price. Great if you don't want to leave the island but not worth traveling to the island of you aren't already here.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 13, 2016

We've been here several times over the last 1-2 years. The food is scrumptious every time. We've taken our tweens who have enjoyed the garlic shrimp appetizer and the Mac and cheese, sometimes with crab (definitely not Kraft). Aside from being local, charming and great atmosphere there's usually live music that makes for lovely background sound. This last visit (a Saturday night), the music was a bit loud and stayed loud even after asking for the electric piano to be turned down (first time I've seen a different pianist). Just made it harder but not impossible to converse, which was one of our two main goals (yummy food, catch up with old friends no kids!).

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 6, 2016

It was a very rainy evening and we wanted to try it out because we want to have a large group for lunch .
It was awesome! Everyone who worked there is so friendly and professional !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 5, 2016

We certainly enjoyed everything about Café Jolie. My wife and I like going there. One of the reasons is that, unlike places on Park Street, we can always find a place to park on TBD. Though we have only dined there for dinner a few times, our waiter recognized our faces and thanked us for coming back as he sat us. We started with some Tartine, toasted bread covered with pears, goat cheese, and drizzled with honey. What can be bad with that? I had the short ribs. Very flavorful. Very tender. Garlic mashed potatoes had just the right amount of garlic. Even the kale tasted good - a lot like sautéed spinach. My wife had the Poulet which was chicken stuffed with mushrooms and goat cheese. Very good. We had a Wild Horse Pinot Noir that complemented our meal just right. Our server checked on us but we had nothing for him to do, because everything was just right.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 13, 2016

Cafe Jolie has become our favorite restaurant in Alameda. Everything about the restaurant is exceptional. The food, service, ambiance is well done. The meals we have are consistently exceptional. Highly recommend this restaurant.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 24, 2016

the steak frites was an utter disappointment. while the steak we cooked perfectly to my request of medium-rare, it was a tough and grizzly piece of meat that I would not serve to my family. The fries were slightly undercooked, tasting of raw potato. The jazz piano HAS TO GO!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 1, 2016

Mind you this is New Years dinner at $55.00 per person. I expected more than we we got. We got cheap low quality bread. Read more: The filet mignonette was over cooked even though I asked for medium rare. Tasted kinda weird. The salad was overly saturated with a low quality dressing. The dessert was a low quality pie just the worst dessert ever as though it came from KFC. Not eaten breakfast there but for sure we're not going back for NYE we were greatly disappointed .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 15, 2015

The outdoor seating is great - even on a chilly evening thanks to the heaters. The food is well prepared and plentiful. The wine list is a bit limited in depth, but has reasonable breadth. Service is friendly and attentive. The space is small, so the piano jazz soloist would have been more than a bit much if we had eaten inside, but was, thankfully, not audible on the patio.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 15, 2015

Good food, plenty of parking around the corner, enjoyable night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 11, 2015

Entrees were excellent: short ribs super tender, mashed potatoes so flavorful, and the kale was savory beyond expectations. My friend had the hanger steak, also incredible. The gnocchi were too big and a little gummy, but I'm not a fan anyway. Raw oysters were wonderful.
Overall beautiful presentation.
Great service.
One of the nicest restaurants in Alameda, elegant but low-key, not trendy like those at South Shore. I compare it to the Gold Coast Grill.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.