Not available on OpenTable

Unfortunately, this restaurant is not on the OpenTable reservation network.
If you like, we’ll notify you by email if this restaurant joins.
Is this your restaurant? Claim this listing

Cafe Jolie

4.3
89 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
French American
Top Tags:
  • Neighborhood Gem
  • Fit for Foodies
  • Romantic

Similar Restaurants

About

Bon Jour! Café Jolie is a French inspired restaurant--one of the best restaurants Northern California has to offer. We serve French inspired dishes that are organic and seasonal. We believe in every aspect of our restaurant, but the core of our restaurant lies in the quality of our dishes. You won't know until you experience it. Merci Beaucoup!
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
French American, Organic, Californian
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation


Dinner: Th-Sa 5:00pm-9:00pm

icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(510) 523-4500
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Joann Guitarte
icon/ic_cateringCreated with Sketch.
Catering
Please contact the store for additional information.
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Between Haight Ave and Santa Clara Ave
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Café Jolie is located right next to a public parking lot. Street parking is also readily available.
icon/ic_public_transitCreated with Sketch.
Public transit
Webster-Santa Clara AC Transit Bus Stop (51A; 20; 0; W)
Additional
Beer, Cafe, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 89 People Are SayingWrite a review
Overall ratings and reviews
4.3based on all time ratings
4.3
food
4.5
service
4.2
ambience
4.2
value
Noise · Moderate
95% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined on December 9, 2017

Great neighborhood spot on Webster in Alameda. There's live jazz on Friday and Saturday nights and the food is French, but not expensive. I had a very generous beef short rib dinner that was delicious and that I couldn't finish -- I weigh just under 200 pounds. My wife had the steak frites and we both enjoyed the meals and the music.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 8, 2017

Excellent...we were a party of six...had a delightful evening.,,will definitely return.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 1, 2017

I have beenn to Jolie’s many times for breakfast and lunch but this was my first dinner visit. It was delicious food...good portions, polite, competent staff. I will definitely return.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 6, 2017

This is the best restaurant in Alameda.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on September 30, 2017

This was our second time. The service was excellent, such a sweet and helpful server. And the live jazz music and ambiance are great. We will go back. I have to say though that it all depends on what you order. Some dishes are awesome. Others are very good to okay. Portions are generous and value is very good. On this visit, the chopped salad was fantastic. We thought the beef short rib was okay. The kale with it was undercooked for our taste and the mashed potatoes just that. The chevre chaud salad: the chevre was not chaud, just cold/hard on top and the dressing was too vinegar-y which is not typically French at all. The dessert -- a three layer chocolate cake with mousse filling -- was amazing. So we will go back but we wish for just that bit extra on some of the dishes to make them truly memorable.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 30, 2017

The food was great and so was the service. There is live music.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on September 29, 2017

Went here on a Friday night and it was empty. Felt like a 24 hr diner on a rainy late night. I ordered the Steak and 🍟 the fries were really good and the steak was ok. My girl had the risotto which was pretty good and a large serving. The best part had to be the fried brussel sprouts, they were very tasty and the only reason I'd go back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 22, 2017

Four of us had dinner celebrating my daughter's 34th birthday. The appetizers were fantastic and mains spectacular. The 2 piece band played relaxing jazz and not too loud. The French ambiance was cozy. And our waiter was courteous, friendly and added a nice touch to our first experience at the restaurant. I strongly recommend Cafe Jolie!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 8, 2017

Time and time again my wife and I enjoyed our dinner at Cafe Jolie !!! My wife and I love the Tuna Tartare... She had the burger and it was excellent. I had Steak Frites, the steak was tender and perfectly medium rare. The beignets are to die for they come with fresh stawberries and Chocolate sauce, they remind me of Cafe Du Monde in New Orleans. We'll be back!!!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on September 2, 2017

We were so thrilled to find a place that is using quality ingredients and serving relatively healthy food. The French Onion soup was to die for. Breakfast was really tasty too.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on August 26, 2017

My family and I really enjoyed Cafe Jolie. My one real complaint was that our waitress didn't pour an equal amount of champagne for the table and some people ended up getting shorted on their first glass. Other than that, very good food. Nice ambiance and a great evening.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on August 24, 2017

It wasn't as good as the first time we were there. The steak frites was very fatty this time. The "veggie burger" was not a burger at all and this was not explained when I asked the waiter about the dish. The veggies were roasted to oblivion and stacked on top of each other. It was impossible to eat. I was very disappointed.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on July 7, 2017

We have been to Cafe Jolie numerous times in the past. This time we were disappointed in the food. Vegetables were not cooked very well and were too crisp for either dish. It was OK but not up to the standards that they have shown us in the past.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 17, 2017

We never go to Alameda for dinner but thought we'd try something new. Cafe Jolie is wonderful. It has a small but very interesting menu. He had steak frites which he said was very good and I had the salmon fettucine special which was light and tasty. The server was knowledgeable about the menu and wines and was VERY attentive and sweet. Parking was a bit of a challenge because there was a street fair going on but there seems to be plenty of street parking normally. The restaurant is in a very old building but it's been renovated very nicely with high ceilings and lots of great artwork. We will definitely return

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 10, 2017

What a delightful find! We had a delicious meal. I'd go back just for the fried brussels sprouts with capers and herbs. There is a great selection on the menu with several daily specials. Our server Thomas was particularly excellent. The live piano music added to the ambiance.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 9, 2017

Great place and a local favorite. Live jazz was a nice touch. Service was outstanding. Very attentive.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 3, 2017

We came for an Anniversary Dinner on a Saturday evening and were not disappointed. The ambiance of Cafe Jolie, which is that of small, friendly restaurant with a French theme, is ideally suited for a special occasion but is good for general dining as well. The service was attentive and friendly, and there was live music as well. As for the food, my wife and I found it quite good, with my dish (the shrimp and risotto) being flavorful without being overly heavy as risotto can be.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 14, 2017

Wonderful prix fixe menu on Mother's Day. There was live music, service was attentive, and the food was solid. The organic greens salad was ok, but the filet mignon was tender and flavorful. My wife enjoyed the duck confit as well. The beignets were a nice treat for dessert, too. I also appreciated the availability of a kids menu, too. We will be back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 22, 2017

I have visited Café Jolie several times and have always been very pleased with their food and service. Food choices are varied and tasty. Service is attentive but not overbearing. The desserts are huge and fantastic. The music on the weekends, while pleasant, is a little loud in the small space. But I would not let that get in the way of a delightful dining experience.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 20, 2017

Always a lovely time here. Food consistently excellent and staff super friendly and nice.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 15, 2017

Dinner is always great at Cafe Jolie. Piano and candlelight make for a warm and inviting ambiance. Short ribs are a must have, but their specials are usually delicious too. They have a great wine list that are not going to break your budget (bottles ~$40). The server Thomas is the best; very attentive and knowledgable of the menu.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 1, 2017

Best desert

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 17, 2017

I have been here several times and never disappointed. Excellent breakfast, and dinner.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 11, 2017

What a surprise! Excellent food, service and ambiance! Such a treat!Happy they are in our neighborhood☺

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 18, 2017

Excellent service. Attentive but not "in your face". Jazz (?) trio was a bit loud by my taste. However they went on a break during most of our dining time which worked out ok for me.

Food was superb. No hassle about sharing entrees which we did and each had traditional French Onion soup -- superb.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 4, 2017

Cafe Jolie is a great value, the food is always delicious, the service is wonderful, we've been several times and the waiter remembers what we like. We enjoy the entertainment during our meal, great music that doesn't distract from conversation but is perfect background music. It's an excellent value for the money and we've always enjoyed our experience.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 12, 2017

Very nice meal for my Birthday! Beignets were the best part of the meal! Always enjoy eating at Cafe Jolie!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 22, 2016

My favorite resturant in the bay area. Their dinner service is a hidden gem!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 10, 2016

We are spoiled by SF Food. That being said, Cafe Jolie provided a very cute and sweet place to eat before our concert in Oakland. We enjoyed the food and the waitress we had was very professional. The only issue I had was the food is very over salted and not particularly unique. We had delicious mussels and pommes frites and my husband said his steak was very good. The appetizers were pretty boring. Save room for dessert. The desserts are HUGE and really delicious! good wine list, affordable. We will go back again!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 6, 2016

We always go for dinner. The French Onion Soup is terrific....different flavor than most other places. Tried the Cilantro Lime Shrimp Salad for a change and loved it.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 10, 2016

We have been to Cafe Jolie a few times. We are from New Orleans, so we don't think their beignets are authentic but other than that, we love everything about the place. We were able to have a local wine, Urban Legend, with our dinner. It's always nice to support local businesses. I had the duck confit special which was great. My wife had the short ribs again that she had already had once before because she liked them that much. Even though we have only been there a few times, the staff knows us by name. We like that.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on September 9, 2016

The food was good, but there was too much salt used throughout. And the salad was too generous with the balsamic vinegar. So my recommendation is let the actual food flavors speak for themselves.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on September 1, 2016

Café Jolie just keeps getting better and better. The food preparation is generally spot on and with reasonable prices, the service attentive, and on Friday and Saturday nights ambience kicks it up a notch with live jazz.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 19, 2016

Great food at very reasonable prices!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on August 13, 2016

Nice with music

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 12, 2016

Loved the food,and the value. Portions were a nice size and we all needed boxes. Loved the fig tartine. My mashed potatoes that came with my short ribs were a bit on the runny side. Delaney was an excellent server. We loved the music and the ambiance.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on August 6, 2016

The only thing I could not stomach was the fries that came with my chicken burger.
I mentioned this to the waitress and she was not amused and never offered anything to help the cause. The fries had enough salt for 5 times the fries portion. Not good.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on July 30, 2016

excellent staff and food. good selection on the menu

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on July 16, 2016

Best restaurant in Alameda. Better than any bistro that Paris has to offer.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 24, 2016

We come fairly often and the food and service is always good at Cafe Jolie.
We also love the live music as the musicians are very talented. However, we find it too loud for easy conversations as the restaurant is fairly small. If there was a way to "turn down the volume", it would be perfect.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3

Tweets by Cafe Jolie