Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.28mi
  2. Distance: 0.36mi
  3. Distance: 0.41mi
  4. Distance: 0.42mi
  1. Distance: 0.28mi
  2. Distance: 0.36mi
  3. Distance: 0.41mi
  4. Distance: 0.42mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.28mi
  2. Distance: 0.36mi
  3. Distance: 0.41mi
  4. Distance: 0.42mi
  1. Distance: 0.28mi
  2. Distance: 0.36mi
  3. Distance: 0.41mi
  4. Distance: 0.42mi

About Cafe Jolie

Bon Jour! Café Jolie is a French inspired restaurant--one of the best restaurants Northern California has to offer. We serve French inspired dishes that are organic and seasonal. We believe in every aspect of our restaurant, but the core of our restaurant lies in the quality of our dishes. You won't know until you experience it. Merci Beaucoup!

1500 Webster St
Alameda, CA 94501
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
French American, Organic, Californian

Hours of Operation:


Dinner: Th-Sa 5:00pm-9:00pm

Cross Street:
Between Haight Ave and Santa Clara Ave

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(510) 523-4500

Website:
http://www.cafejolies.com/

Catering:
Please contact the store for additional information.

Parking Details:
Café Jolie is located right next to a public parking lot. Street parking is also readily available.

Public Transit:
Webster-Santa Clara AC Transit Bus Stop (51A; 20; 0; W)

Executive Chef:
Joann Guitarte

Additional:
Beer, Cafe, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Cafe Jolie Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.1

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Live Music (7)
Good for a Date (5)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
See All
Authentic (5)
Great for Brunch (4)
Casual (3)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Romantic (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Cozy (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Organic (2)
Special Occasion (2)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Seasonal (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort By:
S
81 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Time and time again my wife and I enjoyed our dinner at Cafe Jolie !!! My wife and I love the Tuna Tartare... She had the burger and it was excellent. I had Steak Frites, the steak was tender and perfectly medium rare. The beignets are to die for they come with fresh stawberries and Chocolate sauce, they remind me of Cafe Du Monde in New Orleans. We'll be back!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 3, 2017

We were so thrilled to find a place that is using quality ingredients and serving relatively healthy food. The French Onion soup was to die for. Breakfast was really tasty too.

Tags: Live Music, Organic, Healthy, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 27, 2017

My family and I really enjoyed Cafe Jolie. My one real complaint was that our waitress didn't pour an equal amount of champagne for the table and some people ended up getting shorted on their first glass. Other than that, very good food. Nice ambiance and a great evening.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 25, 2017

It wasn't as good as the first time we were there. The steak frites was very fatty this time. The "veggie burger" was not a burger at all and this was not explained when I asked the waiter about the dish. The veggies were roasted to oblivion and stacked on top of each other. It was impossible to eat. I was very disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 7, 2017

We have been to Cafe Jolie numerous times in the past. This time we were disappointed in the food. Vegetables were not cooked very well and were too crisp for either dish. It was OK but not up to the standards that they have shown us in the past.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 17, 2017

We never go to Alameda for dinner but thought we'd try something new. Cafe Jolie is wonderful. It has a small but very interesting menu. He had steak frites which he said was very good and I had the salmon fettucine special which was light and tasty. The server was knowledgeable about the menu and wines and was VERY attentive and sweet. Parking was a bit of a challenge because there was a street fair going on but there seems to be plenty of street parking normally. The restaurant is in a very old building but it's been renovated very nicely with high ceilings and lots of great artwork. We will definitely return

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 10, 2017

What a delightful find! We had a delicious meal. I'd go back just for the fried brussels sprouts with capers and herbs. There is a great selection on the menu with several daily specials. Our server Thomas was particularly excellent. The live piano music added to the ambiance.

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Great place and a local favorite. Live jazz was a nice touch. Service was outstanding. Very attentive.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 3, 2017

We came for an Anniversary Dinner on a Saturday evening and were not disappointed. The ambiance of Cafe Jolie, which is that of small, friendly restaurant with a French theme, is ideally suited for a special occasion but is good for general dining as well. The service was attentive and friendly, and there was live music as well. As for the food, my wife and I found it quite good, with my dish (the shrimp and risotto) being flavorful without being overly heavy as risotto can be.

Tags: Special Occasion, Live Music, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Wonderful prix fixe menu on Mother's Day. There was live music, service was attentive, and the food was solid. The organic greens salad was ok, but the filet mignon was tender and flavorful. My wife enjoyed the duck confit as well. The beignets were a nice treat for dessert, too. I also appreciated the availability of a kids menu, too. We will be back.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 22, 2017

I have visited Café Jolie several times and have always been very pleased with their food and service. Food choices are varied and tasty. Service is attentive but not overbearing. The desserts are huge and fantastic. The music on the weekends, while pleasant, is a little loud in the small space. But I would not let that get in the way of a delightful dining experience.

Tags: Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Live Music, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Always a lovely time here. Food consistently excellent and staff super friendly and nice.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun, Romantic, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Dinner is always great at Cafe Jolie. Piano and candlelight make for a warm and inviting ambiance. Short ribs are a must have, but their specials are usually delicious too. They have a great wine list that are not going to break your budget (bottles ~$40). The server Thomas is the best; very attentive and knowledgable of the menu.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Best desert

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 17, 2017

I have been here several times and never disappointed. Excellent breakfast, and dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 11, 2017

What a surprise! Excellent food, service and ambiance! Such a treat!Happy they are in our neighborhood☺

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Excellent service. Attentive but not "in your face". Jazz (?) trio was a bit loud by my taste. However they went on a break during most of our dining time which worked out ok for me.

Food was superb. No hassle about sharing entrees which we did and each had traditional French Onion soup -- superb.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Cafe Jolie is a great value, the food is always delicious, the service is wonderful, we've been several times and the waiter remembers what we like. We enjoy the entertainment during our meal, great music that doesn't distract from conversation but is perfect background music. It's an excellent value for the money and we've always enjoyed our experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Very nice meal for my Birthday! Beignets were the best part of the meal! Always enjoy eating at Cafe Jolie!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 22, 2016

My favorite resturant in the bay area. Their dinner service is a hidden gem!

Tags: Cozy, Disabled Access, Neighborhood Gem, Live Music, Outstanding Value, Great for Lunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 10, 2016

We are spoiled by SF Food. That being said, Cafe Jolie provided a very cute and sweet place to eat before our concert in Oakland. We enjoyed the food and the waitress we had was very professional. The only issue I had was the food is very over salted and not particularly unique. We had delicious mussels and pommes frites and my husband said his steak was very good. The appetizers were pretty boring. Save room for dessert. The desserts are HUGE and really delicious! good wine list, affordable. We will go back again!

Tags: Live Music, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 6, 2016

We always go for dinner. The French Onion Soup is terrific....different flavor than most other places. Tried the Cilantro Lime Shrimp Salad for a change and loved it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 10, 2016

We have been to Cafe Jolie a few times. We are from New Orleans, so we don't think their beignets are authentic but other than that, we love everything about the place. We were able to have a local wine, Urban Legend, with our dinner. It's always nice to support local businesses. I had the duck confit special which was great. My wife had the short ribs again that she had already had once before because she liked them that much. Even though we have only been there a few times, the staff knows us by name. We like that.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 9, 2016

The food was good, but there was too much salt used throughout. And the salad was too generous with the balsamic vinegar. So my recommendation is let the actual food flavors speak for themselves.

Tags: Casual, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 1, 2016

Café Jolie just keeps getting better and better. The food preparation is generally spot on and with reasonable prices, the service attentive, and on Friday and Saturday nights ambience kicks it up a notch with live jazz.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 19, 2016

Great food at very reasonable prices!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 13, 2016

Nice with music

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 12, 2016

Loved the food,and the value. Portions were a nice size and we all needed boxes. Loved the fig tartine. My mashed potatoes that came with my short ribs were a bit on the runny side. Delaney was an excellent server. We loved the music and the ambiance.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 6, 2016

The only thing I could not stomach was the fries that came with my chicken burger.
I mentioned this to the waitress and she was not amused and never offered anything to help the cause. The fries had enough salt for 5 times the fries portion. Not good.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 30, 2016

excellent staff and food. good selection on the menu

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 16, 2016

Best restaurant in Alameda. Better than any bistro that Paris has to offer.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 24, 2016

We come fairly often and the food and service is always good at Cafe Jolie.
We also love the live music as the musicians are very talented. However, we find it too loud for easy conversations as the restaurant is fairly small. If there was a way to "turn down the volume", it would be perfect.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 23, 2016

"Cold" is the word comes to mind regarding the food temperature; "Disappointed" is the feeling comes to mind after my dinner date with my husband at Café Jolie.
We ordered two Hors d'Oeuvres and two entrees for our dinner: Ceasar Salad, Escargot, Steak frites and Mussels & Frites. We were not all that interested having so much Frites, but the menu of entrees was very restrictive - reminding me that they indeed are a Cafe', not a restaurant. The Ceasar salad was the best among all. When the escargot came out, the dish was hot, but the escargot was barely warm. I had to ask the server to take them back and get them hotter. He did, they re-heated the dish, burning the butter and served it. This time it was hot, but tasteless. When we were finished with the salad and Escargot, we were served the entrees and were again disappointed. The steak was lukewarm, so were the mussels, except the ones at the bottom of the bowl that were with the juice. We did get plenty of frites, more than we could eat.
There were total of three waiters/busboys served us. Two of them were very friendly and nice, but our main server was just OK.
We went to Café Jolie once before for a Sunday Brunch and were not impressed. We thought to give it another try after they started serving dinner. We should have trusted our previous impression and went some place else for our date.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 4, 2016

Live jazz was a great add on to our experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 21, 2016

Cafe Jolie is my go to date night and brunch place in alameda. Their food is excellent. For brunch the French toast and the eggs Benedict are always good. They make their own croissants too, so be sure not to miss those. Also on Saturday nights they have live music. The rissotto is always good, and be save room for the truffle fries and beignets.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 8, 2016

Our server Thomas was amazing. Funny, helpful, was always there when you needed him but not hovering. Took my mom here for Mother's Day and was immediately greeted with a glass of champagne. Food was okay, my mom ordered pork tenderloin but what arrived was pork loin... not so tender and a little on the dry side, but the dessert made up for it for her. I would definitely go back and try their brunch menu.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 7, 2016

Reminded me of Neighborhood bistro in Paris. Good food, Good wine and nice service.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 29, 2016

The ambiance was great as waa the menu but the food itself lacked flavor. The scallops were over cooked and mussels tasted like tge wine used was not cooked off.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 19, 2016

The live music adds to the ambience, but it was a bit loud for our soft-spoken friends, so we opted to sit outside where it was much quieter. There are heaters on the patio, which worked well. I got the burger, medium-rare, and it came out a tad bit rare, but overall good and flavorful. The fries were nothing special. Everyone else seemed to enjoy their meals.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 18, 2016

Lots of potential, a few solid standards, but slightly disappointing overall. Portions are generous but the food, especially the non standards (specials, substitutes) disappoints. If you stick to the menu, avoid the specials (especially the beef-substandard quality) you get a solid meal for a fair price. Great if you don't want to leave the island but not worth traveling to the island of you aren't already here.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.