Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.51mi
  3. Distance: 0.56mi
  4. Distance: 0.76mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.51mi
  3. Distance: 0.56mi
  4. Distance: 0.76mi

About Cafe Japengo

Located at the Golden Triangle, Café Japengo is renowned for both fabulous Sushi and incredible fusion creations that combine Japanese and Western flavors. The energetic atmosphere and the trendy clientele make it make it a 'must' when visiting San Diego. Gluten free menu available.

8960 University Center Lane
San Diego, CA 92122
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Asian, Sushi

Hours of Operation:
Hours of Operation: Lunch:
Monday through Friday 11 am to 2 pm

Dinner:
Monday - Thursday: 5:30pm-9:30pm
Friday - Saturday: 5:30pm-10:30pm

Happy Hour:
Monday though Friday: 4:30pm-7:00 pm
Saturday: 4:30 pm-CL

Sushi Hour at the Sushi bar
Monday through Saturday: 4:30pm-5:30 pm

Cross Street:
La Jolla Village

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(858) 450-3355

Website:
http://www.cafejapengo.com/

Catering:
catering available up to 40 people, selection of Pacific Rim cuisine and Sushi, drop off in the La Jolla area or pick up available

Parking Details:
Validated Hotel parking and street parking are also available.

Executive Chef:
Jerry Warner

Private Party Facilities:
Up to 50 guests .

Private Party Contact:
Jamie Kelly-Bee: (858) 450-3355

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Book your special event, holiday party or business lunch or dinner.
Family style and prix fixe menus available. Sushi classes scheduled monthly. For inquires email: Jamie.Kelly-Bee@hyatt.com

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Mon 11:00AM - 11:30AM 5:30PM - 9:30PM

Tue - Fri 11:00AM - 11:30AM 5:30PM - 6:30PM 8:30PM - 9:30PM

Sat 5:30PM - 6:30PM 9:00PM - 10:00PM

Cafe Japengo Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (23)
Casual (19)
Business Meals (17)
See All
Good for Birthdays (17)
Special Occasion (16)
Creative Cuisine (16)
Good for Anniversaries (13)
Fit for Foodies (13)
Romantic (12)
Healthy (11)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Bar Seating (10)
Open Kitchen (10)
Happy Hour (10)
Hot Spot (9)
Worth the Drive (9)
Great for Lunch (9)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Fun (8)
Modern Decor (8)
Good for Groups (6)
Family Style (6)
Cozy (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Authentic (5)
Quick Bite (5)
Comfort Food (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
People Watching (3)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Vegan (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Organic (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Private Room (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Fireplace (1)
Seasonal (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Tapas (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Scenic View (1)
Sort By:
S
960 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 23, 2017

Been coming here for years with anytime I am in San Diego on business or vacation. The sushi is outstanding. This visit felt no warmth in the place as far as the staff went--maybe it was just an off night. Would still go back on a future visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 22, 2017

Met my friend's for lunch on Wednesday afternoon. It was really good choice my one friend hadn't been there in 20 years but was glad that I selected the location because of the fresh food and the variety of options between all of us. I am vegetarian and was easily accommodated with the tofu salad and my friend had the duck salad which she raved about and it was quite ample amount of food. I will go there again although the service was a little slow probably because we are having lunch later in the day but it was just a little bit slow.

Tags: Healthy, Gluten Free Options, Cozy, Vegan, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Quick Bite, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Fun, People Watching, Vibrant Bar Scene, Scenic View, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Everything is always consistent. Sushi is excellent and their specialty friend rice is one dish we always order.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Disappointed with the decor. I expected a nicer place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Foods are great, lots of different choices. Sushi and Sashimi are very freshly made.

Tags: Casual, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Great food and service.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Mothers Day

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Tapas, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Good vibe! Amazing sushi! Try the yellowtail with jalapeño! Yum

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Paleo Friendly, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 9, 2017

A coworker and I stopped here for dinner because of the location. The waitress was very helpful as we asked questions about the menu. I had the shrimp and scallops with noodles which was very tasty. The highlight was the coconut ice cream and mango sherbet. The were beautifully presented and delicious.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 7, 2017

We love the sushi at his restaurant. The service is usually very friendly. This has become place we visit at least once a month.

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Cafe Japengo is excellent. By far the best place for sushi in San Diego County. It is a great place for a business lunch or an intimate occasion.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Healthy, Hot Spot, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 5, 2017

We always enjoy lunch or dinner at Japengo's. Very good food and service. Only downside - the restaurant is always cold.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quick Bite, Modern Decor, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 2, 2017

A really nice dinner. Excellent service, pleasant atmosphere and very good sushi.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 1, 2017

Deliciouse!!!!! Its a wondeful place and sushi is the best!

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Delicious sushi. We enjoyed crispy rice with spicy tuna. Wish they would add it to the sushi menu. The service from Edie was attentive and friendly! Highly recommend.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Great roasted peppers. Lovely rolls and nigiri. A fast, , excellent and easy sushi evening!

Tags: Healthy, Quick Bite, Casual, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Staff very cordial, and very cooperative in making sure we got a booth for dinner on a Friday night. Ordered a draft beer, served nice and cold; Had the Scottish salmon which was very nicely done, very tasty and hot upon arrival at the table, really nice sized serving, unable to finish. Substitutions made for the shrimp in the Butterfish entree, which was also very nicely done. Excellent service, polite, service with a smile, efficient... and since it is a Hyatt restaurant, was useful to add to my Hyatt Gold Passport miles.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Really great happy hr food and drink special. Happy hr last until 7pm, sweet deal.

Tags: Disabled Access, Late-night Find, Casual, Private Room, Fireplace, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Service and the promptness of the apps and entrees seemed just a little off this time. Everything else was good.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 12, 2017

When we arrived they had our reservation time incorrect, they had 11:30am listed. Therefore when we arrived at our scheduled reservation time 12:30pm, our table was no longer available. It took them a while to figure something out for us.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Japengo never disappoints. Wether we are at the sushi bar or in the restaurant- the food is delicious and beautiful. Portions are good. The dark decor & atmosphere are tasteful.
We were 4 adults and two 10 year old girls and everyone had a great time.
The hostesses were cute and sweet and our waiter was great.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Open Kitchen, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Organic, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Meh - maybe I'm just used to great sushi, or maybe this place is just adequate.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Great service , good proportion of food , shareable , creative menu , their sushi rolls are so big enough to fill up in one order so you can save something for dessert ! Friendly staff, great location , valet service as well as self park where the restaurant validate it for 3 hrs. A great place !!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Modern Decor, Vibrant Bar Scene, Open Kitchen, Good for Groups, Healthy, Notable Wine List, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Family Style, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Kid-friendly, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 31, 2017

The service here is always great. Food is also very good, though we would go more often if they would update their menu occasionally. The same menu after three years keeps us going elsewhere even though we feel like it's one of our favorite places. The vibe here is always friendly and inviting. The diners seem to enjoy being here and we feel at home and enjoy ourselves every time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 30, 2017

Great food, nice atmosphere, friendly staff. A win in my book.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Japengo never disappoints, amazing sushi and fantastic staff make any meal worthwhile

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Showing it's age. Sushi is still great, and the service was good. Tables are worn and sticky, dishes are old and the whole place is getting run down. Used to be our favorite and we'll be back, but I'm no longer recommending it to my friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 21, 2017

Outstanding! Always a pleasure to stop by and get the royal treatment.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 21, 2017

Been going since it opened & I now enjoy it with my teens.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Family Style, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Really enjoyed the food and a fun evening with friends

Tags: Bar Seating, Casual, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 9, 2017

I hate noisy places. too salty vietnamese pork....and I am vietnamese. yuck.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Sushi by Chef John Stroble is to die for. We put ourselves at his mercy and loved every bite of the delectable sushi that was served. Just Awesome!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 5, 2017

The food was delicious and the atmosphere was cozy. Time slips away from you while you are dining. My boss and I spent over 3 hours conversating here. Waiter was also very pleasant. Would definitely go back If I am in California again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Casual, Private Room, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 5, 2017

The food and service were excellent! Cannot wait to go back. Every bite was a perfect bite!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Late-night Find, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Handcrafted Cocktails, Gluten Free Options, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Food and ambience was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 4, 2017

We celebrated a birthday there with lots of sushi. The place is energetic, beautifully decorated and has a great vibe. The only problem with having an open kitchen is the smell of fried food in the whole restaurant but then the service and delicious food made up for it. Highly recommended this for sushi lovers.

Tags: Good for a Date, Family Style, Open Kitchen, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Great food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 1, 2017

Johnny, the sushi chef was awesome! Chu Toro and salmon belly were delicious

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 25, 2017

First rate salads, sashmi, and rolls. Busy, but great low noise level and excellent service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Cafe Japing is very dependable. It's one of the top 5 sushi places in SD, which means good sushi. It has a good variety of other dishes as well, in case members of your party are in the mood for something else. Surpassingly good value considering the location next to TruLucks and Flemings and the lovely decor. A great go to place with relatively easy reservations that won't disappoint!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Casual, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.