Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.51mi
  3. Distance: 0.56mi
  4. Distance: 0.76mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.51mi
  3. Distance: 0.56mi
  4. Distance: 0.76mi

About Cafe Japengo

Located at the Golden Triangle, Café Japengo is renowned for both fabulous Sushi and incredible fusion creations that combine Japanese and Western flavors. The energetic atmosphere and the trendy clientele make it make it a 'must' when visiting San Diego. Gluten free menu available.

8960 University Center Lane
San Diego, CA 92122
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Asian, Sushi

Hours of Operation:
Hours of Operation: Lunch:
Monday through Friday 11 am to 2 pm

Dinner:
Monday - Thursday: 5:30pm-9:30pm
Friday - Saturday: 5:30pm-10:30pm

Happy Hour:
Monday though Friday: 4:30pm-7:00 pm
Saturday: 4:30 pm-CL

Sushi Hour at the Sushi bar
Monday through Saturday: 4:30pm-5:30 pm

Cross Street:
La Jolla Village

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(858) 450-3355

Website:
http://www.cafejapengo.com/

Catering:
catering available up to 40 people, selection of Pacific Rim cuisine and Sushi, drop off in the La Jolla area or pick up available

Parking Details:
Validated Hotel parking and street parking are also available.

Executive Chef:
Jerry Warner

Private Party Facilities:
Up to 50 guests .

Private Party Contact:
Jamie Kelly-Bee: (858) 450-3355

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Book your special event, holiday party or business lunch or dinner.
Family style and prix fixe menus available. Sushi classes scheduled monthly. For inquires email: Jamie.Kelly-Bee@hyatt.com

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Mon 11:00AM - 11:30AM 5:30PM - 9:30PM

Tue - Fri 11:00AM - 11:30AM 5:30PM - 6:30PM 8:30PM - 9:30PM

Sat 5:30PM - 6:30PM 9:00PM - 10:00PM

Cafe Japengo Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.2

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (21)
Good for a Date (19)
Creative Cuisine (18)
See All
Good for Birthdays (18)
Business Meals (18)
Fit for Foodies (16)
Special Occasion (16)
Healthy (13)
Good for Anniversaries (11)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Worth the Drive (10)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Great for Lunch (10)
Bar Seating (9)
Romantic (8)
Good for Groups (8)
Fun (7)
Happy Hour (7)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Great for Outdoor Dining (6)
Modern Decor (6)
Hot Spot (6)
Open Kitchen (5)
Quick Bite (5)
Notable Wine List (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Authentic (4)
Spicy (3)
Tapas (3)
Family Style (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Great for Brunch (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Great Beer (2)
People Watching (2)
Vegan (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Cozy (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Late-night Find (1)
Organic (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Seasonal (1)
Fireplace (1)
Scenic View (1)
Private Room (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Sort By:
S
982 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 3 days ago

Asian fusion and sushi bar...nice UTC location. Food is good and rolls from sushi bar were full and tasty. Have gone often since it opened in this location...will go again.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Casual, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 6 days ago

We had to ask for service... Food was good, There was very few people in the restaurant so it was a little disappointing to have to ask for our order to be taken

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 6 days ago

Wonderful Experience. Enjoyed it alot.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 14, 2017

I ordered the multi-ingredient fried rice main course which was hot and plentiful, but in which were some shrimp that had been around for a while - not pleasant. My dining partner ordered the seared scallops which were inedible. They were soggy, and probably had been frozen, thawed and refrozen. Very disappointing, especially at $35! The vegetables on which the scallops sat had absolutely no flavor. For a restaurant that features a number of seafood items on its menu, the quality of the seafood we were served was extraordinarily poor. Would not recommend, and probably won't return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

vip
 (New England)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Hands down Melissa is the best server I have ever had.... You would think I have been there 500 times with the way she remembered every detail from what I like and didn't like. I will go back over and over! Food is amazing , CRISPY rice!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on July 14, 2017

We came for the sushi at happy hour. It was really good.

Tags: Casual, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Fun, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tahoe)·Dined on July 11, 2017

Happy hour specials were amazing! Food was exceptional, would definitely return

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 10, 2017

It is regrettable that Japengo is surviving on their early reputation. The variety of available raw fish is very sparse, very limited and while it meets the standard of "fresh", it lacked the taste and texture of fresh caught and delivered.
Surimi is automatically served in Spider Rolls and other Rolls unless the customer asks in advance for real Crab.
The Tempora arrived with each item including the Shrimp

Service was attentive, professional ,timely and unobtrusive throughout our dining. HUZZA!
PhilC

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service5
value1

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 6, 2017

Best sushi I've ever experienced. A little pricey, but worth it

Tags: Comfort Food, Spicy, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Authentic, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 6, 2017

One of my favorite dining places when visiting San Diego. Creative and expertly prepared food. Service was efficient, professional, and friendly - and the recommendations were spot on. Convenient parking below, easily accessible from the interstate, comfortable ambiance. Highly recommend Cafe Japengo for business meals ... Qualcomm is just up the road!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Food and service was really good. Everything arrived fast.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 13, 2017

Went for Tuesday night sushi. Excellent nigiri and rolls. Service friendly and prompt. Noise level reasonable. Lovely evening

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 7, 2017

Sat at the sushi bar and had a great experience. I will be back.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 7, 2017

The miso soup was the best I have ever had. The tuna in the tuna roll was "mealy" almost like it had gone through a meat grinder. Sent it back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 7, 2017

Delicious! It took a really long time to get our food though.

Tags: Good for Groups, Business Meals, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 6, 2017

The food and service here was outstanding. Along with a traditional menu, there is a great selection of sushi

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 3, 2017

My wife and I are always looking for something good before going to the La Jolla Playhouse. Café Japengo was both good and convenient--right across the street from our hotel. From the wine list to the menu, we were pleasantly surprised and the value was exceptional. The oyster appetizer was out of this world. Both the presentation and the taste were spot on for our two entrees: the fried rice and divers' scallops. Special honors go the soups: the tomatillo was filled with spice, consistency and flavor. We went off to see "Escape to Margaritaville" with a totally satisfied feeling.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 2, 2017

Food was very flavorful. I had the moonfish which was wonderful. My daughter had the bento box which was very good but perhaps too much variety and should have stuck with an Asian theme. She liked it nonetheless
I did think the kids dessert was huge and although fabulous lava cake, would recommend smaller portions for children.

Tags: Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 1, 2017

Wasn't that great. The sushi rolls fell apart, way overpriced. Not creative with the sushi rolls.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 30, 2017

Always good for a business meal. You can choose to dine slowly or quickly if you don't want to spend too much time with your guests

Tags: Business Meals, People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great Beer, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 27, 2017

This was about the 3rd time we were there and this time was probably our least favorite. It was pretty upsetting when we got home and discovered they charged a tip onto the bill and did not make us aware of it and my husband had added on another one. It was taken off but only after we got home and found this out. Quite upsetting! They should of made us aware of this immediately. It left a terrible impression and we will not be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 22, 2017

Been coming here for years with anytime I am in San Diego on business or vacation. The sushi is outstanding. This visit felt no warmth in the place as far as the staff went--maybe it was just an off night. Would still go back on a future visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 22, 2017

Met my friend's for lunch on monday afternoon. It was really good choice my one friend hadn't been there in 20 years but was glad that I selected the location because of the fresh food and the variety of options between all of us. I am vegetarian and was easily accommodated with the tofu salad and my friend had the duck salad which she raved about and it was quite ample amount of food. I will go there again although the service was a little slow probably because we are having lunch later in the day but it was just a little bit slow.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Healthy, Great for Lunch, Gluten Free Options, Neighborhood Gem, Good Vegetarian Options, Vegan, Cozy, Good for a Date, People Watching, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Scenic View, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Everything is always consistent. Sushi is excellent and their specialty friend rice is one dish we always order.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Disappointed with the decor. I expected a nicer place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Foods are great, lots of different choices. Sushi and Sashimi are very freshly made.

Tags: Casual, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Mothers Day

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Tapas, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Great food and service.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Good vibe! Amazing sushi! Try the yellowtail with jalapeño! Yum

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Awesome sushi rolls. Very tasty, very fresh fish. I would gladly come back. Parking was a bit of an issue but they do offer valet. The food did take a while to get and the restaurant did not seem that busy but it was well worth the wait. A bit on the pricey side but it is La Jolla.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 8, 2017

A coworker and I stopped here for dinner because of the location. The waitress was very helpful as we asked questions about the menu. I had the shrimp and scallops with noodles which was very tasty. The highlight was the coconut ice cream and mango sherbet. The were beautifully presented and delicious.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 6, 2017

We love the sushi at his restaurant. The service is usually very friendly. This has become place we visit at least once a month.

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Cafe Japengo is excellent. By far the best place for sushi in San Diego County. It is a great place for a business lunch or an intimate occasion.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Healthy, Hot Spot, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 4, 2017

We always enjoy lunch or dinner at Japengo's. Very good food and service. Only downside - the restaurant is always cold.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quick Bite, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 1, 2017

A really nice dinner. Excellent service, pleasant atmosphere and very good sushi.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 1, 2017

Deliciouse!!!!! Its a wondeful place and sushi is the best!

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Delicious sushi. We enjoyed crispy rice with spicy tuna. Wish they would add it to the sushi menu. The service from Edie was attentive and friendly! Highly recommend.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Great roasted peppers. Lovely rolls and nigiri. A fast, , excellent and easy sushi evening!

Tags: Healthy, Quick Bite, Casual, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Staff very cordial, and very cooperative in making sure we got a booth for dinner on a Friday night. Ordered a draft beer, served nice and cold; Had the Scottish salmon which was very nicely done, very tasty and hot upon arrival at the table, really nice sized serving, unable to finish. Substitutions made for the shrimp in the Butterfish entree, which was also very nicely done. Excellent service, polite, service with a smile, efficient... and since it is a Hyatt restaurant, was useful to add to my Hyatt Gold Passport miles.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Really great happy hr food and drink special. Happy hr last until 7pm, sweet deal.

Tags: Disabled Access, Late-night Find, Casual, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.