HelpiOS AppAndroid AppWindows Phone AppWindows 8 App

Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 23 times today
Special offers available. See details

Cafe Japengo

4.5
1038 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$31 to $50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Asian
Top Tags:
  • Business Meals (16)
  • Good for a Date (13)
  • Creative Cuisine (12)
Located at the Golden Triangle, Café Japengo is renowned for both fabulous Sushi and incredible fusion creations that combine Japanese and Western flavors. The energetic atmosphere and the trendy clientele make it make it a 'must' when visiting San Diego. Gluten free menu available.
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Asian, Sushi
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Hours of Operation: Lunch:
Monday through Friday 11 am to 2 pm

Dinner:
Monday - Thursday: 5:30pm-9:30pm
Friday - Saturday: 5:30pm-10:30pm

Happy Hour:
Monday though Friday: 4:30pm-7:00 pm
Saturday: 4:30 pm-CL

Sushi Hour at the Sushi bar
Monday through Saturday: 4:30pm-5:30 pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(858) 450-3355
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Business Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Jerry Warner
icon/ic_cateringCreated with Sketch.
Catering
catering available up to 40 people, selection of Pacific Rim cuisine and Sushi, drop off in the La Jolla area or pick up available
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
La Jolla Village
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Validated Hotel parking and street parking are also available.
icon/ic_special_eventsCreated with Sketch.
Special events & promotions
Book your special event, holiday party or business lunch or dinner.
Family style and prix fixe menus available. Sushi classes scheduled monthly. For inquires email: Jamie.Kelly-Bee@hyatt.com
Additional
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Mon - Fri 12:30PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 1:30PM 5:30PM - 5:45PM 8:30PM - 11:00PM
Sat 9:00PM - 11:00PM

What 1038 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.5  based on recent ratings
4.4
food
4.2
service
4.3
ambience
4.0
value
Noise · Moderate
86% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
desertdiner1 (Palm Springs)
3.0  Dined 3 days ago

Service was sub-par. Our waiter was very impatient to take our order. We ordered appetizers which arrived with our dinner. In addition, they forgot one of the appetizers. Service was very slow and poor.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (San Diego)
5.0  Dined 5 days ago

Everything was great. Service, food and ambiance were excellent.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Denver)
5.0  Dined on February 15, 2018

Love it, everytime... great happy hour too... thank you for being so awesome

Report
Helpful
NCFoodie (San Diego)
4.0  Dined on February 9, 2018

A great place for colorful rolls. Sashimi is also creatively done.

Report
Helpful
zachg (San Diego)
3.0  Dined on February 8, 2018

This restaurant is meant for old white people. All the rolls are just crab and rice. Have your rich white dad take you here.

Report
Helpful
vipHighonSanDiego (San Diego)
5.0  Dined on February 6, 2018

Unlike last time, this time I got my favorite server, Stacie, who is attentive but not intrusive, warm and friendly. She has been with this restaurant for years. The food, as always, was just great.

Report
Helpful
vipOpenTable Diner (San Diego)
5.0  Dined on February 3, 2018

Our sushi chef, Soloman, was outstanding as he always is. Request him when at the sushi bar as he is the best! They are all goid but Soloman is king!

Report
Helpful
vipPeter720 (Los Angeles)
5.0  Dined on February 3, 2018

Food was excellent and the quality was top notch. My wife is a picky eater and she enjoyed all the dishes.

Report
Helpful
vipPamToo (Sacramento)
5.0  Dined on January 31, 2018

Excellent! Presentation and flavor.

Report
Helpful
vipHighonSanDiego (San Diego)
3.0  Dined on January 29, 2018

I am a regular at this restaurant and I have written glowing reviews on this restaurant in the past but this week I had a business lunch there and the service was horrible! My appointment was a no-show and, instead of drinking my beverage and leaving I decided to stay and have lunch. My server vanished for extended periods of time, never inquiring if he could bring me more than my beverage while I waited. I had to flag him down to get an initial order in and again to order an appetizer entree, then my meals were not plated in a timely way, and it took forever to get my check. Extremely disappointing! I do have a couple of favorite servers and favorite locations to sit -- but in the future, the servers will take priority.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Los Angeles)
3.0  Dined on January 27, 2018

Date: Saturday January 27. Tried calling many, many times and no one answered the phone (between 715 and 745). Get there in less than 20 minutes and it was not busy so there was absolutely no excuse for not answering their phones. There were two hostesses that checked me in. I was told it would be 15 minutes which was fair since we were 15 minutes early. At about 20 minutes, I noticed more and more people coming in and getting seated. I walked up to the check in podium and the two hostesses were talking about something. I kid you not- they both looked me straight in the eye and WALKED AWAY. As I am standing there, one of the ladies (brunette) was fixing the place setting on a table next to the podium and she again, looked right at me and didn't do a thing. I left and then went back a few minutes later and told her that I wanted to be assured that we had not been forgotten. Finally, a few minutes later, we were seated. A male waiter came over and it was obvious that he was in a foul mood. By that time, any happiness that I had was gone. So thank you to the waiter and two hostesses for ruining my evening. I hire hundreds and hundreds of employees in my line of work and I always tell them that life is too short. Do something that makes you happy. To the General Manager of Japengo, please pass on this advice to those 3 employees.

Report
Helpful
vipKarooky (San Diego)
5.0  Dined on January 17, 2018

Everything was amazing! Thank you!!

Report
Helpful
vipGloria (San Diego)
4.0  Dined on January 10, 2018

Nice variety of fresh sushi. Wasabi was perfectly spiced, plenty of soy served with appropriate dishes.
Tea pot weighs about 7 lbs...seriously. Looks cool. They could serve better tea...yet, it wasn't bad.
Good selection of wine and soft drinks.

Report
Helpful
bougie (Philadelphia)
4.0  Dined on January 9, 2018

The food and the service were both notably good. The only weird part was the music— unless you consider The Eagles, Fleetwood Mac, and The Doobie Brothers appropriate for sushi...

Report
Helpful
Nevio (San Diego)
3.0  Dined on December 31, 2017

Been to Cafe Japengo many times in the past but it has definitely slipped downhill. Appetizer was just ok. Our main courses had either too much sauce or not enough. Very inconsistent. It was New Years Eve and the place was empty at 7:45pm, so our service was very good. There was nothing special about being New Years Eve in the restaurant - was just like any other day. Definitely a far cry from the prominence it once had. Probably won't return any time soon. Just way too many other options in the area to choose from.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
70