Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.51mi
  3. Distance: 0.56mi
  4. Distance: 0.76mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.51mi
  3. Distance: 0.56mi
  4. Distance: 0.76mi

About Cafe Japengo

Located at the Golden Triangle, Café Japengo is renowned for both fabulous Sushi and incredible fusion creations that combine Japanese and Western flavors. The energetic atmosphere and the trendy clientele make it make it a 'must' when visiting San Diego. Gluten free menu available.

8960 University Center Lane
San Diego, CA 92122
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Asian, Sushi

Hours of Operation:
Hours of Operation: Lunch:
Monday through Friday 11 am to 2 pm

Dinner:
Monday - Thursday: 5:30pm-9:30pm
Friday - Saturday: 5:30pm-10:30pm

Happy Hour:
Monday though Friday: 4:30pm-7:00 pm
Saturday: 4:30 pm-CL

Sushi Hour at the Sushi bar
Monday through Saturday: 4:30pm-5:30 pm

Cross Street:
La Jolla Village

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(858) 450-3355

Website:
http://www.cafejapengo.com/

Catering:
catering available up to 40 people, selection of Pacific Rim cuisine and Sushi, drop off in the La Jolla area or pick up available

Parking Details:
Validated Hotel parking and street parking are also available.

Executive Chef:
Jerry Warner

Private Party Facilities:
Up to 50 guests .

Private Party Contact:
Jamie Kelly-Bee: (858) 450-3355

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Book your special event, holiday party or business lunch or dinner.
Family style and prix fixe menus available. Sushi classes scheduled monthly. For inquires email: Jamie.Kelly-Bee@hyatt.com

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Mon 11:00AM - 11:30AM 5:30PM - 9:30PM

Tue - Fri 11:00AM - 11:30AM 5:30PM - 6:30PM 8:30PM - 9:30PM

Sat 5:30PM - 6:30PM 9:00PM - 10:00PM

Cafe Japengo Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.3

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Business Meals (19)
Good for a Date (19)
Casual (18)
See All
Fit for Foodies (18)
Good for Birthdays (18)
Creative Cuisine (15)
Special Occasion (15)
Good for Anniversaries (13)
Great for Lunch (10)
Bar Seating (9)
Romantic (9)
Healthy (9)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Worth the Drive (8)
Open Kitchen (7)
Hot Spot (7)
Good Vegetarian Options (7)
Modern Decor (7)
Happy Hour (7)
Good for Groups (6)
Fun (5)
Quick Bite (5)
Family Style (5)
Cozy (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Kid-friendly (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Authentic (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
People Watching (3)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Great Beer (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Vegan (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Private Room (2)
Seasonal (1)
Tapas (1)
Organic (1)
Scenic View (1)
Fireplace (1)
Sort By:
S
971 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 14, 2017

Went for Tuesday night sushi. Excellent nigiri and rolls. Service friendly and prompt. Noise level reasonable. Lovely evening

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 7, 2017

Sat at the sushi bar and had a great experience. I will be back.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 7, 2017

Delicious! It took a really long time to get our food though.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Good for Groups, Business Meals, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 7, 2017

The miso soup was the best I have ever had. The tuna in the tuna roll was "mealy" almost like it had gone through a meat grinder. Sent it back.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 7, 2017

The food and service here was outstanding. Along with a traditional menu, there is a great selection of sushi

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 4, 2017

My wife and I are always looking for something good before going to the La Jolla Playhouse. Café Japengo was both good and convenient--right across the street from our hotel. From the wine list to the menu, we were pleasantly surprised and the value was exceptional. The oyster appetizer was out of this world. Both the presentation and the taste were spot on for our two entrees: the fried rice and divers' scallops. Special honors go the soups: the tomatillo was filled with spice, consistency and flavor. We went off to see "Escape to Margaritaville" with a totally satisfied feeling.

Dining Occasion:Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Food was very flavorful. I had the moonfish which was wonderful. My daughter had the bento box which was very good but perhaps too much variety and should have stuck with an Asian theme. She liked it nonetheless
I did think the kids dessert was huge and although fabulous lava cake, would recommend smaller portions for children.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 2, 2017

Wasn't that great. The sushi rolls fell apart, way overpriced. Not creative with the sushi rolls.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 31, 2017

Always good for a business meal. You can choose to dine slowly or quickly if you don't want to spend too much time with your guests

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Business Meals, People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great Beer, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 28, 2017

This was about the 3rd time we were there and this time was probably our least favorite. It was pretty upsetting when we got home and discovered they charged a tip onto the bill and did not make us aware of it and my husband had added on another one. It was taken off but only after we got home and found this out. Quite upsetting! They should of made us aware of this immediately. It left a terrible impression and we will not be back.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 23, 2017

Been coming here for years with anytime I am in San Diego on business or vacation. The sushi is outstanding. This visit felt no warmth in the place as far as the staff went--maybe it was just an off night. Would still go back on a future visit.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 22, 2017

Met my friend's for lunch on Wednesday afternoon. It was really good choice my one friend hadn't been there in 20 years but was glad that I selected the location because of the fresh food and the variety of options between all of us. I am vegetarian and was easily accommodated with the tofu salad and my friend had the duck salad which she raved about and it was quite ample amount of food. I will go there again although the service was a little slow probably because we are having lunch later in the day but it was just a little bit slow.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Healthy, Gluten Free Options, Cozy, Vegan, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Quick Bite, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Fun, People Watching, Vibrant Bar Scene, Scenic View, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Everything is always consistent. Sushi is excellent and their specialty friend rice is one dish we always order.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Quiet Conversation, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Disappointed with the decor. I expected a nicer place.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Foods are great, lots of different choices. Sushi and Sashimi are very freshly made.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Casual, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Great food and service.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Mothers Day

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Tapas, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Good vibe! Amazing sushi! Try the yellowtail with jalapeño! Yum

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Paleo Friendly, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Awesome sushi rolls. Very tasty, very fresh fish. I would gladly come back. Parking was a bit of an issue but they do offer valet. The food did take a while to get and the restaurant did not seem that busy but it was well worth the wait. A bit on the pricey side but it is La Jolla.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 9, 2017

A coworker and I stopped here for dinner because of the location. The waitress was very helpful as we asked questions about the menu. I had the shrimp and scallops with noodles which was very tasty. The highlight was the coconut ice cream and mango sherbet. The were beautifully presented and delicious.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 7, 2017

We love the sushi at his restaurant. The service is usually very friendly. This has become place we visit at least once a month.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Cafe Japengo is excellent. By far the best place for sushi in San Diego County. It is a great place for a business lunch or an intimate occasion.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Paleo Friendly, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Healthy, Hot Spot, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 5, 2017

We always enjoy lunch or dinner at Japengo's. Very good food and service. Only downside - the restaurant is always cold.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quick Bite, Modern Decor, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 2, 2017

A really nice dinner. Excellent service, pleasant atmosphere and very good sushi.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 1, 2017

Deliciouse!!!!! Its a wondeful place and sushi is the best!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Delicious sushi. We enjoyed crispy rice with spicy tuna. Wish they would add it to the sushi menu. The service from Edie was attentive and friendly! Highly recommend.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Worth the Drive, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Great roasted peppers. Lovely rolls and nigiri. A fast, , excellent and easy sushi evening!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Healthy, Quick Bite, Casual, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Staff very cordial, and very cooperative in making sure we got a booth for dinner on a Friday night. Ordered a draft beer, served nice and cold; Had the Scottish salmon which was very nicely done, very tasty and hot upon arrival at the table, really nice sized serving, unable to finish. Substitutions made for the shrimp in the Butterfish entree, which was also very nicely done. Excellent service, polite, service with a smile, efficient... and since it is a Hyatt restaurant, was useful to add to my Hyatt Gold Passport miles.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Really great happy hr food and drink special. Happy hr last until 7pm, sweet deal.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Disabled Access, Late-night Find, Casual, Private Room, Fireplace, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Service and the promptness of the apps and entrees seemed just a little off this time. Everything else was good.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 12, 2017

When we arrived they had our reservation time incorrect, they had 11:30am listed. Therefore when we arrived at our scheduled reservation time 12:30pm, our table was no longer available. It took them a while to figure something out for us.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Japengo never disappoints. Wether we are at the sushi bar or in the restaurant- the food is delicious and beautiful. Portions are good. The dark decor & atmosphere are tasteful.
We were 4 adults and two 10 year old girls and everyone had a great time.
The hostesses were cute and sweet and our waiter was great.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Worth the Drive, Open Kitchen, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Organic, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Meh - maybe I'm just used to great sushi, or maybe this place is just adequate.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Great service , good proportion of food , shareable , creative menu , their sushi rolls are so big enough to fill up in one order so you can save something for dessert ! Friendly staff, great location , valet service as well as self park where the restaurant validate it for 3 hrs. A great place !!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Modern Decor, Vibrant Bar Scene, Open Kitchen, Good for Groups, Healthy, Notable Wine List, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Family Style, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Kid-friendly, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 31, 2017

The service here is always great. Food is also very good, though we would go more often if they would update their menu occasionally. The same menu after three years keeps us going elsewhere even though we feel like it's one of our favorite places. The vibe here is always friendly and inviting. The diners seem to enjoy being here and we feel at home and enjoy ourselves every time.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 30, 2017

Great food, nice atmosphere, friendly staff. A win in my book.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Japengo never disappoints, amazing sushi and fantastic staff make any meal worthwhile

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Showing it's age. Sushi is still great, and the service was good. Tables are worn and sticky, dishes are old and the whole place is getting run down. Used to be our favorite and we'll be back, but I'm no longer recommending it to my friends.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 21, 2017

Outstanding! Always a pleasure to stop by and get the royal treatment.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 21, 2017

Been going since it opened & I now enjoy it with my teens.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Family Style, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.