About Cafe Japengo

8960 University Center Lane
San Diego, CA 92122
View Larger Map

Located at the Golden Triangle, Café Japengo is renowned for both fabulous Sushi and incredible fusion creations that combine Japanese and Western flavors. The energetic atmosphere and the trendy clientele make it make it a 'must' when visiting San Diego. Gluten free menu available.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Asian, Sushi

Hours of Operation:
Hours of Operation: Lunch:
Monday through Friday 11 am to 2 pm

Dinner:
Monday - Thursday: 5:30pm-9:30pm
Friday - Saturday: 5:30pm-10:30pm

Happy Hour:
Monday though Friday: 4:30pm-7:00 pm
Saturday: 4:30 pm-CL

Sushi Hour at the Sushi bar
Monday through Saturday: 4:30pm-5:30 pm

Cross Street:
La Jolla Village

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(858) 450-3355

Website:
http://www.cafejapengo.com/

Catering:
catering available up to 40 people, selection of Pacific Rim cuisine and Sushi, drop off in the La Jolla area or pick up available

Parking Details:
Validated Hotel parking and street parking are also available.

Executive Chef:
Jerry Warner

Private Party Facilities:
Up to 50 guests .

Private Party Contact:
Jamie Kelly-Bee: 8584503355x

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Book your special event, holiday party or business lunch or dinner.
Family style and prix fixe menus available. Sushi classes scheduled monthly. For inquires email: Jamie.Kelly-Bee@hyatt.com

Restaurant Photos

Steamed Thai Basil Clams - Cafe Japengo, San Diego, CA
Curry Dusted Calamari - Cafe Japengo, San Diego, CA
Pometini - Cafe Japengo, San Diego, CA
Fire Roasted Fanny Bay Oysters - Cafe Japengo, San Diego, CA
Hot And Sour Tomatillo Soup - Cafe Japengo, San Diego, CA
Uni - Cafe Japengo, San Diego, CA
Scallop Handroll - Cafe Japengo, San Diego, CA
Assorted Sushi - Cafe Japengo, San Diego, CA
Truffle Nori Fries with Shaved Parmesan - Cafe Japengo, San Diego, CA
Sushi - Cafe Japengo, San Diego, CA
Curry Crusted Calamari - Cafe Japengo, San Diego, CA
Seafood Salad - Cafe Japengo, San Diego, CA
Tempura - Cafe Japengo, San Diego, CA
Mixed Seafood In Potato Basket - Cafe Japengo, San Diego, CA
Chocolate Lava Cake - Cafe Japengo, San Diego, CA
Diver Scallops - Cafe Japengo, San Diego, CA
Mixed Fried Rice - Cafe Japengo, San Diego, CA
Protein Roll - Cafe Japengo, San Diego, CA
Special Albacore Roll - Cafe Japengo, San Diego, CA
Beef Yakitori - Cafe Japengo, San Diego, CA
Summer Roll - Cafe Japengo, San Diego, CA
Sashimi - Cafe Japengo, San Diego, CA
Sushi And Duck Rolls - Cafe Japengo, San Diego, CA
Protein Roll N More - Cafe Japengo, San Diego, CA
Edemame - Cafe Japengo, San Diego, CA
Chocolate Brulee With Ginger Whip - Cafe Japengo, San Diego, CA
Vietnamese Pork With Glass Noodles - Cafe Japengo, San Diego, CA
Green Tea And Coconut Gelato - Cafe Japengo, San Diego, CA

Cafe Japengo Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
San Diego
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
San Diego

Fit for Foodies (8)
Great for Lunch (7)
Special Occasion (7)
See All
Creative Cuisine (7)
Good for Groups (6)
Good for a Date (6)
Casual (6)
Tasting Menu (5)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Fun (5)
Worth the Drive (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Business Meals (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Authentic (2)
Romantic (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Tapas (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Healthy (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Family Style (1)
Fireplace (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Seasonal (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Sort By:
S
827 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Always fresh sushi! Love their caterpil ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined 4 days ago

Always fresh sushi! Love their caterpillar & rainbow rolls. Nice wines by the glass & drinks.

Some waiters are a bit stand-off-ish but we had one of the bartenders wait on us & she was knowledgeable & personable. Ambiance is nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

One of our favorite sushi places in town ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 20, 2016

One of our favorite sushi places in town. Love their spicy tuna!

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is one of the best restaurants in S ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 16, 2016

This is one of the best restaurants in San Diego. The sushi is excellent and their other choices are just as good. San Diego has many great sea food restaurants; Japango provides an excellent alternative. Only thing less than stellar is parking.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Bread pudding was bitter. I expected mor ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 9, 2016

Bread pudding was bitter. I expected more due to the quality of the rest of the menu. Sushi is great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My co-worker and I enjoyed our experienc ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 9, 2016

My co-worker and I enjoyed our experience- Delicious food with friendly and efficient service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Outstanding Value, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love love love this place. Always great ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 27, 2016

Love love love this place. Always great food and not super noisy, so perfect for business meals.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wow - this place has gone downhill. I s ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Wow - this place has gone downhill. I should have known when only 1/3 of the restaurant was full on a Saturday night. We had the hot and sour soup (just okay), a sushi roll (average) and a butterfish entree (that the server recommended). I literally took 2 bites of and stopped because it was too fishy (which says a lot since I love sashimi). The quality of the food doesn't compare to the high prices. It's too bad. I used to like this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service5
value2

Andrew was an AMAZING waitor...he made o ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 12, 2016

Andrew was an AMAZING waitor...he made our meal special and he was VERY accomodating at every level !!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Business Meals, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great experience! We came and didn't eve ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Great experience! We came and didn't even realize it was all night happy hour (on Saturday!). We had excellent sushi and great service for a reasonable cost. Will definitely be back!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I felt throughout the meal, we were bein ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on October 2, 2016

I felt throughout the meal, we were being rushed. Even though the rest of the restaurant was barely half filled, our section and waiter was intent on reserving his section for a "large party" which did not even arrive until after we were served our meal. I guess, the waiters attempt at speeding us along worked. By the way, the "large group" was only a group of 8.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

Solid sushi spot, good service.

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Solid sushi spot, good service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Came at a Friday night, welcomed at the ...

 
 (Baja California)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Came at a Friday night, welcomed at the front.

Had to ask to be seated on a more lighted area.

Server was great, highly motivated besides her rasped voice.

Had some sushi, made ready when ordered.

And the food was fantastic.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great food and outdoor dining. Vibrant c ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Great food and outdoor dining. Vibrant crowd great menu.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The sushi we ordered took 45 minutes to ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 20, 2016

The sushi we ordered took 45 minutes to be served. I understand that it may be rush hour at 12nn but the restaurant was not too crowded. It was a rainy Tuesday and the service was bad.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value3

Always delicious! Best sushi in San Die ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 20, 2016

Always delicious! Best sushi in San Diego! We've been dining there for years and it is always consistent and wonderful.

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We really loved our server! I believe he ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 16, 2016

We really loved our server! I believe her name was Melissa. She was really attentive amd recommended some really good plates

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went for a last minute "date" night out. ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 10, 2016

Went for a last minute "date" night out. We got there early, (7pm), so the happy hour crowd was still there, and they were fairly boisterous, but not annoying. We both liked the music they were playing- current but not hip-hop, and thought it added to the atmosphere.

Our waiter was just okay; not super attentive- but in all fairness, we were ordering a couple of things at a time (sushi, salad, etc)so we did keep him hopping.

We had cocktails- I had the Japengo pear margarita, which I really liked, and my husband had a regular margarita; they were huge, and we were both happy with our choices.

The food was mostly good and fresh including the sushi we ordered. I would not order any roll involving fried shrimp ever again, as the tempura batter was thick and gooey- not at all what I expected (which would be a light batter with panko), but otherwise everything was tasty.

We will definitely go there again, especially when it's a 1000 point choice!

Tags: Casual, Happy Hour, Fun, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Fantastic food

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 4, 2016

Fantastic food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food is excellent Hostess needs to go

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 3, 2016

Food is excellent

Hostess needs to go

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

We had tremendous service- knowledgeable ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 1, 2016

We had tremendous service- knowledgeable, timely, excellent suggestions to make our experience more enjoyable.

Tags: Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Very high quality sushi, skilled chefs, ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 21, 2016

Very high quality sushi, skilled chefs, beautiful presentation.

Tags: Disabled Access, Quick Bite, Good Vegetarian Options, Tapas, Healthy, Authentic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wrote privately to the restaurant after ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 20, 2016

Wrote privately to the restaurant after an unfortunate food poisoning to both myself and my dinner companion on August 19th.....I would have expected an immediate response from Cafe Japengo, especially for a regular customer of 20+ years....but no response now 6 days later, so perhaps a public review will elicit a response and, more importantly, remediation for whatever caused the food poisoning

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value3

Great food as always. We've been coming ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on August 20, 2016

Great food as always. We've been coming here for 15 years. A bit pricey just for sushi.

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Fireplace, Bar Seating, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Menu has changed. We have been eating he ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 18, 2016

Menu has changed. We have been eating here since it opened. Curry calamari was best in San Diego; now a pale image of what it once was. Tough and lacking in sweetness. Rolls and sushi are OK but not exceptional. We will not be back anytime soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Cafe Japengo is a top spot for lunch. T ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 18, 2016

Cafe Japengo is a top spot for lunch. The crowd is buzzing and the food is consistently good. At dinner time the restaurant tends to be a lot less crowded. The acoustics aren't great though so the restaurant is noisy even with only a few people. Waitress wasn't helpful at all in estimating amount of food needed for the table/ sushi so we ended up with a lot of extra.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Cafe Japengo is a classic. They are stil ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 14, 2016

Cafe Japengo is a classic. They are still around for a reason and that has to be the sushi. It is really good. The menu items other than sushi are also excellent, so for me, what keeps people coming back is the food.

The ambiance is also great. But it is not the first time that the staff ruins our dinner.

The hostesses make it as hard to get a seat at a booth as hard as getting a front row ticket to a concert and the waiters are rude and condescending. We almost feel we don't want to come back so as not to get that kind of service again.

It is too bad because we have been customers since the early 90"s. So nearly two decades.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

Ooooh, it was so good. I followed sushi ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 13, 2016

Ooooh, it was so good. I followed sushi chef Dominic all the way from New Mexico to eat here.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We hadn't been to Cafe Japengo for a lon ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 7, 2016

We hadn't been to Cafe Japengo for a long time and went spur of the moment. Not only was our meal excellent, but the service from Alex was superb. We started with a sushi roll and the Shishito peppers; I had the Char Siu Duck Breast and my husband had the butterfish. My duck was perfectly cooked (medium rare) and tender, and the accompanying vegetables were terrific. It was such a large portion that I brought almost half of the duck and vegetables home. It was served with steamed buns, and Alex gave us extras to go with the leftovers. I'd order that again anytime!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

My husband and I eat fairly regularly at ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 7, 2016

My husband and I eat fairly regularly at Cafe Japengo and the food is consistently good and the service is most always excellent. It is not inexpensive though. I highly recommend it.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Fantastic sushi restaurant - excellent f ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 2, 2016

Fantastic sushi restaurant - excellent food and service.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I've enjoyed Cafe Japengo on numerous oc ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 30, 2016

I've enjoyed Cafe Japengo on numerous occasions, both for dinner and happy hour. The bar and outdoor area is hip spot for happy hour, especially for professionals working in the area. The dining in the back is more subdued and was quiet when we were there. Though there were a couple of families with young children, I would probably not bring my kids here. It was great for a romantic date night for me and my husband. The service and food were excellent and they even treated us to dessert as I told them it was our anniversary when I made the reservation. All in all an excellent experience and I highly recommend this place.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have bin dining in cafe Japengo for m ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 28, 2016

I have bin dining in cafe Japengo for more less 20 years,always very quality food

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had eaten in Japengo in Maui and love ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 27, 2016

We had eaten in Japengo in Maui and loved it so we were so pleased to find one in La Jolla a 30 min. drive from our home. I called to verify that REAL crab was used in their shrimp tempura and Cali. role I was assured that it was REAL crab. Both my husband and I developed an upset stomach after dining 7/26/16 (our 41st anni.) We called the next day and asked about the crab "30% real 70% fake" the manager told us. Why would such an upscale place cheap out? We will not go back again. The calamari and service was excellent.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

The appetizers and sushi options were mu ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 14, 2016

The appetizers and sushi options were much better than the main dish, both for taste and for value. Next time my friend and I will order more side dishes or appetizers and avoid the main dishes.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The best days at Japengo have gone, it s ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 12, 2016

The best days at Japengo have gone, it should read this and become cheaper

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service3
value1

Great wine, very good service. Excellen ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 12, 2016

Great wine, very good service. Excellent steak and duck. Hit or miss appetizers. So-so sushi. Good prawns, but the prawn salad dressing was unappealing. Tempura banana, sorbet and bread pudding desserts were delicious. Brûléed chocolate tart had an slight burnt taste. It would have been better served warm ( in my opinion). Iced tea was from a bottle--not fresh brewed. All in all, an enjoyable evening in a nice atmosphere with as many hits as misses (just don't do the sushi). However, it was way too expensive for what we got.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Dinner and service were awsome.

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 9, 2016

Dinner and service were awsome.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Wonderful sushi, really delicious. Wine ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 1, 2016

Wonderful sushi, really delicious. Wine list is so so, bring your own and pay the corkage.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

japengo has wonderful decor and a wonder ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 21, 2016

japengo has wonderful decor and a wonderful ambiance. very rich looking. service and operations impeccable. butterfish was its usual excellence in freshness, taste and presentation. rainbow roll good. japengo green salad was a very large portion and nice presentation.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Outstanding - why not busier?

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 4, 2016

We've never had a bad experience here. After work on Friday we decided to head over for an early meal. Arrived at 5:45, place was very quiet - mainly people at the sushi bar & at the bar for happy hour. OK, it's early. But when we left at about 7:15, the place was still very quiet. No idea why. The food was excellent, service was great. Try it - you won't be disappointed

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.