Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.51mi
  3. Distance: 0.56mi
  4. Distance: 0.76mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.51mi
  3. Distance: 0.56mi
  4. Distance: 0.76mi

About Cafe Japengo

Located at the Golden Triangle, Café Japengo is renowned for both fabulous Sushi and incredible fusion creations that combine Japanese and Western flavors. The energetic atmosphere and the trendy clientele make it make it a 'must' when visiting San Diego. Gluten free menu available.

8960 University Center Lane
San Diego, CA 92122
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Asian, Sushi

Hours of Operation:
Hours of Operation: Lunch:
Monday through Friday 11 am to 2 pm

Dinner:
Monday - Thursday: 5:30pm-9:30pm
Friday - Saturday: 5:30pm-10:30pm

Happy Hour:
Monday though Friday: 4:30pm-7:00 pm
Saturday: 4:30 pm-CL

Sushi Hour at the Sushi bar
Monday through Saturday: 4:30pm-5:30 pm

Cross Street:
La Jolla Village

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(858) 450-3355

Website:
http://www.cafejapengo.com/

Catering:
catering available up to 40 people, selection of Pacific Rim cuisine and Sushi, drop off in the La Jolla area or pick up available

Parking Details:
Validated Hotel parking and street parking are also available.

Executive Chef:
Jerry Warner

Private Party Facilities:
Up to 50 guests .

Private Party Contact:
Jamie Kelly-Bee: (858) 450-3355

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Book your special event, holiday party or business lunch or dinner.
Family style and prix fixe menus available. Sushi classes scheduled monthly. For inquires email: Jamie.Kelly-Bee@hyatt.com

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Mon 11:00AM - 11:30AM 5:30PM - 9:30PM

Tue - Fri 11:00AM - 11:30AM 5:30PM - 6:30PM 8:30PM - 9:30PM

Sat 5:30PM - 6:30PM 9:00PM - 10:00PM

Cafe Japengo Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (19)
Business Meals (11)
Great for Lunch (9)
See All
Casual (9)
Special Occasion (9)
Romantic (9)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Hot Spot (8)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Happy Hour (7)
Worth the Drive (7)
Authentic (7)
Good for Groups (6)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Open Kitchen (6)
Healthy (6)
Modern Decor (6)
Bar Seating (6)
Good for Anniversaries (5)
Family Style (5)
Cozy (5)
Tasting Menu (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Fun (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
People Watching (2)
Vegan (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Organic (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Spicy (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Waterfront (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Private Room (1)
Sort By:
S
934 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined 3 days ago

Japengo never disappoints, amazing sushi and fantastic staff make any meal worthwhile

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 4 days ago

Showing it's age. Sushi is still great, and the service was good. Tables are worn and sticky, dishes are old and the whole place is getting run down. Used to be our favorite and we'll be back, but I'm no longer recommending it to my friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 21, 2017

Outstanding! Always a pleasure to stop by and get the royal treatment.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 21, 2017

Been going since it opened & I now enjoy it with my teens.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Family Style, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Really enjoyed the food and a fun evening with friends

Tags: Bar Seating, Casual, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 9, 2017

I hate noisy places. too salty vietnamese pork....and I am vietnamese. yuck.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Sushi by Chef John Stroble is to die for. We put ourselves at his mercy and loved every bite of the delectable sushi that was served. Just Awesome!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 5, 2017

The food was delicious and the atmosphere was cozy. Time slips away from you while you are dining. My boss and I spent over 3 hours conversating here. Waiter was also very pleasant. Would definitely go back If I am in California again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Casual, Private Room, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 5, 2017

The food and service were excellent! Cannot wait to go back. Every bite was a perfect bite!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Late-night Find, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Handcrafted Cocktails, Gluten Free Options, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Food and ambience was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 4, 2017

We celebrated a birthday there with lots of sushi. The place is energetic, beautifully decorated and has a great vibe. The only problem with having an open kitchen is the smell of fried food in the whole restaurant but then the service and delicious food made up for it. Highly recommended this for sushi lovers.

Tags: Good for a Date, Family Style, Open Kitchen, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Great food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 1, 2017

Johnny, the sushi chef was awesome! Chu Toro and salmon belly were delicious

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 25, 2017

First rate salads, sashmi, and rolls. Busy, but great low noise level and excellent service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Cafe Japing is very dependable. It's one of the top 5 sushi places in SD, which means good sushi. It has a good variety of other dishes as well, in case members of your party are in the mood for something else. Surpassingly good value considering the location next to TruLucks and Flemings and the lovely decor. A great go to place with relatively easy reservations that won't disappoint!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Casual, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 19, 2017

The food was great and staff was wonderful, but they seemed understaffed. The service was a bit slow so could have been a little better but the staff was very friendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Very good we enjoy it a lot. Great service . It is always nice

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Food was excellent. Great waitress. One bad thing... receptionist could have been more friendly.

Tags: Good for a Date, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 12, 2017

One of our guests had a nut allergy and Cafe Japengo was awesome in making accommodations for that. My only issue was the service. Our appetizer was cold and it took us 2 and a half hours to get out of there, which might be a plus for some if you like a slow dining experience. However for me, I would have preferred a little speedier service.

Tags: Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 10, 2017

I will not return, it use to be a great choice for Sushi but it is definitely not worth what I spent for our lunch. Very limited menu and no daily specials, waitress was alright but had no explanation for why the menu was so limited and no specials... Kitchen staff was standing around eating in the kitchen as they prepared food...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 9, 2017

I had a nice evening with my wife for an early valentines day. The sushi was good, but they ran out of Uni. We ordered the Peking duck that was cooked to perfection, but the buns were hard as a rock and through the dish off. The server that we had wasn't very welcoming and only smiled at the end when she gave us our check.

Tags: Business Meals, Vibrant Bar Scene, Family Style, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Quick Bite, Great for Brunch, Happy Hour, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 5, 2017

My husband and I enjoyed our dinner and our evening there very much. Thank you! We were also impressed that we were seated right away, arriving on time and had made a reservation beforehand. Some restaurants still make you wait.. This irritates my husband. So thank you! And our waitress was wonderful :-)

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Valet parking is $9. However, you can drop off and self park at the Hyatt across the plaza and get valadated. The food was very good, drinks reasonable, our server was helpful and attentive. The downside was the environment. It was cold and fairly dark, along with being expensive.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Open Kitchen, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 29, 2017

My husband was for a conference in La Jolla, we enjoyed a dinner at Japengo 3 times during our weeks stay.
Very good food, excellent service.
When we travel back to La Jolla we certainly go back.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Modern Decor, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Always a delight. Delicious food, whether you like sushi or prefer regularly cooked fare. Service is efficient AND friendly. One of our most favorite restaurants.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Vegan, Good Vegetarian Options, Disabled Access, Authentic, Business Meals, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 27, 2017

I like the sushi menu but keep being disappointed with some of the cooked dishes, such as the house fried rice. Fries are great to.
Will probably go back, but mostly because of location/convenience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (New England)·Dined on January 25, 2017

BEST sushi, BEST server Melissa cant wait to go back !

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Our waitress Melissa is the BEST ❤ I have a Shellfish allergy of all things to aquire! :( and Melissa was careful and attentive to make sure everything that was brought to our table didn't compromise it. Everything was super delicious! Thank you!

Tags: Healthy, Organic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 14, 2017

This place is routinely excellent. Great food, great service. Highly recommended!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Perfect place for a client lunch or business lunch meeting. Great service and gluten free menu!

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 1, 2017

The Braised Short Ribs are my favorite. Short Ribs at a sushi bar? That's the best thing about this restaurant. We have fish as appetizer and feast on the meat!

We live in OC but when we stay over in Diego, this is our go to place.

Sushi bar is always busy. Fish fresh and tasty. Our waitress (Jessie) was excellent and knowledgeable.

New Years goodies were handed out and made for a great start of the evening.

Tags: Romantic, Modern Decor, Outstanding Value, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on January 1, 2017

This is our second time going to cafe japengo. The first time the service was less than good. Melissa was our waitress this time and she was unbelievable. She was upbeat, new the ins and outs of the menu and recommended amazing rolls. Will only go back if we have her!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Great service, excellent food!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Been coming here for years, always love the food and is a must have when I come home to San Diego. Service was a little slower than usual, was brought two edamames when only needed one.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 29, 2016

The food here is very good. One of the nicest sushi places in town. Their specialty rolls are very good. A bit pricey, but nice for business lunch or special occasions.

Tags: Vegan, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 18, 2016

My son compared it to Tao, I've been coming since 90s now it's my teens fave place❤️

Tags: Business Meals, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Family Style, Happy Hour, Romantic, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 7, 2016

A little pricey for what you are getting, but not much to eat in this area. Service is always good.

Tags: Casual, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 5, 2016

The service was exceptional. The time to get the food was FAST. Food was great, as always. Thank you.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Family Style, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Always fresh sushi! Love their caterpillar & rainbow rolls. Nice wines by the glass & drinks.
Some waiters are a bit stand-off-ish but we had one of the bartenders wait on us & she was knowledgeable & personable. Ambiance is nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 20, 2016

One of our favorite sushi places in town. Love their spicy tuna!

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.