Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 34 times today
Special offers available. See details

Cafe Japengo

4.6
1082 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$31 to $50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Asian
Top Tags:
  • Special Occasion
  • Good for a Date
  • Creative Cuisine
Located at the Golden Triangle, Café Japengo is renowned for both fabulous Sushi and incredible fusion creations that combine Japanese and Western flavors. The energetic atmosphere and the trendy clientele make it make it a 'must' when visiting San Diego. Gluten free menu available.
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Asian, Sushi
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Hours of Operation: Lunch:
Monday through Friday 11 am to 2 pm

Dinner:
Monday - Thursday: 5:30pm-9:30pm
Friday - Saturday: 5:30pm-10:30pm

Happy Hour:
Monday though Friday: 4:30pm-7:00 pm
Saturday: 4:30 pm-CL

Sushi Hour at the Sushi bar
Monday through Saturday: 4:30pm-5:30 pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(858) 450-3355
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Business Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Jerry Warner
icon/ic_cateringCreated with Sketch.
Catering
catering available up to 40 people, selection of Pacific Rim cuisine and Sushi, drop off in the La Jolla area or pick up available
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
La Jolla Village
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Validated Hotel parking and street parking are also available.
Additional
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Mon - Fri 12:30PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 1:30PM 5:30PM - 5:45PM 8:30PM - 11:00PM
Sat 9:00PM - 11:00PM

What 1082 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.6based on recent ratings
4.5
food
4.4
service
4.5
ambience
4.2
value
Noise · Moderate
90% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
4.0Dined 2 days ago

Unfortunately going out of business

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 2 days ago

Cafe Japengo has been a family favorite for 20 years. We went to say goodbye since they're closing this Friday. It was as exceptional as always - with fresh, tasty and generous portions of sushi. We also enjoyed the yellowtail sashimi special and ahi poke martini. We were impressed with the cheerful and attentive staff, some of whom are still waiting to hear if they'll be hired on elsewhere in the Hyatt organization or still don't have replacement jobs lined up yet. We left satisfied and sated, but sad that we won't be able to enjoy Cafe Japengo again, at least here in San Diego. Next time.... Maui.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 3 days ago

It is just AWFUL that this restaurant is closing! Its excellent sushi, eclectic and delicious entress and beautiful surroundings will be badly missed. I've eaten there hundreds of times, often defaulting to sushi, but occasionally trying an entree as I did this time -- the barbecued salmon salad, after a yellowtail collar appetizer. Just delicious. I am SO DISAPPOINTED!

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined 7 days ago

So disappointing that Cafe Japengo lost its lease! But even more disappointing that the service was so poor for our last experience at a restaurant that I've loved. Communicating the staff shortage would have gone a long way, not avoiding our table because the kitchen was so slow. So slow, in fact, that we became stressed about getting our son back for his grad night party, took part of our order to go, and skipped dessert.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on June 12, 2018

I realize you will be closing soon, but there was not enough waitress staff, which was less than ideal.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 8, 2018

Unfortunately, Japengo is closing, so we paid a visit to say good-bye. We have been at events there during the last 30 years but now it's going away. Just suggest you find your favorite server/sushi chef, etc. and find out where they're going and follow them along.
This was an upscale sushi bar that schooled many of San Diego's sushi chefs. Sorry to see such a fun place with good food go but unfortunately, things do change.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 30, 2018

Everything was good except for the booth seats. They are very old sunken in the sides and uncomfortable. The food as good as always

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 30, 2018

Took a young friend to Japengo for lunch to celebrate her heading to Wharton. She had never been there, and loved it! We had the delicious duck salad -- ample portion! Delicious duck! AND, we had Stacy -- the best. Attentive without being intrusive, very knowledgeable (she always knows my preferences), and a great representative of Japengo.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 30, 2018

We had dinner for my wife's birthday with 9 other family members. They were very accommodating. And the service was great. I guess it helped that it was a Tuesday night. The food was delicious! Sushi is good and the calamari is a must.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 26, 2018

service and ambiance great. only dish i didn't like was the calamari over glass noodles. the sauce made the breaded calamari soggy and the sauce was too vinegary for my tastes. would not order again.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 25, 2018

Disappointing. I have taken lunch or dinner at Japengo off and on for more than 20 years. I have noticed a definite decline in quality and value. The food is mediocre; the prices at high. I used to love this place and recommend it to others. I would not recommend it now. Given the choice, I doubt I will eat here again.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on May 23, 2018

This restaurant was one of the most disappointing food experiences I have ever had. I tried this because of the high reviews here. The food is a complete whitewashing of Japanese cuisine. The miso soup tasted like it was from a packet - lacking flavor but SO salty. The nigiri (yellowtail, tuna, salmon) were the blandest I have ever tasted. The only redeeming factor of this restaurant is their stellar wait staff.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 21, 2018

Beautiful location, excellent service, delicious food but far too expensive! All my other favorite Sushi places have the same quality or even better. But at a competitive lunch price.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 12, 2018

We had been to, and enjoyed, Japengo 10 years ago. We decided to revisit the place on a recent date night. The atmosphere was very fun and boisterous. And the servers were very gracious and fun. The food.....was, meh. I've had way better sushi and I'm sure that I paid less for it.

Also, the parking is difficult. I doubt we'll go back.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 12, 2018

Have never been disappointed. The food is fresh and delicious. The service is good.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 10, 2018

Good service! Excellent sushi! Good variety. Love the seaweed salad. Fine rolls.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 6, 2018

Simply delicious!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 5, 2018

A Wonderful place to go. Everything was great, service, food and drink. Go!!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 5, 2018

So sad to see this place will be closing for
Good after 6/22
Good quality food, fresh sushi and sashimi. The best HH menu
Thanks for all the memories Cafe Japengo, will miss the restaurant and all the great service and staff
Everyone should go and support before they close for good

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 5, 2018

Great food whether going for sushi or the traditional menu. The chefs do an excellent job with both traditional and creative dishes.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 29, 2018

Not the type of sushi place we had planned for. It was much better! Quiet environment that allowed my group to enjoy each other's company as if we were the only people in there. The staff was very attentive and made us feel welcomed.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 29, 2018

Solomon was amazing. My wife and I had the Omasake and it was more than amazing. Javier was great as well. Very friendly and was very attentive even though it was picking up in business. Overall I loved the decor and the feel of the place. So far my top sushi spot in San Diego that pushed sabuku sushi to number 2.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 28, 2018

Fresh, delicious cuisine, friendly and attentive servers, great view of the kitchen happenings as well for those looking to be entertained.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 24, 2018

Cafe Japengo always delivers on the quality of their food. However, the service on my recent visit was very slow and our server was not attentive. This was especially during a business lunch when we had limited time to work with.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 22, 2018

Located in an enclave of restaurants near the Hyatt this place had a good ambiance. Server was friendly and attentive. Food was very mediocre. Had a roll, a main, and an app. Perhaps we didn’t order the right things but not great. Cocktails pretty good but pricey. Again really liked the service but wish the food was equally good.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 22, 2018

Great food that was artistically prepared. Very nice professional and prompt service which combined with the food to make an excellent evening.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 21, 2018

Our only go to place for Sushi in San Diego!
Excellent restaurant, food & service.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 20, 2018

Always great food and great service. I moved away and the quality was still top notch like it was 10 years ago. Cafe Japengo is a sure thing. And you can actually have a conversation during lunch rush. Each booth is very private and I was very comfortable. They were also very accommodating to my 2 year old as well. You don’t see a lot of kids there but if you plan to bring your child it is not frowned upon. Great game cperience. I will be back sooner.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 20, 2018

Our server was fabulous. Service was VERY slow, but the staff was super attentive and friendly. The food was very good quality and we were all very happy with the variety and quality of the menu items. The lunch was a special occasion, made more special by the wonderful attention of our waiter.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 18, 2018

The food was great and our waiters selection of sake was perfect

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 6, 2018

Great happy hour at the bar! We always enjoy our meal at CJ

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 28, 2018

The service was awesome, food on point, and just a really great experience. Thank you!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 21, 2018

Jen at reception is lovely
Karen has rocked it for years
Love us some Solomon and Pai at the sushi bar

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 18, 2018

Overall we really like this place HOWEVER, 3 out of 4 visits our food was ready and we watched it sit on the counter for about 10 minutes while it got cold. In each instance the server kinda diapered for some reason or was just standing around visiting with other servers. On one occasion I went over and got the food myself, and yes, It was cold and needed to be sent back.
Although all of the servers have been very nice, several of them have failed in one important area (being a server).
The food is always prepared well but the service is a bit lacking in some areas.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on March 11, 2018

They sat us near the kitchen despite the entire restaurant being empty, the food was sub par, the kitchen was crazy loud and the service was terrible (wait staff actually asked my kids to make sure they put any trash from their straws at the edge of the table so he wouldn’t have to collect the trash from multiple places on the table)

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 10, 2018

Food was fantastic but service was mediocre at best

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 6, 2018

Delicious, fresh ingredients, desserts to kill for.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 3, 2018

Sashimi sampler was awesome!! Oysters and clams were great too!!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 1, 2018

Fresh and tesy cooking. Nice for people that like raw fishes!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 1, 2018

Good sashimi ! Definitely worth a visit. I was there with my team on a business dinner.
I’d also recommend it for a date and everyday dining.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
28